Quotes Of The Year #12

Posted on December 31, 2013 by

Holy hell, we made it! (Via January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October and November.)

“It is in the UK’s self-interest to portray relations with an independent Scotland on this side of the referendum as highly contentious and difficult but its interests will immediately change on the other side of a referendum if Scotland votes Yes.” – Professor James Mitchell of Edinburgh University casually exposes the massive con-trick that lies at the heart of the entire No campaign.

Let’s hammer a stake through this sucker and go home.

“The British government has launched a multi-party charm offensive, ‘Better Together’, to persuade voters north of the border to vote No.” – the Irish Times has clearly started drinking early.

“Britain could lose many millions of pounds in brand value if there is a Yes vote in next year’s referendum on Scottish independence, says the boss of a leading consultancy firm.” – by December the Herald was hardly even trying any more.

“[Alistair Darling is] as good a frontman as I can imagine to save Britain.” – Labour ex-spin doctor Simon Pia displaying a serious lack of imagination.

“It must be his message, and his legacy, is the capacity of people to govern themselves, and make the right decisions in their own interests.” – Margaret Curran learns half a lesson from the life of Nelson Mandela.

“The architects of devolution did not think their plans would lead to an independence referendum as it was not thought possible for the Scottish nationalists to win an overall majority in Holyrood.” – Lord Wallace of Tankerness puts it on the record that the people of Scotland were never meant to be allowed a voice on their future.

jimwallace

“A new independent state would, by the fact of its independence, become a third country with respect to the Union and the treaties would, from the day of its independence, not apply any more on its territory.” – Herman van Rompuy, president of the European Council, makes it absolutely crystal-clear that Scottish negotiations over the terms of EU membership would take place from WITHIN the EU.

Labour is the pro-welfare party-of-the-heart” – YouGov’s Peter Kellner makes a curious claim in a strange article likening political parties to various characters from The Wizard Of Oz.

“Labour will be tougher than Tories on benefits, promises new welfare chief” – the Guardian, however, reckons the party’s shadow work and pensions secretary Rachel Reeve is more suitable for the Wicked Witch Of The West.

“No reform to the Barnett Formula until after the Scottish referendum.” – former Labour First Minister of Wales, Rhodri Morgan, goes after anyone who hasn’t worked it out yet.

“That’s EXACTLY what the White Paper says – the price of a worker representative on the board is that they would no longer be able to be active in their trade union.” – Labour liability Ian Smart, apparently having taken delivery of his own special copy that says the opposite of what everyone else’s does.

The SNP haven’t yet said who would qualify for their passport, and for a reason.– we assume he leant it to the Spectator’s Fraser Nelson.

“The updated legal advice for the UK Government, seen by Mr Salmond’s legal team, warns no time limit can confidently be placed on any negotiation period. And that although 18 months is a ‘reasonable estimate’, because the EU has not faced a situation that can be compared with Scotland’s position, the time frame could be longer.” – the Independent heroically manages to correctly understand the concept of an “estimate”.

“The Prime Minister was asked in an interview with the Spectator whether he would prefer to have a drink with Ed Miliband, Mr Salmond, Nick Clegg or Nigel Farage. Explaining why he chose Mr Clegg over the Scottish First Minister, Mr Cameron said of Mr Salmond: “I’d have to check my wallet afterwards!” – David Cameron opens his mouth and shows his class.

And in a traditionally quiet month for politics, that’s all we’ve got. We hope you’ve enjoyed this round-up of the quotes of 2013, readers, because we’re never bloody well writing another one as long as we live.

Enjoy your Hogmanay. We’re probably going to sleep through it.

60 to “Quotes Of The Year #12”

1. Gin

Well done … and only 9 months 18 days more of this to survive.  Must be time for a drink or  two!

2. Richard Fidel Keel

Math dha rireabh. 

Superb work, enjoyed it all. i shall enjoy this next drink in your honour. 

3. Red squirrel

Thank you Rev for everything you’ve achieved in 2013. It’s been a heroic effort to compile this list of gems – I suspect 2014 will be a target rich environment.

A very happy, healthy and successful 2014 to all.

4. Macart

Speaking in my capacity as one of the IDIOTS who don’t do Twitter.

Well done and have a good one Rev. 😉

5. Jim

Well done Rev.
    It all brought back some wonderful, and some not so wonderful, memories.

Of course, you wont need to compile another next year. The referendum will be over, Scotland will have voted Yes, and it will all be forgive and forget and onwards and upwards.

Best wishes to you for this evening and for the New Year. I’ve cracked my first beer already.
    Cheers.

6. Murray McCallum

It looks like Lord Wallace of Tankerness is wearing some kind of tartan dress and standing over an air vent. An ill judged homage to Marilyn Monroe maybe?

Wings is a great site and full of quality content. Happy new year Rev, all the best for 2014 and am looking forward to your fundraiser and ideas.

7. handclapping

Bet you thought when you reached the funding you had left the rat race for a life of ease 🙂 As Jimmy said the rat race is for rats so blow them a kiss and get yourself a dram and wind yourself down.

Well done in 2013 and better yet in 2014. Profound respect (but I’m still not going to bother with Twitter).

And a guid new year to fellow WoSsers

8. fairliered

Well done Stu! You deserve that drink now! Happy New Year to you and all who visit here (in case I am too refreshed 8-} to contribute after the bells). Coming up – 2014 – the year we have been waiting for all our lives. Lets just do it!!!

9. heraldnomore

Aye, it’s been quite a year right enough Stu;  raises large Old Pulteney – here’s to the next one.

Thanks for the memories, and the quips and quotes one and all.   Now let’s make it happen.

10. HandandShrimp

A beer is in order I think

Mind you, you need a beer to read all this nonsense. Such concentrated pish is heavy going.

11. Arbroath 1320

Alistair Darling is a good front man for the NO campaign according to Simon Pia, I wonder what he had been drinking before he came up with that one. He obviously did not get the e-mail from Project Fear that they have heard rumours from their bosses, the Tories, that Darling is actually a YES campaign plant! 😆

How nice it was for Lord whatisname of whatever to confirm what we had all been saying since day one of Holyrood, the election system set up by Labour and their buddies had indeed been designed to ensure the SNP would NEVER gain an overall majority in Holyrood. Erm, has any one seen Lord whatisname, I just wanted to know how he felt about there being an SNP MAJORITY government in Holyrood! 😆

Labour is the pro welfare party of the heart is it Mr Kellner?
    I wonder if anyone has actually told anyone in the remnants of the Labour party this interesting newsflash! :P:

Finally, does anyone know if Fraser Nelson has worked out yet if he will entitled to a Scottish passport yet or is he still scouring the streets of London for any remaining clues to his entitlement? 😆

12. Optimistic Beastie

Slainte mhath, Rev.
    Your website is one which I point people to all the time, a valuable resource of analysis which invariably sits against the MSM assertions. I pay no attention to any normal news outlet until I’ve checked what you, or one of your collaborators and WoS-minions, have dug out of the detail.

For as I know someone with your religious title will know very well, both God and the Devil reside in the detail; which one depends on your position. And MSM do not like anyone seeking out the detail. 

I shall be toasting the coming of the year where everything changes with a fine Diurach. May you be doing something similar. Bliadhna Mhath Ur.

13. benarmine

Well done that man – away and get yourself a drink. Happy New Year to all the good guys and girls on Wings.

14. Morag

He “leant” it?

I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU MEAN!

15. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Rev Stu – Thanks for the sterling effort today and throughout 2013. Good health to you and yours from me and I am sure from all the Wossers and RevRats.

16. call me dave

That was a tour de force to compile that amount of information in only the one day Bravo!

Happy New Year to all for 2014 and also to absent friends.

17. Tamson

Thank you, Rev, for your work in 2013. I hope 2014 will be a wonderful year for you – for all of us.

18. Trunbull Drier

Sir. If i had a cap i would doff it. I do have a dram with which i toast you. Happy New Year Rev.. and to all the Wingers, both comenters and lurkers. Onwards and upwards. The possibilities are endless and all it requiers is an X.

19. Jon D

Initially posted by matos21, For those that may have missed it:-

Our Referendum

As  summer turns tae autumn, an the nichts are drawing in
    Wan chance ye’ll hae tae richt the wrangs,  that Scottish haunds hae din
    For thaim nae longer wi’ us, when the days wir dark and drear
    They kept the caunle burning bricht, so oor wey wid be clear
    Oan Scotias sile by Scottish haunds  these wrangs must noo be richted

As ye climb upon the shooders o’ thae giants o’ Scottish men
    When ye gang tae pit yer cross doon as ye staun an’ haud yer pen
    Think o the’ pygmies we noo  bear, thae couldnae lick the bits
    O’ thae men o’ steel fae Clydeside or thaim fae  Ayrshire pits
    Oan Scotias sile by Scottish haunds these wrangs must noo be richted

Tae leave oor land a better place this is the debt we owe
    An’ rid us o’ the cannydaes an’  thaim that jist say no
    Nae man wha luvs his country could ever staun and say
    Lets haun the poo’er tae ithers for that’s a better way
    Oan Scotias sile by Scottish haunds these wrangs must noo be richted

The thocht o’ weiring ermine and a title tae their name
    Must really be enticing that they’d gie awa their hame
    So noo ye hiv been haunded oan, the caunle that wis lichted
    Oan Scotias sile by oor Scottish haunds mak a’ these wrangs  be richted 

20. Arbroath 1320

Congratulations Rev on getting through what was a Titanic effort to drag up the best, or should that be the worst, of what we have had to put up with throughout 2013. :P:

As others have said you have earned a well earned drink or three or four or five or……:lol:

Looking forward to what you have in store for us in 2014, provided the NO side continue to blindly supply you all the necessary ammunition that is. 😆

Happy new year to one and all, stay safe, have a great New Year and we’ll all meet again on the other side of Midnight! :P:

21. Horacesaysyes

Well done, Rev!

Happy New Year to you, when it comes, and to everyone else in the Wings family.

Hopefully next year at this time, we’ll have a reason for the biggest Hogmanay party every.

22. ronnie anderson

Rev, ah peaked at the 10 quoth, ah peaked to early, gie yersel a rubdoon wie a
    shammy.
    Kin anybody put Ma Wee Shed on Wings am not PC tekky, is over on Scottish
    Militant Ninja Turtles site.

23. M4rkyboy

The labours of Revcules hath endeth.

24. Thistle

Happy New Year to all!

25. Murray McCallum

ronnie anderson
    Boorach put this link up in #11.
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scottish-Militant-Ninja-Turtles-SMNT/170848326430828?fref=ts

If that’s your shed, you should get that Mark Smith from the Herald round for a wee chat – he’s got some kind a weird phobia to certain colour schemes.

26. FeartieFifer

Loved every post during the year. Unfortunately some (or most) were ill-thought out anti-establishment gut reactions & played straight into the hands of the Unionists. They will be re-quoted by BT, ad nauseam,  nearer September. 

Oh- don’t call us when we declare UDI for Fife. We have a completely different approach. Almost time for that wee dram.

27. John Donnelly

My hat is dofed to your work this year rv

28. KenC

Thanks Stuart, for all the work you have put in over the past year- it has been a sanity preserver on more than one occasion.

May the New Year bring an affirmation that we can and will build a better and fairer country- best wishes to all. 

29. EdinScot

Hey Rev, you have a strong constitution to wade through and compile all those Unionist quotes of 2013 for us.  Many thanks not only for your efforts on that but on all  your efforts over the course of the entire year. You deserve to be recognised for your contribution and effort towards the self determination of our country Scotland.

Happy New Year to you and everyone here.  Lets win this thing in 2014 for all time!

30. cearc

Ronnie – it’s a bonnie shed.

31. Frances

Happy New Year to one and all.  

I’ve just been watching Hot Fuzz.  I think that when they make the movie “Scotland, the Unthinkable Happened!” Simon Pegg should play Rev Stu. 

MajorBloodnok thinks Terry-Thomas should play him, or failing that Bruce Willis!!!!

F xx

32. Luigi

I just touched down back in Scotland a few hours ago, severely jet-lagged but great to be home, looking forward to working with you all in 2014, hopefully meeting some of you and celebrating together on the 19th of September.  We certainly made great progress in 2013, but there is still so much to do.  We can do this!  No doubt, there will be a flurry of messages coming in soon, so I will get mine in early and wish you all the best for 2014.

33. Chic McGregor

Well done Rev.  Now fill your hand for the bells.  We should all include Wings in our silent internal wee toast.

34. Clootie

A great summary of the year ,  thank you.
    It is nice to see a site still open to honest comment after being blocked by newsnet for using the term ("Tractor" - Ed) once. I checked my dictionary and  it still seems a valid and appropriate word to use.

35. Dal Riata

Channel 4 used to do a programmme called “The Best of the Worst”, I think it was, about the worst (“best”) movies ever made where they would give an example of such each time. It was terrific and absolutely cringeworthy.

What Stu has just produced has that same feel about it, a sort of ‘The Best of the Worst Quotes From Better Together (Project Fear) 2013’, if you will. It is also terrific and absolutely cringeworthy! Great stuff!

36. MajorBloodnok

@Frances

A-ha. it’s that old think-alike/look-alike dichotomy.

All the best for the New Year, Rev and everyone, posters, below-the-liners, readers, lukers, GCHQ drones and MI6.  Chin chin and off to watch the fireworks and drink to 2014 and the future.  Cheers ears, MB.

37. Ekindy

Tremendous effort Stuart. Take a well earned break and relax with a couple of refreshments. Only been visiting Wings for a short while but now always my first port of call.

Happy New Year and all the best for 2014 to yourself and all the ladies and gents on Wings.

Stevie

38. Dcanmore

Well done Stuart, totally epic (doff’s cap)  🙂

A Happy New Year to yourself, the contributors and all here on Wings.
    YES… to a memorable 2014!

39. Alba4Eva

what the fuck is going on with this shiiiiiiit……     

40. ronnie anderson

Boorach , yer ma star manny  thanks, hay a big dram on me.
    REV STU , HELPERS , WINGERS AWE, HAPPY NEW YEAR

41. cynicalHighlander

Happy New Year everyone.

42. fairliered

Happy New year Stu & fellow wingers!

43. Adrian B

2014 Year of Change. Happy New Year to one and all.

44. HandandShrimp

Happy New Year to you all 🙂

45. ronnie anderson

CEARC, MURRAY, Watch oot fur 2014, Ave a roof tae get done thanks Tae the SMNT , gien me a hawn, a big back garden tae full tae , Aye n Wings wuld hae a BIG PLACARD tae

46. John grant

Happy new year rev keep it going I sometimes feel like I’m drowning in a sea of shit but this site keeps me afloat so massive thanks , we ain’t fucking losing this 300years has been way to long 

47. gordoz

Did ye need to include the Mole rat ??

All the best for 2014 Stu !

48. DougtheDug

How about:

“Our ideology is about strength through unity, in Britain and internationally, and even the existence of a hard-line right wing government in Westminster should not shake our faith that we are always better together.”

In other words, better Tory than independent.

Owen Smith MP, Labour Shadow Secretary of State for Wales, 22/12/2013

http://www.fabians.org.uk/2014-labours-year-of-devolution/

49. Adrian B

Tory & Labour – taking turns about at Westminster – never mind the people, what about the gravy train?

50. Norrie

Thanks and all the best.

51. john king

Happy new near everyone,

Im Proud to be associated with Wings over Scotland

52. Ken500

Happy New Year Wings

Wings can only get better, Wings can only get better.

‘Wings’ soaring over Scotland like a Guardian angel. A star.

Thanks a billion.

53. Ken500

Wales defrauded £1Billion by Westminster, supported by Labour/Unionists. Shame old Labour Party. Hang your head in shame.

54. ronnie anderson

Morning every one , Ken 500 ah hud tae day adouble take on your post, ah thought
    ah hud woke up in the Tony Blair era. Ah hope every one got through the celibrations
    safely, Its nose tae the grind stone,for the auld n new wingers. Lets give the Scottish
    People another reason to celibrate, before this year is out. SCOTLANDS 1st YEAR
    as A  NATION  REBORN  starts on 18th SEPT 2014

55. mato21

To all a Happy New Year may your dreams be fulfilled

Braw shed Ronnie Hope you get help with that big garden

Jon D
     Pleased you liked the poem I was just looking at it yesterday funnily enough wondering if there was anything I wanted to change but reading it again I don’t think there is It says it all as far as I’m concerned

56. The Tree of Liberty

Rev, yie put in some shift there. Yir entitled tae a few days aff. Happy New Year tae all.

57. BuckieBraes

He “leant” it?

Rev still hasn’t picked this one up, Morag!

58. velofello

Start of a new year, and a wee contemplation on the past.

I recall some time back Rev Stuart proposed that we readers of the relatively new Wings over Scotland donate to finance a full time journalist. Mmm I thought, skeptical as ever,I need to be canny with my cash.Anyway I donated as best I could afford.Boy what a stunning return for a modest outlay. Wings is outstanding, well done Rev.

59. Weedeochandorris

A Guid New Year Tae Yin And A’.  Better late than never, on the other side of the world of the world at the mo. Rev, that was epppiiiiccc – all power to your pen for 2014.  All the best to everyone for a happy, successful 2014.  Alba gu snooker loopy!

60. jrewen

hi folks
    Happy new year to you all!

this year has gone so fast, 2014 will pass even quicker. its funny that i remember robin mcalpine saying in a podcast that he thought to himself that he was the only person wanting to make the referendum campaign longer!

i totally get his point as its gona be upon us like in a few months time.8 months ago i talked to a friend about indy. she thought scotland couldnt stand on its own and that it wasnt the right time. i love her to bits but she just wasnt havin any of my aguments on why we should vote yes and shot me down every time. i could not get through to her.

a few weeks ago we talked again, she brought it up, and i was weary that this might not go well, but she listened this time. she got it.
     i got the exact first response from my uncle a few weeks ago, he just didnt want to listen.

my conclusion, people want to hear it, then hear it again and they want to hear it from you. readers.

if you got the virus, spread it 

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.