Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Michael McCabe

For Paula Rose And everyone there last Night, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5avtHEFVvs&feature=player_detailpage

2. Ian Brotherhood

Bags me 3000 on o/t!!

3. Thepnr

Haha well done Ian. Just for that you get 500 air miles.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69AvNm8zubo

4. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Thanks for the tune. Hoping to go through for BBC-3 Protest. Hopefully see you there. Was feeling hung over feeling closer to fine now though. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=HUgwM1Ky228&list=PLTwjlcWjllHv2hJF0qW6wJh9GaLArwSo2

5. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe
    Great tunes again, it will be hard to keep up that quality.
    Respect.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGXU7268Z50

6. Brian Doonthetoon

Forgot to type earlier on today that is was nice to have a blether with Ronnie last night about the “Dundee Pandas”.

They will go down in the YES legend…
    8=)

7. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Loved that tune. Cheers. From the Blues Brothers to the Boogie Woogie Twosome. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Fs_oTzIPgM&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

8. Thepnr

Brian
    I didn’t know about the Dundee Pandas are they wingers is the question?

9. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Re: the wee blether wee had at the end of The Newsroom meet.
    I have decided to go into the venue I mentioned to put a proposition.

Basically, we don’t want to HIRE the pub but we are giving them advance notice that on the 32nd of Augtember, they will be invaded by 100+ punters from all over Scotland, so what will you do for us?

We don’t want exclusive use of the place but it could be an idea to open up the downstairs bit to give your regular punter a bolt hole.
    Perchance you can provide few trays of sandwiches?

Pubs want business. This crap about a “hire fee” is just that – crap. We are in a position where we can say, “So you want £XX pounds to hire your premises? Fine. We want a 20% kickback on your takings for the night. Otherwise, we will just turn up, so what are you gonna do then, poor thing?

Nil illigitimi carborundum.

8=)

10. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.
    Re the Pandas.
    I believe Dundee RIC.

11. Brian Doonthetoon

And at least one of them was that the Jolly’s do.

12. Brian Doonthetoon

I mean, “And at least one of them was AT the Jolly’s do.

13. Taranaich

@Ian Brotherhood: A brave and brilliant post mister. Respect.

I had avoided watching GG’s performance, but thought I’d better do seeing as you linked to it. The man is playing with fire, and there’s no need for it.

Thanks, Ian! Sorry I subjected you to it, but I’m pretty sure it’s the last time I’ll dignify Mr Galloway with such attention.

SSP Ayrshire were supposed to be having a street stall in Irvine tomorrow, but, after discussions earlier, we cancelled it. As you’ll know, the big O/O parade will be in Glasgow, but a lot of the participants are resident here in Ayrshire, or will be making there way over from NI for the highlight of their year. Given what’s been happening in Stormont, and the news that Scottish Police are on stand-by to head over to Belfast for the expected unrest, we felt there was no sensible option. The older ones among us are quite prepared to stand our ground, but some younger members and supporters aren’t au fait with the intricacies and don’t deserve to be placed in potential danger.

Sadly, that’s what it’s come to. And we’ve still got ten weeks to go…

There was a walk a few days ago, it went right past my house. My young cousin was there. He wasn’t sure what was to be done. What I did was stand at the window, in full view of the parade, smiling widely and sincerely at the sour, angry faces beating their drums.

Strangely enough, I don’t mind the idea of the Orange Walk: we have plenty of marches and events which have their origin in the bloody & brutal past, so I don’t mind one group having a triumphalist celebration now. This was different back in the Troubles, when Catholics had significant legal opposition leading to stuff like Bobby Sands and whatnot – but nowadays, as we’re starting to get to grips with peace and there are no longer legal or social barriers to being Catholic, eventually I hope we’ll see a time where we have Orange Walks that aren’t bullish displays of brutal oppression, but simply another aspect of our history which we’ve learned from.

Ever the idealist, I know…

14. Thepnr

Facebook seem to be in on it now, I posted the Maryhill foodbank link but not showing on any of my friends timelines. Fuck em will just have to email or text or speak to them and make sure they get that link.

We are being nobbled, doesn’t take a idiot to see that. Tell everybody they can’t stop us all from getting the truth out.

I hope you arseholes are paying attention, we are having none of your crap and will fight back. With knowledge, reasoning and sense. You have no weapons against this. Give it up before you totally destroy this country. There are 2,000,000 at least voting Yes. You can’t shut us all up.

15. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Your right, I will visit this week and get a hold of the owner, not literally of course, suggest a date and tell him what we want. This is great business for the pub.

16. David

On BBC website: A former Labour government minister, Leslie Huckfield, backs ‘Yes’ vote!

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-28180767

“Leslie Huckfield, Nuneaton MP between 1967 and 1983, now lives in Perthshire. He said the referendum was “an historic opportunity” to implement Labour ideas.

But he said that “won’t happen” while Scotland remains part of the UK.

Mr Huckfield served in Prime Minister James Callaghan’s government. He was under-secretary of state for industry from 1976-79, serving under industry minister Eric Varley, and was Labour’s frontbench industry spokesman from 1979-83. He was an MEP between 1984 and 1989.

He was elected at the age of 24 in 1967, but left the Labour Party in protest at the Iraq war and “New Labour’s continuing political drift”.

He moved to Scotland in 2004 and said it “became apparent that this is a country with a veritable passion for social justice”.

Mr Huckfield, 72, said few people in Scotland “sufficiently understand or recognise the emerging political agenda in England”, which he said “represents the disintegration of many principles and policies to which Scots hold dearly”.

“In short, I believe that an independent Scotland is an opportunity not only to free itself from Tories and a UK coalition agenda but also from the agenda of New Labour,” he said.

He said a “Yes” vote on 18 September would give Scotland a chance to “start again” and “implement the policies and causes that the Labour Party has traditionally supported”.

Now this is going to help Labour For Indy to persuade Labourites to vote YES!

17. Thepnr

@David
    You should repost the above article in one of the main threads so many more will read it than will read it here.

18. Thepnr

Just noticed there is now an article on David’s post at Newsnet.

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/referendum/9418-former-labour-government-minister-declares-for-yes

19. Bob Sinclair

I’ve just read that parking is likely to be an issue at the next Pacific Quay Demo, due to Commonwealth games restrictions. As I’m not that far from PQ, if anyone needs WoS materials kept and dropped off on the day let me know. Thepnr has my email addy. Thinking along the lines of the boot full of leaflets etc that Ronnie carries about with him.

20. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Bob Sinclair

Any chance of a lift back…?

21. David

@ Thepnr, after posting, I found that some eagle-eyed cybernat called Democracy Reborn had also seen the story, and put it on the “This could be a record” thread 4 hours before me!

The good news is gaining traction, it is also now on the STV website and the Herald website:

http://news.stv.tv/scotland-decides/281716-ex-labour-minister-leslie-huckfield-backing-scottish-referendum-yes-vote/

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/former-labour-minister-comes-out-for-yes.24677097?utm_source=www.heraldscotland.com&utm_medium=RSS%20Feed&utm_campaign=Last%20-4%20Hour%20Feed

This can be used to help convince traditional Labour people to vote Yes.

22. Ian Brotherhood

How cool is this dude?

Chuck Berry, ‘Johnny B. Goode’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEq62iQo0eU

23. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Paula Rose –

Pet Shop Boys, ‘What Have I Done To Deserve This’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn9E5i7l-Eg

24. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    I forgot to say thanks organising the Newsroom and that mobile number on your arm was probably mine. If you are still up for a pint and a blether some time, just say the word. There might be one or two from here who might like to join us. 😉

25. Paula Rose

Ian darling, what did I do to have such wonderful men at my feet! Darlings I love you all – please form an orderly queue…

26. Quinie frae Angus

@Paula Rose

There is no answer to that!!

@Ian B
    We missed you on Friday! Hope we see you at next one….

@Cameron B
    See you at next one too!

@Tam Jardine
    Thanks so much for organising. Great night.

27. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Well, you do add a touch of glamour and sassiness to the whole shebang, and it’s much needed.

Here’s some sassy lassies:

En Vogue, ‘Never Gonna Get It’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgDORvds824

28. Paula Rose

Ian dear – I get it!

29. Thepnr

The news on the BBC about Independence now is so boring I don’t even bother listening even when it’s in front of my face. Wonder what that means?

30. Ian Brotherhood

@QfA –

Cheers pal. Sounds like I missed a good ‘un too.

Never mind. Next one? I’ll be there, hopefully wearing one of these suits:

The Four Tops, ‘Reach Out, I’ll Be There’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXwUVRkRYj4

31. Thepnr

Always hard to gauge the mood and find a suitable song. I’ll try and slip this one in, decent vocals and music but the visuals are great.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsdBXJyAo0E

32. Tartan Tory

Guys, you might not believe this, but there is a piece from Robert Peston on the BBC website just now which is about as pro-yes as I’ve ever read from them!!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-28159326

Something’s changed in the editorial room…… 🙂

33. Paula Rose

OMG – Ian Botherhood, Thepnr and the Tartan Tory all within the space of six minutes!!

34. Thepnr

@Tartan Tory

Sorry buddy disagree, neutral at best. Misses out Sir Donald Mackays piece written in the Sunday times today and posted here earlier. Don’t believe he tried that hard to get to the truth.

After all Peston is rightly know as “The Hon. Robert James Kenneth Peston” son of Labour Peer Maurice Peston. Another establishment member who’s interests remain in the status quo being kept.

Let’s see his telly programme before clapping our hands.

35. Tartan Tory

@Thepnr

I didn’t say it was pro-yes, I said it was “about as pro-yes as I’ve ever read from them” (in other words, neutral at best) 😉

However, it makes a pleasant change to see something almost ‘balanced’ on there…..

36. CameronB Brodie

Tartan Tory
    Glad to have met you in the Newsroom and good to see you got back home. Probably more directly than some.

according to the respected Institute for Fiscal Studies 😉

What matters far more, arguably, is how Scots see themselves in a much broader sense, either as a confident nation that is proud of being part of a bigger country, the United Kingdom, or as a people stifled and limited by the historic union. 🙂

37. Paula Rose

Can we not have the best of both worlds? Be Scotland and have a great friendship with our neighbours?

38. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

I think I’ve been “stiffled and limited” so I will vote Yes and do my very best to get others to do the same.

We will be a confident Nation proud of our our country, our government and the policies it chooses. Why? We will have voted for those policies and they will be OUR policies.

Let’s take what belongs to us back under our control. We have been messed around for too long. I’ve had enough.

39. Michael McCabe

CameronB Brodie Glad I met you at the Newsroom. This ones for You. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnQTGNcNpI4&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

40. Paula Rose

Ooh look quantative easing…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Xg2v_T2XH8

41. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

One word. Brilliant!!

42. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    Cheers and ditto. 😉

Here’s one for Danny Alexander. 🙂

Chris and the Alphabets – Count It Higher
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zU7mFx0WFxE

43. Paula Rose

I live in a great country, it is called Scotland.

44. Paula Rose

Ooh look our two favourite djs Michael McCabe and CameronB Brodie swapping notes! Wha’s like us, we have the best, any excuse darlings…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Xg2v_T2XH8

45. Paula Rose

Whoops wrong one sorry…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVAahsWM_2Y

46. Michael McCabe

Here is one for David Bowie.www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=GGonBhUEUVM

47. CameronB Brodie

Here’s another one for Danny Alexander. 🙂

Rick Reason – Two and Two Are Four
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVUMZ5oSkRI

48. Paula Rose

You are all the people I dreamed I would find xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJbo1noOAQo

49. faolie

Was great to meet a few fellow wingers at the Newsroom on Friday. Though I couldn’t stay long, it was great to meet (and put a face to!) Handclapping, Thepnr, Paula Rose (didn’t know), T Jenny and her friend Karen, Cameron B, X Sticks, Wingman 2020, Brian and his wife, the two girls from Hawick, Tartan Tory, Flower of Scotland.

Hope to see you all again before the big day!

David Heriot

50. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    “We are being nobbled, doesn’t take a idiot to see that. Tell everybody they can’t stop us all from getting the truth out.”

Speaking of which, is there anyone here who uses a Gmail/Googlemail account who has noticed their incoming and outgoing messages either being delayed or going completely missing despite the fact that they were apparently “sent successfully”?

Maybe I’m just being paranoid, but after finding a trojan virus on my system not too long ago, and the fact that this issue just neatly sabotaged my attempt to communicate with a friend in the local Yes group who was trying to organise newspaper deliveries in Stevenston, I’m starting to wonder if I’m being gradually isolated.

If anyone with a GMail account is having the same issues then I can assume it’s just a problem with Google being idiots, then I can relax and take off the tinfoil hat!
    But these coincidences are getting worrying (and extremely annoying!)

51. David

Feel lucky, cyberpunks, well do ya? Ladbrokes the bookies have got a new bet out for the Referendum:

Polling Wars
    Which company’s final poll will be closest to the result?
    YouGov 2/5
    Survation 7/4

Go on, make their pay-day.LOL!

http://sportsbeta.ladbrokes.com/Scottish-Referendum/Politics-N-1z141mxZ1z141ne/

52. Thepnr

@David
    That’s something I just can’t miss. I’m gonna be rich lol!

53. Tam Jardine

@Quinie frae Angus

Nae bother darling – great meeting you, (and others too numerous to mention) again.

@CameronB Brodie

Aye – was thinking it would be guid to have a few pints at some point. Have yer number but will just post on here – see who else is about. Going abroad soon for a bit: August would work.

Of course we have BBC 3 and WOS5 or 6 at some point. Love the idea of the pub crawl as a campaigning tool. Someone else can organise it but!

54. Oneironaut

@David
    Don’t rub it in! I’ve been kicking myself because I couldn’t afford to put anything on us winning the referendum back in the days when the polls were showing massive odds against it and anyone betting for a Yes vote was considered a total mug.

Could have cleaned out most of the bookies in town on independence day… *sigh*
    Even if it is a Yes vote, that’ll be my biggest regret of this whole thing!
    Ah well, I’ll just put it down to me being generous towards local businesses, ‘cos I’m nice like that! (Grrrrr…)

55. Conan_the_Librarian

Anyone posted photies yet?

56. Tartan Tory

Robert Peston…..

Balanced? More so than normal.

Unbiased? Probably not.

Scathing? No.

Likely to sway undecideds? More than I expected.

The programme has basically stated that the economics play perfectly well. There has been a complete lack of investigation into what could be done with all the levers of power. It has ended on a note of the main issue being about personal identity rather than the £ in your pocket.

Overall, 6 out of 10. Could do better, but it could have been a lot worse.

57. Paula Rose

@ TT – thought that was a balanced programme, interested if you have niggles.

58. Tartan Tory

@ Paula Rose

My main niggle is that nobody was given the chance to explain what could be done differently under independence. The fact that we could have 15,000 new defense jobs, a load of ship building work and a much better military presence in our waters and our airspace and still have a BILLION left over from currenty ‘spending’.

The fact that 70% of our spending is done for us on things we might not actually want/need.

Talking to the London money boys, the assumption was always that the current spending and priorities would remain in iScotland.

The first ‘journalist’ who actually raises these points in an investigative manner will get closer to a ten.

This was just lip-service to a nation who are realising that the BBC is the establishment mouthpiece.

59. Tartan Tory

But it’s a start! 😉

60. Thepnr

Call me cynical but i think I could have produced a much more balanced programme. The bits I didn’t like in particular was the interviews with the Weir Group and BAE compared with the Balhousie Care Home businessman.

Why not get Willie Walsh of BA or Michael O’Leary of Rynair who are both in favour of Independence as it suits their own businesses.

The currency question wasn’t given fair treatment either in my view as there was nothing on the effects to rUK economy without one.

Finally the section on Oil was well just crap, no mention of west of Shetland reserves nor the fact about record investment. 4/10 overall from me.

61. Paula Rose

@ TT – honey I just love your leather (excuse me fellow wingers, this man is gorgeous) – I thought the programme was fair.

62. Tartan Tory

@ Paula Rose

Oh stop it woman! I’m starting to blush and it’s bad enough knowing that you are only a few miles away!! 😉

63. Tartan Tory

@Thepnr

I also noted that they only talked of ‘N.Sea Oil’ as opposed to Scotlands total ‘reserves’.

The business side of it appeared parochial with the chap from the care homes, but Sir Tom was there too. You’re right though, Willie Walsh woud have brought more weight to it.

Nothing was said about the effects on the rUK economy becasue that’s not what the programme was about.

64. Cactus

Not long back from a musically themed long weekend, a thoroughly awesome one all in all.

@Jock Scot ~ cheers for your kind words dude.
    @John King / Irene ~ I was wondering where dem CS’s had gone.. I’ve never had a hat ransom put on me before hehe and is the first time I’ve been made aware of lost property through the magical power of the Wingternet! Muchos thankos for holding on to them.

Look forward to seeing all you groovy people next time 😉

Cheap Sunglasses ~ ZZ Top
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vR-9NQAPIA

65. Bob Sinclair

Gosh, I feel like i’ve ‘arrived’ having just been trolled by Maggie Vaughan.

66. Thepnr

@Paula Rose
    This one is for you. Happy memories.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mK8NdKxPGq0

67. ronnie anderson

The Shetland Charitable Fund are doing well of the Oil companies & only useing the profits.A small part of Scotland showing the way to the wider Scotland as to what could be acheived in a Independent Scotland.

68. Thepnr

@Paula Rose, Tjenny, Quinie frae Angus and Lesley-Anne

And all you special women. xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z6QpV4UtnA

69. ronnie anderson

Thepnr. Partician forwarded your email to me, I will be seeing Garry this week, He will be delighited with the Wings plaque many Thanks,i,ll see you at the weekend.

70. TJenny

Thepnr – thank you sweetie. 🙂

71. Quinie frae Angus

Thanks, Thepnr – nice wee bit of nostalgia there… 🙂

72. Chipmonkey

A nice chap I met in Cambridge at the weekend expressed surprise that Yes supporters in our referendum are not more vocal. He doesn’t think that any more 🙂

73. gerry parker

I’ll be in Dunoon the weekend of the BBC Demo but I’d like to try and get back over for it. Any one from Argyll planning to go across for it? i’d like to hitch a lift – and pay towards travel expenses of course. I’ll be at Stratheck from 24th.

TIA

74. Brian Doonthetoon

Message for Thepnr.

Re a get-together in that location I suggested.

How would the Saturday night of the SeaFest weekend work out?
    Saturday afternoon in Arbroath, evening in Dundee…

That would give us Dundee WOS2 in August, leaving September for Glasgow or Edinburgh – or Aberdeen!

BTW: the gift shop in the old Arnott’s/DM Brown building is doing plain polyester saltires or ‘royal standard’, 90x60cm for £2. 150x90cm ‘Scotland the Brave’ saltires for £4.99. Saltire bunting, 12 feet long with 11 wee saltires for £4.99.

jiss sum ehdeaz an’ thah’, iye?

8=)

75. Tartan Tory

Comments about the big debate on Skye???

Jenny Marra said that we would be retaining Trident in Scotland because Salmond would be using Trident negotiations to get a shared currency. I thought there was definately not going to be a currency union, absolutely definately not…. Her implication was that there WOULD be a currency union because we would not be getting rid of Trident.

John Boyle….. WTF was that? If that was the best they could come up with from the business community for the No side, we’ve got no worries! I could have come over far better than that for No, and I’m a total Yes!

I don’t want to appear complacent, but I reckon that audience was at least 75% YES. 🙂

BBC bias. The audience knew it too. The public are not as stupid or ill informed as I feared. Well, at least not on Skye.

I enjoyed the programme anyway. 🙂

76. chipmonkey

@Thepnr I’ve been wondering about the set up for Seafest. Will there be any display boards for posters/ poster sized printed up articles for people to have a read at?

I’m hoping to get some of the NHS for yes leaflets to bring and wonder about poster sized version as well.

77. Paula Rose

@ Leather clad man aka Tartan Tory – we win this by inspiring our folk to embrace reality.

78. WeeGingerDug

Ronnie came for a wee visit tonight and we took a photie of a Dug wi Wings. http://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2014/07/08/indy-pet-dance/

Send the dug a pic of your Yes pet and I’ll add it to the page to celebrate Indy Pet Dance.

79. Ian Brotherhood

To hell with the politicians, pundits and bawbaggers.

This is what it’s all about:

Final scene from ‘Papillon’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XGWXmxmaoE

80. CameronB Brodie

Bugger that Ian. IMHO, the required ‘leap of faith’ is nowhere near that daunting, though I have been questioning the validity of the British state since 1979. 🙂

81. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    “Call me cynical but i think I could have produced a much more balanced programme.”

Ever thought of making your own? 🙂

82. Thepnr

Jees get in the queue.

@Brian Doonthetoon
    I can get to the venue Friday around 13:30 do you fancy meeting me there? Saturday 9th Aug sounds like a good idea as a few of us will be in the area for the Seafest.

@chipmonkey
    Hadn’t planned any poster size prints yet but that is a great idea, don’t need many as we won’t be giving these away. As you say stick them up around the gazebo. I can get the Wings and Aye Right ones done. Can you do the NHS?

PS I would appreciate your email send it to thepnr@mailinator.com

@Oneironaut
    Maybe one day and there are the people with the required skills right here on Wings.

83. Thepnr

Here’s my bedtime song. one for the masses.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njG7p6CSbCU

84. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Unfortunately, I will earning a crust at that time.
    Due to one member of staff (team of 4) being on holiday, I can’t get time off.
    I don’t arrive ‘doon the toon’ until after 5.

If you need any info, fire off an email to me at:-

brian@doonthetoon.BUMFLUFFplus.com
    (Remove BUMFLUFF for correct email address.)

85. Thepnr

Sent you an email.

86. Brian Doonthetoon

Got your email ok Thepnr.

87. DocFin

Pure genius. Pooling and sharing of the highest order: Tory MP Laurence Robertson (Tewkesbury) calls for a UK football team in light of England’s poor display. Home nations should ‘come together’ ‘to allow outstanding British players’ a chance to play in the World Cup. Oh, bless him.

88. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Quinie frae Angus

That wee thing wee were talking aboot.

DialMforMurdo on the Guardian is the cove; nae names, nae pack drill.

89. Michael McCabe

Just been reading the posts over on the Pensioner Jackpot. So here is a tune for all the Older Wingers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6iqzi7N2Ds&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

90. heraldnomore

Some good stuff here Stu, in the latest Aye Mag from Yes Clydesdale. Great pics from Yes in the Park.

But my favourite piece has to be, if you flick through to page 22, a fine article, The Sunset Empire, from Craig Dalziel. It would make a fine guest post.

http://www.yesclydesdale.org/magazine/magazine.html

91. heraldnomore

edit, Dalzell, sorry Craig.

92. Quinie frae Angus

@Conan the Librarian

Thank you for that.

93. Tartan Tory

Have any of you fine people told people in the Yes camp that I’m a feeble and hungry soul wasting away to nothing???

The reason I ask is that yesterday I got two VIP invitations for food…..

The first was to be one of fifteen at a Business for Scotland lunch in Edinburgh at the Scotch Whisky Association (they have obviously not been ‘bullied’ to provide this!) and the second was to be a VIP at a Yes Scotland dinner in Glasgow.

I don’t get excited at being called VIP, since the last time it was presented to me as being a vulgar, ignorant, p***k. In retrospect, with some self-analysis I think this is probably close to the mark, buy hey-ho.

The later has offered me a table of ten (black tie) at an frightening cost of £900. This is a 10% discount over the £100pp price. Anybody here fancy chipping-in and putting on a party frock? I imagine that Paula could be pretty fetching in a cocktail dress!!! Guest speaker is Alex Salmond, so I suppose it could be fun! 😉

94. Tartan Tory

Sorry about the grammatical errors above. Bottle of red last night, fell asleep on the couch while ‘debating’ indy on FaceBook and now still not quite awake!…

95. Ian Brotherhood

Perhaps Project Fear is ready to start using some of this stuff:

The 100 Greatest Movie Threats Of All Time :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbIlLmCID5g

96. Tartan Tory

No posts since mid-day?….. Is it something I said? 🙁

97. Michael McCabe

Its been Awfully Quiet on of topic lately. Anyway here is a Song for the life. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhopBY09864&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

98. Thepnr

@Tartan Tory
    Hey don’t you go getting a complex now 🙂

@Michael McCabe
    Another good song. Cheers.

99. Ian Brotherhood

@Tartan Tory/Michael McCabe/Thepnr –

Is this the lull before the proverbial?

It’s as if everyone’s taking a collective huge breath, sucking it in…

100. Tartan Tory

Thepnr says:
    Hey don’t you go getting a complex now

I went to the doctors in Brechin today. He listened intently for several minutes and then diagnosed me as being paranoid!

Well, he didn’t actually say that, but I could tell he was thinking it…… 😉

101. Michael McCabe

@ Tartan Tory Remember you are never alone with Schizophrenia. Here is a wee song to help you sleep at Night. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xADo-4Gg0HQ&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

102. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I think that is exactly what it is. BT have been very quiet the past week or so, other than the usual pish. Today was a laugh for example we got cross border energy and then oil from OBR.

Pretty week stuff, they definitely are of the opinion that if it’s said often enough it must be true. They really didn’t expect there would be anybody there to debunk their ideas since they knew they had the media sown up.

Tough titties eh!

103. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

A positive note on which to end this evening mister.

More power to ye, as always.

Nichty-nicht.

104. gerry parker

Very good read here.
    http://www.golemxiv.co.uk/2014/07/disloyal/

105. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    “BT have been very quiet the past week or so, other than the usual pish.”

Saving up the rest of their pish for a big event perhaps?

Noticed on my calendar here, Monday 14th is listed as a N. Irish holiday called “Orangemen’s Day”. In light of recent events, something about that strikes me as slightly ominous…

Anyways, gotta go. I have a massive backlog of Yes newspapers still to be delivered in Stevenston that got dumped in my lap after the other volunteers went M.I.A.

Busy weekend ahead… 🙂

106. CameronB Brofie

I am born in Dundee, yadda-yadda, and I will move my feet to return Scotland’s government where it belongs. 🙂

The Triumphs – Burnt Biscuits
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_OqRuShMno&list=RDx_OqRuShMno

Oscar Mack – Don’t Be Afraid of Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osdPe2tQIAU

Chips – You Make Me Feel So Good
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSoXiYWc5os

107. X_Sticks

Wha’s thon CameronB Brofie? Ah dinna think I ken them 😉

108. Paula Rose

Yo – back on line after glitches and bursting with news – tomorrow Brechin hosts a Harley-Davidson event, you know- big boy’s playthings, anyway at the beginning of the week – No Yes stall.

Now we have one! Lots of lovely leather clad boys with throbbing engines between their legs- can’t wait!

Tartan Tory, darling will I see you there! All wingers welcome!

109. Oneironaut

Thanks to Paula Rose for inspiring today’s music link.
    Definitely was born to be wild! 😉 hehe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cs9gYJXM2IA

110. Paula Rose

I feel like this every time I meet one of you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9jmusgMgro

111. Jock Scot

Hi

Favour requested, if anyone spots Nana Smith on here or anywhere in Wingsland,could you ask her to get Norman to check his e.mail for a link. Thank you very much…

Whilst I’m here may I chip in the music thread with this. Hate Meatloaf but think Todd Rundgren is,… well nearly as wonderful as Paula and there are guitars sounding like motorbikes and shit..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q9hLcRU5wE4

112. ronnie anderson

Any body got Kendomacaroonbar,s Email addy.

113. Michael McCabe

@ Ronnie Anderson Kendomacaroonbar,s Email addy over on Scottish media rediscovers voice 8:21pm

114. Quinie frae Angus

@Paula Rose

Wow, a Harley do in Brechin with hairy bikers? Now that I’d love to go to.

Unfortunately I can’t, I’m sorry. Just saying I’d love to.

115. pete the camera

@Quinie frae Angus says:

@Paula Rose

Wow, a Harley do in Brechin with hairy bikers? Now that I’d love to go to.

Your missing out on the Giant Slide as well Quinie frae Angus

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/news/local/angus-the-mearns/ticket-to-slide-brechin-planning-200m-street-water-slide-1.386316

116. Oneironaut

@pete the camera
    Highlight of the day – A motorbike race down the water slide?

Brechin is quite a bit out of my range, but I’d hitch-hike all the way there just to see that! hehe 🙂

117. Paula Rose

Darlings! Leather, wetness and Aye Right leaflets in a thousand hands!

118. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s another scene from ‘Papillon’.

‘A Wasted Life’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGpMLIayQEo

119. stonefaction

Something to watch out for tonight on the T in the Park coverage. Paolo Nutini – Iron Sky (the lyrics suggest he may be supporting independence). Looking forward to seeing the response to that song from the crowd at Balado. His set is on from 10pm I believe.

120. K1

To the rotten establishment and it’s placemen in the media who have caused untold harm to the people of these isles with their hypocritical corrupt laws and policies. While they have indulged in every conceivable depavity and are at heart the maintaining cause of much of our social ills, they have presented themselves as ‘role models’. Capitalising on ignorance and ill education they have promoted the overarching world view of ‘greed is good’ from which we, in Scotland, are now on the brink of escaping.

Your days are numbered, your narrative has been revealed for what it is; a sorry tale of lost boys whose souls were consumed by an insatiable greed for power. It’s too late to be sorry.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v2MX8_oq1Q4

121. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Sorry if I appear really ignorant, but that singer is new to me.

Karine Polwart?

Seriously. Never heard of her before. That’s what I totally LOVE about this place – I’ve never spent more than a few hours on it without discovering something completely new, especially music-wise.

So, cheers!

And, stonefaction, totally with you on that one – gaun yersel’ Paulo, let’s hear it loud and proud.

122. Nana Smith

Jock Scot [Yew Choob] latest song, with a little help from a friend.

Please share….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnBecBNmM4Q

123. Thepnr

Better Together getting the message across as only they can. Taking my lead from Ian. B above this is Paul Newman. Cool Hand Luke.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fuDDqU6n4o&index=2&list=PLF25d9s9gnpVacWLE7LURs0R6

124. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

Superb. Well done you, and Jock, et al (whoever he is).

Surely there’s enough YewChoob stuff for an album now?

125. K1

Ian,

Agreed, learn something new on here everyday…

She also wrote an aritcle for the Scotsman in February 2013:

https://archive.today/muouo

And this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7fFzcXP3OM

126. Thepnr

Nana

That was great, your famous now and will be listened too in 300 years time.

Jock puts your lyrics over as only he can. The visuals as always are superb. Why don’t Yes Scotland use visuals as good as these?

127. Paula Rose

New Yew Choob vid – honeys I am in awe, widely circulated already, Jock dear – your promise of a reflexology 69 is sooooo tempting xx

128. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Thanks Ian….there are another 5 verses which Jock hopes to get done for a part 2. All depends on how much time he has. He’s a pretty busy & talented guy.

By the way so are you, very impressed with your media appearance on a newsnet article. Came across very well I must say.

129. Nana Smith

@Thepnr

Jock is a talented chap for sure. Another 5 verses still to come, if he gets the time.

Glad you liked my effort…

130. Paula Rose

Nana Smith – my fondest regards, that is so good.

131. Thepnr

Nana

Your right about the Ian Brotherhood persona in front of a camera, seen two or three now and he’s always good. There’s a good one on here where he is handing out SSP leaflets on a cold winter night outside a Better Together meeting.

I can’t find it, maybe Ian will provide the link. I’d watch it again if he does. Goan Ian.

132. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

You know how to flatter a man.

Anyway, as it happens, I posted that very link on the ‘They Are Legion’ thread a few minutes ago…weird or what, eh?

133. Nana Smith

@Paula Rose

You are so kind, hope to meet you sometime!

@Thepnr

Would like to see that. We are in dire need of ‘real’ people in front of the cameras instead of the crud we see and hear each day.

134. Paula Rose

I love warming Ian up after a long day – such a wise head on such a young stalk.

135. Paula Rose

Oops – that could be misconstrewed!

136. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Shit, that is impossible!!! I swear I never saw that on the other thread, just reading Nana’s post made me think of your video. Thinking rationally it must be that it made you think the same and that’s why you linked to it.

There is no such thing as coincidence except when there is.

137. Paula Rose

@ Nana – where do you reside honey?

138. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Liked this bit, “between 62 and 67% remember where you heard that first”

139. Nana Smith

@Paula Rose

Invergordon for the past 23yrs. I was born and raised in Stornoway. The island of the Marag Dubh.

140. Thepnr

OK since tomorrow is World Cup final day here’s an “old” video from March 2008. It’s goals of Messi brilliantly edited to music by Pearljam.

Can you believe that this video is made up of clips before he even reaches 21 years of age. Oh and Celtic and Rangers also feature…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZnUr8lcqjo

141. Paula Rose

Still footie happening?

142. Paula Rose

OMG – Nana, best black pudding in the entire universe!

143. Paula Rose

Time to share a goddess

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyCVxPEPx5Y

144. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Dem time-stamps don’t lie mister!

It’s synchronicity!

The Police, ‘Synchronicity II’ (AKA The ‘Scottish Lake Song’) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQ8jsqJHVLk

145. Paula Rose

I heard it somewhere…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyCVxPEPx5Y

146. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Tut Tut. Same one as before. See I do watch them 🙂

147. Paula Rose

Oh embarrassment darlings – the clits

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQxvo_9DEqY

148. Paula Rose

eek more faux pas

149. Thepnr

Hey Paula

Sad to hear today about the passing away of the last surviving member of the Ramones, only 62 as well, I guess they partied a lot. Here they are in London 1977, were you there?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Huo_KNYUFZw

150. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – this dear?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nlX7P0nhaI

151. Paula Rose

Oh HONEY great minds think a like!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uReGn1l4ir8

152. goldenayr

Paula Rose,Ian Brotherhood

The best black pudding is wee Eddies in Aultbea.

Sting agrees.

153. Paula Rose

goldenayr – are you taking the michael?

154. Paula Rose

sting? – ludicrous

155. Thepnr

It’s a simple question. Yes or No. Would you take the red pill or the blue pill? Your choice.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQ1_IbFFbzA

156. Michael McCabe

Ian Brotherhood I Knowyou are old enough to remember this. Enjoy. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ws0MnVlQn8g&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

157. goldenayr

Aultbea black pudding,whether its Eddies or the butcher who is sadly now closed,wipes the floor of Stornoway or Orkney.

And I might be ludicrous but my claim is not.

158. Ian Brotherhood

Where the fuck is everyone?!

If we keep on at this rate, Rev won’t have to post anything ever again, or if he does, it’ll be as a ‘Comment’ on ‘Off-Topic’.

159. Thepnr

Ian take a chill pill. Preferably a red one 🙂

160. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Nice one, 63%.

161. goldenayr

Ian

Holidays(kids) and the Brazil/Holland game.

162. Paula Rose

Oh dear – now, step by step, my dear goldenayr I curtsey to your greater knowledge xx, Ian darling, temper dear xx, Thepnr – darling take a green one xx

163. Paula Rose

63% – anyone ken how to place a bet? No stopping us now.

164. Michael McCabe

For Thepnr and Paula Rose and all the other saints from Wings Over Scotland. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4p5HFrgRGg&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

165. goldenayr

Paula Rose

I you want to take a short cut,go by Achnasheen and pop into the Gareloch butcher.A very good second to Aultbea and the best steak pies,turkey,chicken crowns there are.

If you want venison,keep heading north from Garve and just punch their lights out at the side of the road.

I’ll garralluch them for you.

166. Michael McCabe

67%

167. Paula Rose

Goldenayr – you are so kind xx

168. Paula Rose

Mr Michael McCabe – my heart sings xx

169. goldenayr

Paula Rose

I usually keep the sweet meats,this time they’re yours. 🙂

170. Paula Rose

btw I’m wrapped up in Tartan Tory’s leather at the moment! yum

171. Paula Rose

btw I’m wrapped up in Tartan Tory’s leather at the moment! yum

172. Paula Rose

So good I said it twice!!

173. Paula Rose

Sweet meats? Bliss, my tongue is all yours!

174. Paula Rose

And still no footage of TJenny at T in the paddling pool – yet another example of MSM bias, that lady is more awesome than moi.

175. Paula Rose

End of empire darlings…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1zci07Kono

176. goldenayr

Paula Rose

You weren’t joking about daft talk.

Y’d soon change y’re tune if you met me.

177. Paula Rose

goldenayr – can’t wait honey!

178. goldenayr

Paula Rose

One day when you’re blind and desperate,I

179. goldenayr

Paula Rose

One day when you’re desperate,I’ll take you up on it.

180. Paula Rose

goldenayr – for you doll

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aabojNSensw

181. Paula Rose

Fortunately we don’t have this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhbqbeCYn30

182. goldenayr

I remember watching that on the OGWT.

My Dad tut-tutted but didn’t turn over,even when I called him old fashioned and incapable of appreciation.

I miss the old warmongering sod.

183. Paula Rose

I miss so many people who would cheer as we determine our future – your old man seems to have hidden virtues.

184. Paula Rose

Sorry missed ‘had’ – x

185. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

Bang-on mister.

Ali?

Too much…too much…the man is still alive as well.

Remember this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQ8jsqJHVLk

186. goldenayr

We are a family of Jacobites.

Dispossessed of our lands after the ’45,like so many others.

Didn’t stop him caring for his comrades and charges,he was an officer,during his NS.

Fought alongside Mad Mitch and the Palestinians,even after they were sold out.

Funny how you don’t realise what you’ve got till it’s gone.

187. Paula Rose

Goldenayr – I love the fact that we are a nation, our attitude is one of peace,, love and understanding. There is a golden air about us.

188. goldenayr

Paula Rose

I prefer “ayr”,it means “song”.

And I should quantify that when the union is gone…I won’t miss it.

189. goldenayr

Paula Rose

Heard him practice it under Neils oak.

Thank you for the memory.

190. X_Sticks

@Jock Scot

Easily best one yet Jock. But that’s probably because of Nana’s excellent reworking of that ol’toon. 😀

@Nana

Getting stalked by Paula Rose there Nana. Just be careful’s all I’m saying 😉

191. Paula Rose

@ X_Sticks and the lovely goldenayr – I love you all! btw the gorgeous Jock is coming to practise his reflexology skills – I’ll let you ken.

192. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood better together NO THANKS Want to take us back to this, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usYgf8cVfvU&feature=player_detailpage They can go and Themselves. Vote Yes.

193. Paula Rose

Its all quite simple – talk to people who have children, explain the future, we will do this if we follow the simple instruction – explain to one other.

194. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

Cheers.

Your link brought me to this. Knew the song, never saw the video. Unbelievable, how young those lads were when they were making this music. Genius:

UB40, ‘Red Red Wine’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXt56MB-3vc

195. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Same song different Version. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tEAPbjcvsww&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

196. Nana Smith

@X_Sticks

Dinna be worrying yersel aboot me. I’m no young thing as an old hubby will no doubt testify to that….hahahaha

I enjoyed reworking Dylan’s best and there is another 5 verses still to come if Jock finds the time. Will be good if he does as there is one verse regarding the british broadcasting corruption.
    It’s gone down well with folks who have heard it so here’s hoping…..

197. X_Sticks

I’m not really worried Nana, I know Paula is a gentle soul in spite of all her bluster. as far as I know it’s only us boys that are in danger when Paula get her heels on 😉

I hope Jock can manage to get the ‘extended’ version done, he’s done a cracking job on it so far, definitely the best yet.

198. Brian Doonthetoon

Just been on ‘Scotland’s Talk-in’, where I managed to get a plug in for wingsoverscotland.com, in connection with the pensions letter that is on the site.

I read out the pertinent first half of the letter and pointed out that all the myths about pensions had already been busted but keep being repeated.

199. ronnie anderson

@ Nana Smith, just catching up on posts over the weekend

was with Thepnr yesterday,he told me about your song,

brilliant A Big Tammy Doff Tae YOU & tae Jock Scot & Ninja.

To Wee, To Poor,To Stupid. Ah bet their kicking

theirselves the left oot TALENT.

200. Nana Smith

@ronnie Anderson

Thank you Ronnie,your kind comments mean a lot. Hoping Jock finds time to do the second half.

201. Thepnr

K1 loved the Genesis one, some great songs being posted, where can I find the BT equivalent?
    This is not on the official BT playlist but mibbe should be.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDDJeM5R4PM

202. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr. I hope you got into your work today, a lot of activeity in the Docks last night Polis Security, this commonwealth games security has overkill, an it isna even Glesga

203. Thepnr

@ronnie anderson

Yeah got in OK, never noticed anything that might have went on earlier. Thanks for coming through yesterday and bring the Wings plaques and all the Aye Right leaflets.

204. Tartan Tory

@ Paula Rose

Sorry if you’ve been missing me honey! No leather for me today. The Hardleys in Brechin aren’t my sort of thing! I was displaying 4-wheeled automobillia at the Glamis Extravaganza and have spent the last two nights as a guest of Lord Strathmore….. Not as posh as it sounds as I’ve been sleeping in a tent on the grass in front of the castle!

There was a group of a dozen with me and the Yes camp had a landslide. On ONE no voter in the group so he got exilled from the BBQ area! 🙂

205. CameronB Brodie

No matter what ointments I apply, Project Fear just refuses to go away. These probably won’t clear it up, but here are some tunes you probably won’t have heard of before. You might not hear them again, assuming you check them out in the first place. 🙂

The 5 Jones Boys – Mr. Ghost Goes To Town
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lyu1FkPgLo8

Terry Noland – There Was A Fungus Among Us
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZertLKIz-bs

Screamin Jay Hawkins – I Put A Spell On You
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=orNpH6iyokI

206. Paula Rose

Tartan Tory dear – I do hope you gave him some lettuce, we do not want hungry people.

207. Thepnr

Wee tune…for hungry people.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFZP8zQ5kzk

208. Thepnr

We need to vote YES to help them.

209. K1

Don’t dream it’s over…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7Sr1wItsD0

210. gerry parker

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28276525

They’ll be promising the moon next.

211. Oneironaut

Dunno if anyone here is from Kilwinning or can get there easily.
    Thought I’d draw attention to this anyway…

The Queen’s Baton Relay will be passing through Kilwinning via the old Abbey Tower at around 1:20pm on Tuesday 15th.

(Got an E-mail from the folks at the archery club there whose historical links to the town got them selected to act as sort of an “honour guard” to accompany the relay through Kilwinning. They’re not sure if they’ll be allowed to carry arrows though, so you don’t need to worry about being shot at! hehe).

Apparently there’s a strong possibility that the BBC will be along to add appropriate unionist bias to the proceedings.
    So it may be technically possible to strategically position a few people with Yes badges or banners around so that it’s impossible for them to get a good camera angle without including at least one Yes in the background. (Not that I’m suggesting people set out on such horrific acts of intimidation! 😉 Not at all!)

(But if you do, be sure to take your own video as evidence, just in case the BBC try to get you hustled out of there, or try to photoshop the Yes banners out of their film!)

212. gerry parker

@Oneironaut,

Watch out for Saltires here

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-scotland-28245618

213. gerry parker

@12:38. Saltire and Lion being waved vigourously. Well done girls.

214. Thepnr

We’ll soon be home!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GimLuOUVkxg

215. gerry parker

@ bugger, tears running doon ma leg.

216. Ian Brotherhood

@BTP –

!! 🙂

217. Ian Brotherhood

Who remembers ‘Ygorra’ magazine? The Glasgow Uni Students fundraising mag. Don’t know if it’s still going…

‘Ygorra’ could be a useful prefix:

YgorraGOYA = ‘you’ve got to get off your arse’

YgorraDIY = ‘You’ve got to do it yourself’

YgorraRegistertoVote…etc etc

It’s the ‘Y’ at the start that helps link it to Yes. Obvious, but simple, and could be effective as and when we see genuine graffiti appearing.

218. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

YgorraGOYA = ‘you’ve got to get off your arse’ Nails it for me.

219. X_Sticks

Ha ha Bugger, that made me laugh.

220. Cactus

Dunno if anybuddies played this one yet, but here’s the advert that was used to promote a popular alcoholic beverage made in Scotland:

Something So Real (The Chinheads) ~ by Love Decree
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpF5AnWNhgg

221. Paula Rose

Too serious boys – lets have some love…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9krvMqLnc5U

222. Cactus

On the same theme Paula Rose..

Be My Baby ~ By Vanessa Paradis:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZC7PMp-2Qs

223. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

re ‘Je t’aime’ –

I well remember you singing that, in Dundee, as Thepnr played his mini-accordion, while we were all outside ‘Jolly’s’ having a fag.

Those fleeting, fractured glimpses will stay with me for many years…

224. Michael McCabe

Here is Someone French Singing about Love. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D6PSLQ9MJoU&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

225. Michael McCabe

And here is Someone Scottish with a song for Paula Rose. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_KINMYnSQU&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

226. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Bugger

Choked.

227. Ian Brotherhood

For no particular reason…it’s just wonderful (although the sound quality isn’t great) –

Bob Marley, ‘Redemption Song’ (acoustic):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFGgbT_VasI

228. Michael McCabe

I Just Love a Pretty Face. Good Song too mind You.www.youtube.com/watch?v=QP5JBYdrGvk&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

229. Michael McCabe

If at First You don’t Succeed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QP5JBYdrGvk&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

230. goldenayr

We’ve been putting up signs in Perth and Kinross at the entrances to villages and towns.Even put one on the A9 south of Ballanluig.

If anyones interested in doing the same in other areas,go here.

https://www.facebook.com/YesPerthKinross?hc_location=timeline

231. goldenayr

Sorry,should have said scroll down to the 6th July entry.

232. ronnie anderson

@Kininvie, could we make a arrangement to meet up, we

have a Signed Wings Banner for the Rev, I can drive to

Bathgate anytime you say.

233. Douglas Macdonald

There is an on-line poll on the referendum and social attitudes to it on the Scottish Times website (www.scottishtimes.com), which may be of interest. It won’t take more than ten minutes to complete. My profound apologies, if someone else has posted this already.

234. TJenny

Douglas Macdonald – thanks for the link to the poll. There were only 5 voters on when I started and 30 when I left it. Most of the %s were high for pro indy answers and the other 25 folk may well be Wingers, ‘though it’s a wee bit late for us to vote en masse. Perhaps you should post the link again on a new thread tomorrow. 🙂

235. Michael McCabe

Scottish Times Survey now 43 Yes 30 No 9 Undecideds 3 Cant Vote 1 Vote Yes.

236. Michael McCabe

I Can Feel it in the Air. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHa096VQ8FE&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

237. Alex Taylor

Hi All

Message for Braco if anyone can get in touch with him.

At the end of the ‘If we’d brought Parkinson’ thread he asked where he could get more Aye Right business cards. I’m the man to see about that (though there may be others) so here’s my email address:

ecktaylor@btinternet.com

I’ve only a few hundred left (Braco’s most welcome to them) but the printer I used has the details and can get them printed up quickly and fairly reasonably.

Cheers

238. Thepnr

@Alex Taylor

I’m sure you’ll hear soon. Well done for offering them, they are very useful. I was in the Co-op the other day and spoke with the woman serving me. I couldn’t resist it as she was such a cheery girl.

I asked “are you voting Yes” she said “what” “the referendum will you vote yes?” “Absolutely” she said, I handed her half a dozen cards and said, “pass them to the rest of the staff”.

And to think that we have yet to begin to fight!

239. Thistle

Hi people
    Just to say thanks for the Edinburgh WoS donation 🙂

Just to let you know we are setting up 2 events for August that are going to be interesting and one more cool one if we can manage it. Will keep you informed.

Doing a live stream in Edinburgh on Mon 21st…

240. ronnie anderson

@Douglas Macdonald, did that poll duplication of the questions with different wording ( a lawyers trick )

241. Michael McCabe

To lift your spirits. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmYZEFq8JhU&list=WL&feature=player_detailpage Cheers. Vote Yes.

242. Michael McCabe

So Sad to hear about Flight MH17 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mc7LT8vLsGs&feature=player_detailpage Rest in Peace.

243. braco

Alex Taylor,
    Thanks so much for min. Just got in myself tonight so sorry for not being able to answer you earlier. Will email you tomorrow morning as soon as I get a moment. Once again thanks to you and to everyone else that’s been trying to help me with this. What a team! How can we lose?
    Cheers again and talk soon.

244. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Still on the ball I see and the standard isn’t slipping. Cheers

245. Thepnr

Time is running out, don’t delay and do your bit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bk57K4OGrAg

246. Bugger (the Panda)

I am posting this a bit early bit, it is for all the boys and girls of the late Night Playschool, especially the gals of a certain age. Conan can look too.

It is in French, subtitled in English but it is superbly a visual joke too.

Nightol

http://www.youtube.com/embed/_CwHrJt8Oz8?rel=0

247. Thepnr

@Bugger (the Panda

hahaha class!

248. galamcennalath

@goldenayr

Great sign!

http://tinyurl.com/bigyesscot

249. goldenayr

galamcennalath

You should see them up.Will get some photos and post them.

250. braco

Cal ma pal,
    Send it to largsyesshop(at)hushmail(dot)com. I just opened it so you will be the first email. Looking forward to it. Cheers min!

251. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Bugger

Nothing new there for me, I sleep with a granny every night of the week…

252. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Conan

But does she look like a 35 year old?

253. Paula Rose

Harold and Maud – a great movie, I taught that young man everything!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ndlaF0MpSqs

254. cal

Braco, I’ve just sent you an e-mail.

255. chipmonkey

@galamcennalath 2:17 pm and @goldenayr
    I’m a green yes now. Jealous of the sign! Brilliant.(Our trees have a couple of window posters tied up in them and our wall has leaflets under stones.)

256. goldenayr

chipmonkey

Get your local YES group to order one and stick it your garden.

257. goldenayr

Right guys,needing some help here.

I’m looking for an already compiled list of pro indy sites to print out for leafleting/canvassing.

Anybody got one?

258. Paula Rose

If you must…

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=tn_tnmn

259. Paula Rose

damn wrong link – ignore

260. Paula Rose

I think this is the one…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ey2id_Nvm7g

261. Chipmonkey

Goldenayr have you tried http://www.indyposterboy.info They have leaflets ready which I’m using which have sites on them and you can get 100 I think for £6.50 incl post and packaging.

Ps…think our house may BE the local yes group:-) Know of other YES supporters of course. Maybe I’ll try Kirrie for a sign.

262. Michael McCabe

No Particular reason other than I like it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=UqdGHm79R_4 Vote Yes.

263. Michael McCabe

First it was Hands across the Border. Now it’s Walk along the Border. What next ? Hokey Cokey for the Union. You put your expenses claim in. You take your mortgage payments out. You Squander Scotlands oil wealth and tell them it’s worth nowt. Pass me the Trough for my snout. Oh Scotland we love you. Honest Scotland we love you. Please Scotland we need you. Of that you can have no Doubt. Vote Yes.

264. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Israel isn’t a Semitic state.

This is not so strange, because what one is talking about are in reality two entirely different forms of political philosophy with the same name — anti-Semitism. Contrary to received opinion, there is nothing in common between anti-Zionism and anti-Semitism. Certainly the Zionist movement has deliberately confused the two, but the former is a form of anti-racism whereas the latter is a form of racism. There can be no blurring at the edges or overlap. One is either an anti-Semite or an anti-Zionist. One cannot be both.

http://electronicintifada.net/content/israels-anti-semitic-friends/8516

265. CameronB Brodie

Churchill viewed the Zionists as potential colonists on behalf of the British Empire, but this idea did not linger long; even after Britain took on the League of Nations mandate he never viewed Palestine as part of the empire (and it technically was not). The interest the Zionists served was not that of the British Empire but of Western civilization as a whole. This was a fine but significant distinction. So powerful was the civilizational argument for Churchill that to him it overrode whatever historical
    claims a people might have. Any group that did not properly develop land; advance science, literature, or philosophy; or introduce liberal laws, culture, and institutions on their land—in other words, contribute to the progress of civilization—in effect mortgaged their right to that land.

http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/excerpts/makovsky_churchill.pdf

266. goldenayr

Chipmonkey

I’m too isolated and only get released to canvas under observation.Maybe they think it’s dangerous to have me mix freely.

I just want to get the message out about the signs,get them up across the country.If it’s been going on elsewhere I must have missed it.

267. cal

Robert Peffers, Bugger The Panda, The Man In The Jar, The Tree Of Liberty

Just read your comments re. Marshall Aid post WWII on the Big Bruvver thread and thought it best to reply here. The idea that Britain was hard done by at this time by not getting any aid is a myth. The long slow decline of industry post 1945 was down in large part to British government arrogance and economic incompetance. What a surprise!
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/modern/marshall_01.shtml

268. Ian Brotherhood

@Cameron B –

Sorry mister, but I’ve been unable to respond to your comments – no access to WOS (or anything else) since approx 8-ish this evening.

I only linked to the Haaretz article because I thought it was an interesting piece.

TBH, I have no idea what ‘Israel’ is.

Whatever ‘it’ is utilises global MSM to make genocide a form of spectator sport.

269. Thepnr

This will cheer you up Ian B

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x8PLjvmiIw

270. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee Song I play when I get sick of listening to the unionist nonsense you cant do this and you cant do that, http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=mA53oREXd6Q Vote Yes.

271. Michael McCabe

For the People who do the canvassing, man the stalls, Give there time freely, Help fund this Website and other good causes. Provide all the links. In other words go the extra mile. I would like to say. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=uiNMz_745vQ Vote Yes And to Rev Stu. Your the Man.

272. goldenayr

Is this how the establishment does business now?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-28370863

273. CameronB Brodie

How about some surf music? Here is some more Finish mastery, I hope it doesn’t give anyone nightmares. 🙂

Laika & The Cosmonauts – Boris the Conductor (live)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jCzjHLzel1w

274. CameronB Brodie

These guys rock. 🙂

Emmaa etsimässä part 2. – Laika And The Cosmonauts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsdO9tCkdEY

275. CameronB Brodie

Blue Stingrays – Brave new world 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVH_L0dVf2U

276. CameronB Brodie

I’m not sure how old this is, sorry.

The City of London debates Scottish independence

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bSGIDNZ50Ho

277. Cactus

Good Sunday morning to you Scotland and afar. I was wondering what the Scottish branch of the CND will do thereafter, when our independence is achieved and the WMD’s are arranged for removal/disposal.. probably celebrate!

Civil War ~ Guns n Roses (War footage)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZHkAMZln7w

X PEACE IS CLOSER X

278. Ian Brotherhood

God help Gaza.

We need independence, if for no other reason than to be free to scream on the international ‘stage’ about what’s happening.

Radiohead, ‘We Suck Young Blood’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t0v8rCZazrA

279. Chic McGregor

Could any of you guys who know how to use twitter consider posting this video there please? I am clueless about twitter but I think this video might help the cause.

We have some friends of our son Ewen staying with us in Kirriemuir on holiday from Finland. They are an intelligent and talented bunch of kids and I took the opportunity to ask them about Scottish independence. This is a video from my tablet I took of that ‘interview’. It follows a very good jamming session where they came up with what I think is a very good ad hoc composition.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqcccEWM-Ow

280. Jim McIntosh

My guess is that if we get 77.5% turnout.

That way if we win it will be the best £500 I’ve ever thrown away, if we lose I can get drunk for a month :).

Oh! wait what happens if we win I’ll still want to get drunk for a month…back to Ladbrokes.

281. Jim McIntosh

My guess is that if we get 77.5% turnout it will be a walkover for YES. So I’ve just been to Ladbrokes and put £500 at 10/11 on the turnout being >77.5%.

That way if we win it will be the best £500 I’ve ever thrown away, if we lose I can get drunk for a month :).

Oh! wait what happens if we win I’ll still want to get drunk for a month…back to Ladbrokes

282. Thepnr

Update on the Arbroath Seafest for all the volunteers. My cheque was cashed Friday past so I expect some communication this week as to where our pitch is ect.

Message for Tartan Tory, get the car decorated, even if we can’t get it next to the gazebo we can park it prominently elsewhere. Are you still up for getting the kids balloons?

283. Thepnr

This weekend I had a friend and his wife staying who are from Louisiana. Yesterday I took them to Anstruther and a boat to the seabird sanctuary “Isle of May” in the Forth.

I also took them to Scotlands Secret Bunker where in a room devoted to CND I picked up 3 leaflets all pro Yes from the CND point of view. Worthwhile me requesting more of these for Seafest? Any thoughts appreciated, not just from us who will man the stall.

284. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    One of the undecideds I talked to today, had been totally bamboozled by the whole ‘debate’. She said she couldn’t believe anyone and didn’t know which way to go. I suggested that it was unlikely she would ever be in possession of all the facts and that it might help to keep it simple. I then asked her if she was in favour of Trident and it’s replacement and suggested a Yes will remove them from Scotland. She hadn’t looked at things that way and was pretty enthusiastic about getting rid of them. Wait until I tell her about the oil off the west coast. 😉

285. Bob Sinclair

Thepnr
    Given that the removal of trident is absolutely a priority I would say yes, get those leaflets.

Slightly off your thread, but my Sister, who up until now refused to discuss finally took the plunge and let me explain the Yes stance. Removing Trident was absolutely a key point which she agreed with. After a lot of attempts I think i’ve finally got her crossing over to our side.

This is something I would not have been able to do without the support and advice i’ve recieved from all the brilliant wingers out there

286. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr Badges taken care of Wings Alert Reader,Im on The List,& Thanks to Kendomacaroonbar Ceramic Wings Badges & Ceramic key chain trolly Coins. did you get the Saltire’s.

287. Thepnr

@ronnie anderson

Aye ronnie I sure did, thanks. Got them on Friday but as I said been busy taking care of guests this weekend.

The good news is we also went to Pitlochry on Saturday, saw so many Saltires and giant Yes signs in peoples gardens.

On one of the Yes signs some wee twat had wrote NO in felt pen hahaha. Going there lifted my spirits as I have always viewed the area as fertile ground for a No vote.

Now I’m not so sure!

288. gerry parker

@ Thepnr.
    Thanks for the update.

289. kendomacaroonbar

@Ronnie,

Sent you an e-mail this a.m. I have brand new WoS button badges for you to hand out at the forthcoming events.

Need to work out how to get them to you in time.

290. CameronB Brodie

What hope Gasa?

Yeah Yeah Noh – Blood Soup (John Peel Session 1986-01-19)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iqezptZZ8Y

291. CameronB Brodie

I meant Gaza, doh.

292. Michael McCabe

A wee bit of Boogie for all you Yessers out there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=5eiQTFcFPDY Vote Yes.

293. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    I happily give way Michael. I think you’ve got a more accessible groove there. 😉

294. Thepnr

Hey Michael

Lesley-Anne is gonna love this. Expect kisses thrown you way 🙂

295. Lesley-Anne

Oooh! Ya little beauty!

How’d you know I’d be drawn over here to listen to that one Michael. I love you. XXXX 😉

296. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

My sister lives between Straloch and Enochdhu in Strathardle, 7 miles from Pitlochry, over the Moulin Moor.
    All of the extended family (8), in Pitlochry, Blairgowrie, Perth and Strathardle, are YES.

297. Rock

Jim McIntosh,

“My guess is that if we get 77.5% turnout it will be a walkover for YES.”

Based on a rough calculation I did more than 2 years ago, I concluded that Yes would win with 55% of the vote on a 75% turnout.

But the grassroots campaign might result in a turnout approaching 80%.

298. Rock

55% in the absence of rigging that is.

299. Michael McCabe

After a Yes Vote. This song is for Lamont, Rennie, Davidson, and Cameron. No not our lovely CameronB. The Cameron that lost the Union. The words fit them to a tee. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN3AIp2bi8Y&feature=player_detailpage If that’s not enough to make you vote Yes. My money is on a Yes Win by 67% Hello to all the Wingers out there.

300. Michael McCabe

@Thepnr When and Where is Seafest taking place ? I might take a wee trip through.

301. Michael McCabe

@ Lesley-Anne Forget Rory the Tory and his Stones. I am a Rock Man and this ones for You. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=fbeBo-6UPBs Sorry Its Posted so late. But you can catch it later on Today. Vote Yes.

302. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th August.

303. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    “On one of the Yes signs some wee twat had wrote NO in felt pen hahaha.”

That happens to every Yes sign that goes up in North Ayrshire.
    Probably the same ones putting “Naw” stickers up everywhere.

With the increasing frequency of cars with Yes stickers on them, I’d thought this area was starting to come to its senses (especially since it’s far from being a rich area).
    But in recent months I’ve been having serious doubts about the people around here.
    I hesitate to use the word “brainwashed”, but there I just did!

Hopefully the free thinkers will outnumber the drones when it comes down to the final count.

304. Ninja Penguin

Can’t remember who suggested this (maybe TJenny or Lesley-Anne?) but here’s Yew Choob’s take on Radio Ga Ga http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcHq5U_ZdiY

305. Tartan Tory

@ Thepnr

Working on decals for the car as we speak. As for the balloons, all I need is an invoice! Give me a call if you want to discuss anything. 😉

As far as the car is concerned, I’m afraid it will have to be AT the stand, or not at all. It doesn’t lock, it doesn’t need a key to start it (!) and I can’t leave it sitting anywhere on display unless I’m VERY close by. Without putting too fine a point on it, the car has cost me more than I paid for my house!!!

People may be wondering what this is all about, so perhaps I should explain. As well as being a fervent Yes man, I am also a bit of a ‘petrolhead’. The car we are talking about has been described as my ‘life’s ambition’. It’s a bit special to most people with even a passing interest in 4-wheelled automobillia and, as such, it’s a bit of a crowd-puller. I suggested to Thepnr that I could bring it along to the Arbroath Seafest as a promotional item and have it covered in Wings/Yes decals.

If anyone is in the slightest bit interested in the story behind the car, or indeed the vehicle itself, have a look at the following link, but be warned… To read the whole thing needs an hour and a cup of coffee!:

http://www.classic-audi.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=14759

306. Jock Scot

Yew Choob says..”Credit and thanks to everyone involved in the making/suggestion of BBC Blah Blah”.

Special credit and thanks to our unsung heroes Nod and my sister Janet Scot.. see you Sunday

307. Brotyboy

Tartan Tory

You are a complete nutcase.

Well done. Hope to see the car sometime.

308. Tartan Tory

Thank-you Brotyboy! I have previously noted your Gravitar image and guessed that there must be at least one more ‘petrolhead’ in here! 😉

309. Oneironaut

@Tartan Tory
    ooo, nice car! 😀

Being a computer tech, I’d go for something a bit more “Knight Rider” myself 😉

310. TJenny

Jock + YCs, I too hope to be at PQ on Sunday, and after listening to your fab ‘Radio Blah, Blah’, which is an excellent depiction of all that’s wrong with ‘Aunty’, I think we should all sing it on Sunday.

As I suspect it’s too late to get permission (like we’d get it :-() for a big screen to show the whole vid, would it be a good idea if those of us going who have printers (I unfortunately don’t), could print out pages of the lyrics to be distributed throughout the crowd, for those who may no have seen the vid, with Jock, Nod et al at the microphone? Shurely we couldn’t get bad press for, gulp, singing, could we?

Lesley – Anne – I hope you’re getting in full voice for the chorus, if not the verse: D although I agree with you that sometimes older eyes (or should that be ayes?) don’t find it easy to follow the lyrics whilst viewing the background.
    (posted on other thread too).

311. Jock Scot

@ T Jenny

Thank you for your kind words on behalf of myself and the YC’s. Don’t know if your idea would be feasible or may put noses out of joint,(I expect Sunday to be a rather emotional affair) but a nice image none the less. Thanks again for being an inspiration and helping to feed a Ninja Penguin and provide Janet and Nod with the opportunity to show what they can do. As I was trying to explain to Ronnie in the Newsroom … the most important thing to remember and respect, is that it is the person with the original idea who deserves the credit cos without them…. So hats off to us all.

312. Quentin Quale

Still laughing at Stu’s Positivity Overload on main page but this is how to lovebomb
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WyCS7ZR4X-Q&index=19&list=PLD7D13FBD8A0E7572

313. Ian Brotherhood

Could someone with the necessary skills please do a ‘Downfall’ type script to accompany this scene from Team America, where Gary vomits?

A lot of us have really had enough of the BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKS shite…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvMduWKHNpY

314. Michael McCabe

This Guy can sing with Feeling. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PFCekeoSTwg&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

315. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    ‘Downfall’ type script? Not too sure what that means…

Surprised BT haven’t made their own remix of the Team America theme song actually. They need all the positivity they can scrape together between them after all (which isn’t much!)

@TJenny + Jock Scot
    Maybe see you there on Sunday! 😀

316. Bugger (the Panda)

@ cameron brodie, thepnr,ian brotherhood and any body else.

I subscribe to an online blog by the ICBJ which is a campaigning group of journalists.

This is what landed in my inbox and again made me think of dirty USA and UK tricks.

http://www.icij.org/blog/2014/07/my-bloody-brush-americas-secret-foreign-policy?utm_source=email&utm_campaign=newsletter&utm_medium=icij-email

I am on my tablet so no tinyurls available.

Note how they are looking for a crusading story to investigate. Any ideas where they could find that.

I believe they worked with the Guardian on the offshore bank details of moves and shakers and have made an interesting interactive programme.

BtP

317. Thepnr

@Bugger (the Panda)

There is no doubt that there is a story to be told. Whether it will be told now or after the games is anyone’s guess.

As much as I would like it to happen it would be a real surprise if the hypocrisy, lies and propaganda were to be exposed before the referendum.

Maybe in the unlikely event of a No vote something will come out just when everyone is at their lowest point about 2 years after the vote that will make the No voters feel even worse.

On a positive note I drive around 40 mile each way to work everyday and just recently their is not a day that i do not see a car without a Yes in the window. I never see a No. Getting visible is the answer, it is looking like the Yessers are not afraid nor embarrassed to show openly their support.

I still believe it will be over 55% and I don’t think I’m naive.

318. Thepnr

A wee tune for those who’s youth left them in the early 70’s 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MR699ItcMjU

319. Ian Brotherhood

@BtP –

I had a brief look at the link you provided, but will have to revisit.

TBH, I’m still stunned by the pish I’ve just listened to via Radio Scotland, and am not at all sure how the general ‘public’ (in Scotland) will react to what’s happened.

320. Bugger (the Panda)

Here is another for my fans

http://www.corruptglasgow2014.com/

Have fun chickadees.

BtP

321. scaredy cat

Hi all

Is anybody going to the Yestival closing party in Stirling next Saturday? It’s a free event. Live music/DJs/spoken word. Sounds like it might be fun.

322. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – trust the vibes 63%, like me you talk to folk, there is no scaredy yes, if they say yes they mean yes.

323. Nana Smith

@Bugger (the Panda

Bloody Bloody Hell. I knew there was corruption in that council but good grief. This should be copied and put through every door in Glasgow.

If I were a Glaswegian reading that would make me vote Yes. {I live in the Highlands and no doubt there are plenty underhand goings on in our council as well]

324. Paula Rose

Pumeza – oh what lovely songs we sing, just watched “come freedom”.

325. Brian Doonthetoon

BtP – that was an interesting read.

Has the link been sent to Private Eye?

They’re quite good at that sort of nonsense…

326. Michael McCabe

A Wee tune to chill out to. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IaxjSeIwNUE&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

327. Jock Scot

Try this before you go to sleep to de-program yourself from any contact with the BBC..

Courtesy of Yew Choob,

Sleep well folks.

328. Jock Scot

That will look like a stupid post if the you tube link doesn’t appear

What I was trying to post was BBC Blah Blah

http://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=wcHq5U_ZdiY&feature=vm

329. Defo

Michael McCabe. Thanks for the reply, yes I could do with a lift mate. Or I can take my car if you want to go halfs on petrol. Email- scott.luke1@btinternet.com
    Drop me an email, and i’ll send my mobile no.
    No way i’m putting that on a public forum. 😉

Cheers. ‘Defo’

330. Michael McCabe

Hi Defo I have sent you a Email its from mcccat88 that’s me. Await your reply. Cheers.

331. Patrician

for thos who don’t do twitter, new headwear for Sundays PQ3 demo:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10473839/IMAG0301.jpg

and ronnie waves a saltire we will have for the kiddies, these ones have the same flag on both sides:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10473839/IMG_20140719_203030.jpg

332. Bugger (the Panda)

Brian Doonthetoon

Normally PE take articles from journalists in Scotland who cannot get their copy published in Scotland, as they do in London from disgruntled Fleet Street scribblers.

I hold out no hope that will ever happen.

There is another printed magazine called the Digger and it charts the criminal connections in the West of Scotland with local political figures.

I was in Glasgow recently and bought a copy.

It was shocking, both in the extent of these criminal gangs and their ability to infiltrate one political party.

One funny snippet was the appearance of a gang in the Glasgow area which specialised in ripping off other drugs gangs of their money. Their modus operandi was to swarm the gang in their territory when the were cash rich, blindfold them and take them for a drive in the country, threaten them with guns and then dump them miles from home.

These victims would suddenly lose all memory of what took place and thus be unable to furnish any details to the Polis.

The Polis had a file open on these acts called “Alien Abductions”

Doo dee doo doo doo!

We are not alone.

333. Cactus

Good evening Scottish soireé people.

@goldenayr ~ I left a reply for ya at the end of Stu’s recent IAQ’s article, apology not required, all good 🙂

Thought I’d let you know here, as the main threads are filling up exceedingly fast in case you missed it in the recent comments, cheers.

Whose gonna start-up the jukebox this Friday night then?

334. Michael McCabe

I Am happy with oven chips. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQxNL-95uOs&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

335. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

You never fail! Great as always, readers never skip a McCabe link. At least so far he’s bound to run out of quality soon!!

336. Thepnr

I’ve got to say well done to the swimmer dan wallace on getting his gold and for having the balls in the heat of the moment to cry “For Freedom”.

The mood in the Scotland Athletes camp seems very pro-indy judging by the You Tube video of them all singing Flower of Scotland before entering Celtic Park for the opening ceremony.

These games, I now see are going to be a major boost to the Yes campaign, let’s hope we can build on that after they finish right up to voting day. I’m cock-a-hoop. Whoo Whoo.

337. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Are you going to PQ3 on Sunday ? Hope you can make it. Thanks for the kind words. This one is for you and all the other Wingers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WY6zBMvCgJ8&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

338. Thepnr

Michael I can’t make it work is getting in the way. I haven’t watched your last post yet but here’s one for Dan Wallace and the rest of us.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6VgorXyTcY

339. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Cheers for that. And hats off to Dan Wallace that took Athleticism and Balls to say what he did. And I think he might have started a ball Rolling. Lets hope so. Will Catch you at Seafest.

340. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael & Thepnr –

Great stuff.

There’s something in the air, and it reminds me of this:

Sham 69, ‘If The Kids Are United’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GQMIXGRjaw

341. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I can remember chanting that myself. I think my two grown up kids feel the same. They have both recently changed their facebook profile picture to one with a big YES stuck on it LOL. I’m chuffed to bits.

342. Michael McCabe

There is Something in the air alright. Positivity. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOWO–z1S8A&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

343. Thepnr

Michael

haha, very smart. I expected this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0FvWFpU_uAw

The YES campaign IS the In crowd, your on the right side, we are all in the “in crowd”. I’m in a bloody good mood 🙂

344. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good moods are infectious!

Check this one out. One of the first albums I ever bought was Talking Heads, ‘Remain In Light’. Popped into my head earlier after reading your comment, so I looked it up and found this ‘live’ version of one of the tracks – never saw it before.

Not sure if I’ve ever seen any band in such an obviously good ‘mood’ while playing, and it shows. Fabulous stuff, and Tina Weymouth? What a total babe.

You’re right to be in a good mood mister. We are getting there, and all the pieces are falling into place without us having to do an awful lot – that’s because the ground was already fertile, and the seeds were planted at the right time, by various folk, at different times, over the past century. We’ve played a very small part in it, but should be rightly proud.

Keep the heid abody – we’re nearly there.

Talking Heads, ‘Crosseyed And Painless’ (live, Rome, 1980)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6g8lFmsCXhg

345. Michael McCabe

To Follow you Thepnr. And How we are going to win. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1B6IZgW_wig&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

346. Michael McCabe

To Follow you Ian Brotherhood. We might not get another chance so we should take it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7pVjl4Rrtc&feature=player_detailpage Are you going to PQ3 Ian ? Hope to see you there. Vote Yes.

347. Thepnr

Thanks Ian and Michael all good. Must get a kip now, work tomorrow. Night.

348. Michael McCabe

I Used to think the BBC was good. Now this is what I think of them. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Alrv5SOfQPo&feature=player_detailpage Found A Lot of Good People on Wings Over Scotland Though. Good Night Folks. Vote Yes.

349. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

FFS, that was great. Another newbie for me.

What a performer David Byrne is. Shamanic material.

350. Paula Rose

Ian honey – any more united kiddies and I will get very annoyed.

351. Oneironaut

Found a nice upbeat one… 🙂

“Ready Set Go it’s time to run,
    The sky is changing, we are one,
    Together we can make it while the world is crashing down,
    Don’t you turn around…”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U42cm7pi-G4

“Leave it all behind you now,
    The final wall is breaking down,
    We are what it’s all about,
    Nothing can stop us now!”

352. Oneironaut

@Hood
    By the way, are there any of those 400mm Wings logo metal cutouts left?

353. Brian Doonthetoon

Michael McCabe says:
    25 July, 2014 at 11:11 pm

There is Something in the air alright. Positivity.

I was expecting this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VK_6TU1T7V8

354. JGedd

Family member at local Wicker Man Festival now says that the atmosphere is good and full of Yes flags and enthusiastic Yessers.

355. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

There are two Wings plaques left which were kept for the raffle at the next Wings night out.

356. Paula Rose

Oneironaut and Thepnr – I am ok about my beloved wings thingy being re-homed.

357. Paula Rose

There is no greater love that I have than for my lovely friends here xxx

358. Thepnr

Paula

I hope you hang onto it. A fitting memento of these times and there’s not long now.

359. Paula Rose

Thepnr dear – so looking forward to our outing by the sea xx

360. Paula Rose

Chatted with various SNP politicians last night- they are unconcerned about postal votes and confident about the future.

361. Paula Rose

btw Thepnr honey – mum-in-law voting yes?

362. Ian Brotherhood

Just thought of a more concise word for the BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKers – ‘Nawbags’!

363. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Working on it, just showed her this picture of her granddaughters new facebook profile:

http://i804.photobucket.com/albums/yy321/Thepnr/Yes_zps92f4e7d7.jpg

I’m chipping away lol, week to go.

364. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

First we had UKOK, then Nob Orders. Now we have Nawbags! Brilliant their paid publicists are doing a grand job. For YES.

365. Michael McCabe

Brian Doonthetoon at 1:00pm Good Song Great Era. Here is one from that Era. For what its worth. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gp5JCrSXkJY&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

366. Tam Jardine

Heading through to the protest the morn – hope to see a few familiar faces. 1pm kickoff I believe. Sounds like tube to Ibrox is best? Sorry you canny make it Thepnr

367. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I have heard no less a media luminary as Stuart Cosgrove using ‘bawbag’ as a verb e.g. ‘…he was bawbagging on about this, that and whatever…’

So, we have ‘Nawbag’ (noun) which is, obviously, a bawbag who supports the BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKS camp. And we also have ‘Nawbaggery’ (another noun) which is any form of deceptive, misleading, or blatantly biased discourse aimed at bolstering a ‘No’ vote.

But the verb form could be useful:

‘Mr Darling nawbagged magnificently, until presented with any semblance of facts…’

368. Ian Brotherhood

Regular WOS readers are accustomed to seeing ‘Unionist Of The Week/Month’ etc.

The same nominees can be also described as ‘Nawbies’.

369. Brian Doonthetoon

I posted this in the comments after the “Non-Political Games’ thread but I’m gonna post it here as well, coz I’m well p!$$€d off!

————————————————
    I posted this on my Facebook timeline, a wee while ago…
    ————————————————

And they wonder why we Scots get uppitty!
    I had BBC1 on a wee while ago, while I was updating myself Facebook-wise.

I happened to catch Claire Balding coming out with this….
    Now, you’ve got to remember that ‘BBC’ stands for ‘British Broadcasting Corporation’, ie it is SUPPOSED to represent “Britain’ – it’s not SUPPOSED to be the ‘English Broadcasting Corporation’.

During this chat show type format programme, broadcast live from BBC Scotlandshire’s HQ at Pacific Quay in Glasgow, after the live coverage of what’s been going on in the Commonwealth Games tonight, she had the ignorance, or the audacity, to come out with this utterance,.
    I quote directly from the broadcast…

“And they are here tonight. Give them a huge round of applause. OUR mixed team triathalon gold medalists, from ENGLAND!”

This is BBC1, which is broadcast all over the UK, including in the host country of the Commonwealth Games, Scotland.
    And the British establishment just doesn’t get why they are giein’ us the dreh boke????

18th September can’t come soon enough for us to get rid of this patronising twaddle from the UK establishment.

VOTE YES!!!

370. Michael McCabe

Found This on You Tube. Think its Rather good. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BtuBJaoD3oY&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

371. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Ah ok. If that’s in Glasgow, I might try my luck at getting one on the night 🙂

Had an idea I was tinkering with for the Pacific Quay demo that the Wings plaque would have gone nicely with, but having trouble getting hold of some of the other required materials.
    Techno-magical trickery is hard when you’re skint!

@Paula Rose
    Definitely! You should keep that as a souvenir, a little reminder of a time when we all made history! 😀

372. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee song for Everyone going to Protest Tomorrow. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfTlGMCeuDE&feature=player_detailpage See you all there. Vote Yes.

373. Cal

Don’t know why but something wrong with my formatting of the address for the archived copy I made of the Herald article about how Westminster is downplaying value of N.Sea oil. If you want to print it off to show undecided on the doorstep the address is:

https(colon)(forward slash)(forward slash)archive(dot)today(forward slash)(forward slash)KEZ7o

374. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    I hadn’t heard Hannah Grace before. Cheers, she is something special and I’m pretty sure Innes sounded more like Dylan than the man himself. Nice one. 😉

375. TJenny

Unfortunately can’t make it through to PQ today. 🙁

So here’s another version of (one of my favourite songs), as posted above ‘I’d Rather Go Blind’, this time from Christine Perfect + Chickenshack. Enjoy and good luck at the demo folks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ohx9Ve7-GS0

376. CameronB Brodie

TJenny
    Don’t stress and enjoy what comes. 😉
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D36JUfE1oYk

377. TJenny

CameronB – thanks but not stressed. 🙂 I’m watching it on the livestream. Jock Scott from Yew Choob’s just been on singing Radio Bla, Blah, with lyric sheets handed round the crowd, it sounded no too bad and crowd were enthusiasticlly signing away. I joined in from home of course. Interested to see the numbers, as everyone’s been given a numbered card.

378. Cactus

@Thistle ~ Many thanks for Independence Live at PQ3 today.. that was necessary.

Maybe our friend, Rev. Stuart would consider premièring some or all of it for you / us, for the world to see?

379. Paula Rose

Thepnr and Tartan Tory – any news on the car? I want an historic ride.

380. Paula Rose

Sorry dears – that could be misconstrued.

381. Paula Rose

Smut – the lovely boy playing bass

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wKztxnvLiE

382. Cactus

That’s a pure belter of a video Miss Rose, especially like the way they have an American Saltire in the background, wink wink 🙂

Welcome back to all the new and recent undecided readers, it doesn’t take long to learn, your turn..

383. Paula Rose

Cactus honey – the Rev allows us to play here, I think it very important we only comment on the main threads if we are making a pertinent point. This is so very important – agree?

384. Paula Rose

@ All my friends – same point as I made to Cactus, fun here, but let us leave the main threads for serious discussion, I am sure that is the Rev’s point after my flippant comment.

385. Cactus

Completely. The readers will find their way here to play anyways, XX marks the spot everyone.

Main articles = Related comments
    Off-topic = Anything goes (within reason)

Dedication:

Anything Goes ~ Gun’s N Roses
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pEnLNWoln1c

386. Paula Rose

Cactus honey – I might lie down next to you next time xx

387. Tam Jardine

TJenny

Re future plans for gathering, there has been talk of Dundee which is a little far for me. Also Glasgow. My own view is we should be looking at WOS 5 dundee, 6 glasgow,7 edinburgh and maybe even 8 and 9 if someone can pick it up in North (fort william/inverness) and south (dumfries).

Doesn’t need to be a hundred folk and some could be done simultaneously.

1 ubergig if is appealing but not fair on those outwith the central belt.

Time is running out – need some suggestions of venues. And a Saturday appeals to me.
    Just my thoughts – all it takes is for a few undecided to come along and it’s worth the hassle. It also would be lovely to see you all again x

388. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

I think I prefer this more reflective “Anything Goes”…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sDyWhgWj7Pc

389. Jock Scot

Thought I had laughed and smiled as much as I could today Paula, but Stu’s “Oi you”,was priceless.
    Cactus..cheers dude..shite singing but I wisnae the only one..Such a shame I didn’t get to see you both today..same with TJenny, hope you are cool my friend..Thanks for the kind comments.

To the rest of you guys who are wonderful to us, Thepnr,Rab the doubter, Mr and Mrs King and the rest of the Wingers I would like to say it is a great privilidge to be a part of something so inspring.

Credit to Thistle and the Indy Live crew.

Nana and Norman Smith..your names are on the Wings banner as requested.

Cheers

390. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

Regarding future get-the-githers, how about we select a centrally located camping/caravan site, take it over, and have a proper all-nighter/weekender? Either that, or a sympathetic landowner could let us use a secluded acre or two? (Kind of Bohemian Grove thing going on there though – we’d need a 25-foot tall WOS sculpture.)

My only beef with the nights I’ve attended is that they simply fly-in.

391. Bob Sinclair

Link I posted above not working, will try again when I can.

392. Bob Sinclair

Ian, that’s a damn good idea.

393. Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

I like it – take over a couple of acres, we all move in, build a compound and await the coming of Rev Stu

I struggle to get out for a few hours never mind overnight but I know where you are coming from.

394. Paula Rose

Sorry darlings – irresistible…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDtRRdpDd2g

395. scaredy cat

Jock Scot

Singing was great.

Is anyone going to the Yestival closing party in Stirling on Saturday?

396. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

What a carry-on right enough..

The following could be useful for footage of Nawbags at and about their business – ‘comic’ sound effects. My personal favourite is at 1.19.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwDE9gFPThY

397. Jock Scot

Scaredy Cat..so glad I met you and your wee yin today..Wings was certainly well represented and maybe next time we meet we can have a chat, last few times have been hectic but so much fun.

398. Patrician

PQ3 today, some images:
    http://imgur.com/a/FckAj

Again, if you do not want to appear in any of these photos please let me know.

399. Ian Brotherhood

@Patrician –

Cheers. Great images, and good to see some familiar coupons. (Really hacked I couldn’t go, but ’twas not to be.)

400. Patrician

everyone really needs to look at the final photo. This hasn’t been photoshopped and that is ronnie anderson’s car, with him driving.

401. ronnie anderson

Sorry people operchancity missed in the last photo am giving up wearing ma Alert badge,back to training school fur me.

402. Cactus

Brian Doonthetoon ~ liked your alternative ‘Anything Goes’, could be a re-mix in the making!

Miss Rose ~ sounds good.. be forewarned though, I always wear my hat and boots whilst horizontal 🙂

Jock Scot ~ maybe we’ll get a chance to have a jam at the next sociable..

Ian Brotherhood ~ great idea for a weekend country gathering, tent is ever-ready.. somewhere down by a riverside? We could build a camp-fire hehe! This is our summertime after all.

403. Paula Rose

Gactus honey, we are all still laughing! How much longer will you persist in the idea that the sainted moi would choose to nestle up to your slenderness?

404. Paula Rose

Gactus honet – that was a C.

405. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

But you always get an ‘A’ for Effort.

406. Paula Rose

Ian honey! always an ‘A’ from me doll xx

407. Paula Rose

I don’t think the Rev likes smut – hardly surpriing, nevermind…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8z2M_hpoPwk

408. Defo

Re Guyana weekend suggestion, is it BYO Kool-aid, or is the good Reverend going to be expected to oblige ?

Have Project Fear actually managed to coral those who threaten us from space !

409. Defo

“somewhere down by a riverside?”

Floors castle has a lovely wee lawn running down to the Tweed.
    Is anyone here pally with the Duke of Roxburghe ?
    Maybe met him at Eton, or Magdalene ?

410. Cactus

Miss Rose, you are quite the tease, help me out here X-Sticks..? Cheers, Gactus Honet 🙂

411. Jim Thomson

@Thepnr

Betty Boop and I are still OK to help with the stall next weekend. Has anyone sorted out a “duty roster”? It would be a bit awkward if we all turned up and couldn’t fit in 😉

We are available from late Friday right through to close of play Sunday.

How are things with info materials? We also have quite a few YES balloons and sticks that we can bring. If we need more, that can be arranged.

412. Jim Thomson

… and, of course, I REALLY meant weekend after next (9th & 10th)

Just back from holiday and still trying to get head calendar sorted :-/

413. X_Sticks

@Cactus

Me? Not sure I would want to get between you and Paula Rose, with those cuban heels and stillettos it could get dangerous.

I thought you two were snuggling up at TJenny’s after the Newsroom. That’s the rumour I heard anyways 😉

That said we all know how profligate our Paula can be when there’s a Yes vote to be had.

Haven’t had much time to keep up this weekend, great turnout at PQ and big credits to all who made it there. I couldn’t make this one, but hoping to make the next. It won’t change the bbc, but is probably helping them to keep more honest than they would like to be.

Maybe tonight I’ll get a chance to watch the LiveIndy footage.

414. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “we’d need a 25-foot tall WOS sculpture”

Like one made out of wicker, that we can lock Tories inside and set it on fire while we all dance around it singing? 😀

415. Jim Thomson

The Sea Fest has a facebook page http://www.facebook.com/arbroathseafest?fref=ts, which is where most of the current information seems to be located (their website, and that of Red Pepper Events, are a wee bit scant on detail).

There is a map of the event site on a leaflet here: http://www.facebook.com/arbroathseafest/photos/pb.372913508565.-2207520000.1406543431./10152590400223566/?type=1&theater

I’ve photo-shopped out the ads around the periphery of the map and placed a copy of that here: http://www.dropbox.com/s/n05nldcvru9bidp/Arbroath%20Sea%20Fest%20map%20%28cropped%29.jpg

I’ve also asked Red Pepper if they can provide a list of attendees/exhibitors and a “proper” site map with the exhibitors shown. I wait with bated breath for their reply 🙂

416. Jim Thomson

@Oneironaut 11:51

Is that environmentally friendly? All that hot air and dross being spewed into the atmosphere?

I’m sure young Mr Harvey would have something to say …;-)

417. Jim Thomson

Just had a response from Red Pepper – they don’t release any information on who has stalls or where they are located.

Just turn up and enjoy, it seems.

418. Paula Rose

@ X_Sticks – very sticky ground you are negotiating dear, those claims by young Cactus are sweet, but really!

419. ronnie anderson

Hi lads n lassies ronnie logging in from Maryhill food bank. I have given Julie £400 donation from the wings BBC Demo.

To all the Wingers on WOS sincere thanks for the money given it will make a big difference to the families in Greater Maryhill. Keep up the good work that you are all doing.

Julie Webster

420. Jim Thomson

Excellent result Ronnie.

I hope they get their premises either free or at a significantly knocked down rate. I’ve read about the Glasgow slab group charging full rates for some other foodbanks.

421. Jim Thomson

@Thepnr – do you have a stall with an electricity supply?

Any word on the Rev’s wee Blue Book? Would that be available for the fest?

422. Bob Sinclair

Great news about the fund raising. The generosity of people was staggering.

The sad thing is that this is only a drop in the ocean but we know it will be put to good use.

I for one do not want to spend my remaining days asking people to donate so that a family can survive for another week, this nonsense has to be stopped and the people responsible for poverty in the UK held to account in a criminal court.

The ONLY chance we have of putting an end to this is a big loud resounding YES.

423. You and My Comb

@kendomacaroonbar

Hi
    We met at the Helensburgh yes opening. I was really pleased that you came and hope to meet up in the future. The idea of a Wings night at the Clyde Bar in Helensburgh sounds great to the largely silent Wings followers in the area.

Thanks for the badges. Feel free to drop by the office for a coffee.
    Richard

424. Jock Scot

Major chuffed moment from PQ3 when Ronnie called me over and introduced me to the Polis as a Winger…one for the C.V. methinks

I mentioned to the male officer that I thought that since the introduction of Police Scotland that the force had undergone a redefining of itself and he thought it was a good point and when I asked him how we had done re our behaviour ..he said we had done well and had attracted quite a few passers by to come and join us

What a feckin’ fabulous day..cheers tae aw the wingers

http://37.media.tumblr.com/4b61c962a7129bd630fc961457703118/tumblr_n9fj02LTlQ1r4f6woo6_1280.jpg

425. Paula Rose

Jock dear – you are a credit to our nation xx.

426. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie –

What a tremendous gesture. That message from Julie Webster is proof that what we’re doing is right.

FWIW, I reckon that Julie could, in a refreshed Scotland, be a serious politician, in the mould of the original Labour Party socialists. (I wish we could claim her for the SSP, but for all I know she may already be a member!)

More power to all of ye who did PQ3 – fantastic work.

427. X_Sticks

Tiptoeing with every fibre of my being here Paula Rose 😉

428. Jock Scot

Hi X-sticks..think you’ll be ok..think Paula’s having a lie doon

429. Jock Scot

Paula you say the kindest things… x

430. X_Sticks

@Jock

That’s when she’s at her most dangerous 😉

431. Ian Brotherhood

@Jock Scot –

That snap of you and Ronnie with the Old Bill is fantastic, and potentially priceless as and when the big guns turn on any WOS-related activity.

Definitely one to keep, right alongside that of the two officers posing happily with the PQ2 Pandas.

We’re building up quite the photo-gallery, eh?

‘History in the making…’

432. Ian Brotherhood

Watching a stoned-looking Alistair Darling (on the latest thread) reminded me of this ‘educational film’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkcQZFU-OJE

433. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just posted this on another topic (the-non-political-games) but I thought I’d share it here, coz I know yooz like some muzak, now and again.
    ————————————————

donald anderson says:
    28 July, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Thanks Brian. I was beginning to think I was the last Scottish Rebel with all this nicey, nicey approach.

Och, eh’m no’ really a rebel! I first heard that song in a local ‘clubbie’ in the early 70s and it appealed to my growing sense of ‘Scottishness’.

As a DJ, I snuck it it in, over the years, at various functions when I thought ‘this’ll work’.

Like this one…
    We used to do parties for the local Labour Party in Dundee, in one of the organisers’ houses. I HAD to buy this album, because it was requested so much.

I guess it shows how the attitudes of the Labour Party have changed since the 70s and left their traditional support at the side of the pavey. This track still gives me shivers up the spine…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNcpoyxjY18

434. Paula Rose

Darlings! I’ve got a twatter thingy! You can fawn over me at Paula Honey Rose how fab. I’ve already been talking to some big cheeses.

435. Patrician

@ caz-m

I have added your photos to http://imgur.com/a/FckAj album.

I have been informed by imgur that someone has been trying to hack the account, I have therefore updated the password to be 50 characters in length, best of luck trying guess the 80 characters used.

436. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

It’s ‘Twitter’, actually.

‘Twatter’ should only be used if you’re deliberately looking for people to rub you up (one way or t’other).

And who do be these big cheeses you tell of?

437. Paula Rose

Some character called Blair Mac Dougal and a Duncan Hotherthingy and a wee lad called McTernan.

438. Jock Scot

At X_Sticks

Whoops she awake and I see what you mean…although if her twatter thing keeps her distracted…oops better not speak too soon

Paula..don’t forget about us, as you will obviously attract so much desire with your Twatter that they may take you away from us

At Ian…yeah no doubt if the Daily Mail get their hands on it, we will be held up as an example of vile and nasty cybernats hassling the Polis..you can, to be fair, see all that hatred in the faces..hope we meet up soon.

439. Paula Rose

And Mac Dougal likes cornish yarg and membrillo – who’d have thought!

440. Paula Rose

And the Rev is hunting for smut in the wilds of Somerset!

441. Taranaich

Pal of mine just spent half an hour on Twitter arguing with someone who demanded to know the annual costs set up in the White Paper & where they’d get the money. Apparently page numbers to individual costs weren’t enough, he wanted complete collation & costing handed to him on a silver platter. Quite how he expects anyone to possibly know annual costs with any certainty beyond 5 years, let alone 10 or more, is beyond me, but sometimes I despair.

442. cal

Over at Wee Ginger Dug there’s a link to a really heartening interview with a lovely Loyalist lady from Bathgate. Well worth a listen-what a heroine! The OO is a sinister organisation. Many who support it are NOT. A large contingent of the Tartan Army are Rangers supporters. There is a rich vein of Yes support here. Drove through Larkhall recently. It is festooned with Saltires!

443. ronnie anderson

@ Cmon Lads n Lasses KENDO M BAR asked for a Wings Nite

out in Helensburgh> Im up for it, & the work Kendo,s done

he needs our support.

444. Jim Thomson

Liking the new photie Ronnie 🙂

445. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson,Thanks to Gerry & Jim for the photo,will get the Wings banner included in a update.

Spent most all day at Maryhill foodbank with Jackie One of Julie,s voluntears,& it would drive you to Tears to deal with some of those People,no money, no food,NO HOPE, I hope we can give them a BETTER FUTURE.

Did a shop with Julie & two of the women at Tesco last night 8pm, that was the bright spot of the day, a laugh a min,thats the only way those voluntears could cope to lift their spirits or they would crack up dealing with dispondency day in day out.

Most of what Wings donated of the £400 GONE in one Trip
    round Tesco, then pulling the 3 Trollys across Maryhill Rd to the Foodbank, then stocking the shelves, 10.20pm finnish.

Anyone in or around Maryhill can give any help as a Volunteer contact Julie through the Maryhill F/Book, Twitter page.

There is also a Furnature store,so if your disguarding any old furnature, keep in mind Maryhill, Thanks.

446. X_Sticks

@ronnie

Sterling effort ronnie. I’m proud of the WoSsers getting behind Maryhill. The real Common Weal in action.

We CAN make a better Scotland, we just need to win our sovereignty back first.

447. Robert Peffers

@ronnie anderson says: 29 July, 2014 at 11:18 am:

“Spent most all day at Maryhill foodbank with Jackie One of Julie,s volunteers,& it would drive you to Tears to deal with some of those People,no money, no food,NO HOPE, I hope we can give them a BETTER FUTURE.”

What breaks my heart, Ronnie, is the realisation that the Maryhill Food-bank, and its wonderful volunteers, are not unique but can be replicated in every major area throughout our nation. It worries me, though, how those in our more remote areas manage. Isolated as they so often are.

I’m more or less housebound myself, only able to go as far as I can return if I get the warning a bad turn is coming on, (I get around a 20/30 minute warning sign). I have a wee adapted camper-van that allows me a bit more distance but the downside of that is, if a turn comes on, it can last for a very long time. During one such bad turn I spent over 19 hours in an isolated lay-by that had no mobile phone signal to allow me to get help.

So knowing the kind of problems disabled and isolated folks suffer, I worry for my fellow Scots in our more remote areas. May all our efforts to gain our independence succeed and we then build a better Scotland for all The People of Scotland.

Mair power tae yer elby Ronnie, Scotland needs mair like ye.

448. You and My Comb

Is there a list of local foodbanks that we can support? Presumably other people in other localities need this kind of help?

449. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie Anderson

At long last, I see the hut. Still no wheels on it though!

Well done at Maryhill, Ronnie. I am certain you would have helped lift the spirits too and that would be important for the volunteers.

Shame on those who have brought so many people to this level of dependency. If there was only one thing that should make people realise that we need a better political direction, food banks should do it.

Onward to September.

450. Cactus

@Robert Peffers, 19 hours in isolation.. that’s a frightening experience, respect to you. Oor Ian Brotherhood made suggestion of a weekend Wings get-the-gither, possibly camping/caracamper-van.. if suitable, would you maybe consider joining us if the plan comes the-gither?

Ye see, there be many friendly feathers that form the wings of WoS.. we look out for each other 🙂

451. Cactus

Also, kendomacaroonbar / ronnie anderson ~ If the chosen date is suitable, I’m up for Wings at the Clyde (Helensburgh).

“It’s, down by the riverside, down by the River Clyde”.

452. Bob Sinclair

Helensburgh wings night – Include me in on that.

453. Bob Sinclair

I reckon Jock Scott should be the first independent Scottish Government Minister of Culture & Media.

454. Paula Rose

He’ll be too busy on his world tour.

455. Cactus

Thought I’d familiarise by suggesting a few soonish dates furradoo wherever:

August
    8th, 9th, 10th (Fri, Sat, Sun)
    15th, 16th, 17th (Fri, Sat, Sun)
    22nd, 23rd, 24th (Fri, Sat, Sun)

Countryside, Helensburgh, Glasgow west-end, Dundee, Edinburgh, your City/town?

456. Patrician

Pics of ronnie anderson delivering the donations from Sundays PQ3 demo:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10473839/2014-07-2816.33.53.jpg
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10473839/2014-07-2816.33.57.jpg

Thanks again to all who donated money and/or time on Sunday.

457. JimnArlene

Cameron nuclear deal behind parliaments back
    theguardian.com/world/defence-and-security-blog/2014/jul/29/nuclear-weapons-us-uk-cooperation

458. Ian Brotherhood

SSP branch meeting earlier this evening, in Irvine – one of the lads told me he did a stall last Saturday, in the Bridgegate, and was astonished at the response.

He shifted far fewer leaflets and SSP ‘Voice’ magazines than usual. The reason? –

“Nah, you’re alright, just keep it son. Ah’m votin’ aye anyroad…”

Anyone who knows the man also knows he isn’t given to exaggeration – he reckons that 80% of the folk he spoke to on Saturday are definite Yessers.

459. Thepnr

@Jim Thomson

Sorry folk for lack of information on Seafest. I’ve been patiently waiting for some kind of confirmation letter from ed Pepper showing details of stall location ect. but so far nothing.

I do have an email from a couple of weeks ago saying “no issues” and the cheque has been cashed. I haven’t got in touch with them since as been working 7 days a week for the last 3 weeks due to the particular job I do.

I will do my best to send you all an update by email tomorrow with regards to how many volunteers we have for one or both days, where our gazebo is and if Tartan Tory can bring his car.

Anyway all will be explained tomorrow. Let’s get stuck in as best we can.

460. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Could you get SSP leaflets to me or one of the others coming to Seafest? More the merrier.

461. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Nice one. Will try to get some stuff to you. Need postal address.

462. Jim Thomson

@Thepnr thanks for the update.

e-mail me at wings (at) whitnoo (dot) com and I’ll pass contact details

463. Paula Rose

So – to stop HS2 – the English home counties rely on a Yes vote in Scotland, or am I missing something?

464. Thepnr

Need more information Paula 🙂 to provide an answer.

465. Tam Jardine

Cactus

Sat 23rd August in Edinburgh or Glasgow guid for me. Big Wings meet or just a missionary pub crawl to talk a few scoopers round and spread the message.

Need some ideas troops – CameronB, TJenny, Ian B, Thepnr, Ronnie – I would love to do something for Yes and help Maryhill FB (and mibbe an Edinburgh equivalent) with some funds but I have no imagination. And I have nae the freedom to go dicking about in a tent unfortunately much as I would love to!

466. Paula Rose

Thepnr dear – so much devastation planned for the English countryside, if they talk to us nicely we can help them out – after we have helped our fellow folk first.

Yes we vote and yes we may well have to help our fellow folk in England, but then I believe the red cross is already.

We have more than one nation to save from the neo-cons!

467. john king

I want to take you into my world
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6-76ep0XfM
    persevere its a long peice but I promise it will be worth it,
    the girl playing trombone with the scrunchie in her hair is in my seat, although I didnt wear a scrunchie, 😉

ps this band could not hold a candle to the band I played in but there is no live recording of us playing this peice.

468. Tam Jardine

Paula Rose

A request for your input obviously requires a seperate post – I don’t want to just include you on a list. Can you think of a way to combine pro yes, drinking, music, companionship with raising some money

469. john king

somebody email me with details of meeting place and date in case I dont get on here for a while, (on holiday and might be away)

470. Paula Rose

Sell tickets Tam dear…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_RZAGnFcI4

471. Thepnr

@john king
    Got you covered mate.

472. john king

Jock Scot says
    “To the rest of you guys who are wonderful to us, Thepnr,Rab the doubter, Mr and Mrs King and the rest of the Wingers I would like to say it is a great privilidge to be a part of something so inspring.”

Gonnie on call me Mr King Jock?
    last time I was addressed like that it was followed by please rise and face the bench. 🙂
    and the only person required to call Irene Mrs King is me 🙁

473. john king

Oh btw ,Irene and i are going to try and make the Seafest. if you need us that is?

474. thewaterbeastie

People – sorry to bother you, but I’m trying to find one of Stu’s bits of data…and for some reason I find that almost always impossible. I’m writing a piece, and trying to reference where in the last survey he referred to people complaining about not having enough information – then indicated that they hadn’t realy tried looking very much for it at all. Unfortunately, in the haze, I cannot even remember when the survey was (some time in March?) never mind the names of the posts in which he delivered the results. Can anybody give me the month, or even a bit of a month (start, middle, end)???

Apologies again… [sobs for uselessness]

475. Paula Rose

Water wotsit – what’s the problem dear? Do try and be a bit more concise, just 50 days to go honey and March was a while back.

476. Nana Smith

@thewaterbeastie

Just above the twitter box [right hand side of page] there is a box for month and a box for category. Try putting in some appropriate words such as ‘survey’

Hope that helps.

477. Ian Brotherhood

Someone please tell me – what is the ‘Seafest’ date?

478. Paula Rose

Sat 9th Sun 10th August

479. Paula Rose

And it’s in Arbroath Ian dear home of the Smokie xx

480. Paula Rose

And if you are a good boy you can sleep on my floor.

481. thewaterbeastie

@Nana Smith – yeah, tried that already – survey brings up loads of spectacularly unrelated returns. I’ve tried a few variants – so I was hoping somebody might recall roughly ‘when’ he was sharing the results of our last survey. Once I have that, it should be quite quick to find the salient group of results posts.

[Sorry not to meet you at the Counting House last time, Paula Rose – was hoping I might have seen you on Sunday…]

482. Nana Smith

@thewaterbeastie

Sorry can’t help.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.