Squirrels are CyberNats!

3. Midgehunter

The Tree of Liberty – it was known as “Margo”

4. Andrew Morton

Folks that is a female squirrel and she and her fellow lady squirrels are looking for money from us. They have raised £12,055 so far and have 11 days left to get to £20,174. Donate here:

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/women-for-independence-our-voices-fundraiser

See what I did there?

5. gordoz

Margo – A force of nature ?

6. seoc

Aw, the poor tree. Bloody vandals.

7. Roll_On_2014

One eats nuts and the other is nuts… wonder which is which?

8. Croompenstein

Classic black ops dehumanise the enemy and tar everyday normal folk as some mad f*cking cult. Flipper your day is coming you will never be forgiven..

9. bookie from hell

Awesome pic

10. Rod Robertson

Lovely meeting you guys last night in Counting House ,special thanks to Ian for organising it all.
    Next meet the victory party?

11. orkers

@ Andrew Morton

Can’t understand why they aren’t scooshing towards their 20k target. The female of the species needs convincing to vote ‘Yes’ and who better to do that than folk of their own gender.

I will contribute again before the deadline.

12. twenty14

there are squirrels …then there’s cybersquirrels

13. tartanfever

See Gordon Matheson, fearing a backlash over the Red Road flats, immediately came out with ‘ and Alex Salmond and the entire 2014 team all agree with me’ before he was actually put under any pressure by the media.

Maybe next time the cartoon could be a car, in a multi storey, with a bare arse against a steamy window – that’s Matheson’s style.

O/T, National Collective have an article written by Vonny Moyes. It one of the best pieces I’ve read this year.

http://nationalcollective.com/2014/04/04/vonny-moyes-might-wee-stupid/

14. Croompenstein

I wish that was the f*cker making his way home from Eddie ‘condescending b*stard’ Izzard’s shite in last night, the squirrel is ready to stick a Yes sticker on his f*ckin forehead!

15. hwperth

I’ve just contributed to the very worthwhile Women For Independence. On a sadder note, with the death of Margo MacDonald, they have lost a huge presence from their ranks.

Re Margo’s sad demise, Scottish politics has lost a giant. What a travesty that we are left with the comparative political pygmies of Darling, Lamont and the whole disreputable bunch of Westminster unionist MPs, elected from Scottish constituencies to misrepresent and talk down their countrymen and women whose aspiration is to run their own affairs.

16. HandandShrimp

I can’t say I have any issue with blowing up the flats to kick off urban regeneration but it is an unusual opening ceremony. As I said over on the Guardian, they have clearly employed Michael Bay as artistic director.

17. Pat

@ tartanfever

Great link
    “The first time that my vote truly has meaning and that thrills me”
    That’s me that is.

18. Desimond

How much per mile was Alastair claiming in expenses before that accident?

19. Macart

Yup, that’s basically the tactic. Demonise and marginalise. Try and quiet the rowdy cybernats by blaming everything on them that goes wrong and if that fails invent a stooshie. Anybody feel like getting quieter?

I don’t feel like being quiet today, so I’m going to toddle along to YES Wigtownshire’s event in Stranraer.

20. Alfresco Dent

Any truth to the rumour that the Nazinats are the ones responsible for the recent disgusting murders of Scottish raptors?

Or did I imagine that story?

Or am I clairvoyant and the revelation has yet to appear?

21. Croompenstein

@Alfresco – Maybe they are trying to wipe them oot as they are a symbol of evil..

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/wider-political-news/golden-eagle-is-symbol-of-nazi-terror-regime-claims-top-tory.23299058

22. velofello

And then seconds after the detonation and as the Red Rose flats tumbled down a gust of wind picked up and so clouds of choking debris dust descended upon the watching thousands at Celtic Park.

A whitened Councillor Mathieson declared that such an occurrence was unforeseen. Yet several people claimed to have heard a brief roll of thunder that sounded like laughter from the skies.

23. scottish_skier

Maybe, to link the war celebrations / armed forces day to the commonwealth games, the red road flats can be taken out by a 15,000 lb daisy cutter or cruise missile salvo?

Could help the asylum seekers feel at home?

24. Just been out for a cup of tea and a slice of cake with one of the “wee wimmin” I look in on.

She had on a very smart coat — with a lovely squirrel brooch.

“That’s pretty” said I.

“T’is” she said “I’m no brave enough tae wear a YES badge like you young ains” ……. “I’m reading this canny site on my I-pad, you should read it too hen. You might understand then why I am wearing a wee squirrel!!” WTF??? LOL

So it turns out that the cybernats are sock knitting grannies and trouser hemming single mums in coffee shops in wee villages ROLF!

Say hello to Mrs Mackie!! 74 and voting YES btw.

25. @ericmac

I am sorely tempted LOL Maybe for my birthday 🙂

26. Croompenstein

Killie fans have a head start wae the squirrels but you’ll not get any real Ayrshire boy going tae see the honest men wearing a squirrel badge!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:KilmarnockLogo.svg

27. G H Graham

Posted previously on Peter A Bells blog at

http://peterabell.blogspot.co.uk/

The entire theme of Better Together is to identify a “bogey man”. But a “bogey man” that conveniently changes its identity. So one day, it’s Alex Salmond. Another day it’s pro independence, online bloggers. And on yet another, it’s pro independence vandals.

It’s classic propaganda at its worst. It’s the type propagated of course by Nazi Germany when they focused their hatred at a Jewish “problem” that also conveniently altered its scope to include criminals, gypsies, homosexuals & the disabled. Or indeed anyone who didn’t support or align their allegiance to the philosophy of the Nazi’s twisted, narcissistic version of National Socialism.

The deep irony of course is that Better Together, employing tactics that Goebbels would have been proud of, accuse the very people they are labeling as bogey men as “Nazis” or “CyberNazis”.

It’s deeply counter intuitive but they have been able to get away with much of their propaganda because they have the ear of the broadcast & print media in Scotland & in England.

And it is precisely because institutions like the BBC are so keen to defend the status quo, that they deliberately choose to ignore this irony, never mind the puerile, often fact free accusations thrown at the pro independence side.

Alistair Darling is taking a huge gamble by betting his own career on this strategy. After all, if YES wins in September, it is inconceivable that there will be anywhere that Darling can go if his ambition is to continue to serve in a political capacity in an independent Scotland. He will have spent the best part of the previous two years telling Scots that they are too poor & too stupid to run their own affairs.

It is equally difficult to point to where he might go if he chooses to remain in politics in the rUK. He will be viewed as a complete failure by Westminster & it will be tough to sell his Scottish credentials to an English audience within which a large hostile segment will begrudge the decision by Scots to leave the Union.

If Scotland does vote YES this year, it seems more likely that the only bogey man still standing by the end of the year will be Alistair Darling.

28. Andrew Morton

@Elaine

What an inspiring post!

If the wee wimmin are on our side, how can we lose?

29. Alba4Eva

Just at George Square the noo… no point in handing out ‘Aye Right’ cards… there is is only a few folk without ‘Yes’ badges on…. and that’s probably cos they are holding up ‘Yes’ umbrellas.

Just talked to a lovely woman. Fiona from West Kilbride, who is wprking for ‘Yes’ like a warrior. Happy days… we are going to do this

30. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Say hello to Mrs Mackie!! 74 and voting YES btw.”

Hullo Mrs Mackie! 😀

31. schrodingers cat

@ Andrew Morton

Done

32. Croompenstein

@Alba4Eva – Magic, couldn’t be there but am certainly there in spirit

33. no no no...yes

The Better Together car crashes into the tree from the Conservative Party logo,how appropriate….

34. bald eagle

HELLO MRS MACKIE

welcome in to our wee hang out feel free to be yourself we dont bite and ask anything you want loads of people here will help you get the answers you need

six pairs of size 7s please you pick the coulors

35. caz-m

The explosives expert in charge of bringing down the five Red Road Flats said, “it will take five blow-up jobs to bring down these flats”.

I heard that Gordon Mathieson said, “You’ve got the contract big boy”,

because Mathieson thought he said, “it will take five blow jobs to bring down these flats”

Boom! Boom!

36. Croompenstein

@caz-m – oo-errr..Wee Mrs Mackie will be blushing..Hello Mrs Mackie

37. gerry parker

@velofello,
    Maybe they could pound the flats with artillery paint shells for 15 mins before they bring the flats down. Just like Odball had in his Shermans.
    Might help to bind the dust too.

38. Blair paterson

Most people do not seem to know that alaister darling is English born in London so where are his Scottish credentials? Vote yes.

39. manandboy

Blowin’ up flats by Glasgow City Council.

Nae class and very little talent.

A reminder that after Independence
    there will be a lot of hard work to be done
    to get the Labour heartlands up to speed.

BTW, what on earth are we going to do with Joanne Lamont?

40. CameronB

Re. Vonny’s article in nc. Sorry for the brain masher so early on but here’s some radical metaphysics that I think follows along on Vonny’s theme of identity. Might be wrong. 🙂

http://rschain1.tripod.com/Toward_Radical_Metaphysics.html

41. Alba4Eva

Croompenstein… just left after listening to a brilliant speech from our deputy first minister.

The sound quality was rubbish on the PA… if they want my assistance next time, then I would be happy to help… as those that saw my heavy metal credentials last night would agree. LOL 😀

42. Papadox

Welcome mrs MACKIE good to have you on board, let’s look after each other and give the young ones a hand up.

43. Alba4Eva

Lamont?

Easy… there will be a bunker somewhere looking for an occupant.

44. Robert Peffers

Here ye go: Get it while it’s hot: –

http://freemp3sea.com/download-the-cybernat-song.html

45. caz-m

Listened to Cameron speaking at the Conservative Spring Conference but can’t find video of it anywhere now.

He wants to keep “our country” together. I think he means the UK.

He also said we should be proud of the Scottish Regiments that used to march into battle to the skirl of the bagpipes. (am no kiddin, he actually said that).

And we were not to forget the Scotsmen who died fighting for Britain in the First World War.

He must think that Scots just love pulling on a British Army uniform and go head first, screaming into battle, shoutin “God Save The Queen”.

There was no mention of ruling out a currency union, so I think we can take that as being, there will be a currency union.

He also said that there are three important votes coming up, The European elections, The Scottish Referendum and in his words “the most important out of the three is the 2015 GE.

Just shows you where his priorities lie, a General Election is more important than the ending of the UK as we know it.

If anyone can find a link to this speech then please put it on wings.

46. GrabTheThistle

The HIGHLAND CLEARANCES: GENOCIDE, ATTEMPTED MURDER & SLAVERY by UK STATE.
    Found this direct link to my Highland Mother’s HOPEMAN birthplace, to the Clearances. William Young, Hopeman’s Laird was Chief Factor to Duke of Sutherland.

http://www.helmsdale.org/highland-clearances.html
    KILDONAN CLEARANCES.
    Centenary Demonstration, Caen Park,
    Strath of Kildonan. Aug. 5th, 1914

1739 – MacDonald of Sleat and Macleod of Dunvegan sell selected Clan members as indentured servants to landowners in the Carolinas.

1746 (April) – Following the Battle of Culloden, surviving Highlanders are sent to the Caribbean as slaves.

1747 – the Act of Proscription bans the wearing of tartan, the teaching of Gaelic, the right of Highlanders to “gather,” and the playing of bagpipes in Scotland.

1747 – the Heritable Jurisdictions Act forces Highland landowners to either accept all English jurisdiction or else forfeit their lands. Many Highland landowners and Clan chiefs move to London.

1792 (July Aug) – Angry tenant farmers drive the Cheviots in Ross-shire to Boath. 42nd Regiment(BLACK WATCH?) intervenes, the sheep are returned to Ross-shire.

47. Iain

@ Blair paterson says:
    ‘Most people do not seem to know that alaister darling is English born in London so where are his Scottish credentials? Vote yes.’

It’s no Darling being born in London that’s the problem, the whole Yes campaign is based on that not being a problem.

Even if he’d been birthed in Edinburgh Castle on St Andrew’s Day, it wouldn’t cast a different light on the dishonest, cringing guff he produces to order.

48. CameronB

It’s classic propaganda at its worst. It’s the type propagated of course by Nazi Germany when they focused their hatred at a Jewish “problem” that also conveniently altered its scope to include criminals, gypsies, homosexuals & the disabled. Or indeed anyone who didn’t support or align their allegiance to the philosophy of the Nazi’s twisted, narcissistic version of National Socialism.

The Nazis started with the old, the infirm, the mentally ill, etc., before they grew a pair big enough to move on to humans who were economically active and so politically represented (Jews).

They got the idea from the Americans, who themselves got the idea from the English establishment. No joke, go check out the the history of Eugenics. You might discover where Boris is coming from. This was all underpinned by Rockefeller money. You know, the guy who sponsors FABIAN academic institutes. Just saying.

Eugenics is not simply about genetic purity, it is also concerned with labour rights and wage rate negotiation, IMO.

49. Andrew Morton

Mrs Mackie, you’re a tonic to the system. I bet you’ve been working for independence longer than almost all off us. Here’s a power to your elbow!

50. Andrew Morton

DOH! Of! IPads can be a real pain at times.

51. joe kane

Labour and Tory supporters have been pouring out vile abuse against each other for nearly a hundred years. Aneurin Bevin, from 1948, referring to Tories as lower than vermin is constantly and ubiquitously quoted online with much glee and pride. And you only need to visit the comments thread of the Daily Mail for online examples of Tory supporting abuse.

As noted on WOS to the point of boredom but refreshingly satirised by Chris Chairns cartoon above, the demonising and dehumanising abuse of YES supporters, and even anyone alleged to support them (ie Isabel Fraser, Mandy Rhodes), comes from official and professional journalist sources rather grassroots to a degree not found on the YES side.

If there is any kind of monopoly in degrading and subjecting Scottish liberal democracy and public debate to shrill, irrational abuse it lies with the anti-grassroots Better Together campaign which doesn’t exist outside the hermetically sealed-off spaces of tv studios and newspaper pages from where the general public are ruthlessly excluded.

YES supporters are hardly the originators of political abuse in the UK and are neophytes in the art when compared to the pedigree of the main Westminster unionist parties. At least when it comes to online debate and comment the largely grassroots YES side cannot be excluded and has the opportunity to give as good as it gets and does so and usually with plenty of interest attached.

52. caz-m

Hi Mrs Mackie

Look forward to your contribution to our wide and varied points of view on the Scottish Independence debate.

At the end of the day we all have the same goal. To have a country that is free from Westminster rule.

PS is there another name that you are known by, Mrs Mackie is a wee but formal is it not.

Again, welcome to Wings.

53. liz

Re demonising of cybernats – well if they had been at the counting house last night, they would have seen a bunch of amiable, pleasant and polite folk who are all supporters of yes.

I spoke to Tjenny and Quine frae Argyll who were both wearing proud cybernat or wings badges and you couldn’t have met more charming people.

That’s what the BT folk don’t get.

54. Quinie frae Angus

Hmmm, didn’t spell my own pseudonym correctly there, so am awaiting moderation….

Nothing to do with my slightly fuzzy heid or anything…..

55. Macart

HULLO MRS MCKIE. 🙂

Gaun yersel Mrs.

56. Edward

GrabTheThistle – The bit about Highlanders being sold into slavery is well known to me as I found some records on Ancestry.com (sorry don’t have the particular link, I think it was under ‘criminal records’ as it pertained to court proceedings which sentenced Highlanders taken prisoner, being sent to the colonies).

There was a publication entitled ‘Red Legs of Barbados’ which was about Highlanders and Irish sold into slavery by the English.

The process was that prisoners were sent to Virginia and sold on to work on plantations either in Virginia or sent on to the Caribbean to works as slaves.

On a personal note I have been to Barbados (as well as some other Islands) and came across quite a large amount of Bajans with Scottish names, as well as many with non African ethnicity. I spoke to a driver that was showing us around about the number of Scottish names and he confirmed that there were many and was well aware that many were descended from slaves.

What sticks in my craw, is when ever the topic of slavery comes up in relation to Scotland, its unionists who push hard the idea that it was Scots who were complicit in owning slaves. There is of course no denying that many wealthy families in Scotland were in one way or another, in the early 19th century, involved. But there is the fact that Scots were themselves sold into slavery that’s glazed over.

57. Macart

I’ll get it right this time.

HULLO MRS MACKIE. 😀

58. dramfineday

Hi Elaine and Hello Mrs Mackie

Just back from the Yes Pentlands super Saturday and we had a great day (and a minutes ovation for Margo).

Anent the squirrel badge – well I did try and get a wings badge, and several people at the event today had them, (not that I’m jealous you understand, no, not me) so this sounds like a good idea as an alternative. Squirrels over Scotland has a nice ring to it!

59. thoughtsofascot

Buggered Together are clearly not aware the car has already crashed and is currently on fire. They are still clinging the same debunked tactics. “Oh no! We’ll lose the pound. OH NOEEESSS!”

My parents received some better together spam today addressed from a kindly lady who goes by the name of “Joanne Piercy, mother of three”. A lady who does not seem to even exist, but can write something that sounds like it was farted out of Cap’n Flippers backside.

They have adopted a new approach though. My parents said that they are having sickly pensioners with mobility problems delivering the spam. Obviously preying on peoples unwillingness to launch into a verbal tirade against someone who’s heart might give out on the doorstep.

Absolutely the dirtiest form of campaigning I have ever heard of. I never thought my opinion of Better Together could possibly get any lower than it it was before my mother told me about that. They’ve outdone themselves and the lot of them, every last one of them in the campaign team, should be shamed.

60. CameronB

dramfineday
    If you, or anyone you know, is good with a needle, I’ll swap my WoS badge for a ‘personalised’ leather squirrel. I was thinking along the lines of a partial decapitation. 🙂

I’m sure there will be another chance to get hold of a WoS badge. 😉

61. AllyPally

I saw a very good T-shirt in a twitpic of last night’s do. Red bull / wings. If someone’s producing them, how do I order?

And hello, Mrs Mackie. Get all your friends persuaded.

62. Seasick Dave

I’m pleased to report that Stronger United’s Indiegogo project has stalled at $140 and hasn’t had a donation for over two weeks.

That has fair brightened a dreich Saturday.

63. Alan Mackintosh

Surely it should be Vulgar Cybernat, rather than Vile?

64. Croompenstein

@Macart@11:18 – Wondering how things went in Stranraer today?

65. Quinie frae Angus

Hi Ally Pally, hope you’re well!

I asked the wearer of that splendid T-shirt the very same question. Alas for us, he said that it was a one-off made by a friend of his. All really good quality stitching too, not just the transfer-type stuff.

Anyway I suggested he tell his friend to get stitching some more, because I was sure that several Wingers would happily pay good money for such a garment!

He said he’d already mentioned that idea to his friend. As my memory of last night’s events is slightly hazy of that particular moment, I forget what the upshot was. But I do believe he was going to ask his friend again about setting up a wee production line….

I won’t name the T-shirt-wearing-Winger here in case he wishes to remain anonymous for whatever reason, but if he is reading this, perhaps he can enlighten us further?

66. MekQuarrie

The squirrel should have been ginger. Just sayin’… 😉

67. Davy

A thousand welcomes to Mrs Mackie,enjoy yersel.

68. Blair paterson

My point about alaister darling being English is what Englishman will put Scotland’s interest before England’s I am not saying that to be rude or unkind just as I a scot would put Scotland’s interests first before anything else vote yes

69. GrabTheThistle

Edward – Great info, good links. I hope to encourage more to vote “YES” after reading my posts, and control our own destiny. Scotlands destiny’s not safe in foreign hands!

I came across “RedLegs” in the BBC(biased&hated) informative “Who Do They Think They Are” family history TV show. Apparently “RedLegs” are also decendents of Scottish Slave Overseers and still live in their own enclaves, I guess they are stll hated as Agents of slave Owners and the Persecutors. British Empire is just like the NAZI’s.

Scotland’s been used as CanonFodder operated as SlaveNation still using Serfdom and Feudalism, by our UK Lords and Masters in the Houses of Commons & Lords since the “Act Of Union” assimilation. It was never a UNION or even an EQUAL UNION and they knew it, and they know it. Scotland always out voted in the WestMinister, thus as always and even now every Law imposed on Scotland, are English Laws.

I’ve posted more atrocities by the UK State on WOS JustTheBrassTacks 5th.Apr’14. read it and you’ll always vote “YES”. Know the Truth!

PS. I’m reading great history book, Samuel Johnson prize shortlisted “Liberty’s Exiles” by Maya Jasanoff, esteemed American Imperial History Professor Harvard University USA. She looks at the aftermath of American War of Independence from British Empire perspective, from the Letters and Papers of those involved, and of the time.

Professor Janaoff reports on the British badly, even to their Union Loyalists. Although it was hundreds of years ago. Its the same people incharge. Leopards don’t change their spots. I’ve found relevant sentences direct from her book, which I hope to post as and when.

For example I’ve listed below direct quotes from this book by Maya Jasanoff, American Imperial History Professor Harvard University USA.

page56 “King GeorgeIII so strongly opposed to INDEPENDENCE(American 1783) that he threatened to abdicate”

page57 “it took a YEAR for British and American negotiators to work out a preliminary peace treaty, and another YEAR until a definitive peace was signed”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.