Now that’s just going too far

Posted on August 12, 2012 by

39 to “Now that’s just going too far”

1. Must be a joke or they have let an idiot loose with decisions,regarding generic names.

2. Bugger (the Panda)

I feel a nice wee e-mail coming on.

I take it Stu this was in an “English” Tesco (Bristolish?)

Anyone seen this in Scotland Tesco stores?

Scotch  Broth is not an Appelation unlike Scotch Whisky, which means that it is a style and could be made anywhere in the World, even Britain England.

I wonder if they are selling British “Cheddar” or British “Oxtail Soup” or British “Melton Mobray Pies”

I was once asked in the Osarks if we had any African Americans in Scotland; honestly!

3. R Louis

I highlighted this a month or so back.  I have seen it in my local Sainsbury’s in Edinburgh.  As soon as they started this kind of nonsense and filling their stores with union jacks, I stopped shopping in their stores. The presence of ONLY union jacks, is clearly politically motivated, when done in Scotland.  I did actually tell them why I was no longer using their stores, and to be honest the local management sympathised, but said the union jacks and associated nonsense all over the stores in Scotland were forced on them from the English head office.

It is an absolute insult, to refer to Scotch Broth as British Scotch broth.  Can the pig ignorant clowns responsible not see just how freaking stupid they are.  

Some people will say, oh, well these kind of things don’t matter etc..etc.. but my honest opinion is this is just the thin end of the wedge, in the truly obscene ‘union jackery’ Britannia hubris arising from London recently.

Of all the supermarkets I have tried in Edinburgh, the brand which has had the least of this union jackery has been Asda (although it does have some) which I now use instead.  I have also been told Lidl has none of it too.

4. Andrew

Aye, but where are the chicken noodle & oxtail from?

5. Bugger (the Panda)

Andrew

Were the ingredients in the Scotch Broth from Britain? Actually irrelevant today anyway; unless someone applies for an Appelation of it. It is unlikely that such would be granted, like Cheddar, which is now the name of a process used throughout the World.

Scottish Scotch Broth, maybe.

Indian Curry or New York Pizza anybody?

British,  Scotch Broth is just a bullet in the foot for Tesco. It implies that Scotch Broth is not Scottish, which it was but not legally is.

In fact a wee PC victory for Indepndence.

We must not hold back from giving both barrels to Tesco though; pour encourager les autres.

6. Bugger (the Panda)

Andrew

Probably deep frozen from Thailand?

7. James T

Well…the ‘Summer of Britishness’ ends in roughly 6 hours time. After midnight, the partying will come to an end. We’ve celebrated the Jubilee, we’ve done the World Cup, and now the Olympics are coming to an end.
    As my mate said earlier on, in 6 weeks time, no one will be remember the summer. It will fade into the history books, and will slowly be forgotten; especially in Scotland. Think about it; at the start of June, we were celebrating the Queen’s Jubilee. Now, it seems such a long time ago, and nobody is bothered about it. Once we get to mid-November with Christmas on the way, the Olympics will be a shrug of the shoulders.
    So, it’s Ta-Ta to the British Summer, and an end to the tub-thumping. Can’t wait for the Scottish Parliament to get underway. I’ve no doubt Wee Eck will have a field day with the 2nd Question that Davidson is now proposing to be put on the referendum, and the bare facing lying of some of the Unionist MP’s over the summer. Can just see wee Lamont’s face now as she squirms in her seat !!!

8. James T

As to that soup…that will vanish too. It will only be a matter of time before folk in Scotland complain about Scottish items being branded ‘British’. Can see why they’ve done it with the Olympics and the Jubilee (not that I’m agreeing, but I can see why they have done it). But after tonight, these things should slowly start to vanish. I can see the Scots growling before long if the Union Jack is continually being waved in our faces !!! Then again, maybe that’s what Cameron wants as he tries to drive Scotland towards Independence to shatter the Labour Party into two pieces. No doubt, Lamont will be howling at Miliband and Cameron to cut it out as the polls begin to show an increase for Independence !!!

9. Holebender

BtP… why do you keep calling Sainsbury’s “Tesco”? The labels are pretty clear.

10. Semus

Lidls and Aldi boast of serving Scotland and Scottish produce. I even bought a present of a copy of Burns and a new sporran strap in Lidls surrounded by saltire symbols. Oh and there profits go to a non English Company,which is a wee “boycott” bonus.In any case can you tell me of one English supermarket that pays any tax in the UnitedKingdom and Northern Ireland?
    British ?Really?No when it comes to paying tax.At least lidls and Aldi pay their taxes.
    However wan wee gripe about Aldi’s TV adverts “Scots give it Aldi” what numpty had them up a highland glen with Scottish water and cheese and ham  to the accompaniment of our Scottish composer Sir Edward Elgar.It could have worked to Hamish MCCunn’s “Land o’ the Mountain and the flood”

11. Tris

Wonderful.

This is an excellent example of going to far.

They’ve had a summer of union flag waving and saying British in front of everything.

They feel this has been a success for them, and so they will push it untill they piss people off.

Aldi and Lidl are better than the other supermarkets at being Scottish (although they are German…i think).

Morrisons, although there are union flags about the place, do have carrier bags with our flag on them 

12. Tearlach

Well perhaps this sort of thing does have an upside. Todays Sunday Times has a poll that shows that support for Independance has risen as a direct result of the success of Team GB.

13. baycitytroller

Looks a bit photoshoped to me.

14. Bugger (the Panda)

Holebender

Poor screen resolution and Sunday Lunch  red biddy

BtP

15. John Lyons

I don’t boycott supermarkets for this kind of thing, I just get a trolley and fill it so the shelf is empty, then wheel it to another random part of the shop and leave it there. Our local Tesco is 24 hours so there’s almost always public in it. Sometimes when you go back the next day the trolley is still were you left it.

16. Bugger (the Panda)

J L

Excellent

17. scottish_skier

Local Asda and Tesco in Galashiels have been doing the saltire thing for ages. Huge saltires emblazoned on the sides of both stores and inside everything that could have a saltire on it does. Wee, forlorn sections for jubilee and Olympics stuff largely gathered dust as far as I could see. Heavily discounted very early on.

http://mw2.google.com/mw-panoramio/photos/medium/11548705.jpg

M&S nearby seems to have finally cottoned on. Mrs SS bought a punnet of rasps the other day. I noticed it had a wee saltire sticker which had been added to the main label at a later stage. Peeled it back and found a union jack underneath. Had a chuckle at that; sign of the times.

18. scottish_skier

@baycitytroller says:
    August 12, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Looks a bit photoshoped to me.

Pick yersel up some here…

http://www.mysupermarket.co.uk/#/sainsburys-price-comparison/tinned_soup/sainsburys_british_scotch_broth_415g.html   

19. Tris

Very interesting Scottish Skier.

ASDA made a bit of a fuss to begin with, asking suppliers to supply Scottish stores with non union flagged items. If I remember some Tory MP, clearly from England, made a huge fuss about it, saying that if that was ASDA’s game he wouldn’t shop there any more (like Tory MPs make a habit of shopping in ASDA!)

I haven’t bough anything with a union flag on it this year.

Good to know that M&S puts a Saltire over the union flag for Scottish stores. They seem to be preparing for the inevitable.

20. Jeannie

I’m not allowed to go to Aldis anymore.  The last time I went there it was to get vegetables for soup and I came out with an angle grinder,an ice cream machine, a hanging basket, a pair of wellies and a thermal vest.  And forgot the veggies. 
    However I will now be able to point out your posts to my other half and demonstrate that a vote for Aldis is a vote for Scotland.  Cannae wait.

21. David Briggs

Just to keep you all happy I hear there’s an Olympic Special airing on Christmas day.

Required viewing for all the family I would say.

22. mato21

David Briggs

Although I have enjoyed some of the sports I sincerely hope you are joking To have a repeat would just be too much 

23. mato21

Just a few lines to emphasise my previous comment

Now hasn’t London done us proud
    I hear the shouts, so long, so loud
    As the haul of gold is gathered in
    The screams ring out, oh what a din
    It’s all we’re left with, this fake gold
    Too bad the real stuff has  been sold
    We could have used it now you see
    To combat  this austerity

This pride has come at quite a cost
    For little gain, so much is lost
    The losers in these money games
    Will no doubt be that group of weans
    Whose playing fields are long since sold
    I think they went before the gold
    And their clubhouse shuts as the rain pours in
    Will the elite athletes kick up a din?
    Or will they feel They must have more?
    The crowd, you see, must come and roar

Now no one minds them having fun
    Let them swim or jump or fight or run
    Let them ride their horses or their bike
    But now I hope they take a hike
    In this old world there’s more to life
    There are earthquakes, famine, war and strife
    And all these baubles new, shiny  bright
    Will never change what’s wrong to right

Some may have realised their dreams
    As the crowd waved flags and let out screams
    For the cash that’s been syphoned from the pot
    What did we get? well not a lot
    To buy these shouts, so long,  so loud
    Oh hasn’t London done us proud

24. baycitytroller

@Scottish_skier

No problem admitting I’m wrong when I’m wrong. And it would appear I’m totally wrong. I was suspicious of the box they were sitting in – maybe it is just the above picture. I’ve fallen for pranks before – just a bit cautious now when things like this come up. Anyhow, good (?) to be proved wrong here. 

25. R louis

Baycitytroller,

As I pointed out in the third post, its for sale in my local sainsburys – which is why I no longer shop there. 

26. baycitytroller

@ R louis

I’ve said I’m wrong, ok. How many times do I have to say it? Sorry I missed your comment. Sorry if that has offended. Is that sufficient? 

27. Seasick Dave

It looks far too red to be Scotch broth.

Its probably tomato soup with some extras thrown in.

28. redcliffe62

I wonder if Cochers and co. want a Team GB at the Commonwealth Games as well, after all there is an English anthem and a Scottish one there, which is what would happen with independence. Scots singing anthems worldwide does cause some issues no doubt for the British argument. If the Englsih fly lots of Union Jacks it will also not help create image that England is not UK is not Union Jack.

I think seeing people flying saltires and Glasgow going off is a problem for Wesrminster in 2014, as it is clear Scots will naturally cheer a lot more for people from Aberdeen than from say Portsmouth. 

Clearly if people are influenced by sport then Glasgow is a headache for the Bitter Together campaign. 
    Interesting that many of the Northern Irish athletes chose to compete for Ireland as standing under the Union Jack is a no-no for many of them. They had a choice and chose someone else; many Scots would do similar.

I would love a poll, asking would you rather Scots get gold medals competing as Scots as at the Commonwealth games, or would you prefer them to compete as British athletes and sing what is currently seen as an English anthem when they win????!!!!.  

I would also love a poll asking should Scots continue to be ruled by the House of Lords where there are 700 Unionists, most from England, and there is not even one Scot Nat member?

29. megabreath

well,the great Britfest is now over and we can all breathe a little easier for that.I really doubt if any of this will have an effect on the referendum in two years time and if the No campaign are pinning their hopes on it doing so,boy is their case weak.As for the soup,well,from a Unionist perspective “Scotch” broth is British too-u can be both y’know-but,as mentioned in another post,I havent seen much of “British,English Cheddar” etc.The entire Olympic event,and this soup in its own way,show the union for what it is and always has been:an English initiative and dominated by certain sections of that country.Nothing new there.

30. Kenny Campbell

Should that not just be North British Broth, to get the full effect ?

On a serious note I was stunned to read that support for independence actually increased during the Olympics. I’d have thought the whole thing was an advert for the Union. Maybe I give the electorate too little credit.

31. Caadfael

Grand poem Mato, deserves a wider audience, so I hope you dont mind me nicking it!
    I promise I’ll put it to good use!

32. mutterings

redcliffe62 said: I would also love a poll asking should Scots continue to be ruled by the House of Lords where there are 700 Unionists, most from England, and there is not even one Scot Nat member?
    That’s due to SNP party policy.

33. DuineBochd

I’m looking forward to the Scotch Scotch Broth come the commonwealth games, myself.

34. scottish_skier

@baycitytroller.

Nae bother. I thought the pic looked possibly photoshopped too. Hence the wee online investigation! 

35. R Louis

baycitytroller,

Jeez, you’re a bit touchy.  I wasn’t having a go regarding the soup, I was just adding to the discussion.

Calm down. 

36. David McCann

Just wondering. Is there any other national anthem which celebrates a figurehead rather than the nation?

37. mato21

Caadfael

Thank you Feel free 

38. jake

` Well done Sainsbury’s!
    The same attention to detail should be applied to other products and services so that we can be sure of their origin, ingredients and bona fides:
    I’m think here political parties and newspapers…..the British Scottish Labour Party, The British Scotsman……

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.