Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Paula Rose

Waterwiggly – are you coming in Arbroath at the Seafest?

2. Paula Rose

sorry not ‘in’ – to

3. Michael McCabe

You cant have a Seafest without a Ship Song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=bBcd1tc33bQ Vote Yes.

4. Thepnr

@thewaterbeastie

Might it be found here?
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/moving-on-up/#comments

5. thewaterbeastie

On the 9th? I’ll put it in the calendar and see – while since I’ve been up to Arbroath…

6. Jim Thomson

Not sure I’ve ever been to Arbroath before but she-who-must-be-obeyed used to holiday there many many moons ago.

Youngest lad also recommends (deep breath) battered smokies. He attends the occasional Ayr match up there, and that’s the only excuse for his bizarre taste that I can muster.

7. thewaterbeastie

The Point of Nae Return – you are a gem, Sir!!! From that result, I scouted the other write ups from the results, and found this from 2 days later: http://wingsoverscotland.com/give-me-information-but-not-yet/#more-53151

Many thanks!! πŸ™‚

8. gerry parker

BBC Demo August (around the 16th)
    Very successful last demo with over 1000 in attendance and again a trouble free carnival atmosphere. Sorry I didn’t have time to report on it (I’m having a bit of a health problem just now) but I’m sure you all seen the photo’s Jim and Caz-M posted.
    Another BBC Demo is planned for August and the organisers have asked us if we would like to have someone from wings speak at the event.

Ronnie is going to a meeting today to confirm the details.

Anyone interested in doing a pitch for wings at this event?

That includes you of course Stu.

πŸ™‚

9. Quentin Quale

For Kirrie Yes Shop – popped through for a blether but door was closed. Have popped a couple of dozen NHS for Yes leaflets through the letter box. Will catch up soon.

10. X_Sticks

@ Tam J

“Can you think of a way to combine pro yes, drinking, music, companionship with raising some money?”

I’m sure Paula might have an answer to that. Not sure you’d want to know the answer πŸ˜‰

11. X_Sticks

@Tam J

“Can you think of a way to combine pro yes, drinking, music, companionship with raising some money”

I’m sure Paula will have an answer to that question, Tam, not so sure that you’d want to know the answer πŸ˜‰

12. call me dave

Aberdeen game for the non-sky folk starting in 2mins

http://www.stadium-live.biz/Channel1.html

St Johnstone game 15mins

http://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?matchid=271148&part=sports

13. Paula Rose

X_Sticks honey, our lovely Tam J is young, please do not excite him – he has to arouse the expectations of the many undecided. If he wants some ideas, then he knows how to get in touch.

14. john king

Xsticks says
    “I’m sure Paula will have an answer to that question, Tam, not so sure that you’d want to know the answer”

Thats aw very well Xstick but wit happens if ye cannie play poker? πŸ™‚

15. john king

does anyone have a list of yes shops and thier addresses, Im scunnered looking for them and not finding any.

16. Jim Thomson

@John King which area?

here are a few:

Irvine, High Street KA12 0AL
    Glasgow, 136 Hope St. G2 2TG
    Stirling, 67A King St.
    Leith, 7 Easter Road.
    Kirriemuir (can’t find an address)
    Dunfermline, Bruce St.

I just did the ol’ google thang πŸ˜‰

Try a search for yes shop

17. Jim Thomson

… and add a town name

18. Paula Rose

1 High Street, Brechin

19. Jim Thomson

add:

Inverness, Union Street
    Kilmarnock, John Finnie St.

20. Alistair Grapevine

Another Yes shop in the High Street Elgin.

21. X_Sticks

@john
    Gin rummy?

22. Paula Rose

Beggar my neighbour?

23. Jim Thomson

One in Oban too, 125 George St.
    Bo’ness, 19 South Street (info hub)

24. Paula Rose

Any Yes shop got a better address than ours in Brechin?

Number 1 the High Street!

25. Jim Thomson

Glasgow’s lives in hope πŸ˜‰

26. Jim Thomson

Anyone else having to skip forwards a page after submitting a comment? My attempts take me back to the previous 500 messages and I have to click on “newer messages”

27. Tam Jardine

Paula Rose

Your suggestion last night was very interesting…. I am just not sure if I have the figure for it (or anyone would pay money to witness such a spectacle).

I got a bit of sun at Pacific Quay on Sunday so I’m no quite as peely wally as before but still… maybe best stick to the cairds

28. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose, Thepnr, et al (whoever he is) –

I have, by circumstances which must remain completely secret, come into temporary possession of a badge-making contraption.

If youse would like some wee badges made-up for the Seafest gig, please submit suggestions for a simple text, elsewise a wee copyable graphic, and I’ll make some. It will be a truly ‘limited edition’ as I have limited time and elbow grease, but I could do, say, a couple of hundred? T

29. Ian Brotherhood

PS

I would love to be able to deliver them in person, on the day (and there’s an outside chance I might) but it would be safer to get them done and posted to Thepnr, along with whatever SSP leaflets I can purloin.

30. Thepnr

Just back from Hampden, really enjoyed it it. Great atmosphere and respect for all competitors, their countries and national anthems.

Glasgow is doing a great job in the “friendly games”. This undoubtedly is one of the best games ever.

Ian, thanks for the offer with the badges, everybody else feel free to contribute a simple slogan that might fir on a wee badge.

News though tonight is that I had no reply to my email to Red Pepper events about our stall for Wings at Arbroath Sea Fest. Possibly we have been nobbled? Will know for definite tomorrow when I call the organisers.

31. Paula Rose

Darlings (and Ian) I’ve discovered this thingy called Twitter, apparently you can all read what I type there if you ‘search’ for Paula Honey Rose. Making many faux pas but already a young man called ‘Ian Torrance’ wants me to stop ‘following’ him. Advice?

32. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood (Badges) one for the girls. And all because the Ladies Love a Yes. Yes looks good on you. Things happen after a Yes. 4 out of 5 Scots Recommend Yes . Ready Steady Yes. Don’t get mad get Yes. Yes makes everything better. Designed for Yes. Vote Yes you know it makes sense.

33. Thepnr

@Ian

How about “Just Vote”

34. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr

How about “Vote”

35. Thepnr

“Vote” does it for me.

36. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    For badge ideas, I definitely like the Radical Independence group’s “Sack the Tories” stickers that have been appearing here and there throughout Saltcoats.
    Maybe that could be adapted into a badge…

How do you get the images for it? Are they just the sort of thing you print off on regular paper?
    Could maybe try a bit of graphical tinkering with some ideas if you like πŸ™‚

I’ll be in the library tomorrow, might see if they do colour printing…

37. Ian Brotherhood

Thanks all, but I was thinking about badges made specifically for the Wings Seafest gig, along the lines of ‘Wings on Tour’ etc…the machine isn’t mine and I’ll be handing it back shortly, so I’d have to be quick.

‘WOS SEAFEST 2014’

?

38. Thepnr

Wings Will Make You Free!

39. Oneironaut

Who was it I saw at the Counting House gig wearing the Wings T-shirt?
    Was a play on “Red Bull gives you wings”, except it said “Read Bull?”

If that could somehow be condensed into badge form, that would be perfect! πŸ˜€

40. gerry parker

@ Oneironaut,

That would have been John King.

41. Jim Thomson

you could just steal one of the badge templates available here: http://www.awesomemerchandise.com/artworktemplates.php

Not sure if Ian will be able to make use of them though. What size badges can you make Ian?

42. Jim Thomson

The templates open in Photoshop and Gimp (free picture editing s/w)

43. Patrician

The organisers of the last BBC bias demo have opened an indiegogo site to finance the next event to be held at Glasgow Green on 16th August, they want to demo against all MSM bias this time:

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/bbc-bias-peaceful-protest-iv/x/8319572

44. Cactus

Afternoon all, @thepnr ~ re badges, we’ve had ‘Alert Reader’, whatabouts something similar: ‘Reader Aware’?

Good suggestions of ‘(Just) Vote’ or ‘(Simply) Vote’.. consider pressing ‘Vote X’ with a watermarked light blue background.. it draws the eyes in, aye aye πŸ™‚

@Tam Jardine ~ Yep, let’s pencil in Saturday the 23rd August for a further shindig. Any takers for it being Glasgow or Edinburgh? What about the week before (16/08/14) for the Helensburgh gig at The Clyde Bar? Ahoy!

45. Cactus

Thanks for your above post Patrician. Clash of dates.. Helensburgh @ The Clyde Bar on the 9th August then anybuddies (next Saturday)?

46. ronnie anderson

Ian Brotherhood could you do some badges with just Wings on Tour of Scotland

47. Jim Thomson

@gerry parker

I had a look at the selection on WGDs blog and I’d suggest that the use of “Yes” and “No Thanks” on the same badge would be a wee bit confusing for the uninitiated.

It’s a difficult phrase to use while trying to get a yes message across.

48. gerry parker

@ Jim, Same as you, I prefer the ones that have the saltire and wee smiley graphic.
    as in:-

http://weegingerdug.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/bbcbiasnothanks.png

49. Thepnr

Good news I have talked today with th organisers of Abroath Sea Fest and WoS will definitely have a stall.
    She explained there had been some confusion as Yes Scotland and Better Together also had stalls and it was thought that us and Yes were the same group.

Never mind hopefully sorted now.

Regarding the badges how about a flying fish with Wings Over Arbroath around the fish?

50. Jim Thomson

OK – who’s got a talent for drawing a flying smokie πŸ˜‰

There must be a winger with an artistic bent (who kens whit a fish looks like) πŸ™‚

51. Paula Rose

Jim dear – we have talent for the conviviality, now, will it be high heels, flatties or strappy sandals for the Seafest? Fishnet stockings guaranteed!

52. Jim Thomson

Paula, darling, I have a hankering for some steel toe capped wellies (will supply my own). I have several pairs of seaboot stockings that will look quite fetching (in a rugged kinda way) when peeking out above the wellie tops.

53. Paula Rose

Wellie tops! grosse

54. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I case it rains, don’t forget your crotchless tiara with earflaps!

8=)

55. Brian Doonthetoon

IN case…

56. Paula Rose

Brian darling – you are heading for the naughty position, do be very careful.

57. Brian Doonthetoon

I have been inspired by the comments about a badge design and although I’m definitely not an expert with Photoshop, I took on board the fish paradigm and put together a wee effort.

You can see it here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest/Wings-Seafest-cropped-blue-620.jpg

You can see the page about it at the link below, where there is also an image, A4 size, with the design repeated, for cutting out.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest

58. Quentin Quale

Brian, that is a work of genius. Man, you are smokin’…

59. Paula Rose

( Brian dear could you sort out some CND leaflets, they can de downloaded as pdf files and printed, darling thepnr places great store in my ability to move mountains and I would so hate to disappoint the young lad. )

60. Brian Doonthetoon

Your song, Paula Rose…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SACTy2rZ7kE

61. Paula Rose

Not really dear – I had to smack their botties after the mess they left at Murrayfield. They were supporting U2 so had to wait in line.

62. Paula Rose

This my dears is my world – please check out everything by this man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2d5JeO7vSM

63. Paula Rose

and as beautiful as it gets…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXDJneVbEC8

64. Paula Rose

DJ ing big time xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vnP-__wW0Xc

65. Paula Rose

This is beautiful – please listen, and share.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

66. Paula Rose

It is a great pity that we do not have a unique culture, I rest my case.

67. Paula Rose

Shall we have some more music by the Queen of sole?

68. Paula Rose

Hi Michael honey, thought I was alone.

69. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim Thomson –

Sorry for slowness of response. (That ketamine was stronger than I suspected…)

The only badges I can make are 38mm, and, obviously, circular.

70. Paula Rose

and the length?

71. Paula Rose

Sorry dear-couldn’t resist.

72. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Never mind the stats missus – savour the quality…

73. Michael McCabe

Here is a Cream Badge for all you old Rockers out there.www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=gPDZ2M51XDw Vote Yes.

74. pete the camera

on the badges idea what about “don’t want to be called a unionist gadgee, simple, vote yes” a bit strong, well that is what some small minded ones in the union think we are here in the bit that is further north than the northern part of the UK as they see it, funny how bad the geography teaching must have been in the schools there.

75. CamreonB Brodie

As Project Fear is soon to manifest itself in every Scottish home, I thought these kind of fitted.

The Surfmen – Ghost Hop
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnhThccKqis

Jack Marshall’s Music – The Ghoul
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRNNhyRScW0

The Surfing Munsters – Funeral Surf
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NM2-xOA1J34

Ans if I might. πŸ™‚

The Proclaimers – Over and Done With
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NBegquhJRM

76. Bugger (the Panda)

Late night video for all the boys and girls.

http://www.youtube.com/embed/gSw4CLV14sQ?rel=0

77. Ian Brotherhood

Dear WOS pals,

Missed the Glasgow Gaza demo today – wondering if anyone attended, and how it went.

Feeling down for reasons which can’t be revealed as they’re just too boring…

The Waterboys, ‘Fisherman’s Blues’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VKouBHarIo

78. Ian Brotherhood

Magazine, ‘Shot By Both Sides’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VKouBHarIo

79. Thistle

People we are running 2 of our own events in August that will be signed for the deaf and live streamed. Foodbanks & Welfare Reform on 14th of August, followed by Veterans for Independence on the 28th of August!

I need full power help in promoting these 2 cool events and we have PDF format for creating poster prints and JPG for social media. If you create poster prints they can be put up ANYWHERE in Scotland as we are live streaming.

If you can help send me an email and I will send you the files.

Checkout the short video we made for our Foodbank & Welfare Reform event…

http://youtu.be/h3onEZ3GS-I

Peace & Love πŸ™‚

80. Ian Brotherhood

The Clash, ‘London Calling’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfK-WX2pa8c

81. Ian Brotherhood

David Byrne, ‘Psycho Killer’ (live, 1984) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pA1oFSMwRDU

82. Paula Rose

Ian honey – some wisdom from St Andrew

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SR2aJDlZA5s

83. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Cheers. That was good.

Love the drawings, reminds me of a Glasgow artist, must track him down, I think you’d like his stuff…

Anyway, glad you’re around this evening – please give us a tune.

84. Nana Smith

Odds are we will be allright….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Sw9Fh6uk4Q

85. Paula Rose

Delighted to please Ian honey – smash it up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1zci07Kono

86. Paula Rose

and Ian I’m an atheist – but please listen to this (I put this up last night) as it demonstrates that we are homogenised

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

87. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Had to pick a mate’s brains to get this, and turns out it’s the right one. The artist is Stuart Murray.

http://thefolkyebumpintae.wordpress.com/2014/07/29/openin-ceremony/

88. Brian Doonthetoon

Typing about St Andrew (and YES shops from yesterday) –

The Dundee YES Shop is in St Andrews Street.

Also, Ian Brotherhood – Magazine – excellent single!

And further to my posts of last night at 8.49pm and 9.00pm re possible badge designs:
    I guessed at 25mm (1″) diameter. I have had another go at at 38mm tonight.
    Spent a wee bit more time on it. Will get them uploaded and cited here in the next half hour or so. I can do changes so comments and critiques would be welcome.

89. Paula Rose

oh and of course Ian honey – OUR song –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByqXqz7Tvqo

90. Paula Rose

(oops I hope the darling Thepnr is not watching this)

91. TJenny

Paula Rose + Ian – I love that St Andrew vid, first seeing it posted on here some time last year I think. Hoping that by now he’s not a DK anymore but a definite Yes. I think of it as sorta Chic Kerouac (as it’s reminiscent of Chic Murray crossed with Jack Kerouac) πŸ™‚

Would be good to get him/them to a WOS night.

92. Paula Rose

TJenny doll, I could forsake the boys for you xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXFO11kC8Zk

93. Paula Rose

All will be well…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqqgG5_T2eA

94. TJenny

Paula Rose – aw shucks. (weeblushingsmileythingy)

95. Paula Rose

Here’s us TJenny – typical girls…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyXGblps64M

96. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

The Gaelic hymn stuff is awesome. Imagine the CG Hampden crowd singing that?

97. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian Brotherhood (et al).

Got the new potential design uploaded.

The home page, with blurb, is at:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest

The link to the bare (actual size) graphic is:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest/Wings-Seafest-38mm-4.jpg

The link to the A4 sheet for printing and cutting out is at:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest/Wings-Seafest-38mm-multi-A4.jpg

Let me know if it’s a pile of doo-doo, ok, or if tweaks are required.

98. Paula Rose

Yes Ian, we have so many gems in our unique culture. The world knows so little about this huge country…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBokhnxKntM

99. Paula Rose

The gentle light…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z36tHtzLVHI

100. Paula Rose

… so let’s surf…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hW8mY4wcns0

101. Paula Rose

Thought you might like some freedom…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaPCb3Q2J6g

102. Ian Brotherhood

@Briandoonthetoon –

Brilliant.

What I’ve found, doing some basic badges, is that it’s surprising how much space is required around each image. The A4 page you’ve created will be perfect IF there is one fewer across and down…know what I mean?

The diameter of the actual badge (38mm) doesn’t allow for the overlap required to bind the image to the badge-backing.

If you could do another which has only 12 images per sheet, that leaves plenty of room to cut them out.

Thanks in advance – you are a super-trouper indeed!

103. Paula Rose

Some lovely music from a small country that no-one has heard of…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pno78oHVr0k

104. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

You typed,

If you could do another which has only 12 images per sheet, that leaves plenty of room to cut them out.”

I’ve replaced the multi graphic with one with 12 on.

It’s available here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest/Wings-Seafest-38mm-multi-A4.jpg

105. Paula Rose

and another lovely late night dream…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bv2065QUy4k

106. Ian Brotherhood

@Briandoonthetoon –

Top man.

I’m saving that right now, and will get it printed tomorrow. Fingers crossed, it’ll be fine, and I’ll make some badges…Thepnr will get them for Seafest, one way or another!!

Cheers again mister.

107. Michael McCabe

Don’t get trouble in you mind. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=OzombejhLUo Vote Yes.

108. Jock Scot

Hi Folks..Yew Choob has a troll who was trying to have a go at winding us up and even tried to have a go at Wings so we set up a bit of fun. We wonder what the Wingers thought of our approach. best wishes to all.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Yew-Choob/1396874730561240?ref_type=bookmark

109. Michael McCabe

This is Bliss. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=3f3KhR5oDC4 Vote Yes. Paula Rose Loved Your posts.

110. Paula Rose

Jock dear – we sent one of our minions to your page. Oh btw the ‘we’ refers to Better Together St Kilda πŸ™‚

111. Jock Scot

Paula , I have just posted my appreciation to that darling young man who came and stood up for us. there are some really screwed up people out there and you can tell that he is a ‘believer’, that is if BT have any concept of the word. if conditioning and belief are the same thing, I apologise for my previous statement. Sorry i couldn’t get up to St. kilda but when we go on the world tour you predicted way earlier in the thread, then St.Kilda will be the homecoming gig. if it can be arranged and OK’d by the gannetts.And I can’t be ersed checking the spelling.

112. Paula Rose

Jock dear – you along with the gorgeous Janet are highly respected people and I along with many others will ensure that you are rewarded. Does the Order of Our Chosen sound OK?

113. Jock Scot

Paula, that is so cool and if you could think of adding something on to the end of it beginning with an H..it would mean being the recipient of an OOCH.

114. Paula Rose

Order Of Chosen Heroes?

115. Jock Scot

X

116. Paula Rose

and the Order Of Chosen Heroines – Janet can I be number 2?

117. Jock Scot

Paula, I wouldn’t want to speak for Janet but I’m sure she will let you know in her own way.

118. Jock Scot

One for Yew Choob’s earlier troll……www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGeLwq7j2pw

119. Paula Rose

Jock dear – cash? this one? Or is it time to sue?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQ6O8NrLsSY

120. Thepnr

Hello Jock and Paula!

Surprised to find anyone still awake. I’ve just awoken from a drunken slumber πŸ™‚ I was dreaming.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=291ET6Py6H8

121. Paula Rose

Now Jock dear, I promised you a delightful experience and you did agree you would come – are we saving it until we are independent?

122. Paula Rose

Oops – Thepnr dear, I’m just toying with the boys – honest:-)

123. Paula Rose

One evening – maybe?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbskoBOHyc8

124. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Brilliant! Loved it,

125. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey – time for my showreel again…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

126. Paula Rose

I know dears – I’m off to stroke my pussy, but here it is…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVAahsWM_2Y

127. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Sorry for the delay. Yep, I was at the Glasgow Gaza demo, despite the rain πŸ™‚

Woke up this morning and my back was killing me after spending half the day holding up one end of a heavy banner against the wind. But I’d be happy to do it again. Felt quite good to be there πŸ™‚

Haven’t seen any videos of it on Youtube.
    And I don’t think the BBC were there, but somehow that doesn’t really surprise me!

128. Thepnr

No squirrels were involved in the making of this video. Only one Donkey who is voting Yes,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUyu5prWjTE

129. Defo

Michael McCabe
    Thanks again for the lift through to PQ3 mate.
    Hope all’s good with you. Shout Hi to Tam πŸ™‚

130. Michael McCabe

Hi Defo Everything is good through here. It was good meeting you and going through to PQ3 Hopefully do the same for the next one too. You have my number I think ? if so feel free to phone anytime. All the best Mate.

131. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Glad to hear you made it up for the demo. Sorry I couldn’t make it.

Curious – what banner were you helping to hoist?

See you soon mister. Cheers.

132. Bugger (the Panda)

I don’t know if this is real or a false flag operation. It refers to, what I guess to be, trolling and debating from an Israeli perspective.

However buried within it, is a template of wording and positioning statements which show how to manipulate undecided or questioning minds.

http://stopmebeforeivoteagain.org/tip_report.pdf

caw canny but caw awae

133. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Was the SSP North Ayrshire one. Actually wasn’t really that heavy, more kind of awkward to manage it in a heavy crowd with the wind trying to push it over.

Was a huge crowd there anyways, no way they can say only a few people turned up to this one.

@goldenayr
    Ok, in that article you posted there, was that someone from the No side, actually accusing the Yes side of “scaremongering”?

Excuse me while I fall out of my chair laughing at the sheer irony of that, hehe.

Seriously though, a Yes vote is the last hope of the NHS. If we vote No, chances are we’ll end up just like America – Pay ridiculous sums of money for your health care or get left to die.
    I wonder how many No voters actually realise that…

134. X_Sticks

@Jock Scott

I sincerely hope that’s not my X you’re using there Jock. If you must fling X’s around then please use the CWG ones as they have two and aren’t going to be using them again for a while πŸ˜€

135. gerry parker

**PLEASE NOTE**
    The Disabled People For Yes rally on 8th August at Holyrood has been postponed.
    Yesterday we were contacted by Tony Giugliano at Yes Scotland who pointed out that under the regulations governing the referendum, campaigning by any side was not allowed on the Parliament grounds.
    He did say though that Yes Scotland was keen to support our initiative, and was impressed by the level of interest we had attracted in such a short time. He also offered to help us arrange an alternative venue and press launch to maximise our impact. We will try and get the details for this agreed as soon as possible.
    Watch this space!

https://www.facebook.com/disabledpeopleforyes

136. CameronB Brofie

With some much going on in the world, I’m surprised these krazy Russian kats have heard of UKOKBETTERTOGETHERNOTHANKS’s Project Fear. πŸ™‚

Messer FΓΌr Frau MΓΌller – You, you and you
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbvf_GIMLtM

Messer Chups – Charade
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8w48ZVvptA

Messer FΓΌr Frau MΓΌller – End O Rama
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9dy56_2Ruo

137. Paula Rose

X_Sticks dear – we all know Jock has issues with spelling, he meant this one –

[><]

138. Oneironaut

@gerry parker
    “under the regulations governing the referendum, campaigning by any side was not allowed on the Parliament grounds.”

No prizes for guessing if that regulation only applies to the Yes side?

139. Ian Brotherhood

By way of a wee prayer for our brothers and sisters in Gaza.

“…silence will touch you and heartbreak will mend…”

Van Morrison, ‘I’m Tired Joey Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RkjdYNvbVI

140. Ian Brotherhood

The Irn Bru ad preceding the Van Morrison video (above) was this – here it is on its tod:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vowf8ztcBo

141. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr/Briandoonthetoon –

Sorry lads, but this badge-making lark has gone properly pear-shaped.

Brian, I can’t format the page to print the A4 sheet with the image coming out 38mm. It’s using 3 sheets, and printing them approx 60mm. I’ve tinkered with it for ages, can’t make it smaller. So, I did a simple text – WOS ON TOUR, SEAFEST 2014.

Thepnr – the actual badge-machine has some kind of kink in one of the wee presses. I took it back to the lad who bought it (he, like you, is an engineer) and he couldn’t find anything wrong with it, but it’s taking gargantuan elbow-grease to get a clean ‘wrap’ around the badge-back. Horribly frustrating, and blister-inducing.

I’ll have another go tomorrow. It’s not looking likely that I’ll get to Seafest, so whatever badges I can produce will have to be in the post tomorrow evening…

142. Paula Rose

Ian dear – you must come to the Seafest, my lobster is dying to meet you xx

143. chipmonkey

My post disappeared as usual. test comment.

144. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

This is really a ‘visual’ joke, but you WOS people are smart enough to get it:

A big lobster with a horrible hangover goes into his regular for a hair of the proverbial. He’s in a bad way, shaking, sweating, palpitations, the works.

‘Pint of lager John, eh?’

‘No way’ says John, ‘You’re barred.’

‘Barred?!’ exclaims the wretched creature.

‘Aye,’ says John, methodically polishing a hi-ball. ‘You were in here last night, giving it all that…’

145. chipmonkey

wwww.youtu.be/_pCFA4KNJk0

SCOTLAND BE BRAVE words by Canterchip.

I am at my wits end trying to work with a guitar, a computer, and the internet πŸ™ Very rough recording. I just sing as a rule! (Usually better than this I hope – bent over guitar and computer.)
    Help anyone?

146. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Please convey my regards to your lobster, and tell him/her/it I’ll be up one day to take him/her/it for a walk along with my Labrador and Spaniel. I’m sure they’ll get on famously, and be happy to share the one length of tartan ribbon between them.

PS What do lobsters regard as a treat?

147. chipmonkey

PANDAs!!!

The copied link really does say http colon 2 slashes youtu.be/_pCFA4KNJk0 so I’ve no idea why it doesn’t work below pasted from the bar at the top cutting off the first bit:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pCFA4KNJk0&feature=youtu.be

148. chipmonkey

Lobsters like toes…

149. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood For working so hard on the badges for the Seafest. Here is a wee song and a bit of poetry for you. Keep up the good work. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=mVSN9DMvl6I Vote Yes.

150. Michael McCabe

@chipmonkey For a first attempt I thought your song was Brilliant and have saved it to my Favourites, Well done. Vote Yes.

151. Michael McCabe

Through all this madness I think we are Winning step by step. But I think we have to go. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=SOJSM46nWwo Vote Yes.

152. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

!!

Nice one. Appreciated mucho.

153. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian Brotherhood.

size differential MAY be because I did them on a Mac and the Mac system’s graphics are tied to the graphics industry standard of 72 dots (or pixels) per inch.

For reasons best known to themselves, Microsoft declared, way back, that their graphics would be at 96 dots (pixels) per inch.

Means that a graphics appear differently sized, depending on whether you’re viewing on a Mac or a microslothbox, and the A4 sheet prints out at actual size on my machine (Mac to HP 2200D laser mono printer) but is wrong on yours.

154. Ian Brotherhood

For Paula Rose –

The B52s, ‘Rock Lobster’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDZy6-fMCw4

155. Michael McCabe

Well Folks that’s another day over and done way. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BlDk2JeOsA&feature=player_detailpage And another day closer to where we want to be. Vote Yes.

156. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Need a hand with those badges?

157. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Cheers mister. I’ll call you this evening.

158. Jim Thomson

@Chipmonkey 4th Aug 10:41pm

have you tried multi-tracking it?

record the guitar part then (wearing headphones – very important πŸ™‚ ) just sing over it as a second track.

What (if any) software are you using?

159. Jim Thomson

@Chipmonkey

This is a bit uber-complex methinks, but, if you are using a Mac or a linux PC it seems to be able to do almost anything that a full blown studio set up can offer.

https://ardour.org/

I suspect that you can use it in basic/simple mode and then start playing with the fancy bits later as your confidence grows.

I mean – what’s the worst that could happen? (Apart from a “No” vote :-p )

160. Jim Thomson

@Chipmonkey

(OK – I know, I should’ve done ALL the research and posted once…)

Here’s a list of a few more.

http://www.hitsquad.com/vocal/about2136.html

I’ve used Audacity in the past and it seemed fairly straight forward at the time.

161. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi chipmonkey.

Just noticed your post about difficulty with a YouTube link.

If you look at the page below, it says,

“7. Don’t mess up the page for everyone else.

If you post YouTube links with the http:// part at the start, they’ll embed on the page rather than being posted as links. That can lead to this sort of thing. So don’t include the http:// bit or you’ll find your video in the spam bin.”

http://wingsoverscotland.com/About/

162. wingman 2020

Dear All…. When is the next big Wings meeting?

Is there anything planned?

163. Paula Rose

Big Wings Meeting all weekend at the Arbroath Seafest, lots of well kent wingers and a party atmosphere -‘Alert Reader’ badges guaranteed.

164. chipmonkey

He’s lost the plot already – personal attack heralded it.

165. chipmonkey

Brian Doonthetoon – I admit when posting had failed and I looked at apparent full links on other comments, I thought something must have changed and stuck the whole thing in one time. I wiz tired oot. I went straight to the naughty corner.

I also often get a message saying I’m posting to fast.(Even tonight) Me? Too fast? hehehe

166. Tartan Tory

Can’t hang about tonight – in bed soon and off to Edinburgh early tomorrow morning to meeting a certain Mr Salmond….

Perhaps, this evening, he was saving his best efforts for tomorrow! I think many Wingers could have done “at least as well” (if not a bit better) tonight and I’m a bit saddened by this. I don’t think he lost the debate, but I’d like to have a word with his advisors, as he didn’t win it either.

I posted on Facebook a few weeks ago that Darling’s wife was going to need bandages for her husband. Perhaps Alex is just a bit tired? Alien’s and Panda’s didn’t help tonight. Where’s my bottle of red……

167. chipmonkey

Thanks Jim for all your suggestions. I might (not in the next couple of weeks but soon) try Linux on an old but not too old computer (long story, have one I’m supposed to wipe)and try that programme.
    I do actually have multitrack just now. I tried doing the guitar first and found my timing was all over the place. (Yes I know, practice!)Working out the programme took hugely more of my time than writing words then fathoming key and some chords that might do!
    I had very nice headphones on, but if I played the earlier track while recording -well it got in a muddle. The instructions with the programme are almost non-existant.
    You are right though – I’m going to have another go. It might all seem clearer after a break. My singing hasn’t usually been with a guitar over the years or I might have learned to play a bit:-) Maybe I’ll get the guitar players I do know to visit and record me some backing sometime.Living in the middle of nowhere has disadvantages.
    Now then.. pipes and drums… (dream on)

168. Paula Rose

Chipmonkey honey – bit exciting isn’t it? All those big strong Wingers parading around the harbour, gosh!

169. Paula Rose

(btw Tartan Tory boy dear – you did promise)

170. Michael McCabe

When will the world leaders keep there Promises ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdiH2tBdZUY&feature=player_detailpage

171. Michael McCabe

A Wee dance to make you feel good. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=_I_ariOVHQY Vote Yes.

172. Michael McCabe

Alex Salmond http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8OMGWVPfbI&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes. Its for the weans.

173. Thepnr

You only ever lie down if you accept that the person telling you to lie down is your master.

I have no master.

174. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr If you are not going to lie down. Then this song is for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=sKuUKHmTHPk Vote Yes.

175. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Not likely to give up soon. I reckon I can stay on my feet at least until the 18th.

Thanks for that anyway, here’s a wee one for you from the same vein.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHQdpnYFl7k

176. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Sorry mister, but you’ll not be getting any ‘Seafest’ badges from me.

Had another go earlier (after that magnificent ‘debate’) and the fucker just will not work – raggedy edges every time. The comrade who lent me it shelled out over Β£270. I hope he’s got the receipt.

177. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

No sweat mate, I hope nobodies out of pocket.

We don’t need no sticking badges.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE

178. Thepnr

The original of course

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsdZKCh6RsU

179. Thepnr

OK I’m hogging the thread but whoever you are don’t miss this LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7QF32mxftE

180. Tartan Tory

@Paula Rose

What have I promised you, my dear lady? You can e-mail me directly if it was an ‘under the counter promise’ of an unforgetable night filled with starburts and super-novas! Note the posting time here. To be in the centre of Edinburgh at 9am on a misty wet morning….. Hmmmm,…. Bentley or Bike? Sod it, two wheels it is! πŸ™‚

Within the hour, whilst you gently slumber, I will thunder along the Brechin by-pass, clad in leather, crouching to keep the moisture from my helmet, with four cylinders pounding between my thighs…. Sweet and pleasant dreams young Paula…… πŸ™‚

181. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Sorry if you couldn’t get hold of me yesterday, had an unexpectedly busy and very surreal day…

Got to go out again today, but I’ll be back at around 4pm if you want me to try out my techno-magical skills on the ailing badge maker there πŸ™‚

182. gerry parker

@Thepnr. at 12:39

I like that one.

I always say I work with people, not for them.

183. Paula Rose

For some reason I was awoken from my slumbers at an early hour.

184. Quinie frae Angus

Hello dear Wingers

Sorry haven’t been posting for ages again……working at Games and only just now coming up for air. Sea air in fact – hoping to get along to the Sea Fest on Sunday. However, as I will be reliant on coming down from the Belladrum festival helping a friend to tow a caravan – first time for everything, eh? – I have no idea what time I will be able to get along.

Are there drinkies in Arbroath planned for later on the Sunday night at all, in case I get there and the Sea-fest is all packed up?

185. Paula Rose

Q f A – honey dearest, I’ll have a bottle stashed for when you arrive! If you come early I’ll be delighted!

186. Quinie frae Angus

@Paula Rose

Thanks Paula, looking forward to catching up and swopping girlie titbits and fishy tales….

187. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I hope someone is going to capture some snaps and footage of Seafest for those of us who can’t make it.

Is Thistle going perchance?

188. Paula Rose

Ian dear – footage?

189. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Strike a light missus, doesn’t take much to get you going…

190. Paula Rose

Ian honey – I know how excited you get by my Yes heels, best have a lie down dear.

191. Quinie frae Angus

I’ll be wearing my flatties this time. Don’t want a repetition of what happened last time!

192. Paula Rose

Don’t worry doll, I’ll have Tartan Tory on hand if you totter.

193. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Okay.

194. Thepnr

@Quinie frae Angus

You promised me a beer. When?

195. Michael McCabe

Sadly I cant make it up to Seafest this weekend. Really looking forward to it too. So I will be sitting here with A Tear in my Beer. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rM8tROzp4Dc&feature=player_detailpage Hope you all have a great weekend though. And hope to meet some of you next time. Vote Yes.

196. Quinie frae Angus

@Thpnr

Yes, indeed I do owe you a beer. Will you still be at Sea-fest on Sunday afternoon/tea-time?

@Paula Rose
    Now Tartan Tory is another chap to whom I owe a beer. Don’t think I got the chance to buy him back a drink at the last Wings night out in Edinburgh.

197. X_Sticks

Sorry I won’t make it to the Seafest folks, I hope it all goes well.

I’ll be off this weekend at Belladrum partying for independence.

I hope you all behave while I’m gone, and you boys better watch yourselves if both Paula and Quinie are going to the Seafest. Crustaceans and kippers beware!

198. Quinie frae Angus

X Sticks – you going to Belladrum? So am I! That’s why I can only get to the Sea-fest on Sunday pm. How will I find you?

199. X_Sticks

@Quinie

Sent you a text on your number ending 321

200. Tartan Tory

@ Quinie frae Angus – You are not ‘owe’ me a beer! Of course, I wouldn’t refuse, but chivalry would see me provide the first beverage! Also, if you’re looking for X_Sticks, I imagine that you just need to look for the hat! I thought I saw him at a bus-stop in Rosyth yesterday, but it was probably just another fashion icon in Fife! πŸ˜‰

201. X_Sticks

Ah, TT, but I were a different hat for festivals πŸ˜€

202. X_Sticks

*wear bgr!

203. Quinie frae Angus

@ X Sticks

Got your text! Thanks! See you there.

@ Tartan Tory

Ok, I am not a lady to refuse an act of chivalry. But allow me to buy the second…..

204. Jim Thomson

I’m pretty sure this isn’t a Top Secret(tm) document.

For those of you considering a visit to the Sea Fest bash in sunny (well, Saturday only apparently) Arbroath here’s a link to the site map in my DropBox account:

http://www.dropbox.com/s/4t6rj6doiahuyzu/Sea%20Fest%202014.pdf

You’ll see we’re confusingly shown in two places, not sure which is my preference yet πŸ™‚

205. Paula Rose

Jim dear, if you expect me to wear my Yes heels in a muddy field, you are very much mistaken! We will be by the harbour dear wingers.

206. Tam Jardine

Canny make Sea fest – hope all you wingers enjoy yourselves.

Have a desire for another Wings gathering and time is running out. Saturday 23rd was mentioned by Cactus and myself – Edinburgh or Glasgow? Could do a Wings pub crawl if the appetite is not there for a big organised gathering. I need some input though and someone to step forward.

207. Jim Thomson

But Paula, darling, I have to be able to exercise my wellies and seaboot stockings. They get sooo musty when kept in drawers for too long.

And, think of it, all those nice Royal Marines just along the alley πŸ˜‰

208. Paula Rose

Think of all those boys jostling to get out of the rain – and rubbing up against us!

209. Jim Thomson

On the other hand, proximity of the loos does have a certain comforting element of “convenience”.

And, I do have a lot of gaffer tape that probably won’t work too well on grass when trying to minimise trip hazards associated with generator and other high-tech gadgets and gizmos we’ll have.

Dammit Paula, you win again!

210. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

Why don’t we ask Ronnie Anderson to suggest somewhere in Airdrie? Isn’t that roughly half-way between Glasgow and Edinburgh? After all, RA has travelled all over the country to support WOS gigs – it would be nice if he could host one on his own patch, not face a big drive at the end of the night.

The man will surely have splendid contacts and get us a good deal on the hire of somewhere special. Does Airdrie Football Club have function facilities?

Just a thought…

211. Ian Brotherhood

It seems I have killed Off-Topic stone dead.

It was only a suggestion.

Anyway, here’s a song.

Taj Mahal, ‘Statesboro Blues’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQMU1S8FhKg

212. Paula Rose

Ian dear! We’re always touched…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMtab4n3q_k

213. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Nice one. Cheers.

Hope you have a blast at Seafest. At the same time, I hope Arbroath knows what it’s in for…

214. Oneironaut

Wish I could get to Seafest, but Arbroath is way out of my limited travel range…

Hope you guys enjoy yourselves there.

@Paula Rose
    No strappy Yes wellies with heels then? πŸ˜‰

215. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Sorry I didn’t get back to you yesterday (or was it the day before?!)

Sadly, I must tell you – the badge-machine is officially ‘arseholed’.

216. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Loved the Taj Mahal. When we win this Referendum I am going to Cakewalk into Town. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rlXQbERMk9s&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

217. Michael McCabe

Doctor Who is for Yes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sJPb-cldECU&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

218. CameronB Brodie

An interesting chat about patriotism, independence and all that jazz.

Noam Chomsky and Howard Zinn on Democracy Now for 2007-04-16, starts 8:40ish.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eA-bDsRimL8

219. CameronB Brodie

Zionism Is NOT Judaism.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfTkqfMpxb0

220. Silverytay

Ian
    Airdrie stadium does have a function room and they are very YES friendly .

Ronnie is heading up to Arbroath today to help Thepnr set up for Seafest .
    I am hoping to go up to Arbroath on Sunday and will speak to Ronnie then if he has not already been in touch .

221. Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

Guid idea – checked the ‘slow train’ from Edinburgh and service is very regular – last one is just before 11pm so is doable for me.

Last time I was in Airdrie was for a Queens game- took it in as part of my stag. A cold and dismal defeat as I recall, on an otherwise great day.

Ronnie, Cactus, TJenny, CameronB, et al

what do you think about Airdrie on sat 23rd?

222. Bob Sinclair

Oneironaut – Are you in Glasgow & Can you get to Crossmyloof Railway Station – If so let me know.

223. Bob Sinclair

Forgot to add – Saturday Morning

224. goldenayr

Any updates on the debate debacle,where yes voters were denied entry?

225. Archie [not Erchie]

Arbroath Seafest – I have just over 220 x 2nd edition YES newspapers if they are of use over the weekend. The thought of Paula Rose wearing high heeled wellies [Kylie Minogue] is causing me sleepless nights. I can bus doon from Aberdeen so see you all there. πŸ™‚

226. TJenny

Ian et al, I’d been wondering about having our next Wings night somewhere between Ed + Glasgow so I think Airdrie on Sat 23rd sounds a good idea.

Tam could we meet at Waverley and go through together?

If we are getting a room maybe the Yew Choobers could bring their gear and Cactus his guitar and we could belt out a few choons. πŸ™‚

227. memaw/Wilma

To all Seafest goers: Michael and I wish we could be with you and will be thinking of the great time we will be missing. I hope the weather will be better with you on the East coast because here on the West it has been foul.

Love x

228. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny, Tam –

We really need to hear the thoughts of Mr Anderson…

‘Broadsword calling Ronnie A…Broadsword calling Ronnie A…come in Ronnie A…’

229. Silverytay

Broadsword
    You might be better calling Thepnr as I believe Ronnie is staying with him this weekend .

I am certainly up for a wings night out in Airdrie .

Whats wrong with off topic tonight , it is normally busy on a Friday .

230. TJenny

Silvertay – was wondering that myself, then remembered that X Sticks + Quinie frae Angus, Cactus I think, are all at the Belladrum festival, and Thepnr, Ronnie Anderson, Paula Rose and others will probably be getting some shut eye in preparation for Seafest starting tomorrow.

231. Cactus

Howde team, Cactus present and well.

Excellent, I’m in for Wings over Airdrie on Saturday the 23rd August (pending Ronnie’s availability).

Some more Friday night tuneage then:

In The Shadows ~ The Rasmus (Finnish Rock)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ao2u7F_Qzg

232. Ian Brotherhood

For any Don’t-Knows who happen to mosey by:

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Inbetweenies’ (live, 1990) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxBWsekTgKY

233. Patrician

@Ian Brotherhood

Don’t worry about getting somewhere in Airdrie, Ronnie has a big back garden and his shed would do a great stand-in for a bar. He also has a gazebo if it rains (which is all the time here)

234. Tam Jardine

TJenny

When you say get a room in Airdrie, what exactly do you have in mind? Might be kinda weird with Cactus an Yew Choob there an aw but still…

We can meet at Waverley – will figure out the train nearer the time.

Am tired of the main threads – aw this economics shite is boring me to tears. I’ve been skint by the end of every month of my working life and before that so what difference does it make what fucking currency I am short of? That’s the jumbo Cobras talkin

235. Ian Brotherhood

‘Broadsword calling Ronnie A, Thepnr, Paula Rose…Broadsword calling Ronnie A, Thepnr, Paula Rose…’

Youse having a wee private shinding somewhere?

I don’t believe for a nano-second that you’re all away for some beauty sleep. (Mind you…)

236. TJenny

Tam – just re-read my post, and I see what you mean, (I’m now in fits of giggles).

And, Yeah we can agree meet up time nearer the day. πŸ˜‰

237. Ian Brotherhood

Just heard a snippet of this on Radio Scotland (so it’s still good for something) – get funky!

Average White Band, ‘The Jugglers’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQASg8oc9M

238. Michael McCabe

A Martian walks into an English pub goes up to the bar. The barman looks at him in amazement and says can I help you. The Martian says can I have a double Brandy and a drink for everyone in the pub. The barman sets everyone up with a drink turns to the Martian and says that will be Β£329:87 Please, And the Martian says have you got change of a Zonk. Vote Yes.

239. TJenny

Ian – just read on BBC weather website that wee yellow triangular warnings for heavy rain are forecast for Arbroath and area, so maybe where Ronnie + Thepnr are has lost the signal to tinterweb – (we had incredibly loud cracking thunder + downpours here in Edinburgh this afternoon but no ‘tricity outage). I pity the tourists. I especially pity those up at the Tattoo.

240. Michael McCabe

If at first you don’t Succeed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXW-sL5gzHQ&feature=player_detailpage Sadly Missed but his Music lives on. Vote Yes.

241. Thepnr

Does anyone know where ronnie is he lost us in the Arbroath chipper, he went looking for tomato sauce and we lost him!!

242. ronnie anderson

ah know where Ronnie is he’s in the chippershopmans hoose, he,s allowed me tae us his PC &wc & he,s nae tamata sauce,an where ur you,s

243. Bob Sinclair

Actually PMSL at that one Ronnie.

244. Ian Brotherhood

Lordy – remember youse are ambassadors for WOS and Scotland!

FFS, someone give that man some tomato sauce!

PS Youse must have red-hot ears by now, youse are the talk of the steamie.

And BTW, Ronnie, we’re all coming to your patch week after next…

245. Tam Jardine

Michael McCabe

A no-voter walks into the same boozer – paps his wallet and all his change fae his pockets doon on the bar. Barman says ‘what ye after’ No-voter has no idea, and instead of ordering, blames Alex Salmond for all ills. Is then barred but continues to post banknotes through front door of pub ad infinitum.

246. Thepnr

Ronnie I’m glad your OK, is Paula with you? Last I saw of her she was leaning into Tartan Tory’s Yes car windae.

Next time I looked two legs were poking oot the windae and the car sped off!

247. ronnie anderson

Naw am no ok ma chips ur cauld ah still hivna goat any sauce, an this battered smokie is gittin soggy

248. ronnie anderson

whit dae you mean you saw Paula Rose disapperin wie Tartan Tory, he,s goat ma six pickled ingings in his coat pocket

249. ronnie anderson

her pocket

250. TJenny

Ian – we might have known they wouldn’t be having a quiet night, you just can’t keep a good Winger down. πŸ™‚

Thepnr – Now we NEED an update on the abduction of Paula Rose!

251. Thepnr

No word yet TJenny, Tartan Tory has disappeared off the radar too. I’m worried for the pickled ingings. Need to go get ronnie now and organise the search party for Paula!

252. Thepnr

After all ronnie likes his ingings and I fear the consequences of not getting them back.

253. Ian Brotherhood

This is better than the best Carry-On highlights ever…

254. TJenny

We need to get agent PR’s strappy Yes heels microchipped – although that wouldn’t help if they’ve fallen out TT’s car.

255. Ian Brotherhood

…or around TT’s ears.

(I can’t believe I just wrote that, but I’m going to submit anyway…)

256. TJenny

Ian – why do you think I just referred to the shoeses falling out the car. πŸ™‚

Loved the backing track and beginning deffo sounds like high strappy heels clippity clipping along in a hurry. Another bit sounded like a wee sachet of tomato sauce being prised out of stiff fingers. Had to stop it there as the cat was becoming increasingly discombobulated.

(Has Ronnie gone into Hulk mode? Nae tomato sauce and abducted inings – has a warning been issued to the population at large?)

257. Paula Rose

oh, honeys, gosh, tartan tory is such a gent, silly laddies in Arbroath, gosh the man is a total gent, so gentle and loving, and my god you should see his motor.

258. ronnie anderson

Paula Rose where fek ur you ah canna drive you,ve goat ma glasses

259. TJenny

Paula Rose – honey, have you gone undercover in a unionist pub? You’ve got Ronnie’s specs and pickled ingings – a search party’s being organised unless you give us the password to allow you to convert the pub undecides.

260. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Okay, this is getting serious.

Who’s going to call the relevant emergency services? I’m in North Ayrshire, so that’s not much use, unless they can scramble a helicopter from Prestwick…

261. TJenny

Well Ian, as all of us in Scotland now own Prestwick, that may be possible? Or, how’s Thepnr’s tracking skills?

And where is TT?

And is Ronnie still in chipshopman’s hoose, ……..?

Will they all make it to Seafest tomorrow?

Next installment coming up, soon?

262. Paula Rose

All sorted. Pauls’s back and all is well and the pickled ingings were rescued also.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KCzdLiWeSU

263. Paula Rose

She’s having a showing with ronnie watching over her.

264. TJenny

Paula Rose – posts crossed x, Phew, glad you’re back, but what about the specs and ingings? And have y’all caught up Ronnie?

265. Thepnr

I wish I never found them again, but alls well that ends well.

266. Thepnr

Goodnight.

Seafest tomorrow. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MK6TXMsvgQg

267. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Time for bed, now I know youse are all together and safe.

I can’t believe you kept me up so long.

Have a braw gig the morra y’all.

XXX

268. TJenny

Night Thepr, night all, and hope those who are going to Seafest have a great time.

269. chipmonkey

Saw Paula Rose and TT on tv this morning. They were advertising galaxy chocolate.

270. Hood

Looks like they are getting a good day for the SeaFest, weathers turned out ok, wee bit breezy and sun peeking through.

Seem to be plenty of people here, I came to the workshop at 1pm and already the place was moving with people.

271. Oneironaut

@Bob Sinclair
    Sorry for the delay, got distracted by too many things on Friday to get on here.
    Thanks for the offer, but I’m not in Glasgow, I’m over in sunny Stevenston by the sea (the “sunny” bit is said more with sarcasm in recent days!)

Got no money for the fare up there till Monday unfortunately, so I think I’m sitting this one out πŸ™
    Thanks again for the offer though.

@Ian Brotherhood
    “the badge-machine is officially β€˜arseholed’.”
    Is that a technical term? πŸ˜‰
    Well I’ll be in all weekend if something doesn’t distract me, so if you feel like another go, I’m happy to act as tech support and executive in charge of “rude badge” design! πŸ™‚

Enjoying the “Carry on Seafest” show on here though, hang on while I go get some more popcorn!

Hope you lot have a great time out there tomorrow! πŸ˜€

272. Quentin Quale

STOP PRESS +++++ Sensation at Seafest. Ronnie’s curly string draws massive queues to Wings stall. Rumours are that the string is responsible for swaying many undecideds.+++
    We are going to do this, folks!

273. TJenny

Quentin Quale – Ssh – the curly string is one of our secret weapons. πŸ˜‰

274. Quentin Quale

For everyone at Seafest and all Wings readers – we are on the right track
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNkoBRjOxrY&list=PLD7D13FBD8A0E7572&index=10

275. Bob Sinclair

Massive thanks to Thepnr for organising Wings over Seafest.

I really enjoyed leafleting with the sultry temptress Paula Rose, who certainly knows how to stir the blood of an undecided.

Nice one by Tartan Tory, providing the Getaway car as well.

Forgive me if I don’t give out thanks to everyone, all really encouraging and supportive of my inexperience when talking to people about the issues. You know who you are and please accept my thanks anyway.

My only regret on the day, handing a leaflet & talking to a certain fat troughing scumbag & not recognising him.

To those of you attending on Sunday, have a great day & hopefully stay dry.

Sè you guys on Saturday.

276. Taranaich

Figured I’d cross-post here. Well, the Benefits of the Union weren’t much in evidence in Inverclyde a few days ago, but the possibilities of an independent Scotland were when Nicola Sturgeon came to officially open the Yes Inverclyde shop!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EadT44NU4AE

You might spot a certain bearded cybernat there, as well as his brilliant wee niece!

(Also I have it on good authority Nicola reads Wings Over Scotland, since she knows the mysterious Taranaich!)

277. chipmonkey

The brilliant seafest badges worked after all! Well done to designer Briandoonthetoon and badge machine fixing team.Here is the evidence – and also BDTT receiving his honour – the new ceramic wings badge).
    Don’t hold your breath folks, you know how good i am at posting links πŸ™‚

plus.google.com/u/0/109636745735895540153/posts/8eGoMHytgjJ?pid=6045656534612097154&oid=109636745735895540153

278. Patrician

Some pictures from today’s Seafest in Arbroath.
    http://imgur.com/a/XHHVR#0

279. Ian Brotherhood

@Patrician –

Good stuff.

280. chipmonkey

http://www.imgur.com/a/2iqZI?gallery

above for non google. maybe.

281. Thepnr

A few more of the Wingers getting engaged with the punters.

http://s804.photobucket.com/user/Thepnr/slideshow/Arbroath%20Seafest

282. ronnie anderson

For all those Wingers posting on the Seafest today & any refferance to Ronnie’s curly string.I wouldn’t know the difference between curly kale & a peace of string .It is F* HAIRY STRING & is attributable to Gerry Parker, who will be surely offended by this purloining of his unique contribution to the Wings satire.

283. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Great. Looks like you had a good one, and the weather was kind after all.

Seeing as you were in Arbroath, a song has to have ‘Smokey’ in it, so here he is, with Aretha Franklin, doing ‘Ooh Baby Baby’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xy75z0trlDk

284. Bob Sinclair

Thepnr

LOVING tartan Tory’s dark green mohawk.

285. Thepnr

HAHAHAHA Just spotted it. Suits him in a cuddly way πŸ™‚

286. Paula Rose

In case you’re wondering honeys – I’m the one festooned in cameras. Someone had to take the photos.

287. TJenny

Thepnr – Looks like you all had agood day at the festival, are you doing it all again tomorrow and who does the amazing YES bus belong to?

288. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian Brotherhood.
    You mentioned “Smok*”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHbrq3J-LeI

289. Thepnr

Hi TJenny

Yes many of us will be down tomorrow. The fly in the ointment is that the weather in the afternoon is forecast to be pretty bad so might be a short shift.

Tartan Tory owns the fancy motor, that’s him with the green mohican πŸ™‚

290. TJenny

Hi Thepnr – aye, TT’s car is amazing but the big YES bus – does it belong to YES Scotland?

291. TJenny

If the weather is as predicted, I think you’ll need more than hairy, curly string to keep the gazebo on the ground.

292. Patrician

@TJenny

Never under-estimate the power of hairy string, there was panic today when we realised we only had a short length of hairy string. We were on tenterhooks all in case there was an incident and we wouldn’t have enough hairy string to cope.

293. Bob Sinclair

On the 19th September I’m looking forward to being able to say ‘See that, I did that, that was me so it was’

We have an opportunity, each and every one of us, to change the world with one simple X. How cool is that.

294. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi TJenny.

I’m no’ too sure which big YES bus you type about but “the Dragon”, blue double decker with twin rear axle and YES posters on all the windows, is owned by Sidlaw Executive Travel, based in Auchterhouse or Lochee, depending upon which web site you access.

It’s available for the use of YES grass roots groups.
    There’s a Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1449600478633420/?fref=ts

295. chipmonkey

@TJenny. There was also a YES Scotland camper van .

296. gerry parker

@Ronnie Anderson.

Not a bit offended sir. The secret of hairy string has been handed down to a few people throughout generations. I’m only a temporary guardian. Hairy string is is the property of all wingers, and will be freely available to everyone after the Yes vote.

πŸ™‚

Great meeting some new faces (and personalities) yesterday. Well done ThePNR for organising it, and best of luck for the second day.

Stu has created a great community of people with the Wings over Scotland blog.

297. Tartan Tory

I didn’t get the ‘green mohawk’ comment until I went back and looked at the pictures a second time. Excellent!!

Great day yesterday, but up early today and in the office for work now – lots of customers who need to be sorted-out in time for tomorrow, hence can’t be at the stall today.

Checked the car this morning and and found a pickled-onion on the floor along with an ear-ring and a pair of knickers behind the seat. There’s a prevalent whiff of fish about the fabric too…..

Paula, can you arrange to collect your hosiery at your convenience, but preferably when my wife isn’t home please! πŸ˜‰

298. Paula Rose

Gosh that was some ride, I’ve never had such power throbbing below me!

299. Tartan Tory

What can I say…..

Glad to have been of service my dear. πŸ™‚

300. call me dave

Hearts v Rangers for those not signed up for Sky or BT

http://hdfoots.com/watch/skysports-1-live-streaming.html

301. Oneironaut

If there’s one thing we’ve all learned from life, it’s that you can never have too much hairy string! πŸ˜‰

302. Patrician

Updated Seafest pictures from yesterday, thanks to Tatan Tory for the additions:

http://imgur.com/a/XHHVR#0

Thanks ThePNR for setting up a most enjoyable day yesterday. also thanks to Gerry for the smokie, well you can’t go to arbroath and not have a smokie. To everyone who manned the stall and turned up to support us, you made it worthwhile.

303. Quinie frae Angus

Hi all

So sorry I never made it to the Sea-fest……it took a rather long time to wend our way down the road after Belladrum today, and as it is now lashing a gale outside I doubt any of you will still be at the harbour, hairy string or no hairy string.

Belladrum was great fun as usual, enhanced by meeting up with X-Sticks, and having a good blether with Tartan Pigsy as well.

304. Thepnr

@Quinie frae Angus

Ah, don’t worry about it. Your were missed though. Ronnie, Paula and Cactus have just left my place. It has ben a good weekend.

I want to thank everybody that made it to help out, what a team we are. Diverse? Yes no doubt about it but maybe that’s the point.

Compared to the other stalls advocating a vote one way or or the other ours, the Wings stall totally rocked. It was interesting today that through all the bad weather were the last to leave and right at the end.

Why’s that I might wonder?

I guess we Wingers jut believe more in what we are fighting for and are aware that time is running out. Unlike David Cameron, WE will fight with every fibre in our being for what is right.

My overall view from the weekend here is that we are well ahead. I’m happy.

305. Bob Sinclair

Thepnr

Seconded. Some really good work done over your weekend, I really do think that we got through to undecideds & maybe made some No’s reassess their stance. I particularly enjoyed handing out the ‘Im voting no because …’ leaflet down at the Better Together stall. Seems that they are not aware of the concept of ‘alert readers’ considering I was festooned with Yes badges and none of them questioned what their eyes should have been telling them.

Hope you guys didnt get too wet today and that the cheeriness persisted.

306. Tartan Tory

Only sorry I wasn’t there to assist today. Got out of my office at 6.30pm and still have a few things to do before tomorrow!!! Hope the weather didn’t kill it completely today and that everybody got home safe & sound.

307. TheItalianJob

@Thepnr

Good to meet with you on Saturday at the Seafest and talk. Good Wings stall. It was by the far the most attended. I noted few at the other Yes stall opposite yours. A couple were also seen at the YesScotland van. But surprise, surprise I noted no one at the UKOK stall.

Keep up the good work all and sundry only a few weeks to go.

PS Got my smokies and they were worth getting. As good as I remember them.

308. Thepnr

@Franco

Just reread my earlier post and the spelling is atrocious. This is unacceptable in a world with spell checkers πŸ™‚

Anyhow, was great to meet you too and be assured all those wingers that did turn up had a great time.

There is no doubt in my mind that we are winning, let’s keep up the momentum.

309. TheItalianJob

@Alec

And you never know we may also meet up again in Methil when we need a load more platforms built and an Indpendent Scotland specifies pro rata quota are to be built in Scotland.

310. Thepnr

Very good point, and something that bother me. Total, the French companies expansion of the Elgin Franklin field, a Β£billlion pond job…

Was built in Italy then sailed all the way from there to here.

Let’s change that by voting Yes. Jobs, better wages and why are we importing rigs for OUR N.Sea from Italy.

I have no idea, but there is ALWAYS a reason. Just that we re not party to it.

311. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr I wish I could have made it to Seafest. But alas I could not. I am heartened that you and the merry band of Wingers took the wings show to the People. I doff my cap to each and every one of you. This song is for you all. and all the other Wingers who do there bit whichever way they can. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JqSbSkO6CI&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

312. Bob Sinclair

Yep Thepnr, there must be some way of making the licensing of fields contingent on Scottish Yards getting their fair share of work. Not sure how this would sit with EU competition regs though.

313. TheItalianJob

@Thepnr

Yes good point and what about Ardesier and another yard (I’ve forgotten the name) closed in late 90s. Then Buzzard discovered (largest field for 20 years) required 3 jackets (built in Norway of all places) and 3 topside modules built in Cadiz Spain then transported to Scotland. We know there are more oil platforms required in the next few years and they should be built in Scotland, we have the capability and if we need to we can re open the others.

314. Paula Rose

Any sensible country would surely have used the powers of government to respond to opportunities, the only reason to do nothing would be because you weren’t very good at macro-economic decision making. (I’ve spent a weekend with Ronnie Anderson and Thepnr, you learn a lot).

315. Tam Jardine

Thepnr, Ronnie, Paula et al

Great work getting the message across at Sea fest – proud of you and the rest of the Wingers.

Was wondering if amongst the guid work and the smokies you had a think about Airdrie – mooted as a possible next Wings congress. Saturday 23rd was put forward but you you may have been too busy to give it a second thought.

Anyway – well done all. Am heartened today after a drive through Morningside – Yes Central. Blown away by the number of Yes windows. If we can win in Morningside….

G’night team

316. Paula Rose

I must say, Thepnr and Master Anderson really are a fount of wisdom.

They both advised me that asking men for a sign of their commitment to Yes was not a good idea.

317. Cactus

Cool to join you all at Arbroath SeaFest today, catch yous at the next outing.. any further thoughts for Saturday the 23rd August folks?

Cheers also for having us back to yours thepnr, good company.

318. Thepnr

Too busy making a “non” point on the main thread. Don’t know why but it is important.

319. Thepnr

OK Now I’m pleading. If YOU don’t watch this you are a sad Bastard.Hahahaha

It’s what we all do? Or should do?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SQGJmgnEI8

320. Paula Rose

Don’t be silly dear, we don’t give “a lot”, we give all that we can.

321. ronnie anderson

G/D morning clocking in Thepnr&PaulaRose

322. Paula Rose

It’s OK Ronnie love, a few sisal hairs quivered.

323. Patrician

@ronnie

did you get home safely? How was today at Seafest? Did it rain as much as the forecast predicted?

324. ronnie anderson

@ Tam Jardine do you think we have nothing better to do with our time than think of enjoyment & organizing Wingers nights out,of course we discussed it between the fun of the Seafest,Patrician & Gerry will explore Witherspoons in Airdrie.

325. Paula Rose

Patrician dear, he’s home, let the man go to bed. But you know how much I enjoyed your instruction (that should have been in bold, but I don’t know how to do that), xxx

326. ronnie anderson

@ Patrician Yup, an Yup,but we stayed to the end BT gave up the ghost early Lol,another enjoyable outing for the Wings Team.

327. Patrician

@Paula Rose

And I was surprised you could manage it with those high heels on grass πŸ˜‰

328. ronnie anderson

@Paula Rose wanna tuck me in an read me a bed time story lol

329. ronnie anderson

@ Patrician good day Daughter G/D GG wains came up to see me , hairy string beknighted Cactus ( no wee furry anamals we killed )

330. Michael McCabe

Good night Everyone and. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=4xjPODksI08 Vote Yes.

331. Paula Rose

Ronnie – bedtime story –

Anyone who thought Wings was organised had obviously never heard of the phrase ‘herding cats’, I had read the odd comment from many, trying in many ways to be part of an elite club, I didn’t realise it was open to all.

In my world we know each other,we have family across the world and in many ways I envy them.

I am here son of a wonderful woman who is loved by her online community, yet she is unable to form a stable relationship.

My father, a minister, was the archetypal , “Do as I say and not do as I do” fraternity – that gives you an idea of the length and breadth of the organisations that grandaddy Rose may have taken his orders from

and now I am worried about being a foreigner in my own land?

Is that a red squirrel?

332. ronnie anderson

@Michael McCabe we did get together & we did better than alwrite & we did spread a lot of love & laughter + the important messages of the Referendem vote.good music to chill Thanks.

333. ronnie anderson

@Paula Rose you could never be concidered a foreigner in any sence in any land,such a worderful lady with or without Salire high heels. I look forward to shareing a few Spritzers with you,Two straws please.

334. ronnie anderson

@ thats two straws as we are Careing Shareing kind of People.

335. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

I hear what your saying. You have no reason to worry whatsoever. I’m your friend.

Alex

336. Thepnr

This proves it.

The one thing you must do is “clink the link”. It’s an omen, check the date right at the start.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-PNun-Pfb4

I’m fucking tired, still have work the morn. I’ll be there, no doubt about it. Guess you know that?

337. chipmonkey

Thanks for an inspiring weekend at Seafest, Thepnr and the gang. I learned a lot – what an amazing group of people.
    Coming to what we were all there for, far more people were saying ‘I’m Yes already’ than simply saying ‘I’m a no’ (that’s really what they said). I think there is a big point in spending time with the already yes people too – some of us can get a bit wobbly about it and down sometimes – we all need to belong.
    Undecideds really do engage – even (or maybe especially) away from the stall itself. It was obvious where we were coming from (festooned with clues!), and people we were chatting with about their stalls were bringing up the subject and asking for information.
    Folks, we all joke a lot (of course), but can I just say that all jokes aside, no-one is as tireless as the amazing Paula Rose, who never seems to take a rest when we lesser mortals are flagging and never misses an opportunity – rain or not.
    Thanks again everyone.

338. Silverytay

Morning everyone
    I would just like to think Thepnr and all the other happy wingers for a great day out at Seafest yesterday .

The only disappointment for me was the fact that Paula did not have on her slinky high heels or her kinky boots .

339. Quentin Quale

Silverytay – I’ll second that! My ears have now stopped ringing after Ronnie ‘explained’ the difference between curly and hairy (titter ye not, Paula) string. I just hope I don’t mix up my Yes and No on the 18th. Only joking – anyway, anybody who visited the Wings stall would never dream of voting No after being presented with the facts (and a lollipop) in a calm, friendly and informative manner. Thanks again, everybody, and can’t wait to catch up at the next event.

340. Oneironaut

@chipmonkey
    “some of us can get a bit wobbly about it and down sometimes”

I know that feeling well. I’ve never really thought much of Stevenston before, but talking to people here about the referendum is really starting to damage what little faith in humanity I had left…

Looking forward to the next Wings get-together, even if it’s just to get out of here for a while and seek the company of some enlightened like-minded folks with hairy string! πŸ™‚

341. Paula Rose

Hope everyone is checking ‘Ask Wings’ (top right of page), proper questions from people – but it seems like only the Rev is answering, I’m sure he wouldn’t mind if some of you helped – serious stuff so its not really my type of string.

342. Jim Thomson

@Paula I hope that’s not you implying that Ronnie’s Hairy String(tm) is in any way the wrong sort…

;-P

343. Jim Thomson

That Wee Blue Book thread must have the most comments of any so far (apart from this august thread of course).

I’ve managed to find a printing format that works for a small run of A5 sized booklets (and YES I DO KNOW that they are NOT designed for print and that the “really printable” ones are being published very soon). One has already gone to a neighbour who was delighted with the format.

My poor wee semi-industrial stapler struggles with the number of sheets though (19 of them) but a wee bit of perseverance, and howking out the bent staples, aligning the “nearly” holes, and a second bash, seems to work for most.

Basically, There are too many people out there waiting to be converted, or super-convinced, to wait for the “proper” printable versions.

344. Brian Doonthetoon

Enjoyed our time up at Seafest over the weekend.

Pete the Camera had bought a badge making machine so I had to tweak the design with the flying fish to get the correct size.

Spent hours over Thursday, Friday and Saturday, getting it more or less right – and never noticed the typo until Sunday evening, when I took a photo of my own badge!

SHAZBAT!

So, there are 150 very exclusive badges out there, every one with the ‘exclusive’ typo.
    https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest/DSCN0016-1050.jpg

I took a general pic of the stand on Sunday afternoon, after the rain.
    https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest/DSCN0009-1050.jpg

Lastly, for Ronnie…
    The flying fish is “Cypsilurus katoptron”, also known as the Bleeker.

345. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Should hang onto some of those typoed flying fish badges. They’ll probably be worth a fortune on E-Bay on Scottish Independence Day.
    Sort of like “Limited Editions” πŸ˜‰

Just got back home a little while ago from a Yes public meeting in Irvine with Nicola Sturgeon (no fish jokes please!)

The hall was completely mobbed with people. Had them packed in like sardines!
    (Dammit, I got fish on the brain now! Hehe)

346. Paula Rose

Um – if I type β€˜scottish independence’ into google or some such, I can’t click on Wings until I get to page 4. Am I right in thinking that the more times a link is clicked the higher it goes on the list?

347. Ian Brotherhood

This seems apt.

New Order, ‘Blue Monday’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYH8DsU2WCk

348. Paula Rose

Ian honey, do you find the ‘Aye Right’ leaflets the most useful?

349. Thepnr

Blue Monday right enough I’m off to bed. First though Donna Summer and “State of Independence”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPlNrP9B2Zs

350. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I’m sure that’s a trick question, but the answer is ‘yes’.

(Then again, I’m a boy who can’t say ‘no’…)

351. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula.

Change your Google preferences to 100 hits per page and the first Wings hit is 8 or 9 clicks (below the scroll bar) down.

Not sure how the ranking’s done…

352. Paula Rose

Brian dear it would make life easier if Wings was at the top, how many clicks would it need 250,000?

Ian, I think we should find out who needs them and who has them and do a bit of supply and demand – as I believe they are no longer being printed in bulk.

353. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

re Aye Right!

Gavin Lessells is the man. I spoke to him at PQ2, and if memory serves there weren’t many left even then.

If he sees this conversation he may update us.

You there Gavin?!

354. X_Sticks

Sounds like you all had a ball on the fish stall. Great work guys, just sorry I couldn’t make it. Too busy having a ball at Belladrum as Quinie and Tartan Pigsy will testify.

Bella was afire with the independence debate. Some stewards were trying to remove Yes stuff but by all accounts not having much success.

As one guy I was speaking to said, though, “Ye dinna mak yer intentions known up here as ye could lose some freins, but maist folk are Yes”.

Billy Bragg was excellent. Spent half of his set lecturing the audience on politics and why we must vote Yes. I caught his talk in the Verb Garden and he was followed by Tommy Sheridan who left no one in any doubt about his politics πŸ˜‰ The whole food arena in Bella could hear Tommy loud and clear, and many were in agreement. He got a couple of Bitters asking him questions and they were sent of with a flea in their ear. The audience loved it.

Had some very good conversations and hopefully changed a couple of minds at least. There is no doubt in my mind that we can do this. The don’t knows seem to get easier to turn while the No’s just get angrier and angrier. I do worry for some of them, they are finding it difficult to cope.

The WBB is going to help in the last push.

Anyway, must get an early night, still shattered from lack of sleep.

355. chipmonkey

@Oneironaut – keep smiling, it’s catching :-)Hope you are feeling upbeat.
    @BrianDTT and Pete the Camera – apologies re my photos where I thought it was the previously mentioned badge machine revived. The ‘specials’ were great fun, typo n all. Thanks.
    @Ian Brotherhood I’m just a girl who cain’t say no. Just like Paula Rose.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xY3gZMQpFOs

I’m also a bit predictable. (and the link probably won’t work since it’s me πŸ™‚ )

356. chipmonkey

See how people join in the crusade? Slowly at first then it builds to a crescendo when the beating of your heart… We don’t even need the martyrs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gMYNfQlf1H8

357. Paula Rose

You know dears, having spent the weekend with the Order of the Hairy, Short and Curly String, I find I can understand things much better.

358. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Is that some kind of coded message to Thepnr, Ronnie A, and TT?

359. Paula Rose

Not at all dear though it is a bit of a mouthful – I’ll shorten it to OHSACS

(titter, ohsacs – that could be what one types instead of b*****ks or b**ls)

360. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

OHSACS…NOSACS…NAWBAGS…

Let’s call the whole thing off.

361. Paula Rose

Ian dear OHSACS is a venerable institution, I would advise you to take instruction from Ronnie Anderson.

362. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

If it’s the type of ‘instruction’ I think you’re referring to, thanks, but NOTHANKS.

363. X_Sticks

I might have guessed you’d get excited over a bit of rope Paula πŸ˜‰

364. Ian Brotherhood

Put

weebluebook

in your search.

First result on Google.

Others?

365. Paula Rose

weeblue

366. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

!!!

Can it get any smaller?

367. Ian Brotherhood

Just tried

#weeblue

and it delivers a pished-looking woman with a bottle of blue-coloured bevvy.

How can we claim #weeblue ?

368. Ian Brotherhood

weeblues wobble but they don’t fall down…

369. Michael McCabe

Here is a relaxing piece of Music to listen to while reading the Wee Blue Book. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ez_htUQCy1Q&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

370. Patrician

The first recorded sighting of the string was here:
    http://imgur.com/a/0WZlH#20. No wings event is now complete without the presence of the string, it doesn’t say much but its support of the cause is total.

371. Patrician

@Ian Brotherhood

Whatever you do, don’t google bluebook :-S

372. Ian Brotherhood

Paula Rose nailed it –

weeblue

spray it everywhere…(as someone said to someone else, in a weeblue joke…)

373. TJenny

Just Googled weeblue and WOS Wee Blue Book came up first – wahya. πŸ™‚

So here is a song for The Wee Blue Book. Unfortunately, I understand the delectable Bobby G is a unionist (he gave the game away at Glasto by wearing not only the fuschia jaiket, but the trews as well!) However, I’m sure a half hour or so with Paula Rose and I could maybe change his mind. πŸ™‚ Sigh, if only.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peugq83Fv2c

374. gerry parker

@ Patrician.
    Hairy String.

We are already preparing for the second coming. There will be signs all over the land of its Majesty, and the naysayers will be flayed with it.

PS. I’ve another spare ball of it in my Garage.

πŸ™‚

375. Oneironaut

@chipmonkey
    Yep, I can keep myself cheered up as long as I have something I can distract myself with.
    (Not so difficult since I’m very easily distrac… ooo, look shiny thing! *chases*)

Anyways, since there seems to be a distinctive “blue” theme going on, I’ll just leave this here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOLBn8GKBlA

(Wonder if this is what people who read the newspapers think the average Wings night out looks like?) πŸ˜‰

376. Jim Thomson

Here’s my (a wee bit late) offering of photies from the weekend.

I did a very quick and dirty photoshop (and yes, it is fully licensed) removal of the No Thanks purple board that terrible wife in the stand next to the Yes pitch kept shoving into the camera shot.

If you want to keep any of the piccies, feel free but, be warned, they won’t stay in my Dropbox account for more than a few weeks.

377. Jim Thomson

I’d already discussed with Ronnie the probability that the Hairy String(tm) will be included in the new coat of arms for the reborn Scotland.

Not sure what the armorial term would be though.

378. Thepnr

Jim

No link πŸ™‚

379. The Man in the Jar

Public meeting – open to all

Venue – Uddingston Grammar School

Date – 19th of August from 7 till 9:30

Speakers – Graeme Sneddon (Generation Yes) Deborah Waters (Deputy leader Labour for Indi) Michelle Thomson (MD Business for Scotland) Robin McAlpine (Director Jimmy Reed foundation) last but not least Jim Sillars.

Organised by Yes Uddingston and Bothwell.

380. Thepnr

Hahaha

Think we have a cameraman on the Courier on our side?

Page 27 of the Dundee Courier today have a few pictures from Arbroath Seafest. In one of them they have a picture of some women and girls getting ready for a race.

In the background is the Wings stall with three Yes Saltires flying and I can make out ronnie anderson, chipmunk, Quintin Quayle (chipmunks hubby) and Jim Thomson

There is another figure that could be me, none are really recognisable unless you had been there and knew the people. I’ll maybe try and get a proper print.

381. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson how in the name of the wee manny do I they photo’s from your dropbox, could,nt you just put them up I dont have a wordpress account.

382. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson, the re-birth of Scotland & the armorial coat of arms (A Hairy Ambilical Cord) I,ll leave the building noo.

383. ronnie anderson

Has anyone got Ian Brotherhoods EMail addy please.

384. Lesley-Anne

Another great response there about the Β£4.5 Billion cut after a NO vote!

What does this guy not get about PRIVATISATION cutting funds to NHS Scotland!

385. Lesley-Anne

Even the undecided panelist getting stuck in there with the NO House of Lord’s and Trident!

386. Lesley-Anne

JEEZ! Alexander is so totally confused that he is now accusing NO campaign of what he meant to accuse the YES camp of! MUPPET!

387. Lesley-Anne

NEWSFLASH!

NHS is NOT being privatised in England!

388. Paula Rose

Go Pussycat Go!!!

389. No no no...yes

Regarding BBC referendum Programme:
    Angus Robertson is giving Alexander a right doing on the Lib Dem manifesto on Barnett Formula.

390. Paula Rose

Don’t I’m having a meltdown.

391. Paula Rose

You were right – if we vote Yes they will threaten us with independence.

392. Lesley-Anne

Bags I get the prize for spotting the token Tory! πŸ˜›

393. Paula Rose

Token payment authorised.

394. Lesley-Anne

Ooh! Boris Johnson is a clown and THIS from McDougall! Whatever next McDougall votes YES!

395. Paula Rose

They’ll have googled ‘wee blue’.

396. Lesley-Anne

Nice rebuttal to Alexander you’ve given us poll tax and bedroom tax what ‘s the next tax?

397. Lesley-Anne

excellent point from audience member what are NO offering I know what YES is offering

398. Paula Rose

Carpet?

399. Lesley-Anne

Keep going Danny you’re doing us PROUD! “I’m a proud Scot we’re better together! DOH!

400. Lesley-Anne

Ooh! Claire Field MASSIVE oil find question! Alexander confirms *cough cough* there is no new massive oil field finds being kept secret by Westminster”. Oh that right Danny oh look squirrels!

401. Lesley-Anne

Amazing how switched on this audience is. Scotland is the only country cursed for having oil!

402. Paula Rose

Hold on – we don’t need any new ones, look at what’s there already. Takes decades to plan, but already stuff is going ahead with what’s there.

403. No no no...yes

Audience defo Yes minded.
    Ken Stott quoting Cameron visit to shetland!

404. Lesley-Anne

Danny Alexander is definitively looking rattled there. πŸ˜›

405. Paula Rose

Yippee – two commentators, more please xx

406. Lesley-Anne

Good dig at the Tories and LibDems there. We didn’t vote for the Tories but got them anyway.

Good old Alexander gets more groans from audience! πŸ˜›

407. Paula Rose

I’m off to listen to Andra – I’ll come back later xx

408. No no no...yes

Alexander doesnot feel guilty about the last two years. wow!

409. Lesley-Anne

Two weeks programme is in Edinburgh. then it goes to Aberdeen then ends up in Stirling the week before the referendum. Or something like that. πŸ˜›

410. Wp

Scotsman headline: Angus Robertson humiliated in BBC debate.

411. Lesley-Anne

I wonder what s***e Mr Neil will drag up. More importantly how long can I bear him and his nonsense before either a) I throw something at the T.V. or b) I switch over. πŸ˜›

412. Paula Rose

BBC 2 watch if you dare!!!

413. Lesley-Anne

Well I’m trying to do Paula, I’m still on BBC 2 so guess I haven’t heard anything untoward … YET! πŸ˜›

414. Lesley-Anne

What the hell is Neil going on about ‘British INDEPENDENT Nuclear deterent!” FFS

Perhaps he’d like to explain how something that is DESIGNED, BUILT and has its LAUNCH CODES controlled from Washington is actually a BRITISH independent deterent!

415. Mealer

When the Claire find was mentioned,and Alexander said there was no new massive discovery,someone should have said “How can we believe you when you lied to us about oil reserves since ever it was discovered?” But all in all it was a pretty good debate.Its just a case of talking to people and giving them the confidence that we CAN run our own country better than London can.

416. Lesley-Anne

Nice to hear Lord McDonnell admit that a YES win could very well lead to a rethinking of Trident renewal. πŸ˜€

417. Lesley-Anne

Jeez!

Who the hell opened the door and let Curtice in?

418. Tartan Tory

BBC2 has been very good this evening. I always thought Andrew Neil was a unionist. He’s doing a good job of being a secret YES man so far…!

Oh, wait a minute. Just discovered that even after a YES, we need an act of Westminster to ratify it…..

419. Paula Rose

Watching BBC2 as some one born in England – if I lived there now I would suddenly be filled with hope.

420. Lesley-Anne

I was wondering when our wee pet Nige was going to turn up tonight. Wonder no longer. πŸ˜›

421. Bob Sinclair

Don’t know if anyone else has noticed a massive spike in FB trolling from No’s. The latest tactic seems to be to appear initially to be asking polite questions but ignoring the answers / changing the subject.

argh FFS Just saw Farage there, nightmares tonight.

422. Indigo

Wow that was a fantastic debate, well done the audience! I’m half an hour behind, should I keep watching Andrew Neil or switch over and keep my good mood?

423. Bob Sinclair

Right on schedule -a clip from Braveheart.

424. Paula Rose

My ancestor was Hereward the Wake.

425. Paula Rose

Watch BBC2 dears, I’m off to Utopia xx

426. Lesley-Anne

I have to admit I’ve lasted longer than I thought I would. πŸ˜‰ Mind you I was out the room for some time. πŸ˜›

427. Lesley-Anne

Oh Jeez, he’s back again!

Oh NO! NOW we have the Orange Order marching!

That’s it I’ve had enough of this s***e I’m awa!

428. Tartan Tory

New name for rUK post indy = ‘Little Britain’ πŸ™‚

429. Paula Rose

(T/T honey, we did that one a few formulas back)

430. Tartan Tory

Paula Darling! I was simply stating what was suggested on BBC2! They must have been reading Wings!!

431. Tartan Tory

Wow! I didn’t expect that from Andrew Neil or the BBC.

432. Paula Rose

T/T darling, can I have another ride?

433. Brian Doonthetoon

You guys seen this?

Oil and Gas People has been watching the Independence debate from the fence and like many businesses felt it wasn’t in our best interest to back one side or the other.

That has all changed with the negative campaigning the Better Together campaign have directed towards our industry with false information and outright lies misleading the people of Scotland.

With this post we back the #yes campaign and get behind 64% of the industry who are voting YES to Independence.

Without Oil and Gas Scotland can be a rich nation with it we can be one of the richest, no one knows the industry better than those who work in it and we all know that Oil and Gas will be around for a long time yet.

https://www.facebook.com/oilgaspeople/timeline

434. Paula Rose

I know they’re short, but they are curly and quite hairy!

435. X_Sticks

Lesley-Anne says:

“Who the hell opened the door and let Curtice in?”

I thought he lived under a rock at PQ?

436. Paula Rose

@ Brian Doonthetoon – I’m not sure we want all those lubricated people.

437. Tartan Tory

@ Brian Doonthetoon (& everyone else)

If you see me on the oil & gas people page Brian has linked to (look for the jumping car + ‘Yes’ pic), can you send me a friend request. I’m feeling a bit lonley!!! πŸ˜‰

438. Paula Rose

Tartan Tory darling – go here I guarantee lots of hugs, just tell Mama Puffin I sent you…

https://www.facebook.com/UnofficialUKOK

439. Ian Brotherhood

Ronnie A –

You were looking for my e-mail address?

ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk

440. Ian Brotherhood

Sounds like there was some interesting ‘telly’ on this evening, and Beaker figured prominently. Not having seen it, I can only wonder what fantastic pish he was coming out with…

And the final wheel came off Jim Murphy’s wagon?

441. Ian Brotherhood

Murphy can guarantee a decent turnout for his remaining ‘100 Towns’ gigs if he presents himself in stocks, and invites citizens to throw unmentionables at him.

(Do coconuts count as fruit?)

442. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s hoping we go through 4000 O/T comments with some suitably upbeat music…

Simple Minds, ‘I Travel’ (1980) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6MwzSaBBQY

443. Paula Rose

As if I would do such a thing!

444. Paula Rose

I won’t be around at 3:42 am, but here is my contribution to all you lovely people…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vrnDzOOlCI

445. Paula Rose

Ian honey – so it’s 50 odd tracks of Scottish genius…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gacGge-_cQo

446. Thepnr

Here’s my contribution to myself. Happy Birthday!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=inS9gAgSENE

447. Thepnr

Nobody here at home to sing it! so join in friends.

448. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Happy birthday to you mister. Lang may yer lum reek.

(I wonder what you’d like as a present? Hmmm…)

449. Tartan Tory

Happy Birthday Alex. I’ll get Paula to deliver a birthday kiss to you! πŸ˜‰

450. Lesley-Anne

Happy birthday Thepnr from me and my partner. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

451. Paula Rose

13th of September – but the nearest I could get…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jU7SYRzhn44

452. TJenny

Happy Birthday Thepnr xxxxs. πŸ™‚

453. Paula Rose

Oh go on open my present xx

454. Paula Rose

ps Thepnr – that is to be part of the wings library.

455. ronnie anderson

@ Happy birthday Alex

456. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Aw, come on, stay up until we hit the big 4K, eh?

457. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood can I have your Email addy I have a Badge & Embroidered Badge to send to you.

458. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

What a great present! Thank you very much.

I know others will be saying “what is it?”

Well it’s a book “A History of the Working Classes in Scotland”. Never knew such a thing existed, I will definitely read it from cover to cover.

Thanks xx.

459. Paula Rose

Ian darling – have you been inducted into the OHSACS?

460. Paula Rose

Ronnie dear, do you have some hairy string for Ian?

Thepnr – I couldn’t afford Madonna’s opus.

461. X_Sticks

Happy Birthday Thepnr πŸ˜€

Have you seen this?

https://twitter.com/X_Sticks_Real/status/498951742051340288/photo/1

Way to go Dundee (and Motherwell)

And just to put a final smile on your face before I head for the horizontal..

https://twitter.com/X_Sticks_Real/status/499331243423834112/photo/1

Night all.

462. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose that vidio at 11.59 would tear the arse oota the trousers, you on the rid biddy again lol

463. Michael McCabe

Happy Birthday PNR http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=7WAphzIXlhY Hope You have a Great Day.

464. Thepnr

Haha X-Sticks

Blair does not look happy. Well he never does, why does he always look worried, like a deer caught in the headlights?

465. Paula Rose

Ronnie honey – Ivor Cutler, I didn’t ken you were a fan xx

466. Ian Brotherhood

Hi Ronnie,

Thepnr sent it to you, but just in case:

ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk

Hoots mon!

467. Paula Rose

Oh btw Thepnr, handle with kid gloves, both Douglas Young and Hamish Henderson have handled that very same tome xx

468. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Still class, how do you find these??

Thanks all for the kind wishes. My next birthday will be celebrated in an Independent Scotland. If we could bottle the enthusiasm, intelligence and dare I say love for our own people that can be found on this site.

We would only need a tiny drop in the air to convert a crowd of No’s to Yes. We will win because our heart is so much bigger.

469. Paula Rose

I like to give the lad a decent pressie!

470. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I’ve never been invited…(:

If it helps my application, I did once locate, on my person, a pubic hair which was very nearly a foot long. I kept it as a bookmark, but lost it years ago. (Someone in an Ayrshire charity-shop in the past decade or so must’ve got a truly horrible surprise…)

471. ronnie anderson

@Paula Rose Yes gerry has a full ball, but I was planning to hing the bunting up at Rory the Torys opening ceromony, ah wiz waiting nearer the time to do a shity nickers / pants collection I wonder if indigo would do a crowdfund.

472. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood & ronnie anderson

FFS nearly choked on ma swally! Jist stoap it! LOL

473. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=dbt974GsXBs You always need a cake for a Birthday. Vote Yes.

474. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

I’ve always wondered what happens after Stan & Ollie walk through that door.

Bit like the door to our freedom after Independence.

475. Paula Rose

Everytime I meet you dear

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

Nightie night xx

476. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

How’d you get all those Wingers to co-operate for the shoot, Paula was a stand out πŸ™‚

477. Ian Brotherhood

Not sure what’s weirder – what this guy can do with his voice, or his hips:

Future Islands, ‘Seasons (Waiting On You)’, (Live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FzPPVEJEVMs

478. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr cling film that laptop mair on the way.

479. Adrian B

Quick straw poll to take part in and share:

http://strawpoll.me/2320935/r

480. ronnie anderson

@Michael McCabe FFS Michael ElO ah need tae go an get another power card the meters run oot.

481. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Can these folks crash your party ? They say they have a Message. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWBTWELtkeg&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

482. Thepnr

Listen to the words, nothing changes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUYkHNAtXTI

We can make it change though and we are doing. What a time to be alive.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.