Remember, YOU WILL DIE

Posted on July 21, 2014 by

We telephoned Organ Donation Scotland on Friday for their reaction to the despicable scare stories being put around by a teenage Labour activist from Liverpool bussed up to Scotland last week by the No campaign.

harrydoyle

We’re still waiting for them to get back to us with a quote. But in the meantime, it’s been predictable – but no less disgraceful – to see senior Labour figures repeating the lie. It all seems to be part of a major Unionist offensive on health, doubtless sparked by fears that privatisation of the English NHS will lead to a significant reduction in the Scottish block grant and corresponding damage to the Scottish health service.

The No camp, unsurprisingly, has chosen to fight fear with fear.

It should go without saying that the organ-donation story is utterly baseless scaremongering. The four health services covering the UK are already independent but co-operate closely on transplants, as they do on everything else. The transplant service already operates across the entire UK (and also Europe) by virtue of reciprocal agreements which would be completely unaffected by any political change.

(Scots are more generous organ donors than most of the UK. As with public spending, we give proportionately more than we get back.)

But Labour weren’t done with trying to frighten Scots yet. Kezia Dugdale MSP’s column in today’s Daily Record fumes with pretend outrage at an alleged claim by an unnamed Yes campaigner that charges for visiting your GP might be introduced after a No vote. Dugdale’s fake fury seethes from the page:

“That’s a scandalous, sick lie. There’s more chance of me beating Usain Bolt at Hampden than there is of anyone introducing a fee to see the doctor.

The reality is that no-one, not a single political party is advocating charging folk to see their GP.”

Of course, in the 2010 election nobody was advocating privatising the Royal Mail, but it still happened. The Tories stood on a promise to end “top-down reorganisations” of the NHS – going so far as to include that pledge in the coalition agreement – and then immediately embarked on what the BBC described as “the biggest reorganisation [of the English NHS] since its creation”.

coalition

And political parties may not (yet, officially) be advocating GP charges, but plenty of influential bodies are, and a majority of English GPs support the plans. That doesn’t mean it’ll definitely happen, but it’s certainly a very plausible prospect, and one we’d put an awful lot more money on than on Kezia Dugdale ever outsprinting Usain Bolt.

But the Labour MSP wasn’t finished fibbing.

“The one place you do have to pay is just across the water. It’s 50 euros a visit in Ireland – that low-tax Celtic Tiger that Alex Salmond is so fond of.”

There are at least two lies in that claim. Ireland isn’t even remotely “the one place you have to pay” for a GP visit – in fact around two-thirds of EU countries charge for GP appointments. And the charge in Ireland isn’t “50 euros a visit” either. The truth is that there are no set fees, that around a third of people are eligible for exemptions, and most parties in the country have plans to extend exemption to everyone.

It doesn’t take a brain surgeon to see what Kezia Dugdale is trying to do by brazenly misinforming Scots about healthcare in Ireland. The implication is that an independent Scotland would have to follow suit, whereas in fact the Irish direction of travel is the opposite of that in England – AWAY from charges, not towards them. (And of course, Scotland is economically a far stronger country than Ireland anyway.)

But there’s no room for niceties like truth when you’re the No campaign, the polls are a little tighter than you’d like and more and more Labour grandees and voters alike are moving towards Yes. Dignity and integrity go out of the window, and the scare stories get ramped up to 11. Kezia Dugdale’s combination of complacency, arrogance and bare-faced mendacity is sadly the norm for modern Labour, not the exception.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 21 07 14 13:19

Remember, YOU WILL DIE | Scottish Independence News

2. 22 07 14 23:56

Daily Docs #49 | Frann Leach

99 to “Remember, YOU WILL DIE”

1. muttley79

Kezia Dugdale = endless lying.

2. David

Labour Pollytician stranger to the truth

3. Bugger (the Panda)

I think Kezia Dugdale could easily beat Usain Bolt, if the race was held withing a Better Together Rally and the BBC played the pre-recorded video.

Usain would start at the mile marker and Dugdale at the Ladies T, about 90 m marker,

Only the final 50 m would be broadcast

4. GrahamB

Donor banks do not just cooperate across the UK but throughout Europe as well.

5. Tattie-bogle

Child for sale child for sale harvest their organs. It’s getting creepier the shite they are coming away with

6. Doug Daniel

“That doesn’t mean it’ll definitely happen, but it’s certainly a very plausible prospect, and one we’d put an awful lot more money on than on Kezia Dugdale ever outsprinting Usain Bolt.”

In fairness, she says “beat” rather than “outsprint”. She’d be the odds-on favourite in a lying contest.

7. Grant

Please do not feed the troll … “tis true”.

8. Should we really be surprised by this now? I honestly find the funniest part of this the fact that they are busing people up from England to convince Scots to vote no. Can;t find enough of them in Scotland eh?

9. Doug

I have copied this from the last thread, although this article sums it up well.

“I write this as a GP. They are talking pish – shock!

Cross-border care is common – in mainland Europe, between UK/Ireland, between UK/Malta etc. Be it accidents near a border, blood/transplant, complicated paediatric surgery.

We already do it WITHIN the UK, with the four separate health services paying for care of their own residents in other parts of the UK. The infrastructure is already there – it’s just another example of “we really, REALLY love you, but if you dare leave us then you’ll suffer” without any logical basis.”

10. R-type Grunt

She’s either thick or she’s lying. Which is it Kezia?

11. muttley79

Given that Dugdale was the protégé of the Red Baron, hopes should not have very high that she would turn out to be anything other than a unionist troll. Those hopes have been realised.

12. desimond

When I picture Labour folk having the NHs set up explained to them via the use of Sets…”Okay we have the Scottish, Irish, Welsh and English NHSs..so thats separate circle BUT often they all work together,and we can see where they interact here!’

Cue Kezia and co with faces like Father Dougal having to be given the classic “These cows are small!, Those cows are far away” speech once more by Father Ted.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vh5kZ4uIUC0&feature=player_embedded

13. Dave Beveridge

Her or any other Labour MP/MSP would outsprint Usain Bolt no problem if they just saw an ermine robe dangling at the finish line.

14. Luigi

Perhaps the Scottish Labour Party would, at this stage, like to make one of those “written in blood” promises that the Barnett formula, free prescriptions, Scottish Water etc etc will be fully protected if Scotland votes NO in September? In fact, if the three main unionist parties found common ground in denying iScotland a currency, then surely they can all agree and make this promise:

You know, just like the one offered by the Lib Dems on tuition fees before the 2010 GE?

15. desimond

Place your bets for how long before Mags Curran pops up on screen saying “I dont want any Furriner blood!”

16. Les Wilson

Might be worth a “Wings” call to the Irish Health Authorities
    to check and debunk the ever more “out there” Dugdale.

17. Helena Brown

I am so bored with these Bitter folk. Not a decent lie anywhere, nothing that cannot be shown for what it is scaremongering. Is there someone still out there not already terrified enough, I mean does anyone know anybody who has decided to vote NO from YES because of those stories and I think, I may be wrong but anyone who has not made up their mind by now doesn’t have one to make up. I am sure we have been here before and like a spinning top we are back at the beginning.
    O/T I see Wings made the Nasty Cybernat list, along with oor Morag. Now that latter one should be good for suing because I have never seen a rude word from Morag. We all know oor Stu is good for one or two so fair game.

18. BigRik

Is there no end to their mince? If any of them are reading this, do you think that by lying and insulting at least half the population, that you will ever be voted in again? Wake up and smell the extra strong coffee, i ,and many others, will never believe a word you say again. If Labour told me the sky was blue, i’d have to look out the window.

19. Flower of Scotland

I hope that she is one who WILL be held to account after Independence ! She should be ashamed!

20. Flower of Scotland

Kezia Dugdale I mean!

21. CameronB Brodie

Perhaps the Labour ‘Truth Team’ can clear up any uncertainty?

22. donald anderson

Alex Salmond eats all the donated organs.

23. dennis mclaughlin

As you rightly say Stu things are getting a wee bit too tight for our Bitter Together party…..what else is left in their kitbag but mair barefaced lies and deception.
    Roll on the 18th :)….someone once braced ‘BringItOn’ ????????????????

24. Peter

We have no plans to intruduce tuition fees and will legislate to prevent them.

We have no plans to invade Iraq.

Only true in the sense of not having a big folder marked PLAN TO INVADE IRAQ.

Labour. A party that belongs in the dustbin of history.

25. CameronB Brodie

Helena Brown
    I’ve chatted with at least four folk in the last couple of days, who were just tuning in. I got the impression they all wanted to vote Yes, but they needed more information and were worried about the consequences of independence. I wonder why?

26. muttley79

Kezia Dugdale is in the Jim Murphy, Margaret Curran, Johann Lamont, Jackie Baillie, Douglas Alexander etc school of New Labour. No lie is big enough as they attempt to save their careers, lifestyles and status. They clearly do not believe in anything, beyond their own self preservation of course. They appear to be short of any sustaining, or indeed any recognisable, political principles. They are political nihilists.

27. Ninja Penguin

Kezia Dugdale is a habitual liar. A couple of months ago my boss asked me to reply to an e-mail she had sent to the Chairman of our Board. She got back to me immediately to say “I didn’t send an e-mail” (despite the fact that the message apparently came directly from her, and was not just sent on her behalf by her constituency office). Maybe she was miffed because the Chairman didn’t respond to her attempts at string-pulling in person.

28. Triangular Ears

There’s also the usual implied subsidy junkie line in that tweet too (which Stu touched on in the comment about being more generous donors). Scotland will “no longer receive them from the UK” but there’s no mention of the rUK not receiving them from Scotland any more in this fantasy scenario.

Similarly, 60m people in the UK pay for Scotland’s public services, we are told. No they do not. 60m people pay for 60m people’s public services. The 5m in Scotland pay for Scotland’s, and some more.

It’s a basic arithmetical fraud that’s a common theme in unionist ‘arguments’.

29. Quentin Quale

It seems the word is out that one of the major areas on which many DKs will base their Sept 18 decision is on health and in particular the NHS. Probably just coincidence that despicable pronouncements and scare stories happen just as chief medical officer for Scotland Harry Burns, who I’ll assume knows a fair wee bit about health, has come out in favour of independence. So usual scare stories debunked in minutes , Stu. Just send everyone who mentions health and the referendum to the wonderful NHS for Yes site.

30. dennis mclaughlin

Oops! This text correction goes a bit too far at times
    My last bit of the post was referring to Wendy’s challenge of ‘Bringitoan’ :).

31. galamcennalath

Absolutely dispicable twisting an incredibly emotive subject like donor transplants to suit their ends.

Perhaps this sounds a bit over the top …. I can’t help but now see this as a struggle between democracy, truth and justice versus the dark hand of British Nationalism which seeks to subvert these causes. And, subvert by absolutely any means.

All respect and decency has been cast aside by BT. This is a new moral low, but I could wager they will stoop further into the gutter before the 18th.

Forgiveness and reconcilliation after the vote …. how?

32. gerry parker

@ Muttley 79

Bang on sir, and it’s our duty to make sure everyone knows it.

33. liheartScotland

Have they no shame? (I know they don’t)
    Surely one of their most disgraceful efforts….
    I wish I could understand what they’re thinking.

34. Brian Mchugh

Stu, regardless of the vote, YES or no, I hope you realise just how important your continuous commentry right through from the inception of Wings, encompassing the entire referendum process, is?

…I predict there will be a history degree course at Glasgow University in years to come, based purely on Wings content. 😉

35. Sinky

EU Health Card anyone?

36. desimond

@galamcennalath

Oh this is just the start, as Rev hints above with title, I expect to see plenty of such stories, especially targeted at pensioners, children, carers and the infirm.

Big Blair has only just begun executing Plan B “Emotional Blackmail” after Plan A “The Economy Stoopid” lies didn’t work.

37. Ross

These new liebore types should never be allowed to stand for parliament in an independent Scotland. They’ve spent the best part of 3 years talking Scotland down. They should be held to account for their lies and never made to forget them.

38. Les Wilson

Would be interesting as to what Dr Phillipa Whitford would have to say about this?

39. Andrew Smith

If this scare story is true then surely it’s not in the best interests if the rest of the UK to stop organ sharing with Scotland as it will inevitably mean that British patients are denied organs that would otherwise be available to them in Scotland .

40. Tobias Hendry

We currently have a UK wide arrangement for organ donation that benefits patients in each Health Service. The only reason to dismantle that is the UK Gov taking the huff after a Yes vote. It madness that we have to spend time arguing against statements that are so devoid of common sense.

For reference. The Independant scandanavia countries have a organ donation exchange programme.
    http://www.scandiatransplant.org/

41. desimond

@Brian McHugh

Indeed but lets get the Movie “Wings of Dreams*” tagline (‘If you blog it, they will come!’) out the way first

*Based on the 2015 Times Best seller “Tales of a Bath Separatist”

42. Les Wilson

They truly do not care what they say, as long as the media gives it air, in their mind that is all they need.
    It is truly sickening, surely some in Labour should be speaking out about these lies.

Some must be ashamed and rightly so, however, I will not hold my breath as they have no decency left.

43. bookie from hell

Here’s Harry Doyle,Euro elections

And yet the media is all over Farage even though we did so well yesterday!!

funny when AS said it ,Alistair Darling compared him to a North Korea dictator

44. heedtracker

There is SO MUCH PROFIT in teamGB public sector just waiting to be creamed off by City spivs Crash Gordon’s fighting or lying at us so hard for. Vote NO Graun says there’s already £12+billion in student loans waiting to be sold to the Ciy. Vote NO for the City, Lord Brown, Baroness Dugdale, arise for saving teamGB

http://www.theguardian.com/money/2014/jul/20/vince-cable-cabinet-tensions-scrap-student-loan-sell-off

45. cynicalHighlander

Kezia might just be able to understand this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CsZojBhuy2Y

46. Dcanmore

Of course if the Labour Party introduced a GP fee tomorrow Kezia would be in there voting for it like a nice little Lab-bot that she is. Mind you if the Tories introduced it Labour would agree with it anyway.

Remember in Labour’s eye we’re a something for nothing country and that is a situation that will have to end. Kezia wants an end to free prescriptions, free elderly care, free bus passes and free education because that’s what the Labour’s hierarchy wants.

Kezia is about as free-thinking as a bear in Romanian zoo.

47. Rosa Alba Macdonald

http://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/jun/18/nurses-debate-10-fee-to-visit-gp?CMP=twt_gu

Nurses debate motion of £10 charge per doctor fees.

I may have been the person who worried about charges given the Boy’s accident-prone-ness due to ADHD and general excessive high temperature of 40º+ every time he is ill.

48. liheartScotland

In almost any democratic country on earth, this level of lies and deceit would be front page news.Journalists would hound these folk till they resigned. But in Scotland…….

49. Helena Brown

CameronB Brodie, Och I do realise that there are some out there who aren’t political anoraks.or tend to read everything but the newspapers but come on surely you have some sort of idea by now? I tend to the way of thinking if they are just starting to think how will they ever make it to the polling station. Okay I just hope that having got to the point of considering their position they can come up with the right one, and not go along with the man in the nice suit scenario.

50. raymond stone

Interesting to note that in Scotland 40% are on the organ donor register, in the UK it is 32%, so again Scotland gives more. – http://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/statistics/latest_statistics/ and per capita we have less waiting for an organ and less getting one as well

51. Dan Huil

The Labour party in Scotland along with its mouthpiece, the Daily Record, are a disgrace to Scotland.
    Their lies and deceit will, I’m sure, be much appreciated by the Westminster establishment. We can hear the sniggering from Bullingdon brats like Cameron as they see K Dugdale et al happily doing the British establishment’s dirty work.

52. John H.

Since Kezia Dugdale and her like are willing to lie so readily in their attempts to prevent a Yes vote, I assume that they won’t want to stay in an independent Scotland.I certainly hope so.We can do without them.

53. bookie from hell

Will Alistair Darling call Harry Doyle

Kim Jong-iL for comparison sake ( : > )

54. Mad Jock McMad

The ex CMO of Scotland is on record stating health will improve in an independent Scotland, the political Donny Osmond from Liverpool does not understand there are already separate blood and organ donor systems in Scotland and England which currently co-operate to England’s advantage, Ms Dugdale throws her toys out the pram in the Daily Retard, Brown chunders similar pap in the Hootsmon and there can be only one conclusion, the No Campaign is now left talking to itself.

In the meantime there is no acceptance or apology to the people of Scotland, from the No camp, about how wrong they were about an independent Scotland’s entry to the EU.

Just one of many lies which have and continue to blow up in their faces.

55. Gill

Indeed repeat the lie often enough, the transplant story was nonsense over a year ago as it is nonsense now.

archive.today/H7Qz4

56. heedtracker

To be fair to likes of Crash and Dugdale, the heat’s on to get Labour back in Scotlandshire power, where they truly belong let’s face it, as English student loans sell of is already on teamGB books as sold via our old chums the OBR, same shysters that can forecast Scots oil and gas price downward spiral decades away.

“The proceeds have already been “banked” by the Office for Budget Responsibility in its forecasts and projections for public debt could well need to be revised upwards.”

Ofcourse Lamont and co want uni/college fees for their Scotland region, must be driving them mad with frustration at all the profit flowing past the City year after year.

57. MochaChoca

“Group 1 includes:

persons ordinarily resident in the UK who qualify for NHS treatment under the NHS Act and must be treated the same as UK nationals resident in the in the UK, members of the armed forces serving abroad and other Crown servants who are serving abroad.

Persons entitled under reciprocal health agreements to medical treatment in the UK – Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 (ie. EEA and Swiss nationals and certain other people lawfully resident in an EU Member State).

Persons entitled under bilateral reciprocal health agreements.

The transplantation of donated organs into non-UK EU residents who qualify for NHS treatment is guided by European law, which effectively regards such patients as having equal access to the NHS.”

http://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/newsroom/statements_and_stances/statements/non_uk_eligibility.asp

58. Helena Brown

Ross says @ 12.35pm I agree with that sentiment totally. Apart from anything else they would be going behind everyone’s back re-establishing the Union. I will never trust a word they say.

59. Ken500

By 2020 the English NHS will be £30Billion short of relative funding. Unless Scotland votes YES Scotland will lose corresponding £3Billion? per Barnett.

Either pay £20 tax for NHS/Education or £25 for private health insurance.

60. biggpolmont

just looked at young harry’s post
    it reads labour & Co-operative party member.aspiringprimary teacher@westderbyclp Secretary#nolife #equlitymatters#lgbt#saveournhs#votelabour.
    The wee laddie doesnt even have his priorities right. surely his potential employment As an primary teacher should come first. He probably looked up here saw how easy it was for someone with very limited abilities ,no ability to debate and the attention span of a goldfish to use teaching as a springboard into labour politics.
    harry should learn that children deserve to be taught the truth not a teachers interpretation of it. otherwise it is classed as indoctrination and propaganda. As a member of west derby constituency Labour party perhaps he should also learn geography. his remit ends down there anything else is interference.
    he is secretary of the constituency ? was there no one else willing to take on the job?
    # no life = says it all!
    #equality matters = of course it does so why try hold Scotland back from being equal in the world?
    #LGBT = No problem with that.
    #Save our NHS as we already know the NHS is independent in Scotland but sorry pal you are never going to save your NHS in England till you get rid of the tories.
    &you are not going to save your nhs at the expense of ruining ours!
    #vote labour your former MP would vote yes if he could. You vote Labour if you want to but we have got bigger better fish to fry up here.

61. Macart

Well there’s the word of Sir Harry Burns and the erudite case of Dr Whitford, then there’s Ms Dugdale’s faux outrage.

Call me a cynic, but I’m going with the experts rather than a party soundbite here.

62. Robert Louis

Poor Harry Doyle. I do feel sorry for the lad. he seems to be full of enthusiasm, and wants to do the right thing, but has sadly completely fallen for the lies and scary stories of the Tory funded anti independence campaign.

As regards the Scottish NHS, and independence, it is still the case that most folks in the anti independence camp still are not aware, it has been legally and oranisationally separate from that in England since it was founded. There is of course no reason whatsoever for thinking that cross border arrangments will change with independence, as in reality both health systems are entirely separate AT PRESENT WITHIN THE UK.

There is no such thing as a ‘UK NHS’. Never ever has been, even before the Scottish Parliament.

It is sad, however, to see the Labour party of all people, a party I once supported, spreading bare faced lies to scare potential voters. It is a scummy way to behave, and Gordon (britin, britin, britin) Broon, is quite frankly a disgrace, peddling this pish, to scare the sick.

I like many, say with some conviction, the same lines as those of the late and great socialist, Jimmy Reid, who said ‘I didn’t leave the Labour party, the Labour party left me.’ When he joined the SNP.

For those who might not know about Jimmy Reid (and I do know that most do), here are a few useful links

http://reidfoundation.org/about-jimmy-reid/

And his famous ‘alienation’ Rectoral address – which should be compulsory reading for any socialist.

http://www.educationscotland.gov.uk/Images/ugd057-57-1_jimmy_reid_rector_address_booklet_1972_opt_tcm4-624481.pdf

63. muttley79

You cannot ban people from standing as a public representative. The very idea is anti democratic. It is up to the electorate as a whole to decide who gets elected or not.

64. Luigi

British organs for British patients!

65. Peter Sneddon

I’m starting to think they are not actually lying, I’m inclined towards them all suffering from cognitive dissonance so really be should pity the poor souls for they have no hope, no magnificence in their souls if they argue so strongly for arguments that are based on fabrications, exaggerations. Trying to con their own folk with fear. A million Scots in poverty and not a word ever! They have collectively disgraced the once great Labour movement.

66. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jul/21/five-biggest-threats-human-existence

Disappointed to see Scottish independence not making end of the world cut today in rancid old Graun, Severin Carell must be on his hols with MillyBrooks. Tomorrow maybe,

Nuclear war
    Bioengineered pandemic
    Superintelligence
    Nanotechnology
    AlicSamin

67. Croompenstein

They obviously don’t want our organs after independence as they will be foreign and the unionists don’t want any yukky foreigner organs

68. HandandShrimp

I don’t think, even within the limited resources of the current Labour ranks, Kezia is viewed as an intellectual heavyweight. I am never sure if she is lying or whether she actually believes the mince she spouts.

69. Cindie

I met Sir Harry Burns a few years ago and was lucky enough to hear him speak. He is quietly spoken but inspirational. In his post as Chief Medical officer he concentrated on Well Being and Self Determination, which he believes improves health. His studies and reports were inspired by his own experiences in the most deprived areas of Glasgow.

This is a link to his report Healthier Lives: Better Futures
    http://www.scotland.gov.uk/Resource/0040/00403544.pdf

and this is a link to his speech at the first ever Autumn Lecture at the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries:
    http://www.actuaries.org.uk/news/pages/autumn-lecture-sir-harry-burns

The video especially is a must watch He is, quite rightly, hugely respected.

*crosses fingers that this posts*

70. HandandShrimp

I am bemused that the thankless ones need to bus people up here to campaign though. What happened to the 30,000 crack imperial stormtroopers under Darth Shorthouse’s command?

71. Vestas

Makes no odds where he comes from – anyone who’s a Co-op party member is well versed in lying as the ONLY reason to join is to get your “union” membership sorted so you can stand as an MP.

Dugdale is clearly a pathological liar given what she’s said in the past so there’s no point in bothering with her.

72. Findlay Farquaharson

” I am never sure if she is lying or whether she actually believes the mince she spouts.”

its pure lies.

73. KenMacColl

O/T but relevant !

Is there an anti auntie BBC bias protest scheduled for Pacific Quay on Sunday?

74. WantonWampum.

Has Kezia Duddale had a labotomy.
    If she had another brain – it wid be lonely.
    Can we fling her back into the SLAB Gene pool?

Perhaps Magrit Currin could enlighten us about the levels of Organs harvested from her constituency in Glasgow where the average Male Lifespan = 54 years.

Where are their pensions and Nat.Ins contributions?

The future is bleak for SLAB politicians before, during and definitely AFTER Independence.

Where will they skulk after Sept 18th ?

In 2001 Scotland had 72 x MP`s
    In 2014 we are represented by 59 x MP`s (THANKS BLAIR)
    In 2015 (after BamCam enacts Boundary Changes) Scotland will have only 50 x MP`s – zero tories.

We will have had our MP`s Cut by nearly ONE-THIRD in only. 14 years.

Kezia and Curran – the Krash and Eddie of Ice Age fame.

Yet, the SLAB sheep not only believe them – they vote to be screwed by them. Cum home tommy sheridan. When Coulson is a convicted Liar and Clegg is still Deputy PM despite his “Pledges” – where is Truth ?

An orphan Scot.

75. Morag

HandandShrimp, will you get your ass over the JREF and VOTE, pretty please?

76. WantonWampum.

Should have posted re- Kezia Dugdale ;-

Is she waving or drowning in the SLAB Gene pool.

77. Robert Peffers

@R-type Grunt says: 21 July, 2014 at 12:04 pm

“She’s either thick or she’s lying. Which is it Kezia?”

You got that wrong, R-type Grunt. A typo I assume?

She’s both thick and she’s lying. That’s it Kezia?”

There – sorted.

78. Robert Peffers

@Dave Beveridge says: 21 July, 2014 at 12:07 pm

“Her or any other Labour MP/MSP would outsprint Usain Bolt no problem if they just saw an ermine robe dangling at the finish line.”

Dear me – you guys should be correcting your own typos!

“Her or any other Labour MP/MSP would outSPIN Usain Bolt no problem if they just saw an ermine robe dangling at the finish line.”

There, another one corrected.

79. Eddie

I am Scottish, and I will donate my organs to anyone in the world, including England

80. pa_broon74

Kezia Dugdale’s understanding of any issue (including this one) is as deep as the glassy look that appears in her eyes when the topic turns to politics.

I’ve seen this in person, people who are otherwise ordinary and normal – when challenged or engaged in the mildest terms about political issues of the day, go into ‘Scrolling Marquee’ screen saver mode.

Dugdale is one of those new ‘politicians’ along with Marra and that gonk Ian Murray. They have no answers of their own, if you look closely, you can actually see the words they’re saying scrolling across their eyeballs, but in reverse, because they’re reading them from their inner screen.

They’re like really crap Mancurian Candidates.

81. geeo

The sickening thing is, say it is a No vote in september, the very next day they will begin competing with each other about who saved the union, smear, slate, lie and “hate” each others policies despite conniving to imply they are all in Scotland’s interests.

82. lochside

Meanwhile: according to NHS England regulator Monitor:
    Estimated shortfall for NHS Hospitals 2015/2016, £1.6 billion,
    PFI Payments to be made by NHS Hospitals 2015/2016, £2 billion.
    That’s a lot of organ transplant funds going to City of London bloodsuckers!

83. Robert Peffers

The way that BT thinks is not confined to themselves. There’s a lot of what I call, “Pittin the cuddy afore the cairt”, in confused minds. This from a news item this morning : –

“Figures from all 45 police forces in the UK show more than a quarter of those found guilty over cyclist deaths did not receive driving bans. The statistics for 2013 show that 109 cyclists were killed on UK roads and more than 3,000 were seriously injured”.

And here comes the confused thinking bit : –
    “British Cycling and campaigners say drivers are being let off too lightly and want tougher penalties”.

Now correct me if I’m wrong but are not drivers of automobiles of all sorts legally supposed to pass driving tests? Also are cyclists of all sorts NOT required to pass driving tests?

So that means anyone from the youngest untrained child to the oldest confused and untrained person in the land can get on a bicycle and venture on our roads among the driving tested motorists, pasenger and heavy goos vehicles? Thus the most likely logical cause of cyclist having accidents might be bad road driving of cyclists?

Should not the, “British Cycling and campaigners” be thinking it was about time they campaigned to have cycling without passing a road cycling test compulsory? Thus to save their less well trained and less able fellows from their own folly?

84. David

Robert Peffers, you are way off topic with your opinions about cycling safety. This is not the proper site for discussion of that topic. Please stop with your woolly thinking on the subject.

85. john ferguson

I cancelled my donor card when Mitt Romney bought the blood banks . I stated my reason to the blood bank/organ doner people that I was not interested in making Mr Romney any richer.

86. JimnArlene

Kezia Soyousay, *cough* political mastermind, talking pure pish again.

87. Midgehunter

Luigi says:

British organs for British patients!

Yes – die british 😉

88. You and My Comb

I helped out at a conference run by the Antony Nolan Trust earlier this year. This organisation is part of a world wide cooperation between health agencies moving cord blood cells around the world to help fight leukaemia. Of course Scotland would be denied the right to take part – Not.

Linked to this was a piece I heard on the TV or radio the other day (I have been in France on holiday). The item was about a piece of research that was shared between Dundee university and an American university ( possibly university of Phoenix, Arizona). Developments in health care and research are in many cases driven by international cooperation but it appears that the Labour Party are so out of touch (or desperate) that they can’t get their collective heads around that.

89. steveasaneilean

Speaking as one in the know there is a strong push in England for introducing some form of charge to see GPs as a wait to reduce demand. In addition prescription charges continue to be ramped up in England – now over £8 per item – and that is effectively a charge for accessing healthcare. The evidence shows that as a consequence people on multiple medications in England are now choosing NOT to collect some or all of their prescriptions.
    Moreover there are already parts of the UK where everyone pays up front to see a GP – Guernsey and Jersey

90. steveasaneilean

Should read “way to reduce demand” – doh

91. Timorous Beastie

Slightly o/t but the unpublished poll which everyone’s suspects showed a big swing to Yes was titled ‘Attitudes to Scottish Independence’ wasn’t it? Perhaps the questions were not straight yes or no to independence but rather asked what would make people vote a certain way. If the NHS featured highly it would explain the current scares and why they won’t publish it. You don’t give your opponent the heads up to your future strategy.

92. silentshout

we should all just get on the donor list,I will if it means being free of these ridiculous parasites

93. alistair

@KenMacColl
    “Is there an anti auntie BBC bias protest scheduled for Pacific Quay on Sunday?”
    Yes, at On Sunday at 2pm just beside Pacific Quay at Science Centre as before. Looks like this will coincide with another Palestinian protest as BBC have been getting pelters from them as well. They’re trying to get a delegation/meeting with the Beeb as happened last week with the last Gaza protest.

94. Morag Graham Kerr

Jersey and Guernsey are not part of the UK.

95. alistair

After the Tony Benn nonsense yesterday, was good to see the Open letter from the Clyde Shipyard veterans supporting independence. Its even gone online on the Hootsmon – right next to the Tony Blair piece on No campaign having already saved the UK. Well that should get us a few more votes.

96. steveasaneilean

@Morag Graham Kerr – of course you’re correct. They are British Crown Dependencies – that is possessions of the British Crown. They are NOT independent. The various Channel Island health services work very closely with the mainland NHS yet remain private at the primary care point of use. The point I was trying to make (clumsily, I accept) was that you don’t have to look very far for a blueprint of how neo-liberals would like UK primary care to function and amongst GPs in England there are substantial numbers who are not against the idea of charging at least a nominal fee for seeing a family doctor.

97. Bill Hume

Poor wee Harry Doyle, more to be pitied than scorned. a Liverpool man (or perhaps boy would be more appropriate)…what a shame. I have a lot of time for folks from Liverpool.

98. donald anderson

I have more in common with a welder from Liverpool than a Labour MP from Glasgow.

99. Mathie

Harry needs to take his Better Together brain back and get another one, as the one he has been fitted with is quite clearly defective!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.