Moodievision: Briefs Encounter

Posted on April 29, 2015 by

Greg Moodie’s Election Dissection, a compilation of splendid cartoon strips from The National, Bella Caledonia and elsewhere, is available to order now.

1. 29 04 15 13:32

Moodievision: Briefs Encounter | Speymouth

38 to “Moodievision: Briefs Encounter”

1. Capella

So are there two David Tennants? I was expecting the geeky one with the Buddy Holly specs and preppy haircut. Not that handsome fellow with Union Jack briefs! Funny.

2. John Sellars

Don’t laugh Peter Capaldi – you’re next!

Great Stuff Greg & team ๐Ÿ™‚

3. Edward

One word – Brilliant!

4. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

LOL

Nice one Greg and Co.

“Maigrit the wilderness years” ๐Ÿ˜€

Though to be fair there can’t be too many ‘scottish’ Labour MPs confident they won’t be following her oot the door now.

I suspect Labour HQ in London’s phone lines are red hot right this second. They’ll be jammed full of terrified ‘scottish’ Labour MPs begging and pleading for a Lordship, think tank job, Spad job, ANYTHING!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. Robert Peffers

MAY THE FEAR BE WITH THEM

6. morag towndrow

I know you told DT fans to look away but ….. Oh how very dare you Magrit!!!! Does the Divine David know he has been thus abused?

7. Dr Jim

I do enjoy these cartoons Well Done

Just watched Nick Robinson on Andrew Neil politics show
    where he seemed to be advocating Torie voters to vote Labour because his friends in Edinburgh are

Also Nicola Sturgeon has not had to answer any difficult questions to which Andrew Neil answered “Chance would be a fine thing”

Funny thing about Nick Robinson though
    being sick has not made him any less a little shit
    now he appears to be a jealous little shit

8. Al-Stuart

Thank you Stu & Greg. Excellent addition to your website. Love these vids., and really needed a smile today.

BTW – Iain Gray’s Subway Lament @ 12:17 if you were a betting person, which of the following Lordships you suggest do you think may come about? In the mood of Moodie:

1) Lord Danny Alexander of Tuitionshire

2) Lord Murphy of Eigg

3) Lady Maigrit of Chewawasp

4) Lord Douglas Alexander of Mislaidvotes in Scotia

5) Lord Gordon Brown of Jurrasic

6) Lord Darling of Second Homes Troughing

7) Lord Clegg of Fibbershire & Imsorry

8) Lord Duncan-Smith of Demonisethedisabled

Sorry about the last one, but the evidence points to the currently ‘invisible’ Duncan-Smith having a real and evidential role in many of the 50 AUSTERITY DEATHS http://www.calumslist.org

Thank goodness for their being an ANTI-Austerity party to vote for.

9. desimond

Made me laugh as reminded me of my wifes open mouthed gape when her beloved David Tennants voiceover started at the end of Labours latest broadcast

10. Capella

Apologies! Mixed him up with David Torrance! Oops – that’s what happens when you don’t have a TV or a good memory.

11. Valerie

I am so sad that Tennant is a Unionist, I keep hoping he will see the light.

Good episode, Maigrit such a tragic figure, but even when I spotted that pic of her with Tennant as a cardboard cut out, I thought, hell mend you when someone rips the pยทยทยท for being that stupid.

12. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

@Al-Stuart

Broon and Clegg would seem to be racing certainties at some point. Darling, IDS and Alexander too I would think.

Soon they’ll have to start building an extension on to the Lords to fit in all the hundreds of failed westminster politicians. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Wee Dougie and Maigrit? Canny see it myself. Somebody still has to be blamed and sure won’t be wee Ed Miliband standing up to take the blame. Murphy definitely won’t want to take any blame and Dugdale can only carry the can so much.

13. heedtracker

Heard Space cadet Magrit wind up STV says vote SLab We Beg You Now Scotland last night, explaining how we would all see how tatical voters will save their cushty jobs May 9.

So vote Labour all Conservatives, make creepy Jim Morphy dance for joy with the Conservative party, like how he did with lady Annabelle whatsherface, now a TeamGB Tory Baroness Trougher for life, 18th September 2014. A great No Thanks UKOK victory party had by all.

6 months fast foward, red Tory Morphy and Magrit pleading for blue Tory to save them in their Scotland region, with hardly a week to go. Who’d have thought it.

14. Chic McGregor

David Tennant has always been a surprise to me. After a while you get to be able to tell who the Unionists are going to be before you know for sure and he doesn’t fit the profile somehow.

15. gillie

“Nicky Nacky Noo” – LoL

16. John

Just ordered it..

O/T That link the Rev retweeted is like a scene from “The Thick of It”. Moment of the campaign so far:

https://twitter.com/Ray_McRobbie/status/593379875962126336

17. Tattie-bogle

I got a bit panicky at the start i thought it was going to be the intro to margareterella pfeeeeeeewwwwwwwwww

18. galamcennalath

Good stuff. I wonder what Margrit’s plans are for the second half of May?

I guess that her political career will be over! There will be a big queue to get top of the Labour second vote lists for Holyrood 2016. That will be only way all these SLab people can continue. Somehow Margrit won’t be at the top.

An interesting OT thing I read. During the American struggle for Independence they called everyone supporting ongoing London rule Tories. Funny how history can repeat itself.

19. Buster Bloggs

Great wee cartoon and if you haven’t saw this wee vid then chill for 5 mins and watch Slab’s downfall, youtu.be/0UckAXbyxqc cheers Rev Stu.

20. Daibach

Great cartoon #2 Greg and team ๐Ÿ™‚
    O/T I am not away on May 7th now, can I take postal vote to Polling station to be counted?
    Do I need to take I/D?
    Thanks
    Dai

21. Cuilean

I was not at all surprised that Tennant is a strong Britnat. He was the subject of a ‘Who Do You Think You Are’ programme a while back. One half of his family hailed from Ulster’s deepest orange county. Tennant was quick to recoil from Orange sashes on the programme, but, like fellow Scot luvvie, Ewan McGregor, he has bought into the cool britannia script. McGregor likes flying ‘cool Britannia’ spitfires with his RAF big brother pilot.

You can’t win them all and we have independent minded actors like David Hayman, Brian Cox & Alun Cumming etc.

Don’t be too harsh on David & Ewan. They have to think about where their next (team GB cool Britannia) roles are coming from, and they’ll be coming from all their cool teamGB, britannia pals within their luvvie London bubble.

Like Rhett Butler in ‘Gone With The Wind’, I guess they’ll all be pleading closet YESsers post Independence Day, cos it will be LOndon trendy then.

22. Onwards

Oh dear, Magrit actually sounds quite seductive..

23. Yoda

Chic McGregor said:

David Tennant has always been a surprise to me. After a while you get to be able to tell who the Unionists are going to be before you know for sure and he doesnโ€™t fit the profile somehow.

Well, let’s see. He’s moderate, sensible and played the quintessentially British doctor who.

So really, it’s obvious that he is a unionist

24. Fiona

UK has worked well for them. Lots like them: Marr, Naughtie, etc

Can’t really blame them. We mostly judge on our own experience, so they probably can’t see the problem. Particularly those who have lived in London for a long time. One thing that is certain is that if you move away from a place you tend to imagine it does not change. So you think you understand it, when in fact you have no idea. Reinforced by the fact that those you live among treat you as an expert on the place you have left.

25. Fiona

@ Yoda

I take it he is a friend of yours? Otherwise how could you know what kind of person he is? Not judging on public persona, I trust?

26. Al-Stuart

Hi, Iain Gray’s Subway Lament @ 1.04pm

You mentioned: “Soon theyโ€™ll have to start building an extension on to the Lords to fit in all the hundreds of failed westminster politicians. ;)”

You are right about the extension to the House of Lords to accommodate these ex-mps, but for once, just once, I think we stand a chance of our Nicola making Labour do as they have been promising – Keeping Labour Honest:-

ABOLISH THE HOUSE OF LORDS

One of the finest and most principled things I have seen recently is when Alex Salmond had just resigned and was asked “Will it soon be Lord Salmond?”

In a microsecond he shot back with an unequivocal NO! Just shows true colours and principles. No ermine, coronets or ยฃ300 a day to sit on red leather benches with subsidised tea, crumpet and booze can bribe the SNP. What other political party can say this? They are all in that place together.

Well not if our Sturgeonator buys herself a bulldozer and holds firm on getting rid of those political has-beens in that crony-ridden chamber.

Here’s some more candidates for Moodies funny pages:-

9) Baron Von Rifkind of Bungalot

10) Lady Lamont of Branch & Revenge

11) Lord Grey of Subway Lament

P.S. If you are an SNP canvasser, maybes ask Labour/Conservative/LibDem voters what they think about all 3 parties voting FOR austerity and if they, as voters are comfortable with the 50 folk who have died because of the Tory/Labour/LibDem supporting a lethal welfare reform doctrine as evidenced here: http://calumslist.org/calums-list/

Better still, just ask your voter to Google “Calums List” and see what there view is on common decency? The ONLY humane vote here is for ANTI-Austerity: http://calumslist.org/vote-ge2015/

27. Harry Shanks

Gordon Brown, Lord of the Lies

28. jackie g

O/T but relevant

Guess what is trending at no 7 at the moment.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

From Wikepiedia

The Scottish National Party (SNP) is a Scottish nationalist and social-democratic political party in Scotland. The SNP supports and campaigns for Scottish independence.

It is the third-largest political party by membership in the United Kingdom, behind the Labour Party and the Conservative Party, and is the largest party by far in Scotland itself; the SNP membership number is more than 4 times larger than the membership numbers of the Scottish Conservatives, Scottish Labour and Scottish Liberal Democrats combined.

๐Ÿ™‚

29. Brian Powell

Is the the a care story in the making? Although there os no FFA . “NIESR chief Angus Armstrong claims Scotland may have to pay back ยฃ126billion share of UK debt under SNP FFA plans.”

We had stuff like this in the Referendum.

30. Brian Powell

Scare, not care. Predictive text.

31. crazycat

@ Daibach at 1.47

Yes, you can take your postal vote to the polling station on the day.

Or you can hand-deliver it to the council offices at any point between now and then (although if it is the security of it that concerns you, that won’t help).

If you do either of these things, however, you must put the ballot paper in the envelope supplied, and complete the postal voting statement with your signature and date of birth for validation.

Then you won’t need ID (though you could take it just in case). What you must NOT do is take your ballot paper to the polling station and try to put it, without its envelope, in the normal ballot box. This would mess up the tallying of the number of ballots in the box and the names crossed off on the marked register.

No polling clerk would let you do this; there was a suggestion on an earlier thread which, if I understood it correctly, expressed an intention to fill the ballot in in the booth and then put it in the box.

I am worried that people may try to do this, leaving their envelopes at home, or even discarding them,and then find that the clerks disallow their votes.

32. Almannysbunnet

@Daibach says:
    O/T I am not away on May 7th now, can I take postal vote to Polling station to be counted? Do I need to take I/D?
    Yes you can hand in your postal vote at the polling station BUT you must hand it in exactly as you would post it i.e. properly filled out in black ink and sealed inside envelopes A and B. You shouldn’t need I.D. but given how much room it will take up in your hip pooch I’d err on the side of caution, just in case there’s a Murphbouncer on the door. ๐Ÿ™‚

33. kev

that was terrible seriously a bit pish com on get yer finger oot

34. Daibach

@craziest and @Almannysbunnet
    Thanks for that, I’ll hand it over on the day then (at least the Ruthin won’t get a chance to read it ๐Ÿ™‚ )
    Dai

35. Paula Rose

Never mind the actors who play him – it is obvious the Doctor supports self-determination, otherwise he would be a supporter of the cybermen.

Now stop being silly.

36. mogabee

Hahaha..obviously Mr Tennant doing a little method acting!

..But with oor Magreet? Totally unbelievable Greg. ๐Ÿ˜€

37. Jamie Arriere

Good stuff guys. High quality, too

Would sound even better if Magrit was voiced a bit more like Jacqueline McCafferty.

Keep it up

38. Yesitis

That`s brilliant. A wee bitty scary, but all good stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.