1. 18 03 17 07:57

Playmates | speymouth

254 to “Playmates”

1. Smallaxe

Bute House Theresa?

Snap, that’s exactly where we want her as well.
    Squeak up, Nicola makes you sound very small.

Well done Chris, you captured her well!

Peace Always

2. Clootie

Purrfect….Sorry all!

3. mumsyhugs

And she hasn’t even shown her claws yet! πŸ™‚

4. defo

Playing with pussy!
    Not a dog man then Chris?

5. defo

O/t The Dug is on R4 shortly.
    Bigging up Broon no doubt, if she can remember what script she’s on today.

6. izzie

What goes squeak squeak bang? Theresa in a minefield. :(sorry)

7. Marie Clark

HAHAHA. That’s exactly what’s happened. Well done Chris, that’s a beezer.

8. Smallaxe

defo:

Hopefully, her doctor will give her a script for Largactil!

“Largactil. Known as the ‘liquid cosh’, this drug is in everyday use”

πŸ™‚

Peace Always

9. Robert Louis

Excellent cartoon.

When you think about it, the whole idea of Theresa May ‘blocking’ a referendum is absurd. Even if in some fanciful Troy utopia they could find a way of doing so with troops on the streets of Edinburgh, the problem will not go away.

It is, when you sit and think about the situation rationally, beyond stupidity the way Theresa May is behaving. What is the point? We all know we will have the referendum anyway, so at some point Theresa May will end up looking stupid.

This colonial ‘we own you’ attituude the Tories have regarding Scotland is offensive. Scotland is NOT a possession of England.

The only conclusion I can reach when they start rolling out that old liar Gordon (britin, britin, britin) Broon, before a referendum is even held, is that they know they will lose.

The more they behave like this, the stronger my resolve to NBEVER let the current situation stand.

Meanwhile, the fundraiser for the referendum campaign, is still climbing fast. Now is your chance to donate to help the SCOTREF campaign.

https://www.ref.scot/donate

10. Free Scotland

Wee, sleekit, cow’rin, tim’rous beastie,
    O, what a panic’s in thy breastie!

11. Ann

Defo,

Just seen his THIRD option.
    Sad that they have to drag him out of the woodwork again.
    He will for ever be linked with so called VOW that never was.
    Sad state of affairs that SLab if that is all they have.
    If I was a Labour Party member, I would be really, really worried.

12. Baldeagle58

Brilliant Chris, just brilliant!

13. Robert Louis

So out they drag Liard Broon, the Labour branch office in Scotland, doing the Hard work for the Tories yet again.

What is it with Labour in Scotland? They seem obsessed with helping the London Tories and Theresa May? I get that they seemingly hate the SNP, but siding with the rabid xenophobic Tories???? Seriously Labour??

Seems like Labour learned nothing from working with the Tories in 2014.

14. defo

Smallaxe. On top of her daily Mogadon dose ?

Ann. It’s comical, but in that squirmy sort of way.
    No coincidence he’s being trundled out today. Trying to damp down the FM’s keynote speech.

15. Jack Collatin

Free Scotland @7.39
    You can’t beat Rabbie:

“But Mousie, thou are no thy-lane,
    In proving foresight may be vain:
    The best laid schemes o’ Mice an’ Men,
    Gang aft agley,
    An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
    For promis’d joy!

Still, thou art blest, compar’d wi’ me!
    The present only toucheth thee:
    But Och! I backward cast my e’e,
    On prospects drear!
    An’ forward, tho’ I canna see,
    I guess an’ fear!”

Be afraid, Ye Yoons, be very afraid.

Chris, hire a bodyguard (or put MRS C on 24 hour sentry duty.)
    You’ve just portrayed the Leader of this ‘Precious Union’ as a hapless moose.
    Off with your head!
    Brilliant, as per.
    Why do I get the feeling that you’ll be resurrecting your Clunking Fist Broon sketches?

16. Capella

Apparently they “focus grouped” the message “now is not the time” for Theresa May’s script. But now is always the time. Now’s the time and now’s the hour…..
    Poor Theresa, she doesn’t look comfortable, not with Nicola doing the day job so well.

17. Ken500

Another lying VOW. No thanks May. Another lying corrupt Tory, with nothing to discuss. Another corrupt liar. Won’t be long before she is gone, when Scotland has Indyref2 in Autumn 2018. If May lasts that long.

18. The Isolator

Sooooooooooooperb Chris.That is all.

19. Footsoldier

Gordon Brown is proposing a third way in some form of federalism. Another Vow?

Anyone who believes that is nuts!

20. Liz Rannoch

Just switched on… great Chris, once again.
    Clootie you beat me to it.

Hickory dickory dock…..

Broon on sky – live at 10am. Deja vu peeps! Thought we were already the powerful …. blah, blah. Shooting their bolt early?

Hundreds o’ troops off to Estonia wtf? Is this just a ‘see.. we need Trident’ exercise or whit?

21. Ken500

Aye. This year, next year, sometime never. The Unionist corruption and intransigence is complete. Attacking the most vulnerable. The Tory shysters and their Westminster sychopants. 3rd rate rejects. Who are they to tell anyone?

Lying about Brexit, lying about everything under the sun.

22. Ken500

Now the Tory are causing trouble in Estonia. Will they ever learn? Trouble causing shysters. Brown and Blair should be in jail for what they have done to vulnerable innocent people. Law breaking criminals.

23. Breeks

Just the job. Another great Cairnstoon.

I had a bad a dream last night. You’ll never believe it, but I dreamed Gordon Brown was trying to intervene in the independence debate with the same old Federal FFA bullshit they hoodwinked us with back in 2014.

I’m glad it was just a horrible dream. I mean, they’d have to think we have a zip up the back of our heads to fall for that disingenuous cheating lying bullshit again.

24. sassenach

Brilliantly captured (in all senses of the word!).

25. Macandroid

Epic!

26. JLT

Cannot believe that the first thing I see on the BBC this morning is Gordon Brown.

So, this waste of space is regurgitating the idea of Federalism again. And what happened the last time?

He vanished into the ether on the morning of the result, taking with him his mad ideas, and instead, what did we get; EVEL.

He’s never raised his head for two and half years, but within days of the FM announcing a Referendum at some point, out comes the Clunking Arse …and still droning on about something that Theresa and the Tories will never promote while Westminster exists.

This needs to be dealt with quickly. If I were the Scottish Government, I would be condemning Brown ferociously for his actions from 2 years ago, and forcing him to attack May from a different angle. If Brown and May can be seen to be at loggerheads, then it kills two birds with one stone; first, that Brown and his ideas will never see the light of day, and secondly, that May has no intention of giving us new powers. That only leave Independence as the only viable option.

But Brown must not be allowed to wander around unchallenged. This time, the SNP should attack him with a ferocity that they didn’t do last time, thus forcing him to either disappear again or he is forced to take on May directly.

But seriously …Brown ….uuurgh!

27. Giving Goose

To understand Labour and their seemingly strange behaviour in siding with the Tories, it’s actually very simple.

The Labour party are actually just Tories.

The anti Scottish faction portrays itself as Labour/Libdems /Tories but that is a mirage and falsehood.

In Scotland there is no multi party opposition to the Scottish Government (Greens excepted). Politics in Scotland is best understood as simply a pro Scottish/pro independence grouping and an anti Scottish/pro London/imperialist continuum; Labour are part of the latter. Best viewed as Tories.

I understand peoples continuing disappointment and disbelief at Labour in Scotland but those sentiments are misplaced. Labour is a con, a lie and the Scottish public have been conned for generations.

Gordon Brown is a British imperialist acting on behalf of the London elite.

Gordon isn’t a fool, he knows exactly what he is doing because he believes in the London elite’s dominance. He’s one of them!

Thankfully many more people have clocked this set of circumstances and won’t be fooled.

28. Smallaxe

Well if it has to be Rabbie, here it comes again!

Wee sleekit, lyin’ treacherous Tory
    The MSM won’t tell this story
    Thou needna worry aboot photie’s neither
    Cause the Bast*rds wilnae show them Either

I’m truly happy that oor Dominion
    Will soon be oot yer twisted union
    And justifies that ill opinion
    Which maks thee startle
    At us,thy rich earth-born companion
    And fellow -mortal!

I doubt na, whyles, but thou may thieve
    What then?poor beastie when we leave
    A daimen icker in a thrave
    β€˜Sa sma’request:
    I’ll get a blessin’ wi’ the lave,
    And never miss’t!

Thy wee bit housie,too,in ruin:
    Its silly wa’s the win’s are strewin’!
    And naething now to big a new ane
    o’ foggage green!
    And bleak December’s winds ensuin’,
    Baith snell and keen

Thou saw the fields laid bare and waste,
    And weary winter comin’ fast,
    And cozie here,beneath the blast,
    Thou thought to dwell.
    Till,crash! the Yes vote past
    Out through thy cell.

And we, We could na’ gie a damn,
    When ye’s land in HELL.

Peace Always

29. Bob Mack

T.S. Elliot would have Nicola as The Great Rumpus cat, who scattered the Pekes and the Pollicles.

What a wonderful gift to have Chris, to encapsulate 1000 words in a picture.

As for our FM, my respect grows daily. What a wonderful Prime Minister she would make for any nation on the face of this earth. Fortunately for us, she is here, leading from the front.

30. galamcennalath

Brilliant cartoon. Showing the true situation purfectly.

As for Federal Broon. Will someone please inform him that the Smith Commission is now closed for further submissions! He’s missed the boat.

31. Ken500

Westminster criminals causing illegal wars and devastation on Europe’s and Russian borders. In the Middle East. Devastating the world economy. When in chaos cause even more chaos, elsewhere as a diversion, While essential services in the UK are cut back and Β£Billions are spent on squint, redundant weaponry. Getting the UK into Β£Trns of unwarranted debt and death. Killing off the vulnerable. The unionist political parties are a complete and utter disgrace.

32. Tackety Beets

Excellent as always Chris .

BBC interview AR about Federal Broon’s outburst

AR says “Labour Party couldn’t deliver a pizza ”

Enjoy your SNP weekend , smiley fing

33. Helena Brown

Another great cartoon oh for half Chris’s talent. Giving Goose, so true and why if they are socialist do they all end up in the States, that bastion of socialism.
    I really wonder if those still in Labour are not either brainwashed or idiots, or to they hold the dirt on all their members?

34. Ken500

The Greens collude with the unionists at every level, at every opportunity. Renege on their own policies. Waste Β£Billions of public money. Don’t be fooled by them.

35. Liz Rannoch

Happy Brown Hog Day!

Angus Robertson on BBC dissing Labour – brilliant. Kezia on soon!!

Can anybody save that interview? Don’t know how to do those tecky things

36. frogesque

The roar that will be heard during this afternoon’s rugby will be the sound of Scotland laughing its are off at Gonzo.

37. Dr Jim

Angus Robertson this morning

The Tories go to Brussells to decide what happens to Scotland, Brussells gets a say, then 27 other Nations get a say, the House of Commons will get a say, then the unelected House of Lords will get a say, now Gordon Brown will get a say in what happens to Scotland

The only people to be denied a say are the people of Scotland

Complaints have been flooding in to the BBC from “British” people about the amount of time being given over to Scottish politics on their televisions (sigh)

38. Neil Ralley

May may be about to discover what a ‘Wildcat Referendum’ is…

39. starlaw

Well done Smallaxe a poet indeed

Brown is being wheeled out to promise us everthing that’s on the Westminster – EU bargain table.
    How can he promise us anything that he has no control over.
    The man is shameless.

40. Smallaxe

Sorry, I couldn’t resist, it’s too funny!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUIxxIhgopA&ab_channel=troubledkittykat
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

41. Kat Hamilton

Can’t believe they’ve rolled out paw broon to rehash his lies and distortions again….can’t stick the sight of this bare faced liar ..will the media ask,him about the pension mistruths, the Nhs scares that we couldn’t get attended to in English hospitals, or blood transfusions being exempt with Nhs England, course not…he’s political royalty, the big beast that is given an illusion of power and respectability when he has nada, zilch and squat diddly power to weald in reality..how many folk believe this fraudster with his bs sepia words….I’m normally a pacifist but this moron makes me rage…talk about fool me once…

42. cearc

Beautiful, Chris. Just brilliant!
    An image that will stick in the mind a long time.

43. Robert Louis

Dragging out failed liar, Gordon Brown, is a sure sign of desperation.

Is this Gordon Broons’second pathetic attempt at getting a peerage??

Brace yourself for wall to wall coverage of Broon. Already the same words are being used as in 2014. SKY News said he was a ‘big beast’ in Scotland, and still had political ‘clout’, and now he is making an ‘intervention’. Groundhog day.

He only has clout according to the BBC and SKY, most Scots despise the man. Labour yet again doing the Tories dirty work for them. Let’s make sure we really punish labour in the May council elections. Red Tories, every single one.

44. Nana

Love it. Pussy cat looks to have had all the cream.

Can’t wait for Nicola’s speech this afternoon.

As for Brown, the powers that be must have a big fat dodgy dossier on him.

Links on previous thread for anyone interested.

45. Almannysbunnet

Theresa took a tip from Trump and just grabbed Scotland by the pussy. This pussy replied “oh ye think so dae ye” and bit right back.

46. mike cassidy

Giving Goose 8.19

You said

“Gordon isn’t a fool, he knows exactly what he is doing because he believes in the London elite’s dominance. He’s one of them!”

The really grim aspect of this is that when he got the top job, the establishment treated him with utter contempt.

And still he is willing to do their bidding.

‘Jock cringe’ doesn’t even begin to cover that sort of self-abasement.

47. Robert Louis

Hey, Daily Record, since this is greoundhog day, how about another vow, like the last one in 2014. You know the one that appeared to be signed by unionist London-worshipping political leaders, but that each and every one of them later denied they were involved with, and even your newspaper denied any responsibility.

Go on Daily Record, give us another effing vow. We need a VOW now, ya bunch of chancers!

Meanwhile, in the real world the vote in the Scots Parliament will proceed as planned next week, to permit a referendum on Scottish independence. A referendum made in Scotland, for Scotland, by Scotland.

48. Stoker

JLT (08:17),

I agree, this Bully Broon trype needs to be hammered immediately. It should be made VERY clear that this arsehole has absolutely no powers to be offering or proposing anything.

He should be told to fuck right off and look for another economy to destroy or a pension pot to raid because we are not about to sit back and watch this creature crap all over Scotland AGAIN.

The SNP better nail this creature from the black lagoon and send him packing back to obscurity. We must not allow him away with his lying vow to replace the vow. He is not in a position to offer hee-haw.

Message to Bully Broon – Away and piss all over your beloved London and while you’re at it bile yer heed.

49. Noel Chidwick

It looks very much like Brown was brought back today as an emergency measure to give the media an excuse to dilute reporting the SNP conference.

50. Andy smith

Am sure that mouse has a touch of the rat about it Chris !!!

51. Bob Mack

Cats ? And Gordon Brown?

There never was a cat of such deceitfulness and suavity
    He always has an alibi, or one or two to spare
    And whatever time the deed took place, Macavitty wasn’t there
    And they say that of all the cats whose deeds are widely known
    I might mention Mungojerrie, I might mention Griddlebone
    Are nothing more than agents for the cat who all the time
    Just controls their operations
    The Napoleon of crime.

Rather apt I think.

52. Socrates MacSporran

Just had a quick look at the Rev’s twitter feed. I think it was a Sky News paper review. Rachel Johnson – Boris’s sister – suggesting they let us have our referendum, but insist on a two-thirds majority in favour of Independence.

Greg Dyke suggests, maybe not two-thirds. I tell you people, Britannia is about to waive the rules again, they will try to stitch it up to keep us.

The Establishment knows, if they lose Scotland, England is well and truly fucked.

53. ScotsRenewables

Well, I ‘m really excited. Apparently this time we will be able to sign intergalactic treaties and will be given control over time AND space.

54. Scott Borthwick

Brilliant, Chris. Fair cheered me up after a depressing time interacting on Facebook with virtue signallers who would prefer to waste time attacking Wings than working towards independence.

55. ronnie anderson

Britain sending a extra 100 troops to Estonia to quell a Russian invasion , they beads n bibles urnae working in the modern world .

@ Smallaxe Your on the ball on both postings Big Tammy Doff .

56. Dal Riata

Miiiiaowch!

57. Glamaig

great cartoon. Theresa May must be lying in her bed at night with her head spinning.

I hear on the radio this morning there is a proposal to teach schoolkids to spot fake news. I wonder if they will teach them to spot propaganda techniques too?

58. Scott Borthwick

Socrates, if they try that, they will find that the next ‘Edinburgh Agreement’ won’t be signed, the Scottish Government will seek to go ahead with a referendum anyway and the interim aim will be achieved: Scottish assets will be off the table in the Brexit talks.

A looming referendum is effectively an interdict.

59. Effijy

Brown is an out and out Lying Bastard.

How can Millionaire Brown dare show his
    Face after his Vow, Guarantee of Home Rule,
    A near Federal State?

The very first thing we got was EVEL, and nothing
    more substantial for Scotland.

Brown, the man who knew about the hidden
    McCrone Report, the man who stood by and
    Watched 6,000 square miles of Scottish water
    Being stolen for England.

He sold off all UK gold reserves before it was
    To double and treble in value soon after.

He was in charge of Banking Regulation when
    They went gambling and burst out economy.

He took Β£10 Billion from private pensions and
    Brought anbend to final salary pensions.

Known to bully his colleagues, he showed his true
    Colours when he left his Mike on and degraded
    Pensioner Gillian Duffy.

He was behind the corrupt PFI deals were we
    Have to pay back over Β£300 Billion for only Β£50
    Billion worth of defective works that endangered
    Our kids and their teachers.

When he lost the general election, he assured
    Everyone that as the 2nd largest party, he could
    That only Labour could stop the Tories as the 2nd
    Largest party could not form a government ??

At the referendum he lied to our pensioners that
    There would be no pension in an independent
    Scotland, while knowing that our pensions were
    Guaranteed.

And one of the most disgusting and despicable acts
    Was to terrify Scots by suggesting that and independent
    Scotland would not have transplant lists or a Blood Transfusion
    Service, unlike every country in Europe!

Brown spends Β£10,000 per week on Expenses from his own
    Charity. Most of it on Luxury Travel and Hotels and fine dining
    He had never given one penny to the Food Banks in his constituency.

He also vowed to keep open Kirkcauldy’s Tesco supermarket,
    You know, that one that closed.7

60. Glamaig

Socrates MacSporran says:
    18 March, 2017 at 9:13 am
    “suggesting they let us have our referendum, but insist on a two-thirds majority in favour of Independence.”

Hence the SNP ‘this referendum will be made in Scotland’. Better an advisory one on our terms than a legally binding one thats stitched up. The whole world will be watching this.

61. Scott Borthwick

Glamaig, I thought May hangs upside down from the rafters.

As to teaching schoolkids to spot fake news, surely the Rev has to be involved in writing some of the modules if not the whole curriculum? He’s certainly responsible for teaching many of us.

62. Dal Riata

Socrates MacSporran at 9:13 am

Boris Johnson’s sister insists on it being a two-thirds majority or no independence for the savages up north, does she, eh…?

Oh, come on, for Scotland – and for Scotland only, uniquely in the world – it has to be a 99% majority for independence, with 1% leeway allowed… or nothing! So there! Because we say so!

Just listen to these incompetent, lying, facetious, crapping-themselves Britnats!

LOLZ! ROFL! ROFLCOPTER!

63. caz-m

Murdo Fraser says that EVERY Party in the Scottish parliament has to agree to holding IndyRef2 before the Bill is passed on Wednesday.

Yoon democracy in action.

64. caz-m

And now lets have a look at tomorrow’s weather from BBC Scotland:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C4ylx0jWYAAxIZb.jpg

65. Dal Riata

Effijy at 9:26 am

Your unintended (?) poetry form made that post even better – more forceful and heartfelt. Pure art ‘nawrat! πŸ™‚

66. izzie

Just had a text from daughter on her way to Aberdeen she says train is packed with snp activists party atmosphere. Wish I was going

67. Stoker

caz-m,

Left you a response btl on the previous thread.

68. sassenach

“Spotting fake news/propaganda”

There’s only one organisation that should get the franchise for teaching that – Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the BBC. What they don’t know about such matters….?

69. sassenach

caz-m @9-38

Perfect!

70. galamcennalath

A thought. Yoons draw parallels with Spain and Catalonia. We know the Spanish won’t cause problems for Scotland despite the propaganda.

However, perhaps it’s worth pointing out the obvious … Spain is NOT planning to leave the EU in some form of mad hard Espaxit while Catalonia desperately tries to stay in the single market!

Brexit HAS made the UK-Scotland situation totally different.

71. Capella

@ Socrates – the anti democrats Rachel Johnston and Greg Dyke – plotting how to prevent Scottish Independence:

https://twitter.com/thebarras/status/842897135620280320

72. Stoker

Effijy (09:26),

And that’s how we nail the bastard….

Well done!

73. Socrates MacSporran

Just read Gordon Brown’s piece in the Daily Retard today – what a load of recycled shite. He didn’t say a single thing he had not previously said in September, 2014 – and that turned out well.

He kept using the phrase: “The patriotic Scottish way” – which to Gordon is to simply hand over the big decisions to the Tories in Westminster and trust them to feed us sweeties.

The man is a deluded fool. Of course, his views will be unchallenged by the media – who will not be allowed anywhere near him. That said, even if they were, they are so pro-Union, he would still get an easy ride.

I also had a look at Craig Murray’s blog, in which he suggests the Scottish Government call a National Assembly of all Scotland’s 194 elected members – MSPs, MPs, MEPs to dbate and possibly declare Independence. Craig reckons such a declaration would be accepted by the likes of the UN.

I could live with this plan, but, would suggest the four Scottish law officers – the Lord Advocate, the Solicitor General and the Lord President of the Council and the Lord Justice Clerk also attend. Mind you, I doubt if any of the Tory members would turn-up, and also have my doubts about the Labour members.

The last two officers in particular, could advise on the Scots Law aspects of any declaration of Independence, with regard to Scottish sovereignty and the Act/Treaty of Union.

Mind you, such an assembly would, I believe, have to be a last resort, after Westminster had knocked back every other suggestion the Scottish Government has made.

74. Hamish100

London will allow bruin to play along as long as they need him- But I commented in passing to my wife re Browns involvement. My 12YR old grandson asked “who is he?”. Yesterdays man like his pal Blair.
    Listening to the Murdo the tory on the radio. In his tone he sounds worried. Brexiters are worried. So Dugdale support the righr wing tories ukip and the like or support Scotland. If you wont is their NO Labour MSP next week willing to represent democracy and allow the people to decide rather than side with the undemocratic right wing forces?

75. Nana

O?T

See how long you can watch Kezia spout Brown shite.

https://twitter.com/GAPonsonby/status/843029026407137280

76. Marcia

So the millionaire comes out of the cupboard. Putting Brown on the BBC might entice people to watch the FM’s speech later on today. The short before the main feature.

77. caz-m

hi Stoker

hopefully see you 3rd of June.

78. Ann

Noel Chadwick.

Dilute reporting on the SNP Conference.

What Reporting.

We had viewings of the Labour and Tory Coferences and a smidgen of LibDems, nothing of the Greens and absolutely nothing of the SNP Conference in Aberdeen except a supposed live stream that never seemed to work.

The BBC impariality is really showing not.

Is it simply the case they are too embarrassed to show everyone in the rest of the UK how popular the SNP are in Scotland just simply by the attendances at the various conferences over the last couple of weeks.

Nah! It’s the usual bias. They just can’t help themselves and they wonder why people get angry.

79. heedtracker

Lovely satire. UK media’s like another universe of tory rule.

Pacific Quay gimps say Brown is “calling for a raft of new powers to be given” by our imperial masters.

Raft is a funny word choice by the gimps though, why not a cargo ship or a super tanker? so much fraud, so little language to get away with it.

80. Breeks

Cough cough.

Steady in the ranks.

I said a couple of days ago the Unionists would come up with something to keep the SNP conference off the front pages.

As you were people. Crash Gordon is a spent shell and every knows it, even the Unionists. Crashing the party with a news headline is all that he’s good for, but he’s done just that.

Have a chuckle by all means, but then get back to business.

81. caz-m

I thought there was some kind of unwritten rule among all the Parties that you didn’t rain on each others parade.

Scottish Labour just blew it out of the water.

82. Golfnut

So Murdo wants an all party agreement as to whether Scotland has a referendum, a veto in other words, because we know they would never agree.

That would be the kind of all party agreement on the EU ref that Scotland, Wales and NI wanted, the kind of all party agreement Scotland, Wales and NI wanted on Brexit negotiations.

The kind of all party agreement he and his Westminster bosses refused. Bloody hypocrites.

83. Dr Jim

Let us take all your natural resources and we’ll give you red white and blue cloth as well as beads

Same story they fed to the Injuns in America and look what it did to those guys

But this time the Brits don’t have their own firewater they want ours

84. gordoz

Quandry for ‘precious’ Union supporters – square the suggested Β£15 Billion saving to England / UK (your notion).

On Ms Dugdales misguided nonsense on UK news broadcast- surely the ‘plucked from the sky’ mantra of an indy Scotlands ‘suggested’ Β£15 billion pound deficit works differently on English audiences and works against her goals of a precious Union saved.

ie England able to offload notional subsidy junkies gift of suggested Β£15 Billion ????

85. Tinto Chiel

“Crash Gordon is a spent shell and every knows it.”

GORDON BROWN: DUD OR FUD?

Can we start a poll?

86. Brian Powell

We can see why the Brexiters and Unionists are so upset.

With the FM announcement Scottish assets will be off the table for May to barter with. That is an enormously powerful tool for the FM.

87. gordoz

Lets get this party started !

Get this bloody A50 triggered & lets hear what EU has to say.

(Fed up listening to ‘Twitching Harpy’ of a PM from Westminster being lauded by complicit broadcasters & journos).

Lets hear the crash of the EU’s ‘strong arm’ hammer fall … cannae wait !

88. gordoz

Surely EU can see the opportunities of Scotland’s position to inflict real discomfort on May.

Plenty of leverage ? surely after Telegraph poll of UK voters more than happy to focus on English Exit and submit to Ref demands.

89. One_Scot

Noel Chidwick, it’s funny how we are all beginning to understand better just exactly how the unionist media works.

90. Nana

Richard Murphy has a few things to say about Brown and his interventions

If Brown really understood macroeconomics, money, the role of tax in nationhood (and I question that) then he would know this, which I call modern taxation theory. And because his proposal very clearly denies Scotland all these rights – which are at the core of what defines the ability of the state to reflect the mores of the society it contains by taxing to reflect those social priorities – he is still in denial about the fact that Scotland is a nation in its own right, even if he, as a token gesture, says it can sign international treaties.

Read the article here

http://www.taxresearch.org.uk/Blog/2017/03/18/the-good-and-the-really-quite-bad-of-gordon-brown-on-scotland/

91. Flower of Scotland

Conference has started. Watched it yesterday on Facebook. Nothing today so far.

Anyone with any ideas?

BTW, great cartoon Chris, duly posted everywhere. Hits the nail right on the head.

92. caz-m

Broons new plan:

“The third option, the Scottish patriotic way forward”

How is the Daily Record gonnae fit that oan their front page?

93. Clootie

ScotRenewables @09:13

…liked it πŸ™‚

94. old highlander

Brown licking the arse of the Tory bum boys.

95. Struan

How much airtime does Broon get on the BBC why are the BBC allowed to take over the snp coverage with this fool. I don’t pay a licence thankfully coz I don’t wanna choke on this bs

96. Scot Finlayson

think the Brutish yoon parties have played the Broon card a bit early,

can`t see what bringing it out at this time will change anything,

apart from a distraction to the SNP Conference,

the Independence parties will still win on Wednesdays vote for a Referendum,

always think of this speech by Malcolm X when I see Scotsmen/women sticking up for Westminster rule,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kf7fujM4ag

97. Hamish100

Dugdale in the BCC interview criticises Corbyn as he “..mispoke..”over the democratic right for the Scots Parliament to vote on whether there should be a reverendum.

Dugdale opposes the Scots parliament right to decide. She is a disgrace to the socialist values (sorry she wont like that term either) of the rights of our people and nation.

Ultra right wing forces have taken over the Westminster bubble.
    They do not believe in workers rights, they are racists in my view, they support illegal and totalitarian regimes around the world and support certain dictators who do not believe in womens rights never mind childrens.
    They detest the NHS (on either side of the border) and our care system and want it to be dismantled and run by insurance companies and their ilk.
    They attack the vulnerable and the infirm but give Knighthoods and Lordships to their corrupt friends.
    They are allies of Trump and Putin or whoever will give them a quick buck.
    They dont give a toss over the billions spent on a nuclear missile system that based on recent tests cant even fly in the correct direction.
    The fact that nuclear weapons are morally wrong is merely worthy of a shrug of their shoulder.
    They detest the UN
    All that the Labour party post WW2 would fight against yet Dugdale and Murray wish to be allies with.

98. heedtracker

Future Lord Ian of Murray wants JK Rowling to lead BetterTogether 2.0. So hope that happens, she’s got the patter, she’s got the dosh, she looks like Prof Tomkins in a wig, so he can fill when JK’s at the oscars.

“Ian Murray was reluctant to name names, but he said a non-politician – “of which JK Rowling is not” – should lead the Unionist campaign Credit: PA Images”

99. DerekM

lol that about sums it up Chris meow πŸ™‚

Just thought i would leave this here but i think i should warn you this needs a full coffee spray guard for you screen.

https://twitter.com/AngrySalmond/status/842807213970341888

100. gus1940

Well,now we know what was behind the recent story about the charity founded by Brown & Spouse which was splashed all over the media for days.

It was just a preamble to this attempt to resurrect the long discredited worst Prime Minister for 100 years.

This confederal nonsense would require an English Assembly and that’s a non-starter as nobody down there wants one – they are quite happy with WM being The English Parliament.

Can I suggest a cartoon for Chris with a bedraggled Brown in rusty armour astride a motheaten old nag holding a broken lance tilting at an SNP windmill with the Dug either sitting behind him or trailing behind on a string sitting on a similarly motheaten donkey.

101. Capella

Shona Robison now on at SNP Conference.
    Just watched the new candidates address the Conference. New call to arms – The Empire must fall! Babylon must fall!.
    Great stuff.
    https://www.periscope.tv/theSNP/1OdKrgAqMYeGX

102. Jim Arnott

Feeling physically sick listening to Gordon Brown on Sky News. Same old! Same old! Lies he spouted in 2014

103. Bob Mack

Gordon Brown decrees that as countries adopt narrow Nationalism they forget that co operation is still required to make things work. Oh the irony.
    He would be better making this speech in London rather than Kirkcaldy. Scotland voted to maintain links with other nations, England did not.

There are none as blind as those who cannot see.

104. Capella

SNP Facebook link to Conference livestream:
    https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=snp%20conference

105. louis.b.argyll

Beautifully drawn cartoon..fine work.

Labour in Scotland…

You’re very existence is/was dependent on.. (at very least) OPPOSING TORY ELITISM..

You’re message should be that you oppose inequality FIRST, while keeping the debate on independence RESPECTABLE.

Oh wait, that’s two things, too tricky.

106. Faltdubh

I wouldn’t worry about Broony at all. He is a washed up has-been who’s reputation is actually laughable these days. His “third option” was suggested and then rejected by the Tory govt in the fresh few weeks of Brexit.

The biggest losers though are absolutely Scottish Labour. 7 years in opposition and they still don’t get it, or seem to want to get it!

There was a time when people would blindly listen to the likes of Broon and Labour. Not now, they are a laughing stock and will in the inevitable years become an utter irrelevance.

107. Dr Jim

Gordon Brown making the case for Independence even stronger by emphasising the fact of the Tories refusal to devolve powers while at the same time confirming his own irrelevance to influence them to do that, in effect he’s just out for a blether and a moan about the world

The offensive part was the reference to far right Nationalism naming Nazi type people in the same context as Nicola Sturgeon, plus calling her a liar wont endear him to many

108. Macart

Oh, that’s good. πŸ˜€

Neatly done Chris.

RE: Broon

I got as far as – ‘Let’s call it devolution max, near federalism, the federal solution, home rule, but I prefer the third way…’ and had to turn away before major appliances got damaged.

Mr Brown, he of the towering intellect, is a bonadide deceitful, disingenuous idiot. Let’s call it what the media will call it… THE VOW. The new VOW, same as the old VOW, only with added Broonness. A Broon VOW.

For anyone still in ANY doubt. The time for home rule was 1979. It was 1999 and finally with its last stuttering breath, 2014. No one who had ANY ability or power to deliver a federal solution at ANY time over those three opportunities proposed or had any intention of enacting a federal UK. Westminster politics, its establishment. Its very soul, is an anti federal construct. It is elitism, patronage, order, cast oriented and power centralised to its crumbling foundations.

Mr Brown has no power or position to affect anything today. When he did have power. When his party had power and the backing of all nations within the UK the best they came up with in a forty year fucking period was parish council devolution and Mr Jack Straw’s famous quote – ‘Power devolved is power retained, not ceded’.

If Mr Brown is still content to peddle this insulting pish in order to maintain a patently and self evidently undemocratic and catastrophic political union then he is one of two things. He is either a. Completely and hopelessly deluded in the face of all empirical historical evidence to date or b. He is archly deceitful in the very worst tradition of the establishment politician.

Its up to readers to make their own minds up on that score. Though frankly after his record of ‘guaranteed’ personal delivery of near federalism on VOW number one, his record should speak for itself.

109. Scott

This also relates to Brexit.

It would be β€œpolitically irresponsible” for the EU to erect barriers to trading with the UK after Brexit, Liam Fox said as he warned such a move would cause economic damage across the continent.

The international trade secretary warned it would be a β€œself-defeating” move for Europe’s leaders if they did not agree to the kind of comprehensive free trade deal sought by Theresa May.

Change the EU for England economic damage across UK but then again according to the tories it would be only Scotland that would suffer.

110. Dan Huil

Nice one, Chris. Nicola lookin’ goooooood! Wonner whit’s she doin’ the nicht…

Meanwhile Broon wheeled out to do the tories’ dirty work – again. Broon’s a pathetic joke – just like the so-called united kingdom.

111. Scott

Meant to say only listened to Broon for few minutes then went to loo to be sick of him.

112. Bill Hume

Meet the new vow,
    Same as the old vow.
    We won’t get fooled again.

113. heedtracker

Is Brown not just sitting in front of the tv, watching the huge SNP conference, watching PM May’s block on Scots refs for 6+ years more or less finish SLabour once and for all, and then he’s leapt for the hotline to SKY, beeb gimps etc last night? Its only a phone call and its got to be worth a stab, with council elections coming.

114. Macart

Heh. Should read ‘bonafide’. πŸ™‚

115. Brian Powell

LOLZ, Liam Fox trying to speak for both sides now, EU and UK!

There will be an effect on the EU with Brexit, but someone compared it to two men in a room, one pointing a gun at his leg, the other at his head. And of course the EU didn’t ask the UK to leave.

116. ScottieDog

Really important intervention by Richard Murphy in his latest article. It’s some of the stuff ive been trying to push on this website…

“tax is only an exercise in raising revenue to balance a budget when a government does not have control of its own currency, its own borrowing and its own macroeconomic policy. When a sovereign state with its own money, in which it issues its own debt, taxes it does not do so to pay for the services it supplies because it prints its be on money to do that. This has to be true: unless it prints and spends the money to pay the taxes into the economy there is no money available to pay the tax. That’s a simple fact: it can’t come from anywhere else. And when a state does tax to reclaim the money it has created to pay for government services it does so for six quite different reasons ”

http://www.taxresearch.org.uk/Blog/2017/03/18/the-good-and-the-really-quite-bad-of-gordon-brown-on-scotland/

117. Nana

On twitter I see I’m not the only one sending Richard Murphy’s blog to their mp. I think it is very important not to let the media set the agenda this time. Share it everywhere so that people are aware of what Brown is up to.

https://twitter.com/RichardJMurphy/status/843043298197622784

Here’s Richard’s blogpost

#brownhogday going well I see.

https://twitter.com/hashtag/brownhogday?src=hash&lang=en-gb

118. heedtracker

Severin Carrell of the Graun give Brown massive boost, shock. Brown’s important intervention, on same time as Sturgeon speech too.

“Brown said a system of federal β€œhome rule” would allow the Scottish parliament to control key policies under the UK’s umbrella, including industrial investment. That would allow it to pool and share spending and protect Scotland’s more fragile economy against shocks.

The Bank of England would be reorganised as a federal institution with Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish representation, while defence, foreign affairs, pensions and basis welfare powers would be controlled at UK level.”

So our imperial masters reneged on everything The Vow wise September 19, 2014, why would they suddenly allow a system of federal β€œhome rule” in 2017, Brown style, Graun gimps do not ask.

They do think Scots are suckas.

119. Liz Rannoch

on sky just finished – Joanna Cherry telling them how it is and will be – like Angus Robertson, calm, cool and collected and won’t be bullied into ‘what currency…’ brilliant.

Can I ask if anybody, please can capture the AR interview on bbc this am. Starts by welcoming Charlie state (hrmm) to BROWN hog day mentions that labour couldn’t deliver a pizza – creased myself.

120. Ken500

SKy actually giving more balanced cover from Aberdeen.

Joanna Cherry. Utterly briliant.

The Westminster lying warmongers off again on Russia’s borders. Causing more trouble. While starving vulnerable people in the UK. Do they every learn? No. The last mess they caused hasn’t even been sorted yet.

121. liz

Great Chris,it make me smile.

Gordon Brown’s lack of economic nous being ripped apart by Richard Murphy and this is the man who used to run our economy.

He makes me really angry, who the hell does he think he is.
    He’s a private citizen who does not live in this country or hve any influence.
    People who listen to him are clutching at straws

122. Marcia

To bring out Brown at the beginning of a campaign against Independence does show how weak the No campaign are this time round.

123. call me dave

Aye. He must think it’s all over…it is ‘vow’!

Great cartoon.

124. Skintybroko

BBC Breaking News – Gordo backs independence for Scotland

Gordon do you acknowledge Scotland has the most powerful devolved parliament in the whole wide world?

Yes

So your intervention today on new powers can only mean independence

Eh um.

Take that as a yes then

125. Marie Clark

what is it that SLAB and Broon don’t get about federalism? After 2014 what happened eh. how did that work out? Zero, zilch nada, hee haw, evel the very next day.

Scotland today is a very different place from 2014. We are now going to be dragged out of the EU ( at least so the yoons think), and the best these numpties can come up with is the F word again.God bless us and save us, what a bunch of thick, dumb, eejits.

The only game in town now is Scotland versus the extremely nasty xenophobic Tories. This lot are even worse than ever Thatcher was, and that’s saying something. We have to get the hell out of Dodge and the sooner the better. If Slab once again side with the Tories, that makes them Tories. To stand against your own country and people is quite despicable.

So go away Gogsi, the stable door was shut a long time ago. You’re in the wrong game now. GTF.

126. Scott

Ian Martin not a happy bunny on Dateline London just now not having it all his own way worth a look just to see his face.

127. Croompenstein

Gordon Brown is the monkey on the car πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69ap2mfyqUg

128. K1

Brown’s been dragged out to frighten pensioners like last time, remember the last bastion of unionism in Scotland lies with that core group and their cronies, they need to keep them on board right from the start. They’ll have focused grouped this before releasing him from the cupboard.

They’re not going to be able to in reality…but anything to distract from Nicola’s speech and our conference today…happy days, sheer desperation this early bodes very well for Scotref.

Excellent as per Chris πŸ˜‰

129. call me dave

The good and the (really quite) bad of Gordon Brown on Scotland.

The full article (archived)

https://archive.is/uhmTq

130. Bob Mack

Ian Smart has come up with the idea that Tory ,and Labour, And lib Dems should boycott an indy vote, absentia themselves on the day it is taken. He thinks somehow this will make it invalid.

Not in my book it doesn’t. If they choose to abstain through absence ,it still goes ahead. Idiots.

131. Dr Jim

Ian Martin on the BBC defending the Tories policy of cross yer fingers and it’ll all be great
    Kevin McKenna pointing out the FM and Scotland have a mandate and a right to a referendum and that his old pal Ian Martin is in fact an Arse
    All topped off by a nice Italian woman who confirmed the warm feeling towards Scotland in the EU plus Brexit is going to be even more catastrophic than the Toies already know it will

Ian Martin then played the military strategy by saying but Britain defends Europe so there will be a deal
    So Ian Martin has promoted himself to chief threatener of Europe, If you wont do what we say we wont fight Russia for you

That’ll go down really well with the folk you hope to influence as friends and neighbours eh

Typical Britnat stuff as they send 800 troops to that area

I’ve seen gangs in Glasgow bigger than that chuckin screwtops at one another, Vlad’ll be terrified eh!

132. Polscot

To add to the list of more balanced political talk shows, I’ve just finished listening to R4’s Week in Westminster with Pete Wishart, Peter Hain, Teresa Villiers and Cordelia Hay.

Steve Richards as the presenter / chair of the discussion was (in my opinion) very balanced, allowed all of the participants to get their points across without interruption, shouting over them or cutting them short. Richards gave each of the panel members open questions and then gave them the opportunity to state their views without interruption from other panel members.

After listening to QT, Daily Politics and other yoonfests where the SNP does not get invited to participate, or the SNP representative gets shouted over and interrupted constantly, this was refreshing. Steve Richards is on a wholly different level to the Neils and Dimblebys in the BBC. Maybe I caught him on a good day, but he made the show worth listening to rather than laughing at.

If you get a chance to listen, I would urge you to do so. Pete Wishart was excellent, Peter Hain has some interesting views on Indyref2 and Northern Ireland and even Hay and Villiers contributions added to the debate rather than polarised it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08j94dh

133. Tinto Chiel

No point in getting too upset at such a creepy irrelevance. I think he’s a godsend for us.

Was it not our own Chic McGregor who posed the wonderful question, “How Now Brown Vow?”

That should preface any interview with him.

134. Tinto Chiel

And what Polscot said @12.06.

Refreshingly different, that programme. PW very good.

135. Training Day

The vow having delivered powers over road signage post 2014, we should be excited at the prospect of voting No again to deliver powers over road signage (although now is not the time).

What a time to be alive!

136. Jack Murphy

Re Gordon Brown.

……………Please take note People in Scotland………….
    ………………….Gordon Brown……………………….

………………….is not an MP……………………….
    ………………….is not an MSP………………………
    …………..is not even standing for election anywhere….

He can’t promise you anything at all.
    His Promises/Vows (once again) are rhetoric.
    Don’t be fooled again by the Clowns.

137. ScottishPsyche

Anyone see this from Carole Malone? Nasty thick woman is now trying to say Nicola Sturgeon is an unstable politician. She backtracked from making it personal when she was challenged but the implication was clearly there.

https://twitter.com/ThePledge/status/842467100606119936

138. Socrates MacSporran

Maybe I’ve got it wrong, but, I don’t think so. I feel the A Capella part of Flower of Scotland, at Murrayfield, was sung with more feeling today than at any time since 1990.

139. gordoz

Rev

Cainstoon pictures gone !

140. mogabee

I cannot see ‘toon now! Come on ‘fess up, who stole Chris’s priceless pic?

141. The Dog Philosopher

The Tories know they can’t afford to be seen leading the charge in any anti-Independence campaign, otherwise they’ll end up with 23%. They need to use Brown and others from the ‘old guard’ as a shield to shore up any last pretence of democracy. But it’s plainly obvious that this is now a struggle between pro-Indy believers and Tories of all shades (The Extended Tory Party) who still venerate the Westminster system above all else.

I also view it as a struggle between those of us with open minds against the closed, intransigent, conservative mindsets of unionists. It is why we have youth and time on our side.

142. HandandShrimp

Intrigued to see the picture on Stu’s twitter thing of the Scotland United crowd with their poster van in Aberdeen. Referendumb?

Thought they wanted a positive campaign πŸ™‚

The people involved in that mob are unpleasant loyalist types and the chances of them even understanding what positive means much less be able to marshal it is slim. Please let them lead the Yoon campaign, if only by default.

143. dakk

Lovely Chris πŸ™‚

And that was before jowly old British Bulldog Brown waddled in to look impotently on.Hopefully !

144. heedtracker

Dr Jim says:
    18 March, 2017 at 12:05 pm
    Ian Martin on the BBC defending the Tories policy of cross yer fingers and it’ll all be great

Who is Ian Martin?

This one,

http://archive.is/mfe46

or Ligger Neil’s idiot sidekick?

https://twitter.com/iainmartin1?lang=en

This one is surprisingly thick though.

145. galamcennalath

” Patrick Harvie MSP, the Scottish Greens’ co-convener, said:

β€œOnce again, voters in Scotland will be asking why Gordon Brown didn’t put forward creative suggestions for enhancing devolution when he had the ability to implement them. For these proposals to become a reality, it would require the improbable prospect of Scottish Labour getting in to power at Holyrood in tandem with Corbyn’s Labour winning a general election and a sudden, unexpected thirst for federalism in the rest of the UK. Importantly though, and compared with independence, this plan would do nothing to maintain Scotland’s ties with Europe, or protect us from the isolated Britain planned by the Tories, which will cost Scotland 80,000 jobs and a Β£2,000 drop in average wages.” “

…. can’t argue with that. Brexit is the issue and Broon is off at a federal tangent offering no solutions to the actual clear and present threat.

https://greens.scot/news/patrick-harvie-msp-responds-to-gordon-brown-s-brexit-speech

146. heedtracker

BBC r4 Lunchtime news gives Crash Gordon a massive boost for his federal UK plans, all EU powers will come to Holyrood, sayeth Crash, with future Baroness Sarah Smith very pro Crash too, smothering out SNP conference completely, shock.

Anyone can be a UK red and blue tory attack propagandist really, just do not mention the SNP.

147. galamcennalath

“A continued refusal by Britain’s prime minister to discuss an independence referendum authorized by the Scottish parliament would “shatter beyond repair” the United Kingdom’s constitutional structure, Nicola Sturgeon will tell the Scottish National Party on Saturday.”

… gan yersel, hen!

http://archive.is/iG1Tp

148. HandandShrimp

Brown offers pie in sky in bid to make Labour look relevant.

Just bizarre…nothing else, just bizarre

149. ScottishPsyche

I see Leasky is up to his old tricks, denouncing any criticism of Brown as ad hom or Trump like whilst indulging in the self same towards critics. His rather impassioned defence of Brown also gives a huge clue to his allegiances, despite his claims of neutrality.

Does he have any other argument other than, ‘you are like Trump’?

150. Robert J. Sutherland

heedtracker,

Yes heedy, I heard that one too. A classic reversion to indy-mode from Labour loyalist Sarah Smith just as John Robertson first analysed it, start with a proposition from the Unionist side (never mind that this time it’s an absurd no-hoper from a political corpse), then the pro-indy side are obliged to give a denial.

But what a denial. Angus Robertson: “Labour are in no position to deliver anything. They can’t even deliver a pizza.”

Bang in the middle of the SNP conference too, which was no coincidence. A well-attended conference whose delegates don’t need to be hidden by dodgy camera angles and which is far more newsworthy than any number of failed initiatives from a failed ex-politician.

Obvious to everyone, except the BBC of course.

151. Robert Graham

Ha Ha very good Cartoon , and very true .
    Right on Cue the BBC at the SNP COnference , give total prominence to Broon indeed showing the pacer in fool flow This total unmitigated propaganda pish is way beyond funny now , and anyone who says the protest at the BBC is a waste of time is a f/kn idiot , yep F/kn Idiot .

152. heedtracker

BBC r4 Any Questions politics panel thing just there, George Osborne is a genius, a huge UK asset that brings so much to the Uk and a genius, and a great newspaper man, and a genius, says Micheal Heseltine.

Osborne got a 2:2 in History.

Nowt wrong with that but is it genius levels of tory genius, to get a 2:2, after probably the most expensive private Eton education in the world, is the high tory comedy pouring out of BBC and planet toryboy, in the last ten minutes.

153. David Caledonia

If Gordon Brown and Mrs Dovetail where to have an affair and she got pregnant, what would the child grow up to be, i think the child could grow up to be qu

154. Capella

Can’t find any reference at all to the SNP Conference on the BBC website. Can they really be boycotting it? No live link (not that I’d watch the BBC but others might want to). Not on the Home page, the News page, the Scotland News page nor the Scotland Politics page. I’ve run out of categories.

There’s a lot about Gordon Brown though.

155. David Caledonia

If Gordon Brown and Mrs Dovetail where to have an affair and she got pregnant, what would the child grow up to be, i think the child could grow up to be quite sensible unlike the parents
    The child would probably put Gordon into an old folks home for the sons of ministers and expensive speech makers who mostly talked a load of mince
    And poor old Kezia, what would the child do with her, not a lot, because Kezia is quite a harmless soul, she tried her best all her life, she like Mr Brown was good at talking mince, but at least she had the knowledge to make some mince as well as speak it, Gordon i don’t think could make his own bed or switch the washing machine on by himself, if there was instructions on how to be an idiot, Gordon would not need them, because , yes you’ve guessed it, he’s a natural idiot lol

156. ronnie anderson

Michael Russell .Gordon Brown (means well) whit the F*CK of all the descriptions of Broon he could have used ( means well ) wouldn’t enter my vocabulary .

The politeness of SNP Ministers is confuddling .

157. Glamaig

can anybody tell me whats going on with the conference? is it on lunch break? Periscope not showing anything.

Not even a mention of conference on BBC website, not even just tucked away in Scotland Politics section, and certainly no livestream. Either theyre getting even better at hiding it or they are really not showing it all which is a bit blatant even for them.

158. Glamaig

@Capella

snap. Not just me then. Its ridiculous. I wasnt going to go to PQ 26th but now I damn well will.

159. Capella

@ Glamaig – Conference is stopped for lunch. the livestreams should start again about 2.00 pm Periscope or the snp facebook video stream.

https://www.periscope.tv/theSNP/1OdKrgAqMYeGX?

I found periscope stopped transmitting early yesterday. Nicola’s speech is at 3.45 so might be better to use facebook

https://www.facebook.com/theSNP/?hc_ref=SEARCH&fref=nf

160. fionan

Neither the periscope link nor the snp live link are working, looks like I’ll miss NS speech πŸ™

Great cartoon Chris as ever, your cartoons are a valuable and witty record of the times, and will give future generations an insight into the shenanigans of uk politics over the past few years.

161. heedtracker

Glamaig says:

BBC news front page online, Gordo’s got top billing, with the all new and exciting federal UK for Scots plans. Sturgeon tucked away at the bottom. No mention of SNP conference in Aberdeen. Another classic display of BBC attack propaganda.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news

162. robin

at lunch till 2pm
    Nicola speaks at 3:45

163. Glamaig

BTL on BBC yesterday there were people complaining that the BBC was biased in favour of the SNP! I suppose theyre expecting them to get the Sinn Fein voice of an actor treatment.

164. Hamish100

I was watching periscope and it just stopped broadcasting.

However gave me a quick chance to see the tele. On TV just now is a wild west film called Firecreek starring Jimmy Stewart. One small part caught my eye. JS is told to look at a group of older frightened townsfolk and is told”..Look at them.. theyre’ frightened..because of something new and strange in town..disturbed because the day didn’t turn out like yesterday.”

Unionists in Aberdeen I fear thinking “were up the creek”. On a wider context unionists are having to come to terms with the inevitable of their own making. Unintentional consequences.

165. call me dave

No shortbread live coverage on any place I’ve been on at Auntie’s web site?

I hope that they blank it. That will be good.

Periscope link working now conference starting soon.

166. Capella

So here we are as a country with an elected SNP governing Party and the public service broadcaster refuses to broadcast the Conference nor the First Minister of Scotland’s speech. What a disgrace they are. I think the EU should be monitoring now.

167. Capella

Periscope up and running:
    https://www.periscope.tv/theSNP/1OdKrgAqMYeGX

168. Effijy

Bob Mack says:
    18 March, 2017 at 12:03 pm
    Ian Smart has come up with the idea that Tory ,and Labour, And lib Dems should boycott an indy vote, absentia themselves on the day it is taken. He thinks somehow this will make it invalid.

Effijy:
    That’s a great idea as this means that when Labour Abstained at the Westminster Vote on Austerity Large, it then becomes void and we all get those cuts reversed? lol

Just how stupid do you need to be to be UK Yoon?
    Idiots abound.

169. Robert Peffers

@Footsoldier says: 18 March, 2017 at 8:03 am:

“Gordon Brown is proposing a third way in some form of federalism. Another Vow?
    Anyone who believes that is nuts!”

Well that takes care of Broon, May, The Tories and Kezia, but how many other will believe it and be nuts.

170. call me dave

Listings for BBC 2 Scotland on Saturday, March 18 2017

15:00 Conference 2017: Scottish… …National Party.

Live coverage of the SNP Conference, including the keynote speech by Nicola Sturgeon. [S]

There ye go! Nothing on a digital stream though.

171. Artyhetty

Ha ha! Fabulous image.. Nicola Sturgeon has more integrity and intelligence in her little claw than May has full stop. I think we all know who is ‘getting on with the day job’ and it isn’t the mouse!

About to see if I can watch the conference on SNP Facebook page, you have to go to ‘videos’, if you have fb, but it was not loading very well yesterday, funny that. Still managed to watch/listen to most of it.

172. Glamaig

Gordzilla has shot his bolt too early surely? 18 months away from a vote. Does he resurrect automatically when independence support passes 50%, like the cartoon in the National? does that mean if the polls fluctuate he is going to intervene every time we pass back through 50%?

Or do they know something we dont, like its going to be sooner?

My MSP did say that the Brexit negotiations could take 2 years, or might be all over within 10 minutes…

173. Glamaig

@ Effijy
    if yoons dont want to vote in Scotref, thats fine by me πŸ™‚

174. Socrates MacSporran

This post is off-topic and about sport

Rev. In your twitter feed, you refer to Scotland wearing “an awful away strip”.

In rugby, it is the HOME team that changes colours when there is a clash. Scotland change when hosting Italy and France; France change when hosting Italy and Scotland and Italy change when hosting Scotland or France. Even the All Blacks change when hosting Scotland.

It used to be that England didn’t change when hosting Fiji, but, this, of course, is another example of Britannia waiving the rules.

175. Capella

@ call me dave – thanks for the info re BBC2 Scotland. I also looked on the website for schedules but couldn’t find anything about BBC 2 Scotland. Well hidden.

176. Robert Peffers

@Giving Goose says: 18 March, 2017 at 8:19 am:

” … In Scotland there is no multi party opposition to the Scottish Government (Greens excepted). Politics in Scotland is best understood as simply a pro Scottish/pro independence grouping and an anti Scottish/pro London/imperialist continuum; Labour are part of the latter. Best viewed as Tories.

Ach! Giving Goose, I’ve been explaining that set-up for years.

The southern ruling elite have, since Roman times, been the, “Londinium Establishment”, that progressed to become the, “Westminster Establishment”.

It is historic fact that, since even before the Birth of Christ, there has been a ruling elite based on London.

It has always ruled by two basic tenets. The first is, “Divide and Conquer”, and the second is to do as the Romans did. The Romans did not rule directly. The Romanised the native leaders and had them do the ruling and thus taking the blame.

After the Romans this method of rule was the Feudal System with a monarchy creating Dukes, Earls and so on down to the, “Lords of the Manor”, and each downward step then subdivided the bit of power they wielded until the bottom ranks were the serfs or villeins, (villeins=feudal tenants entirely subject to the lord of the manor to whom they paid dues and services in return for land). They were, both serfs and villeins, basically slaves).

We see the very same system in the HOL and with the SLAB supporting the Tories who are invariably also loyalists to the crown.

177. gus1940

Rugby

After going through countless coaches over the last few years we finally get a good one who has produced a winning team who all love and respect him, the fans love him and what do the balloons at The SRU do – they sack him – only that shower are capable of such nonsense.

Townsend is good but is still a relatively young man and there is plenty of time for him to get a chance of coaching the National team.

VC deserves praise for the good grace he has shown in the face of how he has been treated.

178. Dr Jim

Live on BBC2 from 3pm, FM speech a bit later
    You just have to suffer the “Experienced knowledgeable journalists” opinions in between and after then ad infinitum ad nauseum, at length till you’re dead
    then they’ll show it again and again with the important bits cut out in order to present a more balanced view for the Unionists who are offended by the facts

Facts are such a burden to Unionists, totally the wrong kind of democracy, not the British way

Have any of the previous commonweath countries been on the phone pledging their support to the Union BTW

Still waiting…..Uhuh, I see! soon then, Oh you’ve to give them a call, righto let us know then

179. Gary45%

Who is this Gordon Brown??

180. Gary45%

Oh Aye Chris, another Classic.
    Is it the usual array of flags next Sunday?

181. crazycat

@ izzie at 7.23

Slightly o/t
    Mice (and rats) are too light to trigger landmines, which is why they are used by this organization:

https://www.apopo.org/en/

which I found out about from Wings twitter, so I’m sure it’s ok to mention it here.

182. Jamur

Sorry for the language folks but there is no other way to say it.
    Gordon Brown can get himself tae fuck.
    A blow torch wouldnae mark the cretins neck.
    Would rather his own country suffered Tory/ukip than independence.
    What is wrong with these buffoon yoons?

Again you can go ram it Gordon.

183. Macart

Prof. Curtice completely missing the elephant in the room in his reasoning there on timing.

Human and civil rights.

190k EU resident new Scots voting rights to be precise.

Who knew?

184. Effijy

I was on BBC Radio a couple of times this week to try and present my frustration, and my country’s frustration, Scotland’s, in not having Democracy within the UK.

I have been around for 60 years, and in that time, my country has NEVER given the Tories a majority in any form of election, not even close.

Me, and my country, have politics that sit Left of Centre. We believe that our country should be run for the benefit of the majority, not just the rich.
    We believe that a civilised society supports, not attacks, the disabled, or those down on their luck, or between jobs.

We don’t have a fear of new citizens from foreign lands,
    we welcome them and enjoy sharing our cultures.

Why is it then that I have had to live the vast majority of my life under the boot of Right Wing Westminster governments?

The First Election that I recall monitoring, was back in 1970, when Ted Heath won for the Tories.

A disorganised Labour took back control briefly for a 5 year period, under 2 leaders, between 1974 and 1979, when Thatcherism destroyed compassion and morality in politics.

Since then Scotland has been subjected to Right Wing Westminster Governments, including 13 years under the Blair and Brown Red Tory alternative government.

The Blue Tory Flag was foisted over Scotland again in
    2010, and regrettably, without any tangible English opposition, it seems assured that we will have to endure the Tory hatred of our country until at least 2025.

A 55 year period in which we only got 5 years of the Left
    Wing governance that we have voted for.
    This isn’t democracy, it’s abuse by a larger neighbouring bully, who has no sense of justice or care of duty.

With 1 Tory MP out of 59, we are subjected to the tyranny
    the London Tories under a Mundell from hell, who they have the nerve to call the Secretary of State for Scotland?

The Labour Party, again with 1/59th of our MPs, cannot persuade their man to be their Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland, and so they have given the title to an Englishman, who is born, bred, and bound to England?

Do you realise that if Every Scottish Vote in the last general election went to either, SNP, Labour, Liberal, or Greens, we would still end up with a Tory Government????

Do you realise that in the EU Referendum a 100% vote by Scotland to remain in the EU, means that the Tories would still rip us out of the EU against our will?

This is not Democracy, it is a draconian UK dictatorship.

The Tories, Labour and Lib Dems are all quite happy that Scotland will have no Special Arrangement with the EU, after Brexit, not even a say on the matter, because we just don’t matter!

This in spite of Special Arrangements being available to N. Ireland, Isle of Man, The Channel Islands, Gibraltar,
    and even a Japanese Car Plant in Sunderland???

Scotland is to get nothing of anything but a car plant,Yes!

When England sits down at the EU table to discuss what future relationship England can have with the EU, Federal European States such as Wallonia, and Saxony, will discuss Scotland’s future relationship with the EU, but Scotland will not be allowed to have any say in Scotland’s future!

Democracy is dead to Scotland while it is tied to an abusive UK Government.
    This corrupt faux Union must end and Scotland must now Live as a Sovereign Nation, or die as strangled Colony.

You must stand and fight for Democracy, your Country, and the Future of your Children, or you will be nothing and have nothing.

185. Brian Powell

I know we are proEuropean but the Conference seems to be taking a very continental lunch break. It’ll soon be time for afternoon tea.

186. John H.

Every time I switch on my tv or radio I get Gordon Brown, Gordon Brown, Gordon Brown. Dear God, do we really have to put up with another 18 months of this? Is this how brainwashing works?

187. Capella

@ Brian Powell – Conference has been streaming since c 2.00 pm Try refreshing.

188. Effijy

Spelling mistakes hopefully corrected:

Effijy says:
    18 March, 2017 at 9:26 am
    Brown is an out and out Lying Bastard.

How can Millionaire Brown dare show his
    Face after his Vow, Guarantee of Home Rule,
    A near Federal State for us?

The very first thing we got was EVEL for England, and nothing more substantial for Scotland.

Brown, the man who knew about the hidden
    McCrone Report, the man who stood by and
    Watched 6,000 square miles of Scottish water
    Being stolen for England!

He sold off all UK gold reserves before it was
    To double and treble in value soon after.

He was in charge of Banking Regulation when
    They went gambling and burst our economy.

He took Β£10 Billion from private pensions and
    Brought anbend to final salary pensions.

Known to bully his colleagues, he showed his true
    Colours when he left his Mike on and degraded
    Pensioner Gillian Duffy.

He was behind the corrupt PFI deals where we
    Have to pay back over Β£300 Billion for only Β£50
    Billion worth of defective works, that endangered
    Our kids and their teachers.

When he lost the general election, he assured
    Everyone that as the 2nd largest party could form
    the next government, and at the next election he lied
    to SNP supporters by suggesting that we had to vote Labour as should they became the 2nd largest party, they could not form a government?? Contradictory Liar. Nice Change.

At the referendum he lied to our pensioners that
    There would be no pension in an independent
    Scotland, while knowing that our pensions were
    Guaranteed by Westminster who received our N.I. payments.

His most disgusting and despicable act was to terrify Scots by suggesting that and independent
    Scotland would not have transplant lists, or a Blood Transfusion Service, unlike every country in Europe!

Brown spends Β£10,000 per week on Expenses from his own
    Charity.
    Most of it on Luxury Travel and Hotels and Fine Dining.

From his ” Charity” that had Β£3 Million in it, wonder if any of the companies who are raking it in from his PFI disasters made a contribution, He has never given one penny to the Food Banks in his constituency????

He also vowed to keep open Kirkcaldy’s Tesco supermarket,
    You know, that one that was closed.

Brown is a failed Chancellor, a Failed PM, and a Scaremongering Liar, who works toward his own wealth and that of the Westminster cabal.

189. stu mac

@
    Robert Graham says:
    18 March, 2017 at 1:21 pm
    =============================

You are mistaking being right for being effective.

190. Brian Powell

Capella

Was trying that, but all I get is waiting to go live for Livestream, and error loading.

191. Luigi

If the yoons have released the Brown stuff so soon, with the campaign barely begun, they must be absolutely desperate.

They have played their trump(et) card far too early to have any effect, whatsoever.

Let the BS flow, however. It will blow up in their faces. People can smell it a mile off.

192. Luigi

I haven’t seen so much yoon panic since the first week of September 2014.

And there is at least 18 months to go. πŸ™‚

Extraordinary.

193. heedtracker

Luigi says:
    18 March, 2017 at 3:41 pm
    If the yoons have released the Brown stuff so soon, with the campaign barely begun, they must be absolutely desperate.

Is it not just all about keeping Mayhem’s block on ref 2 out of our simple minds?

They’re using Crash to smother the SNP conference and more importantly, hiding tory dictatorship from London, their no Scots ref2 til we decide block? Look at how hard all yoon culture both sides of the border is ranting that its NOT a Mayhem block, its just not now, maybe soon etc?

194. heedtracker

Watching SNP conference on Facebook, Nic Sturgeon walks on stage and SKY broadband freezes. Well screw you uncle Rupert. BT are giving away Β£200 credit cards if you switch, offer for next days, am on it:D

195. Macart

‘There WILL be an independence referendum’

…WILL…

πŸ™‚

196. K1

I can’t get the Facebook link to work on iPad, though worked fine yesterday…periscope was useless too…scunnered!:-(

197. arthur thomson

@Polscot 12.06

I listened to that programme and I heard it very differently to how you describe.

It was an exercise in pure propaganda. Every single current angle of the state propaganda service was there. A nauseating attempt at pretending to be objective.

198. Undeadshaun

For those watching it on facebook, Its live on bbc 2 just now

199. Luigi

heedtracker says:

18 March, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Is it not just all about keeping Mayhem’s block on ref 2 out of our simple minds?

Aye, but the fact that they have had to release the beast and play their trump card at the start of the campaign does not bode well for their future. My heart bleeds. πŸ™‚

200. K1

Periscope is working now :-). So at least ah can watch Nicola now!

201. heedtracker

K1 says:
    18 March, 2017 at 3:58 pm
    I can’t get the Facebook link to work on iPad, though worked fine yesterday…periscope was useless too…scunnered!:-(

Go to the SNP Facebook page only. Working there.

202. call me dave

We are the people! πŸ™‚

Excellent speech.

203. Valerie

Phew! Powerful speech, Nicola.

I genuinely don’t see how you could disagree, unless you don’t approve of democracy, inclusion and tolerance.

204. Macart

‘Scotland isn’t full up, come join us’

Yes, that is a First Minister far as I’m concerned.

I’m not big on party politics as folk who know me can attest, but I do believe that lady is the real deal.

205. Glamaig

Fantastic speech from Nicola. Im not sure I recognised it from Curtice’s summing up.

206. Nana

Excellent speech from Nicola.

@Liz Rannoch

This is all I can find of Angus Robertson’s chat this morning

wee video here..
    https://twitter.com/lesross12/status/843075129123004416

207. Glamaig

BBC dont ever show Nicola going round the audience do they? Periscope died on me during the speech so was watching BBC.

208. Cactus

Sensing a new article is imminent..

There WILL be an independence referendum.

Nice one Nicola.
    X.

209. Famous15

Well I agree with every word of that speech

We the people we arra peepel. democracy lives.

Just tough enough to let the Tories know THEY must think again if not we the people will decide.

210. izzie

BBC coverage stopped after a short comment by Curtis. No analysis no response from delegates. How strange

211. heedtracker

All the SNP just get better and better:D

212. One_Scot

Glamaig, BBC Scotland and Curtice’s job is to rubbish the SNP as much as they can and to get people to vote No. Hopefully they will fail this time.

213. Croompenstein

Wonderful speech by FM someone needs to tell Murdo and Harrison that we yes we are indeed the people πŸ™‚

214. Capella

Terrific speech from Nicola. So sorry that some of you couldn’t watch it in real time but I do recommend watching it when it becomes available on the SNP facebook page.
    https://www.facebook.com/theSNP/?hc_ref=SEARCH&fref=nf

Or the SNP Youtube page
    http://www.youtube.com/user/TheSnp

She is one astute lady and everyone will leave that hall determined to get the vote out at the May elections.

215. Cactus

Excellent toon Chris.
    —–

Mon the cats’!

Did ye ken that the female of the species is called the queen?

Looking forward to seeing Hamish and the queen on their further adventures together.

Stronger for Scotland.

216. Gary45%

Luigi@3.44
    That’s the Yoons problem, they fired all their salvos at once in 2014.
    Being the short sighted inbreds that they are, “they thought it was all over”, all they heve left is fear and panic.
    Up here in the Highlands I noticed a news?paper billboard today with a local headline about local companies worried about Indy Ref2. I never bothered looking at it because it will be the same English owner companies who threatened to leave the last time if it was Yes.
    Well if they trying that old sausage again, they can GTF.
    Scotland doesn’t need you or any other likeminded company, take your business DAN SAF and live in Merry old Angerland, with the rest of the racists, and try and deal with the EU.
    Independent Scotland “Open for business”

217. Bob Mack

Best speech I have ever heard from Nicola. Real statesmanship.The quote at the end was indeed memorable. I hope that many accept Nicolas invitation to come here and help build something extraordinary.

218. DerekM

Here is Nicola`s speech on youtube for anybody that missed it .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=on93jbNjUm0

219. Flower of Scotland

It’s outrageous that BBC 2 only showed Nicola,s speech in Scotland. No other parts of the UK got to see it.

The other conferences, although much smaller got live coverage of some of the speeches and resolutions.

It was difficult to find online too. Facebook ok in the morning but I couldn’t access it in the afternoon. So thanks to Wingers, I watched it on periscope and shared that on Facebook.

You would think that they they were making it difficult to watch the SNP Conference! Hmm.

220. sandycraig

Nicola is the most professional politician in the UK.

Measured speech, composed, never flustered, brilliant.

I also agree with Socrates farther back. Was at Murrayfield for the Welsh game, and when the band stopped playing for the second verse of our anthem, the singing almost took the roof off. We out sung the Welsh that day and I’ve never known that before.

The tide is definitely turning.

221. Glamaig

@flower of Scotland

England is kept completely in the dark about SNP and Scotland. Though to be fair I think thats the way they like it. They dont want those jocks all over tv.

As far as theyre concerned the jocks are subsidised and whinging and now they think we’re trying to scupper their Brexit and they want rid of us.

I always thought this Β£15bn deficit bollocks would come back and bite Westminster on the ass πŸ™‚

I get my data from studying BTL so may not be representative of the population as a whole… or it might be.

222. Smallaxe

I think that people are being a bit hard on Mr Brown, after all, he saved every one of us!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5stftd5qv3M&ab_channel=SPOILTBALLOT

And Remember this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFxvEwXBoCU&ab_channel=danny13234

Peace Always

223. Clootie

Why today is an ex-politician, who holds no office, has no authority and cannot deliver a single change getting greater coverage than the elected FM of Scotland…..I know stupid question.

I’m a tad upset!

224. Croompenstein

@smallaxe

I wish his mither had kept her knees shut πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKpYFzQHFIU

225. call me dave

BBCPhilipSim political correspondent tweets:

Nicola Sturgeon says it’s exactly 50 years since Winnie Ewing said “stop the world, Scotland wants to get on”.

Explains the badges…
    —————————————————————
    He didn’t know!…FGS. πŸ™‚

226. Robert Peffers

Sheesh! I just called on my wee pal and for once his better half was out at her friends house. He had the Tory conference on from Wales on parliament TV.

As I went into his lounge I was just in time to hear some Tory walloper come out with this gem when asked if May’s threat to prevent a Scottish referendum would be counter productive, “Not really and, according to Sturgeon, a Scottish referendum would be a once in a generation kind of thing.”

Now I’m getting old, and they say the memory gets poor, but my memory is that the SG FM that actually mentioned the generation thing was Alex Salmond. What he said, if memory serves, was said as a personal thing and, as far as I can remember this was never, at any time, official SNP or SG policy.

Are all unionist political people lying, devious, self-opinionated arseholes?

227. arthur thomson

I wonder if champagne socialist Brown is spreading his poison with the blessing of his Leader, Jeremy?

Labour are a hypocritical shambles and getting progressively worse – the only sense in which they are progressive.

228. Nana

Anyone wondering just how poisonous or how low can labour go.

Jealousy and bitterness eating Kezia up. Replies are pretty good though.

https://twitter.com/kezdugdale/status/843134915910778881

https://twitter.com/kezdugdale/status/843148465525964801

229. John H.

Glamaig 5.03pm.

If you want to get an idea of English thinking you should listen to LBC radio. Since Nicola’s announcement on Monday they have had wall to wall condemnation of all things Scottish, and Nicola in particular.

The people phoning in seem to think that they know everything there is to know about Scotland, in actual fact most of them know nothing. Poorer than Greece, Β£15 billion black hole etc.

I think I’ll give it a rest for a while. The arrogant display of ignorance is too much for me.

The honourable exception has been James O’Brien, who is the only presenter who seems to be really trying to understand what we are all about.

230. Socrates MacSporran

Robert Peffers @ 5.24pm

Nothing wrong with your memory Auld Bob. His Eckness did indeed give, as his personal opinion, his belief that a referendum should be a once in a “political” generation thing.

The Yoons always forget the “personal opinion” and “political generation” comments. Eck gauged a political generation as being a five-to-seven- year period; in which case, Indyref2 being five years on from Indyref1, is towards then end of a political generation.

And to answer the question you posed in your final paragraph – Yes.

231. Croompenstein

We will just shake it off πŸ™‚

Have you seen this one Stu?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zm1-bVYio1k

232. Nana

@Liz Rannoch

Here’s Joanna Cherry on sky this morning

video here..
    https://twitter.com/tomfrench85/status/843080622394527744

233. DerekM

Unbelievable i just found some yoon using SNP conference in their vid title on youtube for the Broon`s rantings.

Not linking not giving him the views in fact i might spend my evening trolling the crap out the channel.

234. Tinto Chiel

What Alex Salmond said:

http://archive.is/7THmp

“Are all unionist political people lying, devious, self-opinionated arseholes?”

Looks that way.

235. Alastair

Just listened to G Bown’s case for the UK single market. What , where in his fantasy world does this exist. Can he explain the rules, how it works who are members what are there obligations.
    Absolute fantasy push. We are part of a disfunctional UK that has no such thing as a UK Singke market. How shallowly dense does he think we are.

236. North chiel

Ken 500@ 1121
    Watched full uninterrupted coverage of FM speech on
    Sky international news channel ( hols presently) .Reasonably unbiased post speech comments .
    Also interview with Dr. Eildh Whiteford .

237. Nana

Good grief I’ve just read the Independent story on Nicola’s speech, headline ‘Sturgeon urges rest of UK to move to Scotland to escape Brexit’

The comments are sickening, full of hatred and bile. Westminster should be so ashamed of what they have done, encouraging bigotry like this.

238. cirsium

Watched Nicola’s speech live on RT

239. Glamaig

Scottish Conservative twitter feed – literally every tweet is about independence. They are a one-trick pony obsessed with independence and neglecting their day-job. They dont care about anything else.

240. John H.

Brexit seems to have brought out the worst in some English people. The MSM have a lot to answer for. I hope and pray that all this doesn’t lead to violence.

241. Brian Powell

I didn’t watch the FM speech on BBC so I have no direct knowledge of the BBC commentators interpretations of her real words were, however judging by some comments elsewhere the BBC folk saw a different speech and heard different words from the ones the FM actually used.

It strengthens the argument of Wings’s article in the National that we should bypass the MSM to get accurate assessments of the news, and spread that far and wide.

242. G H Graham

Ms. Sturgeon’s closing speech can be watched here …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EAONGifwA5U

243. Smallaxe

Croompenstein:

We could always use this to keep his Mooth shut!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9cERvUX6sE&t=29s&ab_channel=Oscars

Peace Always

244. Smallaxe

John H. says:

“I hope and pray that all this doesn’t lead to violence”

Unfortunately, John, history shows that violence is their Forte.
    Fortunately, we fight their might with our right, it’s the only way to fight.

Peace Always my Friend

245. Breeks

This whine on a loop about a referendum being being once in a generation or lifetime…

IF, and it’s a big IF, the Unionist media and Better Together had sat down with YES and the SNP, and rationally discussed the pros and cons of Independence objectively and thoroughly explored the issues and exhausted the arguments, then the issue and substance of a referendum might very well have been settled for a generation or even longer.

Every one of us knows that just didn’t happen. Instead of weighing up whether it should be Scotland or Westminster deciding whether we’d remain in Europe, we get the BBC trawling around Europe digging up a parade of European unknowns ready to express their personal rhetoric telling us how toxic we are in Europe. Europeans like Barusso who wanted the U.K. to back his career prospects with the UN! What a fraud.

Instead of weighing up whether Scotland or Westminster should decide which currency we use, we don’t even go through the options any further than “You can’t use the pound”, and you can’t have a currency Union. So there! The issue was repeated ad nauseam, but actually got even less actual analysis than the pros and cons of Brexit. No detail, just propaganda on repeat.

I could go on; defence, pensions, NHS, … but you all know the script.

NONE of the Independence issues were discussed and exhausted objectively or rationally. No constructive and progressive vision of an Independent Scotland was broadcast throughout. It was all spin, and never varied for a moment from the monopolised BritNat agenda.

What I’m saying is the 2014 referendum was a fraud. The debate was skewed. Of course the SNP cannot say so, because they’d be pilloried for saying it, but I’m not the SNP, and I speak as I find. If I was the Electoral Commissioner, we’d have been like Austria, and have run the referendum again and done it properly.

As far as I’m concerned, the 2014 result should have been consigned to the dustbin and the whole referendum conducted again with honest and proper representation of the issues put to the public under appropriate international supervision. The Unionists were shameless in their distorted arguments, the BBC and media were both an absolute disgrace, and a penguin from Edinburgh Zoo could have done a better job maintaining standards and probity than the Electoral commission.

Good for a generation? It’s not worth the paper it’s written on.

I hope the SNP remember what they felt on the day after, and that they make sure we have international observers, strict monitoring of broadcasting and spending, and absolute probity with postal votes, and that while the UK Electoral Commission might have some roll as observers, they must NOT be appointed arbiters of the electoral protocol.

ScotRef is the big one. Win or lose, we will not be cheated again.

246. Hamish100

C4 News – arrogance personified by the interviewer.

Honestly when are SNP going to tell them to stop interrupting while speaking. Just wait, smile and get their agreement that they will behave in a fair manner.Silence will be deafening.

When the interviewer gets overexcited recommend that they take a deep breath and compose themselves.

Having said all that Whiteford did well

247. stu mac

@John H.
    ===========

I’ve gone a few times to England for short breaks (Lake District/York/Berwick/etc) but have decided to leave off for a year or two until things calm down. Only a few nutters who would actually attack you but one gets the sense of a really unpleasant atmosphere and I don’t think I’d enjoy a holiday there ate the moment.

248. Tinto Chiel

Hamish100: agree.

I would stop speaking and create Dead Air, which is to be avoided, particularly on radio. Then, after a short interval say, “Sorry, I was just waiting for your next interruption…..”

Sometimes the listener just needs a wee jundie, ken?

And even if you’re not Ken.

249. Artyhetty

re;effigy@3.08pm

Excellent comment Effigy.

As a non Scot, it is all so blindingly clear and obvious, how Scotland has been used, abused, sidelined, ridiculed and treated with utter contempt by their neighbour south of the border.

I see, at present, an SNP government, actually functioning as if Scotland was an independent country. By that I mean, an anti austerity, pro investment in people, communities, and the wider economy of Scotland, government.
    All, however, within the huge constraints of unionist, tory led WM, and their extreme right wing, disastrous regime.

‘What’s for you won’t go by you’. Scotland needs now to throw off the dreadfully negative destructive shackles of the UK.

England will survive on it’s own, and if england can somehow, come to an amicable relationship with their fabulous neighbour, ie, Scotland, they may even get to benefit from having such a good friend, ie Scotland.

Wouldn’t that just be so much more life affirming for the people of england, who really need to feel loved right now.

250. Artyhetty

Re;stu mac@7.40

That’s sad stu. The thing is, and it’s criminal, the anti Scottish independence thing south of the border is caustic, all due to media ramping up the negative, othering, akin to any kind of control by state, anywhere. Divide, rule, job done, easy peasy.

We might go see friends n family in NE england this year, let’s hope we are welcomed with open arms. I have my doubts sadly, people are incredibly fickle.

251. Alan Mackintosh

John H, re LBC. Yep , I agree that James o Brien is one of the presenters who seems to get it. I was on earlier this week, think it was Tuesday or Wed morning. They were on about TM blocking the referendum- refusing permission, section 30, that sort of thing. To be fair he was calling out people for using the same “brexit” language against Scots as was used in the Brexit ref- Project Fear stuff. Anyway I got increasingly annoyed at the ignorance of the process that I called in and for a change actually got to speak. So I explained that although the section 30 might not get an agreement,that was not important and that a consultative ref could still be held, that the SP has that power and if it went that way, that under Article One of the UN charter, it would be seen as a recognition of self determination. He didnt think it would come to that but in the event that it does,( a wildcat ref) he promised that he would present his show wearing a kilt, (native style sans undergarment) A small victory for common sense there.

252. Stoker

Can’t sleep, too much anger running through my cranium.

Effijy’s earlier posts on Broon has got me toying with the idea of producing our very own WOS dossier/fact files on all the main Unionist players/liars.

Which reminds me of another important fact to be added to Broons file – that he fully and unconditionally supported the mass murder, maiming and mentally disturbing hundreds of thousands of innocent human beings throughout Iraq and beyond, as well as sending thousands of military personnel to return either dead or crippled for life and/or mentally scarred forever. His fat wrinkly hands are steeped in the blood of innocents.

I’ve also been seeing one or two Wingers referring to the BritNats starting to play the “celebrity” card. Beware, the Financial Times claimed earlier this week that the ‘No’ campaign this time around *will* be looking for a big celebrity figure to front their campaign and Jakey Howling seems likely to be the hot favourite.

I’ve also noted one or two gleefully dismissing Crash Broons early interference as a “desperate” move by the BritNats. Well, all I can say to that is dismiss it at your peril, the more they pump that pack of lies the more chance they have of people buying into it and there are those out there who will soak up every lying word of it just as easily as you dismiss it and they’ve got the best part of 2-years to pump out the guff.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.