Nick Clegg Signs Another Pledge

Posted on September 15, 2014 by

Yeah, again.

nicknick

Do we even need to bother?

1. “The Scottish Parliament is permanent”

A meaningless platitude. As long as Westminster is sovereign, it can choose to close Holyrood down at a moment’s notice any time it likes. No government can bind its successors. Six years from now when Boris Johnson is Prime Minister, do you think he’ll give a toss what Ed Miliband and Nick Clegg said in 2014? Do you think he’ll even remember who they were?

2. “Extensive new powers”

No. Expensive new responsibilities.

3. “Sharing our resources equitably across all four nations”

Which as Scotland currently provides a disproportionate share of the resources, means we’ll have to put even more in and get even less back than we do now. Johann Lamont has already told us (well, she told someone else behind our back) that we’re not getting more money. So we know that any change will be for the worse, and the UK parties all tell us that “a No vote is a vote for change”. You do the maths.

4. Continuation of the Barnett allocation”

You don’t have to change the Barnett Formula to reduce the amount of money it provides Scotland with. You just need to reduce the portion of Scotland’s block grant to which the Formula is applied. If you cut that in half by making Scotland raise the rest itself from taxation, you can keep the Formula exactly the same but slash billions from the actual amount of money it delivers.

5. “How much is spent on the NHS will be a matter for the Scottish Parliament”

Well, yes, in the same way that someone on the minimum wage gets to decide how much they spend on Ferraris. The Scottish Government can ultimately only slice the pie it gets from Westminster. It can’t control the size of that pie.

We already knew that the three UK party leaders thought Scots were idiots. Now, thanks to “The Vow”, we can state without fear of contradiction that the Daily Record thinks its readers are too. The hollow insults “pledged” above – which will actually make Scotland WORSE off – are what they think the people of Scotland can be bribed with. We’d like to have more faith in our countrymen and women than that.

5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 15 09 14 23:03

Nick Clegg Signs Another Pledge | FreeScotland

2. 16 09 14 00:06

Telling Language | katyewingblog

3. 16 09 14 16:25

The Vow Means NOTHING | Michael Greenwell

497 to “Nick Clegg Signs Another Pledge”

1. Seasick Dave

I believe that Parliament is in recess from 11 Sep to 13 Oct so its a snooker on the first red.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/House_of_Commons_Recess_Dates#Recess_Dates:_2014_-_2015_Session

2. James123

Is the DR secretly on our side, recently their front pages have seemed like a laugh out loud parody of BT bullshit. This will do the No campaign more harm than good.

3. Marcia

It reminds me of the tuition fees pledge that the LD’s did before the 2010 UK General Election. They have form.

4. Weedeochandorris

Didnt believe any of that until I saw Clegg’s signature on it 🙂

5. muttley79

A Nick Clegg and David Cameron Pledge?..

6. Croompenstein

Scotland’s Champion! aye right with those 3 jokers on it’s front page with a bit of toilet paper with a vow written on it, I still widnae wipe ma erse wae it

7. Thepnr

Welcome to the mouthpiece of our Imperial Masters. Welcome!

8. Weedeochandorris

Didn’t believe any of that until I saw Clegg’s signature on it :-0

9. Flooplepoop

They’re offering free milk, shouldn’t that be jam?

10. Twenty14

The NHS – go up for a round with £20 and then go back up with £18 – someone’s no getting a pint

11. Grouse Beater

To hell with the lot of them!

12. G H Graham

The only pledge that’s trustworthy is that lemon flavoured bees wax marketed as furniture polish.

13. Paul

Stuart, this article states that it makes promises, surely this is against purdah?

14. ScottieDog

What’s that smell..

15. Michael B

I’m amazed that they still think we’re listening, I have had all the hypocrisy and half truths I can take from this Bitter Together campaign, who now appear to be going with the line “Don’t believe Salmond’s lies… believe ours instead”. Then there’s the likes of the Orange Order calling a peaceful political movement “divisive and evil”, the hypocrisy being that it comes from the worst organised bigoted and intolerant organisation in the UK. I’m switching off to this stuff now, I will be voting Yes on Thursday and no small minded morons will intimidate me into changing that.

16. R Webb

Vow and Clegg.

Mutually exclusive concepts there.

17. Dr JM Mackintosh

Pathetic – what has happened to the purdah?

18. Grouse Beater

Wonderful to see the Fourth Estate practising what it was established to do, give readers an objective view of events.

19. Dan Lee

I said on twitter and i’ll say it again. This pledge is not worth the paper its written in. Utter nonsense from start til finish. Added to the fact that Bob ‘Irish’ Geldof is telling us to vote no, this week is shaping up to be a bruiser.

20. gillie

A vow to continue with a pocket money parliament.

21. biecs

A ‘pledge’ or a ‘campaign pledge’?

22. heedtracker

The best you can say really is that THE VOW would make great loo roll. Is anyone doing that?

23. Findlay Farquaharson

And many more thousands of lost sales since last year. Nae wonder.

24. Big Jock

Murphy on Scotland Tonight only Yes people bully and no campaign are perfect. He can’t handle someone challenging him awe poor wee lamb. He obviously thinks the BBC demo was wrong and we are not allowed to criticise his no media.How dare these rebels challenge the state.

25. Cuilean

One of whom will be the next Prime Minister!? Well we know they don’t mean Clegg! But how are they so sure about the other two? It could be Boris or Farage as the next Prime Minister! But I won’t give a damn as after Thursday, England can vote for the Devil or the Archangel Gabriel, Scotland will be free of all that, at last. Thank Christ Almighty, free at last.

26. alistair

Why is no-one pointing out the there are 591 mps down at Westminster who might have a different point of view !!
    Nothing is guaranteed when they have Farage looking over their shoulder for next Westminster election.
    And then there’s the house of lords to approve any changes. Look at what they did with pairing back the feeble Calman proposals. I haven’t heard anyone from Yes Scotland point out the bleedin obvious…

27. Proud Cybernat

Where’s Farage’s signature?

“Sorry Scotland–but as Farage is our Deputy PM in the new Tory/UKIP coalition, we cannot implement the pledge as Mr Farage was not a signatory to it.”

Or some get-out to that effect.

Nick Clegg and pledges are incompatible. Don’t be fooled Scotland. Remember the broken promises the Tories made in 1979. They have form.

Scotland doesn’t want promises–it needs guarantees. Only a YES victory will guarantee not just ‘some powers’ but ALL powers.

We can and will succeed as one of the most successful countries in the world. Let’s do this. Let’s take control of our own destiny and show the Westminster elite the door.

28. Training Day

Purdah out the window. The Electoral Commision absent. Murphy banging on about intimidation at polling stations. Fears of vote rigging.

That’s democracy in the ‘greatest country in the world’ in 2014.

29. Wee Fred

In complete infringement and total disregard for the Edinburgh Agreement! Clearly not worth the paper that that is written on – are we to assume that these signatures carry the same integrity?

30. Wee Fred

In complete infringement and with total disregard for the Edinburgh Agreement! Clearly not worth the paper that that is written on – are we to assume that these signatures carry the same integrity?

31. Luigi

How offensive is thatSheer and utter desperation.

32. Indy_Scot

That has got to be a vote winner, David Cameron crying crocodile’s tears, and saying, please stay so that me and my Bullingdon Club chums can keep funding our millionaire lifestyle.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullingdon_Club

There is even a photo of Dave, George and Boris.

Can you imagine holding the power to make Scotland a better place for our children in your hands, and giving it back to these people so that they can continue their destruction of our country. No, me neither.

33. Big Del

I will vote YES and get all the power ta!!

34. Marty

Obviously these (ahem) leaders are succumbing to their own fears; don’t submit to yours! On 18 September 2014, let LOVE conquer your fears!

http://18September2014.com

35. Clootie

…I believe that they will deliver change in the event of a NO vote. I am just terrified of what that will mean!

36. James Caithness

This is what Cameron and the westminster lot really think of the Scots

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NthEdcoQ_Hs

37. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

“the vow” anagram “vet how”

38. ronnie anderson

Awe poor Jim Murphy ( without his IrnBru grates ) greeting about they nasty Yes campainers on STV.

39. Big Jock

So we have the record and every other paper coming out for no. Yet we are not allowed to think there is a biased msm. Murphy really is the worst kind of liar. At least if he admitted the msm were all no it would be a start. He is intimidated by yes voters. Yet we have spent the last 2 years having daily diatribe of anti yes crap from BBc and every newspaper and that’s not intimidation of a nation.

40. Auld Rock

Worth remembering that from inception of Calman to implementation will be 8 years when introduced in 2016. Accelerated devolution, pigs will probably fly first.

Auld Rock

41. Training Day

Purdah out the window. The Electoral Commission absent. Murphy banging on about intimidation at polling stations, followed by two pro-union commentators bigging up ‘the vow’. Fears of vote rigging.

That’s democracy in ‘the greatest country in the world’ in 2014.

42. Twenty14

Just remember Guys – Everytime a WBB is received an Angel get’s it’s Wings 🙂

43. liz

No-one will forget Nick Clegg’s signature – promising no increase in tuition fees – well we all know how that panned out – these people are liars.

But please trust me this time – I really mean it.

44. thedogphilosopher

I was really impressed and bowled over by this offer!

One whole litre of milk … FREE? I’ll be having that with my cereal then!

45. Joe

Flooplepoop says:

15 September, 2014 at 10:36 pm

They’re offering free milk, shouldn’t that be jam?

cant put jam on your cereal

46. ronnie anderson

Are we under the DDOS again

47. Colin Church

PURDAH. EC any minute now, just wait, yes sir, just wait, be right up… Anybody?

48. Luigi

Never mind Old Nick (lol), what about David Cameron, who has been misbehaving since he signed the Edinburgh Agreement. And as for the weird looking one who stabbed his brother in the back…..

Yep, I really trust these guys. They are sure to deliver Devo Max.

49. Greannach

Friends in Athlone just phoned to apologise for Sir Bob Geldof. Apparently he’s widely recognised in Ireland as a tit.

50. Big Jock

Murphy thinks Salmond gave us all orders to turn up at BBC. He doesn’t credit us with the intelligence to self organise on the basis of a protest against what is a sham of a national broadcaster.

51. Weedeochandorris

Just watched the paper review on sky. The sneering from the two guys on there is a disgrace, they cannot hide their utter contempt or say anything positive about Scotland.

52. Twenty14

DDOS attack – everyone head for the open

53. liz

@ronnie anderson – i think there are so many of us trying to post at the same time. I posted when it said 4 comments and when my post appeared were at 45!!

The lines must be on fire!

54. MacCruiskeen

While the Three Cheeks suddenly promise “to secure the defence, welfare and prosperity of every citizen”, today’s Guardian reports:

The gap between the super rich and the rest of us is spiralling out of control, with Britain’s 1% grabbing more than their counterparts anywhere else in Europe

http://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/sep/15/how-super-rich-got-richer-10-shocking-facts-inequality

Another Scotland is possible. Another England too, of course. Another world, no less. Let’s make a start.

55. Lesley-Anne

ronnie anderson says:

Are we under the DDOS again

Funny I was thinking something similar Ronnie. Computer almost went for a flying lesson. 😛

56. Dave Beveridge

I hope nobody who believes that sh*te ever gets an email from a Nigerian businessman.

57. Stewart fae stoney

Did David Cameron not say a few years back that you only have 2 choices YES or no, max devo is not an option, bet he regrets that now

58. Big Jock

Geldoff said the Irish were conned by nationalism. I wonder if he would like to take a trip back home and tell the Irish they should rejoin the empire. The guy has chosen to ignore the violent oppressive past that Eire suffered as a colonial state. He must have become a hard line Brit.

59. Big Red

Free milk and jam tomorrow all in one edition. Eh thanks but no thanks – I’m still YES

60. Kiereann

Ooooo – Free milk !!!
    Thatcher wouldn’t approve

61. Natasha

@Flooplepoop

Surely they’re offering us the free milk to make up for Maggie Thatcher Milk Snatcher?

62. Flower of Scotland

Purdah! Purdah! I emailed the Electoral Commission about the misuse of Purdah. Not even had an electronic receipt of e mail from the Electoral Commission!

63. Robert Peffers

None of these pledges will, or can be, guaranteed by either the ones making their pledges nor by any future governments of the United Kingdom. Both the present pledgers and the Westminster parties have form in such adverse actions. In the first place nothing those leaders promise will pass the 533 English, 40 Welsh and 18 N. Irish members in the house of Commons. Even if by some strange event, like a London Earthquake hitting everyone but the SNP and Plaid Cymru members and the bill getting through to the Lords the chances of their Lordship passing the promises are nil.

Some MPs and Lords have already said they will vote against ANY new powers for Scotland.

64. Jim

These cunts boil my piss. That’s all I can say!

65. Ian Brotherhood

The Eurthymics, ‘Would I Lie To You?’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uhpu2N4rQZM

66. Paula

I like to think that’s Cameron’s O-face on there.

67. Hopper69

Last throw of the dice by desperate people.

68. Harry McAye

Yep, that should clinch it. Well done Daily Record.

69. Stewart fae stoney

The only thing that’s worth noting on that page is the offer of free milk

70. Big Jock

Come on jam would be a good start. I don’t even think they can agree on Strawberry or Raspberry! Lol

71. Graham

It’s aspirational. (nice word that allows you to make all sorts of promises while having your fingers crossed behind your back)

Last time I heard that one was when I tried to get the bastards to settle up 33 days of overtime.

I’ll gi ye aspirational. Aspire to a big fat YES.

72. galamcennalath

Why order mince when there’s fillet already on the table?

73. Caledonia

Could someone tell me who controls purdah and how it works and what is it

74. Jim

Luigi says:
    And as for the weird looking one who stabbed his brother in the back.
    ___
    You mean the one that looks like he could eat an apple through a letterbox?

75. Seepy

What, no room for Christpher Chope M.P. On there? You know, the one who asked whether the UK parliament had agreed to any more devolved powers for Scotland, getting Hague to confirm that any such offers were campaigning tactics, rather than actual statements of government policy.

Mind you, that was last week, us Scots all have the attention spans of – oh look, a squirrel

76. Mealer

Go on YouTube and search for “David Cameron seat of pants”.Its a short clip.The reaction from the whole House of Commons shows they think Scotland is a joke.

77. Jim

Are they taking the piss with the free milk advert, remembering it was Thatcher that took that away from the Schoolkids? Am I being paranoid?

78. gillie

The rumour is that David Cameron has had a Lord Coe moment.

79. BuckieBraes

Not that this ‘Vow’ really means anything anyway; but why didn’t they declare it in the first week of the campaign instead of the last?

Well, I think we all know the answer to that.

80. muttley79

I think we should all just ignore Jim Murphy. He is a talentless politician. Murphy has always been a smear merchant, he is a one trick pony. The Murph is a snide bully. He accuses his opponents of the exact things he himself his guilty of. Murphy has no vision, no principles, no discernible political talent whatsoever. Can anyone seriously think this guy has the ability to develop policies and ideas of his own? Murphy practises the politics of the gutter. Lets leave him there.

81. James Donaldson

How ironic beside the free milk ad,billions for nukes but free milk in school gone,another one we can thank maggie for.anyway,how nick clegg still has the brass neck to sign anything just goes to show how stupid they think we all are.scotlands awake Westminster.

82. Calum Craig

“No government can bind *it’s* successors”

its…

Sorry, couldn’t resist.

83. Jim

@Seepy

Eat your cereal!

84. Alison

Question: Now that Westminster MPs have consensus & signed this Vow, does this not mean they have in fact broken the rules in the Edinburgh agreement?

85. BigSteveChisholm

All that AND a free litre of milk.

You know – for your cereal.

86. Robert Peffers

@ScottieDog says: 15 September, 2014 at 10:38 pm:

“What’s that smell..”

It wisna me – I think it’s Stinky the Bush Kangaroo!

Oh! Wait a minute – that’s the wrong fictitious programme.

87. BrianW

PISH…

Bit late after folk have already completed a postal vote eh? Can they come out with all these empty promises this close to polling day? What is that purdah thing about again?

Piss Poor Promises, from Piss Poor Parliamentarians

Will we have any future claims against the Daily Record when it all goes tits up, and they break these promises (which they will..) We’ve all been here before. Are the Daily Record TOO stupid to realise that.

This is not some playground decision we are making, and for the Daily Record to print what ever shite it wants because it’s trying to prove some petty little school boy point to the SNP, and stick in with Labour.

Scotland’s Champion. Well you’ve just Championed a kick in Scotland’s Stomach as far as I’m concerned.

88. Murray McCallum

“That’s all folks!”

That would seem to be it. After two years that is it on the Daily Record. No widespread support among MPs in the House of Commons. Senior members of the UK government saying the exact opposite.

A pathetic joke.

89. Grizzle McPuss

This is our punishment for aspiring to be independent and in the process obviously causing Phones4You to go out of business.

90. Jim

Promises not worth the toilet paper they were written on, just say to yourself, “Fuck them”, and move on.

91. heedtracker

Cameron said he would be the greenest Tory ever and then said kick out this green crap, after they lost the election but still took power. Even neo fascists at the Daily Heil picked them up that whopper

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2510936/Cut-green-c-p-Camerons-private-view-energy-taxation-horrify-environmental-campaigners.html

92. Ian Brotherhood

@Caledonia –

My understanding of ‘purdah’ is not perfect, but I think it alludes to part of the Edinburgh Agreement where a date was fixed (mid-August?) after which neither side could announce any ‘new’ policies.

Gary Robertson almost jumped down Alex Salmond’s throat week before last when he made some comment which could’ve been construed as reference to a ‘new’ policy, but AS batted it away nae probs.

This pish from The Three Hamshankers is not so easily dismissed – they’re out of order, big-time.

93. X_Sticks

The squealing reaches a crescendo.

So after all the sneering, jeering and general denigration of Scots and Scotland the penny has dropped that WE have the power to end it all on Thursday. The panic is palpable.

I’m almost enjoying it.

94. Grizzle McPuss

Pardon me…Phones4U

95. tombee

Nantom says,

“Nick Clegg makes another pledge”.

Can he be trusted this Time?.

Tell you what, Let’s ask the students.

96. Stevie boy

My first thought.. F*ckin desperate or what!

If any undecided voter was wondering if Scotland could financially make it ourselves I think this desperate plea proves we can easily.. or why else would they be crawling!

On a good note.. I am feeling less nervous about vote rigging. I mean would they look this pathetic if they had planned to rig the result!

No thank you.. we will take all the powers thanks!!!

What must rUK be thinking? Do u think the penny will drop with them that Scotland IS a wealthy country after all!

97. Arel

Noticed that since the polls tightened considerably the bulk of their BTL comments are very much anti-indy,Salmond SNP.

Obviously far too many Yes supporters telling them where they can stick their chip wrapper and been blocked. DR staff obviously filling the void.

I really detest that rag and can’t believe I used to buy it up until about 6 months ago.

98. heedtracker

The phoney tory LibDems certainly changed the lives of a lot of people by reneging on almost everything people voted them in for, but Nick’s so sorry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUDjRZ30SNo

99. Big Jock

And do you know what it will make victory even sweeter. One Sunday newspaper out of 27 supporting yes. Our national broadcaster colluding with the Tories and CBI. Daily attacks from every MP at Westminster. And still we won. How incredible will this be.

100. JimnArlene

I wouldn’t believe any of them, even if it was a suicide note.
    No wait, that’s what it is.

101. Jim

I will never buy another daily record ever again or the sun which blows with the wind anyway, not to be trusted.

102. The Morgatron

The Lie,
    That should be the headline.
    Devo Max more like Devo Shaft. Bastards the lot of them.

103. arthur thomson

It was the lies supported by the Daily Record that convinced me to support Scottish self government 50 years ago. They haven’t changed. Torags.

104. George Quin

FIR SORRY FOR THE CAPS BUT…

I recently complained via emial to the elecotral commission on the blatant breach of purdah over the rbs scandal with leaking of market sensitive info the responce was as follows

Thank you for your e-mail.

The Electoral Commission is responsible for regulating campaign spending and donations. The Scottish Independence Referendum Act 2013 (the Act) places no restrictions on what any campaigner can say or produce at any time during the referendum campaign as long as they stay within the spending limits that have been set by the Scottish Parliament and follow the guidance that we have issued.

The Commission has no powers to regulate the activities of either the Scottish or the UK Governments. However, Schedule 4, para 26(2) places restrictions on certain Scottish public bodies publishing material related to the referendum in the 28 days before the poll. The UK Government are not bound by the Act but have undertaken to adhere to the same restrictions.

You can find a factsheet that we have produced on the public bodies and referendum material here http://www.electoralcommission.org.uk/__data/assets/pdf_file/0003/164433/ep-ris-public-bodies-referendum.pdf. This includes the contact details you need with regard to any concerns you may have about the activities of either the Scottish Government (cabinet_secretariat@scotland.gsi.gov.uk) or the UK Government (Propriety&ethicsteam@cabinet-office.gsi.gov.uk).

I hope this response is helpful.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Webb
    Public Information Support
    The Electoral Commission
    Tel: 029 2034 6811
    http://www.electoralcommission.org.uk

So what exactly is it that the Electoral Commission does if it cant guarantee the fairness of the referendum how can we trust that there will not be elecetoral fraud.

One more thing is the rumour about new rules regarding the use of pens to mark the yes or no box does using pen invalidate them i have a postal vote that im planning on handing in personally as the EC states that i can unless they chanhed that rule as well i hope its just a rumour as i marked mine with pen as pencil seem to easy to change.

105. Castle Rock

Hahahaha Nick Clegg signing a pledge!!!

The Imperial Masters have raised the white flag, we’ve won!

106. Stevie boy

Anyway folks, the Daily Record only gets about 204,000 readers and they have already been brain washed into voting No so it won’t make a blind bit of difference lol.

Hope even they see it for the pathetic pish it is!

107. one less day

It wouldn’t surprise me if we see Dave on his knees with clasped hands before Thursday. Desperation doesn’t cover it

108. Jim

Newsflash, you are getting no more powers other than those which will remove money from the block grant we get so no real gain. You all know the only way to secure real power is to vote YES and I think a majority will come September the 18th.

109. stewart bc

Nick Robinson on BBC News tonight speaking about David Cameron, Ed Milliband and Nick Clegg

“What I find as I’m close to these leaders in recent days is … the closer you get to them … the more you can almost smell the anxiety.”

110. heedtracker

“Im sorry Im sorry Im so so sorry, Scotland, it was a pledge made with the best of intentions but we shouldn’t have made promises we were able to keep, Im sorry Im sorry Im so so sorry, better luck next time eh jock:D

111. Albert Herring

“I don’t even think they can agree on Strawberry or Raspberry!”

It’s neither.

It’s rhubarb.

112. Thepnr

Newsnight fae the ferry! It’s the lonely BT women from Baxter Park back in the spring talking up the union LOLOL

113. Jim

stewart bc says:
    Nick Robinson on BBC News tonight speaking about David Cameron, Ed Milliband and Nick Clegg

“What I find as I’m close to these leaders in recent days is … the closer you get to them … the more you can almost smell the anxiety.”
    ____
    I think Nick will find that it’s shit he is smelling!

114. Stevie boy

George Quinn

I know mate. WTF is the point in the Electoral Commission?

They would have been better paying The Chuckle Brothers to oversee it!!

Great Britain is one great big joke.. let’s leave it behind!!

115. Castle Rock

See that Nick Clegg, top bloke.

Hahahahaha Ah ma sides

116. wee folding bike

@Robert Peffers 2304 hrs

Kangaroos can’t fart.

117. Bob Sinclair

Cracking event in Shawlands tonight. Just a big friendly gathering at Queens Park with the Spirit of Independence & lots of live music including Citizen Smith.

Amongst the upbeat Yes crowd all wearing their yes badges & chatting with each other & generally having a great time were 3 characters, 2 men, 1 woman on the periphery who kept themselves to themselves, didn’t mix, and were heard asking questions about when a certain MSP was expected to arrive (something which was potentially going to happen but which very few people knew). They clocked immediately that they’d been spotted. After that they moved down the street out of sight of the crowd but not far away. When politely asked if they were here to support YES they were less than convincing so were told that if they were ‘undercover’ then they weren’t very good at their job. With that they vanished like snow off a dyke.

without wanting to sound paranoid I have no doubt they were either there to start trouble or they were there in an ‘official’ capacity.

118. A.N.Surgent

The welfare of every citizen obviously doesn`t extend to those using FOOD BANKS. What next military action.

These people are bad for your health, literally.

119. Grouse Beater

Kevin Bridges earnestly going around Scotia asking locals what they feel about The Vote.

The BBC sent him in because he has an accent that won’t make the natives suspicious.

Collect your spear and grass skirt from wardrobe, Kevin.

It’s reminiscent of Billy Connolly chosen to tell us about a ‘History of Scottish Art’ while the actual historian who wrote it, well qualified to narrate such a programme, got sidelined because he isn’t a stand up comedian.

Everything is made mediocre.

I can hear the producer now…

It’s safe for viewers to have a good laugh, Kevin, because once you move onto the next joke they won’t remember the last. It keeps them from thinking about the Referendum. Know what I mean? And by the way, Kev- you don’t mind me calling you Kev, Sunshine? – we really like your idea for a comedy series. But let’s get the ‘Independence Laughter Show’ – great title, eh? – in the can first. And don’t forget to include two negatives for every positive in it.

120. Ian Brotherhood

I’ll wager that Nick Clegg has a big box of that old brown-edged raggedy paper, and uses it for everything:

“When I next go to M&S I pledge to buy:

wee cocktail sausages.

Signed, sincerely,

N Clegg”

121. Robert Peffers

Only one logical thing needs be said about this whole matter.

There are only two possible answers on the referendum paper and those are either YES for Full Independence and NO for Westminster to do exactly as it sees fit.

There is no choice of Devolved powers on the paper and the reason their is no choice of Devolved powers is because the Westminster parties insisted it would not be included.

The day they announced they had successfully had the devo question removed from the paper I predicted that, before the campaign was over, the main offers on the table would be offers of devolved powers. Now I’m going to say – I told you so and, particularly if you posted on the Herald, I also told you why.

“And so it came to pass”.

122. Capella

They mean that most sincerely folks!
    Even the BBC doesn’t believe them judging by the liberal use of quotations e.g. “extensive new powers”.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29213418
    The pictures of the Referendum Live tweets on the same page don’t show many people in Trafalgar Square. Bob Geldof looks positively demented. at 20.44

123. Stevie boy

Jim

Quoting what Stewart bc said.

To quote a Meatloaf song.. ‘You took the words right out of my mouth’ 🙂

124. heedtracker

I delivered my postal myself today to Aberdeen Town House, Broad street at 5pm. So i go in the sliding door and ask the man at the desk where you actually post the ballot envelope and he points behind him at a black plastic bucket on the deck by the main stairs.

So that was it, you can see in this plastic box and its sealed by a plastic numbered tag and i wanted a bit more than that but just because you’re paranoid etc.

Maybe they take this box and lock it away somewhere safe after closing time but Aberdeen City Council are ferocious unionists to the point where no Scotland flag flies over any Aberdeen City Council building anywhere.

Don’t have nightmares. If they get caught at it, they’ll need a lot more than BettertogetherBBC to shriek stop intimidating us, evil and cruel separatists.

125. Leap of faith

Can’t wait to see how the papers will spin their front pages the day after a Yes win – be a bit of a shocker!

Oh, how to save face…and their readership circulation…

126. Caledonia

If that shower told me it was Monday
    I would go look at the calendar

Also as soon as golden nuts said no it was all over the media
    Nothing about the brave girl who climbed the castle rock

127. Jim

Stevie boy says:
    Jim
    Quoting what Stewart bc said.
    To quote a Meatloaf song.. ‘You took the words right out of my mouth’
    ___
    Aye, Scottish Independence, the greatest laxative known to Westminster!

128. Sinky

Kirsty Wark hosting No Scotland jamboree on BBC Newsnight.

I’m sure Tuesday’s programme will redress the balance.

129. Stevie boy

Leap of Faith

Yep and how is Jackie Bird, Sarah Smith and the rest of the BBC cronies gonna look.. trying to look happy and excited after Yes has won.. knowing that most of Scotland de spices them for trying to take it away from us.

130. Caledonia

@heedtracker so whats to stop them opening the box and putting another tag on it

131. Dougie

Lesson from history
    Front page has Tories and free milk
    How much of a warning from the past do you want?

132. Castle Rock

Seriously, who came up with the idea to get Nick Clegg to sign it? I mean, it’s the kiss of death, surely they must know that?

Friday 19 September 2014 at 8.00am

BBC interviewer: “Now that Scotland has voted for independence, what was the main thing that persuaded you to vote Yes”

Punter: “Nick Clegg”

133. CameronB Brodie

We agree that the UK exists to ensure opportunities and security for all by sharing our resources equitably across all four nations to secure the defence, prosperity and welfare of every citizen.

Lol! Wait a minute, that smells a bit “One Nation Britain”, or like English Socialism, or Oligarchical Collectivism. I’m sure you know what else it smells like. 😉

Social mobility ‘still a problem in UK’, says Cameron
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-24936416

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/elitist-britain-report-published

http://www.parliament.uk/business/publications/research/key-issues-for-the-new-parliament/social-reform/social-mobility/

http://www.equalitytrust.org.uk/research/social-mobility

Social mobility in Britain: low and falling
    Jo Blanden, Paul Gregg and Stephen Machin
    http://cep.lse.ac.uk/pubs/download/CP172.pdf

http://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2012/may/22/social-mobility-data-charts

134. Capella

@George Quin 11.13
    I’m certain my postal ballot form stated that you should use a black pen. Unfortunately, I posted it before the “Pledge was published.

135. IcySpark

They can promise all they want, the Tory backbenchers will block it

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=592543857520831

136. donna

Wednesday: Glasgow George Square 4 PM, Edinburgh princes St gardens/ Scott monument from 4 PM. Last push and show of support for saying yes to an independent Scotland
    Please share with yes friends however you can and let’s have a great turnout showing our confidence in saying yes yes yes!!!

137. Murray McCallum

“I pledge to keep the price of all items in a pound shop at, or under, a pound.”

What other pledges could we not trust Nick Clegg with?

138. Jim

Nick Robinson: “Politics like anything else, when you do it for a while you get accustomed to the smell…. A bit like working in a sewer – the smell of shit becomes normal”!

139. Marcia

The No camp went into panic mode last week and still in a panic. Was it a coincidence that was when the postal vote verification process started?

140. Stevie boy

The tide has turned true fellow Scots!!

I thought all this pathetic grovelling and us sitting laughing at them would have happened after Friday.. wasn’t expecting it 3 days earlier!!

It’s good us Scots watching the Establishment on its knees for a change instead of the other way round.

I’m loving it.

141. bugsbunny

I spoke to a young checkout operator at my local Sainsbury’s and he said he’s a no, and all his young friends 17 to 20 were yes’s and went around damaging cars with no thanks on them. I replied if that was even remotely true, it would be splattered all over the media. He went red in the face, caught bonnie.

I just purchased a Wee Blue Book from Amazon for a penny along with a number of magazines.

The Daily Retard and it’s promises. My skid marked underpants would stand a better chance of upholding an election pledge than those keech reeking turds. I’ve got two words to say about those arsehole’s and their promises. The first word is SHITE, and the second word is SHITE.

Stephen.

142. Cadogan Enright

watched BBC1 news and BBC2 Newsnight tonight and (cringeingly) watched both including the ill informed Kirsty Wark yet again go on about Sterling and the damage to financial services in Scotland. Questions put to Alex Salmond as if the question had not been answered by both he and Darling previously. Clearly BBC researchers on the show still not up to speed after 18 months or more.

They let Cameron off the hook by not asking him how the Isle of Man gets on with its hugely successful financial services industry (36% of GDP) outside the Sterling area, but using Sterling, and ditto Jersey and Guersey.
    No question about the UK’s 4.4% trade deficit, or request to compare Scotlands balance of payments surplus.

The section on research and life sciences were just as bad.

Naturally I phoned the BBC complaints line and complained about both points, got a reference and was assured of a response within 10 days.

I also said I wont be paying my TV licence from now on

143. Jim

The no camp are fucked, all I saw in Inverness today was one old guy walking up and down the street with a placard on a stick and a young girl with a bunch of no balloons.
    If that is indicative of the rest of Scotland, well, they are fucked!

144. free

“In a statement to the press, Mr Clegg said:”

“I want to make it absolutely clear that the pledges we are pledging before the next election in May 2015 will not be broken – unlike the previous pledges we pledged would not be broken before the last election. That is because the pledges we broke after the last election were pledges we didn’t pledge we wouldn’t break before the last election, unlike the present pledges which we can categorically pledge are pledges which we are pledging will not be broken either before or after the election. That is something I can categorically pledge will not happen. Probably.“

http://tompride.wordpress.com/2014/07/29/lib-dems-deny-wedge-in-unhedged-pledge-to-keep-pledge-not-to-hedge-pledges/

145. dadsarmy

It appears Danny Alexander does the photos for the Daily Record as, while it’s just one litre free, he has doubled that and put two in the picture. Nice one Danny, surprised you didn’t put 12 litres in.

146. Albaman

I feel another Nick Clegg type “I’m sorry” song coming on, only this time involving the other two leaders, ( can we squeeze G Brown in as well?)

147. Cadogan Enright

BBC complaints number 03700100222 option 1 then 3

Be polite to them as its not their fault

148. Caledonia

@marcia has the postal vote been counted as i was lead to believe it gets counted same time as polling station ones

149. Training Day

Bridges pitching for a career in England with conditioned punters helpless in the face of their imperial masters.

Cringeworthy pish an’ rat Kevin.

150. Jim

As a friend says, “comeon, vote for Independence it cannae mak ye pregnant”!

151. Onwards

Part 1 of THE PLEDGE: “..extensive new powers..”

Translation: Limited powers over income tax that can never be used without making Scotland poorer.

Part 2 of THE PLEDGE: “..sharing our resources equitably..”

Translation: Westminster shall continue to suck in Scottish offshore revenues.

Part 3 of THE PLEDGE: “..continuation of the Barnett allocation..”

Translation: Watered down each year because of increased privatisation, and London-centric spending judged exempt because it is of national importance ..

If we want real powers, we need to TAKE them.

152. Jim

Caledonia says:
    @marcia has the postal vote been counted as i was lead to believe it gets counted same time as polling station ones
    __
    Is the result of the postal vote so far known to certain people? Just wondered how it worked?

153. Jean-Loup

Does the free milk come with cereal?

154. bugsbunny

Jim @11.36. Were those No Balloons Alistair Darling, Blair MacDougal, George Galloway, Ed Milliband, Nick Clegg and David Cameron? Oh and Jabba the Hut and Ruth Davidson?

Stephen.

155. Jim

Jean-Loup says:
    Does the free milk come with cereal?
    __
    Nah, unfortunately you will have to eat your cereal with a glass of water.

156. heedtracker

@ Caledonia, I don’t know. I just kept telling myself we just have to trust people with this ballot if only because its too late now.

Every ballot is bar coded so every box seal tag is presumably also coded but if that box was messed with, whoever it is messing with it will need a relatively sophisticated equipment.

In past cases, ballot boxes from specific areas with specific known results have simply disappeared. This is reported to have happened in Fife.

157. Lesley-Anne

Do we get to choose what cereal we have with this free milk or are we limited to Corn Flakes? 😛

158. fred blogger

that’ll do ukip’s election chances a favour.
    so it won’t go anywhere.

159. stewart bc

On the BBC Papers Review Clive Myrie looks almost relieved to have two commentators who are reasonably well-informed and have some ability to string a few intelligent thoughts together.

Bring back Penny Smith!

160. Marcia

Caledonia

None of the postal votes have been counted yet just the verification process. Different councils have their own processes.

161. Bill Halliday

Tory MP Christopher Chope has told BBC Radio4 there will be no new powers for Scotland. He says there is more than enough backbench support to block it.

162. FatCandy

It turns out the Westminster party leaders can agree on the colour of shite. Who’d ‘ave guessed?!

163. CameronB Brodie

Someone has to give them a Larry, Curly and Moe re-touch. Please. 🙂

164. Murray McCallum

Let’s all vow that when we come to agree a written constitution for an independent Scotland that it’s a lot more inspiring than what is on the front page of the Daily Record.

We can do better.

165. Lesley-Anne

stewart bc says:

On the BBC Papers Review Clive Myrie looks almost relieved to have two commentators who are reasonably well-informed and have some ability to string a few intelligent thoughts together.

Bring back Penny Smith!

I heave it on good authority 😉 Stewart that she and her side kick are booked to do the Friday night papers review! 😛

166. Jim

bugsbunny says:
    Jim @11.36. Were those No Balloons Alistair Darling, Blair MacDougal, George Galloway, Ed Milliband, Nick Clegg and David Cameron? Oh and Jabba the Hut and Ruth Davidson?

Stephen.
    ____
    I really felt sorry for the wee lassie with the balloons but the old guy was marching up and down the street like a trooper, even posed for a photograph. lol

167. cockney lad

Sweet Jesu, please don’t tell me Scotland will fall for a renovated cell instead of Her release day. I love this place, my kids are born here but I’m off if the only thing coming is more liblabcon.

168. Caledonia

Its a shame really that any paper is biased for any side

I actually like the daily record but because of this will not be buying it again
    Bet they report that golden balls is for no but they do not mention a brave girl who climbed edinburgh castle rock with breathing aparatus

169. Jim

@Lesley-Anne says:
    Do we get to choose what cereal we have with this free milk or are we limited to Corn Flakes? 😛
    ____
    I would give you a choice of cereal but you are a woman so, eat your cereal, whatever it is!

170. Hopper69

Michelle moan still doesn’t know that we are going to use the pound as our currency.FFS.If she is that stupid I can see her business going tits up soon.

171. Caledonia

Great pun there hooper69

172. Bob Malcolm

Given that the horrendous National Debt is likely to put the UK economy back into recession in the not too distant future, how can we believe any pledges these three make, even if we believed they meant it.

173. Onwards

Pathetic – what has happened to the purdah?

Doesn’t apply, as there are no new powers offered.

It’s just the same old useless promises, dressed up as something new to fool people.

There are no powers to compete.

It is sophistry of the finest order.

Trying to fool people with a last minute deal – pretending Westminster has granted Scotland a big old bribe.

Of course it helps, when you have a willing press going on about ‘Devo-Max’ when it is nothing of the sort.

Any decent media would treat this with the contempt it deserves.

174. Lesley-Anne

Sorry for going O/T but I wonder if this could be the guy from the Treasury who had a wee *ahem* chat with the press regarding the RBS move of headquarters that allegedly caused the sharp change in share prices last Monday.

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/9749-uks-most-senior-civil-servant-urged-businesses-to-come-out-against-independence-says-ft-editor

175. Indigo

Has the new Yew Choob video been linked to on here yet? It’s the final one, heroes *sob*

Our kids with the Wings banner at the BBC protest on the same screen as the Wee Ginger Dug, Stu, Yes Shetland’s cat Buster, and many more – followed by screen after screen after screen of Yes heroes

We are, all of us, heroes – emotional stuff x

176. Natasha

Grouse Beater says:

15 September, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Kevin Bridges earnestly going around Scotia asking locals what they feel about The Vote.

Couldn’t agree more. If he had any bottle (as Tommy Sheridan put it on the Sunday Politics show) he would have come out and said how he’s voting; same for Susan Calman. Moral cowards, the pair of them.

Btw, can anyone tell me how you get your text to come up in italics? I can only manage capitals.

177. bugsbunny

Jim,

I remember when I was 11 away back in 1979, going from car to car getting Red Balloons, Blue Balloons, Yellow Balloons and whatever colour the Liberals were. Plus stickers as well. If she’s younger than that, she will not know much about what’s going on. Her presumed Grandfather would probably have cheered on the OO last weekend. Sound’s like an old bigot. I’ve had plenty of experience over the years. They think they are the font of all knowledge when it comes to politics, religion, jobs, education, lifestyle ect ect.

Old aresholes every one of them.

Stephen.

178. Alistair Grapevine

Mirror man & the man from the Scotsman on the sky news papers review,
    From there downbeat demeanour must know something we know,
    A YES victory on the cards.

179. Grouse Beater

Natasha:@ Moral cowards, the pair of them.

Referendum? It’s all show business, folks!

Italics – place lower case i between left pointing v (bottom of keyboard) at start of word or sentence, and then same again at the end but place a right leaning slash before the i. Hope that makes sense. I’ll try it here but expect it won’t show:

180. Grouse Beater

Natasha: That’s a lower case i between left pointing v and a right pointing v.

181. A.N.Surgent

99% of people who comment on this sight are solid YES the other 1% are trolls and the like, but there are people who visit this site and dont comment. Maybe undecideds or even soft no`s.

I say to them, time and time again westminister have reneged on the Edinburgh agreement on purdah, what makes you think that they will keep this vow. Its worth less than the rag its written on.

Vote YES, do the right thing for all your people and your country.

182. CameronB Brodie

BBC Radio $ News.

First headline – Three Stooges and their impassioned last ditch appeal.

They didn’t even wait for the first bong to finish. The first time I have ever heard that. Something must be going on. 😉

183. James123

Talking of comedians I just wanna give a shout out to Limmy and Frankie Boyle who has been very active on their twitter accounts promoting Yes.

184. Jim

bugsbunny says:
    Jim,
    I remember when I was 11 away back in 1979, going from car to car getting Red Balloons, Blue Balloons, Yellow Balloons and whatever colour the Liberals were. Plus stickers as well. If she’s younger than that, she will not know much about what’s going on. Her presumed Grandfather would probably have cheered on the OO last weekend. Sound’s like an old bigot. I’ve had plenty of experience over the years. They think they are the font of all knowledge when it comes to politics, religion, jobs, education, lifestyle ect ect.

Old aresholes every one of them.

Stephen.
    ___
    I would have put her about 11 or 12 right enough so malleable enough at that age. The Grandfather as I assume that was his role was typical, smart blue suit, striped shirt, blue tie, course grey tache, pro union badges, straight back, stiff upper lip.

185. call me dave

@Grouse Beater

Still don’t get it but..here goes <iitalics/i<

186. cynicalHighlander

@Natasha

*i*insert text*/i* replace * as shown in instr above comment box.

187. Flower of Scotland

Kevin Bridges is a YES!

188. Bill Halliday

The same Cameron who according to the FT has had Sir Jeremy Heywood badgering Banks and Business to speak out. Old rude saying that covers these liers:-“The Cheque is in the Post and I promise I won’t **** ** **** *****”.

189. Lesley-Anne

Natasha to get italics type before what you want to be italicised. At the end of what you want italicised type the same again but remember to to type “/” between “<" and the i.

The same works for bolding, only replace the "i's" with "b's." 😉

190. scunner

@jim 11.36 Edinburgh Middle Meadow Walk had a solitary BT table half way up. Around half a dozen supporters total – BBC News site put a photo of them on yesterday’s “Scottish independence: Campaign leaders stress vote will stand” article.

What they didn’t show was the 1,500+ Yessers filling the rest of the walk – top to bottom, instead showing the backs of around 20.

Nice balanced coverage then. Lying by omission. At least both photos were from the same place this time!

191. fred blogger

it won’t break purdah, as it offers nothing and nothing new.
    it is the equivalent of being offered a bucket of steam in the desert.
    they won’t offer anything real, because it will upset many, and give ukip a field day.

192. Yesitis

It`s an amusing front cover. Desperately amusing.

Very Daily Record.
    You can almost smell the deceit.

193. Natasha

@Grouse Beater

do you mean like this?

Thanks!!

194. Grouse Beater

Three Stooges and their impassioned last ditch appeal.

They don’t appeal to me.

It’s a rerun of successful tactics employed at the end of the Quebec referendum; at the eleventh hour Yes looks as if its winning, send in the love troops and make promises you’ll never keep, and watch the tide of history turn back.

The big difference for us is, Quebec separatists gave us good advice based on their experience – ‘never let the opposition dictate the topic or agenda’ – and we have the social network well mastered keeping well-informed, united, and ahead of shills, manipulators and liars.

Wings is a perfect example of a platform the Establishment cannot control.

195. Big Jock

Well done Michael Stewart destroyed Brian GB Whittle on radio Scotland. If anyone is in any doubt where Rangers supporting Lindsay Sharps allegiances lie. Go and look at her twitter page emblazoned with a massive Union flag. Poor lass apparently she will opt for team GB as Scotland is useless and has no facilities. Sounds like a good case for independence then. I often wondered where all that London Olympics money went. keep up the good work linsey best of British.

196. Hopper69

Don’t quote me but pretty sure Kevin came out for yes a while ago.

197. Lesley-Anne

Oops that didn’t work very well did it. DOH! 😛

Let’s try again.

Natasha type “” before what you want italicised, without the exclamation marks obviously. Type “” at the end. The same works for bolding just replave “i” with “b”. 😛

198. call me dave

Aye right! 🙂

I’m not genetically programmed to use technology.

How did Trafalgar square go?

199. Jim

scunner says:
    16 September, 2014 at 12:07 am

@jim 11.36 Edinburgh Middle Meadow Walk had a solitary BT table half way up. Around half a dozen supporters total – BBC News site put a photo of them on yesterday’s “Scottish independence: Campaign leaders stress vote will stand” article.

What they didn’t show was the 1,500+ Yessers filling the rest of the walk – top to bottom, instead showing the backs of around 20.

Nice balanced coverage then. Lying by omission. At least both photos were from the same place this time!
    _____
    Inverness was awash with YES supporters, people shopping with their YES badges pinned to their coats, the same in Tain.
    The no campaigners were conspicuous by their absence in Tain and in the case of Inverness, one man and his Grand daughter.

200. Lesley-Anne

Geez, that post was even worse than the previous one! 😛

201. Macnakamura

Cameron should have taken inspiration from Geldof of live aid day,
    ” just gives us your effin money”

202. Grouse Beater

Kevin Bridges is a YES!

He took the BBC’s shilling and totally trivialised the subject. Conducting it at his level isn’t an intellectual xercise. The end result isn’t any different from all the other vacuous celebrities that have taken a weekend all-expenses trip to check out the natives, Janet Street-Porter …. oh forget it.

We need real experts to investigate and analise.

203. Jim

Lesley-Anne says:
    Geez, that post was even worse than the previous one! 😛
    ___
    Eat your cereal. 🙂

204. Jim McIntosh

@natasha – you use html text formatting:

See http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_formatting.asp for examples.

205. Lesley-Anne

I’m sure I heard the same thing Hooper. 😉

206. Natasha

And thanks everyone else too; I didn’t see your posts until mine went up, as I was busy getting to grips with my keyboard!

Flower of Scotland I had heard that Kevin Bridges is Yes, but if so, why doesn’t he come out and say so? I don’t trust people that aren’t prepared to stand up and be counted; I’ve been shot at my whole life for sticking my head above the parapet, and if you put yourself in the public eye then you have to be prepared to put your money where your mouth is. Looks to me like his mouth is where the money is.

207. Robert Peffers

@Lesley-Anne says: 15 September, 2014 at 11:43 pm:

“Do we get to choose what cereal we have with this free milk or are we limited to Corn Flakes?”

Well, Lesley-Anne, I believe there is Hobson’s choice and it is All Bran – (you know that one famous for keeping you going), this might explain the vague stories of being able to smell Err! Err! (ahem), Fear? issuing from the close vicinity of Better Together hecht heid ains.

It’s now wee sma hours so I’ll get my jammas. Night all!

Oh! Before I go I had a wee thought about the BT fear fest about a divided nation caused by the YES campaign. Now correct me if I’m wrong but I remember all the political set-ups since the end of WWII and it used to be divided along the lines of Tory vs Labour and after we had NuLabour it became SNP vs NuLabour. So just why would WWIII break out in Scotland after the referendum?

208. Grouse Beater

Natasha: I don’t trust people that aren’t prepared to stand up and be counted

Seconded.

209. Lesley-Anne

I will Jim, I will but I don’t know what cereal I’m allowed to have. I’m not genetically programmed, apparently, to be able to make such a high level decision! 😛

210. Bill Halliday

I was in South East Quebec for a few hours last week. Spoke to one lady about their referendum(s)and she said, very sadly, that perhaps they were not ready. Then she added they had learned from the mistakes, vis Shell etc wrecking the place extracting Shale Oil, and wouldn’t be fooled next time.

211. scunner

Talking front covers, Anyone see the cover of the Scotsman today? Pinched the copy from my work foyer – won’t be buying that rag again.

Purporting to show an aerial shot of 5000+ BT campaigners at the Grange Club in Edinburgh, I thought to myself “no way there are 5K in that pic”, lucky if there’s even half that.

A simple search and surprise surprise the capacity of the venue is 5K. They think we are idiots.

Silent majority I heard someone say. Total BS I said.

212. call me dave

@Jim McIntosh

Coo! Thanks Jim that’s interesting I’ll practise a bit.

213. Lesley-Anne

THanks for sorting me out on the *ahem* cereal front Robert. I could do with a good *cough* clearance. 😉

214. jeremy the lawyer

I see auntie been is at it again

News interviewing better together “campaigner” cat headly.

Out of curiosity I googled the name and put in the word labour after it and lo and behold, find out she is a labour parliamentary candidate.

This journalism stuff is easy

215. Big Jock

Same here Natasha. Before independence was fashionable. I always let people no I was SNP. I have been in the party since age 18 22 years ago. Christ I have taken some flak over those years!

216. Robert Peffers

@FatCandy says: 15 September, 2014 at 11:46 pm:

“It turns out the Westminster party leaders can agree on the colour of shite. Who’d ‘ave guessed?!”

Wee quickie reply here – Yep! that’s about right – promise anything but by the time we get it it will have turned to shite.

217. bugsbunny

SIR Bob Geldorf and Billy Connolly, Susan Boyle and Billy McNeil all Scottish Unionists. Wonder what their stance is on Ireland?

Is Susan Calman related to that cunt that commissioned the Calman Report?

Stephen.

218. Big Jock

The silent majority so silent they are invisible to the naked eye!

219. Stevie boy

I would have been worried previously by this plea from the 3 stooges incase folk believed it but as Alex Salmond rightly said that Cameron and Miliband are the least trusted leaders EVER (minus 110 I believe).

It’s great eh. None of them promised us f*ck all for decades and as we are days away from leaving they are suddenly offering the world (well a bit) and everything will get better. Oh right we had to wait til we had almost left before they realised they had to make ‘improvements’.

As the old woman character from Chewin’ the fat said (sniff sniff) ‘yes.. I can definately smell shite’.

220. liz

@Grouse Beater – different people are converted by different approaches.

Kevin Bridges has a large following and whilst we might disagree with his way of doing things, not everyone is interested in detailed analysis and some will go with gut feeling.

Every vote counts.

221. Jim

Robert Peffers says:
    Wee quickie reply here – Yep! that’s about right – promise anything but by the time we get it it will have turned to shite.
    __
    If it looks like a turd and smells like a turd the chances are, it’s a turd. A highly polished turd but a turd none the less.

222. Lesley-Anne

I think I remember reading something quite a while ago bugsbunny that he is her father. In fact according to Wiki this is indeed the case. 😉

223. Cag-does-thinking

I do expect the Daily Record’s front page on Wednesday to be
    We’ll give you ANYTHING (48 point type)…. complete with four page pull out Union Jack flag.

224. Big Jock

Bugs I mentioned before that the Orange Order had finally nailed it for some Celtic supporting no Catholics I know. Nothing I could do to change them and then the Orange order did it for me. I am sure there are plenty of others like that. As for the ones you mention file under hypocrite with Galloway and Murphy. By the way I hear that Held off despises the country he came from as some monk bullied him at school or something.Erse!

225. Big Jock

That was Geldolf!

226. Stair

Caledonia.

For ‘purdah’ see Clause 29 of the Memorandum of Agreement between the UK and Scottish Governments (the Edinburgh Agreement). It refers to the application of the purdah rules in section 125 of the Politucal Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 – UK statute. These documents are both available online.

227. Jim

@Lesley-Anne says:
    I think I remember reading something quite a while ago bugsbunny that he is her father. In fact according to Wiki this is indeed the case. 😉
    __
    Is this old guy and his Grand Daughter or Daughter famous?
    If I had known that I would have asked for an autograph.

228. Natasha

@Big Jock

Stop showing off how young you are! Wish I was only 18 22 years ago.:-)

229. Fiona

What new powers have they all agreed on? Why is that not spelled out? Why does it not say that the lords won’t pass them and the rUK MP’s won’t pass them? None of the three of them are actually in charge of their party, so useless are they.

I honestly do not think this does anything but confirm that rUK needs Scotland but Scotland does not need rUK

Oh, and the people at PQ explained what cereal we will be eating: it will be cheerios

230. Big Jock

Aye Kevin’s alright but it would be nice to have formal support.

231. Natasha

Why didn’t my smiley face come up with a nice wee picture? Do I have to put a space before it? I hate technology.

232. Jim

Big Jock says:
    By the way I hear that Held off despises the country he came from as some monk bullied him at school or something.Erse!
    __
    As a semi-famous youtuber asked, “Has he ever had his ballot box stuffed”?

233. call me dave

More UK pressure on Scottish business.

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/9749-uks-most-senior-civil-servant-urged-businesses-to-come-out-against-independence-says-ft-editor

@bugsbunny

Sir Kenneth is her dad.

PS: Cogrove thing on last thread you wanted to hear.

234. David Stevenson

Bob Sinclair: I assume it was Citizen Smart rather than Wolfie Smith at Queens Park tonight?

235. Big Jock

Make it 24 maths was never my strong point. Lol.

236. James123

@Natasha – When I first read it I thought Big Jock said “I have been in the party since 1822”!

237. Stevie boy

I wonder what the Daily Records sister paper the ‘English’ Daily Mail’s front cover is?

Remember last week when Cameron was up and the Scottish Daily Mail said that Cameron didn’t want us to rip appart the country.. while the English version said ‘We should tell the Scots to shove off’.

So what do you think? I’m sure it will be something as equally complimentary. Yeah right!!

238. Flower of Scotland

@natasha

Kevin Bridges HAS come out as YES!

He did a Referendum show for YES at the Festival with Frankie Boyle

For goodness sake folks is it nerves! Don’t start attacking the YES people!

239. thedogphilosopher

Can I suggest that we take advantage of the free litre of milk offer? The Record costs 55p, so if you get a carton of milk that should easily cover the expense (depending on which supermarket chain has the offer!).

More importantly, I would suggest storing this copy in a nice safe place. Whichever way the wind blows on Thursday, we can then look back and remind ourselves who vowed what exactly, and who supported that vow on their front page two days before a supposedly democratic referendum. This may then provide us with hours of light relief in the weeks and months to come.

A wee minding!

240. Harry Shanks

Bugs bunny – it’s not helpful calling people “cunts” but, yes, it’s her father. I think he’s the only one ( apart from her BBC sponsor) who finds Susan Calman in any way talented

241. Jim

That old saying guys and gals, we have nothing to fear but fear itself.

242. Macnakamura

jeremy the lawyer says:
    16 September, 2014 at 12:20 am
    I see auntie been is at it again

News interviewing better together “campaigner” cat headly.
    :::::::::::::::::::::

‘Disgusted’ Would-Be MSP Quits Labour

JUN
    2014 Wednesday 25TH posted by Morning Star in Britain
    A WOULD-BE Labour MSP quit said he was quitting the party yesterday over his “disgust” at “discriminatory” candidate selection methods.
    Retired police inspector and equalities campaigners Tom McInally claimed ethnic minority candidates were being sidelined by nepotism and a “pairing” policy that means a woman candidate must be selected for every seat contested by a man.
    Mr McInally said he had decided to quit after two male ethnic minority candidates were sidelined for the Edinburgh West constituency in favour of solicitor Cat Headley because Blair Heary, an aide to Scottish Labour leader Joann Lamont, was chosen for Edinburgh Pentlands.
    “At that selection meeting the other night there there was only one woman, which means that she was guaranteed to be selected,” he said.
    “She is competent, but you could have a total incompetent idiot standing and she would be guaranteed a seat.”

243. call me dave

Events dear boy events! BBC to rescue ‘better together’??

Scottish independence: NHS in Scotland ‘faces £400m funding gap’

By Eleanor Bradford
    BBC Scotland Health Correspondent

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-29213416

244. Derek M

wow free milk how generous ,free jam tomorrow as well now that aint no good so i have to buy the bread ,and anyway they have been promising me jam for ages im still waiting which has made me really mad i think i will vote yes so cram yer jam where the sun dont shine its probably made from rotten fruit and will taste really bad.
    They are in full panic mode we have em on the run roll on Thursday 🙂

245. Democracy Reborn

Tories’ Broken Pledge 1979 referendum:-

Alec Douglas Home assures Scots “better” devolution would come if we voted No.

Outcome : nothing (other than 18 years of Thatcherism).

Cameron’s Broken Pledges:-

1. “We have absolutely no plans to raise VAT.”

VAT raised from 17.5% to 20% in Osborne’s first budget.

2. Child benefit : “I wouldn’t means-test it.”

Child benefit abolished for higher earners & frozen for 3 years.

3. No cuts to front line services : 5870 NHS nurses, 7698 hospital beds, a third of ambulance stations, 5362 firefighters, 6800 frontline police officers….all cut.

4.NHS : “no more top down reorganisations”

Cameron goes on to lead the biggest top-down re-organisation in NHS history. Privatisation proceeds apace.

5. Future Jobs fund : “no plans to change”

Fund abolished 24 May 2010.

6. Osborne on bank bonuses (pre-2010 election) :”totally unacceptable”

As Chancellor – Osborne takes legal action against EU Commission over its plans to cap payments.

7. Education Maintenance Allowances : “we don’t have any plans to get rid of them” (January 2010)

Allowances abolished 9 months later.

Clegg:-

SIGNS a pledge before 2010 GE to vote against any increase in tuition fees.

Post-election, votes with Tories to increase fees to £9000 per annum.

But of course with this latest ‘pledge’, Cameron, Clegg & Milliband are tellig the truth…aren’t they?

246. Lesley-Anne

Well Jim, how shall I put this?

Apparently Susan Calman qualified as a lawyer and spent three months in the USA working with criminals on death row. She later gave up her job at Dundas and Wilson working as a specialist in freedom of information and data protection and would you believe she is now a comedian? No neither would I but apparently according to Wiki she is a comedian!

As for her father, well what can I say? Referring to my oracle that knows everything 😉 Wiki, he was the chairman of that well publicised commission that was set up by the frantic unionist parties after the SNP first got into power in 2007.

So it looks like Calman Jnr learnt all of her comedic skills from Calman Snr. 😛

247. Bill Halliday

Aye Big Jock, the ‘Silent Majority’, afraid of being bullied when in reality they are a bunch of “I’m all right Jacks” who are content with Food Banks and 1 in 5 kids in ‘relative’ poverty who are afraid to be seen in their true colours.

248. Natasha

@James 123 How am I supposed to have the willpower to turn off my computer and go to bed when you make comments like that?

Welcome back Stair, but leave my CameronB Brodie alone, okay? 🙂

@Flower of Scotland I saw that show, and he didn’t really come out on either side, just took the p*ss out of everyone, which is what I love most about the people of this country. I don’t want to get in an argument with you about it, though; let’s just agree to disagree. 🙂

249. Natasha

Hooray! The space bar thingy worked!

250. Lesley-Anne

Natasha, when you put up smiley thingys always make sure you leave a space before and after each smiley otherwise it will not appear as a smiley. 😉

251. mr thms

#call me dave says:

Events dear boy events! BBC to rescue ‘better together’??

…………………………………………………

The BBC don’t get it.

Party politics is for General Elections.

This campaign is about Independence

252. Jim

Lesley-Anne says:
    Well Jim, how shall I put this?
    Apparently Susan Calman qualified as a lawyer and spent three months in the USA working with criminals on death row. She later gave up her job at Dundas and Wilson working as a specialist in freedom of information and data protection and would you believe she is now a comedian? No neither would I but apparently according to Wiki she is a comedian!
    As for her father, well what can I say? Referring to my oracle that knows everything 😉 Wiki, he was the chairman of that well publicised commission that was set up by the frantic unionist parties after the SNP first got into power in 2007.
    So it looks like Calman Jnr learnt all of her comedic skills from Calman Snr. 😛
    ___
    Well she didn’t make me laugh but rather feel pity for her.

253. Lesley-Anne

Not you too Jim, but, but, but, I am assured by the BBC that she really IS a comedian! Honest. 🙂 I mean the BBC would NEVER lie about something like that, would they? 😉

254. JWil

The picture of these three on the bottom of the declaration should be like a red rag to bull in Scotland.

Superman, Batman and Robin.

More dissing on Newsnight from the Spanish Foreign Minister on Scotland’s membership of the EU.

Even more dissing of the Independence campaign from Kirsty Wark on just about every topic except staying with the union.

And a big surprise: Michelle Mone declared herself as a YES voter (but only for half a second). What’s she like? (shakes head).

255. Hopper69

Just listened toI Iain Martin slavering pish for Scotland.Loves Scotland so much he lives in London and bemoans not getting a vote.Havering on about the debate being terribly violent despite being told about the police commending it as being good natured.

256. Lesley-Anne

And a big surprise: Michelle Mone declared herself as a YES voter (but only for half a second). What’s she like? (shakes head).

WHIT?

Does that mean that she is a concerned UNDECIDED voter now JWil? 😉

You mean that she will now NOT be leading the convoy leaving Scotland on Friday? 😛

257. Molly

Re Jim Murphy claiming on Scotland Tonight he doesn’t disbelieve that Independence supporters can organise a protest .

This is the same Yes supporters who have organised fundraisers for hundreds of thousands of pounds, supported films, plays, rallies, posters, debates , fliers, t shirts, jewellery, bags, bands, blogs , competitions AND a welcoming committee ( complete with rickshaw) to welcome his Labour colleagues up for a day trip from Westminster.

Could he insult a good proportion of the electorate any more?

King Creosote ( who sadly is supposed to be a No) has a song called Paupers Dough.The chorus is rapidly turning into the anthem for too many of these politicians.

It goes ‘ you’ve got to rise , above the gutter you are inside – repeat, repeat, repeat!

258. Jim

Lesley-Anne says:
    Not you too Jim, but, but, but, I am assured by the BBC that she really IS a comedian! Honest. 🙂 I mean the BBC would NEVER lie about something like that, would they? 😉
    ____
    It’s those puppy dog eyes I tell ye, I would have even given her my last yes badge but now I realise I have been had. She was playing me like a well worn fiddle my emotions used and tossed away like a shitey cloot.

259. Natasha

I’m feeling guilty now, because I seem to have triggered a general rant about Susan Calman, and actually I find her quite funny. But I still think she should come off the fence either way. Maybe I should just go to bed. Two more sleeps to go, Alex! 🙂

260. ronnie anderson

I hope now that we’re in the last few days be on our guard for the Falce Flag brigade.

261. thedogphilosopher

@ jeremy the lawyer

Cat Headly was the one sat next to Dugdale at that meeting with Nicola, where they struggled to justify placing Scotland below Pakistan in terms of GDP. In Irvine?

She too is a lawyer!

262. Lesley-Anne

Aye well he is right Hooper there has been some violence. I mean there was the old man right at the start who was attacked by woman because he supported YES. Then we had the Hearts and Falkirk fans for YES who were assaulted by unionists last week. There again I don’t know if you know about the pregnant woman who was kicked in the stomach by the union supporter in Glasgow last week. Off course you are well aware, aren’t you of the YES shop in Edinburgh that had all its windows daubed with swastikas and “Nazi” slogans. Finally, I’m sure it was you yourself 😉 who only earlier tonight told us all about the YES supporting gent who left the concert in Edinburgh last night and was assaulted.

263. Jim

Natasha says:
    I’m feeling guilty now, because I seem to have triggered a general rant about Susan Calman, and actually I find her quite funny. But I still think she should come off the fence either way. Maybe I should just go to bed. Two more sleeps to go, Alex! 🙂

__
    Aye well she didnae play with your emotions. Making me laugh at her jokes, not because I thought she was funny but those puppy dog eyes, those god damn eeeeeeeeeyes!!!

264. Flower of Scotland

I have a competition with myself as to how much sneering I can take from SKY news journalists on the papers review! Tonight must have been one of the worst! Bitterness oozed out of their pores! Macwhirter was on. They sneered at him too!

I hope they are still laughing on sept 19th! Or maybe not!

265. Flower of Scotland

Calman is a no! Definite NO!

266. Stevie boy

Hopper69

Just watched that as well.

How come the No side genuinely seem to believe that it’s the Yesser’s that are the nasty aggressive ones?!?

I was in Glasgow on Saturday with my family and had two No campaigners follow me up Sauchiehall street being aggressive and looking to start something. I just walked on and shrugged it off.

Think they are getting this from big girls blouse Jim Murphy. Honestly that man is just a wee pussy. If the wind suddenly changed it would blow him over. Does anyone know him from when he was a kid at school? Was he the one that was always getting bullied and picked on by bigger boys because they widnae let him play fitba!!

Whit a bloody woose!!!

Haw Jim.. grow a pair!!

267. Lesley-Anne

Apparently she has that sort affect on folks Jim. 😉

Don’t worry about it Natasha we all screw up from time to time. 😛 I must admit it though you must one of the few who actually find her funny but hey ho. We won’t hold that against you. 😀

268. jeremy the lawyer

@thedogphilosopher

If my job has taught me anything (and that is debateable), it’s that lawyers know nothing but can say it very loudly and confidently.

Unfortunately for too many, oratory skills do not always a coherent argument make

269. CameronB Brodie

Stevie boy
    Chewin’ the fat said (sniff sniff)

The apparently ambitious Slabour appeachick who lied to my face earlier this evening, didn’t spot that I was doing exactly that as she spoke (still with straight face). I’m not sure she made the connection. 🙂

270. Jim

Lesley-Anne says:
    Apparently she has that sort affect on folks Jim. 😉
    __
    Can I keep her, can I, Can I?

271. Natasha

@Flower of Scotland

Is she really? How do you know? (I’m not being sarky, it’s a genuine question).

Btw, Stevie Boy, I have no time for Jim Murphy, but I know a 16 year old who has been unable to go to school for three years due to severe and sustained bullying which has left him clinically depressed and a suicide risk. I don’t want to lose my sense of humour here, but schoolyard bullying is real and it does ruin lives.

272. Malcolm

Jam and free milk? Looks like a pile o mince coming from 3 mealie puddins.

273. G. Campbell

The top story on the BBC News Scotland page right now:

Pro-Union leaders in powers pledge*

“The leaders of the three main parties at Westminster have signed a pledge to devolve more powers to Scotland, if Scots reject independence.

The pledge, which appears on the front of the Daily Record newspaper, has been signed by David Cameron, Ed Miliband and Nick Clegg.”

The next top story:

Scottish independence: NHS in Scotland ‘faces £400m funding gap’

“By Eleanor Bradford**

Confidential papers passed to the BBC suggest a radical cost-saving plan will be implemented in the Scottish NHS after the referendum.

The papers were passed to the BBC and the Herald by a senior NHS whistleblower, who said they had become frustrated by the argument of the “Yes” campaign that biggest threat to the NHS comes from the UK government.”

* BBC Scotland has led with a “more powers” headline for 4 out of the past 10 days.

** Bet that surprised you.

274. Clarinda

Mr Murphy on Scotland Tonight barely able to compose himself – red face, jumpy, stuttering, interrupting and making ridiculous and malicious accusations – even for him – apparently Mr Salmond organised “hundreds” of YES supporters to turn up at his ‘farewell tours'(my words) and drown out the poor wee soul. I think Fiona Hyslop’s aside to the effect that he should be so lucky to have 100 people turn to any of his hustings put even more puce on his puss. Odious man.

275. Jim

6 years ago:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ii7tLV0ctTk
    4 years ago:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j810A_wQu2w

Get some new material sweety!

276. Stevie boy

CameronB Brodie

Haha. There are lots of phrases and things I’ll take from this campaign..

The sniff sniff (I can smell shite)
    Intellectually bankrupt
    Shut it.. and eat your cereal (my whole family say that now)

I’m sure there are loads more that have escaped me at the minute. 🙂

277. CameronB Brodie

Jim
    If it looks like a turd and smells like a turd the chances are, it’s a turd. A highly polished turd but a turd none the less.

Sorry I have to disagree. The No Better Together Thanks organisation has spent lots of money to prove YOU CAN’T POLISH A TURD. Have you been out of the country or is this a personal taste thing? 🙂

278. Jim

Stevie boy says:
    16 September, 2014 at 1:09 am

CameronB Brodie

Haha. There are lots of phrases and things I’ll take from this campaign..

The sniff sniff (I can smell shite)
    Intellectually bankrupt
    Shut it.. and eat your cereal (my whole family say that now)

I’m sure there are loads more that have escaped me at the minute. 🙂
    ____
    Dad can I have a rabbit?
    Sorry babe but I am not genetically programmed to make that decision so shut up and eat your cereal.

279. Hopper69

thanks for the update.Missed a lot due to my daughters wedding and my brothers heart attack.(one way or another it’s been hectic).Not me who reported the assault on the gent leaving the concert.First person to get my posting name correct gets a thumbs up.

280. Stevie boy

Natasha

Sorry I wasn’t meaning genuine school yard bullying, or any bullying come to mention it. I had my share of it as well if I’m honest.

I was meaning Jim (as he is) blaming bullying on the fact he couldn’t get his way.. just like now.

281. Capella

@G Campbell
    Just read Eleanor Bradford’s umpteenth scare story about NHS and it turns out to be another non-event. Some “whistleblower” leaks papers from a meeting. What on earth will Eleanor do with herself after Thursday?

282. Jim

Susan Calman, get some material:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2CGFDJ3sk0

283. bugsbunny

Nobody as yet, has mentioned the very obvious Elephant in the room? JACKIE BAILLIE. Boom, Boom.

I’ll get my coat.

Actually pj’s.

Stephen.

284. Lesley-Anne

I’m beginning to get seriously worried about you Jim. I mean you REALLY want to keep her? You’ll need to make sure all her vaccinations are up to date mind. 😉

285. bugsbunny

Leslie-Anne,

What would Jim need to feed a pet Susan Calman?

What about regurgitated propaganda, followed by a dose of reality, but only after 6am(ish) on Friday 19th September.

Stephen.

286. Jim

Lesley-Anne says:
    I’m beginning to get seriously worried about you Jim. I mean you REALLY want to keep her? You’ll need to make sure all her vaccinations are up to date mind. 😉
    ___
    I will Lesley, and, I have just purchased a flea collar.
    I think I may hug her and Kiss her and call her George! 🙂

287. thedogphilosopher

@ jeremy the lawyer

Sorry it wasn’t a dig, thought the name might be ironic in some way … Needless to say, I am neither a dog nor a philosopher …

288. goldenayr

Stevie boy

First apologies.

Second.

Nothing.

289. Lesley-Anne

Sorry Hopper I was trying, and failing spectacularly 😉 , to be a wee bit sarcastic about you mentioning the guy being assaulted. I knew it wasn’t you, just trying to add a bit of light to a very serious collection of assaults. Note to self sarcasm/humour does not always travel well over the internet. 😛

Nice to see our pet scare story heroine, Eleanor Bradford, is still at it with just days to go. I wonder if she has ever apologised for this yet, probably not!

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/9574-bbc-scotland-reporter-accused-of-using-bogus-figures-in-nhs-scare-story

290. thedogphilosopher

@ Hopper69

Thumb please! (Cue: bbc sitcom canned laughter)

291. Kenny

Dave is a vindictive type who cares nothing for the rule of law. I think he will illegally release a poll on the morning of the ballot saying “No vote on 60%”, certainly by a wide margin. He will do it in England, so it can be said that it is outwith Scotland. And the media will slavishly report it………

292. goldenayr

Capella

What JaBa does with her every night.

Uses her as a neglige.

“There’s nothing as satisfying as the soft caress of a paid for neophyte.”

So JaBa says.

293. Lesley-Anne

I was wondering Jim, that video of our wee *ahem* treasure wasn’t taken during a family night in by any chance?

I think any propaganda that we feed her bugs will have to be drip fed, I’m not sure she could take too much reality at one time.

Aye well I think George sounds like a good name Jim. 😛

294. Jim

Checkout operator in Inverness today refused to serve a customer because he was being a total merchant banker.
    He said, “You lot will soon change your tune when you lose the vote”.
    She said and I quote, “I am not serving you because you are being an arsehole, If you want I can call a manager who will eject you from the store, your vote”.

Exit left, one perplexed arsehole.

295. Jim

Lesley-Anne says:
    16 September, 2014 at 1:31 am

I was wondering Jim, that video of our wee *ahem* treasure wasn’t taken during a family night in by any chance?

I think any propaganda that we feed her bugs will have to be drip fed, I’m not sure she could take too much reality at one time.

Aye well I think George sounds like a good name Jim. 😛
    ___
    Here’s a joke for her, “I have nothing against lesbians, Pause …….., Unfortunately.
    See, I could write her material for her.

296. scunner

Wow, the Groundskeeper Willie video has been viewed 3 million times in 3 days.
    8,800 comments displaying a high percentage of ignorance being battled valiantly by a small body of Yessers.

297. Jim

I love how she says, “some women hide their food”.
    If I was in the audience I would, just as she was getting to the punchline, shout, “Didn’t you hide it in the washing machine 6 years ago”?
    I know, I know, it would come across as heckling and being in general, nasty, but, I could help her evolve her material.

298. bugsbunny

Jim,

Talking of Lesbians,

Why did George Galloway of RESPECT Party, (haha lol), have a go at wee Patrick Harvie who was sitting next to Nicola Sturgeon, By saying, “Now Ladies”, (Having a go at his Sexuality), when he was sitting next to Ruth Davidson? Patrick or Nicola could have answered back, “Now Gentlemen, this isn’t a pissing up the wall competition”.

Ruthie would have bet Georgie Boy hands down as she’s got the biggest balls, (and by implication, cock).

Stephen.

299. Jim

Did you hear the one about the Orcadian who got arrested because he said he had a peedy file in his garden shed? 🙂

300. Jim

bugsbunny says:
    16 September, 2014 at 1:45 am

Jim,

Talking of Lesbians,

Why did George Galloway of RESPECT Party, (haha lol), have a go at wee Patrick Harvie who was sitting next to Nicola Sturgeon, By saying, “Now Ladies”, (Having a go at his Sexuality), when he was sitting next to Ruth Davidson? Patrick or Nicola could have answered back, “Now Gentlemen, this isn’t a pissing up the wall competition”.

Ruthie would have bet Georgie Boy hands down as she’s got the biggest balls, (and by implication, cock).

Stephen.
    __
    Whois that, the George Galloway that said the UK together fought Hitler and Fascism all on it’s own in the last battle of Britain. The guy is a selective racist and a total cunt face.

301. Lesley-Anne

To be honest Jim I really do feel that someone should think about having her called up under trade descriptions act. 😛

On another matter.

Here is a map of Scotland showing the expected timings of the results and which way they are expected to go.

http://vis.oobrien.com/indyref/

https://twitter.com/Greetinfaced1/status/510557183046860800/photo/1

302. bugsbunny

Jim,

Naw, I wouldn’t say Cunt Face. Fanny Face maybe? Or is that wee Ruthie after a good night in? lol.

Stephen.

303. Mo

OMG just watched Cameron….. He does not want the people of Scotland to to be sold a dream……
    Does he not realize Scotland is not dreaming, it’s wide awake !
    Expat working hard to convert “no” relatives ! Three down, one to go !

304. Jim

@Lesley-Anne
    Here is a map of Scotland showing the expected timings of the results and which way they are expected to go.
    __
    Has Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross been excluded? 🙂

305. Jim

Maybe they will send some mercenaries to answer the question of, “Is there life North of Inverness”

306. Lesley-Anne

I really don’t have a answer for you on that one Jim. The map does appear to show 32 council’s, unless I’ve counted one council twice. Highly possible knowing me. 😛

307. Calgacus

Rev.Stu is being praised to the high heavens on marksimonfrankland.blogspot.co.uk ????

308. Calgacus

Rev.Stu is being praised to the high heavens on http://www.marksimonfrankland.blogspot.co.uk ????

309. Lesley-Anne

What can I say Calcagus other than praise where is undoubtedly due. Stu has been a legend in all of our lifetimes. As Mark points out would we really be on the verge of reversing history on Thursday WITHOUT Stu? 😛

310. Faltdubh

Western Isles should be a 9 on the Yes scale. It’ll be a Yes fae Na h-Eileanan.

311. thoughtsofascot

I just came across something that would be hilarious if it wasn’t so sickening.

Been arguing on facebook with an old university friend who dropped out after 2 years to work for a security company. He’s been all over the place on the issues, but seems to be an ardent Britnat, and has been in pretty poor taste about the whole thing (Example: Getting a white paper and then taking a literal dump on it and posting the pictures on his facebook. pretty god damn disgusting behaviour for anything. I’d even slap down people who did that to Better Togethers crap because its so purile and uncivilized. That is the kind of people we are dealing with here though. I digress, as this was not the point I wanted to talk about).
    Anyway, we had a few hours long argument over the site a few days ago stemming from the photo of people in Buchanan street. he seemed convinced that there were only a few hundred yes supporters, even though in all pictures show people for as far as you can see. In his view they were mainly “Shoppers.” Britnat bubble syndrome in a nutshell. A terminal case.
    He then quoted the telegraph today comparing the YES campaign to the war in Iraq (lol) and was full of conviction that this was the case. He had already been beaten down by some of his friends for that stupidity, but undeterred he launched into claims that Scotland would suffer because oil prices are falling! Completely dismissing the actual reasons behind it, which are temporary (completely ignoring demand and supply!) and then said he was voting no because the Tories are keeping his taxes the same and increasing his allowance, while he believed that an independent Scotland would raise taxes. The stupidity, it hurts! Britnats like him are obviously clueless about regressive taxes and think the only thing they pay is income tax. They don’t actually realise that taxes have *increased* under the Tories, thanks to the 2.5% VAT increase they championed.

Anyway, the sickening comment was from his missus, who said things are better under the Tories because more people are forced off of benefits have to work. Que Braincell Genocide. These people… it disgusts me.

In their world, that soldier who died from diabetes because of his benefit cuts deserved it. Its atrocious that people could even think like that.

312. thoughtsofascot

I would also like to point out that he might seem like an ardant Orangeman from my post, because that’s generally how they behave, but this guy is a catholic Celtic(not that it means anything) nut. Completely on the opposite end of the spectrum from the typical orangeman, but so similar in behavior.

313. thoughtsofascot

*ardent.

314. Kevin Evans

Yes for me.

But am sick of the bullying from msm.

Even news night show that no thanks banner sprayed with “("Tractor" - Ed) watch” on it.

315. Suzanne

Never mind the fact that the Tories have vowed to stop any further devolved powers for Scotland. This “Vow” holds about as much water as a string bag. It’s cynical and deceitful.

316. macart763m

Scotland’s champion.

Utter bullshit.

There isn’t a title on these islands which champions the people in any way shape or form referendum or not. Absolutely guaranteed there isn’t a title which represents the views of those members of the electorate who support Scottish independence with one notable exception.

The Record like all commercial entities represents itself and the interests of political patronage end of. We’re done with being told HOW to vote by anyone. People have the tools to hand to make up their own minds. The Record has never explained just why we should take their direction or their advice in anything. What makes their view any more valid than yours or mine?

I mean is it because they believe they’re more honest than the next establishment propaganda sheet? Is it because they consider themselves better informed than you? Do they feel somehow that they have earned your personal friendship and trust? I’ve got bad ‘news’ for them then.

No title has earned my trust for quite some time and most especially throughout the length of this campaign. When you declare for a political agenda you instantly lose even the pretence of objectivity. They picked a side, which is cool, its fine, but don’t sit in that fucking editorial dept and tell me that you are my champion or that you either represent or act as the protector of my interests in any way shape or form. You don’t and when it comes to self determination, you never will. The utter fucking arrogance it takes to claim that you are the champion of the population simply takes the breath away when you promote the narrative of those three criminals.

A wee hint for those at the Record who claim to know their way round the language. When you claim to represent something in its entirety? Well that kinda means you have to be inclusive and representative.

Scotland’s Champion? Think that one through before making the claim.

317. Stone_Truth

How many of the people in the NO gathering at the Grange were either privately educated or bussed in from down south? Everyone sounded rather well to do don’t ya think?
    Just makes me wonder if a) that was the entire sum total of all No voters in attendance and b)how many of them actually have a vote?

318. donald anderson

Post Referendum Ceilidh Friday September 18, 7pm.
    Glesga, Pertick
    Address: 46-60 Hyndland St, Glasgow G11 5PS

WIN, lose or draw.
    Uisqueabach group
    Alastair Tennant Pipes.
    Buffet. Bring yer ain cerry oot.
    Subway Kelvin Hall up from Lismore Bar or Hillheid Subway, left at Western Infirmary. Partick or Hyndland Railway Stn.
    Or bus to Cottars, facing Rock Bar, Hyndland Rd.

All Welcome. Bring a friend. If not, bring Lord Reid or Jim Murphy.

319. donald anderson

Sorry.

Tickets £10 at the door.

320. James Dow

That Bob Geldof certainly knows something about losing a bit of patch, wasn’t it Michael Hutcheson that snuck up on him and stole a bit of his.

321. boris

Bob Geldorf was trotted out once more last evening, to broadcast his bleeding heart routine seeking to sway undecided voters to stay with him and his new found family in Greater England. Not bad for an Irishman who lives in France so as to avoid income tax. Yup. He’s a non-dom. But he would be better advised using his talents to provide answers to many voices swishing to know what happened to the Band Aid money. See the report

http://caltonjock.com/2014/09/16/bob-band-aid-and-how-the-rebels-bought-their-arms-by-andrew-whitehead/

322. Clootie

@Macart 03:23

Well put.

Are you doing nightshirt these days 😀
    It’s in hours now!
    Less than 50 Hours till we are a Nation – Will we hand it back or keep it?

323. Inky pic

“The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

324. E F

Didn’t Cameron also sign the Edinburgh Agreement with the Purdah clause!
    The pledge means nothing.

325. Juteman

Here’s a novel idea.
    Maybe a journalist could ask what these powers are. Isn’t that what journalists are meant to do?

326. i'm a fan

Invitation to a YES PHOTO tonight.

A local Yesser has organised an evening ariel YES PHOTO to be taken by a (hopefully friendly!) flying drone in Greenock’s Battery Park tonight. The park is virtually in Gourock, and it seems Gourock has been written off as a ‘no’. Grrrrrr!

So far over 1000 Facebook fans have said they are going and will quite likely be bringing some family and friends so it should be a great turnout.

It will be getting dark so everyone is to bring a torch or a smartphone to light up the YES crowd for the ariel camera.

Details on FB here: https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10153146333491258&id=564856257

If you are available feel free to come along. 🙂

327. ronnie anderson

There’s only so much Jokes one can do about Furnature Polish & we did them weeks ago.

328. Socrates MacSporran

Confession time. I was born and raised, if not a Tory, then a Unionist. My old man supported the old “Orange” Scottish Unionists, indeed, in an area overwhelmingly Labour, he was one of only two openly Tory men around.

I joined the Young Conservatives, then, when the Scottish Unionists Party became the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party, I quickly realised, we didn’t matter to the English. So, I became a Scottish nationalist.

Note the small n – I have never, since quitting the Tories, been a member of any organised political party.

I first had the chance to vote for the SNP in the 1971 General Election. That election saw me vote in what was then the South Ayrshire constituency and I duly cast my vote for the SNP candidate, Sam Purdie.

That election, as far as I can rememeber, was the first in which the Tories got a proper kicking in Scotland, previously they had held their own. South Ayrshire was a solid Labour seat which was won by their candidate, one Jim Sillars.

On the Friday, I trotted round to hear the declaration, on the steps of the County Buildings in Ayr and, in his post-result speech, Sam Purdie, who was roundly heckled by the Labour supporters there, for the neinous crime of having quit the People’s Party to join the SNP made the point – “Scotland has voted one way, but,because England voted another way, we are stuck with a Tory government.”

Legend has it, hearing that speech was the moment when Jim Sillars started to question unwavering allegiance to London Labour and began his long march, via the Scottish Labour Party, SLP, to the SNP.

We, the Scottish electorate, have also come a long way since that Friday morning, 43-years ago and now we stand on the verge of Independence.

Those of us who are regulars on this site, we kinow this pledge is shite. We know it is not worth the paper it is written on. Most of the editorial staff on the Daily Recvortd also probably know it is shite.

But, there are people out there who still, want to believe in Labour. Who, in spite of all the lies and bluster from political pygmies such as the Three Stooges, Murph the Smurf, the wee Scottie Doug from Paisley, Jo-Lam and Jackie the Elephant, want to believe that Labour will look after them.

Some of them will fall for this. Jim Sillars once called them “90 minute patriots”, they will support Scotland, until push comes to shove, when they go back to London Labour.

We, on this site, we know different. We know this Record pledge is another in the many blatant lies we have been told by Bitter Together.

We must stand firm. We have to keep working, to keep telling the Don’t Knows, ignore this bribe – vote No and you will be shafted.

Things may well get rougher for a time, but, only a Yes vote will deliver the sort of Scotland we want to live in.

The Record front page is a very desperate last throw of the Unionist dice – dont fall for it.

329. Ken500

The best thing about Independence is gettng rid of these three clowns. The lying Westminster cesspit and their toxic weapons. They can think again. Only one more day for Scotland to make history. Can’t wait. People have waited since 1928. Scotland is a different place.

Thanks to everyone, especially Stu.

330. macart763m

@Clootie

Split shift till we win ma friend. 😀

331. colin young

Bob geldoff should be a better parent i read it here i think.

Just bought a bottle of 12 year old malt for the 19th yes win hope it does not rain as there will be a party in the garden.

WOS yes peeps in Ardrossan looking for party contact,

colyou6@gmail.com

Djs playing all day and evening

Dreams come true, i never thought any of mine would

332. Kevan02

Excerpt from the House of Lords’ report:

44. The different constitutional outcome of “devolution max” requires a distinct constitutional process for its achievement. As illustrated by the potential for competing tax regimes within the United Kingdom, such an arrangement for one member of the Union would necessarily have real, deep and immediate consequences for the other members and for the Union as a whole. Properly to secure the legitimate interests of each and all, proposals as to “devolution max” would first have to be developed through intergovernmental negotiations conducted, not just bilaterally with the UK Government, but on an inclusive, multilateral basis across the Union state.

45. Whereas both the UK Government and the Scottish Government have recognised that independence is a Scottish question, “devolution max” is not. Proper constitutional process requires that negotiations involving all parts of the United Kingdom precede any referendum on an agreed scheme of “devolution max.”

Wouldn’t this effect any promise of ‘Devo Max’ and more ‘Tax’ raising powers to the point of having to ask the UK population (referendum) to ok it.

333. Kevan02

Above is from:

House of Lords Select Committee on the Constitution, 24th Report of Session 2010–12

334. john king

Xsticks says
    “The squealing reaches a crescendo.”

This is what the establishment sucking on the Scottish teat sounds like
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsPjL8SUAFc

Squeal piggies squeal,
    the free lunch is nearly over!

Hopper69 says
    “Michelle moan still doesn’t know that we are going to use the pound as our currency.FFS.If she is that stupid I can see her business going tits up soon.”

Ooh er missus 🙂

Jim says
    “That old saying guys and gals, we have nothing to fear but fear itself.”

It would have been better if you hadn’t said htat ala Jimmy Saville.
    Jus say’n s’all 😉

Jim (again) says
    “Well she didn’t make me laugh but rather feel pity for her.”

“Your a bigger man than I am gunga din” 😉

Natasha says
    “I’m feeling guilty now, because I seem to have triggered a general rant about Susan Calman, and actually I find her quite funny”

Eh?
    have you seen this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBNV6k7TBh0

she is about as funny as herpes. 🙁

335. Grouse Beater

Stuart

Worth lifting the interview with Ian Macwhirter frm SKY News late last night. It is a perfect illustration of how Scotland is treated with contempt by so many down south.

Two English press pundits in the studio spent most of their time trying to tarnish the Yes campaign with accusations of violence. Naturally, neither pundit had been to Scotland in ages. They were in the studio.

Every time Macwhirter – on screen from Edinburgh – countered their moronic twittering he was greeted with jeers and laughter. It continued after he left the screen.

Two pundits, supposedly from Left and Right, acting like inane school kids on behalf of Ukip.

A sight to motivate good English people to kick their corrupt press and Westminster into the English Channel, and certainly for Scotland to govern itself again.

336. gillie

******* DEVO-CON ********

Spread the word

337. rabkae

It is not within the gift of the ‘three amigos’ to promise such, for they cannot guarantee to deliver. If, as some have already indicated, there is a backlash against Scotland by back-bench MPs at Westminster then any legislation will fail to reach the statute book.

Want more powers for Holyrood? Only one certain means of obtaining them… vote YES!

338. Tackety Beets

Jings crivens help ma boab , GMS , Haley Miller sounds exasperated with Flipper .

339. Grouse Beater

It is not within the gift of the ‘three amigos’ to promise such

Ther press and media are selling it to Scotland as ‘Devo-Max,’ which it is not, not by a country mile. Shameless.

340. Les Wilson

watching Sky News
    Jenny Kleeeman when looking at today’s newspapers, moans about Scotland getting extra powers. Then she says it is like rewarding an errant child.

FFS,who do these idiots think they are? Also adament about how bad the YES side is, and the bullying tactics being used, aye right.

341. biggpolmont

OH It must be Tuesday ! The daily retard will be trotting out some
    story from the westminster coalition with promises that can never be kept
    NICK CLEGG I think we saw one of his promises before I will have to ask a student about that !
    EDD MORIBUND its pretty safe to make promises that have the premise of when I get in power when you know that you will never be elected.
    DAVID CAMERON Once again pretty safe to make a promise when you know that your new coalition partners (UKIP) will say no or that you will be ousted as leader by BRAIN DEAD BORIS

342. EdinScot

Its like dressing up a turd in xmas wrapping and handing it to us as a present. Boy, how they insult us!!

I really hope the unionists left choking on their lies come friday and for all time.

Vote YES and get the whole shebang folks.

343. Sinky

A Darling / BBC’s last desperate fling with a report that NHS Health Boards needs another £450 million over next two years to provide existing services pails into insignificance compared to the £20 to £30 Billion scheduled cuts in UK government health spending south of the border over the next few years will have dramatic consequences for the NHS in Scotland due to the Barnett formula consequentials.

When will BBC / MSM pin down the three stooges on the specifics of “more powers” and question them on all the powers that will remain with London.

344. biggpolmont

Poor hayley! those sighs(Yes Hayley we did hear them) when flipper would not answer her questions. I almost felt sorry for her but them this was a mess that she and her collegues made by giving bt/nt too much freedom to spout their garbage

345. Les Wilson

This morning there was a report on GMS that the SUN has said only Independence would guarantee new powers.

Nothing on BBC24 nor Sky News about this, can anyone confirm?

346. James Caithness

Yhis is a wee gem from Yes Kilmarnock facebook page.

Politicians quotes. Must see.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QcXHdFiaSs0

347. Grouse Beater

Wilson:
    Adamant about how bad the YES side is, and the bullying tactics being used, aye right.

This is the latest unionist tactic in preparation for a defeat – Scotland cheated!

We bullied the entire British Establishment, the armed forces, Westminster Parliament and all in it, the Queen, the entire British press and media, Ukip, but above all, wee innocent, vulnerable Mrs Jemmima Scroggins, of 3 Railway Cuttings, East Cheam, London, who was merely visiting Glasgow to lay flowers on her ancestor’s grave.

348. Doug Mcg

This vow means that Scotland will never provide a UK parliament with a national spending minister again , let’s get that out there fast. England will have to bar them , so never again a Scottish Prime Minister or chancellor , it will never work.

349. biggpolmont

just checked the weather forecast. I think I will put up the big gazebo in the garden for the party on the 19th. or for folks in the falkirk area I hear the party will be outdoor at the kelpies!

350. required

Free Milk, must be a subliminal to suggest they are not the spawn of Thatcher.

351. Grouse Beater

Westminster is preparing Boris Johnson as their next Prime Minister – Cameron confined to the history books – the same Buffoon Boris who states no more powers for Scotland, and who might well have to share government with Farage.

Be afraid. Be very afraid.

352. Sinky

Back page of Herald reports new oil find off Shetland by Hurricane Energy

353. David

get a proxy server and watch this (for some reason not viewable in the UK_

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YkLPxQp_y0

best bits here but the whole things is awesome

http://www.buzzfeed.com/scottybryan/john-oliver-scottish-referendum

354. Ananurhing

Heard Richard Bacon having an epiphony on radio yesterday. Apparently the rUK will no longer be an island as it will now have a land border with a foreign country.

Ha Ha! WTF. Unbridled bullshit. Erm….Ireland, Hispaniola, Papua New Guinea.

355. Tam Jardine

I think they are so keen on these pledges put together on a cheap computer package because nobody believes a word these guys say and the idea is that if you write something down and sign it, it is more real.

The people of Scotland are no daft – aside from the pledges themselves being lies, such as the first line about the Scottish Parliament being ‘permanent’- when has a ‘formal’ document of this nature looked like this?

The No campaign has been littered with so many of these failed stunts, repeated shamelessly as if the last ‘pledge’ hadn’t been put together on page plus a mere couple of weeks ago. How many more pledges can they fit in, how many Gordon Brown enters the fray, how many interventions from Standard Life or BP can they squeeze into the last 48 hours?

Alastair Darling on the Radio Scotland breakfast programme interestingly revealed that Westminster is going to become a dictatorship after a no vote as that is surely the only way one of the 3 men can give a guarantee of anything getting through opposed by an English MP dominated parliament.

Now Lord Steel is on shamelessly lying about Devo Max being offered. Pathetic.

356. derek hannon

you can laugh but it will be beleved buy the some of the readers do not over estimate the brains of dr readers or i should say political savy

357. Jack Spain

In reply to David Cameron, the newspapers and the BBC. I paraphrase the words of the late, taken from us much too soon, Jimmy Reid. I never left Britain – Britain left me.

358. Greannach

Blow for Salmond as hereditary broadcaster waves Union Jack in London.

359. megz

these 3 ‘leaders’ arent even going to be leading in 8 months they will all be replaced after the GE so their pledges really are worthless

360. galamcennalath

Selling Devo-Maybe-More as Devo-Max is absolutely dispicable.

The are offering FA worth having. Worse, it is probably a poisoned chalice to discredit and destroy devolution completely.

Getting all powers comes automatically with a Yes win!

361. Ananurhing

All these messy divorce analogies.

When a marriage involves one abusive partner controlling the collective finances, undermining the others self esteem, telling them they’re not capable of looking after themselves, it’s what the professionals call coercive control. A particularly nasty form of domestic abuse described as “psychological terrorism”.

Time for a restraining order. Vote Yes and move on.

362. manandboy

Fast forward, let’s say three weeks, for a dose of reverse hindsight.

All the lies/vows from the three Westminster sewer rats

and the sludge from Brown and Lamont,

will all be water under the bridge.

And all of us will have long since recovered our composure

helped by 3 weeks of celebrating after a Yes victory.

Then, at a time probably still some distance away,

a new Scotland can deal with those

like Brown & Lamont in a court of Law.

Until then, I wouldn’t counsel either of them

to go regularly to the supermarket.

Otherwise they might have a series of very hefty bills

at the dry cleaners.

Well, maybe a bit too soon for complete composure.

One thing’s for sure – the memories will live long.

And when the history is written for teaching in the schools

the names of Scotland’s political lowlife will be recorded

for what they tried to do to the Scottish nation.

Meanwhile, back in real time,

Head up, smile, and vote YES.

363. jim arnott

The three not so wise men bearing false gifts

364. Graeme Doig

So there appears to be a funding gap of 450 million in NHS budget (is there not always a funding gap between what NHS bosses want and get?)

Best way to address this is a Yes vote with resultant savings on Trident, HS2 et al. Certainly not a vote for the ‘status quo’ where Scotland’s resources are pooled and shared for WM vanity projects.

YES!

365. Jim

@john king says:
    “Your a bigger man than I am gunga din” 😉
    ___
    So is she. 🙂

366. Grouse Beater

“You can ask yourself if Cameron, Miliband, and Clegg can be trusted, or you can vote Yes and never think about the bastards again!”

Frankie Boyle
    (Amended for good taste)

367. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/15/david-cameron-serious-no-camp-scottish-referendum Phoney left England cheers neocon England, “On England’s green and pleasant playing fields of Eton” sort of bleh going down today.

“It wasn’t quite Churchill, but it was more than enough to bring out loud cheers from the audience. Cameron put his hands in the air. It was anyone’s guess whether it was a wave of acknowledgment or a wave goodbye”

368. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/16/scotland-referendum-devolution-localism-england Its the rancid dishonesty of establishment teamGB that really catches the back of the throat. A month ago, Toynbee explained how there was no way any Scottish MP will be allowed near UKOK high office again no matter what the result but they’ll take our money and our country though.

369. Ken500

They haven’t even honoured their election pledge in the UK. They promised to protect Efucation/NHS. They have cut the budget in real terms and are privatising both. Higher Uni fees. They have had tomorrow £6Billion more to pay for the increased Student Loan Bill. They will not get back £3Billion but students will be left with increased student loan repayment as they sell off the student loan Companies to their associates. No Pledge honoured.

Cut NHS in real terms. Give tax cuts £20 a week. Then try to privatise the NHS, selling of the profitable? bits to their associates. Then introducing private health care insurance which costs £25 a week. A win for their associates. Profits from public services/funding and profits from private health care insurance companies, while the sick, vulnerable and poor (elderly) pay the price. The burden is not spread on the most able. A two tier system. No pledge honoured there.

No intergrated system. No burden shared by the most able.

They have not paid off the debt. Selling off assets (Royal Mail) increase the liability.

Increased Oil tax revenues 11% (£2) a year in the 2011 budget. Oil Companies cut projects. A loss of £4Billion a year. Danny Alexander has the cheek to speak of Oil revenues falling. Some of the worst corporates in the world are operating in the North Sea and the City of London licensed by and supporting the UK Gov. The Westminster has cut the Scottish budget £1.3Billion a year and lost Scotland £4Billion a year in Oil tax revenues.

Westminster are sanctioning the most vulnerable and they are walking to food banks. Vulnerable, hungry, undernourished, worried people get sick.

370. Ken500

Churchill and Cameron both alcoholics. Alcoholics make poor decisions.

371. galamcennalath

Scotland Goes Pop. the gender gap is still sitting around 14%. Men have long since given Yes a lead, women are holding up the No vote more than any other demographic measure.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-otz-cctcuBg/VBewnafvAeI/AAAAAAAABS8/FK-QnyGiwMo/s1600/pp4.png

Women will win or lose this. Guys, you have to persuade reluctant wives, partners, daughters, mothers.

It may not now be a case of getting out onto to streets, but working among family and friends.

It will be a disaster if we end up saying, it was women wot lost it.

372. heedtracker

https://id.theguardian.com/profile/abiesalba/public Graun vote No farce of a Q&A and straight wirh one more ferocious UKOK fraud/pretence all the way from Glasgow uni Law dept.

Q, if its such an ace union, why the relentless FUD Prof and so on.

373. Robert Louis

In the past devo max was ALWAYS along the lines of EVERYTHING except defence and foreign affairs. That is why it was termed devo max – it was the maximum you could devolve powers, whilst remeining within the UK.

Now, I see the BBC presenters using the phrase day in, day out, to refer to the idiotic non powers proposed by Labour and their Tory chums. This is not even remotely akin to devo max. This needs tackled head on by everybody when talking on TV/BBC. Devo max is not being offered, it has never been offered, and will not happen.

The referendum only asks one question, ‘should Scotland be an independent country’, and the answer is either YES it should be independent or NO it shouldn’t. Nothing else is asked.

Regarding the blatant BBC bias against independence, I’ve noticed since the weekend demo, some smug presenters at the BBC, saying things on air like ‘well of course as I am supposedly biased’ etc, in a sarcastic manner. Such arrogance which blinds them such that they can no longer recognise their failings even when pointed out. In their heads all they hear is ‘we’re the BBC, we’re impartial’. Wake up guys, you are as impartial as the uber right wing USA Fox news is (as it often states) ‘fair and balanced’.

The BBC reputation is now well and truly shredded in Scotland. No matter what the result, they are finished – seen as the Westminster puppets they have become. As Stephen Paton likes to say ‘don’t get angry at the media, become the media’, and that is exactly what I hope will happen following the result.

So many new talents have come to the fore, with the ability to objectively analyse and report Scottish affairs, from a Scottish perspective, we can together create a NEW truly Scottish media. Like I say, the BBC are finished in Scotland. Not before time.

374. Sinky

Gary Robertson losing the place in BBC interview with Alex Salmond.

375. Ian Brotherhood

Gazza Robertson going ape with AS on GMS right now…mental stuff.

376. James Caithness

I noticed on Osborne’s document page 10, the Cabinet saw an increase of 28 billions over the same period.

377. James Caithness

I meant to say Cabinet Office

378. Ken500

Obama and Cameron created ISIS. They have been arming and funding them for two years in Syria. They refuse to pay the ransom because they, ‘do not fund terrorists’, and are now spending more public money blowing them to bits. It would save lives and public money and be easier just to pay the random, like other countries. They are a couple of complete idiots. The most unpopular politicians in the world.

379. Graeme Doig

Gary Robertson you are an intellectual lightweight and a con merchant along with your WM goons.

Trying to press a non point the way you were is idiocy. Get a grip of yourself man.

380. Sinky

On GMS just now Lousie White setting the BBC agenda on NHS scare story by allowing the UKOK women rant on four times on the same point and speaking over the short reply by the Pro Scotland speaker.

381. Grouse Beater

Louis: The BBC reputation is now well and truly shredded in Scotland. No matter what the result, they are finished – seen as the Westminster puppets they have become

Correction: ‘that they always were.’

And I write as a former BBC executive.

The Pitch – BBC Scotland – grousebeater.wordpress

382. Scotspine

Just heard Gary Robertson “interview” First Minister on Radio puppet Scotland. Robertson is as bad if not worse than Nick Robinson. Every question he asked, he interrupted the answer or talked across. In fact he was making statements and mot allowing an answer. Alex Salmond had to remind him several times to let him actually speak.

Disgraceful and utterly desperate stuff now.

383. Chris Baxter

It’s like a pathetically desperate last attempt by a controlling husband to persuade the wife he actually hates to stay, having made so many verbal promises to-date that have all been broken.

“No, I really mean it this time. Here, look, it’s in black and white!”

384. Macart

Heh, oh its devo max all right.

This IS Westminster’s idea of devo max and boy what a let down its been for those who have championed FFA for decades.

They probably fondly thought that they had a shout upon a time of actually pulling it off eventually. I mean I was of that mindset myself a couple decades back. You simply have to understand the nature of the beast you are dealing with to realise that FFA would never happen.

Throughout this campaign everyone has seen the state and establishment operate in all its glory. The press manipulation, the lobbying of overseas powers to intervene, the lobbying of big business, the lies, misrepresentation and intimidation deployed against the Scottish electorate.

So tell me is there ANYONE still out there in any doubt about the worth of any pledges made by the the three amigos above? Is there anyone in any doubt what Westminster will do with devolution in general?

Remove all doubt and vote YES.

385. Ken500

US and UK gov are funding ISIS to kill foreigners.

Obama is bombing ISIS because they are selling Oil at $60 a barrel. Undercutting world markets and US Oil companies, affecting the US economy. The US needs high Oil prices to ‘take more tax home to Wall Street’ (tax evasion) and keep shale gas competitive on world markets. Win Win for US Politicans and their associates.

386. Tam Jardine

Ok – from what I have heard this morning so far expect a vast amount of froth over NHS funding ‘gap’ from the BT scriptwriters pen.

What does seem to be gaining traction is the absurdity of this ‘vow’ being cobbled together after all the postal votes have been cast. Maybe they get past the purdah rules because the vow is so meaningless, vague and, disingenuous and non binding.

Gary Robertson’s interview was disgraceful – ignorant and obviously motivated by a desire to get revenge on the First Minister for his exposure of the BBC’s institutional Bias.

387. bunter

Quite an extraordinary coordinated attack on the FM and Scottish NHS on GMS BBC Better Together this morn. Robertson at times incoherent and hysterical over what is obviously a well planned and timed attack on funding for the NHS.

Did anyone hear the earlier flipper interview, just to contrast?

388. heedtracker

All I expect from what replaces the BBC in Scotland is a public broadcaster that does not consider itself a major political power in Scotland. If you can’t vote for the BBC, they are part of the problem, as they’ve demonstrated day in day out for decades.

389. Les Wilson

Watching Bloomberg tv ticker at bottom says UK credit costs seen as increasing if there is a Salmond win.

Something I have said for a while, Osborne will be forced into a currency union, problem is what will the offer us to take it. It is toxic.

390. David Stevenson

Down at Cambuslang train station having walked my boy to school. Yesterday, I guess Yes were leafleting as I found 3 discarded leaflets. All pristine, so I rescued them as the batch I had to deliver last night was a bit short. Didn’t see any dumped anywhere else. Today, lots of Labour No Thanks leaflets discorded or binned. Conclusion: Cambuslang commuters seem to dislike No more than Yes…

391. Ian

Has nobody noticed that, because Parliament is in recess until 13th October, then the first “vow” of starting the process on 19th September is a lie?

392. GrahamB

Pro-Union woman on MC before 9 still does not understand difference between power and finance.
    Emailed “Does Ruth Mackay not know the difference between power and finance. Scotland could have the devolved power to build a spaceship to Mars for all the good it would do.”
    What are the chances of that being read out?

393. goulashman

A pledge. From these mendacious three – in the odious Daily Record. Says it all, really. Says enough. Vote Yes.

394. call me dave

‘Your call’ BBC is going along reasonably well.

I did have doubts about listening to it but the callers, so far, are being quite sensible.

“The BBC has not had a good referendum”

395. GrahamB

goulashman:
    AS picked up on it being called a ‘vow’ rather than a ‘pledge’ as we all know what happened the last time Clegg signed a pledge.

396. Socrates MacSporran

Many thanks to James Caithness @ 8.08 for the link to the politicians’ quotes – brilliant.

That one from Darling, in January last year, to the effect that Scottish oil money had been underwriting the UK for years is dynamite.

So – with that knowledge in mind, how can we be better together, sharing the oil money, than we would be keeping it to ourselves?

They must think our heads button up the back.

397. Indy_Scot

Got up this morning, the sun is shining, and apparently David Cameron is gone, is that a sign.

398. HandandShrimp

Just caught a bit of AD on GMS. Did the interviewer really sigh with exasperation at the very last question?

399. Tamson

O/T – shouldn’t more be made of the Lindsay Jarrett story? Here’s someone who has taken Project Fear on head on. If her story goes viral is demonstrates how much of a liar Gordon Brown is, how low he will stoop, and how far the MAN will go to hide it.

400. Tamson

MSM, not MAN! Sorry.

401. James

O/T, but I was chatting to a woman who works in the snack van I get my breakfast from at work yesterday and she was undecided but leaning no due to all the scare stories, stopped off at a YES stall on Maryhill road and picked up a wee blue book and gave it to her, she’s told me today she’s now a definite YES and passionate about it, and her daughter too, result 🙂

402. goulashman

GrhahamB – you’re right – AS handled that ugly interview very well indeed. AS is not easily intimidated and very quick in debate. We are fortunate to have his abilities.

403. David Stevenson

Full page advert in today’s Metro sponsored by A. MacDonald, c/o Lochailort PO. It is a red, white and blue rant. I am guessing this guy I one of the registered No sponsors. Anybody know the background to him or her?

404. Elizabeth

A wonderful woman on morning call saying she’s now yes after realising through her forays into social media and youtube this week that there are lots of people across the world supporting Scotland ‘s independence but it’s not being mentioned(suppressed?) in the media. She cited the Catalan people – more than a million marching in our support yet no coverage, but they seem to be seeking out and publicise anybody who thinks it would be detrimental.

405. Iain

“Just caught a bit of AD on GMS. Did the interviewer really sigh with exasperation at the very last question?”

Not sure but that interview has to one of the worst I have ever heard on the BBC. The lack of probing was incredible, Hayley Millar just allowed Darling to basically project for 20 minutes and he ranted and raved furiously getting in everyone of his catch-phrases, some multiple times. Only towards the end did she make any effort to press him. Where was the incisive questioning around these extra powers problems? Andrew Neil managed to easily rip apart the Unionist over this on the Daily Politics.

Contrast this with Gary Robertson’s foaming at the mouth performance that followed. Salmond deserves a hard time just like any politician, but Robertson won’t even let him answer a question. When the person doing the asking is doing more talking there is something wrong. I don’t want to hear Robertson raving and asking more questions before the last one has been addressed.

In addition to that why do the BBC always lead with the No side agenda. Everything is always about threats, risks, currency, pensions, EU. This automatically puts any Yes spokesman on the defensive having to defend their position. I would like balance and I would also like to hear about things such as democracy, a written constitution, social progression. I want to hear the No spokesman have to defend their position and tell the people of Scotland why we do not need such things or why they are worth sacrificing.

Pathetic and very poor quality, no wonder many point the finger of bias at the BBC. It is not fit for purpose.

406. Ananurhing

Oh FFS Sky News.

After the vote, there will be no international flights allowed in, out, or over Scotland?

The stream of ill informed pish in the UK media is in full gush.

407. call me dave

GMS BBC interviews this morning.

1. AD at 1hr 37mins in.
    2. AS at 2hr 36mins in

Who do you trust?

408. Jim

I was in the coop and what was lying on the floor at the newspaper section, a Daily Express no window sticker.
    Lying on the floor sums up their campaign really.

409. T222Deracha

Re: Kevin Bridges. He was sent an invitation to Downing Street to meet Cameron for a St Andrews day party. He tweeted “Head says f**k that!” then “Heart says “f**k that!”.

He never went and Cameron wasn’t there on St Andrews day, he had some important business in China, something to do with building another nuclear power station I think!

Kevin Bridges deserves respect for that regardless of how he votes!.

410. Famous15

Eleanor Bradford with her £400million black hole secret document knows that the document is as in every department of government,it is a wish list.

When doing the annual budget for say a school library every department submits its priorities for books.Say the physics department lost out last year it now puts in a bigger.request hoping to get half.
    Everyone knows it is a wish list and eventually the Authority inserts reality.

Darling sat on a Police Board and must know the status of such documents.Gosh was he not Chancellor also? Pants on fire all found. The First Minister proved correct agIn.

411. call me dave

Link here….Doh!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04h8bg4

412. Footsoldier

The Herald goes for Vote NO.

Anyone reading The Herald these past few months would have been safe offering any dare for them to come out in support of independence.

Slanted headlines, prominence to certain articles, not pursuing No on certain issues, use of smaller type for pro Yes items, meant everyone knew which way they were heading.

Today’s Herald editorial space would have been better spent on a giant crossword, they are good at crosswords, rather than wasting space on something all readers already knew.

413. James123

Seems like the last throw of the dice by the BBC, the helicopters on the roof are revving their engines preparing for a quick getaway on Friday.

414. Geoff Huijer

O/T Sen. Ron Paul on RT re: Scottish Independence.

Paraphrasing – ‘I hope they go for it’

415. Famous15

Did I hear correctly? Mervyn King on a lecture tour answered a questioner by saying “Of course there will be a currency union” So the pound sterling it is then after independence!

416. GrahamB

T222Deracha:
    We don’t need to talk about Kevin!
    He’s safely on the YES side.

417. Dcanmore

If the Electoral Commission hasn’t spoken about the breaking of purdah rules by now it means the’ve been nobbled by big government.

Expect efforts of mass illegality over the next two days… where did the postal votes go?

Yesterday evening 2000 workers from Whitehall and Westminster gathered in Trafalgar Square (it’s a five minute walk) to hear prospective future Labour Mayor of London, Eddie Izzard, introduce a ranting Bob Geldof. Some reports today had ‘thousands of Londoners’ show their affections for Scotland. It wasn’t like that, they were civil servants and no more than 2k turned up, cue close cropped pictures!

418. horacesaysyes

Those three can say anything they like, but given that any changes have to pass not only the House of Commons, but also the House of Lords, I’m not going to be holding my breath.

419. Les Wilson

Regarding the E/C I emailed a complaint asking if they agree that it is ok for Westminster to be paying for BT internet ads. Got the usual conformation from them. With their usual promise of we will reply as soon as possible.

No reply ever came, says it all really.

420. James Westland

David Stevenson

Re Lochaoilort PO
    Its this campaign:

http://www.proudtobescots.co.uk/

I posted something about this a few weeks ago

———————————
    “Interesting domain name that BTW. Owned by some Perthshire toff if you do a whois lookup.

Also on that web page there is a bank account sort code Its 83-91-35 Adams and Co, Edinburgh who boast:

“We provide banking and investment management services to private high net worth clients”

Yep, just another ordinary grass roots campaign eh? Just another group in touch with the “common five-eight”
    ==========================

The bank account details are no longer on the web site. Although apparently they are still selling stuff.

421. JPJ2

I expect Gary Robertson, who was reported sometime ago as being made redundant by the BBC after the referendum, is trying to impress his unionist masters with his unionist attacks on Alex Salmond.

It is ether that or he has already been promise a reprieve to incentivise him to go on all out attack.

Either way he disgraced himself by making clear his own personal position-he was Andrew Marr on steroids.

422. Arabs for Independence

I think Susan Calman’s father is Pat Lally

423. Ananurhing

Looking at Norway’s successful Indyref in 1905 throws up so many common experiences.

A country trying to assert itself, facing attacks and threats from an abusive, controlling partner. Sweden even threatened war over the issue.

Look how that all turned out. I’m sure nowadays Norway couldn’t ask for a better neighbour than Sweden, and I believe 1905 was the last time Sweden ever threatened anyone with war.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dissolution_of_the_union_between_Norway_and_Sweden

424. WantonWampum.

KRASH and Mibbeland have offered only 5 per cent more in tax powers for Scotland IF we do what we`re telt.

BamCam and Osboring offer NOT much more.

Clegg and Danny Alexander offer 40 per cent BECAUSE they know NO-ONE is ever gonna elect them.

“The Vow” is an agreement between all three Unionist Party Leaders – WHO CANNOT AGREE – WHAT THEY ARE OFFERING.

Krash and Mibbeland offer Less than 15 per cent of Freedom.

BamCam offers 20 per cent of Freedom.

Klueless Clegg offers 40 per cent of Freedom.?

ZERO MINERAL RIGHTS.
    Scots Passports Processing – stays in Belfast.
    Border Agency HQ – STAYS in Belfast.
    RAF Leuchars still Closes in December.
    The OLDEST Scottish Regiment in the Brit Army will still be permanently BASED in BELFAST in Ulster.
    Scots are paying tax right now to build a new RAF Base in Ulster.
    Crown Estate revenues require the crown to grant “Royal Assent” before ceding anything to Scots.
    6,250 square miles of Scotland`s Ancient Inshore Fisheries in the North Sea – REMAIN English.

When all the Unionists held REAL WM Power they ALL CHOSE to Punish Scots – as listed above.

Treacherously, we are being ASKED to believe the same guys who removed our Rights – will now Protect the same rights that they removed.?

They are NOT Confused.
    “THEY” ARE BEING what they have ALWAYS BEEN.
    LYING SCUM.

“YES” ENSURES 100 PER CENT FREEDOM FOR SCOTS.

425. Footsoldier

I don’t think it will be No but if it is, just think what lies ahead for Scottish Labour.

Firstly more powers for Holyrood will almost certainly be blocked by the Westminster parliament given the developing backlash from Tory and some Labour MP’s, meaning the Scottish Electorate will voting in a UK general election with the referendum promise of more powers completely broken.

Scottish voters not wanting independence will be free to vote SNP now that the referendum is behind them. They may do so in huge numbers given the false promises made by Labour MP’s who might find themselves replaced by SNP MP’s and others at Westminster.

Indeed the advantage of Scotland having a majority of SNP MP’s at Westminster would beat anything that Devo Max Plus Plus Plus could offer, especially if Westminster has a hung parliament with the SNP holding the balance of power. On another matter, if the West Lothian question is resolved and blocks Scottish MP’s from English matters, does this mean no MP from Scotland could stand as a UK minister ie Scottish Prime Minister could not vote on legislation created by his/her own government?

However all of the above is absolutely second best to independence. Vote Yes

426. Kenny Campbell

When I looked every single comment was negative towards the 3 of them…..Even the record readers were treating the whole thing with contempt

427. Jim McIntosh

This ‘devo-max’ thing was always going to turn out this way. The you tube video, linked somewhere earlier in either this post or an earlier post, by Allen Bissett from last year describes this scenario exactly, even to the timing of when it would all be promised.

One reason Cameron didn’t want devo-max on the ballot was that they would have had to have given clarity on what was to be delivered. They were never going to do that, mainly because the parties in WM will never allow Scotland substantially more powers.

By ‘vowing’ to give us additional powers now they can be vague and hope the remaining 10% or so undecideds fall for it. I believe like almost everything they’ve tried in the past couple of weeks it will fail. Ironically the more frantic they get the more undecideds will turn to YES. Putting a picture of a pledge signed by Nick Horsefly is a sure winner. 🙂

428. chris s

Just watched the bbc news channel 10.02am bit of a sound loss for dougie alexander followed by nicky sturgeon coming in with full sound… Scottish people not daft funny az wish I had the ability to put that on youtube maybe someone on here could.

429. norrie

I know let’s vote yes and then if they came up with a written constitution enshirening their paltry Devo nought and pass it into law by March 2016 we will consider it.

430. goulashman

Reading comment in the Guardian is a bit depressing – so much bile, personal attack on Salmond and blind spouting of tired Unionist mantras. The Yes support trying, very mostly calmly and rationally, to counter this with some considered argument. The NO hostility is indeed scary, whatever the outcome – but more and more it does look like a YES victory if what is happening in our villages and cities is replicated in the ballot box, lots of purple NO placards in farmers’ fields trying to shout otherwise…/

431. Donny Mac

We’ve had the “The Three Musketeers”, now it’s the three rockets.

432. Graham

Poll companies backtracking

Quote from Herald
    Martin Boon, director of polling company ICM, said the independence referendum could prove a “polling Waterloo” and become the industry’s biggest embarrassment since 1992, when surveys predicted a narrow victory for Neil Kinnock in the days before his eventual defeat to John Major.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/icm-director-boon-admits-a-polling-waterloo-is-possible.25336542

433. The Morgatron

They are a disgrace to Scotland . To the poor , sick and common man and woman. I am disgusted at all Westminster and their puppets. It makes me heart sorry.

434. msean

Another nhs safe in our hands/no tuition fees type of non promisey vow thing. no thanks,i will be voting yes.

435. goulashman

I am now going into ‘news purdah’. Can’t take anymore – but so hopeful – VOTE YES! Good luck, all – let’s do it!

436. WantonWampum.

Margaret Curran, MP for Glasgow East, is on tv right now Promising a fast-track delusion on more powers from her position of ZERO power.

She can somehow promise fast track powers – WHEN – in her own constituency – the Average MALE LIFESPAN is a scurrilous, sickening – 54 years. !!

Pension Age at 68 or 70 will not help men in her howff.

FOODBANKS began in UK in 2004 under Bliar and Krash – fully 4 years BEFORE the Financial Crash that they Failed to foresee.

Somehow they can now FORESEE the future – but only from a position of OPPOSITION – when they have ZERO Power.

INDEPENDENCE ENSURES REAL POWER.

437. Luigi

A caller on GMS today expressed his disappointment with the BBC. His group of pals had a wee bet at which point the BBC would suddenly reveal a sensational leak showing the Scottish government in a bad light, and just how scary independence would be.

Then along comes a mole in the NHS to comply this morning. The guy was disappointed because he expected the BBC to release it on Monday!

438. Graeme Doig

See you on the other side goulashman 🙂

439. JWil

Talk about Scotland’s money flowing south.

I am hesitant to admit it, but I had a parking fine at Gartnavel Hospital recently for parking ‘inappropriately’ (on a pavement which many others were doing too out of desperation because parking is a nightmare especially if you are trying to meet an appointment time).

The fine had to be paid to a London company. It may be a small one, but it’s another double whammy for Scotland and what else is going on that we don’t hear about?

PS Yesterday I had to wait 3/4 of an hour to get a space. A row of cars outwith the designated parking spaces all had the little yellow envelopes stuck to their windows and people were still coming in and putting themselves in the same positions, of being fined, because they were unaware of the control in the car park.

440. X_Sticks

Sorry, diving in O/T

bbc opened comments on

“Scottish independence: Campaigns seize on Scotland powers pledge”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29219212

At work so can’t come out to play right now, but I’m sure those that can will have some fun….

441. Craig P

Have a look at page 6 & 7 of today’s Record.

Canon Kenyon Wright. One of the genuine good guys. I was disappointed that he was no, but he has since seen the light. And his article is inspirational.

It will sway far more people than pages 1-5 of today’s Record.

442. Craig P

Also… free milk on the Record’s front page… is this some subliminal message reminding us of the milk snatcher’s broken 1979 promises? 😉

443. HandandShrimp

goulashman

The Guardian has over the last few weeks seen a number of fairly strident Nay Sayers join the fray. However only a handful actually live here and have a vote. Several try to ride the two horses of claiming that we should leave and then post endless tales of woe and doom. There is a fair bit of dishonesty going on there but I am not sure many are fooled.

A number of the posters just post abuse, they are irrelevant to the argument and I think they probably help the Yes cause, so I tend to leave them be these days.

444. HandandShrimp

xsticks

I can’t see that going well on the BBC. The sPeAK YoUr BRanES mob will rant about us getting special privileges and treatment. It should be fun nonetheless 🙂

445. Fiona

@JWil

Parking at Gartnavel is a nightmare, and the car park is not well laid out there is room for more spaces which would not block anyone at all but they do not even do that

I too have had to wait for up to an hour to get a space and have also had to park outside a designated space in order to make an appointment. So I have had the fine notice as well and I refuse to pay it. These are not official fixed penalty notices: they are notice that the operator is going to take you to court.

http://www.adviceguide.org.uk/scotland/consumer_s/consumer_cars_and_other_vehicles_e/consumer_driving_and_parking_e/consumer_parking_tickets_s/parking_tickets_on_private_land_s.htm

It is not cost effective for them to do so and I consider that their very existence is in breach of scottish law because parking in a hospital car park is free in this country: in theory. It may be that they will take me to court and it may be that is not an a workable defence, but I am prepared to risk that. As it happens the company wrote to me several times but I haven’t had a letter for more than a month

I did approach Gartnavel to complain about the fine, and to ask them what remedy to the problem of parking they proposed. They assured me that they would get back to me about my complaint. Not surprisingly I never heard from them.

446. farrochie

“One of whom will be the next prime minister”. How does anyone know that?

447. David

HELP PLEASE
    looking for that forwards and backwards video of why we should cant find my link to it

thanks

448. JWil

@Fiona

Thanks.

It’s good get another viewpoint.

I opted for the cheaper, ‘pay now and the fine will be £20, but if you exceed the designated time you will pay £40’, option.

I wonder if this arrangement with the London company has a direct connection to PFI contracts. Although the main building is older several of the newer buildings may be. There are no parking charges, but they can take money in parking fines.

449. balaaargh

Re: passports.

I had to renew my passport in July. When I phoned to check up on its progress, I was told it was in Newcastle.

Doesn’t excuse closing Glasgow, mind.

450. Helena Brown

farrochie says: “One of whom will be the next prime minister”. How does anyone know that?

Well Looking at the position D. Cameron will be in with Boris snapping at his heels and Cameron looking too week and too left wing (I know)for most of the Tory Party, no guarantee for him.
    The Tories have yet to turn the flame thrower on Ed Miliband so no guarantee for him either.
    Nick Clegg has as much chance as I have and I am not standing. He is hated by many who voted for his party the last time and must be down to the wire with Voters.
    Then of course we have the one not mentioned, Nigel, with him holding the power cards, how can they make that claim in all seriousness.

451. Helena Brown

Weak not week, god why don’t you notice until you press submit.

452. Brian Fleming

“Down the lens where the headland stands, I feel a healing through this land, a cross for a people, like the wind through your hands.” Calum and Rory Macdonald

Don’t be distracted Scots. Complete the healing. Our time is now.

453. Snode1965

Regarding Gartnavel parking. My daughter has been attending the Beatsons for last two years, every time I get a parking ticket. Just ignore letters when they come through the door, they can’t take you to court!!!

454. JWil

On the question of more powers and the offers from the three parties. Is noticeable that Darling and others claim that these offers are very close (implying that a joint agreement will be easy), but none of them actually quote the figures to back up their assertions. It’s apparent that they don’t want the public to hear them repeated, especially Labour, which has the most measly offer.

455. Helena Brown

X_Sticks says: Had a look at the comments, would rather leave them talking to themselves thank you very much. Funny how the racist and rank comments from the English never get reported. We chippy Scots are all the bad ones.

456. Helena Brown

goulashman says: Same as on the BBC website, leave them talking to themselves. Had enough of the lot of them, none will listen no matter how genuine you are.

457. Bananapants

Three days before the referendum was when I first saw this.

Three days. They had two years and we’re getting promises in the last week.

As a voter that doesn’t strike me as a very organised institution. And supposedly Super Brown is gonna push through these vague “powers” – over which he has no authority – starting January?

A 5 year old could see through this campaign.

All the money, the power and the state media at their disposal, and this is it?

Laughable. No, tragic actually.

Highlights the real lack of talent and credentials in each and every one of these over-privileged morons.
    I despair for their futures after they’re kicked out of politics. They know bugger all about the real world.

458. andy

I see deutsche bano has been fined 4.7 million for failing to report correctly
    Quite fully really

459. Brian Fleming

Grousebeater

“We need real experts to investigate and analise.”

Grousebeater, Scotland’s been getting analised for over 300 years. Do you perhaps mean analyse?

Sorry, couldn’t resist it. Bored as hell sitting at work in Helsinki, when my world is on fire back home.

Go for it Scotland! You know it makes sense.

460. big jock

A wee City centre tour of Glasgow with my yes badge on. Loads of yes stalls businessmen wuth yes badges,young students with yes badges,old dearies with yes badges,big issue sellers with yes badges. I never saw one no badge! They really are the invisible (Silent) majority. LOL

461. Bugger (the Panda)

Donny Mac

The three Blue Ersed Cheeks?

462. big jock

Will the Telegraph sink to new depths. Why would a bookie pay out early on an election result. Anything can happen on the night. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/newsbysector/retailandconsumer/leisure/11098848/Betfair-pays-out-early-on-Scottish-independence-No-vote.html

463. Caroline Corfield

balaargh : curious, I’m in Newcastle and there ain’t no passport office here, it’s in Durham.

464. K1

They are attempting to normalise that voting No is the(default)normal position. This is keeping many of what they consider thier core voters comfy; the ‘silent majority’ narrative’ plays into the egos’ of those ‘who know what’s best for us’. They will let us know the ‘true state of affairs’ on Friday. Then we’ll realise the ‘fantasy world’ we are all living in.

Murphy reinforces this aspect strongly, with his reprimanding ‘call the dogs off snp’ rhetoric, further infantalising the Yes side as unruly misguided and out of control; ultimately ‘if this is how they behave, they ‘certainly can’t be trusted to run the country’, inferences running through his incessant victim rhetoric.

I’ve always considered that the 19th will ultimately show just how many have become totally conditioned by the overarching consensus that is generated by the constant exposure to news channels, telly in general, papers etc, that they simply can’t conceive of the world in any other terms other than the one that is reflected back at them through these portals. The effect of this is that people have internalised so deepy and invisibly, a proscribed ‘reality’, that is never challenged or questioned from the inside.

Once you understand that, it simply makes sense why the anger and the lashing out and blaming is all that is left. Because there is no acceptance of what is actually now underway, the very fact that the polling put us neck and neck is an affrontment to thier world view, for them this signifies thier world being ‘torn apart’. They are ‘fighting’ for thier very existence. And so the rhetoric and bias that we see clearly, they don’t perceive that, they hear the clarion call of people on thier side.

They, the spin merchants, they know this game inside out, it’s all about control. They know the truth that pretty much of all of what has been said by the Yes side, stacks up. There really isn’t going to be a Macopalypse when we win. Amd because they have no legitimate well reasoned counter argument for staying in the political union, they have been left with nothing to do but attack and smear those on the Yes side. And those that have relied upon the reflection of that proscribed reality ‘follow’ those ‘dog whistles’. They do not realise they are merely pawns in the bigger (more lucrative) game that those in the establishment are really fighting for: thier power and position.

I do think, feel and sense that we will win, regardless of the bombardment from the naysayers. They have profoundly underestimated the yearning for change, not just here in Scotland, but in the rest of these isles too.

They’ve had thier day, it’s time for change. We are now unstoppable.

465. big jock

I am now suspicious about the postal vote if bookies are paying out. Can anyone shed any light?

466. big jock

Its ok forgive my stupidity. Its a PR stunt to encourage people to vote no. It cant be anything else.

467. big jock

That should be bet on no. Sure they would get more back than they paid out!

468. goulashman

Back just for a moment to share where it will be appreciated. Just now, on a hill overlooking our village, people of all ages, to the accompaniment of young voices shouting cheerfully, “Go Scotland! Aye Scotland!’, AYE is being placed in huge white letters! Wonderful! I do believe a hope is stirring! Its great that it is being heralded in this amazing way. A personal antidote to all the MSM/BBC ugliness. This is where its at:)! GO SCOTLAND! VOTE YES (as a young voice with a bright face shouts through my window in passing! Up the hill:)

469. balaaargh

@Caroline

Really? I could have sworn I was told Newcastle! That probably explains why there was such a backlog if they were going to the wrong place. 🙂

470. MochaChoca

For a very stark illustration of why Westminster is so reluctant for us to go and why Scotland will be very successful please refer to page 15 of this ONS report:

http://www.ons.gov.uk/ons/dcp171778_371775.pdf

The key to a successful economy is production.

471. JWil

It doesn’t matter what statement the NO campaign puts out, when you start lifting the stones there is always something horrible underneath.

On the Deutsche Bank statement for example, if you google the bank’s name you find that they are under investigation in the USA for money laundering, which is usually associated with criminal activities like drug dealing, in which case why would you believe their statement about Scotland post-independence?

Not only that, but there seems to be blocks associated with the articles in newspapers who are reporting these activities which prevent readers cutting and pasting to another publication. These look like attempts at damage limitation to stop the bad news from being spread around even further.

472. JWil

@Snode1965

Re hospital parking. Thanks. I’ll remember your advice, but I won’t tempt providence if I can avoid it.

It is a scandal that there is such a problem with parking especially for people who are ill and for relatives who have to attend to them.

473. JWil

Reading the papers and watching the TV it seems that George Robertson may be have been right about the cataclysm that an independent Scotland will cause, but it’s not about NATO. It’s about the knock on effect in England.

474. They can promise all they like, they have the House of Commons and Lords to stop the new powers going through. Scotland will end up with nothing.

475. JWil

Eleanor Bradford disappears for a few days and then comes back with her damning indictment about the NHS. She waves a document which has been stolen from the NHS.

She is sure to be mentioned in dispatches for her heroic work of trying to dig the dirt against Scotland’s aspirations.

Who said that we shouldn’t blame the messenger?

476. Crumbly Biscuit

Ok, let’s examine this ‘vow’ shall we?

“WE AGREE THAT: The Scottish Parliament is permanent…”

Oh. Was that ever in question? Interesting.

“…and extensive new powers for the Parliament will be delivered by the process and to the timetable agreed and announced by our three parties, starting on 19th September.”

What new powers, exactly? How extensive, exactly? Is that delivered by the process that includes a possible veto by the House of Commons and a further veto by the House of Lords?

“And it is our hope that the people of Scotland will be engaged directly as each party works to improve the way we are governed in the UK in the years ahead.”

Meaningless. You “hope”? How are we to “engage directly”, pray tell? We “engaged directly” with the BBC the other day and we were chastised for daring to do so.

Oh by the way, it’s bad grammar to begin a sentence with a proposition.

“We agree that the UK exists to ensure opportunity and security for all by sharing our resources equitably across all four nations to secure the defence, prosperity and welfare of every citizen.”

I like the wording. You are agreeing why the UK exists but you are not committing to actually doing anything to ensure that these things come about. Great vow.

“And because of the continuation of the Barnett allocation for resources, and the powers of the Scottish Parliament to raise revenue, we can state categorically thatthe final say on how much is spent on the NHS will be a matter for the Scottish parliament.”

So are you vowing to keep Barnett for ever? Superficially it sounds like that, but that’s not actually what you’ve said. Futhermore, what revenue raising powers of the Scottish Parliament? New ones, if so, what? Will the Scottish block grant reduce if England continues to privatise the NHS down south? No vow there that it won’t.

What did I say about beginning sentences with conjunctions?

“We believe that the arguments that so powerfully make the case for staying together in the UK should underpin our future as a country.”

A statement of opinion, but not a vow to make it so. Besides, what are these arguments, exactly? Surely you need to at least outline them, or do you intend to just pick the ones which suit you after the 19th?

“We will honour those principles and values not only before the referendum but after.”

Again, which principles? Which values? Without explicitly stating them your ‘vow’ is meaningless.

“People want to see change. A No vote will deliver faster, safer and better change than separation.”

Another statement of opinion with no commitment to anything. it doesn’t say “We promise to deliver faster, safer and better change”.

Just to top the whole thing off, you still can’t bring yourselves to use the word ‘Independence’.

As promises go, it’s not got much actual substance. In fact, it has absolutely none whatsoever. Even if it did, your track record makes it worth far less than the 55p it costs to buy the Daily Record.

477. Andy-B

Remind me again what happened to tuition fees in England when Nick Clegg promised not to raise them, Oh that’s right he raised them to £9000 quid.

Only a fool would believe, the 3 Westminster stooges.

478. Chic McGregor

OT For those who need a quick dose of top end humorous sketch writing (I did but didn’t realise it until I caught up with William Duguid’s effort from Thursday). Humour therapy here.

Has to be one of the wittiest writers out there.

http://williamduguid.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/the-union-wakes-up.html

479. JWil

Courtesy of Guido Fox:

It is reported this afternoon that Big Six energy bad boys EDF have come out against Scottish Freedom:

“EDF Energy has warned that Scottish independence would herald massive uncertainty for the energy sector, accusing Alex Salmond of failing to answer a series of fundamental questions over issues such as nuclear waste. In a memo to the energy giant’s 15,000 staff – 1,200 of whom are based in Scotland – Vincent de Rivaz said those voting on Thursday’s referendum had “enormous responsibility” and warned the outcome “will affect EDF Energy and its employees”.

It will come as no surprise to regular readers that the EDF’s External Communications Director is one Andrew Brown – Brother of McDoom, the Former Prime Mentalist and self-declared saviour of the Union…”

http://order-order.com/

480. JWil

I should have said Guido Fawkes.

No love lost between Guido and Brown, “the former prime mentalist”

481. David

big jock says:
    16 September, 2014 at 1:29 pm

I am now suspicious about the postal vote if bookies are paying out. Can anyone shed any light?

As a WoS Postal Vote Monitor as well as Polling Station and Count Monitor It is going to be a BUSY THURSDAY for me.

I have to divide myself into SEVEN till 22:00 and a LONG LONG NIGHT AHEAD I suspect I will be awake 20+ hours.

I would say UNLESS there is massive premeditated and very clever fraud you/we have nothing to worry about AND with my personal ‘estimate’ of a 90% return (it could be higher) of PV’s it is going to be very difficult to be able to have massive fraud on the PV’s.

If they got it wrong they could easily end up with a plus 100% return and that MIGHT look a wee bit suspicious dontyathink???

There are some things that NEED FIXED minor issues that don’t affect the opening and the validation of the Postal Vote Statment….remember all that is happening just now is the opening of the PV envelops and the validation of the PVS.

NO counting is taking place at the moment OTHER THAN total number of PVS’s / PV’s returned.

At the count all PV’s will be counted first and sorted to establish the result of the vote BUT that count will not start until 22:00.

BUT before the PV’s are counted PV’s will be mixed up with a 50% mix of polling station votes before the combined mix of votes cast is counted. So we will never know what the total PV for yes and no were.

All in all in my opinion the system looks robust and secure, with some room for improvement in minor areas.

After watching this process daily since the votes were returned I am very confident that the PV part is going to represent the votes of the people that actually voted with a PV… this of course does have a rider/disclaimer ‘in the area that I have been monitoring anyway’.

I hope that explanation of the Postal Vote process is helpful

482. Free Scotland

Clegg’s face is slightly in the shadow, Miliband’s face slightly less in the shadow, but Cameron’s face would remind you of a rabbit caught in the headlights.

483. William Duguid

@Chic McGregor

Thanks for the recommendation!

484. big jock

Thanks David for the reassurance. I am sure with good guys like yourself things will be ok in that regard!

485. Tom Foyle

MochaChoca:

The whole report makes interesting reading. It’s information like this, (thanks for the link!) suitably condensed, that should be made widely available by the MSM, not all the nonsense they’re spouting. It’s unfortunate that many simply don’t have either the time or the will to wade through such important statistics, and even more unfortunate that it would be hard to trust any synopses presented by BT. I suppose they rely on the sheer volume of information to put people off digesting it – and they would be largely correct.
    Whatever happens on thursday, I think a new newspaper or TV station is desperately required, one that publishes truth for a change.

486. JWil

I hear that David Dimbleby is to interview Alex Salmond and Gordon Brown separately on BBC 1 tonight at 9pm, on a special programme which may not be listed in the regular programme schedules.

That will be fun.

Let me anticipate: It will be Alex Salmond first with Gordon Brown watching the interview. Brown will then have the advantage of being able to attack what Salmond said, item by item.

487. Grouse Beater

Brian: Do you perhaps mean analyse?

Hi Brian. Sadly, you were the only person to spot the pun, unless others did. I tend to avoid gross reverences like ‘bend over backwards,’ in place of subtlety. The previous one was ignored too, about the pricks and arrows being flaccid!

Hope all is well in Helsinki. Folk there seem to be happy people so close to the ‘Evil Empire!’

488. caledonia

hold on pledge 5 is this

5. “How much is spent on the NHS will be a matter for the Scottish Parliament”

Thought they said we already had this so how can they offer it again

489. JWil

Announcement:

Laura Vicker’s eyes will finally pop out on Friday when she hears the result of the referendum.

490. crazycat

@ big jock

I was also at a postal vote verification session, and I think it would be extraordinarily difficult to distort the count. Any shenanigans would have to have taken place earlier, eg by “helping” people in care homes to cast their vote. The opportunities to do that, wrong though it is, are not that large.

491. Bob Malcolm

So the rat pack have signed a pledge to give Scotland additional powers. Who are these people? Two of them, most likely Clegg and Milliband will lose their jobs after the next election and the third Cameron will find his party don’t care to give Scotland additional powers. We will give you additional powers, what powers? Better together keep saying to us don’t vote for uncertainty, well what is this proposal ‘a pig in a poke’.

492. Grouse Beater

As I write my penultimate blog on independence the BBC continues with its torrent of propaganda, shoddy research, skewed attitudes, open hostility, hand picked right-wing pundits, and little or no deliberation on the democratic problems Scotland has endured.

Kerrist, I am so angry!

493. Grouse Beater

Simon Schama faffing on about federalism on BBC Newsnight, trying his best to reduce Scotland to a territory of England, not realising he is insulting and patronising us, rather than admitting Scotland and England are separate nations, that were united as equals but one never was allowed to attain that level.

We can co-operate in many things, but Scotland can not solve England’s problems, nor can England solve Scotland’s. Both should look to their own governments for interior political and social progress.

England has had over 300 years to do the right thing but instead has exploited, suppressed, and ignored.

494. donald anderson

Federal Unionism still leaves Engerland the dominant “partner”. We never had a so called “Union”, just a taka over. The new devo powers are petty and little more than dog licences. Only Independence is worth considering. The Liberals have Federal policy which they are incapable of realising, like the old CPGB.

Power devolved is power retained. Enoch P.

495. Cactus

Yee har, got the number 500th post.

My vow ~ I WILL walk 500 miles.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.