1. 08 11 14 07:40

Right around the corner - Speymouth

118 to “Right around the corner”

1. jimnarlene

“Thank god that’s the last we’ll see of him”

Oh, you bloody well think so…….tick tock.

2. gordoz

Just the right height to land that south paw on the crown jewels too!

3. fionan

Great cartoon as ever, Chris. I like the way the wee Scottish lion is checking his claws :)Roll on May 2015 when hopefully SLAB will be grallached. o/t woohoo, first comment!

4. The Morgatron

Hehehehe. Hes behind you!
    Fantastic work as always.

5. cearc

Hoo-raa for Hamish!

6. Donald

That image sets me up nicely for the weekend.

7. AuldA

That lion seems not feral enough. He lacks claws!

8. cearc

Auld A,

They are there all right. Cats have retractable claws.

9. Luigi

Yep, Westminster have taken their eye of the Scottish ball again. That’s it. Referendum won. Done and dusted. Jocks back in the box. Business as usual.

They are in for one hell of a shock.

10. Cadogan Enright

George Osbourne was just on the radio (8.45am Sat Morning) calling for a ‘Sovereign Wealth Fund’ to be established for the North of England so that revenues from shale gas would not be frittered away on day to day expenditure. Thought I should let you guys know as soon as possible!

God forbid that any such fund might be established in Scotland using Scottish Oil revenue!

11. Free Scotland

Gaun yersel, Hamish. Any second noo, his white troosers will turn broon.

12. McBoxheid

Cracking cartoon!
    If you move the mouse over the lion’s belly you get a popup saying “that’s where our baby stays.” So its a female. Either very clever, Nicola is ready to pounce, or ?

13. heedtracker

It’s great but that Scottish lion may well be a woman and they are meant to be the more deadly of species:D

14. Truth

@Cadogan Enright

Enraging isn’t it? The only reason there was no oil fund is that Westminster knew the money was rightfully ours. They didn’t want the Scots finally waking up and walking off with the booty.

The Shetland oil fund only exists because they had possession fom the start.

Far harder to get the money back when it’s already been spent.

Love the cartoon.

15. Clootie

McBoxheid says:
    8 November, 2014 at 9:02 am
    That banner pops up anywhere on the cartoom!

Great cartoon Chris

16. McBoxheid

Strange! Whereever you put the mouse on the cartoon the popup appears. You have to take it off the cartoon the move it on again at the popup appears.

17. Charles Edward

Watched Nicola speak in Dundee last night.
    Inspirational lady.
    Indy is never going away.
    We all have a job to do here.
    Redirecting the positive energy wasted on the wasters. Move on from the vote.
    Recognise those that helped and those that didn’t. And move forward.
    Consider the small ways you can advance Scotland and what it needs. Keep the young in the loop, don’t let the apathy return.
    Inform those closest to you that Labour are an empty shell of what they once represented. Membership and support for SNP is the deciding factor for the future of Scotland.
    There will be a Scottish Constitution.
    There will be an undeniable re balancing of how Scots view themselves. This is a good thing.
    Stepping stones.

18. Bugger (the Panda)

Great cartoon, as always, and does what a political cartoon says on the tin; makes a complicated set of facts visually simple.

Now, an OT.

I will be in Freuchie on the Friday night before Nicola’s Glasgow rally at the Hydro.

During my short stay in Scotland I will be based in Glasgow.

So if anyone needs a lift from NE Fife (one way only, sorry) to Glasgow I am available.

I will be leaving early, as I have to leave the car with my niece in the NW of Glasgow and take the train back into the City centre, because I will having a wee drinkie after the congregation.

I have made no secret of my blogging e-mail address so, here it is for anyone interested.

innerbearsden(at)gmail(dot)com Replace the words in the brackets with the appropriate symbols.

This post, or the letter part, should be in the OFF TOPIC section but normally only the lost souls of the usual subjects haunt that area of the Wings basement. They normally cannot travel in daylight hours.

Remember this a one way offer, you will need to work out your own way home.

19. MajorBloodnok

20. Bugger (the Panda)

What has Hamish got hidden in his right hand behind his back?

A podger of Scottish righteousness?

21. AuldA

@cearc :

Yep, but I thought this lion would have honed his claws while waiting for his quarry…

@BtP:

Don’t forget to bring:

• Fois gras
    • Armagnac
    • Magrets de canard
    • Cassoulet
    • Saucisson

with you! Good trip homewards!

22. heedtracker

The female of the species is more deadly than the male, should be, sorry! Read around Sat newspaper UK news papers and nothing happened in Scotland this week anywhere. We’re being deleted and erased from teamGB news land but rancid old Graun has Lewes town burning effigy of Alex Salmond, yawn.

23. Brian Powell

Cadogan Enright

So the plan would be, the North of England can have its lands and properties ruined, and the fund would be put away until the Treasury can think of some wheeze, some tax, to get at it at some late date.

24. Robert Peffers

The Female of the Species

“When the Himalayan peasant meets the he-bear in his pride,
    He shouts to scare the monster, who will often turn aside.
    But the she-bear thus accosted rends the peasant tooth and nail.
    For the female of the species is more deadly than the male.

When Nag the basking cobra hears the careless foot of man,
    He will sometimes wriggle sideways and avoid it if he can.
    But his mate makes no such motion where she camps beside the trail.

When the early Jesuit fathers preached to Hurons and Choctaws,
    They prayed to be delivered from the vengeance of the squaws.
    ‘Twas the women, not the warriors, turned those stark enthusiasts pale.

Man’s timid heart is bursting with the things he must not say,
    For the Woman that God gave him isn’t his to give away;
    But when hunter meets with husbands, each confirms the other’s tale—
    The female of the species is more deadly than the male.

Man, a bear in most relations—worm and savage otherwise,—
    Man propounds negotiations, Man accepts the compromise.
    Very rarely will he squarely push the logic of a fact
    To its ultimate conclusion in unmitigated act.

Fear, or foolishness, impels him, ere he lay the wicked low,
    To concede some form of trial even to his fiercest foe.
    Mirth obscene diverts his anger—Doubt and Pity oft perplex
    Him in dealing with an issue—to the scandal of The Sex!

But the Woman that God gave him, every fibre of her frame
    Proves her launched for one sole issue, armed and engined for the same;
    And to serve that single issue, lest the generations fail,
    The female of the species must be deadlier than the male.

She who faces Death by torture for each life beneath her breast
    May not deal in doubt or pity—must not swerve for fact or jest.
    These be purely male diversions—not in these her honour dwells—
    She the Other Law we live by, is that Law and nothing else.

She can bring no more to living than the powers that make her great
    As the Mother of the Infant and the Mistress of the Mate.
    And when Babe and Man are lacking and she strides unclaimed to claim
    Her right as femme (and baron), her equipment is the same.

She is wedded to convictions—in default of grosser ties;
    Her contentions are her children, Heaven help him who denies!—
    He will meet no suave discussion, but the instant, white-hot, wild,
    Wakened female of the species warring as for spouse and child.

Unprovoked and awful charges—even so the she-bear fights,
    Speech that drips, corrodes, and poisons—even so the cobra bites,
    Scientific vivisection of one nerve till it is raw
    And the victim writhes in anguish—like the Jesuit with the squaw!

So it comes that Man, the coward, when he gathers to confer
    With his fellow-braves in council, dare not leave a place for her
    Where, at war with Life and Conscience, he uplifts his erring hands
    To some God of Abstract Justice—which no woman understands.

And Man knows it! Knows, moreover, that the Woman that God gave him
    Must command but may not govern—shall enthral but not enslave him.
    And She knows, because She warns him, and Her instincts never fail,
    That the Female of Her Species is more deadly than the Male.”

Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936).

Great work again, Chris.

25. Stoker

AuldA says:
    8 November, 2014 at 8:28 am
    That lion seems not feral enough. He lacks claws!
    _________

AuldA,
    I see and agree with what you’re saying but try looking at it this way – Lions (like most members of the cat family) have retractable claws which usually stay tucked away when walking or at rest.
    Adds another perspective to the cartoon, doesn’t it.

26. cearc

We are strengthening and honing our claws and will show them at the right time.

27. No no no...Yes

Clever and thought provoking cartoon. I noticed the word “Him” in is bold, and there is a reference about this lion being a female. So, this is the sneering, strutting Ukok thinking it has seen off AS. The reality is that they are actually about to walk right into a fearsome female called Nicola the Lion (called Nicolion?), who has been biding her time and has the capability to rip him apart.

I think it is the best one yet.

28. AuldA

@Stoker:

Hmmmm… Maybe this lion believes more in its punch rather than its claws! 😉

Leo ad prædam nunquam renuntiat.

29. HandandShrimp

I think Hamish just needs to say “Boo”.

30. Wee Jonny

Ace cartoon again Chris. Can we rename Hamish Nicola?
    Went to see Nicola last night in the Caird Hall. We are so fortunate to have her. Her words on how to move forward as a country and how to deal with no voters hit the spot as I’ve refused to meet up with or even visit friends that were no voters because I hated them all. Not now though thanks to oor new First Minister.

31. vlad (not that one)

@AuldA: Google wants to translate this as “Leo never prey to reports.” Eh?

32. AuldA

@No no no…Yes:

Do you intend to say that Nicola had been lionized? 🙂

33. dramfineday

I enjoyed that Chris – thank you!

34. ronald alexander mcdonald

Is the prick with the Butchers Apron waistcoat supposed to be Ian Davidson?

35. AuldA

Google is already quite flaky for modern languages, so for Latin, it does not surprise me that it spits out havers.

It means: ‘The lion never gives up his prey.’

36. Smout

Look forward to every Hamish appearance. And, as usual, this does not disappoint.

Chris, would you mind if I attempted to make a 3D representation?

37. Helena Brown

Heedtracker @ 9.44am, I have a young friend who has a hamster called Hamish who has unfortunately turned out to be female, so perhaps our Hamish is masquerading also. Yes perhaps our Hamish should be a lioness, she is much more deadly as she has the family to feed.

38. Swami Backverandah

@CadoganEnright
    re Osborne Sovereign Wealth Fund Mock-Up Vow Pledge Promise.

If you listen carefully you can hear his SPAD in the background muttering to a irate London Hedge-Fraud Manager not to worry, because in fact he’s only promised the north half the fund, the other half is actually a rebate to London, and then the initial half will be charged back in fees to service the rebate. 🙂

39. Helena Brown

Robert Peffers @ 9.58am Thank you, believe me I have never read this and we all know how often it is said.

40. Quinie frae Angus

@ Wee Jonny

Can you re-iterate for us what Nicola said about how to deal with our “No-voting” friends as I too am finding it tedious to have to deal with them and their smug ignorance on Facebook. I hate them all too!!! Well, that is what it feels like, anyway.

My head AND my heart are having to work overtime in transcending these feelings. Could do with a bit of common sense from Nicola to help me…..

41. Quinie frae Angus

@Chris Cairns

Love this cartoon! Funny and heart-warming.

42. Snode1965

Cadogan Enright. On the subject of Northern England Oil Fund. This plan is obviously meant to appease the English voters, regarding on land fracking. So why no mention of a Scottish Fracking Fund? Are the Tories stupid enough to ignore us completely or does their Plan pave the way for devolved control of Scottish Oil Tax? Tories have just issued the largest ever batch of North Sea drilling licences,(123) which is no coincidence surely. If the Tories back Home Rule it would help us destroy Labour and maybe pick up a few Scottish seats, or am I just being naive?

43. Snode1965

@ Chris Cairns. Subtle brilliance!

44. mogabee

Very clever Chris indeed.

45. Dave McEwan Hill

If anything epitomises the collapse of the Herald as an organ of information, opinion and intelligent thought it is Magnus Gardham’s article today on this issue.
    Under a headline of some promise it is a ramble of almost startling inconsequence.
    Thank God they still give us Ian Bell

On the other hand Bella Caledonia gives us this today
    http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/11/08/responsibility-without-power-no-way-to-run-scotland-in-the-union

46. Sinky

Heard our friend John McTernan on Radio Four Week at Westminster describing SNP as extremists, despite being party of government for seven and a half years, and linking SNP to UKIP which is Labour Party’s normal narrative these days.

47. Valerie

@Sinky, that is a disgusting comparison, and it is the typical propaganda used by many prior to the vote. It’s makes me furious as I am now a member of SNP.

There are still a lot of haters out there spewing their bile, and its too bad they get a seat at debates, when it’s clear they are thick, one trick ponies

48. Sinky

Fro Hootsman.

ALEX Salmond is set to go head-to-head with Danny Alexander in next year’s General Election as the outgoing First Minister plans to take the cabinet minister’s seat next year.

Sources within the SNP have told the Daily Mail that Mr Alexander’s seat in Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey is being targeted by Mr Salmond, who wants to “scalp” a senior Westminster figure.

Seems strange as Malcolm Bruce’s seat in Gordon is a more likely option if Alex Salmond goes for Westminster.

49. Proud Cybernat

See a lion!

C A Lion?

Rearrange into a well-known FM in-waiting name.

(Most excellent ‘toon, Chris).

50. Wee Jonny

Quinie frae Angus –
    She said that everyone was entitled to their vote wether that be a Yes or no and we should respect their decision. That we all had our reasons for voting the way we did and to spend our finite energy on moving forward and not dwelling on the past. And we shouldn’t let the referendum result come in-between eachother. She also said that the people that voted no were our friends before September 18th and we shared a lot of interests with them and not to let their decision ruin relationships. That it was our duty now to work on those friends to try and let them see how Westminster treats Scotland.

When asked from a member of the audience on her feelings about the labour party she said she’s not going to waste any of her energy on another party’s issues as she’s focussed on her own party in winning the next election and making Scotlands voice in Westminster heard.

My wife nudged me as Nicola was saying this as like I said earlier, I’ve changed a fair bit in the last year and more so since Sep’ 18th, as a lot of us probably have, (I’ve been quite short and to the point with friends and my customers who I’ve had a great relationship with for the last 13 years as I look at them in a different way as I’m thinking “You’ve put this country back years with your no vote yi bastard”) but listening to Nicola’s words hit home and we visited a friend last night after leaving the Caird Hall and arranged a night oot with our no voting friends next week.

51. terry

HI Sinky – I also heard him calling the SNP extremist – idiot.

Cadogan Enright says:
    8 November, 2014 at 9:00 am
    George Osbourne was just on the radio (8.45am Sat Morning) calling for a ‘Sovereign Wealth Fund’ to be established for the North of England so that revenues from shale gas would not be frittered away on day to day expenditure. Thought I should let you guys know as soon as possible!

Just to say during the campaign I emailed both Yes Scotland and Better Together as to why Scotland didn’t have a sovereign wealth fund when countries like Ghana and Ireland do – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_sovereign_wealth_funds

Yes Scotland said they couldn’t answer for Westminster but (as we all know) an independent Scotland would set one up. As for Better Together? They did not have the decency to reply – even when I emailed again. The stuff in the north of england is a sop to them – but bloody cheek to us and the oil.

Fab cartoon – love it and it’s setting me up nicely for seeing Nicola in Inverness on Monday night – don’t you just love InvernYESs? especially when you stay in Aberdeen – ahem – although we are trying to shift things here…

52. Grouse Beater

Terry: “You’ve put this country back years with your no vote yi bastard”

And you are right.

53. Quinie frae Angus

@ Wee Jonny

Thanks for that. Jeez, she’s a better woman than I am. She’s right of course.

Had to laugh though, at your admission of thinking “You’ve put this country back years with your No vote yi bastard”.

How many Wingers have felt exactly the same??? Hundreds, if not thousands, I bet.

But yep, they (the Nos) were entitled to their vote, and yes we do have to continue on alongside them.

And resist from saying “I telt ye so” as bit by bit they learn just how they are being screwed over by Westminster.

54. Valerie

Soz Chris meant to say fab cartoon on all levels, intelligent and funny the way political satire should be 🙂

55. Valerie

Totally agree it’s been hard to not look at very good close friends in a lesser light because they told you they voted No, but I am very high on mutual respect, so I have tried hard to just not discuss it, as there is one friend I just can’t or don’t want to lose. I am at the age where I only spend time with good people, that we enjoy our time together etc

Just before the vote, I was on a debating forum, and someone posted the question ‘Are there any single blokes on here voting Yes, that are looking for a Yes lady’ it got the most responses and so funny, because so many said they know it is now a deal breaker!

56. Fred

At least McTernan isnae two-faced or he widnae be usin that one!

57. Another Union Dividend

It seems its the last we’ll see of Alex Salmond on John Bull BBC as BBC are not covering our First Minister’s conference speech on Friday afternoon on either of their two main channels.

Amazing that the UK’s third largest party is ignored on mainstream TV when compared to the extensive coverage on BBC 2 to the Labour and Tory party conferences.

How can the State Broadcaster defend this?

58. manandboy

@Sinky
    John McTernan on Radio Four Week at Westminster describing SNP as extremists

Nor will he stop until May 9th.
    It’s just the No Campaign continuing where it left off.

McTernan knows full well that if you say something often enough in the media, even though it is a vile lie, it gets inside people’s heads and acts as an unconscious influence to the point where many will believe ‘it must be true’ and vote accordingly.

That’s how propaganda works, and it’s very effective.
    It cost us Independence and it will do more damage to the Indy cause in the future for the same reason.

Murphy & McTernan have a plan to restore Labour in Scotland.
    Using the power of TV, radio & Print media ,
    they will smear the SNP while extolling the virtues of Labour and then offering an explanation of how Labour HAD to sleep with the Tories for the good of the country.
    The gullible, many elderly, and all those with a strong affection for the BBC and no internet, will buy into it big time.

It’ll work.
    They’ve proved that already in IndyRef.

59. Kenny

Having the BBC and all the print media against us just means that we are going to have to go out and try even harder to convince those who have not joined the yes camp.

Become your own media. Make a Word file of all the fine achievements of the SNP in government or, alternatively, of the lies told by the no campaign (proved wrong). Print out an A4 page and give to a friend.

Great speech by Nicola in Dundee, I am very proud of Scotland having such a world-class politician at its helm. She is the type of politician we can be proud of abroad, she is a stark contrast to the likes of Cameron, Farage, Clegg and Milliband.

Just goes to show we ARE a world-class country and can no longer afford to be tied down to the corrupt and bankrupt (economically, politically, moral) union that is the “UKOK”.

60. manandboy

valerie reports that ‘so many said they know it is now a deal breaker’.
    Why not? The vows require two yes’s.

61. manandboy

Ps. Political debate is over. Smear and fear is the future.

62. Rab.c

All John Bull was ever good for, was fixing bicycle punctures.

63. heedtracker

Murphy and Macternan/BBC are only going after the Labour vote that polls show they lost after 18th Sept. Ignore and monster Yes vote, divide and conquer or just divide is enough after their Project Fear triumph. The future of Scotland lies in the hands of very powerful BBC propagandists and expense freaks like Murphy ofcourse. Only hope is their planning is as crazy as Cameron, Miliband and Crash Gordon were with their hysterical The Vow fraud but it’s unlikely.

64. YESGUY

Chris .

Love this, popped a copy on my pc . Its this weeks screensaver.

Saturday is cartoon day. Big thanks for the lift.

65. Grouse Beater

Sinky: It’s just the No Campaign continuing where it left off.

In which case McTernan and Co acknowledge they didn’t win the battle.

He’s right to be scared, very scared.

66. Nana Smith

Brilliant cartoon Chris. Your art is just wonderful.

67. Nana Smith

O/T This morning’s enticement from labour below.

Nana Smith,

The Scottish Labour leadership election ballot opens in less than two weeks. The nominations are in and we have a great field of candidates.

We want you to have the chance to have your say, but you can only vote in these elections if you’re a party member — and if you join now, it’ll cost you a special reduced rate of just £5 for the whole year:

Our members will now decide the future of Scottish Labour — will you join them?

If the answer’s ‘yes’, then click here to get started.

Looking forward to having you play your part in this decision.

Best,

Anas Sarwar
    Interim Leader of the Scottish Labour Party

P.S. Anyone aged 14 and older can vote, so if you’re eligible, make sure you get involved!

68. Wee Jonny

“Charles Edward says
    Watched Nicola speak in Dundee last night.
    Inspirational lady.
    Indy is never going away.
    We all have a job to do here.
    Redirecting the positive energy wasted on the wasters. Move on from the vote.
    Recognise those that helped and those that didn’t. And move forward”

^what he said^

69. Mealer

That’s a really good cartoon.Thanks.

70. Valerie

Oh Nana Smith, that is funny, they are offering a special £5 rate to join? I’d rather have my toenails pulled out! That is desperate stuff offering a vote for £5.

Also need to remember Egg boy has retained McDougall, and as he is on record as preferring fear, we can expect his tired bag of tricks to be aired.

When your argument lacks substance, employ fear.

71. Rigmac7

@Nana Smith

You know, I almost feel obliged to join just to vote for Ms Boyack and try to get some decency back into Scottish politics – and to put a stick in the spokes of Murph-o-cycle.

Does also smack of “hey school kids, spend your pocket money here and feel really important”

72. Nana Smith

Valerie I thought it was too funny not to share with every winger. Laugh out loud stuff coming from labour almost daily.

73. YESGUY

Robert Peffers @ 9.58am

Ha always an education Robert. 🙂

Never seen the whole poem before but heard a tune with the words.

Sinky and Valerie

Labour have nothing positive to say or offer. Vote Labour get the same broken Britain different ugly face. This is a big plus for us .

No one can be bothered listening when all we hear is moans and smears. They are reeling from the shock of the polls and resort to anti SNP and the bile , straight out of the “project fear” manual .

This will be their undoing. Most Scots are well up on politics. They have heard it all before and still fight on and the numbers with them grow each day.

let them carry on with their spiteful bile, After May next year they will be a bunch of has beens blaming everyone but themselves for their fall.

Patience folks . Remember this and take some joy from the fact that they are putting up a desperate fight for their lives. They will be “Put Down” soon.

Maybe get a job as an extra in one of those Zombie films . After all , there is limited employment for the dead.

But take heart. The louder the shout and scream the more we know we get to them.

And we were supposed to fade away so they could back to normal. Shockerooney , that’s not happening . Hell even the tory’s are aware how bad they are and are holding off the bad comments because they fear the SNP more.

Happy day indeed. 😉

74. Nana Smith

@Rigmac7

Sadly they have no credibility. Boyack stood with the No voters knowing full well YES was way forward to a fair Scotland. I doubt she would change now as party always comes before Scotland where slab are concerned.

So your £5 would be totally wasted.

75. caz-m

Here is Murphy at his most comfortable. Being pictured with Tory MSP Jackson Carlow for the Better Together campaign. Notice how proud Murphy looks as he poses with the Tories and Union jacks. Taken in Aug 2012

http://www.newsnetscotland.scot/index.php/referendum/5684-better-together-confusion-for-scottish-labour-as-party-joins-hated-tories

Murphy is a self serving, right wing unionist, hypocritical, bar steward and the picture in the Newsnet article should be used against him in the May 2015 GE campaign.

76. Chris Cairns

@smout fire away – folk tend to pick up these and do all sorts with them which is cool. It’s only if someone starts mass producing and flogging that my small army of highly trained lawyers will descend.
    And to those relative newcomers to Wings – welcome … but you should know the lion is called Hamish and he’s no’ a burd.
    That is all.
    Carry on.

77. Molly

Just so we all know when Mcternan is giving his views on our TV screens, is he employed by Labour or just a freelance? Anyone know?

He certainly seems to feel authorised to speak on behalf of Labour but just so the BBC caption underneath can be clear who he is- ha ha ha

78. Rigmac7

@Nana Smith

Don’t get me wrong, I’m looking at it as the best (not a good adjective) of the bad bunch. If a few thousand of the new SNP membership were to join/vote/resign – we could actually decide the new SLAB leader – a real tango moment …. just an obsevation.

It’s a slow Saturday

79. Macart

@Nana

Couldn’t agree more Nana. Labour have proven time and again that the party comes before the people. A living example of that is the Rev’s poll on powers. Overwhelmingly people are not only aware of what devo max is supposed to be, but are also in favour of it. Ditto on the trust front when it comes to Westminster/Holyrood. Holyrood receives resounding support.

Yet what are Labour’s proposals for powers again? They’re not really believable on that whole getting in touch with voters, reconciliation, listening thing they keep banging on about are they?

Enough said.

80. ronnie anderson

@Bugger the Panda,( This post, or the letter part, should be in the OFF TOPIC section but normally only the lost souls of the usual subjects haunt that area of the Wings basement. They normally cannot travel in daylight hours.) ur you cawin us Vampire,s. I’ll bite yer neck, see you on the 22nd lol.

81. Alex Clark

@YESGUY

For now the Tories are singing and dancing in the aisles and pews of the HoC over the result of the referendum.

They “won” the vote and slaughtered the Labour Party in Scotland in the process. Jubilation!

We intend to wipe the smug smile from their faces too.

82. YESGUY

Nana Smith

The fiver would be worth it just to go to their members get together and find out it was just me and my YES badges, empty hall and empty promises . Good value at only a fiver.

Wee reminder when they asked not to donate any more cash for the BT cause as they were loaded. Hah Utter shite.

And why didn’t they donate the excess to food banks the lieing thieves.

Nichola has pulled a beauty by donating the overflow of cash from the CW to the NHS. Salmond trained this lassie and she’s well prepared. He will go to WM and she will win independence by 2017. President Sturgeon.?? YES 😉

Oh and Hamish is a boy. Not a girl. He has a mane . Girly lions have the old short back and sides. hamish is an old rocker. 🙂

83. YESGUY

Alex clark.1.54

Agreed pal. This will be a win for us . No doubts this time.

84. ronnie anderson

We lost the referendum but with Nicola n Hamish WE can CLAW it back. Plaudits galore Chris.

85. handclapping

Hamish, proud Scot, nae buts.

Anther grand cartoon, thank you Chris.

86. Smout

@Chris, your army of lawyers can sleep tight, I don’t even have a sewing machine so mass production is along way off. Will post a picture if it works then we can discuss royalties 😉

87. Natasha

I have a sewing machine . . .

88. Paula Rose

Embroidery and sewing! Only on wings can you find such political connections.

89. Smout

@Natasha, if I get the shapes sorted, you can sew them together. Now all we need is someone to stuff and a weaver to make the bunnet!

90. msean

About time 🙂

91. Smout

Paula Rose, only here to stitch them up 😉

92. Robert Peffers

@Wee Jonny says:8 November, 2014 at 10:40 am:

“Ace cartoon again Chris. Can we rename Hamish Nicola?
    Went to see Nicola last night in the Caird Hall. We are so fortunate to have her.

I agree with you on both counts. Chris has consistently very high standards as does the SNP. I’ve been very impressed by the entire present SG. Not one of them that isn’t a very competant SMP, MP or MEP. One who has always impressed me is Stewart Hosie. I put his demolition job on Baron Robertson of Port Ellen up on YouTube. It was a quiet and respectful job carried out with ease.

An independent Scotland certainly would have potential government ministers genetically programmed to lead our country and Nicola is certainly one of the best. A real lioness in sheep’s clothing and I think the Westminster Establishment won’t be waiting too long to find that out.

93. Bugger (the Panda)

I repeat, last time, I am in Freuchie the evening before Nocola’s Hydro meeting.

I can offer a one-way journey down to Glasgow to anyone from NE Fife that morning, but not the return.

Anyone?

innerbearsden(at)gmail.com

94. Paula Rose

Someone to stuff?

95. Bugger (the Panda)

@ronnie

With pleasure but the fluid will be red biddy.

96. Bugger (the Panda)

Helena Brown

How many Hamish hamsters has she had?

2 year life cycle, and difficult to identify????

97. Smout

Just a good upholsterer Paula Rose, to make the most of Hamish’s manly frame.

98. ronnie anderson

@ Bugger the panda ah wiz brough up on rid biddy ever heard of ELDERADO great song.

99. Robert Peffers

@Helena Brown says: 8 November, 2014 at 11:21 am:

“Robert Peffers @ 9.58am Thank you, believe me I have never read this and we all know how often it is said.”

You are most welcome, Helena, I have one of those memories that seldom forgets things read, heard or watched. I can recall the exact film dialogue from films I watched as a wee boy. As an amateur video film maker, I have a fair collection of old films, DVDs & tapes.

For some reason dialogue, song lyrics and poems stick in my mind.

100. muttley79

Somebody is suggesting independence supporters join SLAB to vote in Boyack? No chance, there is no point in having anything to do with them. Boyack is more decent than Murphy. However, she is supporting bypassing Holyrood and giving powers to councils in Scotland, which is code for trying to save SLAB’s local government base. We cannot trust Boyack or the rest of SLAB. They are only interested in their party, not the people of Scotland.

101. Paula Rose

How about a Hamish costume – to be worn at future events?

102. cirsium

And resist from saying “I telt ye so” as bit by bit they learn just how they are being screwed over by Westminster.

Unfortunately, Quinie fae Angus, the response of a good proportion of the No voters to being screwed over is “Thank you, Sir, may I have another.”

103. Alex Clark

@ronnie anderson

Nae Eldorado for you ronnie, I suspect you wir a Lanliq man or mibee Four Crown 😉

104. David

WELL I am NOT Hamish……..but you had better to get on the wrong side of a Scottish Leo Male. Nor Nicola either even if she misses out by being a Leo at birth by a few days.

Great Cartoon and I don’t think Rhona can save him this time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZvG-yEfBvQ

105. Smout

Hamish costume? Good idea. I trust you will get the vital statistics for the wingers 😉

106. David

ooops NOT became to 🙁

107. bugsbunny

As the old 20s song goes, “Just around the corner, theres a rainbow in the sky”, “Have another cup of coffee, have another piece of pie”. Hopefully humble pie for fatty John Bull, who I believe was based on the gluttonous King George IV?

Stephen.

108. Bugger (the Panda)

@ ronnie anderson

I will explain my intimate connection with Buckie and LD when we meet at the Hydro or, just after in the YES bar.

109. Nana Smith

So it seems the unions are throwing their weight behind a Lamont clone….

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2014/nov/findlay-joins-lamont-murphy-considering-cuts

110. Croompenstein

@Chris – the lion is called Hamish and he’s no’ a burd

Brilliant Chris, I was out at pub watching the rugby I wish Hamish had been at Murrayfield to claw the een oot the proud scot buts singing FOS. The sight of a butchers apron in the crowd was enough for me so left the pub

111. Broch Landers

Putting the PUNCH back into political satire. We heartily approve, Sir.

112. Isla Davidson

Great Cartoon
    Scottish lion calmly biding its time
    Waiting to pounce

113. Lenny Hartley

Brian Doonthetoon

Brian can you put doon Lenny Hartley and Rab Collinson

cheers cu all on the 22nd.

114. Maureen

Think this needs reposting 7 months down the line with the addition of 55 lion cubs.

115. Karen

Rev stuart I admire your website

I don’t like it when people make fun of me
    Stuart what do you do for a living. ?
    What difference will theses mps make ?
    Just let me say I have been Separated for 1 year and 6 months and I can’t even get into it as it hurts.

Please don’t scare me with the ugly eyes on the website
    Winding people up isn’t good in my nature.
    Please don’t kill me if my typing and grammar isn’t up to your standard.
    People are individual and unique different in many ways.
    I do not wish get involved with politics
    You know the song flying with wings I don’t want to do that really.

116. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Rev stuart I admire your website

I don’t like it when people make fun of me”

I’m not sure what it is that’s upset you 🙁

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.