203 to “School’s in”

1. theMadMurph

You’re never too old to learn!

2. jimnarlene

His report card would be depressing reading, for any parent.
    Must try harder.

3. mealer

Cracker.

4. Clootie

…you didn’t need to make Angus that size!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

5. Ken500

Looks like creepy Lawson before he lost some weigh or even yappy Ken Clarke. Reference a bit obscure

6. Grouse Beater

The positive negative class is down the corridor. (Monty Python)

7. dakk

Corbyn could do with a big pointy hat with a D on it.

Nice one Chris ๐Ÿ™‚

8. Lollysmum

Nice one Chris ๐Ÿ™‚
    This old dog is an extremely slow learner. Having been in the commons for 32 years you would expect Corbyn to be much more politically savvy than he actually is.

A crash course from those upstarts at SNP is perhaps the only way he’s going to survive. That’s if he wants to to survive of course!

9. cearc

Another great one, Chris.

At least Corbyn’s trying a bit, wearing his SNP-yellow shirt.

10. Ken500

There is a veto of reporting on the Junior Doctor’s strike in England starting on Tuesday. The memo must have gone out.

11. Famous15

Oh how we laughed.

I cannot enjoy too much the success we are having and this is a very Scottish thing. Just as feminists say ,women in work need not just be as good they have to be ten times better i feel the SNP are in a similar bind.

If I had the technical skills I would love to compile a video of the Commons reactions to Angus
    Robertson every time he speaks. The arrogant sniggers,the loathing and contempt shown by all sides to his very reasonable comments is like boot in the face to Scotland. Worst are the anglo Scots in the Tory and Labour parties.

Independence for me is not about money it is all about feeling comfortable in my own skin and having the caring and sharing society I know we can have with independence. Am I left or right? Well I like the social democrat description best.

12. mumsyhugs

You can’t teach an old dog new tricks ๐Ÿ™‚

13. Ken500

NHS is devolved in Scotland, thank goodness.

Dumfries and Galloway Unionists have been up to no good. Trying to steal money from flood affected victims. What a shower. They voted NO.

14. Les Wilson

I doubt that after all his years in Westminster, if he does not know it all by now, he never will. Ditto for Labour in general.Good as usual Chris.

15. Scott

Very O/T.sorry

The Secret of the Seven Sisters – Al Jazeera English
    http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/specialseries/2013/04/...

This is a very interesting programme Rev how the west stole the oil.

16. Les Wilson

Scott says:
    This was probably from Aljazeera London.
    MI5 to Aljazeera ” remove it or we will have your licence here revoked or bring down your site. Get rid of it now!”

Anyway it is no longer there.
    Shows how quick the army of MI5 geeks are reacting, to anything that makes the UK complicite in anything dodgy.

17. Almannysbunnet

I want to volunteer Mary Fitzgerald for the NHS class. She is Editor in Chief, of the openDemocracy team.

I just received an email from her asking me for a donation to help save England’s NHS.

18. galamcennalath

His timetable is full. His next lessons will be …

How to lead a party, by Ms Sturgeon
    How to handle the media, by Mr Salmond
    How to speak up for ordinary folk, Mr Sheppard
    How to balance books, Mr Swinney
    How to tell it like it is, Ms Black

19. jdman

We should get Mhairi to get him at peace time an gie him a Chinese burn he’ll soon sharpen up.

20. Bob Mack

Brilliant work yet again Chris.
    One minor detail though. As far as I can see Mr Corbyn is the opposition——- to the Labour M.P’S .

21. galamcennalath

OT, sorry, but this wee presentation is definitely worth watching

“Oil Prices: What’s going on? – An Animation”

youtube.com/watch?v=hyqprG1pDzE

22. Almannysbunnet

@Scott says: The secret of the Seven Sisters – Al Jazeera

A book called The Seven Sisters was originally written by Anthony Sampson in 1975, it describes the Western oil cartel which tried to eliminate competitors and control the worldโ€™s oil resource. It was banned in Iran during the time of the Shah. If you were a Ferangi and caught with a copy you were interviewed by the Savak and deported. They locked you up and threw away the key if you were Iranian.
    BP started its life as the Anglo Persian oil company. Not a lotta people know that.

23. heedtracker

Mature students like JC will be 70+ next general election, I said you’ll be 70+ granddad, 70+!

SLab probably wont do that great in their Scotland region May, probably wont do that great 2020 GE, so who’s JC’s protรฉgรฉ for 2025? that young firebrand Ken Livingston? I said that young firebrand Ken Livingstone Granddad.

Next Class, Vote NO, get Tory, PM Osborne for ever, Scotland.

24. Graf Midgehunter

Should work better.

galamcennalath says:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyqprG1pDzE

25. ArtyHetty

Was directed to a blog other day about bbc bias against JC. The comments were interesting. People not happy down south with the britnat media calling their jeremy bad names. I just tell them we been there, here in bonny Scotland for sometime now, got the t-shirt, so wake up.

26. Glamaig

Scott 9:59

Sorry for continuing OT but it looks a good program.

try this
    http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/specialseries/2013/04/201344105231487582.html

or in case that doesnt work

http://tinyurl.com/bme2dwp

Thanks for posting that, I sometimes watch Al Jazeera Live but have never looked at the Opinion part of their website before. Some good pieces there. Puts the BBC to shame.

Back on topic:
    Famous15 @9.44
    Thats a great idea. A short film composed of snips of Parliament Live, summarising work of the SNP along with the Tory sneers, abuse, contempt, timewasting, Labour member for Dudley North at Scottish Questions, Scotland Act farce, maiden speech highlights, applause, all preceded by Gordie Brown referendum promises and Cameron saying please stay Scotland we love you and hoisting a Saltire over Downing St.

27. heedtracker

People not happy down south with the britnat media calling their jeremy bad names.

JC’s extremely weak. If he had control of the red tories, Hilary Benn would be gone.

JC’s tells the House, no more war in Syria, Hilary gets up and the House roars with Hillary for war, lots and lots of UKOK war.

Talk about your mixed Lab messages. They get it easy from UKOK propaganda like the BBC

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n2GTNK4VsXs

28. Scott

Les Wilson says:

Thanks for tha,I saw this on tv last night and was looking forward to seeing the follow up but if you are right we are being shafted again by London.

29. scottieDog

In order for Corbyn to get anywhere he is going to need a united party all getting behind his policies. Even then they would be up against the city of london, the media, central bankers, IMF, ratings agencies and all the other neo-liberal agencies our there.

30. Croompenstein

Shambolic Labour only oppose when the money might get cut for them they have no conscience.
    I hope that old stinkcat Corbyn isnae planting a snotter under that desk… ๐Ÿ™

31. carjamtic

‘How can you tell me your lonely and for you the sun don’t shine’

‘Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London I’lle show you something to make you change your mind.’

‘ Nice tune but it’s too late….the clutch has gone in my butt and I can’t seem to get my arse in gear.’

32. Grouse Beater

Some weekend reading: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-3hH

33. mike cassidy

For an ‘understanding’ of the background to the oil wars

Ian Rutledge:Enemy on the Euphrates: The Battle for Iraq, 1914-1921

A scary example of that old clichรฉ about the more things change…..including a large dose of Hilary Benn style “control the natives by dropping bombs on them.”

And if you are a poor Fifer, I have donated my copy to Fife Library. So it will turn up in their requestable catalogue at some time.

34. Chic McGregor

OT

@ mike cassidy

“And if you are a poor Fifer, I have donated my copy to Fife Library. So it will turn up in their requestable catalogue at some time.”

Can that be done easily? I wanted to donate G.A. Ponsonby’s ‘London Calling’ to our local library in Kirrie but when I looked up donating books on line there seemed to be some bureaucratic, form-filling rigmarole that put me off the idea.

Would be nice if you could just take one in.

35. Chic McGregor

Shades of Obi Wan Kenobi.

Corbyn thoughts: “These are not the droids I was looking for. In fact they are not droids at all.”

36. galamcennalath

I sense that the EU referendum is going to be a big challenge and test for Labour.

In the first instance of the actual vote, not so much. But the aftermath where it is looking distinctly possible of England leave, everyone else stay. Then it becomes a big test of Labour’s commitment to democracy … of which there is little sign!

If they then put Union and Party above democratic will, again, more of their dwindling supports should have their eyes opened.

Already Broon has said on the subject … “I donโ€™t think weโ€™re voting as four separate nations on this, weโ€™re voting as Britain as a whole.” … but he won’t speak for Corbyn, but what about SLab/Dugdale? Are they willing to say up front that they will accept the democratic will of the Scottish people?

If Scotland votes to stay, will SLab stand by us?

Perhaps that a question Dugdale should answer BEFORE the May election. Potential Labour voters need to know.

37. Cuilean

I am a huge fan Chris & have the book to prove it but I felt the caricatures fell a little short of your usual pristine ‘spot-on-ness’. Mr R’s strawberry blonde locks are now grey and you did not quite capture his gimlit eyes.

Corbyn looks more like Albert Steptoe (‘dirty old man’). Where is Corbyn’s usual angst-ridden, suffering-in-silence, constipated expression? The beaten shoulders are excellent as it seems only a matter of time before Corbyn falls on any number of swords being sharpened by his disloyal ‘colleagues’.

38. Chic McGregor

I hope Corbyn had Mhairi Black on his Christmas list in thanks for her timely maiden speech.

39. msean

Can’t believe the reporting on the Scottish Governments financial help today. “Under pressure from opposition” Really? It’s like saying that the First Minister wouldn’t help if the opposition didn’t push her lol.

Meanwhile,being better together in the uk,where is money is no object man?

40. Tackety Beets

JDMan @ 10.20

or jist a “dirler in the lug” would suffice.

Go on Mhairi , ah dare ye !

41. Tam Jardine

Interesting letter in The National today… had to do a wee double take.

“Willetts story from archives is hiding the true scandal”

It’s a start. I bumped into mike small yesterday in the boozer and pitched the story I have been banging on about- emailed him the details last night.

It’s moving get forward…

42. Ken500

It is possible Kezia will not be in a position to say anything, along with unelected Gordon Brown. If the Chilcot Verdict does come out or is leaked by next summer Brown is a goner. Too many Blairites still entrenched in Labour. There is no use for three Tory/Unionist Parties. One is bad enough. They should be dropping Aid/food to the starving Syrian people not bombs. It is absolutely appalling.

Just go into the Library and hand the books in as a donation. They just accept them no problem. People do it all the time. They will find a home for them, especially recent publications/copies. . ‘Bestsellers’ etc.

43. frogesque

@ Tam Jardine

Read your letter in the National. Great stuff, more power to you. Appreciate how much time you have put into this already.

44. Gerry

@frog, I second that. Thank you.

45. Ken500

‘Planet Oil’ BBC 4 – a few months ago did an in depth coverage of Churchill taking Iran’s Oil revenues in th 50’s. M15/CIA causing unrest and uprising. Spreading rumours to discredit the PM and put him in jail. Re-instated the hated deposed Shah. The Offical papers are accessible in the US archives. Probably still under the Official Secrets Act here or hidden somewhere.

Balfour Agreement 1917, Suez Canal, McMillian was actually certifible. Seven day war Israel and surrounding States. Iraq/Iran 7 years war instigated by the West. Supported Iraq. West supporting absolute, despot, apartheid regimes. Illegal Wars. The West has a lot for which it is responsible for Oil. They blame everyone else.

46. Bob Mack

@Tam Jardine,

Just to echo sentiments already expressed.Well done you.

47. Davy

I take it Kezia is still in nursery, or would that be a step up.

48. john young

I urge all of you followers of “Wings” to go to the “Veterans To-day” site,it will enlighten you/frighten you in equal doses.

49. handclapping

@Davy
    Step up; she’s still learning how to throw her toys out the pram. ๐Ÿ˜€

50. galamcennalath

Oil, Iran etc.. My understanding is that a significant change came about when the Royal Navy switched to becoming all-oil fuelled, early 20s, I think.

The main source of oil for the UK was the US. However, the US was isolationist and not a close ally so another source had to be secured for the still mighty Empire and her still mighty fleet … Persia offered the solution.

51. mike cassidy

re library books

just to say I hand mine in to the local branch.

There seems to be a fair time gap between donation and availability in Fife – but as I ‘joke’ to the local librarian, maybe they are being saved for the reopening of the Carnegie!

52. Chic McGregor

Yep. wd Mr Jardine.

53. Chic McGregor

@mike cassidy

Good stuff. I’ll ask the local librarian if he can take one.

I think the website I found was maybe for publishers, you had to send another copy somewhere in England as well as all the other guff.

54. cearc

Well done, Tam.

You’re doing a fine job there.

I think the fact that they call them secret cuts and are so concerned about keeping them secret is as important as the cuts themselves.

55. bugsbunny

Just seen an advert for the Scottish Mail on Sunday. I don’t know whether they are trying to attract new readers, (even for just tomorrow), or rewarding their l/royal readers?

Hold your breeks up and your breath. Here it comes……….drum roll……..a 2016 Calender of the Queen at 90. No doubt Royal April will feature the Queen, Queen Mum, and her uncle, the then Prince of Wales doing a Hitler Salute. Funny how the Queen nearly shares a birthday with Adolf Hitler.

Stephen.

56. K1

Like others Tam, great effort on your part getting this info out there, read your letter in The National, good stuff…

57. Phronesis

An informative account from the BMA about the challenges to the NHS across the devolved systems and the factors involved in the decision of the junior doctors in NHS England to strike.

Debate about the solutions to the stresses of the NHS involving the users and providers of the NHS are extremely important- but the context of the debate is very different in Scotland because the political choices and ideology reflect a desire for the continuing survival the NHS Scotland-not its demise and its conversion into a medical insurance provider.

http://www.bma.org.uk/news-views-analysis/the-bma-blog/2015/december/champions-of-care-from-beginning-to-end

This was the penultimate conclusion of the ‘The Health of Nations’ penned by the Adam Smith Institute in 1988-

‘The actual provision of health care services in such a system of universal private medical insurance would be undertaken by private sector doctors and hospitals, and the nationalized health sector in the shape of the National Health Service would lose its reason for existence.’
    Pirie M, Butler E. The Health of Nations. Adam Smith Institute 1988
    http://www.adamsmith.org/sites/default/files/images/stories/The%20Health%20Of%20Nations.pdf

58. Dr Jim

“Scottish” Labour have promised to build 60.000 houses in the next Parliament

Any advance on 60.000

Bang goes that APD money again

59. Ken500

Couldn’t get oot because of the weather. Hope there is a National. It looks a good edition. Interesting letters. @ Tam Jardine – Well done. Gie on yersel. { ; > )

It’s weird because of the rain the clocks are all out of sync. Car, TV, cooker. The windy up one’s are ok.

60. Petra

WELL DONE TAM. I’ve just been reading your article about Thatcher / Willetts in The National.

MASSIVE bold heading ‘Willetts Story from Archives is Hiding the True Scandal” (you couldn’t miss it) by Thomas Jardine. Is that your posh name Tam, lol?

Will any other newspaper now follow suit? Will BBC and STV news impart this information? Will Westminster now repay money owed (stolen from us)?

What about sending your article, revamped if necessary, to all other newspapers Tam: see IF any of them will publish it!! Send it everywhere, to everyone including Channel 4 and RT. Once again well done …. hat off to you x

Great too that The National is affording so much space to readers comments / articles. Would love to see people like Ken500 write in about, for example, the oil situation. People like Robert submit a piece on sovereignty and so on: So many knowledgeable people on here with much of interest to impart ….. help enlighten / educate others.

61. Andrew Mclean

Dr Jim
    And how the hell do they propose to do that, unless they bring in massive forgiven labour, and pay through the nose, it is absolutely impossible, for a start even getting land SI planing, labour materials planned would take at least a year!
    I have heard some shite from Labour, recently but they have absolutely lost the plot with this one!
    And that is my professional opinion and you can have that for free!

62. Petra

@ john young says at 2:14 pm ”I urge all of you followers of โ€œWingsโ€ to go to the โ€œVeterans To-dayโ€ site, it will enlighten you/frighten you in equal doses.”

Thanks for that John. Some really interesting data on there. Data that SCUM never seem to think of informing us of, surprise, surprise!

http://www.veteranstoday.com/

63. Capella

@ scott and glamaig
    thanks for the link to the Aljazeera videos on oil and the “Seven Sisters”. The level of greed, exploitation and aggression are shocking. Even though we do know much of the history the archive footage is worth seeing. Illustrates the kind of people lurking in the background.

http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/specialseries/2013/04/201344105231487582.html

64. Macart

Nice one Tam. ๐Ÿ™‚

65. Smallaxe

Tam skelpit oan thro’ dub an mire

Despising wind and rain and fire

Well done Thomas.

66. Croompenstein

Just like to add my congratulations to Tam another winger showing up our ‘journalists’ well done Tam ๐Ÿ™‚

67. galamcennalath

“Willetts Story from Archives is Hiding the True Scandalโ€ by Thomas Jardine

I didn’t get out today to buy a National. Is the letter online anywhere?

68. Flower of Scotland

I subscribe to the National web page and can’t find Tam,s letter!

Can someone put up a link please?

69. Gary45%

Another Classic Chris.
    Anyone in Scotland noticed certain a Mr D Bowie or a Miss K Moss, in Scotland since the referendum?
    Remember the speech, and the guff spouted by them at the referendum, Scotland pleeeeeease stay.
    Never forget.
    SNPxTwa

Capella@4.52.
    I posted a wee while ago about a programme on the EBC called Planet Oil.
    I watched it on the I-Player, episode 2 shows exactly what the UK government will get up to, as much as I hate the EBC, this series was actually good.
    Its even better when you can watch this without paying the bastards a penny.
    I have also posted before that I take no pleasure from anyone losing their job. I forgot to say that excluded ANYONE who works for the BBC.
    As they all seem to be experts??? it should be easy for them to get employment , especially the “Health”!?!? correspondents, who would make an arse of putting a plaster on a sore finger.
    The rest are just as incompetent.
    SNPxTwa

70. Petra

I see that the Daily Record is running with another SNP Baad story. Steven Carleschi on the SNPโ€™s list for Central Scotland was arrested on Thursday for shoplifting (crockery) in ASDA (what an idiot). He’s also a founding member of an anti-fracking pressure group created by the SNPโ€™s grassroots.

Daily Record of course showing a picture of him standing next to Alex Salmond and using the article to mention Michelle Thomson AGAIN.

I’m not saying that they shouldn’t report such news but it would seem that they pick and choose what to report when it comes to the Labour Party / councillors and politicians.

They’ve also dug up Johann Lamont: ‘We need quality services with fair taxation, not goodies to buy off voters’ and have her moaning on about the SNPs ‘universalistic’ approach re. free prescriptions and so on. No counter argument as per usual. No mention that the cost of administering means testing would be astronomical, that wealthier people contribute more to the economy through taxation or the success of the model in places like Scandinavia.

Tam and the Willett story: I tried to access it online too, to no avail. Maybe because it’s in the ‘letters’ section. It’s an excellent piece listing the cuts and so on. Massive heading (posted earlier) with large section, beside Tam’s letter, outlining ‘Papers reveal Block Grant was hit with ‘invisible’ cuts of hundreds of millions during the 1980s’.

Tam may consider posting his letter on here.

71. DaveDee

O/T Telegraph really scraping the barrel now,

Socialist Nicola Sturgeon steps out in ยฃ179 Barbour jacket and ยฃ130 Hunter wellies

While David Cameron buys ยฃ12.99 ASDA boots to look like a man of the people

https://archive.is/3uGDm

72. Gary45%

Ken500.
    Sorry I hadn’t noticed you had already mentioned the Planet Oil programme.
    OOps my bad

73. Dorothy Devine

DaveDee, our Paul ( WGD)has taken the disgusting Telegraph article apart in his usual ,most excellent style.

74. Petra

The National … ‘Activists welcome Nicola Sturgeonโ€™s pledge to keep fighting for independence’ … Tommy Sheppard.

Note the last comment. ‘A spokesman for RISE added: โ€œNicola Sturgeonโ€™s comments are welcome, but no single party can deliver independence for Scotland, a plurality of voices is essential.โ€ REALLY!!

http://www.thenational.scot/politics/activists-welcome-nicola-sturgeons-pledge-to-keep-fighting-for-independence.12045

75. Derek

@ Les Wilson…

Here is a working link http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/specialseries/2013/04/201344105231487582.html

Might watch it later myself…..

76. One_Scot

‘While David Cameron buys ยฃ12.99 ASDA boots’

The Torygraph what are they like, they must think we button up the back.

77. yesindyref2

I hate to say this, but when I saw the photo in the Herald with Sturgeon, a very similar thought crossed my mind. They really need to think these things through in advance and get a factory clearance set of waterproofs for use for ยฃ25 the lot. Or shop in Asda.

78. peekay

John McT talking shite to Galloway on RT just now!

79. Capella

Good grief! The Telegraph is shocked to see “socialist” Nicola Sturgeon in a Barbour jacket! An old cycling cape would have been more appropriate don’t you think.
    Nothing else of any interest to report on her visit to flooded Inverurie and Ballater.

@ gary45% thanks – will check out Planet Oil once I’ve seen all 4 Seven Sisters videos. You’re right, sometimes the BBC does make a half decent programme but they are buried among the mountains of dross.

@ Tam – congratulations on getting the theiving Westminster tricks exposed. Hope The National picks it up and elaborates. But still think you could write it up too just in case!

80. One_Scot

When I saw this photo, the words deception and lies, along with truth and honesty, came to mind.

https://archive.is/3uGDm

I will take the truth and honesty every day of the week, and leave the deception and lies to the unionist media.

81. louis.b.argyll

Vote S.N.P..

1 + 2 = FREE

Everything else can wait, it’s worth it.

Why tinker around the fringes of a foreign system, when we can…

82. Bob Mack

Re Nicola in Barbour jacket,

My other half just said “How do they know it is not an Xmas present from someone, rather than bought herself ?”

My other half has a very logical mind —-and two Barbour jackets!!!!!

83. One_Scot

Apparently the jacket was bought buy her husband as a Christmas present a couple of years ago.

I think the Telegraph may have failed to mention that, doesn’t really fit in with their agenda so much.

84. Alan Mackintosh

Bob Mack, funny you should say that. Nicla hersel’ has tweeted back to the telegraph quine that its all Peter Murrells fault. He bought it for her christmas a couple of years ago…

85. yesindyref2

Yes, but it allows the media a cheap dig to which there is no actual answer.

86. Alan Mackintosh

Bob Mack re my comment above #jaiketgate

https://twitter.com/NicolaSturgeon/status/685851996524548096

87. Iain

Louis. B Argyll
    I heartily endorse your thoughts.

88. One_Scot

Where do they go next,

‘Socialist Nicola Sturgeon wears a pair of four year old jeans that were given to her as a Birthday present, while David Cameron proudly wears a stained and ripped pair he found in a local skip.’

Jeezo.

89. Hoss Mackintosh

@Alan Mackintosh,

Happy Birthday Ally!

Alll the best from all at the Ponderosa.
    ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

90. Bob Mack

@Alan Mackintosh,

Thanks for the link Alan. My Mrs just commented on the desperation of a paper who would use this as a story.

She also hopes the writer uses what is in her wardrobe when she is invited along to a wedding or something special,rather than go out and buy something” suitable for the occasion”. Some hope.

91. Petra

Weegingerdug: ‘Woman dresses sensibly in bad weather, shock, horror’

”Desperate to find a new SNPbaad angle, on Saturday the establishment sheep of the Daily Telegraph decided that the important news story to come out of the floods in Scotland was that Nicola Sturgeon wore a shocking outfit. Now, if Nicola took Lady Gaga as her style icon and had decided to visit the flooded areas wearing a dress made entirely out of bacon slices, that might be considered shocking, even if she said she was wearing the dress in an attempt to support Aberdeen pig farmers. Mind you, if David Cameron wore a suit made out of bacon people would just wonder if heโ€™d fallen out with his special friend.”

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2016/01/09/woman-dresses-sensibly-in-bad-weather-shock-horror/

92. Croompenstein

Och I’m a bit disappointed with the First Minister reacting to this pish she should be leaving this and not legitimising this dross.

And FFS Daisleys avatar why oh why respond to this cretin.. ๐Ÿ™

93. bugsbunny

When I read stuff like this, I think of all thoses grinning Ninnies with that page about Nicola endorsing Cameron for Prime Minister last year.

A load of muck racking bastards the lot of them. Let’s get Independence, only if it to see their grins disappear from their faces.

Stephen Roney.

94. ben madigan

O/T Wages of rebellion
    here’s a young Irishman talking about the problems young people are facing today due to the 40-year old neo-con regime in the USA and the EU, all over the Western world.

There’s also a video of 2 Americans talking about the social and individual psychological factors that lead to revolution, rebellion and resistance

I hope you find them interesting
    https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2016/01/09/wages-of-rebellion/

95. Papadox

Since the subject of Barbour’s has been broached, may I humbly suggest that porker Dave has the large hole in the back of his cod piece nailed down prior to the next instalment of questions to the pig poker. Must keep up appearances old boy.

Can somebody “telegraph” Dave and let him know, the buttons are showing. Oink oink!

96. Tam Jardine

Flower of Scotland

No sure why the National letters page isn’t online so here goes:

Under the headline “Willetts story from archives is hiding the true scandal”

and subheadline: “Papers reveal Blcok Grant was hit with ‘invisible cuts of hundres of millions during the 1980s”

Following the archive release on December 30, I have been going through the papers released by the National Archive. The David Willetts story released by the Guardian was a total smokescreen- everyone presumes that was THE story when it was one of the less controversial letters released.

What I have found and can say with confidence from these letters:

1. the Scottish Block Grant was subject to invisible cuts throughout the 1980s cutting the baseline by hundreds of millions of pounds.

2. The treasury came up with a plan to effectively suspend the Barnett formula on spending increases in England for 86/87, 87/88 and 88/89 cutting an estimated ยฃ100 million per year in increases. The Treasury wanted ยฃ100 million per year, went in higher then negotiated down to the figure they wanted with George Younger.

3. The result of the “invisible” cuts, various other efficiency savings and the ยฃ100 million of Barnett consquentials ‘refused’ was to offset planned spending increases almost completely for Scotland (0.027 per cent spending increase against a 10.8 per cent increase for the UK as a whole). And ยฃ719.50million was cut from the Scottish Block planned expenditure in 3 years.

4. George Younger expected these cuts to have a serious effect on growth in Scotland.

Some very kind comments above. Will see if Mike Small is interested and see if there is further interest generated by the letter.

Cearc- indeed- the biggest scandal is the secrecy. If the PM and treasury felt there was a genuine over-provision then they should have pushed their case through parliament in broad daylight with the courage of their convictions.

By slashing the Scottish Block Grant over a decade or more in secret it comes across as a politically motivated attack, part of a long term castration of nationhood… and perhaps a wee bit of revenge for the referendum of 79.

What we get instead of honesty and respect are Better Together style lists of selective facts and planned economic stagnation whilst we’re stripped of our assets and the South East gets a blank cheque.

Fuckers. Take on our share of the debt? We should be demanding our fucking oil back.

The concept of union or ‘united kingdom’ is laughable when this minor “territory” is discussed in those letters.

Anyway, thanks for the warm remarks- lets pat ourselves on the back when the job is done.

97. One_Scot

Thanks for the link Petra, I really liked this paragraph,

She then tweeted a link to the article to independence supporters in a crude and obvious attempt to provoke some sort of response that could then be used to decry the bullies of Scottish nationalism. Letโ€™s wind up Scottish independence supporters so that we can get one of them whoโ€™s had a wee bit too much to drink to post something angry on social media, and then we can use that to characterise the entire independence movement. Thatโ€™s the modus operandi of a gaggle of giggling schoolweans as well as the UK press. Itโ€™s all so childishly pathetic, yet this is what passes for professional journalism in the UK.

In one way it is really quite pathetic, but in another it is rather sad that the unionist media have nothing real to offer and have sunk to this low level of politics.

98. Bob Mack

@Tam Jardine,

Fabulous find Tam.
    What makes it all the more annoying is that in addition to Jack McConnell sending back 1.5 billion to Westminster because Labour were unable to find a use for it, you have unearthed these shennanigans which were also robbing us behind our back of hundreds of millions of pounds.

Thd whole thing is sickening.

99. Kenny

Tam, great work you are doing! In any normal state, the media would be crawling all over these figures.

Once again, I honestly think their is a growing case for a “Sovereign People of Scotland v Queenie” court case. Basically, democracy has been suspended and there was a DELIBERATE and concealed attempt to economically sabotage Scotland as a nation (and not just abstractly, more specifically, to cause suffering to the people who lived there).

The SNP should also be all over this and the hero of the above cartoon should ask a very specific question in Parliament regarding (1) is there anything else we do not know along the lines of the McCrone report? (2) what is the extent of knowledge in the British state of any oil and gas reserves in Scottish waters, excluding the North Sea… with the specific point: bearing in mind that the concealing of this information is tantamount to a crime against democracy.

We need the SNP to up the game on behalf of our country. Yes, it is great that they are the only real opposition that the other good people of the UK can count on. But they also need to be fighting for our country. They are the Scottish National Party, after all! Maybe some of their more talented members like Tommy Shephard or Chris Law could ask such questions in Parliament with an eye on the future (and also on the present).

100. Golfnut

@ One Scot.
    Thanks for the link, if you scroll down, you will find an article with 34 pictures of a certain princess, you could not make this kind of rubbish up. Oh they do.

101. yesindyref2

@Tam
    Well done. Perhaps the letter will appear online tomorrow. It would be good if the National did some research themselves and came up with an article – or series of articles.

102. Rock

Petra,

“Great too that The National is affording so much space to readers comments / articles. Would love to see people like Ken500 write in about, for example, the oil situation. People like Robert submit a piece on sovereignty and so on: So many knowledgeable people on here with much of interest to impart โ€ฆ.. help enlighten / educate others.”

Does it ever make you wonder why in its one year of existence, the ‘independence supporting’ paper has not had a single article by Scotland’s number 1 independence promoter, the Rev. Stuart Campbell?

103. heedtracker

Does it ever make you wonder why in its one year of existence, the โ€˜independence supportingโ€™ paper has not had a single article by Scotlandโ€™s number 1 independence promoter, the Rev. Stuart Campbell?

Do tell oh wise one?

104. One_Scot

Right, I’m not taking sides here, but does anyone know the answer to the question, as from a neutral point of view, I would genuinely really like to know the answer.

105. Croompenstein

And this happened this week..

http://tinyurl.com/znrsubs

But I forgot I live in Scawdland where a woman wearing suitable attire for the conditions merits a fucking story in the so called press..

106. Bob Mack

@One scot,

Answer to what question ? ( Trembles with anticipation)

107. One_Scot

Why the National has never printed an article by the Rev, if that is the case.

108. yesindyref2

Does it ever make you wonder why in its one year of existence, the โ€˜independence supportingโ€™ paper has not had a single article by Scotlandโ€™s number 1 independence promoter, the Rev. Stuart Campbell?

Probably can’t afford his righteoous fee of ยฃ100,000 per article.

109. Fireproofjim

Rock@9.30
    As you claim never to buy or read the National ( not being, as you say, a gullible fool), how do you know what is in it?
    Quotes from Wings, or Ginger Dug etc. are in it almost every day.

110. Iain

These ukok bastards must be made aware of the shafting that Scotland has suffered. They must realize that we are not going to accept their debt and they are on their own paying it back. We can build a better, more inclusive state that reflects the needs of Scotland and their state is finished.

111. Ian Brotherhood

The National regularly publishes extracts from WOS posts on the ‘letters’ pages.

Rock won’t be happy until/unless Rev Stu writes the headlines for The National every day.

Isn’t that right, Rock?

112. Bob Mack

@One Scot,

I do not know for certain,but perhaps a quote from John Galsworthy helps. ” Idealism increases in direct proportion to ones distance from the problem”

As far as I can see,the Rev has little respect for most media, and perhaps declines to be associated even by writing articles for them.
    In reality he has no need to do so ,as he has developed a successful product in its own right without the need to be heard even in the National. The Revs articles are read by us and also many Unionists and journalists in any event. His audience is probably bigger than most circulations.

Just my thoughts on it.

113. Still Positive.

Iain @ 10.01

Wholeheartedly agree. I have no qualms about walking away from their debt – they have shafted us for more than 300 years. Enough is enough.

114. mealer

Iain 10.01,
    Now now.Theyre not bastards,they’re just very silly billies.

115. Iain

Isn’t about time the national ran a story from the rev. After all he is the most influential journalist in the UK.

116. Clootie

…what is the appropriate cost for outdoor gear for the FM?

Is this the quality of journalism in the UK now? What a bunch of prats.

117. yesindyref2

What the Indy white paper said about debt is relevant:

The apportionment of the UK national debt will be negotiated and agreed. The national debt could be apportioned by reference to the historic contribution made to the UKโ€™s public finances by Scotland, or on the basis of our population share. We may choose to offset Scotlandโ€™s share of the value of UK assets against our inherited debt. On any realistic calculation Scotlandโ€™s inherited debt is projected to be a lower proportion of GDP than is the case for the UK as a whole.”

I remember a calculation by the SNP that estimated a debt of ยฃ50 billion taking into account historic contributions, as opposed to the then per capita share of around ยฃ130-ยฃ150 billion.

Whether that allows for the thefts of Scottish block grant that Tam Jardine has uncovered or not, I’ve no idea. Any such sums would, of course, also have the debt interest attributed to Scotland allowed for, making the overall debt even less.

What I think a lot of people didn’t realise was that the White Paper was a pre-negotiation document and hence it was a bit velvet glove, but also revelaed the iron fist underneath – as in “historic contribution made to the UK’s public fiancnces”.

And pre-negotiations, by the way, were an essential reason for the “currency union” position, though that wasn’t something the ScotGov would be able to highlight for obvious reasons.

The Unionists were always claiming Scotland had a weak hand in negotiations post-YES with the rUK. Well, it didn’t, quite the contrary.

118. K1

Iainโ€ฆallow me a slight correction:

‘โ€ฆhe is the only influential journalist in the UK’

all fixed ๐Ÿ™‚

119. Iain

Heartily agree. We will win sooner than you think.

120. K1

The corpmedia distorted the financial aspect of voting Yes out of all context and proportion to the reality Indyref2. We have and continue to be, quite literally, shafted.

It’s achingly painful to realise the injustice and deceit at the core of how we got to were we are in this UK. And what a shower of contemptuous bastards have ‘ruled’ o’er us for centuriesโ€ฆsame shit every day.

May doesn’t come soon enough, we must keep the arrow into the heart of the establishment, pointed and sharpโ€ฆwe must vote SNP 1 and 2.

All regions must come together and make it clear that Scotland is unified in its determination to govern itself and will not stand back and watch another generation suffer the fucking outrageous misfortune to be born under the kosh of the establishment in this UK.

No More.

SNP x 2 : Standing Up For Scotland.

121. Rob James

I see labour councillor Stephen McCabe is appalled by Nicola Sturgeon’s unsocialist attire. Wonder if he tweeted that from his porsche? What a load of sad twats.

122. yesindyref2

“We may choose to offset Scotlandโ€™s share of the value of UK assets against our inherited debt.”

That is also important, by the way. There was discussion about currency itself having value, and of course the Unionists dismissed that: “currency has no value”. Well, in that case Scotland can equally take the ยฃ sterling, and the rUK can join the euro, float its own currency, or sterlingise on our currency.

What? Eh? But it’s our pound! Say the Unionists. No, it’s a shared pound. It also has value, it’s fully tradeable, has a lot of foreign funds residing in it as a “safe haven”. Even NIESR considered in one of their papers that the currency actually did have value.

I think in the event of a denied currency union perhaps the likes of KPMG would have been appointed by ScotGov negotiating team to establish the value of the currency itself, as well as the BoE, and Scotland demand compensation for the force majeuer of the rUK Government for taking exclusive use of a shared currency.

Which, to my mind, is why ScotGov had no option but go officially for a currency union, because that is our bounden legal right, and for it to be denied, opens the door to that compensation claim, in full.

Salmond was perfectly correct when he said “no currency union, then no debt”.

123. Iain

What foreign policy will the post Scotland, England take will they be still hold the USA’s jacket in future foreign war’s or will they take the role of a middle ranking European state.

124. Croompenstein

Aah 2016
    On Thursday March 24th I will wrap the saltire around my shoulders and celebrate ‘Independence Day’

I will also celebrate the life of a real Scot that our lovely MSM wont due to the cringing nature of some of my countrymen…

http://www.easter1916.ie/index.php/people/signatories/james-connolly/

PS is Nana ok?

125. Iain

Don’t know where be came from.

126. galamcennalath

Re NS’s choice of clothing.

I reckon every moan, sneer, and smear directed at the SNP / SG / Indy individuals / Scotland is now just throwing petrol on the fire of discontent with the Union.

Yoonery en masse cannot say anything, do anything, or write anything without further damaging their own cause. And it is themselves who have created this situation with years of blatant deceit and pathetic negativity.

127. ScottieDog

Re currency
    It would have been equally legit to pay down any debt owed in a newly formed Scottish currency.

128. yesindyref2

Relevance of those two posts to Tam’s by the way, is that it’s possible ScotGov already took account of those thefts from the Scottish block grant in their calculations, using PES or similar. Hence the reduced debt they calculated of ยฃ50 billion.

And if the currency union was denied and the value of the ยฃ was worked out to be ยฃ50 billion for Scotland, then zero debt, quite legitimately. Scotland would be taking an absolutely fair share of the historical debt – i.e. zero.

Who could argue against that?

James Connolly by the way was apparently a relative of Ian Bell of the Herald.

129. Ian Brotherhood

So, David Mundellyfundelly has been ‘cleared’ of any mischief when he went to open that foodbank in another MP’s constituency?

That’s good! Now he’ll be dying to go back and walk the streets of Dumfries with head held high, telling all the folk in this video ‘getitRIGHTupyeezaw!’.

The ‘Secretary of State for Scotland’…

๐Ÿ˜‰ ! ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkwujxWP30Y

130. Gary45%

Regarding oor Nicks choice of clothing.
    You can buy Hunter wellies in TK Maxx now and again, they are round about ยฃ30.00.
    As for the Barbour jacket, I have 2 and have paid both times under half the price in sales.
    If she had rocked up in a ยฃ500,000 motor boat throwing bread to the natives , that would have been offensive.

As for the unionist party members, they better take a good look at themselves, certain unionist members normally sit in first class on the train, down to Edinburgh, I have seen them.
    And take a look at Rep Scotchshire their monthly botox bill will cost more than a Barbour jacket.
    And while I am at it, Slabs pie bill will be more than that per week.
    Always SNPxTwa

131. yesindyref2

@galamcennalath
    I agree which is strangely why perhaps we shouldn’t be quick to jump in and defend her. Kind of psych-war type of thing!

132. Iain

It must be quite depressing being a britnat. The imminent prospect of their state no longer existing. The successor state England losing it’s seat at the U.N. and having to give up it’s nuclear weapons. If it leaves the E.U the humiliation will be complete. Have some sympathy for the britnat’s.

133. Croompenstein

James Connolly by the way was apparently a relative of Ian Bell of the Herald

In Dublin there is a statue of Connolly outside Liberty Hall and others in New York and Chicago, a measure of his international influence.

But fuck all in the capital of cringe… ๐Ÿ™

134. Dave McEwan Hill

yesindyref2 at 11.07

Bell was a great nephew of Connolly

135. heedtracker

Have some sympathy for the britnatโ€™s.

They will still be British if they want to be! Ireland is a good example of devo for Scotland where the Irish and the English have perfectly rational relationships, commercial, academic, all of it makes sense. Osborne even bailed out the Bank of Ireland

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-11807769

Problems for UKOK britnats stem from their detestation of you dear voter. You’re not doing as your told, vile cybernat sepratist, JC voter, not a tory fury. Sadly the BBC etc is stuffed full of UKOK Britnat buffoons.

136. Dave McEwan Hill

re Connolly – does anybody else here ever wish they were Irish?

137. Ian Brotherhood

While we’re at it, on Bo-Selecta stunt-double Mundell, let’s not forget his proximity to Frenchgate – it’s worth revisiting a clip which is on YT thanks to WOS.

Please note Severin Carrell’s writhing from 45 secs onwards – “I don’t think that David Mundell’s going to be able to escape further questioning on that…erm…most peculiar.”

Aye, okay Sev, but he HAS escaped it, eh?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcJWcjwYMfc

138. yesindyref2

Mmm, time to repeat a post I made September 22nd 2014, with one slight addition about the GE 2015:

Ireland Timeline
    1886 First Home Rule Bill โ€“ House of Commons defeated 343 votes to 313.
    1893 Second Home Rule Bill passed HoC, vetoed HoL 419 votes to 41.
    1912 Third Home Rule Bill passed HoC, rejected HoL but expected autumn 1914.
    1914 World War 1. Home Rule shelved for the duration.
    1916 Easter Rising
    1918 Irish GE, Sinn Fรฉin won 73 out of 105 seats.
    1919 Declaration of Independence.
    1919-1921 War and riots
    1921 Anglo-Irish Treaty was signed
    1922 Creation of the Irish Free State

Scotland Timeline
    1979 Devolution referendum YES but โ€œvetoedโ€
    1997 Devolution referendum YES 74.4%
    2008 Independence Referendum refused by unionist parties in Holyrood
    2011 SNP elected Holyrood with overall majority
    2012 Independence Referendum agreed
    2014 Independence Referendum 45% YES vote
    2015 UK GE, SNP won 56 out of 59 seats

And they call the Irish stupid and slow.

139. Alan Mackintosh

Yesindyref2, dont think Scotgov would have included Tams’ discovery figures as they were designed to be invisible cuts. As the letters have only come out after 30 years, unlikely this would have been calculated in. Just my feelings though. If they had known about it, the Cuthberts would have mentioned it before now.

140. Tam Jardine

yesindyref2 & galamcennalath

Re Nicola’s outdoor gear: I wonder how many readers of unionist propaganda from the upper midriff of society are getting that weird kind of feeling. That ‘hold on a minute’ feeling. That ‘I’ve got a pair of Hunters as well?’ feeling. The psych-war is being fought and won.

I agree with your points on the debt. The negotiations would be interesting and Scotland has, as you say, a strong hand re the debt.

What I did not contemplate before Indyref 1 was Westminster being as awkward as they may end up being. I ken the realpolitik and how business will demand the 2 governments cooperate but we may need to adjust to a world where instead of ‘our closest allies’ we are lumped next to a bellicose and difficult trading partner (who may have nonesensically denied itself a friend to help pay off any part of their crushing debt).

We are going to need a strategy to get everything behind building exports- almost like a national mission. And whilst I agree with you that Westminster must refuse a currency union in order for us to get away with the debt I would like the plan B to be simply: walk away and form our own currency from the start.

They canny have it both ways, and sterling is not like the old Deutschmark, much as Osborne and co would like to pretend it is.

141. Hamish100

Rob James says:

9 January, 2016 at 10:43 pm
    I see labour councillor Stephen McCabe is appalled by Nicola Sturgeonโ€™s unsocialist attire. Wonder if he tweeted that from his porsche? What a load of sad twats

McCabe looks after Port Glasgow—of course he doesn’t live there but in the nearby middle class Kilmacolm far enough away from the plebs. He resigned from the leader of Inverclyde Council for personal reasons —news to his family– but was more about infighting in the labour party for positioning as poss MSP’s & MP’s candidate. He lost out only to return as Leader of the Labour council in the blink of an eye.

142. Flower of Scotland

@Tam Jardine 8.51

Thanks Tam for all your hard work. I have been following your comments on here just like the others. To tell you the truth I am not surprised, but it fair makes my blood boil because they have stolen so much from us!

Hope it all gets out into the wider world.

143. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill –

‘…does anybody else here ever wish they were Irish?’

๐Ÿ™‚

Oooh, you are a mischief, but…what a totally brilliant question! – that’s the type of thing which gets bar-brawls off to a good start.

So brilliant that I, for one, daren’t even attempt an answer, beyond this – I’m quarter-Irish, and that quarter happens to be my left leg, i.e. the one that I just can’t get out of the pub.

Boom-boom!

๐Ÿ˜‰

144. dakk

Re the Telegraph’s outrage at Stikla Nurgeon wearin a Barbour jaiket.

If they had any class they would have suggested she reset it in the Brazen Heed or some such shibeen.

Wtf.

145. yesindyref2

@Tam Jardine,@Alan Mackintosh
    Yes, the papers are just come out after 30 years, but perhaps the actual expenditure figures for Scotland v the UK would show the underspend anyway. No idea.

The UK Gov is being awkward but then we’re just aprt of the UK and nobody outside the UK is interested. After a YES vote we’re going to be Independent and in theory at least, the rUK should treat us then as a possible ally, a trading partner, rather than just something to be treated with contempt at Westminster.

I think many of us wanted / want our own currency, perhaps with a transitional 2 or 3 years using sterling, either formally in a formal currency union, or with sterlingisation in an informal one.

Kind of like, all of us are right and agree in principle, even I thik the ScotGov, but it’s the details and timescale of implementation.

That’s one think McPherson was right about though, it wouldn’t have been long before Scotland would have wanted out of a currency union, so why go for one in the first place? It’s also noticeable that his memo, while dismissive, did mention the no debt angle.

Subsequent credit ratings show that Scotland “walking away from the debt”, would have the same rating as Scotland taking a full per capita share. What NONE of them looked at was Scotland taking a fairly negotiated and agreed partial share, e.g. ยฃ50 billion out of ยฃ150 billion. That would inevitably have given us a higher credit rating.

Oil revenues make no difference, or very little, to what would have been the negotiated debt and hence debt to GDP ratio, meaning that Scotland could have happily borrowed our way to a better economy and growth of GDP, and still enjoy a better debt to GDP ratio than the rUK. Ah well! Next time …

146. Tam Jardine

Dave McEwan Hill

re Connolly โ€“ does anybody else here ever wish they were Irish?

I signed my bairns up for joint Irish citizenship initially because it was important for my wife. A few years ago I would never have contemplated letting their British passport lapse and applying for Irish passports for them but here we are.

We’re drifting Dave, like 2 tectonic plates slowly drifting apart. Eventually there will be one hell of an earthquake (and I suspect a huge amount of energy released, for good and for ill).

Not that it made a difference but the UK child’s passport fee is ยฃ46 and the Irish fee was about half that from memory. I mind nipping into the embassy in the West End and some casual guy (who I presumed was a caretaker) was serving at the window. It was of course, the Irish Consul.

147. Andrew Mclean

I need to read great prose from a writer of independent thought, a person of sound Scottish principals and of international outlook. Can you not be found? Or art you within the unionists smear, our dwell in treachery,s cold embrace, shall your prose be sullen, and you’re intentions corrupt?

Where art though, our new Prospero, our poet King, price of men?

148. yesindyref2

@Dave McEwan Hill
    I remember during the Ref for some reason I’d thought my wife a NO voter, which is fine it’s her choice. But some time I mentioned that to her and she looked at me in disgust and amazement: “I’m Irish” she said.

As her spouse I’m entitled (or used to be) to Irish Nationality …

149. Croompenstein

The Easter rising in 1916 Dublin was not a popular uprising as the city was the unionist capital, a major city of the empire much like our own cringing capital city is now. At least we have our biggest city a supporter of our democratic right.

The parallels are their for all to see between Ireland’s right to self determination and Scotland’s right to self determination. Let the criers like Dr Scott Stinks and kevverage wallow in their own pish. Let’s do this..

150. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a great wee ‘Scottish Office’ video, featuring Priti Patel using one of Mundell’s old speeches for practise. You can just FEEL the sincerity…

A bit more pretty, aye, but no more palatable.

(Come on, FFS, it’s only had 418 views…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zxvbb0oWMdU

151. Dave McEwan Hill

I’m actually one quarter Irish (father’s mother from Armagh)which entitles me to Irish citizenship and my dad was in a seminary in Dublin during the Irish civil war (didn’t complete the course, obviously).

He found himself in the KOSB in WW2 which was to him like being enlisted to hell as KOSB behaviour alongside the Black and Tans meant they were hated in Ireland.

I think the community in Scotland with Irish roots (which determines election results in West Central Scotland) opened their eyes to being asked to march for the Union Jack and couldn’t do it. Those who used to sing Erin Gu snooker loopy! are now singing Alba Gu snooker loopy!

152. dakk

Gonnae you’s wae Irish eligibility stoap rubbin it in.

Many of us on here will likely have to carry the chained unicorn to the big border control in the sky.

153. Petra

@ Rock says at 9:30 pm ”Petra …. โ€œGreat too that The National is affording so much space to readers comments / articles. Would love to see people like Ken500 write in about, for example, the oil situation. People like Robert submit a piece on sovereignty and so on: So many knowledgeable people on here with much of interest to impart โ€ฆ.. help enlighten / educate others.โ€

Does it ever make you wonder why in its one year of existence, the โ€˜independence supportingโ€™ paper has not had a single article by Scotlandโ€™s number 1 independence promoter, the Rev. Stuart Campbell?”

I’ve got no idea Rock. Maybe you could tell us? I don’t frequent WoS twitter page but now and again it has appeared on here. Stuart does an EXCELLENT job on this site but he seems to be very impatient and a most sweary beasty indeed on twitter. Maybe that doesn’t go down well with some people? Maybe they feel he lets himself down and don’t want to know him at all? I’ve read some very negative comments about him online too. True or not? I don’t really care because he has made a MASSIVE most constructive difference to the Independence Cause on here. I’ll focus on that and I’m in no doubt he’ll become a LEADING journalist in Scotland in future.

Don’t keep on trying to ‘dis’ the National Rock. Read it for yourself and then get back to us. Rock the manny that states he’s an Independence supporter?

As to Nicola Sturgeon the SCUM have now reached an all time low. How much do your wellies cost in contrast to how many people are suffering from the floods and what are you dong about it? LOADS! Get real. It’s no wonder their sales are plummeting and they’re paying off journalists at some rate. Next move let’s rummage around in her bin and see how many take-aways she buys in a week and where from! Does she buy Tunnochs tea cakes or not? GROUND BREAKING NEWS IN SCOTLAND!

154. carjamtic

Brought up in Parkhead,Dunbar St. (Remember getting a lift over at the fitba) now the Forge..

Encouraged to buy into the fitba thing ? then moved to the big E then it was gang warfare join a gang ?

Arrived at the decision at 16 to fuck all that,,went quietly about my business.. (Bob Dylan …Burns Howff)..could not give a fuck.

Independance for Scotland…just a dream.

It is now a realty ๐Ÿ™‚

I will not be distracted by side show Bob and all his mates,neither I suspect neither will most of the Scottish voters……

We will make up our own minds,based on factual information and the truth (we can smell shite at 100 miles away )

SNP x 2 GIRFUY

155. Dan Huil

Wish I was Irish? I just wish I was living in an independent Scotland. Gutless Scottish unionists make me boke.

156. Still Positive.

For those of you with Irish connections :my grandfather born in Glasgow of an Irish mother also born in Glasgow but with Irish parents, His father was born in Ireland about 1855 and came to Scotland as a young man.

157. call me dave

Nicola’s dress sense OK but the papers use it to distract from the real message which is her visit and the news about money aid for the affected people in the flood areas.
    It’s the way they tell the news!

Meanwhile the EU Scotland labour team for remaining is announced.
    ex-SNP advisor recruited too.

https://archive.is/S3qUm

158. David Jardine

Ian Brotherhood @ 11.09pm

I noticed the BBC article clearing Mundell; found it strange that this was considered news, given that the matter is reported (in the same article!) to have been settled in September.

If I were being charitable, I would say that the BBC were just slow…

159. North Chiel

O/T ,however just purchased my Sunday Herald from
    local spar shop and was offered a “free” Sunday Mail , which
    I declined. They must be “desperate”.No doubt Cameron’s
    chums who own the UK press don’t mind losing money
    in the interests of propaganda in the run up to Holyrood May
    elections.

160. Another Union Dividend

Double standards all round. Paul Hutcheon in Sunday Herald (page 15) refuses to name Labour Councillor being investigated by police over alleged ยฃ200,000 back hander for planning consent.

Considering the amount of coverage given at its launch why is no coverage on BBC over NO Borders and Malcolm Offord’s failure to produce referendum accounts which included payments to Prof Tomkins.

If this had been SNP , Daily Mail would have front page headlines smearing the would be parliamentary candidate.

Despite redundancies Media claim to be required to hold government’s to account and that is right but Labour press releases are printed as gospel. Where is the BBC’s scrutiny of the so called opposition’s wild electoral promises and statements?

161. Luigi

I am so angry about this latest, despicable, corporate media attack on the FM. Just when you think they cannot get any lower……… Poor Nicola would have been criticised whatever she wore.

The real media objective was clearly to deflect attention from the fact that she was on site at first light, she announced action and aid, and made a point of personally visiting as many people affected as she could (everyone in some streets, apparently). Unlike Cameron, who appeared for a quick photo opportunity before disappearing (he probably ordered some poor sod to go and buy a set of wellies for the occasion), Nicola came prepared and actually spent real time with the people.

Remember during the last floods in England, Cameron had to be told (by the previous FM) to get his wellies on and visit the victims. At least he seems to have learned something.

The people are not daft. They recognise the difference between a genuine person and a complete fraudster. This latest desperate ploy by the corporate media will backfire spectactularly.

162. Ken500

The Unionists will lose out on women’s votes by constantly mentioning what Nicola wears and how she looks. Immaculate. Women will vote for Nicola because of what she says and does. She is competent, smart and caring. Along with the SNP politicians. In another Ref that will be an advantage. A great asset.

The EU Ref lies have started just like the Referendum ones. The UK should pay 19Billion? Euros, It gets a rebate and doesn’t pay it’s way. Pays 15Billion euros (ยฃ12Billion) which comes back. Half in CAP payments/shared Defence costs (savings), Grants, (renewables)

500Million (pop) easier to trade. Joint (clout) to agree Trade Deals with India, China, US etc who can put up unfair to free Trade barriers.

The EU has good social and employment Laws (better than the UK). Health reciprocal agreements. Good Health care (not so good aftercare). The EU costs nothing and brings lots of benefits. Scotland exports beef, fish, and other goods to the EU for premium prices. Tourism trade and people can retire/work/live there. Exchange students. Many Scottish students study abroad under reciprocal agreement. Travel broadens the mind. Scottish Devolution is enshrined in the EU Law. European Human Rights Law. Scotland contribution would be ยฃ1Billion. More would come back. It would cost Scotland nothing. Scotland gains from EU membership. There are many advantages.

Migration in Europe is caused by Westminster foreign policies and illegal wars. Other EU countries have to deal with it. It costs them ยฃBillions. Westminster Unionists foreign policies cost the UK taxpayers ยฃBillions. The RAFshould be dropping food and aid not bombs. It is appalling what Westminster/Unionist have done in the Middle East, and lied about it. Kept it secret under the Official Secrets Act. Most of them are criminals and should be put in jail. Brown/Blair should be put in jail.

The UK Union costs Scotland ยฃ10Billion++ a year, which does not come back. Westminster/Unionists have secretly and illegally taken, the equivalent of ยฃ200Billion++ from Scotland in the last 50 years and lied about it. In or out of the EU Scotland would be better off Independent. Scotland should not leave the EU if a majority in Scotland vote to stay in. That is undemocratic and illegal under Scottish/UK/EU and International Law.

163. Smallaxe

@ carjamtic

Dรฉjร  vu?

Brought up in Parkhead,Beatock street. (Remember getting a lift over at the fitba) Encouraged to buy into the fitba thing? Then moved to Barlanark then it was gang warfare join a gang?

Arrived at the decision at 16 to fuck all that,went quietly about my business…(Bob Dylan,Burns Howf,the Maryland)could not give a fuck. Have you been reading my mail? Spooky! SNP X 2.

164. Tam Jardine

Ken500

The anti EU stuff holds less water as folk are more willing to question it. Strange how Scotland is more pro EU and England considerably less- a reversal on the position back in 1975.

The very real prospect of Scotland being dragged out of Europe doesn’t just present us with a democratic outrage- I genuinely don’t think people will accept it. Scotland keeping the UK in by a whisker is, if anything, even more volatile.

The SNP campaign needs to be about Scotland in Europe, in or out of the UK. We need to start building support abroad for an easy transition.

David Jardine

I understand Son of Fluffy, Oliver Mundell is second on the constituency list for South of Scotland and therefore a strong result in the consituency vote could well see him elected.

Good to see someone with such a broad experience of life outside of politics (7 months with Shell back in 2012-13) may have a strong chance of representing the guid folk of the South of Scotland in Holyrood.

165. Ken500

Scotland would have to use sterling at first. It’s Scotland’s currency too. Until Scotland decided by vote whether to continue with the ยฃ or a central bank/currency or meet future conditions to join the Euro. That is still the case. Negotiations would have to begin. The same is happening with Smith Commission (of much limited powers). A transitional period. If Scotland had voted YES, not been let down by the 5%. It would have been from a much stronger negotiating position. Support for the SNP and Independence is still rising. The NE is an SNP stronghold that will not change. People love Nicola and the way she presents herself. Genuine.

Scotland’s economic position is the equivalent of Germany. Scotland produces and exports. Would be in surplus, without Westminster/Unionist illegal wars, banking fraud and tax evasion. Oil 60% take by Westminster is damaging production and jobs. More fuel and energy has to be imported putting up the balance of payment deficit. Scotland is surplus in Oil and Gas. Exports 25% of energy but pays a higher tarriffs (pro rata) as part of the UK. Nearer the source, but Scottish consumers have to pay to put it on the market (grid), unfairly against EU fair competition rules.

Did McPherson jump or was he pushed? Was he due to retire? Resided over the biggest monetary crash in the world. Totally negligent.

@ Tam Jardine (#Well done). Put the relevant monetary value in brackets, when publicising the accounts and mention the MCCrone Report. People can google (or whatever). Manage to get a National and saw the Letter. Great.

People do know about the fraudulent accounts Academia, the Cuthbert’s, Rev Stu, the SNP, the Unionists. Half of Scotland. The corrupt MSM will not publish the facts because of corrupt Westminster/Unionists pressure. Westminster secrecy and lies. One day there should be an apology printed on every front page.

Academia has been infested by Labour/Unionist patronage for the last 50 years. The Labour Mafia. Join the Party and screw the world. Rats in a sack. Roll on the Holyrood Elections.

166. Ken500

Nicola will weather any storm and has great support. Criticism just deflected. It annoys people. MSM declining. Support for SNP and Independence rising.

167. Almannysbunnet

At least Nicola visited the flood affected areas and waded among the people. I see no sign of Max Wall or Fatty Arbuckle with their wellies on. It used to be that you took Rennies to cure indigestion but in Willie’s case he causes it so he had the good grace to stay away. What a missed opportunity for them. They could have shared a podium and told us how much worse the rain would have been in an independent Scotland.
    I guess they know how welcome they would have been, much better to sit at hame girnin.

168. Ken500

A Irish Home Rule was passed in April 1914. The HoL delayed it. It would not have come into statue until September 1916. The unelected HoL delayed it. Westminster/Unionists (for votes) were supporting an Apartheid (masonic) regime in Ulster which broke UK Law. Still do. It’s a disgrace. Ireland can now vote to unite demographically. It could happen. That is why the Ulster Unionists are throwing their toys out of the pram. They should have been made to obey UK Law long ago.

The way the Unionists support sectarianism in Ulster for votes is despicable, it loses the economy ยฃBillions in strife. Many people will not visit etc.The Marching and intimidation is a National disgrace. The intransigence of the Unionist (secret societies) to destroy their own economy is moronic. Wedtminster secrecy and lies and the Official Secrets Act.

169. Lenny Hartley

Yesindyref2 1149pm

It’s been going on for a wee bittie longer that the last 40 years!
    One of my mates is sure they started Ww1 to stop the third reading of the 1913 home rule bill!

http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2013/11/9348/16

170. Naina Tal

jist heard oan the wireless (Radio Froth). Slab complaining about Scottish Government payment of ยฃ1500 to flood victims: Verdict of these fringe loonies? It’s no enough!

Ye can jist imagine them an aw the junk journalists sittin roon:
    “Hear Sturjin’s gien flood victims ยฃ1500”
    “Whit? Each?”
    “Aye”
    “Better get oot a press release!”
    “Too much?”
    “Naw we’ll say it’s no eneuch. We’d hae gienmuch mair. Maks us look like the gig anes for aince!”
    “Bit hoo wid we pey fur it?”
    APD

171. Naina Tal

Sorry boot double post. Corrected a few typos wioot kennin post had aready gone. Big fingers and stupit wee taiblet keypad.

172. Valerie

Off topic, but also pertinent

“Scotland’s A&Es are now outperforming England’s NHS”
    Dr. Kailash Chand, Deputy Chair of the BMA

Another lesson! I think this is brilliant,because just maybe Robertson’s question at PMQs, why are Scottish junior doctors NOT striking, is hitting home.

173. sick of the media

Bit late on posting this, but on the main ITV news they went out of their way to find the most ungrateful, pathetic woman they could find.

I’m sure if you had seen the news story you will remember her, English accent, whinging she didn’t have insurance (couldn’t afford it) but ยฃ1,500 from the government was not enough to replace what she had lost.

Does this woman expect the Government to fund her the entire cost of all her furnishings?

174. Capella

OT Though Cairns Cartoons is a case in point!
    Good video 4 mins from the Holyrood Culture Committee 05 Jan 2015.

“Shocking level of support for Scotlandโ€™s talented and thriving cultural scene which almost operates beyond and in spite of the state broadcaster. This isnโ€™t about โ€˜biasโ€™ itโ€™s about incompetence, centralisation and a dire lack of cultural leadership.”

http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2016/01/06/bbc-scotlands-cultural-output-lamentable/

Was a year ago of course. Anyone noticed any improvement in the course of the year?

175. Ken500

The LibDems (Greens) did nothing for the NE economy but watched as the Oil revenues went south. They stopped the essential by-pass road for ten years. Aberdeen the only City in Europe without a pedestrianised City Centre and a by-pass road.

Aberdeen/shire Council were underfunded 30% for over 30 years of all other local Authorities by Labour/Unionist dominated Cosla. Despite it being a growth area. The infrastructure is a disgrace. The SNP are building the essential by-pass road and investing in the economy.

Labour/Unionists/Green are ruining the City Centre and wasting ยฃMillions of taxpayers money on a grotesque carbuncle. To spite the SNP. How it got through planning is a mystery. Against the majority wishes and the public interest. Instead of an alternative, affordable, majority supported, funded project. There is still time for the Scottish Gov to call it in.

176. galamcennalath

Interesting turn of events ….

“FORMER Labour first minister declares today that he will back Scottish independence if the UK votes to leave the EU against Scottish wishes … Henry McLeish … said that as a pro-European he would rather Scotland became a new member of the EU than remain in a UK that broke away following David Cameronโ€™s forthcoming referendum.”

https://archive.is/WB0Wb

Dugdale needs to make her position clear, before the May election.

177. frogesque

Fist it was coffeegate, then Frenchgate, now it’s Barbourgate, fme, what next? Will someone start raking through Nicky’s knicker drawer?

Meanwhile piggate gets barely a passing mention.

178. galamcennalath

Me @ 10:51

… also, Davidson should make her position clear.

Which is most important to them? Scotland, or their Union.

179. louis.b.argyll

Re Tams digging, and of course this site’s excellent ‘journalism’.

To put the direct cuts and underfunding in perspective, and to see our infrastructure and the South Easts by comparison..

It would be interesting to see some graphs..to explain the real terms cuts.
    We need an overview ..showing the party politics / personnel who signed off or turned a blind eye ever since.

EXPOSED..
    The deliberate ‘suffocation’ of Scotlands growth and her resilience.

EXPOSED..
    Labour, actually made matters
    worse, by selling us back our own infrastructure through p.f.i schemes.

Where would we be if…?

How much current public debt was/is caused by the ‘underhand downgrading’?

180. The Man in the Jar

@ Smallaxe

Ah The Burns Howf. Now that was a pub. Happy Days!

181. louis.b.argyll

Rev Stuart,

.. any chance of running regular ‘public information ads’..

You know, to remind folks that we still have NUCLEAR MISSILES IN ARGYLL!

Anyone else have any local environmental issues?

182. Gary45%

Almannysbunnet@10.14
    The reason Glumbo wasn’t seen at the floods was if she had been spotted near water she would have been harpooned.
    As for Max Wall, I reckon she has a skull shaped crystal(modelled on FUD) that she repeats “my precious” to whilst trying to work out what shite to come up with.
    “What the F*CK is a Wullie Rennie??”

183. Alan Mackintosh

Frogesque, its past #jaiketgate. Peter Murrel has tweeted that he admits he bought the jaiket, but he wants to know who bought her the wellies…

https://twitter.com/petermurrell/status/685932145580326913

184. louis.b.argyll

There are so many interesting links on this thread, gonna take a while to get through them..

185. Smallaxe

@ The Man in the Jar

‘Stone the Crows’ Happy days indeed!

186. Ken500

Some WFI members are lying about their accounts, for cheap publcity. Midguided people. The can’t even count or read a balance sheet. It is obvious from the accounts there is no money missing. If they don’t watch out they will be taken for slander or end up in court. They will lose revenues.

Some are a shower of jealous liars . Always have been and always will be, in collusion with the corrupt Press. Not interested in women’s right more interested in promoting themselves. They are a disgrace. bringing women into disrepute and damaging women’s issues.

187. Ken500

Barbour will be increasing production. They do last for years, but

188. Bill Hume

” galamcennalath says:
    10 January, 2016 at 10:50 am

Interesting turn of events โ€ฆ.

โ€œFORMER Labour first minister declares today that he will back Scottish independence if the UK votes to leave the EU against Scottish wishes โ€ฆ Henry McLeish โ€ฆ said that as a pro-European he would rather Scotland became a new member of the EU than remain in a UK that broke away following David Cameronโ€™s forthcoming referendum.โ€

McLeish also goes on to criticise the Labour party’s “drift to the left”

So, in summation….do we effing care what McLeish says.

189. Ken500

More lies from the Herald. Losing readers faster than a sieve loses water. More staff to go because of the lies.

WFI no Defict. Just add up the accounts, According to the Herald liars there is an (increased?) ยฃ40K. Defict. Just to try and damage the SNP.

It just make people more annoyed.

190. Fred

Anent the spineless McPherson, time was when civil servants were both civil & servants!

@ Smallaxe n Man in the Jar, got thae T shirts tae! ๐Ÿ™‚

Anent Barbourgate, wear my Barbour gaun fur the Nash then hame for toasted muffins on my Dualit toaster. Jackie Baillie’s “Black’s of Greenock” Barbour knickers with the double-gushet, there’s a sight for the zip-wire.

191. galamcennalath

Bill Hume says:

“McLeish also goes on to criticise the Labour partyโ€™s โ€œdrift to the leftโ€
    So, in summationโ€ฆ.do we effing care what McLeish says.”

He has been chaff in the wind in the past, so I don’t put much importance on what he says.

However, any public support for Indy from within Labour is welcome, even if only in the event on EngExit. I do think we need to know where all Scottish politicians stand on this.

McLeish is history, but the current batch of Unionists need to tell us what they would do in this increasingly like scenario.

192. Fred

Slab’s Stephen McCabe must be the biggest jessie in Kilmacolm, an that’s sayin somethin!

193. Dave McEwan Hill

Absolutely fabulous Celtic Connections CD with the Sunday Herald today. Worth the cover cost five times over.

The Sunday Herald is improving every week and today’s issue is particularly wide ranging,intelligent and balanced. Interesting to note that Nicola has already sunk Tom Gordon’s contention that according to “senior figures in the SNP” there will be no committment to a independence referendum in our manifesto by tweeting “News to me”.

You always know when “senior figures” in this or that are quoted somebody is playing a game,

The notion that the UK government can prevent Scotland having a referendum raises its silly head again in Hack Gordons’s contention. Not according to the UN Charter it can’t and I would just like to see Scotland’s reaction if it tried!

I’m listening to that CD as I type. Best yet by a long way

194. gordoz

O/T Did anyone else see this ??

Don’t normally watch A Marr show but hopping channels caught the end.

How ironic was it watching ‘Squeeze’ bang out ‘cradle to grave’ lyrics. (All about life on council estates NHS reliance etc.)
    While posh boy PM (already trashed council housing) sat and nodded along to lyrics which slammed his parties whole ideology – past, present and future.

Clown just didn’t get the irony.

195. louis.b.argyll

Careerists politicians union’ism’ is fading faster than our resolve, for how long will they risk it?

196. Ken500

Cameron is an incompetent, inexperienced coarse liar. Few ยฃMillion – 55Million pop. of no consequence. Just another soundbite PR stunt.

Junior Doctor strike Tuesday

197. starlaw

If the BUMS think Barbour Jackets are for the rich, then they need to walk through any shopping centre on a winters day, they will see plenty of them.

198. Chic McGregor

@YesIndyref2

It is actually slower than you think.

A Scottish Home Rule Bill (giving greater powers than the current SP has) was started in 1913.

In 1914 it passed its second reading, but was shelved due to the outbreak of War.

199. Petra

@ Lenny Hartley at 10:31am ……..

Good link Lenny with page three covering Scotlands finances.

@ Capella at 10:49am …. BBC

The video is a ‘must watch’. We know we’re being treated / have always been treated like dirt by the BBC but the figures quoted would make your blood boil.

The McLeish decision is interesting and does raise the point of us all having the RIGHT to know Dugdales, Davidsons and Rennies views on the potential of Scotland getting dragged out of the EU: Especially as they used this as a threat, one of them, to influence people to stay in the Union. Their view will surely proove where their allegiance truly lies …. With the Scots or Westminster? And if anyone thinks things are bad right now living under Tory rule it’ll be hell on earth for us if we lose EU protection/s.

The Sunday Herald is excellent today and for those who haven’t bought it, it covers (such as) the following: Front page plus 2 page spread exposing Westminster’s attempts to cover up civilian deaths in Syria, the SNP manifesto will not hold a committment to hold another Referendum, two page spread on Trump, the Electoral Commission re-registers Solidarity, scientists warn climate change means wild weather in Scotland is the new normal, a review being launched into 1.3m lottery money awarded to ‘nepotistic’ Dalmarnock Legacy Hub trust, questions raised over safety regime at Nuc Sub graveyard in Rosyth and Labours housing grant proposal being decimated and their blatant hipocracy being exposed ….. individuals such as Lamont and Councils denounced the SNP grant proposal in 2007 …. said it would push up house prices …. wouldn’t target those most in need …. money better spent on increasing housing supply etc, etc.

Nicola is making 12m available for flood victims plus 4m promised recently plus share of Westminster’s 50m pot. Businesses can also apply for a grant of ยฃ3000. Seems that the Scots will receive more financial help than the English but never mind that just cover this up by comparing the price of Scrooge’s wellies to the Fairy Godmothers. No mention of it, SG financial help, on STV news tonight.

RI (Independence)SE Party aims to ’cause a ruckus’ in Holyrood elections with occupations, flash mobs, protests, stunts, direct action and pop-up politics to get itself noticed. I’ve considered voting for a left wing party following Independence. A party like RISE. However if they thwart or delay our chances of getting our Independence they’ll have lost potential supporters before they can even get their Party off the ground ….. renamed FALL.

Anyway one great article after another especially from Gordon, Edwards and MacWhirter. The downside is Hutcheon refusing to name a corrupt Labour Councillor for legal reasons whilst publishing another, practically full page, REPEAT article on Natalie McGarry.

200. Cuilean

Hunter wellies company started in Edinburgh. It was called the North British Wellington Co to begin with. (Dearie me).

John Barbour was also a Scot who founded his oil cloth company in South Shields in 1894 (and Nicola’s granny is a Geordie). The oil cloth was used to begin with by shipping/fisheries, then in the 1950s, the waxed cotton became popular among motorcyclists as the founder’s grandson was a keen motorcyclists & produced jackets trousers for motorcyclists.

I assume the working class waxed cloth was looked down on by the toffs who procured weather proof clothing for the armed services as it was never used during the first of second world wars by UK troops.

The ‘toffs’ only adopted Barbour very late on, when Liz the Last gave a barbour jaiket her ‘seal of approval’ in 1974.

It has always been a ubiquitous, practical garment worn by all classes.

Prices vary. I picked up a Barbour for ยฃ35 once at Ayr’s Tackymaxx where I also see Hunters wellies sell regularly for as cheap as ยฃ15. The Torygraph, of course, quotes the highest retail prices for both, as if ‘plebs’, especially Scottish plebs should not be allowed to wear such items.

Odd. You think they’d be delighted to see Scotland’s First Minister happily supporting home grown products, both started by working class, canny Scots. But why let facts get in the way of sly, racial sneers. Clearly the Torygraph thinks Scots should all dress like Rab C Nesbitt. How dare these sweaty socks aspire to ‘get above’ themselves. I call it the ‘union cringe’.

201. Fred

Basically a fishin-jaiket a Barbour has the bottom waterproofed for wading. Ideal for floods!

202. Chic McGregor

@Lenny Hartley

Apologies, just read your link.

203. Fred

Have heard Bowie pronounced booey in Glesga & Brewer pronounced a-r-s-e.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.