The Passenger

Posted on March 12, 2016 by

img186

Order “Welcome To Cairnstoon”, Chris’ compilation of Wings cartoons and more, here.

84 to “The Passenger”

1. mike

Bang, nail on head.

2. Paul D

Is there significance in the car being a “left-hooker”?

3. Nuada

Well, unfortunately, it seems England won’t be voting to withdraw from the EU. In fact, they’ve already gone over to left hand drive.

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell

It’s a really clever Europe sub-joke. Tsk.

5. Ally Farquhar

Absolutely spot on Chris.

6. cearc

Just perfect, Chris.

7. Tackety Beets

Excellent Chris .

The facial expression on Hamish as bully blusters on regardless.

Has anyone heard from Mundell Scottish Sec , representing Scotland in WM Gvt , what’s he doing about these Gers figures ?

Yoons revel with glee at the Gers figures forgetting that it’s all under their beloved Union.

Come on Hamish !

8. Ken500

The deficit in Scotland is because of Westminster policies. 60/80% tax on Oil sector when price has fallen 75%, has cost Scotland thousand of jobs and revenues = £4Billion+ a year. Trident/illegal wars/ redundant weaponry cost Scotland £1Billion. Scotland can’t put a tax on ‘loss leading’ drink Cost Scotland £1Billion Scotland has to pay £4Billion on debts it doesn’t borrow or spend. = £10Billion a year.

HMRC is not fit for purpose the UK tax Laws are not being enforced. Multinational pay no tax. Scotland loses £3Billion? a year. Whisky companies tax evade.

Scotland has lost £10Billion a year since 2011 = £50Billion. There would be no deficit if Scotland was Independent. Scotland has lost the equivalent of £300Billion because of Westminster policies, which could been better spent. Not on illegal wars, tax evasion and banking fraud.

Biris Johnston grandfather was violently killed by Turkish independence supporters. Boris Johnston born in US benefited from the EU. It paid for his privileged education. His father was an EU diplomat, they lived in sffluence in Brussels. The EU paid for it. Boris Johnston would be nothing without the EU. It put food on the table and clothes on his back and paid for his privilege life dtyle. Now he wants to turn his back. What a hypocrite. A dope on a rope.

Davidson is coming over as another bully Tory just like her masters. Never trust a Tory. Who would ever join the Tory/Unionist party in Scotland? Give a dope enough rope.

9. Hamish Mctavish

Hands off the wheel, eyes off the road, using an outdated and inappropriate map, restricted vision through use of wrong “handed” tool. What could possibly be wrong with all that?

10. jimnarlene

Hamish’s expression capturing Scotland’s position, perfectly.

The inevitable car crash, that is the Union.

The big airbag, to Hamish’s left, ain’t gonna help.

11. Breeks

Picture paints a thousand words, and such scathing words.

12. Stoker

Thanks, Chris!

Elton John – Passengers
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EB86UzewPdo

13. Ken500

The Archbishop of Canterbury worked for the worst company in economic history BP, all over the world reaping the resources of other countries. Now it’s OK to be afraid if Jonny foreigner, especially after his masters bombed them out of house and home. Leave them to rot in a quadmire.
    Instead of offering them food and shelter. Evil comes to town.

14. Wuffing Dug

Like the lhd subtlety.

What’s wrong with a sat nav? Did the Yoons give that away too?

15. galamcennalath

These cartoons Chris draws are a huge asset to the cause. A wonderful step by step commentary.

It is astonishing that en masse Yoonery just don’t seem to understand the fundamental motivation behind Scottish self determination – we can make a better job of running our own country than someone else can.

GERS, of course, is yet more evidence of how bad WM management is! If the Yoons had anything between their ears they would understand this, and keep quiet about the present situation as per GERS.

16. Cactus

Clunk click every trip..

a) They’ve been stationary for 26 hours
    b) The driver’s about to crash (again)
    c) The driver’s got his foot to the floor.. IN REVERSE!

Bon un cc.

17. Stoker

Almost forgot…((((( C’MON WALES )))))

Madness – Driving In My Car
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYZNSyP9v9M

Have a great and safe weekend troops!

18. Tackety Beets

Sorry my post@ 7.31 meant to read

Comon Hamish , Pull on e haunbrake an jump oot , let’s GTF !

19. Cactus

In the passengers case, the safety belt could easily be substituted for a padlock and chain.

Mais, you hold that key to free, people of Scotland.

Dya wanna be the driver or just ride around shotgun all day?

20. Croompenstein

It has to be one of those clown cars Chris cause it’s a f*n clown that’s driving.. 🙂

21. X_Sticks

Glad to see your birthday celebrations didn’t compromise the quality of your cartooning. 😀

22. Lollysmum

What Tackety Beetssays at 8.50am. Spot on!

23. Lollysmum

What Tackety Beetssays at 8.50am. Spot on!

Nice one Chris-a picture paints a thousand words 🙂

24. The Man in the Jar

Wuffing Dug said. “What’s wrong with a sat nav? Did the Yoons give that away too?”

Naw Obama (for now) has got the post codes.

25. Bob Mack

Brilliant. We are indeed a helpless passenger on this particular economic journey.

26. Chic McGregor

Just brilliant.

27. One_Scot

Pretty much sums up the whole situation in one picture.

Hopefully more and more Scottish people are beginning to realise and understand just how irrelevant these GERs figures are to the future of an Independent Scotland, and that they are merely a British State propaganda tool used solely for the purpose of discrediting Scotland based on their incompetence.

28. Almannysbunnet

GERS in a nutshell. Best analysis to date.

Westminster’s view, “we’ve made a right UKOK up of running things and there is no way we are going to let the uppity Jocks show us up by doing a better job on their own”. That’s truth and they know it.

If Osborne the budgeteer is panicking now can you imagine what a mess he’d be in if we had voted yes?

29. Col

I hadn’t even thought of it that way, the shit storm about gers. Why was Mr Mundell and the UK government not being hounded for answers on why Scotland’s finances are in such a poor state after 40 years of taking our oil?

30. Macart

Oh, that ticks every box.

Superb Chris. 🙂

31. heedtracker

The UKOK clown car.

Exact 180 from what’s now being rammed down our throats by the BBC, shock.

All other UKOK media, “we saved you, scumbags”

32. Ken500

The EU gave Boris Johnston everything, including his affluent, privilege lifestyle. Now he wants to turn his back on the EU, to sanction and starve UK citizens to death. His grandfather met a violent death from Turkish Nationalists.

33. yesindyref2

Yes indeed. A picture saves a thousand words. We are passengers. Which brings me to this, we need something special for Independence Day, along the lines of “I voted YES it’s not my fault”. Like:

The UK economy is going backwards, I voted YES, it’s not my fault.
    George Osborne is the worst Chancellor in history, it’s not my fault.
    We’re looking at deeper and deeper austerity, it’s not my fault.
    The block grant is gettng cut year by year, it’s not my fault.
    We might be forced out of the EU whether we want to or not, it’s not my fault.
    Pensions are being savaged (how?), it’s not my fault.
    The oil industry is crying out for UK Government help, it’s not my fault.

etc.

34. Grouse Beater

Thanks, Chris, you sparked off an idea for an essay

Here’s my view of the UK as US passenger – your weekend entertainment:

My Friend the Ukip Voter.”

http://wp.me/p4fd9j-5iD

35. JLT

Bang on! That’s definitely how Westminster sees Holyrood and any form of governance from it.

Another good cartoon, Chris.

36. G H Graham

Scotland is economically shit. Because we’re Better Together.

Hey, Unionists! What’s England’s deficit? No, not rUK. England’s?

Take yer time.

37. Capella

Telegraph headline:
    “Welfare to be Cut by £1b to pave Way for Tax Breaks”
    Archive not working with this article. Osborne plans to cut disability benefits so that he can give tax cuts to the better off in his next budget.

http://tinyurl.com/hehq69k

But what’s really important is the Duchess’s new dress designer.
    https://archive.is/Of1kd

Nice cartoon. Says it all really.

38. Andrew Mclean

Exactly,
    Not only is the driver unable to find his destination, his roadmap is basically a sketch on the back of a fag packet,. Unbelievably drawn to confuse!
    Car pooling is a great idea, but not if you’re passenger is traveling in a different direction, without the baggage, or the need for such an inefficient badly serviced car.

Time to drive our own car, our own direction, our own destiny.

We have our own parliament, apparently the most, bla bla,

Time for our own constitution, a new constitution for a new country.

39. yesindyref2

I see Sturgeon is to say there’ll be no rise in the basic rate of tax, which I totally agree with. I also see she’s unlikely to “be a passenger” and implement Osborne’s tax threshold increases for the higher rate of tax, which I also agree with.

But the higher rate thresholds are designed for London and the South-east, where average income is well above the UK average, and even a little bit more than the average in Scotland.

I’d like to see Swinney and Sturgeon being adventurous, and actually reducing those thresholds, so people pay the higher rate and additional rate earlier. That would raise a lot more than that talked about 5p on additional rate from 45p to 50p – and would be boldly progressive!

I put it forward as a policy on the SNP website, no idea if it got put up – I forgot to check!

40. Conan the Librarian™

http://tinyurl.com/zt4agxw

After the horrible two main headlines, look below

Driverless cars heading to a road near you

O/T Anyone got an answer from the BBC yet?

Anyone?

41. Proud Cybernat

Excellent ‘toon, Chris. Nail. Wallop!

As others have already noted, I too would like to know what the UK Govt intends to do about the economic mess they have apparently got Scotland into. Care to answer, Mr Mundell? (The irony, of course, is that, if you believe the Loony Yoons, a 10% debt to GDP ratio is far worse than the UK’s in 2005 which stood at 38%).

If you want a job done properly, do it yourself.

SNP x 2 + 1 EU = FREE

42. Bill McLean

If I understand this correctly, Scottish officials compile GERS based on figures given to them by the Westminster Treasury. We are all convinced that they are hookey figures so let us, on our own behalf, and on behalf of our knee-bender compatriots, request that Treasury “Open the books” – who could complain? Unionists must surely want truth as well? Every tweet, facebook comment and letter to newspapers should add that on at the end. It’s remarkable how simple things like that catch on – or not? Notice my lack of confidence born out of 70 years of being lied to by our betters!

43. Bob Mack

The BBC responded to complaints made by viewers of Andrew Marr interviewing Boris Johnson. Usual plss— all fair, impartial,blah,blah,blah.

I do not expect them to agree to anything regarding QT and Dimblebay.

Think the reply was on News Watch.

44. Croompenstein

They are maybe driving over the Forth Road Bridge you know the one that had to close due to unforeseen circumstances and that a parliamentary inquiry found to be the case.

Things are strangely quiet in Yoonania with regards to the FRB there was a time it was all they whined on about. I maybe missed the greatest living civil engineer Dr Scott Arthur being interviewed on the results of the enquiry… Mmmmmm…

45. carjamtic

Nice Chris 🙂

I feel Hamish’s anxiety at being taken on a journey he does’t want to go on.

The ‘driver’ John Bull,a self absorbed,egotistical,superficial buffoon is motoring along with eyes wide shut,heading to the Metropolis,a debased world,that is corrupted by hidden forces.

Hamish,is on a different journey,his eyes are wide open,he tried to get out of the vehicle at the last traffic lights,but JB jumped the lights at amber to thwart him.

There will be another set of lights soon,If Hamish is to save himself(us),he must be better prepared and use online satnav to aid him,(WoS,Commonspace,BellaCaledonia,Newsnet,Weegingerdug and alert Wingers).

JB assisted by MSM/EBC we know,will do everything to prevent him escaping,but it is too late,the political detonation has already happened,the full force of the new Scottish Enlightenment is coming.

Hamish knows,it’s time…..Hamish is ready….

It is Saturday morning and I could reading too much into Chris’s rather fine cartoon…..then again maybe not.

#welovehamish. 😉

46. Grouse Beater

Anyone got an answer from the BBC yet? Anyone?

My inside ‘mole’ tells me there are a few unhappy people at BBC over the stramash. The official excuse being concocted is the indy producer of Question Time is running rogue, that is, looking for the controversial angle, rather than trying to present a realistic group of voices from the location the show is recorded.

Based on past procedures, I surmise the producer will be brought in to ‘answer a few questions’ that won’t be made public.

47. Meindevon

@Grouse beater.

That was a great piece about your friend. I live in lovely Exeter. I see the UKIP thing happening but thankfully only a very few in my circle show a liking for their ideas. Funnily enough I have an acquaintance who has a great dislike for UKIP yet is a true blue Tory with a hatred for folk on benefits, unemployed, poor, immigrants, refugees, etc. To me they are almost as bad as each other.

I struggled with my vote in the GE. I eventually voted Labour ( although it really stuck on my craw) because I was led to believe by Ben Bradshaw himself that the Tories were pretty close to them on the running for Exeter and the Green candidate herself wanted the waverers to vote labour just in case. Both turned out to be untrue. So Greens it is in future.

I live in hope of, well mainly of coming home one day, but failing that, I hope one day when Scotland gets is independence, the Rev will not hang his hat up but do exactly the same for us down here. Although many are totally led by MSM, there are many that know we are getting fed a load of bull. We desperately need a Rev Stu!

48. Bugger (the Panda)

Really the Road to Hell

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OA1V7cI28hI&list=RDOA1V7cI28hI

49. Dan Huil

One of the best from Chris.

50. Flower of Scotland

Thanks Chris. Always look forward to your Saturday morning cartoon. Always hits the spot?

O/t. Does anyone why Independence live are not on air at the SNP conference?

51. X_Sticks

@Flower

The SNP feed doesn’t start until 11:30, so I’m guessing Indy Live will be the same – they probably didn’t know the exact timings when they advertised the feed.

The SNP feed is here: http://www.snp.org/live

52. One_Scot

That’s the thing, no matter what side of the side of the debate you are on, you would have to be pretty far down the IQ scale not to now be aware of the fact, and the way in which the British State and media manipulate and con Scotland.

53. Glamaig

Could have sworn the SNP spring conference was on today – must be wrong – not a peep about it on BBC website – even Scotland Politics section. Must have been a figment of my imagination, or the governing party of 9 years and biggest political party is just not newsworthy enough for their great website.

Oh hang on – it gets a passing mention in the small print an article entitled ‘Sturgeon – no rise to basic tax’.

54. One_Scot

And as you can see, I am pretty far down that IQ scale, and even I can see it.

55. Clootie

Chris

Pure genius!

I continue to be stunned every week by how you manage to capture such issues in one cartoon.
    …not just sum up the nonsense of unionist propaganda but to so effectively ridicule it!

Thank you.

56. Nana

That is a fantastic cartoon, crash and burn under tory rule.

Nicola interrogated before the conference

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-35763213

57. call me dave

Fear and alarm for Hamish being taken for a ride…
    Aye and if you don’t know where your going your liable to end up somewhere else.

Caught the whole political conundrum in that cartoon.

PS:
    Any links to the conference anyone?

PPS:
    No ‘The National’ at my usual paper shop this morning as I clutched my other papers (I get the others for a neighbour who’s a bit slow on the feet).

“Sorry we didn’t get any this morning” she says
    “Will I get one on Monday?” I ask
    “Don’t know” says she

I put the other papers back as I politely (for me) says OK I might buy the others on Monday. She wasn’t pleased nor was I.

Went round to Smiths and got them.

Finally
    Anybody else caught Sir David Steel (ex Kirkcaldy born and ministers son…(I see a pattern developing here) on radio Scotland this morning calling for a 2nd chamber in Holyrood.

He proffers that the committees at Holyrood are too powerful and politically swayed since the SNP took over… and it’s not good as it was never designed/intended for this to happen.

Better if the likes of ‘others’ took over the task of scrutiny and maybe were based at Holyrood or Westminster to do the job.

‘Others’? Some of our Peers maybe in the HoL could do the job and do double duties! He admitted (good BBC word there) that independence might be a problem for this grand scheme. 🙂

SNP X 2

58. Ruby

Great imagination! Great penmanship!

59. Nana

@call me dave

http://www.snp.org/live

60. call me dave

@X_Sticks
    Thanks watching it now.

61. Ken C

Brilliant Chris! One of your best, and that’s saying a lot.

Great way to start the day.

62. Yesitis

There are so many ways that I think this is brilliant. Thanks Chris. Nailed it, and nailed it beautifully.

63. Fred

Why we need our own honours list, Brian Quaill the veteran anti-nuclear campaigner was arrested on Thursday for lying down on the road & halting a convoy of nuclear warhead trucks!

64. Ruby

It’s amazing that ‘Yoonsters’ believe that claiming Scotland is an ‘economic basket case’ while being part of the ‘most successful union in the history of the world,the universe & everything’ is reason for remaining in the Union.

Obviously if ‘Yoonsters’ for some strange reason want Scotland to remain in their Union then it would be in their interest to ensure Scotland does not succeed.

Basically ‘Yoonsters’ have given Westminster carte blanche to ensure Scotland remains an ‘economic basket’ case and they wonder why they are seen as anti-Scottish.

65. Ruby

What I find most amazing about these cartoons is the idea.
    Having the imagination to think up these cartoons is brilliant.

Anyone fancy having a go at thinking up a cartoon about QT from Dundee?

66. Tackety Beets

Sorry O/t

Col @ 9.45

Its staggering that all the Yoons talk angrily about is another Ref, whilst Nicola actually always say “if the people desire” or words to that effect.

The twisting of words by MSM comes straight out of the mouths of the remainder of the Yoons who are still being takin in by the inaccurate reports in the MSM.

Meantime Rev Stuart keeps us all on the same page , whoop whoop.

Plus they seam to forget its was an effin NO keeping us shackled to WM which means circa 70% of our Taxation / Powers are still @ WM …… hence my question on Mundelly etc Its under their stewardship and we should know what the intend doing to about it.

YesIndyref2

As always I agree with 99% of your posts.
    For Scot Parly to change any of Scotland’s Income tax is pointless,least whilst we are in this Union and regrettably we are.
    So if we took S Labours advice and voted for them we would have had a resounding BT stay in the Union but pay more tax. Fit ?

Yes I would pay more Tax to help Education, NHS , Social matters etc. Sorry but as long as we are in this Union we should not pay more than our equals doon sooth.

I give a bit more now to local charities of my choice and suggest others consider the same.

67. Croompenstein

I haven’t seen much of john king round these parts lately. I do miss his ascerbic wit in the mornings sends me off with a smile as I trudge to the drudgery.

Everything OK with you and Irene jdman ?

68. Jack Murphy

Fred said at 12:00 pm:-
    “Why we need our own honours list, Brian Quaill the veteran anti-nuclear campaigner was arrested on Thursday for lying down on the road & halting a convoy of nuclear warhead trucks!”

Scottish CND were in Balloch filming the convoy,and caught the incident and arrest on film.
    It,and other convoy films in Scotland are on their Facebook page.

69. cearc

Croompenstein,

They have just gone off on holiday for a couple of weeks.

70. DerekM

lol nice one Chris ,poor Hamish and i bet that old duffer only pooled and shared one airbag for himself as well and asks for double the petrol money,and the car looks okay from a distance but once you get up close its falling to bits and the brakes dont work.

71. cearc

Just brilliant, on Wings twitter feed.

Yousaf Humza’s campaign team slogan, ‘Yous’af tae vote Humza’.

T-shirts an ‘all!

72. ArtyHetty

Brilliant image, gave me a much needed chuckle.

All that’s needed is a wee roadblock. Then we can put bulldog in the boot and drive them somewhere near a cliff, goodbye. Like those films, where the baddies get their commuppance, for trying to finish off the goodies.

We can have our own car, and run it on our own fuel, and where the road tax goes to pay for repairing the roads and the oil revenue is invested in renewables.

Am I dreaming, when will the UKok nightmare end?

73. Ken500

Scotland needs a tax system being set up. Now being done. To enforce the tax Laws. HMRC Is not fit for purpose. With support for Independence rising there will be another Referendum. The Unionists lied and cheated. They broke every election Rules. A hollow victory. That is why people were cheated and are angry.

74. Flower of Scotland

@X_Sticks

Thanks for that. I eventually got it on snp.org. Really enjoying the Conference so far. Starts again at 2.30pm.

75. Almannysbunnet

@Ruby says:

What about a BBC car park with a Red London bus with a big sign on the side, “Question Time Audience”. As the passangers are boarding the bus one of them says “where are we from this week”?

I was thinking of another angle on today’s cartoon. Just change the vehicle to a motorbike with sidecar. Hamish is driving at full speed while undoing the bolts that attach the sidecar to the bike. Maybe we can save that one for later 🙂

76. Ruby

Almannysbunnet says:
    12 March, 2016 at 1:20 pm

@Ruby says:

What about a BBC car park with a Red London bus with a big sign on the side, “Question Time Audience”. As the passangers are boarding the bus one of them says “where are we from this week”?

Ruby replies

That’s a good one!

So is the one about the motorbike!

77. Ruby

My head is hurting trying to think of a cartoon!

It’s not that easy!

I’m thinking of Alistair Darling, Ruth Davidson & Willie Rennie standing outside a newsagents shop which has a row of newspaper headlines from Record, Scotsman, Times, Herald, BBC etc.

Plenty headlines to choose from

‘Impossible’ for Scotland to join EU, says Barroso

A Scottish ‘Yes’ Also Means Exit From EU

Scotland will be forced out of EU

Hague: EU states will block Scotland

EU membership ‘at risk if Scotland votes for independence

France and Spain ‘would veto Scotland in EU’

Caption: No mention of possibility of EU referendum!
    Shsssh! that’s not something we want talked about!

78. old dearie

For the second day running when I had completed the BBC complaint form it took me back to the beginning again without the chance to submit. I was careful not to press the back button on any occasion.

How many complaints are not being registered?

79. Ghillie

Aww HAMISH!!

BOOT HIM OUT AND TAKE CONTROLL!!

Is THAT one of those driverless cars Gideon has just ok’ed for UK roads? Scary! So scary!

80. Patrician

Looking forward to the collected works Vol.2

81. Richardinho

Aside from their amusing and witty content, I do like Chris Cairn’s drawing. They have a classic simplicity that I find very pleasing.

82. Grouse Beater

Meindevon “That was a great piece about your friend. I live in lovely Exeter.”

I’m happy you liked the essay, Meindevon.

I wrote it with a great deal of trepidation.

If you don’t mind, I’d like to reproduce the relevant bulk of your post here at the end of the essay.

Is that okay?

Grouse

83. Grouse Beater

Sorry, Meindevon, almost forgot; here’s the link to check your letter:

‘My Friend the Ukip Voter’: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-5iD

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.