Some tweaking

Posted on May 10, 2013 by

We've been doing a little minor smartening-up around the place this afternoon, mostly (though not exclusively) for the benefit of people using the site via mobile phones or tablets. There's a new comment box that should work for both iOS and Android devices (and will enable you to italicise, bold or underline things, as well as embed images), and there are now a couple of little orange buttons at the bottom right of the screen that'll take you directly to the top or bottom of a page. (Replicating the effect of the Home and End buttons on a PC keyboard.)

Hopefully they'll make the site a little more user-friendly. If you have any problems with them, give us a shout and we'll see what we can do.

90 to “Some tweaking”

1. Rev. Stuart Campbell

To embed an image, click the little picture button, then paste the URL of the pic into the "URL" box that pops up marked "Image Properties".

This should happen. (A BBC logo above.)

Please be careful what you post, especially early in a comments thread, as large images will make a horrible mess of the sidebars.

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Huh. Seemed to work when I just tested it with a non-admin login, but the pic vanished when I approved the comment. Oh well.

3. Peter A Bell

Good improvements. But I'd still like to see nested comments.

4. Albalha
  5. Albalha

Image attempt didn't work. And @Mr Bell

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE JOKING, NESTING IS NASTY

(sure you are but in case there are supporters ….)

6. alasdair

Agree with Mr Bell, nesting comments makes threads far easier to follow.

7. Indion

Peter A Bell @ 5:26pm

Seconded, if possible, please.

8. Indion

Ok, thirded!

9. Morag

Please, please don't nest comments.  It's just a nightmare scrolling back to try to figure out if someone has added something new.  This is a true plea from the heart.

Right now the threads are running to the bottom whether I like it or not, but it could just be this flaky old IE on my work computer.

10. Mosstrooper

Good God, I'm agreeing with Morag

Nurse, the commode!

11. turnbul drier

Very swish. . Like the top/bottom buttons

Think there is something up with your center side bar at the Gandhi quote, it seems to be a different colour but I’m on Android so it may just be that. ..

12. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Think there is something up with your center side bar at the Gandhi quote, it seems to be a different colour but I’m on Android so it may just be that. ..”

Shouldn’t be, but thanks for making me notice that the shield logo was missing thanks to FUCKING WORDPRESS and their FUCKING OBSESSION WITH FIXING THINGS THAT AREN’T FUCKING BROKEN.

13. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Nested comments are a nightmare. Tried it out once, won't be happening.

14. Mosstrooper

More tea Vicar?

15. Indion

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

10 May, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Rev Stu @ 5:03pm in his previous thread said:

Um, you just paste the URL for your image into the bit where it says "URL" and the pic should appear inline. There's still no option to upload one, as far as I can see, just to embed one that's already uploaded somewhere.

Anybody with a moment to spare, what should I 'google' for a range of avatar images that will like as not include golden eagles?

Rev. Stuart Campbell

16. Morag

Oh, thanks RevStu.

Now, every time I click on an article, the bloody thing takes me straight to the bottom of the comments, even if I've never opened the article before.  Previously, opening de novo would take me to the top, and if I clicked on refresh to see if there were new comments it would take me to wherever I had been in the comments.  This was fine by me.

Now, no matter what, I'm at the bottom, and have to scroll back up trying to find my place.  Not a fan.

17. Juteman

Re the shield logo.

I'm convinced it's a lion doing the can-can.

But then the sherrifs badge would be at the back. 🙂

18. Morag

Another problem.  Now, if I want to edit a post, I'm taken to a page where the thing appears in raw html.  I can edit it, and save it, but the system now leaves me on that screen instead of returning me to the page.  I have to use the back button, which gets me the page with the unedited post again, then refresh the page.  Why so complicated?  It was fine before.  To certain definitions of fine.

19. Indion

Duh! Correction:

Rev Stu @ 5:03pm in his previous thread said:

Um, you just paste the URL for your image into the bit where it says "URL" and the pic should appear inline. There's still no option to upload one, as far as I can see, just to embed one that's already uploaded somewhere.

Anybody with a moment to spare, what should I 'google' for a range of avatar images that will like as not include golden eagles?

20. Albalha

@indion

golden + eagle + avatar +images

21. muttley79

Rev Stu, Is there a spell checker because my spelling these days is awful?

22. Albalha

@indion

Right clicking on one should allow you to save it

23. Indion

Albalha

TVM!

Right, I'm off to find one with warpaint and missile racks to let friendly fire loose on the blue woaded Pongo. Failing that, it'll be my usual shite.

24. scottish_skier

ok, that didn’t work (image insert).

25. Indion

Albalha

TVM!

Right, I'm off to find one with blue woaded warpaint and conformal missile launchers for friendly firing practice on the blue woaded Pongo. Failing that, it'll have to be my usual shite.

26. Albalha

@indion

I'm seeing double

27. Indion

That's four of us!

28. Jiggsbro

Well, that doesn’t work.

29. cynicalHighlander

Test

30. turnbul drier

Re: Your center bar. .. Just looked on the pc and I think Android isn’t handling the gradiated colour behind the Gandhi quote. .

31. scottish_skier
  32. Indion

what s_s?

33. scottish_skier

Canny embed an image 🙁

34. Indion

Albalha

Wow!

Check-out this and somebody tell yon Mutley with the eye for birds.

35. Indion

Albalha

Wow!

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1295412

36. Adrian B

Aaaaahhhhhhhhh, bloody wordpress.

37. Albalha

@indion

Are you bored? Anyway here's my Uncle with an eagle, taken many moons ago

http://www.flickr.com/photos/75167199@N05/6810136688/

38. Robert Bryce

Now does the embedding work?

That will be a no then?

39. Albalha

@RevStu

If you're watching, post your story, no matter how disheartening, it's a long road ahead.

(Read twitter for context)

40. velofello

i don't know what you are all talking about. Am I alone?

What's this body p that's now appeared at the bottom of the Comments box?

41. cynicalHighlander

Tested this image link again!

http://wingsland.podgamer.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/wingstwitter.jpg

and got this. (hope its no rude)

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Maecenas feugiat consequat diam. Maecenas metus. Vivamus diam purus, cursus a, commodo non, facilisis vitae, nulla. Aenean dictum lacinia tortor. Nunc iaculis, nibh non iaculis aliquam, orci felis euismod neque, sed ornare massa mauris sed velit. Nulla pretium mi et risus. Fusce mi pede, tempor id, cursus ac, ullamcorper nec, enim. Sed tortor. Curabitur molestie. Duis velit augue, condimentum at, ultrices a, luctus ut, orci. Donec pellentesque egestas eros. Integer cursus, augue in cursus faucibus, eros pede bibendum sem, in tempus tellus justo quis ligula. Etiam eget tortor. Vestibulum rutrum, est ut placerat elementum, lectus nisl aliquam velit, tempor aliquam eros nunc nonummy metus. In eros metus, gravida a, gravida sed, lobortis id, turpis. Ut ultrices, ipsum at venenatis fringilla, sem nulla lacinia tellus, eget aliquet turpis mauris non enim. Nam turpis. Suspendisse lacinia. Curabitur ac tortor ut ipsum egestas elementum. Nunc imperdiet gravida mauris.

42. Ray

Just testing out the new tweaks.

Yep, seems fine. Keep up the good work!

43. mato21

Cynical it's gobbliegook

44. Ray

Tried to add an image to last comment, it's disappeared. Oh well, I'm sure it'll work itself out…!

45. Rev. Stuart Campbell

"If you're watching, post your story, no matter how disheartening, it's a long road ahead."

Tune in at a minute past midnight…

46. Albalha

Tune in at a minute past midnight

Too many mice by then, I'll check in tomorrow

47. cynicalHighlander

48. cynicalHighlander

mato21 says:
    10 May, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Cynical it's gobbliegook

Something generated it, spooks!

49. Indion

Albahala,

Bored?  Not at all. Simply spoilt from the choice that you've added to, thanks. The bird with your uncle reminds me of the one I used to visit being re-habilitated for the wild on the south side of the Lomonds, not far from where I learnt to glide too because of the slopes upcurrents.

50. AmadeusMinkowski

Will Einstein's formula E = mc2; relating energy E, mass m, and the speed of light c, still be true in an Independent Scotland? 🙂 #500questions

Sorry, couldn't resist the new special characters option,

51. AmadeusMinkowski

That didn't work. Trying the superscripts again.

E = m c²

52. cynicalHighlander

test tried to paste.

Because of your browser security settings, the editor is not able to access your clipboard data directly. You are required to paste it again in this window.
    Please paste inside the following box using the keyboard (Ctrl/Cmd+V) and hit OK

53. the rough bounds

Sigh! I haven't got a flipping clue what you are all on about.

But I can do joined up writing.

54. sneddon

Bill and Mutley

This should cheer you up, although don't expect wide coverage by the BBC.
    http://www.shetlandtimes.co.uk/2013/05/10/students-shift-in-favour-of-yes-vote-after-college-debate

55. Angus McLellan

Do inline images work? Here's a test:

56. cynicalHighlander

Special character button doesn't work for me so could be browser problem as I'm using Opera.

57. Angus McLellan

Ah, so inline images don't work. Should have read the article again 🙂 Thought I'd broken the interwebbytubes for a minute there.

58. muttley79

@Indion

Talking of birds I have been reading a bit about Amanda Knox lately.  I did not follow her case at the time.  Guilty or innocent?  Discuss…

59. Indion

Muttley

Pass, but yes, on other matters, feisty/robust would be good match with  dignified in action and indignant in reaction to bollocks/ politricking.

But, most of all truthful, clear, brief, relevant and reasonable, bearing in mind that it is folk who are the jury in our/their case and won't want telling what they can and can't do.

60. ianbrotherhood

I don't know about Amanda Knox, but I do remember an episode of that Family Fortunes show where the guy was asked to name 'a bird with long legs' and he said 'Naomi Campbell'.

Anyway, how about Stephen Hawking joining the BDS campaign against Israel? Haven't seen that on MSM…yet. Wonder if we could get him to give Scottish independence a thumbs-up?

Does anyone know if Hawking has any Scottish connections? It's the fitba grab-a-granny scenario, but must be worth a punt –  priceless to get him on-board. Who would BT put up against him? (cue jokes about black holes, dark matter, red dwarfs, dying stars etc etc)

61. MajorBloodnok

Indion says: Right, I'm off to find one with warpaint and missile racks to let friendly fire loose on the blue woaded Pongo.

Don't worry about me, I'll be cowering in me wine cellar, safe from you crabs.

62. Lobeydosser

@ muttely

I lived in Aosta Italy at the time of this murder and the press and police were causing the usual big stramash. A different guilty person every couple of days.  Whenever anything happens the local police will attend, then the Carabenieri turn up and possibly the Vigili(traffic). Then maybe the Guardia di Finanza before any policework begins so I'm not surprised by this case. Guilty or Innocent? Don't Know

63. ianbrotherhood

What a strange thread.

Hands up everyone! ( a la Johann Lamont) – who's been partaking of this stuff?:

http://www.mycolog.com/22-24_hallucinogenic_agarics.jpg

64. ianbrotherhood

If someone doesn't start discussing something substantial I'm going to keep posting random shite until the top ten most recent comments are all mine.

I mean it.

65. ianbrotherhood

Dr Hook:

66. ianbrotherhood

If you've got vertigo? Don't even think about watching this.

Seriously.

67. The Wild Hairy Haggis

All Ah want tae ken is why'kn they naw tak 'e best bits frae Wurdpress an' 'e best bits frae Bloggur tae mak a guid braw blog? Wurdpress is mah fave, Bloggur et all mah posts.

68. Morag

Jings.  I just wandered back here from my regular catch-up with a very active thread elsewhere about the Meredith Kercher murder.  Please don't get into an argument with me about it.

Rudy Guede killed Meredith Kercher.  He was convicted of the killing and is serving jail time for it.  He broke in to burgle the cottage, was surprised by Meredith coming home unexpectedly, and the encounter escalated to sexual assault and murder – not necessarily in that order.  Raffaele Sollecito and Amanda Knox were provably in Raffaele's flat at the time.

If the cops had just waited a few days for the forensic results to come back, they would have realised that, and that there was no evidence of anyone else being involved.  But someone had some wild intuition that the two students who discovered the murder, Meredith's flat-mate Knox and her brand-new boyfriend Sollecito, had done it in some sort of sex orgy.  So they arrested them and paraded them through the town shouting "case closed".  Then when the forensics showed Guede to be the killer, they wouldn't back down.  The rest is just a fairly appalling story of a criminal justice system that appears to be even more fucked up than Scotland's.

69. peter

Muttley, not innocent!!! 🙂

70. ianbrotherhood

If you've got testicles? Don't watch this. (Well, not the very end of it)

71. cynicalHighlander

Morag says:
    10 May, 2013 at 10:54 pm

The rest is just a fairly appalling story of a criminal justice system that appears to be even more fucked up than Scotland's.

Thw whole World's justice system is corrupt which is why politicians and bankers are allowed to rule the World for their benefit.   But cue Donovan 

72. ianbrotherhood

@Morag-

'Please don't get into an argument with me about it.'

Okay.

73. Morag

You don't like me when I'm right…. 😉

74. ianbrotherhood

@Morag-

That's why I like you most of the time.

75. Morag

Ouch.

76. CameronB

Late to the party again, which doesn't appear to be a bad thing today as you all appear to be off your faces. Or perhaps I'm just not tech-savy enough to understand what you are all on about, as opposed to on.

Anyway, my test is to present an image of SLabour's deputy leader.

Failed!

77. Indion

MajorBloodnok @ 10:23pm said

" Don't worry about me, I'll be cowering in me wine cellar, safe from you crabs. "

Wine cellar!  Now that does call for a rethink, but you should take other  precautions if you don't want crabs.  

78. Weedeochandorris

@ Ianbrotherhood.   Scottish mother – worth a try?

Note – read “thinkers” not “drinkers” hehe!
    @ Rev – no sure I like all this new fangled stuff.

"The eldest of Frank and Isobel Hawking's four children, Stephen William Hawking was born on the 300th anniversary of the death of Galileo—long a source of pride for the noted physicist—on January 8, 1942. He was born in Oxford, England, into a family of thinkers. His Scottish mother, Isobel Hawking, had earned her way into Oxford University in the 1930s—a time when few women thought of going to college—making her one of the college's first female students. His father, Frank Hawking, another Oxford graduate, was a respected medical researcher with a specialty in tropical diseases.

79. Laura

Weedeochandorris

Hawking's mother Scottish – you learn something new every day.

Only just discovered myself that Joan Baez's mother was Scottish – wonder how many more?.

80. Tony Little (aka Aplinal)

@Laura

Only just discovered myself that Joan Baez's mother was Scottish – wonder how many more?.

Well, my mum was Scottish 😉

81. Laura

Tony Little

Heaven's above, just realised mine was too!

82. ianbrotherhood

'It doesn't have to be like this…all we need to do is keep talking.'

Ironic that it's a 'BT' commercial, but it's still a belter:

So – who fancies asking the man if he's on our side?

83. tartanfever

Not convinced of the Scottish ancestry argument, it's usually followed by, in my view a perfectly valid question of, why did they leave ? I lived in England for 20 years and believe me, during that time I was not Scottish – not a case of not visiting and so on, I did so at every opportunity – but I chose to leave and no matter what you say thats a concious decision. Scotland changed pretty drastically during that time ('90 – '10) and although I watched from a distance, I was not part of it.

You also leave yourself open to validating other side of this point, the likes of Trump claiming his ancestry.

To be avoided at all costs in my book.

84. Laura

Tartanfever

I get where you are about ancestry – but parent/s?

Interesting that you lived in England for 20 years and during that time you were not Scottish. I lived abroad for about the same time and always felt Scottish.

I also worked in London for about 6 weeks and I couldn't get home quick enough!

85. muttley79

@Morag

Jings.  I just wandered back here from my regular catch-up with a very active thread elsewhere about the Meredith Kercher murder.  Please don't get into an argument with me about it.

Rudy Guede killed Meredith Kercher.  He was convicted of the killing and is serving jail time for it.  He broke in to burgle the cottage, was surprised by Meredith coming home unexpectedly, and the encounter escalated to sexual assault and murder – not necessarily in that order.  Raffaele Sollecito and Amanda Knox were provably in Raffaele's flat at the time.

If the cops had just waited a few days for the forensic results to come back, they would have realised that, and that there was no evidence of anyone else being involved.  But someone had some wild intuition that the two students who discovered the murder, Meredith's flat-mate Knox and her brand-new boyfriend Sollecito, had done it in some sort of sex orgy.  So they arrested them and paraded them through the town shouting "case closed".  Then when the forensics showed Guede to be the killer, they wouldn't back down.  The rest is just a fairly appalling story of a criminal justice system that appears to be even more fucked up than Scotland's.

Yes, that it what  it looks like.  The MSM appear to have done a hatchet job on her.  BTW when I refered to 'birds' it was meant in a light hearted way.

86. cath

Testing….testing 1, 2….yay I can post into this box on my phone! Been really annoying to never be able to post on phone. A great improvement 🙂

87. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Don't get too used to it – the downside is that I'm now totally unable to edit pages on mobile devices, so we might have to go back.

88. muttley79

@Rev Stu

Is there a spell check on the new box?

89. Morag

Au contraire, the spellcheck I have in Firefox no longer works.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.