Oh. I see.

Yes, yes, it all makes sense now…..

Bugger.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXatLOWjr-k

2. Michael McCabe

Tinto Chiel is that you turning over a new leaf. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWqFaGwNCMU

3. Tinto Chiel

Heeheehee, Michael!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9zO57kVr0w

4. Cactus

25,000+ comments on off-topic folks.

A new milestone has been reached.

Congratulations and well done Wingers!

Next goal: 50,000 off-topic comments.

5. Robert J. Sutherland

It just struck me, this must surely be the song of the moment:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsCdMpzW97k

“You got the power to make this mean ole world a better place”

6. Tinto Chiel

Or this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rcjpags7JT8

They surely can’t sustain this level of batshit madness for 18 months?

7. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Did you ask, why you?

“Because of You” would be more to the point!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTTjLxXFg0k&ab_channel=SusannahBurton

Peace Always

8. Tinto Chiel

*Still blubbing*

9. Smallaxe

Michael:

My mother found Victor Borge hilarious and passed that feeling on to me.Thank’s for the pleasant memories.Here’s a young guy that I think is a natural at what he does,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTTjLxXFg0k&ab_channel=SusannahBurton

Peace Always

10. Smallaxe

Tinto: My #Manky Mate, cheer up, it looks as if all is well, this news comes from a “trusted source”.

According to the BBC, T.Mays excellently informed and surprisingly bilingual Ambassadors are securing fabulous concessions in their Brexit negotiations with their European counterparts.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7lXAZqxKGQ&t=32s&ab_channel=TheBestCompilations

Peace Always

11. Cactus

Tonight’s Euromillions numbers are:
    03 / 05 / 21 / 36 / 44 (03 / 06)

UK Millionaire Maker Codes:
    TMTK 53465 / XKSK 12014

I got 36.

I’m an International European Scotsman.

Ye know ye gotta be in it, to win it.

12. Tinto Chiel

I loved that some of the best slugging took place on the “Democracy Channel”.

And yes, when I was giving Harvey his lettuce and hay at teatime he confirmed that he’s heard all of the British diplomats’ famed linguistic skills will be required to understand “Take it or leave it, suckers” in 25 languages.

Wie schade!

13. Smallaxe

Tinto:………..: Hi, Cactus and Robert J. up there^. πŸ™‚

I don’t know about, “Take it or leave it”. I imagine it to be more like only two words.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRytxvw0DCc&ab_channel=Geo%27sForumWeapons

Maybe I’m being unfair, negotiations may carry on for a substantial period of time but still come to the same conclusion
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vphA59V-l08&ab_channel=LuthfilLutz

Peace Always

14. Chick McGregor

Brexit – stage, right.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8yjNbcKkNY

15. Scott

MP Craig Mackinlay quizzed over election expenses

A Conservative MP has been interviewed under caution over his election expenses, the BBC understands.

Someone should ask the Tank if he should lose the whip and or is it just SNP members that should happen to.
    Will Brilo be asking him today on DP.

16. Smallaxe

Scot says

“Will Brillo be asking him today on DP?”

Only if the sky turns upside down and T.May joins the SNP!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

17. Nana

@Smallaxe

Thank you for this link. just got round to checking it out.
    http://reinvest.scot/

18. Smallaxe

Nana:

No problem, I thought it was quite comprehensive and an easy read for any layman like myself.

Hopefully, after the council elections, we can redirect this money into investment in renewable energy where IMO it should have been going all along.

Look after yourself, please!

Peace Always

19. Smallaxe

I am invisible, I am writing invisible words on an invisible computer and playing an invisible song that no one can hear.

If you think that you are reading this, see your Doctor!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVVrT_wNw_Y&ab_channel=SkylarGreyVEVO

Peace Always

20. Nana

@Smallaxe

I see you!

I’m watching Paul WGD on livestream, he is a star. Watched Alex Salmond earlier. both links on the main thread if you want to watch.

21. DerekM

Seen this and thought brilliant just what i need next time some idiot talks about building walls lol

https://twitter.com/kingjobbie/status/841388510678515713

22. Shinty

Nana – just watched AS on LBC – what a guy. Hopefully in an iScotland he will have his place as one of Scotland’s true heroes.

Unfortunately can’t ever watch any of the livestream stuff, just ‘buffers’ all the way. Can I do anything to correct this (same with iplayer) yet can watch youtube for hours!?

23. Nana

@Shinty

I get the buffering a lot when watching livestream, I will usually pause it and restart after a minute or so and sometimes that works. It is very frustrating though. I really enjoyed watching Paul tonight.

Alex Salmond is just so cool, and what a memory he has.

24. Smallaxe

Nana:

I will definitely watch both links when I can stay awake long enough. As I said recently I’m back in the land of the zombies at the moment.Very frustrating.

Take care

Peace Always

25. Fred

Good links today Nana, very quiet on here, can only hear snoring!

26. Nana

@Fred

I was wondering what that noise was, thought it might have been Smallaxe singing or Tinto stripping [paint of course]

27. Smallaxe

Nana & Fred:

The noise that you hear is my wife’s new kitten “INDY” purring to the tune of “Freedom Come All Ye” while chewing my shoelaces.
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always

28. Fred

Who said this was going to be a quiet year?

29. Tinto Chiel

Nana: glad to hear you’re moderating your work load.

Devastated re. black pudding situation but am looking forward to your Goldberg Variations at the City Halls, Christmas 2018 to celebrate independence.

That noise you heard?

*Looks sheepish*

I was playing the spoons (Mahler’s Fifth) during a painting break.

Fred says:
    “Who said this was going to be a quiet year?”

I think it’s about the only time The Rev’s got it wrong! I’m wondering if we might short circuit the whole referendum process in the face of May’s intransigence and make it an Independence Election, with an exit poll.

My head’s spinning…..

30. Tinto Chiel

Was in next door visiting Aged Neighbour and saw Ruth (Eternal No Surrender Party) standing beside a sheepish, squirming Grima Wormtongue shape-shifting into The Magnificent Husk, aka Peerie Mun’ell, telling us #SNP Baddest.

Gwoosome, simply Gwoosome, me dears, and I have had to fortify myself with a small, sweet sherry, I freely admit.

It seems The Ruthster advised Mrs May on her approach to Scotland.

Oh dear!

This music seems appropriate:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtGUaScpSbg

31. Nana

@Tinto

Sadly the old harpsicord gave up the ghost some time ago, did not take kindly to my version of Metallica’s seek and destroy. I play it while looking at a picture of T May. The things I do for my country!
    I’m wondering if you would be my warm up act. How goes your spoon playing? Are you a maestro or did you have brochan for lunch?

Now do you think you could get your ladder holder Michael Angelo to hurry up and finish painting the ceiling in time for my recital.

32. Tinto Chiel

Och, Nana, I don’t know how you do it. Chapeau bas, as we sometimes say in Auld Cadzow. Miss Mayhem does make The Addams Family spring to mind, fo’ shu’.

The spoons? On Bruckner’s 7th as we speak but my chord sequences a bit dodgy.

Alasdair Gray and I are working on a Sistine-Type extravaganza for The Recital. Themes: black and white puddings; Mairi nan Oran; SCONES; rebirth of our great country.

That Michelangelo’s a bit of a prima donna, btw. “Where’s my lapis lazuli?” he says this morning. Indeed.

Sheesh!

33. Fred

Theresa May’s phyzog was superb the night, chewin a wasp sums it up! Good luck wi the maragan dubh folks!

34. yesindyref2

@Cactus
    You bring a very simple but very strong message to Wings:

Love Scotland

X

35. Cactus

A passionate statement and signature.

We are.

πŸ™‚

36. Tinto Chiel

Enjoyed that, Smallaxe.

Mind you, it could also be played on a loop after anything Kezia Dugdale says.

She really is a silly sausage.

37. Smallaxe

Tinto:

They could play that on a loop through the BBC and at least (at last) we would hear the Truth!

A wee song just to cheer us all up?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71TJitXU8Z0&ab_channel=Sagitarioitc

Peace Always All Ways

38. Tinto Chiel

Thanks for the old Iron Maiden, Smallaxe: fair cleans out the tubes, as they say.

For all those unable to access Nana’s spellbinding Metallica harpsichord version I offer this. A bit anaemic perhaps by comparison, but what ya gonna do?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVM8DUhdLyo

39. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Luckily, I have a copy of Nana’s” Links of Love” album and will be magNanamous in sharing this track with you, and of course, anyone else who possesses our infallibly rich and varied auditory senses.

May I present Nana and somebody else: “Metalica on Harp” — No.1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhOhGhq0e54&ab_channel=CamilleandKennerly

Peace Always

40. Tinto Chiel

Sorry that it seems I won’t be seeing you at PQ, Smallaxe but I quite understand. Hope to see you some other time, perhaps at Manky’s for a schooner of crΓ¨me de menthe. My round.

Hope to be there with the three Chielettes, who will lead me around by the baby-walking reins and will endeavour to keep me out of trouble. I, however, reserve the right to blow raspberries at the occasional effigy of Jackie Bird should I see fit.

They’ll never take away my freedom, sport.

Btw: was around at daughter No. 2’s gaff and saw the recording of last night’s QT. Joanna Cherry: awesome.

41. Nana

@Smallaxe

Well you have gone and done it now Billy, let everyone in on my terrible secret. Our harp playing brings down the house literally!

By the way that’s my evil twin playing on the left, she’s always sticking her big feet where they don’t belong.

42. Tinto Chiel

Didn’t know Nana had a sister, Smallaxe, but their clarsaching was music to my ears.

Michael, always like JP but tonight they somehow seem too understated.

Ah’m pure gantin’ furrarammie!

*Nursie runs in with the meds*

43. Smallaxe

Nana:

Sorry, for letting the cat out of the bag.Please apologise also to your sister and tell her good luck in her new venture, selling coal briquette’s in the Gallowgate and I hope that she gets a placid horse for her cart.

Tinto and Micheal: Enjoy!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJKOadj34pk&ab_channel=WillSalasCymbalMaker

Peace Always to All

44. Smallaxe

Sorry, “MICHAEL” my spelingz gitteng wurse.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

45. Ian Brotherhood

It’s normally around this time of the evening that Rock clocks in on’t MT, but he’s a no-show.

Instead, we have Nana bringing us the news that Brownzilla is due to drop an ‘intervention’ in Kirkcaldy this weekend.

Perhaps he’ll try to upstage Nicola Sturgeon’s conference speech. Good chance the BBC would go for it too. He won’t even have anything to say, perhaps whip a tablecloth away from a fully-laden dinner table, swallow swords, throw voices, hold a seance or suchlike…his talents have no end.

(Ronnie – if you see this, I did express support for your comment to Rev, and it was good to see a few other similar. I’m definitely going.)

46. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood says:

“we have Nana bringing us the news that Brownzilla is due to drop an β€˜intervention’ in Kirkcaldy this weekend”

After the shit that he perpetrated on his “own” people that Bag o’ Wire must have balls of steel or maybe he just can’t refuse to carry out an order from his Superiors.

I wonder what the punishment is for Disobeying Orders?

Peace Always Brother

47. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

The ‘news’ gets more bizarre by the hour, never mind days and weeks.

I’m wondering if there’s anything left that would really surprise us?

48. Smallaxe

Ian:

-Surprise!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

49. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

πŸ™‚

Here’s one I’d never seen before.

Not the cheeriest song of all time, aye, but a great video.

Gil Scott Heron, ‘The Bottle’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdhoX1Xu6ZI

50. Nana

Have a laugh

AngrySalmond says

Ladies and gentleman, I give you the single greatest photoshop opportunity of your lives. Enjoy!

https://twitter.com/AngrySalmond/status/842807213970341888

51. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe, TC et al –

You might like this one, if you’ve not heard it.

I saw Walcott a few years ago, delivering a lecture at Glasgow Uni. Awesome.

You can easily imagine him having a right good session with William Blake, swapping notes on what angels actually look like etc.

Sympathies out to his wife and family and friends.

Derek Walcott, ‘Crusoe’s Island’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tr1emY_omZM

52. Smallaxe

Thanks for that Ian, I could do nothing, but join in

I have lost sight of hell,
    Of heaven.

Walcott
    ————————
    But I still can see
    Most wondrous sights
    Of things so wrong
    Made right,
    Forgiven.
    πŸ˜‰
    Me

Peace Always

53. Smallaxe

Nana:

He was right to say pig was as good as it gets, just as well you put that here and not on the M/T.There’s a poster over there who doesn’t like us calling politicians names.
    πŸ™‚
    Pigpish or is it Hampish, ach. it’ll come to me eventually.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkysjcs5vFU&ab_channel=jamsonic1

Peace Always

54. Bob Sinclair

Well, bugger me, Kirkcaldy seems to be the centre of the known Unionistverse again.
    Meanwhile,back on planet Sensible, forces more powerful than we could imagine were sorting it out. Thank you ABERDEEN conference people.

55. Smallaxe

Bob Sinclair says:

“Thank you, ABERDEEN conference people.”

I thank them also Bob and I’m proud to say my daughter is there as a Delegate.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnT7pT6zCcA&t=22s&ab_channel=TheMuppets

Peace Always

56. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Hear ye mister –

Dragging Brown out yet again?

It’s beyond extraordinary…

What were we discussing a couple of hours ago???

Whatever dirt they have on him, they exhausted it years ago in forcing him to support Blair’s warmongering.

What’s happening to Brown now should be a lesson to anyone who aspires to ‘power’ of any kind – once they’ve got you, they’ve got you forever. How could you even know that you’d ‘sold your soul’ if you no longer have one?

57. Smallaxe

Ian:

What does it profit a man to gain the whole world and in the process lose his own soul?

Disdain? Dislike? Disgust?

Pity?

MUSIC OF THE SIXTIES DAVID BOWIE (THE MANISH BOYS 1965) I Pity The Fool / Take My Tip
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUXj2aZPXrA&ab_channel=rogerb

Peace Always

58. Smallaxe

FOR NOW!

Joe Bonamassa: “A new day Yesterday”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8C25iI29goU&ab_channel=HartAndBonamassa

Peace Always

59. yesindyref2

Decided 4 in the morning yesterday to clean out the pipes of the one and a half kitchen sink, it had been draining slower and slower, should only take a couple of hours. Got to bed about mid-day, I guess it was about 10 years I last did it.

Totally full sink now drains in 24 seconds with a gurgle and a gasp 😎

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDE1ZvvHVVg

60. Fred

Indyref, a tabsp of caustic soda noo & again works wonders for the U bend.

Anent the Clarsach, a buddy of mine has been gaun wi a very nice Heilan lassie for some years who, apropos of nothing, just let slip that she plays the Clarsach! Noo there’s a lassie who can keep a secret! πŸ™‚

61. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

Congratulations!

Chickenfoot: “Down the Drain”

Peace Always

62. Tinto Chiel

Good to eavesdrop on Smallaxe and Ian’s philosophical musings.

Fred: anent (oooh!) that Hielan’ lassie, well, at least she didn’t keep harping on about it.

I’ll get my doublet…..

PS: ye cannae pu’ the breeks aff a Hielanman.

63. Fred

Guys, a wee string combo’ “Fiddlers Bid” who drink in the Bon Accord when in Glesga.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUkXj7Kp6ZY

will it work?

64. Michael McCabe

Hope this works for you FRED http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtU_XS15ioU

65. Smallaxe

Fred: Hi Tinto!

It didnae wurk! try this ane.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOURcRjyw_M&ab_channel=EamonnKeyes

peace Always

66. Tinto Chiel

Another good reason to go to the Bon Accord.

The others are lentil soup and steak pie (for Β£5.95), obvs.

πŸ˜›

67. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Of course, nothing to do with getting pissed at all!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKIbS4jk8zU&ab_channel=EnjoyRandomStuff

Peace Always

68. Smallaxe

Michael:

Excuse my ignorance, I never saw you up there^

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pjl6Js2ikDM&ab_channel=JethroTull%26IanAnderson

Peace, Love and Music, my Friend

69. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, Smallaxe, I’ve been busy painting and listening to the FM’s speech.

I’ve only ever spoken to clocks when I’ve needed a hand or couldn’t face going to work.

Seems to have been a bit of a news blackout regarding the Aberdeen conference.

Hope that adds to the crowd a week on Sunday: VichyVision must be challenged at every turn, imo.

70. yesindyref2

@Fred
    Wouldn’t have done anything for the cocktail sticks and a 2 foot long stream of fluff dangling from them!

71. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

You still at that painting?

FFS man, you sure you haven’t done it all and started again?

72. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I have to echo Ian on this one, WTF are you painting, the stars back into the sky or something?.

Maybe this will help
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dipFMJckZOM&ab_channel=AnthonyDiFatta

Peace Always

73. Ian Brotherhood

Tributes to Chuck Berry.

This dude’s made his whole life a tribute to him.

He must be hurting tonight, so here’s a raised glass and sympathies out, to Wilko Johnson:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-r9jcBxBDNU

74. Thepnr

I just heard this song for the first time today although it was released in 2014. I thought “what’s that” the lyrics were really good. I found it on the Tube and thought of my Wings friends.

I thought it might have been an old black guy singing but no it’s a young white guy. I’m thinking you’ll like it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXmdftidV-w

75. Tinto Chiel

That guy looks too young to have a voice like that, Thepnr but that was really good.

IanB and Smallaxe. Yes, I’m still at it. It takes my mind off some of the dreadful, racist stuff that’s being thrown at us just now. I have the radio on Radio3 simply because there’s only two News bulletins all day there so I can’t get much of the BBC’s lies. The blackout of the conference was so blatant. Hope it swells the crowd next Sunday.

A lot of the walls have just been plastered so they’ve to get the Homebase cheap white emulsion first and I don’t think only one coat of the good coloured stuff is going to be enough. Today it’s skirtings and the old gloss-work.

Sorry to hear about Chuck. My brother died in 2014 in the Deep South (Kent) and this is what was played at the funeral. The famous guitar riff at the start is simply brilliant, innit?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFo8-JqzSCM

I love the smell of turps in the morning.

76. yesindyref2

I was watching rugby yesterday and then working all night so got next to nothing about the conference, but heard this on West FM which I think is Sky News. That Sturgeon has said that in Independent Scotland all EU citizens will be able to stay.

Sounds quite innocuous to us perhaps, because we’ve been doing all the EU / EEA stuff, but it occurs to me that this means whenever a NO campaigner goes around, people can say to them “So you want to force all EU citizens to leave Scotland?”.

There’s a lot won’t like that πŸ™‚

Didn’t want to put it on MT as that’s about Mark (and others).

77. yesindyref2

Dunno if anyone dun this one, who cares

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kT3kCVFFLNg

78. yesindyref2

Jeez, it’s only when you’re looking you realise how much he did

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpitvLeNjuE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=23y2Cz40zs4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KrbPlr4Wskc

As my wife just said, I defy anyone to hear that lot and not get up and dance.

79. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

I believe that the young man singing also wrote the song I did say I thought the lyrics were good, here’s the part that made me sit up and notice.

I may love you in the morning
    Like today, you’ll never know
    Step this way, I find the garden

Well you may claim that you found me

Well nonetheless,
    I must confess,
    That I’m the mess that has been left to save you

Your situation must be dire
    Your situation must be over the creek
    Haunted we speak
    But I can’t of left you, I still haven’t met you

I know that in the next 18 months I am going to meet many of you that I’ve yet to meet. I so look forward to that, get ready for another Wings night in Dundee sometime soon.

I’ll be there, hopefully you too will make it. On a mission now πŸ™‚

80. Tinto Chiel

Amen to all that, Thepnr.

Forgot I’d left the dial on Pravdasound4 for some reason, so got Frederick Forsyth lying in his condescending, arrogant teeth about Scotland not being allowed into the EU or EFTA. Also on: some Irish guy who loves England and a woman who loves Royalty. Oh, and Esther Rantzen.

Going back to Bach.

Cleanses the mind.

Yesindyref2: thanks to you and CB my lines are all squiggly now.

81. Smallaxe

Vincent Van Tinto:

Blaming your squinty lines on Chuck, I’m ashamed of you, how many bottles of Turpentine have you “inadvertently” inhaled? or is Turpentine E.K. rhyming slang for Buckfast wine? My e-mail is on it’s way to the Jeremy Kyle show.Intervention rehab for you M’lad or the next thing we may hear is that your Snu Gliffing.

Didn’t you know that Turps is a gateway drug or didn’t you care?
    Well, I care, so the little white van should be arriving at your residence soon.Don’t let me down!

Here’s a song from the late great man himself,
    Tinto be Good
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zapk9luHLYk&ab_channel=JazzVideoGuy

Peace Always my Friend

82. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

I’m sure that I have played this on here before now but here it is again.Enjoy!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZS0WvzRVByg&ab_channel=GeorgeEzraVEVO

Here’s another one.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHrLPs3_1Fs&ab_channel=GeorgeEzraVEVO

Peace Always

83. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Absolutely brilliant, I think George Ezra might be a supporter os change if not Independence. Seriously that’s only three songs of his I’ve heard but there all beauties.

Cheers and when the next Wings night is organised for Dundee I’d be more than happy to put you, your wife and daughter up in my house. Would love it if you could make it.

You too Ian Brotherhood, been waiting for ages for you to accept.

Now IS the time πŸ™‚

84. Tinto Chiel

I’m sober as a judge (strange concept!), Smallaxe, although I do admit to two of Fred’s TM hoose-haufs last night πŸ˜›

Is it just me or are things more hopeful since the FM’s speech yesterday? It brought this poem to mind (I have a tortured, sensitive soul, me). Story goes that Hardy heard this bird on the last day of the 19th century. Don’t think the 20th century quite turned out as he’d hoped, though…..

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/44325

85. Thepnr

Since we seem to be doing poetry I’ll post the one that I remember, got absolute pelters from some a few years ago when I posted that then on the main thread.

Not everyone’s cup of tea then I suppose but I thought it was good.

O Me! O Life!
    BY WALT WHITMAN
    Oh me! Oh life! of the questions of these recurring,

Of the endless trains of the faithless, of cities fill’d with the foolish,

Of myself forever reproaching myself, (for who more foolish than I, and who more faithless?)

Of eyes that vainly crave the light, of the objects mean, of the struggle ever renew’d,

Of the poor results of all, of the plodding and sordid crowds I see around me,

Of the empty and useless years of the rest, with the rest me intertwined,

The question, O me! so sad, recurringβ€”What good amid these, O me, O life?

Answer.

That you are hereβ€”that life exists and identity,
    That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.

86. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

My good Friend, I am very touched by your most generous offer of accommodation at your own home for myself and family, you can have no idea just how much an offer such as yours means to me.

Although my illness, unfortunately, prevents me from taking up your offer, please be aware that it swelled my heart and brought a tear to my eye just to receive such a kind invitation from you.

People like yourself show exactly what Scottish hospitality and generosity is in reality.

Thank you, for your very kind offer and I hope we meet very soon so that I can thank you again in person.

Peace, Love and Fraternal Gratitude my Brother

87. Tinto Chiel

Good old Walt is what I say.

Yes, there are a few poetry puritans on the MT for some reason. That’s why I occasionally bung one on here but only on a link.

Regarding the dreadful distortions of the MSM, I really feel it’s like living in an occupied country just now. Yet getting people to see the Bleedin’ Obvious is difficult. You can’t really force the Lightbulb/Penny-dropping Moment on someone but it’s most frustrating waiting.

“The BBC: bringing you Fake News since 1922.”

88. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, forgot to leave Robert behind.

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/resources/learning/core-poems/detail/44272

I’d better stop before someone complains.

89. Fred

Thanks for the assistance Mike & Smallaxe, hopeless at that caper. Enjoyed Tinto’s Darkling Thrush, had a gaffer named Thrush wanst, he was an irritating C–t! In toon watching the rugby, ye know you’ve had a good night when the keys are found in the fridge!

90. Tinto Chiel

Fred, reminds me of this:

http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/just-say

I think Tom Leonard wrote a pastiche of it, substituting Special Brew for plums.

91. Smallaxe

Hi, Guys! Hi, Fred, see if you can tell the bits of exquisite poetry that I deigned to offer?

So little cause for carolings aged thrush, frail, gaunt, and small
    Of such ecstatic sound
    Was written on terrestrial things
    Afar or nigh around,
    That I could think there trembled through
    His happy good-night air
    Some blessed Hope, whereof he knew
    And I was unaware.

Unaware that this aged Frail old bird
    Had in his arse
    A great stinking turd
    I look-ed upwards to the skies
    And the stinking turd
    Took out my eyes

Two roads diverged in a wood, and Iβ€”
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference
    For had I taken the other road
    my eyes would still be in my head
    And I could see to write this sentence

The question, O me! so sad, recurringβ€”What good amid these, O me, O life?

Answer.

Under trees and bushes do not flit
    For that’s where burdies
    Sit and shit

Spooky intit?
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

92. Smallaxe

O under trees and bushes do not flit
    For O that’s where burdies
    Sit and O shit

That last verse was just not up to my usual immaculate Genious

Peace Always

93. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Magnificent, not many will ever see it. I have though and and am so proud of Wingers. We really know the score. Tongs Ya Bass! πŸ™‚

94. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Many thanks.

This time, definitely!

Any month in mind yet?

95. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Real Calton Tongs Ya Bass!

Ian: Enjoy it when you go! Shame, we would have made a great Trio.

The Three Musketeers!
    or Two Musketeers and one blind mouse, FuKiN BURDS!
    😎

Peace Always my Ain Folk

96. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, I am overcome with emulsion at the sheer limpid beauty of your poetry.

Thank feck The Muse alighted on your shapely shouthers and caused you to disgorge such pearls of wisdom from your Immaculate Genious.

Feeling quite giddy, frankly.

I await your Cantos.

97. Smallaxe

yesindyref2 says:
    18 March, 2017 at 9:27 pm
    “@Fred
    Wouldn’t have done anything for the cocktail sticks and a 2-foot long stream of fluff dangling from them!”

That sounds like my kind of Party***

Peace Always

is it obvious that I’m bored?

98. Smallaxe

Tinto:

My Cantos may take a while, I am endeavouring to surpass Valmiki’s Ramayana of 500.
    And as you will know, I am my own fiercest critic.

Peace Always

99. Tinto Chiel

“I am my own fiercest critic.”

And that has to stop, Smallaxe: don’t do yourself down! Let it go, young man.

Mind you, my Sanskrit is a bit rusty but we all have a Upanishad inside us (ooh, matron!).

And that wee Farron on the MT? “Mair faces nor the toun knock,” as my pipe-smoking grannie used to say, before spitting into the range.

We were a happy family.

100. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says:

“as my pipe-smoking grannie used to say, before spitting into the range.”

Was your pipe-smoking grannie at home in this unusual location?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KlZuk5N2co&ab_channel=RevBillyRayCollins

How was her Trigger finger?

My grannie was into the “William Tell Overture” she was a classy lady.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmEB-dn5apY&ab_channel=MikJohnstone

As always, your obedient servant in the Potawatomi nation,
    Kemo Sabe

Peace Always

101. Tinto Chiel

The Roy Rodgers calendar 2005? Shurely shome mishtake!

I had a maiden aunt who stayed at home with her parents, mes grands parents. She wore a house coat which got dirtied by the smuts from the range. She also had the common habit of standing in front of the range for a good heat.

This allowed my mischievous father to tease his sister-in-law with these bon mots:

“Haw (insert name), is that Erseyirbakin?”

“(Insert name), I see you’ve paid the coalman.”

As I said, we were a happy family.

102. Smallaxe

Tinto:

A similar tale in my home, “if you meet a bookie lookin’ for his nookie, we could pay the butcher too”

Hard, Hard times. “sighs deeply remembering having had to black lead the grate before emptying the pail into the midgie”

Peace Always

103. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel at 7.17pm.

You typed,
    “as my pipe-smoking grannie used to say, before spitting into the range.””

Did she, by any chance, smoke a corn pipe and chew tobacco, whilst spitting in the range?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_1pVhn6h7C8

104. Fred

The banter! the banter! Ah actually had an aunty who was shot by Roy Rodgers, no tittering at the back! This happened on his Glasgow visit at a post-theatre party. Roy seriously misfired & she had black powder burns on her wrist for yonks! It’s the truth ah’m tellin ye this time!

105. Ian Brotherhood

Fred Wesley & The JBs, ‘Same Beat’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GqUKydxDmBQ

106. Ian Brotherhood

Epic ‘SoulTrain’ compilation, opens with Curtis Mayfield’s ‘Get Down’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qglBm-N-Lnw&list=RDQMYNsk6jSbxX8

107. K1

Yer aw mad crazy arsed basturds…keep it up! πŸ˜‰

108. Tinto Chiel

That was a teaker, BrianDDT. Thankfully, there was no chewing of tobacco chez nous, although my Uncle Sanny sometimes wore high heels.

Haven’t heard “midgie” for a while. There were “midgie-men”, of course, but the worst form of opprobrium directed at you if your pencil fell into the bin at primary while sharpening it was to be called a “midgie-raker”.

I still bear the scars but it has given my poetry its fey, crystalline quality, I feel.

I was a bit worried about what was going to follow the words “Roy seriously misfired” so it was with some relief your story had a wholesome conclusion, Fred.

I need some more “Soul Train” before I get down on the floor with my gloss.

See you all sometime, chinas.

109. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I also was quite alarmed by Fred’s remark about Roy Rogers, so I was rather relieved to discover that Roy was firing blanks otherwise it could have been nasty!

Don’t put too much gloss on that floor or visitors may see up your kilt and find out where you keep your brush!
    I’m off to find a “Lucky Midgie”, wish me luck.

Peace Always

110. Tinto Chiel

β€œIf you meet a bookie lookin’ for his nookie, we could pay the butcher too”

It struck me Smallaxe (as I lay down my dust sheets) that, as well as your Cantos, you could produce your plangent Epigrams as a companion volume. The one above is quite profound, imho and encapsulates the quotidian reality of 50s Scotland. You know, the country Ruth The Mooth wants us to return to (heavy-handed political point)…….

I hope The Muse descends upon you today, Dante of the North.

111. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Yes, my Friend, my plaintive unheard cries into the wilderness mayhaps should be made more prominent, as a warning to contemporary society of the dangers of the apathetic unreasonable governance that is creeping unsolicited into our collective sleeping consciences.

Peace Always

If anyone knows what I am writing about, see your doctor, ASAP.

112. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –
    When I was a wean I remember wondering how the ‘midgie-men’, being the same size as midges, could get all the rubbish away.

113. Fred

Ah the joys of the Midgie Rakin! tiled closes in my experience had the best lucks, a deid cat, for example, offered endless entertainment tae us weans, tying a rope tae its tail & taking it for a run. Only the onset of putrefaction & outraged grannies, curtailed the fun. “Ye’ll get a disease!”

114. K1

Reverse midgie rakin’, ma brothers and me hud a wee tendency tae steal various assortments of trump cards, wee daft toys and sweeties from various shops on Byres road, huvin’ been at it fur a few weeks we’d amassed a fair amount of stolen Woolies and Barrett’s finest offerings, hidden aboot the flat under mattresses, chesterdrawers and under pillows.

Ma older brother, being the least talented in nabbing stuff became huffy and pissed aff cause we hud mair stuff than him and began a campaign of blackmailing the rest o’ us tae gie him some of our stuff or else he was grassin’ us up tae our mum. We reluctantly caved in, ultimately he wisnae happy enough wi that, so issued an ultimatum: Ah um grassin’ ye’s up if ye don’t get rid of the lot of it…pronto.

We wur left wi two options, tae discreetly plank aw the contraband intae the middens in the back court, this was circa mid seventies, the back court ‘wis’ a midden! To put stuff back onto the shelves of various shops where possible. So over a period of 3 or 4 days we suddenly became very keen tae take the bins oot and go for walks up Byres Road, oblivious tae the notion that our mum wis actually clocking our behaviour.

It wis ‘tense’ between us aw, cause aw the local weans were gettin’ aw our stuff, a kinda midgie rakin’ bonanza was underway and we wur ragin’ at our brother who had become drunk on his power over us! So emboldened by this lordin’ it that on a vey wet Saturday morning, the kinda wet even as a wean you don’t want tae go out in, he decides we must finish the job and get rid of the last of our stash.

So duffel coats oan, stash crammed intae pockets and doon troosers and secreted in the bin, whispered ragin’ arguments wi hints of beggin’ tae keep a partular favoured toys and suddenly in bursts our mum intae the kitchenette, ‘What’s goin’ on in here, where are yous goin’ in this weather!?’ As she came in sooo fast, we’d no time to shift some of the stuff that was lying on the bed in the recess, one brother sits down on top of it, we are aw immediately talikin’ at once, but she’s suspicious and starts circling us, ends up right in front of our seated bro’, ‘Stand up’ says she, he slowly stands and for the briefest few seconds she can’t see the stuff, her eyes on him as of course she’s no clue wtf has been happening!

Nae luck she moves her head slightly to his left and spots the gear…well…there’s no overstating the apoplectic rage. Our older brother pulls the ‘ah’ve been making them stop’ shit, saving himself first.

She collects and gets us tae fish out the other stolen goods from the kitchen bin and then literally marches us intae every shop we’ve nicked stuff from, aw the way up Byres Road. Managers are brought oot, she ‘offers’ them the option of calling the polis on us…thankfully there were some sane managers who declined such an approach given the meagre stash returned (unbeknownst tae them the regular pilfering). (Ah woulda claimed mitigating factor of having reverse stolen their stuff if the polis had been called…as if!)

Upshot, punished by being sent tae bed, nae tea…’real’ punishment happening to be put in the shared wan big bedroom so we’re stuck in hell wi our older brother for the duration!

Needless tae say we all became angels and learnt our lesson.*

* (he’s no comin’ wi us ever again and tell him nuthin’ πŸ˜‰ )

115. Fred

A “Pound Shop” in Byres Road, everythings a fiver!

116. K1

A ‘pound shop’ in Byres Road, no such thing!

(Ye know Byres Road wasn’t always some ‘posh’ place, I grew up in Maryhill, Partick, Drumchapel, Glenrothes, Bridgeton, Dundee (Fintry scheme), when I came back to Glasgow ma mother was still in the housing association flat in what was then the worst close in Chancellor Street, a one bedroom flat wi nothing, the last option they had for a newly single mother of 4 in desperation. I don’t because of ma upbringing in this area regard the west end as some leafy suburb full of snobs and there is a fair amount of inverse snobbery on display when it comes to mentioning this area in Glasgow. You don’t get to choose where and what you are born into, it behoves us all tae bare that in mind when it comes tae geographical parts of Scotland and their demographics)

117. Tinto Chiel

“When I was a wean I remember wondering how the β€˜midgie-men’, being the same size as midges, could get all the rubbish away.”

Me too, Ian: a strange expression to my ears then.

K1: if this was Italy someone would make a film of your epic, like “The Bicycle Thieves”. Mothers were stern in them there days, grannies worse, pipes or no pipes.

My guilty secret concerned an old cowp in EK where me and my mate found two old Jensen removers’ vans. They couldn’t have been further removed from the Jensen CV8 which I loved as a boy (the one with the front lights at an angle and a Chrysler engine*), but we just had to unscrew the big Jensen badges from them, of course.

So far, so innocent, except we found a pile of old tyres near the vehicles. It seemed a good idea to get out the matches and set light to one……

Once the conflagration took hold, we panicked and ran away. Very worried, I went upstairs and looked out the back window. To my horror there was a vast pillar of thick black smoke climbing into the sky: it seemed like hundreds of feet. And then we heard the fire-engines……

For the next few days we were in a right sweat: had we been seen? Were the police looking for the culprits? Would some dirty rotten clype, well, clype?

Nothing happened, but for a short time I became a Good Little Boy and kept a low profile.

*The Baron drove one in the TV series of the same name, if anyone remembers.

118. K1

Oooh…that’s a good yin Tinto. Wis that you on cctv seen casually skulking away from Helen Street last week? πŸ˜‰

119. Smallaxe

Excuse my absence but I had a doctor’s appointment.A complete and total waste of my time, the man’s as healthy as a horse!

Anyway, good stories, Here’s wan o’ mine, ma’ mither tells me to take the pail (galvy bucket with hondle)doon and empty it intae the midden then go tae the shoaps n’ get a daily record fir ma da’.

Off a’ go, an’ when a’ get tae the shoaps, ma sisters ther wi’ some o’ her pals, “Wer’ ur ye gon?” she asks, a’ tell her “am gon tae get a record fir ma da”, she says, tryin’ tae be funny in front o’ her pals “get “Let’s Dance”. That single by Chris Montez had just been released (1962) ignorin’ her a’ goes in tae the newsagent’s (Muldoon’s in Barlanark) an’ a’ wait in the queue.

When a’ finally get served, the lassie ahent the coonter says “wit dae ye waant” a’ says “Let’s Dance” the lassie looked at me as if ah’d escaped fae the loony bin n’ says loudly “get oot an’ don’t come back in here wi’ yer cheek an’ yer fkn bin”

I had been in a hurry to go out with my own pals, forgot to empty the bin and had carried it to the shops, waited in the queue, and asked the assistant to dance.My sister had noticed the full bin that I was carrying and never said a word.I’m sure that was the day that Global warming started with the heat that was emanating
    from my big red glowing face.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

120. Tinto Chiel

*Looks furtive*

IF I had been in Helen Street (and there is no proof, a hoodie is just a hoodie, after all) I may have been in Toys R Us to buy a new catapult.

But then again, I may not have been anyway.

I don’t actually recall TBH either way and YE CANNAE PROVE IT ONNYWISE.

Hope that clears things up…..

121. Tinto Chiel

This is The Baron. The Jensen appears in the titles which begin about 2.00 but it’s blink-and-you’ll-miss-it.

I saw one in Renfield Street in Glasgow in the late 60s. It had one of those wonderful, burbling V8 engines and the angled twin lights looked great. And the louvres on the side. Or is my memory failing me?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY2-D7MOPAQ

122. Thepnr

@K1 and Tinto Chiel

LOL good stories. I’ve one too for a short time I stayed in Niddrie in Edinburgh. For some reason when I was a kid we moved often and I found myself there around 11 years old.

Well, I went nicking as well from the local piggery!

They used to feed the pigs with chocolate that had been rejected from the factory like a walnut whip without the walnut. Absolute paper sacks of them, chocolates as well.

I even used to try and sell them at school LOL. No idea what the sell by date was πŸ™‚

123. Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: I misread that the first time and thought you were selling the PIGS at school.

That would have been one of your rasher decisions.

I’ll get ma jerkin.

Smallaxe, I know your pain.

When I was a first-year at Duncanrig Secondary, I was sent around some classrooms with a message. I had to go into a Biology class but didn’t recognise the teacher so I asked a boy who had been chucked out the class and was standing outside what her name was.

“That’s Fanny Bunsen,” he replied.

And so I went in and said, “Excuse me, Miss Bunsen…..”

Cue mayhem from class and a really raging dominie.

I was made to shake hands with Mr Lochgelly for that but was too frightened to tell my parents.

Didn’t affect me, affect me, affect me, affect me…..

124. Thepnr

So many people, so many stories. Yes Wings is class and I love it.

125. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel at 8:00 am.

You typed,
    “That was a teaker, BrianDDT.”

Me no spikka da Westcoasterlingo. What is a “teaker”?

Am I on the right tracks in thinking a “teaker” would generail a deep fundemold of joy?

126. Tinto Chiel

Yes, verily, it would generail a deep fundemold of joy, Brian. I always thought it equated to “stoater” but on reflection a “teaker” would never be used in relation to an attractive female, for example. It seemed only applied to objects, e.g. “Thae new fitba’ bits are teakers.”

I don’t know if anyone else here can remember using the word.

A favourite word employed by my father at the other end of the approval spectrum was “stumer”. Don’t know if you have that in Dundee.

E.G.: “That centre-half’s just a big stumer.”

I fear this could cause more controversy than The Great Wings “Snuil” Schism of 2015…..

I loved your links to Dundee and words sayings which you put up about that time, I think.

127. K1

On the subject o’ the ‘belt’…11 years old, Drumchapel, tendency tae imitate teachers behind their backs, on the stairwell on way up tae class deputy head wis scolding someone, ah broke away from the line stood directly behind him and began the ‘mocking game’. To much hilarity was nabbed by him, he’s a right yin and decides I’m getting belt in front of whole school at dinner time (wan o’ his wee peccadilloes, humiliating weans wi an audience).

Dinner time arrives and sure enough we aw gather in the main reception area which doubled as school hall. Comes ma turn, announces whit I’m gettin’ it for, basically disrespecting a deputy head, so says double up, two hands for 6 o’ the belt.

Tae let ye understand this is a very silent and solemn ritual this guy’s been gettin’ away wae for years and it’s a very painful humiliating time for anyone as many of us know, cause it’s fuckin sore and ye try not tae greet, made more acute by it happening in front of the whole school. So outstretched hauns, he’s a sadistic bastard wi a tendency tae kinda throw himself intae his task wi a wee jerking motion just afore the bow lands.

He lunges forward on the first one and In that second ma right leg automatically bends up behind me as ma hauns automatically pull away…which interrupts his stride, and it’s a miss! A slight titter of repressed sniggers runs through the amassed school as he immediately regroups looks me in the eye, ‘hands out’…y’know whit happened…same thing only this time I know I have everyone on ma side and the laughter becomes palpable, he’s aw red wi exertion and humiliation which is making him furious.

Needless tae say I did get the belt, but the thing is ah don’t remember any of that pain or humiliation, I remember accidentally making everyone laugh and the absurdity of a big fat grown man 3 times bigger than me making an absolute arse of himself’ in front of an entire school full of primary school children. One of ma happiest memories…and great kudos from ma pals afterwards…aw because ma leg bent upwards involuntarily at that moment!

128. Tinto Chiel

Yep, there was always at least one plank like the one you so eloquently describe in every school.

The best thing they did for teacher/pupil relations was to ban the belt, IMO. Am I right in thinking it was all down to having to comply with EC (at that time) Human Rights legislation? About 1980?

I’m sure someone here will remember better than I can.

While we’re at it does anyone remember this short radio sketch which used to make me laugh?

Voice No.1 (impassioned, defiant, Byronic delivery): Give me LIBERTY or give me DEATH!

*bang*

Voice No.2 (bored, matter-of-fact): Next!

Was it “I’m sorry I’ll read that again”?

129. K1

Won’t archive, this from 1998:

‘EASILY forgetten is how much ”the Lochgelly”, as it was known, played an integral part in Scottish school life right into the 1980s. At the time two Scots mothers took their cases to the Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg, abolitionists claimed that Scotland was the corporal punishment capital of Europe, with a child being belted on average every two seconds throughout the school week.

In the 1982 case, mothers Grace Campbell and Jane Cosans argued that their ”philosophical convict-ions” against corporal punishment had been violated when the schools attended by their sons refused to guarantee that the boys would not be belted.

The judges dismissed the defence that corporal punishment was being gradually phased out in Scotland and concluded that even to threaten an individual with torture might constitute ”inhuman treatment”.’

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/12301060.The_belt_finally_buckles_to_pressure/

We were as ever ahead of the trend and the consensus in Scotland.

130. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, K1.

131. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel at 7:49 pm.

You typed,
    “Yes, verily, it would generail a deep fundemold of joy, Brian. I always thought it equated to β€œstoater” but on reflection a β€œteaker” would never be used in relation to an attractive female, for example. It seemed only applied to objects, e.g. β€œThae new fitba’ bits are teakers.””

It may be just a Dundee thing, due to the influence of DC Thomson, but I can recall describing things as “Topper” or “Beezer” when they pleased the senses, as in the utterance, “Meh, that’s a Topper/Beezer o’ a peh, iye?”, indicating that the baked meat product presently being consumed had an agreeable effect on one’s taste buds and confirmation of that impression was sought from whatever audience was within earshot by the inclusion of the suffix “iye?”, meaning “don’t you think so also?”

Scotland – a nation separated/co-joined by its language…

132. Smallaxe

K1 says:

“Scotland was the corporal punishment capital of Europe, with a child being belted on average every two seconds throughout the school week.”

That child wis me!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

133. Fred

Ma faither had a last for fixin his boots, he shouted me up & sent me to the shop for Gents Seggs, he wisnae best pleased when I returned with Ants Eggs (fish food!)

134. K1

Smallaxe, aye ah could believe it… πŸ˜‰

135. Smallaxe

Ms Ruth Harrison Tankgirl Osbourne is a better man than me Davidson:

The above-named person has been telling the world that “Scottish people do not want another referendum!” Some friends and I have taken exception to this remark and have been spending our day phoning the tory HQ in Edinburgh to very politely tell them that this statement by the above-named is untrue.

If by chance you also take exception to her terminologically incorrect statement and want to make your views known to her, here is the number to call:0131 524 0030. I’m positive that the very slightly exasperated young man who answers will be happy to hear from some more Scottish residents politely correcting Ms RHTGBMTM Davidson’s statement.

Don’t forget.0131 524 0030
    For some unknown reason, this number can be busy at times so please, be patient.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

136. Tinto Chiel

BrianDTT: I would say in my world that Teaker=Beezer.

137. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: been out on border Snow Patrol overnight? Hope you had your muffler on and are well.

Still snowing pretty heavily in Darkest Lanarkshire.

I append this. The words seem strangely appropriate, somehow…….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vW1hv37imjw

138. Scott

Quote from Mervyn King.

“And if the oil price remains low and if they lose the money which is transferred from the rest of the UK to Scotland, then they would have to make that up in their own budget, but that’s a consequence of deciding to be financially independent, you end up paying for yourself.

Is he saying but not in so many words that we are subsidised by the rest of the UK

139. Smallaxe

Good Morning, Tinto:

Very appropriate, this one is more so for my post at 9;46pm last night.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MahswYBewb0&ab_channel=The1970sChannel

Peace Always

140. Michael McCabe

Get it right up you Theresa. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NETqsX0nqLo

141. F.Meek

Mervyn failed to mention Scotland’s contribution to imperial folie de grandeur & our share of Trident!

@ Smallaxe, anent Ruth’s daft assertions, phoned several times but just get a machine wi a Kelvinside accent, probably called Alasdair! I know one can’t generalise & there were probably poor parts of Kelvinside but, hey ho!

142. Tinto Chiel

Ah, the lovely Meri, though not of Argyll!

Surprised she didn’t record this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URAqnM1PP5E

Worry not, Michael. All shall be well.

Snow on my camellia flowers this morning: strangely beautiful.

My delicate, poetic soul soars, chinas.

143. Cadogan Enright

anybody know what evening the next social is coming up?

Inform Scotland want to organise a meeting that day given that we are mostly wingers for our own get together

http://www.informscotland.com

144. Smallaxe

What Michael says and this, Theresa!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_RMtubRjSU&ab_channel=CarlosG.

No Fucking Peace for YOU!

Peace Always to Scotland and Her People!

145. Smallaxe

Scott says:
    21 March, 2017 at 9:01 am
    Quote from Mervyn King:
    β€œAnd if the oil price remains low and if they lose the money which is transferred from the rest of the UK to Scotland,”

“Is he saying but not in so many words that we are subsidised by the rest of the UK”

I do believe that Mervyn King is saying so, Scott. However, I will leave you with two quotes from a Great Man, Dr Martin Luther King Jnr.

“Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity.”

β€œDarkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

Peace Always

146. Tinto Chiel

Cadogan E: you may be interested that I am having to endure Joshua Rozenberg on Pravdasound4 discussing “Fake News” at the moment.

I’m sure that you will be relieved to know that it only exists on social media, and that “old-fashioned journalistic values” such as verification, impartiality and balance are the best antidotes to it.

No wonder the painting on my covings is all squiggly.

Even worse, I discovered Old Josh is married to Melanie Phillips, whose “There’s always been a Britain” opinion piece from a couple of weeks ago would have had even a Standard Grade History teacher reaching for the 15-y-o malt.

Rewind and repeat:

The BBC: bringing you Fake News since 1922.

147. Thepnr

@Andrew Gordon

I’d suggest you start in the link below. I think it’s better to do it “officially” they then promise not to contact you for at least two years before inquiring again if you may have changed your mind.

I have not had a single letter or email from them in more than 2 1/2 years.

http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/check-if-you-need-one/topics/telling-us-you-dont-need-a-tv-licence

Well done you, I know exactly how you feel.

148. Tinto Chiel

Nature’s Beauty and Fertility trumps Mindless Militarism…..

http://www.poetrybyheart.org.uk/poems/naming-of-parts/

149. Smallaxe

F.Meek says:

“phoned several times but just get a machine wi a Kelvinside accent”

I noticed. I think the young guy yesterday may have had a breakdown, so they have put a recording on instead.
    Well done for trying my Friend.

Peace Always

150. Gary45%

Andrew Gordon@5.18.
    Take the leap mate, we did it in Nov 2014 and it has been a godsend.
    An eastern European that I know, claimed back years of licence fee, because he thought he had to have one because he lived in a house and it was the law. Once he realised years later that if you didn’t have a TV no licence was required, he got a full refund.
    Our own experience was the same as everyone else on here who has cancelled, you will get a refund because for some reason you are paying six months in advance (Direct Debit), we stopped in November 2014 and got the monies refunded up to May 2015.
    Initially we received a few letters from the TV Licencing company telling us we had to have a TV licence, you will get a visit, Blah Blah, and every time we answered back saying we no longer watch live TV, we told them they could sit at the end of our drive and they would never catch us watching live TV. Eventually the letters stopped, you will receive letters from different departments, as they seem to be run like the “YOON parties” (totally incompetent), just answer them and file all your correspondence.
    I would suggest purchasing a smart TV because the content on the internet is billions better than the shite currently broadcast on the mainstream.
    We never had BT or the Australian shysters TV, so it was easy for us.
    Its amazing how much you find out what’s happening in the world when you stop the licence, and watch the internet. Now when we go anywhere in the UK, its normally a case of flicking aimlessly through the Hotel TV channels, then you realise it really is SH*TE. (TV abroad is much better)
    Break free from the Matrix. You’ll never look back.
    But remember DO NOT WATCH LIVE TV.

151. AnTeallach

Pro-EU rally Sat 25th March 1pm Edinburgh. Waterloo Place to Holyrood Speakers include Tommy Shepherd,Joanna Cherry, Ross Greer

http://archive.is/70NgQ

152. Chick McGregor

Double solution possible on the number puzzle today.

Only second time I have seen that.

153. Tinto Chiel

I stopped smoking in 1981.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8DJP6XYGDQ

154. Tinto Chiel

Morning, sophisticates. is there anybody there?

Heard this on the way back from dropping off the Home Secretary at work.

Amazing guitar starts at 2.21 and, of course, His Kirriemuirness is always worth a listen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8fZeaUHsjw

Cobwebs no more…..

155. Michael McCabe

Morning Tinto Chiel Hope you like this one. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAnxTM9dIGI

156. Michael McCabe

Morning Smallaxe. Leo Sayer That takes me back. Anyway this seems Apt right now. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6gEkfwozhE

157. K1

Page playing guitar like a fiddle…superb

Dazed and Confused

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5EieHafkHbU

158. Smallaxe

Good Morning, Tinto and Michael.

Leo Sayer: “Innocent Bystander”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Slz3nynjweU&ab_channel=RawkHead1

Peace Always

159. Smallaxe

Apt Again!

Tom Petty: “I Won’t Back Down”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nUTXb-ga1fo&ab_channel=westlifehateclub

Peace Always

160. Tinto Chiel

Verily, thou spinnest the goodly platters today, gentlemen.

Old Snakehips Scott: what a loss. And it’s strange seeing guys who can actually play thae instrument hingies like Jimmy P.

I’m a One Direction man myself……

Willie Rennie’s verdict on Leo Sayer: “He was unique, like so many others!”

Back to the skirtings.

Cheers, chinas.

161. The Proctor Lewis

Smalaxe

Leo Sayer: β€œInnocent Bystander”

Vile Frankly!

162. Tinto Chiel

I was thinking about Michael’s AC/DC vid. today and their appeal.

Two years ago we were in Sicily and I wore an AC/DC T shirt (the famous Highway to Hell one with Angus and his forked tail and wee horns) when I went down to breakfast.

Immediately, the girls on reception began to laugh, “Sono pazzi!” they giggled (“They are crazy!”). We discussed their favourite tracks.

Then, in Cefalu that day, a German with a Kiss shirt came up to me and began to talk about AC/DC and we had a great time.

Next morning at breakfast, a Frenchman at the next table came down in his own AC/DC T shirt. He had clocked mine earlier and had seen them several times in concert and was a great fan. I explained the Scottish connection, which he had seemed unaware of. Once again, great chat.

They seemed to represent HAPPINESS for all these people: mad, unpretentious 3.5 minute rock with great driving beats, guitar riffs and very arch lyrics.

A band that makes so many people smile can’t be bad, can it?

163. Tinto Chiel

Michael: look at those crowds!

Says it all, really, about their international appeal.

Smiling, even after my gloss-work.

Hope to see some of you vile seps/malcontents at PQ on Sunday.

Cheers,

Tintoretto Chiel (my covings are magnificent, btw).

164. Macart

Dropped in to catch up on main thread.

(SIGH)

This sprang to mind.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fI7zm7RXHs

165. Clapper57

Got a plan for suspected Trolls who post comments on the current post from Rev…when they post a comment on current Rev post…we all then jump to previous post by Rev and continue our thread….thennnnn….when they realise where we all are…and start to add comments on thread we are on….. we then all jump back onto other post by Rev i.e. the current post and then continue with our thread etc etc etc

Before any of you say the obvious flaw to this plan….I do appreciate the Trolls may also read this comment on off topic and actually other posters may not….so perhaps just ignore my plan and let’s all just allow them to fcuk threads for us all….also small chance the Rev will kick my arse off this site for suggesting this plan….also new posters will be as confused as fcuk and think we are all demented and then my arse will really get kicked off this site as figures will go down….and have a good evening everyone.

ps. The best plans are the ones that sound good in your head but in practice are mince when spoken out loud.

166. Tinto Chiel

Macart and Clapper57: agreed. Why do you think we’re here?

It’s the Phoney War/Silly Season but we do seem to have rattled their cages. Come and have a seat around the camp-fire.

Nana sometimes drops in with scones/black pudding, Gaelic benedictions, etc.

Waiting for The Great Leap Forward, me…..

167. Dave McEwan Hill

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEmXOxvrIgc

Most folk haven’t heard this terrific Chuck Berry number. Chuck Berry show tomorrow on my Not Fade Away show on Argyll Independent Online Radio at 8pm.

168. stewartb

This is my first contribution on O/T and I’m an infrequent visitor here, tending to ‘devour’ the main threads instead. So apologies if this has already been discussed at length – and if you don’t have my curiosity on this topic!.

My contribution has been triggered by the ‘issue’ of sensibledave (and his/her ilk) on the main threads.

I am very clear about the objectives of Stu’s writing on Wings. However, what are the actual (strategic) objectives of the posts of regular Wingers – not in the context of any particular thread but generally?

I know what Nana’s contributions are for – to help inform us all. And very important they are! But for the rest – including my own? To inform the like-minded; to hone the like-minded’s ‘case making’; to entertain ourselves; to inform the ‘lurkers’ and the occasional visitors; to argue the case with those that oppose independence; to give ‘pleasure’ by engaging with trolls(!); other objectives?

I consider Wings to be a prime example, a leader, among the new political media in Scotland and I suspect that Stu knows exactly what he’s about. Do we? Is there a community view?

169. Tinto Chiel

stewartb: Hi.

I think people engage as they feel. We have the big-hitter commenters who keep the ball rolling (the usual suspects) but for the rest of us, me at any rate, we post when we feel like it. Most of the time we don’t because someone else has said it better.

Just now, as Ian Brotherhood said some time ago, you could almost set your watch by the trolls. I think it’s pointless engaging but I can see the other POV. Trouble is, they’re not up for a discussion, they’re just here to twist your words.

I have no answer.

170. Tinto Chiel

Sam has, though.

He’s a favourite on here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFRzO_KZkkQ

171. Gary45%

Is this wee gathering at Pathetic Quay still on for Sunday, and is it still 2pm? as I have a long drive to get to it, it would be helpful to know in advance.

172. Michael McCabe

This Songs for my Black Eyed Dog http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvaqqk3pHLw

173. K1

Hmmm…’strategic’ intent of posters I’d imagine the overall contributions are much as you suggested stewartb, to inform, engage in debate, hone arguments et al. Why does anyone contribute to any online forum? Like minded, sense of community and shared purpose?

Of course ma own strategic aims are that…:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlR0KElxxVg

174. Tinto Chiel

K1: but you’re nothing but a Rank Badjin.

πŸ˜›

175. Ian Brotherhood

@Gary45% –

Aye, it’s on mister.

176. K1

So true Tinto but wi a heart made o’ puir iron girders whit dae ye expect…here’s a wee bit o’…craic

http://www.irn-bru.co.uk/all/train

177. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Have been following your efforts over on M/T re the usual suspects.

More power to ye, but I wonder where ye get the patience!

πŸ™‚

178. K1

Not patience, mair channeled rage.

Cheers for support Ian πŸ™‚

179. Michael McCabe

Indigo Girls-Galileo http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdr7tkuwlAc

180. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

πŸ™‚

No-one can do it indefinitely. We give each other hauners as and when.

The folk we’re up against are good, and they have to be, but there’s no way the ’77’ have as many bodies ‘on the bench’ as us!

(I wonder – do they have enough subs to make sure we’ll all get a shot?)

πŸ˜‰

181. Ruglonian

Hi guys – long time…

Been busy moving and now renovating new house – obviously everything’s turning out to be more hassle than I anticipated, but folk keep telling me it’ll be worth it, hmmm

I’ve hardly been around the main threads but hanging out on twitter recently has been pretty heavy – silly season again πŸ™

Stu is like a lightning rod for the ‘other sides’ focus and for that (Wings website aside, obviously) his function is undeniable.
    What’s slightly harder to fathom is the heat he’s getting from ‘our side’ – many simply say he stokes it all up himself.
    I’m of the opinion that he’s always been just the same, his manner/views/whatevers are his right, but folk scream sensitivity and offense constantly nowadays, so the fact that this Pro-Indy noise is added makes every wee comment appear to be a massive deal.

The no-platforming stuff is so much more divisive than tolerating different voices and then thrashing them cos your argument’s are solid.
    I can’t help thinking of it as banishment – which indicates a hierarchical worthiness – not something that I want any part of.
    If it’s exhausting to observe, god knows how Stu feels – it can’t be nice πŸ™

For clarity, I’ve still never seen any evidence of ‘charges’ against him – sexism and a load of other isms.
    Generally I have no time whatsoever with this notion that certain folks are ‘damaging to the movement’ as everyone has something to contribute.
    It may be small and weird or big and flashy, shouty or calm, guerrilla or professional, organizer or footsoldier, elected or voluntary, creative artist or keyboard warrior, and on and on!
    Obviously there need to be space for everyone because it’s a grassroots people’s movement. It belongs to everyone.
    Think on the alternative – a boss, a line to toe, no room for individual expression – pretty much how the ‘other side’ try to portray us πŸ˜‰

There were 1.6 million odd Yes voters and a tiny number decided that a party structure suited them post 18.09.14 so however a new campaign shapes up the reality is that the majority of activists will be outsider any formal structure.
    Folk just need to accept that this is not a controllable entity, and it’s that organic nature that’ll be our strength if we want to win!
    Better Together
    Unity through strength
    Make Scotland great again
    Take our country back (forward)
    (ALL JOKES)

Ah, I feel better getting all that out!!

So, is everyone meeting up at PQ on Sunday?
    I won’t be going in any official capacity πŸ˜‰ , but I’d be up for a gab and a drink afterwards if folk fancy it?
    (gives me an excuse to get away from DIY for a wee while)

I’ll nip in again tomorrow night for the disco and see what’s happening xx

182. Macart

@Ruglonian

πŸ™‚

Pretty much. Heh.

183. Tinto Chiel

K1: thanks for giving me a great laugh for breakfast.

Hilarious.

Anyway, must “crack on”!

184. Smallaxe

The Proctor Lewis:

Great to see you on here my old and trusted Brother.Are we going to cause some chaos in the usual Yoonatic Asylums?
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always

185. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

So you are on your knees painting the skirtings, while you are down there now might be the time for a benediction.

“Bi lΓ idir mo charaid agus bithidh tu a ‘faighinn thairis”

Anyhoo when do you open to the public? I will need to procure a new hat for such an auspicious occasion.

I do hope afternoon tea will be served with a wee scone and jam, not the unionist kind of ‘jam tomorrow’ A nice full flavour packed with fruit kind of jam if you please.

186. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Hi Brian, sorry if you thought I was ignoring you re. Craigiebarns. My wifi has really been total mince the last couple of weeks, so I’ve only infrequently been able to connect to t’internet.

Thanks for the links, which I am sure you had posted before, pre-indyref1(?). I might have even commented at the time, though I can’t remember. The photos took me back, though I was only ever in the gardens or the residential wing of the building. I can’t remember much from back then either. No much good to you, eh? Sorry mate. πŸ™‚

187. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Nana. My strength’s ok but the swearie words I’m using aren’t very kind, I can assure you. It’s the spindles next.

Tinto Towers’ Grand Opening should be in the second week of April: tickets Β£25, Wingers go free BUT I’LL BE COUNTING THE SPOONS. Bring your own bottle. Canapes will be served.

I’ll try with the buttermilk scones, Nana, but no unionist jam, I’m afraid, it has a bitter aftertaste.

My mantra today will be:

“Dhe, beannaich an taigh/ Bho steidh gu staidh/Bho chrann gu fraigh/ Bho cheann gu saidh/ Bho dhronn gu traigh/ Bho sgonn gu sgaith/ eadar bhonn agus bhraighe/ Bhonn agus bhraighe.”

Once this is all over I’m going to learn Gaelic properly, honest.

Meanwhile, in other news, this may blow your socks off:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fX8bca6pIaA

188. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Re. The “Grand Opening”. “Wingers free admission but bring a bottle”

Does it need to have anything in it?
    πŸ™‚
    Bithidh sinn a ‘faighinn thairis!

Peace Always

189. Nana

@Tinto

I know the feeling only too well, a 128 year old three storey hoose gutted over many years and finally finished only to start again from the beginning. Talk about painting the Forth bridge, sheesh. If I only had magical powers.

Blessings from my hoose to yours and go easy on the 3 in 1 oil, Smallaxe has warned me not to drink it but it does slide down very easily and I’m singing better than ever,lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgoDYK3IlGg

190. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cameron B.

I did wonder where you’d disappeared to!

You joining us at Plantation Quay on Sunday?

191. Smallaxe

H.I.M. Haile Selassie I

“…until the philosophy which holds one race superior and another inferior is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned: That until there are no longer first-class and second-class citizens of any nation; That until the color of a man’s skin is of no more significance than the color of his eyes; That until the basic human rights are equally guaranteed to all without regard to race; That until that day, the dream of lasting peace and world citizenship and the rule of international morality will remain but a fleeting illusion, to be pursued but never attained”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvFLKyAGzzI&ab_channel=PlayingForChange

https://playingforchange.org/

Peace and Love Through Music

192. Tinto Chiel

Nana: blessings received, understood and reciprocated.

Sounds like you need:

Smallaxe’n’Tinto Solutions

No job too small, no bill too big.

Kwality and comittment our wotch word.

“A fair week’s wage for a fair day’s work.”

Mrs D. from Carnwath said, “Their work-rate was incredible!”

Need some magic aroon the hoose? We can be your fairies!

S’n’T Solutions: and it’s goodbye to care!

193. Smallaxe

Smallaxe’n’Tinto Solutions:

Trading under the name “Albright and Bubbly”
    Your business is our Pleasure
    Your bankbook is our Treasure
    Your happiness Assured
    I hope you’re Insured
    Once we have your Trust
    You won’t see us for Dust

taxhaven@fleemail.guess

Peace Always

194. Smallaxe

I’m off now for a Grandpa nap but please join me in listening to my favourite Lullabye.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_IFb5YimMw&ab_channel=MadameMacabre

Peace Always
    πŸ™‚

195. Ian Brotherhood

A very brief dive down Memory Lane…

Jim Murphy being given directions:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODNlFyzbxnQ

196. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    I fancy it but I’m not sure if I’ll make it Brian. Heard any noises about a WOS gathering?

197. yesindyref2

Jings, all we need is Pete, Dave, Rock, Phil, Colin and we’ve got a full suit of diamond geezers ‘mon the GERS.

198. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cameron B.

I’m led to believe that there could be a spontaneous ‘swallie’, in a Yes-friendly establishment, after the demo on Sunday.

199. Tinto Chiel

I’m very sorry, Ian but you have mentioned The Smurphoid and so I am compelled to play this again:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kg70JeAkkHQ

200. yesindyref2

Won’t be there Sunday, it’s Mothers Day. Probably taking a break from Wings as well, there’s times you could do with some support not extra opposition. To be honest it’s easier posting on Unionist forums – you know just about everyone is on the other side.

201. K1

Thepnr’s gied him a wee friendly skelp…he’s affy excited, no huvin’ realised it’s the long haul we’re in fur…he’ll burn oot if he keeps up this pace of ‘takin’ offence’ at everything abdy is saying… (he husnae figured oot that Robert P’s just bouncing aff and clarifying on the back of his schtick either…quite the ‘angry man’ is he)

202. K1

πŸ™‚ Tinto

Apropos nuthin’, here’s a wee somethin’ a lecturer gave me when I was a sixteen year old mopin’ and snoozin” in class at college one fine morning. I’d been moody and intense for a few days previous and unbeknownst tae me at the time he’d clearly clocked this ‘altered state’ as a wis usually quite upbeat in temperament. Fuck knows now what wis up…some relationship drama no doot…anyway he sidles over tae ma desk and just places this piece of paper on it and walks away continuing on wi the lesson..

I reads it…and I nearly ended masel’ wi the laugher that erupted from ma being…

‘IF YOU ARE UNHAPPY

Once upon a time, there was a non-conforming sparrow that decided not to fly south for the winter.

However, soon the weather turned so cold that he reluctantly started to fly south. In a short time, ice began to form on his wings and he fell to earth in a farmyard, almost frozen. A cow passed by and crapped on the little sparrow. The sparrow thought it was the end, but the manure warmed him and defrosted his wings. Warm and happy, able to breathe, he started to sing. Just then a large cat came by, and hearing the chirping, investigated the sounds.

The cat cleared away the manure, found the chirping bird, and promptly ate him!’

The moral of the story:

1. Everyone who shits on you is not necessarily your enemy.

2. Everyone who gets you out of the shit is not necessarily your friend.

3. And, if you’re warm and happy in a pile of shit, keep your mouth shut!’

Some folks may already know this wee moral of the story tale, but when at that age wi the seriousness that we tend tae take our life’s ups and downs wi, this was like a major intervention fur ma young mind…it blew whatever crap I thought was so important that it was affecting ma ability tae be happy oot the windae! Also realised quite instantly that he was handing me a lifeline, if I wasn’t happy about something I could change ma attitude tae it. Pass it on especially tae young yins. πŸ™‚

203. Macart

@Yesindyref2

Lumi’s advice went down well then.

Don’t sweat it dad’s. The way threads have been heading recently, a wee break before the real fight starts sounds bloody inviting about now. People are going stir crazy and shouting ‘TROLL’ at their own shadow.

I reckon a fair dose of us could do with the break in fact. During this whole phoney war period, a lot of folk have put in a helluva shift, you included.

There’s a big stooshie on the horizon and we’re going to need to be bright eyed and bushy wossinamed only too soon.

204. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi indyref2.

As others (you know, “others” – nods in the direction of Stoneybridge) have pointed out to “others”, you could always take your Mum on a wee Sunday afternoon out, to meet “others” of the ‘vile cybernat’ persuasion…

——————————————————

Hi K1.

Your story reminded me of this, for some reason, which I found in the year before the 1992/93 Timex dispute. It rang so true…

The Plan

In the beginning, there was a plan,
    And then came the assumptions,
    And the assumptions were without form,
    And the plan without substance,

And the darkness was upon the face of the workers,
    And they spoke among themselves saying,
    “It is a crock of shit and it stinks.”

And the workers went unto their Supervisors and said,
    “It is a pile of dung, and we cannot live with the smell.”

And the Supervisors went unto their Managers saying,
    “It is a container of excrement, and it is very strong,
    Such that none may abide by it.”

And the Managers went unto their Directors saying,
    “It is a vessel of fertilizer, and none may abide by its strength.”

And the Directors spoke among themselves saying to one another,
    “It contains that which aids plants growth, and it is very strong.”

And the Directors went to the Vice Presidents saying unto them,
    “It promotes growth, and it is very powerful.”

And the Vice Presidents went to the President, saying unto him,
    “This new plan will actively promote the growth and vigor
    Of the company With very powerful effects.”

And the President looked upon the Plan
    And saw that it was good,
    And the Plan became Policy.

And this, my friend, is how shit happens.

205. Tinto Chiel

K1: still laughing at your Irn Bru vid. Priceless. I have spread it far and wide. *wishes he hadn’t said that*

Your three morals are spot on but it’s difficult spotting them in real life, causing the confusion and chaos of existence.

When are 77 Brigade going to grace us with their presence here?

Can hardly wait…….

If you’re going to PQ, hope to see you there, although I will be under strict supervision. πŸ˜›

206. K1

Quite so Tinto…experience teaches ‘after the fact’ never before…ergo ergo…

Aye ”twas a guid yin…listen tae you ‘spreadin’ that craic far and wide…oo’er!

Hoping to get there, got a wee bit o’ work over the weekend though so might miss it this time. πŸ™

207. K1

Ye no it’s bad oan the MT when even Ken is getting this agitated….

208. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Are you impugning my character? πŸ˜‰

I’ll try to make it along but it’s probably not likely. Will Paula be there? πŸ™‚

The Specials – Stereotype (Extended version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbarD7ZFCLA

209. Tinto Chiel

BrianDTT: the last time I saw that wonderful “Crock of Shit” peom (sic), it was on the wall of an educational “manager”.

So far, so good, except he was an absolute plank and was complicit in shafting the staff when it came to staffing, educational “reform”, und so weiter…..

You can’t trust a man by his posters in this world, I’m afeard.

In any case, it was a teaker πŸ˜› .

210. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Were you wondering about the 77?
    They’re here!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfVraaMRZmc&ab_channel=Official77rocks

Peace Always

211. Tinto Chiel

Who are these young scallywags?

The AC/DC de nos jours, shurely, Bon’n’aw?

Great stuff, Smallaxe.

Can you do a cornice and skirting job ramorra in Carnwadric?

Needy widow with a Lamborghini in drive.

Please advise, Tintoretto.

212. K1

πŸ™‚ Very good Brian…love it!

213. Ian Brotherhood

@K1, TC, IR2, Smallaxe et al –

More power to the whole fekkin’ lot of ye’s, keeping this place so upbeat.

There’s a lot of fatigue about, and some are showing cracks.

That’s why lumilumi’s post (night before last?) was such a tonic – that’s the sort of thing ‘we’ used to post regularly, but she has the great advantage of being able to see us from outwith, even though she feels very close.

Anyway, that’s all I wanted to say.

πŸ˜‰

P.S. Listening to my very old Orbison ‘Ballads’ CD, bought in the Mitchell Library Book Sale, 1993 for 20p. Never fails to get the waterworks going. Memories…

214. Ian Brotherhood

Before I forget –

Here’s one for the old poets amongst ye.

Anyone remember a poem called ‘The Dog’s Party’?

No googlin’ or Buster-Keaton – do you honestly remember it?

My Granda used to tell me it, with appropriate noises to replace the ‘naughty’ words. Found it earlier this evening, what looks like a U.S. version. The one I remember was definitely a Weegie treatment. πŸ™‚

215. Ian Brotherhood

Forgive me friends, just allow this one…

Orbison, ‘Crawling Back’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtgnsOXoAVM

216. Smallaxe

Tinto:

“Needy widow with a Lamborghini in drive.”

Tell her to put the Lamborghini in “Park” and I’ll see to her “Needs” by taking care of her skirting if you can manage the cornice.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

217. Tinto Chiel

And Lumilumi’s English is better than mine, which is depressing.

“To see oorsls as ithers see us” indeed. I’m surprised she bothers with so many invertebrates in Scotland. Honestly! How much humiliation and theft can you soak up, suckers? Must brush up my Finnish after the Gaelic.

No idea about The Dog’s Party, Ian, but The Big O is worthy of your tears (poetry).

218. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

The dogs party, I don’t know the poem but I do remember this!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cB5jkTfPcDs&ab_channel=bigmanio

By the way, don’t ever apologise for playing a song for us all that’s what we like, my Brother
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

219. Tinto Chiel

@Smallaxe.

*looks suspiciously at metaphor*

I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again: “I’ve got a bad feeling about this…..”

What would Roy Orbison do?

220. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

That’s it!

I honestly didn’t know McGinn had done it.

Soo-fucking-perb!

Right, that’s The Big O back in his box. Nae merr sniffling fae me the nicht…

(Ach, FFS…where’s me white suit?)

Kid Creole & The Coconuts, ‘I’m A Wonderful Thing Baby’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dgJZJVO6H8

221. Smallaxe

Never let School interfere with your Education:

School:
    Authoritarian Structure
    Dress Code
    Emphasis on order and Silence
    Negative Reinforcement
    Walk in Lines
    Loss of Individuality
    No input in Decision Making
    Set times for eating walking ETC.

PRISON: See Above

Peace Always

222. Tinto Chiel

Ian, from this angle, do you think Kid Creole and Smallaxe could be The Same Person?

Guy’s a Legend.

223. Smallaxe

Ian:

Another one from Roy in answer to Tinto’s question.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TR8e8ej1K1c&ab_channel=RayNittolo

Peace Always
    and love oooh gimmie love lovely lovely gimmie gimmie ooooohhh

It ‘s the med’s Honest!
    πŸ™‚

224. Smallaxe

This is where I come from, with a great bit of philosophy thrown in for good measure.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KNrVkDqPsbM&ab_channel=bb45678

Peace Always

225. Tinto Chiel

Mofftaemapit, but not afore I append dear Martyn.

Nana and I have jived to this many times, before you ask.

Pass the Ralgex, bruvva…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CtmtkXV-ig

226. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Don’t go just yet, I’m playing YOUR song!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kvB8gHkHhgI&ab_channel=RecN%27Destroy

Peace Always

227. Smallaxe

A wee song for Scot’s Abroad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lto0UF4c8lw&ab_channel=HAZRIC

This is where WE live

Peace Always

228. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

re Will Fyffe…

‘…they point the skinger of forn…’

πŸ™‚

Fantastic stuff.

For shame, I don’t recognise most of the streets shown there – would have to really slow it down. I’m guessing Dumbarton Rd at one point, but the windy-road bit at the end? Nae idea…

It’s all precious documentary material, and we’re very lucky to be able to access it so easily.

229. Tinto Chiel

*blubs in his gingham PJs*

That was lovely, Smallaxe. Them Spanish guys can sho’ R&R.

Seriously, can you remember a version of “I belong…” with a long, spoken preamble which was really interesting. I heard it on Pravdasound4 about ten years ago when I was still trusting and naive but it was quite something.

Or it might just be the turps talking…..

A demain, chinas.

230. Smallaxe

Aye Ian, never a truer word was spoken, we are lucky that we can still access a lot of our heritage in song, film and spoken word such as…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyIpP3XvQmk&ab_channel=SITVTamSITV
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tiaUWdMf1g&ab_channel=BarryFerguson
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAz_UvnUeuU&ab_channel=VideoFunStation

Peace Always

231. Smallaxe

Tinto:

You’re probably in bed, but I don’t think it’s the turps I think it may be this talking,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1DKn4SjhvUQ&ab_channel=fritz51327

Peace Always

232. yesindyref2

Thanks Lenny and Proud Cybernat and of course Ken500 – gave me a smile. Sensible and Boaty aren’t tr*lls as far as I’m concerned, they are what they say on the tin. The big problem is flag tr*lls – fake YESsers, because they ingratiate, say something people can support, suck people in, then misinform, divide and disrupt. But some can be even more sneaky, realise people are on to them and sit back again for a while.

Simple trolls are fine, flag trolls need to be outed and banned. They’re not in it for kicks, their sole purpose is to destroy the utility of Wings. If someone outs a troll, there’s no point in jumping on the outer, it just gives the troll air and food. And I’m afraid being nice to a flag troll is about as much good as peeing into a volcano.

Right now? The trolls are winning, and they’ve dug in.

@BDTT – my wife would probably prefer … well, let’s say a political rally of any sort wouldn’t be her thing πŸ™‚ Son’s home anyway for the weekend, so we’ll be off somewhere interesting. Both YES voters by the way. Daughter’s in Oz probably still NO.

233. Ruglonian

Sunday 2pm – have hat, will travel πŸ˜‰

234. yesindyref2

I don’t think I made the point.

Misinformation is one of the tools, and if they can get away with it they’ll have some lurkers and even some of the regulars tweeting, posting or telling their workmates “It’s the Scotland Office control all the civil servants in Scotland, that’s Mundell, he tells them what to do and say”.

And people will look at them thinking “What a dumb fool, really believes that garbage”.

Strike 1 for the flag troll.

235. Ruglonian

@yesindyref2 I hear you πŸ™‚

236. Macart

@Yesindyref2

‘They’re winning’

They might comment and are careful not to break rules and get banned, but winning is altogether a different thing. πŸ˜‰

Folk know the faces to look for when they need information, links, critical dissection, inspiration or simply a damn good laugh.

Trust in people to spot those who would tell them who to hate and who exclude. If there is one thing we stand for as a movement, it’s tolerance and inclusion.

I posted this in support of lumi last night, but I reckon it serves as a marker of where I hope we should be aiming.

Independence is a mindset. It is a community. A people. A nation.

It is ALL of that community. ALL of the people. All of the nation. It is every kind of person from every walk of life and there are some pretty basic yet hefty concepts which unite all of us. We believe in the right to self determination. We believe government should serve the needs and aspirations of the population. We believe in tolerance and inclusion. That last bit should be considered fairly important if we want to be independent by the by.

It’s not about one person’s vision, or one person’s way. It’s about creating a home we can all live in and live with and that means living with each other. Learning to form consensus and compromise with each other without losing sight of who we are. It’s about having the opportunity to have the system and type of government that we vote for and is answerable to us as a β€˜population’. A government shaped by the people, for the people.

ALL the people.

If some folk can’t get behind that concept, then I give you Westminster as an example of what happens when you have a state which considers favouring the wants and needs of one tiny demographic over the needs and aspirations of all in their care.

Worked out well didn’t it?

A nation is ultimately judged on how it views and treats its population from the least among them to the greatest, NOT the other way round.

Maybe worth thinking about the next time someone decides to attempt to divide a grassroots movement by telling you who should be included or excluded.

Onywho, this site has a mahoosive readership. Most are silent readers. They’re the folk we’re trying to reach and keep speaking to.

We focus on talking to them and HOW we talk to them. They’ll spot the good guys soon enough.

Sorry for the ramble. πŸ™‚

237. Smallaxe

Macart:

The truth is never a “ramble”. No apology necessary my Friend.

Peace Always

238. Stoker

Sorry to crash the party but away you boring so-and-so’s over to main thread πŸ˜€ BTW, where’s Jim T? Is he still alive?

Ocean Colour Scene – Better Day
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YFSoXOzVzmU

239. CameronB Brodie

It is ALL of that community. ALL of the people. All of the nation. It is every kind of person from every walk of life and there are some pretty basic yet hefty concepts which unite all of us. We believe in the right to self determination. We believe government should serve the needs and aspirations of the population. We believe in tolerance and inclusion. That last bit should be considered fairly important if we want to be independent by the by.

A sense of local connectedness improves the quality and ethical content of decision making, through a process of unbounded rationality, which unlocks the potential for empathy and love to work as technologies for progressive social change. In other words, if those making the decisions are “one of us”, they are more likely to make better decisions. Agreement through consensus is also more likely.

Unbounded Rationality
    http://link.springer.com/article/10.1023/A:1008708222157

P.S. I wonder how GRAPH-BOY accounts for this in his musing?

240. Stoker

The Big O – In Dreams
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPqZs7Vl_xg

241. Macart

@CameronB Brodie

I’m sure he’ll have a data set for fellow feeling and empathy lying around somewhere. (cough) πŸ™„

242. Smallaxe

Stoker:

I’m pleased to see that you made it across safely to O/T without staggering too much.
    πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MKlRJukxi0&ab_channel=Mirna%C3%93ueen

Peace Always

243. Stoker

Ag, you’re always askin’ me so here’s the cowards way of answering you….no, i hate the Borders, i want to be back on the West Coast or up in Stirling or the Kessock Ferry. xxxxxxx

Billy Joel – The River of Dreams
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSq4B_zHqPM

244. Stoker

Big Chib,

πŸ˜€ You take care my friend, BTW, yah wee shugar lump, i might not be on thread as much as normal but my spooks are everywhere and i was informed of you touting your services, just remember, you’re contracted to me. UNDERSTAND??????

245. CameronB Brodie

Macart
    The lad’s basic problem is he’s using a child’s crayon set (GERS), to represent the landscape of a nation’s prospects. He’s not using the appropriate tools, IMHO, though that is something of a paradoxical statement, of course. :).

246. Smallaxe

Understood Boss, but I am not one of those people who say that they fell in with the wrong crowd. I was the wrong crowd!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvosjKUKCLo&ab_channel=TomOdellVEVO

Peace Always My good Friend

247. Stoker

Vengaboys – Shalala lala
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Obi4iELWJ3Y

Afroman – Because I Got High
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WeYsTmIzjkw

248. Stoker

Cheers,Smallaxe, Rascal Flatts now added to my lists πŸ™‚

249. Macart

@CameronB Brodie

I’d say you’ve pretty much nailed it there. πŸ™‚

Good tunes tonight.

Anyroads, time for a lie down. It’s been a long week and then some.

250. Stoker

S & F?…..You spook me sometimes, Smallaxe, that’s 2 of my fave S&F you’ve now played recently. Keep it going πŸ˜‰

The PNR likes Johnny Cash, this is my Johnny Cash….

Okie From Muskogee – Merle Haggard (with Willy Nelson)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4AgZST_TG8

Merle Haggard – Silver Wings (Dedicated to my wee sister Sandra)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w99UIu9N44w

Merle Haggard – Branded Man (Live,1968)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-ER-yo1V3s

251. CameronB Brodie

Why do some folk fall in with the wrong crowd, a genetic trait or learned patterns of behavior?

https://www.simplypsychology.org/personality-theories.html

Though I’m sure David Torrance will be along shortly to explain how a Scottish identity can flourish within a social environment defined through British/English nationalism.

252. Smallaxe

3 O’CLOCK: BEDTIME!

Billy Joel
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcnd55tLCv8&ab_channel=billyjoelVEVO

Peace Always to All

253. Stoker

Cameron, do you ever take a break Buddy? Goodnight, Smallaxe!

ABBA – Ring Ring
    http://www.google.co.uk/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=ABBA+ring+ring&*

254. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

It’s been a strange night. Put my head down for an hour’s snooze just before 9pm – woke up half an hour ago. Now got my tea/dinner/supper in the oven.

Onnyhoo… I HATE it, when a bunch of guys get together, decide to form a band, then choose a previously existing band’s name for their own ensemble.

Lone Star is a prime example. From Wikipedia:-
    “Lone Star was a Welsh rock band formed in Cardiff, Wales in 1975. An embryonic line-up consisted of former Iona members, Kenny Driscoll and Tony Smith, former Quest bassist Ray Jones, and drummer Jim Mathews. The band took on the Lone Star moniker in early 1975 with the addition of new rhythm section, Pete Hurley on bass and Dixie Lee on drums, and noted guitarist Paul “Tonka” Chapman (a cousin of famed Welsh rocker Dave Edmunds), whose credits included the bands Universe, Skid Row (where he had replaced Gary Moore), Kimla Taz, and most notably, UFO, in a short-lived 1974 dual guitar configuration alongside Michael Schenker. Canadian keyboardist Rick Worsnop completed the line-up.

[snip]

Lone Star recorded a studio session for John Peel’s BBC Radio 1 show in early 1976, and signed to CBS Records, releasing their self-titled Roy Thomas Baker-produced debut album in August 1976. It charted at No. 47 on the UK Album Charts and was supported by a UK tour with label mate Ted Nugent.”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lone_Star_(band)

(In that quote is another example of name plagiarism – “Skid Row”.)

As far as I’m aware (from personal memory), Lone Star recorded two albums – “Lone Star” and “Firing On All Six”. “The Bells Of Berlin”, from their second album, is one of my all-time fave prog tracks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2OlUrLGmNFE

On their first album, they did a rather wild version of the Beatles’ “She Said She Said”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XlWzE5hUHB8

Now I must go and consume my garlic chicken, mushrooms in gravy, green beans and tatties. I bid yooz good night.

255. Stoker

Green Day – American Idiot
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ee_uujKuJMI

Green Day – Jesus Of Suburbia
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CnQ8N1KacJc

Fun – We Are Young
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sv6dMFF_yts

256. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    Sorry mate, I tend to be the sort to rub until it bleeds, though I’ve already played that one. As such, here’s one for Duncan Hothersall and the circle jerk that appears to be forming around him.

@dhothersall
    You want Project Fear?

The Residents – Smelly Tongues (live)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKXAfqFyr8k

If that was a little too contemporary for SpongeBob fans, here’s the demo(?) which was closer to the version released on their first album in 1974.

The Residents – Smelly Tongues
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iu6o4aiV3_o

257. Stoker

Me too Brian,

The boss has just awoken with a chesty cough and i’ve been told;
    “RIGHT YOU, BED!”
    Goodnight, Troops!
    πŸ˜€

258. Stoker

SHEEEEET! Wrong link;

Jesus of Suburbia
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3J4E_Vh1Cs

NIGHT niiighttt….

Night Cam….

259. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    Night mate, sleep well. πŸ˜‰

260. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, thanks for you 12.06. I haven’t seen that for a long time.

The wee taxi driver is Phil McCall, I’m sure you remember him. His son played in the same clicky-ba team as me for a wee while.

Off to Tarbolton tonight for a Burns Supper so away to press my loon tartan pants.

Lovely day here. I can hear wee siskins singing their “Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” song.

Magic.

261. Quentin Quale

Perthshire folks – the Perthshire Bikers for Yes are riding through our area today so get out and cheer them on! On the way to Scone just now, then up the Coupar Angus road to Meigle, Kirriemuir at 12, Alyth 12.45, Blairgowrie at 1pm, Dunkeld at 1.20 and ending at South Inch in Perth at about 2pm.

262. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Enjoy your Burns Supper but be careful, a lot of my family live there and some of them are not as peaceful as me!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always to your Sonsie face

263. Tinto Chiel

I’m looking forward to it. One of the turns is an excellent “Holy Willie” performer. The lights go down and in he comes in nightshirt and candle: hilarious.

The only trouble is I keep thinking of Willie Rennie now when I hear HW, and that’s not a good thing.

DYK Tarbolton means “Beltane Hill” in Gaelic? Think it’s a bit early for all that fire and houghmagandie’n’stuff, surely?

Anyhow, arrividerci, Erchie.

264. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I thought Holy Willie was an STD, then again when it comes to Willie Rennie an STD might be preferable.
    Might?

Here’s another Willie with an unfortunate name,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtK5dIGwN9U&ab_channel=lopz33

What will be, EH!

Peace Always

265. Tinto Chiel

Heeheeheeheeheehee! Pity my Spanish is so bad. Or mebbes not…

I thought you were going to mention this famous chappie:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSrEcPdA0hE

Sounds very STD-like, like clappy doos. Not manky birds but those big mussels you used to get in the Firth o’ Clyde.

Don’t know if they still exist.

Onywise, the spindles are calling……..

266. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Don’t touch the spindles!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6UYITSXjfc&ab_channel=MaxCanon

OH, fir clappy doos sake, HE’S DONE IT!

267. Smallaxe

Willie no come back again! Poor Tinto. πŸ™

Peace Always

268. Tinto Chiel

‘”Too late, too late,” the maiden cried,
    Lifted her wooden leg and died…..’

Or, to put it another way:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hDlu5ahp9eA

If I survive Tarbowton, I’ll drone you over some haggis favours tomorrow. Is your address still Chateau Hachette, Rue Bessie Braddock, Garngad?

Right, painting done for the day.

Off to press my strides and select a nenuphar for my buttonhole.

Cheersmedears.

269. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, forgot to say afore I went: I heard this on the radio while spindling AND I LIKED IT.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fwOTDaO4bg

Wot is happening to me? Am I normal, doctor?

“Anxious”, name and address supplied.

270. K1

Ah dae like a bit o’ dirty humour…

The sexual life of the camel
    Is stranger than anyone thinks
    For oft in the height of the season
    It desires to mate with the sphinx

But the sphinx’s posterior entrance
    Is blocked by the sands of the Nile
    Which accounts for the humps of the camel
    And the sphinx’s inscrutable smile.

271. Smallaxe

Hi K1,

Mary had a little skirt
    with splits right up the sides
    and every time that Mary walked
    the boys could see her Thighs
    Mary had another skirt
    ’twas split right up the front
    …but she didn’t wear that one very often
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

272. Smallaxe

Mary had a little pig
    And it was always
    Grunting
    She took it round
    The back one day
    And kicked it’s
    Fkn cnt in

Peace Always

273. K1

Mucho hilarity this side o’ the screen Billy…

274. Smallaxe

Little boy Blue
    Come blow
    Your trumpet
    If the sheep don’t
    Like it
    They can fkn
    Lump it

Peace Always

275. Smallaxe

k1:

I’ve said before now that I swapped my brains for a pound of mince and still consider it a bargain!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

276. Thepnr

You Barlanark and Drumchapel weans will remember this which was all the rage in Easterhouse with us 5 year olds.

Milk Milk
    Lemonade
    Round the Corner Chocolates Made πŸ™‚

Think I’ll go and eat worms πŸ™‚

277. Dave McEwan Hill

I understand that camels were called ships of the desert becaust they were full of arab seamen

278. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

You must have come from the Posh side of the schemes.

Milk Milk
    Ginger Beer
    Round the corner
    Diarrhea

Big Big Fat one’s Wee Wee Skinny one’s, see how they wriggle and Squirm.
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always

279. Smallaxe

Dave McEwan Hill:

Only the good looking camels, Dave.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

280. Big Phil

nae body loves me
    everybody hates me
    ‘think i’ll go and eat worms
    big fat juicy wans
    wee skinny lucy wans
    see how they wriggle and sqirm
    I bite aff their heeds
    and bite aff their tails
    and throw the rest away
    nae body knows how a survive
    on worms three times a day.

that was fae parkheid . when a wis a wean. lol

281. Liz g

Milk and Leamonade….Pah…
    We roughed it son.

Ah wiz walkin thru the jungle when ma bum began to rumble..
    Diarrhoea
    Diarrhoea.
    Some people think it’s funny,but it’s really hot and runny.
    Diarrhoea
    Diarrhoea

And that was as far as anyone I knew got before a clip on the ear.
    Anyhoo now that we have completely lowered the tone …..Time fur a dram….

282. Smallaxe

Big Phil:

Meet your pal from Beatock street.
    Then I had a r/kitchen in Crail Street
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

283. Smallaxe

liz g:

liz, where have you been?, I played this just the other day!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozKLHFxAvAo&ab_channel=MichaelScott

Peace Always

284. Smallaxe

Mothers Day:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3V4PM1oL7Xs&ab_channel=GenaHill

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SrP8UoDpg4&ab_channel=Louisa8790

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSs44wCchwo&ab_channel=MoneerAlrawahna

I bet that cheered you all up
    πŸ™‚
    If you’re lucky enough to still have your Mother, you have something more precious than you realise.

Peace Always

285. Cactus

To the night.

Elements.

‘Night’ (They call it New Age)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9NM-yK1C2I

Check out ‘Petricor,’ smells good.

286. Smallaxe

Remember to change your Clocks

Time Flies
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kSdcVt6eVfA&ab_channel=TimefliesVEVO

Peace Always

287. Big Phil

Yer spoiling us Smallaxe. Glenisla st was my wee domain. πŸ˜‰

288. Smallaxe

Big Phil:

Just off Maukinfauld road, you were very nearly in the Calton which was also one of my hangouts.

Small world Phil!

Peace Always

289. Cactus

@ clocks Smallaxe (btw cheers for Time Flies, I’ve done same.)

A50 trigger day digital countdown clock re-emerges:

0 centuries, 0 decades, 2 days, 23 hours, XX minutes & sex…

Let’s get it over & done with πŸ˜‰

290. Big Phil

My message musta went to the ‘ether’ Smallaxe. wee Glenisla st boy. Lovin yer songs. πŸ˜‰

291. Smallaxe

For Paula Rose:

Yesterday When I Was Young. And many more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Julf-cJEleg&list=PLTzT4tQUEbD_VR4HuKIomWjpJKwENadQF&ab_channel=crossline70

Peace Always my Friend

292. Big Phil

lol. according to the famous magnus magnusson i lived in a fourth world . Lilybank. long time before onthank got the shit ripped outa them. Loved Lilybank.

293. Cactus

More importantly..

See ye in session next week Holyrood.

Vote wisely. Vote Yes!

Tick-tock.

294. Cactus

Ahm pouring out.. can I top anybuddy up?
    X.

295. Smallaxe

Big Phil:

You’re up there at 12;10 Phil! #Specsavers

Cactus:

Upon Independence?
    You asked, I answered in that other place. Twice
    Tick Tock

296. Big Phil

lol. I know Smallaxe. Bitty slow this tinternet. πŸ˜‰

297. Cactus

Indeed dude.. goes out to one and all.

Ra more ra merrier.

Tick-tock me bro.

298. Cactus

One for the musos.

Anna-Maria! (Santa Maria!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vC9Qh709gas

She’s gorgeous.

299. Smallaxe

SOMETHING CLASSICAL TO SAY GOODNIGHT

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rygZnko0-Lw&ab_channel=TheBunduBallerina

Peace to All Always

300. Liz g

Smallaxe @ 11.02
    Thanks for that…. I think….. Really Em. !!! Inspirational to wake up to..Lol

Hope you are keeping ok…..Love to Mrs Smallaxe.

I have been right here the whole time my friend, but it seems that lately everytime I come on to Wing’s, Rock or Senseless are dominating the conversation or Mike is getting us all told.
    Don’t know if that’s Sods Law or Murphy’s Law …What say you Smallaxe??

301. Smallaxe

liz g:

I’m really disappointed that we are allowing some people to disrupt the M/T liz and saddened by the fact that some people who we know to be regular contributors are beginning to argue amongst themselves.

I myself can be considered guilty as I reprimanded someone yesterday on the cartoon thread over what I took to be an insult to women. I may have been better to leave it alone because I’m not sure if I may have made it worse by pointing it out.

Anyway, I’m happy here in my little O/T hideout just playing some music for those whose spirits are flagging due to their good work on the M/T going unheard due to the disruption.

Peace Always my Dear Friend

302. Tinto Chiel

Morning, Smallaxe.

Had a jolly time in Tarbowton, although I was a bit discombobulated by the Swarfega instead of hand wash in the gentlemen’s excuse me.

Haggis report: rich, smooth with notes of sage but perhaps too much pepper.

Think my tartan crepe de Chine jump suit was a sensation, btw but I left my Kilmarnock bunnet on the bus.

Life’s like that.

Liz g: next time you drop in, could you bring some beef links for the sausage sizzle? I’m working on a gin-based barbeque sauce at the moment.

303. Smallaxe

The auld Guidman, maist like to rive,
    ‘Bethankit’ hums.
    An’tho’ dresswise ther’ wis
    Nae man hipper
    Dressed up like a
    Mallaig kipper
    Oor Tinto finds the time
    to grumble
    Ther’s too much Pepper
    An’ lost is his
    Kilmarnock Bunnet
    Pity the man wa’ may
    Hiv funnit
    Fir Tinto’s heid
    It isnae sma’
    An’ the bunnet
    Wid only fit a
    Medicine Baw’
    πŸ˜‰
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVth_C1zYrw&ab_channel=MadDecent

Hope you had a guid nicht ma Frien’

Peace Always

304. K1

You were right tae call him out Smallaxe, what followed was what we’ve all witnessed since his arrival, a defensive immediate ‘back up’ reaction. When a couple of others joined in, his belligerent posture became yet again the main characteristic on show. When it got a bit more ‘nuanced’ he played the ‘victim’ in an attempt tae reverse ‘attack’ even though it was patently obvious there was no attacking him ‘personally’ in ma own particular observations on the matter.

Your own comment and counter tae his immediate reactionary ‘would ye say anything if it wis a man a referred tae’ wis witty and tae the point. Struck the right tone. Not sure ah helped, it started as observation and ended on ‘and it’s a fuck off from me’ (am saying no more about this) as politely as ah could manage. (That’s what ‘End’ translates as if ah use it tae cap ma post)

—————————

Am ah alone in noticing how quiet the place wis last night on the M/T’s and for most of yesterday? Are people switchin’ aff because of these exchanges?

305. Tinto Chiel

Sublime, Smallaxe, simply sublime. I see the Muse has alighted early today. *dabs at eyes*

So that’s what Mrs TC means when she says, “Shut it, Ba’ heid”? It’s all falling into place.

Unusual vid: hink those girls could do with a spell in the Girl Guides.

Off to steam my fuschia beret for this afternoon’s festivities……

306. K1

*now expects comments directly tae me with the word ‘End’ utilised thusly* πŸ˜‰

307. Smallaxe

K1:

Thanks, for agreeing with me, there was no need for the misogynistic comment at the end of what was a harmless post, to begin with, I felt that I had to say something because I found no humour in the remark and thought it unnecessary and deliberately provocative.

I’m 100% certain that we have been infiltrated by more than one agent provocateur in the last few weeks and agree with you that they are killing threads and getting our peoples backs up which doesn’t make us look good to new readers and is likely to put them off commenting.

Another bugbear that I have mentioned before is Grammar Polis, not everybody, myself included, has perfect grammar but I think we are all intelligent enough to know what someone means even if it isn’t grammatically perfect, this I think will stop some people from posting who otherwise would.

Thanks again, for having my back, my Friend.

Peace Always

308. K1

Good point re grammar polis, never understood the need tae correct other’s posts but huv wondered whether those that do might be ex teachers? Take note though they say fuck all tae footnurt when he/she comments.

Aye ma feeling too ‘deliberate’ and incendiary. There’s more than meets the eye wi this wan.

The alternative is we all stop posting cause we don’t want tae argue…is not that a greater danger than risking challenging any of the crap? They win if we stop posting cause we’re trying to stay on the high ground, am a bit pissed aff wi the later comments from posters admonishing the engagement and challenging of earlier stuff, that by the time they post has already been dealt wi.

They’re just as much as any at fault when they admonish previous posters later on in a thread and by doing so they re ignite and ‘tag’ the fucker we’ve just demolished! Huv never been good wi ‘holier than thou’ types tbf.

Hiho am aff tae work…have a grand day Billy πŸ™‚

309. Smallaxe

“Who are You” The Who:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PdLIerfXuZ4&ab_channel=TheWhoVEVO

“Raise a little Hell” Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWCcLW08dsU&ab_channel=bigdamnbandofficial

Peace Always

310. Smallaxe

K1:

You have a good day, I hope you get double time for a Sunday.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

311. K1

If we start censoring ourselves for the sake of those who are telling us off, on our own side and continually ‘guilt trip’ us about engaging wi who ‘they’ think are ‘trolls’ we are going to get ourselves in a ‘bind’…which is a well known ‘tactic’ utilised to stifle debate too. It’s why ah continually refer to the Rev’s rules, those who repeatedly go on about the ‘trolls’ are in direct breach of the Rev’s point about ‘discussing’ on the thread whether they are trolls or not!

And these are regulars indulging in this over and over again.

Meet the problem head on if we see it in front of us, if something needs challenged because it is plainly incorrect or blatantly incendiary it doesn’t matter ‘who’ is saying it? As long as ye believe ‘they’re trolls so don’t respond’ yer in essence handing over the platform tae them and knobblibg anyone who says ‘wait a fucking minute’?

Rev police’s this site. We should not be fearful of a kinda ‘retribution’ from people on own own side…it concerns me that these regulars don’t seem tae get called out on ‘that’ behaviour. And we certainly should not be sel-censoring cause that’s exactly what that type of ‘guilt tripping’ is directly aimed at achieving.

You were correct tae call him out. What was damning about yesterday’s episode was the fact that so few others did…they aw saw it, 3 other posters referred and dealt wi it…not a fucking peep from the ‘we know who the trolls are brigade’. Which entirely proves ma point…they’re happy tae have any old shite spouted and say nuthin’ and then at some future point down the line: ‘I don’t know why people are engaging with the ‘troll/s’, having completely dismissed the notion that ‘new’ posters’ are seeing shite like this getting a free pass if no one says anything about their shite?

If we say nothing, does Wings retain its ‘hard hitting’ credentials of challenging btl as well as atl? Or does it slowly turn intae a mailesque btl area shitpit were good posters for fear of backlash from those unwiilling or too scared tae argue wi a numpty wi a loud mouth spouting pish end up walking away from Wings because of that?

This guy over the past week has literally been shouting down people and increasingly attacking regular posters and the answer is: yer a troll and am sayin nuthin?

Naw the answer is to challenge again and again and again…get right intae it at the level of skill and ability you are capable of maintaining until everyone sees someone like that for what they really are about. Test their reach, figure out why the need tae shout so loud in a room full of people who are open tae listening? This whole thing is about reaching out to others and understanding them, meet people where we find them not where we think they should be.

It’ll show up soon enough what anyone is about and they’ll run like fuck if they are exposed…remember alhuraneocontwat…now there wis a good battle! We vanquished that yin by goin’ at him over and over again! (even though ah think he was a ‘deliberate’ ‘plant’ :-). )

rant over.

312. Smallaxe

K1:

Not a “rant”, a perfectly put opinion (with which I totally agree).

What are we supposed to do, let them take over what I consider to be the best site of its kind anywhere on the web?

No!That just is not going to happen, we are not going to let a few little shits spoil it for everyone if this was real world arguments I’m afraid I would drop the peace logo and the first one to talk to me as some of these people do would find out very quickly that the peace that I continually advocate for I have had to at times physically fight for and I have the scars to prove it.

I have been attacked while on peace marches, starting with my first in 1968 (stabbed), I have been locked up in cells for nothing other than defending myself and also jailed for 9 months for fighting with two plain clothed “policemen” who attacked me without any provocation from me, most of this before I had reached the age of 20.

I certainly won’t let anyone take the piss on here, although nowadays I do it a lot more peacefully and politely but I’m no mug and will refuse to be treated as by some arsehole who has done nothing for any cause but sit sniping anonymously from behind the safety of a keyboard.

As you say, Rant over!

Peace Always

313. Smallaxe

Maybe I should have left my theme song with that last “Rant”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFvtMp7hRF8&ab_channel=JoeTufano

Peace Always
    πŸ™‚

314. Liz g

K1 & Smallaxe
    I agree with what you are both sayin about the Main Thread and the way it’s been going lately.
    But just to add that sometimes it is difficult to judge if it’s a good idea to jump in or not.
    Are you going to just keep the arguments going and/or create more heat than light ?
    Espically if you have arrived a wee bit in to the conversation!

Most regulars and espically you two can hold their own but do you think it is better to post supporting comments and risk more of the thread being taken up…..Or stay out of it and try and engage with the “other” posters ?????

I have also wondered about asking the Rev to be a bit more visible on the threads when this shit happens?
    People I think tend to be a bit better behaved when they notice him posting.
    Knowing that the only person who can actually bann your ass is around, might concentrate mind’s enough to put a damper on the stupidity.
    As for the Grammar Natzis there’s no help for them I’m afraid,very much a lost cause….More to be pitied than blamed I would think!!!

Now for the important stuff…..Did someone mention Gin????
    I am lookin at you Tinto Chiel @ 10.15am

315. Smallaxe

liz g:

As you say liz, we await the Rev’s intervention, until then we can only play it by ear.I will play it like I always have,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdNwa-g_Uu8&ab_channel=SeviayAshera

Peace to All
    Goodnight

316. Cactus

Scotland.
    X.

317. Smallaxe

R.E.M.”Shiny Happy People”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNW809QqF1g&ab_channel=amindenandel
    Everyone around
    Love them, love them
    Put it in your hands
    Take it, take it
    There’s no time to cry
    Happy, happy
    Put it in your heart
    Where tomorrow shines
    Gold and silver shine

Peace Always

318. Tinto Chiel

Liz g said, “Did someone mention Gin????
    I am lookin at you Tinto Chiel @ 10.15am.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DRll-jqmrrw

My two heiresses took Mrs TC out to a Ladies Who Lunch place called Cup in Glesca on Saturday which becomes an up-market gin palace in the evening.

Still experimenting with the right gin for my sauces. Luckily, Harvey my rabbit friend helps me cut the lemons and cucumbers.

319. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Gin Sauce, this is an old family recipe kept secret up until now.

Take one bottle of Gin
    Drink it! this will put you in the proper mood for cooking.
    Add some Gin
    Add some Juniper Berries to taste
    Add a pint of Gin
    Add a shovelful of Gin
    Finish off with some Ginger beer (the one with Alchohol in.)

Whilst cooking, listen to this!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kCtcXDCxh7w&ab_channel=RedneckHippies

Pissed Alw..
    Peace Always
    πŸ™‚

320. Tinto Chiel

Amazing, Smallaxe: that’s the same one my maternal granny used to use! No wonder she smoked a pipe and spat in the grate…

Spooky: went down to Troon today to see the sea and have an ice-cream and found myself staring at a windowful of expensive Scottish gins in the main street.

Don’t tell Liz g!

Loved the old Donovan: used to sing that to my younger daughter when she was a tiny.

321. Liz g

A valuable resource some where in the west of Scotland???
    Three letters __ __ __?????
    Don’t tell !!!!

Which thread am I on???
    Tinto Chiel have you been takin lessons from the British Government???

322. Tinto Chiel

Jeezo! Cover blown.

My name is Sensible Dave/Waldo/Aldo/Angostura Bittaz and you have won Β£5.

Eh, Smallaxe, don’t seem to have my wallet with me……

Don’t suppose you could oblige me wi’ a wee folder, eh?

Pay ye back 31st April, old mucker, honest.

323. Fred

Catchin up wi the banter guys, been away at the back o Ben Oovi where the nae-signals is, tanning the auld cranium by day but Baltic by night! Just watched Alex Salmond in the lions den, giving as good as he got!

324. Tinto Chiel

“An’tho’ dresswise ther’ wis
    Nae man hipper
    Dressed up like a
    Mallaig kipper.”

Your lovely ode made me think of this, Smallaxe:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QA5gJ0hZpCc&list=RDQA5gJ0hZpCc

Fred: where is Ben Oovi?

325. Fred

Tinto, Ben Oovi was the mountain in the Angus Og strip. mebbes a cave eh?

326. Stoker

K1 & Smallaxe,

Trying to catch up in here (O/T) and since i rarely read full btl threads anymore i’m puzzled. What’s been going on with all this talk of grammar polis etc.

BTW, i’ve been put in limbo so i’m going to start linking to the archives again and take a chance on getting another months worth in before i have to disappear again.

It’s a right royal pain in the erse, all this instability, but hopefully i’ll have my bunker totally revamped very soon and all the upheaval will have been worth it.

327. Stoker

WOS Archives for September 2013

Journey to the Yes side
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/journey-to-the-yes-side/

Make yourselves useful
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/make-yourselves-useful/

Buy one, get nothing free
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/buy-one-get-nothing-free/

328. Stoker

Devo-max Supporters For Independence
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/devo-max-supporters-for-independence/

Inspection report
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/inspection-report/

On holiday with foreigners
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/on-holiday-with-foreigners/

329. Stoker

Quoted for irony
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/quoted-for-irony/

Throwing mud in glass houses
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/throwing-mud-in-glass-houses/

Filling in the blanks
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/filling-in-the-blanks/

330. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Mibbies ah wee bit Beau Brummel
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_GeYgT58d0&ab_channel=John1948OneD

Peace Always

331. Smallaxe

Stoker:

“Grammar Polis”= People that complain if you put a comma in the wrong place, kind o’ thing.

K1 and I are just trying to hang on to the little sanity that we have left if any.

Good to see you back, Boss!

Peace Always

332. Smallaxe

I hope some of you from the main thread come here for a little rest, it’s been getting quite heavy over there, Wingers arguing with Wingers about trivialities and beards of all things. Chill out for a while and get your bearings set for where we are heading. Stormy waters await us, but we will prevail so do not let the fear set in we will find a safe mooring.

A little music, cheering up for the use of.

Bob Marley: “Three little Birds”
    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=three+little+birds+live

Paolo Nutini: “Pencil full of Lead”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-xd3NuWQI0&ab_channel=PaoloNutini

Dougie MacLean: “Caladonia”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wP8A9rtg0iI&ab_channel=butterstonestudios

Peace Always

333. Epiphyta

Don’t know if anyone will find this interesting, but —

My “leave” voting MIL was rejoicing today, until my BIL informed her that he’s given up on trying to find work that will pay enough for him to bring his non-EEA citizen spouse and dual citizen daughter to the UK, and is moving back there. (His wife has been the primary earner throughout their marriage; she’s in a STEM field, and wasn’t terribly excited about coming to the UK since the announcement of the referendum results, but was willing to move to let their daughter grow up knowing her gran.)

And yet, in her mind, the Tories can do no wrong. Some people won’t be told . . . .

We did urge him to consider Scotland, but until it’s independent (may the day come soon!) it’s still subject to UK immigration rules, and he hasn’t seen his family except for brief visits for over a year now; I don’t blame him for deciding he’d had enough.

334. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

My son put me on to this dude, seems he’s quite new on the block. If you haven’t already heard this I think you may like it.

Skip Marley, ‘Lions’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6Y7yQIZT4Q

335. Fred

Gie’in the weans “Beardie” nooadays could be seriously misconstrued in some quarters! what!

336. Smallaxe

Ian:

Love it, I wonder what Marley he is, too young for me to know. I met two of Bobs sons, but he had about 6 or more.

Peace Always

337. Stoker

Smallaxe,

Cheers Mucker, Three Little Birds, my all-time Marley favourite.
    πŸ˜‰

338. Tinto Chiel

Fred says:
    29 March, 2017 at 3:37 pm
    “Tinto, Ben Oovi was the mountain in the Angus Og strip. mebbes a cave eh?”

Ah, I see! Gotcha now. Yes, indubitably. Loved his character, Olivia Newton-More.

Spooky, Smallaxe. Just back from a school concert where a swing band sang Pencil full of Lead. Liked it so much I was going to bung it on here tonight but you beat me to it.

Grammar polis, is it? Ah’ll sort ’em out:

“I have a long-felt want.”

“I have a long, felt Wont.”

Happy now?

Wot you lookin’ at, Poindexter?

Eh?

*sorted*

339. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Olivia Newton-More, who dat? Do you mean the lassie oot o’ Grease Olivia Newton Mearns?

Still Painting? just askin’
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

340. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Forgot to tell you, I had to hitch a lift the other day so I finished up sitting on a rucksack, I said to the guy who was carrying it, no offence mate but I was hoping to get a lift from somebody with a car. Nice fellow but far too obliging!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

341. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Sorry, I don’t know if the guy is related to Bob in any way, but he’s a braw chanter all the same and that video fair gets the auld hairs up!

πŸ™‚

342. Smallaxe

Ian:

Sounds like Bob but so does Ziggy, he’s probably a grandson.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeuENBgd794&ab_channel=BuenasVersiones

Peace Always

343. Tinto Chiel

“Still Painting?”

Can you smell the turps from there?

Two days, tops. My chiaroscuro is TEAKING, btw.

Those Beau Brummells were a bit naff, eh? Not like my EK supergroup, Dork Spandrel and the Chibs.

Main thread a bit, well, same old: cabin fever, I think.

344. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Main thread, I bailed out early, too noisy for me, I’m as delicate as a camp butterfly so I fluttered off over here to recuperate.

Deep Purple: “Black Night”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZXhZ6Wejqc&ab_channel=GreatGuitarHeroes
    Child in Time: 1970
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OorZcOzNcgE&ab_channel=deeppurpleos

Peace Always

345. Tinto Chiel

I’ve always liked that DP track.

“I bailed out early, too noisy for me.”

Me too. It’s our soaring, poetic souls, Smallaxe, imho.

I’ll leave this here for you.

http://firstknownwhenlost.blogspot.co.uk/2012/01/blackbird-singing.html

Night!

346. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Sorry I didn’t get to see you et famille before the end on Sunday. I was probably up on a grassy knoll…

347. K1

Same shit different thread…

Something uplifting… πŸ™‚

Paul Brady

The Awakening
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xzTwk70-mI

348. Smallaxe

“Blackbird” Paul McCartney:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mo_DMGc2v5o&ab_channel=B00BScream

George Harrison:
    “While my Guitar Gently Weeps”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_0aIthf_FI&ab_channel=xAtabix

John Lennon: “Watching the Wheels”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qp9dc9im3-M&ab_channel=gilmem

Peace Always

349. Smallaxe

K1:

Welcome, are you another “casualty”? like me. Who needs Trolls when the FUBAR is already happening?

One of my favourites,
    Ian Anderson: “She said She was a Dancer”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=315TFwmTjpU&ab_channel=antecasupeccati

Peace Always

350. K1

One of ma favourites Smallaxe:

Jethro Tull

Thick as a Brick

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dO-YHPiMWf4

Fubar? Certainly ‘surreal’ beyond all recognition πŸ˜‰

351. Smallaxe

Playing for Change, Music round the World:
    “All you need is Love”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEi3up6BMlI&ab_channel=OnenessMasters

Love for your fellow Man/Woman is all you need, everything else will come.

Everything will be all right in the end if it isn’t all right then it’s not the end.

Peace and Love to All
    Goodnight***

352. K1

Ah did respond Smallaxe, Jethro Tull’s ‘Thick as a Brick’, one of ma fave’s. Lost in the ether!

Aye…’surreal’… πŸ˜‰

353. Smallaxe

K1:

Don’t worry about it, my Friend. “Thick as a brick” was answer enough!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

354. Smallaxe

The Drums have started calling us to Action. Act Well!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DF-pIojGME&ab_channel=coasttvscotland

Peace Always

“That doesn’t mean that we can’t still frighten the shit out of them”
    πŸ™‚

355. Tinto Chiel

A great selection of sounds to wake up to.

Yes,sorry we couldn’t chat more on Sunday, Ian. Mrs TC wanted to hear more of your news. I went off to see the Yes bikers and then lost my two for a while. Spent quite a while chatting to people I didn’t know, including one really nice lady who thought Ronnie Anderson was The Rev.

Good to see the usual suspects, though.

When’s Cactus bringing out the cd? πŸ˜›

356. Fred

Thanks for the Drummin Smallaxe, anent Millport, does the owner of the Wee Cumbrae still extort a fiver a skull from every boat landing?

357. Nana

@Smallaxe

Loving ‘playing for change’ songs.

Think this is my favourite, love seeing happy kids

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJtq6OmD-_Y

358. Smallaxe

Fred:

You’re welcome my Friend, no idea if there is still a charge, I swim over.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

359. Smallaxe

Nana:

Great choice, this is a charity that I have supported for quite a while now.Music brings people together, it’s Magic!

Peace Always xx

360. K1

Oh fuck it I’ll leave it here as ma twa previous posts huv evaporated on main thread:

And I’m getting the blocked for spam message trying to post on m/t too.

This confirms ma havers:

Faisal Islam tweets:

‘Another consequential detail of Great Repeal Bill – Fox’s trade deals with third parties require “common UK frameworks” – ie not so devolved’

https://mobile.twitter.com/faisalislam/status/847472158150279168

361. Tinto Chiel

The M/T seems to have calmed down now, K1.

The GRB seems a wizard Toryboy wheeze to avoid parliamentary scrutiny and to take no account of devolved powers.

Beginning to sound like heedtracker. Going for an aspirin πŸ˜€

362. K1

Aye Tinto ah’ve managed tae post again there. Weird ma two other comments vanished though..hey ho.

Aspirin ye say? I’ll be scoring some o’ Rev’s heroin at this rate πŸ˜‰

363. Tinto Chiel

K1: same thing happened to me, disappearing, reappearing etc.

We need you for the long haul, cyber warrior. Try Ribena!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXtX76hoEZw

364. Stoker

We’ve got five minutes spare
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/weve-got-five-minutes-spare/

A flavour of the day
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/a-flavour-of-the-day/

Readers’ lives
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/readers-lives/

365. Stoker

And now over to the state broadcaster
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/and-now-over-to-the-state-broadcaster/

Handshakes, hugs and hope
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/handshakes-hugs-and-hope/

London calling
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/london-calling/

366. Smallaxe

Tinto: K1:

Stayed offline as Wings page warning on security “This page is trying to load scripts from unauthenticated sources”

Anybody know anything?

Peace Always

367. K1

Stu was strengthening security earlier Smallaxe and had alerted everyone that disruption was going tae happen. Posts have been lost, error codes appearing intermittently some parts of the site were down earlier in the evening.

Should all be back tae normal now ah think. πŸ™‚

368. Smallaxe

K1:

Thanks, I missed Stu’s warning so just closed down for safety’s sake.Everything seems ok now, though. Speak Soon.

Peace Always

369. Tinto Chiel

It’s really too early for this kinda stuff after Smallaxe’s uplifting trio but I’m celebrating Last Painting Day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZBlqcbpmxY

And I’ve got bats in the belfry, almost: two pipistrelles flew around the house last night. They must have stopped hibernating.

370. Nana

@Smallaxe

Thank you for these, love them all. What a way to start the day, breakfast with good tunes playing. Great stuff!

xx

371. Smallaxe

Nana:

Glad you liked them. πŸ™‚
    —————————————————–

Tinto: One for you.
    πŸ™‚
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zz8LQWUyH-E&ab_channel=DISPATCH

Peace Always

372. Smallaxe

Main Thread: What the People Want!

John Lennon’s Post:
    “Gimmie some Truth”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDDJeM5R4PM&ab_channel=TheNirveatles

Peace Always

373. Tinto Chiel

Before I head out for my badger/pipstrelle watch (no sniggering at the back of the pews, you cynics) I bestow upon you the wise words of 10cc from the last track of their first album.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ofq39n0skQw

Still hurts and moves: Wake up, peeps.

Btw: painting?

Consummatum est, ya bass!

Nyoo ma latin wid cum in handy wan day.

374. Tinto Chiel

“Wake up, peeps.”

Forgot I wasn’t addressing the people of Scotland re. the destruction of the Post-Brexit social fabric with its concomitant effects on people’s physical and mental health under the grindstone of poverty and xenophobia.

Shoulda taken off my Che Guevara beret……

*tiptoes out, red-faced*

375. Fred

Folks, I can comprende Butch Davidson but how come Ruth Harrison?

376. Stoker

Anas Sarwar lie update
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/anas-sarwar-lie-update/

The levers of the Common Weal
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-levers-of-the-common-weal/

Lying liars tell more lies
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/lying-liars-tell-more-lies/

377. Stoker

Love and monsters
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/love-and-monsters/

Turning the truth upside down
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/turning-the-truth-upside-down/

Good news, everyone!
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/good-news-everyone/

378. Stoker

Taking the plunge
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/taking-the-plunge/

What if you were a party
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/what-if-you-were-a-party/

The hope of the future
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-hope-of-the-future/

379. Stoker

A brave electoral strategy
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/a-brave-electoral-strategy/

Somewhere in time
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/somewhere-in-time/

At Battle Mountain
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/at-battle-mountain/

380. Ian Brotherhood

If anyone happens to have access to newspaper archives, I’m on the hunt for any features (especially front-pages) of Scottish titles showing James Kelman the day after he won the Booker Prize for How Late It Was How Late in 1994. It’s for uni dissertation and I’m getting a wee bit pushed for time, having great difficulty locating anything suitable. (Esp the Daily Record and Sun, which I’m sure did front pages on it.)

If you do, please send them to me directly at ianbhood@gmail.com

Hoots all, as aye, and have a braw week-end.

381. Dave McEwan Hill

Fred at 9.08

Because Philip Hammond called her “Harrison” by mistake on one of his visits

382. Nana

@Ian Brotherhood

Type

newspaper archives Scotland into google.

Hope that helps you

383. Smallaxe

Ian:

Don’t know if this will work or if it will be of any use to you, it’s all that I could find.

http://www.britishnewspaperarchive.co.uk/viewer/bl/0001180/19941103/180/0042?_=1490999045256

Peace Always

384. Seepy

Some friends are getting very excited about the relaunch of New Direction

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-NEW-DIRECTION-/281901105885?hash=item41a29d82dd:g:SWgAAOSwZG9WisKP

385. Fred

@ Dave, thanks for the Harrison explanation, Butch Harrison & the Snackbeard Kid then!

386. Stoker

Smallaxe,

I got your message and info over on the other thread. Great stuff!
    Thank you! Consider yourself now promoted, you can have the keys to this place. That Paula Rose has let the place go, she can now consider herself evicted. πŸ˜€

387. Stoker

Picture the scene….

Rude Butch Harrison and her sidekick, Wee Willie Fandan, ride into town on their faithful mule, Dippy Ass Kez, to discover nothing but a ghost town enveloped in sandstorms and tumbleweed.

Welcome to Scotlandshire 2020.

388. Smallaxe

Check how much money your council is investing in fossil fuels instead of renewable energy!

http://reinvest.scot/fossilfuels/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57tK6aQS_H0&ab_channel=dannyqb

Peace Always

389. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Had a real good search for you today for James Kelman and came up blank for Scotland though found articles in the Guardian and Daily Express for which you have to pay (No chance) and one from the Independent where the picture had been omitted from the story.

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/highly-literary-and-deeply-vulgar-if-james-kelmans-booker-novel-is-rude-it-is-in-good-company-argues-1442639.html

Your best bet IMV is the Mitchell library and reading the Record and Sun from 12th Oct 1994.

390. Fred

@ Stoker, O for a Bud Neil to do the scenario justice!

391. Tinto Chiel

Is it too early for Nancy?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6VGZH745zI

392. Macart

Mrs M and I go out for the day for a bit of a celebrais on our upcoming anniversary. On getting back, I pop in to have a look at what I stupidly thought would be some upbeat threads after the pretty decent week we’ve had. (sigh)

Time to hit the Asti and listen to some tunes.

Go for it Smallaxe. I’ll listen to some whale song while you’re getting your groove together.

393. Thepnr

Here’s a tune for you Sam. I love it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntuqTuc6HxM

394. Thepnr

And my favourite ever song by Heather Smallis this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OygsHbM1UCw

395. Smallaxe

Macart:
    πŸ™‚

Thepnr:

I don’t for a minute think that it was your fault that Mr Peffers is not posting, so be gentle with yourself. Mr Peffers has been arguing with yoons for decades and I really do not think that a comment from you would stop him posting. I am more worried that he may be ill, have we any way of finding this to be the case or not?

Here’s a little music to amuse.

Blind Boy Paxton:
    An ugly woman told me NO!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5FsdMky0J8&ab_channel=FurPeaceRanch

Peace Always my Friends

396. Smallaxe

Some more from the same man.

Blind Boy Paxton: I’ve played the same song twice differently because I’ve been taking dark rum for a sore throat, Honest!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCH4oZl8uiw&ab_channel=terryashton

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TF64Q0Y0xk8&ab_channel=CalgaryFolkFest

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7xuONglGHk&ab_channel=AugustaHeritageCenterofDavis%26ElkinsCollege

Peace Always

397. Stoker

Fred,

My thoughts exactly! Crash, bang, whallop, ooh what a picture. πŸ˜€

398. Smallaxe

Heather Small: “Ease your troubled Mind”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAxjDM27OCM&ab_channel=PoisonAppleMixes1

Jack White: “Wayfaring Stranger”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MwVLpsgAe8E&ab_channel=EithneAraujo

The Speakeasy Three: “When I get low I get High”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acb-js00c40&ab_channel=FreshlySqueezed

Peace Always

399. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Hey please slow down a bit, there’s more to look at later then πŸ™‚ Your first post from blind boy paxton reminded me of this from playing for change.

I think you’ll like it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiPzU75P9FA

400. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

I’m pleased to see you and Nana have been liking PFC it’s a favourite charity of mine.Have a look.

https://playingforchange.org/

Peace Love and Music makes Magic happen

Peace Always

401. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

One especially for you. I’m amazed how these guys could do this, we have a lot to learn because this is brilliant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xjPODksI08

402. Stoker

Fingers jammed in ears
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/fingers-jammed-in-ears/

We’ve got it on tape
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/weve-got-it-on-tape/

Honesty boxing
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/honesty-boxing/

403. Stoker

Old Labour, New Labour, slave labour
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/old-labour-new-labour-slave-labour/

An apology to Anas Sarwar
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/an-apology-to-anas-sarwar/

The lies of the land
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-lies-of-the-land/

404. Stoker

Spoof newspaper blows credibility
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/spoof-newspaper-blows-credibility/

The public interest
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-public-interest/

A sense of priorities
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/a-sense-of-priorities/

405. Stoker

The silenced socialists
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-silenced-socialists/

New coalition welfare policy unveiled
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/new-coalition-welfare-policy-unveiled/

Hard times
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/hard-times/

406. Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: while you’re here, and for what it’s worth, you had nothing to apologise for, as I saw it. I don’t think anyone likes to be called “bloody stupid”, particularly one (yourself) who always posts thoughtfully and constructively.

Mr P. is an institution, and his constitutional stuff is important, but we all get cranky sometimes and I suspect he feels bad himself or may be unwell.

It’s not your fault and it takes two to tango.

Did someone say “Tango”?

Smallaxe, where’s my rose? πŸ˜€

407. Smallaxe

Here’s another one of Bob Marley’s songs, Playing for Change, songs around the world

Three Little Birds
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqqWfsIxbPo&ab_channel=PlayingForChange

One Love One People One Human Race One World

The reason that I was named Smallaxe was by my request.Small Axe I thought was too big for one person. Hence WE are a Small Axe, I am only Smallaxe, seen?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ia6Tvpj6dPw&ab_channel=kaktusreggae

Peace Always

408. Smallaxe

Tinto:

May I present to you this Rose and put my name down on your dance card, please!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7emROiB_Gw&ab_channel=TANGOTINTO
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

409. Stoker

((((( NAW, NAW, NAW AND NAW AGAIN )))))

Folks, there’s been a murder, aw naw, GRRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Defo no! Up there at 9:24 pm. Talk aboot killin a song! Here’s the real deal folks: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ind7BEZgWJU
    πŸ™‚

410. Smallaxe

K1:

If you’re looking in, well done my friend for calling that clunt out, a reminder to us all to have a look back at older threads.
    Inclusion means ALL!

Will.I.AM.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8Vd2UHBbjA&ab_channel=Gesyall

Peace Always

411. Smallaxe

Stoker:

You have got it wrong this time, my Friend, Bob would Love the fact that his music is going around the world and bringing people together. I’ve brought him here to tell you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0NentNBRlQ&ab_channel=MissEmilyAutumn

One Love

412. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, yer a sweet-talking bastard:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYjXm63DKQ0&list=PLDC7DAE8D3E6CD119

Blood and soil/sexual bigots can take a running Carmichael to themselves, imo.

Only two days and Londinium is rocking, vile seps.

413. Smallaxe

I n’I mi tell yuh dat BOB nah mind bout sharing fi him music wid di WHOLE WORLD, Seen?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHekNnySAfM&ab_channel=Keggae

Peace Always

414. Tinto Chiel

Btw, Smallaxe, loved your Tango Tinto: that’s my snake hips birling yon Latin Lovely.

Ah, the memories…..

415. Stoker

Smallaxe,

Naw, me no care whit Bob thinks coz when it comes tae ma music ah like whit ah like an woe betide anyone who dares meddle wae it. Seriously, always good though to learn of other versions.

Talking of which..

UB40 – Version Girl
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCOm75LgdjM

416. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr, Smallaxe, Nana –

πŸ™‚

Really appreciate yer efforts to help me. Haven’t nailed anything definite so far, and am surprised how difficult it is to get access to newspaper archives.

Anyway, it’s not a big deal. I can make-do with other images.

Hope ye’s are all having a braw week-end. I took my son to play snooker for the first time earlier this evening, and it was brilliant, had forgotten how much I love that game, just worked out that it’s been 20 years since I last played it. He loved it, has only ever played pool, and it turns out we’ve got a pretty good wee local club, Potters in Stevenston, with decent snooker tables. He’ll be finishing school same time I finish uni, so I have a sneaky wee feeling we’ll be seeing a lot of the place over this summer. We can mis-spend some time together before he flies the coop!

πŸ™‚

417. Smallaxe

Tinto: I catch more wasps with sugar than vinegar.
    πŸ™‚

“I shot the Sheriff”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XiYUYcpsT4&ab_channel=BoBMArleySong1

I n’I wi tell yaah likkle story behind dis song dat nuh many people kno bout.

Sheriff John Brown was a derogatory name that Bob used for the doctor that gave his wife the birth control pill, listen to the words, seen?

One Love
    Peace Always

418. Smallaxe

Ian:

Please, not Pool that starts with p and……

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LI_Oe-jtgdI&ab_channel=BravoDivine

Peace Always

419. Tinto Chiel

I didn’t know the story to this track, Smallaxe, I only knew the Eric Clapton version, which I liked a lot.

These rose thorns are bad for the gums, old friend.

Can’t we just jive?

420. Smallaxe

The Revolution will not be Televised!
    Ian B will tell you who did this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnJFhuOWgXg&ab_channel=lanklan

Won’t you Ian?

Stoker: Mi tank yuh fi overstanding di message
    Mutabaruka- any which way… FREEDOM
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQaCSXbhltM&ab_channel=benhorinfreedom

421. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

2nd best is never good enough. You know what you want to use so I’m afraid you are just having to go to the Mitchell Library to get it.

Your at the end of your course now and I know how hard that is, I actually cried a couple of months before mine finished because “normal” life was so hard.

So for you own sake and to make your dissertation the best it can be get you arse down to the library where the informtion you seek is there.

One day of your life after all the years. Must be worth it.

Good luck Ian.

422. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

I’m sure I would, if I could…can’t get onto YT tonight at all, just getting screeds of image-free gibberish.

Might as well go back to the MT then, eh!

423. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Aye, you’re right…

Cheers aplenty, as aye.

424. Smallaxe

Ian:

Take Thepnr’s advice please, you have come this far, don’t let yourself down. You will regret it!

Some o’ wir ain music
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4aUPC0zMok&ab_channel=GajusGit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ardghOMcrzc&ab_channel=LorenzoSetti

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JozAmXo2bDE&ab_channel=Rockin%271000

Peace Always

425. David

I had a wee koff, so I took a week off:

Johnny Rivers – “Rockin’ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu” (1972)
    youtube.com/watch?v=UvJ78hYI6wk

Carry On Nurse – the “daffodil” scene πŸ™‚ –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6t_NOebuhk

426. David

Second attempt for Johnny Rivers – β€œRockin’ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu” (1972).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvJ78hYI6wk

427. Smallaxe

David:

Second time lucky, play some more.
    Sea Cruise
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUSd_RYnxAY&ab_channel=AK47bandit
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

428. Smallaxe

For one night only, appearing here on O/T I give you the Russian Romeo Mr V. Putin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekeq4szDmJo&ab_channel=SalongSithumthong

Peace Always (I Hope)
    πŸ™‚

429. yesindyref2

It’s a frustrating time, people getting jaded, still a fair way to go to IR2. I was spending maybe 80% of my time on Wings, I’ve cut that to less than 20%. To be honest it’s more enjoyable posting on the Express. But meanwhile previous NO voters are thinking things over, people with influence. Still not there yet, for instance this MEP is still thinking a third question might do the job. Something I think we all know would be completely worthless.

This guy has been very intelligent and open, supportive of Scotland in the EU, and perhaps has been a strong mover for gathering support in his group, the Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament, who have 69 members. Basically it seems to me to be that there’s a majority supporting Scotland’s position, and the EU Parliament is pretty influential. http://archive.is/LgbHv doesn’t archive the whole article but does the job. I’d say he’s halfway there, and would be a big catch for YES. Worth watching. There will be others! Bye now 😎

430. Thepnr

@yesindyref2

I do pay attention you know and you have been targeted LOL True but why concern yourself? Come back and fight the good fight.

Only dogs lie down when told and we’re not dogs.

431. yesindyref2

@Thepnr
    Indeed, but sometimes when you’ve done all you can, there’s still one more thing you can do – absolutely nothing πŸ™‚ I note you did the same for a bit, and seems to me, in our absence others are starting to do more now.

432. K1

Thank you Smallaxe, always appreciate you havin’ ma back πŸ˜‰

433. Stoker

IanB,

Are any of these useful to you?

http://archive.is/MaKcf

http://archive.is/R7Zb3

http://archive.is/V8nX6

434. Smallaxe

K1:

Always, my Friend, only returning the favour, one for all and all for one!
    πŸ˜‰

Peace Always

435. Tinto Chiel

Great night, Smallaxe but I think I’ve thrown my hip out and I’m taking my zoot suit to the dry cleaners this morning.

Who left the sachet of French mustard on the bench, eh?

Eh?

436. Thepnr

Good Morning all.

Isn’t Scotland a wonderful place to be on a Sunday morning?

It is for me, let’s keep it like that and dump those that would take it all away. And for what? For this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0kcet4aPpQ

437. Smallaxe

Thepnr and Tinto: Good Morning.

Yes, it is a beautiful Sunday morning down here in the Borders, I agree with you Thepnr and so does this Man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjLSIauDEX0&ab_channel=DumitruGodina

Peace Always

438. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

That was brilliant. Exactly how I and many others feel. Thank You!

439. Thepnr

What a TEAM we are.

The biggest and bestest gang Scotland has ever had πŸ™‚

WE ARE THE PEOPLE!

440. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

We know who is who on WoS and we know who can or can not be trusted. Let’s keep an eye on some who are sowing dissent among others and if it goes too far we can only appeal to Rev.Stu to step in.

I’m sure, like myself, you have noticed the number of times a thread has been spoiled by needless argument caused by some “New Names” who then slink back into darkness. We have, what I believe to be the best Pro Indy site on the web we can not let some others spoil this site’s good name. WE ARE THE PEOPLE!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtvlBS4PMF0&ab_channel=JohnLennonHQ

Peace Always

441. Fred

True Dat! Smallaxe, just back from Blochairn weighed doon wi bargains! Hot Java Lava, chocolate cake n Bob Marley. Sun n Daffy’s at last!

442. Smallaxe

Fred:

I left a post for you on the main thread.Go look.
    πŸ™‚

Have a great Sunday

All we are Saying is Give Peace a Chance
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkZC7sqImaM&ab_channel=Orehdoog

Peace Always

443. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Brilliant, thanks so much. I’ve got most of those, but there are longer versions there of some quotes I had, so it’s great to have the original links. That’s a definite pint in the tap for you friend.

Hoots!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.