The death of the social contract

Posted on November 09, 2013 by

The raison d’être of a government is to act in the interests of their populace, yet there’s a widespread perception that they instead now exist solely to serve the political and corporate elite, sometimes with not even lip service paid to the wishes of the public.

It’s a perception backed up by hard fact in the form of opinion polls, which demonstrate that the clearly-expressed desires of the electorate are regularly ignored by all parties in favour of blind ideology, cuts to services the public value, and tax breaks for those who don’t need them.

hamishgrangemouth

Whoever’s in power, the assets of the nation are sold off against the will of the people, in the name of a private-sector market ideology, for the short-term profit of wealthy City speculators, and for the benefit of other countries who ironically often end up running British industries as (foreign) state-owned public enterprises.

This happens because the votes of most of the electorate don’t count for anything.

It’s hardly a secret that a small handful of “Middle England” constituencies are the ones which actually determine the outcome of UK elections, with votes in the Labour inner cities and Tory shires still largely weighed rather than counted. If you don’t live in a marginal swing seat, your vote is pretty much worthless.

That means that whole swathes of the economy can be sacrificed without political consequence. Coal, steel and industrial communities throughout Scotland, Wales and the north of England have all felt the cold wind of Westminster neglect as a result.

The once-mighty Scottish shipbuilding industry provides topical evidence of the decline. It was once argued by Westminster that shipbuilding was a dying industry which couldn’t survive cheap competition from the Far East and that a western economy had no hope in that field.

Yet today the shipbuilders of Germany, Italy and the Netherlands, none of which are low-wage economies, still thrive, each pulling in hundreds of millions of pounds of orders annually, with even little Scotland-sized Norway providing 2% of Europe’s output compared to the UK’s paltry showing of less than 1%.

shipmap

Meanwhile tax is cut for the wealthy, while a disproportionate burden is placed on the poorest through stealth taxation. The welfare system has been decimated (and not just by the current government).

Cuts to services, alterations to qualifying criteria, the bedroom tax, disability cuts, child benefit cuts, along with the addition of invasive and humiliating work capability assessments and means testing systems were all hallmarks of ‘New Labour’, but were gleefully seized upon by the Conservative-led coalition and opportunistically adopted into a full-blown “austerity” programme, giving the Tories the chance to fulfil their core ideology – punishing the poor for the mistakes of the rich and powerful.

Pensioners have seen their nest eggs raided by successive UK governments, pay some of the highest charges for personal pensions, and yet also receive the worst public pensions in Europe. At the same time one in five children lives in poverty (a figure that rises as high as 43% in some parts of Labour-run Glasgow), and foodbanks can’t keep pace with the meteoric rise in the numbers desperate families teetering on the brink of total destitution.

noneabove

But Scotland has a whole extra layer of detriment on top of the governing elite’s contempt for the public. Every decision made at Westminster is, quite properly, undertaken (theoretically) for the benefit of the UK as a whole. However, with just 8.4% of the population of the UK living in Scotland, simple demographics mean that in any given situation Scots will lose out for the “greater good” of the other 91.6%.

Scotland’s interests in fishing, infrastructure investment, industry and most recently agriculture have all been sacrificed to enable the UK to pursue the best deal for the most people in the UK. That situation will never alter; arithmetic dictates it.

This problem was one of the ostensible driving factors for devolution, but devolution only tinkers round the edges by giving Scotland control over how we allocate the resources it’s given (rather than the resources it generates), while remaining tied to international and economic policies designed to benefit the UK majority.

The notion that governments should act to ameliorate this problem represents an unwritten agreement between the public and every administration – how the people expect to be treated, and what the government expects of the people in return.

This principle is more commonly understood in business, where there exists between the company and employees an unwritten contract over and above the physical employment contract that governs how the relationship between the parties operates. This is called the ‘psychological contract’ and refers to the relationship between an employer and its employees.

While it wouldn’t actually be written into your terms of employment, you wouldn’t join a company and expect that every morning your boss will call you a waster, a scrounger or worse, while undermining your work. You expect as a matter of course that you’ll be treated fairly and with respect.

This concept applies just as much to governance of a country as to governance of a company. This “social contract” is the unwritten understanding between the public and government about their mutual obligations towards each other, and goes far further than mere manifesto commitments.

These obligations will often be informal and imprecise: they may be inferred from actions or from what has happened in the past, as well as from statements made by government. A wider illustration of the phenomenon can be seen in the form of the UK’s unwritten “constitution”.

magna

The heart of the “social contract” is a philosophy, not a process or a tool or a formula. This reflects its deeply significant, changing and dynamic nature underpinning principles in our relationships – and essentially defining our society. Concepts such as respect, compassion, trust, empathy, fairness, and objectivity characterise the social contract, just as they characterise a civilized outlook to life as a whole.

But increasingly, the attitude of the UK government to all of its people – and to the truculent Scots in particular, expressed in the “Scotland Analysis” series of reports laying out in great detail how the ungrateful Jocks don’t know how lucky they are – is not that of a servant or a partner, but of an angry and petulant dictator.

But why is it that the public puts up with it? The truth is that voters have been conditioned, by a two-party system that no longer offers any real choice of ideologies, to believe that change isn’t possible. And within the UK – and especially under a First Past The Post electoral system – they’re probably right.

But with the sort of proportional-representation system that’s key to genuine political choice and flexibility already in place, an independent Scotland still has the ability (and crucially, the political will, as demonstrated by its overwhelming preference for election at least notionally social-democratic parties at every election) to uphold the social contract even as it’s systematically destroyed south of the Tweed.

Holyrood, whether under Labour/Lib Dem or SNP control, has already done so where it holds the levers of power. Scottish university education remains free, the Scottish NHS remains in public hands. But Westminster pulls at them more insistently every year – privatising public assets slashes public spending on them, bringing Barnett-Formula cuts to the Scottish budget, and the tide can only held back for so long.

In years to come, we don’t have to just look apathetically at our politicians come election time and say: “What’s the point? They’re all the same”. We don’t have to abandon the social contract. But only one word can save it.

78 to “The death of the social contract”

1. Brian Powell

This should largely be given to Labour voters, but they and Labour Politicians can’t get beyond believing if only they get into power they will sort it all out.

Somehow 50 year of of Labour MPs in Scotland and 13 years of overwhelming control of the UK, through Westminster, and they haven’t ‘sorted it out’, doesn’t impinge on their consciousness.

In 1707 Lords handed Scotland over the Westminster, in 2014 it could be the ‘people’s party’ who keep it that way.

2. Les Wilson

A very well written article, and one that is true in all ways stated. Well done.

3. sneddon

An accurate analysis of the current situation Scott.  I’ve always felt the consequences of this lack of respect to the electorate (apathy, low voter turnout, lack of engagement) is exacerbated by a complicit MSM.  Partly due to the exisitence of the ‘westminster village’ and in part also it serves the vested interests in maintaining this current sorry set of affairs.  It used to be popular comedy parodied the upper and middle class now the airways are full of programmes satirising and stereotyping the working class.  Because I think a need to do this to assuage the deep down guilt held by the people that are part of the same cosy elite of all political shades attacking the sick, unemployed and vulnerable.  The tone can be sneering, dismissve, insulting or patronising but the hates still there.  Just saying.

4. Carol

Thanks to Thatcher the population has been conditioned to think of themselves as Tax Payers first and foremost and as a Citizen a poor second. 

Thinking as a tax payers brings out the worst of the ‘whats in it for me’ attitude, seeing no further than ones own wants and needs rather than thinking of what is the greater good for the whole of society.

I am a citizen and indeed one with a social conscience.

5. Robin Ross

The heart of the “social contract” is a philosophy.

A thought provoking article, but I would like to suggest that the social contract is more than a philosophy – to work it has to be based on a principle that such a relationship is good for both parties to the contract.  In other words there is an ethical dimension which goes beyond mere self interest to a recognition that such a contract brings out the best in each.

In that sense one could argue that it is in tune with the philosophers who sought to define and reveal the ‘good’ life, as their purpose was moral, not just intellectual. (In this I don’t think I am disagreeing with Scott’s thesis, but I am trying to point towards a point of principle which is lacking in the Union.)

The Union of 1707 was not constructed out of a burning desire to have a social contract, but out of naked self interest on the part of interested parties (not least the Church of Scotland and the Church of England, whose respective moral compasses appeared to point in opposite directions!). Given its murky origins, it is amazing that the Union has lasted so long. Today, at street level some sort of social contract is evident – Scots are as upset about the loss of jobs in Portsmouth as they are about similar losses in Govan, but among politicians the story is very different as Ian Davidson, Alistair Carmichael et al have demonstrated. Party politics rules over any other principle.  

The failure of the Union to provide a genuine social contract was easy to ignore when ‘democracy’ was in the hands of a select few. In the three centuries of the Union, however, democratic principles have demanded satisfaction to the extent that the present system of ‘Parliamentary democracy’ practised by Westminster and as described by Scott is unable to meet their standards.  We are told we’re ‘better together’, but that statement is based on the inadequate status quo, not on any vision of a real social contract. 

Better Together like to use the analogy of a divorce, but it is based on a representation of marriage as a relationship between two unequal partners.  The wife (poor wee Scotland) leaves the husband (big, strong England) to face a future marked by fear and vulnerability.  (The analogy ironically ignores the fact that divorces happen when relationships break down!) If the Union reflects current democratic principles as a marriage contract does, each partner should be equal before the contract despite the differences in size, wealth, strength etc.  This is patently not the case in the politics of the Union, and I have no expectation that it will change.

If we act on the democratic principle of the sovereignty of the people, rather than on the politics of the sovereignty of parliament, there is a chance that from that foundation a social contract with neighbors could be forged. Politicians would be under obligation to serve a social contract rather than dictate policies to further party interests.

6. drygrangebull

nice

7. Andy-B

Thanks Scott, I enjoyed that piece.

You’re spot on nothing really changes no matter which one the two big parties obtains power,at Westminster, both now are so closely aligned, that change is virtually impossible, and as you say Labour are masquerading as a “For the people party” when infact their not.

So the big question remains “Why are so many Scots still supporting Labour and the union”

A combination of Ive always voted Labour, or Im proud to be British, or a number of other irrational reasons, seem to be the main causes, zealous unionists aside, if enough good information reaches the public, about the benefits of independence, we will undoubtebly triumph.

I think independence will be the making of SLAB/Lib/Dem, and other anti-independenc parties, in Scotland, at least I hope it will.

8. Brian Mark

The peoples party died in the late 1990’s when the War Criminal Blair dropped Clause 4 of the party constitution,the so called left shit it with the middle class taking control. To call Labour the people’s party is a lie and they should be reminded of that every time they dare to pose as such. The middle class have total control you only need to look at the selection of any candidate for Labour these days, University first and then pass the selection meeting and the drones will then elect you as Maw and Paw have always voted Labour. I gave up on Labour in the 1990’s about the time they gave up on me. We have a very real chance to put a stop to all of this and rebuild politics and Scotland VOTE YES IN SEPTEMBER

9. Juteman

I’ve been following your blog for nearly 2 years, but I’ve had enough!
    You sir, are one of these fanatical truth tellers!
    Rev Minto!

10. ayemachrihanish

Rev,  this article http://archive.is/wgb7P evidences exactly the point being made. Only it’s a very moving piece from an 90 year old ex-serviceman – on reflection – utterly dejected by what the UK has become. 

11. ayemachrihanish

Apologies Scott

12. mogatrons

Perhaps your finest article yet, Scott… thank you!

Your observations are the basis of many a debate I’ve been having recently with the ever increasing numbers of disillusioned ‘don’t knows’ I’ve engaged.

The reason this approach is so effective is the apolitical scope of the message.
    It doesn’t matter what party you support if the system is flawed … and people are responding to this.

cheers!

13. BeamMeUpScotty

Democracy should be bottom up and not top down as we presently have.Hopefully the Yes campaign will energise people to get involved with the political process again.

14. Stuart Black

Greg Moodie’s latest, strength to strength.

http://nationalcollective.com/2013/11/09/alistair-carmichael-our-man-in-westminster/

15. Midgehunter

I hope the Rev will bide with me once for repeating a bit of a post that I recently sent late at night so probably most people wouldn’t have seen it.

It’s about one of the yards on the European shipbuilding map.

The Meyer Werft (Yard) in Papenburg, North Germany, is about 50 miles inland up a little river called the Ems.

They build lots of different types ships including cruise liners which are as big as aircraft carriers …!

To get the liners down to the sea when launched they have to close the dam/weir at the estuary so the dammed-up water is deep enough to get them down the river. Yet they are very successful at getting the orders and doing the job.

The website is also in English:
    http://www.meyerwerft.de/en/meyerwerft_de/index.jsp

The Clyde as we know has the skills and the capacity today to build these things so why for heavens sake are we dependent on contracts from the MOD for military ships?

It makes my blood boil to see politicians squandering the potential that we had/have.  Did we really need to wait for independence and the SG?

16. Thistle

Well said Scott.

17. Scaraben

An excellent article.

When I was much younger, things were far from perfect, but they seemed in general to be improving. In some respects, that stopped in 1979. Now the limitations of the first past the post system are clear, with the only political parties that have any chance of forming a government at Westminster embracing the same policies with only some difference in their rhetoric.

The UK has never truly been a democracy, given the way in which so much of the real power is controlled by the ‘Establishment’ rather than by elected MPs; now it is merely what I call a shamocracy, a system with the outward appearance of a democracy but with only traces of real democracy left. Meanwhile the UK appears to be following America in its course towards being a corporate fascist police state, where everybody is spied on and monitored, especially if they show any signs of dissent. I am not not optimistic that this will change, unless things get so bad that there is a revolution, which is not a desirable outcome. Only independence offers an escape route.

I once read a book by Ken Livingstone which had an old anarchist saying as its title, something like “If Voting Changed Anything They Would Have Abolished It”. I think that now sums up the state of the UK.

18. Andy-B

O/T but probabaly relevant to why the Westminster Government are out of touch with, the reality of ordinary folk.

The top ten richest cabinet ministers at Westminster.

1/ Phil Hammond £8.2 million
    2/William Hague £4.8 million
    3/Jeremy Hunt £4.8 million
    4/George Osborne £4.5 million
    5/David Cameron £3.8 million
    6/Francis Maude £3.2 million
    7/Dominic Grieve £2.9 million
    8/Nick Clegg £2 million
    9/Theresa May £1.8 million
    10/Owen Paterson £1.7 million

19. Jamie Arriere

OT  Another by-election looming in Fife. Helen Eadie MSP for Cowdenbeath has died of cancer. 

20. Roll_On_2014

@Midgehunter

Aye Midgehunter and here is a vid from Utube that
    gives added value to what you say.

21. southernscot

Quality stuff Scott.

@Scaraben, Agree with we are definitely following The USA.

O/T Labour MSP Helen Eadie has died.

22. Stuart Black

The Clyde as we know has the skills and the capacity today to build these things so why for heavens sake are we dependent on contracts from the MOD for military ships?
    It makes my blood boil to see politicians squandering the potential that we had/have.  Did we really need to wait for independence and the SG?

This, yes.

I have, during my long working life, worked in Dubai Dry Docks; a huge and awe inspiring array of ship building and maintenance work there, but also I have worked in high wage, high cost European yards such as Blohm & Voss in Hamburg, and Keppel Verolme in Rotterdam, as well as Scott Lithgow’s and UIE on the Clyde. I fail to comprehend how the Clyde yards, absolutely iconic in the history of worldwide ship construction, have been allowed to slump into this insane reliance on M.O.D. contracts only. Dubai Dry docks undoubtedly have an advantage in labour costs, but some of the other most successful yards, Hyundai and the like, have costs rising towards European levels.

If Norway and Germany can run profitable shipbuilding businesses, surely an independent Scotland could compete in this field, we have an in-built advantage to kick us off -‘Clyde built’ – an instantly recognisable slogan.

Let’s ditch the Scottish cringe, the Clyde, as we well know, has the skills and the capacity today to build these things so why for heavens sake are we dependent on contracts from the MOD for military ships?

23. Robert Kerr

Stuart Black.

The ethos of Thatcherism was to belittle the working man. Take away his pride of work by taking away his work.

This policy destroyed many people and communities.

I looked at the Mayer Werft videos and was ashamed of where we are and what we have become.

It can’t be allowed to go on.

24. Albert Herring

I realise they’re holding back for the white paper, but I must say it’s driving me absolutely nuts the way the whole debate is being framed around the ridiculous notion that the only work the Clyde yards could possibly take on has to come from the MOD.

We’ll have a Scottish Navy to build which then will require 70-odd ships to be replaced every 30 years or so. Same goes for 100+ ferries.

Tell the MOD to get to the end of the bloody queue!

25. Peter Mirtitsch

Very true what you say. The problem is that some simply think that the Westminster government is somehow biased against Scotland. Mebbe’s aye, mebbe’s naw, but the thing is, they don’t HAVE to be. As was stated, given a totally even playing field, the UK has to act in the best interests of the UK as a whole. Since nearly all of the population are NOT Scottish, any decisions (especially localised in effect) are statistically unlikely to benefit the Scots. In fact we would EXPECT a lot of decisions to work AGAINST us, when it comes to allocation of resources.

For instance, a high speed rail network is a good thing, BUT, only given an unlimited budget. In the real world, it is very limited so that if it were to be built to connect, say, London with Birmingham, the benefits of this would probably lead to the detriment of everywhere not on the route, in addition to siphoning off resources which could have been used to upgrade the network as a whole. This ends up with a very localised project which benefits London and the south east, but actually HARMS the rest of the country.

26. Ian Brotherhood

O/T-

I wrote to my MP, Katy Clark, at 5.30 this afternoon, asking if she intends to vote for the motion on Tuesday calling for abolition of the Bedroom Tax.

I just got a personal reply, came in at 6.44., in which she confirmed that she will be voting to have it scrapped.

On a Saturday? Just shows ye, eh? Respect for Katy Clark.

If you want to pressurise your own MP to vote to scrap the bloody thing, use TheyWorkForYou. Takes less time than it did to write this comment.

27. Stuart Black

Robert Kerr: indeed, you are absolutely correct. It is astonishing how many of today’s ills can be traced back to the events of 1979.

It is a mantra of the Right that you can’t go on blaming Thatcher for everything 30 to 40 years on, but in reality you absolutely can. It is quite extraordinary when you think of the damage that one individual has caused to this country, doubly so when you take into consideration the thrall in which she is still held, not only by the hypocrites who got rid of her, but the ordinary people – mainly in England to be fair 😉 – who bore the brunt of her embracement of the worst excesses of Friedman and all his fucking shite.

Mind, she wasn’t the only one there though, the madness that is today’s Russia bought into that pish too, as well as others, just look for the high levels of inequality.

28. Ian Brotherhood

@Stuart Black-

Have you watched ‘Killuminati’?

It’s on Youtube. If you haven’t seen it, it’s definitely worth a watch, and you’ll know within a few minutes whether or not it’s for you.

But get this – it’s in 50 instalments, and all those I’ve watched so far have been approx 15 mins long. A 12-hour documentary? The production values are superb – someone, somewhere, has invested a lot of time and dosh to get this stuff out.

29. Stuart Black

Thanks Ian, I will have a look, it’s got to better than watching BBC World on its half hour loop, cheers pal.

30. creigs17707repeal

“The ‘Social Contract’? What’s that aboot? Ah vote Labour cos that’s what my faither and grandfaither voted.”

That’s what we are up against folks.

31. Dramfineday

Two cracking articles by James and Scott this week-end. First class guys and the comments generated were excellent (even if I didn’t agree with some – I appreciated the passion).

Robert (Kerr) your reply to Stuart @ 6.28pm – and especially your last sentence – made me feel the hair on the back of my neck rise…….very well put indeed.

32. Stuart Black

Ah fuck naw, sorry Ian, I like your stance on socialism, but I really can’t buy into this 09/11 shit, it’s far too fucking manic for me, let’s not fall out but I can’t go down that route, really.

Even in the face of BBC World 😉

33. Bugger (the Panda)

Carol says: @ 4:50 pm

I would venture it is not a taxpayer conditioning but a “consumer one?”

34. Atypical_Scot

Wow. Two utterly brilliant articles in one day. Thank you Scott.

The weirdest part of the UK’s (and the West in general) molestation of the social contract is that once the people are completely deprived by the state, their natural instinct is to turn on the state thus, depriving the state. 

You’ve got to wonder whether these oxbridge chaps get taught anything…,

35. Ian Brotherhood

@Stuart Black-

I forgot, the first part is pretty full-on. Maybe I should’ve suggested starting further into the 50 chunks.

Anyway, glad you had a look and were so gracious in declining to view further. Cheers.

36. Atypical_Scot

@Bugger (the Panda);

Consumerism is an opiate for the tax payer. I agree with Carol that being taxed is deemed painful and buying things is the bandage.

37. Bugger (the Panda)

It is mental state designed to separate the citizen from questioning the order of things and chase physical goods which they are conditioned to believe are the defining reality of their lives.

Pursuing the next iPad, Volvo or Nike shoes becomes their total focus and the measure of their  value

38. Morag

I really can’t buy into this 09/11 shit, it’s far too fucking manic for me, let’s not fall out but I can’t go down that route, really.

Good luck with that one…..

39. Bugger (the Panda)

last word is not value, it shpuld be self esteem. next poster stopped me adding a few lines and correcting af ew things. I am sure you get my drift?

40. Chris

Interesting article that’s doing the rounds online:
    http://info.moneyweek.com/urgent-bulletins/the-end-of-britain/?infinity=gaw~DISPL%2BSPCFC%2BThe%20End%20Of%20Britain~DISPL%2BSPCFC%2Binterest%2BFinances~26002517709~placement:www.blabbermouth.net~c&gclid=CNzG4LCp2LoCFYbLtAodBRUAvw

It does sound a little apocalyptic, but given the basket case Westminster policies of the last 40yrs, what’s to say it won’t happen?

41. Taranaich

Scott, have you ever thought about joining whichever denomination Stu’s a reverend in? The Church of Wings could do with another!

I have to call particular attention to this section:

Every decision made at Westminster is, quite properly, undertaken (theoretically) for the benefit of the UK as a whole. However, with just 8.4% of the population of the UK living in Scotland, simple demographics mean that in any given situation Scots will lose out for the “greater good” of the other 91.6%.

Scotland’s interests in fishing, infrastructure investment, industry and most recently agriculture have all been sacrificed to enable the UK to pursue the best deal for the most people in the UK. That situation will never alter; arithmetic dictates it.

See, this is the keystone of independence for me. If a country is politically, culturally and legally one, then 8.4% suffering for the greater good of 91.6% is one which the 8.4% implicitly agree to. This is born out by the population considering themselves part of that larger group, voting in largely the same proportions for the same parties in elections as the larger group, did not have independent services like healthcare and education, and are happy to be a mere region with no autonomy or devolution.

So if the people of Scotland considered themselves mostly “British not Scottish” or even “British and Scottish,” voted 36% Conservative/29% Labour/23% Lib Dem in the 2010 GE, had the same healthcare/education/law/etc as the rest of Britain, and did not desire a devolved assembly or parliament, one could make an argument that Scotland being only 8.4% was something the people of Scotland were happy with.

But we clearly aren’t, are we? And the thing is, even if we had a great UK government which served the people, fixed the economy, boosted industry and enacted all the social justice we want, if it came down to a choice between the needs of 8.4% and the needs of 91.6%, the 91.6% must always take precedence.
     So if we already have our own parliament, education, health, legal system, culture, language, borders and history, why on earth should we consider ourselves 8.4% instead of 100%?

42. Morag

Interesting article that’s doing the rounds online:
    http://info.moneyweek.com/urgent-bulletins/the-end-of-britain
    It does sound a little apocalyptic, but given the basket case Westminster policies of the last 40yrs, what’s to say it won’t happen?

I keep seeing it as a sponsored link, and have done for many months.  I think it’s just an advertising shot for the magazine, which is itself mainly a vehicle for getting people to buy gold.  I think.

43. Wingman 2020

Well don’t worry things are changing…..
    General Election Results 2015
    I want you all to visualise it. 

44. Jingly Jangly

End of Britain Money Week Magazine
    It is an accurate statement of the UK’s Financial position.  Bond rates are rising for example UK Gilt rates have increased .45% in last year, The  Bond market has got the jitters and the rates are going up making it more difficult for the the UK  to service its debt. Currently its about £43bn  for the interest payments alone per year, With the debt increasing by about £110billion per year the cost of servicing that debt and the Bond rates going up its only a matter of time before things come to a head, that’s why Gideon has been trying to create another housing bubble to try and get some growth in the economy, only it wont work as eventually interest rates are going to have to rise and when that happens and or the bond market goes tits up the dominos will start falling.

The Bond market has been opened up to private investors, a sure sign that its in trouble and the “establishment” is wanting to spread the risk.
    http://www.maxkeiser.com/2013/03/bond-crash-dead-ahead-tick-tick-boom/

3 mins 14secs in
    I predict the IMF will be called in to bail out the UK, its not a matter of if but when.

45. Murray McCallum

Another good article Scott.

The European shipbuilding map is a real eye opener and bursts the low wage myth. I’m also pretty sure that those countries will have stood by their skilled shipbuilders during hard times.

Industry does not fit in with the UK’s love affair with the get-rich-quick, instant gratification of the City of London. It’s a longer term proposition but on the positive side it is unlikely to shatter your entire economy in the space of a few weeks.

I live in a safe Tory seat (monkey + blue rosette territory) . The only competition is from the LibDems. What a choice. I’m increasingly moving towards the Greens, as are quite a few people in the South East.

46. Barontorc

@Murray McCallum – snap – I’m in the same situation with ‘refusnicks’ – but there’s a survival issue coming up and with no directional policy coming, more glaringly so, with options open for us in Scotland, it will not take a great push to bring home that harsh reality to even the blue-rinse brigade.

47. Stuart Black

Good luck with that one…..

Not quite sure of your point here, Morag, I thought I made it plain that the tinfoil hat twattery is of no interest to me?

48. Keef

“by giving Scotland control over how we allocate the resources it’s given (rather than the resources it generates),

I loved this line Scott. To think Scotland produces more then she needs and yet she still puts up with the above situation is damn right insane.

Scott, I think you are spot on at highlighting the mood of most people who are disillusioned by the whole Westminster system. If only we could get this idea across to the 42% of undecided Glaswegians.

49. Stuart Black

I keep seeing it as a sponsored link, and have done for many months.  I think it’s just an advertising shot for the magazine, which is itself mainly a vehicle for getting people to buy gold.  I think.

Yes, absolutely correct Morag, please, people, do not place any credence on the apocalyptic articles contained within, if you are ever unfortunate enough to be added to their mailing list, market manipulation pure and simple.

50. Jingly Jangly

Stuart Black

Have you read the article in question? Do you disagree with any of the figures?

51. Kirriereoch

Regarding ship building my Austrian wife pointed out that Austria builds ships for many purposes. Passenger ships, cargo ships etc. For example this company:

http://www.oeswag-werft.at/en/front

Austria is completely landlocked, the River Danube has sea access, nearly 2000km distant.

Just saying folks…can hardly believe the state that Scotland´s once world famous ship building industry has become. 

Within the union…

52. The Man in the Jar

Some readers will recall a couple of comments that I have posted regarding a friend of mine who I had down as a hard No voter. This friend and former work colleague is a shop steward in the GMB. I had given up on converting him to a Yes vote long ago. One thing that I did convince him of is the bias in the MSM which was a revelation to him. 

Today I received a couple of text messages from him right out of the blue. They were as follows with little editing by myself.

“I am going to vote for independence. I cant change the corruption as it is. time to start anew. I may even stand for office.”

“Nothing can be as bad as what we have got. Just realised I cant make a difference anymore.”

There was a bit more to it than that but that is the essence. It brought a lump to my throat reading his texts I know that he did not take this decision lightly. I look forward to speaking to him in person to find out more about what changed his mind although I suspect it will be to do with Falkirk / Grangemouth / Govan.

It goes to show you that “the message” works even when you least expect it to. I also think that the converted can be the most evangelical of supporters especially those who feel betrayed by their former allies.

53. The Man in the Jar

To add to my above comment I did point my newly converted friend to the two excellent and very relevant articles posted today. Thanks to both authors, excellent articles! 

54. Oneironaut

That Moneyweek article strikes me as yet another attempt to demonise the welfare state there.
    I stopped reading once it got to that bit.  Would likely only have made me angry if I’d tried to go any further.
    And I’m trying to avoid getting angry any more this year, since my internet service provider has already given me a severe case of homicidal rage…  (hence my absence from Wings lately).
    Really need to find a better deal…  (Something that I’m sure most of Scotland has been saying to themselves for years!)

55. joe kane

Excellent article Scott Minto.

The orwellian-kafkaesque Department of Work and Pensions is an ongoing third world human rights atrocity, under investigation by the UN and the Amnesty International UK. There is practically nothing left of the old British welfare state. It has been transformed into a horrifying labyrinthine ordeal of pain and punishments for those unfortunate enough to have fallen on hard times and who only need a helping hand in the meantime whilst the economy and/or their health picks and they get back on their feet. 

Even patients whom the DWP have already considered to be too sick and disabled to work can be forced by the DWP to work for nothing and be sanctioned if they fail. I’m not joking. That’s if they even manage to qualify for sickness and disability benefits in first place given the DWP uses a system of assessment which is as removed from medical ethics and medical science as its possible to get. It’s pure anti-scientific iatrogenic quackology.

Just to be a bit topical, its quite strange to look at BBC coverage of Remembrance Sunday commemorative events and realise that one of the first patient groups in the UK to have the now familiar DWP-Atos style disability ideology practised on them was Gulf War Syndrome/Illness veterans. The Ministry of Defence use neoliberal disability denial ideology to claim their is nothing physically wrong with these war veterans really, their medical problems are imaginary, and that means therefore they don’t qualify for war pensions.

Just a word of caution, I know people are proud of the fact that unemployment is lower in Scotland than the rest of the UK, but these DWP figures are becoming largely meaningless given that many people who get sanctioned stop claiming JSA and are therefore not counted as unemployed. Naturally, just like the thousands of disabled patients who die after being refused sickness benefits and are forced to destroy their health and life looking for work, the DWP isn’t keeping track of unemployed workers who stop registering as unemployed after being sanctioned. 

Some references –
    Benefit Sanction Rate Doubles for Sick and Disabled Claimants 
    the void 
    06 Nov 2013 
    http://johnnyvoid.wordpress.com/2013/11/06/benefit-sanction-rate-doubles-for-sick-and-disabled-claimantss/ 

Press release: “Sanctions must stop” say campaigners
    Boycott Workfare 
    06 Nov 2013
    http://www.boycottworkfare.org/?p=3077

56. the journeyman

A great piece Scott and one of many now alluding to a similar theme. Many people have refused to acknowledge many “conspiracy theorists”, I prefer truth seekers, who advocate that elite groups control government, economy and media to keep the working class enslaved to our system. 
    It is time for change and Scotland can be a beacon for the kind of change the failing capitalist system needs. Ironically this will require our people to rise and be that nation again, that stood against them, the corporate elites and send them homewards to think again.

57. Marcia

Tomorrow’s Sunday Herald
    http://twitpic.com/dkn7to

58. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Carlin, for any new readers – this is, maybe, the eight or ninth time I’ve posted this link, but it will be new for some.

So, if you are ‘new’ here, and you’ve never seen George Carlin before, please enjoy this:

59. ronnie anderson

ian brotherhood, seen it before could nt remember his name G CARLIN , noo would he no be a sell oot TOURING SCOTLAND nae diff Corp USA /Corp UK ah mean the Big Rid Dick,s the same, Diff  Continent

60. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie Anderson-

He’s brilliant, eh? A brave man. Just died a couple of years ago, but he made the best of the time he had.

Ronnie, my computer died a couple of weeks back, so I’ve lost all the contacts I had in there – could you point me towards any of the Men With Pens?

I want to get back in touch with them, would love to visit, even for a few hours, have a ‘shandy’ – would you be up for that?

61. Linda's back

Labour cheerleader Alf young brought out of retirement to boost Better Together over UK’s failed ship building policy in the Hootsman

http://archive.is/9WNkK

62. TJenny

The Sunday Times front page:

‘Union Boss Elected by Phantoms’

Article on ‘Head of Unite Union, faces investigation over alleged irregularities in his own election’.

Got it off SKY newspapers. Can’t read the print- too wee – and don’t know how to archive.

63. Morag

Not quite sure of your point here, Morag, I thought I made it plain that the tinfoil hat twattery is of no interest to me?

Absolutely.  Completely.  Me neither.  I find it difficult to induce some people to take no for an answer in that department though.

64. Dcanmore

George Galloway tweeting that he got 400 audience for his ‘Just Say Naw’ gig in Dundee on Saturday. No confirmation pictures, just George (of course) and a few people in the foyer. Apparently on Friday there were just 30 confirmed bookings and the tickets were marked down as half-price. So, anybody can confirm 400 in attendance?

65. blunttrauma

@Dcanmore
    “just say naw” and make George Galloway a millionaire.

66. ronnie anderson

Ian Brotherhood, I am dependent on family geting me out & about 2hrs a week if im lucky noise goes through my heid like a express train, but ah think I have a phone num fur Janet Horn , if I can find it in my old diarys I ll post it today if not sometime this week klik on ma name over in Yes scot leave a friends request am mair conversant on that NOO WHIT A WEEK WEIL BE HIVIN THIS WEEK WITH THIS MORNINGS REVELATIONS A  MARR SHOW PMSL   REV,S GEIN US OVERTIME  FULL YER BOOTS LAD,S LASSESS  GIT  THE WORK IN BEFORE THE CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS (  REMEMBERANCE SUNDAY WE CAN LEAVE IT TAE THE MORRA )  NO ONE SHOULD RISE TO THE BAIT OF BT ERS TODAY ( LET THEM WAVE THE UNION FLAG ) SPOUT THEIR BILE )                                                                                                                      WE WILL REMEMBER THEM THAT FOUGHT FOR EQUALITY                                                  BUT DID NT RECEIVE IT THEMSELVES

67. Silverytay

Ronnie I took a trip round to have a look at your shed last week , absolutely brilliant .
    I would advise anyone if they are ever in the Airdrie area to nip round and have a look at Ronnie,s shed .

68. ronnie anderson

Ian Brotherhood, menwithpens@hotmail.co.uk

69. Ian Brotherhood

Cheers Ronnie. Hope to arrange something before the year’s out, and will make sure you get details.

70. Nuada

I’m not Scots, but I am married to one and spend a great deal of time here.  I have only one question: why is there even a debate going on about independence?  Staying in is like staying on the Titanic; you may freeze in the water in an hour or two, or you may get picked up, but if you remain, you’re dead.  It’s not that it’s the right thing to do, it’s the only thing you can do.

71. Albalha

Where exactly is ‘Ronnie’s shed’, curiosity piqued.

72. X_Sticks

Nuada says:

“It’s not that it’s the right thing to do, it’s the only thing you can do.”

Exactly Nuada, and I would say it’s not just that it’s the right thing to do..

73. Nuada

Sorry, X_Sticks, of course you’re right.  As I say, I’m married to a Scot and would like to live here permenently, but if there’s a ‘No’ vote next year, no way am I going to sell up at home.  A simply devolved parliament is not strong enough to stop the English sickness (rich guy tax breaks, cuts in services for the poor etc; as Rev. Stuart describes them) seeping north of the border.  I’m keeping a bolt-hole in reserve.

74. Bugger [the Panda]

Nuada

Me too. I live in SW France and I will wait for the ref result before deciding
    I am 64 and have already bested all the male members of my family.

75. lumilumi

Oh, right, I was spouting on about the social contract in the previous thread before I got to Scott’s excellent piece!

Sorry, trying to catch up with WoS… 🙂

The way I see it, the antiquated, deeply undemocratic UK voting system (FPTP) is at the root of all this misery. It was adopted at a bygone era when most of the people did not have the vote and Westmister was just a talking shop for the elite, never mind the ordinary people of the land, let alone the poor. Has anything changed?

The Holyrood system is better because the FPTP constituency vote is somewhat evened out in the regional vote to better reflect the popular vote. I can understand why Scots might want to keep the one constituency, one MSP link, it’s so deeply embedded in the British psyche, the British political culture. To have your very own MP/MSP fighting your corner (like Ian Davidson does for Govan…)

Indy Scotland will have to develop a new political culture. It will not happen overnight, but Scotland has already made a start since the reconvening of the Scottish Parliament. I’m sure people in Scotland will work it out and in 20 or 30 years’ time we’ll see something very different from today.

76. Silverytay

Albalha   
    If you come into Airdrie down the A73 from the M8 you take the first left past the B.P garage on the left hand side .
    You then take the first left just past the buildbase yard , if you go up the hill you cant miss it , it has a Saltire painted on the end and broken Britain painted on the side .
    If you continue up the hill and follow the hill down it brings you out at Morrison,s supermarket .

If you are coming in from the Cumbernauld side , follow the A73 until you come to a roundabout which has the A89 running to the right & left , don’t turn right towards Airdrie but go straight across the roundabout and then take the first junction on the right side and that will have you at the buildbase yard .

77. jussumguy

Great article, spot on. I just stumbled on this site recently after having done various searches on “Scottish Independence forums” etc and came up with next to nothing of any particular interest, then found this through an unrelated search.

This is precisely the kind of commentary that the Scottish public at large needs more access to. Maybe the author should do an article on the ongoing attempt by US corporations to further undermine the rights and well being of the EU and UK public by “lowering trade barriers” between US and EU. Not a peep about it of course on MSM, RT (freeview channel 85, is as usual the only news outlet that’s covering it.)

By the way I’ll definitely be voting Yes next year (that’s one vote that might prove to be worthwhile) even though I’ve no idea if Scottish politicians would be any better than Westminster ones.  Staying with the current neo feudalist regime is to me unthinkable, so much so that I’ll have to contemplate the upheaval of leaving the country altogether if there’s a no vote.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.