Owned, pwned and disowned

Posted on July 07, 2013 by

We don’t often have cause to praise the actions of Tory councillors, so allow us to take the opportunity to salute Cllr David Meikle of Pollokshields for this intervention against braying Spectator idiot (and former star of our Zany Comedy Relief section) Fraser Nelson:

nelsontweet1

Ooft! Oddly, Nelson hasn’t rushed to also claim Gordon Reid as “British”, despite his being so in just the same way Andy Murray is – perhaps because Gordon and his Dutch doubles partner in fact lost their semi-final yesterday against the top seeds.

We’d previously dismissed the complaint as a tired old nationalist chip-on-the-shoulder hobbyhorse, but it seems that – to BritNats like Nelson at least – it really IS true that sportspeople from Scotland are British when they win and Scottish when they lose.

75 to “Owned, pwned and disowned”

1. BrianMc

Did I miss Nelson’s apology?

2. DougtheDug

Is this the same Fraser Nelson who wrote a scathing review of the SNP conference in Perth last year and then it turned out he hadn’t actually been there?

3. Vincent McDee

I just saw the front page of the DR Sunday Mail. Andy is on front page on Superman pose, tearing his shirt apart to show THE SCOTTISH SALTIRE.
    Maybe the Rev is not so mistaken about their uturn.

4. The Man in the Jar

Praise where it is due to David Meikle. I won’t be holding my breath waiting for an apology from Fraser Nelson though.

5. ianbrotherhood

Here’s Fraser Nelson getting down and dirty on his Dad’s old stomping ground in Glasgow East (which begs the question – where did Nelson learn to speak? He sounds like Jacob Rees-Mogg.)

I don’t know if this is blistering investigative journalism, or poverty porn – is Fraser Nelson our answer to George Orwell?

Or is he just a patronising fud?

6. Iain

Well done Cllr Meikle.

Totally o/t but Scottish Sunday Politics just had Gregor Poynton (one of the cast of Falkirkgate) on to explain his & Blue State Digital’s input into Bettertogether’s social media campaign. No questions of course about his personal cheque used to pay for some shiny new Labour party memberships to aid his candidature. The Unionist establishment really is one big, stinking edifice of backscratching, greasy pole climbing and reacharounds.

7. Gaavster

Ahhh, the state of ‘British’ tennis….

Mens no 1 – Scottish

Mens no 2 – Scottish

Womens no 1 – Australian

Womens no 2 – Guernseyian (?)

Womens no 3 – Scottish born with Ukrainian parents 

*Whisper it* – why all the problems and bile from our southern friends and neighbours with regards to Andy Murray and his ethnicity and none towards the others?

Does Laura Robson become more Aussie when she loses?

Does Heather Watson get told to bugger aff back to the Channel
     Islands?

Just a wee bit curious….

8. Bugger (the Panda)

If Fraser Nelson is from Glasgow East End, where does that accent come from?

Did he garner it from the same person who gave Jackie Baillie hers?

Another Union and LabCon benefit!

9. scottish_skier

Roger Federer’s a secret Scot too. When he was young:

http://federernews.rogerfedererfans.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/young-rf-04-300×167.png

http://federernews.rogerfedererfans.com/this-is-where-it-all-started-roger-federers-early-signs-of-being-a-champion

It’s all a big ‘anti-british’ tennis conspiracy.

10. DougtheDug

Bugger (the Panda);

Jackie Baillie got her accent in her English private school.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jackie_Baillie

11. Famous15

Nelson is so cringey in so many ways…self loathing in a Scots Tory way! Gosh,I here him say “I think you will find that I am Brittas Tory” His accent is via Nairn and Dollar and Andrew Neill.
    His piece on poverty in Glasgow is so patronising and he and his better together chums will never solve what they do not understand.

12. AlexMcI

@dougthedug, I see that they are still going with the Scottish Labour Party on wiki, hope that gets changed soon.

13. Kenny campbell

Whats funny is that Fraser didn’t notice ‘deliverate’ mistake in the orientation of the flag in his photo…..a call for distress in normal usage as its upside down

14. Indy_Scot

Whats that saying about better to keep your mouth shut and be thought of as a fool.

To be fair I have always thought him to be a bit of a clown, all doubt is now removed.

15. Adrian B

WOW!,

Picked up on this wee gem from the Rev’s Twitter feed:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=XTTGF0guqOQ#t=180s

Do have a listen – its quite revealing on the social attitudes divide between some of those South of the border.

16. Vronsky

“Jackie Baillie got her accent in her English private school.”

But is she English trying to sound Scottish, or Scottish trying to sound English?  There’s a touch of Klingon in there somewhere too (did her Mum get around a bit?) – who else pronounces ‘vote’ as ‘vate’?  Wonder which bate she sailed up the Clyde in.

17. Ericmac

O/T as well…  I know many of you post (battle) elsewhere including the Glasgow Herald.  There is one obvious paid plant who posts a huge amount of ‘facts’ and tries to dampen the nationalist debate.  
    I am convinced that she is a team of two or three who take turns to post.  Complaints to the Herald get nowhere and if you challenge or criticise her you get moderated into oblivion.
    I am sure some of you on here know who I am talking about. 
    Is there anyway to track her down, find her IP, unmask them?
    Does anyne have any ideas how to put a spanner in their constant propaganda?

18. Dorothy Devine

Ericmac , surely you can’t be referring to the lovely Jezerna from Slovenia who has such tremendous interest in our wee country and its desire for independence?
    Not to mention her extensive knowledge surpassed only by and OBE and a Midlands mannie?
    I have got to a point with the Herald and its three below bridge dwellers ,that I don’t expect anything I write to be published so I write the outrageous just for fun!

19. Richard Bruce

In Reply To:
    Ericmac says:
    They probably use a proxy that hides the original IP address, and anyway you would have to access the Herald server to even check that. (Totally illegal by the way). 

20. Dorothy Devine

Richard , if it is illegal how come the Scotsman was outed as posting inflammatory comment to encourage others to respond?
    Only asking ,not getting at you at all ,just a curious Luddite!

21. Bugger (the Panda)

When and how were they outed Dorothy?

Haven’t been there in yonks

22. Richard Bruce

Dorothy Devine 
    I haven’t heard about the Scotsman thing, but, unless it was an insider exposing the scam, or it was noticed as a trend, their server would have to be hacked in order to analyse the posts for source IPs, much like the “anonymous” group do. It’s not impossible to do, but If you are traced hacking in, it could end up with a jail sentence.

23. Peter

The fragrant Abies Alba moved over from the grainyard to spam us too oblivion.  Since it posts such racist scotophobic and vile ethnocentric bollocks the only reason it and fellow racist JMOBE have not been banned is that they are part of the herald team.

24. Braco

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2013/jul/07/andy-murray-novak-djokovic-live
    At 4:54 pm BST
    Third set: *Murray 6-4, 7-5, 2-3 Djokovic (*denotes next server)

“This reminds me of being halfway through the second half of the 1966 World Cup final,” writes Dan McSweeney, “when you start to think, hey, could this be for real…”‘

I win ! I win ! 

Where do I collect my ‘1966’ Bingo Prize? (and what is it?)

25. Famous15

Murray does it!

alex Salmond was like a sprig  of white heather!

26. Dorothy Devine

He won ! he WON!
    Andy Murray is the champ!!

27. Geoff Huijer

Well done Andy Murray!

28. Dramfineday

Braco
    Here’s your bingo prize: Pickles the dog (sorry it’s not signed – paws for effect)

29. John Lyons

Who’s a sweaty sock now? Forever known as a British Champion now.

30. HandandShrimp

Victory is the sweetest revenge – hate now haters 🙂

Well done Andy and Novak a cracking game between two great players and two good friends – nice to see

31. Famous15

alex Salmond unfurled a saltire! Brilliant

32. turnbul drier

Big eck waving a saltire behind Davie boy lol..

33. Dcanmore

WOW amazing! And that’s just Alex and wife unfurling the Saltire 🙂

BBC commentator just said: “A Scottish champion at Wimbledon”

34. turnbul drier

@famous. .  Bugger beat me too it. .. 🙂

35. HandandShrimp

Not only has Wimbledon been won for Scotland but the invaders from planet Skyron have been repelled. A great day

36. Jiggsbro

Fuck me. The ‘whinging Scotch cunt’ won. There’ll be a few cats kicked in Little Englandshire.

37. Yesitis

Brilliant Andy, just brilliant!!

Britnats being creepy.
    https://twitter.com/RobbieMacNiven/status/353915585635160066

38. Krackerman

Thanks for that link to Baillie’s wiki page – in the interests of truth I’ve made a few factual corrections 🙂 

39. themadmurph

first British man in 77 years.  First British man in shorts (copyright Andrew Castle). First Scottish man period.  Well done Andy Murray, but by fuck you made us sweat it.

I am not just a sweaty sock, but a sweaty everything!

40. AlexMcI

Wow that was immense , nothing seemed to get by Andy , brilliant.

41. Andy-B

Well Done!… Andy

A great “SCOTTISH” Champion!

42. john king

dramfineday said

Braco
    Here’s your bingo prize: Pickles the dog (sorry it’s not signed – paws for effect)”
    I take it he’ll be stuffed then?

43. HandandShrimp

Yesitis

kind of hard to take a moron who can’t spell Saltire seriously.

44. Peter

Britnat mentalcase breakdown because Scottish man celebrates Scottish victory by waving Scottish flag!  Extermination is too good for them. 

45. Macart

I think I feel a drinks evening coming on. Andy’s done himself and the whole country proud.

Knew he could do it. 🙂

46. scottish_skier

Ya belter Andy.
    He’s come a long way since that awful day 17 years ago. 
    Thoroughly deserves it.

47. HandandShrimp

I see a number of people are now saying that Andy lives in England and has an English girlfriend 🙂 I sense a knighthood in the offing

48. Indy_Scot

How pathetic are the BBC. After Andy won the camera cut to David Cameron with Alex Salmond in the background, and as Alex tried to raise the Scottish flag, the camera immediately cut away.

Hardly subtle.

49. Dramfineday

Ach Braco it was a picture I tried to post of Pickles but the Rev’s filter bumped it. I’ve got Pickles on my world cup bingo card. If a  commentator mentions him – you win the line. I’ll send the link to the story instead:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pickles_(dog)
    Meantime well done young Murray – you did very well indeed.

50. Keef

Well done St. Andrew Murray.

51. Dcanmore

from BBC comments: “England’s 77 year wait for a Wimbledon Champion go’s on.”

hahaha 

52. Yesitis

HandandShrimp
    kind of hard to take a moron who can’t spell Saltire seriously.

Yep. Just point and laugh, point and laugh.
    Andy will be back in Dunblane soon enough. I hope all those ‘proud Scots’ don`t mind a few waving Saltires when he does, and if the cameras from Reporting Scotland are anywhere near I`m sure there will be a few union flags handed out for their cameras to linger on 🙂

53. HandandShrimp

CM

I love the way the flag looms behind Cameron.

54. Seanair

Project Fear says that after separation in late 2014 Andy Murray will not be able to defend his second title won in July 2014 and Scottish people will not be admitted to Wimbledon which after all is the All England Club.
    PS Well done Andy.

55. Andy-B

@CM

Love that picture, David Cameron looks, shellshocked but Wee Eck..knew what to do…Brilliant!

56. Murray McCallum

The last game contained every sporting emotion.

Andy quite right not to grab any flag.  Why enter a “game” you can’t win when you have just thumped the world’s number 1, and hardest fighting, tennis player?

57. Gizzit

Was there some kind of sport happening?

Only kidding – well done Andy, a long-deserved Wimbledon victory.

58. Indy_Scot

Maybe someone should point out to Nelson that Andy hardly rushed out and lifted the Union flag given that one was clearly put out for him.

That should tell everyone what they need to know, even a muppet like Nelson.

59. Yesitis

Well, I`ve got a few mixed fruit ciders left – time to relax and drink up in the sun.
    All the best everybody. This has been a good day 🙂

60. Juteman

Remember when Monty Python took the pish out of Scottish tennis?

61. callum

It’s a pet hate of mine that because i don’t have a Scots accent that it’s assumed I’m from somewhere else – i blame an upbringing as an army brat and sitting next to Fraser Nelson in English class at school.

62. IainGraysSubwayLament

What a great win!

The Britnat Bigots are furious which just makes it even better.
    They are swarming all over the right wing political sites just now in their impotent fury.
    Worth a look just to laugh at them on the likes of Guido Fawkes, Conhome and political betting.

63. turnbul drier

Bbc news. . “Comparisons to other spring achievements are difficult but it has to rank up the with England winning the  world cup in 1966, England winning the Rugby world cup and the Olympic summer last year”…. ffs really. . Man they are clutching tonight. 

64. IainGraysSubwayLament

“Comparisons to other spring achievements are difficult but it has to rank up the with England winning the  world cup in 1966, England winning the Rugby world cup and the Olympic summer last year”…. ffs really.”
    Heard that myself tumbul and snorted with laughter.
    I can still barely believe how utterly furious the lunatics are because Salmond dared wave a flag but we should be used to their stupidity and double standards by now.

65. Braco

Dramfineday,
    I will treasure Pickles (now I know who he is). Very interesting Wiki Page, especially after the relief that pickles the dog wasn’t some ‘coded’ insult of some sort that I, in my fine breeding, didn’t understand!

Well done Eck by the way, he really drew political fire from any potential will he, won’t he, flag moment pressures for the poor wee victorious boy!

Cameron and the other too look a picture in relation to the first ministers ‘every persons happy drunk uncle’, politically priceless! Did he not start his career with just such a ‘bad form old chap’ stunt?

66. Braco

Callum,
    ah fuckem, you can be ma pal if I can be yours.

67. Braco

turnbul drier,
    sorry turnbul, but Pickles the dog is mine fare and square! You are welcome to stroke and take him for walks any time you like though.

68. southernscot

Brill Andy, no more “well there’s always next year.”

69. Taranaich

It’s really bloody ridiculous when the First Minister of Scotland is criticized for waving a flag representing Scotland when a Scottish athlete just won a game. Where were all those people when Dave was hobnobbing about with folks resplendent in St. George’s flag back in 2010?

I really despair.

70. turnbul drier

@ braco
    Aww that’s fine.  I can cope with the occasional walk with a4 legged friend. . Although mind did contain the Holy trinity of football,  Rugby and the Olympics. . Actually they missed a trick with the retention of the Ashes in Oz. … Surely the script writer should be sacked 🙂

71. Dorothy Devine

Richard and Bugger ,I haven’t visited the site for almost 4years ,except when directed to a piece which is either incredibly balanced or utterly ridiculous.
    My memory isn’t too clear and I’m sure there are others who will remember – it was in the early days of one Fifi LaBonne and some strange bird from the north of England of doubtful sanity.

72. Craig P

Juteman, I remember that Monty Python sketch well. Is it petty that I intend to watch it again with a dram in hand whilst thinking ‘Graham Chapman – get it up ye!’? 😉

73. Derick Tulloch

Slightly off topic but check this out.  Pretty brazen false flag operation
    https://www.facebook.com/ScottishRepublicanArmy

74. ianbrotherhood

@Derick Tulloch-

Brilliant!

Whoooo!

Hey, MI5, Prism-fuckers, whatever you’re called, do you see this?

The ‘Scottish Republican Army’ has announced itself to the world on the very same day that some Scottish dude won a tennis competition.

You are monitoring this, right?

You do realise that millions of ‘Scots’ and potentially billions of like-minded (albeit misguided)  supporters are likely to be susceptible to the overtures of this diabolical outfit?

I’m sure I speak for many in declaring total faith in your ability to hunt-down and prosecute these (probably Al Qaeda-funded) fanatics before they wreak havoc on our streets, and other public places.

Thanks in advance for protecting us.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.