Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Paula Rose

Here’s me in an early vid doing some shaking!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?t=25&v=AXyI8zwQFyU

2. Paula Rose

Oh giggle – total vice…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?t=11&v=wgr1379vAxM

3. Paula Rose

Total swoon time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGVGFfj7POA

4. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I’ve got something for you. “The Visitors” were a Dundee band in the late 70s, who had evolved from “Exhibition” Exhibition reformed in 2009. You can find their 2009 stuff here:-

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Exhibition+%22Bonar+Hall%22

Onnyhoo, to go back to “The Visitors”. This track was the B side of a single released in 1977. Depending on how your web browser is configured, you may have to download first, before you listen to the mp3 file.

Do you detect any influence in the keyboard work?

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/TakeItOrLeaveIt-TheVisitors.mp3

I’ll upload the A side in a wee while, for a style comparison between the A and B sides.

5. Stoker

James Blunt – Wisemen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cueB7j4ZGrM

6. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Here’s the A side. It’s called “No Compromise”.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/NoCompromise-TheVisitors.mp3

7. Paula Rose

@ Beedeeteetee – whatever – *lies back sips cocktail and strokes head of slave pampering moi*

8. Stoker

Jason Mraz – I’m Yours
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EkHTsc9PU2A

9. kendomacaroonbar

Hi Paula Rose,

If you can mail me at ken@iscot.scot I’ll forward your centrefold pics. You can upload them here and see if your milk brings the boys to your yard.

10. Stoker

Bryan Adams & Mel C – When You’re Gone
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_W2jONIjrM0

11. Stoker

Puff Daddy & Faith Evans – I’ll Be Missing You
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mM0-ZU8njdo

12. Paula Rose

Omg – the centre fold for the next edition of i-scot has arrived!

You won’t see it unless you fund this –

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/iscot-phase-2-be-the-change#/story

First pics of me ever on the interwebby.

13. Stoker

4 Non Blondes – What’s Up
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6NXnxTNIWkc

14. Paula Rose

Does it work if I do the click V thingie on a mac? First ever pic of me will be revealed – need more funds for i-scot first though.

15. Stoker

Ultravox – Love’s Great Adventure
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-uTcLkVbmU

16. Stoker

Iron Maiden – Can I Play With Madness
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9DBafBhDSc

Have a great and safe weekend everyone.

17. Michael McCabe

Radar Love

18. Michael McCabe

Ha Ha Ha More of this kind of thing would be Great. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=lExnBadkFZg

19. X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

If you weren’t so profligate with your stroking I might have been enticed…

but as it is I’ll just have to sign up for iScot because it has such a fabulous centre fold..eh? What did I just say there…

20. Paula Rose

Think I’ll just leave this here…

https://twitter.com/PaulaHoneyRose/status/635030752162390016

21. Thepnr

Paula

You look pretty in pink, should wear it more often.

Come up and see me sometime 🙂

22. HandandShrimp

Cheers Paula.

I shall opt for one of those packages

23. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose you,ll bring the traffic tae a halt when that centrefold goes in the window of the Hub on Easter Rd Emburgh, Fan tastickle.

24. Paula Rose

Ronnie honey – I just lay there and dreamt of you whilst kendomacaroon’s team ran about doing things.

25. Quinie frae Angus

Hello Wingers, hope you’re all well. When are the next Wingy nichts oot?

26. Croompenstein

I’ve got the aerial held high calling come on thunder, come on thunder…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejU5YAHN3vQ

27. CameronB Brodie

I wonder what the Establishment politicians and their media will say about Mt. Corbyn today. Whatever, I’m sure there will be a lot of twisting going on. 😉

The Dee-Jays – Sunday Patrol
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WLgZ4VxDSo

28. CameronB Brodie

Watching Labour tearing itself apart does have a certain nostalgia to it.

Billy Quarles – Bringing up what I’ve done wrong
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSsaj6A3Goc

29. CameronB Brodie

As it’s Sunday. 🙂

Andre Williams – The Monkey Speaks His Mind
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXJ07w3i6L0

30. CameronB Brodie

Re. the Spectator article that has amused/bemused the First Minister.

The Avengers – Be A Caveman
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4qA04Y3iywQ

Just in case in wasn’t a spoof, hey.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4ZGKI8vpcg

31. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, ‘hands up’ time.

I got my dates wrong for the Invergowrie get-together. I’d actually provisionally booked the 17th & 24th October, not the 24th & 31st.

I’ve just phoned Jenny the manager and, unfortunately, the 31st has been booked for a birthday party since earlier in the year. She’s had an enquiry about the 17th so, to be fair, we should go for the 24th October, from 7ish onwards.

Remember, tables for meals can be booked up to 7pm and an early booking is recommended. We’re gonna have the ‘dance floor’ area for WOS, so eating Wingers will all be in the same area at the start of the night.

Remember to mention that you’re for the Wings Over Scotland get-together when booking your seats.

Sorry for the wrong date previously.

——————————————–

Also, there will be a pro-independence rally/event in Dundee’s City Square on Sunday, 4th October, in the afternoon, with bands, pro-independence spakers and so on. A bit like the rally on 9th May, I guess.

I’ll give more details on the 4th and 24th as things are firmed up.

32. ronnie anderson

@ Qunie fae Angus Edinburgh Wings nite out 26th Sept Alexander Graham Bell West George St.

See BrianDTT,s Invergowrie date change 24th Oct.

Big Hiya tae ye Quinnie.

33. Quinie frae Angus

Thanks Ronnie and Brian DTT

I’ll try and make one or both of these!

34. Michael McCabe

@ Brian Doonthetoon Any chance of a Have we Met Badge for the Edinburgh Shindig ? Cheers in Anticipation.

35. jackie g

Hello all,

Hope this works tried to post earlier and it disappeared?

Regarding Wings night oot in Edin on the 26th, i would love to come along, live in Midlothian is there anyone else from that area going along.

36. Socrates MacSporran

Just watched Greg Rutherford join the athletics immortals, by adding the World title to his Olympic, European and Commonwealth titles, then waving the Union Flag in celebration.

Unfortunately, like so many British winners, he held the flag upside down. If the “Butcher’s Apron” is such a terrific symbol, how come so many British winners don’t know the correct way to hold it? Bloody annoying.

37. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael McCabe.

Since the first ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’ last year, we’ve been doing personalised ‘Wings Over…’ badges for the get-togethers.

You can see an example here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/Named-Single-crop.jpg

So if you’re going to Wings Over Edinburgh on 26th September and/or Wings Over Invergowrie on 24th October and want your name on a badge as a souvenir of the night, let me know in Quarantine (link at the foot of this page) so I can keep a couple of lists.

38. paulTgeist

From the Revs Twitter feed – Geo the Ger tweeted:

“Anti-UK SNP now has 110k membership. Take away their loyal Catholic support, and the vile, pro-Irish republican and racist element…zilch!”

Now, folks, how’s that for sheer bone-headed ignorance!
    To think that we still have a substantial number of like minded half-wits polluting our country with that sort of hatred in this 21st Century. And for clarity let me just make one thing crystal clear to the likes of “Geo the Ger” – your former club went to the wall because it had numerous like minded followers. Too thick to see the reality due to being blinded by pure hatred.
    What an absolute turd!

39. David

(Based on “American Pie” by Don McLean, and inspired by Thursday, 7th May, 2015 – the day Scottish Labour died.)

“Jackie Baillie’s Pie”

Verse 1
    A long long time ago
    I can still remember how Labour’s policies used to
    make me smile.
    And I knew if I had my chance
    That I could get those chancers tae France
    And maybe they’d be humble for a while.
    But February made me shiver
    With the election leaflets I’d deliver
    Bad news on the doorstep
    I couldn’t take one more step.
    I can’t remember if I cried
    When I read about Murphy’s egg-wounded pride
    But something touched me deep inside
    The day Scottish Labour died.

(Chorus)
    So, bye-bye, Jackie Baillie’s pie
    Bought a bevvy, paid my levy
    To the union guy
    And them cooncilors were beginnin’ to cry
    Singin’ this’ll be the day Labour die.

Verse 2
    Did you rewrite Clause 4, my love
    And do you have faith in Blairite stuff
    If McTernan tells you so.
    Do you believe in Ashcroft’s poll
    Can triangulation save your Party’s soul
    And can you teach me how to dance real slow.
    Well I know that Ruth’s in love with Jim
    ‘Cause I saw her adjusting the tie on him
    You both kicked off your campaigns
    Man, I dig when Kaye’s callers complain.
    I was a cereal-eating broncin’ buck
    With a pink battlebus from yon Harmon schmuck
    But I knew I was out of luck
    I started singin’

(Chorus)

Verse 3
    Now for ten weeks Ian Murray’s been on his own
    And stickers grow fast on his Morningside throne
    But that’s not how it used to be.
    When Jester Smart tweets for the King and Queen
    In language he borrowed from Effie Deans
    In a voice that defames both you and me.
    Oh, and while Historywoman was looking down
    There was an INTERVENTION from Gordon Brown.
    Janner’s courtcase was adjourned
    No verdict was returned.
    And while Kezia read a book on Marx
    Gordon Matheson ‘practised’ in a car park
    And Sarah Smith sang dirges after dark
    We were singin’

(Chorus)
    Bye-bye, Jackie Baillie’s pie
    To the union guy

Verse 4
    Helter Skelter the summer was a belter
    Labour flew wi’ the crows so we gave them pelters
    Their expectations high but falling fast,
    Murphy landed foul upon his arse
    The cheaters tried for a postal vote smash
    With Lord Foulkes on the sidelines, out of his class.
    Now the halftime air was sweet perfume
    While we queued for hot Bovril and a Macaroon.
    We all got up to dance
    Oh but we never got the chance.
    ‘Cause the SNP tried to have Scotland healed
    The Red Flag band refused to yield
    Hothersall’s weak argument was revealed
    We started singin’

(Chorus)

Verse 5
    Oh, and there we were, 56 MPs in one place
    A generation found in cyberspace
    With all the time left to start again.
    So come on, Kezia be nimble, Kezia be quick
    Jim Murphy hit by an egg not a brick
    ‘Cause BBC bias is Labour’s only friend.
    Oh, and as I watched him on his crate
    My hands were clenched, I was irate.
    No Corbyn going through Hell
    Could break that shouty spell.
    And as flames climbed high into the night
    To light the sacrificial rite
    I saw Salmond laughing with delight
    He was singing

(Chorus)

Verse 6
    I met a Bird who had the BBC blues
    And I asked her for some happy news
    But Jackie just scowled and girned away.
    I went down to the Freedom Square
    Where I’d heard the music years before
    But the cooncil said only Orange music would play.
    And on TV Eleanor Bradford screamed
    Nick Robinson lied, and the Daisley dreamed,
    But no true word was spoken
    The Brown Vows all were broken.
    And the three men I admire most
    Wee Dougie, Anas, and Kier Hardie’s ghost
    They caught the last train ‘cos they were toast

(Chorus)

They were singin’
    Bye-bye, Jackie Baillie’s pie
    To the union guy

—————————–

The original:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uAsV5-Hv-7U

We didn’t leave Scottish Labour, Scottish Labour left us.

40. X_Sticks

@David

Excellent.

Surely one for Yew Choob there – how about it Jock?

41. Michael McCabe

@ David Bravo sir. Good Lyrics.

42. Cactus

So being on off-topic.. thought provoking video.. did you know there are two sides to your brain? (WARNING: Contains real human brain/spinal cord.)

Jill Bolte Taylor’s stroke of insight (on TED)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UyyjU8fzEYU

It could only happen to a Neuroanatomist.

43. David

…and breathe!…

Just shows what can be done when you have no internet for 6 days, and no tv for 3 days. 🙂

Thanks for the kind words, X_Sticks and Michael McCabe. Yew Choob is kept super busy with their own stuff, and their philosophy is to get people doing their own creative thing. I.e. you write it, you sing it. I save my singing for the shower, so I’ll do peoples’ ears a favour and stick to writing & then posting here.

Yours in cybernattery,

David

44. CameronB Brodie

Cactus
    Thanks for that. Having been faced with needing to adapt to my own life threatening brain damage, I could relate to a lot of what she was saying.

Might the duality of our physical being, create an environment which fosters our prejudices and cognitive dissonance?

Must be what they call a ‘design feature’. Bummer. 😉

45. CameronB Brodie

I’m afraid I was never a fan of Dire Straights but there was only one track that sprang to mind after watching the latest Moodievision. So, here’s Don Partridge instead. 🙂

This one going out to Dave, Gideon and Monkey Man. Thanks for all your support.

Don Partridge – Sultans Of Swing’ & ‘Walk Of Life
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4zKqWEoLTg

46. jackie g

Afternoon all,

For anyone interested in Enviromental issues.

Greenpeace have been holding a Music Requiem outside Shell’s offices in London to bring attention to what will happen when Shell start drilling in the Arctic.

http://www.greenpeace.org.uk/

47. Jim Thomson

Not sure how this will appear (if at all – apologies to Stuart if it screws with his WordPress settings)

There’s a vacancy for a cheffy person in Tayport (NE Fife) if you know of anyone suitable:

Facebook post Wednesday, 26 August 2015

That should link to the fb page for the Bellrock Tavern

48. Stoker

@ Ronnie Anderson (or anyone else with the capability):

I’m assuming you’ll have his contact details Ronnie but if not sincere apologies.

Can you contact caz-m to let him know about the 3 recent articles on WOS regarding the AMS Electoral System.

I know he’s been busy recently but i have no way of knowing if he’s already seen or is aware of them.

A few weeks ago he was telling me that he wanted to know more about this system so if anyone can give him the heads-up i would appreciate it.

Thank you!

49. CameronB Brodie

This might not be the most sensitive selection given the current spotlight on Scotland’s drinking culture, but this one goes out to all No voting Suzi Quatro fans.

Pleasure Seekers – What a Way To Die
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddDHPWJIfEY

50. CameronB Brodie

This first one didn’t make the cut for a main thread earlier but I think it has substance. 😉

This one going out to Ms Dugdale as she leads BBC Labour in Scotland down a new, new path to commencing the conclusion of the debate on how to define what needs to be delivered in policy terms, that real proud Scots aspire to yet which are in accordance with London HQ diktat.

Lindsey Stirling & Josh Groban – Pure Imagination
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cv8msHbqaFE

This one going out to the former Cairngorms National Park Authority employee, who has ascended the greasy pole of British politics at an astonishing rate of knots. He must be some kind of prodigy.

Sir Beaker of Rodentshire – Ode To Joy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnT7pT6zCcA

51. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

Inspired by your Don Partridge link of a day or two ago…

This is the short dream sequence from the film “UHF”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4SDhrTPOiI

52. frogesque

Any help for SANDS (Stillbirth and Neonatal Death Charity would be welcome.

https://www.justgiving.com/sands

Molly, Born asleep 14th. August 2015 xx

53. ronnie anderson

Cmon Wingers not many names for Edinburgh nite out on 26th Sept.

54. ronnie anderson

@ Stoker sos pal nae contact details for caz-m,dont know if he,s offshore,or Hols.

55. Paula Rose

Ronnie honey – perhaps someone with authority and gravitas should mention it on a main thread.

56. ronnie anderson

@ Betty Boop yes names on Quarantine for Emburgh.

57. CameronB Brodie

This going out to all ennobled ‘socialists’.

The Lords of Altamont – “Soul for Sale”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRKCVylWUMQ

58. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Everyone. I am putting out mah feelers to find out if there is interest in going to George Square Rally on the 19th September. My initial thoughts are to hire a 16 seat minibus with luxury wooden benches for the oiks but upholstered reclining seats for any i-Scot centrefold models. 🙂

As its just a germ of a notion I have not spoken to those brave Wings banner flyers or those who do Wing’s erections [stalls]. However once all becomes clear I can develop the scope.

Logistically – It would be departing Aberdeen around 7am with pick-ups at various locations on the way to Glasgow and return by that route.

@ Ronnie – Are you planning to have a Wings stall in George Square? Are stalls allowed?

@ Nana – Re one of your messages on main thread, what is your location?

@ Quine frae Angus – Are you still in Fife?

@ heedtracker – Are you in Aberdeen?

@ X-Sticks and Doug Daniel – Are you interested?

So folks its up to you. I will drive minibus and perhaps sing lustily, old mountaineering songs and rude sea shanties. Other music may be available.

Contact me : archiemelrose@yahoo.com

59. Betty Boop

@ ronnie anderson, 27 Aug, 10:53pm

@ Betty Boop yes names on Quarantine for Emburgh.

Ta, Ronnie. I put my name and JimT’s on Quarantine the day before anyway. That makes approx. three on the list so far!! Just to echo your post:

WINGERS FOR EDINBURGH – NAMES ON QUARANTINE PLEASE!!! Ta

60. Paula Rose

Upholstered reclining seats – *pricks up ears* and by the way page 90 of the new iscot magazine due out on Tuesday is without doubt delectable – send money in that direction now.

61. gerry parker

@ Stoker.

Sorry, was out all afternoon.

It seems like the Media people in the SNP are just dafties.

I’ve pointed out at least 3 times to them that posting direct links to the Herald, The BBC, and the Daily Record is just giving these organs credibility. (Oh – look how many hits our website gets)

I’ve explained archive, and I’ve sent them the link and explained the advantages of using it but they’re still doing it as I posted on the last thread.

Perhaps you could weigh in too, and any other wingers who feel the SNP media people are just giving out clickbait.

I’m monitoring the media centre

http://snp.org/media-centre

and using the contact form to give them feedback

http://snp.org/contact-us

Thanks in advance.

Any of my comments to their contact Page are now IN CAPITAL LETTERS.

I’ll be considering next starting my comment with ” Dear dafties”

62. Stoker

@ Gerry Parker.

“Dear dafties” – LOL, good yin! 🙂

No problem, Gerry, i’ll give it a go and hopefully others will also get on their case. I’ll set about it as soon as i get 10 minutes to myself.

Although, i have to add, i doubt we’ll get anywhere because the SNP have to be seen in a certain light and act accordingly, hence Nicola’s recent comments about the BBC – which many of us utterly disagree with, and as strange as it may seem they could end up being lambasted by certain outlets for being petty etc whereas this site and us activists have no such worries. They wouldn’t dare try because we can and will bite back. We are not the government. Hope that makes sense!

However, we will never know unless we give it a go, count me in.

63. gerry parker

Great stoker, many thanks.

I am gathering up some archived examples of “quality” output from these 3 institutions to point the media centre to, like “the Vow Delivered” by the Daily record.

https://archive.is/RK88J

or Jacky birds ” So on the 18th September, it’s a choice between independence and Devo-Max then?”

and hope that stirs in them the thought that these organisations do not have the SNP’s interests at heart and should not be supported in any way.

Perhaps it could help augment the knowledge that their HNC in media studies provided them with.

64. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Archie [not Erchie].

I know there is a bus being organised from Dundee on the 19th so it may be that planning your route to ‘take the pretty way’ may be fruitful, ie down to Stonehaven, then inland to Brechin, Forfar, Alyth, Blairgowrie, Perth, may pick up bums on seats.

65. Brian Doonthetoon

You know what’s pi$$in’ me off?

For the past year, while peeps were complaining about posts taking ages to appear, I sailed through the problem with no worries.

I hit ‘submit comment’, the page refreshed, and my post appeared within a few seconds – until yesterday. I updated to Firefox 40 and now I have the same ubiquitous problem.

I’ve just done two posts – one on ‘Quarantine’ which has still to appear, and one on ‘off-topic’ which took 4 minutes.

What’s the morning glory?

66. gerry parker

@ Stoker.

I passed that info on to Caz M.

67. Stoker

Thanks very much Gerry, great stuff!

68. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose ah dont know aboot the Authority ,bit ah hiv the gravitas ah think,if thats they hingin dooon bit then ave goat them.

69. Paula Rose

@Archie[not Erchie] pretty route is via Brechin – rummaging in wardrobe.

70. Indigo

I’ll be there on the 19th but will make own way up from Dumfries by train – would be lovely to have a big Wings get together at it

71. Ian Brotherhood

Just back from seeing ‘Straight Outta Compton’ – inspirational stuff, highly recommended.

72. Paula Rose

I can honestly say – without the hugs and cuddles from ronnie anderson I wouldn’t be the woman I am, for you sweetest…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Go9aks4aujM

73. Paula Rose

Oh btw page 90 of the next edition of iscot is out of this world.

74. X_Sticks

@Archie [not Erchie]

Can’t make the Hope Over Fear rally so I won’t be able to join you I’m afraid.

We’ve got tickets for the Alliance thingy in Dundee on the 19th and have a wedding reception in Banchory that evening.

75. Ian Brotherhood

For purposes of clarity, and general decency, it should be pointed out to those unfamiliar with ronnieandersonspeak that his post at 11.09 (where he mentions ‘they hingin dooon bit’) refers to frayed strands of hairy string-like material at the bottom of his Levis.

76. Paula Rose

I’m getting concerned about the lack of gravitas and decorum in here -Hard Stare at Ian Brotherhood.

77. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I never meant to hurt nobody…

After seeing Straight Outta Compton I’m watching too much stuff like this:

Tyrese ft Snoop Dogg, ‘Dumb Shit’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJd-YeaqcDQ

78. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood you dear boy, I’m arranging a special stroke for you soonest darling – let me calm your fevered brow, sweetest you are all red and angry, relax doll feel the love.

79. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hello everyone,

I haven’t posted for a wee while (been a bit busy around the house) but rest assured I’ve been keeping an eye on things 😉

Cheers to Fiona and Stoker for the replies regarding the tv tax.
    Stoker, I hope you’re fully recovered from that mega post and there’s no lasting damage!

Anyways, will there be any other Wingers in attendance at the RISE launch today, or do I have to report back all on my own?
    If anyone else is going, I’ll probably be found outside, smoking, underneath a black hat!

Hope everybody has a great weekend, whatever you get up to x

80. john king

@Ronnie Anderson
    I’m really keen to be there Ronnie but I cant commit to it just yet. hopefully closer to the date I’ll know if I’m going to be able to go.

81. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose 11:23pm – Oh oh Paula….Brechin is do-able. Am considering the options – heated or massage seats? Bollinger or Mums? Sozzled at Stirling, Puggled at Perth, Blootered at Brechin? Decisions, decisions. [Driver excluded of course]

If there is anyone else on Wings who is in that area and would like a lift to Glasgow on the 19th September then contact me so I can choose the Aston Martin or the Mini.

Paula, you can contact me at my email address if you are truly truly scrumptious. I mean if you would like a lift!!! mmmmmmmmm

Contact – archiemelrose@yahoo.com

82. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Briandoonthetoon – Thanks Brian. I got an email from ‘Lanarkist’ in NE Fife who told me about the Dundee bus being arranged by Sibbald Travel on the 19th September. That’s fine, so your suggestion of the scenic route is good.

83. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Archie.

There’s a bus being put on by Sidlaw Executive Travel from Dundee. They have 25 seats booked so far, at £12 return.

Is that who you meant?

84. Cactus

Howdy pioneers, I’ve had this idea floating around furra while, on how to additionally promote the website in original ways.

Try this one for size..

You know how at celebratory events like Glasgow’s Commonwealth Games, birthdays, weddings, divorces, rallies etc. There’s lots of decorations, party poppers and other stuff..

Have you heard of something called a Confetti Cannon?

So, now imagine hundreds and thousands of wee blue and silver ‘Wings Over Scotlands’ floating and flickering their way down from the sky.. rather fitting don’t you think!

If only there was some pro-Scottish event coming-up in the near future.. 😉

85. Paula Rose

Darlings – the new love of my life…

http://www.reverbnation.com/garyandersonmontrose

86. Paula Rose

Gary Anderson – swoon, so hunky – play the songs. He may well do a set at Inverwotsit if I stroke him a little bit more.

87. ronnie anderson

@ Cactus ah dont think the Rev will start a crowdfunder for Brooms lol.

88. ronnie anderson

@ Cactus ah dont think the Rev will start a crowdfunder for Brooms lol. Good idea tho.

89. ronnie anderson

@ John King ok noted ,bit whit will we dae withoot oor Raffle Seller extraordinaire Irene.

90. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood 12.18am Ah thought Betty Boop wiz ma Interpreter,mair the merrier ah,ll keep you,s baith busy.

Smilies.

91. Croompenstein

March in to the HoL to this tune Flipper ya cnut..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8AWFf7EAc4

92. Betty Boop

@ ronnie anderson, 8.08pm

That’ll be me multi-tasking wi’ bein’ yer carer, Ronnie! More like your loud-hailer than interpreter! 😉

93. ronnie anderson

@ Beaty Boop thats the beauty of Wingers we,re Multi Taskers,so,s you,ll be in your element, or that ither wie hum> Mental XX.

94. X_Sticks

Done my bit for iScot fundraiser – urge you all to contribute to this excellent magazine.

They are doing a superb job softly undermining the awful Scottish MSM and gently leading folk to our point of view.

http://tinyurl.com/oow4ygcThis

95. CameronB Brodie

So Kezia vows an end to control freakery at Labour conferences? What next in support of UKOK’s neo-feudal ‘One Nation’ social fabric and food-bank economy? Better Together?

The Chips – Rubber Biscuit(s)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hz0UvIZw-Y0

96. CameronB Brodie

Is Kezia being realistic?

Screamin’ J. Hawkins – Maybe
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTVJF5ORuLQ

97. kendomacaroonbar

@X_Sticks I can’t thank you enough for your most generous donation to the iScot fundraiser. When we started we gave ourselves a target of a year to get the magazine up and running and we feel that the basic look and feel of the content is there or there abouts.

Most of the work is being done voluntarily and the effort to produce a 100 pager every month is, well, a mammoth task. Our fundraiser allows us to pay for journalists, proof readers, photographers as well as graphic designers that enables us to up our game.

We have been generating this publication on a shoestring, and making a mighty fine job of it if I say so, but we need to increase our bandwidth to stop burning people out both physically and mentally.

The reality is that the lack of traction with the fundraiser so far makes us think that perhaps we don’t have a product that resonates with the punters, although we are trying to reach out to the 55 – and they won’t buy the National or Sunday Herald.

Apathy is our enemy, lack of funds would be the coup de grace – therefore generous donations from yourself is a massive confidence boost to our wee team.

Thanks for all that you have done. We’ll do the best we can – that’s all we can do.

Yours aye

Kendo

98. CameronB Brodie

So how does ‘One Nation’ British Labour sustain itself in Scotland, when their core Scottish support aspires to more autonomy than London HQ is prepared to even consider? I see the only solution is to get down with the people and break completely from London. Jungle Boogie, one might say.

This will never happen, of course, as British Labour is a tool of the Establishment. They made sure of it, back in the day. 😉

The Muppets – Jungle Boogie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4Bq69HfR0Y

99. X_Sticks

@Kendo

Damn fine job you and the team at iScot are doing. I’m at a loss to explain the lack of support for the fundraiser so far although there are an awful lot of worthy causes around and money is tight for most folk.

I’d suggest a wee push from the Rev, but not sure that would be wise given the media’s denigration of all things Wings.

Let’s hope the rest of the Wings community get on the case and start pushing the cause. (here’s looking at you guys 😉 )

And please don’t forget to support the Live Independence fundraiser too – they’re not asking for much!

100. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one going out in advance of the centenary celebration of Israel’s creation as a nation state and the British Labour movement’s most enthusiastic embrace of imperialist values. Undoubtedly British Labour’s most significant contribution to the respect of basic human rights, international solidarity and world peace.

Ted Weems And His Orchestra – Heartaches
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxe5OmWSJcc

101. CameronB Brodie

Don’t forget, it was the Fabian Society that was most industrious in directing Britain’s ‘working class’ into the embrace of English Socialism. A hybrid of colonial imperialism and basic animal husbandry.

Until the Boer War, in 1899, the Fabian Society had paid little or no attention to the imperial rule. The Society was mostly concerned with domestic issues, such as national ownership, free education, and improvement of the life of the poor classes. A major split occurred in the Society over its response to the Boer War, leading to the resignation of Emmeline Pankhurst, William Clarke, and J. Ramsay MacDonald, at that time a member of the Fabian Executive Committee and the future leader of the Labour Party. In 1899, a group of Fabian rank-and-file members, led by the future guild-socialist, S. G. Hobson, and supported by a few members, unsuccessfully attempted to get the Fabian Executive to issue a statement of opposition to the war against the Boers.

However, it was in 1900 that the Society finally published a tract drafted by George Bernard Shaw, Fabianism and the Empire, which became the most significant statement of the Society’s imperial policy. Shaw supported imperial expansion because, as he claimed, the world evolved toward big and powerful states. The Fabians criticised Liberals, but supported British imperial policy as a means of disseminating enlightened principles of governance throughout the world. The early Fabian socialists wanted to reform Britain’s imperial rule and turn the British Empire into what was later called by the Webbs the Socialist Commonwealth. They spoke in favour of ‘public-spirited’ or ‘social’ imperialism. Hubert Bland defended British imperial policy arguing that “England was the only country fit to pioneer the blessings of civilisation.” (Porter 109) Shaw presented the view that small nations, like the Boer Republic, were anachronistic in the new world of the twentieth century. (Semmel 61) Eventually, the Fabians accepted the opinion that Britain must defend and maintain her empire in the most efficient way.

The British Empire, wisely governed, is invincible. The British Empire, handled as we handled Ireland and the American colonies, and as we may handle South Africa if we are not careful, will fall to pieces without the firing of a foreign shot. [Fabianism and Empire, 15]

…Although the Fabian Society could boast of accomplishments in social reform in the final decade of the Victorian era, the Society was not immune to fallacies which bore on its later image. The early Fabians believed erroneously in the quick breakdown of capitalism and the emergence of a socialism based on state control, strict bureaucratic social planning and management for public welfare. Fabian socialism was by no means democratic. The Webbs, who were the leading theoreticians of Fabianism, proposed a model of a professionally administered society. They believed that in the socialist commonwealth political parties would disappear, and politicians would be replaced by highly skilled and benevolent ‘experts’ and salaried middle-class civil bureaucrats who would care for the general welfare of the rather ignorant and passive lower-class masses. The early Fabians believed naively that social problems could be solved through scientific investigation, state-regulated planning and administrative measures as well as the benevolence of enlightened middle-class elites.

http://www.victorianweb.org/history/fabian.html

LeRoy Shield’s Orchestra – Sing Song Girl
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IsNkbWcfHI

If you think you recognise the artist, you’re showing your age. 🙂

LeRoy Shield’s Orchestra – The Laurel & Hardy Medley
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RL0d4GWfNd8&list=PLQklGgeJx65JsqdopEIKYl6yem_qxGCdW&index=3

@ Will Podmore
    Any relation?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frank_Podmore

102. CameronB Brodie

Erm, it wasn’t the LeRoy Shield’s Orchestra performing on the last clip, it was the The Beau Hunks. Showing my age. 🙂

The Beau Hunks Little Rascals Theme Song – Prelude (Our Gang Tribute)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4RylT0TQF_k&list=PLQklGgeJx65LPu2N2W4sn_Qm6NfGZmkVK

103. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s something a wee bit different to help while away the hours until Rev gets another post up on the main board and spares us that photo of the dick in the UJ suit:

Roxy Music, ‘Love Is The Drug’ (Todd Terje Disco Dub) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ic4xAuIkoFE

104. CameronB Brodie

Cool remix and clip Ian, added to the collection. Cheers. 😉

If “Love Is The Drug”, can I just lower the tone for a minute? This one inspired by our very own Paula Rose, I think.

Robert Crumb & His Cheap Suit Serenaders – My Girl’s Pussy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AcwW2L0rCN4

105. Paula Rose

CameronB Brodie sweetie – I exist to raise tones not lower them xx

106. Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB –

Hope you are well.

We will meet one day!

Here’s a curio which you may have seen – if not, I suspect you’ll enjoy it.

Noam Chomsky & Gore Vidal, ‘In Conversation’ (1991) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tEkJUUT8t_A

107. CameronB Brodie

Sorry for that last one. 😉

Here’s an essay on the topic of evolution, that appear to support the concept of umwelt. The side-notes are of interest in their own right, IMO.

In the first three decades of the nineteenth century, Great Britain experienced the vicissitudes of the first industrial revolution and the birth pangs of industrial capitalism. In the aftermath of the French wars, it became increasingly clear that the great social, economic and political problems had to be addressed. Working-class activists responded to waves of economic depression with mass violence, reaching their height in such momentous occasions as the “Peterloo Massacre” of 1819 and the Chartist uprising of 1839.

The surges in working-class agitation were met with greater state repression, including newly enforced laws against blasphemy and sedition, stamp taxes on newspapers aimed at squelching the pauper presses, and the outlawing, with the anti-combination acts, of political and workers’ unions. By 1839, the cultural conservative critic Thomas Carlyle coined “the Condition of England Question” to describe the situation of the plebeian classes. Friedrich Engels continued the discussion in 1844 with The Condition of the Working Class in England.

http://www.victorianweb.org/science/darwin/rectenwald.html#oracle_of_reason

3 Social environmentalism stressed the importance of circumstances or environmental conditions in the production of human character. Locke’s theory of knowledge was the philosophical basis of social environmentalism.

23 For evidence that members of Darwin’s camp acknowledged the role that earlier freethinkers played in tilling the soil for them, see George Jacob Holyoake, “Characteristics of Prof. Tyndall,” in John Tyndall Memorial (1894): “I remember meeting Tyndall one day in Dundee, when the British Association for the advancement of science met there. The Duke of Buccleuh was President. Narrow-minded, of little knowledge, and possessing a larger share than was due to him of Scottish intolerance, the Duke had a bad time in the chair while Tyndall was addressing the saints and philosophers assembled. When the meeting was over I said to Tyndall, ‘It’s very well for you, you have come to Dundee late; the Duke’s ancestors would, and I think he would, treat you like a witch, and try the persecution of fire upon you.’ ‘Ah! Holyoake,’ he replied, ‘it’s very well you went before us. We do but gather where you have sown’” (2).

108. Ian Brotherhood

@Cam B –

Apologies – my last comment should’ve included ‘again’ after ‘meet’. Last time we met I was already watching the time to get home. 🙂

I’m thinking more along the lines of being able to sit and have a civilised chat. To that end I have already contacted another regular, and I’m hoping that we can start to network on a more one-to-one basis. Big get-the-githers are great, but there comes a time when folk have to sit and talk one-to-one, and try to develop solid ideas about what can be done, practically, to make full use of the many talents we share collectively.

I hope we’ll get the chance, one day, to do just that.

Hoots the noo! 🙂

109. Paula Rose

More strokes for more folks!

110. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Nice one Ian, I always enjoy listening to Gore Vidal. The world is a poorer place for his passing, IMO.

Re. the Bush dynasty. Allegedly, they were up to their necks in selling Enron’s accounting practice to Wall Street. Not only did this sowed the seeds of the USA’s property market crash and resulting toxic derivatives bubble we are now all enslaved to, it also helped fund the family’s political continuation.

Apparently all the evidence from FBI and other official investigations in to their involvement, was destroyed when the strengthened structure of WTC7 collapsed at free-fall speed. Co figure.

Gore Vidal 9/11, war, etc. Part 1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXJDS_ebv3o

111. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    We’ll need to have a chat about that, one of these days. 😉

112. Paula Rose

Do your own washing-up.

113. CameronB Brodie

As it’s past midnight and we are living in an age of manufactured fear, here’s another couple from Screamin’ Jay Hawkins. OK, I’ve posted the first track before but not this performance. Surely one of the least recognised blues greats.

Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – I Put a Spell On You
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3S7a4Uj2yME

This one going out to ‘soft’ No voters. 🙂

Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – Constipation Blues
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VAzSvhioo34

In case folk don’t get Screamin’ Jay’s act, you might want to check out Stepin Fetchit and the dramatic vehicle of ‘cooning it up’. Rab C springs to mind.

Stepin Fetchit – Lazy Richard
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCND6VjXjAI

114. Gary Anderson

Paula, great to share a cocktail with you on Saturday. You keep stroking, I’ll sing like a bird 😉

115. Paula Rose

Gary Anderson honey – we must do it again, clever of you to know that Sex on the Beach is my favourite!

116. Gary Anderson

I was impressed with your fuzzy navel as well

117. CameronB Brodie

I’m not here. 😉

Jim Backus and Friends – Delicious
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFqZhadwvG0

118. Stoker

@ Gillian_Ruglonian.
    Slight correction to the BBC Licence fee info i supplied.
    As of January this year the BBC have now discovered that Scotland has its own legal system and therefore the “Implied Right of Access” cannot be applied in Scotland. As a result they are no longer accepting applications from Scotland that request the “Implied Right of Access” option. 😉
    ______

@ Betty Boop.
    I was searching for a certain version of this song and came across this, i immediately thought of you, LOL 🙂
    Neil Young – Motorcycle Mama
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bXy3qIPywDU

119. CameronB Brodie

Was that a failed used-car salesman getting his arse skelpt? 🙂

I. M. Joe – Ouch
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NS8WtcYXozg

120. Paula Rose

Considering what’s going on on the main thread – time to put this example of Scottish culture on again –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

121. CameronB Brodie

Hot Boogie Chillun – Oh Well
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uf-u5sZ0_NM

122. CameronB Brodie

“Never stir up deep emotions unless you enjoy big explosions…”

The Blenders – Dont fuck around with love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhqGB9GCPB0

123. CameronB Brodie

Hope I didn’t break this thread with my last post. 😉

De Phazz – Devil’s Music
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D51wEQCYQgg

124. Paula Rose

Break the thread honey – are you sewing under pressure?

125. CameronB Brodie

It’s just all such an atrocious stitch-up. 😉

126. Paula Rose

We weep what we sew.

127. Ian Brotherhood

I’m putting this up for anyone who likes constitutional stuff (and maybe feels like a wee break from what’s happening in the ongoing threads!)

Had to view this as part of uni-related work. Prof Linda Colley’s field is 18th/19th century, and her 1992 book Britons is, it seems, the essential read on British identity, how it was formed etc. Here she is in interview, in early 2014 – it’s all good stuff, but her take on what might happen in the event of a ‘No’ vote is prescient. (Jump to approx. 35.30 for the question prompting her prediction.)

It seems that the interview took place on the same day that GB made one of his infamous ‘interventions’. Blimey – that man crops up everywhere!

‘In Conversation With…Professor Linda Colley’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lg8a0OWsU-Y

128. Paula Rose

Ian dear – please – I’ve got graffiti in three different languages to get off the walls, wee Cameron sitting in the corner having problems with his embroidery, music that has not been properly mixed and a mad idea about letting off confetti cannons.

Please come in an hour and I’ll have it all cleaned up.

129. Ian Brotherhood

Happy Mondays, ‘Step On’ –

(i.e. the ‘You’re Twistin My Melon Man’ song…) 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CQLAhNlbfQ

130. CameronB Brodie

Well they would say that, wouldn’t they Ian? 😉

131. Paula Rose

Why do I Bother *chucks tea towel in corner*

132. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Don’t mind me, oh gorgeous one, I’m just sifting through some old vinyl…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsBak0oCgdY

133. Paula Rose

Ian dear – I’ve warned you before about cluttering the place up with stuff your wife won’t let you have in the house. You come if you want to, but this lady is not for turning.

134. CameronB Brodie

The Imps – Uh Oh
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6SsFnTBeCM

135. Ian Brotherhood

I have it on good authority that the next WOS knees-up will feature this song being ‘karaoked’ by Ronnie A, X-sticks, BDTT, John King and Cameron B. (The line-up may be subject to sudden change depending on availability, but, let’s face it, there’s plenty more where they came from…)

No prizes for guessing the identity of the ‘missing angel’ they’re singing about. (Quelle surprise…nowhere to be seen, as per usual!)

Tavares, ‘Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmzWzfd2WN0

136. Ian Brotherhood

‘Karaoke’ lyric transcribers can only handle so much…how would they handle this?

Barry White & Lisa Stansfield, ‘All Around The World’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ObEqe8YRuE

137. CameronB Brodie

Deeper understanding brings new perspective.

Chumbawamba – Give the Anarchist a Cigarette
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Gzyd3u1Jh0

138. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Professor Adam Tomkins.

Chumbawamba – Farewell to the Crown (Royal Wedding Song)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QiYvQwPOvRU

139. X_Sticks

@Ian

They put me on the drums for a very good reason Ian!

Vocally I can massacre ANY song you can think of 😉

Some great obscure links recently and some choices that would indicate serious therapy is required.

No broadband at home this week – someone’s broken our ancient copper wire somewhere. Hopefully getting fixed today. Without broadband I’ve found I’ve had to interact with Mrs X_Sticks, unsure how long I can live without my online fix!

140. CameronB Brodie

X_Sticks
    Therapy? They tried that but I broke the NLP guy. True story. 😉

Jerry McCain And His Upstarts – Trying to please
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fWcbrJ7QRs

141. CameronB Brodie

X_Sticks
    Just to clarify that, I de-constructing her world-view not her physical being. My bad. 😉

142. CameronB Brodie

What’s the saddest, most negative word in the English language?

The Savages – No No No
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=am8it_F-8_Y&list=PLmBG50Xv0V14Szb5S9vrBae0wEitfswjg

I think Scotland is about to learn it means a lot less/more than Better Together promised before the indy vote.

143. Jim McIntosh

testing

144. Jim McIntosh

test again to see if auto fill is working

145. Taranaich

I decided to add some biographical information on the “about” page on my blog, following from twitter suggestions, and I thought I’d acknowledge Morag in the process for her encouragement:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/about/

I just wish I could figure out how to do what Wings does to put the author under the post title…

146. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

You typed,
    “Therapy? They tried that but I broke the NLP guy. True story.”

Therapy?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDVsIvvFtcs

147. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    That was it Brian, we couldn’t get past her judo-christian mind-set, apparently informed by the MSM.

I suggested she was more c o n f l i c t e d than myself…..

The Sonics – Psycho 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBgejTO4tUo

148. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    I hadn’t meant to get so personal Brian but I think I own it to myself, to at least provide some context.

I suffered a serious brain injury, which wasn’t really that clever. I pulled myself back together over the next 20 years, until suffering a work-related nervous breakdown. This is how I discovered how sever my brain injury had been (v. bad Glagow Comma Scale reading) and that I had apparently been suffering ‘PTSD’ for 20 years. Go figure. 😉

149. X_Sticks

@Cameron

You’d be any therapist’s worst nightmare. Bet she had to go off and review her own mental state!

So pissed with BT – no fn broadband until Sunday – I’ll be round the bend by then. Should I post a song link for that – I’m sure ther’d be something appropriate 🙂

150. CameronB Brodie

What harm can come of it, X_Sticks? 😉

151. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

“I’ll be round the bend by then”

Just crying out for a “bend” track so I thought I’d go for a less obvious one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9atMZfHyhhs

152. CameronB Brodie

Perhaps I shouldn’t have asked? 🙂

153. X_Sticks

@Cameron & BDtt

“Perhaps I shouldn’t have asked”

Lol, knew someone wouldn’t be able to resist.

Can’t even listen as at work and sneaking a look at tinternet when I can 🙁

154. CameronB Brodie

Jack and Victor do the slosh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYhqmSpdsQQ

155. CameronB Brodie

No it’s more the stance of a traditional Hawaiian Hula dance – Joe Mullin

They told me to imagine I was doing the Hula Hoop – Derek Bateman

I’ve always though that we don’t hear enough Hammond organ / Hawaiian steel-guitar combos. 🙂

The Waikikis – Pacific Punch
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEy1cjOp1EI

Which brings me to….

The Elegants – Wake Up (Scotland)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4pyh3cv-iM

That might be my genre set for the next wee while. 😉

156. CameronB Brodie

You thought I was joking. 🙂

Cover of Steel Guitar Rock by Rudi Wairata and the Kalima Hawaiians.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsZyWaEAwfc

and the original…

Rudi Wairata and the Kalima Hawaiians – Steel Guitar Rock
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nNUfR3ZQzA

157. Paula Rose

Wait a minute darlings – shoes off, hoop spun – heaven.

158. CameronB Brodie

I don’t think I’ve gushed before but this one goes out to the First Minister.

The Elegants – Human Angel
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTA7yoybH1c

Ha, had you worried there it would be steel-guitars as the genre of the month. 😉

159. CameronB Brodie

I see that Fatboy Slim is to play at Dismaland.

Just Brothers – Sliced Tomatoes
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOd9VXtDHVw

160. CameronB Brodie

Is that you at the start Ronnie, with your talc?

Tony Clarke – Landslide
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jT6yGXvCWvM

161. CameronB Brodie

Dean Parrish – I’m On My Way 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DFqNOfYvJQ

162. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s me ould favourite of a television reporter losing the plot when he is unexpectedly ‘bugged’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8MNH7JuR7I

163. CameronB Brodie

Someone take the mouse away from me. 🙂

This one going out to the leader of BBC Labour in Scotland.

Patti & The Playboys – Tears
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9aLSIaTnYU

164. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s some O/T O/T –

Twin Peaks is coming back?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9IpNxMiFIs

165. fairliered

Just received from a Canadian relative.
    Equally applicable to the UK!

Once upon a time there was a king who wanted to go fishing.

He called the royal weather forecaster and enquired as to the weather forecast for the next few hours.

The weatherman assured him that there was no chance of rain in the coming days.

So the king went fishing with his wife, the queen. On the way he met a farmer on his donkey. Upon seeing the king the farmer said, “Your Majesty, you should return to the palace at once because in just a short time I expect a huge amount of rain to fall in this area”.

The king was polite and considerate, he replied: “I hold the palace meteorologist in high regard. He is an extensively educated and experienced professional. Besides, I pay him very high wages. He gave me a very different forecast. I trust him and I will continue on my way.” So he continued on his way.

However, a short time later a torrential rain fell from the sky. The King and Queen were totally soaked and their entourage chuckled upon seeing them in such a shameful condition.

Furious, the king returned to the palace and gave the order to fire the weatherman at once!

Then he summoned the farmer and offered him the prestigious and high paying role of royal forecaster.

The farmer said, “Your Majesty, I do not know anything about forecasting. I obtain my information from my donkey. If I see my donkey’s ears drooping, it means with certainty that it will rain.”

So the king hired the donkey.

And so began the practice of hiring asses to work in the government and occupy its highest and most influential positions.

166. ronnie anderson

@ CameronB 11.12pm aw good dancers carried their ain Talk & Slippereen wiz to dear lol.

167. David

Well now, CameronB, on 4 September, 2015 at 4:41 am.

I have heard of “muscular Christianity” but you take it to a new level with your “judo-christian”. 🙂

168. Paula Rose

STOP NOW and take your mats with you.

169. Paula Rose

Just adore these boys…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlf21XAby8Q

170. CameronB Brodie

David
    Well I tried but couldn’t come up with a witty reply. Ach well. 😉

171. CameronB Brodie

Dave
    Rather than seeking humour, I should have simply stated “As Long As You Love Me”. 😉
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSuFRm9viV4

172. CameronB Brodie

David
    The cogs weren’t working earlier. It’s a vid-e-o!! 😉

173. CameronB Brodie

Here Will, further to that quote I posted from Erwin Schrödinger (re. the properties of light), in opposition to a materialist approach? What is the British Communist Party’s stance on the environment and sustainability? On environmental psychology?

The case of the green-eyed squid: Fluorescence in the deep-sea squid Histioteuthis
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4lj2bHx-yA&feature=youtu.be

174. David

We’re all friends her, CameronB:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=klTw94kTstg
    “We love you”, 1967, Rolling Stones.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBbHxPIiPN4
    “All you need is love”, 1967, Beatles.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2MIvUx9uiQ
    Extract of “All you need is love” in “The Prisoner” TV show.

175. CameronB Brodie

The Shindigs (Jerry McCain & Sam The Sham) – Pussycat A-Go-Go
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUCilgOdpGQ

176. CameronB Brodie

If self-love is a moral duty and there is no boundary between the individual being and the cosmos, it follows that Sam the Sham is correct. In light of this understanding, there is only one possible logical course of action.

Elvis Presley – Do the Clam
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFZWc58fgDs

177. CameronB Brodie

I commented negatively re. ‘hardcore rap’, when ‘egg gate’ hatched. This is hardcore that’s hard to resist though.

Run The Jewels – Close Your Eyes And Count To Fuck
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6GyTBVAF4w

178. Taranaich

The Syrian crisis has been weighing on my mind a lot, as I suspect it has for a lot of people. This just makes it all the stranger knowing that the Conservative candidate for Inverclyde in the 2015 General Election was born and raised in Damascus:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/09/06/little-syria/

Inverclyde has lots of communities founded by refugees: French, Italian, even African. We’re even suffering a significant population decline. It would be stupid NOT to invite more refugees here.

179. Paula Rose

I just love Taranaich I’m jealous of his mum and that is a strange emotion for me to feel.

180. Jock Scot

Hope this link works

//dixielang.bandcamp.com

For those who missed her at the Clyde bar in Helensburgh. Also due to appear at the Yes Rutherglen shindig. Tickets might still be available but I’m sure if you mention you are a winger..preferential treatment and that.

181. Jim Thomson

I see we have a Winger (at least one) in the hearing chamber.

182. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

You mentioned,
    “…a vid-e-o…”

Here’s a classic vid-e-o.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTsvLjAzozE

183. Jim Thomson

Jings, must be cauld in there. Our Winger has a jumper on noo!

184. Thepnr

A funny thing happened to me on the way to Cadiz in Spain 6 months ago. Now this is not a joke but a true statement.

OK, so I gets picked up by the Project Engineer and as you do you chat about nothing of importance.

I says to him *Are you from this area” in my normal Scots accent.

He replies “YES!” I’m from Damascus how did you know I was from Syria?

Work that one out lol.

185. Taranaich

I really, really hate The Sun. Is there not something that can be done under incitement to hatred/violence/mass murder laws?

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/09/08/for-aylan/

I have never felt so ashamed of the UK press.

186. Cactus

Hats braw of ye Jock Scot, cheers, aye me and D were away yee-hawing it, over on the Isle of Cumbrae (or Millport to visitors) at the weekend there for the country festival.

Things shaping up nicely for the 18th & 19th..

Who knows where we’ll all be by the Sunday!

187. Thepnr

Hey Guys and Gals!

I would’t say this was worth listening to if it wasn’t. Believe me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddLd0QRf7Vg

I wish there were more like us.

188. Thepnr

Saw a relly funnt thing today it was Youchoon.com LOL I wanted to take a picture but that was not really on. It was inside a shipyard in Singapore and we cant take pictures wirhout permission.

Now where have I heard that before?

189. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson aye it wiz cauld ah got telt in the morning the hearing would be finished by 12/30 they must have set the heating for that time, an its ma Jaiket.

190. Betty Boop

@ Thepnr

I says to him *Are you from this area” in my normal Scots accent.

He replies “YES!” I’m from Damascus how did you know I was from Syria?</blockquote?

With my dodgy ears, I have conversations like that regularly LOL!

191. EddieMunster

@Thepnr your story reminds me of the Chic Young(?) joke, when he asks a man carrying a pole, if he’s pole volter, and he says “yes I am, and how did you know my name was ‘volter'(Walter)?”

192. EddieMunster

@Tarantino I can remember The Sun running a story crying out about the sexing up of young children and the clothes they wear etc and on the opposite page of the “newspaper” they had a story about Charlotte Church, saying how she was awarded rear of the year at 16 or she was due to “turn legal soon”, can’t remember which one, as it was so long ago.

I’m sure The Sun realised they were effectively, pissing in to the wind after promoting that vile woman’s opportunistic piece, in their rag, about not caring about refugees drowning in the med and changed tactic, to put themselves as to paper of the refugees.

They really haven’t changed since the days of Kelvin Mackenzie, and his accusations of football fans urinating on people, at Hillsborough.

193. CameronB Brodie

Hey, BBC Labour in Scotland.

Apollo 440 – Stop the Rock
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4GHN1Mu6VG0

194. Brian Doonthetoon

A wee test…

195. Brotyboy

Any technical gurus out there know if there’s a Saltire emoji or how I can paste such a thing into my iPhone email signature?

Christmas Curry with my ex-pat mates being set up in London atm and I’d like to wind the buggers up.

196. Taranaich

I’m loving Nicola singing along to “God Save The Queen.” The amount of triumphalist yawping from smug unionists can only push support for independence even further:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/09/09/bow-down-to-your-imperial-masters/

197. David

Clip 1:Reporter says in 1952 Elizabeth went home “to become Queen of England” after the death of King George 6. BBC reporter. British BBC reporter. Today. Of all bloody days.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-34197022

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE RECORD THE 2:09m VIDEO IN THE FIRST LINK, ABOVE. (Before it disappears.)

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-34195649

Second clip, uses a shortened version of video from Kenya, avoids the reporter’s mistake.

Bow down before your imperial masters…and their BBC sidekicks.

198. Taranaich

The Daily Mail cites one Joe Byrd’s tweet as evidence of “cybernat barrage of criticism” against Nicola Sturgeon in regards to the Queen’s visit, which just happens to contain language regarding the queen which would surely have monarchists in a right tizzy:

Call yourself Scottish Nationalist worshiping an Anglo German Queen? Ha!— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd)

Yet here are some other tweets from Mr Byrd. Does this sound like a Scottish nationalist to you?

@dlow0905 @thei100 @LabourLeft I think you’re wrong. SNP is killing Britain. It’s left @ moment but Salmond can take u anywhere.— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) August 15, 2015

Nationalists are dangerous look at IRA, SNP, UKIP? They have no tolerance of real calm people they want to bully their way to power & worse.— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) August 8, 2015

@Zarkwan @WestmorlandHill SNP aren’t racist they r nationalist…now what was the difference again?— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) May 25, 2015

@Joe90kerrByrd Some fools don’t believe that Murdoch was sleeping with Salmond? Here’s the evidence SNP are tartan Tories— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) May 10, 2015

SNP should remember Scots voted to stay in Union!— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) May 9, 2015

@theSNP @NicolaSturgeon it’s time to call time on first past the post. SNP are as illegitimate in Scotland as Alan Partridge Cameron in UK— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) May 9, 2015

All this and more at my latest blog, heavily inspired by Wings Over Scotland’s tireless scrutiny of the media:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/09/10/long-to-reign-over-us/

199. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to the Royal Archers. 😉

Chumbawamba – When Fine Society Sits Down to Dine
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BCC5gsQb4Fo

200. Taranaich

BTW, you apes have convinced me to join Twitter. I’m @WildernessPeace: not elaborate or imaginative, but it gets the job done, and people can find it easily.

201. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Re the Edinburgh get-together on 26th September.

If you’re intending going to the get-together and want a badge with your name on it, do a post in Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page), stating what name you want on the badge.

You have until 11.59pm on Wednesday, 23rd September, to order your badge. There is no charge; however I will point out that when in Wetherspoons, I tend to like a bottle of Tsing Tao or a pint of Orkney Dark Island, if they have it, and Pete the Camera is partial to Irn-Bru (full fat).

202. Cadogan Enright

I wanted to post this OT on the main blog topic – but see there is a new one just posted and don’t want the Rev to shit a brick by posting this OT on it

SO can people please promote the SCOTTISH DIGITAL CURRENCY please https://www.facebook.com/events/453360828177185/458986194281315/

203. CameronB Brodie

Violent Femmes – Crazy 😉
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fD-SMLTfuVw

204. JLT

Taranaich says:

‘I’m loving Nicola singing along to “God Save The Queen.” The amount of triumphalist yawping from smug unionists can only push support for independence even further’

You couldn’t make it up, mate. If she didn’t sing, then she would have got howls of derision, bricks and threats from all sides of the Unionist bandwagon.

Yet …following State protocol, she sings …and get slaughtered for it!

That’s Unionists for you… keeping someone down if they can.

205. JLT

Ronnie Anderson

Get your names down for Badges.

Hi Ronnie …you can place my name on your list. Will pop along from sunny Livi.

Cheers

206. Cadogan Enright

if I recall correctly Paula Rose pushed the last Indy Live and they hit their target at the last moment

Can she do it again? – they are doing a great job – evidence their coverage of court case. Please contribute and share;
    https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/super-app-more/x/10763804#/story

207. Ian Brotherhood

For no particular reason. It’s just a braw tune…

Bonnie Tyler, ‘It’s A Heartache’ =

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8VGQTtENSs

208. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi JLT.

You’re not really keeping up with the furious events that are ‘off-topic’, iye?

I typed last night,

“Re the Edinburgh get-together on 26th September.

If you’re intending going to the get-together and want a badge with your name on it, do a post in Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page), stating what name you want on the badge.”

So, what’s stoppin’ yi, iye?

Come on, you Lothian peeps are gonna have to up your game to match Dundee, Glasgow, Helensburgh and Airdrie.

8=)

209. Ian Brotherhood

Rory Gallagher & Frankie Miller, ‘Walkin’ The Dog’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuBIWI4jthU

210. Ian Brotherhood

The one-and-only Shaky wearing eyeshadow, and old footage of controlled demolitions – what’s not to like?

Shakin’ Stevens, ‘This Ole House’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PiJi-zjZiI

211. Ian Brotherhood

Glasgow Green at the height of the music festival season, 2014.

Pure class.

Sydney Devine, ‘Tiny Bubbles’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJzdMp1fU_k

212. Ian Brotherhood

Savour this…

Dick Gaughan, ‘Erin Go snooker loopy!’ (live, in Cologne, er, about ten years ago?)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zu1HtV00qw

213. Michael McCabe

Here is some Transatlantic sessions. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0ORZ6812lc&feature=player_detailpage Hope you enjoy.

214. Michael McCabe

These poor dogs have had to listen to a Kezia Dugdale Speech. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGTxrCM1UlM&feature=player_detailpage

215. Paula Rose

@ Cadogan Enright I promised Indy live a unique view which they can ask for again – but if you look at page 90 of the new iscot you will see the real me, get them over the line as well xx

216. Michael McCabe

@ Paula Rose I Think you covered page 90 with amazing grace. here is a nice relaxing song for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxUJEw0d-Q0&list=PLeTvroF1x4HJzmNTMQOti4CUuxQLgHUHC&feature=player_detailpage

217. Paula Rose

@ Michael McCabe sweetness!

218. Ian Brotherhood

Christy Moore, ‘Deportees’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvz12bpjTOI

219. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood 10.58 Hiv you over indulged in they Shandys again.lol

220. Paula Rose

Oh btw Archie (not Erchie) love, if you are in the throng – are you still planning on bringing your coach and horse through Brechin next weekend?

221. Ian Brotherhood

@ronnie anderson (10.58) –

Shandy?

Shandy?

The auld Para-handy?

Moi? (Excuse my French…)

Fwaaarrrgh!

Pwlaaaarch..erkkk…phfflaaah!

As you may have gathered, I’m not partial to ‘shandy’. Lemonade? Aye. Beer? Maybe. Cider? Aye.

Shandy?

🙁

Anyway, looking forward to seeing you next week, in Freedom Square.

You did a sterling job in Edinburgh this week faither – mony’s well proud ay ye.

Hoots, hoots, an’ thrice ah cry it, hoots tae ye!

222. Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood toi doll xx

223. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

In the throng, or the thong?

Reminds me…

Last year, our boy’s tennis coach texted my missus, asking if he could take part in a competition at short notice.

The ‘better half’ replied text-wise, saying that it wasn’t possible as we were both busy and couldn’t transport him to the relevant venue.

The coach didn’t reply. At all.

It wasn’t until the next day that she realised, upon re-reading her text, that she’d said – ‘Sorry. Can’t do. Ian and I both have thongs on.’

🙁

Mind you, he’s been very friendly ever since.

224. Paula Rose

Thong is – collapse in giggles.

225. CameronB Brodie

Eurovision?

Tam – Oatcakes ‘n’ Cheese
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gLC4h0_C1Q

226. JLT

Apologies Brian

LOL was busy as I’m back at the Uni stuff again (started again this week), so I’m kind of leaping around from website to books to other nonsense.

Anyway ….done! (added my name on the ‘Quarantine’ page

Cheers again

227. Brian Doonthetoon

JLT – you are now listed…

228. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose 1:16am – Ah bit late to be asking about my thong dont ya think? Oooops yah mean throng? 🙂

Well to answer your Q – I would be happy to pick you up and of course any others en route to Glasgow. Unfortunately my previous offer of a big one [MiniBus] came to nothing as most folk are making their own way. So I have tempered down my offer of transport to a 3-wheeler tuk-tuk complete with flapping bunting.

On a more serious note – Yes I can pick you up and deliver you home again. If you can supply a variety of thongs so we can thing and thing for a couple of hours you will be welcome.

I wait your response.

[Ok guys – how did I do there?]

229. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Jim Thomson (sorry, you’ll probably not like it Jim). 😉

The Cramps – I’m Cramped
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hT81ysjhAEA

The Cramps were an expression of post-modernity, IMO. 🙂

230. CameronB Brodie

The post-modernity just keeps expressing itself, almost as if it’s a force of nature.

Kid Congo and the Pink Monkey Birds – Bruce Juice
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dS67qKq8Xt4

P.S. The dude in the glasses is the same dude that wore the blond streak in his hair, back in the ’70s.. 😉

231. Paula Rose

Archie [not Erchie] dear – did you receive my email? Also contactable on twitter @PaulaHoneyRose. Can’t hang about now, busy whipping some folk into shape elsewhere.

232. CameronB Brodie

See yon 1860 Munich’s Oktoberfest-inspired kit. Culturalism, that’s what that is. 😉

233. Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

We’ve met, right? In the CH?

Correct me if I’m mistaken – I remember you as a rather tall smiley dude.

Anyway, was just wondering – what it is you’re studying? Don’t mean to be nosey, just curious. (I’ve just started 3rd yr at UHI, doing Eng Lit.)

234. Ian Brotherhood

This tune has had over a billion views…

Meghan Trainor, ‘All About That Bass’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7PCkvCPvDXk

235. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone fancy a dance?

Kool & The Gang, ‘Get Down On It’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qchPLaiKocI

236. JLT

Hi Ian,

LOL …yes, we did meet in the Counting House earlier this year. I never knew that you were also studying away in the background!

I’m doing a BA (Honours) in History, which (hopefully next year) will finally be on Scottish History. Absolutely fascinating as the first two years were a grounding in Art, Classical Music, Religious History, Political History, Philosophy, Literature, Science and Enlightenment amongst all things. The point of the first two years was that everything …and I mean everything is connected! Nothing happens by itself, and nothing happens for no reason.

I’ve now just begun my 3rd year (Exploring History Medieval to Modern 1400-1900 (A200)). This is where everything that I learned over the last 2 years comes into play. How to study documents and sources from a ‘neutral’ point of view as a historian, and now begin to realise where things lie in context; especially during the Renaissance, the Reformation and the Enlightenment period (this is the 1400-1900 period). It also covers topics of economics, the slave trade and nation building (the coming of ‘united’ countries such as ‘Great Britain’, Germany, Italy and even the French Republic under Napoleon).

For myself, I believe History to be one of the key ‘sciences’ within Man’s knowledge. History when read, leads to knowledge in Geography, which in turns leads to Geo-politics and Geo-Economics. It leads to the learning of cultures, of myths, and of the study of Art, Music and Architecture. When it is all combined, the vast knowledge one learns is incredible. You can literally discuss any subject within Humanities.

Anyway …I rabbit! I could go on for hours discussing History if you were to let me LOL.

And strangely enough, you find me sitting at my study desk doing just that (I took a wee break to see what was happening on Wings). At this moment, I’m learning the history of England, France and Burgundy during the Hundred Years War. Fascinating stuff!

Anyway, Ian …good luck with your studies. And if you make it to the Edinburgh gathering, then we can have a pint, and a good old cab about our studies LOL.

Enjoy the rest of your night, matey! Cheers!

237. CameronB Brodie

Not quite as popular as your first choice Ian but true, true…. so sad. 😉

The Key of Awesome – Moves Like Jagger
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyD8hkSbCRs

snigger…

Stewart Lee – Political Correctness
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99s19HBs-6A

238. Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

Sorry I didn’t respond sooner – I was dancing.

Methinks our studies do overlap, so if you’re up for it we can gee each other along in the months to come. Happily, my son is also doing his Highers this year, so we’re pushing one another to keep at it as and when one or t’other of us flags.

Have to say, I LOVE the way UHI works. A lot of folk are on campus, in Inverness, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, all over, but many are home-based. (One of my peers is in Derby!) The lecturers are superb and the modules treat English Lit with a strong Scottish angle. I thought I was quite well-read, but the sheer amount of new information I’ve encountered in the past couple of years is just mind-boggling.

This term we’re doing ‘Union & Discord’, which is all about literary figures in the 1707-1815 period, New Zealand ‘postcolonial’ literature, and the Scottish ‘renaissance’ (MacDiarmid etc) in context of European Modernism. Perhaps looks a bit dry to some, but the material is fascinating.

No doubt we’ll get to swap notes on some stuff. For example, I didn’t know that Napoleon was a talented short story writer. Just yesterday, via e-bay, came his short novel ‘Clisson & Eugenie’. Last time I had to do anything even remotely connected with that dude was a school project in Primary Five!

Hoots to you too mister, and good luck with it all – before you know it the semester will be over.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have several people waiting for a dance…

239. Paula Rose

*taps fingers, looks at watch, stares at ceiling* – dance with IB looks unlikely before his bed-time.

240. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Cheers mister. Good stuff.

WOS is quite chirpy this evening, eh?

Long may it continue…

Now, FFS, someone else get a song on, or I’ll post an Alexander Brothers medley which will haunt you forever.

Consider yersels warned! Ye have five minutes!

And it’d better be funky!!

241. kendomacaroobar

Here you go… my personal favourite : Burlesque Family

http://www.youtu.be/J1XKdXXZjDc

242. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a rare treat for y’all – many moons ago, I visited the States, and managed to wangle a ticket to get on a recording of the famous Soul Train.

If you blink you’ll miss it, but I jump into view at 1 min 45 secs.

Enjoy!! 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3W6yegSFOOI

243. CameronB Brodie

kendomacaroobar
    You tease, link doesn’t work for me.

244. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula – Nope no emails from yooohoo. Sent a tweet and got reply DELETE YOUR TWEET NOW. Something not right methinks.

Try later after your dancin. 🙂

245. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I’ll get to you eventually. Sorry, but people keep putting on 12-inchers…

246. Paula Rose

Archie Honey use the tweet message xx

247. Ian Brotherhood

Getting into it now…ready Paula?

You sure?

Okay…here we go!!!

Madonna, ‘Hung Up’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDwb9jOVRtU

248. Paula Rose

Oh gosh I need to sit down…

249. cearc

Ian, (10.13),

Napoleon was also a great collector of roses (on behalf of Josephine).

Whenever he spotted a new on, on his extensive travels, he had it dug up despatched back to her post haste.

250. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Noted.

I’ll make a point of working that in to an essay somewhere down the line.

Hope you’re well, and that we’ll meet again sometime.

You going to the rally next Saturday?

251. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Archie [not Erchie].

You typed,
    “[Ok guys – how did I do there?]”

You did ok. I must warn you, though, that the first meeting with Paula Rose is to be savoured and stored in the memory banks – it won’t happen again. And with the city of Brechin as a backdrop, what more could you pine for?

Onnyhoo, a wee bit of music from me. I may have posted this in the past – I can’t remember, and there’s no way I’m raking through pages of ‘off-topic’ to see if I have!

One of the very few tracks that have combined a traditional Scottish choon with syndrums, which were apparently quite big around 1980…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhRN-O0VakI

252. cearc

Ian,

I can’t quote the source for that but I read it in a book about Redoute (who painted her roses at Malamison) over 30 years ago so you maybe able to source it.

Unfortunately, I cannot make it down this weekend. I had been wanting to but it is not to be. Can’t do the wings-do in Edinburgh either (hotels a bit pricey and a last brood of chicks still a bit wee to leave) but am hoping to make it down for Invergowrie. Any chance you’ll be there?

253. Stoker

Oh how i long for Scotland to be full of folk like this wifey!
    https://archive.is/kfsLx

254. CameronB Brodie

Well there’s me trying to be all smart. Kid Kongo is obviously not Brian Gregory. Duh!

255. Thepnr

In light of Corbyns victory I offer this.

Labour No More. You will weep as are the Blairites now 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NuMtZstnoT8

256. Tinto Chiel

Evening, groovers. A tribute to Mr Corbyn:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Kg70JeAkkHQ

Brian DTT: a final enquiry. Put me out of my misery. What is “St Andrew’s” Dundonian word for a pram in his sublime track?

Still delighting in Moray Mince.

Thanks, Alan.

257. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Cheil.

It’s “tansad”, although tansads were more like what evolved into the “buggie” – a collapsible baby carrier for taking on buses – rather than the formal coachbuilt pram featured in the video.

You may find that this page will go some way to help you with the vernacular of St Andrew.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/dundickshonary

258. CameronB Brodie

Will Podmore
    http://www.colour-affects.co.uk/psychological-properties-of-colours

While I’m at it, can I ask what you think of aesthetics? Utility or quality? Backwards or forwards?

259. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: thanks for this quite wonderful Dundonian Dictionary. It will be the study of many hours before I enter the hallowed portals of Scott Bros. No fitba’ scarves will be worn, of course. Don’t want to bring down the tone.

Love the droll definitions.

Isn’t this peh day for you? Dare I ask: any special sauces involved?

Enjoy!

260. Brian Doonthetoon

Actually, I forgot I needed to go to Scotties on Saturday so, today will be a Lidl Peppered Steak pastry slice.

I never have sauce with a solo pie or pastry.

Will pick up my Scotties vittuls tomorrow, probably.

261. Thepnr

This video is very interesting, hadn’t even heard of Bernie Sanders until today. Next president of the US??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6a-hB-4h6_s

@Ian Brotherhood you have to watch this, would like your opinion.

262. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose – Re txport to Glasgow 19th Sept. Need to know soon. 🙂

263. Macandroid

Looking for info. on what’s happening in Edinburgh this 18th and 19th Sept. Glasgow too if I’m in a fit state to get there 🙂

Thanks Wingers

264. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers for that.

Never heard of him either. Interesting indeed, and quite unusual to see an American espousing basic socialist ideas without people immediately bursting into tears.

Must try and find out about the dude – looks like he’s been around a while.

(How about Cameron B? You’re familiar with a lot of these obscure characters – you ever come across Bernie Sanders before?)

265. Paula Rose

What is it with you boys – never heard of Bernie? Its been the main story of the American campaign amongst progressive folk! Do you not have contacts on social media with like-minded folk across the globe!

(new comment re Saturday coming soon)

266. Kelpie

Hi Wingers,

I was hoping to catch up with you all again in George Square this weekend. Unfortunately family reasons are taking me inescapably away.

Hope you all have a grand day and with more hope for the future than seemed possible this time last year.

267. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    He’s been a thorn in the side of the Anglo /American Establishment for some time now. I don’t think the Koch side of Wall Street likes him either. The last time he was on my radar he was pretty isolated. I hadn’t been aware that he was news. Perhaps it’s a sign that change can’t be held back.

I think he’s an Independent of the small “c” conservative variety, which I suppose now counts for ‘socialist’ in the USA.

Bernie Sanders: No! to War with Iraq (10/9/2002)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fIIQwS1hPtU

268. Brian Doonthetoon

From The Rollers’ documentary, I found it interesting that this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYh1lRR1m6Y

was inspired by this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBn2ux5vRHk

Who wooda thunkit?

269. Paula Rose

Joy of joys – my latest winged Knight in shining armour – Archie [not Erchie] will be bringing me to Glasgow on Saturday. Driving from Aberdeen he will pick me up in Brechin.

There is space on the luggage rack for a couple of others so if you want to be able to say to your grandchildren in years to come –

“I had a ride with Paula Rose”

Make your case here.

270. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose You better wear your Feather Boa or Archie ( not Erchie)might miss you at the pickup point.

271. Conan the Librarian™

Trying one more time.

Is anything organized for Friday?

272. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Conan the Librarian.

Re Friday. March in Edinburgh. Not sure of times – try a search on other Wings pages (Edinburgh might work).
    57 (%) white roses being laid at the Mercat Cross in Dundee at 12.30. Yes Rutherglen party in the evening. YES flag flying from my window all day.
    George Square on Saturday. (See ‘off-topic’).

273. CameronB Brodie

Ach, why not? This one going out to Rupert Murdoch.

Tom Perkins – Black Sun Twist
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH_08BmZWGA

274. X_Sticks

@Conan

I hope you’ve got the 26th on your calendar.

As someone said on the main thread – where has Bugger (the panda) disappeared to. Does anyone know if he’s ok?

I thought I had his email address but can’t find it.

275. ronnie Anderson

@ Conan Friday 18th: King’s Stables Rd – 10am. March to Holyrood.

276. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie Anderson
    @ Paula Rose

Jings, reading the comments above, Archie (not Erchie), a “winged Knight in shining armour”, and Paula’s arrival in Glasgow, feather boa flying in the breeze, might be like a scene from Priscilla Queen of the Desert!

Cannae wait 😉

277. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Ronnie – Feather boa? And me in kilt? What a combo!

@ Betty Boop – You dinna know the half! Paula wants to be ‘onboard entertainment officer’ – Pray for me! 🙂

278. Finlay

If there is a seat on the bus left then I would love to fill it!

279. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Fozzie Carbuncle, who is perhaps learning that you have to respect other, in order to gain their respect in return.

The Staple Singers – Respect Yourself
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1pYKdqD1ls

P.S. I’m not suggesting Fozzie is in the KKK but the rest just fitted too well. 🙂

280. Conan the Librarian™

@ X_sticks

Just emailed him.

@Ronnie, I’m working Friday might might turn up anyway…

281. Finlay

Archie [Not Erchie] and I are driving down from Aberdeen to Glasgow on Saturday morning (via Brechin to pick up Paula Rose) and we have two seats spare for anyone who fancies them.

Post here or email me if you could use a free lift. 🙂

finlaymair [at] gmail [dot] com

282. Paula Rose

Gosh TWO handsome beaus escorting me to Glasgow!

283. Conan the Librarian™

@ X_sticks

innerbearsden at gmail dot com

284. Finlay

Paula

I’ll be your taxi driver for life if you can spot a UKOK sticker on the trip down! 😀

My majestic steed has a solitary heated seat for you and Archie to debate over, there is also an audio input for the radio so feel free to bring some tunes.

285. X_Sticks

I won’t be at the rally at Glasgow because I am going to the Alliance for Scotland event in Dundee:

http://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/alliance-for-scotland-convention-tickets-14751188201?utm_source=eb_email&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=reminder_attendees_48hour_email&utm_term=eventname

This was postponed from earlier this year. Some good speakers there.

So anyone from the Dundee area who can’t make it to Glasgoe might want to go along to this.

Sorry I’ll miss many Wingers at Glasgow, but I hope to see you all at the Edinburgh get together on the 26th. (lookin at you Bdtt 😀 )

286. Paula Rose

Oh goodie a taxi driver for life! Knew it was sensible of me not to have scraped it off the lamp-post! ( I presume Finlay honey, you mean any bt/no sticker )

287. Finlay

Hmm. Ok, If we see a single car with a Better Together, No Thanks, UKOK, Tory, Lib Dem or Labour sticker then my soul is forfeit! 😛

However if we don’t… you can pay for lunch! 😛

Placing my bets on the silent majority being extra silent this weekend, not sure why though.

288. Paula Rose

Silly boy changes rules and expects free lunch – we may be an hour late fellow wingers.

289. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose – Late? Well that buggers up the hired gold confetti cannons and prancing pink unicorns on your arrival. Sheesh!

290. Paula Rose

Then have a word with Finlay about upsetting schedules.

291. David

(Based on “Urban Guerrilla” by Hawkwind. A top 40 tune in 1973, back when Labour were a little less right-wing.)

“Corbyn Guerrilla”

I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
    I write for Morning Star in my cellar
    I’m a Westminster dweller
    I’m an Independence killer.

I’m a Tory-fighting dancer
    I’m a revolutionary chancer
    In the body politic I’m the cancer
    I’m a Tooting Popular front ‘Panther’.

So let’s not talk of union powers
    Before Kezia’s head explodes
    We’ve kicked out all that Blairite shower
    Triangulating us down the wrong road.

I’m a hard-left political bandit
    And the Beeb don’t understand it
    Blairites took my party and damned it
    Just the way Thatcher planned it.

Fabian Society’s disruptor
    I’m a Trident bomb destructor
    Son of Islington bus conductor
    I’m the people’s debt collector.

So watch out Mister Cameron
    Your empire’s about to blow
    I think you’d better listen, man
    In case you did not know.

I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
    I’m friends with Denis Skinner
    I never sing the anthem
    I get my suits from Oxfam.

I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
    I support Alex Tsipras
    I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
    Last year I got my bus pass
    I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
    I love the guys in Hamas.

——————-

The original:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiEUO07R6HI

If he survives, Corbyn could be good for Labour in England, but he is going to be subjected to super-strength monstering from the MSM.
    Scottish Labour is a corpse, he may try to reanimate it, but at best it would only be a zombie party, run from London.

292. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

Re Alliance Convention.

This is a post I’ve just done on the “YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information” Facebook page.

“Has anyone heard anything about the Yes Alliance Conference, organised by Dom Anderson, that was supposed to take place in January but was postponed until Saturday, 19th September?

I know a guy who is coming down from Aberdeen for this event – but I have seen nothing about it on pro-indy events pages, like this one.

I contacted Dom in January on how to get a refund on tickets I had bought through yesconnect.scot and got no reply. I’ve emailed him again tonight, because the tickets are of no use to me, as I’ll be in George Square on Saturday.

When I log into yesconnect.scot, it says I have no events.”

http://yesconnect.scot

Update: I’ve just received this email:-

“A message that you sent to the following recipient could not be delivered due to a permanent error. ** The remote server 212.227.15.41 responded with: ** dom@allianceforscotland.org.uk 550:Requested action not taken: mailbox unavailable This message was created automatically by mail delivery software on the server avasout02.”

Methinks, perchance, this event is not happening…

293. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve found out, via Facebook, from Dom Anderson himself, that the Alliance event in Dundee has been cancelled.

294. X_Sticks

@BrianDtt

Thanks Brian. Yup – event cancelled – no notification apart from post on facebook.

Still not sure if I can do Glasgow, got a wedding reception in Banchory in the evening.

I’ll need to revise plans to see what I can do. Will be at Glasgow if I can.

295. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson, Brian and Co,

I have been up to no good as usual and still fighting for Independence.

I haven’t talked to you Ronnie since you came back from holiday. I met Brian with his son and his partner in crime at Pacific Quay in August.

I will be there on Saturday with Martyn.

Really up for this one.

I hope you are all well. I also got presented with a Ronnie Anderson special edition badge in the Clutha pub after the BBC protest. (Anderson Tartan). Will have it with me on Saturday.

See you all tomorrow.

Hello there Stoker, hope to see you tomorrow, enjoyed my wee day out in August and the chat we had in the Clutha.

296. Paula Rose

Giddy with excitement darlings – not only Archie [not Erchie] and Finlay but also hunky X_Sticks escorting me to Glasgow! Swoon xx

297. Thistle

Livestreaming Hope Over Fear tomorrow. If anybody about give me a wee shout. Del should also be kicking around and a couple of others from IndyLive

298. Ian Brotherhood

So, we start another ‘year’ tomorrow, in Freedom Square.

Kool & The Gang, ‘Fresh’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTJ1XwGDcA4

299. Paula Rose

Wee shout xx

300. kendomacaroonbar

@Thistle

I’ll be taking pics tomorrow then heading to Yes bar for a half lager with a marachino cherry and an umbrella – possibly in a durty glass, I haven’t decided.

301. Quinie frae Angus

Hey Paula Rose et al

What are the social plans for ra morra? I will come and find you at George Square but am working for most of the day….what time are you planning to be there from and till?

If all else fails I take it we will all find each other at the Yes Bar?

302. Paula Rose

@ kendomacaroonbar take me with you xx

303. Ian Brotherhood

John Lennon, ‘Nobody Told Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_0di2IL440

304. Paula Rose

@ Quinie honey! Will be there all afternoon xx

305. X_Sticks

@paula

Had me at “X_Sticks escorting me”

I won’t have to drive either 😉

306. Paula Rose

Back seat babe?

307. Quinie frae Angus

Ok great, I can keep in touch via X-Sticks as I have his number in my phone.

Hope to see you all at some point…x

308. Paula Rose

Quinie frae Angus almost but not quite as gorgeous as me!

309. Ian Brotherhood

Simple Minds, ‘Up On The Catwalk’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7b27t7lxCw

310. GallusEffie

Hi folks

am hoping to be in the square tomorrow along with the Bold Joff, and one or two perhaps of the Miss Effies.

Is there a particular bit/banner you gather at…?

Have been defrosting my freezer today. A total arseache of a job. Long overdue.

Still much nicer than results night…

311. Betty Boop

Natasha, if you are lurking about, good luck. Missing seeing your posts, but, understand.

312. Betty Boop

@ Quinie

I would check all the bars working your way out from the square! 😉

313. X_Sticks

@Quinie

I’ll only be there until about 2:30. Need to get back to Aberdeen for a wedding reception in the evening.

I hope I manage to see you there.

314. Betty Boop

@ X_Sticks

Re Alliance Convention. I am sure I got refund when they first postponed the event. I didn’t want to take the chance it would get off the ground later, rightly, as it seems, and preferred to cancel.

I also had second thoughts regarding whether it was really about supporting indy.

315. cearc

Have fun tomorrow and pat the horse’s arse from me.

Sorry I can’t get down to join you.

316. Ian Brotherhood

George Benson, ‘Never Give Up’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-efy12ngwk

317. Stoker

caz-m wrote:
    “Hello there Stoker, hope to see you tomorrow, enjoyed my wee day out in August and the chat we had in the Clutha.”

Ditto!
    Sorry, mate, no can do, family problems.
    Thanks for the ‘Yes2’ badge btw, stuck it straight onto my Saltire patch on my hat as soon as i got back home and there it’ll stay. Hope you all have a great day tomorrow, the fight rumbles on!

Just received one of those new Facebook alerts in my junk box:

“Pamela Anderson and Super-Gonorrhoea are Trending on Facebook”

Mmmmm, charming, made me laugh though.
    Stay safe troops!

318. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for the Haters and Hothersalls, Fearties and Fannies (not that they’ll ever see this, or ‘get’ it anyroad…)

Massive Attack, ‘Unfinished Sympathy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWmrfgj0MZI

319. Ian Brotherhood

Another one for those who see us as typical bleedin’-heart lefty usual suspects. It’s a song all about not wanting to know about ‘evil’, only wanting to know about ‘love’.

Does that make us ‘hippies’?

Does this sound like the work of ‘hippies’?

Listen (and watch) carefully, haters…

John Martyn, ‘Don’t Want To Know’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=stRmPH0PbPs

320. gerry

Anyone needing transport between fife and glasgow tomorrow leave me word here. room for 2 maybe 3.

321. Bob Sinclair

I’m so sorry I missed most of HOF but a little traffic tailback wasn’t going to stop me being there I made it with just enough time.

To all the Wingers who once again worked their collective asses off to raise funds that will feed people, thanks, you are true heroes and it was great to see you again. Same time nxt week in Edinburgh, looking fwd to it.

322. handclapping

When does the AGB do kick off? Thanks.

323. Ian Brotherhood

What a buzz, seeing all the ‘old’ faces and meeting some new ones.

Won’t even attempt a name-check as I’ll just make an arse of it, but what a showing that was by the Wingers today – in time we’ll arrive at a definite number, but by my reckoning there must have been at least 20 of us there, and not far off that number present between, say, 1.30 – 2.30. A lot of us meeting for the first time.

(I heard tell the bold Kininvie was there, but didn’t clap eyes on him!)

Ye’s are pure braw by the way, so ye’s are…

324. Ian Brotherhood

Imagine how galling it must’ve been for the BBC to allow these people in as ‘performers’… and then tote-up what they’d necked in the Green Room.

The Pogues and Dubliners, on Top of The Pops, in 1987 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TzWs3zd_BZQ

325. cearc

Glad you all had fun today.

I watched it on livestream, thanks,
    Kev.

326. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Bummer you weren’t there, you’d’ve loved it, especially seeing all the ‘new’ faces.

Hope all’s well with you and the wee birdies.

Hoots, cheers, and love

XXX

327. Archie [not Erchie]

Back from a sooopah day at Freedom Square with wonderful Wingers popping out of the leaden skies like clouds of midgies.

No hairy string on show – Lots of silver duck tape and tie wraps to secure flagpoles and passing dusky maidens. [Oooh Paula!]

Thanks to all and esp. Finlay for driving us to/from Glasgow.

I have loads of photos but will post them somewhere accessible in the morning. Ronnie kept me in order with his beady eye while the other eye was checking out ne’er do wells.

Thanks guy and gals.

328. X_Sticks

Made it!

Braw day, slightly the worse for wear.

So glad I made and such a good day meeting so many Wingers I hadn’t met before that I had long wished to meet. Especially Nana, Al and the Macintoshes.

Big thanks to Finley for the list down. Wouldn’t have made it otherwise.

See you all soon

Loce you all.

329. Archie [not Erchie]

ok a bunch of photos to upload to a suitable website. Any recommendations?

330. ronnie anderson

@ Archie [not Erchie] The Glesga sunshine must hiv byled your heid. You & Findlay were Be-Knighted by the fair hand of Paula Rose who was appointed the Custodian of the Curly Hairy String.

Hiv you caught any Black Widows lately ( an thats another story for the annuals of the Wingers get togthers)lol.

331. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Ronnie – Aye the Black Widow who didnt deny assisting her husband’s demise. 🙂

Paula kept us entertained with SKA/Punk music on the way up North. Whit a groover mover she is!

Heres the link for my photos from yesterday. No names

https://flic.kr/s/aHskkKzTF8

332. ronnie anderson

@ Cearc 11.02 Be Alert there that wummin.
    The Erse we were under wiz sir Walter Scotts ,we hiv enough tae cairy tae these events, an a Fortyfit ladders ah no go, an he,s no oan ah horse oonyhow.LOL XXX.

333. ronnie anderson

@ Archie [not erchie] Nice photo,s ,name that manny giving hugs 16th photo lol,ah got caught out in Indroducing Wingers ah forgot his name.

334. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Ronnie – 16th photo is JLT greetin on Nana’s shoulder.

335. David

Hello Archie [not Erchie], is it OK if I put a link to your photos on my Twitter page?

I’d be good if more people get the chance to see them, especially since the Scottish media (yeah, I’m looking at YOU, Auntie Beeb!) are doing their best to ignore the rally.

You can see why the MSM really dislike these events, because they show ordinary people having fun, no hate-filled ‘Cybernats’ in view. Nothing for the MSM to show as .vile separatists’. Just ordinary people who want to live in an ordinary country, their own country.

The second photo is a great pic of the whole crowd filling the square. I also like the pic of the monument that has been stickered, I just hope Ian Murray MP doesn’t have nightmares if he sees it!

336. cearc

Ronnie,

Yep, me being dopey. It must have been the delirium of sucessfully getting my last incubator hatchlings fobbed off on a hen with a week old brood. She seemed delighted that her four chicks had turned into 8 and a duckling overnight.

PS. I wouldn’t expect you to kiss Scott’s arse even if it were on the ground!

337. Betty Boop

Well, here’s what we can remember from the HOF rally.
    Wingers who made themselves known:

Ronnie Anderson
    Briandoonthetoon
    Pete the camera
    Caz-M
    Kininvie
    Ian Brotherhood
    JLT
    Paula Rose
    Finlay
    Archie (not Erchie)
    X_Sticks
    Wee Ginger Dug
    Kendomacaroonbar
    Taranaich
    Geraldine
    Moidart
    Quinie fae Angus
    Cactus
    Gillian
    Nana Smith
    Hevvabeccywoss
    Indigo
    Effie
    Bob Sinclair
    Jim Thomson
    Betty Boop
    Sand
    Lanarkist
    Irene King
    John King
    Tinto Chjel
    Dorothy
    Castlemilk Chavy
    Effigy

Del (IndLive)
    Thistle

Sonia (Dundee) plus sister and husband

So, at least 39 Wingers. If I have left anyone off the list (worse than being on the list!!!)’ apologies and please feel free to add names.

Ain’t we smashin’. Thanks all for a great and successful day. Loved it.

338. Betty Boop

Sorry, forgot:

Jock Scot
    Ninja Penguin
    Norman Smith (Nana’s husband)

So, 42 is the latest tally.

339. Betty Boop

Martyn in da’s hoose

Yer oan the list too!

Up to 43 fabulous Wingers

340. Archie [not Erchie]

@ David – Please feel free to link to the photos. The more folk see that we are just normal people [apart from Ronnie] the better 😉

341. Kendomacaroonbar

It was good to meet up at the Wings Embassy yesterday and my apologies that I wasnt able to stick around longer.

My Father, Ronnie, gave me a vigoursly quick rub down with a broken Newkie Broon screwtop this afternoon for neglecting my duties, and stipulated that I wear the That’sMeTelt badge of shame for 24 hours 🙂

Nana Smith, can you send me your e mail address please to kenmcdonald1(at)btopenworld(dot)com

342. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

Add Croompenstein to your list – and Hoss Macintosh and Alan Macintosh.

BTW: “Castlemilk Chavy” is actually Castlehills Chavie.

343. Paula Rose

Darlings – fabulous meeting so many of you yesterday and grateful thanks to Archie [not Erchie] and Finlay for getting me there and safely home.

For those of you who missed it the first time (Ian Brotherhood) here is the proof that John McTernan is worth every penny. A certain Ukist blog was unavailable from twitter a while back…

https://twitter.com/johnmcternan/status/605479477804711936

344. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Thanks Brian.

That makes 46!

Apologies Chavie. I did know it was Castlehills, but, it’s the day after the night before and I accidentally miscalled your name.

We’re still fabulous 🙂

345. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: what happened AFTER you lot left for The Clutha…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-tale-of-two-rallies/comment-page-1/#comment-2059239

346. Jock Scot

Hi All

I reckon there were at least 49 Wingers as there are at least three missing from ‘the List’ ( proud to be on that one as well as the MFI one)

Below is a wee ‘after gig’ video from the Clutha with my apologies for the crap post-production which I couldn’t be ersed doing..lazy I know but lack of sleep and the wish to put this out a.s.a.p is my excuse. It’s on the YEW CHOOB supplemental channel but is unlisted as I thought we limit it to the ‘family’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6Ih5xTZy9c&feature=youtu.be

With reference to having lost ‘Ronnie’s erse shot’ in the first video..I’ve just found it but will only ‘go public’ if Ronnie consents or there is so much of an outcry that the material is released under an FOI request.

Also..many thanks to the Yes Rutherglen Wingers who invited me to their Shindig the previous evening and for providing a bed for a travelling CHOOBER.X

347. Brian Doonthetoon

From Jock’s video, for the list, I offer ‘Triangular Ears’.

348. David

@ Archie [not Erchie], thanks!

For me, social media is excellent, because I am outside the UK and yet I can keep connected to what is really happening in Scotland through articles, pics, etc. put online by Wingers.

I keep in touch with what is being spun as the news in Scotland by reading the MSM. 🙂

349. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Crazycat.

You got definite names for your +2 for name badges for next Saturday’s Embra get-together?

Anyone else going next week: if you want a name badge, do a post with the name you want on the badge in Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page), if you haven’t done so already.

All badge requests have to be in by 11.59pm on Wednesday, 23rd September.

350. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi David.

You could find this link of interest:-

http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/scottish-independence-t79.html

Once the thread gets going, most of the input is from me (specially since September 2013); most of the comments are from ex-pats.

351. Bob Sinclair

Brian,
    Can you add me to your badge list. Thanks.

352. Nana Smith

Well that’s us back home after a hectic weekend. Wonderful meeting all the beautiful wingers. Paula Rose, how you manage to walk on those heels, well I’m soooo jealous!

And Finlay you stood me up, but I will forgive as you were in good company. Ronnie and everyone I missed saying cheerio to you as we got waylaid by friends and ended up going for a meal.

For Paula http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36F2YwqNRwg

and for everyone else with much love

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BteIwbKU_iQ

353. Paula Rose

Nana Smith Thank you honey, I’m sure I speak for many when I say that meeting you was a highlight of the day.

354. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Bob Sinclair.

Yirran affie man, iye?

Yi turn up at Geordie’s Square as the curtains are being drawn (not painted), then you do a post here that should have been in Quarantine.

What are you like? Your badge name noted onnyhoo…

8=)

355. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Cheil.

RE: our short blether about St Andrew, yesterday in George Square.

You will probably find this link of interest:-

http://retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/2011/02/st-andrew-woollen-mill-80s.html

Click on each of the graphics to get the larger, readable version. You may also find the BTL comments educational and amusing.

——————————————

For those of you who enjoyed Dundee’s ‘Twa Tenors’ yesterday – they’ll be on stage at the rally in Dundee on 4th October.
    This is for Jim T and Betty Boop…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xF888st2aKk

356. ronnie anderson

@ cearc talking aboot erses, the Clutha vidio by Yew Choob Jock Scott,you,ll need tae watch the directors cut & Happy Birthday tae the wee chookie hens N duck xx.

@ Archie [no erchie] thats the fulla JTL lol ,hi JTL.An whit dey U mean normal people except Ronnie,is it the wie ah walk,explain yerself Mr ,an nae refferences tae Cearc wee Duck lol. An U better watch oot ah could be in a place near U soon lol.

@ Betty Boop You missed oot NinjaP,s Husband & Son.

@ Nana Kevin/Delboy (livestream) got the plaque & said thanks muchly,ah never even got ah keek at them, Hi Norman.

357. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I took a wee tickie snaps yesterday. You can see them here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/hope-over-fear-19th-september-2015

358. Ian Brotherhood

I saw Paula Rose attempting to conceal the hairy string in her cleavage, but she surreptitiously removed it shortly thereafter as it was too itchy.

Great to see the list above – more than 40 Wingers? 🙂

JLT – how did I miss you? 🙁

Best Dressed Winger of the Day (Male) – Taranaich
    (No other awards are being made as no-one else has been nominated in any other categories.)

359. ronnie anderson

An another name missed from the Sat list Graeme Doig.

360. Finlay [NOT HECTOR!]

@Nana Smith

I’m so sorry! I got myself into an interesting discussion with Ian Brotherhood and Taranaich and it’s a crime to prematurely leave a stimulating conversation!

I thought I’d be getting a free lunch from Paula this weekend but I think it is I who owes you a free lunch now. Damn. Oh well! There aren’t many people who I’d rather spend lunch with than yourself. Maybe the gorgeous Paula Rose. 😉

Lovely meeting you and Norman and I hope we can all make the event on October 24th so I may repent!

@Ian Brotherhood and Taranaich
    Pleasure to meet you two, there are not many people who can produce a powerful enough chat to make a man miss lunch with Nana Smith!

@Ed Winchester Doonthetoon
    A one off change of pseudonym – especially for you. 😛

@Archie[Not Erchie], X-Sticks and Paula Rose
    Pleasure driving down with you guys, thanks for the tunes Paula and thanks for keeping me awake on the road back Archie!

Pity you had to leave so soon X-Sticks however the quality of your company more than exceeded the quantity.

A momentous honour to have been stroked by the stunning Paula Rose (and to have my beard fondled by a random passer-by; a Paula Rose wannabe?).

@Jock Scot
    I don’t know why I was so sleepy driving home… perhaps one or two of the anecdotes were a tad too much for me… A bridge too far! 😉 Hope you found a suitable Ronnie approved receptacle for your snotty Jura!

@Ronnie
    What a cheeky fellow! Great craic. Especially loved the story of your silver-tongued flag flipping. I hope everyone is o’er the moon today. Perhaps Pete can make you a flashy new badge! 😉

@All the Wingers I met yesterday
    What a day! My absolute pleasure meeting the Wings Family and experiencing yesterdays event. Some memories to last a lifetime!

Shame I couldn’t get enough time with some of you, will need to meet up again soon.

If a cause can be measured by the quality of its participants then I think you guys and girls raise the bar higher than Jim Murphy in a glue factory!

All of my love.
    Finlay

361. Finlay

@Ian Brotherhood

I have a nomination for Best Undressed Winger of the Day (Male).

362. ronnie anderson

Oh slap ma face wie ah wet haddie, how could I miss Jan / Patrician & Gerry Parker,sos gerry ah never got over tae speak tae U.

363. Betty Boop

53 Wingers !!! with all those recently added, ie

Triangular Ears,
    Ninja P’s husband and son,
    Graeme Doig
    Gerry Parker
    Jan
    Patrician

I know we had some lurkers too, but, no idea how many 🙂

Any more bids?

Apologies to anybody missed and Gerry, didn’t see you there – I must have been waving the iScots about and shouting about the new Scottish media.

Incredible – Even more fabulous.

364. Finlay

I made a big post earlier which hasn’t appeared and I didn’t save it. If it doesn’t appear by tomorrow I’ll rewrite. 🙁

365. Quinie frae Angus

Loved meeting Wingers auld and new.

X-Sticks, sorry I missed you, though. Next time, maybe.

Finlay, you have a nomination for the most Selfless Winger of the day.

366. Paula Rose

And also Quinie most definitely Finlay is the handsomist young man ever to sport a beard – swoon!

367. Quinie frae Angus

Oh definitely, Paula – he is indeed. I could tell you were sweet on him! You’re one very lucky lady, getting a ride from him all the way up the Angus glens.

I look forward to hearing all the juicy details.

368. ronnie anderson

@ Finlay You were welcomed by all the Wingers yesterday, now welcome to the bain of Wings, GCHQ interception your lost post goes via Cheltenham lol.

369. Paula Rose

Quinie honey – you know that old joke about “what’s worn under the kilt? Nothing – it’s all in perfect working order”? In Archie [not Erchie]‘s case – that is soooo true!

370. Ian Brotherhood

Gordon Bennett!

Paula Rose does Spike Milligan!

And as for Quinie frae Angus at 10.32?!

Carry On Wings!

O) 😉 🙂

371. kendomacaroonbar

@yesindyref2

Can you dm me at ken@iscot.scot please ? cheers

372. Quinie frae Angus

Well Paula, I am not surprised. Archie kindly walked me down the road from the Square to the Clutha and I was most impressed at the way his kilt was swinging, this way and that.

I am now most intrigued and look forward to hearing more.

373. Finlay

@Ronnie

Is it ever coming back? Best post I’ve ever written! Maybe it is sitting in a box next to Lanarkist’s massive Mi5 file.

I’m not long back from work. I don’t have the mental capacity left to rewrite it again tonight and I have to get up for work again in about 5 hours. 🙁

@Quinie frae Angus

If nominated I’ll decline. If drafted I’ll defer. And if elected I’ll resign. 😛

@Paula Rose

That random lassie in front of the Wings embassy certainly seemed to think so. Stroked not only by your lovely self but also by the Glasgow general public!

374. Ian Brotherhood

@Finlay (10.00) –

‘I made a big post earlier..’

Awww man, please don’t encourage them, eh? 🙁

375. Finlay

@Ian Brotherhood

You know what they say about lads with big posts…

Sore fingers…

376. Finlay

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-34305994

Lib Dems invite Labour to play Tory with them?

377. Paula Rose

So many big posts here tonight!

378. Finlay

Well I’m knackered. Off to bed. Might take a leaf out of David Cameron’s book and count pigs instead of sheep. 😉

379. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Quinie frae Angus – You wee sneek. You were looking at my kilt swing? I was lookin at your thigh [ok dreaming] length boots nah nah nah. Little did you know mah boxers were dropping rapidly. 🙂

Not easy to repair in public.

Never happier to get to Clutha and restore posterior posture before our reputations destroyed. 🙂

380. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a double-header, for Paula and Quinie –

Suzi Quatro & Bonnie Tyler –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mC9442aYUkQ

381. Paula Rose

When I think of any of you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByqXqz7Tvqo

382. David

@ Brian Doonthetoon , thanks for the link to the forum. I’ll be reading that later, but tonight I’ve been busy reading Twitter about the exploits of David ‘Long Pig’ Cameron. Haven’t laughed this much in ages!

And on the plus side for Indy, the Daily Mail revelations about Cameron’s interspecies shenanigans must be worth another 2% onto the Yes side’s vote.

The craziest thing for me was how strangely forgiving of Cameron’s behavior the Mail commentators are! Eg:
    “So what?! Good for him, enjoying his student years.”

“God it was the 80s and Cameron’s from an upper middle class background. Can’t stand all this holier than thou nonsense!”

“I actually think this article just makes Cameron look like a normal bloke with lots of money at Oxford”

Link to original article for those who don’t do Twitter:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3242504/Drugs-debauchery-making-extraordinary-Prime-Minister-years-rumours-dogged-truth-shockingly-decadent-Oxford-days-gifted-Bullingdon-boy.html#comments

Here is the archive version of the same article:
    https://archive.is/WLF7l

383. Conan the Librarian™

That may explain Miliband’s reluctance to eat a bacon piece…

384. X_Sticks

Thanks for all the photos and video from Saturday.

Glad I made the effort.

Sorry I missed you Quinie, as you say, next time x

*note to self “don’t post when pissed” 😀

385. Brian Doonthetoon

Wings gets a mention in The National today.

https://archive.is/prMmX

386. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Finlay.

Your post has appeared above. It, most likely, went into Rev Stu’s manual moderation queue, because of the change of username.

BTW: I’ve no idea where “Hector” came from!

8=)
    ————————————————

Hi Jock Scot (and others).

You can see (as long as you don’t blink) Ed Winchester, right at the start of this clip, twice, then just before the end. It’s Part 1 of the uploaded Series 1, Episode 1, of “The Fast Show.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66MarlzxfW8

If your appetite is whetted, he appears again in Part 2. If you do watch Part 2, doesn’t Professor Denzil Dexter look like a pi$$take of Neil Oliver? Watch the way he flicks his hair. Prescient stuff…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgo86oVFfuY

387. Thepnr

Hello, sorry to have missed you all on Saturday been busy serving the missus and debt collectors.

Got something different for you, a little known 10 minute video of a Scottish mountain climber on a trip abroad, though film starts in Scotland. It’s called “Project Fear” and is from September last year, wonder where Dave might have got the name from?

I’m so proud of the potential that Scotland has, we might be wee but we punch well above our weight :). I’ll leave this here but I do have another more exciting story that’s now a week old yet but have not seen it mentioned on Wings.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jdc6S6TgNoo

Be right back 🙂

388. Thepnr

Which Scottish man has won an Olympic Gold medal, has been top of his profession for the last two years and recently achieved something never done before by any other?

He won a million euro last week by winning straight off the top 3 grand prix horse jumping races in the world. He’s from Fife and another world class Scot in my view.

Remember hearing all about his success last week on the telly? No neither did I. Here is a snippet of what it meant.

Funny that the Canadian crowd knew what it meant, we heard fuck all as usual.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pCjXnlQCZkg

389. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT 3.47 Ma wee Pal from Court of Sessions Greg Russell of the National.

390. Martin Wood

Just read the Constitutional Wrangle for dummies post from 2012

“….and lo it came to pass”

well done Stu

391. pete the camera

Hi all a wee update on the badge donation money it was £1000 and I have already dropped the cheque for £500 off at the Taught by Muhammad food bank in Dundee will arrange with Ronnie A to get the cheque to Maryhill this thursday
    Thanks to all that donated hope you enjoy your badges

392. X_Sticks

@pete

Sterling effort Pete and a fantastic result. That was some stint you put in on the badge stall. I hope they bought you a pint when you eventually got to the Clutha. Beers on me next Saturday 😀

393. Thepnr

@pete the camera

Phenomenal! Well done Pete and BDTT very impressed, fills my wee Dundee heart with pride 🙂

394. TInto Chiel

@BrianDTT.

Thanks for all the stuff on Andy Pelc, Brian. Much appreciated. Comments below the line duly noted!

I don’t visit O/T very often. Usually tucked up with my Horlicks and Willie Pettigrew Special Edition Lounging Silks at this hour.

Met Paula Rose on Sats: those heels!

Wow!

Just, wow!

395. Paula Rose

Tartan Tory you have competition in the hunky leather stakes – Tinto Chiel swoon.

396. ronnie anderson

@ pete the camera Wow ah thought by weight & bucket nearly full but £1000 + the £165 for iScot , days & nights oot dont come any better.

397. Tinto Chiel

Paula Rose:

Aw, shucks!

Can’t speak…

Except: could you manage Motherwell FC? There’s fifteen men at least who need to be dominated…

398. Paula Rose

I went to a footie match once – a cup final Motherwell won 4-3.

399. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Bastard, worse day of my life but great game.

400. Archie [not Erchie]

@ ronnie – Thats the first time I ever lifted [a wee bit] £1000 in a bucket. Great news and all credit to BDTT for his unflappable demeanour.

@ BDTT – Thanks for giving the wee boy in the wheelchair those extra badges. That made my day special. His Mum was over the moon.

401. Paula Rose

Rushing round country giving strokes – no idea why.

402. Conan the Librarian™

Hullo?

403. Conan the Librarian™

At last. What is it with this site lately?

Sorry to have missed you all at the Square, defo see you in Edinburgh.

404. Simone

Just thought I’d stick my head round the door and say hello.

Fantastic collection on Saturday, I love my new badges. The “special” one will be kept close to my heart.

405. Conan the Librarian™

Missed George Square, see you all in George Street.

406. Thepnr

@Conan the Librarian

Will see you there too mister.

407. Betty Boop

@ pete the camera

As you know, I tried lifting that bucket with my good arm on Saturday. It didn’t budge much and everybody knows I’ve got muscles.

Sterling effort from you and Brian. It was a bit like a scene from “Field of Dreams”; you know, build it and they will come. It was still early and there was only a small crowd, but, Pete arrived, had barely sat down and he was surrounded. Wings right enough, they were like moths to a candle.

Fantastic, the food banks will be pleased.

408. X_Sticks

@Conan

Look forward to seeing you in Edinburgh.

Your round I think 😀

409. Brian Doonthetoon

Repost from 10th September…

Hi peeps.

Re the Edinburgh get-together on 26th September.

If you’re intending going to the get-together and want a badge with your name on it, do a post in Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page), stating what name you want on the badge.

You have until 11.59pm on Wednesday, 23rd September, to order your badge. There is no charge; however I will point out that when in Wetherspoons, I tend to like a bottle of Tsing Tao or a pint of Orkney Dark Island, if they have it, and Pete the Camera is partial to Irn-Bru (full fat).

8=)

410. Paula Rose

Hi Simone honey – lovely to meet you in the Square.

411. Paula Rose

Oh btw if anyone’s come looking for quarantine it’s under me and to the left.

412. Taranaich

I’ll take a badge, Brian!

My latest blog isn’t directly related to Scottish politics, but the similarities between gamergaters/rabid puppies are striking, as evidenced by the comments:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/matters-of-importance/

Figures this’d be ridiculously popular (500 hits in the past hour, more than half from one blog)

413. Brian Doonthetoon

Och Taranaich.

See you peeps who don’t follow instructions?

I’ve just posted this in Quarantine…

Right, that’s the line drawn.

If you haven’t already requested a badge, you’ll have to write your name on a blank on Saturday.

That’s all folks!

Because I checked Quarantine first, you’ve just sneaked in, Taranaich. Will you be wearing your George Square jeans and t-shirt again on Saturday?

8=)

414. Taranaich

Oh damn, sorry, I thought Quarantine and Off-Topic were the same! Yes, I hope to be wearing the same, more or less.

415. Bob Sinclair

Ok folks, who’s getting the train from Glasgow on Saturday?

416. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi guys, great to see so many faces at George Sq and hope to meet more at George St!

I’m planning to get the train at around 3 or 4pm with Hevvabeccywoss and Cactus – details to be finalized, so it would be cool if we could arrange to travel east with a few more Wingers!
    (coming back on the last train too)

I’ll check back in tomorrow to see if it’s doable 🙂

417. X_Sticks

@Tjenny

Are you coming along tomorrow? Didn’t see your name on the badge list.

418. Bob Sinclair

3 – 40m at that railway station opposite freedom Sq which needs a new name.

419. Ian Brotherhood

Fair warning – I’ve been swotting all week, am just about to get a kerry-oot, and will be going into full-on Disco/Funk mode from approx. 8.30 onwards.

If any of you have designs on the O/T 14k spot, you’d best be ready – we really wanna see those fingers!

420. Paula Rose

Do you really want to be removed from my Christmas card list Ian honey?

421. Paula Rose

Fracking demos? That’s a bit extreme.

422. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Thought I’d jump in and beat you to the kick off.

Born To Be Alive – Patrick Hernandez

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xz25h7tA_fY

423. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hmm. Yeah. Nice opener brother.

Before we go any further, I think many of us would both benefit from studying this short instructional video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmoISpt-d4E

424. Thepnr

haha That gut learnt everyone of his great moves from me 🙂

425. Paula Rose

Gut?

426. Thepnr

Oh wasn’t a German video then 🙂 guy I meant guy.

Here’s a guy. Van McCoy – The Hustle

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wj23_nDFSfE

427. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Ottawan, with D.I.S.C.O. –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmS4po8hIeo

There was an obscene version of this, sung entirely in Glaswegian (by a tribute ‘band’ called ‘Thearrawan’) all about the attributes of the singer’s girlfriend. Thankfully, no copies of it exist.

428. Kishorn Commando

SWMBO says I got it wrong. Serves me right for lurking over her shooder for 2 years.
    Anyway take a look at
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iAYhQsQhSY&feature=youtu.be

429. Michael McCabe

I am going to Stomp right in here with a bit of Bliss. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=PEhNMk3FjCE

430. Ian Brotherhood

This is for Nana Smith and her man. What a pleasure it was meeting you both last week.

No particular reason for picking this track, other than it makes me smile, as youse did. (Nana – if you see this, please ask yer man why that Alsatian was barking…)

Eruption, ‘One Way Ticket’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g_jUtiKSf1Y

431. Ian Brotherhood

This is for Quinie Frae Angus, who I never ever EVER get a proper chance to talk to because there are always too many ‘babe-magnets’ around. 🙁

Blondie, ‘Heart of Glass’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGU_4-5RaxU

432. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Hope you can make it to George St tomorrow. This one is a killer Disco tune. Amii Stewart – Knock On Wood

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAbq_qkzFR0

Very similar opening in the video to IB’s Ottawan video.

433. Ian Brotherhood

And this one’s for the bold Finlay.

Finlay, brother, ye come across as a mild-mannered sort, but, as discussed last week (when you were telling me about some of the folk you have to work with) there’s sometimes no option but to tell them to just ‘gettaefuck!’.

Great meeting you mister. Here’s to next time.

Slainte!

The Pretenders, ‘Chain Gang’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okvl-9svtS0

434. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Will definitely be at George St. Tomorrow. Really looking forward to it. Ain’t Nobody Chaka Khan http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=ycnuyo3MLbw

435. Michael McCabe

Two bands for the price of one. Ya Dancer. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=god7hAPv8f0

436. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Pleasure was all ours Ian and here’s me on the way to the rally last Saturday…well a girl can dream!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIb6AZdTr-A

Hubby says he can’t remember a particular Alsatian , mind you he did disappear for refreshments a couple of times.

Here’s the song he’s singing at the moment and he says cheers!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iAYhQsQhSY&feature=youtu.be

437. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya folks, tomorrow afternoon Cactus, Heather and I will be meeting in the wetherspoons under queen street station (I think it’s called camperdown?) at 4pm with a view to getting a train to Edinburgh at 5pm.
    If anyone cares to join us for a bite to eat or a pre-train drink you’d be most welcome.

@Ian, loving the Friday night tunes man, you have excellent taste 🙂

438. Ian Brotherhood

This is for all the Wingers who didn’t have the pleasure of meeting me last week. 🙁

Edwin Starr, ‘Contact’ (Soul Train Line, 1979) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YQnYdyzCvU

439. Ian Brotherhood

This is for…who else could it be?…sartorial superlatives embodied, a la Monsieur Taranaich:

Chic, ‘Le Freak’ (Soul Train)-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrN-Gmz3-jA

440. Quinie frae Angus

To Ian Brotherhood

Thanks so much for the song and the compliment! As you can imagine, I am indeed a Blondie fan and love that tune.

And we will have our day to catch up and chin-wag.

But alas, I am afraid I will NOT now be able to make it to the do tomorrow night, much as I had hoped to do so.

It turns out my pals have arranged tickets and accommodation for the Inverurie Beer Festival which I had clean forgotten all about. Friends from Canada I haven’t seen for ages will be there as well so I need to make the effort and go. Plus I need to give someone back a tent I borrowed as they need it for the night’s kip.

I am so torn. Love ma Wingers!!! Will miss you and hope I can come to the next thing.

441. Thepnr

Turning into a bit of a party night. Enjoying the fun. One of my favorite songs though from the Indy campaign was this.

O’Jays – Back Stabbers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwZciH3hx-A

442. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana –

Your man and I were watching the proceedings onstage, and a large dog started going off on one, just to the right of us, really letting-rip, and a lot of folk turned to watch, concerned, but there was no other dog around, and no small weans.

It was yer man who worked out what the dog was barking at – a kilted guy’s sporran! Seriously. That’s what we were laughing about, if you didn’t notice.

He doesn’t remember?! I’m sure the dog’s owner and kilt-wearer will, although the sporran probably won’t.

443. Nana Smith

This one for all wingers and yes voters.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZZQqteC-E6U

444. Ian Brotherhood

And this is for whoever feels like proposing to someone, but is maybe stuck for a cool tune…

Al Green, ‘Let’s Get Married’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g76e4iSkk9g

445. Thepnr

@Nana Smith

Great tunes Nana, will have to wait for the next time before we can meet. Meantime thanks for the music and the posts 🙂

This is a video that I first saw posted by Ian B, playing it again because many will have missed it first time on Off Topic and it still brings a lump to my throat.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-GD-5mRyaJw

446. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Yes he remembered after I posted. I must have been blethering with someone during that commotion.

The poor man I hope he and his sporran have recovered, geez he must have been embarrassed.

447. Ian Brotherhood

Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes, ‘Don’t Leave Me This Way’

As y’all know, the vocalist on this was Terry Pendergrass, who died too young, just 59.

Please also note that this is the ’12-incher’ (approx. 12 mins) which means you have time to start the song, finish that drink, and the slice of pizza, and STILL have loads of dancing time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_t9XVmhF60

448. Nana Smith

@Thepnr

Bound to meet up sometime Alex. Love that video, sent it to friends in Mississippi when I first saw it here and my pals loved it also.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0ABwUhMLF4

449. cearc

Have fun the morrow.

Shame I couldn’t make it.

450. Thepnr

@Nana Smith

Sharper than a pointy stick. Love it 🙂

451. Thepnr

@cearc

Sorry to hear you won’t make it. Will see you next time in Wings over Ullapool, we will reach there eventually 🙂

452. Ian Brotherhood

I pray we all live long enough to get the chance to dance like this, with all our neighbours, and daddy/grandma dancing will also be allowed, nae borra in the new Scotland.

Dance like you believe it’s gonna happen, right?

James Brown, Get Up Offa That Thing (Soul Train) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63Y3NYs3WB4

453. Cactus

Here’s a rock song from the 80’s, which is how I continue to feel about Scotland regaining her rightful independence. My first ever post on da Wings featured the two words, “contained euphoria”… that remains the same:

Def Leppard – Excitable
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-4MSiPdkQ8

Enjoy the video!

454. Cactus

Also, has anyone passed by the Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA) in Glasgow at night time recently?

There are now a selection of red neon lights on the front of the listed building, of which some appear to be beaming out curious/strange wording.. make up your own mind, but the three that jumped out at me say:

We love alcohol
    We love failure
    We love the highland clearances

WTF??? No likey 🙁

Anyways, see yee’s all at the Camperdown bar later on this afternoon Glasgow, cheers for the now 🙂

455. Jim Thomson

That’s Betty and me in Embra. We’re having a wee coffee at the gallery end of Princes Street

456. Jim Thomson

Now down at Holyrood – disappointing turn out.

457. Hevvabeccywoss

Hi everyone, that’s me, Cactus and Gillian Rugloanian arrived in Edinburgh. Nipped into to Black Bull but should arrive at our venue soon. Who’s about? See you soon xxx

458. Jim Thomson

Assembling at rear of establishment. Gradually taking possession of tables.

459. Archie [not Erchie]

Missing but loving you all – esp that Gillian R. Have a nice night.

460. Ian Brotherhood

Hoots tae y’all in Edinburgh.

Sink one for me, eh?

Hoots and slainte! 🙂

461. cearc

Mine’s a wee malt.

slainte.

462. Ian Brotherhood

Last night was just a warm-up…

This is for the bold Lanarkist, a man on a mission. Great seeing ye last week mister. Hope it’s not so long before we get a chance for a jar or twa, or perhaps some strawberry whisky? Hope the heid was alright Sunday. 😉

Big Country, ‘Field Of Fire’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NeX5cRjvFR0

463. Ian Brotherhood

This one’s for Gillian R and the Rutherglen ‘Aye’ buddies. Suppose I should really be digging out some Simple Minds, eh? but here’s another Soo-side outfit:

Altered Images, ‘Jeepster’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IAirymExyME

464. Ian Brotherhood

Scott Wood Band, ‘Sheep Running About’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhQ-OkPUuNs

465. Ian Brotherhood

Whatever youse are doing in Edinburgh, make sure youse make time to do a bit of this…

Still Game, ‘The Slosh’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88NNMTmEY0g

466. Ian Brotherhood

Aw, FFS, were is a’body? 🙁

It’s feeling like this:

Leo Sayer, ‘One Man Band’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2o2kdd_Veo

467. Ian Brotherhood

No naked lights please…too many combustible mullets present.

Elton John, ‘I’m Still Standing’ (live, 1984-ish)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbMSffYRiPM

468. Ian Brotherhood

Ach, right then, get it right up ye’s all…

Team America, ‘I’m So Ronery’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEaKX9YYHiQ

469. cearc

I’m here (on and off).

Keep up the good work.

470. Ian Brotherhood

Radiohead, ‘Bodysnatchers’ (Jools Holland) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GSDD4wQTonQ

471. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

I picture you in some Highland idyll, watching over yer fledgelings, and it reminds me of this:

Van Morrison, ‘I’m Tired Joey Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RkjdYNvbVI

472. Stoker

Norah Jones ft Wyclef Jean – Any other day
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66UZ3Ye1Eko

473. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood 10.27pm Cmon noo Ian huv you ever been in ah Witherspoons oan a Saterday Night lol, the only Slosh thats done is Sloshin it doon the neck .

474. Jim Thomson

@Ian B

I did try a few times to post stuff but the WiFi and 4G networks were significantly absent. Bloody awful in-house coverage.

Quite a few new faces for me to annoy and I even won a raffle prize! It will take pride of place alongside my portrait of a partially clothed Tory PM.

475. dramfineday

Great night last night at Wetherspoon’s and a pleasure to meet old and new friends. And like Jim, I too won a raffle prize. Mrs Dram throughly enjoyed the evening as did my old yes pentlands chum
    Lindsay.

Best regards

Dram

476. Nana Smith

@Jim Thomson

Did you remember to pass on to Ronnie the package I left in your care during the rally. If you recall it was to be given last night at the wingers night out.

477. Betty Boop

@ Nana Smith

Hi Nana, Jim did indeed pass on your gift to Ronnie. I am sure he will be in touch.

It was much admired for the beautiful object it is. Well done – everyone loved it.

Sorry you couldn’t be there. It was a very good night.

478. Nana Smith

@Betty Boop

Good to know. Did not get a chance to say cheerio to you at the rally, got caught up elsewhere. It was just great meeting you and Jim and hope to catch up another time.

479. Ian Brotherhood

Phillip Glass, ‘Invitation’, score to The Fog of War

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_jsopmi3KbU

480. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Great meeting up with you again last night. Already looking forward to the next time. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=P5AuFDHdrrg

481. Michael McCabe

I met Someone last night who asked me to put this song on here. So Maggie Campbell this one is for You. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=E2VCwBzGdPM

482. Ian Brotherhood

The Pogues, ‘Battle March Medley’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVv-i5F6kwU

483. Ian Brotherhood

From some sporting fixture last night, featuring a funny-shaped ball and loads of deranged Welsh people:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyHuVtLP8Ng

484. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That was magnificent, can’t possibly compete with that so I won’t even try. Give my regards to Lynn.

485. Ian Brotherhood

Looking like the 14kth comment here may also be the 465kth comment overall…

Is that a pair of high heels clacking nearer?

486. Ian Brotherhood

Shang-a-lang, ya bass!

Right, fess-up – who’s got a ticket?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6md3dx3qkAw

487. Quinie frae Angus

Hey all you lovely Wingers

Very sorry I missed last night’s do.

When’s the next one???

488. Stoker

Liquid Gold – Dance Yourself Dizzy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFvSNFRZd8A

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.