Love it – Should be a billboard

4. Croompenstein

Ed looks like my uncle Frankenstein

5. Findlay Farquaharson

not sure if its been mentioned but the most interesting point in the guardian currency article was the claim by the journalist that alistair darling was behind the strategy to deprive scots of their currency. there must be a word to describe a man fighting against his countries interests.

6. Cyberniall

Jog on!

7. jacksloan2013

I expect it is part of the common wealth games that BT are running.

8. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Findlay Farquaharson says:
    there must be a word to describe a man fighting against his countries interests.

It begins with “t”.

9. mogabee

Somebody trip the buggers up!!

It’ll be kinder in the long run.;)

10. Blairtahuille

I have been reading the Rev’s articles for a few weeks now. Thank you. My eyes have been opened. Party politics have never appealed to me, but you have confirmed where I have always stood. Yes please.

11. Croompenstein

@Findlay Farqharson – don’t think there is one word so I’ll stick with – a b*stard!

12. Findlay Farquaharson

is that clegg in yellow?

13. Cyberniall

It should be a sack race, with them all in the sack together!

14. msean

Which one has a vote?

15. Cyberniall

@Findlay

It can’t be Danny Alexander, the guy in the yellow has a neck!

16. Calgacus MacAndrews

Somebody has just told them that Alex Salmond is about to turn up for the Big Indyref Debate.

17. Croompenstein

Is it Don Corleone, just wae the cheeks, cannae think of any Lib. defo not the Secretary of State for Portsmouth

18. SquareHaggis

Butt, what’s waiting at the bottom?

19. heedtracker

Where’s the bottom though? These choobs need to borrow at least a third more than they take in to keep teamGB from going bust. £1,412 bn debt or 90.3% of GDP,HM Treasury Public Finance statistics 2013. So they go after the worst off, protect the rich and BetterTogetherBBC says vote NO Scotland, you’re too poor, too small and far too stupid.

20. Croompenstein

@Cyberniall – true enough ’cause Danny’s neck is 110% brass

21. GrahamB

I think ‘("Quizmaster" - Ed)’ is the most appropriate word here. Vidkun Quisling collaborated with the Nazis to ease their invasion and then contol of Norway in WW2. He got his just deserts at the end of the war and look at Norway now. Mind you, I’m not advocating firing squads for Cameron, Milliband, Clegg just a hearty cheerio from Scotland but as for Flipper, the Alexander Brothers, etc. …

22. Davy

That’s not so much racing as running away, but the question is “will it make any difference” who gets to the bottom first, as you really could’nt put a fag paper between either of them or their policys.

You would think that the Scottish branches of the Westminster parties would finally be realising the writing is on the wall for them. And they should be seriously looking at an exit stratgey for themselves and their members.

Because with our independence just like those in the M S Media who have spent all their time mis-calling and running down our country its people and institutions, does the politicians think Scotland will forget or forgive their part in doing the same.

There is a hell’va lot to forgive, perhaps they should think about that !!! it won’t be like turning a switch and the world forgets.

23. caz-m

A female friend of mine commented that,

“they haven’t got a ball between them”.

What ever could she mean?

24. Croompenstein

Perhaps a bit shit they have got Mordechai Vanunu and Guy Fawkes in here but those two could slip oot the top ten to make way for oor Flipper and a.n.other of any number of ‘Proudies’ to take the other place..

s-in-history/" rel="nofollow ugc">http://listverse.com/2012/06/19/10-notable-("Tractor" - Ed)s-in-history/

25. Croompenstein

Also a bit shit that Fawkes charts higher than Judas Iscariot

26. rab_the_doubter

New tactic – when paying with ‘sterling’ banknotes attach a yes sticker to them. Raised a few smiles today with this one.

27. caz-m

@Calgacus MacAndrews 9.01pm

A could name a few “Ts” from down Pacific Quay way. The bastards at BBC Scotland have been stickin the knife into us for two years now. NON STOP. Relentless lying.

Bird
    Campbell
    Fraser
    Taylor
    Bradford
    Magnusson
    Boothman

To name but a few.

If that lot think I am going to forget what they have put me through, then they severely underestimate the feelings of disgust I have for the lot of them.

Whoever is in charge of employing the team that will run our new Scottish Broadcasting Corporation, please don’t let any of the names above even enter your thoughts.

28. Satirist

O/T.

The leader of Better Together has heard about #currencygate.

Downfall parody warning.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZkyKGNQuPzU

29. Krackerman

You guys should tone down the ("Tractor" - Ed) and ("Quizmaster" - Ed) bit – it’s frankly beneath us. Darling has betrayed no-one – his oath is to queen, country (Britain) and parliament (Westminster) – not to Scotland.

He is doing exactly what would be expected of him – which I am sure is exactly what WE want him to do…

Fail…

Is only crime is incompetence…

30. Findlay Farquaharson

“Whoever is in charge of employing the team that will run our new Scottish Broadcasting Corporation, please don’t let any of the names above even enter your thoughts.”

here here

31. Edward

Just noticed the headlines for tomorrow Observer
    “Cabinet Minister: were in danger of losing Scottish Independence Poll”
    http://archive.is/PxEzm

32. Roll_On_2014

The only bottom I can think of is ‘Brown’s bottom’. Google it if you have never heard of it before.

33. Appleby

So by your logic, Krackerman, if someone is employed as a torturer or to do cruel medical experiments on prisoners then all is fine because that’s their job description and we should be happy about it?

34. HandandShrimp

Another decent article in the Guardian – not familiar with the author but they should send Severin away to more conferences. 🙂

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/mar/29/alistair-carmichael-scottish-independence-poll-losing?commentpage=1

35. Krackerman

Oh FFS Appleby grow up – who thee fk said that sh1t? Point me to where Darling has being doing of that!

Jesus Christ – get a grip and keep the dramatics under control!

36. caz-m

The quicker BBC Scotland is dis-banded the better.

They don’t have one positive word to say about Scotland.

As mentioned above, the lot of them can rot in fuckin hell.

37. Laurie

@caz-m

I could not agree with you more. We will not forget this, BBC “Scotland!”.

38. alexicon

Joan Burnie comes out for Independence.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/joan-burnie-six-week-trial-lasted-3293270#.UzVfd8cPaHU.twitter

It’s in the story.

Good on her.

39. callum

O/T – interesting times in Glasgow where local officials have invited dignitaries from around the world to the “celebration” of the start of world war 1.

slight problem is that it’s the day after the last day of the commonwealth games.

A cynical person would think that this is a master plan to get plenty of union flags waving after an orgy of Scottishness during the games.

https://www.glasgow.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=9949

40. heedtracker

@ CameronB, what’s happen to the music Cameron?! Is your last name Goode as in Johnny B…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVT65M4mRnM

41. Robert Peffers

@Findlay Farquaharson:

There are indeed several different words used to describe, “A man fighting against his countries best interests”. Laughably each and every one of them has been used by, “Bitter Together”, official representatives to describe, “Alex Salmond”.

42. msean

The newspaper reviews,the gift that keeps on giving.

43. Arbroath 1320

Sorry Stu I’m going O/T but I think you might guess why. 😛

http://tinyurl.com/k8jv8t9

44. Alfresco Dent

That is brilliant!

45. caz-m

GENERATION YES.

This was the launch today of Generation Yes, solely for they youths of Scotland to get involved in the Referendum Debate.

If you have kids that want to get involved or you know of teenagers that are want to be part of the YES campaign or simply for ones that need more information.

Then tell them about Generation Yes and how they can be part of the campaign. Link.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/generation-yes-new-group-launched-to-persuade-scotlands-young-to-vote-for-iscotland.1396096963

46. Edward

Sunday Herald splash : No campaign in utter disarray as blame game breaks out in wake of minister’s claim #Indy Scotland can keep pound

47. Croompenstein

The Secretary of State for Portsmouth says –
    You had Alec Salmond coming here talking about London being the dark star. He was talking about Scotland’s oil being stolen by the thieves at Westminster

However the FM was actually quoting Professor Tony Travers, of the London School for Economics who said

London is the dark star of the economy, inexorably sucking in resources, people and energy. Nobody quite knows how to control it

48. Marcia

In the Sunday Herald tomorrow:

‘Sunk – No campaign in utter disarray as blame game breaks out in wake of minister’s claim #Indy Scotland can keep pound’.

49. Chris Cairns

Yeah, yeah, yeah – looks nothing like Clegg. Hey – he’s a bugger to draw, I was in a hurry and I had a hangover. Let’s all move on … nothing to see here …

50. twenty14

@Marcia- C’mon Marcia where’s the front page 🙂 🙂

51. Marcia

For the sake of balance – 🙂

The SoS front page:

https://twitter.com/hendopolis/status/450035729272692736/photo/1

52. Marcia

Sunday Herald front page:

http://twitpic.com/dzrbu3

53. Croompenstein

@Krackerman@10:04 – his oath is to queen, country (Britain) and parliament (Westminster) – not to Scotland

not quite Krackerman they only swear allegiance to the queen though there are separate oaths..

The Act also permits the oath to be taken in the Scottish manner, with uplifted hand but not holding the sacred text. Members who want to do so may also take the oath as prescribed in the Promissory Oaths Act 1868, by kissing the book and using the words:

I (name of Member) do swear that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, her heirs and successors, according to law. So help me God

http://www.parliament.uk/about/how/elections-and-voting/swearingin/

54. Edward

Sunday Herald front page
    http://twitpic.com/dzrbu3

55. caz-m

I have been on the Yes Campaign trail for a couple of years now, and over the last week or two something different is happening.

Never before have I had this feeling about the campaign, something is definitely changing. It’s the first time that we have had constant stories coming out in the press AGAINST Better Together.

It’s as if there is a mutiny happening within Scottish Journalism against their masters.

I can’t put my finger on it, but times are a changin!!.

Even writing this wee comment was done with a new surge of confidence in the knowledge that we have this won.

And don’t even dare thinking of giving up on the hard work.

This is a FIGHT all the way to 18th Sept.

The difference being that people are starting to listen to the message and coming over to YES.

So, for all of you undecided Scots out there, come and join us.

VOTE YES.

56. twenty14

@Marcia – Muchos gracias

57. Morag

You know, I nearly went into the newsagent this morning and asked to re-start my subscription to the Sunday Herald. Maybe I should have done it. Maybe I could go in and buy one tomorrow and do it then?

58. Robert Kerr

Thanks Marcia.

Shall buy one of these tomorrow.

Guess which?

59. Roll_On_2014

Hi Chris nice cartoon.

By race to the bottom I presume you mean this:

The UK is currently the 4th most Unequal country in the developed world and due to austerity is heading for the No.1 position at the bottom.

60. Edward

oops Marcia beat me to it 🙂

61. Marcia

Robert,

I liked the SH cartoon with George Osborne looking out of the porthole.

Good night All.

62. Edward

Do you suppose viewers that Andrew Marr will have a copy of the Sunday Herald feature on his paper review?

Probably not

63. Robert Peffers

@Edward: “Cabinet Minister: were in danger of losing Scottish Independence Poll”

The significant thing about that article is they speak of, “The United Kingdom” as, ,”The Country”,, When the legal position is that, “The United Kingdom is exactly what its title describes it as, , “A United KINGDOM. Ergo, when, “The Kingdom of Scotland” leaves, “The United Kingdom”, the remainder is, NOT the “rUnited Kingdom” it is, The Three country Kingdom of England.

This highlights the entire paucity of the Better Together mindset – they just do not grasp the truth and rely upon their own false concepts. There simply are only two signatory kingdoms that form the United Kingdom and the fact that no other Kingdom than England has existed in Britain since 1542 when the English King annexed Ireland seems to have slipped their collective memories.

64. Morag

I hope to hell my undecided guy from a couple of weeks ago gets that paper. (He had a paper under his arm while we were talking but I couldn’t see what it was.)

He said there were too many questions and Salmond couldn’t even tell us what currency we’d be using. I said he’s told us a thousand times, the pound. He laughed hollowly and turned away and said, they’re adamant, they’ve categorically ruled it out.

I tried hard to explain to him that they were bluffing and that they’d be biting our hands off for a currency union on 19th September if it was a Yes vote. He kept saying, I’d like to believe you but… and then went back to Mark Carney ruling it out (which isn’t even true). I gave him an Aye Right card and mentioned Wings, and I did hear him repeat “Wings Over Scotland” as he turned away.

I think he might be typical of a fair-sized group. He seemed to want to vote Yes, believing Scotland to be a country, but also he believed the TWTPTS stuff because he’d been following the mainstream media.

Please, God, let him see that front page and realise I was right and I might also be right about the other stuff I was saying.

65. Marcia

Morag,

I think you are right, there is a group that say they are undecided but just need that something to make them a firm Yes. I was speaking to two experienced canvassers a couple of days ago and they were telling me of what they were finding on the doorsteps. One was that a number of undecided had said the same thing. When asked were they were on a scale of 1 (No) to 10 (firm Yes) they said 6.

66. tartanarse

Chris, you could have drawn three turds in their relevantly coloured vests and we would have understood completely.

In fact it would have been more realistic if you had portrayed them all with a blurred similarly featured face as this would be more in keeping with their personalities and policies.

They will no doubt provide you with many a future opportunity, please do not feel you have anything to apologise for you are doing a great job.

67. Edward

@Robert
    I cant add anything to that as its something that I understand 🙂

68. jingly jangly

Morag, start up the Sunday Herald Sub again, we need to let them know that their political neutrality is having a positive effect on circulation.

BTW I was speaking to one of our Better Together;s (Tory) last week, he claimed that the Herald which came out during the week was pro YES, I nearly choked laughing and he was mystified why I thought it was so funny.

They really are delusional.

69. twenty14

@Morag- Have had similar discussions/arguements with friends re: Currency, Europe, joining the Euro etc and slowly but surely they are coming to fruition – particularly the CU. Now that the CU fearbomb has imploded I also hope that all the other areas will now be thought over with a fresh mindset. I also argued that the CU decision will come from big business and not GO and when they tell him to jump he’ll be asking ” how high “

70. Morag

Marcia, I wasn’t even canvassing, I was just delivering Yes newspapers to the outlying farms and rural outposts at the time. This chap approached me as I drew up outside his house and engaged me in conversation. He could just have let me post the paper through his letterbox and bugger off, without saying anything. He wanted to talk. And I think there are a lot like him.

71. tartanarse

Robert Peffers at 11.20

This is exactly why I like to call them the Fukers but try getting that past most mods.

72. a2

I’m afraid this assumes the occupied the moral high ground in the first place.

73. a2

y

74. Marcia

Morag,

Another thing that seems to happen at our street stall is voters (mostly women) coming over and saying, ‘I’m normally a No but..’, which then goes into the topic they wanted to talk about. Quite a lot them about too.

75. Morag

It can be a bit of a two-edged sword, doing the rural run. On the up-side you get to drive around some world-class scenery and drive up to some seriously pricy bits of real estate, and there aren’t any communal lobbies with entry-phones. On the down-side there are houses with no letter-boxes, houses with dogs keen to take you by the wrist and lead you off the premises, houses at the end of two-mile-long dirt tracks, and Tories.

I’ve had the paper politely declined by someone insisting that everyone on the farm had already made up their minds thank you. I’ve had it rudely declined by someone shouting that she didn’t take junk mail, she would be voting on independence but she didn’t want THAT THING. I’ve had a teenager shout “we’re not interested!” as I drove away from the house.

On the other hand. I get nervous driving up to the really big houses, imagining that the inhabitants are hereditary Tories getting ready to set the dogs on me. Except that doesn’t always happen. Today I was received very pleasantly by a gentleman in a house I frankly have been avoiding for years and have never dared go near with an SNP leaflet.

I’ve had a lot more pleasant smiles and thank-yous than I’ve had rejections. It’s not quite as positive as 2011 (and I think we only got about 33% for the SNP here then), but it’s not bad. I’m just going to keep on doing it.

76. Schrodingers cat

Arbroath 1320 says:
    Sorry Stu I’m going O/T but I think you might guess why.

http://tinyurl.com/k8jv8t9

brilliant

77. Croompenstein

@Robert Peffers@11:20 – It used to wind me up the fact that they so arrogantly assume successor state status and Scotland amounts to f*ck all, however their obsession with their ‘international standing’ and the permanent seat on the security council of UN leaves them incredibly exposed to a wily politician such as our FM.

I trust the FM on this and believe he has the measure of this imperialist arrogance

78. Thepnr

I posted the first half of this a few weeks ago but now I’ll post it all together.

>b>Diary of a Cybernat Two Weeks Out

Thur 4th Sep:
    Only two weeks now, I’m not sure what’s happening but there seem to be a lot of scared faces on BBC Scotland Tonight of late. This has been more and more noticable in the last few days. Brian Taylor in particular seems to be withdrawing into himself. It’s been weeks now since he has given us a “toodle oo the noo”.

Fri 5th Sep:
    Postie this morning brought me my final batch of 50 Proud Cybernat badges from Roddy, will get them to the troops over the weekend, bit of a collecters item the’ve become which is good cos I’ve kept a few for meself hehe.
    Scotsman finally shut its doors today, had been on the cards though I do feel sorry for the Cybernats that used to post there. The rest though…ah tough shit ye makes yer bed I say. Euan McColm has been raging on twitter about “they fucken Cybernats” Class.

Sat 6th Sep:
    I really hate shopping and if I’m to be a man then one day, yeah one day I’ll tell her that. But hey let sleeping dogs lie I say. One good thing came of it, in the taxi on the way back, the driver a definate No started to buckle under the relentless arguments I was hitting him with. By the time he dropped me off he was reading an Aye Right leaflet and agreeing “maybe I had a point”. Result I think.

Sun 7th Sep:
    My 79 year old Mother In Law!! what’s she like? Much tougher than that taxi driver for sure. Still hates Salmond, weasely is all she keeps saying. I keep telling her it’s not about Salmond, she just sticks her fingers in her ears and says la la la la la la. I won’t give in though.
    Went out tonight with the troops we were targeting Kirkton tonight, the 50 of us that turned up were given 3 streets each so could take our time and chat to the punters. Out of the dozen or so I talked with NONE would admit to supporting No and there was one who joined me and came to help stick leaflets through the door. Result!

Mon 8th Sep:
    Hated going to work today, everybody talks about the referendum but I live it..There is a difference, there are still a few No’s there and I won’t waste my breath on them anymore.
    Best thing about today was watching Osborne squirm on Newsnight and demanding negotiations with Salmond on a currency Union prior to the Referendum. Salmond told him to shove it (sort of) me and the missus were pissing ourselves.

Tue 9th Sep:
    Woke up this morning feeling great with Osbornes performance last night still fresh. In fact i have a vague memory of dreaming about him and a kind of quesy feeling about that. Maybe shouldn’t have had those cheese and crackers before going to bed.
    I hear Kirsty Wark has gone on the sick but so far this is just a rumour started by Derek Bateman. Other than that, nothing much happened.

Wed 10th Sep:
    About time! The Rev has rallied the Wingers for the final push so tonight 10,000 of us will be distributing all kind of materials throughout Scotland, that’s only 250 houses per person and we hope to visit them all over the next 3 days. Seems plausible to me, thankfully all the plans have been in place for months and those that volunteered know their role. This is exciting.
    Mother in law is still giving it la la la. Just got to keep trying.

Thu 11th Sep:
    Only a week to go!
    Breaking News on BBC Breakfast this morning, all three leading political parties have agreed a deal that in the event of a No vote Devo Max would be offered by the UK government, this would include full tax raising powers, control over airguns and something about welfare. Though the details will only be decided after the referendum.
    Jola at FMQ’s demanded to know why Alex Salmond wouldn’t accept a currency union as offered by Osborne when it was obviously in Scotland’s interest. He told her to shove it (sort of)

Fri 12th Sep:
    Last day at work then a fornights holiday. Looking forward to it, a weeks canvassing. Then a week long party, mibbee.
    Went to the Ferry tonight with the missus for a meal and a drink, we missed out the meal as the place was mobbed. I was pleased to see all the YES badges though noticed an argument or two was breaking out. It’s looking good though, the Union Jack on the ceiling of the pub had been taken down. Think they are worried about their custom.

Sat 13th Sep:
    Bloody hell, I’m hungover but the missus insists on dragging me along again for “shopping”. There was a Big Issue seller outside the shopping centre, he was wearing a Yes baseball cap, a badge and a big smile. Shouting “Vote Yes and get rid of the Big Issue” “Vote Yes and get rid of the Big Issue”. I gave him a couple of quid and he told me “Get yer money oan Yes mister at 2/1 it’s a cert mister”
    So I did, went in the bookies, wasn’t 2/1 at all, 5/4 the wummin said. Fuck it, it’s a cert so put £50 on anyway. Taxi home, he wisnae a talker but I gave him an Aye Right business card anyway along with his tip. Said he’d look at it.

Sun 14th Sep:
    Back to the mother in laws for our dinner again, she really should come to us as it’s me that cooks it anyway. I’ve tried asking before but you’ve never met such a stubborn women. We watched some old Black & white film in the afternoon. Psycho I think it was but I wasn’t paying attention since I was on the laptop reading Wings.
    Then dear mother really surprised me by asking “whit price are the bookies fur a Yes” “Ehh 5/4” I said. “Hmmph” she said. When I got home I sorted out all the leaflets and the wee blue book. Stuck them inside the 100 Yes papers I had in preparation for tomorrow. Then went to bed.

Mon 15th Sep:
    Typical, pissing wi rain. Ignored it, put meh jaikit oan and headed oot the door. Met Ronnie at the bottom of the street, gold wings badge glistening, he’s so big heeded so he is. Anyway didn’t take too long to get rid of they 100 papers and by 2 O’ Clock we were in the clubby. A real working mens club is this, all Labour types but the irony is the majority now are going to vote Yes. This last 3 months work has been worth it. The big Yes poster behind the bar is a giveaway, there was a stushie when it first went up but nobody questions it now. I think I love the manageress Jackie Baillie. Aye a good lass.

Tues 16th Sep:
    Well, nae sign oh Ronnie, I knew I should have dropped him aff yesterday rather than let him make his own way up the road. Och well at least the weather was better and the canvassing didn’t take long. I’d just about finished and was walking up my last street when a wee ginger dug came out of nowhere and lunged for my paper bag. I was quick though and did a kinda Spanish Ola and the wee ginger dug crashed into the fence allowing me time for a getaway.
    I wasn’t in a good mood, was nothing to cheer me up and it didn’t help when I got home to hear the wife tell me “your teas in the dug”. Went to bed.

Wed 17th Sep:
    I’m sweating now, referendum tomorrow. Checked Wings, they guys are having a party already. I’m not so sure, my mother in lay still hates Salmond and tells me “we all hate him” meaning her pals at the dinner club down at the community centre. Surely nobody believes their pensions are safer with Osborne? Well apparently they do.
    Couldn’t sleep tonight and it seems I’m not the only one. Every online website and News article on Independence has gone viral. I was posting like mad on the Guardian, Telegraph, Daily Heil all at the same time. Eventually I fell asleep at the keyboard about 05:00.

Thurs 18th Sep:
    06:00 Wife knocking me over the head with a cushion from the settee, “come on, get up we need to pick my mum up to go and vote”. Just rubbed my eyes asked for a cup of tea which I didn’t get and then went to pick up her mum.
    Couldn’t believe it when we got to the polling station at 07:30, saltires everywhere, lots of smiley faces trying to hand out Yes badges. I was crapping myself. So the three of us went in to our separate booths, I stared at the paper. This was it YES or NO? My hand was shaking as I put my X in the YES box. I looked again to make sure I’d done it right. I wasn’t relieved, I wasn’t excited, I wasn’t relaxed. I was stunned. It was done.
    I walked outside my wife came quite quickly behind me, we had to wait for her mum who seemed to be taking ages. Then I saw her, she had a tear in her eye. “Are you alright Margaret” I asked, “Yes” she said “Yes”.

79. Albamac

@Morag

I’m just going to keep on doing it

You’re a super trooper, Morag. Crack on!

80. Morag

By the way, I saw my first Yes billboard yesterday. On the M8 round about the Eurocentral area. I was heading for the Showcase to see the new Captain America film. It wasn’t completely in your face but I did notice it despite not being on the look-out.

It was children, and wanting the children to grow up in a rich country. I hope it has a good impact.

Once in the cinema I began to wonder about cinema adverts. Of course there was nothing, but I read somewhere that BT were going to be doing these. I hope to hell Yes Scotland has plans!

81. Arbroath 1320

Sorry Stu, but is this a photo of your group Morag? 😛

http://tinyurl.com/pb6rs8j

82. Barontorc

This really is quite a farce, all of a sudden, this tiny wee political world we inhabit, for now thankfully, is simply agog and beside itself with shock, blame and terror, that a ‘minister’ has stated the bleedin’ obvious – that commonsense and street wise savvy, as well as him, know we’ll keep the pound to keep it alive and kicking, because without Scottish input it will be going down the drain with the rUK.

Remember Danny Kay’s song ‘The King’s New Clothes’ – if you’re naked – you ain’t wearing anything – which is obvious, but to only those who’ll actually take a look! The Three Monkey Trick ain’t gonna work no-mo!

83. caz-m

When are Sky News and BBC paper reviews going to get someone on that is pro independence?

They have English guests on, speaking very ignorantly about Scottish independence and give a very bias pro union view on it.

The guy on the BBC paper review predicts YES will end up with 28% of the vote on 18th Sept.

I Would loved to have put a bet on with him, because we will end up with more than double that percentage.

BBC and Sky, you must try harder.

I will be in Ladbrokes on Monday, £100 on over 55% @ 7/1.

84. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Beautiful… Just beautiful 🙂
    You could write a novel about this!

I think I’ll be like that when I put that X in the box too. After the massive build-up, I’ll be like: “Is that it?!!”

Afterwards I’ll end up spending about ten minutes repeatedly asking the staff at the polling station “Are you sure there’s nothing else I need to do? It can’t be THAT simple, can it? I know I’ve forgotten something!!” until I’m escorted from the building and told I should probably see a therapist!

Hopefully it’ll all be worth it on the 19th! 😀

85. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Soo-perb.

@Morag –

Soo-perb.

We’re on the way people – remember, you can still get 7/1 on 55%+ in Ladbrokes, but there’s no way that can hold much longer.

86. Morag

Arb – not exactly, that’s Yes Hawick. I’m Yes Tweeddale. We’re all Yes Borders though, and we help each other out.

87. Cruachan

Absolute genius.
    {\rtf1\ansi\ansicpg1252
    {\fonttbl}
    {\colortbl;\red255\green255\blue255;}
    }

88. Morag

Thepnr, that was fun.

It wasn’t you who did one of these two years ago that started “It was won during the long hot summer of 2012”, was it?

😀

89. Cruachan

whoops. must learn how to clip photos.

90. caz-m

I was out doing my bit of leafleting for the cause today as well, and as mentioned above, more and more people were telling me they didn’t need any leaflets because they would be voting YES anyway.

YES is becoming normalised and accepted by the majority.

East, West, North and South.

Everyone keep up the good work.

We are winning this battle.

91. Croompenstein

Well folks remember and put your clocks forward one hour and that is us into BST, lighter nights and lots of canvassing. The clocks will go back at the end of October by which time we will just be recovering from the Yes party in the middle of September..

92. Schrodingers cat

Satirist says:
    29 March, 2014 at 10:03 pmO/T.

Downfall parody warning.

ha ha ha , as much use as kermit the frog, ha ha ha ha brilliant

93. Morag

As of tomorrow it’s not going to be dark before eight now, any evening, until R-day itself. Make the most of it, everyone.

94. a2

“Sorry Stu I’m going O/T but I think you might guess why. :P”

That’ll be the fence outside the burnt out bbc?

95. CameronB

Sorry, was that a bit hard Rev.? Don’t worry, I know where the naughty step is. 🙂

96. Morag

Downfall parody warning.

Bwahahahaha!

“We’ve still got Euan McColm on our side.”

“He’s as much use as Kermit the Frog!”

97. David Boddie

@Croompenstein
    Will this be the last time the clocks in Scotland go forward for BST? Will Westminster deny an independent Scotland the use of BST and force Scots to put the clocks forward two hours in summer instead? Now there’s a scare story the papers forgot to publish. 😉

98. caz-m

Ian Brotherhood

I’ll be at Ladbrokes on Monday, £100 on over 55% 7/1.

I am not a gambler, but I feel we will get over 55% of the vote.

Once this campaign is fully up and running and inside the 16 week election zone, then the polls will really start to move.

And on top of that we have all the events going on.

99. Arbroath 1320

Morag says:

Arb – not exactly, that’s Yes Hawick. I’m Yes Tweeddale. We’re all Yes Borders though, and we help each other out.

Thanks fore the clarification Morag, don’t worry though I’ll forget and be asking you the same question in a week or two. 😛

Just heard that my local YES South Annandale were out in an area of Annan today knocking doors. I wish I could have been there but door knocking in a wheel chair aint fun. 🙂

Any way the result of the door knock was, after the Don’t Knows were removed, YES 68% NO 32%. 🙂

I would never have thought that an area like Annan could produce a result like this. I know it is only one area but hell from small acorns mighty oaks grow, or something like that. 😛

100. CameronB

The Joe Pesci Show: Alec Baldwin as Robert Deniro – Saturday Night Live 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-qSiiYdrxA

101. Robert Peffers

@Krackerman:
    Queen and Country, Krackerman? Trouble with that is that Her Majesty’s Royal Realm is “The United Kingdom”. . As that title describes itself it is a union of KINGDOMS. It is not now, and never has been, legally , “A country”. From its inception it contained the three countries that comprised the former Kingdom of England., and the former single Kingdom AND Country of Scotland.. Legally the SQA, (Status Quo Ante), is a return to two independent Kingdoms. In fact, though, as both former Kingdoms are not to become republics, the actual Royal Realm, (as per, ‘Article I’, of the Treaty of Union), will not change. A United Kingdom, (Realm), will still exist. It is the Parliament of the United Kingdom, (as per, ‘Article III’, of the Treaty of Union), that will disunite. The legal situation is that because the Treaty is composed of individual, “Articles of Union”, then the whole Treaty need not be torn up and with it the joint monarchy. We can choose to only withdraw from, ‘Article III’, and NOT return to the pre-Treaty status of two Independent Realms, but retain a common head for the two crowns, and withdraw only from the joint parliaments. No one has yet seriously considered either former Kingdom becoming a republic.

102. CameronB

Wrong link but you get the idea though?

103. Morag

Jings it’s “really” quarter to two! Night all!

104. CameronB

Group-think, eh?

105. CameronB

Sorry, did I just miss a clock change?

106. CameronB

My hands are empty and my heart is open. Promise I won’t bite…much. 😉

107. CameronB

I want to post the lyrics to that song but I don’t want to change the link’s name to shampoo. The message is very relevant and very powerful. Rebellious even. Any suggestions?

108. ronnie anderson

@ameronB,U & Me both know what happens ( the day the music

dies ) the Lights go out, I enjoy your music,especialy in

these wee small hours,I’m like you in & out like a light

bulb,but naebody can caw us dim.

109. Jim

An image of a vulnerable person on the side of the road as they race to the bottom and run on by, comes to mind.

110. CameronB

Hello. 🙂

111. ronnie anderson

@CameronB an ah big hello to you to

112. CameronB

The thing is Ronnie, after you’ve been where I’ve been, just about everything is funny.

Apart from those clowns in British Labour. ;(

113. Thepnr

Hello you two too!

I’ve not gone to bed yet but will do soon. CameronB mind and email me before you come to Dundee. Not bullshittin.

114. Thepnr

Hello you two too!

I’ve not gone to bed yet but will do soon. CameronB mind and email me before you come to Dundee. Not bullshittin.

115. The Man in the Jar

As we are being all positive thanks to everyone for their contributions to that.

I was out today in Uddingston Main St. with Yes Uddingston and Bothwell. Positive feedback with a good reception. Driving home I also saw my first Yes billboard. It is the one with the children and it is on the main road between Uddingston and Bothwell next to Lidl (where the old gas works once stood)

Now here is a surprise! I have had an email from my Yes group (it isnt actually MY group but I am pissed off typing Uddingston and Bothwell 😉 ) Anyhow Yes were out leafleting in Larkhall today as were Better Together.

Better Together in Larkhall could muster ONE man who apparently lasted about half an hour before giving up and going home. Larkhall FFS!

The future is bright!

116. CameronB

Thepnr
    The Edinburgh Chemist might have my meds by Tuesday next, maybeez. No probs though, I’ve been like this for over twenty years. It takes a long time to get a degree when you are aphasic (nailed it two years after returning) and then travel the country working in various jobs, including preparing the banquet at the European Premier of Braveheart, In Stirling Castle (hello Paul) before developing a business. What would I know?

Anyhoo ;9 I be up in Dundee sometime after that. I’ll not take your address now as I need to clean my in-box out.

Cheers bud. 🙂

117. CameronB

P.S. I dropped a couple of belters, IMO, at the end of the previous thread.

118. Thepnr

CameronB will see you then when I see you. Goodnight to you too, take it easy my friend.

119. The Man in the Jar

Hey! Heres a wee tune that I came across today. Bugger all to do with independence or Scotland but a very cool video!

Molly Sue Gonzalez and the Mean Mean Men. “Bad Example”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvuWmUDFCRE

Goodnight!

120. CameronB

121. CameronB

waves to The Man in the Jar. Night, night.

122. CameronB

Junior Wells – Cha Cha Cha in Blues
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMQZ2VxWYbo

123. CameronB

Let’s give ourselves the tools to make achieving our ambitions, POSSIBLE.

Vote YES

124. CameronB

I wonder if BfS have been reading my posts about pricing models for infrastructure investment and the RTPI? If so, do you have an opinion?

125. fairiefromtheearth

well ive said it many times on here Finlay the name your looking for is ("Tractor" - Ed) and like all good ("Tractor" - Ed)s darling should be hanging by a rope 19th sep.

126. fairiefromtheearth

et al brown blair

127. fairiefromtheearth

Theirs nothing like a good hanging ask Saddam at least he was a man about it,the ("Tractor" - Ed)s we have would shite themselfes before the hanging oh and Saddam was a freedom fighter not a ("Tractor" - Ed).

128. CameronB

THE UPSETTERS – MAN FROM MI5 (snigger)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cE8z5OReGbA

129. CameronB

Though em sying hout. 🙂

Saint Andrew and the Wollen Mill “Rare to be Alev”

130. fairiefromtheearth

I was just thinking of the great man Gaddafi how he used to go to the UN and tell them like it was,not how they propegandered it.Gaddafi the man who housed every Lybian before his own mother his father died before all the houses were built,or how about anybody can own a farm all expences paid for unlike our farmers who are owned by the banks,want to buy a car half price in Gaddafies Lybia petrol LOL i wonder what price it is now.No the warmongering NATO countries dont spread democracey nether dose the EU or UN,oh my point was going to be their is 160,000 people on the council waiting list in Scotland the recorces are their to build them why arent they being built? and of course their is hundreds of thousands like me who arent on a waiting list because we know it takes 20years to get a house,to me History will show Saddam and Gaddafi to be the true heros of their Countrys who stabalised them through harsh santions,our leaders history will show were nothing but shills for the bankers,eh Alex weres the Central Bank of Scotland? that should have been plan A all along yea fekking shill Salmond.

131. Thoughtsofascot

Just a bit of a correction on a statement someone made above, regarding the rUK becoming the Kingdom of England

The Kingdom of Great Britain component of the UK will cease to exist upon Scottish independence, not the United Kingdom as a whole per say. The United Kingdom will continue to exist, but not as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It will be the United Kingdom of England and Northern Ireland (poor Wales).

UK will still be a valid term, sadly.

132. CameronB

fairiefromtheearth
    It was a Housing Association that provided me with my first ,safe, stable, fordable accommodation on Edinburgh, since leaving home at 17yr. That was when I was 22 pushing 23.

In between, I experienced ongoing housing insecurity (including sporadic periods of homelessness) because of my limited income, my single-male status, my employment status and a hole host of things. I think the most significant factor though, was the outrages rents, bleeding the public purse in to private hands. I know what goes around and all that but ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

P.S. I hope you didn’t think I was pointing at you.

P.P.S. In the interim, I also experienced a life changing event that made me look very closely at QUALITY, VALUE and LOVE.

SORRY FOR SHOUTING (snigger).

133. CameronB

I almost forgot, my last period of ACTUAL homelessness, lasted about 14 months, after which I was offered a flat and told that I was a very lucky boy, that they had decided to take a chance on me. This was perhaps three, four, maybe five years after my accident, I think…….. I didn’t know I was brain damaged until I was told about a year after a work induced breakdown in my late thirties.

And I was the boss. 🙂

Personally I think my allocation of a flat may have had something to do with the massive amount of medical points I had organise.

You’ve got to laugh at the clowns though. I warned the HA that they had obtained their Habitation Certificate before completion of the building. The exposed gable end was breeze-block and had not been finished (i.e. not wind and water tight). I think I caught a bit of flack for that but I can’t be sure.;)

Onwards and upwards

Vote YES

134. john king

I watching Alistair Carmicahel talking on the BBC yesterday at the lb dem conference, and he was commenting on a remark made by Nichola Sturgeons comment about how poor a hand the BT lot had and he looked to camera and said ”
    its not a game Nichola”,
    you bet your life its not pal!

135. CameronB

I balanced three part-time jobs during those 14 months.

136. CameronB

I don’t want your pity, I want your controlled furry. Any chance. 🙂

137. CameronB

When I said I didn’t know I was brain damaged, I knew there was was something that wasn’t quite correct. It just didn’t have an official label and I wasn’t aware of hope deep and profound the injury was. My best friend welcomed me back after about a decade. I had managed my aphasia to the point it was no longer socially noticeable. 🙂

138. CameronB

Or will I go back to tunes. 🙂

139. alexicon

Another scaremongering story put to bed.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/scottish-dockyards-to-carry-on-building-warships-even-if-there-is-a-yes-vote-for-independence-9223811.html

@Morag. It sounds as though your undecided voters is looking for an excuse to vote no.

@caz-m. Passed an old guy in the street yesterday wearing a YES badge, not an activist. I am getting the same feeling you are getting, not only because of this.

@Arbroath. Nice one on the banner. As we get closer to the referendum we will all have to do some commando type fly posting like that as sure as hell our Labour controlled councils will do everything in their power to stop us even seeing a St. Andrews cross any where near a polling station.
    If I can make a suggestion?
    We all should prepare by buying sacrificial (St. Andrews flags) bunting etc. and place them in strategic areas in our own local areas closer to the referendum.
    I’m sure the pound shops do a good line???

140. Alba4Eva

Woke up this morning to find the Newsnet Scotland fund for an Academic study into the BBC is only £385 short of its’ £6500 target… go on guys, get this pushed over the finishing line.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/academic-analysis-of-bbc-scotland-referendum-output?show_todos=true

141. CameronB

Ah, the early shift. Get stuck in guys. 🙂

Major, “Shavers Weekly”,eh? Every get to any of their PUBLIC ‘parties’?

142. Juteman

“I don’t know this Rev Campbell chappie, beyond a few desultory emails. But he seems to be a bit of a rebel, a buccaneer and a brigand who’s got far too much to say for himself. He doesn’t retreat and gets into fights with everyone. Newspapers used to be like that too. I like his style”
    Brilliant. 🙂

143. JLT

Morning folks!

I see Better Together are now all over the place this morning. I thought they had kind of nipped it in the bud yesterday with ,’No! No …we didn’t say that!’, but from what I’ve seen of the Herald’s headline, it looks like the Coalition partners are now at each others throats.

If BT don’t get a grip of this quickly, then their whole campaign is finished (before it’s even begun! LOL)

This could get quite funny over the next couple of days…

144. James Westland

Love the cartoon. And that dry stane dyke is beautifully drawn as well! Nice attention to detail there!

145. Macart

@Juteman

Cracker isn’t it? 🙂

146. CameronB

I don’t know if I’m going to catch it when he gets up, so I’ll suggest a sub-tital for the cartoon – “Cha Cha Cha in Blues”.

Have fun. 🙂

147. Juteman

@Macart.
    An excellent article. McKenna will get pelters BTL when the brinats wake up. 🙂

148. fairiefromtheearth

CameronB its cool us loons have to stick together but the demand is their for about 20 new towns to be built,so the demand is their what about the meterials yep manpower yep monies well its made out of thin air so yep so why arent these new towns being developed oh and you could even make them eco friendly.but hey that would be progress and we dont want that do we?

149. CameronB

fairiefromtheearth
    Let’s not get rebellious now. 🙂

I think there are others wanting a word.

Peace. 🙂

150. Gavin Barrie (Jammach)

@thepnr

I’m a grown man of 42 and with that diary, you’ve just had me greetin. Sums up perfectly the hopes, aspirations and real life experience of so many of us. We want better. Egalitarianism is deeply rooted in the Scots, I think. “Vote Yes and get rid of the Big Issue”. Wonderful. Thank you.

151. gavin lessells

O/T AYE RIGHT LEAFLETS
    Anyone interested should note orders for next run must be in by first thing monday morning for wednesday delivery.
    Price £66 per 10K

152. Macart

@Juteman

Mind you he’s expecting it. They really don’t like hearing home truths and the stank, much like the currency story, will travel far from the pages of the Guardian. Nice write up though for the Rev, NNS, Bella.

A few of the site’s detractors are gonnae be spinnin’ this morning. 😀

153. alexicon

As for the cartoon above, I don’t know which one to address this to, but!

RUN FOREST RUN!

154. JLT

Thepnr,

Read your diary. Really good stuff! Good work, my man.

After I finished at the University mid afternoon yesterday, I popped round to my parents. Now, as some of you are aware, both my parents are Unionist.

Well …for the first time in 2 years, we sat for 2 hours and talked about the referendum. What startled me was that they had gone from being a straight ‘No’ to a …how can I put it …a very fearful ‘I don’t know what to believe anymore!’.

The things that I told them! They did not know that oil lies underneath the Clyde and the west coast. Their jaws hit the floor when I told them that. As I said to them, ‘dig out the laptop, and look it up! Enter ‘oil in the Clyde’.

I wouldn’t say that I converted them, but I can see the uncertainty in their eyes with the present system.

I think it’s time I raided the Rev’s back catalogue and printed off some of the key information which I will then hand to them.

I’ll round this week off as a good one. Possibly two folk converted at work, and my parents are a step closer to heading in the right direction.

Work, Study, Independence Watching ….it never ends! Never enough time in the day! Anyway …back to the study books again…

155. TheItalianJob

@Thepnr

Excellent.

You seem to work endlessly for the cause and are everywhere. I go into all the newspaper articles and read the comments and invariably you pop up with your bit in a considerable number.

I’m sure your sterling efforts will be rewarded.

156. CameronB

Deary me, whit’s like?

I almost forgot BALANCE. 😉

157. Andrew Morton

@JLT

One of the reasons that I return to this site time after time (apart, obviously, from the Rev’s excellent musings) is your excellent posts. Your story about your parents reflects what so many of are seeing and it’s heartening to hear how even the most died in the wool No people are starting to question their assumptions.

158. caz-m

Alex Salmond on Sky News shortly.

159. Flower of Scotland

That’s a great cartoon and some wonderful comments@Thepnr ,JLT and Macart!
    Thepnrs comment was so good that I laughed and had we tear as well! Things do seem to be going well just now, and my late husband would have been beside himself with pride as he fought for Independence all his life! We don’t have that long to go now but it’s still not in the bag. So onwards and upwards and thanks Rev for giving us a forum to chat on and learn . They are right in the report about Citizen Journalism that it’s really helped this campaign. In fact it’s helped me to keep sane!

160. Papadox

Kevin McKenna in the guardian today: EXCELLENT!

161. Seasick Dave

I love how the guy who leaked the currency information is described as a ‘rogue minister’ for telling the truth!

Fantastic!

If Scotland votes No, we are truly f*****.

162. bookie from hell

Sunday Politics

Independece ref,and BNP talked about on SAME show,I wonder why?

163. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Chris Cairns

Thanks for the weekly cartoons and a chuckle for the rest of the week. I still chuckle when I remember the Gates of Buck House and “god bless’em all.”

Re Cleggie, two thoughts

You could have given them all one robotic face and differentiated them by way of the colour of their vests

or

Just made Clegg a mini-me of Cameron. It was a trick used very effectively to finish off David Steel by Fluck and Law in Spitting Image. He was always portrayed as a tiny puppet in David Owens lap.

Come to think of it, I have never seen any definitive or indeed rememberable cartoon of Cleggie.

Thanks again

164. JLT

Hi Andrew,

Believe me, mate, I try to come to this site at least once a day because there are so many people here who have the same mind set and the same ideals and vision.
    Over the last two years, it has been a pleasure to correspond with people like yourself as well as many of the others. Believe me, there are people on this site who leave me in absolute awe due to their better knowledge of the political system and of visionary ideas or their morally socialist outlook towards their fellow countrymen.
    How the likes of the Rev, Scottish Skier, Ivan McKee, Peter Bell, etc can somehow …meander through the fog of taxation numbers and the monetary figures, which to me, are at times like reading Egyptian hieroglyphics. It is truly astounding. I can only applaud them.

I’m hoping this August at the next rally (or hell …even at the Bannockburn live event in June), that I finally catch up with many of the others who come to this site, and finally meet them. I met so many of the others at the last march, but there were quite a few that I missed (yourself, Taranaich, Doug Daniels, Ivan McKee, Peter Bell …I could go on!).

You only have to look at the headlines today, to see that the opposition are in a right utter mess. This site is brilliant for its positivity and truth. For as long as we get that truth and positivity to everyone we know, then we will win. We may not get everyone, but as Margo said, ‘If we each convert one person, then we are home.’ We are close …very close.

Anyway, mate …have a great day!

165. JLT

Papadox says:

Kevin McKenna in the guardian today: EXCELLENT!

I must admit …that was some piece. Brilliant advert for this site and the Rev. In this last week, this site has been put right out there in the public domain.

Fantastic!

166. caz-m

@Alexicon 8.45am

The naval ships order seems to have slipped off the Project Fear agenda lately.

You have the Secretary of State for Portsmouth. Alastair Carmicheal, still trying to take Scottish shipbuilding jobs away from us and have these ships built in his beloved Portsmouth.

That is not going to happen. This is serious money we are talking about here, and BAE Systems will build these ships where there is a highly skilled workforce, who are experts at building ships.

And that place is Scotland. The Clyde will build the type 26 Frigates and Rosyth will build the other aircraft carrier.

BAE will upgrade the Scotstoun yard, and even if the Govan yard isn’t used for naval ships, in an Independent Scotland, the yard could be utilized to start building commercial ships again.

Guys like Carmicheal are not welcome in a new forward looking Scottish government.

Link to BEA Systems report on future of the Clyde.

http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/Britains-Future-Frigates-06268/

167. Macart

@Thepnr

That’s a good un.

Deserves an ATL posting. 🙂

168. Paula Rose

CameronB

St Andrew and the Wollen Mill – class!

169. CameronB

Apologies if I rambled folk, it just I thought I should introduce myself if I want people to believe me.

I’ll resist the obvious. 🙂

As you were.

170. AlexMcI

Just been out at the shops round the corner from me in Hamilton. Someone has put up a big sign on the fence at the roundabout, BBC Scotland distorting the news everyday for you. I had to do a double take and drive back around the roundabout to make sure I hadn’t imagined it.
    We’ll done to who ever it. Looks great.

Just wonder whether it was an other poster on wings, as I’m sure that is just at the end of the street he lives on. Anyway the truth is getting out and seems to be spreading rapidly.

171. Flower of Scotland

That’s it! On Sky news Alex Salmond said “NO DISCUSSION ON NUKES” Now Alistair Carmichael drivelling and now on live air time BBC LYING about what Alex Salmond said on sky news . Oh ! Now we,re winning because we have lots more money than them ! Oh didums! He looking for excuses !

172. Fairliered

Newsnet appeal only £150 short of its target. Who is going to be the contributor that allows them to press the BBC investigation button?

173. Flower of Scotland

Now MY GOD Andrew Neil is talking A Carmichael down . Said he was bleating ! This day gets better and better ! BTW Happy Mothers Day to all us Mums!

174. HandandShrimp

Juteman

I see Niclas did wake up and I’m guessing was unimpressed. He has an antipathy to Wings. Unfortunately the mods got there before I did. I enjoy a Malcolm Tucker moment with my tea and toast.

175. HandandShrimp

On the money thing. Better Together have an issue because a lot of the No vote is sullen. They feel panicked into voting No and people who are panicked are resentful. They are not going to put their hands into their pockets. Better Together like the Tories rely on big business.

176. Craig "the brummie" Fraser

In Reply to o – Findlay Farquaharson says: comment at the start of this article, where he wants the word to describe some-one who fights against their own country as GrahamB says it is Quisling. I would go further and say that the unionist MSM’s are all on the same boat. Quislings the lot of them. More reasons to get out there and make sure that we get a YES vote.

177. CameronB

HandandShrimp
    I you, or anyone you know likes ska, that sak mod box set might be somewhere to try. 😉

Bloody mods. 🙂

178. CameronB

AlexMcI
    Glad to see I hadn’t scared you off. I’m not sure I should say, out loud, what I think is happening, in case it doesn’t happen. 🙂

179. JLT

HandandShrimp

I think you have a point there, mate. Even amongst my Unionists colleagues, or mates …say on Facebook, the reply I always get is, ‘it’s not going to happen. Scotland will not be independent‘.

And yet, when pushed to discuss, they just seem to clam up, pretend to be busy, or just go ‘I’m bored now. It’s just not going to happen!’

Now, I’ll bet that we have all suffered this (and probably on a daily basis), but from what I can see, these people may say ‘No’, but they ain’t doing anything about it.

As you say Hand and Shrimp, these are the sullen ones. They don’t participate in any part of the debate. They don’t get involved. They don’t join forums such as this. They just get on with their lives.

Now, I’m willing to bet that they hate this referendum, and I mean hate it!. It is upsetting their normal lives. It’s an invasion into their own wee bubble world where life just ticks along mundanely.
    And yet they refuse to participate. They make no attempt to try and convert and folk that are voting ‘Yes’. I believe that they are actually fearful, but have convinced themselves that it will all be fine on the day, and that these silly nationalists will come to their senses, and vote ‘No’.

Now …that is never going to happen. That is just pure delusional fantasy.

Now, for Better Together, their campaign actually rides on these people engaging. This is their ‘No’ vote. This is meant to be their ‘own’ people; their voice; their army …but these people will just not engage!
    I think many of them might not even vote because it is such a hassle to their every day lives.

We all know that every ‘Yes’ person is going to vote! Without a shadow of a doubt, it will be close to 100%. The ‘No’ campaign cannot say that. They might be lucky if they get 85% to 90% of the ‘No’ vote turning out.

These people that refused to engage are in for one helluva rude awakening on the 19th if it’s a ‘Yes’ victory …and I’ll say this …they better not bloody sound off at me, for at the end of the day, the fault will lie with themselves for sticking a finger in each ear and going, ‘la la la la la la la la

And they know it!

180. ronnie anderson

Kevin McKenna,s piece in the Guardian

& the REV being a Games Journalist

Aye and is he no Bloody G A M E

One wee guy, on a Computer putting

the British Media to SHAME

Jounalists,TV Presenter’s

now regarded in the same category

as Bankers / Troughfer Politicions.

Good going guy’s to all of you that

posted your comments, on the Gaurdian

comments page.

181. memaw

To all posters:
    I visit Wings everyday as much for the information in the comments as the wonderful articles.

There are some real characters and I hope to meet some of you on the 4th in the Counting House. Keep up the great work, keep on posting. This is how we are going to win.

182. ian foulds

Hope Krackerman and Appleby have calmed down!

K, I am sure was referring to the Politician’s oath of allegiance.

I can understand Appleby’s emotion – since one could consider Q or T being levelled as these people are first and foremost Scots.

However – unlike the other despicable biases we show at times – religion for example – we must curtail that in the new Scotland and start using the two ears, one mouth policy – listen twice as often as you speak.

Focus on getting converts to YES, instead of infighting – wasted energy

Cheers,

Ian

183. AlexMcI

@Cameron B , not at all, I have taken to only posting occasionally on Wings now. This website has plenty of better informed folks than me, I am fighting the fight on the Rangers supporters forums just now, sometimes hard going, but you just never know who will “Follow the Links” lol.
    Anyway good to see your still doing good.

184. lumilumi

@ Thepnr, thanks for the “Diary”, really enjoyed it, and the last entry brought a wee tear in me eye. 🙂

Just recently I’ve been quite busy emailing with a friend. We first met when we both lived in Australia but she’s originally from Argyll and now lives in Cornwall with her Australian husband + kids. We’ve kept in touch all these years through our shared hobby, writing fiction for our own amusement. We’ve been swapping our efforts for years now. She mostly writes chatty, funny, romantic boy-meets-girl type stories. (I write unchatty, brooding boy-meets-girl type stories, must be something in the Scandinavian genes :-D)

About 18 months ago we briefly talked about the Scottish referendum. She doesn’t have a vote but she was interested and I gave her links to WoS and other pro-indy websites.

A couple of days ago I got my friend’s latest boy-meets-girl story.

She’s an enthusiastic Cybernat and he’s a dyed-in-the-wool Labour journalist in the MSM. In the tradition of romantic fiction, they first clash but feel attracted and after several complications get together. She learns to tone down her “cybernattery” and he learns to let go of Labour and be a YES voter. The story ends on 18/19 Sept with them both celebrating a YES victory.

My friend (who doesn’t live in Scotland) had obviously done her cybernat research. The heroine talks about Elmer Fudd (Iain Gray), more pandas than Tory MPs, Rosa Klebb/the Lamentable, JaBa being heckled by Clydeside trade unionists etc. Even the Secretary of State for Portsmouth got a mention!

My friend’s story (all about 80 pages of it!) is a bit Mills&Boon but it’s a fun take on the indy debate and I told her to send it to Women for Indy. Their leadership might be a bit highbrow, but lots of even serious, intelligent, highbrow women like that type of light-hearted, romatic fiction for entertainment. I’m a fucking political anorak and I do!

Oh, and my friend is now a committed YES voter, if she had a vote. She said that you couldn’t make up BT, a campaign as inept as that sounds like fiction.

I wish I could share her story/novella with you all Wingers but she’s a bit shy and hasn’t given me permission.

185. Davy

Handandshrimp & juteman, I noticed you mentioned the name “Niclas” in one of your postings, I am sure that was one of Duncan Hothersall’s cover names.

Just thought I would mention it.

186. Davy

Handandshrimp & juteman, I just checked the comments section of the observer and I would swear that “Niclas” was Dunky Hothersall, same style same bullshit.

187. CameronB

AlexMcI
    Started at an early age.

Joined a Sunday league team and so was the joined to the Scottish Boys Club Association(?) (community drives, charity runs and stuff). My Sunday schooling was in the penalty box. 🙂

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.