One step closer

Posted on April 23, 2014 by

Earlier this week we did a little poking and prodding of the Scotsman’s last ICM poll, and now the full data tables are in for the latest one, so to while away an hour before tea we figured we may as well do a bit of comparing and see how things had changed.

miley

Wait! Come back! There’ll be Miley Cyrus at the end!

Note: where there are +/- figures, a + signifies the “positive” outcome (eg less inequality), and a signifies the “negative” outcome (eg worse for the economy).

HAVE YOU DEFINITELY DECIDED HOW YOU’LL VOTE?

Last time: 79%
This time: 84%

5% less uncertainty!

WOULD INDEPENDENCE BE GOOD/BAD FOR THE ECONOMY?

Last time: -5% (38% good 43% bad)
This time: -4% (37% good 41% bad)

3% more uncertainty!

MORE OR LESS INEQUALITY IN AN INDEPENDENT SCOTLAND?

Last time: +20% (36% less, 16% more)
This time: +17% (33% less, 16% more)

3% less optimism.

OLD AGE PENSIONS HIGHER OR LOWER?

Last time: -5% (20% higher, 25% lower)
This time: -9% (16% higher, 25% lower)

Evidently the reason for the subsequent push on pensions.

SHOULD HOLYROOD GET TAX/WELFARE POWERS AFTER A NO VOTE?

Last time: +46% (68% Yes, 22% No)
This time: +43% (64% Yes, 21% No)

Clearly, most of these changes are within error margins.

WILL THERE BE MORE POWERS AFTER A NO VOTE?

Last time: -7 (more 39%, same or less 46%)
This time: -16% (more 33%, same or less 49%)

But this isn’t. The reality of “Devo Nano” seems to be dawning on Scots.

WOULD YOU CHANGE YOUR VOTE FROM NO IF THERE WEREN’T?

Last time: 20% (10% Yes, 10% maybe)
This time: 20% (4% Yes, 16% maybe)

A substantial softening in the demand for more devolution.

So nothing very devastating, except the seemingly-paradoxical finding that the less Scots believe there will be any more powers in the event of a No vote, the less inclined they are to care about it.

Still, it got us to here. Ladies and gentlemen, Ms Miley Cyrus:

(We’re sure someone will explain this joke in the comments.)

179 to “One step closer”

1. RogueCoder

Dear God, what is ON HER TONGUE?

2. scott gordon

A family guy favourite.

3. Peter Shand

Family Guy…?

4. Greannach

Now I see who El Gordo was trying to imitate in the previous item. El Gordo thinks he’s twerking!

5. Alfresco Dent

There’s an alarmingly high proportion of mugs in Scotland.

6. Murray McCallum

“WOULD INDEPENDENCE BE GOOD/BAD FOR THE ECONOMY?

1% improvement in sentiment?

7. No No No...Yes

Had a listen to Conway Twitty, but struggling to work out the Miley/ Conway joke.

Anyway, Miley has a furred tongue and Crash Gordon has a forked tongue.

8. Alan Mackintosh

Looks like Mileys got thrush

9. Alan Mackintosh

Last time: -5% (38% good 43% bad)
    This time: -4% (37% good 41% bad)

3% more uncertainty!”
    Is that not 1% less uncertainty?

10. Taranaich

Wait! Come back! There’ll be Miley Cyrus at the end!

WHY DID YOU THINK THAT WOULD PERSUADE US TO STAY

11. scottish_skier

Interesting.

Just got a UKIP leaflet through the door. Firmly blames Dave, Ed and Nick for my countries woes.

Apparently I should not vote for them if I ‘want my country back’.

Scottish Government not blamed for anything at all. I assume they must be good guys then.

Ok, I shall do what is suggested and vote for ‘Independence’ in September.

12. dramfineday

Thank you Rev for telling me who that was in the picture. For a awfie moment I thought it was Ruth Davidson giving a tory raspberry to us!

13. handclapping

I thought it was our Ruthie with highlights.

/* Note to self; must get out more 🙁 */

14. Bugger (the Panda)

wrecking ball?

15. Bugger (the Panda)

I came in like a wrecking ball
    Yeah, I just closed my eyes and swung
    Left me crashing in a blazing fall
    All you ever did was wreck me
    Yeah, you, you wreck me

16. G. Campbell

The principal and VC of Robert Gordon University has written an article for the Guardian.

“Staying with the CBI could now be thought to imply a partisan, anti-independence position; leaving might suggest to others a sense of antagonism to the arguments for the union.”

In other words, if we stop giving money to the No supporting CBI, we’ll be showing support for the Yes campaign.

http://www.theguardian.com/higher-education-network/blog/2014/apr/23/scottish-universities-independence-neutral?CMP=twt_gu

17. Croompenstein

Is it Miley’s wearing the ermine Crash Gordon thought was for him but thae f*ckin North British split from Brittania? still dunno where Conway fits in but worth another listen

18. JLT

Scottish Skier

Interesting. Just got a UKIP leaflet through the door.

Strangely enough …so did I.

Stranger still …this one UKIP leaflet is still one more leaflet than I have ever got from the Better Together mob!

Strange…

19. scottish_skier

Changes from September 2013:
    Bad -7
    Good +6

Gap -13 (gap down from 17 to 4)

As Alistair Dariling has said, BT are ‘winning the economic’ argument you know.

20. Paula Rose

(I got a ukip leaflet as well – in Brechin)

21. scottish_skier

@JLT.

The UKIP leaflet is clearly one designed for south of the border. Guess they figured Scotland wasn’t worth printing special ones for.

To the casual observer…not a single pop at the Scottish Government at all. Just made sure voters knew everything ‘bad’ was the fault of pro-union parties.

The words ‘vote’ and ‘independence’ spread liberally too.

Anyway, that’s the fire on.

22. Jamie Arriere

Miley Cyrus (Is she having a stroke?) appeared on Family Guy as a robot which malfunctioned (a bit like Crash Gordon does on stage?). Conway Twitty also appears on Family Guy as a distraction when someone’s in deep trouble (like Gordon does for BT?)

Did he introduce Mr Conway Twitty during his speech yesterday?

23. Dr JM Mackintosh

Gordon’s performance was a bit sad. It reminded me of this Soul classic.
    Do you think he could sing it with Miley?

Once I had fame, oh, I was full of pride
    There were a lot of friends, always by my side
    But my fame, oh, it died
    And my friends began to hide

Everybody loves a winner
    But when you lose, you lose alone

Everywhere I turn, there was hello and a smile
    I never thought that it would be gone after awhile
    But your pension oh, it down
    And the smiles they turned to frowns

Everybody loves a winner

Once I had love, oh, but it wouldn’t be true
    To get back that love there ain’t nothing I wouldn’t do
    But I’ve loved and I lost
    Oh, and now I paid the cost

Everybody loves a winner

Songwriters
    BELL, WILLIAM / JONES, BOOKER T. JR. (Green Onions fame!)

Published by
    Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group, Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.

I did use some artistic license with the lyrics – did you notice?

24. HandandShrimp

Yup I have a UKIP leaflet too and I have never seen sight nor sound of the millions of BT leaflets shoved through doors (allegedly)

25. Morag

If UKIP is leafleting Scottish Skier, it suggests they have a deeper penetration as regards activist base than I for one imagined. I mean, this is the guy who was surprised that he got a Yes newspaper in his secluded retreat.

26. Marcia

The UKIP leaflet is being distributed to all households by Royal Mail so it must be costing UKIP a bit of money outwith the Euro campaign period.

27. James123

So we probably won’t get more powers after a No vote, but hey who gives a shit. Controlling our own economy? Fuck that, best leave that in the hands of people who know what they’re doing, like David Cameron and George Osborne.

I’m just off to weep in the corner.

28. RogueCoder

Thanks Putin, that’s just what we needed – now there will be a rash of English MSM screaming Scotland can’t defend itself 🙁

http://www.scotsman.com/news/uk/russian-planes-chased-away-from-scottish-coast-1-3385404

Curious why they didn’t scramble from Lossie Tornados…?

29. Paula Rose

@ Marcia – so that’s where all those EU expenses went!

30. RogueCoder

Uh, sorry Rev, forgot the OT tag for the above.

31. Hugh Wallace

I am a student (maturing nicely…) at RGU and have just written to the VC to ask him to reconsider this position and pointing out that the principles of democracy are paramount here over whichever side wins this referendum.

32. Minty

You can post the UKIP leaflet back to them via FREEPOST, which will cost them 30p.

UKIP’s address: Freepost RLSU-HZBG-UBBG, UKIP, Unit 1 King Charles Business Park, Old Newton Road, Heathfield, Newton Abbot, Devon, TQ12 6UT

33. JLT

Scottish Skier

Well, I’m in Livingston, Paula Rose says she’s Brechin, and I’m sure you’re an Edinburgh man, so they have got about!

I’ll give them their due …they seem to have feet on the ground, and are at least, trying to get their message out there …which is more than the BT mob are doing!

I had a quick glance at the leaflet, and saw nothing special within it. There’s hee-haw in it about Scotland (just a brief mention of the SNP and the other parties wanting the EU to be bigger), but it’s just a leaflet asking folk to vote for UKIP so we can all pull out of Europe.

I like their centre-page spread of the purple and yellow mini-poster for sticking up in my window …which by the way is just never going to happen on any scale in Scotland. Hell would have to freeze over first before that happens.

34. Dinnatouch

I’d rather listen to a half hour interview with Johann Lamont than another second of Conway Twitty

35. JLT

Marcia says:

The UKIP leaflet is being distributed to all households by Royal Mail so it must be costing UKIP a bit of money outwith the Euro campaign period.

Ah ha! Take it back about UKIP having feet on the ground. I was getting seriously impressed there! Damn you, Farage and your evil tictacs …err …tactics.

Need to sit down and have a coffee to get over the shock of that! Need my mind back before I begin my 2 hour study stint!

36. RogueCoder

@Minty
    What else can we send them?

Suggestions on the back of a postcard to Freepost RLSU-HZBG-UBBG, UKIP, Unit 1 King Charles Business Park, Old Newton Road, Heathfield, Newton Abbot, Devon, TQ12 6UT

😀

37. Minty

RogueCoder – apparently the Royal Mail don’t like it if you send bulky envelopes to that FREEPOST address, as it won’t go through the sorting machine and UKIP would get charged a manual handling fee.

Just saying, like…

38. sausage fingered luddite

Best of both worlds,
    every time I hear this I am reminded of Hannah Montana aka Miley Cyrus

39. jacksloan2013

UK-IP leaflet designed for voters south of the border. Is that a bit like the Party Political Broadcast by Scottish Labour Party tonight? It did go on about massive student fees and end with a One Nation logo…

40. Dr JM Mackintosh

@Rogue coder

the Russians were probably just coming over to see Lord Robertson about joining NATO.
    They could have just dropped into glenegedale airport – it would make a great forward base for patrolling the North Atlantic.
    Especially as the RAF has no maritime patrol aircraft anymore.

41. G. Campbell

13 Dec 2013: Robert Gordon University honours Chairman of CBI Higher Education Task Force

http://www.rgu.ac.uk/news/robert-gordon-university-honours-centrica-boss

42. Meindevon

Got my polling card through for the European Parliament elections here in the sunny (well wet and blooming freezing actually) south. Who the hell do I vote for? Any advice gratefully received.

43. scottish_skier

The UKIP leaflet is being distributed to all households by Royal Mail

Yup, was between other letters. Lazy barstools. Just sit around all day on their asses. Never done a hard days work in their lives these kippers. 😉

If UKIP is leafleting Scottish Skier, it suggests they have a deeper penetration…in his secluded retreat.

Tories just vanish here in the Border wilds sometimes, never to be seen again. All people find is an abandoned Range Rover with engine running and a copy of the Telegraph scattered by the wind.

/–eerie, foreboding music>–/

44. JLT

Meindevon

Who the hell do I vote for? Any advice gratefully received.

Apparently UKIP …(tongue in cheek)

45. Alan Mackintosh

Roguecoder. Lossie squadron 617 Dambusters has been disbanded as the Tornado drawdown. Due to be reformed in 2016 with the new F-35 Lightning 2 at RAF Marham. That’ll be why no planes from there. At least not til 2016 when we can fly some Grippens out of there under RSAF colours

46. JLT

Yup, was between other letters.

You see …that was what threw me! I just had the UKIP leaflet and nothing else! Just that! That was why I thought they had some poor laddie out delivering leaflets.

47. heedtracker

I don’t get it. Just in from my UKOK twerking class with latest survey of whole class shows that twerk talent like Milley directly reflects vote intents. So Last twerking class +46% (68% Yes, 22% No) This time: +43% (64% Yes, 21% No) and also, its impossible to twerk to any Conway Twitty song.

48. Max Solanis

Aye, UKIP leaflet popped through the letter box this morning in Glenrothes as well. It arrived with the postie. To be fair, It’s the ONLY leaflet I’ve had through about the European Elections at all, And it’s in May! Obviously, the other main parties couldn’t give a toss about it, as they want us out anyway. (Surprised I haven’t seen anything through from the SNP yet though.)

49. ronnie anderson

@Marcia, Ukip leaflets they must hiv goat mates rates

nae fekin Franc’s, oh furgoat they dont do EU they only

collect expences.

50. handclapping

@Meindevon

Ukip purple Nah
    Condem bloody blue Nah
    Condem yellow Nah
    SLAB faded pink Nah

Green green Suits one, sir. Definitely suits sir!

I don’t know who else you might have on your ballot paper.

51. Marcia

Max Solanis

Nominations for the Euro Elections close tomorrow. That I think will trigger the start of the campaign period.

52. Indigo

For scottish eu elections I’m torn between SNP if they stand a chance of getting the extra seat, or greens to try to block a potential UKIP seat – anyone know what the scottish eu polling is suggesting?

53. Retro_Rabbit

I’m feeling a bit left out… I got my polling card for the European elections but as yet no leaflets… not even an email from my local MP (Jim Murphy… he usually sends me random nonsense… that’s what happens when you send him an email telling him to do his job) or his MEP side kick (they tend to hang about in twos in Barrhead). Needless to say I’m feeling slightly ill informed about specifically which group of freeloaders I should be voting for, to stop them flooding my country… so my question is this, where do I put my cross to get shot of Farage, Cameron & Clegg etc?

54. jacksloan2013

David Cameron’s St George’s Day speech seen as an appeal to possible Ukip voters. ‘England is a global success story. In just five months time Scotland will decide if it wants to remain part of it’.
    Jut one put-down after another. This man was in PR?

55. Marcia

Indigo

Scottish Skier would be your man but from what I have seen there is more chance of SNP getting 3 than the Greens getting 1.

56. Indigo

Thanks Marcia

57. morgan mc

Given that 66% of the Scottish electorate did not vote in the last European elections(The EU has no mandate or consent) and probably couldn’t tell the difference between one democratic deficit and another.(The Unelected EU Commission and their regional managers in Westminster).

The fact that 1 in 10 Scots will think about voting UKIP speaks volumes.

58. Bigdrone

Dinnatouch – I’ll pm you the contact details of my psychiatrist!

59. Muscleguy

I got a UKIP leaflet here in Broughty Ferry too. It is awaiting an appointment with the blue recycling bin.

60. James Forrest

As bad as Brown is, I find his predecessor, and his intervention today, to be far, far worse. Excuse the tone of this piece. I cannot be disappasionate about this guy.

http://www.commentisntfree.com/unforgiven/

61. scottish_skier

Scottish Skier would be your man but from what I have seen there is more chance of SNP getting 3 than the Greens getting 1.

Yup.

UKIP need to out-poll the Libs and the Tories to come third with 10%+ to get a seat which they’d take from the Tories based on current polling (same applies for Greens but UKIP have the edge).

Thus take your pick – UKIP or the Tories!

Or just go for SNP and maybe have a laugh at the Tories. What’s the difference; we’ll still have one full on rightie MEP.

It’s an outside chance, but if a UKIPer did steal one MEP it wouldn’t make any difference to the referendum. It’s UKIP doing well UK-wide that should boost Yes.

Imagine we did get a UKIP candidate then a Yes. What party would they represent exactly? I’m almost tempted to vote UKIP just to see 😉

Anyway, my advice would be go for SNP or green if you are fairly loyal to them. If the labour vote holds up, the Tories are hit by UKIP and the SNP do well, then you could easily get 4 SNP + 2 Labour.

Personally, I don’t feel comfortable with tactical voting.

Vote for who you would like to win / to represent you.

62. Croompenstein

@James – let’s not forget the input of Campbell(not Rev), Mandelson and Brown to the stink of New Labour, Blair conned a lot of folk

63. Jamie Arriere

It is quite extraordinary how all these party political broadcasts (including the SNP’s) feature absolutely NOTHING about Europe in them – it is not just an elephant in the room, it’s more that the elephant is so fucking big, nobody even wants to go into the room!

64. Jimsie

morgan mc

So 1 in 10 Scots will think about voting UKIP ?.

Having thought they will reject this fascist mob.

65. G. Campbell

Severin Carrell @severincarrell · Apr 22
    So far only 5 groups have #indyref registration with @ElectoralCommUK: CBI, Yes Scotland, Better Together, the Tories and No Borders

No Borders Campaign
    Registered address: 24 Chiswell St, London, EC1Y 4YX
    http://www.votenoborders.co.uk/

company director check .com

Fiona Gilmore has been employed at NO BORDERS CAMPAIGN since 18 March 2014 currently as a Director (DIRECTOR/COMMUNICATIONS ADVISER).
    Date Of Birth: Nov-1956

companies in the uk. co. uk

Acanchi Limited
    24 Chiswell Street London EC1Y 4YX

Acanchi Limited > Fiona Gilmore
    Date Of Birth: Nov-1956 | Occupation: Director

66. EdinScot

I also was greeted after work to a ukip leafletn here in north Edinburgh. Hasnt Farage got an annoying face, im really not a violent person but he has got a pus id never tire of slapping. What a load of racist garbage he stands for. Im glad he was run out of town. His party is a huge reason to vote yes in september and get the heck out of the Westminster mad house.

67. G. Campbell

Camfed. org

Fiona Gilmore – Chairman, Acanchi Limited

“Fiona Gilmore founded Acanchi in 2003, with the purpose of specialising in country brand capital development. Acanchi was created to advise governments on how to devise compelling positioning strategies to enhance a country’s competitive advantage and help build pride amongst local people, celebrating shared values and talents.”

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Isle of Man plans to push independence with new branding

“The island has appointed market research firm HPI and branding consultancy Acanchi to develop an identity that will raise awareness of the island. The positioning will be based on the independent nature of the island and the Manx people.”

http://www.marketingmagazine.co.uk/article/473626/isle-man-plans-push-independence-new-branding

68. EphemeralDeception

O/T CBI members:

Does anyone know if the BBC are a member?
    Or can confirm that they are not?

69. scottish_skier

The fact that 1 in 10 Scots will think about voting UKIP speaks volumes.

Only one poll gave 10% and that was turnout weighted. The actual number of people saying UKIP was 7%.

When you have at least a 3% MoE, all we can say is that the UKIP vote looks like it might go up a bit on the 5% they got last time and hurt the Tories, potentially taking the Tory seat.

The main effect would be to increase the chance of the SNP taking the Lib and the Tory seat. Only a very good turnout for UKIP would secure 1 MEP, but even then this helps the SNP get 50% (3/6 of MEPs) / win big style.

So, as the old saying goes ‘A vote for UKIP is a vote for the SNP / Scottish independence’.

Which is what the English electorate are going to do. Would be amusing if some of the unionist Scottish electorate did the same. Oh the irony.

70. Brotyboy

Just picked this up on FB. Apologies if I missed it being posted already.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/04/23/ukip-vote-against-ivory-trade_n_5197278.html?1398253854

Fingers crossed no boo-boos with the link.

71. scottish_skier

Anyway, the UKIP leaflet was a really stupid approach.

If you want to target Scotland, you need to target Scotland. It should have had AS on the front with ‘This man will drag you into the EU and the Euro’. Instead, it had a wee mug shot of the no charisma / unconvincing (*ICM: only 5% of UK respondents think Farage is charismatic / convincing) / no economic plan (only 2% think UKIP have economic credibility) ‘Scots are xenophobic fascists’ (Edinburgh incident) mug shot on the front.

At a brief glance it was an advert for the SNP from the colours and the ‘Don’t vote for Ed, Dave and Nick’.

On closer inspection, it was an advert for Scottish independence.

Shows how little the UKIPs care about anywhere north of the Watford gap. Can’t even produce a pamphlet for Scotland with millions in free money (Tory donor backing).

*http://www.icmresearch.com/data/media/pdf/ST_april14_poll.pdf

72. Gordon Hay

No UKIP leaflet here yet, but I did get an Asda one this evening inviting me to shop there in preparation for a “bumper Easter weekend” – so about as much use as a kipper one then.

73. scottish_skier

…'(Edinburgh incident) Farage guy on the front.’

That clearly should have been

74. jacksloan2013

As time runs out on St George’s Day I am sure many will settle down tonight to watch TV and E4’s showing of Braveheart!

75. SquareHaggis

I’m also one of the privileged ones who received a yummy eye catching, expensive looking yellow and purple UKIP “brochure” – interestingly, they’ve supplied a tel number in case you’d like to get in touch, maybe with a view to taking some more of their lit-er-a-ture.
    Gave them a call and ordered more info to be delivered to a nearby empty property, should cost them a pretty penny or two 😉

76. Murray McCallum

Has Nigel Farage only got one female member of staff?

He said on TV that his German wife was not taking a UKOK person’s job because only his wife would be able to work closely with him.

Maybe he is a Mormon?

77. Caroline Corfield

EphemeralDeception

There was a list that went around fb, but I think it is now being questioned, I don’t recall the BBC being listed on that one. According to this site, some companies that appear on CBI Scotland lists have already left or have disbanded.
    http://proindy.org/2014/04/22/exclusive-questions-raised-over-accuracy-of-cbi-membership-lists/

there is also a post on April 23rd about TIE the tram company long since departed this Earth.

I’ll try and find the list from fb.

78. bigGpolmont

I just got a UKIP leaflet too which is one more than better together.
    To be fair the local tory councilor did try to deliver while I was working in the garage the other day.
    He just laughed when I told him he could stuff it up his erse. He must have thought I was kidding until he took a step closer to the letterbox and I told him that I would put it on the end of my boot and that too would go all the way up.
    He started to beat the retreat.
    At least five of my neighbours all followed my example.
    I was amazed as I would never have guessed that these folk were for YES but three are now volunteering to help the local YES team and we have now created our own neighbourhood watch Pity help any poor sod from BT that gets the job of delivering their propaganda to our homes.

79. twenty14

o/t – as someone previously mentioned Huff Post saying RAF jets scrambled to see off Russian planes up our way. If previous incursions are anything to go by no doubt the Ruskies would be tucked up in bed after watching a good movie by the time the UK responded – and where informed by holiday makers heading out on a Norwegian cruise.

False flags anyone !!

80. bigGpolmont

Murray, I too heard that Nigel Farage had a female member
    At least that’s what I thought the guy said

81. Indigo

Thank you scottish_skier, that information is so interesting and helpful – btw don’t think there’s ever been an election when I haven’t voted tactically, other than 2011, but I just can’t imagine scotland electing a UKIP representative.

82. Edward

Twenty 14 – The story is also reported on the Sky news website.

Sky stated that the two Tupolev 95’s were ‘chased away’ as they approached the North East coast of Scotland (what is it that the Russians like about the north east of Scotland?)

“They were turned away from Britain when an RAF Typhoon was scrambled from Leuchars airbase, near Dundee” – That will be Leuchars that is losing the RAF then?

http://news.sky.com/story/1247985/raf-jet-chases-russian-planes-away-from-uk

83. jingly jangly

Alan Mackintosh
    Im with you on the Grippen’s a lot more economical to run and as good as the Typhoon.

Dambusters were a Tornado Bomber/ground attach squadron so no use for intercepts!!!

Re Isle of Man, somebody posted something about the Isle of Man wanting to be seen as more independent, there was a bit on Manx news this week that the Manx Chief Minister Allan Bell was upsetting Westminster as he was too close to Alex Salmond. Mr Bell denied that his friendship with Mr Salmond was affecting relationships with Westminster

84. Gordon Hay

@Murray McCallum

He has another one, an assistant cum events manager called Lizzy Vaid who appears in all their literature as an “ordinary voter”.

85. twenty14

@ Edward – ” what is it that the Russians like about the north east of Scotland? ”

They can get here, window shop, admire the scenery and be home for tea before anyone lifts the phone 🙂

86. RogueCoder

Ah, sorry, been away harassing RGU on twitter (more in next comment)

@Minty 7.10
    Manualk handling fees, eh? Shall we send them a pallet of Yes leaflets? 😀

@Alan Mackintosh 7.18
    Lossie squadron 617 Dambusters has been disbanded
    Bloody hell, you’re right of course, remember reading about that in the paper the other day. Didn’t connect the two, sorry!

@ Dr JM Mackintosh 7.11
    the Russians were probably just coming over to see Lord Robertson about joining NATO
    Don’t we have red phones anymore, or did Bono trademark them? 😀

87. Tamson

Keeping up the Family Guy theme, whenever the Shadow Scottish Secretary bumps her gums in the indyref campaign, we should all just shout “Shut up Meg!” at her. Oh wait, we do that already.

Of course, Family Guy has already intruded on British politics – unfortunately (or maybe fortunately), Pete Griffin’s a Unionist.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8254894.stm

88. SquareHaggis

Anyone know if there are any media outlets in CBI?

89. Chic McGregor

The English-Scots contingent of the electorate is about 10% in Scotland, maybe a little less (8% of the population but with a disproportionate demographic of working age and retirement age population).

With UKIP standing at just shy of 30% support in England, it only requires that English people in Scotland have a similar level of support for it to account for around 3% of the 7% support found in polling here.

Of course, it is supposition as to whether those coming to Scotland would have or retain the same level of support for UKIP. One could think it might be higher or lower depending on different motivations those who move here might be thought to have. But in the light of no other insight, it is a reasonable theory at least.

I looked at this a bit the last time and it did seem that UKIP support ‘hot spots’ in Scotland tied in with higher concentrations of English-Scots (e.g, Aberdeen) and vice versa for low English-Scot concentration areas. So, a little more circumstantial evidence there.

The big picture, as said before, is if UKIP do well in the rUK and that support holds up till the referendum, then it will be bad for the Yes campaign since it makes a Tory victory in 2015 less likely. Especially since Ed seems to have taken that last bounce off the ropes in a leftward direction this time.

Unless of course, pG, Cameron dumps Clegg for Farage as prospective alliance partner, but, sadly, he is not that stupid.

90. Thepnr

Many who will be supporting Yes and have NEVER voted in an EU election will be voting this time as a preamble to the referendum.

Turnout in Scotland will be very large relatively and UKIP % will be minute. SNP will have a huge % of the vote, well in excess of 50% in my view.

91. dave

G campbell – acanchi – interesting…

If you do a Google for ‘acanchi Scotland’ and look at linked in profile in 2nd result, looks like acanchi (branding agency) has been doing work for no campaign for some time…

92. fairiefromtheearth

FFs Rev i like Country and Western but that guy was BRUTAL 😉 give us some Gospel Elvis next time.

93. Kalmar

Roguecoder, you made me go and read what’s been happening re the CBI / RGU thing.

RGU’s twitter account has been rudely cutting off anyone raising the subject, saying it’s been answered. The principle however, @vonprond, has been explaining that he personally disagrees with the CBI’s move, and that the university is strictly neutral and also disapproves.
    Yet they’re apparently waiting for a ‘statement’ from the CBI to say that they won’t campaign or donate to No. You might be waiting a while for that! And isn’t it already complicit in the fact that they’ve registered?

The principle has also written a whole piece in the guardian about it to the same effect, which is worth a read if you’re a fan of tortured logic.

Interesting.

94. Arbroath 1320

Just back from Carlisle Cathedral where the First Minister was giving a speech to local business leaders from Carlisle and the surrounding areas, as well as the odd Scot! 😛

Needless to say, like all the previous speeches the First Minister has given it was first class. Unlike most politicians he is prepared to hang around and speak to anyone who has a question or just a query or in our case just to congratulate him on another excellent speech…oh and obtain his signature on the free copies of “Scotland’s Future” we all received as we arrived. 😉

95. EphemeralDeception

@Caroline Corfield re: CBI

First, thanks for the feedback. I am aware if CBI ‘in’ Scotland affiliations.

The thing is, the BBC is a UK/anglo company.

So, Is BBC (UK) a member of CBI (Not just CBI ‘in’ Scotland)? If YES, it is categorically a part of the NO campaign.

Since the BBC rolls out the CBI as often as it can I am major doutbs that it is not also a member. Yet, I cannot cite any source th

96. Kalmar

Edit: implicit, damn iPhone.

97. EphemeralDeception

Sorry, to finish…

I cannot cite or find any source that clarifies this question.

98. Chic Stewart

Big G Polmont I heard that Farage’s Surname in Malaysian means vagina. Well after his show in Edinburgh i thought he is one but not very useful to us here in Scotland.

99. Betsy

I thought it worth sharing the rarity of a sane voice emerging from the ranks of Scottish Labour….on the No side.

If there were more like him on the No side, I’d be worried but there aren’t so instead I shall carry on working towards a Yes vote and hope that more Labour voices like this emerge after independence.

http://kevinwodonnell.wordpress.com/2014/04/23/scottish-labourlabour-for-independence-and-the-future-of-our-party/

100. Heather McLean

I got got a shiny 8 page UKIP leaflet through my door today as well. I’ve stuck it in an unstamped envelope and sent it back to them!

I hope others will do likewise and send UKIP the message that we neither want nor need their rightwing, rascist propeganda in Scotland!

Vote YES and vote for the SNP Euro candidates who most definitely WILL be working on behalf of ALL the people living in Scotland!

101. Ann

I got a UKIP leaflet as well.

Looks like the poor posties had to deliver them with the mail today.

102. Betsy

UKIP have a handy freepost address to return stuff to at their expense. I believe it can also be used to send them pictures of smiling migrants, Edinburgh pubs, bizarre questions or Greg Moodie cartoons should the fancy take you. I think political differences aside we ought to be applaud UKIP for their generosity.

UKIP FREEPOST RLSU-H2BG-UBBG
    Lexdrum House
    TQ12 6UT

103. HoraceSayYes

No UKIP leaflet for me here in Dundee, but I did get an SNP one (also delivered by the postie).

It had a postal vote registration form with it, which I assume would also cover the referendum, so that seemed a smart move to me.

104. RogueCoder

@ Kalmar
    I found a list of FOI requests on RGU’s web site “from 2013 onwards” which includes one – Request number 160113/1 – which pertains to CBI membership. Might be nothing, but be interested to get hold of it should it detail just how much public money has been paid into Bitter Together’s coffers.

Re: @vonprond’s tweet, looks very much like a fob off as we’ll never hear anything back from the CBI. Business for Scotland were pushing the CBI and the Electoral Commission on CBI’s impartiality which is what led them to registering in the first place (ill-thought out, legally speaking). But CBI are committed now, so the only way out for RGU is to leave. If we keep the pressure up they’ll have no choice. Lots of students complaining this is damaging the university’s reputation

105. RogueCoder

Sending UKIP a Yes leaflet – and a 2L bottle of Irn Bru.

What’s the address again? Oh yes:

Freepost RLSU-HZBG-UBBG, UKIP, Unit 1 King Charles Business Park, Old Newton Road, Heathfield, Newton Abbot, Devon, TQ12 6UT

106. Meindevon

Thank you JLT,7.18 & handclapping, 7.26.

Defo my vote will not be conblue or conyellow and not uki…uki….uk…. No can’t even say it! No SLAB in this part of the world but Labour have been very good in a local project I have a hand in.

Absolutely no help or interest from the others.

Also a phone call from local labour ended up with a personal House of Commons letter from Ben Bradshaw himself, no less after I complained about negative campaign in England re Indy and he totally agreed with me.

So prob Labour or I might go green(it definitely suits me, sir) if it means keeping fag face farage out! Sorry Nige, I don’t normally like personal insults, but for you, I make an exception.

107. Paula Rose

Green suits me, snappy little Chanel number that I wear when canvassing for a Yes vote.

108. Alan Mackintosh

OT Yvette Cooper and David Stewart in Eden Court Inverness tomorrow night at 5.30

So this is all very cloak and dagger with invitations sent initally, then location only being disclosed on receipt of acceptance email…but hey, Kitty does say to “tell your friends” about it so I’d better do just that…

Thank you very much for signing up to attend our meeting with the Rt. Hon. Yvette Cooper MP tomorrow night in Inverness. The meeting is being held at the Eden Court Theatre, Bishops Rd, Inverness, IV3 5SA. Registration begins at 5pm for a 5:30pm start, and tea and coffee will be served on arrival. Yvette will be joined on the panel by David Stewart MSP, and there will be a chance to put your questions to them during the meeting.

If you have any questions about tomorrow evening, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

I look forward to seeing you tomorrow v night.

Best wishes,

Kitty

Kitty Raven
    Events Officer
    Better Together
    0141 332 4634
    Tell your friends about us

109. cirsium

@G Campbell, 8.05

thanks for the heads-up regarding the registration of “No Borders”. Visited the website which is currently under construction and found that saltire colours are being used. At the very least, I would have expected to see a rationale/mission statement. The “No Borders” project is run by Acanchi, a PR outfit. So who has commissioned Acanchi to create “No Borders”?

110. Debbiethebruce

@chic macgregor

Im not sure i agree with your theory that areas of scotland that have a higher English population may vote UKIP.

Edinburgh has a high English population and there is no sign of many voters here,also i would like to point out I know of at least three English protestors who chased Farage out of scotland last year!

On behalf of all English settlers,including myself,we hate UKIP as much as most Scots.

111. msean

Watching telly here,the people of Stratford upon Avon don’t actually care.More pooling and sharing catchphrasing , and more idiotic comparisons,Pictland returns ffs 🙂 .

Comedy gold,and not even a newspaper reviewer in sight.

112. Alba4Eva

Good to see Tariq Ali on the googlebox there. The other guy had nothing but patronising cliches about Scotland.

113. Paula Rose

I think there is a difference in voting intentions between those of us who were born in England and chose to live here and third rate career chasers who had to move here to carry on climbing a greasy pole.

114. Morag

Yup, was between other letters. Lazy barstools. Just sit around all day on their asses. Never done a hard days work in their lives these kippers. 😉

I realised this when I got home myself about an hour ago. I got one too, and it was part of a small handful of advertising leaflets. I thought perhaps they’d paid to have it hand-delivered by some company catering for leaflet drops but it could easily have been the postman. Pity help the poor posties, that means they have to visit every single house on their round.

I understand the SNP isn’t going to be using activists to leaflet for the Euros either, but will rely on the postal delivery. I presume to avoid over-taxing an activist base that is already running itself ragged delivering Yes material. Since SNP members are only a minority of Yes canvassers, expecting these people to get round everyone with a separate delivery of Euro material would be a hell of an ask.

We’ve got another council by-election too, buggerit. Needed that like a hole in the head.

115. Grouse Beater

@ Hugh Wallace

I am a student (maturing nicely…) at RGU and have just written to the VC to ask him to reconsider this position and pointing out that the principles of democracy are paramount here over whichever side wins this referendum.

Thank you for doing that. The university’s rationale is cockeyed. Students should make a robust protest.

116. Gin

@Scottish_Skier and back On/T

I’d wondered about the last point the Rev covered when I saw the tables. My only thought was that since the Base is the NO voters, which has clearly dropped since the previous poll, that this would indicate many ‘soft’ No voters have left. Leading to a relative hardening of the remainder.

The Regional breakdowns look interesting. Table 5 appears to show that YES is already ahead in most areas! South is strongest NO needing a 14% swing for Yes to draw level. But surprise to me was the North East which would need 12% swing!

117. twenty14

@ Morag – regarding SNP leaflets/YES leaflets. I’ve received 1 leaflet from each over the last year. Would have thought I’d have more than that, particularly with under 6 months to go. Is there a way of checking if you should have been leafleted in case my areas have been dumped in a hedge ?

118. Indigo

@Arbroath 1320
    Who was organising the event, was it Cumbria chamber? Sounds really good, wish he’d come to D&G to speak directly to businesses here, lots of SMEs seem really worried about potential cross border issues

119. Thepnr

Leaflets may help but for me their major influence is limited compared to a word in someones ear. For example Last Saturday as it happens I was out for a beer in a well known Dundee Social Club.

Been going there for years and know a lot of the regulars. Anyway to get to the point I saw someone I knew sitting with a friend that I’d never met so went to ask the friend I knew if he would vote Yes in the referendum.

“Absolutely” he says “always voted SNP”. So I shook his hand and said “good man Alex, way to go”.

His friend then said “I’m voting No” So I shook his hand and said “way to go, it’s good we can all have different opinions”.

“But remember I said what your voting No for. An end to free prescriptions; free care for the elderly; tuition fees for you grandchildren; etc.”

He said “I’m an undecided”.

120. Thepnr

test

121. Thepnr

Sorry about the test post but original didn’t appear, getting the duplicate post message. Will try again.

122. Morag

Is there a way of checking if you should have been leafleted in case my areas have been dumped in a hedge?

Talk to your local Yes Scotland organiser and ask how many should have come your way. I know one of our local worthy ladies who co-ordinates a lot of the leafleting sometimes contacts people she knows to see if they have had a leaflet, if she has any doubt about a volunteer. I have to say though that everyone working for Yes seems very committed.

Yes can only reach as far as it has activists to deliver though. I have heard some groups classify more remote households as “not economic to deliver to”, simply because of manpower limitations. If you’re in a town or village you should have had two Yes newspapers at least though.

Sometimes it’s hard to know what happens. We had a keen new volunteer turn up in Peebles last week and someone asked if he’d had the last newspaper. He said no. Someone else asked him where he lived, and when he replied one of the other volunteers protested vigorously that he’d done all that road himself. Maybe the guy’s wife had put it in with the recycling or something.

The other thing I keep saying to people is, if you’re able-bodied, get out there and deliver to your local area yourself. The more people who take “ownership” even of a couple of streets and undertake to see the material is delivered there, the easier it is on everyone.

123. Morag

Oh and even if you’re housebound, follow Ronnie’s stellar example and get folding. I have a neighbour with a knee injury who folds the papers for me and puts them in 25s in poly bags. Worth his weight in currency notes.

124. Grouse Beater

“Freeedom!!!”

00.13 Film Channel another transmission of …

125. Arbroath 1320

Indigo says:
    @Arbroath 1320
    Who was organising the event, was it Cumbria chamber? Sounds really good, wish he’d come to D&G to speak directly to businesses here, lots of SMEs seem really worried about potential cross border issues

I’m not actually sure who organised the event Indigo, we just got a phone call late last night about it and asked if we wanted to go…as if we’d turn down any chance to *ahem* support the First Minister. 🙂

I think the best way to get the First Minister down to Dumfries to speak to Dumfries and surrounding areas SME’s would be to contact Joan McAlpine perhaps.

The audience appears to have been a genuine mix of local Cumbrian businesses, Scottish business and a few YES supporters for good measure.

I’m trying to remember who asked the questions here. I think one came from the Carlisle branch of the *ahem* C.B.I I think he seemed concerned about businesses moving to Scotland in the event of independence but the First Minister put him at ease with the point that so long as we have the connectivity in place then mass exodus to Scotland would not happen. Someone asked about the feasibility study being planned for the cross border rail network. The First Minister said that he felt that waiting till after the TweeddaleMuir railway was up and running was the best way forward because by then they’d have a better idea of the how the railway was operating.

Another question came from a guy in Moffat council who asked the often repeated “why can’t someone from outside Scotland get a vote” question. A guy from D&G small business enterprise asked a question YAWN about “what currency we will use in an independent Scotland as there is a lot of uncertainty about it. A guy from Lockerbie made the point about independence not affecting his cross border business one iota and a Professor Mitchell asked a question that I’ve forgotten but also made some valid positive points about independence.

126. Grouse Beater

“Why can’t someone from outside Scotland get a vote”

Under international law a movement for independence must arise from within a state or nation. It cannot be imposed from without.

127. Morag

Yes. That last bit. James Mitchell really is on the Yes side. He just does a hell of a lot better job of concealing his personal views than his erstwhile colleague John Curtice does.

128. Arbroath 1320

I think the way that the First Minister answered the question was along the lines that as the decision will affect the people of Scotland then it must be up to them to make the decision. This is the one aspect of the independence debate that has caused him the most problem.

If I remember correctly he said that as the question was a civic one then it was right to ask the people of Scotland alone. He did also make the point that to go down the line of letting people living outside Scotland have the vote would be a process that would have innumerable problems that in all likely could never be properly resolved.

129. caz-m

Arbroath 1320

You ordered 60 Flags??

I ordered one.

130. Arbroath 1320

caz-m says:

Arbroath 1320

You ordered 60 Flags??

I ordered one.

Aye I did. I was mushing around the apartment and found a spare £60 lying under the sofa so sent it in and will get sixty flags for my efforts. 😛

After I’ve taken the requisite number of flags for family and friends we’ll be giving the remaining flags to our local YES South Annandale group to sell for their funds or whatever. 😉

The only problem I have is that I now have to wait till the end of May before the flags arrive, what am I to do between now and then? My thumb twiddling aint the best and I’m not sure I’m up for weeks of thumb twiddling anyway. 🙂

131. caz-m

Nick Ferrari on STV tonight. Best mates with Richard Madeley and that whole crowd of patronising Little Englanders.

80% of his listeners on his London Radio Station want Scotland to stay part of the Union.

Is this eejit huvvin a laugh. About 99% of Londoners couldn’t give a shit about what happens in Scotland.

132. Lobeydosser

Wow. Two anti indy stories in tonights Guardian. All the gloaters are out in force. 1st about a “new”S&P report. 2nd IDS we wont be able to aford our welfare bill.

133. GrahamB

Also got a UKIP flier with normal letters and a pizza delivery advert in Glasgow West End. If you open it up you can put it in your window indicating support for the plonkers with a message saying no more leaflets please (can’t see the postie being too bothered about that though – 8 per close means 8 through the doors regardless). Did contemplate putting it upside down in the window but realised that was probably too subtle for posties and other leafleters, partner had already put it in the recycling anyway by the time I thought of it.
    Impressed by Tariq Ali again tonight, he should get honorary citizenship in iScotland along with Billy Bragg and several others who realise what we are trying to do here for the benefit of others as well as ourselves.

134. Morag

Just coughed up towards the flags thing. Now where do I get a flagpole? And more to the point, who do I get to put it up so it doesn’t blow away in the gale that whistles down our street?

135. caz-m

Arbroath 1320

I used to work in Cochranes Boilers ltd in Annan, about the same time as the Locherbie bombing.

A squad of us came down from Glasgow for a coupe of months.

Annan people very welcoming, had a great time. Dark spot was the Bombing.

136. Chic McGregor

@Debbiethebruce

“Im not sure i agree with your theory that areas of scotland that have a higher English population may vote UKIP.

Edinburgh has a high English population and there is no sign of many voters here,also i would like to point out I know of at least three English protestors who chased Farage out of scotland last year!

On behalf of all English settlers,including myself,we hate UKIP as much as most Scots.”

Very glad to hear that and I am more than willing to accept that those English folks who choose to live in Scotland were either more enlightened, in the first place, when they chose to move here or, having seen a different perspective up here, have changed their view.

I know many English-Scots are pro independence, often much more so than some Scots born, and with the added benefit of a perspective which encompasses both sides of the border.

However, I didn’t say areas with a higher English population would vote UKIP. Clearly, NO areas of Scotland vote UKIP. What I said was, that given the much greater support for UKIP in England than in Scotland,which clearly exists, that perhaps this is something which might have transferred to a degree thus potentially adding to the Scottish result, low as it already is.

137. EddieMunster

I got my UKIP leaflet on Monday, aint I special. I have a really big box ang some scrap timber thats unwanted. Anyone know if post office would take it with a freepost address?

138. Arbroath 1320

Caz-m

I don’t know if I should say fortunately or unfortunately here, but I was working and living in Yorkshire at the time. In fact I was actually at Heathrow, I think or was it Gatwick I can’t remember any more 🙁 , over the night of the atrocity, I was en route to Austria with a couple of planks of wood and a couple of matching sticks. 🙂

139. K Mackay

Great news that ukip have a freepost address, now I know what to do with about 12 heavy, mossy old patio slabs. Should I wrap them or just write the address straight onto each of them?

Does anyone know if they’ll accept them in the post office? I’m guessing there’s maybe some sort of ‘don’t take the piss’ policy with freepost and I’ll need to break them into wee pieces and divide them among loads of envelopes so they’ll fit in the post box.

I just wish we could see their wee faces when they open their post 🙂

140. Morag

I used to work in Cochranes Boilers ltd in Annan, about the same time as the Locherbie bombing.

A squad of us came down from Glasgow for a coupe of months.

Annan people very welcoming, had a great time. Dark spot was the Bombing.

Have you read my stuff on Wings about Lockerbie? Also this.

http://www.troubador.co.uk/book_info.asp?bookid=2499

More big news in the pipeline and hopefully imminent.

141. Arbroath 1320

More big news in the pipeline and hopefully imminent.

Oh you little tease Morag. 😛

142. EddieMunster

Forgot to say Im in Dumbarton where Jackie Ballie is fighting a “DinnerPlate-Gate” after claiming a 1/3 of all MSP combined claims for food in Hollyrood resturaunts.

I’ll link it from local paper website later. Was in the Dumbarton Reporter.

143. Morag

Flagpole looks OK, if you ignore the actual bloody flag on it. I wonder how stable/secure its fitting is. Don’t want a load of concrete in my front garden if I can help it.

144. caz-m

Arbroath

You are a skier and Scottish.

We already have one scottish_skier on Wings.

145. caz-m

Morag

I promise I will read that book.

Good stuff.

146. Arbroath 1320

Damn, I forgot to tell you about the flag pole Morag.

We got ours from E-Bay but I can’t remember how much it cost not too much from what I remember.

Once we had our pole we dug a hole, as you do 🙂 , and poured in a bag of postcrete. We then poured in some water and mixed it. A second bag of postcrete was then poured in and mixed with some more water. We then put in the flag pole and made sure it was vertical. You have to be fairly quick with this cause the postcrete is fairly fast drying stuff. We later refilled to hole we’d dug with some of the soil previously removed. So far we’ve had no problem with the flag pole in high winds. The only thing we have done is if there are exceptionally strong winds forecast then we have taken down the flag, otherwise the flag stays up! ;P

147. Arbroath 1320

caz-m says:

Arbroath

You are a skier and Scottish.

We already have one scottish_skier on Wings.

WOW! you figured that out from my talking about planks of wood and a couple of matching sticks. 😛

To be fair I’m now a well and truly EX skier, so Scottish Skier and his nomenclature is perfectly safe, at least from me. 🙂

148. MJS Dundee

The CBI business is far from dead/over yet methinks. The BBC (if members – ok, we know it’s full of members but let’s not get into that) are potentially quite small fry in that space – surprising though that may sound on this web site. But …

… Would the Bank of England not happen to be a member of the CBI? And a bundle of other UK state organs of one sort and another? And are they not as precluded from taking part in/contributing to political campaigns as the Scottish ones are? This could get very interesting indeed! Esp if the Electoral Commission was looking closely at all such. As it is.

For general interest/ the Business for Scotland lads fairly trashed the BT business apologists who turned up for this week’s 5 Million Questions event at Univ Dundee. I’m not sure if he realised it, but the BT bloke was nodding his head to about 2/3rds of what the BfS lads were saying. His body language was not generally backing up his words.

Audience had a few expensive-suited un-recalcitrant BTs, but they were heavily outnumbered. BT lines all straight out of their bog-standard doom-laden briefings – nothing new and not worth commenting on really – aside of another public meeting win. Oh yeah and BfS have some shiny new leaflets to look out for.

149. cearc

Morag,

I got a union rag as well as a Saltire when I bought a flag.

I was going to put it straight in the stove but decided instead to keep it so that I can fly it at half-mast and set fire to it on an appropriate occassion.

150. cearc

.. bought a flagpole, of course!

151. Jim

Is that wee bahookie Cyrus from down my road? I thought I recognised her! She seems to have lost the runny nose and the scraped knees right enough.

152. Marker Post

I think I finally figured out the Miley Cyrus to Gordon Brown link.

Is it because Miley Cyrus’ father is Billy Ray Cyrus, whose most famous song was Achy Breaky Heart, which rhymes with Old Fart?

Do I win a tenner?

153. john king

O/t
    some rolling eyed bint (sorry girls but this made me mad)
    on (surprise surprise) the BBC commenting on an eminently sensible report from the Telegraph that an independent Scotland would face an Icelandic style meltdown (too poor) should we have another banking crash (too wee ye see)assuming we follow the same idiotic “light touch” policies of yours and my favourite nutcase Gordon Brown (too stupid),

So we sent a reporter to Reykjavik to ask some Icelandickers ?
    what they thought of their recent travails
    Mr Icelandicker? given you’ve been eating moss for the last year (and might I say your looking good on it)would you be inclined to put your other arm back into that fast spinning piece of farm machinery,
    his reply sounded a little tetchy and he started beating me with the severed arm “ertu fokking geðveikur”

any translators in the studio?

154. john king

Oh cheers BtP and Handclapping
    after your little interventions

“I thought it was our Ruthie with highlights.

/* Note to self; must get out more 🙁 */

” wrecking ball”

Now all I can think of is Ruthie Naked on a wrecking ball
    the mental image equivalent of an earworm,
    not cool guys
    not cool.

btw handclapping I have just the very thing for someone who doesnt get out much
    Thpnr’s nicht oot in Jollys bar in Broughty Ferry on the 8th of may.
    ur ye gaun?

155. john king

Cearc says
    “bought a flagpole, of course!”

I hope you bought it from here
    http://www.newquaycampingshop.com/telescopic-poles-windsocks/telescopic-windsock-flag-poles

much cheapness
    5m extendable pole with the wee rubber thingies to hold the flag to the pole and delivery £17 odds

156. john king

jim says
    “She seems to have lost the runny nose and the scraped knees right enough.”

But her tongue looks like she spent all her pocket money on blackjacks. 🙂

157. bunter

Are FMQ’s back today as looks like The Herald’s four biggest stories have provided quite a nice selection for the London stooges.

The puppet media are really ramping it up now!

158. ronnie anderson

Rev,I avoided that teaser awe day yesterday Cyrus/Conway

so here goes, Promises say one thing get another.

159. CameronB

I haven’t twigged the link, but I’m pretty sure the Conway track is fro the 1974 album “I’m Not Through Loving You Yet”.

A1 I’m Not Through Loving You Yet
    A2 Pure Love
    A3 We’ve Already Tasted Love
    A4 She’s Just Not Over You Yet
    A5 I Come Here To Let Her Memory Wander Through My Mind
    A6 I Changed My Mind
    B1 I See The Want To In Your Eyes
    B2 She Fights That Lovin’ Feeling
    B3 Before Your Time
    B4 That’s Asking Too Much Of The Wine
    B5 Your Leaving Left Me Still Loving You

Hope that helps. 🙂

160. misteralz

I got the same UKIP pamphlet on two consecutive days. I may or may not have returned them to sender, sans postage. I may or may not have definitely included a wee note asking them politely to take their racism elsewhere and signed it ‘An EU citizen’. I most definitely may or may not have also included a banana skin in a crisp packet. No.

161. Croompenstein

@ronnie – The answer was give by Jamie Arriere further up the thread at 6.50, something to do with Family Guy

162. ronnie anderson

@Croompenstein, thats me always the tail end of the coo

am gonny chinge me signin name tae The Ither Wan.

163. john king

Misteralz @07.36

remind me never to send YOU hate mail,
    Im guessing I would get a 3 month old kipper by return. or not. 🙂

164. john king

Calling all Fifers

This Friday 25th April Benarty Centre (Ballingry) @7pm. Doesn’t matter what side of the fence you are on you need to come to this referendum meeting. Speaking representing the Green Party is former Scottish tv news reader Louise Bachelor. Morgwn Davies for NHS Scotland. And for me the ace in the pack Ivan McKee from “Business Scotland”. Very importantly for me is Ivan is non-political and doesn’t represent any political party. After scrutinising the facts in a business manner. He tries to simplify it so everyone understands things like the economy, trading and sterling etc. Ivan only deals in facts and not scaremongering stories. When this man talks everybody should down tools too listen. He’s handed out a few bloody noses on tv to critic’s and those trying to scaremonger again only using facts. He’s here on your doorstep giving out advice and answering questions free of charge. I think we all have a duty to be there and listen to these people. So hope to see you all on the night.

165. Brotyboy

@MJS Dundee says:

Wondered if any others had been to the 5 Million Questions meeting. Wasn’t that Ruth woman speaking for No just fact free? And so timid. Made me want to ask her how she’d ever got into business at all, what with all that risk involved.

I googled entrepreneur and sure enough, there’s at least one definition which suggests risktaking.

At least Wings got a shout.

166. misteralz

John King,

Never send me hate mail. 🙂

Sending a kipper to the kippers is a brilliant idea. I shall do that. Or not. No. 😉

167. cearc

JohnKing,

No, I can’t remember where from but it is an alloy pole from ‘somewhere-who’s-courier-doesn’t-charge- an-extra-£20-to-Highlands’. Is the Newquay one a family business?

Enjoy listening to Ivan. He was in Ullapool last week but unfortunately I can’t do evenings at this time of year.

168. turnbull drier

@morag

I investigated a flag pole with our local planning dept and was told that it would be considered a permanent structure if cemented in to the ground and would need a planning application costing 180 quid..

I don’t know the score with the telescopic ones (but again they are cemented in) but I shelled out for one of these:

http://www.flagpoleexpress.co.uk/portable_flagpole.html?category_id=51

As it is portable (and can go up and down in a few mins) the planning dept were happy for me not to give them a shed load of cash.. But, the pole was a lot more expensive than the amazon 40 quid jobs..

Still, I’ve got a Saltire and will soon have another at the end of May too… 🙂

169. jingly jangly

Re Flag polls
    Just ordered this one on Ebay as you get a Saltire with it an a Union Flag for burning on Sept 19th

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/20-FEET-FLAGPOLE-ALUMINIUM-FLAG-POLE-WITH-2-FLAGS-/360911036000?pt=UK_HomeGarden_Garden_GardenOrnaments_JN&var=&hash=item5407f95e60

170. jingly jangly

Just a thought for those concerned about permanent flag poles, dig hole, put bucket in hole, level, pour the concrete in a bucket, then if the planning dept tell you to take it down, then no problems, you just lift it out until they go away… That’s off course you don’t use a huge bucket 🙂

171. jingly jangly

Further to earlier post re flag poles, anybody up for making a WOS triangle type flag to fly under the Saltires?

172. bigGpolmont

Thanks to the poster who gave out the ukip Freepost address
    I had incinerated mine before I realised the address was on it.
    I love freepost addresses. My little label machine churns out loads of labels for less than 2p each, add to that an old box of 500 envelopes a small card saying no thanks and a trip to the post box and Ukip are going to get a large bill from royal mail. each envelope = 30p and a hell of a lot of frustrated staff.All for less than twenty quid money well spent!

173. Morag

When I checked the Borders regs about flagpoles I didn’t see anything about whether or not they were permanent, just about height. I may need to check the small print again.

174. Arbroath 1320

We wrote to Dumfries and Galloway council over three years ago about putting up a flag pole. Apparently we’d contacted the wrong department but they had forwarded on our e-mail to the correct department. 18 months later we were still waiting for a reply so decided that if they can’t be bothered to contact us then we’ll just go ahead and put up a flag pole any way and to hell with the council.

We’re not the only folks in the village either who have a flag pole, most poles have been up a lot longer than ours so any problems and the council will have a wee bit of a fight on its hands methinks. 😉

175. Pete

If you dig a little deeper into the No Borders Campaign Website you get this page:

http://www.votenoborders.co.uk/jonathanbarrhead/

Aside from the Ricky Gervais and Kermit video (make of that what you will?) it also gives a registered address in Edinburgh which is different from the Companies House address. I’m no expert on Company Law so don’t know if that’s significant or not.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.