Next time we’ll listen

Posted on October 08, 2013 by

We just caught up on last night’s Newsnight Scotland ahead of tonight’s episode. Now that we have, we rather wish we’d heeded this advice from the PS3 iPlayer.

iplayernns

It’s like it knew.

43 to “Next time we’ll listen”

1. HandandShrimp

I can’t bear to click it on it. The scunner Hammond earlier today was quite enough, Stirling Council selling their souls simply to get at the Yes vote was a bridge too far and now Torquil on B’stard Broadcasting…a man can only take so much crap in one day.

2. Bill Fraser

Can’t bear to watch that program.  I get too angry at the blatant badgering of independence supporters and pussy footing around Bitter Together. 

3. For die

Sorry rev. More power to your elbow. Heard it as background noise last night. 5 mins  in tonight, sounded the same. Will it make an iota of difference. No. Is MM a tosser, yes. Is the new SoS a tosser, yes.

4. twenty14

Having a nice glass of Sauvignon and heading to airport in morning for well earned break with Family – no way am I watching this drivel – how to ruin a good mood

5. velofello

And meantime our new Secretary of State has been pushed aside by news of the impending purchase of Prestwick airport. He must be beelin, reduced to a one day news item – that wee besom Nicola.
    Mind you I did enjoy his handshake with the Cleg,Groucho Marx couldn’t have done it better.

6. Midgehunter

Choose another programme is what it’s about. Keep sane!

And the symbols bottom right  “Back”-“Off”. Keep away, probably a virus running about from somewhere 😉

7. Doug Daniel

I take it I needn’t be in a rush to catch up with this week’s Newsnichts when I get back from Vienna, then?

8. HandandShrimp

Doug

Hell No!

9. FreddieThreepwood

I made the mistake of watching it live last night. The only laugh was when Torcuil said in passing (deliberately of course to reinforce the idea that this is ‘a given’) that Better Together had already won the economic and financial arguments and now they needed someone to deal with the fight over identity and patriotism!
    Honestly, what sort of bubble is it these guys live in?
    Economic arguments won? Says who?
    Now the fight is over identity and patriotism? Again, says who? Do they think this is like rounds in a TV quiz? Have they yet to play their joker? Oh, maybe that’s Carmichael.

10. Iain

Wait till you catch up with the latest Scotlandtonight. Objective commentary on a potential Scottish defence force from ‘Mad’ Frankie Tusa, editor of Defence Analysis; no-one would want to join our diddy army ‘cos we wouldn’t be doing the serious stuff (Iraq, Afghanistan?) like the Yookay, and we’d end up sharing the *quote* derision suffered by the Irish and Belgian military.

11. HulloHulot

So long as Alistair Carmichael spends as much time shaking everyone’s hand as he does Nick Clegg’s, I don’t think he’s much to worry about.

12. big_al

I’m sorry, Lord Purvis?? 

Who??

WTF???

13. Bill C

No better (Together) tonight on Scotland Tonight I’m afraid.  Demolition job on Scottish Government’s defence policy.  Francis Tusa a London based defence analyst totally trashed Scotland’s ability to have a credible defence force. Usual bull about Scottish soldiers not wanting to serve in a Scottish Defence Force, etc, etc. He even managed to insult Irish Armed Forces. I have just tweeted Scotland Tonight to say that the guy was in another time warp. He was back in India and Carrying on up the Khyber Pass, totally unbelievable colonial attitude to Scotland. Disgraceful!

14. Macart

I’ll give it a miss, I have a delicate nature. That and I’m allergic to liars and propagandists.

15. muttley79

I can’t watch Newsnight and Scotland Tonight.  They are both anti-independence.  I cannot be bothered with their biased commentary.  They present people who are die hard unionists as neutrals.  It is just a waste of time.  I will watch the main debates, but that is it basically it for me.

16. Paula Rose

Newsnight Scotland? It’s all about unexpected results tonight – stuff going one way and not the other.

17. Jingly Jangly

Same for me I cant watch them both either mind you I don’t watch Telly since I stopped paying my tax to the beeb, at least the lottery is voluntary!!!

18. Brian Powell

If all is been won even proUnion viewers of Newsnight must be wondering why the programme still keeps going on about it.
    If they need to analyse even neutral information like the Census they must be very worried. 

19. pro-loco

Yeh, watched it live. Lots of how it was a smart move by Clegg to bring in Carmichael to ‘get in Salmonds’ face’. Nothing on what it says about the post of Secretary of State for Scotland that  one recently appointed and averagely competent holder of the post can be summarily dismissed. And only to install another, not to promote Scotlands voice in Westminster, but to oppose the policies of the democratically elected government of our country.

20. Jimbo

What’ll happen if I click the link? Is it Campbell or Brewer? Moore or Carmichael?

I don’t want to go there. It’s the cringe personified. It’s liars incorporated. I’ll end up shouting at the screen.

21. rabb

Alistair Carmichael – Mr Shake hands man!

22. velofello

Slightly O/T- forgive me Rev -on BBC presentation, You’all go and read Derek Bateman’s blog where he has a discussion with a Mairi on the trials and tribulations of working at the BBC. Our Morag contributes a piece on Call Kake and organic farming. 
    Morag, I offer you my electronic hug, superb piece.

23. Purr

Stopped watching that shite a long time ago

They all seem to forget the SNP was elected by 42% of the people that bothered to vote. 

24. Feil Gype

I widna worry aboot that program…the kinda folks that watch it will have already have made up their minds. Its like the Daily Mail…you’d be wasting your time trying te convert them te vote Yes because they would have te be total right wing unionist nutters te read that drivel onywye. No the folks te work on are the undecideds fa are nae really bothered too much aboot politics but need ‘educating’ …cheers

25. G H Graham

I stopped paying the BBC tax and rid my life of the telly because the news programs were just broadcasts featuring anti Scottish/pro British propaganda. Previously I would have paid a standing fee to a collection agency for the privilege of being brainwashed in my own living room by the establishment.

It’s similar to giving up cigarettes. After, you’ll kick yourself because you didn’t do it sooner.

26. fittie

torcuil is a Brian Wilson glove puppet —surely this pair cant really believe that westminster rule is better for the western isles than Holyrood

27. rabkae

Have this week cancelled my Direct Debit to ‘Aunty’ as a result of recent revelations by a weel kent former BBC broadcaster – no names, no pack-drill.

I’ve also resolved that any/all future correspondence from the BBC/Capita on the subject of my lack of a TV Licence will be forwarded directly to John Boothman, BBC North Britain’s Head of News & Current Affairs, for his attention.

For it is due to his efforts that I have resolved not to fund the Blatantly Biased Coverage in Scotland which emanates from Pacific Quay.

I’d urge others considering following a similar course of action to do likewise.

28. Patrick Roden

@Rabkae
    ” Have this week cancelled my Direct Debit to ‘Aunty’ as a result of recent revelations by a weel kent former BBC broadcaster – no names, no pack-drill.

I’d urge others considering following a similar course of action to do likewise. “

Nice one my friend. 🙂

29. Tony Little

OT, sorry.  Just seen an article over on NNS which seems to confirm that Scotland would be negotiating from WITHIN the EU – and this by an EU official.

Worth more investigation?

30. MochaChoca

Given Westminster’s resurgent desire to privatise stuff, shouldn’t the BBC also be in the firing line?

Surely a tax funded non-market driven organisation (particularly one which competes with private sector equivalents) goes against everything our current elected governors stand for?

Not that it would make the slightest difference to the way they report stuff, but at least then we wouldn’t be paying (directly) for it. 

31. Brian Powell

Personally, watching the programme it reminded me of when I did the history of China and the time before the Imperial rule collapsed.

The bloated civil service, where the officials mainly talked to each other and were secure in the artificial atmosphere of the palaces and government buildings.

They, like the speakers on Newsnight, still believed they controlled the agenda, they couldn’t see what was coming, or chose to ignore it.

Tarquil saying Westminster had won on NATO and EU; but we have “Mario-Paulo Tenreiro, who is responsible for institutional questions at the Secretariat General of the European Commission has said it would be “legally possible” for such negotiations to take place whilst Scotland remained an EU member.”

Danish MPs officials and academics saying there would be no barriers, but negotiation, and it could happen overnight.

There is so much information on Scotland being in NATO I won’t list it here.

Of course on Carmichael, he, as chief LibDem whip, pushed and bullied the more reluctant LibDem MPs to support the Bill for the privatisation of the NHS in England.

I wonder what the LibDem voters in Orkney think about that? They didn’t know the LibDems were going to do that when they voted in 2010.

32. msean

Can’t really expect anything at all from an organisation headed by a well known guy from a well known political party.Cannot see why a politician is governor of an organisation supposedly non political.

33. Colin Duffy

Could it be that after a promising start Scotland tonight has slipped into status quo mode? This is where we are and it`s up to those who wanna change everything to defend and explain why.

34. Linda's Back

Is it not the case that you can’t get any of the Scottish News and current affairs programmes live on BBC IPlayer as it is London centric just like the TV catchup App.

35. dee

STV are now fully paid up members of “Project Fear”.  For about a year they were flirting with both sides, but the gloves are off and its the London backers that are now calling the shots. 

I mean what was that all about last night on Scotland Tonight?.  An ultra right wing UK defence analyst and another anti-independence defence analyst.  Is that the best two experts that STV could invite into the studio to discuss this very important debate.  I don’t think so.

36. Training Day

@Colin Duffy

Scotland Tonight has proved to be a huge disappointment.  It’s adopted the same tactics as Newsnight in passing off Unionist commentators like Gardham, Crichton and Torrance as neutrals.  It’s afforded airtime in an ostensibly serious debate to airheads who argue that they’ll vote against self-determination because they ‘like being a mischievous wee neighbour to a bigger country’.  And last night’s programme was just a laughathon at the notion that Scotland could defend itself.  And as for the presenters..

It really is the most vacuous, inane, default Unionist drivel. 

37. gerry parker

Time we had the ability to recall our MP’s (National and Local) if they go against the wishes of their constituents. Look forward to seeing it in the new written constitution.
    BBC – a complete disgrace, STV not much better.

38. dee

O/T slightly,
    I see Chris Hoy at Buck Palace for the start for the torch relay for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.  I noticed he was wearing a kilt for the occasion,, he must have mugged a Scotsman. 

39. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I’m sure it’s a British kilt.

40. Daughter of Evil Reindeer

Warning this film contains extreme bias!

The movie some are calling the romcom of the year.
    The beeb frames this beautifully, two deeply pro union journalists obsequiously endorsing what is effectively a BT press statement masquerading as a news feature. It is “padded out” and “blinged up” by a recently gonged but scary looking liblabcon nonentity reiterating the “BT unanswered questions” mantra.

Obscure Alistair Carmichael, later to become famous for his role as “Yesterdays Man” in the blockbuster “Macbeth Act 11”, is seen crushing the hand of Nick Clegg who you will recognise from his student fees screwover role in “Going to the crack for David”.
    Lovers of BBC drama will recognise the location as somewhere near Albert Square.

What the critics say:
    We lapped it all up – The Hootsmon
    Not enough jackboot action – Daily Mail
    Creepy even for the beeb – The Daily Scare Story
    A bit less credible than “The Blair WMD Project” – Evil Reindeer Film Review

One star *

41. ayemachrihanish

More Reasons why we are Not Better Together – Herald today – THE Coalition Government is facing calls to get a grip on the “chaos” at Britain’s borders after more than 649,000 alerts on potential drug and tobacco smuggling were deleted unread from its computer system.

If the SNP administration were to blame – at least in the media aggression we would get some sort of explination – accountability. But a British cock up – and the media go all Zzzzzzzz “better together” zzzzzzz

42. Davy

Well on the politics show yesterday we had good old Ming Campbell state that any armed forces in an independent Scotland would only be of the level of a militia, so much for our proud military history, does this mean we can add “too scared” to “too wee, poor & stupid”, what a disgraceful thing for a Scotsman to say.

And on Scotland tonight it was time for scottish tweedle dee & london tweedle dum to absolutely do everything they could to miscall Scotlands abiltity to have a credable defence force. If the london twat had been anymore right -wing bias he would constantly be walking in a circle.

It was a disgrace of a show by STV their was no-one to defend the independence side of the debate and that includes the so-called presenter, the only good thing about it was, it was so over the top you would have to be a right numpty to believe any of it.

43. blunttrauma

Don’t complain about the BBC, throw your TV in the bin and don’t pay the  licence fee. That’s what I did.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.