Posted on January 19, 2014 by

ftgap

#ukok #bettertogether

32 to “Something to look forward to”

1. Gray

I’ll sleep better now knowing that Londoners will be okay thanks to my contribution.

2. Oldnat

“The southeast is in second place with 14.6 per cent, followed by the northwest at 9.4 per cent.”

Mmm Isn’t there a UK “region” missing from that analysis? Somewhere in the far north is normally in 3rd place.

3. Calum Craig

In an article about the gap widening between London and the rest of the UK there is one wee slip: “Some 28 per cent of Londoners, compared with 21 per cent in the rest of England”.

*sigh*

4. Ian Kirkwood

“London is the dark star of the economy, inexorably sucking in resources, people and energy. Nobody quite knows how to control it.”

Er, I think we have a few ideas up here it the wee area just North or your North West region (assuming that you do actually mean NW England).

5. Ken500

£Billions in bailing out London Banks from all taxpayers. Fraudulent Bankers have not gone to jail but are being protected by Westminster. Profits to Head Offices from all UK consumers. £Billlions in tax evasion by (foreign) multinationals in the City of London ie illegally, against fair competion Laws and unfair for British business.

6. Dave McEwan Hill

None of London’s opulence is based on manufacturing or any form of productive activity.
    It doesn’t need the rest of the UK economy to function as it plays about with money made in other places or invented by banks

7. velofello

“if we don’t build enough houses…” HS2? Poor suckers from Birmingham and Manchester transported down to work as drone bees for London.

8. Arbroath 1320

Thanks for thgat Stu. I have been having many a sleepless night recently worrying about how those poor wee under paid individuals working at fraud HQ a.k.a. the Bank HQ’s of London city were going to survive. I can now go to bed and strop worrying that they are in dire straits. Now if only there was something that could be done for the people of Scotland, hmm…

9. CameronB

And HS2 will help this in what way?

10. ronnie anderson

Awe they hoose,s that Boris is gonna build,team london gonna be very busy,( fur the next 50 year,s lol)where,s he getting awe that money fae.

11. TYRAN

Pooling and sharing.

12. ronnie anderson

ah canna swim,noo who,s fur shareing in the droownin bit lol, nain o us.

13. pmcrek

Its ok guys Scotland and Wales are NOT regions 😀

14. Bubbles

Who knew there was so much wealth in Achiltibuie?

15. john king

There 8.3 million (wow) people in London, how many of them can be tarred with the “greedy Bankers ” brush?
    not that many I’ll wager, no the vast majority of the rest of them are ordinary people like us who are stuck on an asteroid hurtling through space and have nowhere to go,

They are just as much in the evil hands of the Tories as us who seem to think a working family living in London have no right to a decent home near to their place of employment,
    who instead are vilified for the greed of their landlords who charge exorbitant rents and then the Tories paint them as scroungers,

If someone has to pay a rent of £250.00 a week and more do you blame them for their housing benefit? they gain nothing other than a roof over their heads, its the landlord who should be in the spotlight not the rent payers, the bedroom tax is akin to a driver mounting the pavement and running over a pedestrian and then sending the injured person the bill for the damage they caused to your car when you hit them,

I speak to people from all over the country in my6 job and some of the stories I hear from young (predominantly black women) of landlords requiring them to leave their home at incredibly short notice ,with absolutely nowhere else to go is heart wrenching, I spoke to one young woman from Ilford who said after speaking to the local authority she was to be placed on a waiting list ( probably several years) meanwhile she was expected to present herself at a “guesthouse” to accommodate her and her 3 children, her plight had me in tears.

We might see our disgust at a bedroom tax as being not of our making but it is worth remembering those Londoners didn’t choose the situation they are in either.

16. Ken500

The majority of people in London S/E and the rest of the UK do decide their own fate. They vote right wing – Tory etc, including voting for Mayor Boris Johnson.

17. Mosstrooper

It’s OK John, Not to worry, once we sort out Scotland’s problems we can turn all our expertise to helping London and the South East of England ( the richest part of the UK) to assist it’s own poor and downtrodden.

18. Macart

OFFS

Well that’s a load off my mind.

19. Paul

As the referendum date draws nearer get ready for the biggest British economic miracle ever Unemployment will fall to zero, all the illegal immigrants will return to where they came, Our standard of living will rocket with scope for huge pay rises for everybody, the NHS will have no more over crowding and doctors and nurses will be a plenty sitting about in their shiny new hospitals with nothing to do as we will all be so healthy, our children will all be educated to university standards and there will be no more potholes in our roads with new motorways built all this in the unionists bright new world if we vote no.

20. john king

the rise in cost of housing in London didn’t start with the present Tory government Ken its been going on for years under both Tory and Labour, dont get me wrong if you vote for these creatures you deserve all you get but I cant see what advantage a single mother living in London might expect to gain by voting for the Tories, not all people are the victims of their own greed.

21. CameronB

As population grows in the SE, so does the number of poor, as a proportion of population. Is this why Westminster is proposing the allocation of the block grant by needs assessment? Is this how they intend paying for HS2, ensuring that public funds will be diverted in order to prop up yet another manufactured property bubble?

22. Ken500

Westminster centralist economic policies, foreign and social policies have governed London S/E, since 1928. Scotland outvoted 10 to 1, has taxation without representation. The UK is not a Democracy and people in Scotland are not treated equally as per the 1707 Union agreement. There are different tax regimes (evasion) in the UK, which favour London S/E. Westminster is a corrupt organisation, which not uphold the Laws it creates. Politcans who disobey the Law.

23. Ken500

London S/E has less poor as a percentage of the population – of London S/E . One in 29 is a $millionaire. There is low unemployment 4% as a result of Westminster policies. Monies are taken from the rest of the UK, especially Scotland to subsidise London S/E. The major sector created in London S/E is Banking – producing debt. The Oil revenues produced (taxed at 60% to 80%) in Scotland go to pay for corrupt Westminster governance and subsidise London S/E debt.ie London S/E living beyond it’s means, illegal wars and tax evasion.

Scotland produces a £60Billion. Spends £60Billion. £12Billion is misappropriated by Westminster to be misspent. Could Scotland spend this better. YES.

Total tax revenues raised in the UK £600Billion. Total taxes raised in the rest of the UK £600Billion – £60Billion (Scotland) = £560Billion.

Total public spending in the UK £700Billion – £60Billion (Scotland) = £640Billion

£640Billion – £540Billion = £100Billion. The rest of the UK is spending borrowing and spending £100Billion more than Scotland – pro rata £10Billion more.

Under Westminster gov the rest of the UK spends and borrows 10% more than Scotland, while Scotland pays 10% for the debt Makes the rest of the UK, especially London S/E better off. Could Scotland spends it’s revenues in a wiser, more equal way than than Westminster YES. YES, if Scotland kept the revenues raised in Scotland. Scotland and the rest of the UK would be on a more equal footing. Scotland would be better off YES, YES because the Scottish gov pursues better, more equal policies.

24. Ken500

Since 1928, The Westminster Gov tries to misgovern in secrecy. Since the SNP Gov has had a majority in Holyrood this is no longer the case,

25. the journeyman

rUK should declare independence from London, move the centre of Gov to Manchester and leave the City Of London independent as it always has been. Only the country regain any equality and expose London as the giant vacuum it is, sucking all the life and potential from the other great regions of England. Only then will there be a chance of returning to some form of equilibrium.

26. Craig P

Great idea journeyman. Move the queen and all national museums to Manchester, Parliament to Birmingham, civil service and quangoes to Leeds. Then build a triangular HS2 between these three cities rather than Birmingham-London. London will still have the banks but England will be much better balanced than before. Of course, Scotland will be well out of it by then…

27. Les Wilson

As Boris would say ” if it ain’t broken why fix it! “. Here is more proof of where our money goes.London is a vacuum and a black hole for the rest of the UK. Others can do little about it at this time, we are lucky, as we can.

28. seoc

What is ‘Welfare’? or have we somehow landed in North America?

As far as ‘speaking English’ goes some 99% of the indigenous population struggle with clear enunciation of their own language.

29. Xaracen

“As Boris would say “if it ain’t broken why fix it!””

It is not necessary for something to be broken before it requires fixing. It could be no longer fit for purpose perhaps because requirements changed, or never lived up to its expectations, was badly designed, or is being used inappropriately, or was fraudulently sold with false claims of suitability or effectiveness. I tend to the latter view.

30. FlimFlamMan

And now we have had a proposal floated that wealthy people should pay for the state education of their children. The government will no doubt say that it goes too far, and then in two years they’ll be doing it.

It’s not just the widening wealth inequality that tramps people down, it’s the ever growing monetisation of life as well. The more of our needs and activities that have to be paid for directly the greater the impact of inequality, even if that inequality remains the same.

31. Barney Thomson

I wonder why Boris wants to build 840,000 new “homes” over the next 20 years?

Is it to progress his heroine Thatcher’s programme of lining his mates’ pockets?

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/right-to-buy-housing-shame-third-ex-council-1743338#.Ut0gBWxFBdg

32. Craig

Journeyman, Scottish independence will inevitably lead to democratic reform in rUK.

That is what the British establishment is terrified of and will therefore not let go of Scotland.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.