1. 06 08 16 10:56

Reborn In The USA | speymouth

65 to “Reborn In The USA”

1. Giesabrek

No change from Labour in Scotland then… Ironically Dugdale spent 5 weeks in a former UK colony that went to war to gain independence and has since thrived, some say, to become the richest and most powerful country on Earth.

2. donald anderson

CIA briefing.

3. defo

US portion sizes showing.
    If the meh guy is Lord Foo, you forgot the pish stains Chris.

4. Xaracen

I think Meh guy is Ian Davidson, actually.

5. Psodal

Soz Kez. You’re just not Bilderberg material.

6. call me dave

Love the anvil & the rope, an accident sure to happen.

Usually it’s ‘the rats will play when the cat’s away’ but their MSPs have been remarkably quiet overall.

Only the ubiquitous Kelly and Baillie have ventured a hee-haw in recent days. Just radio shortbread and the papers continuing with their daily deluge of Scotland bad.

Bring back Deputy Deadwood we can do with her take on Brexit and a laugh.

PS:
    Talking about coming back!

https://archive.is/kd88A

7. gordoz

Thought Gardham was working for the Tories ? ….. Oh sorry right
    same thing.

Nice one Mr Cairns.

( Looks like somebody is talking out of their arxe again )

8. gordoz

Who is this STV tit Grant Russell the Rev is in a spat with on twitter.

One of Daisley’s mates obviously .. SNPBAAAD

9. Grouse Beater

I like the ill-fitting power attire, Chris!

I really don’t mind our opponents widening their horizons, gaining experience of other nation’s ways and attitudes and lifestyles. It’s what they might say of their homeland that demands we keep an eye on them.

Your weekend reading:
    Of bombs: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-8jc
    Of Bourne: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-8nx

10. HandandShrimp

I had completely forgotten that she was away.

11. Nana

Looks like she’s been eating an awful lot of baloney as well as spouting it. Wonder if she will have an American drawl to match the rest of her fakery.

12. Valerie

Good summary.

5 weeks MIA for Kez, still chanting same old nonsense.

Given what’s going on down south, the party up here might need to create their own clown show.

Watch this space.

13. Baldeagle58

Would someone care to remind me who she is again?
    Is she anyone of importance?
    Great cartoon as usual, Chris. Love the anvil, lol.

14. DerekM

Honest Scotland this time Labour in Scotland will be autonomous.

The big thunk noise you just heard was half of Scotland falling on the floor laughing their heads off.

Nice one Chris lol

15. Proud Cybernat

Excellent ‘toom, Chris. I’m sure with Kez’s wee trip across the big pond she’ll feel like a great weight has been lifted from her shoulders. Oh wait…

My fav tweet from WoS Twitter feed:

“@WingsScotland We can never be independent so long as dog food is trading at under $50/barrel.”

How we laughed.

16. Breeks

So the Slab morticians go to America for fresh ideas, and the S-Tories have their backs against the wall in Israel to sharpen up their ideas, while the rest of us preach about peace in the Middle East and try to find homes for bombed out Syrian kids.

Is that some kind of bizarre twisted irony happening there? Or is it just seriously fecked up?

17. defo

Xaracen says:at 9:44 am
    “I think Meh guy is Ian Davidson, actually.”

Gravy stains then !

18. Free Scotland

Dugdale’s jet-lag could be the straw that breaks the camel’s back.

19. Dr Jim

And she’s coming back to a Scotland now getting it’s own news programme for sure
    She’ll have to get together with Twonk Torrance to cry together that Nicola Sturgeon’s evil mistress plan is all coming together

Scotlands move towards Independence, some might complain is Glacial but you can’t stop a Glacier

Day by metre a day

20. Free Scotland

Did Dugdale go to the US of A to do the weight-gain thing? Maybe as an attempt to upstage the tank-straddler? One thing’s for sure, it’s getting more difficult by the day to squeeze a fag paper between them.

For more on Kezia’s attempts to look ridiculous, see below:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/keziadugdale1.jpg

21. macnakamura

Breeks says:
    6 August, 2016 at 10:40 am
    So the Slab morticians go to America …..
    =========
    Not just Slabbers, it seems.

from The National
    She was the only political leader on the course and was joined by North East Scottish Tory MSP Ross Thomson, SNP MSP for Mid Fife and Glenrothes Jenny Gilruth, Nicola Sturgeon’s chief of staff Elizabeth Lloyd and WWF Scotland director Lang Banks.

22. Onwards

I can’t see her lasting much longer as leader to be honest.

I never ever knew she was gone until I read the story about people in labour complaining.
    The anvil image is about right. Everyone knows that labour in Scotland need to become an independent party and put Scotland first to have a chance of recovery, but she doesn’t have the leadership initiative to recognise that.

The ‘branch office’ insults will never end until then.

23. heedtracker

There might be a bounce. They aught to have sent everyone in Pacific Quay too. Maybe they did. Sarah Smith was Channel 4’s Washington correspondent and she’s come back to blighty all glammed up and really kicking vile separatist ass.

She’ll probably have catchy vote SLab inspirtational stuff what the Yanks seem to like, Don’t ask what Slab can do for you, ask what you can do for Slab, its the Kez way or the highway, create the highest, grandest vision possible for your life, because you become what you believe, breathe. Let go. And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure, Labour’s recovery shouldn’t be about right v left, or rich v poor. It is about convincing everyone that social justice is in their interest.
    From Oprah Winfrey to Dr NO, we’re for it now.

24. Calum McKay

You come from a working class family in Scotland, dad works for a local authority and mum is a nurse, you look at labour, why would, or more appropriately how could you vote for labour?

A priority of the SNP should be to find a home for ex labour voters before these folk become disenfranchised.

As for dugdale, I used to feel sorry for her, now with this latest stunt, she is a complete prat!

25. defo

macnakamura

“Lang Banks ? ”
    Say it isn’t so.

26. JLT

So …in the midst of four of the most turbulent weeks in British history since the War of the Three Kingdoms back in the mid-17the century (aka the old English Civil War), Kezia decided to skip town as the UK voted itself out of the EU; where Scottish independence was back on the agenda, and Labour tore itself apart in a bloody leadership contest that is still continuing, it was therefore, of probable no great surprise that our Kezia decided to sit in the same cupboard as Lord Lucan, Shergar and Elvis and see if anybody noticed she was missing.

In one aspect, she was right ….no one noticed that she was missing. More disturbingly for Kezia, nobody cared either.

Now she’s back …and what? Does she have a viewpoint on Corbyn, on Smith, on who should lead Labour (and God help the person when she does. It’s like the kiss of death). Does she now back Scottish independence after half of the English electorate hauled us out of the EU? What plans does she now have for Scottish Labour?

It must be surely dawning on her that she is deeply, deeply out of her depth. When you have the biggest political crisis in 300 years landing on your doorstep, you just don’t vanish for 5 weeks to America. And if she did decide to skip town to avoid the big issues of the day, then surely her own Scottish party must be looking at her with various degrees of contempt …but then again …how many of them stood up to be counted to protest at the real possibility of Scotland being hauled out of the EU?

Kezia is nothing to the UK Labour Party, and she’s just marginally noticed in Scotland now. If she is thinking about a career in TV media, then it might be advisable to resign as Scottish Labour leader, slowly slip out the door quietly (not that anyone will notice) and chap on a few doors at Pacific Quay. I’m sure Sarah Smith will happily take greet her.

But overall …and here’s the strange thing. Do we actually care what Scottish Labour think? Do we care that Kezia disappeared for 5 weeks? If not …then that has to leave all the Scottish Labour MSP’s very uneasy. Not one person; not one major newspaper until the National the other day there; nor any TV news outlet actually asked, ‘Where’s Kezia, Jackie, Iain Grey, Sarwar in all of this?. In fact, in all we got was a few soundbites from James Kelly whining about the ‘Offensive Behaviour Act’ …which no one bothered to listen to …or even bothered to comment on.

But Scottish Labour …well, as they say …the silence is deafening…

27. ScottishPsyche

The irony of Dugdale’s trip is that she has been given a platform by numerous newspapers to give a ‘global perspective’ and to cement the supposed ties between the Democrats and New Labour. No outrage from yoons about getting above herself unlike the FM.

I listened to Shereen snickering and fawning over Torrance this morning, lots of sympathetic noises as he tried to put his case again.

It does seem some of those working for the BBC in Scotland seem the most threatened by a Scottish Six. Of course he missed the point again, deliberately, that rUK news is important to some of us even if there is no direct relevance – we just don’t want it to dominate the news the way it does at present.

Also if there are relevant issues in Scotland with budgets being cut in the NHS or Education in rUK it would be better if those points were actually covered instead of waiting for an election or Scottish questions.

28. Proud Cybernat

50 Shades of U.J.

It’s a different world when you remove the shades…

http://imgur.com/a/8IGrM

http://imgur.com/a/gztyK

http://imgur.com/a/IYdKo

29. Chic McGregor

Anyone know why she took that sojourn? Maybe she just misheard ‘Gie is a break!”

If it was for advice and she managed a word with Hilary (Clinton not Benn) I suspect it would be along the lines of “Well honey chile, you have to create these things called Superdeligits…”.

Hold on, that might be or Benn.

30. Dan Huil

The only reason Labour in Scotland is still [just] breathing is because it clings on desperately to the britnat media for support. If Labour in Scotland only had the guts to pull the plug it would quickly realize it could have a healthy life in an independent Scotland.

31. jake

Valerie@ 10.19 you’re not referring to the reported political comeback of Steven Purcell are you?

32. louis.b.argyll

If you look closely at the rope,
    it looks like there’s still a chance that Kezia/LPiS could wriggle free.

They don’t have much time, as first, they must want to survive.

33. schrodingers cat

free SLAB “love it or leave it” bumper stickers folks….

34. Kenny

Why would anyone miss Kezia?

The fact of the matter is that she heads a party which is in third place in parliament.

Not just that, but the momentum is in one way. Labour can only go further downhill in Scotland.

The party in fourth place (Greens) has more members and a far more talented leadership.

So, really, why would anyone miss Kezia? I find a lot of people confuse her with Ruth Davidson anyway (which says a lot for the Labour party in Scotland… poor Keir Hardie!).

35. schrodingers cat

We interupt this party political broadcast on behalf of SLAB for a word from our sponsors…
    Mars and M&M’s, official sponsors of the olympics and the war in the gulf….

36. heedtracker

The only reason Labour in Scotland is still [just] breathing is because it clings on desperately to the britnat media for support.

They’re still very powerful at city council level. Look at how the George Square webcam stopped working last week. Tip of the SLab iceberg. Aberdeen’s owned by red and blue tory yoons, hell bent on making their mark felt.

Neo fascist Voice of The North’s been ramming their own brand of unionist tub thumping down our throats very hard, this summer in particular. P&J crew cant bring themselves to print the word “Labour” though.

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/aberdeen/797275/2016-will-change-north-east-for-decades-to-come-claims-city-council-leader/

Local authority leader says

“Aberdonians can be extra proud of the plan that has been drawn up on their behalf by some of the best business and civic brains in the country,” she said.

All of that’s repeated week after week by P&J, 2016, the year of the yoon.

37. Bob Mack

At some point in the near future I can see her being manhandled into a barrel of cement on that very pier by her Labour “friends” and being unceremoniously shoved in to “sleep with da fishes”.

38. Dan Huil

Dugdale absent? How can you tell?

39. Mike d

Ke,kesia,kezia who?.

40. Valerie

@Jake

Yeah, that would do it. It’s being trailed again, this is the second outing for the suggestion.

Not wanting to diss Purcells fight with his personal demons, but c’mon, Slab, is this peak Slab?

McAveety is trying to belatedly clean up GCC, by suspending some key staff, to deflect from the decades long rotten borough’s performance, which ultimately is down to the elected members.

Tick tock.

41. Mike d

Dan huil 11.48 am.i don’t think even in an indy Scotland i could ” personally speaking ” ever vote for a party in my lifetime who denigrated us, and told us we were too stupid to be independent.

42. louis.b.argyll

“The Heathrow expansion also has the support of Aberdeen Airport and Aberdeen & Grampian Chamber of Commerce because like Aberdeen City Council they understand it is critical that Aberdeen has access to connecting exporters in order to grow markets overseas.

What pish they print. Connecting exporters? Cutting down journey time to Us more like, narrow minded scare tactics..

Wish I hadn’t followed the link..

43. Richardinho

The SLP are actually very conservative: They oppose change even when it might benefit them. However people who try and prevent change happening do so in vain and inevitably they get rolled over by the tide of history.

It’s fairly obvious that the Labour party in Scotland needs to change fundamentally yet they are still clinging on to the past pretending that it’s still the 1990s.

44. Foonurt

Is thoan hurr fuully peiyt-up, wae yaon Henry Jackson Society?

45. Scott

O/T.
    What is Scotland’s share of this.

Brexit block: EU official says €25bn debt means UK can’t leave

Britain will have to pay the European Union a hefty sum if it is to follow through with Brexit, with claims that an estimated €25 billion is owed to the bloc in unpaid bills.

As we voted to stay do we get lumbered with some of this debt.

46. heedtracker

Satire or news P&J style.

The conservation charity the John Muir Trust is urging people to put pressure on the Scottish Government and power firm SSE to write off its massive legal bill for challenging plans for the Highlands’ biggest windfarm yet.
    The cost is not yet known.

http://archive.is/pVScc

Scottish Highlands are devastated by the blood sports industry but NO wind turbines, and you pay our costs.

47. louis.b.argyll

https://twitter.com/DavidJFHalliday/status/761705998591623170/photo/1

BBC find Jammy Saville’s old tour bus?

Don’t really like Twitter so prob fudged the link. Sorry.

48. Connor McEwen

The involvement of the United Kingdom’s Financial Services Authority in the U.S. government’s investigations and enforcement actions relating to HSBC, a British-domiciled institution, appears to have hampered the U.S. government’s investigations and influenced DOJ’s decision not to prosecute HSBC”. (‘Too Big to Jail’: Report prepared by the Republican Staff of the Committee on Financial Services, US House of Representatives, 114th Congress 11the July, 2016 – p.1)

A wee aside from America. from BELLACALEDONIA

49. louis.b.argyll

We (and it doesn’t matter how you regionalise it) didn’t vote remain, leave won..gulp, nationwide.

Legally it matters not one jot, the UK is STILL the EU member.

50. MJS Dundee

Hmmm … .

Are we going to make them pay for Kezia’s wall, or is that more of the cash she’s not going to raise from not cutting APD?

Was outside a nearly finished Trump Tower in Canada a few months back – sat inside a tour bus full of US citizens mainly. Tour driver asked how many of them were voting for the Donald. The actual answers I heard aren’t reproducible in polite company such as this, but came back as a very clear No. Then again these were all US citizens bright enough and interested enough to be outside the US.

Later I was thinking that the main thing wrong with a Trump Tower is the first letter ‘T’ in it’s name. Drop the ‘T’ and it becomes a Rump Tower – which sounds about right. An excessive arse of a building, built by a colossal arse to be inhabited by … . Yes indeed.

Meanwhile, the Society for the Protection of Wheatbix takes umbrage and protests the earlier article suggesting any similarity between them and David Torrance. They report that several have gone all soggy since its publication. The SPW asks that you kindly cease and desist. Or else.

They insisted that Wheatabix look nothing like that Shredded Bleat anyway.

The chief spokesperson for the Funny Nut Hornflakes made no comment and drove off (perched on her tank).

51. Tackety Beets

Kezia in the USA ?

The Ross & Cromarty folk on the Black Isle are upset she has not been seen their either.

USA is these parts is known as the “Uther Side o Avoch”

Coats on am awa noo……

52. Breeks

Beginning to look like the triggering of article 50 could be a long time coming.

There is even a successful crowd funding effort which has raised 143% of its target to prosecute the Brexiteers it claimed lied to them. Good luck with that after our friends in Orkney…

Brexit seems to slipping down the agenda, the Brexiteers are leaderless and in some disarray, progress and article 50 are delayed, but the backlash from angry Brexiteers is so far tame, whereas Remain is showing signs of regrouping.

There are also EU elections on the horizon in June 2019, which creates a de facto cut off point for Article 50 in June 2017, less than a year away. Otherwise, the 2 year exit process will extend into a new European parliament which need not be bound by the agreements of the current parliament, and the Brexit process suffers yet another layer of complexity.

Meanwhile, EU diplomats are critical of UK politicians who don’t know what their objective currently is, compounded with further confusion about the enormity of the task to physically extricate the UK from the EU.

Bottom line is those of us Scots hoping for Article 50 to trigger Indyref2 are going to be in for a long wait. There is a fair to middling chance Brexit will never happen, and as time passes, the event will be kicked into the long grass until beyond the lifetime of the existing EU parliament.

What is less clear is whether the EU can do anything about it themselves.

What happens with the UK membership fee? This is an annual payment and could be a potential point of leverage, but somewhere between £8 and 11 billion, my guess is Europe will take the money and argue about the principle later, but if there are no negotiations prior to Article 50 being triggered, then does that affect the payment annual membership fee? The UK pays for full price membership but only gets limited entitlements? Hmmmm….

It is also questionable whether the EU can pass any laws while the status of the UK’s membership, with its veto intact, or whether EU laws which require unanimous assent can be passed if the agreement excludes the UK. I suspect Europe would find that stasis intolerable, but again, what can it do?

Bottom line seems to be that Brexit is one mighty pain in the arse for everybody concerned, and the UK seems to be in clueless denial about its obligations, thus prompting the EU to re-examine their own apparent impotence in bringing the matter to a speedy conclusion.

If I was a gambling man, I rather suspect the EU might eventually extend the “holding pen” status earmarked for a Scotland wanting to stay in Europe to encompass a similar transitional status for the exiting EU, but as a quick fix, I don’t think this legislation is even written yet, and an England having second thoughts is unlikely to jump into her holding pen status with both feet as Scotland might…

Instead of forthright and dramatic, Brexit is going to be a dull and extended exercise in long drawn out beaurocracy, where its impact upon Scotland’s constitutional future grows ever more protracted and vague, and frankly rather feeble as a stimulus for sovereign independence.

This is not the path that many of us would have chosen, but for better or worse, it is the path which all of us are now on.

Let us hope our new flags and saltires are moth proof.

53. John Edgar

Rats usually desert a sinking ship.

54. Stoker

🙂 Thanks, Chris!

55. Gary45%

Google removes Palestine from its map and replaces it with
    guess what?
    Google doing a modern day Hitler, with its funder Israel.
    What other search engines can I use???

56. louis.b.argyll

Tacking beets..lol mun

57. cearc

Gary45%,

duckduckgo.com

Much better search engine. Doesn’t track you or swamp you with ads.

58. Gary45%

Cheers cearc.

59. Macandroid

Great toon Chris – but that anvil is in serious danger being tied to Kezia as it is.

60. Highland Fling

What’s happening with the gold mine up around Tyndrum? Are we going to end up with slag heaps adorning our beautiful Scottish Hills?

61. Jack Collatin

Breeks @ 2.11 6/8/16

A considered piece, Breeks.
    Gove and Farage may have sunk without trace it’s true, but the Three Mexiteers, Boris, Davis and Fox are in charge of the divorce proceedings.
    The are rabid Imperialists, and will force through the Exit once WM returns from its eight week summer break.
    The Tory Party would self combust if May dithered and the Referendum result challenged, or a snap GE or a second Brexit were proposed.
    I firmly believe that we are far too far down the road towards Self Determination now.
    I care not that we gain independence in a year or ten years time.
    It is coming, whether WEngland leaves the EU or not.
    I am not weeping for me, my children, or my children’s children over this.
    The UK is finished. The Mother of Parliaments, with its corrupt HoL, is finished. The British Empire will join the Third Reich, the Pol Pot Regime, and Stalin’s Politburo, in the dark totalitarian annals of history.
    We no longer sit by and let a ‘foreign'(how elese would you describe 590 English MPs determining our fate?) country dictate to us, despite the musings of the Unionist MSM. Those days are gone now, and in the past they must remain.
    I doubt that the Flame of Freedom will dim with the passage of time, Breeks.

62. Hamish100

Speaking to a tory councillor elected with 22% of the vote on a 5th ballot. Involved with brexiter.

We are leaving. Scotland are part of Engl… (sorry) Brit…. UK of GB and NI and that’s it.

This boy is not for turning. Such arrogance.

Labour implodes- for all to see- the enemy nos 1 is the Tories and all they stand for.

63. David Smith

Am I the only person troubled by the fact that the SNP are also sending people across to that thing.
    Reeks of CIA/BAP…

64. Fred

Ah hud a gt auntie disappeared for six months apparently but ma gt grannie took the wean aff her & sent her tae the Yukon.

A true story fae the Garngad folks!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.