Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Alex Clark

@Croompenstein

Well there you go. How could I have missed that? Quite a smart man was Cash I think 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JyTw44MFvE

2. Paula Rose

So sensible Alex the noo.

3. Alex Clark

Feck off Paula with calling me sensible. That’ll never happen.

4. Alex Clark

@Paula Rose

Just tugging yer tail. This is for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cYQTL-ws6p4

5. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Cheers aplenty and thanks amuch

*snottery wet sniff*

That was totally soo-perb.

🙁

6. Alex Clark

I think we have something special here. A community of sorts. Anyway whatever you want to call it. It is good.

7. Paula Rose

Noo page *snigger* so Yestival on skye who’s for a glamp?

8. Alex Clark

I’m itching to do another Top Ten but I wouldn’t do that. No never, I’ll just play this daft one from the 80’s instead.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5XJ2GiR6Bo

9. Alex Clark

Your all going to have to forgive me for this.

I’m missing my brother, who was my best pal too. Hanging around on Wings though helps a tad. You are my brothers and sisters. x

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYzfTdIZoP0

10. Alex Clark

Just watch that last video. I dare you.

11. Alex Clark

Obviously time for bed. I think I should know better but I don’t.

Yet.

12. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just posted this on the “more-phantom-news” page but I think it deserves to be included here.

If you want some blues to accompany your browsing, check out the album link below.

– – – – – – – – – – – –
    Hi Capella.

[EDIT]

Onnyhoo, an excellent piece of blues guitar for you. It’s from the album “Cabal”, by the John Dummer Band (1969). The band members on that album were John Dummer (drums), Tony McPhee (guitar, vocals), Dave Kelly (guitar, vocals), Joanne Kelly (his sister, vocals), Thumper Thomson (bass) and John O’Leary (harmonica).

Tony McPhee went on to form The Groundhogs, Dave Kelly The Blues Band and John Dummer and Thumper Thomson Darts.

Here’s “Blue Guitar”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCGoUVdtnfo

You can listen to or download the complete “Cabal” album here:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMDt7j-JjKM

13. Capella

As it’s Sunday – here’s some great guitar solos from Gerry Garcia of The Grateful Dead, with “Sugaree”. For Born Again Flower Persons.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ld4wCgARzv0

14. Smallaxe

@ Brian Doonthetoon,

Some great music Brian, I still have the original album of the
    Groundhogs”Thank Christ for the bomb”and if I happen to mention it to anyone the usual reply is a puzzled”Who”. Glad to see someone else appreciates them.Peace,Love and Music.

15. Ian Brotherhood

Just stumbled across this…

Will bring back fond memories for some.

Theme tune from ‘Para Handy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RYRSPir6ng&index=2&list=PL_u8ejPdh0eluHUG9lZCKZfSuOvj2UHMQ

16. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Back in the 90s, I was deejaying in the Tay Hotel in Dundee and on one evening, Tony McPhee and band were the headliners at a blues gig.

At the bar before he went onstage, I presented him with my ‘Cabal’ CD, which he signed, in silver, on the inside sleeve, and one of my Stray albums, which had him lauding the band on the back of the sleeve – he scrawled his moniker on the back of that as well.

RE: the John Dummer Band. I first came across them in 1970. I was in the habit of going to the Dundee Uni Students’ Union, with my cousin (the student) of a Saturday evening and, on this particular night, the John Dummer Band were the featured entertainment. During the evening, we got regular updates on their expected arrival time, because their van had broken down on the way from Glasgow.

The bands generally went onstage around 11pm, to allow a 1am finish. That night, the band turned up, well late, to the extent that the gig finished around 3am. It was, eventually, an inspiring gig (from my POV).

Four of us, walking home to St Marys and Downfield after the gig, got stopped by the polis at the five ways circle, because it was so unusual (in those days, when niteclubs closed at 1am) for actual humans to be walking on the streets at going on 4am. We explained; polis wiz content.

That was one of the early gigs after Nick Pickett had joined the band and Tony McPhee had left. This was their big hit in Europe, after Nick came in on fiddle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZtSgiBX3bQ

17. Alex Clark

Remember the Bowling Alley Brian? You were playing this 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnpO7lmbMGg

18. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

I also played this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YB0UZN83N-w

19. Smallaxe

@ Brian Doonthetoon,

Hi Brian,briliant link,especialy the fiddle playing on the first track,reminded me of a band and album called”It’s a beautiful day” and the pub that used to be at Charing Cross
    called Crazy Daisy,the musicians in that pub were all multi
    instrumentalists,I think most of them were session musicians
    from the ITV. studios in those days and played a mixture of
    Jazz/Blues.Im listening at the moment to Jack Bruce and Rory
    Gallagher playing Politician.Peace,Love and Music.

20. Tinto Chiel

Ian B: thanks for the puffer nostalgia. Saw one going up Loch Linnhe about six years ago, a Zulu (?) with a red sail. Couldn’t make out the name.

Reminded me of that great old film The Maggie where, unusually for Ealing Studios, they actually had some Scottish actors (even Gaelic-speaking ones). When the cabin boy says “Good luck tae ye!” to the rich American at the end, it almost sounds like a threat, in true Glesca style.

Sub-text of film: sense of community trumps empty materialism.

The whole film used to be on YouTube but this is all I could find. Always wondered what happened to Wee Tommy. Hope this plays:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gh_gPwgaiVE

21. Tinto Chiel

Previous seems to have disappeared into the ether.

I’m havering, it can’t have been a Zulu.

Thought Paul Douglas played along really well and his remark to the 100 year old Gael is a classic.

22. chasanderson200

The Maggie, The Vital Spark (in all 3 incarnations) – absolute top class quality, genuine humour with a reflection of real life.

Maybe BBC shortbread could commission a remake with a new cast, if they could find suitable actors.

Any suggestions for a new Vital Spark cast??

Prize for the best suggestions (maybe).

23. Tinto Chiel

@chasanderson200: that’s a tempting one. Plenty of scope for political satire too. I’m sure you’ll get a few suggestions.

24. Alex Clark

Whoever the cast, it should definitely have Ian Brotherhood, Paula Rose and Ronnie Anderson in it. Mibbe the Rev too LOL.

25. Capella

Hi smallaxe
    I still have Its a Beautiful Day on vinyl. This one:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XUNgQ03D2qA&list=PLnjjNA7N-l8ORu8I9Nh41LpzLcRo46d1_

It’s amazing what you can get on Youtube.

@ Tinto Chiel – re “The Maggie” the BBC Alba broadcast it in June. I downloaded it but haven’t watched yet. Unfortunately they no longer let you watch it:

26. Tinto Chiel

Capella: hope you like it after all the fuss.

In a way it got me questioning things the first time I saw it. It had great real life scenes of Glasgow and the West Coast which I recognised and then I asked myself,”Why do we not see more films of Scotland?” I also remember a film with Peter Sellers set Embra whose name escapes me which I remember simply because of a few street scenes. Why were we almost erased as a nation on film?

So in a way questions like that made me begin to question everything about my country and its history and culture.

And so I became a vile cyber sep……

27. Capella

Tinto Chiel – forgot to add the URL for the BBC website of The Maggie:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01b9bxb

I managed to download it through Get iPlayer so will watch it soon. I too feel angry about the cultural deprivation. The BBC should have been a vehicle for supporting the arts in Scotland, including drama. But instead there’s a stifling silence. It’s probably an offence under Human Rights legislation.

28. Smallaxe

@ Capella,

Snap,I still have my original on vinyl also. I wouldn’t part with it,brings back too many good memories.Peace,Love and Wasted Union Blues.

29. chasanderson200

Tinto Chiel
    Vital Spark cast candidates from Scottish politics-

Para Handy – Kezia (befuddled thinker who always leaves a confused mess in her wake).

Sonny Jim – Has to be wee sqeaky Willie Rennie although he does not have the street nouse of the written character.

McPhail – Jim Murphy, a greeting faced Torag and born loser that thinks he knows it all but is treated like sh*t and deserves it (mind you there lots who fit that bill).

Dougie – Patrick Harvey – happy to back the leaders, has a bit of savvy, knows which way the winds blowing. Happy to steer from behind but does not want the responsibility of leadership.

PS,I am on my seventh copy of Para Handy tales which I now keep under lock and key with my fourth copy of Catch22 because they were being borrowed and never returned (AKA nicked!!!)

As a famous man once said “These are my recommendations but if you Dinna like them, I have others).

30. Alex Clark

@chasanderson200

Thanks for that. Pure dead brilliant so it was 🙂 Loved it.

31. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi chasanderson200.

Typing about books…

Back in the 70s, I came across a paperback entitled “M*A*S*H Goes To Maine”. I should point out that my experience of M*A*S*H had been the TV series with Alan Alda. I had never (and don’t possess) the original book, if there was one. (I can’t remember if there was.)

Onnyhoo…
    The “M*A*S*H Goes To…” series of paperbacks told the stories of what the heroes of the original M*A*S*H series/book(?) got up to when they came back from Vietnam.

I was buying them as they appeared on M*A*S*H-friendly station bookstalls. I think I got up to 12 of them.

Further onnyhoo…
    They were borrowed by various peeps over the years, to the extent that I lost them all. Then I discovered that you could buy most of them for a penny, plus P&P, from the Amazon marketplace. So I slowly rebuilt my M*A*S*H collection, re-reading each one as they arrived through my letterbox. I don’t lend them out.

These books are one of the few collections that had me ‘LOL’, on my own in my hovelhold, while I was reading. They are well worth checking out.

Further further onnyhoo…
    I’ve just clicked on the bookmark I have, for a web page detailing all the M*A*S*H novels. Alas, it has been deleted from the web – but the Internet Archive last grabbed it in February 2009. Turns out there was a M*A*S*H book, which I probably have stashed somewhere, coz I was working my way through the list as I was acquiring them from Amazon.

Here’s the link, if you want to check them out. The page has a short description of each book – you’ll get the idea of the humour. For example, ‘Wrong Way Napolitano’ (sp?) had a field that he used as a runway for his wee aeroplane hire business. One day, a transatlantic airliner got into bother and needed somewhere to land. It landed in his field. Thus, he felt able to rename his field “Spruce Harbour International Airport”, or similar. (It’s been a few years since I read them; must re-explore them.)

http://web.archive.org/web/20090209235506/http://www.mash4077.co.uk/novels.html

32. chasanderson200

BDTT,
    I read all(?) the Mash books in the 70s when they were being bought individually by the guys in my class at Bell Street Tech. Much as I liked them I favoured Catch 22.
    Over the last few years I have recorded every episode and the original film of Mash and regularly watch them when the telly is crap (i.e. most of the time).
    Mash, the original book, made an average film which morphed into a great TV series as they could get deeper into the characters and their situations.

Catch 22, the book, tried to tell it all in one great book which morphed into a crap film that could tell only about 1% of the story.

These,and some music are a few of the things from the 70s that stood the test of time.

33. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi chasanderson200.

When you mentioned ‘music’, I went a-youtubing. Here’s a couple for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUSDce0J7FA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y11f8Oc25AI

34. Tinto Chiel

chasanderson200.

That’s some crew you’ve got there. I was trying to find a role for Jackie Baillie but don’t think the Vital Spark could manage her giant abacus with the bent rods.

Sonny Jim was spot-on in particular.

I can’t see thon Paula Rose on the VS, Alex C. She’s too much of a lady to be seen on such a rust bucket.

😛

35. Clapper57

I see we have one of the trolls back tonight on the latest thread namely ‘The Untalented Mr Rippey’…. hope people let him piss in the wind ….Never engage with a Troll as you will only make their day….they only come on here to bait not debate.

Let him add 100 comments if he wants with no reply given or bait taken……best way to tell him to fuck off me thinks.

If someone does reply then expect a tennis match of slagging with thread fucked for everyone….job done then ….Troll 1 WOS peeps 0.

Sorry peeps no offence meant to anyone… I am only saying….think it’s always best to let the Rev decide if and when Troll needs a response …..and he is so so good at it is he not !

36. chasanderson200

BDTT
    Quality, the tune still stirs me and evokes memories although I must have heard it over 5,000 times. I was going to remind you of the title but it is mentioned in the second bit of music (Painless was the dentist in the original film who wanted to commit suicide due to an embarrassing failure in a carnal adventure).

Tonto Chiel
    Jabba is the ballast deep in the bowels of the VS so she was never allowed to see the light (of day that is).

Back to books:-anyone remember Tom Sharp? Another author whose books were subject to sleekit nickery of the most vile sort.

37. chasanderson200

Tinto Chiel
    I must sort out this autocorrect.

Tinto Tinto ……..ahh that’s Bettie.

Oh feck it.

38. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi chasanderson200.

I’ve got loads of Tom Sharpes’ piled up in my bathroom/library, as I finished reading them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mj9mjI0jBDM

39. chasanderson200

Testing

Tinto tinto tinto

Better better better

Autocorrect ditched – sorted

40. Alex Clark

Brian read many Tom Sharpe too. He was funny and a good writer, won’t take that away from him ever. That would be wrong.

Anyway before I hit the sack here is something completely different. Frankie Boyles take on Independence.Must watch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7BMabEPwVU

41. chasanderson200

Tom Sharpe
    Riotous Assembly and Indecent Exposure are up there among my top ten satirical/tragic/comedic books I have ever read.

The English based books started very well with Porterhouse Blue and Wilt but gradually like most writers the quality inevitably dropped but was still humourous enough to justify the cost price.

I no longer have the amount of time to read that I once had and therefore do not follow any particular authors. Most of what was my reading time is now taken up by my grandsons or keeping up-to-date with Wings.

42. Smallaxe

@ chasaderson200

You are doing the two best things ever,spending time with your
    Grandsons and keeping up with WOS.Peace,Love and a better country for our Grandchildren.

43. chasanderson200

Smallaxe
    Hear, hear.

I learned well from my long departed father.

We just need to spread the message further and wider.

44. Alex Clark

Someday an anthropologist is going to come visiting around here and say Whit!

45. Smallaxe

@ Alex Clark,

I hope that anthropologist disnae bring Mrs Nell Oliver with him,then again he might be washing his lovely locks.:-)

46. Alex Clark

Right, I’ll bet yeah. Here’s something you can’t possibly have heard before even you BDTT.

The Berry Dreel Blues. Now get a picking.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g-oqvnSrwk0

47. Tinto Chiel

chasanderson200: I think I prefer Tonto actually, and you should hear what Mrs TC calls me. My autocorrect calls me Tintoretto. Might be time for a change like Thepnr.

Clapper57: yes, it doesn’t seem to matter how often Mr Rippey gets telt by the economists among the Wings regulars, he just thraws and thraws and thraws, the true sign of an under-the-bridger.

Soon it’ll be time for Sensible Dave/Aldo/Waldo/Angostura Bittaz to come out to play.

48. Paula Rose

Name changing – pfft.

49. Tinto Chiel

But Paula Rose, your name is lovely: don’t go changing.

*twinkles*

50. Paula Rose

I wouldn’t dream of it – when folk do it’s most annoying and when they change their wee pics I get blooming angry.

51. Tinto Chiel

Oh, very well, PR.

Anything to please A Laydee.

(Twirls moustache roguishly).

52. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Change their wee pics? Ahem.

53. Paula Rose

Yes Dear I did see that you’d seen sense as far as the pic was concerned – now no sweary words if you want to keep using your new name.

54. Alex Clark

“Who gets the job? Of pushing the knob.”

“Always The Sun” Hugh Gallacher 1986.

That’s what I want to know, everything else is just a distraction.

55. Cactus

Just heard these dudes playing over the airwaves that ah huvnae heard in ages. if you were tuned in ten minutes ago, here’s another rocky one of theirs..

Just Between You and Me ~ by April Wine (from Nova Scotia)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MmgIIDkWr1o

Cheers Alice.

56. Michael McCabe

Johnny Cash and Friends. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BD4H8pd8j6A

57. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for the angry Weetabix. I’m not really a fan of his but I’m told he likes the odd quote.

Roy Todd – Moved to Tears
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0bGVFTbvQQs#t=81.99263

58. Andrew McLean

Listen to this reprobate, a man with no sense of worth, a cad, a bounder, a man who would debase himself on tv for some god knows reason. A scumbag, the very definition of a ("Tractor" - Ed), Margaret thatchers love child, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nm2IpMMRiDw

59. CameronB Brodie

@George Galloway
    You really are an ignorant wee troll.

60. Andrew McLean

Cameron I had seen him during the referendum and thought that George had sold his soul, but never in my wildest dreams did I think him capable of this! he started out in politics singing the praises of the IRA, now he is a self confessed ("Tractor" - Ed) to the country of his birth.

61. CameronB Brodie

Andrew, he’s a man who does not allow his ethics to rise above his beliefs. A pathetic runt of a man, IMHO.

62. carjamtic

Reggae Rabbie….Brina 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGTF5pXnGNw

63. Paula Rose

A song I’ve played before – but with a different video…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQkb2VOyptw

64. David

@ Tinto Chiel, I think the Edinburgh-set film starring Peter Sellers was “The Battle of the Sexes”, I remember seeing & enjoying it on tv ages ago. And yes, the lack of Scotland-set movies is something that needs to be corrected.

The more our culture is handed down to us through Hollywood lenses, or London lenses, the more we remain at the mercy of others’ visions. Other peoples’ visions of what Scotland is, and of what it is to be Scottish.

Yes occasionally it can be interesting/refreshing “to see ourselves as others see us”, but not all the bloody time, FFS.

4 minute clip from the film:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFikRtA0Y-Y

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Battle_of_the_Sexes_(1959_film)

65. Marie Clark

hi guys. Can somebody please tell me how to add an avatar to appear beside my comments.

Thanks.

66. Ian Brotherhood

@Marie Clark –

Ta-ra!!!

67. chasanderson200

Dundee Rally?

Anybody update me on whether this is going ahead this weekend or not?

68. Tinto Chiel

David: just came on here and saw your comment.

Thanks for all your ferreting. Yes, that’s the film I remember. As I said before, films like this and The Maggie made me ask, “Why do we see hardly anything about our country on film?”

Once we all start asking these kinds of questions, and considering the answers, the game is up for UKOKia.

69. Paula Rose

Is that pronounced You-coke-ee-ah?

70. Tinto Chiel

C’mon, PR, you know the answer to that.

Coke’s black in Brechin and white in Ra Toon.

Get my drift?

71. Alex Clark

No, it’s pronounced Yew-kok-yie-ar

72. Alex Clark

Yew Choob got it right.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FotN8oFbXJs

73. Paula Rose

Could be Yew-kaye-och-hee-are.

74. Tinto Chiel

@AC: Potato/potahto.

Whatever happened to Dean Rubbergloves and his sister Marigold?

I’m confused about all these name changes.

75. Alex Clark

Or even Yew-Kaye-Oh!-Kaye-eyeah

76. Paula Rose

Yew-co-key-ah?

77. Tinto Chiel

Paula R and The Artist Formerly Known As Thepnr: Yews are aw pyoor mental, by the way.

Off tae ma pit.

Cannae keep up.

78. Alex Clark

Right help me oot. Getting different vibes. Alex Clark or Thepnr?

I’m easy, good reasons for both. What do you think?

79. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi chasanderson200 at 10:26 pm.

You typed,
    “Dundee Rally?

Anybody update me on whether this is going ahead this weekend or not?”

I dipped into Facebook a couple of days ago to see what was happening. The answer is ‘nothing’. Seems like all the typing about turning up onnyhoo was just hot air.

Typical Facebook armchair army…

80. Tinto Chiel

Just stirring ma Horlicks here, AC. Thought Thepnr had an air of mystery but AC has the ring of truth.

Whatever floats yer boat.

Considering letting it all hang out name-wise myself now I’ve retired.

Night all!

81. Alex Clark

G’Night to you too Mr Chiel. I think I best stick with Mr Clark now or I’ll just get people more confused.

I’ts took me a while but if you knew the boss I’ve got and you hadn’t retired then you would understand why. I’m beyond caring now, been a long slog and likely a fair way to go yet.

Will be interesting to see how things transpire from here.

82. Paula Rose

Dishes out cocoa and biccies for the boys.

83. Dave McEwan Hill

My rock’n’roll show on http://www.argylladio.co.uk at 8 pm after ny “Roundabout” babbling on about things before it.
    Amazed at the potential here from a wee online radio station that costs buttons to put together and can be listened to all around the world

84. Alex Clark

@Paula Rose

I offer you some sweet coco in return.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cz92NkhESnc

85. Paula Rose

Threppie sweetie are you away for a while…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByqXqz7Tvqo

86. chasanderson200

BDTT
    Hi Brian 12:11

Thanks for info re Dundee rally. I may come over to Dundee anyway and check out some watering holes. See you at Glasgow Green in a few weeks. Cheers

87. Tinto Chiel

Alex, as I said elsewhere, if work was any good, the bosses would keep it for themselves. I ended up fighting my own employers because bullying and intimidation was being ignored in the work place and it took a big toll on me, my family and my finances until we finally got justice.

The clouds lift eventually.

88. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi chasanderson200 at 7:21 am

“Hi Brian 12:11

Thanks for info re Dundee rally. I may come over to Dundee anyway and check out some watering holes. See you at Glasgow Green in a few weeks. Cheers”

Team YES bus and Taught By Muhammad are having a foodbank collection tomorrow (Saturday) outside Tesco in Murraygate, between 11am and 2pm.

Just off the phone with Ronnie Anderson. I’m meeting him there tomorrow so if any Wingers want to toddle along, you’ll be welcome.

We could always inspect the Counting House for a debrief afterwards…

89. Paula Rose

See you tomorrow.

90. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Don’t know if you & Ronnie discussed this or know anything about it, but there was a report midweek that there may be some kind of public celebration/welcome for the Scottish Olympians, and it specified Sep 17/18 as the weekend being considered. It didn’t even say if it was Glasgow/Edinburgh, but worth bearing in mind.

Heard anything?

91. Brian Doonthetoon

Seeya tomorrow, Paula.

Hi Ian B.

Nope – heard nor read nuthin’…

92. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Might catch you in Murraygate tomorrow if we can make some time before heading back west. Nae promises though, but, we’ll be at GG on 18/9

93. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr have you got the big stainless steel Wings that we had at Seafest, Im putting things together for the Glesga Green event

94. ronnie anderson

@ Betty Boop n Jim I hope to be at the Murrygate by 10.30 looking to catch up.

95. Betty Boop

@ ronnie Anderson

See what we can do tomorrow. A wee bit of business to get done here and then have to get back west with a delivery, but, if we can find an hour or so, we’ll call in at Murraygate.

Are you and Brian no at the Corbyn and Smith roadshow in Dundee tonight? LOL

96. Michael McCabe

Have you heard this ? Anywhere http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cb5PalnCrhY

97. Alex Clark

@ronnie anderson

I think I gave it to Paula Rose? Can’t remember for sure, I’ll check my garage tomorrow and if I have it will get it to you. Hope to make it along for a bit tomorrow too.

98. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr good I hope you track it down for me to display .

99. Paula Rose

I don’t have the big one – but I will be in Dunders tomorrow, anyone got a map cos I’ll be wearing my bestest heelist.

100. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula.

Mind an no’ catch a heel in the tramlines – that could cause a cowp…

101. Euan Whazermy

Hello Wingers , long time reader and now feel the urge to post on main site but came here first for some technical advice, being a 20th century boy and not great with technology! I have an android phone and when I try to write on the main site , as soon as the box above “submit comment” is full I can’t seem to get any further, I can’t get it to “scroll up” to make more space! Would be very grateful for any advice because I’d love to join in with the regulars here as there is going to be so much work to do in the next year or so.

102. Croompenstein

Euan’s banner picture…

https://twitter.com/euanmccolm

reminded me of this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8kkrP5DQMOA

103. CameronB Brodie

….which get me wondering about a lot of things. Tonight though, I’m mostly wondering why BLiS is still wedded to an Israeli state but is dead set against a Scottish state. Must be that British nationalist ideology they have immersed themselves in. Times are a changing though….

Meshugga Beach Party – Shalom Alechem
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFDuGiOy3uM#t=37.46916

Aleikhem shalom Scotland.

104. CameronB Brodie

Just heard the news the band is getting back together.

@Gerry Hassan
    Haben Sie Feuer? Haben Sie Feuer?

James Brown – The Old Landmark
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKKVVnKjr2g

105. CameronB Brodie

Wish there was an edit function. Is it obvious I don’t speak German? 🙂

Would this be closer (have you seen the light)?

Keine komplette Übereinstimmung gefunden?

106. CameronB Brodie

Hope that wasn’t rude. 🙂

107. Alex Clark

Morning CameronB 🙂

As far as seeing the light goes I prefer ELO, this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=swYdKF1MpWg

108. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Links most likely stuck in wordpress [I think]. Will have to wait for Rev to approve

But while you are waiting

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn0JxTiiGDE

Much as I would have liked to tickle the ivories, being a rock chick this ‘Beethoven’ is more to my liking hahaha

109. Paula Rose

Hi Euan Whazermy I’m sure someone will be along soon with some helpful advice.

110. CameronB Brodie

Nuts, I posted the wrong Blues Brothers clip. I had meant to post a German translation, complete with Jack and Elwood’s dialog. Anyhoo.

@Gerry Hassan
    Have you seen the light?

111. Betty Boop

Just testing my phone

112. Tinto Chiel

Nana, you’ve been busy.

I send you this in thanks:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uk84icbn78&list=RD3uk84icbn78#t=51

You started it!

I think the original was on the B side of California Man, or maybe I was dreaming. Bev Bevan was some drummer.

113. Ian Brotherhood

This was just played on RS, haven’t heard it for yonks.

Get yer hankies oot…

Bain/Cunningham, ‘Kimberley’s Waltz’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1yZQm29aAY

114. Betty Boop

@ CameronB Brodie, 3:30am

Hope that wasn’t rude. ?

You’ll probably never know! LOL

Please, though, keep trying unless you don’t like being up at 3.30am!!!

115. Ian Brotherhood

Julie Fowlis, ‘Biodh an Deoch’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-ofqNfH9No

116. Ian Brotherhood

The Great Scottish Fuck off has only received three nominations so far – David Mundell, Murdo Fraser and Duncan Hothersall.

We need another 61 names, then there will be group stages and a final knockout round leading to a showdown on Sep 24th.

We all have someone we’d love to tell to Fuck Off, but there can be only one…

117. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Here are the Dundee nominations in no particular order:

John McTernan; Owen Smith; Wee Wullie Rennie; Jim Murphy; Ruth Davidson; Stephen Daisly; Andrew Marr; David Dimbleby; Brian Taylor; Jackie Bird; Danny Alexander; Andrew Neil; Neil Oliver; Sarah Smith; Kaye Adams; Ewan McColm; David Leask; Severin Carell; Glen Campbell; Mr Whites Mustache; Torcuil Crichton; Sir Nicholas Macpherson; Kezia Dugdale; Ian Smart; John Barrowman; Lord Foulkes.

That concludes the nominations from the Dundee panel. Goodnight.

118. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

🙂 🙂 🙂

Totally soo-perb,

26 names!!!!

That’s it well and truly up-and-running now.

Ye’re a star!

Hoots aplenty and thanks amuch.

119. Ian Brotherhood

UCD Choral Scholars, ‘Mo Ghille Mear’ (My Gallant Hero) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxjvNUNXhkU

120. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

I reckon those that fail to make the final 64 will be very disappointed.

Just had some late nominations in from Dundee North.

Eleanor Bradford; Anas Sarwar; Gordon Brewer; Laura Kuenssberg; Alan Cochrane; oh and Bamber Gascoigne!

I quite like old Bamber too, but there you go.

121. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Duly added…

Aye – they’ll be pissed off if they’re not on the shortleet let alone in with a shout for the finals. Fucking narcissists always have to get their neb in.

TBH, I was a bit worried we wouldn’t get 64. Looks like we may have to extend the ‘shortlist’ to 128.

Up to wir oxters in BTUKOKers…blimey!

122. Alex Clark

I’ve had an explanation for Bambers inclusion. He was one of the signatories of the 200 “celebrities” that signed a Please Stay petition. Who’d have thunk it?

123. Paula Rose

Um for the GSFO shouldn’t it be just people in Scotland? Can you add that Begg woman and her pal the NF organiser.

124. K1

Careful guys..we’re making ‘lists’, you know what ‘they’ll’ say 😉 (fuck ’em)

Eddie Izzard, Jackie Bird, Ian Davidson…short list, but up there wi the worst o’ them.

125. Alex Clark

@K1

Yes! Eddie is a contender. So too is Wheatabix face David Torrance. My own personal recommendation 🙂

Hurrah we have a list LOL.

126. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula & K1 –

Splendid suggestions. Thanks.

It’s only ‘me’ making the list, so they’ll know where to come if they’ve any beef about it all.

So far we haven’t had anyone trying to finger a neighbour or in-law.

If they’re not well-kent (by me at any rate) then they won’t be included.

127. Alex Clark

Just to be clear here and to ensure there is no confusion. First and foremost this is a competition. Any of the 64 contenders can win.

Each nominee is equally in with a shout at the prize. No one yet is being told Scotland couldn’t live without their opinion describing Scotland as too wee, too poor and too stupid.

We’re only going to tell the WINNER that and it will be a democratic vote. Let the most mendacious win.

128. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Aye, that’s the long and short of it.

Off to me scratcher.

God bless all Wingers.

129. Paula Rose

No including Johann Lamont, Ruth Davidson or Effie Deans thogh cos they are friends of mine – we natter about baking on twitter.

130. K1

Alberto Costa. He should be right near the top, a specially reserved FRO.

131. K1

Fair do’s Alex… (though I want that sneaky wee git Costa tae get telt!) 😉

132. Michael McCabe

Alistair Carmichael Get to Fuck

133. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

Hey that’s cheating. We’ll have no cheating here LOL

134. Paula Rose

Oi Alex where’s that wings sign?

135. Alex Clark

@Paula Rose

Gone into the ether. The missus is home tomorrow and she will find it if I’ve still got it, I thought I gave it to you but obviously not. Quinnie Frae Angus maybe.

If I have given it away it was to one of the Wingers that have been to my place, small number so we should be able to find it.

136. Paula Rose

Eek cos I’ve promised ronnie anderson I will deliver and I daren’t disappoint him *all tearful*

137. Alex Clark

@Paula Rose

Not your problem Paula and anyway we have more to be concerned about than that. Flags, badges and other paraphernalia don’t count for much in my eyes.

What’s in the heart is what matters.

138. Fairliered

Here are the Ayrshire nominations.
    Alex Gallagher. John McTernan. Brian Wilson. Brian Donohoe. Ken McQuarrie.

139. Tinto Chiel

Have we missed out James “Chaos on the streets of Glasgow” Cook? Poor old Bamber. Think he’s only in because he was a quizmaster and so was used to get around the Rev’s Q-word filter by some twisted cyber seps.

Ian Brotherhood: Thanks for Mo Ghille Mear. Ashamed to say I hadn’t heard it before.

This in return.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6qWWgntTdO0

140. Macart

Many thanks Nana

Lots to mull over there. 🙂

141. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Just saw your message, spent a good part of Saturday clearing out my inbox [articles galore] Decided just to post the most recent.

Bev Bevan – Let there be drums

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKvVokm7NYU

142. Nana

@Macart

You are welcome Sam, hoping now that I’ve moved ‘house’ folks will still read the links.

Here’s one more for now

Scotland’s post-national nationalism

https://archive.is/wCKFk

143. Ian Brotherhood

Thanks all for nominations – now at 48 so it’ll definitely be a 64 pot.

Ticking along nicely…

144. K1

George Galloway…yuk (put ‘im oan the list)

145. Michael McCabe

can I Nominate Ian clark Wood (GBE) FOR THE LIST.

146. Tinto Chiel

Thanks for the Bev Bevan, Nana. I’d completely forgotten about that track.

That WP article by Swaim is actually pretty clear-headed and fair and could never have been written for our MSM since it’s completely devoid of the sneers, bile and venom which is usually reserved for us.

Hope to see you on 18/9 if you can make it to The Green. Will wear a homburg and carry a rolled up copy of Exchange and Mart.

147. Macart

@Nana

Clocked that one earlier and although flawed, its no too bad. The fella’s getting there as regards the YES movement. 🙂

At least Mr Swaim has put the effort in many of his peers seem reluctant to make and definitely bunnet doffed for that alone.

148. Smallaxe

My nomination: Oliver,spawn of David Mundell.Nae Peace fur him! This is the Gretna nomination fur noo,mair tae come.

Ah wid like tae send sum links but ah’m oan a tablet so ah
    cannie send ye’s a sausage.Peace n’ Love tae awe Wingers an
    Nana’s wee fingers.:-)

149. Cactus

Hi Euan Whazermy on Saturday @ 4:08pm

As you come near to the end of the input box, try hitting the (Return) key a couple of times to make space below.

If you then hit the (Back) key on your iphone, it may allow you to scroll the input box further down.

Keep an eye on your preview text, which is displayed below ‘Submit Comment.”

Let us know how you get on and Welcome to Wings Euan.

150. CameronB Brodie

I couldn’t find a wormhole, so here’s one to celebrate the Aberdeen Western Peripheral Route opening. 🙂

The Blues Brothers – Expressway To Your Heart
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLy2XJ6J1x8

151. Quentin Quale

If you are anywhere near Alyth (5 miles outside Blairgowrie) tomorrow evening, the Wee Ginger Dug will be at the Ogilvie Halls, 7.30-9. Looks like being a great night to meet old & new friends and listen to a great speaker.

152. Paula Rose

That’ll be one of his warm-up gigs before the big one in Brechin in two weeks time.

153. Quentin Quale

Cheeky! I’ll be having words with you tomorrow…?

154. Paula Rose

Unfortunately not unless I can get a sedan chair team.

155. Quentin Quale

Wanted: gallant gentlepersons to escort Paula Rose to and from Alyth tomorrow night. Sandwiches provided on arrival.

156. Cherry

I want to add Gordon Brown to the list…the rev had a petition about it a couple of years ago…apparently he must have thought it was just a bit of banter…you know what those scotch chappies are like!

Well it wisnae! So once again…just do one!! Feel better now 😉

157. Alex Clark

Gene Wilder is no more I hear, sad. I liked him as I thought he was very funny and a decent man. My wee tribute.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tr9xVmCL0bA

158. Ian Brotherhood

@Cherry –

Good shout. He doesn’t appear to have been mentioned so far.

And thanks to abody else – now 53 in the pot…soon be time to start the group draw.

Think I’ll do it this Friday eve, right here, eh?

159. Michael McCabe

@ Alex Clark I agree with you about Gene Wilder. He made me laugh out loud a few times. Don’t know if you have seen the Adventure of Sherlock Holmes Smarter Brother. it was the first script that he wrote himself and directed and Starred in. it is Available on you tube. Worth a watch. Hope you and yours are doing well. Lynn says hello to all you lovely Wingers.

160. David

@ Ian Brotherhood, for the Great Scottish Fuck Off, I’d like to nominate two of Scottish football’s shining lights: Stewart Regan and Neil ‘Cockwomble’ Doncaster. Pair of useless eejits, but still not as useless as the SFA bosses who hired them.

Also two of Labour’s ex-MPs: Willie Bain, for his anti-SNP “Bain Principle”; and Jimmy Hood, for his House of Commons declaration –

“Even if the SNP was right and there was a grand, great thing at the end of the rainbow for the SNP and its debate for independence, I would still be against it. If the Scottish people are going to be better off economically and so on, I would still be against breaking away from the Union.”

Think I’ve got some strong candidates there, fully expect to see some of them get to the quarter-final stage! 🙂

161. chasanderson200

@Ian Brotherhood 11:11

The GTF list:

Any chance of showing an updated list so far of the candidates.

I have a few suggestions but the candidates are all over two threads at the moment and I can’t remember who’s on and who’s not.

162. Ian Brotherhood

@chasanderson200 –

I’ll submit a full list this evening, then we can take stock. Some real belters on it already, and some surprising omissions!

Hoots the noo!

163. X_Sticks

Haven’t had much time to play recently so will look forward to the full list tonight Ian, although I’m sure everyone I would have suggested is already on the list.

164. K1

Thon archeologist/historian guy, not Oliver, the other one who argued wi Tom Devine during the ref, smug prick…can’t recall his name? Him, put him oan.

165. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Okay, will do.

I don’t know who you mean either so I’ve added him as ‘archaeologist/historian/smug prick’.

Anyone know his actual name?

166. X_Sticks

@Ian & K1

Niall Fergusson? (not sure about the spelling)

167. Nana

@Ian Brotherhood

Can I nominate Barroso and Obama. Must be a long list to choose from.

168. Ian Brotherhood

@x-sticks

This belter here?

Just double-checking…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niall_Ferguson

@Nana –

Of course, done.

169. X_Sticks

@Ian,

Yup, that’s the one – should be on the list.

170. Michael McCabe

Just trying a link. Hope it works ? did-the-uk-miss-out-on-400-billion-worth-of-oil-revenue-keith-myers-and-david-manley-nrgi

171. Tinto Chiel

Well remembered X_Sticks. Ferguson is just another cringing sell-out, hawking is shoddy academic wares to the Americans.

Behold his words and wisdom:

“When it comes to sport – and I do not count the one decent tennis player – Scotland is the Belarus of the West. In fact, when it comes to just about everything, it is the Belarus of the West.”

So, when you think about it, the Union hasn’t been terribly good for us, has it, Niall?

Dipstick.

172. Michael McCabe

Cant do the link. Hopefully somebody will put it up for me. Cheers in Anticipation.

173. Nana

@Michael McCabe

I posted this link on Sunday morn

Article from October 2015, some readers may find it interesting.
    http://www.resourcegovernance.org/blog/did-uk-miss-out-%C2%A3400-billion-worth-oil-revenue

174. chasanderson200

Ian Brotherhood
    GTF list

Duke of Sutherland (well that f/n disgraceful statue of his).
    Every statue of Wellington and his bloody horse.
    Ditto queen Vic.

Hmmm……. maybe statues, memorials, carbuncles and effigies should be a separate issue for another day.

Actually I would be prepared to put up a prize for that one (a bottle of Tains finest!)

175. chasanderson200

@Nana. 8:23

Can you check the link to English literacy levels above… I am getting an Error 404 message when I try it.
    Oops, please.

176. Nana

@chasanderson200

Sometimes when there are pop ups the site won’t load. I got error message too so try this

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/young-people-england-have-lowest-literacy-levels-developed-world-says-oecd-1540711

When you get round to toppling the Duke of Sutherland I will help you shove! Not far from Golspie and I’m sure there will be plenty folk wanting to help.

177. chasanderson200

Nana

Link ok now….ta very much.

Now retired but used to live and work in Inverness with regular trips north. Blood used to boil every time I saw the bl%%dy thing – In fact I get angry just thinking about it and I’m a Dundonian, not a highlander.
    The thing is that it insults Scotland as whole and would probably make good bottoming for a new road once dimantled and crushed (perhaps for the new works on the A9).

178. Paula Rose

We could paint it in rainbow colours.

179. Nana

@chasanderson200

Aye you are right, good bottoming is all he is good for. A few years ago a relative was visiting and on a day out she asked who the statue represented. When I told her she could not understand how we allowed it to remain.

Until we have our own highland unionist clearance I guess he will stay standing.

180. chasanderson200

Nana
    DOS edifice,
    Once we are shot of him there is a very long list of others!!!!

181. Tinto Chiel

The worst thing about that statue is that it was raised by public subscription, much of it coming apparently from the “grateful tenants” or so the propaganda of the day went.

They know how to twist the knife, don’t they?

I suppose if we allowed historical nominations for TGSFO it would run to hundreds, such is our sad history of Massey Fergusons and Bambers.

Have we missed Effie Deans and the History Woman fae Embra?

182. chasanderson200

Tinto chiel
    Having raised the subject of duke of sutherland and several other statues, I suggested to Ian B that on reflection this could be one for another time. See my post at 4:00….. I even proposed to put up a prize of a bottle of Tains finest to whoever is first to propose the utimate winner.

183. CameronB Brodie

Nothing to do with anything other than I keep hearing this on a crappy TV add and being something of an amateur cultural anthropologist/phonologist.

Duke Ellington – Caravan
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQ7ypEF4JRg

Chet Atkins & Les Paul – Caravan
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4r333YOCDE

The Polk Brothers – Caravan Rock (my favourite)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5dGTSKTeDM

184. CameronB Brodie

My favourite in a rock genera. The original may not go down well with the Rev. (no ear for jazz apparently) but it was ground-breaking stuff at the time and a good example of Orientalisms.

185. Tinto Chiel

chasanderson200: yes, I saw that.

I like Glemorangie too and will humbly accept my rightful prize…

😛

186. chasanderson200

Tinto
    I havnae fired the starting gun yet!
    Once Ian B’s one is out of the way I’ll post details.

187. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Meant to reply yesterday, totally forgot. Was distracted by the thought that there were still copies of E&M around. How old is this copy? Have you not heard of ebay. I think there may well be a museum curator very pleased to meet you and take it off your hands.

Sadly I won’t be there but I am sending my accomplice undercover. Your mission should you choose to accept it is to locate him/her before he/she self destructs.

188. Tinto Chiel

Nana, I thought eBay was a drug rendezvous in Kelvingrove Park.

Sorry you can’t make it. Still wearing homburg but I’ll replace E&M with an MFC programme.

For your accomplice:

Watchword: They geese are flying high.

Response: And Venus guards the hornèd moon.

That ought to do it.

189. Tinto Chiel

Ian B: History Woman was Jill Stephenson.

Am I too late?

(“Nah, climb up on the cart!”)

190. Ian Brotherhood

I’ll update and list the full list tomorrow. Too knacked, early night beckons…

191. Fairliered

Just looked through the list again. Can’t believe I’ve missed Alastair Darling or Gordie Broon! Does Jackie Baillie count as two?

192. K1

Oh don’t forget ‘Rory the Tory’! Rory Stewart MP who was attempting to build a cairn that he hoped would stand 9ft tall…after his failed attempt at ‘Hands across the Border’, which would have needed approximately 100,000 people to achieve. 1 person signed up.

Here’s BBC Scotlandshire ripping the pish at the time….

http://www.bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk/index.php/city-news/775-the-incredible-story-of-rory-the-tory.html

193. K1

Oh yeah…David Hamilton, that thicko from Slab who stood up at their conference just before GE15…

Remember this?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-hero-of-scottish-labour/

194. K1

Yes X_Sticks, Ferguson…thanks…

Watch this total pish just before Indyref1 from Ferguson and a woman from some magazine…shameful partisan BBC propaganda..

http://player.mashpedia.com/player.php?ref=mashpedia&q=SN1YDgqBjXk

195. FairFerfochen

GTF list fae the Aiberdeen area

Hugh Pennington
    Ann Begg
    Barney Crockett

196. Michael McCabe

David Dimbleby

197. Ian Brotherhood

…and David Dimbleby makes it 64, on my list at any rate.

If we get late entrants, no matter, we can arrange a few wild cards or what-not.

Didn’t actually realise there were so many of the fuckers…

198. Michael McCabe

Can we ask Michelle (that aint no lady she,s a) Mone to put a couple of Cups up for the Winners.

199. Smallaxe

chasandeson: Statues,

There is a statue of King Robert the Bruce at Annan town hall,
    he is shown holding his sword in both hands pointing down the
    road to England.

Nothing wrong with that you may think! but he is holding it by
    the blade and offering the handle.Every time I see it the
    SCREAMING in my head starts again.Peace,Love and Diazepam. 🙂

200. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: I’ve only seen foaties of it but it does seem completely inappropriate, given what soft-hearted, lovely guys Edward I and II were and how The Bruce’s extended family suffered on his account.

Do I smell submissive Britnattery?

Or am I just a paranoid cybernat?

201. Macart

@Nana

The Jim Cuthbert piece is interesting and of course he is right, the situation is untenable for both the SG and the Scottish electorate. The construction of the fiscal framework was and is a bear trap, deliberately so. Its simply been put into a limited stasis by the SG, who were left with little choice post Smith and Scotland Act legislation.

Basically, the longer we are attached to the union, the worse Scotland’s finances become and the more widespread the suffering. There is only one ‘out’ from this situation and hopefully the ‘off ramp’ from this madness isn’t too far away.

202. Nana

I read it last night and did not sleep at all well [nothing new] worry about just how much dross will be thrown at us. Starting already hauling Broon out of the crypt.

seen this…

https://twitter.com/alanferrier/status/770880757363568640

203. Smallaxe

@Tinto Chiel,

You sir, like myself and many others are just Proud Scots,
    and No buts! Peace.

204. Smallaxe

@ chasanderson200,

My apologies, I think that is now two occasions when I have
    misspelled your name.Peace.

# Autocorrong.:-)

205. Smallaxe

Latest email from A. I. Proving Protest Works.Peace and Love
    Activist and painter Atena Farghadani was released in May. Together we have fought the absurd charges levelled against her, and now she walks free. Thank you.
    Atena released on appeal

Phyoe Phyoe Aung – freed
    Thousands of you demanded the release of Burmese student union leader Phyoe Phyoe Aung, her husband and tens of other student activists. In April they were finally released. Now the Burmese government must keep its promise to release all prisoners of conscience.
    Prisoner amnesty in Burma

Mahdi Abu Dheeb – freed
    In April Mahdi Abu Deeb, a school teacher and leader of a teaching union in Bahrain, was finally released after five unjust years in prison. Your actions ensured his case was not forgotten. Thank you.
    Mahdi finally walks free

Khadija Ismayilova – freed
    After a year and a half behind bars for her investigative journalism, Khadija Ismayilova was released on bail, just in time to celebrate her 40th birthday.
    Khadija is free

Thank you for helping make all this happen.

Please keep an eye out for upcoming campaigns tackling human rights at home and overseas – we will need your support more than ever.

Kate Allen signature

Kate Allen
    Director
    Amnesty International UK

Donate
    Supporting Amnesty with a regular gift or donation is the best way you can help us achieve our long term goals.
    Your help will allow us to keep up the pressure,
    demanding justice for victims of human rights abuses.

Pocket Protest – our SMS action network Facebook Twitter Google+

206. Smallaxe

Nana,

Everybody wants you and your links back on the main page,
    including myself.Peace and Love.

207. Cactus

As ‘off-topic’ has been getting some excellent plugs from the main threads, this will be very enlightening / entertaining for the new navigators (or short term lurkers.) Subjects such as Quantum Physics and Time Travel are explored here!

@tourists of Scotland

If you’re at a loose end, this weekend.. there’s a boat or twa sailing.
    http://millportcountryandwestern.co.uk/

Welcome to off-topic, you’re welcome.

Btw, there’s also another ‘secret page‘ nearby, where sneaky nights-out are arranged, but that’s another story.. if you ask Paula Rose very nicely, she might..? 😉

208. Cactus

Cookery suggestion #18:

When making a thai curry, try adding 2 to 3 rounded table-spoonfuls of Houmous / Hummus to the coconut milk sauce. It gives it a lovely thick and creamy taste.

That’s off-topic for you, hehe.

209. Paula Rose

@ Smallaxe and Nana no – more folk should come here – it’s always nice and tidy and troll-free, just give them the link to the best social club in town.

210. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

As always Paula I will bow to a lady’s request,but I still think that Nana should come over here only to relax and enjoy the company,maybe even post some music links?

Peace,Love and Ladies:-)

211. Paula Rose

I get your point – but this is a great place to sit down and have a cup of coffee and read Nana’s links of a morning.

212. Ian Brotherhood

Sorry, but no TGSFO list tonight…off to me scratcher again.

🙁

213. Smallaxe

I agree Paula but I hope hope we won’t be thought selfish in
    keeping her to ourselves.Then again… Peace,Love and links for morning tea?

214. Paula Rose

We aren’t – Nana posts on here and some of us let the main thread know that the links are here – that way the main thread is not disturbed and regular readers get to enjoy the ambience of this delightful space.

215. Macbeda

Just saw the DR telly advert claiming to be
    ‘Scottish footballs greatest fan’.

They got it wrong again.

It should have read Scottish footballs greatest fanny.

Gods see these missed typos. You jist cannae get the editorial staff noo adays.

216. Paula Rose

Can we do the footie stuff outside please.

217. Smallaxe

That’s settled then Paula,links and morning tea it is.Peace.

218. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose am reading on the Main thread that Nana’s done the washing up in here, she to much of a asset for menial tasks I trust that you wont let that happen again.

219. Paula Rose

Tsk – she’s helping me every day to fly.

220. chasanderson200

@CameronB Brodie
    8:46 – main thread
    SOCRU – and did you believe the crap on the LA returns I used to send you????????!!!!!!

221. Nana

I came back from hols to a bulging inbox, had to decide what to post and as there was so many thought it best to put them here rather than on the main thread.
    I sometimes feel I post too many o/t on the main page. There may be times in the months ahead when the msm are on full attack some overspill links may need to come over here.

Anyhoo links are on the main thread this morn.

@ Smallaxe. Hope you are recovering well xx
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAqAmLSIGU8

@Paula Rose

Juke box playing ‘our song’
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3iorVlGPR4

222. Smallaxe

Nana: good morning and welcome back,I’ll catch you on the other thread.Peace,Love and best wishes to you.

223. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO, 2016!

First 20 (in order they were received) –

David Mundell
    Duncan Hothersall
    Murdo Fraser
    John McTernan
    Owen Smith
    Willie Rennie
    Jim Murphy
    Ruth Davidson
    Stephen Daisley
    Andrew Marr
    David Dimbleby
    Brian Taylor
    Jackie Bird
    Danny Alexander
    Andrew Neil
    Neil Oliver
    Sarah Smith
    Kaye Adams
    Euan McColm
    David Leask

More later!

224. CameronB Brodie

chasanderson200
    I played a pretty menial role so it didn’t really matter what I thought. 😉

225. Proud Cybernat

@ Cameron Brodie

This was the quote I received:

Kiss Cut on Sheets

100,000 – £1525.00

250,000 – £2600.00

500,000 – £4527.00

Die cut to singles*

100,000 – £1375.00

250,000 – £2472.00

500,000 – £4268.00

226. Proud Cybernat

I should add Cameron, the circile diameter is 67mm.

Cheers

227. CameronB Brodie

Proud Cybernat
    Thanks, though I’m too late to make any calls today. Btw, there’s no guarantee I’ll do better. 😉

228. Stoker

An opinion or two on your selection if i may Proud Cybernat?
    http://imgur.com/a/KUamE

(1): My preference and the only one worth the effort. It’s short, says it all and sends a clear message to all who can read, perfect!

(2): Pravda means truth and is also a word associated with Russia and communism. This one will send mixed messages to different folk!

(3): Says too much and we shouldn’t be focused on telling them what they must do, our focus should be solely on exposing them.

(4): Featuring the words “Truth” and “BBC” together, no matter how it’s meant, also runs the risk of sending a subliminal association of the two.

(5): Just pish! Almost says Never a truer word!

(6): Another no-go as far as i’m concerned due to the fact this message will go right over the heads of a large percentage of the electorate, especially a very very important target area of our efforts – the younger generations.

That’s my tuppence worth and i’ll keep an eye on your progress before committing any further. Yours in support etc etc! 😉

229. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Batch 2:

Severin Carrell
    Glen Campbell
    Michael White
    Torquil Crichton
    Sir Nicholas MacPherson
    Kezia Dugdale
    Ian Smart
    John Barrowman
    George Foulkes
    Eleanor Bradford
    Anas Sarwar
    Gordon Brewer
    Laura Kuennsberg
    Alan Cochrane
    Bamber Gascoigne
    Anne Begg
    Dave MacDonald (NF Scotland)
    Eddie Izzard
    Ian Davidson
    Alberto Costa

Some real contenders in there!

Further batches tomorrow…

Any more names, get them in before Sunday evening please. More the merrier! They canny win it if they urny in it!

230. Andrew McLean

Ian,
    Are you opening a book on the first on your list to get jailed?:)

231. Clapper57

@Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO

J K Rowling , Lordy George Robertson , Brian Wilson , Lordy John Reid , Muriel Gray , Frances Barber , Ian Wood , David Coburn ,Margaret Curran, Tavish Scott, Jack Straw, Tom Harris, Johanna baxter, Johann lamont and any Labour (Non Corbyn) MSP/MP ( can include Neil Findlay) and any Tory MSP/MP , Tim Farron, Alistair Carmichael .

My list could go on to infinity and beyond but I will leave some names for others as we are so spoilt for choice are we not.

Apologies if any duplicate names with other wingers on my list but guess so many want to say FO to so many.

232. Lanarkist

Can I nominate Michael (Lord) Forsyth just for being himself and J. McConnell for using Scots budget money to buy himself a nice fur coat! George Robertson for looking like he wants to lick his own face and Ruth Favidson for being a tall Susan Calman!

Ta!

Great British Fuck Off.

233. Ian Brotherhood

@Andrew McLean –

Splendid idea. So many to choose from…

@Clapper57 –

Soo-perb contribution, cheers aplenty.

Brian Wilson and Ian Wood have already been named, but the rest are newcomers. Again – you were the first to mention George ‘We’ve Nae Culture’ Robertson! A dark horse if ever there was one…

Now 87 names in the pot…

234. kininvie

No one nominated Effie Deans yet??

In that case, I certainly will.

235. Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie –

Good shout!

236. Ian Brotherhood

@Lanarkist –

Cheers.

No-one else has mentioned Forsyth, McConnell (or Calman), so they’re all included now.

For some reason your comment appeared later than Andrew McLean’s, and he was first to mention the bold Robertson. Davidson was already well-in.

Disny matter – we’re ticking along towards 100.

It’s the All-Star BTUKOK Roadshow…running all those names right past you once again…lest ye’d forgot! An’ ahm gonny hufty get a bigger pot, eh?

Hoots all!

237. Stoker

TGSFO? Are we allowed to nominate dead people? Dead turncoats?

238. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

There’s no ‘allowed’ about it.

If the quizmaster/tractor in question is now deid then they have, clearly, fucked-off permanently, but that’s not to say they don’t still influence how many of our compatriots perceive the whole Indy debate.

I daren’t guess who you may have in mind. I can think of a few meself who haven’t been doing much lately apart from pushing up daisies, yet they still exert huge power over how some Scots view the here-and-now.

You name him/her/them, they’ll be in the hat. Nae probs.

239. Stoker

There’s a fair few contenders among this little lot:

Map of commissioner voting on the ratification of the Treaty of Union. Voting Records for 16 January 1707 ratification of the Treaty of Union
    Commissioner Constituency/Position
    James Graham, 1st Duke of Montrose Lord President of the Council of Scotland/Stirlingshire
    John Campbell, 2nd Duke of Argyll
    John Hay, 2nd Marquess of Tweeddale
    William Kerr, 2nd Marquess of Lothian
    John Erskine, 22nd Earl of Mar
    John Gordon, 16th Earl of Sutherland
    John Hamilton-Leslie, 9th Earl of Rothes Squadrone Volante
    James Douglas, 11th Earl of Morton
    William Cunningham, 12th Earl of Glencairn
    James Hamilton, 6th Earl of Abercorn
    John Ker, 1st Duke of Roxburghe
    Thomas Hamilton, 6th Earl of Haddington
    John Maitland, 5th Earl of Lauderdale
    David Wemyss, 4th Earl of Wemyss
    William Ramsay, 5th Earl of Dalhousie
    James Ogilvy, 4th Earl of Findlater Banffshire
    David Leslie, 3rd Earl of Leven
    David Carnegie, 4th Earl of Northesk
    Earl of Belcarras
    Archibald Douglas, 1st Earl of Forfar
    William Boyd, 3rd Earl of Kilmarnock
    John Keith, 1st Earl of Kintore
    Patrick Hume, 1st Earl of Marchmont
    George Mackenzie, 1st Earl of Cromartie
    Archibald Primrose, 1st Earl of Rosebery
    David Boyle, 1st Earl of Glasgow
    Charles Hope, 1st Earl of Hopetoun LIKELY Linlithgowshire
    Henry Scott, 1st Earl of Deloraine
    Archibald Campbell, Earl of Illay
    William Hay, Viscount Dupplin
    William Forbes, 12th Lord Forbes
    John Elphinstone, 8th Lord Elphinstone
    William Ross, 12th Lord Ross
    James Sandilands, 7th Lord Torphichen
    Lord Fraser
    George Ogilvy, 3rd Lord Banff
    Alexander Murray, 4th Lord Elibank
    Kenneth Sutherland, 3rd Lord Duffus
    Robert Rollo, 4th Lord Rollo Stirlingshire
    James Murray, Lord Philiphaugh Lord Clerk Register/Selkirkshire
    Adam Cockburn, Lord Ormiston Lord Justice Clerk
    Sir Robert Dickson of Inverask Edinburghshire
    William Nisbet of Dirletoun Haddingtonshire
    John Cockburn, younger, of Ormestoun Haddingtonshire
    Sir John Swintoun of that ilk Berwickshire
    Sir Alexander Campbell of Cessnock Berwickshire
    Sir William Kerr of Greenhead Roxburghshire
    Archibald Douglas of Cavers Roxburghshire
    William Bennet of Grubbet Roxburghshire
    Mr John Murray of Bowhill Selkirkshire
    Mr John Pringle of Haining Selkirkshire
    William Morison of Prestongrange Peeblesshire
    Alexander Horseburgh of that ilk Peeblesshire
    George Baylie of Jerviswood Lanarkshire
    Sir John Johnstoun of Westerhall Dumfriesshire
    William Dowglass of Dornock Dumfriesshire
    Mr William Stewart of Castlestewart Wigtownshire
    Mr John Stewart of Sorbie Wigtownshire
    Mr Francis Montgomery of Giffan Ayrshire
    Mr William Dalrymple of Glenmuir Ayrshire
    Mr Robert Stewart of Tillicultrie Buteshire
    Sir Robert Pollock of that ilk Renfrewshire
    Mr John Montgomery of Wrae Linlithgowshire
    John Halden of Glenagies Perthshire
    Mongo Graham of Gorthie Perthshire
    Sir Thomas Burnet of Leyes Kincardineshire
    William Seton, younger, of Pitmedden Aberdeenshire
    Alexander Grant, younger, of that ilk Inverness-shire
    Sir William Mackenzie
    Mr Aeneas McLeod of Cadboll Cromartyshire
    Mr John Campbell of Mammore Argyllshire
    Sir James Campbell of Auchinbreck Argyllshire
    James Campbell, younger, of Ardkinglass Argyllshire
    Sir William Anstruther of that ilk Fife
    James Halyburton of Pitcurr Forfarshire
    Alexander Abercrombie of Glassoch Banffshire
    Mr James Dunbarr, younger, of Hemprigs Caithness
    Alexander Douglas of Eagleshay Orkney and Shetland
    Sir John Bruce, 2nd Baronet Kinross-shire
    John Scrimsour Dundee
    Lieutenant Colonel John Areskine
    John Mure Likely Ayr
    James Scott Montrose
    Sir John Anstruther, 1st Baronet, of Anstruther
    James Spittle Inverkeithing
    Mr Patrick Moncrieff Kinghorn
    Sir Andrew Home Kirkcudbright
    Sir Peter Halket Dunfermline
    Sir James Smollet Dumbarton
    Mr William Carmichell Lanark
    Mr William Sutherland Elgin
    Captain Daniel McLeod Tain
    Sir David Dalrymple, 1st Baronet
    Sir Alexander Ogilvie Banff
    Mr John Clerk Whithorn
    John Ross
    Hew Dalrymple, Lord North Berwick
    Mr Patrick Ogilvie Cullen
    George Allardyce Kintore
    William Avis
    Mr James Bethun Kilrenny
    Mr Roderick McKenzie Fortrose
    John Urquhart Dornoch
    Daniel Campbell Inveraray
    Sir Robert Forbes Inverurie
    Mr Robert Dowglass Kirkwall
    Mr Alexander Maitland Inverbervie
    Mr George Dalrymple Stranraer
    Mr Charles Campbell Campbeltown

Or you could just enter The Duke of Queensberry (1707) 🙂

240. Stoker

LLF! Will somebody help oor Ian up aff the flare!

241. Paula Rose

This has to be the wickedest site in Scotland – love you all xxx

242. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Aherm…

Okay, let me get this straight…

You want me to put all those names on the list for TGSFO, OR shag the Duke of Queensberry?

Fair do’s, but I’ll need some contact details for him, and I’m only available every other Tuesday.

243. X_Sticks

Ian, my wee list, not sure if any of these have already been mentioned:

Tony Blair, Lewis MacDonald, Dame Anne Begg, Brian Spanner (does a twitter construct count?), Glasgow, Stirling & Aberdeen City Councils, Sir Ian Wood, Donald Trump, Mariano Rajoy, Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Saxe-Coburg Gotha Windsor.

244. Valerie

Chris Deerin?

245. Paula Rose

Oi you lot this is getting messy in here – be careful or I’ll be giving penalties and kicking you out (footie references – aren’t I clever).

246. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood

Sorry to disturb you whilst you are checking Stoker’s list to make sure all these folk were real, deid or itherwise.

I am a wee bit late to the party, but, if no one else has (and I haven’t seen them) listed them, can I make mention of:

Tim Stanley (Telegraph, QT and those really boring Sunday programmes);

Kelvin McKenzie (who cares where he inhabits);

and a very special mention for this particular septic tank of love for Scotland, the one and only wasp chewer –

Ms Jo Coburn !

247. Stoker

Awe ma jaws are sare. Just put my entries as The Duke of Queensberry (1707) and the entire House of Lords (2016).

Better watch ourselves, PR’s about to slip on the steel toecaps.
    Tomorrow is ours for the taking! Goodnight all!

248. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Noted, with thanks, as are all other suggestions.

Busy double-checking before the meds kick-in…but I’m sure we’re over the 100 mark now. Blimey.

(And please note, I remain available every other Tuesday…)

249. Paula Rose

*checks diary for Be More Brechin event speakers – gets on phone to Ian*

250. Michael McCabe

I would like to nominate bill Matthews. BBC Trustee for Scotland

251. Paula Rose

Ian Honey – I’ve got a floor here covered with list thingies and crossing outs, could you come and tidy up please – we might have guests.

252. Cactus

Scotland.

253. Cactus

Trying this tune posted from my moby.

Played it before and doing it again, hope it works..

Steps (along the way) by Pilot
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56l_9CjYkuY

Chairs.

254. Tam Jardine

Good morning

Am trying to get my head around the various events of the 18th September… it looks like I can make it through with my wee girl to Glasgow. I am not a facebook person and I have given up following broken links to Scottish Indy Convention and the like.

what is the plan?

255. Fred

@ Stoker, thanks for the “Parcel o Rogues” kid. David Boyle 1st earl of Glasgow if of interest as his descendant was the top Nazi in Scotland pre-war along with “Taxi for McLetchie”s faither. We seig them here we seig them there!

My nominations are as follows-Jackson Carlaw & the plump,smug & self-serving Aberdeen Tory called Johnston.

256. Ian Brotherhood

@Fred –

Cheers.

Carlaw has already been fingered. Twice.

This ‘Johnston’ dude. I think I know the one you mean (farmer?) but can’t find him to check spelling…

Is he still in the SG? I’ll find him eventually…

257. CameronB Brodie

It looks like the Benedict Anderson clip I linked to the other day, is no longer available.

Benedict Anderson
    The Nation as Imagined Community

“In an anthropological spirit, then, I propose the following definition of the nation: it is an imagined political community – – and imagined as both inherently limited and sovereign….

http://www.nationalismproject.org/what/anderson.htm

Imagined Communities Pt.1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ASs3mXVbz4

Imagined Communities Pt.2
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K55kLwlDYDU

Benedict Anderson Imagined Communities
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDjwWFCE1V4

258. CameronB Brodie

Found it again. 🙂

The World Today: Imagined Communities – On British Nationalism
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15nqjGCAqd4

259. Smallaxe

Tam Jardine:

All I know Tam is,Glasgow Green,2pm-8pm.Wings will have two
    marquees there.Hope to meet yourself and all other Wingers.

Peace and Love.

260. Cactus

Evening all.

Have you ordered your new iScot magazines yet?
    https://iscot.scot/scottish-passport-holder

Get in there!

261. Stoker

Hi Fred, is this the fella you’re nominating?
    Alex Johnstone MSP
    http://www.parliament.scot/msps/currentmsps/alex-johnstone-msp.aspx

262. Tam Jardine

Smallaxe

Thanks brother- will see you there. May bring my wee lassie who is not as yet a full Winger as she is but 6 years of age. She has pressed a fair number of yes EU badges on her child’s badge machine so she is well on the way!

263. Smallaxe

Tam Jardine:

No problem Tam, I will have my wife,daughter and my granddaughter with me,sorry it took so long for you to get an
    answer.

Peace.

264. Stoker

@ IanB:

I think that’s Fred’s nomination at 5:53pm (Dairy & Arable farmer).
    _____

The O’Jays – Back Stabbers
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzTeLePbB08

265. Euan Whazermy

Cactus and Paula Rose , thanks for your help. Have managed to learn to post on main site so hope to put my tuppence worth in from time to time. Still not great with technology but getting there. Thanks again.

266. Stoker

Lesley Gore – You Don’t Own Me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iiOeAAp8HPI

267. Stoker

The Animals – House of the Rising Sun
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Go5HtnLZ2h0

268. Stoker

Well troops, i’ll love and leave you all with these messages.
    Have a great weekend! 🙂

Mike & The Mechanics – The Living Years
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGDA0Hecw1k

Mike & The Mechanics – Over My Shoulder
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dda1OAldxJY

Mike & The Mechanics – Beggar on a Beach of Gold
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FEE2fSF5bX4

Mike & The Mechanics – Word of Mouth
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NdFblqzgSrI

269. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

re ‘Johnstone’.

Cheers buddy, that’s the dude right enough. A face ye’d never forget, but I had ‘Alan’ in my heid…

He’s in, with bells on…

270. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO 2016!
    Batch 3:

Johann Lamont
    Effie Deans
    Alistair Carmichael
    Alex Gallagher
    Brian Wilson
    Brian Donohoe
    Ken McQuarrie
    James Cook
    George Galloway
    James MacMillan
    Ian Wood
    Oliver Mundell
    Gordon Brown
    Niall Ferguson
    Barack Obama
    Manuel Barroso
    Jill Stephenson
    Alistair Darling
    Jackie Baillie
    Rory Stewart

Not 100% sure there is no duplication with previous batches – shouldn’t matter overall as they’ve yet to be sorted into groups.

Anyone have any suggestions as to how to group them? I was thinking alphabetically (by first name) might be about as random as any other way, but it’ll throw a few heavyweights together e.g. ‘Brians’ and ‘Ali/ast/dairs’. A ‘seeding’ process would take too long and hey, who doesn’t like to see an underdog in with a shout!?

Anyway, that’s 60 now posted, at least another full batch of 20 to go.

Still time to get them in – will close on Sunday night.

271. Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

Batch 4

Paul Dacre

272. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam J –

Safely in there.

273. Tam Jardine

Smallaxe

2pm at Glasgow Green sounds grand.

I am curious what the actual format of the convention will be… but I am sure all will be revealed in the fullness of time. I will gravitate towards the the Wings stall and take in whatever action there is. Will no doubt have to head back at a reasonable hour rather than the usual Wings shenanigans

By the way- for anyone who hasn’t watched Nicola’s speech I recommend it. I see why the yoonies have the fear. When she is in full flow there is no-one close

274. Smallaxe

Tam Jardine:

Hi Tam,in your post on the main thread.Did you happen to
    mention a friend of yours,and this fella,did you say he
    he wasn’t very well! Maybe it’s my own mistake,but you can
    let me know,a simple yes or no will suffice.

Peace and Love.

275. Tam Jardine

Smallaxe

Sorry friend- my poor attempt at a joke asking Dave Mc H to hook me up… in poor taste perhaps. No offence intendended

276. Smallaxe

Tam Jardine:

No offence taken at all Tam,and your taste’s fine, sure,I just
    didn’t like the thought of that friend of yours suffering.He
    should go and see his GP so he should.

One Love,and Peace my friend:-)

277. Archie Hamilton

Any one familiar with UK Column News? I’ve tried a few times to listen to it but quickly given up in disgust. Their 2nd September edition seems fairly typical of the content.

I’ve got an ex colleague who posts this stuff regularly and I’d like to rebuff it but I can’t do that unless I actually suffer through it. Something of a Catch 22 situation.

278. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO 2016:

Batch 4:

David Hamilton
    Hugh Pennington
    Michelle Mone
    Marie Rimmer
    Clare Lally
    ‘Brian Spanner’
    Kevin Hague
    Bob Geldof
    Jeremy Corbyn
    Alex Massie
    Ex Australian PM (?)
    Jackson Carlaw
    Piers Morgan
    Kelvin Mackenzie
    Ming Campbell
    Blair McDougall
    Tom Gallagher
    JK Rowling
    George Robertson
    John Reid
    Muriel Gray
    Frances Barber
    David Coburn
    Margaret Curran
    Tavish Scott
    Jack Straw
    Tom Harris
    Johanna Baxter
    Tim Farron
    Neil Findlay
    Effie Deans
    Michael Forsyth
    Jack McConnell
    Susan Calman
    Bill Matthews
    Alex Johnstone
    Paul Dacre

37 in that batch, so all-in we have 97.

Whatever’s in the hat at close of play tomorrow, that’s it. If you can think of any really obvious omissions please get them in asap.

Hoots all!

279. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood I have found the Winner. If you cant remember him ? just look through the Revs Back Catalogue (Quotes of the Day) His name is Jim Hood. He lost his Seat at the last Election. As he loves the Union that Much I like to think of it that he got his Marching Orders. All the best Ian to you & Yours.

280. Paula Rose

Ian Dear I do hope you are going to clear up after this – I do not want to come across discarded yoons lying about the place.

281. Croompenstein

@Ian –

Found the bastirt.. Tony Abbott… **phew, wipes brow***

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-28821346

I preferred Russ Abbott

282. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi IanB.

I don’t see that ‘other’ famous historian on your lists?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0AXVdPPAyk

283. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Seeing as off-topic is quiet the noo, I thought I would take this window of opportunity to explain WHY the Dundee get-togethers ended up in the Invergowrie Inn.

The first Wings get-together in the area was in Jolly’s in Broughty Ferry in May 2014, organised, I believe, by Thepnr/Alex. During the early summer of 2014, my ex, who was working as chef at the Invergowrie Inn, hinted that their lounge could be a decent venue for a get-together, as the staff were almost 100% Yessers.

So I went down for a blether. The II is a local village pub but, because of its proximity to Dundee, the Saturday evenings are a tad strange. The go great guns on meals up to around 7pm on a Saturday, then the lounge is more or less empty for the rest of the night. The locals tend to use the bar.

So, any kind of ‘do’ that can get 20+ paying customers into the lounge on a Saturday night is welcomed. This lack of MOP’s (Members Of the Public) meant that we could offer musical/video entertainment for Wingers, rather than having to bear in mind the sensibilities of ‘others’.

So, on Saturday, 13th September, 2014, we had the first get-together in the II. I feel I have to point out that the Invergowrie Inn is a lot nearer to the city centre than Jolly’s. Some peeps seem to think that Invergowrie is miles from civilisation… (Just coz it has its own railway station, iye?)

Onnyhoo, I wouldn’t be surprised to learn of a Wings get-together at the II before the end of the year. With the usual independence-oriented videos we’ve had in the past.

Have a look at this video – it’s just a wee wander round the peeps at the get-together on 21/2/2015. You’ll recognise faces – and an MP!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZhc7uweLGk

And this one, from 24/10/15.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZhc7uweLGk

(Thinks… somebody from the Ullapool area can make it to Invergowrie get-togethers. Can YOU? [with a big pointy hand, for effect.])

284. Ian Brotherhood

@Croomps & BDTT –

Noted, with thanks.

We’ve got 99 now.

Come on – who can make it a round ton?

285. Michael McCabe

Jim Hood is the labour MP who said. even if Scotland would be better off with Independence he would still vote Against it. he also Claimed £1000 a month for his Second Home Allowance without handing in any receipts. I think he Deserves to be on the list.

286. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:

If you haven’t already check out the Blindside Blues Band.

Peace Love and Music.

287. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McC –

Nae worries – he’s on it, and will be the first name on the final batch, approx this time tomorrow.

288. Liz Rannoch

Madly trying to catch up so have only checked your ‘batchs’
    how about Ian Davidson – the prat wi’ the bayonets? Reckon he’s probably been mentioned tho’.
    Batches, batchs? Typed them both a couple of times and now neither look right!

289. Ian Brotherhood

@Liz R –

Oh aye, Mr ‘Ye’ll be gettin’ a doin’?

If he’s not already there, he is now.

(So good we named him twice!)

Hoots!

290. Liz Rannoch

@ Ian B –

Ta muckle! Way to bed now that Murrays’ won – whew!

291. CameronB Brodie

Think I’ll just leave this here.

THE POST-COLONIAL STUDIES READER

http://www.mohamedrabeea.com/books/book1_3985.pdf

292. X_Sticks

@Ian,

Is there more to come? I haven’t seen Brenda (Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth) yet. Was on my list..

293. yesindyref2

In honour of James Kelly, MSP, first heard on a 45 (or was it a 78?)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgvQiBjVS-s

294. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

If this was on a 45 it should be played at 100rpm,that’s the
    speed that he should be railroaded out of town!

Peace Always

295. Paula Rose

Oh gosh – Beedeeteetee what happy memories of the Inverwotsit get-togethers, the second one looks as good as the first! Yes let’s have another one – I’ll email Natasha.

For folk wot don’t know the man getting on with making the badges is the adorable Pete the camera.

296. Tinto Chiel

Michael McCabe: good shout.

Jimmy was a charming man who called a colleague of mine a “nationalist count” as passed his Better Together stall, except the o was missing.

All he cared about was his next Jag/expenses claim.

A man of no talent or integrity who personified the dismissive Establishment term “low flying Jimmy”.

We’ve got a real MP now.

297. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO! 2016 –

Final dribblers…

Jim Hood
    Tony Abbott
    Dan Snow
    Queen Elizabeth

And that, as they say, is that…unless we get any more before midnight.

Still have to double-check all nominations, but I reckon we’ve ended up with 100 bang-on.

Watch his space and/or Twitter for the first groups, in a few days…

Hoots all!

298. Paula Rose

MAKE SURE YOU CLEAR UP BEHIND YOU – I’m sick of saying it I really am.

299. Stoker

Ian, a late entry afore digging my pit, that speaker of the house chappy thingy, the no happy clappy chappy, am that cream crackered ah canny think straight but you’ll ken who ah mean.

Berk or Berkoff or something? Goodnight, troops!

300. Michael McCabe

Tried to play this last Night. Never Worked. Took my time Typing. So Hopefully Beth Hart- Caught out in the Rain http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DuDhiHSksaA

301. Peter Barjonas

Hello,
    Just listened to The Westminster Hour on BBC Radio 4.
    Presenter Mark Darsey introduced the panel of MPs for the programme (John Nicholson, SNP, Bernard Jenkins, tory and Mary Creagh Labour) Later in the programme, to bring up newspaper headlines for the panel, was journalist Anushka Akasana. Near the end the presenter asked “for a reaction from each of you” about the junior doctor strike. Only Bernard Jenkins was allowed to give an opinion. At the conclusion the presenter thanked Bernard Jenkins, Mary Craigh and Anushka Akasana, only.
    Call me a conspiracy theorist but someone had to mention it!

302. Paula Rose

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Thepnr for all his efforts over the years, and how much he gave in his declining years – which reminds me, many thanks to Thepnr for that fab Johnny Cash playlist much appreciated.

303. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

John Bercow? Okey-dokey, he’s in.

That’s ‘101 Nominations’…who could we possibly have as Cruella…

Okay, it’s now 102.

304. Tinto Chiel

Paula Rose: instead of badgering us about clearing up how about doing something about the stale Hobnobs?

Fed up with them, I really am.

Perhaps I was a bit harsh. How about some nostalgia as a peace offering?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=T_uvgm2_hRk

305. Paula Rose

At least they’re on a plate – though perhaps it is time I refreshed them.

306. Tinto Chiel

And the tonic, it’s a bit flat.

Fanx.

307. Paula Rose

Anything else before I go to the shops?

308. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, was doing the deer gralloching and got a bit carried away.

No, that’s about it this end, I think.

Fanx, and oblige TC.

309. Tinto Chiel

And for all you spooks/BBC Scotland types out there, a message from Elvis:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=SlCvlGCuQBE

Paula, these Hobnobs are great…

310. Tinto Chiel

And from the other end of the spectrum, for all you Laydees…..

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=24IfD-0VUu4

311. Tinto Chiel

And for everybody else, ‘cos I’m getting royally pissed off with everything holding us back:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yqrAPOZxgzU

312. Tinto Chiel

Less tonic, more gin, Paula Rose. Cactus, help me out.

Ahh, that’s better.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=R6GDdKrQ8EI

313. Paula Rose

*Rushes in with gin and pile of punk discs*

314. Ian Brotherhood

Now she’s back in the howff, please try to engage PR in chit-chat or whatever – she’s been on Twitter trying to get a hold of BTP’s baws.

315. Smallaxe

Back here,I hope,

The road climbs mellowy up (the diver was mellow yellow!) but
    we travelled on, it was no use screaming,it would not have been heard above the purring of the car engine purring like a
    a lion with its haemorrhoids in deep heat.I digress.

Houses on our right,colourful,bright for the most part but
    made from I can only say is assorted bits of timber,corrogated
    roofs and some with only a curtain for a door(This British Goverment had this Paradise of Poverty as a Colony For A Very
    Long Time) people in the houses smiled,some waved,friendly people.Piccany’s,(young kids) some of the smaller ones naked in the sun,happpy kids,

316. Paula Rose

No Dear I’ve been toying with his marbles.

317. Tinto Chiel

Paula Rose:

Thanks, I feel better now. More Marigolds needed under the sink, btw.

😛

318. Ian Brotherhood

Pandas are already endangered. Annoying them into the bargain is uncalled-for.

319. Tinto Chiel

Och, I’ve gone all mellow myself.

Love this tribute to H Bogart and Casablanca. One of my faves from For Your Pleasure.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vPhLtIJIiyI

320. Paula Rose

I’m not annoying the panda *watches him wistfully as he staggers over the hill*

321. Tinto Chiel

Och, no, it was from the first album.

Silly me.

Like this: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2nA7Sz7fL0

Far out, man. Give it a try.

322. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

‘If you really love something, let it go…if it loves you it will come back, reeking of red wine and demanding the sofa…’

323. Smallaxe

My first post got lost, the second first post is on main site.
    must ski..make up a pot of coffee.

Onwards up to nine miles! as we drive into the little cluster
    of houses,Bob”tomb is to our right,tall fence all round,big gates with pictures of Bob on each gate.There is a cafe just
    20ft from His tomb.Rasta’s own the cafe,two behind the counter,soft drinks,coconut water,Cool.

There were only about three Bredren in the place,it could hold
    about forty people.”Come in Lady” “come in Bredren”at this
    time in my life I had 3ft braids in my hair,they made us both
    very welcome and we spoke about Bob and his music.

At this time as we had known, the tomb area was closed as it was being renovated.After about a half hour a tall Rastaman
    walked in for a cool drink,he nodded over to us with a smile
    that could light up an air raid shelter and went back to his
    drink.

324. Smallaxe

Is anybody out there?

325. Capella

@ Smallaxe – Great to come back to hear about the Jamaica trip.
    I’ve been watching “Dance to the Music of Time” over on the Channel 4 player (now that the BBC are charging for catch up).

It’s in 4 parts of 1 hr 45 mins. About how the English upper class got through the early 20th century, including WW2 and the aftermath of a Labour Government, when the Oiks got power. Ghastly, dear boy. Good for practising anger management.

Meanwhile – in the mountains of a former colony, totally oppressed by the British ….

326. Smallaxe

Would you rather I just cut to the chase leaving out descriptions?

327. Paula Rose

Nope I want all the description.

328. Smallaxe

OK Paula soon com.

Peace Always

329. Cactus

Aweright Tinto Chiel, here be an autumnal Monday night ballad:

Wise Man by Uriah Heep
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63FcXKCsdbs

btw, looks like most of the people are Yes on the Isle of Cumbrae.. also, following the USA parade, there followed a procession of tractor vehicles with both of our flags flying aloft!

Gaun yersel’ Yes Millport 🙂

Independence ‘plus’
    (Peace, Love, Understanding, Scotland)

330. Smallaxe

3/

The tall guy called over one of the guys we’d been talking to
    and spoke to him for a few minutes,the guy came back to me and
    said “Simon asks if you want to go through to Bob”s garden,I looked at him and said,”are you sure?” would it be OK,”Yah”man
    he smiled Simon will reason wit you” I walked over to the bar
    and introduced myself.”Come sit,Reason with me” so we went outside where he led and he stopped,made a circular motion with his hand towards the ground.

“Sit Bredren and reason with me” we both sat facing each other
    and he softly asked me “who are you” “what do you think inside
    yourself”I told him my beliefs what I cared for….we stood
    again and he asked “Do you want to visit Bob”I said we would
    be honoured,”Bring your lady, your queen Mon”/ Back soon

Peace Always

331. Cactus

@people of Millport

I placed five print editions of the Wee Black Book in places around your bonnie Island.. I hear you have a crocodile there.. Treasure Hunt!

Cheers for yer hospitality.
    X

332. Capella

@ Smallaxe
    The suspense! But it’s bedtime for me. Will check back later to see what happened next. Meantime – here’s Burning Spear “No-one Remember Old Marcus Garvey”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aOJbSfjJ7jw

333. Smallaxe

4/

I got my lady and he took us over and he opened the gates,”Please” he said com see,we walked in to the gardens,two
    small buildings were on our right one of them Bob’s last resting place.In front of the building, large white stones
    spelled out the legend ..O N E LOVE. in the surrounding grass.
    wipes tear,

We looked at this sadly Uplifting portrayal of Bob’s words
    as they slowly engraved themselves on our entwined hearts.

A few other Rasta’s had quietly entered the gardens.Simon spoke to them and turned to us and asked”would you like to
    come in and spend some time in Bob’s House” far out,would we
    Like? I said we would very much like to have that honour.

Peace Always

334. Smallaxe

Thanks for Burning Spear,try Garnet Silk

Peace Always

Hi Cactus,every thing cool?

Peace Always

On we go!

335. Paula Rose

Gods of reggae – this one is still alive…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBHucOSjkQs

336. Smallaxe

5/

We walked up a likkle path and were shown round the outside of the building,small stained glass images on the windows,my wife
    asked if she could possibly be allowed to take a photograph of
    one,consent given,she took her pictures.The Lion of Judah now has pride of place in our home.Then came the moment to enter,

Shoes off, we stepped in to Bob’s House,inside was breezblock
    wall to wall,in the centre Bob’s tomb.

Peaceful,powerful vibes are impossible to ignore here,we stood
    quietly,absorbing.I had brought with me a framed copy of
    Desiderata hoping that we could put it in the café,but I knew
    where we wanted to put it now.I asked Simon if it would be
    allowed and if it would be appropriate.He asked to see it and
    I told him it was in the taxi(limo) Simon sent a guy back to get it.

Desiderata was brought to me and I unwrapped it and gave it to
    Simon,he placed it on the floor and four Bredren studied the
    words talking quietly amongst themselves,we waited,hoping they
    would give permission to put it up on one of the walls.

The bredren arose smiling, they loved it,every word!OUT THERE
    MAN,seriously far out,we were delighted.I asked, would it be
    cool to put it on one of the walls,they had another quiet conversation amongst themselves and turned to us and said no.

“We would like to put it on the front of Bob’s tomb he asked
    He Asked!we couldn’t believe what we were hearing!

It was put on the tomb.

Back outside into the bright sunlight,dazed in more ways than
    one,we sat on a rock painted a long time ago in the Rasta colours,green,for the colour of their land,gold for what was
    stolen from the land and finally RED,for the blood lashed out
    of their ancestors by Babylon.On the rock Bob had painted the
    words,Cold Hard Ground Was My Bed!

More tomorrow.1995 I go to live in the forest with the Rasta’s
    and go to “Bob’s Birthday Celebration” if you want?

Peace and Love to all, who you have, and will Love

Smallaxe

337. Cactus

Hey Smallaxe, we good.

Lot’s happening down in Westminster yesterday.. I reckon there’ll be a special report along for us in the morning.

btw, did y’all notice how the PM when referring to us says, “people in Scotland” that’s so different to.. “the people of Scotland” like we say.

We’re objects to them.

338. Smallaxe

Cactus:

We are Kings and Queens of A!ba!

Sovereign People

Of a Beautiful Land!

Peace,Love and sovereignty my friend

339. CameronB Brodie

Cactus
    The PM can’t use “the people of Scotland” as such recognition of Scottish identity would clash with One Nation British nationalist ideology, which requires that we are British people living in Scotland. Of course, it can be argued that British nationalism is actually English nationalism. I think that makes us British English people living in north Britain.

Simples.

340. Smallaxe

Cappella: Burning Spear++ Smokin’
    Paula Rose:Some lickin’++ Ska.
    Michael McCabe:Niabinghi++Rasta”s who use Drums

Choice of Music* Skankin’

Peace,Love and Music

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

341. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

The PM can’t use the people of Scotland,

Correct! 🙂

Peace Always

342. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

The PM can’t use the people of Scotland,

Correct! 🙂 No longer shall we be Used!

Peace Always

343. Tinto Chiel

Cactus: thanks for the UH track. Had forgotten all about that one. JL had a belter of a voice.

Would have replied earlier but got stuck in PR’s toilet. I’ve been telling her for days the lock was sticking and things have got a lot worse since Nana left. Strange pot pourri in there too.

Btw, Bute’s pretty good for insurrection/flying the beautiful Cross of Insurgency. You should take a trip.

Orrabestorratime.

344. Smallaxe

Smallaxe says:
    6 September, 2016 at 9:07 am
    Mrs Smallaxe has her Birthday today,I leave this for She:

I am but a star
    Adrift
    In your universe
    Floating
    Through a Galaxy
    Of wanting you
    Spinning
    In an orbit
    Of
    My need for you
    Freezing
    For your warmth
    So far away
    Twinkling silently
    Alone

But ever closer
    I come
    Traveling
    At the speed of love
    Entering
    Your perfumed atmosphere
    Growing
    In your heat
    Plunging
    Slowly
    To your molten core
    A dying star
    Finding
    Joyous life

Happy Birthday Sweetheart

Billy the Rhymer 1969r

Peace and Love Eternally

345. Smallaxe

Smallaxe says:
    6 September, 2016 at 9:16 am

Smallaxe says:
    6 September, 2016 at 9:07 am

I put this on the main thread by mistake

They will fkn EAT me 🙁

Peace,Love and Panicking

346. Nana

@Tinto Chiel who says

Would have replied earlier but got stuck in PR’s toilet. I’ve been telling her for days the lock was sticking and things have got a lot worse since Nana left. Strange pot pourri in there too.

Missing me already I see. I’m pretty sure I stayed well clear of PR’s loo, far too dainty and frilly for me in there!

347. CameronB Brodie

Proud Cybernat
    Early days but this is my best price so far. The spec. will need to be tightened up for a meaningful comparison. Then we can start the competition for the job. 🙂

Printed single colour on semi gloss paper with a peelable adhesive. Supplied on rolls. Price includes VAT and delivery to one UK address.

100,000- £975.00

250,000- £1930.00

500,000- £3350.00

348. Tinto Chiel

You’ve no idea, Nana. There’s a knitted shepherdess toilet roll cover in there and everything.

At least she’s got new Marigolds in.

Better go, you know what she’s like.

349. Smallaxe

1/
    Smallaxe says:
    5 September, 2016 at 6:39 pm
    Cappella:

My wife and myself used to holiday in Jamaica,the first time
    we went we were told that it would be safer to remain in the
    in the hotel complex.Needless to say we ignored this advice and ventured out into town “Ocho Rios”and mixed safely and happily with the local people.To cut a long story short,we met
    some Rasta’s.

These guys took us to their restaurant”The Jungle Lobster”
    this was situated under a bridge over the white river,from that time on we saw them every year.I had became very friendly
    with one of the Bredren his name is Culture that is his free
    name as Rasta’s look upon their given as a slave name.

I went back to Jamaica,alone one year to live in the Rasta’s
    place in my tent for several months in the forest,it was 1995
    the 50th birthday celebration for BoB was being held up at his
    Home town of Nine Miles.

In the next episode I will tell about this,if you or anyone else would be interested.

Peace,Love and RASTAFARI

350. Smallaxe

Smallaxe says:
    5 September, 2016 at 8:50 pm
    Sorry about delay!
    2/

We go back to Jamaica for September,booked in to a Hotel near the Jungle Lobster,decided to go up to Bob”s resting place at nine miles,taxi,cracked windshield,torn leather seats,it was massive,no two doors the same colour,Man…..A Jamaican limo,
    A Chevy,luxery man…Anyway! The road up to nine miles is
    just about wide enough to stop you freaking out,the cliffside
    plunges down to what I must admit it, was a beautiful jungle
    about 75 deaths below.back soon or soon com.Peace Always

351. Smallaxe

3/
    Smallaxe says:
    5 September, 2016 at 9:38 pm
    Back here,I hope,

The road climbs mellowy up (the driver was mellow yellow!) but
    we travelled on, it was no use screaming,it would not have been heard above the purring of the car engine purring like a
    a lion with its haemorrhoids in deep heat.I digress.

Houses on our right,colourful,bright for the most part but
    made from I can only say is assorted bits of timber,corrogated
    roofs and some with only a curtain for a door(This British Goverment had this Paradise of Poverty as a Colony For A Very
    Long Time) people in the houses smiled,some waved,friendly people.Piccany’s,(young kids) some of the smaller ones naked in the sun,happpy kids,

352. Smallaxe

4/
    Smallaxe says:
    5 September, 2016 at 10:15 pm

of houses,”Bob”tomb is to our right,tall fence all round,big gates with pic
    Smallaxe says:
    5 September, 2016 at 10:15 pm

of houses ,”Bobs”tomb is to our right,tall fence all round,big gates with pictures of Bob on each gate.There is a cafe just
    20ft from His tomb.Rasta’s own the cafe,two behind the counter,soft drinks,coconut water,Cool.

There were only about three Bredren in the place,it could hold
    about forty people.”Come in Lady” “come in Bredren”at this
    time in my life I had 3ft braids in my hair,they made us both
    very welcome and we spoke about Bob and his music.

At this time as we had known, the tomb area was closed as it was being renovated.After about a half hour a tall Rastaman
    walked in for a cool drink,he nodded over to us with a smile
    that could light up an air raid shelter and went back to his
    drink.

Peace Always

353. Ian Brotherhood

Current thread, someone put up lyrics for Dylan’s Hard Rain, reminded me of Roxy’s version, led to this:

Bryan Ferry, ‘This Is Tomorrow’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnr5eCEoXro

354. Smallaxe

Smallaxe says:
    5 September, 2016

The tall guy called over one of the guys we’d been talking to
    and spoke to him for a few minutes,the guy came back to me and
    said “Simon asks if you want to go through to Bob”s garden,I looked at him and said,”are you sure?” would it be OK,”Yah”man
    he smiled Simon will reason wit you” I walked over to the bar
    and introduced myself.”Come sit,Reason with me” so we went outside where he led and he stopped,made a circular motion with his hand towards the ground.

“Sit Bredren and reason with me” we both sat facing each other
    and he softly asked me “who are you” “what do you think inside
    yourself”I told him my beliefs what I cared for….we stood
    again and he asked “Do you want to visit Bob”I said we would
    be honoured,”Bring your lady, your queen Mon”/ Back soon

Peace Always

355. Smallaxe

Smallaxe says:
    5 September, 2016 at 11:43 pm
    4/

I got my lady and he took us over and he opened the gates,”Please” he said com see,we walked in to the gardens,two
    small buildings were on our right one of them Bob’s last resting place.In front of the building, large white stones
    spelled out the legend ..O N E LOVE. in the surrounding grass.
    wipes tear,

We looked at this sadly Uplifting portrayal of Bob’s words
    as they slowly engraved themselves on our entwined hearts.

A few other Rasta’s had quietly entered the gardens.Simon spoke to them and turned to us and asked”would you like to
    come in and spend some time in Bob’s House” far out,would we
    Like? I said we would very much like to have that honour.

Peace Always

356. Smallaxe

Smallaxe says:
    6 September, 2016 at 1:10 am
    5/

We walked up a likkle path and were shown round the outside of the building,small stained glass images on the windows,my wife
    asked if she could possibly be allowed to take a photograph of
    one,consent given,she took her pictures.The Lion of Judah now has pride of place in our home.Then came the moment to enter,

Shoes off, we stepped in to Bob’s House,inside was breezblock
    wall to wall,in the centre Bob’s tomb.

Peaceful,powerful vibes are impossible to ignore here,we stood
    quietly,absorbing.I had brought with me a framed copy of
    Desiderata hoping that we could put it in the café,but I knew
    where we wanted to put it now.I asked Simon if it would be
    allowed and if it would be appropriate.He asked to see it and
    I told him it was in the taxi(limo) Simon sent a guy back to get it.

Desiderata was brought to me and I unwrapped it and gave it to
    Simon,he placed it on the floor and four Bredren studied the
    words talking quietly amongst themselves,we waited,hoping they
    would give permission to put it up on one of the walls.

The bredren arose smiling, they loved it,every word!OUT THERE
    MAN,seriously far out,we were delighted.I asked, would it be
    cool to put it on one of the walls,they had another quiet conversation amongst themselves and turned to us and said no.

“We would like to put it on the front of Bob’s tomb he asked
    He Asked!we couldn’t believe what we were hearing!

It was put on the tomb.

Back outside into the bright sunlight,dazed in more ways than
    one,we sat on a rock painted a long time ago in the Rasta colours,green,for the colour of their land,gold for what was
    stolen from the land and finally RED,for the blood lashed out
    of their ancestors by Babylon.On the rock Bob had painted the
    words,Cold Hard Ground Was My Bed!

More tomorrow.1995 I go to live in the forest with the Rasta’s
    and go to “Bob’s Birthday Celebration” if you want?

Peace and Love to all, who you have, and will Love

Smallaxe

357. Capella

Great story Smallaxe. Was the Desiderata the poem:

” Go placidly amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.”

If so it’s no wonder they liked it.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desiderata

358. Smallaxe

The very one Cappella, I came across it in 1972 and I have had
    a copy on my wall ever since, I give copies to friends that I know will appreciate it.I can’t give you a copy over the ether
    but if you go to YouTube,find it spoken well by Les Crane.

You may see copies attributed to Max Ehrmann,but when I came
    across it,it said “Found in Old St Paul’s Church Baltimore
    in 1692.

O/T later?

359. Smallaxe

Start at 2:43pm

Next Smallaxe and the Deathly Hallows!

Peace,Love and Stealing book names.

360. X_Sticks

@Smallaxe

Wonderful story Smallaxe, what a great honour to have had something you took placed in Bob Marley’s tomb. Respect.

I look forward to hearing about the Rasta forest adventure and Bob’s birthday bash. 🙂

361. Smallaxe

X_Sticks:

Glad your enjoying man,just starting to write more,look in later.

Peace Always

362. Capella

Had a listen to the Les Crane video. Good song. I think the words are very powerful on their own too.

Another early reggae band was Toots and the Maytals. Popular in the 60s/70s.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdXBh46c4so

363. Smallaxe

October 94:

Back home in Scotland,nothing much happening,at this time we
    lived in a house in the country,nice place,small loch to fish
    in,woods to wander in.I go for a walk most days with my best
    friend,Kaya my German Shepard and Alec.

Alec was a large crow that I tamed but he lived wild,when he saw me and Kaya going for our walk he would fly down from the
    trees and join us,usualy sitting on my shoulder or on Kaya’s
    back.Many a motorist nearly ran off the road at the sight!
    Especially if Mojo my white cat with two different colour eyes
    came along.

Anyway I collapsed one night and was taken to DGRI with an atypical pneumonia,doctors treated and sent me home three times,my GP was going mental and sending me back to them,I was
    a wreck,they finished up taking a chance and gave me a drug an
    antibiotic (erythromycin) which they knew that I was allergic
    to.

GP said to me “it’s a pity your not in a warmer climate,winters coming,you’ll have to stay in bed or I don’t
    give you much chance”.
    Chance? he’s a very pheasant plucker is my doc.

My lady and I spent a lot of nights worrying what to do,then
    out of the blue she said why don’t you go back to Jamaica.
    Back to Jamaica? but my daughter was just about to start her
    nurses training in Glasgow.

Lady wife and my daughter presented me with an open ticket for
    London to Kingston Jamaica.She had arranged it all,my two nephews would come down from Glasgow and get me to Manchester
    and fly down to Heathrow with me and get me on the plane.

NEXT: I and I go from Kingston to Ocho Rios. Peace Always

364. Smallaxe

Cappella:

I prefer the words only,could do without the singin’TooTs! Yah
    Man.
    Back to writing!

365. Smallaxe

Strike the hammer while the iron is hot,mellow moods have got
    Me*

11 hours on the plane,slept a lot of the time,the plane does
    not go direct to Jamaica,it fly’s up to Maine airport,Maine
    FFS Steven King lives there it’s full of mad clowns(pennywise)
    and wee lassies that set the school oan fire(Carrie)n’ ef knows wit else.

Plane lands in a snowstorm and from the air I could only see
    trees,everywhere there was trees growing out of the trees.I
    never saw the runway til the plane landed on it.

About an hour later we could all go back on the plane,it had
    been steam cleaned to get the ice off it,go somewhere warm!
    A’ wis freezen!

Back in the air. Jamaica Kingston coming up.The plane landed
    and the other passengers (they were mostly Jamaicans going home for Christmas) started applauding wildly,Im thinking”wtf”
    but joined in anyway,turns out,this is a regular occurrence!
    They were just happy to be on the ground.

I had called a friend of mine who owns a sort of campsite for
    tourists named Hummingbird Haven,the campsite,not the tourists.I had asked Audrey to ask a couple of the guys to pick me up at Kingston Airport and I would pay the transport,I
    did this before I left home obviously.

Stepped out of the plane and the heat was amazing To was so pleased to feel the warm breeze smelling of of pimento wood
    cooking fires that most people use there. Trenchtown…

Peace Always

366. Cactus

Tinto Chiel ~ cheers for the reccy, I’ve no been to Bute in ages, sounds like the perfect place to visit.

Ah get a very warm and glowy feeling travelling around Scotland wherever and whenever I see our saltire.

They’ve even got a saltire flying from one of the buildings on GTAV (Grand Theft Auto Five, that is, for all you non-gamers.)

Anyone else found the flag before? Hint: It’s down by the buildings on the beachfront, near to the fairground rides!

367. Smallaxe

DONT LET THEM FOOL YA OR EVEN TRY TO SCHOOL Ya!
    Could you be Loved,say sumthin!

Two Rasta’s met me on the tarmac,”Indian” and “Pretty Boy”
    they had a rented minibus to take us to Ocho,by this time I’m
    feeling lousy,tired and just a wee bit emotional because it was cloudy IN the bus but of course I never inhaled:-) ” do you feel OK”Indian said”and we will take you through to have a
    quick look at Trenchtown” sure man I said(the smokey medicine
    had me feeling a large bit better.

Nightmare,Kingston has tiny little streets full of different
    kinds of dwellings,some breezblock some just shacks,there was people gathered around fire’s built in the middle of the road
    in some streets.

guys with dreadlocks standing in the small yard that most houses had.Not Rasta’s not real Rasta’s my guys told me “they
    bombaclat thieves and rude boys.

Seen enough for the moment,I’d enjoyed as much as I could stand.Ochi let’s get there,takes ages to go most places in Jamaica there’s only really half decent roads in the tourist
    area’s.Finally got to the bridge on the white river.

The Jungle Lobster is right under the bridge,my friend Culture
    came up to greet me,took one look at the backpack I had with
    me and said “no man,no tent””you not good man, you sick”
    I finished up in a small basic but clean Rasta owned b n’b
    for three nights to get my strength back.Culture sat outside
    my door,he used to just turn up and sit and pray to JAH to help his friend.Then for a while he would sit singing quietly
    songs I had never heard before or since.

When I left the b n’b we headed for the camp,a clearing in the
    forest with about 20 to 30 small rough shacks of the usual type.the camp was only about 100 yards from a road but no one
    could tell,from the road it was invisible.Peace Always

368. Smallaxe

Have to chill for a while,start again tomorrow.Nine Miles

One good thing about music,when it hits you feel no pain!

Peace Always

369. Cactus

Smallaxe, like here, you have many good friends in Jamaica.

Peace. Nine Miles is a long way to go..

370. CameronB Brodie

This Web site is intended to complement this recent development in British historiography by providing an annotated sampler of Web sites relevant to the history of the Celtic fringe–Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Its purpose is to provide online resources for use in senior-level college courses on British history, from ancient times to the twentieth century, emphasizing the role of the Celtic fringe in the formation of the British nation, as well as courses on the history of Scotland, Wales, and Ireland for the same time period. The emphasis of the sources is political, while also providing cultural and anthropological background and pointers to sources for original research.

https://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~stonerjw/celt_bib.html#hechter

371. Smallaxe

Cactus:

Nine Miles is the Only Way to Go!

Did you see the poem I put here at 9:16am for my wife’s
    Birthday today?

Peace and Love to you and those you will Love now and those
    to come

372. Smallaxe

Bugger:Ive been reading the Internet for years and I’ve just
    read the last page,Bloody annoying I was enjoying it.
    What will I read now? 🙁

Peace,Love and Paperbacks:-)

373. Cactus

Smallaxe ~

Nine Miles is the Only Way to Go! Looking forward to the journey..

Yeah, checked out the poem earlier in celebration of your bonnie lasses birthday. Lovely words and best wishes to she.

I don’t normally do here, but to share.. here’s the first verse from a song I wrote many years ago about Scotland, called “Free Again.”

“If we could only
    Then why don’t we
    Only do what’s right
    Do your duty
    See the beauty
    Look into the light

Cause I’m still wondering
    What I’m gonna do
    For I keep on falling over
    In love with you, Scotland..”

Me, July 2004 🙂

X

374. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

So, you eventually reached this page as well?

http://web.archive.org/web/20081017152434/http://www.doonthetoon.ukf.net/oddstuff/lastpage.htm

PS: it’s late. Work later today. You ain’t seen me, roight?

375. Smallaxe

Brian “Who”

Never heard of the man!

Peace,Love and Invisible Men

Think I might go Doonthetoon today

376. Smallaxe

Cactus:

Do you have any more verses?

Peace,Love and Poetry

377. Tinto Chiel

BDDT: that was funny. Haven’t seen that before.

Cactus, if you get across to Bute one day, try to get down to St Blane’s churchyard. It has a very special atmosphere, and nothing to do with religion.

A very old place by the sea.

“I saw eternity the other night.”

378. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:

I haven’t seen you on here for days.;-)

BUT I came across a brilliant,funny Website for people like
    me who have read the whole interweb.Love It!

Peace,Love and Anagrams

379. Smallaxe

BDTT,

PS.Did you check out the Blindside Blues Band(Crossroads)

Good Musicians!

Peace Always

380. Michael McCabe

Angus & Julia Stone- Heart Beats Slow (Live from the Distillery)

381. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe says:
    7 September, 2016 at 12:56 pm
    Angus & Julia Stone- Heart Beats Slow

Bikers,Guns,Sex and Funny Fag’s

What more could a man ask for. 🙂

Peace,Love and Eric Clapton”let it grow”

382. Cactus

Tinto Chiel ~

Bute, St Blane’s churchyard. I’ve made a note of that. I will make a point of visiting there one day, thanks.

383. Smallaxe

Hi Cactus:

No man is an Island.

But you seem be in every Island!

Peace,Love and Island Hoppers 🙂

384. Cactus

Smallaxe ~

Sure, why not! Here be the second verse to “Free Again.” I’ll add the chorus in too.

“If we could only
    See ourselves
    The way that others do
    Then maybe we would stop
    to take a different point of view

See I’m still wondering
    What I’m gonna do
    Cause I just keep on falling over
    In love with you.. Scotland..

(bridge of harmonies)

Chorus:

Free.. again..
    To be free.. again..
    Free.. again
    Free again..”

Aye!

385. Andrew McLean

Oh reggie

In France so fraternal greetings, wingers.
    Not that I condone vandalism but arrived at a campsite in the Rhone Alps, and the guy who’s showing us the site pointed to the Union Jack, pulled down, “strong winds after brexit”? Not sure what he was saying, but I was telling him we were Scottish, and he said, oh I know, I don’t point the flag out to the English! Anyway he took a note of wings over Scotland as he is interested in developments, I asked him if he knew about Scotland wants to remain European, and he said of course everyone does.

Anyway this reminds me of camping in Europe when I was younger,, peace!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGqrvn3q1oo

386. Cactus

Music is poetry ~ Poetry is music.

Yeah, Scottish island hopping is essential for the soul, in fact it’s the complete tonic! Maybe we should get a crowd together and go spread the good words up in our Shetland Islands next..

Anybuddy gotta boat?

387. gordoz

Online indy leaning radio @

Argyll Independent Radio – tonight (Wed) 7-9pm Backtrax.
    (DJ gordoz)

To all wingers; why not listen while on WoS, to a wide range mix of all kinds of rock music from all over the globe but with a big hint of Scottish influence & politics ( from the 70’s to the present day).

And thanx to the Yes Supporter for offering the new gear for the station, absolutely magic. (Much Appreciated)

http://www.argyllradio.co.uk/

388. Tinto Chiel

Lochside came up with a couple of good phrases today on the main thread: “poets and comic singers” and “echo chamber of babble”.

Much better than than O/T, don’t you think?

I’m feeling optimistic today, so I’ll just say we’ll all be singing this sooner than we think:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=EVcIer_4OnA

389. yesindyref2

Don’t know whether it’s Indy in the air, but I zipped through 7 months backlog of bank statements, transactions, unopened letters and scattered paper junk and got my VAT return in with a full half hour to spare, feeling pretty groovy I’m like a http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlLspwQaKqQ

390. yesindyref2

Era’s another one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48kNhk1epEw

391. Breeks

Wow.

Come Independence, don’t shred all the files Westminster. Keep a few for this fella.

http://www.gereports.com/try-this-at-home-this-kid-built-an-incredibly-detailed-model-of-a-boeing-777-from-cut-up-paper-folders/

392. Paula Rose

*crotchets new unicorn loo-roll cover*

393. Tinto Chiel

Sorry about my ill-judged comments re. Shepherdess bog roll cover, Paula Rose. Well, I’d been stuck in there for hours and all that loud Reggae: you can have too much of a good thing, ye know.

How about a matching lion and unicorn set in eau de Nile and heliotrope?

Think Sirdar has a pattern.

394. Stoker

Transferring this to here for possible discussion!

Stoker says: @ gus1940
    I have a similar idea as yours but it’s not connected in anyway to the SNP nor should it be. It would be completely WOS orientated and driven, giving us much more freedom to operate and promote WOS and the idea of Scottish independence at the same time.

A Wings Over Scotland roadshow travelling around the country to different towns and cities raising awareness and recruiting.

We could have whatever suits each venue such as stall(s), activities, music, whatever.

These swally rally’s are all very well and they serve a purpose perfectly but instead of expecting folk to make arrangements and travel from all over the country why don’t we get organised and take the show to them?

Just another idea which has been reverberating around my cranial cavity for a wee while.
    _____

Cactus says:
    Aweright Stoker ~
    We could crowdfund a tour, come mobile roadshow..
    _____

Stoker says:
    Yip, that’s the very idea Cactus. Take the show to the people and promote Indy and WOS awareness. Even if we just focused our first roadshow on our cities then we could look at a town tour for the next one. Hope you’re well!

395. Paula Rose

Stoker hope we see you on the 18th – this has been a WOS idea for some time, be good to have a face to face about it.

396. Cactus

Yeah, t-minus 10 days to go now till the gig on the Green. The historic significance of this location for the gathering goes way deep into your past, Glasgow.

It was given to you Glasgow, for the people.. it’s yours!

Howde Smallaxe ~

Where were we at with Nine Miles..?
    I must pry, I must, I must..

P.L.U.S.

397. yesindyref2

Thinking abut the main thread, if youse lot are going to have a roadshow which sounds like a great idea, I’d suggest bedecking some vehicle like the YES bus with penants including the English, Welsh and Northern Irish flag (a lot of Northern Irish moved to Scotland because it’s close and the troubles), Polish, French, Indian, Pakistan, as many penants as you can get. Make the thing truly welcoming to people of all origins. You might want to think about having the Union Jack as well, it should be welcoming to all.

I’d also suggest writing to whatever wee paper in advance, who might just send a reporter and photographer, and even clearing it with the Police in the hope of attracting crowds 🙂

398. yesindyref2

Don’t forget the flag of Japan, to make think think of transferring that investment to a Scotland in the EU when they move it out of the rUK. It’s never too soon. Also of course the US, Canadian, Australian. I think you can get bunting strings fairly cheap.

399. yesindyref2

Quick look for “flag bunting” and £3.99 on ebay for starters. You’d have to add the “home nations”.

400. Dave McEwan Hill

Tomorrow bwtween 7pm and 8pm I have George “Andy” Anderson on as a guest on my “Roundabout” discussion programme on http://www.argyllradio.co.uk talking about his report “Defending Democracy” (which has become known as “the Dunoon Report”)and answering question about some of the concerns that continue to grow about the insecurity of the postal ballot at the referendum. (He will be on next week also talking about the economy and the currency which is an area of expertise for him)

Tomorrow’s programme will be of course be followed by my “Not Fade Away” rock’n’roll programme (which will include TJenny’s request). 8pm – 9pm

401. Capella

@ Andrew McLean in the Rhone Alps – many thanks for conveying fraternal greetings from our French cousins. Glad to see our Foreign Correspondents posting morale boosting dispatches!

402. Smallaxe

Cactus:

Sorry about delay,I took Mrs S. up to the Peace camp at Faslane,then to Loch Long,Loch Lomond and pairts aboot for her
    Birthday.I am trying to write the rest of the saga in one go,
    to save putting it in installments. I will post as soon as it’s finished.

Peace and Love to you my Island hopping Friend.

This Post was written by:-

Billy the Rhymer
    Last of the Hippies 1969r
    if read and disliked
    Scroll on if you please
    If liked by someone
    I send Love and Peace

403. Tinto Chiel

Out on the randan in Glasgow last night (The Dhabba, followed by The Pot Still for all you Kulture Vultures) with some old pals from primary in the 60s.

Anyhow one guy was a Canadian exile: very strong Rangers fan, self-made man, able to retire in his 40s, Burns Club performer, golfer. You can see where this stereotype is going, can’t you?

Except he completely surprised me by saying he would have voted Yes, and even better, he scoffed at the BBC and how they twisted everything to put Scotland in a bad light. He thought Canadian news was much much better. And, no, I had said nothing at that stage.

I may be wrong, but he doesn’t sound like the kind of guy who frequents sites like this to turn him into a frothing cybersep/BBC hater so I was quite cheered up that he saw right through our wonderful state broadcaster when so many resident Scots can’t. Mind you, he had travelled pretty widely in the course of his work.

The only sad bit of the night was listing all the people we knew who had to leave Scotland for a job: you know, that wonderful Union Dividend.

Stoker, if you’re in the Hamilton area, I sometimes have a coffee in Cafe Crema (Yes-supporting owners) to leave behind a copy of The National, if you want to discuss your excellent road show idea/general subversion. Or might see you down The Hub sometime.

404. Stoker

Paula Rose (@ 1:16pm)
    Sorry, can’t give you a definitive answer on that either way at this moment in time, it’s not looking promising for me so far.
    If it has been a WOS idea for some time why hasn’t it developed Wings (or legs)?
    _____

YIR2 (@ 6:02pm)
    One or two good suggestions floating around in there, possibly!

405. Ian Brotherhood

The Great Scottish Fuck Off!

First of the groups…only one can progress…names were selected from list of 102 using random item generator (i.e. a pen/closed eyes)

1 Anas Sarwar
    2 Neil Oliver
    3 Bob Geldof
    4 David Dimbleby

Cast your vote here, or tweet it to me and I’ll keep a tally. It’s rough and ready, but youse are rough and I’m ready, so let’s do it!

Remember – ‘There Can Be Only One!’

406. Clapper57

@Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO

My nomination is Anas Sarwar who is also know as The Great Scottish Fuck Up…well he is Labour after all. lol

Have fabby day Mr B.

407. Ian Brotherhood

@Clapper57 –

So far, Anas Sarwar has received 100% of all votes cast (i.e. 1)

408. Stoker

My TGSFO vote (Pot 1) = Anas Sarwar
    _____

Please help send a message and educate the masses folks.
    Go Go Indy, Indy Go Go!

Landscape – Einstein A Go Go
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZqUNEHYZgQ

409. Stoker

Sorry, folks, forgot to add the important link to my post @4:40pm
    http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/peep-the-beeb#/

410. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

I would like to nominate Anas Sarwar.

And if I can make a suggestion Ian,in future could you use a
    pin and closed eyes.Then you will be able to tell us,which little Prick is the winner.

Peace Always

411. carjamtic

Ian B

I have ‘weighted’ all the candidates in this round,the result is as follows:

BG (__/__) DD (__/__) NO (___/___) AS (____/____)

I herby declare that Anas Sarwar gets one more vote as biggest Erse in this round.

N.B. Any resemblance to current Red/Blue Tory MSP’s is purely deliberate.

412. Ian Brotherhood

@carjamtic –

Keep your eyes peeled for some even bigger arses – plenty in the pipeline!

413. Paula Rose

Stoker Honey – try and turn up – it is very difficult to move things on if folk aren’t there.

414. Stoker

Paula, if i don’t make it it will not be for the lack of trying, lets put it that way.

415. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    Every little helps, make it inclusive – always the strength of YES. I forgot Italians, considering how many of them moved here in the 20s, 30s, and the part of our lives they are.

@Ian B
    Neil Oliver for me, such a total lack of passion for his supposed native country, in his History of Scotland. Compare him with the pride and anger of Huw Edwards in Story of Wales. Oliver might as well have been commentating on the mating rituals of slugs.

416. Lollysmum

Ian Brotherhood-my vote goes to Anas Sarwar 🙂

417. Ian Brotherhood

Might as well stick up Group 2:

1. Torquil Crichton
    2 Sir James MacMillan
    3 Effie Deans
    4 Alan Cochrane

Same rules – only one can go on to knockout stages.

Harsh, but there it is.

418. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi IanB.

Can I award 1/2 vote to Sanwar and 1/2 vote to Oliver? If not, award the whole vote to Oliver. No doubt a cry of “PISH!” will ring out above the other candidates…

Group 2’s gotta be Cockers!

419. Stoker

My TGSFO vote (Pot 2) = Tory Quil
    _____

A wee fanfare for the Rev – I’m currently in the process of trawling through the WOS Archives and i came across this:
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/this-is-our-trumpet/#comments

((((( HAW CAMPBELL, YER A FAILURE, LLF! )))))

420. Ian Brotherhood

‘The Great Scottish Fuck Off!’

Group 3:

1 Owen Smith
    2 Tony Abbott (ex Oz PM)
    3 Susan Calman
    4 Jackson Carlaw

421. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Seeing as it’s you, nae borra.

Wish I could divulge who’s ‘winning’ each group right now, but that wouldn’t be fair. Besides, the groups are all on Twitter as well, and that shows updates.

Each group will be on Twitter for one day only, then I’ll add whatever was cast here and that’ll be the total.

422. Stoker

My TGSFO vote (Pot 3) = Jackson Carlaw
    _____

Right, back to trawling the WOS Archives!

423. Ian Brotherhood

Phew!!!

*wipes away sweat*

Must take a break from counting all these votes!

If this doesn’t make yer toes tap then, sadly, ye’re actually pan-breid:

John Martyn, ‘Jelly Roll Baker Blues’, live, 1986 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gvamsFiLaI8

424. Lollysmum

Group 2 -Effie Deans
    Group 3 -Jackson Carlaw

425. K1

1: Oliver

2: Cochrane

3. Carlaw

426. Lollysmum

Group 2 -Effie Deans
    Group 3 -Jackson Carlaw

Slow down it says-how its an 8 word comment?

427. K1

PR explained it a wee while ago Lollysmum, it’s the number of comments being posted in that given moment which generates that message, part of askimet’s filtering comments I’d imagine…nothing personal about the length of our posts. 🙂

428. Michael McCabe

Group 1 Neil Oliver Group 2 Torquil Crichton Group 3 Jackson Carlaw. Cheers for putting the lists up Ian B

429. Lollysmum

K1
    Thanks-have been out of the loop for a couple of months so must have missed the explanation.

Thought it would have been resolved by now but clearly not 🙁

430. Tinto Chiel

Ian B:

Oliver

MacMillan

Carlaw

And I hope their next bowel motion is a hedgehog.

431. Stoker

“A pretty pitiful showing from the Scottish Labour leader, then, in a period which has seen many dramatic developments in Scottish politics you’d have thought she might want to comment on. Her last appearance was over a month ago….”
    The Rev – (06.04.12) – On the disappearance of Slab branch manager Johann Lamont

So Dippy Dug’s not the only one to suddenly “disappear” off radar?

The scores on the doors
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-scores-on-the-doors/#comments

432. Michael McCabe

Christy Moore – Weekend in Amsterdam http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6Xyh7NeXNo

433. carjamtic

Group 2 – Cochrane
    Group 3 – Carlaw

434. Tinto Chiel

I meant a star-gazing hedgehog, obvs.

435. Stoker

((((( READ ALL ABOUT IT, READ ALL ABOUT IT )))))

Those b@$t@rd$ in the SNP are promoting jobs and the Scottish economy and they’re fookin doing it deliberately.

Meanwhile, in other news, Dippy Dug wants the ‘Yes’ word outlawed.

Too much news
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/too-much-news/#comments

436. yesindyref2

Group 2 – Alan Cochrane
    Group 3 – pass. Don’t really know mcuh about the first 3, and Jackson Carlaw famously said he’d man the barricades with the SNP for currency union, so he’s a good guy. No, really! Honest guv.

437. X_Sticks

1. Anas Sarwar
    2. Alan Cochrane
    3. Jackson Carlaw

438. Ian Brotherhood

Cheers all…scoring frantically here…

Some outright winners already, but it’s early doors…

Twittertastic too!

The Jacksons, ‘Enjoy Yourself’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4WILbxhnlSQ

439. Paula Rose

STOP MESSING THE PLACE UP, I’m expecting visitors.

440. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Try Christy Moore,Danny Boy,a spoken poem.Sorry Michael,cant link.

Peace Always

441. Jockanese Wind Talker

@ Ian Brotherhood

1. Sarwar (Daddy’s money, sorry I mean Daddy’s boy)

2. Deans (F**KTARD)

3. Carlaw (Only ‘cos Smith is irrelevant in Scotland)

Stoker et al , I volunteer to help man the road show from Aberdeen Northwards just gies a shout.

442. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    Do what I can to help a roadshow in my neck of the woods, North Ayrshire. My season’s over but still work to do so I can’t promise dates but will help if I’m free. Not really available from end March to mid-Sep.

Can also help with colour laser printer, 160gsm card, laminators and guillotine for display – A4 / A5. I use Avery DesignPro 2000 which is why I’m still stuck on Windows XP for all my business stuff. A jpg will do. Got a unit and it’s got a lot of stuff in it, workbenches, racks, clutter, but I’d find some space at need, specially if it was just overnighting stalls or something. Let me know.

443. yesindyref2

Oh yeah, and a wee van which is mostly empty this time of year. Takes a europallet.

444. Paula Rose

yesindyref2 or anyone else in that area – I need some stuff moved up to Glasgow from Irvine on the 18th, anyone able to help?

445. Stoker

Jockanese Wind Talker & yesindyref2

Both your offers of involvement have been noted for future reference and are very much appreciated. Would be excellent if we could manage to create a wee group of volunteers for each of the 32 Scottish council areas. A bit ambitious maybe but not impossible as a longer term goal.

Another idea to throw into the mix, PR’ need for help has just reminded me, how about setting up our own WOS van? Crowdfunded, capable of carrying billboards on the sides (similar idea as a glaziers van)? A standard Transit short wheelbase, new, with some sign writing design would cost, at a rough guestimate off the top of my head, somewhere in the region of £25,000.

446. Nana

@Ian Brotherhood

Difficult to choose

1 Oliver

2 Cochrane

3 Carlaw

447. Nana

@Stoker

Good ideas, especially like the Wings van with billboards. Would a second hand one not be better, keep the costs down so more can be spent on graphics?

448. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Group 4:

1 Gordon Brown
    2 Ian Smart
    3 Marie Rimmer
    4 David Coburn

Group 5:

1 Bill Matthews
    2 JK Rowling
    3 Jackie Bird
    4 Alistair Carmichael

Group 6:

1 Bamber Gascoigne
    2 Alex Massie
    3 Tavish Scott
    4 Queen Elizabeth

449. K1

1. Brown

2. Carmichael

3. Massie

450. Michael McCabe

Group 4 Gordon Brown Group 5 Alistair Carmichael Group 6 Queen Elizabeth.

451. carjamtic

G4 – GB
    G5 – JKR
    G6 – AM

Love to wipe the smirk off her napper,close call,but dislike bullies even more.

452. Tinto Chiel

Brown

Carmichael

Massie

*shudders, washes hands*

453. Ian Brotherhood

*Marker for self – all counted to here…*

It’s going a bit mental on Twitter – 100s of votes pouring in! And that’s with only 6 of the 26 1st-round groups posted…michty me!

454. Chic McGregor

Alex
    Bamber was OK.

Still hear Bamber Gasgoine superimposed over Jeremy Belluman in the University Challenge programme intro every week.

455. Stoker

Nana, not really because (a):We have an image to maintain and (b): A second-hand van would most probably be a false economy in the longer term, not to mention unreliable, by the time we pay for ongoing repairs and replacement parts, more fuel usage, getting it fit for the road, more insurance possibly etc etc. Thanks for the suggestion though, every idea helps us progress. 😉
    ____

My TGSFO votes for pots 4, 5 and 6 are as follows:

4 = Gordon Brown
    5 = Alistair Carmichael
    6 = Queen Elizabeth
    _____

BTW, my own top 5 preferences for a Great Scottish Fuck Off:
    1 = Westminster
    2 = WMD
    3 = The BBC
    4 = The HoL
    5 = The Monarchy

456. X_Sticks

4. Gordon Brown
    5. Alistair Carmichael
    6. Queen Elizabeth

457. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

The first result:

Neil Oliver wins Group 1 with 62 Twitter votes and 6 WOS votes = 68.

He got 47% of Tweeted votes.

Anas Sarwar was 2nd, with 24% of Tweets and 7 WOS votes

Bob Geldof got 19% of Tweets, no WOS votes

David Dimbleby 10% of Tweets, no WOS votes

Convincing victory for Neil Oliver!

458. Stoker

Ian, (G1), see if that changes in a few months time when Sarwar starts pushing for Dippy’s joab and he’s never off the front pages. 😉
    _____

Nana, on second thoughts, you might just have the better suggestion. I tried to catch 40-winks but my wheels wouldn’t stop turning because of you, so if yer right ears burning you can blame me.

I’m thinking that one van, from a practical point of view, would not be sufficient but what if we tried to crowdfund 3 vans at £10k budget/fund per van?

One to serve the Highlands & Islands, one to serve the central belt and one to serve the border regions with all 3 vans being on call to help each other out if need be?

Mind you it would depend on several factors for this to work, especially getting the backing of most, if not all, Wingers. We would also need the go-ahead from the Rev. We would need 3 volunteers to take responsibility for the vans, ie; running, maintaining, insuring and driving them etc.

I think i also got a bit carried away with suggesting having the van with WOS sign/logo. On further contemplation i think that would be a mistake and open the vans up to being targets for knuckledraggers, not to mention having a negative impact on any insurance. Better they be unmarked but still possibly with the billboard capacity?

Anyway, just throwing some ideas out there for dissection and consideration.

459. Nana

@Ian Brotherhood

Group 4 Gordon Brown [oh how I loathe that creature]

5 Help me Rona Carmichael

6 Massie

460. Nana

@Stoker
    Been out for the day just seeing your comment.

I like the thought of more than one van, but the costs might be too high what with insurance and every other thing a motor costs.

Certainly the damage to a ‘wings’ vehicle could be a worry what with all the loony yoons about.

It’s difficult coming up with ideas for getting the message out. I thought the old fashioned loud hailers on top of cars were pretty good, sure made me stop and listen.

461. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Have you thought about leasing vans?

Just a thought.
    Plenty of places to choose from!

Peace Always

462. Lollysmum

Brown
    Carmichael
    Massie

463. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Group 7:

1 Dan Snow
    2 Jack McConnell
    3 John Barrowman
    4 Jim Murphy

Group 8:

1 Oliver Mundell
    2 Murdo Fraser
    3 Sarah Smith
    4 Paul Dacre

Group 9:

1 Alex Johnstone
    2 Michael Forsyth
    3 Tom Harris
    4 Chris Deerin

464. carjamtic

G7 – DS
    G8 – MF
    G9 – TH

A lot harder than you think,in some cases a 3 way photo finish (donkey Derby ?)

465. Michael McCabe

Group 7 Jim Murphy Group 8 Paul Dacre Group 9 Michael Forsyth. Keep Up the Good Work Ian B

466. Ealasaid

Hi guys,

Can you help me?

I was trying to search for some of the informative posts by Robert Peffers on Scottish sovereignty and constitutional issues for someone. I know I should have copied them at the time. Can you tell me of the best ways to search for them?

Thanks for your help.

467. K1

1. Murphy

2. Fraser

3. Forsyth (now there’s a creep from our past that needs telt)

468. X_Sticks

@Stoker

You might want to speak to Lindsay Bruce (@RogueCoder250). I had a brief discussion with him on twitter the other night about the cost of postage for AyeMail. Briefly discussed some sort of distribution, perhaps through Yes hubs. Maybe the van idea could fit into that model.

469. Fairliered

1. Sarawak
    2. Deans
    3. Carlaw
    4. Brown
    5. Bird
    6. Queenie
    7. Murphy
    8. Dacre
    9. Johnstone

470. X_Sticks

@Ealasaid

Try just searching with google something along the lines of:

wings over scotland “robert peffers” “Scottish sovereignty”

Should get you to what you are looking for.

471. Ealsasaid

Thanks for that X_Sticks.

I knew it was possible to search somewhere, but thought it was on WOS.

Many thanks again.

472. Stoker

Nana
    _____

Smallaxe
    Certainly would be a far cheaper option but cross border insurance and recovery costs on rentals are either astronomical or non existent. You also have the serious problem of not being guaranteed a rental when we need it due to all vehicles being leased, mostly on pre existing contracts etc. Cheaper, Yes, but a bit hit and miss. Still, it’s a worthwhile suggestion. Thanks!
    _____

X_Sticks
    That’s the very thing i had in mind, moving WOS materials and anything else we need shifting around the country. Even going to help those footsoldiers out in the rural parts with their door to door deliveries. Basically anything WOS related. Could even be used for picking his nibs up if he wanted a trip up the road.
    _____

Well, i’m off to watch a couple or three films on Netflix, i’ve been doing too much thinking, i’m surprised you can’t smell the burning.

Oh, before i go:

7 = Murphy
    8 = Mundell
    9 = Forsyth

473. Tinto Chiel

Barrowman

Smith

Johnstone

Aliens all.

474. Smallaxe

Stoker:

No problem,thank for your reply.

Peace Always

475. Nana

Murphy

Fraser

Johnstone

476. X_Sticks

7. Jack McConnell
    8. Paul Dacre
    9. Michael Forsyth

477. Ian Brotherhood

‘The Great Scottish Fuck Off!’

Results: %=Twitter, (WOS votes)

Group 2:
    Effie Deans 49% (3)
    Sir James MacMillan 18% (1)
    Alan Cochrane 17% (7)
    Torquil Crichton 16% (2)

Group 3:
    Jackson Carlaw 49% (9)
    Owen Smith 29% (0)
    Susan Calman 14% (0)
    Tony Abbott 8% (0)

Powerful results for Deans and Carlaw there, in strong-ish groups. Scriveners and luvvies not registering anticipated opprobrium. Poignantly poor returns for the fading Cochrane.

478. Ian Brotherhood

Aye, okay, let the BBC have Glasgow Green for the nicht so’s they can pretend it’s a UKOK classical consensus.

They won’t dare come anywhere near the Green next week, eh?

Been a wee while since we had this:

Hamish Mccunn, ‘Land Of The Mountain & The Flood’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-F5dmRV5Bc

479. yesindyref2

G4 – Brown
    G5 – Carmichael
    G6 – Massie
    G7 Pass
    G8 – Mundell
    G9 – Harris

@Paula
    I think I’d be able to help. Got a messy job on wellies, spiders ‘n that, but probably finished Tues/Wed, hoovered and cleaned inside anyway. Maybe even a wash, and I might get the van done as well.

480. ronnie anderson

@ Stoker Why vans commercial insurance would be a killer. Why not Box Trailers with Magnetic signage , they would be ideal for transporting merchandise.

481. yesindyref2

@Paula
    Ah, light dawns, next Sunday, Glasgow Green. Well why not? I was considering coming anyway, anywhere to park?

BDTT’s got my email addy, I’m a bit careful with it, unionist customers for my normal business. I’ll have to set up another gmail one when I’ve time.

482. Liz g

@ Nanna & Stoker
    How about first putting together Wing’s (don’t know the correct term) “thing’s for lot’s of our own car’s,which would serve two purposes.
    Firstly there would/could be lot’s of car’s with these logo’s therefore the actual Wing’s vehicle’s wouldn’t be so identifiable,to target.
    Secondly the fund’s that the sale of the (now being advised they are called decals???) Car “Thingys” generate could be used to help fund the running costs of the vehicles.
    Just throwing a thought or two in !!!

483. Liz g

OMG just thought of Lollysmums new neighbours reaction to a Wing’s Over Scotland car on her driveway!!!!

484. yesindyref2

@onnie anderson
    Box trailer’s a great idea, no need to register, insure or have a named driver, just a tow bar (which I don’t have), and a spare number plate for the tower. Pretty cheap online.

Not sure how it’d work on ferries for the islands, might be able to drive it on one end and unhitch, get someone to pick it up the other – seen that done a lotm=, no idea how it gets booked (by phone probably!).

So a box trailer van (jockey wheel I think it’s called).

Mmm, maybe even get one with a window / hatch, then it’s an event van as well.

485. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 –

Pass?

Pass?!?

My sophisticated polling system – developed over many minutes – makes now allowances for ‘passes’.

Come on – John, Jim, Jack or Dan!

Please don’t fuck-up the whole ‘Great Scottish Fuck Off!’ fucking thing!

Then I’ll have to start it all over again…

And that’d be enough to make anyone curse!

;(

486. yesindyref2

@IanB
    ROFL. Well, seen Wingers post about Snow but never heard of him, there’s hope for McConnell and Murphy (he makes me laugh), so it has to be Barrowman, a Scot of Convenience, kind of like the Panama flag used to be.

G7 – Barrowman

487. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 –

Many thanks.

I can hit the sack now, peacefully, knowing the system remains intact.

There’s a long way to go, but that single vote for the bold Barrow-man could make all the difference…

We shall see.

Hoots!

488. yesindyref2

@IanB
    I used to watch whatever it was called, but he always struck me as wanting the whole world to revolve around him. The sort of egotistical guy who would answer “pass” to a mutliple choice question with 4 possible answers.

Oh.

489. Stoker

Are we there yet?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.