1. 22 10 16 08:56

The Fear | speymouth

93 to “The Fear”

1. Breeks

Great to Hamish man-marking all those tanks.

2. Robert J. Sutherland

Ruthie seems to be surprisingly AWOL from this standoff…

…odds too poor? =laugh=

3. mumsyhugs

Is that Ruthie shooting off her mouth from behind the tank this time?!

Welcome back Hamish – just love that wee guy! Xxxxx 🙂

4. Achnababan

Brilliant – goan yerself we man

5. Achnababan

superb cartoon Chris …. and Hamish – go’an yersel wee man

6. Sharney Dubs

go-an yersel!! they never did believe in democracy it is just a tool for them.

7. Jockanese Wind Talker

Nailed it again Chris.

We’ve seen how much they really are sh**ting themselves over that “piece of paper” this week 🙂

8. Robert Kerr

“The pen is mightier than the sword.”

or

“Tiananmen square revisited.”

or

” Scottish Democracy beats britischen Panzer.”

Thanks Chris!

9. Ruby

https://archive.is/fKzH7

Mot du jour

un cauchemar

cauchemardeux (adj)

10. Dunks

In an independent Scotland I’m going to start a crowd fund to have you, The Rev and Hamish cast in bronze and displayed outside The Scottish parliament alongside our gracious leader, Empress Nicola!

On the money as usual Chris.

11. Ken500

With all those nuclear warheads at Faslane. They will start a fire, if they start to fire.

Scotland will stay in the EU, among friends, and join the EU army.

Who in Scotland votes UKIP?

Mundell is giving pensioners a good reason for voting for Independence. Higher, earlier pensions.

The Westminster Unionists will not be very popular with the Pink vote. Lost a lot of support from families and friends all round. Another own goal for the Westminster Unionists. Arrogant ignoramouses. Showing themselves up again. Full of spite.

Well done the Scottish Gov on minimum pricing and the rest.

12. Free Scotland

Why are unionists so in love with their sinking ship?

13. frogesque

I know they are letting folk on Carlton Hill at Hogmanay but that is a ridiculous level of crowd control.

Great toon Chris, Go get ’em Hamish!

We need to see some true Scotland polling, not piddly sub-samples that can be skewed and spun like spider silk.

14. frogesque

@Free Scotland.

Read that as stinking ship lol!

15. Robert Louis

Excellent. Can’t you just smell the fear from unionists.

Meanwhile, some may find this account of Theresa May’s recent jaunt to brussells, rather funny.

http://archive.is/HJQcg

All we need now, is for Angus Robertson to stand up at prime minister’s questions, and ask Theresa May a question on brexit, in an EU language of his choosing. That’d upset them.

16. Robert Louis

Ken500 at 802am,

Regarding the pink vote, I’d love to know what happy smiley face Davdison thinks about HER party, the Tories, ensuring the Turing bill was defeated in Westminster. Despite Tory lies, what the Tory Government are going to do, is NOT the same, and they know it.

Ruth Davidson, likes to court the gay vote, yet here we see the Tories (of which she is one) literally stomping on the Turing bill. John Nicholson, the SNP MP who brought the bill forward, said last night on channel 4 news, that what he had heard was that the Tories decided to defeat the Turing bill, simply because it was an SNP sponsored bill. (Apparently, it would have been the very first SNP sponsored bill to enter the statute books if passed, and the Tories, despite cross party support for the bill, decided they couldn’t allow that to happen – which is utterly pathetic).

Does Ruth Davidson agree with what HER party did last night? Does Ruth Davidson still think the Tories are progressive? Hypocrite, hypocrite, hypocrite, Ruth Davidson.

Many people, including Ruth Davidson (despite being gay herself), have no idea of the shame and damage done to many, many men who are still living, who have a criminal record for ’sexual offences’, which are no longer on the statute books. This isn’t some kind of ancient history, these people are still alive, and some are not that old.

Tories reverting to their true nature regarding gay rights last night. First they come for the immigrants, then they come for the gays…etc..etc..

As a gay man myself who grew up at a time when being homosexual was ‘illegal’, and when the b*****d police and courts still vigorously pursued so-called ‘offenders’, I am absolutely furious at the Tories. God help any Tory scum that comes to my door during an election. And that moronic hypocrite Ruth Davidson of the homophobic Tory party can stop grinning for a start.

17. Stoker

Been getting my days mixed up all week but now it’s defo Saturday with Brian Matthew on the radio and the Saturday toon on WOS.

psst, Hamish, watch out for Yon Dim Ruth, she’s riding that big cannon behind you.

18. ronnie anderson

The tails up Hamish is ah happy bunny er ah mean Lion.

Great toon tae start the day,noo am getting ready tae see the Unicorn at Holyrood,see’s you,s all there.

19. CameronB Brodie

Why are unionists so in love with their sinking ship?

I thought I’d already covered this. 😉

Cargo Cult
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmlYe2KS0-Y

20. Robert Louis

Does anybody here know the definitive version of why the unicorn in the coat of arms is chained? I’ve read various accounts of it on the internet.

http://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/UnchainTheUnicorn

21. Marie Clark

Ha ha ha. Great toon Chris. Made me LOL this morning. Boy you sure know how to hit the nail on the head. Yup, they certainly are shittin themselves.

Welcome back Hamish, we don’t see enough of you.

22. Ken500

Another Westminster own goal. Offending the LGBT community. 20% of the voters and their friends and families. 50% of voters and the rest. A high majority of the voters. For sheer spite. Enough to turn around the majority for Independence?

23. Les Wilson

Ruby says:

Another devious tactic there Ruby, designed to leave us out of the EU, and to suffer as a result their Brexit.

Then that opens the door for ” if you leave and risk trade with us, without being in the EU, you are really going to suffer, so why risk it?,you cannot afford it!”

Nicola needs to tell them where to go.

24. Les Wilson

Chris, you are absolutely the top man, you never get it wrong.
    Clever, thoughtful, and funny. Your work is just brilliant.

25. Robert Kerr

@Robert Louis

From memory of a visit to Stirling Castle the unicorn was chained because it was a magical beast and when free could be dangerous.

The Britnats would like to geld it. That shall not be!

26. Clootie

…no appetite for a second referendum…!

We shall see 🙂

27. Stoker

The Russian ambassador to the UK, Alexander Yakovenko, has questioned whether the UK wanted “an adequate Russian diplomatic presence.”

I’m sure we can find suitable premises up here for you Mr.Yakovenko, go on, you know you want to. Ach, go on, go on, go on, go on! MWHAHAHAhahahahahahahahahahahaha

28. Flower of Scotland

Thanks for that Chris. I love Hamish! You seem to hit the nail on the head every time.

Off to the Indy March in Edinburgh with my Wings flag and badges, my YES waistcoat and my BBC Misreporting Scotland stickers!

See Ya.

29. Mealer

powerful stuff.

30. AnTeallach

Brilliant Chris! We need to get Hamish to the rallies ?

Am off to the Edinburgh rally too,armed with a wee Inform Scotland placard and a couple of hundred slips of paper with their GoFundMe link to hand out?

http://informscotland.com/help-us-fund-giant-billboards-across-scotland-to-expose-the-bbc/

31. cearc

Chris, It never ceases to amaze me how much you can express through Hamish. What a tail! Thanks.

Everybody heading to Holyrood, have a great day and wave a flag for me.

32. AnTeallach

Sorry,those ? were supposed to be smiley things

33. heedtracker

Good one! Thursday late afternoon, sitting in the car getting heavily bombarded with the usual BBC Scotland, BBC r4 vote NO vote tory grot, hop channels and this came on,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIZdjT1472Y

34. Dorothy Devine

Superb Chris !I too had lost a day this week now my equilibrium has returned.

Shocking about the bill being mocked out of the statute books – how dare they. I wish them the same treatment in Brussels with nobs on! et en francais aussi!

have a great day in Edinburgh , sorry I can’t make it ! Somebody give Ronnie a hug from me please!

35. AnTeallach

Sorry,those ?s were supposed to be smiley things

36. Socrates MacSporran

WHEN are the UKOKers in Scotland, including I regret to say, so-many of my fellow Baby Boomers and even older pensioners, going to see through Tory lies?

Yesterday’s events in Westminster, whereby John Nicolson’s bill was talked-out – allegedly because the Tories were not prepared to let an SNP-led bill get through – shows the disdain with which the Little Englanders in the Tory party treat Scotland.

Tories lie – it is what they do. Their “promise” to bring-in something better is reminiscent of Edward Heath’s Declaration of Perth in 1968, which was: quietly shelved when SNP support slumped; kicked into the long grass with Sir Alec Douglas-Home’s commission; then abandoned altogether, when we got Maggie T.

The Tories will lie, cheat, steal, do what they must, but, the Jocks must be kept down.

I have news for the Tories, Z-list TV “personality” Ruth the Mooth and all:

These days are past, and, in the past they must remain; for, we ARE rising now and we WILL be a nation again.

37. Dorothy Devine

heedtracker – it’s brilliant but I’d rather fall divided!

38. ronnie anderson

@ Dorothy Devine Just going now .

Biggest Hugs jist for You XX.

39. Hamish100

Kind of shows whats left of the ruk army as the rest of the defence money is spent on nuclear weapons.

May has to understand that if we want a referendum we will have one.

40. Ruby

Robert Louis says:
    22 October, 2016 at 8:45 am

Does Ruth Davidson agree with what HER party did last night?

Ruby replies

All she’ll say is she doesn’t agree with it.

There seem to be a lot of Tory policies she doesn’t agree with! You’ve got to wonder why she is in the Tory party!

Perhaps nobody will ask her opinion and instead we will see her making a guest appearance on ‘Strictly Come Dancing’ ‘Coronation Street’ or maybe the ‘X-Factor’

41. Lemon

I love the smell of Unionist fear in the morning.

42. Stoker

In other news:

Theresa May predicts “difficult moments ahead” in Brexit negotiations….

Straight out the big ‘No Shit, Sherlock’ book of obviousness.

Mind you, that statement could also qualify for entry into the big ‘Understatement of the Year’ book.

And how fortunate are we? We’ve got ringside seats! :))))

43. Socrates MacSporran

Ian Jack has a very good and thought-provoking piece in the Guardian today: ‘English nationalism has shattered my sense of belonging in Britain’.

One of the btl comments is, I believe, a point we in the Independence movement have not used enough, and, which could be a strong argument for changing minds.

The poster says:

Two Unions Ian. One in which the smaller member states are protected, by QMV, from the madder whims of their larger neighbours and one in which they are steamrolled by that neighbour’s larger population and therefore effectively reduced to the status of a colony.

the EU or the UK?

Up to you but I know which I’d choose!

Makes sense to me.

44. Ruby

heedtracker

Great song! Everyone has a different interpretation of what the word ‘dancers’ means.

Dancing string puppets is a good one.

Currently I think of it as meaning ‘Tories’

45. cearc

I found this a rather interesting opinion piece from a, No but may be yes next timer.

https://archive.is/gGx76

Not really any snippy quotes but well worth a read to see his previously held view of Britishness as, ‘…Here was a civic nationalism that meandered attractively like an old river, its dangerous force spent far upstream.’ (You need to read it in context).

It is not a view I had ever thought of but I certainly understand what he is saying and think it probably applied to quite a lot of people.

46. cearc

Socrates, Ach, you beat me to it!

47. DebzoHighland

Brilliant Toon as usual Chris. 🙂
    But is it only the top left section of an even larger Toon?
    Just off canvas, to the right and below, I can picture 27 other armies watching our backs!

48. Ruby

Socrates MacSporran says:
    22 October, 2016 at 10:04 am

The poster says:

Two Unions Ian. One in which the smaller member states are protected, by QMV, from the madder whims of their larger neighbours and one in which they are steamrolled by that neighbour’s larger population and therefore effectively reduced to the status of a colony.

Ruby replies

Absolutely brilliant!

49. Robert Peffers

@Stoker says: 22 October, 2016 at 9:19 am:

” … I’m sure we can find suitable premises up here for you Mr.Yakovenko, go on, you know you want to. Ach, go on, go on, go on, go on! MWHAHAHAhahahahahahahahahahahaha”

Err! Excuse me, Stoker, but there has long been a Russian Embassy in Edinburgh. If you wish to welcome their presence in our capital city here are the details for you:-

Address:
    58, Melville St., Edinburgh, EH3 7HF, UK
    Edinburgh

Email:
    visa@edconsul.co.uk
    Fax+44 131 225-9587
    Phone+44 131 225-7098
    http://edinburgh.rusembassy.org/

Is not Wings wonderful?
    Most Wingers can learn something new every day on here.

50. gus1940

How about some SNP Questions in French at next week’s PMQs.

51. Ruby

cearc says:
    22 October, 2016 at 10:09 am

I found this a rather interesting opinion piece from a, No but may be yes next timer.

https://archive.is/gGx76

Not really any snippy quotes

Ruby replies

I thought the following was quite snippy!

‘English exceptionalism has flared up: we are a great country, there is nowhere else like us, we shall lead the world in free trade, we shall sell ginger snaps to the North Koreans.’

52. Bob Mack

I think it was Andrew Jackson who said ” One man with courage makes a majority”.
    We have many.

53. galamcennalath

Great cartoon. The Yoons, especially Tory voting pro Brexit ones, are certainly reacting to the SG response to Brexit.

I was leafleting (the National Survey) the other day and was met by greater animosity than the last couple of elections. The hard core Tory BritNats are very very angry at the idea of IndyRef2 as a potential response to an unacceptable Brexit deal.

The language ‘ordinary’ Yoons are using is stronger than I have experienced before.

If it was in their power to call out tanks, they surely would!

They really don’t like democracy and, like all right wing folks, see nothing morally wrong with subverting it!

54. galamcennalath

gus1940 says:

How about some SNP Questions in French at next week’s PMQs.

Angus Robertson is fluent in German too.

55. Clydebuilt

Robert Louis@9.04

The Unicorn was unchained on the coat of arms of team GB’s Olympic uniform, escaped and was replaced by another Lion…..

56. Hamish100

BBC Shereen, coke for the middle -classes.

Murray MacDonald — The First Minister — like “wee jimmy Krankie””.. laugh and titters.

Trump- mass rallies — like Corbyn —— like independence supporters.
    Trump catching Clinton. Murray –who are you?

Any Challenge to this twaddle by Shereen . No . A wee laugh of embaressment. BBC Impartial- No

57. Robert Peffers

@Ruby says: 22 October, 2016 at 10:09 am:

Great song! Everyone has a different interpretation of what the word ‘dancers’ means.

In the case of the Tory Party it is just a typo. It should have been, “Chancers”.

58. Stoker

Robert Peffers on 22 October, 2016 at 10:22 am:

Aye, Robert, including you, eh! My comment was meant to be more along the lines of mock shit stirring, hence the exaggerated laughter. Just like the fake fear over the Russian convoy movements.

59. Robert Peffers

@Stoker says: 22 October, 2016 at 10:39 am:

“Aye, Robert, including you, eh!”

No Stoker, that should read especially me. Unlike many in the older age group I did not stop learning on the day I left school.

“My comment was meant to be more along the lines of mock shit stirring, hence the exaggerated laughter. Just like the fake fear over the Russian convoy movements.”

Aye! Stoker, I gathered that. My reply to you was intended as imparting information to the general readership of Wings who very well may either not know we have a Russian Embassy in Edinburgh or who may indeed wish to communicate with them.

Incidentally it may surprise the general readership of Wings just how many foreign countries do have a diplomatic presence in Edinburgh. See here :-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_diplomatic_missions_in_Scotland

60. Dorothy Devine

Ronnie , caught that big hug!

61. Stoker

Robert Peffers

I also believe there are wee offices in other parts of our country, outwith Edinburgh, or at least there used to be?

I think Ardrossan, on the Ayrshire coast, used to have some sort of ‘Nordic’ office down in their harbour area or there abouts?

Or maybe those offices were only concerned in shipping matters etc?

62. starlaw

When Indy 2 is announced the people of Scotland must learn that its an Independent EU country we wish to be. Or the back end of UK dog, we have seen the ugliness of Little England’s nationalism, so Scotland either takes what shit will be flung our way or we get out.

63. Stoker

Robert Peffers wrote:

“Unlike many in the older age group I did not stop learning on the day I left school.”

As i always say, Robert, and something i drilled into each of mine, was that school only prepares you for lifes real lessons so make sure you pay attention to live and learn.

64. Scotsrenewables

Off topic but just occurred to me . . .

Next edition of the WBB should be the Wee Brown Book, because it’s full of Yoon sh1te.

65. Grouse Beater

Hello from sunny Gibraltar – depending on which side of the Rock you dwell at what time of the day.

I am among friends. People here spit blood at the mere mention of the British Government, hoping Scotland regains independence swiftly so Gibraltarians can “share our sovereignty” and junk ‘double-dealing, racist, untrustworthy’ England.

That’s 30,000 new immigrants buying Saltire flags should the Rock gets sold off to Spain so Theresa Boudica can secure a soft Brexit – whatever that is.

More news on my return from the Gibraltar’s Literary Festival: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-aHk

66. The Man in the Jar

I see that BBC Scotland website has the article about the Turing debacle buried in the politics section third article down behind articles relating to brexit and the Greens. They are cowardly propagandists at best.

67. gus1940

gala— @10.34

I was well aware of Angus R’s German speaking background.

The reason I suggested French Questions was yesterday’s statement and the fact that traditionally the Language Of Diplomacy has been French.

68. bobajock

No way are they that organised 🙂

69. Fred

FREE THE UNICORN!

70. heedtracker

Ruby, Dorothy Devine. Thank god for pop. I don’t listen to BBC Scotland radio much at all, even their jingle is ancient tat but leaving Glasgow Thursday with that extraordinary Drivetime Ruthie Babes says NO blitzkrieg pouring out of Pacific Quay, was a bit of a culture shock.

There cant be many western democracy’s where the state broadcaster is so hard core conservative corrupt now. There’s nothing like BBC Scotland tory propaganda in the EU that’s for sure. All EU countries have a tv licence fee, federal Germany’s is double ours but none have anything like the tory UKOK control BBC Scotland has.

71. Legerwood

The Russian diplomatic presence in Edinburgh is not at Embassy level. It is a consulate. It dies have a diplomatic status but not the full status of an embassy. It has a consul or consul general not an ambassador.

Foreign countries have one embassy in the UK and consuls in cities around the UK. Sometimes they may just have honourary consuls who, generally speaking, are local people who have a special interest or connection with the country they represent.

72. Legerwood

does not ‘dies’

73. mike d

Have the Scottish government printed a referendum consultation paper??? Nothing about it down here in deepest englandshire.

74. Foonurt

Braw. Simpull bit coamplex.

Yoan ayes huvit.

75. liz

Welcome back Chris.

Another goodie

76. Macbeda

Wee Brown Book

Whit a Joab Eh but somebody’s goat tae dae it.

77. Jack Collatin

The Prime Minister of Scotland probably purred when she saw this, Chris.
    Simply superb, oxymoron of the month.

78. Jack Collatin

PS informscotland should reproduce this on a billboard. Just a thought..

79. Artyhetty

Re;Mike d @12.32

Here it is.
    http://www.snp.org/draft_independence_referendum_bill_here_s_what_it_means

Great image once again. Thanks.
    Might see some of wings’ good folk up at Carlton hill. Better late than never!

80. Jack Murphy

LIVE link to Unchain the Unicorn:-
    http://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/UnchainTheUnicorn

There’s also an Archived Stream from earlier today. 🙂

81. K1

That’s a great idea re Hamish on some billboards, I’m sure this one and many others could be ideal and really hit home visually in a way that requires few words!

Brilliant Chris…as ever.

82. Robert Peffers

@Stoker says: 22 October, 2016 at 11:19 am:

“As i always say, Robert, and something i drilled into each of mine, was that school only prepares you for lifes real lessons so make sure you pay attention to live and learn”

You were very wise to do so, Stoker. I left school and began a 5 year apprenticeship that included the Dockyard’s own college. This taught to a high standard and we had the option to apply for university.

If that option was taken you started the Uni course in their second year of the course but as you were already past that standard your second year Uni was a dawdle.

I did not take that option but spent my next 40 odd years in MOD employment attending courses several times each year. These were cutting edge courses in electronics. Mainly then on what were top secret radar, radio, sonar, navigational equipment and weapons guidance systems.

I had specialised in RADIAC, (That’s Nuclear, (and other radiation), detection systems – things like Geiger Counters and such like.

I do believe that if you stop bothering to learn then it is just like the physical bits of your body where you lose fitness if you do not keep in trim and you thus lose the faculty to learn new things.

83. Richardinho

It’s a seemingly implausible scenario, yet the way the Yoons are going these days I wouldn’t be surprised if they started calling soon for the introduction of internment for independence supporters.

84. Robert Peffers

@Legerwood says: 22 October, 2016 at 12:25 pm:

“The Russian diplomatic presence in Edinburgh is not at Embassy level. It is a consulate. It dies have a diplomatic status but not the full status of an embassy.”

You are correct, Legerwood. My point was meant to show there was already foreign presence and the difference between an ambassador and a consul is usually no more than a pay grade and a job title.

The actual thing I was, (not too clearly), attempting to impart was that there was already a diplomatic structure that, with the stroke of a pen, could instantly become a fully, independent of the Kingdom of England, ambassadorial set-up.

BTW: As the existing United Kingdom embassy structure belongs to the United Kingdom, which, contrary to Westminster Establishment thinking, will not continue as a United Kingdom when the only other partner kingdom ends the bipartite union, then Scotland either has full use of the existing United Kingdom embassies and ambassadors ro gets compensated for them becoming only those of the Kingdom of England.

Furthermore, there is no legal rules that the Scottish kingdom’s share of United Kingdom assets should be based upon current population proportions. The legal standing is that the Treaty of Union is a treaty between two equally sovereign kingdoms and the United Kingdom is a indeed legally a kingdom and not as the Westminster Establishment would have us believe, a country. It’s title is Kingdom and kingdom it is.

85. Robert Peffers

@Macbeda says: 22 October, 2016 at 12:55 pm:

“Wee Brown Book
    Whit a Joab Eh but somebody’s goat tae dae it.”

Did ye no mibbies mean, “Whit a joabbie, Macbeda”?

86. Patrician

Great cartoon as usual and hopefully not prophetic.

87. John Edgar

The Westminster regime would resort to martial law, riot act and tanks as a last resort! Look back in past history. Red Clydeside and George Square!
    The colonial handovers were preceded by military crack downs.
    Amritsar massacre! Post Culloden “to teach natives a lesson”.
    In the end it failed.
    So watch this space

88. J.McC

Is that a copy of the National he’s carrying? Quick full reverse! He’s fully armed!

89. handclapping

Another right on the button, superb, Chris.

And if the tanks were boats that would be the entire UK Navy threatening poor wee Hamish!

90. Cadogan Enright

@An Teallach 9.37

you can print your inform Scotland poster for the demo , and wee hand-outs, at this link

http://informscotland.com/print-your-own-inform-scotland-poster/#

91. yesindyref2

@Cadogan Enright
    Any chance of a “download” page of the actual banner, in A4, A5 and even A6 format?

I’m thinking it would be amusing for those who shuffle Nationals on shelves, while moving the likes of the Express, Telegraph, to put an A5 leaflet tucked inside the Express etc. …

92. Paula Rose

Chris Cairns Honey you’ve done it again, nice to see a bit of drawing – so nice to have these polite little gatherings on a Saturday.

I notice some of our younger commenters have a tendency to be a bit rowdy over on the other main threads aided and abetted by those who should no better.

I do hope they realise I’m making a list.

93. jimnarlene

Excellent

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.