Suborned i-nation

Posted on February 17, 2014 by

In truth, the “Better Together” campaign jumped the shark a long time ago. Whether it was #500questions, or the mobile-phone roaming charges story (the moment when even a supportive media started saying “Oh, come on”), or any of literally dozens of others, the fact of the matter is that it’s been engaged for at least a year now in some sort of 110m Shark Hurdling event.

fonzieshark

Or perhaps some sort of Shark Pentathlon, starting with a Shark Long Jump, followed by the Shark Hurdles, Shark High Jump, Shark Triple Jump and culminating in a Shark Pole Vault. Frankly, on current form the only way the No campaign could get any more clearance over the shark is with a nuclear-powered pogo stick.

But still, you have to admire the way they keep trying for a new record.

Today’s Herald carries a story that we’d honestly have probably written off as a BBC Scotlandshire spoof if we hadn’t seen it with our own eyes.

“Alistair Darling described a TV advert based on events this year such as the Year of Homecoming, the Commonwealth Games and the Ryder Cup as showing the tourism agency had been “suborned” by the Scottish Government.

The advert, produced for both domestic and international airing to highlight this year’s series of events, concludes with Sir Chris Hoy saying: “So you too can say, ‘yes, I was there’.”

Yes, that’s right – according to the “Better Together” chairman, the latest unwitting dupe of the evil separatists in their campaign to rip the United Kingdom apart by making people say the word “Yes” is… Sir Chris Hoy. Yes, THAT Sir Chris Hoy.

When Visit Scotland calmly explained that there had been “no communication between VisitScotland and Scottish Government officials or ministers regarding the wording in the advert”, and that the advert had in fact been produced by an agency ironically titled “Union”, BT’s spokesman was having none of it:

“We stand by our comments. If VisitScotland want to bring clarity to this situation, let them publish the detailed breakdown of how much money is being spent on this campaign in Scotland compared to the rest of the world.”

We’re not even sure we understand the complaint or allegation being made there. Nevertheless, in the interests of a fair debate, we feel we should probably bring to the attention of the No camp – and all concerned citizens – some more of the dastardly infiltration and undermining of unsuspecting companies that Alex Salmond’s SNP have been trying to sneak past the Scottish public.

virginyes

What can you expect from a company that openly competes with BRITISH Telecom?

yeswwe

This shot from a WWE wrestling match is full of coded subversive signals.

yessleep

“The Sleep Council” is actually what the SNP’s Subliminal Night-Time Message Implanting Division is known as within the upper echelons of the Nats’ sinister cabal.

yescake

Sometimes the sneaky separatists are slightly more subtle.

yesrbs

“Salmond Linked To Disgraced Banker Fred Goodwin.”

yeslucozade

Blatant. Just blatant.

yesbingo

The separatists want to GAMBLE WITH YOUR FUTURE.

yessushi

All proud Scots are ordered to boycott this Edinburgh restaurant.

yescarrots

“Carrots” actually means “border posts and passport checks”.

yesmore

The YESNP are of course assisted by their Nordic conspirators at Bjarke Ingels.

yesnorfolk

Trust no-one. Fifth-columnists are everywhere.

yesminister1

Dammit, is even Her Majesty’s BBC not sacred to these beasts?

yesspongebob

Aren’t there laws about brainwashing children?

yessluts

And don’t you forget it.

yesderry

Derry, UK City Of Culture? City of BREAKING UP BRITAIN, more like.

yesmalaysia

Didn’t we warn you about dirty, untrustworthy FOREIGNERS?

yeschef

Lies! All British chefs are No chefs!

yestoronto

Aha! SNP minister Mike Russell CAUGHT RED-HANDED subverting Toronto airport’s baggage carousel. If that’s not definitive proof, then frankly we don’t know what is.

131 to “Suborned i-nation”

1. Desimond

photo – “Virgin says YES”…her dad will be upset!
    Also that first picture shows Yes taking the Hump, surely its No who are doing this?

In all seriousness, is it time we started paying for someone dressed in a Shark costume to turn up at Better Together Press conferences ala Mr Chop from The Thick of It?

2. Alistair Davidson

I didn’t know what ‘suborned’ meant, Googling revealed: “bribe or otherwise induce (someone) to commit an unlawful act such as perjury.”

That’s a serious allegation!

3. thoughtsofascot

McCarthyism is alive and well in Darlings mind. He’s seeing his worst demons everywhere these days.

4. scottish_skier

Reminds me of when TSB got behind devolution back in 1984.

5. Iain

And to up the pseud content, there’s the last part of Ulysses by notorious Cybernat James Joyce (fwiw he probably would be sympathetic if he was around).

‘and then I asked him with my eyes to ask again yes and then he asked me would I yes to say yes my mountain flower and first I put my arms around him yes and drew him down Jo me so he could feel my breasts all perfume yes and his heart was going like mad and yes I said yes I will Yes.’

6. MajorBloodnok

yes, Yes, YES!!!

Sorry, I peaked too early. (Unlike the no campaign, er…)

7. thoughtsofascot

By the way, you forgot the biggest one of all

http://www.searchenginepeople.com/i/yes-we-can.jpg

That dasterdly Obama, working behind the right honourable David Cameron’s back, pretending to be friends when really he is trying to break us up!

8. turnbull drier

“In all seriousness, is it time we started paying for someone dressed in a Shark costume to turn up at Better Together Press conferences ala Mr Chop from The Thick of It?”

That’s brilliant.. I’ll get the kids on the case for making one.

It might be missing a fin and not have quite the correct amount of teeth so it’d be perfect for satirical comment 🙂

9. scottish_skier

It wasn’t Braveheart that swung it for me, but the lesser known 2004 Sally Potter movie.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0381717/

10. MajorBloodnok

@scottish_skier

Ye Gods, “this film, told almost entirely in iambic pentameter…” not often you see that.

11. David McCann

Maybe they are just confused!

12. Onwards

I think to need to vary up the Yes’s on the posters and badges!

Really rub their noses in positivity!

Oh Yes!, definitely Yes, Yes Please, Hell Yes!, Yes Yes YES! Etc 🙂

13. Salt Ire

That bulldog from the Churchill adverts is definitely on wee Eck’s payroll.

14. Sandy

It is all getting a bit Orwellian.

Bob the builder to be replaced by someone who says “Can we fix it?”

“No we probably are too wee too poor and too stupid to attempt it.”

15. Murray McCallum

Yet again the campaign to stop Scotland being a country running its own affairs wants it all their own way.

No Scottish person can say the word “Yes” without having been duped by the national cause.

While, at the same time: “Yes” doesn’t necessarily mean “Yes”!

16. Taranaich

Ah, this puts me in mind of this wee clip (salty language warning):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tv9-alG05nk

17. heraldnomore

Now if it was BBC and Yes on the screen at the same time than he might be onto something, but FFS Al…

18. liz

I have to say I love the RBS one.

Perhaps they’re getting their own back after being – rightly – crticised but when Halifax, Lloyds and Barclays got less attention.

19. joe

Flipper and shark jumping were made for each other.

With such a fine analytical mind that can see subliminal, subversive, separatist patterns and messages mere mortals mistake for quotidian, banal tourists adverts, it’s a wonder the ex-Chancellor was never able to discern the weaknesses inherent in his neoliberal de-regulated financial system which was more than obvious to everyone else. It could have saved the British taxpayers £1.5 trillion in welfare handouts to Flipper’s bonus-crazy chums in the City of London.

20. David McCormack

You forgot the Churchill insurance ads.
    Oooh Yes.

21. Bugger (the Panda)

I am more than convinced that Darling really has lost the plot.

I wonder if BT has some sort of bloc booking at a rest and recuperation clinic between each TV appearance their key characters make.

Blair McD has been gone a long time?

22. Cindie

Talking of people disappearing, what’s happened to the Secretary of State for Portsmouth? haven’t seen or heard from him for a week or two.

23. BuckieBraes

Ha! I recognise that Virgin van and the location – Park Place at the junction with Darnhall Drive.

24. remy2a

Strange things are going in Scottish press – our lovely Scotsman – long time pro independence comments got more likes than pro union but radical changes few weeks ago – if somebody write something stupid and dirty about SNP, Salmond, currency union – likes now to sky.
    Yesterday I find interesting comment in British journal – The Spectator:
    My text:
    I like it. From the Spectator:

Last week, David Cameron said that we have ‘seven months to save the most extraordinary country in history’. He meant the United Kingdom.It seems strange to argue that the loss of less than 10 per cent of the population would bring this country to an end, and yet I do really suspect it might be so. Mr Cameron did not touch on the question of what the nation, minus Scotland, might be called, perhaps because he does not know and is fearful of making plans for such an eventuality. But the difficulty of getting the right name is a fascinating emblem of the depth of the problem. It could not, obviously, be called the United Kingdom, since that name derives from the union of the two which would be dissevered by a Yes vote. Nor could it be Great Britain, since a physically large chunk would have left. It could not be ‘Little Britain’ — which is spoken for — or even ‘South Britain’. It cannot be called ‘England, Wales and Northern Ireland’, since that is too long, and misrepresents the component parts as being equivalent entities. Nor, however, could it be just ‘England’, because of the insult to Northern Ireland and Wales. There simply isn’t an answer. What sort of a country is nameless?

At first I saw that Scotsman got my comment, but after ten minutes it disappeared, only trace was my name in other readers comment.

25. Murray McCallum

On the BBC text feed for AS’s speech:

“11:34: Mr Salmond says the No campaign has no plan for Scotland except leave it to Westminster and hope for the best.”

Sums it up very well.

26. MochaChoca

There’s a beezer of an TV ad currently airing with a very unsubliminal YES message…. Disneyland I think?

27. balgayboy

login

28. Paul

Does that mean that Rick Wakeman will be exiled from the rest UK for daring to be in a band called YES.

29. Flower of Scotland

How dare the BBC cut off the first Minister of Scotland when he was answering questions from business Scotland !!
    We have had to put up with coverage of floods wall to wall TV for days ( I do feel really sorry for those flooded ) .
    I think Alex Salmond was coming over too well !
    Come on Scotland Vote YES !

30. sionnach

The drowning man appears to have forgotten what a straw actually looks like. First the Union hi-jacks the Commonwealth Games to stage a follow-on “celebration” of the start of WWI, then criticises Scotland’s buoyant tourism industry for trying to attract visitors? Confused dot com.

31. Roddy Macdonald

Watching Darling on TV of late it looks like the eyebrows have declared UDI. His blink rate also suggests that even he knows 90% of what he’s spouting are barefaced lies.

Either he’s suffering from some facial palsy or he’s losing the plot. This latest conspiracy theory would appear to suggest the latter.

32. Alfresco Dent

Don’t forget these guys –

http://www.yesss.co.uk

33. Gillie

Suborned (definition): to bribe or otherwise induce (someone) to commit an unlawful act such as perjury

Very, very serious accusation by Alistair Darling.

VisitScotland should demand an apology and if that is not forthcoming they have every right to sue Better Together for defamation.

34. Clare Gallagher

WTF??? I just got a message saying this page may be malicious! I carried on regardless!

35. Clare Gallagher

This link might be malicious. Please follow it with care. Learn more about keeping your account secure.

The link you are visiting: http://wingsoverscotland.com/suborned-i-nation/

36. NorthBrit

@Papadocx

Your post gave me an idea for a soothing brain teaser game called “Find a more accurate acronym for the BBC”, e.g.:

Anti-Scottish Broadcasting Organisation – ASBO

British Unbiased Service Transmitting English Dogma (or similar) – BUSTED

Worldwide Anglo-Norman Kingdom’s English Radio Service

Etc.

37. alexicon

The man from Del Monte he say YES!

38. James123

So last week we saw Osborne’s speech parroted without question by the BBC then a whole heap of scrutiny piled on Salmond, Sturgeon and others.

So by rights Salmond’s speech today should be parroted without question and a whole heap of scrutiny piled on Osborne, Balls and Alexander.

Don’t hold your breath.

39. bunter

Looks like we have ”the George tax” to add to ”wee things” and ”something for nothing” to hit the Unionists with now.

40. Ian Brotherhood

Darling going for a wee walk:

41. desimond

@kinivie

ITALY…Is it Valentines again?

F.R.A.N.C.E was always a good sign on a valentines Envelope!

42. muttley79

@Rev Stu

Are some posts not getting through?

43. Juteman

Chicken curry pie.

44. mato21

hi

45. rab_the_doubter

So, when Osborne and co talk its a statement. When Alec Salmond talks its an attack. Nice use of neutral even handed non emotive language from the morally bankrupt broadcasting corp.

46. desimond

Bernand Butler and Mark McAlmont…

47. scottish_skier

refresh

48. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Cindie says:
    Talking of people disappearing, what’s happened to the Secretary of State for Portsmouth? haven’t seen or heard from him for a week or two.

Carmichael, Johann, Blare etc have all realised that, despite best efforts of the compliant MSM, it looks like the YES Insurgency has won.

They are probably gathering as we speak at a pre-arranged extraction location.

They are the sort of people who won’t want to miss being on the last helicopter out of Saigon.

49. Les Wilson

I made an immediate complaint to BBC over the Documentary ” Scotlands Ten Battlegrounds ” bias shambles. Here is their reply,

Thank you for your correspondence. Your comments were passed to the Editor who asked that I forward his response as follows:
    “Thank you for getting in touch about the Referendum Documentary: Scotland’s Top Ten Battlegrounds broadcast on 11th February 2014.
    This programme looked at the results of a BBC poll ranking the ten most important issues in the independence referendum.
    On every question discussed throughout the programme we clearly stated what both ‘Yes Scotland’ and ‘Better Together’ had to say. We had analysis from a panel of BBC Scotland Editors and presenters who discussed their knowledge on the questions. We also sought opinion from experts and academics with no political affiliations. The opinions given by these interviewees during the programme were based on professional expertise in their respective fields. After reviewing the programme and interviews here I believe the balance was right.
    At the BBC, we are determined to be impartial and fair in our coverage and to bring a range of views to our audiences. The up and coming referendum is a long campaign and there have been, and will be, many opportunities across all of our platforms for coverage of the issues.
    As an organisation, we place the highest value on accuracy and impartiality within our journalism and rigorous editorial standards are applied across all of our output.
    Please be assured that Senior Editorial staff, the Executive Committee and the BBC Trust keeps a close watch on programmes to ensure that standards of impartiality are maintained.
    Thank you, once again, for taking the time to contact us”.
    Details of the BBC complaints process are available online at http://www.bbc.co.uk/complaints/handle.shtml
    Kind Regards
    Richard Carey
    BBC Complaints
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/complaints

Think of it what you will, but they suggest that venomous BIAS from their “Panel of staff” is soo ok. That is onlly one thing they “overlook”!

50. Macart

@alexicon

TA DAH!

51. Proud Cybernat

O/T – apologies.

Darling today:

Salmond’s plan would “…create a border between Scotland and England where none exists today…”

Who knew?

http://www.scottcreighton.co.uk/indyref/images/YES-BORDER/Slide2.JPG

52. john king

Desimond @ 11.54 dammit

53. Robert Louis

Apparently the BBC will have George Osborne’s gofer, Tory convert Danny Alexander on shortly. Should be funny.

Watched Darling on BBC earlier, and seriously, things must be really going down the toilet at better together, the man looks constantly as if he is about to explode. He verged on incoherence at one point. Just one big long rant. Maybe he needs a break or something, as he looks seriously stressed.

54. Indy_Scot

From what I have seen today on the news channels, Alex Salmond comes across as statesman like, whereas Alistair Darling comes across as being insane.

55. Weedeochandorris

“Is–is he fond of Rabbits?” asked little Miss Fuzzytail. Peter was quite sure that he was. “And do you think he’ll come up here hunting again?” she asked. Peter didn’t know, but he suspected that he would. “Oh, dear,” wailed little Miss Fuzzytail. “Now, I never, never will feel safe again!”

Then Peter had a happy thought. “I tell you what,” said he, “the safest place in the world for you and me is my dear Old Briar-patch, Won’t you go there now?”

Little Miss Fuzzytail sighed and dropped a tear or two. Then she nestled up close to Peter. “YES,” she whispered.

56. Shiehallion! Shiehallion!

Darling of the laughed.

57. AnneDon

One of the reasons Darling is terrified to appear in public is because the Scottish Militant Ninja Turtles created an “Abominable NO Man” outfit (made of white fur, with black eyebrows and uj boxers) and dogged his footsteps whenever he appeared in Scotland.

The photos are on Facebook.

58. john king

“I said yes I will Yes.’”

Dont bloody well stop now,
    what happens next ?

59. MajorBloodnok

Acton Town

60. Flower of Scotland

Aye ,the ginger Rodent was on spewing his bile !
    I loved Alex Salmonds speech and the jolly way he delivered it ! No flipping eye brows , no ginger scowls and no running quickly away !
    Hey ! hacker ! Just give in ! wings people will get onto WOS anyway they can !

61. CapnAndy

Spongebob says YES?
    That does it for me.

62. john king

“Blair McD has been gone a long time?”

He WAS here but he had to unexpectedly hurry off, seems the relentless postitivity on GMS gave him a relapse (NOTE LACK OF USE OF THE Y WORD) 😉

63. Luigi

Ah, remember we have just been told that if we vote YES, it really means NO!

64. BBC Scotlandshire

We can confirm that we were commissioned by Ally Darling to draft his complaint, but never expected he would actually submit it as delivered.

65. Jim Finlayson

Does anyone know what the man from Del Monte is saying these days?

66. Suzanne K

You’ve forgotten a particular supermarket?
    ‘Yes Scotland, we’re with you’

67. heraldnomore

Peter Rabbit!; oh no, we’re going to get Stu into Brer Rabbit mode again. I suppose that could be rabbit stew.

Meantime the news from Poundland is…

68. muttley79

The Radical Independence Campaign are trying to raise £3000 for campaigning. They have already raised over £900. There is around 18 days to go. Here is the link:

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/another-scotland-is-possible

69. Macart

Heh, well worth directing folk to the Guardian blog again.

They are frothing at the mouth in comments, just like last week.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/blog/2014/feb/17/alex-salmond-speech-first-minister-scottish-independence-eu-currency-live

70. Edward

Just watched a shockingly bias piece by Norman Smith on BBC 1 o’clock news
    Making out that ‘2 pillars’ have been removed from Alex Salmond’s argument and that the pressure is on Alex Salmond

71. Alec

Well I’ll beg to differ on this one. I thought Darling came across well. A bit of passion, no doubt, but the logic he espoused was hard to resist.

Darling immediately spotted the glaring logic failure in Salmond’s case today – that failure to agree a sterling union would increase transaction costs. Putting aside the accuracy of the numbers, Darling’s response was to ask why, if it’s going to cost everyone more, is the SNP campaigning to leave the currency union? That’s exactly what BT have been saying all along, and Alex has now helped them by putting a number on it.

Darling also picked apart the case that the interviewer tried to make on opinion polls, and effectively pointed out that a new currency union is unworkable and not supported by UK voters.

Problems for the SNP, but you’d never guess reading what’s on here.

55% of UK voters are opposed to a post independence sterling union. Please explain how Scotland gets around that simple point of democratic choice.

72. Roberto

It is clear to me that Westminster will not agree to a currency union as they are not willing to have their budget controlled by a joint committee.
    This impass is diverting attention away from the economic argument.
    Time to declare informal use of the pound.Time to declare that we will apply to join EFTA in the event of any EU problems.this will clear the way for a proper debate on the economic case for independence.

73. Misteralz

O/T – My copy of Scotland’s Future just turned up. 😀

74. Edward

Sky News to have ‘ceo of Business Scotland ‘ and a MEP to discuss Scotland and the Eu at 13:30 hrs shortly

75. Jamie Arriere

So, David Tennant, will we still see Doctor Who after independence?

76. John Gibson

Cindie wrote –

“Talking of people disappearing, what’s happened to the Secretary of State for Portsmouth? haven’t seen or heard from him for a week or two.”

* snigger *

77. Smokie Toon

Darling is a public schoolboy Labourite Tory. Wasnt he brought to task over budget fraud when he was finance convenor at Edinburgh city council?
    Made of Teflon, they said, it couldnae stick!

78. mato21

Afternoon

79. TJenny

Act on stage.

80. muttley79

@Macart

I am not sure what has happened to the comments on the Guardian. Many think that if there is no currency union, then Scotland has to pay a share of the UK’s debt?

81. X_Sticks

Quite telling that on the bbc website the ‘live’ feed on Alex’s conference has more from Alastair Darling and the bbc ‘experts’ than from Alex.

As for the bbc HYS and the Cif on Guardian etc, do not be fooled, the change that you have seen on these sites is orchestrated. This is the british state trying to poison the online efforts of the Yes campaign. They intend to make any online debate so toxic that people wil be put off. All of the online blogs and websites will be attacked just has Wings has been this past week or so.

They know full well they have been losing the online battle. Now they intend to close it down.

It would be good to find out where the orchestated online mob are based. Probably some out-of-the-way warehouses and the like based somewhere in England.

The other thing this all tells me is WE ARE WINNING!

Roll on September – not long now.

82. kininvie

refresh

83. Jingly Jangly

Alec unfortunately not a Smart Alec, If we don’t get to join a currency zone, the UK Balance of payments deficit will increase substantially, meaning a probable weakening of the pound and increase in interest rates. We will use the pound anyway so no additional costs to business or people travelling between the countries, But the rUK will have to borrow at least an additional 4.5bn pounds sterling per year to cover the payment costs which Scotland contribute at the moment.

So why would Westminster not agree to a Sterling zone?

84. chalks

Alec’s back.

Please explain how Englands businesses will vote in a uk wide referendum on whether they would like to pay more for doing business in Scotland?

85. kininvie

X_Sticks

Hang on, you mean the No campaign has taken a leaf from the cybernat squad and is now orchestrating all their commenters? Does no one have freedom of thought any more?

86. kininvie

@alec

Interested in the way you use the 55% opposed figure. Would this by any chance be the same poll that showed 61% in favour?

87. Calgacus MacAndrews

I can’t figure out why BT don’t realise that Scots in general take very badly to being threatened by outsiders (e.g. Osborne, Barosso).

I have spoken to four or five angry people since Thursday who have basically said to me that they are not bothering listening to the debate any more, and are just going to vote YES.

88. Big Jock

Slightly off subject but here is the real nasty side of British Unionism. The guy that attacked the Black busker in Glasgow:” Heavily-built Muir, wearing a pink shirt, approaches the busker and says: “What about the f****** British or the homeless? You are taking the f****** p***. You are milking our country for thousands, ya f****** black b******.” Enough said.

89. Macart

Yep, they still don’t get it.

Continuance has its downside. Tried telling God knows how many that UK has already underwritten the debt. That all debt is in the UKs name. Indeed that with insistence on the current stance Scotland will have no debt in its name, not historically and not morally. Its not about threats to renege its just the way it is. All the southern electorate are hearing though is Scotland defaults, Salmond demands etc. They’ve been completely brainwashed by their own government and media, refusing to see anything other than the emotive guff spewed by their fav media. The truly ugly face of British nationalism rearing its head. God, Osborne regarded as a hero in the pages of the Guardian. I mean FFS muttley.

I’m afraid especially after the past fortnight I’m becoming a sympathy free zone (which shocks even me). When the other shoe drops after a yes vote, things will not go well for the establishment.

90. Doug Daniel

“We stand by our comments. If VisitScotland want to bring clarity to this situation, let them publish the detailed breakdown of how much money is being spent on this campaign in Scotland compared to the rest of the world.”

Interesting. So BT don’t think the main target market for a campaign to get people to holiday in Scotland should be Scots themselves? I’d have thought that would be your main port of call, personally – get people to spend their holiday money in Scotland instead of spending it in Greece or Spain (especially Spain…)

91. muttley79

@Macart

The abuse of Salmond is really vitriolic. Many are simply not interested in debate and argument. You are right. I think most cybernats understand that there will be a lot of negotiation after a Yes vote. Many posters on the Guardian refuse to concede this, or accept it. It has been noticeable for weeks that the Scottish Cif articles are getting toxic. Make no mistake the British state is panicking.

92. Macart

@muttley79

I don’t think they are in full rubber underpants mode yet, but if the polls continue to move away from them through the spring then it’ll be carnage in Whitehall. As for Guardian?

Yep, getting too blue for my taste, but popping in to make the odd comment and drawing undecideds attention to the tenor of same from the opposition is all grist for the mill. 🙂

93. Calgacus MacAndrews

The other great national characteristic that many Scots seem to be blessed with is highly-developed RADAR FOR PHONY STUFF.

That’s why the over-repetition is proving to be the undoing of Project Fear.

That’s why the past week or so we have seem some instances of journalists and TV presenters starting to edge away from the Project Fear spin cycle.
    They are the smarter ones who see a credibility cliff fast approaching.

94. HandandShrimp

I don’t understand why Darling is considered a big hitter, he frequently talks absolute nonsense that once written down and examined in the cold light of day not so much doesn’t bare scrutiny but is in fact laugh out loud funny. I am sure he is good at the party political stuff but this cross party reaching out to the non-political looks like alien territory to him and he seems to be permanently angry these days.

95. chalks

Alec, Yes Scotland are campaigning to effectively end the political union, not the currency union.

96. muttley79

This is basically what has happened to the Guardian. This is a comment from “neilmack”:

“Scotland takes its share of the debt in all scenarios.

Default isn’t an option. Defaulting governments can’t borrow.”

That is the standard comment now. Notice the absolute certainty of the ‘all scenarios’.

97. Weedeochandorris

“You can judge a person’s temper by his eyebrows. There is more meanness in a Weasel’s eyebrows than in the whole of a Bear.” – Peter Rabbit.

“Old Jed Thumper sat in his bull-briar castle in the middle of the Old Pasture, scowling fiercely and muttering to himself. He was very angry, was Old Jed Thumper.

“He was so angry that presently he stopped muttering and began to chew rapidly on nothing at all but his temper, which is a way angry Rabbits have. The more he chewed his temper, the angrier he grew.”

98. tartanfever

Alec says:

‘Darling immediately spotted the glaring logic failure in Salmond’s case today – that failure to agree a sterling union would increase transaction costs. Putting aside the accuracy of the numbers, Darling’s response was to ask why, if it’s going to cost everyone more, is the SNP campaigning to leave the currency union? ‘

SNP are not campaigning to leave the currency union though Alec, I’d re-think that ‘glaring logic failure’ you mention.

And while you’re rethinking it, maybe Darling and Osbourne would like to tell business south of the border exactly how much it’s going to cost them to do business with us. It’s bluff and bluster, unless Osbourne has decided that ‘self-harm’ is the new tory policy.

99. wingman 2020

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3C6Utr027QY

Definitely a YES then

100. wingman 2020

http://giphy.com/search/yes/2

Any of these will do… including old Sean C in the middle.

101. NorthBrit

@Muttley79

Maybe we should be asking these people how they imagine Scotland taking on a share of “the debt” would be effected?

They seem so certain so naturally they will have thought the mechanics through.

102. Patrick Roden

“His blink rate also suggests that even he knows 90% of what he’s spouting are barefaced lies.”

WOW!!! only 90% barefaced lies now?

The Tories must have had a word with him then.

103. Alec

@Kinninvie – “Interested in the way you use the 55% opposed figure. Would this by any chance be the same poll that showed 61% in favour?”

Err – no. That isn’t statistically possible. This is the poll that found in GB as a whole 55% opposed an independent Scotland using the pound and 26% in favour, with figures in E&W of 58% against and 23% for. Field work was 3 – 4 days ago, sample size 180-0+, so a pretty big poll.

http://d25d2506sfb94s.cloudfront.net/cumulus_uploads/document/s1ec3emgrq/YG-Archive-140214-Scotland-Pound.pdf

104. Patrick Roden

Are you confused Alec?

The logic that Alistair spotted?

It’s your side who are saying we can’t have a currency union.

Gideon wouldn’t answer genuine questions afterword’s, so we don’t know what affect this would have on ENGLISH Businesses.

Although I’m sure even you can guess.

so the only question you need ask yourself Alec, is will the Tory party do something that is terrible for English business interests?

If your answer is No, then I’m afraid your side have just made a rip roaring cunt of you…

But hey, what can you do eh?

105. chalks

@Alec – Is that a YouGov poll?

#lol

106. wingman 2020

@X Sticks

You are correct… aside from a a number of new genuine commentators (as a result of the CU debate) there are an increasing number of suspicious characters appearing on the main comments pages.

They are being paid to post. I know of one girl who gets paid to tweet for two days a week.

UK Government realised that it was losing the online fight and has recruited people to ‘comment’ … They will all have signed confidentiality agreements, but it will emerge in the future.

Just as it will emerge that Darling orchestrated Osbornes Troika intervention and the release of the Senior Civil Servant information (he was Darlings old dinner buddy)

107. wingman 2020

The troika intervention by Osborne really takes the piss out of Carney. He must be asking himself what he has gotten into. He comes up for technocratic discussions and Osborne rips the rug out from under him a few days later. LOL

108. Desimond

Wallace…A right YES man:

‘I, Danny Wallace, being of sound mind and body, do hereby write this manifesto for my life. I swear I will be more open to opportunity. I swear I will live my life taking every available chance. I will say Yes to every favour, request, suggestion and invitation. I WILL SWEAR TO SAY YES WHERE ONCE I WOULD SAY NO.’

Danny Wallace had been staying in. Far too much. Having been dumped by his girlfriend, he really wasn’t doing the young, free and single thing very well. Instead he was avoiding people. Texting them instead of calling them. Calling them instead of meeting them. That is until one fateful date when a mystery man on a late-night bus told him to ‘say yes more’. These three simple words changed Danny’s life forever. Yes Man is the story of what happened when Danny decided to say YES to everything, in order to make his life more interesting. And boy, did it get more interesting.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/510l1M1whUL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX385_SY500_CR,0,0,385,500_SH20_OU02_.jpg

109. msean

Looks like the news channels are on no overdrive today.It’s almost comedy gold.

110. Alec

@Patrick Roden – “so the only question you need ask yourself Alec, is will the Tory party do something that is terrible for English business interests?

If your answer is No, then I’m afraid your side have just made a rip roaring cunt of you…”

It is better to have open borders and a single currency in many ways, but I’m generally quite sanguine about currency matters. I’m not too sure that people here aren’t getting a bit over excited about the impact of separate currencies on business transactions. We were given all this apocalyptic guff when people told us, time and again, that we _had_ to join the Euro or face slumping inward investment and massive job losses. This didn’t happen, and nor would it happen if Scotland and the UK had different currencies.

Like the Scots, the English, Welsh and Northern Irish don’t take well to demands from other countries that they must meet their demands of face all manner of threats. In this, we’re not so different, I think. In adopting this tactic of instructing us what we ‘must’ do, and calling us cunts if we disagree, you’re doing yourselves no favours and making the deal you need much harder to get.

The transaction costs are pretty easy to deal with, although currency fluctuations are more of a problem, but certainly not anything to be too frightened of in the long term.

The UK (England, to be more accurate) has a massive car industry, and these guys seem to find a way to break production records and export to all manner of currency areas, so it doesn’t follow that there will be major disruption south of the border. Get the fundamentals right, and the currency will sort itself out.

That’s not to say that we won’t have a government that could still fuck everything up – that’s democracy – but then again, so could Scotland.

I think businesses in the UK are overly bothered about whether or not Scotland has a different currency. I think a good few Scottish businesses might find this a little more unsettling, as the UK market dwarfs the Scottish market by a factor of 10, but even there, they needn’t be too concerned. As I say, get the fundamentals right and the currency will work out.

The fact that the SNP appears desperate to retain sterling while the UK says no should probably tell you where the balance of pain lies.

111. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“The fact that the SNP appears desperate to retain sterling”

The SNP isn’t “desperate” to retain Sterling – the SNP knows with 100% certainty that it can retain Sterling no matter what. The UK government, on the other hand, is desperate to retain Scotland. Wonder why?

112. TootsCapoot

Yes indeed, the Guardian comments section seems to be going to hell in a handbag.

113. Patrick Roden

Alec, No demands have been made on anyone by Scotland or Alex Salmond.
    We said that we though a currency agreement was best for BOTH Scotland and the rUK…

…AND we offered to enter into negotiations with Westminster, so that we could have a workable agreement in place ‘in the event of Scotland voting Yes’

Dave Cameron thought he was pulling a clever political stunt, by saying that Westminster would not -pre-negotiate’ independence.

Now it is coming back to bite his bum, because the polls are narrowing, and the ‘City’ is now demanding clarity.

Cameron does not have the courage to admit his mistake (the scourge of UK politics) so has instead adopted a bullying posture, through others as usual, to attempt to force Alex Salmond to make concessions.

Again, will The Tory’s adopt policies that will do harm to English businesses, for no apparent gain?

If the answer is No, Alec, then eventually the Tory’s need to find a way to backtrack.
    We know they won’t admit they are ‘U-turning’ so will try ever stupider ways to force Alex Salmond to do the U-turn.

In other words Alec, It’s game over for the union.

114. Appleby

Scotland has many things the UK government are desperate to have. What does the UK offer us in return? Nowt. We’ve heard nonsense about them kidnapping our Panadas and not letting us see Doctor Who. Scotland holds most the cards already. This is why they have used the PROJECT FEAR methodology of blasting everyone in Scotland with as much mind numbing lies and fearmongering as possible – all to stop people from thinking at all and get in a panic as they know panicking people usually don’t make sensible choices or think to look at the evidence before leaping to a decision. It is a disgusting and cynical manipulation. The saddest thing is that the brainwashed few that are doing their legwork are as much victims of it as the rest of the trough-snorting scumbags that back this and are frightened of losing their cushy political careers and ermine-clad retirement.

The hard evidence and rational debate is so much in favour of YES that I’m sure that simply giving that information out and making sure everyone has a chance to see and understand it properly would swing the vote.

115. TJenny

116. X_Sticks

wingman 2020 says:

“I know of one girl who gets paid to tweet for two days a week.”

We need to try and track down and expose any instances of people being paid to blog/post/tweet against Scottish independence. This is against every democratic principle.

I used to think I was just paranoid, now I know they ARE out to get us!

117. Murray McCallum

“The UK (England, to be more accurate) has a massive car industry, and these guys seem to find a way to break production records and export to all manner of currency areas, so it doesn’t follow that there will be major disruption south of the border.”

This foreign owned car industry is largely in England because of EU membership. When rUK votes to exit the EU it will be interesting to see what the owners do.

“The UK’s membership of the EU has always been an important consideration for Toyota, from our original decision to invest here and indeed to this day,” Toyota Motor Co http://archive.is/g0sOc

It seems that the Tory government is determined to impose major risks on UK manufacturing. It doesn’t seem to understand large scale manufacturing – maybe because it is outside of the South East?

118. liz

Totally agree about the guardian comments.
    I am not going to give them any more traffic and eventually they are going to be talking to themselves.

You can tell they are trolls because no matter how many sites you post to back up your info, they just keep repeating the same lies over and over – it’s a waste of time to try to enter into a conversation.

119. ronald alexander mcdonald

Yes is a positive word. No is a negative word. Maybe the NO campaign have just figured this out.

120. Garyy

I wouldn’t use the Daniel Bryan WWE pic given that he also had the same t-shirts and signboards with the chant “No” lol.

121. Rachel MacNeill

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Molly_Bloom James Joyce says YES!

122. FlimFlamMan

@Jingly Jangly

The rUK balance of payments deficit will grow anyway: Scottish exports will be on Scotland’s balance sheet no matter what currency is used. In a currency union the rUK government would lose the ability to self-finance that deficit.

UK government ‘borrowing’ is currently just smoke and mirrors, since the debt is denominated in a currency that the UK gov itself issues. In a currency union the rUK would not have its own currency and so the borrowing, and bond yields, would become all too real.

123. Simon

“The UK (England, to be more accurate) has”… nice quote from Alec, sorry to keep this going.

Yes if people are paid to comment this needs a serious investigative journalist on the case!

124. Morag

A what? Where?

125. Stevie

JUST SAY NO – TO DRUGS

I knew this was an early BritNat ant-indy campaign. It started in the 1980s in the USA but that was their plan all along. Insidious gits.

126. Stevie

NO MEAN NO

Yet another sneaky subliminal BritNat campaign.

Wonder what other naughty things they’ve been up to.

No is also present in Noddy – bstrds are at it everywhere.

snowman, nowhere, knowledge, nonsense – they’re fkn everywhere!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.