Performance review day

Posted on February 29, 2016 by

greatleap4h

Well, it’s that time of year again, folks, when you get to decide whether you want there to be a Wings Over Scotland for the next 12 months or not. Gulp.

Click here to make it happen.

398 to “Performance review day”

1. bobajock

Broken link.

2. RogueCoder

Right folks, I have a bet on this – Let’s get cracking! Worth every penny, Stu!

3. Inverclyder

Just donated.

4. X_Sticks

Good luck Stuart. I hope we can smash the fundraiser in record time.

5. CameronB Brodie

Love the choice of art-work. 🙂

The total-ism of your commitment is emblazoned on the hearts of many, where as the total-ism of the corporate media is something to be feared and resisted.

Go get them tiger. Grrrr.

6. Interpolar

I used to think WoS was an interesting addition to the ecology of online pro-Indy thought. I’ve now come to the conclusion that it’s indispensable to the health of public political debate in Scotland.
    2015 was its best year yet.

I’ll be putting my money where my mouth is.

7. indigo

It’s always fascinating watching Wings crowdfunders soar

8. skozra

Donated, well worth every single penny & will continue to donate. Thank you Rev !

9. Capella

Glad to see The Great Helmsman carrying on.

10. One_Scot

Done. I believe we need your talent more than we could possibly realise.

In 200 years time no one will know of or remember me. I’m not sure the same could be said about you.

11. G H Graham

I may be the first to have claimed “Not The BBC” so you better not be repeat posting about Labour Peer & convicted criminal, Lord George Foulkes or I’ll want my money back.

For those of you who hate repeats, in August 1993, Foulkes, a Labour MP at the time, representing the good folks of Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley, was charged with assaulting a police officer and being drunk and disorderly outside the House of Commons.

The good news is that British democracy was preserved & protected. On 16 June 2005, under Tony Blair’s leadership, Foulkes was created Baron Foulkes of Cumnock in East Ayrshire.

The unelected drunkard is still possibly assisting in his spare time, with keeping one of the many tax payer subsidised bars afloat.

So please, can you stop posting any further mention of this convicted violent criminal, who is still active in the House of Lords?

I’d hate it, if the electorate got the wrong impression of the man.

12. Cuilean

I particularly like the ‘spanner’ in the pic & the homage to the beloved of yoons ‘one party state’ leitmotif.

13. Paula Rose

Fundraising time again – so now for the important bit the raise within the raiser.

Gold badge for the bestest.

Two years back X-Sticks organised a gold badge for ronnie anderson in recognition of his ability to herd cats, decorate sheds, amuse us all with his comments and for being a grand chap.

Last year ronnie anderson unsurprisingly bestowed the same honour upon moi – in recognition of the (quite honestly much needed) style, glamour and sophistication I bring to Wings nights out and the many events we attend to spread the word and raise money for various causes.

At such events while the rest of us are mixing business with pleasure, there is one person who has spent the previous few nights pumping away hard at his handle to make sure there are enough badges to go around, has chauffeured the equipment and team, and spends the time making sure the money is in the pot. This person has done more than any of us to raise hundreds of pounds for the Maryhill food bank and others.

Ladies and Gentlemen – donate and mention either here or on Off-topic that your donation is for…

Pete the Camera

14. Bob Mack

Subscription renewed . Will also donate separately.Keep up your fantastic work Rev by keeping us “cult robots” informed of the true facts.

We on wings are enlightened.The rest of the UK has still to catch up.

15. Bob Mack

@Paula Rose,

All my donations etc to be accredited to Pete

16. Chic McGregor

If there is to be an award of a gold badge I would nominate Nana.

17. X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

More than happy to endorse your choice for the Wingers funded Gold badge.

There are many on here who would be deserving of such an honour, but Pete the Camera has worked tirelessly making badges and manning stalls to sell them for good causes. He has raised thousands of pounds for both the Dundee and Maryhill foodbanks.

He does this in spite of the fact that he has many difficulties of his own to overcome. I can’t overstate my respect for the man.

I’m in.

18. galamcennalath

I note on The Rev’s wee speel on Indiegogo …

“Wings is now the second-most-read politics blog in the entire UK, let alone in Scotland. We get 97% as many pageviews as the Spectator website”

… Firstly, well done. Secondly, we need to get Wings firmly established as the number one UK political blog! Not sure exactly how, but we need to have a concerted effort to get more people visiting this site.

19. CapnAndy

Just donated. Thanks Stu for all your hard work and dedication.

20. Fireproofjim

Done and well worth it.
    Now Scottish people rise up and smash the lickspittle,running dogs of so-called Cameron and his revisionist Gang of Four. On with the long march and the Great Leap Forward to confound the dastardly UKOK and their cunning traps for the people. And so on.

21. heraldnomore

Proud to be a Simpleton

22. Fergus Green

@ Chic McGregor:

Nomination for Nana endorsed.

Also, an honourable mention for Call me Dave for trawling the Scottish dailies and providing links for those of us who just can’t bear to click on the direct website links.

23. Paula Rose

@ Chic – I gave Nana a special pair of gold high heels when we met in Glasgow.

24. Swami Backverandah

The clean-shaven look takes a bit of getting used to Stu, but that dentist has done a great job on your teeth. Kudos to them.

Also good to see you’ve got a terrific grip on that Spanner, and will put it to use on the tractors (Ed)

All the best with the fundraiser.
    My prediction, you’ll crack the ton 😀

25. handclapping

On the one hand we have this tendency of yours to go wandering round your home town taking pictures of assorted oograah instead of producing further pieces for our delectation. This is a demerit and has been noted on your HR file.
    On the other hand we cannot let you fold before the Hootsman or we’d never hear the end of it from the yoons so on balance it will be best to keep you in crispy fried seaweed for another year.

I would have preferred “Toxic Maniac”

26. Kragos

Donated, keep up the great work 🙂

27. mike

My £50 is less than a pound a week. For this I don’t have to sully myself trawling the yoon media, the rev takes a hit for the team time and time again, by sifting their hateful pish. Cheap at twice the price.

28. Bob Mack

@Chic @Paula Rose,

I suspect we will accrue enough to provide Both Pete and the incomparable NANA with a gold badge,should the good Rev decide to attribute anonymous donations to them both. Could someone ask “pretty please? “

29. cearc

Bob Mack and others.

Please put a note on http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/
    saying the amount of the donation (for which you haven’t claimed perks) for the Pete the Camera badge.

It is much easier to collate them from there than spread throughout a (probably to be) very long comment thread.

Thanks

30. Andy A

At the adoption meeting for our local SNP candidate on Friday (Paul Wheelhouse), a couple of the hardback Wee Blue Books were being auctioned off to raise funds for our campaign. One of the lucky pair who bid successfully for them got our guest for the evening, a certain Alex Salmond, to sign the book for her. He also added a comment in the book to the effect that the Wee Blue Book was the single most influential campaign tool that the Yes side deployed in the referendum campaign of 2014. Respect, Stu .

31. Mosstrooper

Donated. Question; why is there no “Scotland” option on the -country= box?

32. Chic McGregor

@Paula

OK. And I see Xsticks gave some info on who Pete the Camera is and he appears to be a very worthy nominee.

I was just putting forward my suggestion based on what appears here in comments and Nana does an unbelievable amount of work in producing the links she posts.

33. Lollysmum

Not only is there a spanner in the fundraiser pic but a ‘tractor’ too. The Wings engineer is using the spanner to fix the tractor’s problems. Sound familiar?

Donated with pleasure. Stuart you are worth every penny & so pleased that you did as we said last year & gave yourself a pay rise.

34. jimnarlene

Done. Add to whom so ever, for the gold badge.

35. cearc

Chic,

He really is. A quiet man, most have never heard of, who does so much to promote Wings.

36. Clootie

…delighted to contribute as always 😀

37. galamcennalath

Lollysmum says:

“Not only is there a spanner in the fundraiser pic but a ‘tractor’ too. ”

I got the spanner message, but missed the tractor!

However, what is the symbolism behind the big BBQ ? 🙂

38. Flower of Scotland

Over £10k now! Keep going folks. He,s worth it!

Thanks Nana for great links, on the previous thread.

@Mosstrooper. Put Scotland in the country box and it says it doesn’t recognise BLANK.

Sky news showed about 15ish mins of Nicola and her wee talk, in England, about the EU. She was looking good!

39. Grouse Beater

Happy to contribute.
    I am very pleased we supporters of full democracy have a platform for open debate and fearless expression.

40. Lollysmum

Big BBQ-skewering unionists lies & deception? Holding their feet to the fire? Who knows?

Is that meant to be Stu showing off his nice new teeth? Nae beard though?

41. NiallD

Done Stu….keep up the good work.

@mosstrooper 11.02

I looked for the Scotland option too…..maybe in a few years time!

42. PHYDAUX

As a relative newcomer to this site,I am delighted to contribute to your campaign.Please continue to shine a light on our journey to independence and keep us informed and inspired.

43. call me dave

That time again and a modest target too!
    Your site and the folk who post are the best.

Can you credit my donation to:

Pete the Camera

PS:
    SNP x 2

44. gn2

Two hours in and performance review day seems to be going rather well.

45. Jamie Arriere

Duty done for another year, and a first-ever badge to go with it.

Thanks again for your fearless work from a grateful simpleton.

46. Ian Henderson

There was no option to choose Scotland as country on the Indigogo page. Is Rev Stu subtly trying to tell us something?

47. Andrew Brown

Donated. Keep up the good work Stu.

48. Fairliered

Going well!
    Maybe you will raise enough for a day out to Ardrossan!

49. desimond

Down with this Sort of thing!

JOKE!

50. Bill Hume

Donation made. More will be forthcoming if Indyref2 and WBB2 are on the near horizon.

SNP x 2

51. call me dave

Had to use the UKOK button but I held my nose and pressed.

Anyhoo! What a start. 🙂

PS:
    Lord Forsyth is not amused. ‘parochialism’

https://archive.is/O38o4

PPS:
    This sounds like a damn good idea.

https://archive.is/2CJx5

52. Eppy

Donated. I used to be a radio 4 addict and now I spend too much time surfing and looking at Wings etc. Thanks for all your hard work over the years.

Keep it up.

53. heedtracker

Hothersall and Hague, twa cheeks of the same UKOK airse, providing brilliant UK examples of Lab and Con unionist’s love and joy for anything Scottish democracy.

Frankly.

54. David Mooney

Donated.

Can’t really imagine life without checking this fantastic site every day.

£15,500 40% of target in 2 hours. Stu will make target before the end of the day.

55. Struthers

I hope someone is recording Owen Paterson’s empassioned words in support of Scottish independence on Daily Politics. At least I assume that’s what he’s talking about – smaller countries like Iceland able to make trade deals with China. Seems he’s changed his mind from 2014

http://www.owenpaterson.org/news/thoughts-scottish-independence

56. cearc

call me dave, Bob Mack et al,

PLEASE, put a note on http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/
    saying the amount of the donation (for which you haven’t claimed perks) for the Pete the Camera Gold.

I cannot keep a record unless I know how much the donations were and I am not trawling all through the Indiegogo list looking to match comments to contributions which may not even show the same name!

57. John H.

£50 donated. More later if necessary.

58. al urquhar

How much did it cost to get Roofie-tractor commander- to pose for yer fotie?
    and wi’ a left-handed wrench.

59. heedtracker

I can hear UKIP’s Scottish MEP bellowing “not according to The Guardian!” Who’d have UKOK thought it, progressive liberal rancid, The Graun boosted to high Brexit heaven by a UKIPster.

Rather UKOK stinky at The Graun Towers.

60. HandandShrimp

This is just like an Alistair Carmichael fundraiser – except with people actually donating 🙂

As ever, I shall add to the coffers when I get home….as ever the target will likely be hit before I get home.

61. Gaavster

Donated Stu

Thanks again for everything that you do for the cause, we’d all be in a much poorer place without you

62. HandandShrimp

PS

Loving the tractor(Ed) and adjustable Spanner. 🙂

63. heedtracker

That was BBC vote Tory Daily Politix show tv with Andrew Neil’s gorgeous pouting Glenda on in the back ground there, with UKIP’s Coburn MEP roaring away that The Guardian says Scotland votes Brexit, in the back ground, not in my in vile separatist imagination, hopefully:D

Coburn says it must be true as its The Graun but even he cant keep a straight face with that sneaky creepy outfit’s ghastly UKOK output now, which is rather endearing, for UKIP.

64. Almannysbunnet

Was going to donate, just watched Jibb Jabba (David Coburn) on daily politics and have changed my thinking.
    I have now decided to double my donation!

Wings x 2

65. galamcennalath

Last year’s fundraiser made £111,830 from 2913 backers, so we have a ways to go.

If YOU enjoy reading Wings, then chip in a wee contribution 🙂

66. Fred

Had wee hitch clicking the link, it said browser out of date but clicking below the Wee Blue Book ad’ did the business.

67. Valerie

Done.

Also want to thank Rev for all his hard work. Much appreciated.

68. Robert Roddick

Pleased to be able to contribute to this, the only honest take on Scottish politics around.

69. Macart

Donation by simpleton made. 🙂

70. smac1314

Contribution made. Thanks for all you and the team do to keep us informed and entertained.

71. mumsyhugs

Jeez! You nip out to grab your purse and by the time you get back, the total’s jumped by a couple o’ thousand! 🙂 Gaun yersel’ Stu!! As the ad. says “because you’re worth it!” Xxx

72. Marie Clark

Donation made by this poor wee simple soul.

Thanks Rev, you must have a gie stroang stomach tae wade through a the bilge that the yoons produce.

Mair power tae yer keyboard sir.

73. RobQos

Just a smidgeon ironic that it won’t accept Scotland as my country when I’m trying to make my donation.

74. Hugh Barclay

Nice one Stuart, glad you are sticking with it for another year, donation made 🙂

75. HandandShrimp

PS

Loving the tractor(Ed) and adjustable Spanner

76. BMC875

He publishes and distributes my name on a ‘Block list’and now he asks for money. Let me think about that for a bit.

77. Glamaig

donation made – cant believe how fast that total is going up!

78. heedtracker

Only Professor in the Scotland land on BBC r4 lunchtime bleh now, Scotland is 60% voting Brexit says Prof Poultice but my BT broadband keeps cutting out, in 20 UKOK 16. Another BetterTogether bonus of shite.

The sound of silence

We’re trying to play this station, but we’re having problems. Apologies.

79. Elizabeth Sutherland

Donation made, stick with it Rev.Stu, could not be without my daily read of Wings over Scotland.

80. Done – I think we should be able to knock this out of the park today fellows.

81. Linda McFarlane

First time for a while I’ve had spare cash. So donation made and feel sooooo much better.

82. Graeme Doig

Dear Duncan Hothershall,

Donation made. Have a nice day.

83. turnbulldrier

Onwards an upwards Stu. Pennies added..

Oh and no Scotland option.. ffs Indegogo, sort it out 😛

84. bjsalba

Boy am I slow on the uptake.

Leap year – 29th Feb. Mid afternoon before that one clicked.

85. Colin Church

Oh, this is a quick one!

Sails past half way.

86. cearc

We’re now trending no.2 worldwide on Indiegogo.

87. Chitterinlicht

donated this morning without hesitation.

may put in more when the wife is not looking.

Wings is a fantastic resource and we/me would be much poorer without it.

(i do worry about Stu’s wages (not enough) and robustness of his contingency plans should he be abducted by aliens or the History Women)

88. INDEPENDENT

Happy to be donating again Stu, keep up the great work.

Stick it to all those YOON TROLLS ( Hothers, Cockers The Tuba Player and of course that well known Tractor (ED) Massie (Ferguson).

89. faolie

Ok, done. Indyref 2 and Wee Blue Book 2.0? Cannae wait!

90. Breastplate

Done, now sitting at over£21,000

91. Nana

Please folks get behind a gold badge for Pete the camera. I saw for myself how committed he is.

I have an treasured alert reader badge given to me by X-sticks and of course my gold heels which Paula Rose so very kindly gave me at the rally. Shame I could not walk very far in them and to be honest I just don’t have the shapely ankles to carry them off as well as our Paula. But for all that she’s not having them back!

Oh well I suppose I’d best go dust the cobwebs off my purse…

92. AberdeenPict

Well done Stew, keep up the good work.

No other website like it.

93. liz

Good luck Rev.

Am personally a bit short at the mo but it’s already at 44%, so can support you with retweets and links to your site.

94. Robert Louis

So, it’s on 57% right now, can we get this done by teatime?

There are major changes happening within the UK, and the next twelve months may well see Scots having no option but to go for independence to escape the English madness. We need sites like this, to hold our so-called ‘Scottish’ media to account.

Keep going Stuart, your work is not yet finished (i.e restoration of Scottish independence, and freedom from London colonial mis-rule).

95. HandandShrimp

It looking a lot like Wings will be around for another year 🙂

96. jcd

More than happy to contribute and exceedingly proud to be one of Hothersall’s cultist simpletons.

SNP X 2 in May

97. Roland Smith

Money well spent.

98. call me dave

Maybe a good time to remember 2015.
    Somebody asked about the GE 2015 results coverage a few threads ago.

This is all of the BBC coverage for the UK but only the Part II of the coverage is the one that covers Scotland. Which is what I have posted.

You’ll need lots of popcorn and a quiet night and a fast forward mouse sometimes to take it all in again. 🙂

First Scottish result Kilmarnock. about 24mins in.

Part II:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXHxqOkWlh0

Here’s someone who didn’t get it in Glasgow and went home tae thing again on the morning after!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1kkjPfZDZw

99. ArtyHetty

so good to see the crowdfund going so well. Can only contribute a very small amount, sadly, but as I don’t and won’t ever pay the tv tax, it’s worth every tiny penny!

Good luck with it, keeps me sane. You’re either an artist, ie creative in some way or other, or neurotic, said Carl Jung, I try not to be both.

100. K1

Donation made from another simpleton here…will put more in during the remainder of the crowdfund.

Can’t thank you enough Stu for your continuing after the ref result, money keeps you afloat and it maintains the site but you are in our hearts also which I hope keeps your sanity and soul intact, eternally grateful to you for raising the sights of so many in terms of what our country could be if we were Independent.

Your contribution will be marked as one of the greatest gifts to Scotland from one of her sons.

Let’s do it folks, let’s take our country back and bring the Rev home.

SNP x2

101. starlaw

Keep on in there Rev. UK playing my part in its downfall

102. Robert Louis

I think I might contribute again, just to irrittate unionists. The fact that this site is so well funded really irritates the hell out of Britnats like Hothershall and his unionist ilk. That alone makes it worth contributing.

103. Joybell

Donated Stu

Thanks as always.

104. Valerie

OT

One Tory I detest above a lot of them is Fallon.

Answering questions in the House and blatantly lying. Brendan OHara asked isn’t Da’esh just being displaced, because their numbers have doubled in Libya. Fallon says no, they aren’t travelling!!! WTF?

Is he the only person in the world not to clock Da’esh moving at speed in convoys of Toyota s? An approach many attribute their success to.

He also said Russia was a disgrace, because they are not bombing Da’esh, they are bombing civilians.

105. katherine hamilton

Hi Rev
    Donation made and you are most welcome. I’ll say it again, you are peerless in this campaign. If not for you and others, we’d be gubbed.
    I really believe that.

106. heedtracker

She said: “One of the undoubted lessons of the Scottish experience is that a miserable, negative, fear-based campaign saw the no campaign in the Scottish referendum lose over the course of the campaign a 20-point lead.”

From usual malice dripping UKOK Rancid Graun’s thing on Sturgeon speech today. Blair MacDougal’s ferocious Project Fear campaigning technique was probably the last nail in SLabour’s coffin but he’s oddly mute with the sneering comeback, for such a terrifying campaigner. Maybe Bliar’s brand of Project Fear is only for his Scotland region, or he’s moved on to his “how to terrifying Scotland into voting Dugdale” Project Fear 2.0.

https://twitter.com/blairmcdougall

We saw him in a well known supermarket a couple of weeks ago, he’s gone grey, with the spoils of UKOK victory.

107. dramfineday

Donation made from Simpleton and Mrs Simpleton. On behalf of the Simpleton’s thank you Stuart for all your hard work and endeavour. Can I ask that you now develop a new badge “I’m a Wings Simpleton” or some such?

Re Paula: I was at the Edinburgh wings soiree and my goodness you did bring style to it Paula…..wow. The way that red wine went back – real class! Why Mrs Simpleton herself remarked – “By Jove (or words to that approximate effect) that was classy”.

Happy for the gold badge(s) to go to Pete and Nana (and anyone else that you consider deserves one).

108. garyjc

That’s my tuppence worth thrown in from Canada. Now at 24,642 – keep it going!

109. Ealasaid

Donation made.

Many thanks Stu for all your efforts, which keep me sane.

This blog does so much for the Independence cause. So glad you are here and willing to continue.

Many thanks too to the many posters and contributors.

110. Phronesis

Happy contribution made to Scotland’s mass educational movement.

111. ClanDonald

Thanks for your hard work and massive contribution to the cause, Rev Stu, it’s a pleasure to help keep you going for another year.

And I’m excited about my new lucky Wings poker card guard arriving, great idea for a perk!

112. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose comment in O/T donated to PeteTC,& ah Promisery note for Nana,s. who,s the counter.

113. Lanarkist

Just glad that this simpleton could work out all those complicated buttons in order to donate to a positive future for Scotland and one of its illustrious sons, Stuart Campbell’s!

In the background just past the ‘BBQ’ is a tractor factory or symbolically Westminster if you prefer!

Glad to help put a spanner in their works!

114. heedtracker

https://twitter.com/kevverage

Nothing much from at least this one arch UKOK yoon kevrage today either. Most odd. I like to keep up with hard core conservative Britnat yoons like kevrage, in his Scotland region, really to see if one of them can explain their on going far right Brexit Project Fearing, over run with johnny foreigner, UK running its own affairs the only way etc. Its a bit of a struggle really. Lots of WW1 proud Brit stuff about standing alone against the hun etc

115. cearc

Ronnie A,

I’m the counter. Donations noted with thanks.

116. wee sandy

Donation made.

Going on holiday and will see how much is left on return.

You deserve so much more Rev, Stu.

117. Willie, Glasgow

That’s £50 well spent. Keep up the good work Stu.

118. cearc

For those that don’t know. This idea of dedicating extra or ‘unperked’ towards gold for someone else was started by x_sticks suggesting that we put extra bits in towards a gold badge for Ronnie Anderson.

Ronnie was one of the key people in getting the ‘Wings Over Scotland’ stall together. Banner, tables, gazebo, hairy string, leaflets, print outs, badges (Pete the Camera has been a star for that) and of course people to man it.

The stall in various forms, has been at rallies, gatherings and local events all over the place. Both during the referendum campaign and since, promoting Independence and of course Wings Over Scotland.

Last year he nominated Paula Rose, one of the people who gone a lot of extra road miles to ‘man’ it in often less than ideal conditions.

Pete the camera has contributed enormously to this enterprise (despite you probably not knowing of him), hence Paula Rose nominated him this year.

I am sure he is blushing to be singled out!

119. handclapping

O/T Wrt call me dave’s 2015 election BBC coverage (2:27)
    Never saw this before, otherwise employed, but if this is the Beeb the doyen of broadcasters at its best on a showcase event then anybody paying the licence tax is being shortchanged.

Even with the sound off the event is a total shambles and if Dimbleby was crowdfunded he’d do as well as -li–a-r Carmichael’s fee appeal. Presumably like Jimmy Saville he’s “talent” to the Beeb apparatchiks, I pity anyone who has to sit through the BBC Scotland production “Question Time”. Like BBC Scotland, he and the format are out of date, not just sell by date but use by date as well.

SNP x2 and no telly tax!

120. Arbroath 1320

Just carried out a wee *ahem* funding search doon the back o the sofa. 😀

To my utter amazement I found a £50 note. Now I have to figure out what to do with it. Do I spend it or do I donate it? 😉

I think I have made up my mind … or rather my mind, for what it is worth … two and a half pence I’m reliably informed 😀 , has been made up for me. 😀

Donation sent! 😀

I am just sorry it was not £1000. Still as someone somewhere said at some time … every little helps. 🙂

I have also decided that I have had enough of pussy footing around so have made the decision, hard though it was to make, to revert to my old *fighting* name! 😀

121. Macart

@Arb

122. Almannysbunnet

Hud gawn wingers and we’ll be there by teatime. 🙂

123. ronnie anderson

@ cearc I hud a idea it wiz you , nae stiches will be drapped during the counting lol.xx

124. yesindyref2

That’s ridiculous, who are all these vile cultlike sheepish cybernats, totally fooled and hoodwinked by our man in Bath? £27,000 in 6 hours.

Money’s non-existent at the moment, should be able to get a few pounds together within the month though.

Oh.

Baaaaaaaaaaaaaa

125. Arbroath 1320

So I have a wee problem here. No NOT about the fund raiser … exactly. 😉

You see some time ago a wee *ahem* fundraiser was created 5 MONTH’s AGO to help a poor wee man oot o a wee legal hole he had made for himsel. 😀

As things stand at the moment this *ahem* fundraiser has raised a grand total of … wait for it … £15,390 in FIVE MONTHS! 😉

Now we have some non entity completely unknown wee ne’er to do website called Wings over something or other coming along and running a wee fundraiser and it raises £25,000 in … wait for it … FIVE HOURS! 😉

Is it me or is there something wrong wi this Carmichael fella? 😀

126. Helpmaboab

Why is Ruth Davidson wearing the Wings logo on her dungarees? Also, why is she holding a spanner?

Perhaps a subtle reference to a notorious unionist troll?

Whatever, I’ve donated. Hail the glorious people’s tractor collective of the Wingski Soviet!

127. Bob Mack

@Arbroath 1320,

No your right enough.There is something wrong with that fella.!!!.Badly wrong.

What an amazing group the Wingers are. Sharp, intelligent.incisive. Just like the Rev.

Proud to be part of such a wonderful movement. Believe this or not ,I have more pride in being a Winger than I am of my SNP membership .

This site unashamedly stands for Scotland,and asks no favours or recognition from anyone. It is however in my eyes at least the rock on which independence will stand and endure.

The total by the end of the month will no doubt reflect that belief.

128. Arbroath 1320

If my *ahem* failing memory serves me right Bob last year the fund raiser was looking for £50,000 (or was that the year before? 😉 ) and raised around £111,000. So by only looking to raise £40,000 this year the fund raiser will actually raise £120,000 … OBVIOUSLY! 😀

129. Nana

O/T don’t know if Nicola’s speech at the resolution foundation this morning has been posted already but anyhoo here it is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOUJwsJTwuk

130. heedtracker

70% funded in 6 hours:D

131. CmonIndy

£4000 per hour. Target reached in about 12 hours? What did Carmichael get again?

132. Andrew Morton

helpmaboab at 4:13 pm

That Spanner comment made me spray tea all over my iPad!

133. call me dave

I know you need money down the back of the sofa for a rainy day but there’s more than loose change involved.

Swinney was right but not a vast fortune though.

https://archive.is/7vcwf

New hairdo and new labour policies for the voters. (photo alert)

https://archive.is/tQiCN

134. heedtracker

£4000 per hour. Target reached in about 12 hours? What did Carmichael get again?

A lifetime of “if only.”

If only he’d gone out to the phone box in the street and used that to call the great Torygraph liars. He was caught because Scottish office phone records showed the calls. Why this impartial and unbiased UK civil service investigation cost a million quid, we’ll never know and Carbuncle wont say either.

135. yesindyref2

It’s barely possible I’m mentioning the fundraiser on a couple of threads on the Herald, just coincidentally like. What me?

136. heedtracker

“Unlike any previous election, it will not be the constitution which is the centre of this Scottish election but rather how we use our powers,” Ms Dugdale will say during a speech in Glasgow. “2016 will be the first Scottish tax and spend election.”

…Having fought tooth and UKOK nail alongside the tory party to stop any and all devo, throughout their Project Fear referendum campaign, throughout the whole Scotland bill farce voyage through Westminster, yet now, its “our powers.”

Another day of red tory bullshit in their Scotland region farts along, in our ghastly media.

137. Arbroath 1320

As the fundraiser sails majestically and serenely forward to its total, probably reached before midnight tonight. 🙂 Here is a wee snippet about what is happening in the sadly REAL world of Dumfries and Galloway council! 🙁

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-south-scotland-35669774

THESE are the people we have in charge of council services and who will be out trying to get the poisoned dwarf re-elected! … ARGHHHHH!!!!!

THESE are the people who spread LIES and SMEAR about having no money when the floods hit Dumfries earlier in the year only to be told, in no uncertain terms by Joan McAlpine that they DID in fact have the necessary money in a safety fund!!!

Not only that but the poisoned dwarf tried not once but TWICE to spread the same LIES and SMEAR about D&G not having any money. Glad to say on both occasions, the second by none other than John Swinney in the Holyrood chamber, that D&G DID in fact have the necessary money and if in fact they didn’t HE wanted to know why not! 😀

138. Proud Cybernat

Tim Peake has just Tweeted that he can see the Wings Fundraiser from the ISS.

139. galamcennalath

An observation from The Rev’s speel on Indiegogo.

Spectator website gets 60m page views and 20m visitors per annum.

Wings gets 59m page views from 3.5 million visitors.

Conclusion. Visitors to the Spectator find it rather poor, reading only 3 pages each per annum!

On the other hand, the average Wings visitor reads 17 pages, clearly finding the content much more relevant and/or interesting!

140. Odet

@ Cearc
    Offering my apologies. I misunderstood the technical requirements for contributing to Pete the Camera’s Gold Wings. Hopefully remedied that now. Perk-less donation dontated for Pete and listed O/T

141. ScottishPsyche

I’m a relative newcomer to the comments but have read and donated to the site the past two years. I am more than happy to do so again with a cost of living increase for good measure!

The comments section here is one of the most informative and civilized on the whole Indy debate. So far from the hostile zoomerish BTL MSM comments.

Onwards and upwards.

142. David Mills

Oh tge irony, subscription form for “Wing over Scotland” & to the question Country and type Scotland denied “you can not leave this field blank” Rasen fasen Oh, yes apparently even here only available option is United Kingdom.

Rant mode temporary disengaged.

143. mumsyhugs

£30,000+ and rising – fast!!! 🙂

144. ronnie anderson

@ cearc 3.38 gerry parker , patrician,jan , bob sinclair (rab the doupter as he was then) & man in the jar, manned the 1st Wings stall at Yes in the Park.

& all thanks to Wingers coming along & getting wired in answering People,s questions,leaving PeteTC BrianDTT to get on with the donations for Badges Badges Badges, ah miss shouting that oot lol.

145. Cadogan Enright

Rev.

I’ll match my last years contribution if you undertake to undergo a bit of education or do research on why worldwide minority language speakers have had to turn to Human Rights organisations, the UN and the EU to get even the most basic human rights on account of what language they speak. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Charter_for_Regional_or_Minority_Languages

And on why it has been so important to Colonial elites to spend so much time and effort to crush them, or pretend they don’t exist or make no provision for them. This is a real issue affecting real people today in the UK to differing extents in the different Nations.

Real current example 1. why I had to go to the race relations tribunal in this decade of this century to allow my 8 year old child and his friends get on the same yellow bus as all the other kids in the village to travel to his school in the same way they were allowed to travel to their schools http://enright.ie/category/issues/schools. (Imagine the uproar Had we been black, Gypsy or Gay)

Real current example 2. Or on the 50th anniversary of Rosa Parks climbing aboard that bus in Alabama, why I had to go to the High Court in Belfast to seek to redress the 7 years of injustice to my secondary school daughter havingto travel privately to school while English speakers going to all types of English speaking schools could avail of free public transport http://enright.ie/issues/schools/judges-decision

Oppression of Gaelic in Scotland is fueled by ignorance and indifference of opinion formers of all kinds who have little contact with their own Gaelic speaking communities. Levelling services and supports for Gaelic speaking Scots has a long way to go and needs unambiguous support from all progressive forces.

I trust you will agree to make an effort here, if you want my continued support.

146. AlbertaScot

Hi Stu

Just flipped you a fiver over on Paypal so it likely won’t show up on the main appeal tally.

Keep ‘er goin’! No surrender!

147. CmonIndy

@callmedave at 2.27pm; other major highlights in Part II of BBC election coverage:

0124 – Murphy goes

0407 – D Alexander goes

148. David Wardrope

My pittance now thrown on the F*****G ENORMOUS pile!

Well done so far to all involved, and (needless to say) thanks to the Wings Team for the effort and for being worthy of such support.

149. Karmanaut

The subscription I might have given a newspaper, had they not been so godawful, has now gone to Wings.

Keep up the good work, Stu.

150. Inkall

@Cadogan Enright: Good points.

Though hey at least gaelic has enough support via things like schools existing to have those issues. Scots is so swept under the carpet there isn’t even anything to oppress, despite 1.5 million speakers, it is just a nonentity or worse a dialect.

A meaningless positive I know.

151. call me dave

@Proud Cybernat

Now that was funny! 🙂

I wonder if it’s the same picture we get on the BBC weather map

@cearc

Just caught up with how to get the donation to Pete.
    Will post my details in the Off Topic soon.

I’m having 2 bites because I want the badges for myself.

“Badges we ain’t got no badges…We don’t need badges”

Oh sorry got carried away there.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VqomZQMZQCQ

No footie tonight: No golf: I don’t like Mondays 🙁

152. Inverclyder

Good news that it looks like Rev Stu will have his contract extended for another year.

Bad news is that a load of yoons would be spinning in their graves if they were dead. They’re only dead on the inside.

Mon the Simpletons and their extended family!

153. Croompenstein

Well done Stu just put in and will put in more before it ends.. mine is for Nana 🙂

154. ScottieDog

DONE.
    O/T it would seem that the UK civil service aren’t conducting themselves impartially..
    http://archive.is/pIuqv
    Who knew?!

155. CmonIndy

I see Michelle Mone donated at 1702 this evening. Wonderful.

156. yesindyref2

Just “talking” to a (mostly) sensible Unionist, and we’ve agreed that at the rate of progress of donations to this fundraiser so far, if it doesn’t raise £3.3 million in 30 days, it’s failed miserably.

157. Joemcg

Trouble is if this is lower than next year the yoons will have ammo. So get donating people!!

158. Arbroath 1320

Proud Cybernat says:
    29 February, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Tim Peake has just Tweeted that he can see the Wings Fundraiser from the ISS.

Hope you don’t mind PC but I’ve just nick that for Twitter and Facebook. 😀

159. James Barr Gardner

I cannot thank you enough Stu, mine is for Nana !

160. Croompenstein

Oor Alex calling for a Scottish Six.. with a great dig at Misreporting Scotland.. 🙂

http://tinyurl.com/j2yerth

161. Joemcg

Back to the future! ^^ if it’s lower than last year of course!

162. Arbroath 1320

CmonIndy says:
    29 February, 2016 at 5:44 pm

I see Michelle Mone donated at 1702 this evening. Wonderful.

Ach she probably thought it was a new form of transportation that would help her get back to Scotland without actually being in Scotland so she could denounce all those nasty members of the Cybernat Army in safety! 😀

163. Cadogan Enright

@ Inkall 5.29pm

Failure to eradicate all discrimination against women or gay/L community does not create a reason not to try to eradicate discrimination against those of Asian, African or any other heritage.

As we move forward, each minority group meets new obstacles. We need to understand human rights law and that Indigenous language communities in Scotland have internationally recognised rights specific to them that need to be supported in their own right and not by negative comparison to any other oppressed group.

164. heedtracker

Romance in the air? Stay focussed soldier, you’re still on the clock:D

Wings Over Scotland ?@WingsScotland 7m7 minutes ago
    Wings Over Scotland Retweeted Sparklemonkey
    I’ve never seen any girl suit a beard better than @Sparkle__Monkey:

165. gus1940

Donation gladly made.

As it is obvious that the target of £40k will be easily passed can I suggest that some of the surplus be used to put Johnston Press out of their misery by offering to take Scotsman Pubs. off their hands.

I see we have a donor masquerading as Michelle Mone – if it had been her I’m sure that she would have used her proper ennobled handle.

What next – a pretend JKR? No – she would sue.

166. Lollysmum

Gus1940
    No not JKR but Maggie Darling formerly Vaughan has made a small donation as if that would ever happen 🙂

Currently at £33,664 from 1001 donors.

167. Arbroath 1320

gus1940 says:
    29 February, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Donation gladly made.

As it is obvious that the target of £40k will be easily passed can I suggest that some of the surplus be used to put Johnston Press out of their misery by offering to take Scotsman Pubs. off their hands.

Why do you think we are having the fundraiser in the first place Gus? 😉

Don’t tell me you fell for the But that’s only to cover the basics – a modest editor’s salary* and payment for contributors, the cost of web-hosting (which we upgraded yet again last year to cope with our ever-growing traffic) and necessary equipment, plus Indiegogo’s commission for hosting this appeal. line? 😉

Did you? 😉

Of course this is to enable Stu to buy out the Scotsman for £1.37 and take over its running … PROPERLY! 😀

168. Fiona

I suspect the yoons will be more than usually offensive. They cannot bear the idea that if they were any good their product would sell. Ergo….

It is just the same with an independent Scotland: it will give the lie to TINA, as this site does. And that spells the end for plutocracy and for MSM, respectively. At least that is my fervent hope.

169. Fran

Yer more than welcome for another year Rev, and beyond.

Donation in

170. Closet Jambo

Happy to donate again this year.

Total just over £34k at 6:15pm. Should pass target before midnight. Let’s beat last year’s amazing total!

Thanks Rev!

171. reed lichtie

Stu, thanks for keeping us sane and informed. I don’t know how you do it every day – but I am so glad you do.

172. desimond

Ok Rev..youve done your “3 albums”….the fans are hooked..now WHENS THE TOUR?

173. Kevin meina

I see BBC Scotland have given up on SLAB and are just going to campaign themselves we have 1hr 15mins of SNP bad tonight on education there fair even handed approach should give us an idea what our six programme would look like

174. Patrician

Is it true that Chinese sign in the background translates to Graphs’r’us

175. cearc

Patrician, Excellent!

176. Arbroath 1320

Apologies for putting a damper on things here folks.

I have just read this over on Facebook. It is from the Greater Maryhill Foodbank.

Once again MaryHill Foodbank find out from the evening times on the 12th February 2016 that we have to vacate the premises at 61 chapel street by March unfortunately Glasgow City Council did not Inform us until the 29th February see letter and email for further information

Greater MaryHill Foodbank board of trustees

How the hell can ANY GCC official hold their head up with this s***e going on?

This is absolutely DISGUSTING behavior from a so called *ahem* elected group of local politicians. Personally I would NEVER elect any of them to pick up dog s***e!

177. Alison Rollo

Delighted to see the money pouring in!! Any chance, Rev, of Wings Radio? Has to be a total winner!!!

178. JLT

Donated!

Once again, Stuart …thanks for all of your efforts (and any side kicks in that wee room of yours!). Honestly Stuart …your an inspiration! Well done, mate. Have another cracking year upsetting all those who know they are not serving Scotland’s interests.

And the same to everyone else here who contributes and posts comments on a regular basis. It’s you guys too that have made Wings the most legendary site in Scotland! There are days when just even reading the comments, give not only a sense of hope, but that there others out there who have the same set of views, values and beliefs as myself. Thanks again, guys.

And anyway …it’s good to know as I put my feet up, that come tomorrow morning, Duncan Hothersall and the rest of them will all be in a stinking black mood once they hear that Wings is up and running for another year! LOL Cheers again!!!

179. James

Keep up the good work and many thanks for all the hard work put in.
    Great to have a site that’s unafraid to call out Scotland’s prima donna media writers and jakeys.

180. Topher Dawson

Well done Rev, when I put in my tenner it was £35000 in 9 hours! Us simpletons are doing well.

181. Nuggets O'Pish

Tech. advice needed.
    I contributed last year, but a few minutes after completing the payment, my laptop took a major fit. Different screens flashed up, and although most were too quick to read completely, I definitely saw messages saying that I had no operating system, or that I needed to load an operating system (one of these messages was in a red box in the centre of the screen, about 3″ x 2″ – I’ve never seen that before or since). I crashed the laptop, but I assumed it had just been completely wiped.

However, when I switched on again, it sorted itself out (although it continued to be a bit of a dick for the rest of the session). Paranoia caused me to think this was the price of putting my head above the parapet (I’d never donated before, or even posted on Wings). Did I get shafted in some way I’m not yet aware of? Anyone had any similar experiences? Thought I’d ask before contributing this year.

182. Arbroath 1320

Just in case folks thought this fundraiser was the ONLY new fundraiser today then you are sadly mistaken. 😀 Here’s a tweet from Traquir. 😉

Tale of two Fund raisers @WingsScotland started 7hrs ago:£29,813 https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-great-leap-forward#/ … ScotLab started 5hrs ago:£0

😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

183. Dunks

Unemployed at the moment Stu but delighted to donate a Lady Godiva and to pay for it I’ll skip my Friday night curry this week.

What a fantastic resource for information and inspiration and after only a few months it is now essential daily reading.

Keep up the good work mate and….Lang may your lum reek.

184. Arbroath 1320

Being the Village Idiot around these parts I feel it is down to me to ask the important questions of life. 😀

As the fundraiser thingy is currently sitting at around £37,500 does this mean that I will have to revise my previous estimate of when the target will be reached? 😉

I previously estimated reaching the target by midnight but I am now thinking that I may even more stupid than previously thought! 😀

185. mealer

I’m delighted to help fund this project.It plays a vital role in the independence movement.Good luck!

186. ronnie anderson

@ Arbroath 1320 Its been a concerted & orchestrated campain since the breakin Jan 15 & the so called Councillor for Milton Billy Mc Allister , more information will be put up on Maryhill F/Book page.

We will keep going thanks to the foodstuffs from Trussell Trust, & Public, all the shite from the Evening times being feed information from McA & GCC has had a effect on us & our donations.

£5040 for lease of Chapel St No drinking water (Outside Tank)
    we had to put in a mains supply , & Heating & rewiring ect ect, the bastards should be paying us

Intrest free loans for GCC councillors while people depend on Foodbanks.

187. paul gerard mccormack

Dear WOS,

you are simply the heartbeat of scottish politics.

LIfe without wings would be unconscionable. I am forever grateful for all your hard work and dedication as an antidote to all those other charlatans and lickspittles.

However, i will not be getting paid til the end of the month and will donate then accordingly as I’m skinto mcglinto.

Yours sincerely,

188. Legerwood

O/T Lots of SNP on CH4 News tonight. Friel interviewing Ms Sturgeon – good interview – followed by Angus Robertson in a piece on Saudi-Yemen conflict and British help for Saudi.

Made a donation. Great job by all.

189. David Wardrope

@Arbroath 1320

That’s absolutely awful with regard to Maryhill foodbank, surely GCC could do themselves some good and show folks they have some feelings here, instead of their playing politics (badly).

With regard to the dog s***e, I believe they don’t pick it up but instead follow you around in an attempt to hound your personal details out of you to impose a fine…

190. Jim Bo

Almost there now! Absolutely never in doubt! Well done Rev and all Wingers.
    An absolute pleasure to contribute.

191. call me dave

Scottish Labour leader Kezia Deadwood has said she would happily share a platform with Nicola Sturgeon in the fight to keep the UK in the European Union.

https://archive.is/qf35a
    ———————————————————-
    I’m sure she would like to and I’m also sure she won’t. 🙂

PS:
    BBC has Big Brian on the radio shortbread telling us what Sturgeon said…FFS!

(Oh dearie me… my bad.)

Just let the woman speak for herself!

Cannae get into off topic at the moment as it wont fully load beyond 17th Feb?

Also site slowed up about 1hour ago. Is there something important happening? 🙂

Cleared cookies and all that too.

192. Arbroath 1320

For tonight’s wee interval break folks I give you this! 😀

http://labourhame.com/how-scottish-labour-wins-an-election-it-will-lose/

Try and make sure you are sitting down BEFORE reading it. 😀

Paul Bisland, a teacher and a Labour member from Glasgow, says though we face defeat in May we can win by seeing our principles and policies put into action.

WHAT Principles … they have NO principles other than telling LIES that is!

WHAT policies … they have NO policies other than ATTACKING the poor!

193. Legerwood

OT again – sorry

Report in on-line Herald about Local Councils’ surplus:
    “”Scottish councils recorded a revenue surplus of almost £70 million last year, according to new figures.

Official statistics show local authorities reported an overall revenue surplus of £69.4 million for 2014-15, compared with a deficit of £54.8 million in 2013-14.

Councils held total revenue reserves of £1.879 billion on March 31 last year, an increase of 3.6% since April 1 the previous year.””

Sort of takes the wind out of Ms Dugdale’s ‘1p on tax to save our services’ mantra.

She was making a major policy speech today which was trailed in today’s Herald but it has been overshadowed (obliterated?) by all the publicity given to Ms Sturgeon’s speech today. Shame 🙂

194. Arthur Martin

Thanks wings, keep up the good work. It’s greatly appreciated.

195. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve had a trawl through the contributors list on the Indiegogo page and the inspiring thing is the number of usernames who rarely, if ever, actually post on the Wings pages.

Which I take to mean that a whole pile of ‘readers, not posters’ appreciate what Rev Stu and Wingers are doing on this site.

Go on, go on, go on, lurkers! Dip your keyboard toes in the wahttir!

8=)

196. Swami Backverandah

My comments take a while to load, so I’m saying HURRAAAAAHH!!!! now 😀

197. Arbroath 1320

Oh My Gawd!!! 😉

I can hardly contain myself!!! 😉

LESS than £500 to go to break the total!!! 😀

198. K1

On the countdown now folks only 437 quid to go (as I type) to complete the fundraiser!

199. Nigel Stapley

Glad to have been able to support you again this year, Stu. And I wish that we had something like this in Cymru. Mind you, I wish we had a proper nationalist party with balls here as well…

200. K1

Eh…now’s it’s 102 quid to go…wow… 🙂

201. Effijy

Rev,

Please take some extra cash for for yourself and get some R & R.

You are the best bargain Scotland ever had.

202. K1

Wey Hey!! It’s done! calling it at 8.08 pm? Standing at 40,131 quid! 🙂

203. John Sm.

40 grand, Wa,ha,hah.

*pops champaign cork*

204. CmonIndy

Yeehah GIRFUY Yoony zoomers

205. Arbroath 1320

Erm … I’m not sure how to tell you this folks … but … erm … we have broken through the target! 😀

NEXT! 😀

206. GrizzleMcPuss

Glad to to help from my now lurking position in the background.

Onward to the prize Rev…right behind you

207. Wuffing Dug

Donated earlier, will subscribe as well.

Love the poster.

208. Bob Mack

Hope after the May elections the Rev purchases himself a holiday for a week or two.

Rev,you can always hire a guest writer. If anything in this world I am sure of,it is that this sum will continue to grow.

Well done everybody.Well done indeed.

209. Lanarkist

Congratulations to Wings, Wingers, Stu and contributors!

The barometer of Scotland has spoken, plenty fight left!

210. Effijy

Heard the EBC declare a state of emergency regarding 10’s of thousands of vacant Doctor and Nursing positions across the UK.

This obviously means that Scotland’s NHS Figures are better than England’s, otherwise SNP Bad stories would have been blasted through our speakers for the full day.

How could England be short of these professionals?
    Could it be their government calling a 30$ cut in Doctor’s
    salaries a 10% rise?
    Could it be because they have forced the medic into multiple strikes, or
    could it be that they are just going to impose their wages and working conditions upon them regardless of their thoughts.

After all, what do all the Doctors know when compared to a rich Tory Bully Boy?

211. Brian McHugh

Warm fuzzy feeling. Well done everyone. 🙂

212. Kenny

I can’t believe no one has come up with “Wings Over UKOK”.

A site which exposes the scurious lies in such government documents as the McCrone Report or the one-party-state press organ The National.

A site which sheds light on famous trolls who come from outside Scotland with all their money to live here, like Lesley Riddoch, and spends her time bullying and threatening to sue people online.

A site which shows that Nicola Sturgeon regularly stands up in Parliament and spouts a pack of COMPLETE LIES!

A site which battles against the “Labour Bad” message churned out by the state broadcaster every hour on the hour and on the pages of the Daily Record and Scotsman.

A site which can produce a Wee Butcher’s Book listing all the fab things about pooling and sharing and giving all our oil money to London to build Canary Wharf and Crossrail…

A site which could run a weekly “Vow Delivered” article, even though we’re too wee, too poor, too stupid and not genetically programmed to handle all these powers that come with the most devolved parliament in the history of the universe…

I can’t believe no one has come up with “Wings Over UKOK”!

I wonder why not?!?

213. Conan the Librarian™

It doesn’t want to accept my Bank of Nigeria credit card..?

214. Bob Mack

@Kenny,

Because they already have everything we are fighting to obtain I suppose.

215. liz

Fantastic. 100% complete.

Oh dear Spanner et al

216. HandandShrimp

I so nearly managed to make my donation before the target was reached….but I didn’t 🙂

Another remarkable Wings fund raiser. Stu will be keeping the Bath post office busy yet again.

217. K1

Conan? How’d you get your wee ‘tm’ to appear above your name like that, I’ve been wanting to trademark ma ain K1 moniker but cannae figure oot how to dae it?

218. Dan Huil

More than ever we need sites like WOS.

219. Albaman

I’m not going to donate untill £ 80,000 is reached, I did think it would take untill this coming weekend, erm don’t think it’ll take untill then the way things are progressing , mind you I should have known from passed experience. (£80,000 ,then you might get a begging letter from a Mr A Carmichael, signed on his behalf by a Mr W Rennie!)

220. crazycat

@ Effijy at 8.17

And to make things worse, they are now proposing to deport any non-EU national who has been here for 5 years and isn’t earning at least $35k (that should be a pound sign, which I don’t have despite changing my settings).

So stupid is this, they’ve had to specify several exempt occupations. Debate next week in Westminster Hall.

221. Tam The Lurker

Donated what I could.

Best value education on the interweb.

Thank you.

222. Ruby

It’s amazing how quickly donations flow in!
    Wings is definitely a popular website. That’s great I’m so glad Wings will be around for another year.

‘Kenny says:
    29 February, 2016 at 8:24 pm

I can’t believe no one has come up with “Wings Over UKOK”.

Ruby replies

They have it’s called The Scotsman’s forum. ‘Ostrich Wings Over UKOK’

223. Effijy

EBC Biased Radio report on Brexit.

Their “Balanced” report, our Nicola on why we must remain in the EU, you might have expected a Pro Exit Tory next, but alas No.

Mr UKIP Scotland on to report SNP Bad and comment how stupid they
    are as an Exit would have given them powers????

Balanced! I’d fall over if ever the EBC attempted it.

224. Croompenstein

Let’s give this a bump up too…

http://www.snp.org/stoptrident

225. Maid_in_Scotland

Glad to contribute again this year. Many thanks to Rev Stu and his team, alert readers, Pete the Camera et al, and of course Chris Cairns, for keeping us all sane in a world of UKOK madness.

226. Arbroath 1320

Conan the Librarian™ says:
    29 February, 2016 at 8:30 pm

It doesn’t want to accept my Bank of Nigeria credit card..?

Would that be the same credit card Conan that you used to fund this space mission? 😀

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F20xkgqR6aA

227. Paula Rose

The wonderful North British News could do with a bit of help to get it over the line…

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-north-british-news#/

228. Tam Jardine

Great effort- will chip in presently.

Have been enjoying one of Kev’s graphs tonight- number 98 in a series of graphs that all are designed to demonstrate visibly why an independent Scotland would be an economic basketcase.

Number 98 is a belter. It depicts deficit as a percentage of GDP. Or is that GDP as a percentage of deficit? Doesn’t matter- it looks bad and Kevin has read GERS and its all backed up and impartial and what not.

The various countries of Europe are all on a gentle curve from a modest +0.75% for Germany down to lowly at Croatia at -5.5%. Then we have poor auld Scotland with a -8.6% deficit- by far the worst economy in Europe (by Kevin’s sophisticated measure) by some stretch.

So far, so unionist. Scotland region is shit and we all live off handouts so by pooling and sharing we somehow survive from day to day.

Now I don’t know where to start deciphering Gers and GDP to understand truly how the figures Kevin quotes (by ‘independent’ IFS) are arrived at and I have to go back into work now so I don’t have tonight to spend trying to figure it all out.

The graph Kev has been tweeting (and I have seen him tweet on many occasions) can be found on his website except on his blog there is another version of the graph with Norway included- miles ahead at the top end of the scale with a surplus to GDP ratio of +9.5%. Forgive me if I provide a link:

http://chokkablog.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/lets-talk-about-growth.html

I can see why he likes to miss Norway off his graph. It made me think: the unionist response to a poor position (even were one to believe that we were in a poor position which I do not) is baffling. If they really believe we are so fucked there seems to be little in the way of attempting to work out why.

I get that Scotland is a sparsely populated country and it costs more to provide services. The whole concept of Scotland as subsidy junkie is based on the fact that the population is low compared to land mass.

Why is it sparsely populated Kevin? What has happened to us that has caused our population to flatline. Norway managed to grow their poulation at a rate 12 times higher than Scotland over the last 65 years and whilst oil has clearly left Norway in a great economic position and it has not had the same influence on Scotland, the population rate of Norway was increasing long before oil was discovered.

Norway’s population density is 15.6 folk per sq km whilst the figure is 413 for England and 68 for Scotland. And knowing the geography of Norway with her vast coastline, endless mountain ranges landmass riven with fjords I can only imagine that providing services for the Norwegian population is extortionate.

Why is this low population country on the periphery of Europe with a much more sparse population and more challenging geography been so successful when we have apparently failed? Both countries have been blessed with oil, gas, a large coastline and many other resources and advantages yet one spent much of the 20th century flatlining while the other succeeded?

Unless you think there is some ethnic or genetic inferiority then the only explanation can be good governance on the Norwegian side, poor governance of Scotland by Westminster or (more likely) a combination of the 2.

I have tried to plough through Kevin’s stuff but I don’t get how he cannot see that which is staring him in the face.

If we are fucked then surely now is the time to change it up? If a doctor tells you you are in really poor shape then follows it up by saying “don’t change ANYTHING for God’s sake man- you might make things worse” you would be scratching your head.

If the UK had invaded or merged with Norway back in the 18th century do we think the Norway region would be the same as it is today? Would it be better off?

Scotland – Westminster = Norway.

Anyway- sorry for the long post. We have pobably reached the target in the time it has taken to write!

229. Ken500

Absolutely Brilliant

Sheer genius. Thanks a Billion and everyone else as well for their contribution.

Donation going over the counter. One going to the food bank as well.

230. Ruby

Oh no! It annoys me when the total is an odd number I donated an extra £6 to round it up and now it’s back to £43,886. That must be the fault of the ‘Not the Daily Record’ and ‘Not the Scotsman’ donations.

231. A. Graham

Oh, I have only now read all about Pete the Camera, sadly, *after* I did the donating bit. Oh, well, if I feel rich in a week or two, perhaps more, and that time will be for Pete the Camera.

As it is, bad eyesight had me convinced I was paying up to become a certified Vile Cyberhag. Mind you, that might be about right. 🙂
    More power to your elbow or keyboard or wing, Stuart!

232. Dave McEwan Hill

Conan the Librarian™ at 8.24.

How many million Naira were you wanting to contribute?

(When was in Nigeria Naira was on par with the pound)

233. Albantawe

I have just made a small donation but direct to your bank account. I understand the advantages of a prominent Indiegogo campaign but prefer to cut out the middle man.

234. Graf Midgehunter

Is it true that a massive, four-door professional bottle cooling system was delivered to a secret destination in Bath during the early hours of the morning?

Also that an unknown bearded person received a substantial delivery of bottled beverages and that the producers of assorted, flavored crisps in South West England have been put on an emergency footing?

These are strange times in the story of Scotlands Independence… 😉

(Donation to Wings – DONE) 🙂

235. yesindyref2

@crazycat
    If you don’t have a pound sign – £ – you might be able to put – & pound ; – without the spaces between the & pound and semi-colon, like this £ seems to work OK in preview!

236. Mojo16

Can we afford a Scottish Six yet?

237. crazycat

@ yesindyref2

Test:
    £

I’m struggling with a tablet while my computer is undergoin repairs; I shall be very relieved to get it back.

Thanks for the info, whether it works or not. (It does in preview.)

238. crazycat

@ yesindyref2

Success! Ta. I remember lots of exposed & and ; in the Grauniad comments where it hadn’t worked. I need to brush up my proof-reading, though.

239. Arbroath 1320

O.K. folks … hands up … who saw THIS coming down the road then? 😀

Oh that’s right … WE DID! 😀

https://twitter.com/ScotNational/status/704421930020028420/photo/1

So how long will it take those UNELECTED dozy, deid, half deid, brain deid, money grabbing do for nothings before they vote AGAINST the Fiscal Framework recently agreed to? 😀

240. Glamaig

Tam Jardine at 9.02

I’ve never found a unionist who can explain why, if Scotland is so shit and such a black hole for Westminster cash, why they are so desperate to hold onto it.

241. Sinky

Well done wingers.

Another insightful article by Derek Bateman on Brexit and Scottish Six http://derekbateman.co.uk/2016/02/29/im-with-yanis/

Including this gem on Scottish Six “And have you heard the BBC Trust agitating on this? The people’s watchdog is another institutional failure stuffed with worthies who just love being ‘part of the Beeb.’ Is careerist Bill Matthews still there? Who knows, such is the subliminal profile he keeps.”

242. Joemcg

Glamaig-I’ve had a few answers to that one. Vague mind you. Shared interests, history, pride,unity and other reasons that basically amount to thin air.

243. Inverclyder

Arbroath 1320 @ 9:48pm

Better get the banners back out and the badges ready in preparation of the next campaign.

Think the text on the Wings Fundraiser page is correct that Indyref2 might be coming sooner anyone thinks.

September 2016 anyone?

244. Skyeskip

I’ve been a lurker here for a couple of years, and was happy to donate. Wings is my first read every day, and the wingers’ comments have resulted in a number of coffee-related mishaps. The time difference here in Alaska meant that I didn’t see news of the fundraiser until you’d made your target. Still, well done Rev and the rest of you as well.

245. Tam Jardine

Glamaig

Acht- Westminster is clearly benevolent- ‘theres naught lost that a freend gets’ could be their motto

246. mike cassidy

Albantawe 9.16

How is that done?

I want to donate, but am a fundementalist luddite when it comes to internet-based financial transactions.

247. Arbroath 1320

I think you are spot on there Inverclyder.

Let’s face it Porky promised to show US respect. Has ANYONE witnessed this so called respect agenda yet? I know I haven’t. For the latest example of this NON Respect agenda I give you Porky’s June 23rd E.U. referendum date.

How ANYONE can say … with a STRAIGHT face … that his June 23rd ref. is anything other than taking the p**s out of the Welsh/NI/Scottish government elections is beyond a joke.

After the UNELECTED dead beats in the HoL vote down the Fiscal Framework tomorrow … as they surely will … how can ANYONE still hold to the idea that WE are being treated in a RESPECTFUL way?

WHY is Porky so desperate to hold his wee ref in June … oh that’s right he is a right old FEARTY Porky. He is too feart that any later in 2016 and he will LOSE! 😀

248. Paula Rose

@ mike cassidy – email the Rev and he’ll send you the account details then you can pay at a bank.

249. Paula Rose

Darlings – Pete the Camera’s badge is funded now we need some more donations for Nana’s.

250. mike cassidy

Direct bank details in the ‘donate’ column for fellow luddites.

251. cearc

Pledged perks so far.

Pete the Camera’s gold (£513) ….. completed.

nana’s £212 so far.

Anybody wanting to let their donation count for nana’s gold post the details on http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/

252. Meindevon

O/T but just came in and put on BBC Parliament. SNP are talking live re (I think) the stopping of final salary pension schemes for the people who tend the Commonwealth War Graves. They will lose around £6K.

Have a look if you can. Plenty SNP MPs fight the cause for these people( around 14), whilst I can see maybe three possible Labour MPs and seven Tories.

Excellent intervention by Angus MacNeil whilst Christopher Stephens, SNP Glasgow South West, is speaking. He says how government find plenty money for weapons but less money for the injured and even less money for the dead.

253. ronnie anderson

And its never ah done deal tae the Cludgie cooncil recommend Betty puts her wax seal oan parchment.

254. Fred

Michele has seen the Lords for the Panto that it is & is comin hame a wiser wummin, hence the sub’

Willie Rennie says Carmichael is innocent.

255. cearc

Meindevon,

Has there ever been such a despicable, mean-minded, petty government?

256. ewen

Sent my usual paltry sum. Sorry. Not won the lotto yet.

257. Paula Rose

For all those who donate small amounts – remember the story of The Widow’s Mite.

258. cearc

Ronnie don’t forget that oor Joanna Cherry QC is also on the Cludgie cooncil!

She’s been doing a grand job in parliament, upsetting cameron’s schemes by drawing his attention to little details like the law.

I reckon every time she stands up he wishes Yes had won.

259. call me dave

‘Bright flash’ seen in skies over Scotland

Maybe it wis that Stevie the rocket man celebrating the reaching of the target! …Maybee Naw!

https://archive.is/OUh9Q

260. Chic McGregor

Don’t know if my £145 donation was counted for Nana’s gold badge since I did it before I saw the nominate your donation thingy.

If not can it be so nominated now?

Not clear on how this whole thing works.

261. cearc

Chic,

That’s fine. I just ask people to leave a message on O/T as it’s easier for me to collect them but I have added yours…..

which means that we have had enough perks pledged for nana’s gold as well!

Well done everybody!

262. Paula Rose

@ Chic on the herding cats principle.

263. Chic McGregor

Ooops, thought I was in off topic for that last post.

264. Graf Midgehunter

@Cadogen Enright / Inkall

Re. the languages of Scotland.

I would like to see a similar setup in Scotland as with Switzerland where the four languages of the population each have equal rights.

Geographically each language has its own area but many Swiss are fluent in one or two of the other languages. English is also widespread. TV and the print media are also represented.

German has the most speakers followed by French then Italian and then the smallest area, Räto Romanish.

It’s seen as a sign of a mature culture and is ingrained in the Swiss soul. In fact many people can recite the Swiss “Oath of Allegiance” (Rütli Schwür)in all four languages.

So why shouldn’t Scotland have English – Gaelic – Scots as our national languages. Equality as in Switzerland.

265. Arbroath 1320

Here’s one for all you auld rockers out there. 😉

https://twitter.com/flightradar24/status/704443728635817985/photo/1

266. GusI

Paula Rose
    The details for direct bank transfers to the Rev are given on the Donate page.

267. Craig

Just tweeted this to our best friend Duncan

“@dhothersall This simpleton has just donated to @WingsScotland fundraiser, just wanted to say thanks for inspiring us to do so ;-)”.

268. Fillofficer

Stu, your bath runneth over once more. The worthiest of causes indeed. Couldn’t have survived since 18.9.14 withoot ye 🙂 so happy to contribute & hopefully influence our countries future. To your longevity. Cheers

269. dakk

If Wings ever leaves the scene,then our hopes for Independece would be damaged very significantly.

Just tried to contribute using debit card only to find card had been stopped.

There were three fraudulent transactions on my card,so I’ve had to use credit card.

Bank kept me hanging on phone for 25 mins so I hung up,but will need to phone again to get to bottom of this.

Had day from hell at work,and still I’m toiling.

Thanks for all your hard work and commitment Stuart.

You help keep some of us sane in this mad world,well almost.

270. Dave McEwan Hill

call me dave at 10.55

As long as it is not a sign of Nibiru approaching

271. Ellie

Wee donation made. Got home after a LONG day, laptop on, straight to Wings (as usual – but this time especially to contribute to fundraiser), and just laughed out loud that target was reached on Day 1!! Haha, IN THEIR FACE!! Thank you SO MUCH Stu for the wonderful job you do, for keeping us all informed, for keeping the dream alive and our spirits up, and for keeping me (and many others I’m sure) sane…..! Xx

272. Blackford Wheeler

Stuck in a wee donation, plus an extra tenner for chips.

Fantastic response from the Wingers; I expected nothing less. 🙂

273. Tam Jardine

Another fundraiser blasted on day 1. Strange, long day- bizarrely I was awarded a futuristic red spangley Wings-style badge (think Wings/Star Trek) from my daughter. I climbed up onto our roof to rescue a neighbours cat like a total hero.

Well- that’s twice today I’ve helped the kitty… so from one hero to all the others out there: keep the faith and let’s get on it like a car bonnet this Spring.

Alba gu brath my friends, Alba gu fuckin brath

274. call me dave

@Dave McEwan Hill

Now you remind me… Asteroids are a pain in the … 🙁

https://archive.is/frsep

275. Chic McGregor

CMD

I’ve heard they can be particularly painful in Uranus.

276. Thepnr

@Dunks

Unemployed at the moment Stu but delighted to donate a Lady Godiva and to pay for it I’ll skip my Friday night curry this week.

Cheers Dunks, this is what it means to be a Winger that supports Independence. You do what you can.

On Wings there is nobody bigger or better than anyone else. We all have the same goal. I’ll admit losing the rag at times with posters here. It’s because I don’t trust them, not everything is as it seems. Worth thinking on that.

Well done Rev on knowing that you still have the support of your readers for another year much to the disappointment of the Yoons I’m sure you have plenty to bring us in the next year.

I look forward to it, look forward to hammering THEM in May and look forward to their wailing.

Wailing Yoons is what they are and they fucking hate Wings LOL 🙂

277. Kate

1.10amTuesday
    Thanks! You raised the campaign total to: £48,201!

Thank YOU Rev for doing what you do for all us Scots who want to see an Independent Scotland.

278. Cherry

Made my donation for a nasty cybernat bag with badges!! Best money spent this year 😉 Long may you continue to tell Scotland’s people what is really going on and to, our beautiful land.

Also it’s quite fun to wind up the yoons lol!
    Power to your keyboard Stu wouldn’t know what to do with myself if I didn’t have Wings….we owe you big time. Thank you 😉

279. Al-Stuart

Stu,

Just one polite suggestion.

Please can you add a big “BU66ER-OFF-YOON” £5 donation to WoS button prominently on your website.

The purpose is that any time during the year, whenever a Yoon says or writes something particularly annoying, then folk like me can respond by clicking on the B-O-Y £5 button and make a quick donation to WoS in the process.

Sounds like a good stress-reliever 🙂

Cheers,

Al

280. yesindyref2

OT
    Did anyone ever read about this November 2015?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-34768606

“Diplomat to lead new innovation and investment hub in Dublin”

Didn’t see it in the Herald. News suppression?

281. Tam Jardine

Thepnr

Losing your rag? Never! If anything we’re too bloody calm.

One wee aside before I pass out- the press like to publicise the tweets of cybernats when they cross the line (and often when they do not).

Never seen links to this site published, or comments, or any of the debate over the last few years. Nothing. Nada. Why? They fear the wider public getting wind of the substance of the discussions that take place on these threads.

Scotland’s political life is running in parallel with the depressing colonialist media. They are shit scared that Wings has entered the heart of the discussion.

Salut brother- we are getting there and every day we are edging closer.

282. Al-Stuart

Well I just had great enjoyment there, just donating to WoS.

By the way Duncan Hotersall, I know you read WoS – you call me and my friends here simpletons. Okay my IQ may only be a sad 139, but my heart in the right place and yearning for democracy. NOT the disgrace that passes for the gerrymandered Conservative cruel rule of their Imperial colony in Scotland for half of the past 60 years with NO honest electoral mandate. Nor the dishonest Labour warmongers that have high-jacked the once honourable party founded by Keir Hardie. Poor Keir must be turning in his grave if he read the vile bile you drone on about on that dreadful delusional self-serving website McHothersall’s McHame.

So Duncan, my donations – and that is plural – to Wings Over Scotland will continue for days to come. every time you post a self-promoting-Dunky-for-MSP anti SNP comment, then in goes another tenner from me to Wings Over Scotland.

Yoon Hothersall, how do you like those apples 🙂

As for Stuart Campbell. Well he must be doing something right, because in just 15 hours he BURST the £40,000 fundraising target which I just witnessed sitting at a beautiful £48,279.

Go’an yersel big Stu, keep up the good work. Have the WoS web visit/circulation numbers overtaken the Daily Record of Daily Mail yet 🙂

283. Thepnr

@Tam Jardine

Wings ARE the heart of the discussion at least for the Yoons.
    Of that I’m sure.

Anyway I agree with you regards closer and closer. All are welcome, Labour, Tory, Libs, Coms.

ALL.

Start afresh eh! Better then we have now. What we have now is the WORST of both worlds. We can do better.

284. Al-Stuart

Apologies Stuart,

Last entry I asked if WoS stats had overtaken two of the Yoonest MSM rags. Marks jotter ‘must try harder’ 🙂 Should have studied the Indiego WoS page you carefully wrote. My excuse – too keen to donate first. So as homework (or cringefest McHamework if Dunky is reading), here are the facts…

Wings Over Scotland statistics:

In 2015 WoS recorded the highest-ever readership figures – an average of 290,522 unique visitors every month (an increase of almost 51,000 on the previous year), reading just short of 59 million pages in 12 months (more than 5m up on 2014).

MSM statistics:

DAILIES

The Scottish Sun: 214,800 (down 7.8%)
    Daily Record: 176,100 (down 10.2%)
    Scottish Daily Mail: 86,958 (down 3.4%)
    The Press & Journal: 56,400 (down 6.4%)
    The Courier: 43,000 (down 8.4%)
    Scottish Daily Express: 40,800 (down 11.5%)
    Daily Star Of Scotland: 38,200 (down 4.7%)
    The Herald: 32,100 (down 13.2%)
    The Scotsman: 22,700 (down 13.5%)
    The Times: 19,900 (up 8.9%)
    The i: 16,800 (down 7.2%)
    Daily Telegraph: 16,300 (down 5.1%)
    Daily Mirror: 13,500 (down 18.8%)
    The National: 12,100 (first figures)
    The Guardian: 8,700 (down 7.3%)
    Financial Times: 2,400 (up 4.5%)
    The Independent: 2,400 (down 10.2%)

SUNDAYS

Sunday Mail: 195,000 (down 9.2%)
    The Scottish Sun On Sunday: 161,500 (down 5.6%)
    The Sunday Post: 127,600 (down 14.8%)
    The Scottish Mail On Sunday: 74,400 (down 5.3%)
    The Sunday Times: 42,700 (down 1.5%)
    Sunday Herald: 25,000 (down 22.4%)
    Scottish Sunday Express: 23,400 (down 11.4%)
    Scotland On Sunday: 22,000 (down 19.9%)
    Daily Star Of Scotland Sunday: 21,000 (down 3.9%)
    The Sunday Telegraph: 13,800 (down 8.7%)
    The Observer: 12,400 (down 4%)
    Sunday Mirror: 12,000 (down 27.2%)
    The People: 7,300 (down 19%)
    Independent On Sunday: 4,900 (down 10.1%)

All figures from Audit Bureau of Circulations (ABC)

Stu., does that mean Wings Over Scotland now have a bigger daily circulation than the FT, The Independent and The Guardian? If so Michael White’s moustache must be having a canaptic fit

One last song for the oldies…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/michael-whites-moustache/

285. yesindyref2

A suggestion for excess funds would be a weekly leaflet for willing distributors. Quick look online at one place shows A5 150gsm silk paper, full colour (4 colour) but no lamination or gloss, 10,000 for £98 single-sided, £119 double-sided, as long as artwork is supplied. Free delivery on orders over £75, one day to produce, one day delivery.

Spend a bit of money on some publishing software, colour laser printer. Send out packs to the Wings distributors. Obviously website address on leaflet, maybe some other pro-indy ones. The place (instant print) can send a sample pack, I daresay others would as well.

286. lumilumi

I was writing an amazingly intelligent, witty etc. etc. comment but the cyberspace ate it.

I’d only want to say, thanks, Rev Stu, for your website. Worth every penny.

287. yesindyref2

Could even think about having ads / leaflet sponsors on the back. Just to check it out I redid an ad of mine to 65mm x 45mm, so you could get 8 on the back of that A5 page, or 16 smaller ones.

No idea how many takers you’d get, I’d think about it for my little business. That’s marketing, not donations, different budget! People could maybe even just run one a month, even adhoc, as long as they supplied the artwork to incorporate, even just as a jpg, I think that would work OK.

288. jdman

I see I’m late to the party AGAIN, fantastic Rev I can see me being late with my contribution as well but I won’t forget, your single-handed efforts have given the independence movement a focus and kept it alive, and for that
    I thank you,
    my wife?
    not so much. 🙂

289. Al Dossary

Oh Leader of the vile cybernats – you now have received 260 Saudi Riyals of my hard warned cash. just send dosh to me with sae they are £18.50 each no fees. Once upon a time it would have been 300 SAR, but the GBP seems to have taken a real hammering in the last month or so – I wonder what can have spooked the money markets so?

And yet on Sept 8th 2014 the harbingers of doom were circling as the pound dropped to a “new low” of 1.61 USD to the pound. Strange now that with it dropped as low as 1.38 yesterday the Yoon press are not making more of it.

Methinks the money markets have suddenly realised that Emperor Cameron has no clothes on. What better way to follow on from his pyrrhic victory in 2014 than to top it with another in 2015 based on his plan of courting the UKIP vote.

Finally – looking forward to 1 million wee blue books hitting the streets. That should put paid to those pesky Unionist parties for once and for all.

290. Al dossary

Lol – ignore the bit about the £18.50 with no fees. Bloody pasted somehow on my smartphone – my ticket for Sham 69, Angelic upstarts and Fire Exit in Edinburgh I’m 2 weeks.

291. Macart

It appears Forsyth is none too happy about the interim deal cut on the Scotland Bill.

http://www.thenational.scot/politics/lords-attack-fiscal-framework-deal-done-in-secret-and-unfair-to-rest-of-the-uk.14439

The Bill was, he said, “intended to introduce accountability over spending and this measure undermines it. It was intended to remove the grievance culture, this measure will revive it.”

Someone should perhaps inform the fella that we are only too aware of what the bill and the powers were intended to do.

292. ronnie anderson

@ Yesindyref2 1.21am And my question is why in the name of the wee man do the SNP Gov set up a buisness Hub in the British Embassy.

How much are they charging for use of said premises,seems some people in Gov cant get their heads round, cutting the apron strings.

293. Nana

Oh my getting ready to post some links but I seem to have something in my eyes Wingers. I don’t know what to say other than thank you for your generousity and I will wear my badge with pride.

Now while I can still see the screen

http://ponsonbypost.com/index.php/news/65-the-scottish-six-must-come-with-a-change-in-management-or-not-at-all

http://www.alexsalmond.scot/the-week-in-review/2016/2/25/the-week-in-review-edition-20

http://www.scottishfinancialnews.com/7737/government-unveils-75m-package-to-boost-housebuilding/

Delighted to speak to Moscow’s Radio Sputnik World Service on Trident and UKGov policy on system renewal.
    https://soundcloud.com/radiosputnik/160228-uk-guest-sc-lvlup-ready

294. Ruglonian

Good morning to all of the Frenzied Wings Mob 😀

The Great Leap Forward is now sitting at a very healthy £48.743 from 1522 backers!

A mere thanks to Stu feels inadequate, so (as often happens here) I’ll leave the words of another Winger who’s already expressed my thoughts exactly:

“JLT says:
    29 February, 2016 at 7:00 pm
    Donated!

Once again, Stuart …thanks for all of your efforts (and any side kicks in that wee room of yours!). Honestly Stuart …your an inspiration! Well done, mate. Have another cracking year upsetting all those who know they are not serving Scotland’s interests.

And the same to everyone else here who contributes and posts comments on a regular basis. It’s you guys too that have made Wings the most legendary site in Scotland! There are days when just even reading the comments, give not only a sense of hope, but that there others out there who have the same set of views, values and beliefs as myself. Thanks again, guys.

And anyway …it’s good to know as I put my feet up, that come tomorrow morning, Duncan Hothersall and the rest of them will all be in a stinking black mood once they hear that Wings is up and running for another year! LOL Cheers again!!!”

(Great to see the group perks going to our two gems – Pete and Nana – and I can’t wait to catch you all at the next do x)

295. ronnie anderson

@ Macart 7.45 Forsyth “weaning the Scottish Government off separation”. We,ll wean this lord of the Sows TiT thats Westminster ,both houses.

296. Ruby

Glamaig says:
    29 February, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Tam Jardine at 9.02

I’ve never found a unionist who can explain why, if Scotland is so shit and such a black hole for Westminster cash, why they are so desperate to hold onto it.

Ruby replies

That is the burning question! The other is if the Union has been so beneficial for Scotland then why do we have a black hole and why after 300 years of ‘the most successful union in the history of the world, the universe & everything’ are we not able to be independent.

The other thing that confuses me is why Unionists think of the UK as a country! Do they also think the EU is a country?

297. McBoxheid

Well done Wingers on achieving the target in a day! Thanks Rev and your team for all you do. Getting pro indy news in Germany is next to imposssible, so this site is THE goto site for me. It is very refreshing that the majority of comments below the line are knowledgeable and contributory, instead of the usual troll dung that is often seen on political blog commentry. Keep up the good work. I hope my contibution fae Germany helps in some small way. Are there many other Germany based Wingers?

298. gus1940

How about using some of the surplus cash to produce beer mats with a plug for Wings on one side and one of Chris Cairns’ Hamish cartoons on the other. or maybe just different cartoons on each side along with the Wings address and short text.

It may not be possible to persuade pubs to stock them but there is nothing to stop Wings supporters from taking a pocketful of beer mats with them when going to the pub.

299. Les Wilson

Tam Jardine at 9.02

“I’ve never found a unionist who can explain why, if Scotland is so shit and such a black hole for Westminster cash, why they are so desperate to hold onto it.”

Neither will you, they would have to be very very honest to explain why they are so desperate to hold on to Scotland.
    That ain’t ever going to happen.

But, we all know why,don’t we!
    I would not go into all these reasons right now.

While the biggie for them, is that they would be in very, very, deep shit without their cash cow.

300. AberdeenPict

gus1940

I like the idea of Wings beer mats. I would gladly sneak some into my local.

301. galamcennalath

Les Wilson says:

“why they are so desperate to hold on to Scotland.”

Yes, tax, oil, exports, etc..

However, I think prestige, standing, status, etc., are important in their narrow minds. They just don’t want to face Greater England being diminished on the world stage.

During IndyRef there were a lot of undertones in their language that, should their nightmare become reality, they wanted to make sure rUK was a continuing state. They don’t want the UK to breakup, they want Scotland to ‘separate’ and leave rUK ‘intact’. That way the believe they can minimise their loss of ‘face’.

302. Ken500

SNP Gov set up a hub in the British embassy because Scotland is part of Britain, already pays for it and at present that is the cheapest, easiest option. The majority in Scotland voted NO in IndyRef1. Vote NO you get nothing. They were warned. Many countries share Embassies. It cut costs. Many EU countries share Embassies. As EU citizens countries have EU rights – protection. Worldwide.

303. Ken500

Euronews broadcast to Million of viewers, worldwide. ‘RAF planes from Lossiemouth in Scotland have broken the ceasefire, and showed the collateral damage. Scotland voted against the illegal bombing of Syria.

This coverage cause problems for Scotland cordial relations with other countries. It increases the risk of the security in Scotland because of Westminster policies. Using RAF planes based in Scotland to illegally bomb other countries against Scottish wishes.

304. Les Wilson

galamcennalath says:

You are right of course, how the world sees them is so important for them, their ego is paramount, but way too big.

The referendum exposed them as never before, the emperor really has no clothes.We will be better prepared next time to handle all the shit they throw at us. They are really scared now, that is why they can talk of nothing else.

There is a myriad of ways they screw us, lots are obvious, after Independence we will find out the not so obvious ways they do it.
    Everything is covered up, one way or the other by the treasury, it has been that way from the start of the “Union”. They are our worst enemy.

I think we will truly, be even more appalled when we eventually find out what else they have been hiding.

305. Valerie

@ken500

You keep saying this about the Lossiemouth jets. Do you mean the reporting is happening NOW, or was reported from last year, following UK decision to enter war.

I take the point it’s not great for Scotland’s name, but the world knows it’s UK bombs, and decisions.

306. Rob

Mere mite contributed (horribly close to a week’s groceries at the moment) but hope to contribute to the daily page-view statistics for the foreseeable future.

307. Sinky

The National reveals that councils made a £70 million surplus last year and have £1879 billion in reserves.

http://www.thenational.scot/news/msp-councils-have-no-excuses-to-cut-services-after-figures-show-70m-surplus.14413

SNP opponents should be reminded of this.

308. call me dave

Clocked the ‘Wings’ mention in The National page 3.

Over £50,000 now well done to all.

309. Alan Mackintosh

Valerie, I found the link I was looking for re SOHR that I mentoned the other night. Its coventry the guy is in and he hasnt set foot in Syria for 15 years.

http://www.veteranstoday.com/2016/02/04/the-role-played-by-the-propaganda-steamroller-in-the-syrian-conflict/

Stu, will send your donation later in the week when I find some money. Being a simpleton, its hard to keep track of where I left it. I’m sure it’ll turn up soon… Cheers Duncy Hotdogstall

310. Macart

@ronnie anderson

Forsyth is an ermine addict, weaning the poor soul off would only cause the creature distress. Probably best to leave him where he is after indy, then he and the rest can attempt to justify their positions to an English electorate ramped up on the current media narrative.

Oohhh wait… 😉

311. Lollysmum

@cearc
    Just donated towards Robert Peffers gold badge & posted in Off Topic

312. mealer

I quite like the idea of Wings beer mats etc,but just odd ones here and there from time to time.Keep them a wee bit elusive.A wee bit almost mythical.Less is more.We don’t want saturation until nearer D Day.

313. call me dave

Forgot to say:

X-word 9 across in The National yesterday 🙁

Had all the letters and half of each word but no joy even in the Scots Dictionary.

‘Meeschle Maschle’ Geez! Ma Mither coached me oot of the Scots when I was young… 🙁

314. Les Wilson

Wings is my first call every morning and over the day.
    Stu does great work, but I also love the great links that many contribute, Nana is brilliant, as are many others.

Let us keep going onward and upward, this is a fantastic site, with fantastic knowledgeable people.

I not contributed yet, but will today.

315. Glamaig

£50K!!!! we love Wings!
    O/T thats my R4 propaganda watch finished for the morning. They dont seem to be even trying to hide their push towards Remain.

Its like theyve got a bit carried away with their ‘success’ in 2014 and are using the same tactics again.

I’m left wondering if this could have unintended consequences for them, perhaps after a 55% Remain vote, about 45% of England realising theyve been stitched up and starting to ignore the media, and a huge surge in UKIP membership? Their beloved 1st past the post system delivering 500 English UKIP MPs?

I dont really think that would happen but a few more people in England must be becoming aware of the BBC’s little ways.

316. Marcia

Two new Holyrood polls released and details circulating on Twitter. Survation for the Daily Hate Mail has the SNP on 54% and TNS has the SNP on 60%. Yes 60%.

317. Stoker

LOL…WOO WOO

Here’s a wee tune for Drunken Horsetail and his fellow Brit-nats.

The Runaway Train
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkOLq17GReg

Keep those fires burning, folks!

318. CameornB Brodie

Re. SOHR. It appears to be a one man vendetta with historical grievances against the Assad family. Did folk not wonder why I would mention SOHR, every time the Rev. got slagged off for commenting on Scottish affairs, yet living in Bath? The fact that SOHR has been the main source of Assad-BAD ‘news’ stories run by the UKOK meeja, should be of no CONCERN to those interested in establishing the facts. As Rami Abdul Rahman has had more than one personal appointment with HM Foriegn Office, I’m sure the ‘facts’ we’re fed about Syria are well established.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/the-syrian-observatory-for-human-rights-is-a-propaganda-front-funded-by-the-eu-its-objective-is-to-justify-pro-democracy-terrorism/5331072

319. heedtracker

“I’ve never found a unionist who can explain why, if Scotland is so shit and such a black hole for Westminster cash, why they are so desperate to hold onto it.”

Our imperial masters and their massed ranks of UK hacks, yoon activists will not allow a PR Holyrood Scotland to succeed. If it did and there’s no reason it would not, other than yoon culture in Scotland, England will want one.

Elites and their lackeys are always on the look out for trouble. UKOK elite defenders are varied but they all take their rewards, money, promotions, titles, Lord Darling’s a classic UKOK bullshitter who knew exactly what he’d get for his leadership of Project Fear 2014, everyone in Pacific Quay leads that high income second house in the country life style, any dreary banality can make it in teamGB, purr purr.

https://twitter.com/BBCJamesCook

320. call me dave

I see the labour at 27%(n/c) n/c = no chance 🙂

Let’s not get the fiery crosses out yet just get the votes in and counted.

SNP x 2

321. jcd

Gus1940 8.41am

“How about using some of the surplus cash to produce beer mats with a plug for Wings on one side and one of Chris Cairns’ Hamish cartoons on the other. or maybe just different cartoons on each side along with the Wings address and short text.

It may not be possible to persuade pubs to stock them but there is nothing to stop Wings supporters from taking a pocketful of beer mats with them when going to the pub.”

Great idea. (also not all pubs would be averse to it)

322. call me dave

Doh! labour 21% it’s worse than I thought I saw.

@Nana
    Your on form this morning.

323. heedtracker

Hello Handsome,

The ‘The Great Leap Forward’ team just posted:

1 new Announcement:

A phenomenal £50,000 in the first 24 hours. As ever, readers, you take our breath away. We’ve added a pic of the coin perks to the Gallery.

Reply directly to this email to respond to the campaign owner, Stuart Campbell. Visit the campaign page to view all comments and updates for this project.

Help spread the word about the campaign!

I will.

324. donald

O/T – Ruth Davidson has moved to Inverness. Well, she must have as I live there and got a flyer through the door (again) asking me to vote for her. Judging by the latest poll results, this tactic aint exactly working too well 😉

325. Robert Peffers

@Helpmaboab says: 29 February, 2016 at 4:13 pm:

“Why is Ruth Davidson wearing the Wings logo on her dungarees?”

She nicked the dungarees aff a winger.

” … Also, why is she holding a spanner?”

That’s tae tichten the nuts she disna hae bit wishes she did hae.

326. mike cassidy

Just about to go out and make my donation

And I learn that the Rev is really just L Ron Hubbard reincarnated.

Well, I’m just going to dance on the back of my sofa and say feck off, Brainwasher Campbell.

327. call me dave

Hark the Herald.

Poll: 60 per cent to vote SNP as public backs party’s record on health and education

https://archive.is/8EE4W#selection-531.0-531.84

Not a lot there “just the facts ma’am”

as Joe Friday used to say in Dragnet.

Silence from the ‘Hootsman’ so far.

328. Legerwood

Marcia @ 10.17 am

I was polled by YouGov about 10-12 days ago about voting intentions for Holyrood but have not seen any mention of the results in the press. Have you heard anything?

329. heedtracker

From red tory yoons like https://twitter.com/DrScottThinks

to the blue tory ones like https://twitter.com/2351onthelist

one unexpected er UKOK phenomena online is the complete red/blue tory silence on anything WoS, since the fundraiser started.

Talk about your hive mind fanatical cults. Ah money, who knew it could even get UKOK tweesters to give it a rest for a day or two.

What’s toryboy yoon leader saying today https://twitter.com/kevverage

Nothing. Must have run out of torboy champers.

Sturgeon’s EU thing has really got them all jumping up and down UKOK style, in their “who the hell does she think she is” fury.

What a bunch of clowns, deep thinking, non cultist, not fanatic, non hive mind British clowns.

330. Ken500

@ Euronews Report re – RAF Lossiemouth, Scotland breaking ceasefire, showing damage – was on Sunday – on a repeat. Repeated frequently. Circular.

Many ‘News’ channels get their original reports from Reuters. Headed by Harold Evans? Ex Times Editor (when the paper did good impartial investigative reports). Before Murdoch took over the Times, illegally. Allowed by Thatcher, who lied about it.

331. Iain

Bad day for yoondom, another year of Wings and the Snp at 60% in the latest opinion poll.

332. Petra

Congratulations to Pete the Camera and Nana for being awarded the Gold Badge. Well-deserved indeed x

@ Lollysmum says at 9:54 am ”Just donated towards Robert Peffers gold badge & posted in Off Topic.”

I’ve just donated too and wonder if it could go towards a gold badge for Robert?

So MANY brilliant posters to choose from on here … so not such a straightforward decision to make.

Anyway Stuart I just wanted to thank YOU so VERY much for the time and effort you put into running Wings.

It was great to find a ‘home’ after many years of ranting at the television or complaining bitterly about newspaper articles. Feeling angry, infuriated in fact, knowing that Scotland was being robbed blind and that the Scots were being lied to at every turn …. feeling so frustrated because there seemed to be little or no way of getting the truth to the masses. You’ve put paid to that, REALLY upset the corrupt medias apple cart and if nothing else this site lowers ones blood pressure (sometimes!).

Stuart you’re absolutely INDISPENSABLE to the Independence cause, this site is a ‘one off’, and I worry at times that if anything happened to you, say you became ill through overwork, that this site would go down. This will come across as sounding utterly selfish of course so I have to add that I don’t want anything to happen to YOU; cause or not.

Isn’t it about time that you, on ‘a modest Editor’s salary’, gave yourself a half decent pay rise and tried to take a few holidays throughout the year? Chill out somewhere (if you can) to recharge your batteries on a regular basis? Whatever the case … take care of yourself and sending all of my best wishes to you.

333. Joemcg

£50k? superb! This site is a pivotal and very important cog in the independence trek. Probably the only thing we have to keep us informed and the fires burning. Excellent news!!

334. cirsium

@Donald, 11.10

Me too. I live in Glasgow, Ms Davidson is campaigning for a seat in Edinburgh. It was a strange pitch – opposing the SNP and a second referendum. The only reference to her own party’s goals was protecting family pay packets. How it is possible to do that when the Scottish Government does not have control of the Scottish economy, she does not say.

335. Lollysmum

Petra at 12.11pm
    Re your donation -if you didn’t claim a perk for it then it can be added towards Robert’s gold badge.

You will need to put a note in Off Topic for cearc who is collating the donations for gold badges. She will need to know the amount & the name donated under if not Petra.

336. Nana

@Petra

Robert’s fund is climbing, see off topic.

337. Valerie

@Alan Mackintosh, CameronB

Thanks for those links. I thought they looked dodgy, but people hesitate when the group have ‘human rights’ in the title, it sounds wholesome. Too many folk accept this stuff.

That Syria piece on Bella, was one of the worst pieces I’ve read in a while, littered with rubbish, dubious links, offered as evidence.

The Editor having a hissy fit about critics doesn’t really endear himself either.

338. Valerie

@cirsium

Thanks, having a wander around these sites.

Syria is a subject I find I am focused on, in terms of learning more about foreign policy of other countries. It is of course, one of the terrible human tragedies of our time. History will write this up as dreadful losses to life, and in particular, we don’t know how many children are missing, stolen, raped, sold etc. during the huge migration.

At least Ken Livingstone has told JoCo, it’s our fault. Of course, she immediately responded, that’s your opinion on foreign policy.

339. winifred mccartney

So pleased with the fund raiser- hope you will have enough for a good holiday and rest preferably after 23 june. You are our rolling fact checker and heaven knows how much we need it – I know about spin but what is going on by bbc and media is downright bias and lying.

340. Macart

@Nana

Fair chuffed for you. If anyone deserves a medal… 🙂

341. Nana

@Macart

Fair flushed and blushing Sam, chest puffed out like a rare old bird from one of Attenborough’s programmes.

If it was possible every winger should have a badge. I just provide links, clicking and pasting is my ‘thing’

Folk like yourself who provide knowledge and insight are the backbone of wings. You know how to get stuff across in a succinct way. I tend to ramble on ………

342. yesindyref2

@ronnie anderson
    Well, it’s another step forward. It’s cheaper as Ken500 says, making it more possible to have that – and another 27 or so in countries like the US, China, India, Brazil. Most of the SDI offices are in British Embassies and as Ken500 says, they are ours, we pay a share already.

343. Cactus

Cheers again!

344. carjamtic

Essential Elements of Democracy

One element being : Free Independant and Pluralistic Media

Somewhere along the line the media has lost it’s way,it is essentially UKOK and nothing else matters.

Rev. Stu redressing the balance,highlighting the media’s failings,(the state should not have a monopoly over the media)de-bunking their lies and half truths on a daily basis.

WoS allowing Scotland’s citizen’s voice,to be heard in an otherwise ‘loaded’ system,fighting for democracy in an Independant Scotland because we sure as hell are not getting it in UKOK.

WoS is an Essential Element of Democracy in Scotland

345. winifred mccartney

I wondered where the Scotland box was on donations site too. Can this be altered. Well done to everyone.

346. Ken500

India, Spain, France Australian? US? (it keeps on changing) have Scottish Consulate Offices in Edinburgh. To get an Indian Visa to go to India. (£40?) You get a 6 months (not return for two years) in Edinburgh. Some countries Oman you can arrive there and get a temporary visa issued for £12 in the Airport (with passport). Google it (or whatever). The information will be on their website. You can go to Hong Kong without a visa – just P/P but you need a visa to go to China. (£100).

All countries have different conditions – Outlook. EU members can just visit each country without anything but current Health card issue free. P/P (Driving licence to drive).

347. frogesque

Just a few bawbees in the pot. Please keep up the great work but make sure you get a break too. We need you to be fresh and fighting fit!

348. Robert Peffers

@Cadogan Enright says: 29 February, 2016 at 5:15 pm

” … Oppression of Gaelic in Scotland is fueled by ignorance and indifference of opinion formers of all kinds who have little contact with their own Gaelic speaking communities.

I trust, Cadogan, that you realise there are more speakers of Lowland Scots than Gaelic speakers in Scotland, (and I do not mean Scottish Standard English), but that our own Lowland Scots language has far less support, including financial support, than Gaelic.

I’m not in any way putting down Gaelic. I’m only pointing out that Lowland Scots suffers far more from lack of both Holyrood and Westminster neglect than Gaelic.

349. Ken500

Kuala Lumpa (no visa?) P/P nice place. Singapore nice place (visa?)

USA – visa long queues. Many checks. USA passport different queue – straight through.

350. Robert Peffers

@ScottieDog says: 29 February, 2016 at 5:40 pm:

“O/T it would seem that the UK civil service aren’t conducting themselves impartially..
    http://archive.is/pIuqv
    Who knew?!

Have they ever done so?

351. heedtracker

I’m not in any way putting down Gaelic. I’m only pointing out that Lowland Scots suffers far more from lack of both Holyrood and Westminster neglect than Gaelic.

Language learning is a great way in for teaching grammar and linguistics. So why not make Gaelic the second language in Scots schools?

Most school children in the EU are light years ahead of Scots in grammar and its all down to a fundamental focus on foreign language teaching.

A good grounding in the one gives you a huge advantage in learning other languages. I know Indian engineers that speak 7 languages.

352. Karen

Hi, became aware of Wings only one week before the referendum. It’s been an education.
    My contribution will be matched again come next pay day.

353. Almannysbunnet

I notice a number of people commenting on the fact their country is missing in the dropdown box. It’s nothing to do with wings. It’s something that bugs me on a lot of sites.
    You can try making a request via the “contact us” at the bottom of the indeigogo page.
    http://www.indiegogo.com/#/picks_for_you

I am constantly tilting at this windmill. This is what I just sent them.
    Donated to the very popular Wings over Scotland fundraiser and noticed a lot of people like myself were annoyed when our country was not available in the drop down box. How difficult would it be for you to add Scotland as a country in your drop down box? Please give it some thought.
    Probably a waste of time but it keeps me out of trouble 🙂

354. Robert Peffers

@Cadogan Enright says: 29 February, 2016 at 5:57 pm:

” … and not by negative comparison to any other oppressed group.”

And that, Cadogan, is not what anyone has suggested. No one has made any negative comparisons, (excepting yourself, of course). What is being suggested is that the minority language groups should pull together and support each other.

Strange that you should interpret the suggestion that all minority groups are not equally supported as an attack upon your own minority group.

Personally I’ve supported Gaelic all my life and do not speak a word of the language. The point is that every minority will benefit by pulling together. Together they become much more significant in number.

355. yesindyref2

@Almannysbunnet
    indiegogo Inc is a US company, so possibly not that interested!

356. Marcia

Legerwood @ 11.31.

I would assume that was an internal poll for a political party and it would not be released to the public.

357. Robert Peffers

K1 says: 29 February, 2016 at 8:08 pm:

Wey Hey!! It’s done! calling it at 8.08 pm? Standing at 40,131 quid! “

Ach! Gie iz a breck! Some of we old and/or disabled guys need to feel well enough to go to the bank and top up current account before we can contribute. Mine will be along soon.

358. Almannysbunnet

@ yesindyref2 says:
    1 March, 2016 at 3:14 pm
    @Almannysbunnet
    indiegogo Inc is a US company, so possibly not that interested!

Being an American company they are probably unaware of our existence (I lived there so this is not a joke). No harm in trying to edumacate them though 🙂

359. Iain More

Off topic

I am reduced to stitches by latest TNS Poll. That might explain Disreporting Jackie etc being absent today. There must have been some mess from the projectile vomit at the BBC!

360. john king

So that’ll be that then, you cant stop wings until WE ALL have a gold badge, 300 years should just about do it!

361. Robert Louis

I get quite irked, when every time somebody raises the lack of support and funding for Gaelic, somebody interrupts and moans about lack of funding for Scots.

I’d happily see both properly funded, but Scots advocates do no good, by interrupting every time somebody talks about Gaelic.

Oh, and btw, Gaelic is NOT a ‘highland’ language, and was indeed at one time used all over Scotland. Including the lowlands.

Advocate both, but don’t destroy each others arguments, FFS! That is just what the Yoonies of Scotland want.

362. old dearie

Didn’t have time to post yesterday to say thanks to Stu for all his work in debunking the UKOK myths and pleased that the crowdfunding is going well. I would be miserable without my daily dose of reality. Thanks too to all the informative posts and the archived links which make persuading doubters to think again.

363. Robert Peffers

@crazycat says: 29 February, 2016 at 8:47 pm:

” …(that should be a pound sign, which I don’t have despite changing my settings).”

You should get it, (in Windows), if you set for a UK keyboard and have UK English as your language setting.

If not, in windows only, run charmap.exe, (it should be in – C:/windows/system32/charmap.exe.

It puts up a window where you can select any font you have installed on your machine and lets you cut & paste any character from that selected character set into any document. Great for all those daft wee characters ?

364. heedtracker

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqYtG9BNhfM

A pretty moving film for a lot of reasons really, not just with the recent loss of Irish actor Frank Kelly. Jump to 8 minutes in if you’re in hurry. Not for the proud Scot buts that rage against Scots Gaelic.

365. Legerwood

marcia @ 3.15pm

Thank you. I had a feeling that that was the case when I did not see any mention of it in the weekend papers or on here but though I would check. I don’t know which political party it was but I can think of at least 3 who would not be happy with the result.

366. Nana

@Heedtracker

Thank you, I’ve passed that on. Brought back some lovely memories of touring Ireland many years ago.

367. Jim

Is Duncan Hothersall having a nervous breakdown; I hope his family and friends are keeping a close eye on him?

368. louis.b.argyll

Robert, you say that Lowland Scots (language) suffers far more from lack of both Holyrood and Westminster neglect than Gaelic…

That is true, -BUT-

That Gaelic was the focus for
    ethnic cleansing, of the state – by the state..
    ..gives it claim to be revived, and at very least, with no detriment etc, be restored to its place within its’ own living culture.

Lowland Scots, while also entitled, has suffered more from modernity in recent pre and post-industrial eras, less easy to define the root causes.

369. Almannysbunnet

Sir Jeremy Heywood currently answering questions on civil service guidance in the upcoming EU in-out referendum. Several questions relating to the Scottish referendum came up and had him squirming. In particular reference to the queen getting involved. I’m sure Alex and Nicola are watching with baited breath. Well worth a read!
    Watching him I couldn’t help but think that this man cannot hide his contempt for the members of the hearing. Arrogance unbounded!

https://archive.is/muWEK

370. scotsbob

Just made a contribution from my pension. Hope that will keep Hague quiet. Also hope it quietens down those who keep blaming us pensioners for losing the referendum 😉

371. Giving Goose

Just heard A Carmichael on LBC in his capacity as LibDum Home Affairs Spokesperson. I wonder if there is a rehabilitation process underway, sponsered by The Establishment?

Can’t have those uppity Jocks rocking the boat for a good loyal Tory such as Carmichael.

372. Inkall

@louis.b.argyll
    I could be wrong as this is a subject I really need to look into more but isn’t the man factor of decline in both the moving of schools and learning in general to English? Coupled of course with mass emigration and the destruction of communities.

As far as Scots is concerned the decision to only teach children English is hardly “suffering from modernity”.

Similarly both languages have been deliberately hamstrung by persistant lies. The claim Scots is only a dialect of English and that Gaelic was only spoken in the Highlands. Also speaking either instead of English being seen as a sign of a lack of intelligence and especially a lack of class.

373. yesindyref2

@scotsbob
    I hope Kevin Hague keeps going, he’s funny. And there’s a good few people seem to follow his graphs and lack of understanding of GERS which is even funnier. I’d probably anonymously crowdfund a couple of good Scots pounds to keep him going! Looking at his twitter he’s including Sturgeon hoping desperately for her to talk back to him. Poor guy.

374. Bill Dale

Regarding Scots language – I was born in Alloway just after the war, not far from Burns Cottage, yet all through primary and secondary school pupils were regularly mocked and chastised for speaking what I know now is the Scots language.

In those days it was taught in schools that this was bad grammar, poor English and barely even a dialect, slang at best. It was acceptable to study Burns poetry and song as long as you realised that it had no link to current languages.

Such a systematic attempt at eradication of an indigenous language qualifies as cultural hegemony and it was no accident. Both Scots and Gaelic deserve support as two of the three languages spoken in Scotland.

375. louis.b.argyll

Inkall, Bob,

Merely pointing out that the brutal historicalnm
    M eradication gives greater impetus to the restoration.

We shout louder because we have anger and fear as the backdrop to collective memory.

Modern extinctions (not necessarily Scots) have had more (but not exclusively either) recent damage done.

Scots was spoken in places which grew to become urban centres.

Gaelic was native to regions WITH SMALLER POPULATIONS NOW THAN CENTURIES AGO.

376. Giving Goose

On the subject of language;
    Back in 1983 as a very young man I was a ghillie in Lochinver.

An older colleague, sadly passed on years ago, and a local, was punished in school for speaking Gaelic.

His experience must have been one of the last on the mainland; an exercise in linguistic cleansing.

Now happily, my nieces speak Gaelic (both under 10) and long may it continue.

I can’t speak for Scots, although my Grannie spoke it.

The point is; all Scottish culture is important as it is the way we define ourselves. Our culture and language has deliberately been attacked over the years and by fellow Scots. Sad but true.

It’s only recently that I experienced a Facebook friend doing down Gaelic as “pish”! But then he is a Yoon and I binned him as he was beyond reach.

Keep supporting the Rainbow that is Scotland, her culture and languages.

377. Kenlike

J’ai donne. Vive la revolution. Hague et Hothersall a la guillotin. Va te faire enculer.

Rev Stu: courage, mon vieux

378. John Young

My mother was brought up on the now uninhabited island of Gometra before moving to Skye when 11yrs old. She remembers going to school in Portree barefooted and only speaking Gaelic. She was immediately sent home and told not to come back till she had shoes and understood some English.

Sadly she and her siblings always spoke Gaelic whenever they met but they all refused to teach our generation any Gaelic because they all said it was an old, dead language.

So many happy memories of my Uncles and Aunts singing beautiful Gaelic songs including Mouth Music at New Year gatherings

379. louis.b.argyll

Oui.

380. sandra s

Regarding the drop down menu for ‘Countries’ in the USA.

The very very efficient US Postal Service has Scotland, Wales N.Ireland and England listed individually.

I’ve been using the site for 15 years to calculate shipping costs and it is only this last year they are not all lumped together under UK.

Something is going on, but what?

381. Bill Dale

@Kenlike Courage mon brave.

Calmez vous. Ce n’est pas la guerre! 😉

382. Effijy

Michael Forsyth A Weasel in Ermine clothing!
    A Stoat the Baw!

383. Grouse Beater

London press claim eminent Scots historian Sir Tom Devine is ‘voting No now.’

Sir Tom confirms tonight in STV interview he’s still voting Yes.

The British press confirm they are still lying bastards.

384. K1

I asked an academic fella that I was chatting to about the ref et al recently who happened to be English, if he was ever brought up to ‘speak proper English’…and did he understand that a people so dominated by another culture’s language and outlook developed a kind of self deprecating attitude (cringe) as a ploy (unconcious) to aid in ‘fitting in’ into that dominant culture?

Could he therefore understand that a people never taught their own history from an early age, never taught to ‘view’ themselves and their manner never mind language of speaking as having any kind of worth and in fact were made to feel there was something ‘wrong’ with the way they spoke. Having now realised en masse due to a rapid education through the alternative media during a referendum campaign, that they had in fact been ‘taught’ to dislike their own ‘tongue’, and by extension to ‘view’ their culture as inferior?

Would, when the irrefutable ‘facts’ of this became known that by this process of ‘education’ they had been so dominated and brought low in their own estimation of themselves and their culture. Would these people not now wish to reverse this situation, to view this referendum as an opportunity to lift those who had become disenfranchised, had felt marginalised, less than, who did not feel ‘part’ of this UK where the rich get richer and the poor are treated as a distinctive ‘group’ rather than the reality: that they have been systematically kept down and made to feel hopeless because they don’t ‘fit in’ to a system that puts property and money above human compassion and caring for our neighbours?

So called ‘british values’ that have been stripped out of the ‘overarching’ dominant culture’s outlook along with all the industries that were unnecessarily stripped out by that self same establishment who bombarded us with project fear during the ref: the business owners, the government bodies and civil servants, the banks et al. The rich who keep the poor in their place. Did he not understand why parts of Glasgow where regarded as the ‘sick man of Europe’? That these were the effects of a deliberate and systematic assault on so called ‘working class’ values that had been underway for decades?

That we who voted Yes, saw that the dominant culture no longer practiced those ‘british values’ and that those who voted Yes to the proposition of Scottish Independence, were those who sought to re establish a healthy and positive outlook for our people and to provide genuine opportunity within our own country so that our population could thrive, that we want to take care of the least of us and we do not want to be the ‘sick man’ of anywhere, ever again.

Did he know what it was like to be told to speak ‘proper English’…not just by yer teachers in primary school, but also by yer parents who had succumbed to the ‘way things are’. And how would he have ‘felt’ to be so ‘educated’ when he clearly had not been ‘educated’ in this way?

He literally stood stunned in front of me. He could not imagine not knowing his own history, and he had never been told to speak ‘proper English’.

This of course was part of my reply to his ‘statement’ that the SNP weren’t a ‘socialist’ party.

I preferred to go to an aspect of the heart rather than the propaganda of the ‘head’ in such matters.

Can I just end ma wee tale wi this: his gas was put on a peep.

385. HandandShrimp

Grouse Beater

The speed with which the Nay Sayers grasped the the false story about Devine is telling. They are desperate, desperate for anything that looks remotely like a foothold, a chink in the armour, a single thing to cheer about.

The latest polls 9 weeks out from the vote have got some resorting to straight forward abuse. The Scottish electorate are stupid, deluded and worse according to them. I dare say they will be even more disconsolate and unpleasant if the polls come to pass.

386. K1

Oh btw, yes he was a No voter…and Labour through and through…I simply don’t know whit’s up wi them, they’re no socialists, they are middle class ideologues trapped within a ‘concept’, sans reality.

387. James Westland

John Young – really interesting that your mother was brought up on Gometra. I live in Tobermory in Mull and know Gometra and Ulva quite well.

Its still inhabited, BTW, not many people living there, but loads of good info about it at this address:

http://www.gometra.org/index.html

By the way there are a lot of pro-indy supporters in the Ulva Ferry area of Mull!

388. Paula Rose

On the subject of Gaelic –

A few months back by coincidence a family from London got in touch with me asking if I knew anyone in Sheffield who spoke Gaelic.

The guy’s Granny was in a care home with dementia. It had progressed to the point that she was no longer able to understand English all the time and was speaking in Gaelic – her first language, she was born on Skye.

389. Grouse Beater

EU – In Or Out?

Vote Yes to leave the EU, say goodbye to a second Referendum: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-4Zo

390. Al-Stuart

Hi Stu.,

Just been on the Indiegogo WoS fundraising page and Malcolm Muir suggested perhaps thinking about increasing the total and hiring a WoS journalist – perhaps as your aide-de-camp.

Hiven we need to swing the IndyRef2 ‘yes’ vote by 5% up from 50% to 60% and the relentless MSM barrage of detritus keeping the 5% marginal swing vote down at 50% is it not time to start taking the game these bu66ers are playing to their own doorstep.

A good investigative journalist at WoS would complement your own forensic analysis and help share the immense burden on your own shoulders. With TWO full-time people at WoS, with fundraising help from all here who support the WoS site, surely we can nudge that 50% up to nearer the 60%.

Just a thought 🙂

391. Inkall

@Louis.b.argyll

I’m in total agreement with your points on Gaelic. While Scots sees less official support it also survived as a result of being “a dialect” or “bad English”.

The slightly positive side of Scots being swept under the carpet rather than being different enough to be targeted in the way Gaelic has been.

At the end of the day I wish I’d been taught both as a child.

392. JaMur

Cheers Rev and everyone at Wings.

Oh what to do with my vile cyberbag………

393. John Young

James Westland 11.22pm, Thank you for that information, very interesting.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.