The sultans of swing

Posted on April 19, 2014 by

We’ve yet to hear of a single public debate where Yes/No polls were taken at the start and the end which HASN’T resulted in a swing towards Yes. Here’s a recent example, from Queen Margaret University in Edinburgh a few weeks ago.

(The introductory waffle goes on for about 17 minutes if you want to skip past it.)

It may help to explain why Yes Glasgow are still having very a hard time getting “Better Together” to send a representative for a major debate in Scotland’s biggest city.

84 to “The sultans of swing”

1. Elaine (@MFinthree)

Oh Blimey!!! First on!!

Sorry Stu – O/T but shoved ever so slightly by you Guys suggesting that us lassies need to do more.

I am off to Cupar Farmers Market to lend a wee hand to the YES campaign out today.

Time to stand up for my kids!

2. fizzinghumanbomb

mark l doing his best to insinuate but not state outright that scotland’s too wee and too poor. despicable.

3. HorseBoy

20 Top Women voting YES for Independence:

Sarah-Jane Walls, businesswoman;
    Ruth Wishart, journalist;
    Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh; lawyer & businesswoman;
    Liz Lochhead, poet;
    Elaine C. Smith, actress & comedienne;
    Lou Hickey, singer;
    A.L. Kennedy, writer;
    Cat Boyd, trade unionist;
    Sheena Wellington, singer:
    Annie Lennox, singer;
    Janice Galloway, writer;
    Clare Galloway, artist;
    Jeane Freeman, public affairs consultant;
    Lari Don, children’s story writer;
    Karen Matheson, singer;
    Karine Polwart, singer & songwriter;
    Eddi Reader, singer;
    Mary Lockhart, Scot. Co-operative Party;
    Lesley Riddoch, writer & journalist;
    Dolina Maclennan, actress & singer;
    Louise Batchelor, former BBC news presenter;
    Carmen Pieraccini, actress;
    Mary Ann Kennedy, singer & broadcaster;
    Libby McArthur, actress;
    Freya Mavor, actress;
    Joan Burnie, journalist;
    Duchess of Hamilton (Kay Carmichael).

http://aberdeensnp.org/node/19

4. mato21

Ian Brotherhood

I left some information for you on the previous thread at 11:06 re CBI membership but the post was in moderation overnight and there are now a fair number of posts following it you may miss it

Hope it helps

5. Croompenstein

@Elaine – Good on you Elaine, I live on the West coast and I ask people to look in to the eyes of their kids and ask themselves if they are happy that they are growing up in the shadow of those nuclear abominations in the Clyde

6. Anne (@annewitha_e)

add to your list Michelle Thomson, Managine Director of Business for Scotland and Women for Independence

7. Andrew Morton

Noticeable that the only debates where BT boast that No has won are those involving schoolchildren.

8. Grouse Beater

Professor and political activist Noam Chomsky has spoken in favour of Scotland regaining its independence.

He mentions Catalonia in the same discussion but points out it will be easier for Scotland because legally it’s on the right side of the argument.

9. heedtracker

71 YES, 29 NO and all after straight forward debate. Wonder why BetterTogetherBBC debates don’t take before/after polls like this in their dreary attempts in places carefully picked to reflect bettertogether bias, they hope.

10. JLT

If it wasn’t for the complete sheer biasm within the media, the ‘Yes’ vote would be screaming through the roof and Better Together would be completely dead in the water.

However, I still believe that within those last 5 or 6 weeks before the referendum itself, that will be the time when everyone engages in the debate. And once folk realise that it is Scotland that they are voting for; that the ‘No’ mob have nothing but empty promises; and the spectre of the Tories winning the UK General Election once more in 2015, then Scotland will vote for independence.

I believe the combination of those last 3 points will win it in the end.

11. Macart

@Elaine

Good on you Elaine. Looks like you’ve got a grand day for it. 🙂

Did I not hear some place that David Steele’s wife was planning to vote yes?

12. gordoz

When Better Together attend Independence debates with undecided adults –

They Lose; always.

13. Robert Peffers

Is there a bit of mind transference going on here? I’ve been working on a YouTube video all day yesterday and this morning. It is a debate between Stewart Hosie MP vs Lord Robertson. Where the pre-debate poll shows a massive NO majority and the post-debate poll a massive YES swing. I hope to get it on-line very soon. It is quite long though.

14. Brotyboy

@ Grouse Beater

Chomsky is a hero of mine, from the time I first heard his name in a Philosophy tutorial 40 years ago to his current support for the Palestinian people.

Have you a link to the article?

15. a supporter

Firstly, surely in this day and age it is not beyond the wit nor money available to provide decent sound for contributins from the floor? This has been a fault in many of the youtube et al videos. They are incomprehensible.

Meanwhile, watched some of the presentations of each speaker. Mark of SSL was head and shoulders above the rest. He was very convincing. The other YES speaker made worthwhile points but was boring. And she was obviously a novice at public speaking as she had to keep referring to her notes.
    The two NoMen had nothing new to say. It was the usual “It’s been like this for 300 years why change it”? And Lazarus was mis and disinforming.

16. Alba4Eva

Really liked Colin Fox. Straight talking and has a certain laid back assurity.

Well done to the man.

17. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Robert: might be able to save you some time…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/how-its-done/

18. caz-m

Regarding the teenage vote. Believe me when I say that the LAST thing they are thinking about at the moment is the Scottish Referendum.

They are up to their eyeballs in paperwork, it is right in the middle of studying for all sorts of exams, depending on age.

They may be studying for up to eight subjects. So when someone tells them to start reading the Scottish Government’s White Paper on finance or defence or what ever, they are not long in telling you where to go.

The teenage voter will engage, but ONLY when ALL their exams are finished.

19. heedtracker

O/T but Scotland’s tory boy in extremis, getting completely undeserved award here but pointing out blatantly obvious too, which is clearly all it takes if you can get your tongue high enough between tory butt cheeks. Reverend Campbell will win next month, nae doot

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2014/apr/18/fraser-nelson-spectator-editor-put-money-on-ed-miliband

But his predictions for how Scotland will vote later this year will be music to Alex Salmond’s ears. If he had to bet £100, he would back Scotland becoming independent in September.

“Salmond is a brilliant late-stage campaigner, and I absolutely think it could happen. A lot of people down here underestimate how SNP activists have waited their whole lives for this – this is not just another election for them. The battle is fought in ways they just don’t understand down here. The unionists have deployed their nuclear weapons – EU membership and the pound – and all this has served just to increase nationalist support. These were the biggest cards the unionists have to play, they played them early, and they seem to have backfired. Nobody in the Better Together campaign has worked out how to win the argument yet.” Even if Scotland votes no, as long as the yes vote polls more than 40% he fears “we’ll end up with a neverendum”, with independence continuing to dominate the agenda indefinitely.

Nelson desperately wants the union to survive, but fears Cameron made a critical mistake by allowing Salmond to restrict the vote to residents of Scotland. “I think he should have worked out who would qualify for Scottish passports, and then given the vote to those people – including me. Twenty per cent of people born in Scotland live outside of Scotland, and if you could poll the emigre Scots, I suspect they would be heavily in favour of the union.” For the first time in his life, he has donated money to a political campaign, Better Together. “Because it’s the only thing I can do.”

For many people, it’s always been a bit of a puzzle as to what a nice Scottish boy like Nelson is doing in a den of rightwing iniquity like the Spectator. He grew up in west Scotland,

20. HorseBoy

I’ve been roped in to maildrop 1500 YES newspapers in my Aberdeen South, can do it over 1week no problem. I’m going for it. I’ve joined and signed up to everything YES. Yes sent an email asking to volunteer. I can do it now. So I’m happy to do it. I’ve been looking for it. Each newpaper bundle of 100 is 5kg, care taken as I’m in my mid 60′ but fighting fit. I’ll be on foot so be careful carrying 5kg, 10kg, 15kg. I notice the free newpaper deliveries use granny shopping trolley! Thats the solution for my largest street of 275 letterboxes(15kg). Nothings a problem, all problems can be safely overcome. I’m up for all flag waving gatherings.

21. Croompenstein

O/T – just back in from a good walk, while out the wee fella asked me “why do dogs do white jobbies?” and you know i dunno! what’s dog white jobby got to do with the independence debate I hear you say..well one day this wee fella is going to be First Minister in a free, democratic Scotland so he needs to know these things..

22. CameronB

That took me back to when I was a callow youth getting my introduction to sociology in Prof. McCrone’s class. No criticism of his findings, though I would highlight his analysis did not appear to take account of the propeties of the decision making environment. Most specifically, the coordinated unionist propaganda campaign being conducted by all the MSM.

I think undecided voters would rapidly change to YES if they had the facts. Unless people have the facts they can not manage their decision making process effectively. Decisions based on misinformation are less likely to address real issues.

Re. ‘community focused’ policy instruments, popular since the 1960s and British Labour support for monetarist policies. Hint – The World Bank, the I.M.F. and Denis Healey;

Mr Healey’s onslaught on the Labour Left was followed less than half an hour later by a stark warning from the Prime Minister that the failure and collapse of the Labour Government could lead to its replacement by a totalitarian regime, either of Left or Right. Interviewed on BBC television, he said he was convinced that no other Government could succeed in coping with the present crisis. “That is why we are fighting hard to make this Government succeed.”

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/1976/oct/01/labour.uk

Re. the unionist. I’m afraid I didn’t have the bandwidth allowance to listen to much. Pish and wind.

23. Vestas

Forgotten how effective a speaker Colin Fox is. I may not agree with all his policies but he does know how to work an audience.

Felt almost sorry for the BT speaker but got over that rapidly when he opened his mouth (briefly).

24. caz-m

WTF is happening here,

Johann Lamont voted “Debater” of the year,

Fraser Nelson voted “journalist” of the year.

This is some kind of joke, surely.

Endless material there for Jock Scott and his team at Yew Choob.

25. Croompenstein

Dear oh dear..Graeme Archer in the Torygraph..was feeling quite good today but normal service has been resumed..

http://archive.today/3JdEP

26. alexicon

@Horseboy
    For me the number 1 woman voting YES is my wife 😉

27. CameronB

alexicon
    Crawler. 🙂

28. Muscleguy

@RobertPeffers
    Please do this, Stuart Hosie is our MP and as the SNP defence spokesman I would love to see him debate Robertson. I’ll make some popcorn in fact.

So please let us know when it’s up. You have one eager viewer here.

29. Jimsie

I”m with you alexicon. My wife of 48 years was an independence supporter long before any of these “top” women.

30. Elaine (@MFinthree)

@alexicon

As it should be hon – as it should be 🙂

BTW – Industrial Injury whilst out – sunburn!!! In April!!

And one guy in Union Flag T who barged up to me growling “I’m a Nationalist” ….. “Me too sweetie!!” gave him a wee peck on the cheek and swanned off.

Don’t you DARE tell me I am not doing MY bit for the cause LOL

31. Croompenstein

@Muscleguy – Stu linked to it earlier in the thread

32. Ian Brotherhood

@mato 21 –

Cheers for the heads up. This CBI stuff is going to blow BT to smithereens.

33. Jeannie

@heedtracker

Re Fraser Nelson – he just doesn’t get the concept of civic nationalism at all, does he? It seems that those of a right-wing bent just cannot mentally separate the concept of nationalism from ideas of ethnicity. Doesn’t surprise me, sadly, that their thinking is so limited.

34. CameronB

mato 21 & ian brotherhood
    STV has just quit the CBI as well. 🙂

http://news.stv.tv/scotland/272211-businesses-protest-after-cbi-announces-decision-to-back-no-campaign/

35. Jeannie

@Horseboy

Well done you! I pound the streets from time to time with the Yes newspapers myself – braving scary dugs, cracked paving stones, low-lying letterboxes and rusty gates and dodgy stairs, but it’s oh so satisfying when you get to the end of it!

36. Arbroath 1320

I see Cameron just beat me to STV story, drat and double drat! 😛

However, on a different tack, I hope I haven’t been beaten to this one as well, I see George Robertson has been hitting some of the hard stuff, and I’m almost certain that what he’s been hitting is NOT legal! 😛

http://tinyurl.com/k8s9v3v

37. a supporter

a supporter says 11:51 am

Seems I’ve made a booboo there. I was referring to the male YES speaker when I was writing about who was the best.

38. Marcia

Muscleguy

Angus Robertson is the SNP Westminster Defence spokesperson not Stewart Hosie. I would get the popcorn out for a clash of AR v GR. Angus knows his brief quite well.

39. HorseBoy

@Jeannie

Thanks.
    Praise and encouragement welcome.
    I’m trying to drum up a Noise!
    Sheep on fire.
    cheeri

ps.
    Negative Commentators forget it.
    Don’t bother, water of a ducks back.
    Its my time, get out of my face!

40. mato21

Ian Brotherhood

This may be a more up to date list

http://www.cbi.org.uk/media/1063818/scotland_council_members.pdf

41. HorseBoy

North British inscription to a Scot, Sir James McGrigor, Wellington’s military surgeon. This memorial Obelisk(21m/70′) at Duthie Park, Aberdeen South.

Would look great flying a WingsOverScotland Saltire!

ps. the NORTH BRITAIN refers to StrathSpey, 7th. line down.

What a cheek.

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/72751114
    http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/1062515
    http://fineartamerica.com/products/morning-light-on-obelisk-in-duthie-park-aberdeen-howard-kennedy-art-print.html

42. Andy-B

O/T Rev, I do apologise.

An excellent article in the Glasgow Evening Times, showing the dire effects of Westminster’s austerity plan,on children. Children turning up hungry at School, hugging radiators, due to empty stomachs,children arriving with mouldy food in lunch boxes, others coming to school without pencils, and crying because their parents have no money to buy them.

The teaching union NASUWT carried out the study relying on the information gleaned from 4000 teachers, paints a bleak and dismal future under Westminster rule. At least 82% of teachers had seen children turn up at school with damaged ripped, dirty unwashed clothes.

Many teachers gave pupils monies from their own pockets,they also gave the children clothes, and provided them with food.

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/children-are-arriving-at-school-hungry-160266n.24005655

43. HorseBoy

@cynicalHighlander

Just realised the name behind CBI Scotland.
    Its the arch anti-scot villian Iain McMillan.
    In my whole life he’s been briefing against Scotland.
    After referendum he’s oot!

ps. He’s a Scot and now recorded in history against Scots and Scotland, forever. History will judge him and his badly.

44. TheItalianJob

Very interesting debate. At around 30mins listen to the analysis by the presenter. He states that around 30% of those surveyed are in favour of Devo max. He further goes on to say that if 1/4 of these voters voted for independence the Yes vote is 48% and if this goes to 1/3 then the yes vote is 50%. He says the referendum vote will be decided by how these people vote. I personally think this is only part of the argument. But quite interesting nonetheless.

@Cameron B

Good on STV. When will we hear the same from BBC Scotland. Not holding my breath.

@Arbroath 1320

Saw this earlier today. So old Geordie boy thinks its ok for Russia being in NATO but not his own country as it would be cataclysmic for the world. Also along with his previous statement that Scotland has no culture we know where his loyalties lie and it’s not with the country of his birth.

45. CameronB

TheItalianJob
    I personally think this is only part of the argument. But quite interesting nonetheless.

Could you expand on that please?

46. john king

Did I spot twenty14 in the audience at the end?

47. john king

What Im concerned about is that we can be too sanguine about the force of the argument because of the resounding vote for yes every time there is one of these debates, but what I fear is that the audiences are predominantly yes in the first place,
    because they are more inclined to go to meetings like these to help reinforce their belief’s, whereas the no believers are inclined to stay at home because they think there is no discussion to be had (its no and that’s that)hence why the no campaign have trouble getting people to speak at these events because they know they’re talking to people who have already decided to vote yes,

I really wouldn’t put too much faith in these meetings, as important as they are to reflect the real voting intentions of people in Scotland (I so hope and pray I am wrong).

48. liz

@CameronB – I see you commented on the latest guardian business scare story – well done you for having the patience because I really can’t be arsed.

The story is pathetic – border scares again as for the constant naysayers on CiF – ‘We don’t care if you leave, please go’ and then spend time posting comment after comment highlighting all the doom that is going to befall us – you would need the patience of a saint.

49. Dr JM Mackintosh

Well Done to the STV for leaving the CBI !

I think we have found our National Broadcaster at last !!!!

50. CameronB

Dr JM Mackintosh
    You’ve never struck me as someone who might count their chickens…. 🙂

51. Matt Seattle

@Macart (19 April, 2014 at 11:17 am)

“Did I not hear some place that David Steele’s wife was planning to vote yes?”

I heard it from her own lips, in public, and in the company of her husband.

I was playing with Bill Telfer, my fellow Border-Piper-for-Yes at a Saltire Society St Andrews dinner last year at Ellisland Farm, where a certain Mr R Burns wrote a certain song: it gave me a wry pleasure to play Paircel o Rogues at sic a gaitherin, an follae it wi Theme for the Early Days of a Better Nation.

52. MJS Dundee

Looking down that CBI council list there, I see Scottish Enterprise and some others which cannot be associated with any political movement/position plus many who would not be wise to be associated.

SE are a cracker though – not sure if their boss is Fergus Ewing or John Swinney, but it’s one or the other. Whoops … .

A few emails to the parties on that council list asking if they associate themselves with the CBI’s position would result in quite a few more resignations. Get writing … . : )

53. Bugger (the Panda)

STV had to resign.

How could they continue to be an unbiased provider of news, as is their contractual requirement, if they are by association taking a political position.

Also, assuming a YES vote, they would wish to stay as a licenced broadcaster in Scotland and, although the BBC is responsible to HM Government, the Directors of STV have responsibility to their shareholders for the continuing viability of the enterprise.

Basically the BBC are toast and don’t give a monkeys anymore.

54. HorseBoy

Right now watching on BBC Parliament channel 81, former Head GCHQ getting grilled by Westminster Select Committee on Counter-Terrorism about Helmand Incursion and Rendition, and he’s sqirming.
    Chairman Keith Vas had to threaten him to answer the questions. He’s hiding something!

55. TJenny

HorseBoy – what do you think’s up with the horizontal split screen? Is it the BBC cut-backs or just the normal BBC incompetence?

56. TheItalianJob

@CameronB

To expand on this the 30% who want Devo max may when faced with the ballot box, find it too big a step to go the whole way and revert to what they perceive is the safe option and vote No.

John King at 5.00pm puts it well. The main people attending these meetings are already in the majority Yes voters. Additionally on this site I see a lot of people who are saying they have convinced people from NOs/DKs to vote Yes. The fight we have is that we need to ensure this remains the same in the next 5 months as polls and voters as we know can be very fickle.

We expect the BT campaign to throw a lot more scare stories in the next few months and this can still frighten people into voting No or not changing the DKs to Yes and worse still convince current Yes voters to vote No too!!!

All I’m saying is we have a way’s to go yet. We can do it but it will require a big push/effort from the Yes campaign big guns in the 4 months leading upto the referendum.

57. bjsalba

There is something that puzzles me very much about people who say they want devo-max. According to the academic they want Holyrood to do everything except defence and foreign affairs.

Does that mean people are happy hosting a hugely expensive weapon we cannot use and doing without any maritime patrols by surface sea vessel or aircraft?

Does that mean we are happy to be dragged into foreign wars by the likes of Blair or Cameron?

I don’t get it. That doesn’t make any sense to me at all. I just don’t get it.

58. CameronB

TheItalianJob

All I’m saying is we have a way’s to go yet. We can do it but it will require a big push/effort from the Yes campaign big guns in the 4 months leading upto the referendum.

Absolutely and sorry if you were wary of there being any rope involved in my question. 😉

I was going to agree with John as well, about pro-Yes dominance at these meetings, but I didn’t want to appear too opinionated. I would also have suggested that, IMO, these meetings are still necessary aids to overcoming life-long social conditioning towards a unionist perspective. These meeting help show that there are some very bright people supporting independence, even well respected academics. I am sure this helps strengthen pre-existing resolve, as well as persuade some to re-think their position.

59. Calgacus MacAndrews

@bjsalba says:
    There is something that puzzles me very much about people who say they want devo-max.

The most puzzling thing of all is why anybody would waste any time talking about Dev-Max.
    Dev-Max would mean an end to any of the tax money from Scotland going to London, and so it is just as toxic to the interests of London troughers as is independence.
    So Westminster will never allow Devo-Max to happen.
    Hence the myriad of other Devo-smokescreens being punted in the vain hope of conning the Scottish electorate.

60. Croompenstein

@Cameron B – These meeting help show that there are some very bright people supporting independence, even well respected academics. I am sure this helps strengthen pre-existing resolve, as well as persuade some to re-think their position.

Spot on Cameron, I also think the No’s don’t turn up is that they have no case to argue for and in my own experience they are confrontational and ‘crack-up’ very easily

61. CameronB

bjsalba
    I would suggest that the social conditioning I mentioned above, has helped to infantilize Joe Soap. Thinking through to the consequences of one’s actions is too challenging when ‘Britain’s Got…. is on the box.

Any time someone suggests MORE CLOUT as a reason for staying in the union, I ask them if they are happy with TRIDENT. That either makes them stop, or look like a total prat. A win win, IMO. 🙂

62. alexicon

CameronB says:
    19 April, 2014 at 12:47 pm
    alexicon
    Crawler.

You should try it Cameron, it works! :-))

63. TheItalianJob

@CameronB

No rope noticed in your query which was genuine.

Agree with your point on the meetings being important and they definetely are important for the Independence cause like are all the town hall meetings taking place all over Scotland every week.

Your comment – “I would suggest that the social conditioning I mentioned above, has helped to infantilize Joe Soap.” is also spot on and this is something that angers me about Joe Soap when I talk to them about the pros for independence. What worries me is this referendum is the biggest constitutional event in Scotland’s history and if we lose Independence because a great majority of the voters do not bother to seek out the “true” facts and still go and vote No then I am at a total loss for words. In my opinion it’s better they don’t vote if they do not have the full facts and are still willing to vote.

64. caz-m

This is posted on Crowd Surf, next post.

This is a list of CBI Scotland Members posted two years ago on NNS.

2012-01-23 11:59
    CBI Members scotland

Universities
    Robert Gordon University
    Glasgow Caledonian University
    College of Arts and Social Sciences (part of Dundee University)
    GU Holdings Ltd (commercial arm of Glasgow University)

Quangoes and similar
    VisitScotland
    Skills Development Scotland
    SQA
    Scottish Enterprise
    Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework Partnership
    Investors in People Scotland
    Business Stream (part of Scottish Water)
    SECC (91% owned by Glasow Council)
    TIE (Edinburgh’s favourite tramline layer)

Trade Bodies
    Food Trade Association Management
    Graphic Enterprise Scotland
    Homes for Scotland
    Publishing Scotland
    Scottish Building Federation
    SELECT
    The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland
    The Scotch Whisky Association

BID district
    Essential Edinburgh

Branches or Subsidiaries
    AG Holdings
    Conoco Phillips
    Heineken
    ISS Facility Services Ltd
    UPM-Kymmene
    Weber Shandwick

Companies (split into business sectors)
    Banks and financial inc insurance and investment
    AEGON UK
    Airdrie Savings Bank
    Alliance Trust
    Clydesdale Bank
    Royal Bank of Scotland Group
    Standard Life
    Engineering
    Weir Group
    Imes Group Holdings
    Jacobs
    Balmoral Group Holdings
    Hydrasun Ltd
    PR & Consultants, etc
    BiP Solutions
    Chance Associates
    Core Solutions Group
    Eglinton
    Glen Abbot Ltd
    Indigo
    James Barr
    Kynesis
    Laura Gordon Associates
    Liddell Thomson
    Millstream Associates
    Munro Consulting
    SI Associates
    Gupta Partnership
    Energy, Oil and Marine
    Aquamarine Power
    Cairn Energy
    Flexitricity
    Lithgows
    Scottish Power
    Wood Group Management Services
    Lawyers
    Ledingham Chalmers
    Maclay, Murray & Spens
    MacRoberts
    McGrigors
    Morton Fraser
    Shepherd and Wedderburn
    Property
    Elphinstone Holdings
    Lochay Investments
    Townhead Properties
    Construction & Supplies
    WF Watt (Contracts)
    Miller Group
    Stewart Milne Group
    McAlpine & Co
    Mactaggart & Mickel
    The rest
    Devro (food wrappers)
    FirstGroup
    Havelock Europa (furniture)
    Henry Winning & Co (string & twine)
    ICS (education)
    John G Russell (transport)
    Kube Networds (telecom)
    M Computer Technologies
    Memex Technologies (electronic shop equipment)
    Morris Leslie Group (various)
    Scottish Leather Group
    STV Group
    Coverdale Organisation (training)
    Edrington Group (distillers)
    Skene Group (hotels)
    Tomatin Distillery
    Tullis Russell Group (paper)

So there you have it – the membership of CBI Scotland

65. Juteman

As a whisky drinker, Tomatin has just lost a customer.

66. TJenny

Scottish Leather Group, Oooh. Didn’t know it was listed 🙂

67. CameronB

Juteman
    Are you no gonna wait and see what happens before you ditch a cherished friend?

68. Andrew Morton

@bjsalba. 6:41 pm

The reason so many people are willing to countenance Devo Max is that they really want independence but are frightened of the consequences. Devo Max seems like a no risk version of independence.

Of course, as others have said, it’ll never happen because it would expose the true situation in the UK, that Scotland isn’t subsidised.

69. HorseBoy

Again right now watching on BBC Parliament channel81 questioning by Westminster Select Committee on Counter-Terrorism.
    David Davis MP and Nick Pickles of Big Brother Watch says BT handing over bulk data to UK GCHQ on all Internet, Telephone, Mobile activity of all UK citizens, granted under UK RIPA law! Its gripping, ok I’m sado!
    There is always mission creep, whether deliberate or incompetence! OMG

Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act 2000:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regulation_of_Investigatory_Powers_Act_2000

70. TheItalianJob

@Andrew Morton

So true, but will they take the plunge and vote for Independence i.e. the ones that favour Devo Max and are DKs.

PS When I was in the Langtoon, a couple of weeks back, visiting my folks I almost thought of coming to the Yes meeting in Merchiston. I noticed you gave a brief feedback note on how the event went.

71. seanair

Caz-m
    Today’s Leader in the Herald was in a tangle about CBI’S action, arguing that it was all right to come into the open as a No campaigner, but missing the point that it had not consulted its Members. Seeing this list will surely have the Herald apologising in Monday’s edition for not pressing for the identity of all members of the CBI, and the names of those consulted about joining the No campaign.
    I hope that over the weekend many organisations which joined the CBI to share knowledge Etc.will be having kittens that they are being used by MacMillan in this way, and will take themselves OUT of the CBI. How crass of the CBI to think that you can get away with a scam like this.
    Well done STV and the others who’ve pulled out already.

72. Ian Brotherhood

@caz-m –

Have been ‘tied-up’ for last three hours, saw your post come in but couldn’t respond. Great stuff.

Looking forward to Marcia’s regular-as-clockwork posting of Sunday Herald front-page. If ‘CBI’ isn’t in the headline I’ll eat my own chin.

73. Croompenstein

Well done STV and the others who’ve pulled out already

To be fair STV had no choice however there are lots of others who do so let’s see who stands up for their principles.

74. Claire McNab

@Macart (19 April, 2014 at 11:17 am)

“Did I not hear some place that David Steele’s wife was planning to vote yes?”

Daily Record, 4 August 2012 Former Liberal leader Lord Steel’s wife backs independence campaign:
    “I have always believed in Scotland as an independent country. It’s an emotional thing.” {snip} Lady Steel is not sure if she will campaign for independence but is certain how she will vote.

75. seanair

Croompenstei
    I agree that STV had no choice but that makes the CBI even more stupid. Obviously they did NOT consult all of their members or they would have been given reasons why an organisation could not join a No campaign. But worse, they did not KNOW that some organisations were excluded from doing so. What an incompetent bunch of no-hopers!
    Yes, look forward to seeing tomorrow’ s Sunday Herald. Go get ’em boys….

76. TJenny

seanair – Jeannie and I and others have been discussing the CBI blunder over on the ‘Crowd Surfing’ thread. Really cross at RGU’s weasle words of excuse to remain registered with CBI, a now openly anti-indy organisation – surely that cannot be allowed with a referendum going on.

77. CameronB

TJenn
    I’m not trying to be teacher’s pet, but I would imagine the Rev. would appreciate Crowd Surfing being left for article suggestions.

78. TJenny

CameronB – I was thinking that myself, – but in light of tomorrow’s Herald front page, hoping he may forgive?

79. CameronB

TJenny
    This is going to be huge. IMO, it isn’t just everybody involved with local authorities (e.g. universities), but it’s trade bodies, QUANGOs and any organisation that isn’t a private organisation.

I think the wheels have just fallen of CBI Scotland.

@ Better Together
    Any comment about what you have either encouraged or allowed to happen?

80. jingly jangly

Yup Tomatin is off the list for me, most of the time I drink Arran Malt which is wonderful, but as one of my friends lives about 500 meters from the Tomatin distillery I like to support them, no longer.

81. Franariod

The truth shall always bear fruits. Thats why No wont play ball at open debates. They are the side with the withered branches and they know it. This is why they bring up false truths, open lies, deception. BT play on the propaganda that they have been producing for the last 300yrs. Half of our own still believe them, most of England believe them. The unionists do not know how to unify or there would not have been a call for a referendum in the 1st place, we would all be happy in our part within the union. But alas this is not so. We together show a country that can be. A country that Great Britain promised but failed to produce. A country that many English people want to be apart of and are welcomed to be so. This is not about race, Scots are not a race, we are a nation ! A nation with a common goal. That goal is of fair play to all ! A belief that stems back centuries, ” If the people suffer then the king suffers” Lets not forget that Lady McBeth fed the poor from her own kitchen. This is our culture, this is what we are. We are not to be feared, we are not to be regarded as a crippling condition, we are no “virus”. We wish to be a cure !

82. bookie from hell

BT guy ,vote NO get a job London ( : > )

83. Robert Peffers

@ Franariod: “We are not to be feared”.

One of the lasting memories I have of things that make me proud to be a Scot happened way back in the late 1940s. I was sitting in the Milk Bar, (aye! I’m that old), that used to have a prominant site at the Edinburgh West End. My friend I and I were asked if we minded sharing a table by a middle aged couple. These turned out to be two German Jews who had escaped Hitler’s NAZI rule and came to Scotland.

In the course of conversation I asked them why they chose to come to Scotland. The Lady replied that in all Europe there was only one small country that had never had an official pogrom against the Jews, It is Scotland.

When the English King expelled the Jews from his kingdom it was mainly Scotland that took them in. We may not be genetically different but by God we are very culturally different – I’m proud of that.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.