1. 01 10 15 18:43

The Infiltrators | Speymouth

313 to “The Infiltrators”

1. Kenny

How many six year old lassies are aware enough of the gender pay gap to ask such a leading question about it?

I hate to ask, but has everyone checked their Labour election literature to see whose kids they recognise?

2. heedtracker

How come even this very creepy fraud looks heavily edited? Dugdale cant even answer Q’s from kids now without her script.

3. cynicalHighlander

The Headmaster/mistress of that school should be on the carpet for that.

4. Alastair

Whatever school it is the head should be reprimanded for a political stance and I hope all the children’s parents signed authority to use their children for political ends.
    Needs investigated. Because, a school and its children should not have been used.

5. naebd

I’m intrigued and want to know where the PPB was filmed. A state school seems like it’d out of the question.

6. gerry parker

Well done Stu, I bet that will sting a bit.

7. Sandy

“And if you can’t do any of these things… you could be a politician like Kezia.”

Somebody owes me a new keyboard, I just drowned this one in coffee.

8. chossy

Kids and politics shouldn’t really mix… but the SNP did a whopper of a campaign video a while ago that had the unborn baby and a nightmare dystopian future.. They have consigned that video to the what were we thinking cupboard where it should belong!!

I’m not denying the hypocrisy, but SNP’s video was a belter : /

9. Grendel

One mustn’t forget Bingo Whitefield and her dubious letters to schoolchildren in North Lanarkshire…
    http://newsnet.scot/?p=103320

10. Lesley-Anne

Sorry folks THAT is not a school. Nor are they children in the video.

What you are looking at is the inner sanctum of Labour’s Branch Office. The people you see are two members of the Branch Office working out this week’s expense claims for all the Branch Office M.S.P.’s!

SIMPLES! 😀

11. James Caithness

That is a disgrace. North Korea.

12. theMadMurph

Nice to see Kezia hanging some of her own work on the wall at the end!!

13. wee folding bike

Errr… lots of powers good, more powers better;

So why was all the powers bad?

14. Colin

I see in the clip The Dug is there as well……..wonder if she is in the maths class?

15. jimnarlene

That’s painful to watch.
    Kezia, certainly needs to go back to school, lessons in truth, humility and how not to be patronizing; perhaps.

16. Iain More

In my experience the Brit Nats have been using education for Brainwashing and other dark political purposes for decades. In Primary and Secondary schools and Universities.

True story time: Not a Jackanory tale:

I can still remember the day when my O grade Chemistry teacher told the whole class that North Sea Oil wouldn’t last 10 years and that it was the wrong kind of oil.

I did wonder why he would say that but only years after I had left school did it twig when he turned up at the door canvassing for the Brit Nat Labour Party.

I wonder how many kids changed their career paths based on that mans lies? That was in 1974. Oil was a hot topic at the time without me recounting political history.

I can even remember my little sister taking home pro Common Market guff from her primary school class prior to the first Referendum we had on Europe.

17. Andrew McLean

Grendle,@ 5:25

Jack McConnell Frank Roy and John reid, either tried to obtain the personal details of all children or boasted they obtained them!

creppy!

18. Grendel

Mr McCann said “I would therefore call upon South Lanarkshire Council to carry out an investigation to ensure that children are not being manipulated in this way, that no education facilities are being used for political purposes and that employees of the council are not misusing their positions.”

I’m very concerned that education facilities and community centres are being allowed to play host to sectarian loyalist and Irish republican bands. Perhaps Mr McCann would like to look into this as well?

19. Anagach

Maybe I missed something.

But she does not appear with the children in a single shot.

Which suggests that the questions and the answers are done entirely separately and the children may never have seen her.

20. ronnie anderson

@ Sandy hee hee read the Wings safety manual, things just pop up on your screen unexpectedly,your no the 1st an you wont be the last lol.

@ Rev its another Foot in the Moothy piece,& still they persist, wan of these days they will achieve perfection they,ve hud plenty practice lol.

21. GallusEffie

The message coming loud and clear from that video is that SLab stand for “working people”. For everyone to have “a decent job”.

On the day that the minimum wage rises 20p/hour, I’d like to remind Kezia that her erstwhile Labour colleague Anne McGuire wrote and told me that I do not “work” but rather “play an important role”.

My “wage” rise this year was 75p a week and I still do not even earn £2/hour. After 21 years solid “role playing”

Cheers Kez.

Mind and tell all the wee weans in your school that will be young carers that they’re just as invisible as the amount of SLab MSPs getting in next year.

22. scotspine

Sorry to go OT, but watching that, an image of Max Wall kept invading my mind.

23. laverock

Painful and cringey. Who can that possibly be aimed at? I can’t imagine anyone at all watching that without feeling uncomfortable.

No offence meant to the children. Not their fault.

24. Les Wilson

Just goes to show, when you think they cannot go any lower, they plunge to deeper depths.

25. dramfineday

Alert readers, sharp writing and the biter, bitten what’s not to like about Wings?

26. Sweep

@ Anagach 5:41 pm

That’s my impression also. As if the kids asked their questions in one session, the answers were shot in another and the two were spliced together.

One of the girls seemed a bit older – taller than the other kids, yet KD seemed to look at exactly the same spot for each shot.

If true, that just makes it even more of a cynical operation.

27. Brian Doonthetoon

They appear to have short memories in Labour Scotlandshire.

Still digging the hole, while daylight is a pinprick above them.

28. Les Wilson

Watching Keiza clip again, this IS something that should be looked into.Labour shot themselves in the foot again.
    Were the kids primed with questions, looks like a high possibility of that.Labour,labour,omg!

If this was the case there should be an uproar.

29. Alastair

Ok. Let’s get real. Are the children real pupils from a real Scottish primary school or agency “actors”
    If so what schools do they really go to. For me they look more Morningside than, and no disrespect as its my home town, Airdire.
    Anybody with child actor agency connections to shine a light.
    The whole film is a setup.

30. AlbertaScot

Hey Stu, I know this guy is a total snaphead and enemy of the people.

But he does a pretty good job slicing through the bullshit on what Our Michelle was up to.

Give it a good read here:

http://ianssmart.blogspot.co.uk/

Like I’ve said before this girl it totally toxic and why she isn’t under investigation by the polis (or maybe she is) is hard to explain.

The SNP brainstrust better figure this out fast.

Because they don’t make bargepoles long enough.

31. Macart

Oh dang!

They’ve gone straight from face palm to pie in face. 😀

32. Geoff Huijer

23 seconds in and I almost puked up on the pc – ‘I help people’.

Don’t feel I have the stamina to watch the rest; I’m guessing just as cringeworthy as the first 23 seconds.

33. M4rkyboy

‘For every pound Lucas earns, you’ll earn 89p’

That can’t be true, can it? It’s against the law to discriminate on gender.

34. manandboy

Anagach at 5:41 pm
    Maybe I missed something.
    But she does not appear with the children in a single shot.

Have another look – at the beginning.

35. Ruby

Ah yes this is what they mean by kinder politics.

Kezia talks to voters of the future in Kindergarten in the hope of getting their vote in 2036.

36. laverock

Where did that bit of video come from?

Surely it can’t have been released to the public? Did a focus group LIKE it??

Apart from that,it’s funny to see kezia in the classroom, something about her reminds me of one of those mean girls at school.

Expecting her smiling face to suddenly contort while she grabs some kid’s pencil and screams ‘that’s mine – MISS! She’s got my pencil’

37. Another Union Dividend

In the socialist republic of South Edinburgh disgraced MP Nigel Griffiths obtained the names and addresses of all parents of children at local schools and targeted them.

How was that done?

He also ran a Christmas Card competition for all primary school kids and this is being continued by Union Jacket Ian Murray.

38. Paul D

I like that her opinion is that if you can’t do a job that is for the benefit of society, you should be a politician.

39. liz

@Iain Moore – you are right about the oil story. I went into teaching in the 90s and used to teach chemistry.

We made up our own lesson plans but had learning outcomes which came from SQA, that were used to make up these lessons as this is what the questions in exams were based on.

Using those LO, oil was going to run out in 30yrs.

However these LO were devised in the 80s and when still teaching in 2010s. oil was still running out in 30yrs.

I ended up saying, that’s the info you need for your exams but they’ve been saying the same thing for at least the last 40 years.

40. Dr Jim

@AlbertaScot

I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt for half a second and take your word on it that you don’t live in Scotland because if you did you. like the whole population of this Country would know, nothing that comes out of the mouth or is written by the pen of, or is typed in his darkened room by this excrement sodden little degenerate of a creature from Lord of the Rings is taken as, or looked on, as in any way connected with reality

This nothing of a Golumb like Slug is not entertained by anyone almost living or dead

If you’re a little squint of a troll however don’t answer

41. Blind Squirrel

This shows a new old labour honesty when declaring that the kid could do anthying she wants in life but, if she doesn’t make it she can be a politician. I presume a labour politician! Slight mistake when pointing out the girl, for every pound she earns, will only get 88p, but the point was a fair one. Overall though I don’t think the all powerful Scottish Labour Leader* was actually talking to the kids, it seemed like an editing job to me.

*All powerful in the sense that she no longer needs to vote with the British party leader or with the British party as Labour is offically a free for all whipless wonder.

42. Bruce L

Silly Rev doesn’t know what he’s talking about. This is of course totally different, because SNP bad Labour good.

43. Ruby

‘For every pound Lucas earns, you’ll earn 89p’

Talk about making a girl feel inferior being totally sexist! Not what you would expect for a feminist!

The girl could end up earning £79.50 per hour whereas Lucas could be on £7.95 that is if the living wage has reached that amount by the time Lucas leaves school.

Wunderkind Kezia is a hoot!

44. Blind Squirrel

Sorry I made a mistake – I meant 89p. And I was unclear. I meant that if she earns a pound, she’ll get a pound. But I understand what she meant about lower wages based on gender. Good god I’m getting in a right muddle, making mistakes, lacking clarity and raving like a lunatic. I know what job I should go for next 🙂

45. AlbertaScot

Hey, Doc Jim. I know all that stuff.

He may be all those things you say, but he does a pretty fair job of draining the legal swamp about what Our Michele appears to have been up to.

All I’m saying is this thing’s got legs.

As Nik-la and all her gloomy MSPs were signaling on FMQ’s today. When Tweedle Dumb and Tweedle Dumber were doing there what-does-she-know-and-when-did-she-know-it stunts.

46. Tinto Chiel

Goad! More shoot-yourself-in-both-feet drivel from the incomparable Slabbers.

Wasn’t Mr McCann the MP who allegedly assaulted an East Kilbride schoolboy who had the temerity to wear a Yes badge? Whatever happened to that one, by the way?

Gone the way of all flesh, like Ruthie Tank-Straddler’s investigation?

It’s a funny old game, Saint.

47. MJT

I was disgusted and depressed when i watched it first time round and second time round I’m disgusted, depressed and fuckin beelin. People like Kezia do fuck all for this country, they are enemies of the people, they hate us, and they just play politics. It’s just a fuckin game to them.

They do all they can to keep dragging this great country, Scotland, down into the shitter. This can’t keep happening. With the media by their sides they get away with so much; lies, half-truths, misrepresentations, distractions and fabrications and the people they hurt most are the people of the country they claim they seek to serve.

Sometimes you have to laugh, but for me, not today. No laughter. We deserve better, we have to keep fighting back. Well done again Rev. Fuckin depressing, but you cannae turn away from this stuff.

48. Kenlike

Maybe they’re all actors

Including La Dugdale

49. Bob Mack

Och leave off people,.
    The bairns are only getting a history lesson in Labour. They learn what it used to be as opposed to the new breed.

50. Tinto Chiel

MJT: heartfelt and to the point. I think most of us here feel the sme.

Kezia’s Krew are completely unprincipled self-loathers who are so stupid they probably don’t even understand what utter Massey-Fergusons/ Bamber Gascoignes they are. They have no historical sense or empathy and only see politics as a way of securing a career path out of the piraña tank of Slab.

Keep the heads up and scorn them.

It’s not nice to say it, but they are pretty worthless people.

51. yesindyref2

@AlbertaScot
    Thomson has resigned the whip, and with that her SNP membership goes. She is no longer a member of the SNP, and not one of the SNP group at Westminster. Sturgeon has made a statement in Holyrood, and there’s nothing else she or the SNP can do now, short of breaking in to the appropriate registrar of births deahts and marriages and destroying all evidence she ever existed.

Meanwhile Thomson has offered to help the police imvestigate, there aren’t even any charges let alone a successful prosecution for “mortgage fraud”.

Meanwhile the article by Ian Smart is full of allegations and innuenedo, and he even has a go at BfS – as other unionists have and are doing – as the face of the SNP, which it isn’t and never was. He accuses them of being just PR people, well, being in business in Scotland for a lot years I actually know some of the ex-players and PR is not what they are. And of the over 2,000 members during the Ref I also know quite a few including my own business, and we’re not “PR” either.

Offering a link to such an Ian Smart article is suspect.

Meanwhile the HMCS Montreal, a Halifax class frigate, has berthed in Faslane, I hope the crew enjoy Scotland.

52. JLT

Well …maybe Michael McCann is no longer about, but why not ask the Scottish Labour leader herself.

So …if anyone would like to follow on, this is what I have emailed her from the following website address:

http://www.keziadugdale.com/contact/

And here is what I have asked her:

Hello Ms Dugdale.

I’m enquiring about an article that appeared in Wings over Scotland (the article being ‘The Infiltrators’ and was submitted by the Editorial team on the 1st October 2015).

The article highlights an interview made by the ex-MP Labour Michael McCann in which he ‘accused the SNP of ‘infiltrating’ schools to ‘brainwash’ children into supporting them’ (from the STV article – ‘http://news.stv.tv/west-central/315185-scots-mp-accuses-snp-of-infiltrating-schools-to-brainwash-pupils/’ – dated 26th March 2015).

In the STV article, Michael stated that ‘”I am concerned and shocked by this development, as I am sure many parents will be too. People may remember that Linda Fabiani was criticised for befriending youngsters on Facebook, it doesn’t take much imagination to join up the dots on their plans.’

But the Michael adds ‘”It is surely wrong for any political party to attempt to take advantage of impressionable children in this way.’

He further added, ‘”I would therefore call upon South Lanarkshire Council to carry out an investigation to ensure that children are not being manipulated in this way, that no education facilities are being used for political purposes and that employees of the council are not misusing their positions.’

So going with his last statement there, I’m enquiring as to your recent Labour political video in which you sat with very young children in a school where they asked questions, and you replied at points during the video stating the words ‘my party’ or ‘party’, and having a child ask ‘why is there a Labour party’. Correct if I’m wrong …but is this not ‘brainwashing’ children into supporting the Labour Party? Is this not the very thing that Mr McCann condemned?

If you could let me know what the difference is between yourself, your team and the Scottish Labour Party believing that it is OK to go into a school (apologies if I’m wrong on the location, but it does look like a school), get the kids to ask a politician on what the Labour Party does; and you answering them! …while at the same time, condemning Linda Fabiani for making friends with kids (who’s kids …they could be the kids that are friends of the family) on Facebook, then please could you reply to me with explanations. I will happily post your reply on the forum so that others who may have the same queries on this matter can obtain the answers satisfactorily.

And just to re-iterate …it’s the difference between Michael’s accusation …and why it is OK for Scottish Labour to do what he condemns. This query that I ask is not about what the Labour Party can do for schools and school children. It’s about the difference between the accusation made by Labour MP at the time, and yet it is okay for colleagues of that same party to do what he accuses another party of doing.

Thanks again

James Turbert

53. Jimbo

‘A Scottish Labour party spokesman added: “Children should be made aware of life around them and what causes issues such as poverty and austerity but they should also be able to decide for themselves based on the facts and all different points of view not just one.’

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha, Indoctrination by the Labour party is good, SNP bad.

54. HandandShrimp

It isn’t a school

That is Labour Party HQ at the bottom Bath Street. I know I am getting older because all the staff look really young.

55. JLT

And that website address fails.

OK …so sent the email to her at the following

https://www.scottish.parliament.uk/msps/currentmsps/27537.aspx

and here

kezia.dugdale.msp@scottish.parliament.uk

56. Clootie

…on reflection Kezia is a gift to assist the to the parties supporting an Independent Scotland.

It is far better to have her than someone even moderately competent.

Remember this was the BEST they could come up with 🙂

57. Drsteinberg

“I want every single child in Scotland to have the best start in life” So I’m going back to start at the beginning. Again. Keiza. Aged 34 and a bit.

58. Grouse Beater

Dugdale: “I try to help people”.

Thinks: “I must keep it very simple so children understand what I want them to understand that I am Santa’s wife, and their little fragile minds are not sullied by knowing I am a double-dealing, dissembling, halfwit of a politician who cannot string two words together that make sense.”

What nursery with any integrity would give access to a politician of any hue to shoot a propaganda film?

59. Ken500

The school children have obviously be fed the question to ask. Who let her in the school to make a political broadcast? Labour were kicking up a row when Alex Salmond visited a school. Those who can do. Those who can’t become Unionist politicians. ‘ Don’t do as they do, do as they say?’ Hypocrites.

60. Big Jock

Surprised Corbyn didn’t turn up as one of the kids.” And what do you do at work in Scotland Kezia”

Still can’t get over the chump in my work saying Snp are in meltdown. Why because it said she resigned on the BBC. Except she temporarily stepped down until better together get their jotters from the Police, not resignation.

61. Cuilean

Jackanory, Jackanory, Jackanory.

And today’s story, children is through the arch window!

62. Socrates MacSporran

Regarding Liebor’s penchant for continually repeating past mistakes.

I see Jeremy Corbyn has been pictured holding a bottle of Irn Bru. Doesn’t he realise how well that went for Jim Murphy?

If he drinks it – he’s doomed, doomed ah tell ye.

63. Thepnr

AlbertaScot

“Hey, Doc Jim. I know all that stuff.”

Nah you don’t.

“But he does a pretty good job slicing through the bullshit on what Our Michelle was up to.

Give it a good read here:

Like I’ve said before this girl it totally toxic and why she isn’t under investigation by the polis (or maybe she is) is hard to explain.”

Nah he doesn’t and Nah she isn’t.

Caller what’s your point?

64. Tinto Chiel

“What nursery with any integrity would give access to a politician of any hue to shoot a propaganda film?”

Good point, Grouse Beater.

Oh, I do hope all adults concerned in this film have been scroll-checked or have completed a disclosure form regarding convictions of the nasty sort.

Otherwise…..

65. Iain c

After May when unionist parties are wiped out in Scotland, will Westminster finally recognize that the game is up for them and begin negotiations for Scottish independence.

66. Jim McIntosh

@Socrates

“I see JC has been pictured holding a bottle of Irn Bru”

Barr’s should sue them for bringing their product into disrepute.

67. Achnababan

Scotspine…

Thank you thank you…. it has been troubling me for weeks and affecting my sleep.

Kez is actually Max Wall …. its the haircut.

68. Ken500

AlbertaScot – Not

That’s an old one. Regurgitating and spewing it out.

69. Marcia

The SNP didn’t infiltrate the schools but successfully infiltrated the House of Commons much to Mr McCann’s horror. 🙂

70. Truth

Of course Labour have form when it comes to brainwashing children.

Jack McConnell and Frank Roy faced an investigation in 2001 for obtaining names and addresses of schoolchildren in their constituencies and sending personal letters to them. Only a few years later Karen Whitefield did the exact same thing!

According to the register of interests many of their msps also run annual Christmas card competitions for schoolkids sponsored of course by the co-op.

Of course you have to remember the huge percentage of labour politicians that were teachers in previous careers as well. Just how much brainwashing have they been up to?

71. Grouse Beater

Were the parents of the children consulted and gave permission for Ms Dugdale’s refuelling visit?

72. Croompenstein

@AlbertaScot –

WTF you’re on the wrong site champ, don’t go linking to that complete zoomer Smarts blog on Wings ya warmer. And fuck off with the unionist bandwagon shit.

73. Tinto Chiel

“Still digging the hole, while daylight is a pinprick above them.”

Heh, Brian DTT: lyrical stuff, with a lovely metaphor.

You been reading Omar Khayyam up in Dundee?

Bet it’s your own work, you old softy.

74. Grouse Beater

AlbertaSnot: All I’m saying is this thing’s got legs.

And you’ve got a ton of bullshit.

75. Indigo

Those children do very much look like child actors reading their lines

However the children & politics don’t mix thing that some commentators have suggested I, obviously, disagree with, the number of children who engaged with politics during the indyref was amazing. Why shouldn’t children be exposed to politicians & political arguments? Children are naturally inquisitive and learning about where power resides should be an important part of their education.

Other than it being a wee bit twee I don’t have an issue with Kez doing this vid. She wants to focus on education and there are education issues in need of addressing. However she’d help people most by focussing on these real issues during FMQ rather than irrelevant mischief making.

76. Cath

Wow, patronising or what. I know it’s *meant* to be about education, but it comes across as, “what mental age do we think the people we’re aiming at are?”, “About 6 maybe.” “Right, how can we speak to 6 year old mental age voters without seeing too patronising?” “I know! Let’s have kids that age “ask questions” so it looks like we’re talking to them. The 6 year old mental aged voters will never realise that’s the point behind it at all but will just think, ‘aw, how sweet” “Genius!”

77. Tinto Chiel

“Were the parents of the children consulted and gave permission for Ms Dugdale’s refuelling visit?”

Oh, please keep digging, Grouse Beater.

I do hope nothing illegal has taken place.

Never mind, I’m sure the Guardians of the Press will investigate this thoroughly.

Never mind, Harvey has his carrot, I have my Horlicks, and we’re off to catalogue my MFC programmes, starting with season 1962-3.

78. Grouse Beater

Tinto Zinc:

If you don’t know how a normal, approved nursery is run under strict rules with adults barred, yet you feel able to spout sarcasm, then you’re ignorant as well as a fool.

If the film is a set up, children chosen from Labour voters, then it’s a complete con.

Got any more puerile repartee?

79. Ian Kirkwood

Nice to see Kez starting with the least privileged kids. Leading by example…..shocking, no other word for it.

80. Sooz

Politicians of all stripes and hue go into schools to talk to children. Plenty of pictures on Google images to prove it. Michael McCann’s bitter little gripe is that SNP politicians swept the board in May, not the fact that they speak to schools.

@AlbertaScot – sorry but anyone who thinks Murray is worth listening to when it comes to the SNP just doesn’t know Murray. If he was offered a paid job to smear the SNP he’d refuse it and pay for the privilege of doing it instead.

81. Nana Smith

@Grouse Beater 8.27pm

Posted this tweet last night on another thread.

Tommy Ball ?@tommy_ball · 3 hrs3 hours ago
    The mother of one of the children used by “Kez” in her PPB is a Labour party campaigner. Hmmm.

82. dakk

Listening to Kezia makes me pine for the seductive tones of Magrit Curran.

What a grating patronising piece of bad acting.And that’s just the poor wee brainwashed weans.

Give it up Unionists, you’re getting embarrassing.

83. Grouse Beater

Nana Smith: Posted this tweet last night on another thread.

Thanks, Nana. I guess little children are the only people Dugdale feels able to command.

84. Effijy

O/T This fraudulent situation with regard to buying a home with
    money “loaned” from a Bank?

Are these Banks the same corrupt bastards who each were making £Billions in profits every year by over charging you and I, their customers?

Are these the individual £Millionaires who went into Casino Banking to drive up their incomes even further, the ones who knew people where taking out mortgages that they could never afford over the long term and on properties who’s value they inflated.

Are these the Bankers who Rigged the Libor rates, the ones who
    forced and lied about PPI, and after being found guilty, tried
    to deceive their customers about their compensation rights?

The Bankers who encouraged their wealthy clients to indulge in Tax avoidance, and who threatened to leave Scotland should they
    exercise their democratic rights?

Are these the Bankers who devastated our economy, the ones we had to bailout, but let them keep their bonuses and lucrative pensions, the same bankers who survived with our bailout money
    who then repossessed the homes of hardworking people who fell behind with their mortgage payments?

Am I appalled that someone used some of their own tactics against them? No I’m not!

Good luck to anyone who can get ahead of the biggest bunch of thieves the country has outside of Westminster!
    l

85. Tinto Chiel

AlbertaScot:

To paraphrase Roxy Music, 1972: you’re so sheer, you’re so chic, teenage (?) troller of the week.

It’s been nice while it’s lasted, all the same.

Cheeriebyethenoo.

86. heraldnomore

And long will we remember McCann’s one and only political legacy – his performance on the night of 7 May 2015; vanquished by Lisa Cameron. Sod off McCann, we’re all the better without you.

87. Robert Peffers

@Alastair says: 1 October, 2015 at 6:07 pm:

” … The whole film is a setup.”

Aye! Alastair, perhaps so, but if it is then it becomes even more of a disgusting, dishonest and disgraceful Establishment propaganda farce.

88. Ken Clark

Was this filmed before or after the children had their cereal?

89. Grouse Beater

Tinto Zinc: Oh, please keep digging, Grouse Beater.

Does anybody know why Tinto Zinc keeps rummaging about in his underwear for alphabet slop?

90. HandandShrimp

@AlbertaScot

Smart is at the zoomer end of the Unionist spectrum. You might as well link Alex Jones and his Info Wars site.

Smart is an embarrassment to Labour. I seem to recall Kezia pretending she didn’t know who he was.

91. donald anderson

And, if you can’t get any qualifications you can always become a politician, she says. In the thick Labour Party?

92. Tam Jardine

And today’s lesson children is all about something called a ‘postal vote’. Now, can anyone tell me what a postal vote is?

You crack on with the indoctrination Kez- the bairns in this country are the next battalions lining up for a yes vote down the line, if it takes that long.

93. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Grouse Beater: that was a bit below the belt.

As a true commando,I don’t sport underwear.

Ask Paula Rose.

94. cynicalHighlander

@AlbertaScot

Dear oh Dear oh dear you really should just melt with snow, Ian Smart has no integrity on the globe yet alone in Scotland.

95. Grouse Beater

Vimto Chill: I don’t sport underwear.

Now he thinks he’s Captain Corbyn. LoL

96. scotspine

@ Achnababan

You are welcome. I now have someone who I know shares this troubling image.

The haircut is spot on but the facial contortions and wild eyes nail it.

I’m just waiting for the comedy walk and trademark black suit next.

97. Grouse Beater

Donald: If you can’t get any qualifications you can always become a politician

Ken : Was this filmed before or after the children had their cereal?

Still chuckling … 🙂

98. AlbertaScot

Here’s Alistair Cockburn’s take on the Michelle Thomson Affair. He’s the dude who wrote the de-barring decision on the lawyers tribunal. She’s apparently the mysterious Mrs. A.

https://www.ssdt.org.uk/media/18436/1644_hales.pdf

Sorry I touched a few nerves linking that guy whose name will never cross my key board. Won’t happen again.

Like I pointed out earlier a guy around here is doing 10 years in the hoosegow for a scam not too different from this.

The mortgage companies are named in the doc.

And by the way, Believe me, I’m not a wind up artist. I believe in the cause. I write cheques. The real deal.

99. Paula Rose

fyi – Tinto Chiel does not “sport” underwear.

100. Philip Dixon

I’m not sure why you’re all having a go at AlbertaScot. At least I now know what Thomson is supposed to have done wrong, which is more than I knew ten minutes ago. So Smart’s a dick. So what? Everyone who writes for the Telegraph, and 90% of those on the Guardian are dicks. You just keep their dickishness in mind as you read.

101. Thepnr

@AlbertaScot

“Sorry I touched a few nerves linking that guy whose name will never cross my key board. Won’t happen again.”

Caller, what’s your point?

102. Tinto Chiel

Grouse Beater: you may call me Voodoo Chile, if you wish. Vimto’s so 1950s, like Radio Malt.

I think the Salty Sea Dog is manacled to the bridge of the Titanic, Y-Fronts or not.

I wasn’t being entirely facetious when I queried the legality of Kezia’s film, actually. If they can go their dinger about MT, we can reciprocate.

Get back in your Jag, mon vieux: foot down until rosy-fingered dawn breaks upon the tides.

103. cynicalHighlander

@Philip Dixon

What no “Evening all” to your followers in Dock Green.

104. Robert Louis

Well, looks like in recent days, we have been getting a slightly more sophisticated version of trolling going on. Keeping the Michelle Thomson thing going, when most people couldn’t care.

Folks, do remember, no matter what a person types here, it doesn’t mean they are who or what they say. Please stop getting suckered in by the newly resident clown.

Besides, it is tedious, and deliberately designed to divert away from the thread.

105. Grouse Beater

AlbertoSnot: Believe me, I’m not a wind up artist

When forced to explain what a nice person one is, the topic of discussion is lost in narcissism.

106. Dr Jim

Just made my way onto Ruthless’s Twitter and she’s not happy with the Presiding Officer at all and neither are her pals Duncan Hothersall and Tom Gordon to name but a couple
    Bitter together still holding firm

It would seem that the Unionist Twitterati feels that they are better than the rest of us
    Although Miss Tankette Commander did get a telling off from one or two for her behaviour

Amer Anwar’s letter representing Ms Thomson was shown and mocked by “journalists” basically saying who does he think he is

Now all this might annoy but for the fact it would seem as we all thought that there is nothing involving Ms Thomson that’s evidence in any way, and this is what appears to be annoying them

Which makes me rather pleased

So can Mr Troll the Canadian Golumb please fuck off now

p.s. Does John McTernan have an office in BBC Pacific Quay
    And where is Union Jackie has she been subbed (glee)

107. Alastair

Observation from a primary teacher.
    The kids are of different age groups and only one looks like they are wearing what looks like a school uniform so they are probably not from the same school. And the questions are miles away from what that age groups world, would ask or understand.

108. Robert Louis

The Labour party video, highlighted by the REV above, is truly cringe worthy. It is right up their with their ‘better together’ patronising lady.

As regards how it was filmed, I don’t think Dugdale is actually having those conversations, rather it is just a bit of ham acting. Nevertheless, it is simply the very worst example of how not to prepare a party political party broadcast. I find it hard to believe anybody within Labour thought it a good idea.

Oh, dear Labour. Oh, dear, oh dear, oh dear.

109. Tinto Chiel

“fyi – Tinto Chiel does not “sport” underwear.”

Thank for that, Paula Rose. Meant to say before our last Guinness: your eyes are like limpid pools of moon dust under a starry sky.

Can you lend me a fiver till Saturday?

110. Moreida Lord

couldn’t watch… shocking!

111. Moreida Lord

Couldn’t watch till the end…. Shocking!

112. Paula Rose

*files nails, oils whip*

113. Alastair

During the Indy ref campaign my major piss off was Murphy and Labour and the lies and fear targeted at our beloved seniors , lose your pension etc.
    Now Labour are using our young ones for political gain. Children manipulated to tell a political message. It’s sick. Kezia you are politically corrupt.
    I am very very seriously pissed off.

114. Tinto Chiel

Paula Rose says:
    1 October, 2015 at 10:12 pm
    *files nails, oils whip*

I’ve taken that too far.

Gulp.

Meant to say, Grouse Beater, get back In your lovely Jag…

Better?

115. Paula Rose

Back on topic all of you – now.

116. Free Scotland

Don’t ask me why, but when that wee boy said that he would like to be in charge of Dr Who and I saw the fake expression of interest on the Dug’s face, my mind filled with an image of daleks and their well-known refrain: “Exterminate, exterminate!”

117. Phronesis

Or alternatively the script writer was a bit muddled up…

‘Clever children -these are great questions to put to a serving MSP and on behalf of UKOK Labour we’d like to say that we know what hardship really means for families. There’s loads of evidence now that environmental factors that increase family stress for example area deprivation, the endless struggle of living in poverty and coping with life on very low incomes and food insecurity (Chilton et al, 2013) cause long term adverse outcomes. UKOK Labour cant really help here because we voted in more zombie austerity economic policies for Scotland.

UKOK Labour also know that supportive families and communities, adequate housing, unconditional access to early year’s education and universal health care ensure that our youngest citizens grow into ‘economically productive’ citizens. Unfortunately many children will be born into poverty in Scotland.Despite the best efforts of our arch enemy the SNP to mitigate against the welfare cuts that UKOK Labour voted for these children will remain ‘born to fail’ (National Children’s Bureau, 2013).

And would you believe it- the ‘toxic effects’ of poverty on child health (McNeill, 2010)have a lasting effect into adulthood and impact on all-cause premature mortality (Kelly-Irving et al,2013). But that’s acceptable because UKOK Labour support the notion that Scotland remains a low self esteem and low aspiration culture whose citizens accumulate disadvantage from early on.

Blimey,estimates suggest that the costs to the UKOK economy of such adverse early years experiences because of premature death, increased disability and welfare spend ,less work capability and productivity run into billions of pounds (Frontier Economics, 2010). Isn’t that a lot of pocket money children but we can’t do anything about that because we still need Trident sited in the Clyde.

Guess what? in Scotland there are stark regional differences in life expectancy between the least and most deprived areas. In the most deprived 10th of the population life expectancy for men is 47 years and in the least deprived 10th of the population the life expectancy is 70years (Glasgow Centre Population Health, 2014). Imagine that-these systematic differences in health status and the resulting gradient in health inequalities can be reduced by prioritising interventions which have a positive impact on health and but may also assist in tackling inter-generational inequalities. But we don’t really speak to that in UKOK Labour because that really involves a lot of deep thinking.

We could of course emulate the Scandi nations and reduce health inequalities but UKOK Labour don’t have the political will to address two inter-related but distinct issues –low income and lack of resource among vulnerable families and children, and the differences in life chances for children and the underlying the factors that strongly influence the magnitude of inequalities – societal power, money and resources. Despite what Jeremy says UKOK Labour will continue to vote for Mr Osbourne’s austerity experiment and we will all remain better together as Thatcher’s grandchildren.

And that is why children to have access to universal services adequate welfare and social protection, to uphold the UN rights of the child to participation, protection and provision vote for an Independent Scotland.’

Chilton, M. M., Rabinowich, J. R., & Woolf, N. H.(2013). Very low food security in the USA is linked with exposure to violence. Public Health and Nutrition. 22, 1-10.

Frontier Economics.(2010). Estimating the costs of health inequalities. A report prepared for the Marmot Review
    http://www.instituteofhealthequity.org/Content/FileManager/overall-costs-fshl.pdf

Glasgow Centre Population Health (2014). Briefing Paper 43.
    http://www.gcph.co.uk/assets/0000/4271/GCPH_Briefing_43web.pdf

Kelly-Irving, M., Lepage, B., Dedieu, D., Bartley, M., Blane, D., Grosclaude, P., Lang, T.,& Delpierre, C.(2013). Adverse childhood experiences and premature all-cause mortality. Eur.J Epidemiol. 28(9), 721-734.

McNeill, T. (2010). Family as a social determinant of health: implications for governments and institutions to promote the health and well-being of families. Healthcare.Quarterly. 14 Spec No 1, 60-67.

National Children’s Bureau (2103). Greater expectations raising aspirations for our children
    http://ncb.org.uk/media/1032641/greater-expectations.pdf

118. heedtracker

Maybe they really are going for that Walt Disney Snow White, Cinderella thing. She’d be quite good in panto, she’s behind you princess Kezia! Certainly lots of practice via her Holyrood performance with the ugly sisters today.

And so little children, despite great uncle Jeremy telling you that although he would never push the button, he was really glad we did buy Trident 2 and you all have £50 grand student fees, which you wont have to pay anyway because WW3 will make a degree useless anyway.

And now lets all sing the UKOK Ministry of Defence nuclear attack song-

When you hear the air attack warning, you and your family must take cover, the 4 minute warning sounds like this

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/keziadugdale6.jpg

Vote SLabour children.

119. Grouse Beater

Dr Jim: Can Mr Troll the Canadian Golumb please fuck off now

Difficult to predict what folly Dugdale will create next other than the next will surely follow the last. She’s chronically unable to secure any respect for anything she says. And that leaves Captain Corbyn praising her as if she’s the mail boy in the basement whom he’s never met.

120. Grouse Beater

Jeremy Corbyn conceded that it would not be easy to revive Labour’s position in Scotland but promised “hard work and dour activities” as he made his first visit to the Scottish nation since his election as party leader.

Funnier and funnier. Any day now he will appear wearing a knotted handkerchief on his head and wellies. He keeps stating his principles and then dropping them next day. “Well, Labour is an aggregate of various shades of opinion that come together to debate issues, united in an ideal for a better Britain….zzzzzz

121. Big Jock

Scotland 2015. Presenter to Hosie:” but your party is divided on fracking.” Hosie:” You just made that up”. Astounding journalism.

122. boris

This is a long read. Best with a cup of tea and a biscuit. Michael McCann really should give up politics but I expect he will carry on. Very much yesterdays old fashioned Unionist who has no place in Scottish politics.

http://caltonjock.com/2014/11/26/michael-mccann-rejected-by-voters-of-south-lanarkshire-still-hankers-after-power-over-the-electorate-but-the-labour-party-is-a-busted-flush-in-scotland-voters-have-sussed-them-at-long-last/

123. North chiel

Great to see Stewart Hosie “wipe the floor” with
    Alex Rowley on Scotland 2015 exchange

124. John Moss

No surprise about UK Labour going for our bairns.

Get the bairns has always been the tactic of those who seek to dominate and control.

Time to remind ourselves that family values begin in the home and nowhere else.

125. Free Scotland

The prize for best question must surely go to the wee guy with the checked shirt: “Why is there a labour party?”

126. Al-Stuart

Hi AlbertaScot,

Just read the link you posted to this Ian Smart person.

He really is an unpleasant piece of work.

What gets me is his insidious reference to “sentencing guidelines” in alternating paragraphs, interspersed with naming Michelle Thomson.

Ian Smart gratuitously adds words like “stabbing” to his narcissistic grandstanding blog.

A very brief visit back to the real world and a couple of clicks at Google reveal Ian Smart to be labelled “worse than a racist” by his own brother….

https://archive.is/e9t6i

Ian Smart’s alleged offensive racism is widely reported in other media outlets: https://archive.is/Ni4Hs and https://archive.is/PS8w1

So here’s the thing: seeing as Ian Smart is such a bright lawyer** with a possibly perfidiously brother shining a light on Smart’s own alleged misdemeanours (alleged racism https://archive.is/Mfljn ), here are a few sentencing guideline and background reading for Ian Smart to ponder..

http://www.cps.gov.uk/legal/p_to_r/racist_and_religious_crime/#a21

https://archive.is/mhaOI

https://archive.is/V2JOv

https://archive.is/WtWGu

https://archive.is/VXrpd

So Ian, as a professional lawyer you really should know better. Ignorance of the law is no excuse.

Ian, would it be an idea for us to see how you like being reported to Police Scotland for alleged racist comments? Is your brother available to be interviewed and cited as a witness for the prosecution?

In essence, instead of your pontificating with glorified verbal diarrhoea, perhaps start engaging that massive brain of yours.

By what you’ve written and what I have seen of your words, you may be a candidate for police investigation yourself?

But then what do I know. I’m only a broken down old plod. Albeit one who is truly appalled at what a ranting “professional class” lawyer is getting up to, and would really like to see you suck on a dose of your own medicinal bile. By the way I, like you voted Labour for many years. Unlike you, I saw through the Blairite lies and New Labour careerists who took over that once decent idealistic party and corrupted it forever (Ian please don’t revert with an SNP-Bad rant. I just don’t like you – and it’s because you are a deeply unpleasant human being. Nothing to do with my moving from Labour to the SNP).

—————–
    ** https://archive.is/6wbLV
    How Ian Smart got to be President of the Law Society of Scotland is something I cannot fathom.

—————–
    AlbertaScot says: 1 October, 2015 at 6:13 pm
    Hey Stu, I know this guy is a total snaphead and enemy of the people. But he does a pretty good job slicing through the bullshit on what Our Michelle was up to. Give it a good read here:

127. cynicalHighlander

@Free Scotland says:

The prize for best question must surely go to the wee guy with the checked shirt: “Why is there a labour party?”

That is the 64ths Dollar question or 64 million in today’s money.

128. North chiel

Impressive accomplished performance by
    Jeanie Freeman on Scotland 2015 re Michelle Thompson
    questioning etc.

129. Ian

The arguments about the gender pay gap here miss a rather important point.

If you listen to the clip, she doesn’t mention the boy. She actually says “For every pound you earn, you’d only get 89 pence”.

So Kez is either hinting at a future taxation system based on gender, or is demonstrating again her complete innumeracy.

Sumz is hard!

130. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Boris/Calton Jock.

At least now I know what happened to the incident with the young Yes supporter in EK.

Same old, same old: Teflon Unionists, and that’s without any tank-straddling.

I feel sorry for the two teenagers in this case.

131. Big Jock

Free Scotland says great question from kid” Why is there a Labour party”. Answers on a postcard folks.????

132. Grouse Beater

The prize for best question must surely go to the wee guy with the checked shirt: “Why is there a Labour party?”

‘Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings…’ Even if primed by a Labour hack the question is loaded with irony.

133. Another Union Dividend

On Michelle Thomson case

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2015/oct/01/law-society-of-scotland-under-pressure-over-mps-suspected-mortgage

The Guardian developing the Lawyers for Yes connection and unionists claiming cover up etc.

However it seems that the Law Society’s normal sloth like manner of dealing with things has not done the SNP any favours as all this could have come to light in 2011 and in December 2014 at the very latest.

134. Andrew McLean

Watched Mr Hosie demonstrate eloquently why Labour in Scotland is a damp squid!
    Who is briefing BBC reporters these days? Dugdale? My god I was embarrassed for the reporter, “you made that up” classic!

And as for the Corbinator, and ” I wouldn’t use nuclear weapons” may I suggest if the end was neigh, he might not have a say! Better not to have the option, get rid! The argument that we need them as we would be invaded as everyone wants what we have got is utter pish, Switzerland is loaded, even during the last two world wars, the protagonists marched round them!

135. Chic McGregor

Classic projection.

Labour targetted Scotland’s schools to the point where parents actually complained.

Unfortunately for them many of the teaching staff in Scotland came to reject the lovingly crafted programming over the years which they had been subjected to during the indy 1 campaign.

SLAB are simply incapable of understanding an honest and principled motivation to do the best for the education of Scotland’s children with the resources available.

136. frogesque

SNP win Glenrothes West and Kinglassie by election. Low turnout of 27.1%. Don’t have full figures yet.

137. Nana Smith

Glenrothes West & Kinglassie (Fife) result:

SNP – 59.0% (+16.5)
    LAB – 31.9% (-9.3)
    CON – 6.2% (+3.2)
    GRN – 3.0% (+3.0)

138. tinderbox

I read the link to Ian Smart’s blog, which AlbertaScot posted above and then went back and read through AlbertaScot’s various posts here. Was struck by their similar style of writing… just saying.

139. Grouse Beater

Truly poor Question Time from Wales.

None of the panel know the detail of what they’re talking about, few have facts to hand, or insightful historical understanding. They all share the Englishman’s view of England as an exceptional nation, (you’re in Wales!!!) and all stick to the emotional argument as sole method of persuasion. Even when the sentiment is good the knowledge behind it is non-existent.

140. Morgatron

Miss , miss , im scared ! Theres a weird woman in my chair talking to herself and shes bending the legs of my chair. Miss , please call the Janitor. Mummy Mummy boohooo.

141. Lochside

Any bets every one of these kids belongs to SLAB members?
    Remember how same SLAB UKOKS squealed about kids being ‘manipulated’ into pro-Yes demonstrations?

BTW Kezia is definitely not talking to any child…more likely a tele-prompter…I’ve heard more emoting from a speak your weight machine.

OT.. does anyone know on what grounds Ruth ‘Panzer Tank’ Commander got off breaking electoral law on the opened postal votes?…apart from Scots law being a barrel of shite and dominated by Unionist ("Quizmaster" - Ed)s ?

142. Nana Smith

Elena Whitham SNP has been elected to serve as councillor for Ward 6 Irvine Valley, elected at second stage.

143. Philip Dixon

@cynicalHighlander That was my childhood nickname, actually. Not many people left who understand it.

144. frogesque

Thanks Nana!

145. K1

Well that’s a 27% gap between SNP and Labour. Slam Dunk comes to mind 🙂

Labour’s on fire wi this great ‘swing’ back to them due to the Corbyn effect eh?

146. yesindyref2

Scotland 2015 Cat Headley “mypropertyshop website” (see other thread)

I think she meant yourpropertyshop.co.uk, the other is registered and based in Manchester and seems to be a house services business.

Perhaps someone should use the contact form for mypropertyshop.co.uk to let them know their reputation has been dealt a blow on BBC Scotland 2015 by a prospective Holyrood Labour candidate.

147. Nana Smith

Irvine Valley (East Ayrshire) first preferences:

SNP – 49.8% (+5.3)
    CON – 24.0% (+5.8)
    LAB – 23.8% (-6.3)
    GRN – 2.4% (+2.4)

A lot of tory plants on bbc question time and the prize for the biggest vegetable goes to Charles Moore.

148. Iain More

Anybody got any more council by election results. There were no less than 7 council by elections in Scotland today. I voted in one today in Heldon and Laich for Moray Council but I haven’t heard anything.

149. Grouse Beater

K1: A 27% gap between SNP and Labour. Slam Dunk comes to mind 🙂

Gosh! Captain Corbyn has certainly harpooned that SNP whale once and for all.

150. heedtracker

Was struck by their similar style of writing… just saying.

It is fun spotting unionists online pretending to be somebody and sometimes somewhere else. Jim Murphy used to be a real UKOK Slab savage on Graun cif but after he bit the bullet, he gave up and ofcourse there’s our hilariously bonkers vote NO freak out in Slovenia-

https://notesfromnorthbritain.wordpress.com/author/conlawforum/

If you’re out there future tory Scots FM Professor Smirky, first thing you have to know about cybernats, we’re everywhere.

151. Big Jock

Yep and their smear campaign with T in the park and Housegate. Has truly struck a cord with the electorate. Keep on trucking Kezia.

152. Hoss Mackintosh

@tinderbox,

Yes – i find it strange that a yesser would read Ian S Smart’s blog and then post it on Wings. Truely bizarre behaviour to expect us to believe any of it?

Anyone know how Kezia is getting on with investigating Mr Smart and is he still suspended from the Labour Party? It has all gone very quiet on that issue for a long time.

153. Iain More

Well ta for the results so far, two in and Sleazy Labour still on the slide in Jockistan. Just breaks my heart not!

154. Paula Rose

Stay off topic then xx

155. heedtracker

27% gap between SNP and Labour. Surely not. Im a rancid The Graun reader and Libby Carrel says a man clutching a baby knelt before JC and praised him, for he is the one, SLabour are saved and JC will take back Scotland, from the unbelievers-

eg rancid’s bleh this evening. Cif’s usual not so bettertogether bitter shits too.

“Several bystanders were welcoming. He encountered one couple en route to the MSPs’ meeting, who said “Glad you could visit, Jeremy,” and “Well done!” And outside a nearby cafe, a man cradling his baby daughter in the sunshine shouted out to him: “Thanks for bringing humanity back to politics. Well done, sir.”

After a brief exchange of pleasantries with Corbyn, the dad told reporters: “I think he’s a true gent and he’s what politics needs.”

156. Fiona

Labour third in Irvine valley – beaten by tories.

*Watches sky nervously for signs of collapse*

157. Grouse Beater

If, on the strength of that local election result, Dugdale calls en emergency meeting of Labour’s Scottish branch office, all they’ve got to talk about in reality is, digestive or chocolate digestive with the tea?

158. Onwards

Interesting to see Plaid leader Leanne Wood on QT admit independence isn’t viable for Wales in the short term, as the economy lags begin the rest of the UK.
    I have no doubt this is the plan for Scotland, and behind the reluctance to devolve full tax powers. God forbid Scotland should ever be able to compete with and ever outperform London and the south.

159. Nana Smith

@Ian More

Aberdeen and Moray results tomorrow morning. That’s all I know.

Hearing labour prostrate with grief after the Fife result.
    What did JC say again, something like come home to labour?

Night all

160. Iain More

My sides are splitting

Jonathan Watson ?@C_JWatson 1 hr1 hour ago
    Same @scottishlabour source now saying “looking close”. Could be an interesting night… #glenwestbyelection

Jonathan Watson ?@C_JWatson 3 mins3 minutes ago
    Result has stunned the #Labour team.They didn’t that see that coming from the early votes.Emphatic win for #SNP #glenwestbyelection

161. K1

Gee Heedtracker, Ah wis near greetin’ there wi thon tales from the punters about their encounters wi the Messiah. ‘Magine being so close that you can actually shout out tae him from a across a real street…’well done’. Heartening stuff.

162. Iain More

@Nana Smith

I heard that the Tories were bussing people in from Edinburgh for the Rosemount by election in Aberdeen. Dont know if that is true though. Big effort from them there if it is.

163. HandandShrimp

I think most of the remaining results are tomorrow.

164. dakk

Grousebeater

‘Digestive or chocolate digestives with the tea’

They’re gonnae wish somebody had bought double chocolate digestives by the sound of it.

165. Dave McEwan Hill

How very stupid of Leanne Wood.
    If the Welsh economy lags behind the rest of the UK it is the fault of the UK.

The penny hasn’t dropped with Plaid yet. As soon as they started settling for devo they lost forward momentum and are now paying the price. Do the Welsh not see Ireland to their right?

166. Grouse Beater

I trust Ms Dugdale will cover those children’s eyes and ears from the election result.

Children of the Labour fold must be kept in ignorance, their innocence encouraged.

167. yesindyref2

Dear me, I’ve just started looking at that clip, and straight away, from where Dugdale is sitting in relation to the kids (0.09), the first girl is looking to her left when talking to Dugdale (0.11), she should be looking to her right, and the boy is looking to his left (0.26), he should be looking to his right.

Labour ain’t got no continuity.

168. K1

I think we can ‘safely’ say: Labour are in free fall.

Expect new unfathomable depths of epic spin to make this a ‘close call’ for Labour in Scotland.

169. Fiona

Twitter saying Stirling maybe tonight, rest tomorrow

Don’t know how reliable

170. crazycat

@ Fiona

Irvine Valley is a 4-member ward, currently 2 SNP, 1 Labour, 1 Tory.

If the turnout was low (it probably was), the greater enthusiasm for voting for which Tories are renowned would probably be enough for them to come second. I live in a neighbouring ward, and from my conversations with campaigners in IV, I’m sure they won’t be surprised.

171. Al-Stuart

Further to the earlier post regarding that dreadful person Ian Smart and his subliminal threat to Michelle Thomson MP. The point I was making is that it is entirely possible for a member of the public to REPORT IAN SMART TO POLICE SCOTLAND for an alleged infraction of the law regarding his racist remarks, stirring up racial tensions and hatred in public.

To be clear, here is what the CPS guidelines are on the alleged racism by Ian Smart…

Racially/religiously aggravated intentional harassment/alarm/distress (s.31(1)(b) CDA)
    Crown Court – 2 years imprisonment

I will leave it to Ian to work out the equivalent tariff guiding Scottish Courts, the Procurators Fiscal et al. After all Ian is a lawyer and should be well aware of his actions and consequences.

172. Chris

We never had any SNP people in our class at school but we did have an aid of Neil Findlay in speaking to our modern studies class because he was a friend of the teacher

173. yesindyref2

OT (well why not)
    Herald article that senior Labour bods in Scotland want Labour MPs at Westminster not to use the word Scotland as it encourages the nasty nats, but use city and town names instead.

So I guess Ian Murray is now formally renamed as:

The Shadow Secretary of State for (Extinguished)

174. yesindyref2

Just looking at rev’s twitter thing and this caught my eye:

“NeilMackay ?@NeilMackay 14 hrs14 hours ago

Just to let folks know: I’ll be editing the Sunday Herald now, and keeping it a strong, smart pro-independence paper, with a great team”

175. osakisushi

Headtracker at 11.54

“Cybernats are everywhere?”

Duh. We are THE PEOPLE and that is why we got only 56. Or 57… hopefully.

176. scotspine

So. Yes. A bystander can take offence at the remark, thus making the crime complete.

177. call me dave

Fife Today:
    Glenrothes by-election turnout figures. 🙂

https://archive.is/xHlLt

178. Scotspine

That was for Al-Stuart at 12:49

179. Andrew Wilson

The video was made using Scottish Labour MSP & activists kids at an undisclosed location.

The video is another sham, just like the pathetic case study individuals in their electioneering propaganda leaflets.

Lie after lie, sham after sham, Labour branch office keep delivering fantasy and twisted, bitter scenarios to fool those not smart enough to see exactly what they are and what they ultimately stand for.

180. Grouse Beater

BBC radio interviewed apparently sane Labour woman who managed some reasonable comments about why labour was in free fall, until asked should Labour be a separate party in Scotland. She answered, “No. We canvassed on a policy of supporting the Union. We could be more autonomous, but we are a unionist party.”

They learn nothing even in defeat.

What does ‘more’ autonomous mean? Is it like being ‘more’ vegetarian? You eat a lot of meat but could eat less meat? You’re either autonomous or you’re not.

181. Grouse Beater

Captain Corbyn and the Scottish whale. http://wp.me/p4fd9j-1KU

182. snode1965

Haha…The BBC Radio Propaganda Unit really must try harder. This morning GMS were asking punters on Glasgow Green if Corbyn could win back votes for Labour. Some people said “no chance” and some said that ” they hoped so but couldn’t see it”. Que the last speaker who started his eulogy by stating, “I know Jeremy personally,he has always worked tirelessly for his constituents,etc,etc” BBC just happen to bump into a personal friend of Corby on Glasgow Green?

183. Sandy Henderson

Well done, Glenrothes.
    Fife gave labour every chance. They put their faith in Brown & co. In return, Fife got nothing but crumbs.
    Incidentally, does the local council get rent for the storage of redundant subs? Why not have them put south & stored alongside the ‘Mary Rose’. Then all the ‘Anoraks’ can have a fuller insight to Englands past. They, i.e. the English, like to try to keep the past, or at least as much of it as it can.
    This colonial outpost is going, whether they like it or not, despite the threat of some public school educated? army general twit’s threats.

184. T.roz

“You can be anything you want to be” can our youngsters be head of state? Can they become Lords, Ladies, Dukes or big landowners? How about head of the armed forces?

No, we have a horrible elite structure which needs pulled apart.

185. Roger Hyam

OMG this is sooo painful. I can’t even get all the way through it.

186. Ruby

Labour MPs told: don’t mention “Scotland”, talk about Scottish towns and cities instead. Herald

YCBS! What a laugh!

‘According to a theatrical superstition, called the Scottish curse, speaking the name Macbeth inside a theatre will cause disaster.’

If Labour are as supersitious about speaking the name Scotland they are going to have to come up with an alternative name. Anyone got any suggestions what Labour should call Scotland?

187. Glamaig

@snode1965
    That piece was a joke. Around 6.50 this morning if anyone wants to listen for a laugh. Just by chance wandering around Glasgow Green, BBC find a JC constituency worker, JC is charismatic, sincere, principled, wonderful, the messiah, etc. And just by chance that is the ‘vox pop’ that they finish with, so that you remember it the most.

188. caz-m

Seven by-elections in Scotland last night, so far two results are in, both SNP wins.

Full list:-

http://www.scottishelections.org.uk/

PS.

Would someone please notify BBC Scotland of the above by-elections, they seem to have overlooked them this morning.

189. Jim Morris

Funniest bit is just at the 2 minute mark when she tells a wee lassie if she cant be a doctor, or an athlete or a scientist or any of those things, she could be a politician.

190. Bob Mack

Mr Corbyn would neither take a digestive ,or chocolate digestive without first obtaining the opinion or concensus of those present. It is called democracy.
    Some days the decision to have tea and coffee can no doubt go on till the small hours,with hard fought negotiation

191. K.A.Mylchreest

@Ruby
    We already know, ‘North Britain’ is well established. I wonder if thespians will now have to say, “The North-British Play”?

Perhaps us Nats should start using ‘Caledonia’, it’s historically more inclusive mainly because it sounds a lot like ‘Catalonia’ a name that will likely be increasingly paired with ‘independence’ 😉

192. heedtracker

Another day in teamGB. If only we’d won.

“LABOUR MPs are being encouraged by senior party insiders not to keep mentioning the word “Scotland” but, instead, refer to individual Scottish towns and cities.

Senior figures in Scottish Labour, who yesterday welcomed Jeremy Corbyn to Edinburgh and Glasgow on his first visit north of the border since becoming the party’s UK leader, are worried that by continually referring to Scotland and not specific places, their colleagues at Westminster are bolstering the SNP’s separatist mindset.

One source explained: “You don’t hear MPs keep on talking about ‘England’ but, rather, the places in England like Manchester and Birmingham. This should be the case with Scotland. By keep referring to Scotland instead of individual places, some of our people are playing to the Nationalist agenda. We’re all part of the UK, after all.”

Aunty Kezia, how come you’re all such a bunch of dickheads?

193. yesindyref2

@Ruby
    SNPland?

194. Ken500

Calalonia did not vote for a Referendum on Independence. 2million voted YES out of an electorate of 5.5million 80% turnout 4.4Million people voted. Pop 7.5Million.

‘Foreign’ EU citizens do not get to vote – a Million ? EU (‘foreign’) citizens are only allowed to vote in Municipal (council) elections and EU elections. They are not allowed to vote in Regional and National Election. Discriminated against. Under EU Law EU citizens are suppose to be treated the same. Spain is breaking EU Law. The Spanish/Catalonia Govs are both corrupt, and discriminate against EU (‘foreign’) citizens. The majority in Catalonia are not supporting Independence.

Scotland has a more successful Independence Movement and rising. It just needs a 5% swing. If people in Scotland do nt want the corrupt Spanish Gov interfering in Scotland’s affairs. Scotland should not interfere in Spanish affairs.

195. galamcennalath

Irvine Valley (East Ayrshire)
    SNP – 49.8% (+5.3)
    CON – 24.0% (+5.8)
    LAB – 23.8% (-6.3)
    GRN – 2.4% (+2.4)

Tories beat Labour.

There is an increasing possibility that Tories will be the opposition in Holyrood after May.

What will BBC North Brit Labour do then?

196. john king

Ive checked and rechecked this post and cant understand why it wont go up?

Lesley-Anne says
    “What you are looking at is the inner sanctum of Labour’s Branch Office. The people you see are two members of the Branch Office working out this week’s expense claims for all the Branch Office M.S.P.’s!”

And if you wook weally weally cwosely
    you’ll see a gwoop picture of the whole Labour membership
    http://tinyurl.com/ngxacnl
    eh…no not that one I was err…just trying something
    this one I mean 🙁
    http://tinyurl.com/q46bguc 🙂

It would be really appreciated if you didn’t link to that zoomers rubbish unless you put it though the archive is filth remover first , and preferably don’t bring that crap in the house in the first place, now we’ll have to fumigate!

Try these for size then
    http://tinyurl.com/axzmdg4 🙂

So has this
    I think I’ll call it my Foggy Bottom creepy crawly
    http://tinyurl.com/p9clp3a
    http://tinyurl.com/qehr72c

FOR GODS SAKE WHY WONT SOMEONE THINK OF THE CHILDREN? ;(

Grouse Beater says
    “Were the parents of the children consulted and gave permission for Ms Dugdale’s refuelling visit?”

WHAT?…you dont mean… she’s a…a…a
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-9MBIhQLWU

Then we really SHOULD insist on a total ban on the baser behavior of politicians and their staffers who display all of the nasty traits we DONT want children to grow up thinking its ok to lie, cheat, abuse, steal, we may as well send in old lags from the nearest prison to teach kids the finer points of safe breaking or how to steal a car!

It simply isn’t good enough to say “My lie wasn’t personal it was political”
    Good luck explaining the finer points of election law to a six year old there.

Cath says
    “‘aw, how sweet” “Genius!”

Naw, I would think even the most unconnected voters out there would be shifting uncomfortably in their seats thinking at the back of their minds a half formed thought
    “Im being patronized”

197. Golfnut

@ heedtracker.
    ” you don’t hear mps keep on talking about England ”

english votes for english laws maybe. That would be the only time of course, not.

198. marcia

Caz-m

3 now as the SNP won Stirling East. In 2012 the SNP were a distant 2nd in 1st preference votes.

199. heedtracker

Aunty Kezia, what is lingerie and UKOK democracy and why is this UKOK princess for life visit to north britain a secret and why can’t mummy and daddy vote for her?

LINGERIE entrepreneur Michelle Mone met Scots entrepreneurs as she made a private visit north of the border as part of a major government review on supporting business start-ups in disadvantaged communities.

The founder of the Ultimo lingerie brand was in her home town of Glasgow as part of a fact-finding exercise following her appointment as small business czar by the Conservatives to find out what obstacles there may be for setting up in business.

The Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) did not release details of the location and timing of her visit, with officials saying they wanted to avoid any “disruptive issues”.

200. Ken500

Fifty years of hard Labour. To keep out the Tories. All they have done is to illegally and secretly run Scotland down. They will continue to do. They are a disgrace. They are unelectable.

201. Luigi

Bob Mack says:

2 October, 2015 at 8:29 am

Mr Corbyn would neither take a digestive ,or chocolate digestive without first obtaining the opinion or concensus of those present. It is called democracy.
    Some days the decision to have tea and coffee can no doubt go on till the small hours,with hard fought negotiation

A good, accurate description there, Bob. The biscuits will be mouldy, the tea/coffee stone cold, and Scotland will be independent, before a Corbyn concensus magically appears.

202. caz-m

So JC the new messiah has arrived in SCOTLAND.

If Corbyn is Jesus Christ, then Kezia is Pontius Pilate.

She hates the site of this Southern Softy, who will not push the “Nuclear button”.

She will crucify him, throw him up a close and to make double sure that he won’t get out, she will roll Jackie Baillie in front of the entrance.

203. One_Scot

No matter what side of the debate you are on, I would doubt if there is anyone now in Scotland who does not realise we were shafted last September and that BBC Scotland is just a mouthpiece for Scottish Labour.

204. caz-m

Marcia

Re: by-elections.

good stuff, three down four to go.

205. Luigi

galamcennalath says:

2 October, 2015 at 9:06 am
    There is an increasing possibility that Tories will be the opposition in Holyrood after May.

It appears that even Labour’s historic low vote has been propped up by unionist tactical voting in Scotland. Now that Corbyn’s in charge, most of the lesser spotted tories will return to their fold.

Tories ahead of Labour in Scotland 2016? I don’t think Kezia Dugdale would survive that level of humiliation. Even Jeremy Corbyn’s jacket would be on a shoogly peg, if he is still around by next May that is.

206. galamcennalath

“You don’t hear MPs keep on talking about ‘England’ ”

That’s a different thing. England is the default, the mother country. It doesn’t need mentioned. It is a given.

However, when it comes to deviation, sometimes, they will grudgingly recognise it is not in fact part of England and therefore must be the different place ie Scotland.

If they begin to fail to mention Scotland, there is an undertone. They are suggesting the towns or cities are in fact part of their default. And, that default is not the UK, it is England.

207. Craig P

What is really sad is when people – Labour politicians mainly, but I’ve also heard it from teachers – are up in arms about the curriculum changing to include teaching Scottish history and Scottish literature in Scottish schools.

Let that sink in for a bit. What other country denies its children access to their own history and culture? The argument given by British nationalists is that Scottish culture is shit compared to English culture. But it isn’t. The real reason is they find it a threat to their British identity.

In a way I suppose it is a testament to the weakness of unionism – if it was strong enough, Scottish history and culture could be incorporated as part of a British narrative without it appearing to threaten the UK state.

208. Ken500

Labour small talk – the deputy Secretary of State for Edinburgh, Glasgow, Aberdeen, Dundee, Inverness, Stirling, Perth, Oban, Montrose, Ullapool, Fort William, Peterhead, Grangemouth, Glenrothes, Cumbernauld, Falkirk Peebles, Galashiels, Wick. Thurso, Durness, Dunbar et al Nearly missed out Inverness.

209. john king

test

210. Hamish100

I hope child protection have seen this video.

I think Ms Dugdale needs help and support from such exploitative videos!

211. john king

Ken500
    Lumphinnans dinne forget Lumphinnans, then theres Cowdenbeath, Lochgelly, Ballingary, Cardenden…..

212. Bob Mack

Scotland should be renamed ” Quickquidland”.
    After all,they seem to think we get loans from them,which we have of course to repay ! With interest.

213. galamcennalath

One_Scot @ 9:17

Agreed. If the Scotland Bill proceeds in its current pathetic form, then a lot of people are going to realise IndyRef1’s outcome has been declared null and void by WM.

214. Ruby

This issue of who will or wont ‘push the button’ would be an interesting question for journalists to ask pro-Trident supporters.

‘David Cameron will you ‘push the button’?

215. Ken500

Scottish History is fascinating and relevant. Scottish Enlightenment and Invention shaped the Modern world. Scotland was the first country in the world to have free tertiary (Church) education. Scottish History could only be comprehensively studied at University. It should have been universal.

216. Jim

The hatchet job is all in bold:

h..p://politicalscrapbook.net/2015/09/nat-mp-boasted-about-selling-scots-social-housing-to-english-at-knock-down-prices/

217. One_Scot

‘In a way I suppose it is a testament to the weakness of unionism – if it was strong enough, Scottish history and culture could be incorporated as part of a British narrative without it appearing to threaten the UK state’.

Very good, that is just so perceptive.

218. Ruby

yesindyref2 says:
    2 October, 2015 at 8:55 am

@Ruby
    SNPland?

That sounds good.

What about ‘Labourfreeland’ or Slabfreeland

I like K.A.Mylchreest’s idea about using the term Caledonia. Everytime I heard that word I burst into song.

‘So let me tell you that I love you
    And I think about you all the time
    Caledonia you’re calling me’

219. Tinto Chiel

These by-election results are encouraging. The Corbyn Bounce seems to have produced the Dead Cat Splat.

“And lo! His Spirit moved upon the face of the waters, etc”: not in Fife it didn’t.

At least Labour ar coming clean in not even wanting to use term Scotland. I bet they’ll be tuning in to Andrew Marr (Chief Cringer to The Gentry) and his new PravdaSound4 series “We (!) British: An Epic in Poetry”. Bet you by golly wow there won’t be much Hugh MacDiarmid or Sorley MacLean.

This Moby Dick metaphor for Labour has been troubling me. Is JC Captain Ahab or Ishmael? What about Starbuck? And the great white whale itself? It’s more difficult than Carry On Labour, when no one wanted the Charles Hawtrey part.

I’m still trying to place Kezia…

220. Bob Mack

@Ruby,

Last nights question time revealed that politicians were upset by Corbyn refusing to push a button that would ultimately end all life on earth.
    The consensus appeared to be that this would be acceptable if some” Johnny foreigner “tried to conquer us.

Better no life than a subject people.
    Funny how the Vietnamese, Afghans, and others have all managed to rid themselves of invaders without nuclear weapons

221. Training Day

@Craig P

Aye, and when the introduction of Scottish Studies into Curriculum for Excellence was proposed in a Holyrood debate in 2011, front and centre among the speakers opposing that introduction was one.. Kezia Dugdale.

222. john king

My first post is getting caught in the spam filter but I checked over and over and I don’t know why?

223. Ken500

Scotland doesn’t get loans from them. Just gets lumbered with repayments for loans Scotland doesn’t borrow or spend. Westminster economic policies. Scotland has no say, outvoted 10 to 1.

Scotland raised £54Billion+ in tax revenues. Get’s back £50Billion-?

Westminster raised £466 Billion in taxes in the UK, and borrows and spends £90Billion more.

Take £54Billion from £466Billion. The rest of the UK raises £412Billion Scotland pop 1/12 off UK pop. Rest of the UK = 11/12 Divide £412Million by 11 = £39Billion pro rata raised in rest of the UK.

Westminster is operating two different tax and borrowing systems in Scotland and the rest of the UK. Taxing Oil sector at 55%. Large multinational tax evading through the City of London. Borrowing and spending £90Billion more in the rest of the UK. Scotland should be wealthier but ends up poorer. The rest of thevUK ends up paying less tax but with higher disposable incomes.

Scotland could put a tax on ‘loss leading’ drink save monies and improve services. The Tories have ruined the Oil sector, losing thousands of jobs. Scotland would have lower unemployment. The Unionists have wasted £Billion on illegal wars, tax evasion and banking fraud. Scotland would be £10 better off Independent.

224. X_Sticks

@caz-m

Aye, no mention of the election wins for SNP on the bbc website AT ALL.

They’ll be waiting until they come up with the right headline, something along the lines of “Scotland becoming a one party state” or “Robert Mugabe praises SNP on winning election strategy”.

Looks like the Corbyn effect hasn’t kicked in yet… 😉

225. Ruby

Bob Mack

Would that be termed ‘suicide bombing’?

226. heraldnomore

They’ll need to tell the EastEnders scriptwriters, and The One Show and everything else. No longer will east end neds ‘go to Scotland’, they’ll need to head for Kircudbright, or Stornoway.

Oh well, there’s always the rugby over the weekend. Wonder when the four nations will be re-named as North, West, Over There and England. Or perhaps there will just be one team entered. Go Aussie Go.

227. john king

Tinto Chiels says
    “I’m still trying to place Kezia…”

Any bites yet?
    heres a wee…ahem…nibble
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDtRRdpDd2g

228. Proud Cybernat

How Social Media is beating the corporate MSM:

http://tinyurl.com/nm4ux5l

http://tinyurl.com/ou3re7w

229. Robert Peffers

@Big Jock says: 1 October, 2015 at 10:45 pm:

“Scotland 2015. Presenter to Hosie:” but your party is divided on fracking.” Hosie:” You just made that up”. Astounding journalism.”

Aye! Big Jock, Hosie is absolutely brilliant and very quick witted. He never puts a foot wrong even while thinking on his feet.

I admired how he quietly shot that Unionist balloon, Baron Robertson of Port Ellen, down in flames in a debate at Dundee Uni during the indy ref campaign and have watched him working in parliament with great interest. With people like him in reserve I’m certain the SNP are in very good hands.

230. Onwards

heedtracker says:

2 October, 2015 at 8:50 am

Another day in teamGB. If only we’d won.

“LABOUR MPs are being encouraged by senior party insiders not to keep mentioning the word “Scotland” but, instead, refer to individual Scottish towns and cities.

Senior figures in Scottish Labour, who yesterday welcomed Jeremy Corbyn to Edinburgh and Glasgow on his first visit north of the border since becoming the party’s UK leader, are worried that by continually referring to Scotland and not specific places, their colleagues at Westminster are bolstering the SNP’s separatist mindset..
    ——-

That’s hilarious.
    The country that should not be mentioned.
    Like the evil wizard from the Harry potter movies.

Or The Village movie with “those we don’t speak of” and ‘The bad colour’

231. Robert Peffers

@North chiel says: 1 October, 2015 at 10:52 pm:

“Great to see Stewart Hosie “wipe the floor” with
    Alex Rowley on Scotland 2015 exchange.”

That’s the very first mistake I’ve ever seen Stewart Hisie make, North Chiel.

He sud ken ye canna wipe a flair clean wi a muckle dirty cloot.

232. Les wilson

Perhaps we should call Scotland “Brigadoon”, only seen when elections are due, and even then, under certain conditions.

233. Ruby

Oops typo in early post should be hear not heard

Everytime I hear that word I burst into song.

‘So let me tell you that I love you
    And I think about you all the time
    Caledonia you’re calling me’

I’m off to watch Question Time I definitely want to know who will or will not ‘push the button’

Trident, Faslane, Nuclear weapons …. I’m just brain storming trying to think of a name for Labour to use to describe Scotland. ‘Nuclearweaponsparkland’ that’s a bit long I’ll keep trying or perhaps some witty person can think of a catchier name (that wouldn’t be hard). Nuclearparkland?

234. Bob Mack

The Evening Times is running with the details of property let out by 15 SNP members of Parliament. They list all their property,and even detail that Chris Law runs a financial investment business.

Underneath the main story they emphasise that being a Parliamentarian is meant to be a full time job and other business should not detract from that.

Apparently if you want to become a SNP MP, the Evening Times feels you should have had an unsuccessful life and own no assets,investments,or anything else which provides an income stream.There are no details of property owned by former Labour MP’s

“Barstewards”

235. heedtracker

That’s hilarious.
    The country that should not be mentioned.

What must it be like for BBC UKOK shills desperately trying to brainwash their north british region into voting uncle JC and aunty Kez and then all we do is vote exactly the opposite.

Keep it coming aunty beeb.

“Corbyn and his deputy, Tom Watson, are expected to make regular – and more public – visits to Scotland to help Scottish Labour avoid a further rout at next May’s Holyrood elections; the latest opinion polls suggest the SNP is on course to win a second successive overall majority with its approval ratings at more than 50%”

Regular and more public visits by our all new and different imperial masters! woohoo.

236. FatCandy

Urk. I had to switch it off.

237. Ruby

‘Trident Park’

Right I’m sticking with that one.

How to get in touch with Corbyn to pass on my suggestion?

238. Dave McEwan Hill

Ken500 at 9.02

You cannot draw that conclusion from the Catalonian result. It wasn’t a referendum on independence but very significantly the major anti independence interest got less that 25% of the vote.

Just like in Scotland there is a significant section of the population who are relaxed constitutionally but here are many more in Catalonia for independence than there are against it.

239. Tinto Chiel

john king: to mix my genres, you are awful, but I like you…

How true, Onwards: Scotland, the love that dare not speak its name.

The spineless self-loathing of these people never ceases to amaze me. It would keep a psychoanalyst in Bentley Continentals for the rest of her/his life.

“Mr Johnson, I do indeed come from Scotland, but I cannot help it…”

Was Boswell the first recorded Cringer?

240. Robert Peffers

@Paula Rose says: 2 October, 2015 at 12:02 am:

“Stay off topic then xx”

Weel!Paula Rose. Ye micht ken the auld saw,

“Ye kin tak an auld naig til the watter bit ye maun nae mak it deucht”

Owersettin intil the Inglis: –

“You may take an old horse to the water but you may not make it drink”

241. Proud Cybernat

Kid to Kez: Are you from Scotland?

Kez: Stop asking difficult questions.

242. Robert Peffers

@Grouse Beater says: 2 October, 2015 at 12:15 am:

“If, on the strength of that local election result, Dugdale calls en emergency meeting of Labour’s Scottish branch office, all they’ve got to talk about in reality is, digestive or chocolate digestive with the tea?”

Yes Grouse Beater, but the reality is that after they have all agreed they should only have Chocolate Digestives the chairperson will call a point of order as it has not been made clear if it is Milk Chocolate or Dark Chocolate Digestives that were ordered.

Then half the meeting will abstain while the other half start to fight over who should get the biscuits the abstainers didn’t claim.

While all that is going on the Minute Secretary will have snaffled all the biscuits and done a runner.

243. ianbeag

Stirling East by election result 1st round count
    SNP 1311; Labour 1094; Conservative 343; Greens 152. Swing to SNP 9.4%. Well done Gerry.

244. Ken500

That were the figures for the vote on whether Catalonia should have a Referendum on Independence 2Million said YES. 2.5Million voted N0. 5.5 Electorate 80% turnout – 4.4Million voters out of a 7.5Million pop. Too much is being lost in translation. Myths are being created.

The recent GE vote was different Independence Parties did achieve a slight majority. Not as high as Scotland. A Million? ‘foreign’ EU citizens do not have a vote in Regional, National Elections in Catalonia, Spain? The Spanish/Catalonian Govs are corrupt and are breaking EU rules. EU citizens are supposed to be treated equally.

EU citizens are being disenfranchised in Spain. If Scottish Referendum had disenfranchised other EU citizens from elsewhere, the Scottish Referendum would have had a large majority. It only needs a 5% swing.

245. Luigi

ianbeag says:

2 October, 2015 at 11:06 am

Stirling East by election result 1st round count
    SNP 1311; Labour 1094; Conservative 343; Greens 152. Swing to SNP 9.4%. Well done Gerry.

And well done, Jez and Kez!

They are certainly coming home to Labour now
    (in a negative 9.4% sort of way). 🙂

246. Proud Cybernat

Top of the class, Kex:

http://www.scottcreighton.co.uk/GE2015/Me-Sir.png

247. Nana Smith

SNP’s Alex Nicol wins Midstocket/Rosemount with 1,168 votes

248. john king

Right!
    the only way Im to find out what post akismet doesn’t like is to put them on one by one. 🙁

Lesley-Anne says
    “What you are looking at is the inner sanctum of Labour’s Branch Office. The people you see are two members of the Branch Office working out this week’s expense claims for all the Branch Office M.S.P.’s!”

And if you wook weally weally cwosely
    you’ll see a gwoop picture of the whole Labour membership
    http://tinyurl.com/ngxacnl
    eh…no not that one I was err…just trying something
    this one I mean 🙁
    http://tinyurl.com/q46bguc 🙂

249. john king

@AlbertaScot
    I havent read the rest of the comments yet so I don’t know if anyone has said this,

It would be really appreciated if you didn’t link to that zoomers rubbish unless you put it though the archive is filth remover first , and preferably don’t bring that crap in the house in the first place, now we’ll have to fumigate!

250. john king

Blind Squirrel says
    sorry I made a mistake.

Try these for size then
    http://tinyurl.com/axzmdg4 🙂

251. john king

AlbertaScot says
    “All I’m saying is this thing’s got legs.”

So has this
    I think I’ll call it my Foggy Bottom creepy crawly
    http://tinyurl.com/p9clp3a

252. ianbeag

Final 3rd count result in Stirling now available
    SNP, 1388; Labour 1272; Conservative 352; Green 152. Swing to SNP from Labour 9.4%

253. john king

What I want to know is just how traumatized were those poor kids when the were told a “party” was coming to school and they were thinking this
    http://tinyurl.com/nzswo2a
    and got this
    http://tinyurl.com/qehr72c

FOR GODS SAKE WHY WONT SOMEONE THINK OF THE CHILDREN? ;(

254. john king

Indigo says(hiya Indigo) 🙂
    “Why shouldn’t children be exposed to politicians & political arguments? Children are naturally inquisitive and learning about where power resides should be an important part of their education.”

Then we really SHOULD insist on a total ban on the baser behavior of politicians and their staffers who display all of the nasty traits we DONT want children to grow up thinking its ok to lie, cheat, abuse, steal, we may as well send in old lags from the nearest prison to teach kids the finer points of safe breaking or how to steal a car!

It simply isn’t good enough to say “My lie wasn’t personal it was political”
    Good luck explaining the finer points of election law to a six year old there.

255. john king

Cath says
    “‘aw, how sweet” “Genius!”

Naw, I would think even the most unconnected voters out there would be shifting uncomfortably in their seats thinking at the back of their minds a half formed thought
    “Im being patronized”

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

? Maya Angelou

256. Bill

Why do we have the Army in schools trying to brainwash kids into joining up?

257. Luigi

O/T:

The People versus Carmichael fundraiser is gently approaching 100 grand. So c’mon folks, if you haven’t chipped in a few quid yet, let’s get this little beauty over the line:

http://tinyurl.com/o2n26xg

Make politicians think twice about smearing and lying.

258. john king

Tinto Chiel says
    “Thank for that, Paula Rose. Meant to say before our last Guinness: your eyes are like limpid pools of moon dust under a starry sky.

Can you lend me a fiver till Saturday?”

Guinness?
    He’ll fart in bed,

Your eyes are like a sunset
    like this
    http://tinyurl.com/nh34oyy
    Kin Aa hiv a tenner? 🙂

259. Robert

The video is patronising and naff.

But it doesn’t claim to be a documentary of Ms Dugdale going round schools indoctrinating children.

It’s a video with actors reading lines – where’s the harm in that, provided the necessary consents are in place?

260. Nana Smith

and again the snp win

Returning Officer, Angela Scott has announced that Michael Hutchison (SNP) has been elected Cllr for George Street/ Harbour with 961 votes

261. john king

Dr Jim says
    “p.s. Does John McTernan have an office in BBC Pacific Quay
    And where is Union Jackie has she been subbed (glee)”

Why she’s been replace by a younger burd who’s not as scrawny and stringy and shedding her feathers eh…Sally Magnusson…em?

262. call me dave

Haven’t archived this (as I usually do) as it has a short video of the declaration.

Not too long ago they used to weigh the labour vote in these parts.

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/news/local/fife/glenrothes-by-election-snp-hold-council-seat-as-labour-fail-to-find-corbyn-bounce-1.902979

Thanks Nana for your update that will be four out of the seven so far for the SNP. 🙂

263. Nana Smith

@John King 11.25

See these tall dark and smooth talking sorts who speak of limpid pools and moon dust to Paula rose.

He’s only after her purse.

264. caz-m

Nana Smith

How many results are in now? There was seven by-elections.

I’m waiting on this Corbyn bounce. Or have I missed it?

265. pitchfork

The Herald story on Labour avoiding the use of “Scotland” and instead using Dundee, Aberdeen etc has got to be the funniest thing I’ve read in ages.

Can you imagine how difficult this will make like for Ian Murray?

And now we’ll hear from the Rt Hon Ian Murray Shadow Secretary of State for (Glasgow, Edinburgh, Airdrie … and strathbungo) speaking on the (Dundee, Abderdeen, Fakirk, Tullibody … and Twechar) Bill.

Or what about Kez, leader of (Dumbarton, Coatbridge, Wick, Forfar … and Croy)-ish Labour.

How has International Socialism coped all these years without the input of the geniuses currently advising Labour at Westminster? Without even opening my window I can literally hear the voters returning home to (Kilmar… oh I can’t be bothered anymore)-ish Labour.

Chris

ps I’ve not been following the Rugby particularly closely: anyone know what the chances are of a (London, Manchester, Birmingham, Cantebury…. and Coventry) against (Ullapool, Stranraer, Linlithgow… and Auchtermuchty) game are? Or maybe a (Buncrana, Sligo, Beflast, Derry… and Westport) v (Cardiff, Caerleon, Pontypool … and Rhyl) game?

266. call me dave

Nana!

That’s five now, how do you do it? 🙂

Right I’m off to the NHS to be probed and have my temperature taken…OOeer! 🙁

267. caz-m

Message to our friends who support Team England Rugby;-

C’MON AUSTRALIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!

268. Nana Smith

@caz-m

6 so far

Glenrothes
    Irvine Valley
    Stirling East
    George Street Harbour
    Midstocket/Rosemount

Ohara SNP 1100
    Slater Ind 1775
    Dennis Slater elected to represent the Heldon and Laich ward on Moray Council

269. heedtracker

Aunty Kezia, why do SLabour want lots of WMD’s when uncle Jeremy says he would never fire them at anyone?

Aunty Kezia, seeing as you’re so keen on WMD’s, who will you fire them at when you’re in charge?

Well children, its like this

Aunty Kezia has received many comments from constituents regarding Trident and the future of the United Kingdom’s nuclear deterrent.

Aunty Kezia believes that decisions made on the future of Trident should be based on evidence (including cost considerations) rather than on political party interest – and whilst she welcomes the reduction in the number of missiles and warheads that took place after the 2010 Strategic Defence and Security Review, Kezia would like to see an end to nuclear weapons not just in Scotland, but globally.

Removing nuclear weapons from Scotland would only cause them to be redeployed somewhere else in the UK or abroad, at doubtlessly considerable expense to the taxpayer. Instead, Kezia supports reciprocal international agreements where nuclear and other mass destruction weapons are removed on a permanent basis.

The UK is a proud and prominent signatory to the treaty on the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons which states:

“Each of the parties to the Treaty undertakes to pursue negotiations in good faith on effective measures relating to cessation of the nuclear arms race at an early date and to nuclear disarmament, and on a treaty on general and complete disarmament under strict and effective international control.”

Only through international negotiation can we truly guarantee permanent disarmament of all nuclear weapons.

So not insane Aunty Kezia would like to see an end to nuclear weapons not just in Scotland, but globally and that’s why we must keep buying more nuclear weapons with money we don’t have, because teamGB doesnt want to be left out of ww3 do we children.

Now children write out a hundred times, I will vote SLabour, SNP bad, BBC good, nuke weapons keep me safe in a dangerous world, made infinitely more dangerous by several hundred red and blue tory twerps and buffoons in Westminster.

270. Nana Smith

@call me dave

Feeling your anxiety there Ooh ouch!

271. Robert Peffers

@Ken500 says: 2 October, 2015 at 9:26 am :

“Labour small talk – the deputy Secretary of State for Edinburgh, Glasgow, Aberdeen, Dundee, Inverness, Stirling, Perth, Oban, Montrose, Ullapool, Fort William, Peterhead, Grangemouth, Glenrothes, Cumbernauld, Falkirk Peebles, Galashiels, Wick. Thurso, Durness, Dunbar et al Nearly missed out Inverness.”

So Kelty isn’t oan the list, Ken500? Can we now assume we residents now live in the Independent Unitary state of Kelty and have full autonomy?

272. Socrates MacSporran

Reading that bit about Corbyn meetings and the digestive or chocolate digestive vote, I keep thinking of that Not the Nine o’ Clock News skit – when Mel Smith, the only one who wants coffee, takes it to a block vote and it ends up 4 million plus for coffee, 2 million for tea, so coffee it is.

273. MJT

@Robert Peffers

What aboot the People’s Republic of Burntisland, do we no count?

Jeezo.

274. sensibledave

heedtracker 11:49 am

You wrote: Aunty Kezia, why do SLabour want lots of WMD’s when uncle Jeremy says he would never fire them at anyone? Aunty Kezia, seeing as you’re so keen on WMD’s, who will you fire them at when you’re in charge?”

Morning Heedy. I watched Question Time last night (worth a look) with particular reference to the debate about nuclear weapons. Not surprisingly, Jeremy Corbyn’s recent pronouncement that he wouldn’t “press the button” under any circumstances was discussed.

The one thing you can be certain of is that a Labour Party, led by Jeremy Corbyn, will never win an election. More importantly perhaps, a Labour Party led by Jeremy Corbyn will not fight a UK General Election (well not a labour party that has its current cohort of MPs).

Putting aside whether one is a unilateralist or a multi-lateralist, it is not possible to have a coherent defence policy that includes nuclear weapons (and the costs thereof) together with a leader that says he wont use them.

I have no interest in Labour sorting themselves out (neither do you!) and am enjoying the spectacle – but this cannot go on can it. Kinnock The Younger is an example of a typical Labour MP – and there is no way on this planet that someone like him will go into the next GE with Corbyn in charge of a party that he (Kinnock) represents as an MP – there is just not a chance in hell of that happening.

275. Jim McIntosh

@Nana Smith

Re Moray return – disappointing that only 25% of the green vote gave their second vote to the SNP.

276. K1

So when they are asked to appear on their North British Region’s political/news programmes?

Not England 15

Reporting Not England

Not England Tonight

Or:

England 15

Reporting England

England Tonight

The Labour party are writing the longest suicide note that has ever been written, and blaming Scotland for their overdose, if only we would ‘rescue’ them from themselves eh?

277. Kevin Evans

It wasn’t that long ago was there not a witch hunt because a teacher took pupils to an anti austerity protest. But that pure manipulation is acceptable. Typical one rule for one and different rules for others depending on what side of the establishment fence your on.

On another note I don’t think kezias hearts in the wrong place I think it’s just her morals and political choices that’s warpped. She plays too many political games. Give us policy’s not mud slinging.

278. Macart

It appears the Corbyn bounce and Labour’s cuddlier, fluffier group hug approach as embodied by Kezia yesterday has fallen flat on its kisser.

Who knew?

As for Paula and Nana? Well Paula always looks killer in those heels, but Nana can break dance and body pop, all whilst multi tasking as a communications hub.

Now that’s talent. 🙂

279. Sinky

When seen against the media onslaught over Tin the Park, Michelle Thomson and the new Messiah J. C. these were amazing Local Council by election results for SNP yesterday.

Why are we not surprised that BBC Scotland has failed to mention these particularly in view of the gain from Tories in Aberdeen and shocking result for Labour in Irvine where they came third.

Poor show that the state broadcaster doesn’t engage with local government election results yet runs regular SNP bad stories in education health etc etc

280. Dan Huil

Don’t be too disappointed about Heldon & Laich Moray result. It’s an unusual, to say the least, local constituency. Many RAF personel and retired people up from England; not natural SNP supporters.

281. Nana Smith

Results breadown

Midstocket / Rosemount (Aberdeen) result:
    SNP – 40.9% (+2.0)
    CON – 23.6% (+9.8)
    LAB – 21.2% (-11.2)
    LDEM – 8.3% (+2.0)
    GRN – 6.0% (-0.4)

George Street / Harbour (Aberdeen) result:

SNP – 51.2% (+17.5)
    LAB – 26.1% (-5.4)
    CON – 10.4% (+3.7)
    GRN – 7.2% (-0.1)
    LDEM – 5.1% (-4.7)

282. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/commentisfree/2015/sep/29/the-guardian-view-on-jeremy-corbyns-conference-speech-he-won-a-hearing-not-the-argument

Can you spot what non country is missing from rancid The Graun toryboys JC might be the messiah thingee children?

Good old rancid hypocrites and liars. On the one UKOK hand, they poop all over Scottish democracy, on t’other totally exclude, if Scots democracy even slightly impinges on the teamGB world order of rule britannia wetfarts.

283. Fiona

Anyone know much about Moray? Why are results there so different? Is there some particular local circumstance?

284. Nana Smith

@Macart

Well the body popping is why my back aches but sure your ‘plenty liquids’ advice from yesterday morn takes the edge off so cheers!

Getting up this morning was hilarious I can you, one step forward three steps back with a twist or two, think I may have invented a new dance.

285. galamcennalath

Kevin Evans says:

“Give us policy’s not mud slinging.”

Off hand, I couldn’t tell you one Labour policy – either from London HQ or from the wee local branch.

I have built up an impression they have basically Tory policies, which I could name, but perhaps with a Lite touch.

I would have said Labour stand to maintain the Union, but now Kezia is suggesting they might be ambivalent. So even that clear blue water has become mud stained.

286. Valerie

Daily Politics interviewing the Artist Taxi Driver! First time I’ve seen him without his shades!

287. Onwards

Ken500 says:

2 October, 2015 at 11:12 am

That were the figures for the vote on whether Catalonia should have a Referendum on Independence 2Million said YES. 2.5Million voted N0. 5.5 Electorate 80% turnout – 4.4Million voters out of a 7.5Million pop. Too much is being lost in translation. Myths are being created..
    —-
    That’s not strictly true.
    First of all, non-voters can’t be counted either way. Secondly, one of the parties you are counting as a No vote was in favour of a referendum. I think the party name translated as “Catalonia says Yes”. There is a definate majority for an official independence referendum.

288. Macart

@Nana

Tell me about it…

Wound up aggravating an old back injury masel’ a couple months back and getting to the toilet on all fours with two psychotic ginger kittens using me as a hobby horse had the weans in stitches.

289. Tinto Chiel

To Nana Smith and john king: so young, so cynical! Is there to be no place for romance in the modern world? Somehow money doesn’t matter when I see the shapely ankles of You Know Who.

As Sinky says, these by-election results are most encouraging so far. Still one to go? Amazing given the wall-to-wall slurry that’s been hosed at MT, FH and the SG.

Of course, PravdaVision will ignore. I have a mental picture of Union Jackie sitting at her desk, repeating, “I’ll skweam and I’ll skweam and I’ll skweam!”

I think they must be worried at Pacific Quay. The drugs don’t work no more…

290. Peter McCulloch

The Labour candidate in Glenrothes West & Kinglassie by -election was also the candidate in the previous march by-election for this seat.

He stated that he had received a better reception this time on the doorstep and thought he could win due to the Corbyn bounce.

Interesting seeing the affect of the Corbyn bounce has had on this by-election,I hope we have more such bounces!

291. scotspine

@ Fiona

Strangely, although Robertson and Lochead are MP and MSP respectively for Moray, that is Moray overall.

Laich and Heldon however are areas near to RAF Lossiemouth and Kinloss Barracks. There are many families posted here from elsewhere in the UK

There is also a large contingent of settled people who were former RAF people from elsewhere in the UK.

You just need to walk around in Elgin or Lossiemouth and it is quite apparent.

292. Robert Peffers

@Ken500 says: 2 October, 2015 at 9:34 am:

“Scottish History is fascinating and relevant. Scottish Enlightenment and Invention shaped the Modern world. Scotland was the first country in the world to have free tertiary (Church) education. Scottish History could only be comprehensively studied at University. It should have been universal.”

In fact, Ken500, what first saw Scotland begin to be different was the1496, Scuilin Act.

It is staute and ordanit throw all the realme that al barronis and
    frehaldaris that ar of substance put thair eldest sonnis and airis to the
    sculis fra thai be aucht or nyne yeiris of age…

And quhat baroune or frehalder of substance that haldis nocht his sone at
    the sculis as said is haifand na lauchfull essoyne bot failyeis heirin fra
    knawledge may be gottin thairof he sall pay to the king the soume of xx
    pounds.

Thus began what became Scotland’s long association with universal Education for all.

The next most significant thing was the way the Scots got round the accusations of the English Monarchy that Bruce had murdered the Red Comyn. In fact, as the two contenders for the crown were alone on the alter steps of Dumfries High Kirk, no one knows if the death of the Red Comyn was murder or self defence.

The point is that until that date the general legal system in Europe was, “Divine Right of Kings”, and the international authority was the Pope in Rome. (No sectarianism at that time).

The English King had the Pope excommunicate The Bruce and as he was accepted by the Pope as the King of Scotland the Pope excommunicated him and that meant, under devine right, that the King owned all subjects and thus all Scots were excommunicated.

This led to the Declaration of Arbroath that declared Scotland an independent Kingdom but with the most far reaching difference that the people were sovereign and the Monarchy their subject chosen by them, (not by God), to protect their sovereignty.

Scotland thus became the very first nation on Earth to become as near as possible in those days to being a real democracy.

Later Scotland still led the World in several ways. For example it was Scotland that led Europe into the Enlightenment. Then our education policy led to Scottish inventions shaping the modern World.

Then several actual criminal acts resulted in Scottish medicine changing the World forever. The actions of Burk & Hair and the turned blind eye of Dr Knox.

“The Burke and Hare murderers, (1828), sold their victims corpses to Doctor Robert Knox as dissection material for his anatomy lectures. This gave Scots Medicine a World Lead it still held into the 1960s. Incidentally their acts created the now archaic British word “burking”, that meant to smother a victim. This later came into more general use as meaning any suppression or cover-up.

When I was a lad all fiction had the engineers as Scots, (as in Star Trek), and all Doctors were also Scots, (as in NCIS). In the 1950/60s we had the World’s former Scots Engineer, turned World’s leading Brain Surgeon, Doctor Dott.

As anyone could see Scots led the World which might explain why the Establishment still feels threatened by we Scots and why they have set their propaganda to belittle us for centuries, The Scottish cringe is a result of an English inferiority complex.

293. Tinto Chiel

Les wilson says:
    2 October, 2015 at 10:20 am
    “Perhaps we should call Scotland “Brigadoon”, only seen when elections are due, and even then, under certain conditions.”

Meant to ask: Does anyone have a link to that hilarious spoof of Brigadoon by the Chewin’ the Fat team, all saturated colour and Transatlantic Scots accents?

Funnier than Kezia at FMQs.

294. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Ive checked and rechecked this post and cant understand why it wont go up?”

For how many years now have we told people that posts with large numbers of links automatically go into moderation?

295. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“After May when unionist parties are wiped out in Scotland, will Westminster finally recognize that the game is up for them and begin negotiations for Scottish independence.”

No.

296. Fiona

Thanks, Scotspine, didn’t know that

297. Jim McIntosh

@Fiona

Disappointingly (as I live here) Moray also had the largest % of UKIP votes in Scotland at the GE15.

298. scotspine

Fiona, no problem.

Yes, its a situation that gives me some angst.(At the risk of being labelled something I’m not) I can go a whole day without hearing a local accent.

299. Nana Smith

and finally

David Tait SNP elected councillor for Linlithgow ward with 2325 votes

300. yesindyref2

I did a quick check on the Moray one, the by-election was caused by a close friend of the winning candidate, also an Independent standing down, leaving the council 11 Ind 11 SNP + others, and the council was and now is again, run by the Independents. I also found this:

“Dennis Slater, who is chairman of the Hopeman Community Association,”

and from a quick look at who he is, seems to me that in normal times I’d have a job deciding whether to vote party (SNP) or candidate – Slater.

301. Greannach

Voters in Lanarkshire must be distraught at not having a political giant like Mr McCann to represent them any more.

302. Greannach

Jim at 1.39.

Maybe the military bases at Lossiemouth and Kinloss had something to do with the UKIP vote in Moray.

303. Iain More

Jim McIntosh says:
    2 October, 2015 at 1:39 pm
    @Fiona

Disappointingly (as I live here) Moray also had the largest % of UKIP votes in Scotland at the GE15.

Too many idiots. I actually got up of my backside to vote in the by election in the hope that the Ind/Tory alliance could be kicked in the teeth. At least one of those Ind councillors is a kipper.

Folk just don’t seem to give a monkey here, a council that spends £16 million on consultants fees for the Elgin Flood Prevention Scheme, that looks corrupt to me. Then they plead poverty and tell us they need to find £17 million in more cuts to balance the books. I think disgust is more what I feel at that vote yesterday.

304. Iain More

Greannach says:

2 October, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Jim at 1.39.

“Maybe the military bases at Lossiemouth and Kinloss had something to do with the UKIP vote in Moray.”

There are actually less of them by several thousands due to cuts at Lossie than there was Greannach.

Angus Robertson in Moray actually increased his majority at GE despite the almost 5,000 more Tory votes. Heldon and Laich isn’t on the Spey either where I suspect a lot of those Kippers and Tories actually live. Kinloss isn’t part of Heldon and Laich either if I remember the council seat boundaries.

Up until 1999 the SNP actually held the Laich seat under the old voting system for council elections and boundaries pretty safely. They even had a councillor in Heldon for a while. Ironic since I didn’t vote for them then and I did yesterday, the first time I ever voted SNP at a council election.

It wouldn’t surprise me if Gordonstoun School had a lot of Kippers who will ironically have the vote at the next Holyrood Election – GRRRRRR!

305. Ken500

@Catalonia vote for referendum.

The Referedum vote was before the GEvThey had a vote on whethe to have a Referendum. Thise are te figues for that 2Million YES. There were n Party figures involved. They were no voting on Party lies. Thry were just voting YES (to a Referendum) or NO. A Million (foreign) EU citizens (retiree etc) are not allowed a vote, in either, regional or National elections (Referendums). Only in municipal or EU – elections.

The most recent vote was a GE.That was a Party Vote. There was a 10% majority for Parties favouring Independence, although one Independence favouring Party might be influenced to go with the status quo.

There have been two votes. A Vote whether to have a Referendum. Outcome was a majority NO YES 2 million votes. NO 2.5Million out of an electorate of 5.5Million. 80% took part = 4.5Million. Pop – 7.5Million+ . 1 million? ‘Foreign’ EU citizens are not allowed to vote in National or Regional elections (Referendum). Only in municipal (council) or EU elections (for EU parliament).

Citizens in the EU are supposed to be treated the same. Not in Catalonia/Spain. They are not allowed to vote. They are in the UK elections.

306. Stevie

‘using children’- when I was a teenager at school, then teacher (don’t think he was a councillor yet) Michael Connarty – who went on to become a Labour councillor then a Red Tory Labour MP in for Falkirk – had two teenagers at his school become his little Labourite campaign helpers and they went to meetings etc afterwards. I do remember him being in the school library (a room in that library at the new Stirling High School) and he came storming out to give us 2 or 3 kids a row for distracting him while he was working on a ‘complicated economic theory’. He was young then with jet black hair but he later calmed down and we met once whilst I wqs campaigning for the SNP and he for Labour and he said, ‘I am a nationalist’. I had respect for him and liked him – shame he went Red Tory (and his wife got a nice well paid charity job or something via nepotism in all likliehood).

The Red Tories have always used children – I remember in Glasgow (campaigning for Alex Neil for Glasgow Central) and I saw an open top van stuffed full of neat little well groomed children. I wondered aloud what the Tories were bothering to do campaigning here and was informed that those wee ‘Tories’ were new Labour children. At that point before Blair was elected I knew Labour had gone off way to the right in its identity, heart and soul… an it did and now it’s dead. R.I.P. – and don’t come back ever.

307. Al-Stuart

Sorry Scotspine,

You have lost me with your posts.

Is there something you would like me to respond to.

If you are clearer with what you are trying to say I shall do my best.

Regards,

Al-Stuart

———————

scotspine says:
    2 October, 2015 at 1:42 am

So. Yes. A bystander can take offence at the remark, thus making the crime complete.

———————

Scotspine says:
    2 October, 2015 at 1:48 am
    That was for Al-Stuart at 12:49

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.