Unfortunate error proves contagious

Posted on February 25, 2015 by

The gift that keeps on giving.

hotherballs2

Mr McNeill still hasn’t publicly explained how he came to be telling Labour supporters to vote Tory and let the Conservatives gain four seats on Labour, but we assume his private reasons for his “Twitter mistake” must have been really really good to win over the “comrades” in such a short space of time, so that’s nice.

The trouble is, he’s not alone.

Here’s Labour peer Baron Moodie of Bennochy last month.

moonie2

Here’s another one, Baron Foulkes of Cumnock.

foulkestv

And here’s Labour councillor Willie Young, finance convener of Aberdeen City Council, just three hours ago, retweeting the very same tactical voting graphic that cost Robert McNeill his position on the party’s Policy Forum. (He follows the semi-literate Twitter account responsible and has RTed other tweets of theirs.)

willieyoungtv

We can’t help but feeling Labour might want to tell its elected members and officials who’ve been making this “mistake” for at least three months now (breaking Labour rules) that perhaps they should stop soon, before the entire party has to resign.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 25 02 15 02:42

Unfortunate error proves contagious - Speymouth

2. 25 02 15 10:54

Unfortunate error proves contagious | Politics ...

134 to “Unfortunate error proves contagious”

1. Betty Boop

Oh, why stop them when we are all having such fun?

Has anyone discovered a real policy upon which they wish to fight this election?

2. Lesley-Anne

I have a question here. 😉

Do the *ahem* members who have been telling their *cough* supporters to vote Tory and get … erm … Tory have to resign or are they kicked out by the chair. Oops I forgot the chair is one of those involved in telling his supporters to vote Tory. 😀

Come to think about it that would be one hell of a conversation, the chair of Tranent Labour party (also former vice chair of East Lothian constituency Labour party) telling himself to resign from the Labour party! 😛

3. Dan

Willie Young’s stupidity has been courting early retirement for a long, long, long time now. And I think this might be the final nail in the fool’s coffin.

4. kev

i cant believe its not made main story on likes of scotland tonight ect its crazy

5. Jamie Arriere

As I said before

VOTE LABOUR, GET MISTAKES

The mistakes may make them think they’re human, but to most folk it shows them to be incompetent and unprincipled

6. george

if they keep it up, at this rate the only people voting labour in may will be the tories, the libdems and the nutter element of the orange order.

it’s sad, and it would have been unbelievable twenty years ago. hell mend them.

7. silver19

OT: Labour using BT indyref campaign tactic caught using actor pretending to be real person, This time pretending a NHS Scotland nurse voting for Labour :- https://twitter.com/YesGiffnock/status/570378210703228929

8. Taranaich

I’m getting more and more concerned that we will, in fact, end up with a Grand Coalition to keep the SNP out. Why else would we see all three Unionist parties suggest tactical voting for each other in different constituencies just to keep the SNP out?

The recent events regarding Ukraine have me even more worried. We all remember how the pro-Russian Ukrainians were called “separatists” (even though they wanted to join Russia, which I think is somewhat the opposite of “separation”), we all saw every party talk about the “necessity” of Trident on BBCQT in contrast to the FM’s anti-Trident stance. I’m truly starting to believe that they’re going to get all up in Ukraine, and use it as an excuse to form a National Government to stop the SNP from affecting their daily workings.

You don’t have to look far to see just how easily Conservative & Labour, New & Old, put aside their differences to stop the SNP.

9. James A Mcvean

Did you see my comment on the other tactical post where the chap at Scotland’s Big Voice said the Labour vice chairman was Stupid for sharing that tactical voting wheel panel…that poor Labour chap must be thinking “With friends like these…”

10. Barontorc

Rev Stu, you mean to say UK Labour / Heinz 57 Varieties, or whatever actually have RULES?

11. Guttersnipe

So that’s nice.

12. mmarsattacks

This could well be how it goes. It would gain them a wee bit more time for the union, but be the final death warrant for labour in Scotland. At the subsequent general election the SNP would be able to return to its previous position where a majority of the seats would be considered a mandate for independence. It might not take very long at all. I’d be surprised if such an unholy alliance lasted a full term…

13. Achnababan

Duncan Horrorshow is a muppet – end of

14. Grouse Beater

Never give a sucker an even break.

Even Rifkind is intent on spontaneous combustion. Did you see how he behaved to the press when confronted after his resignation? To cameraman: “You should have learned how to walk backwards by now.”

What a jerk. He’ll won’t recover now.

English politics! English politics! I’m sick to death of hearing nothing but English politics.

15. Dubai_Scot

Lesley-Anne says:

Good one Lesley. You hit the nail on the head. Scottish Labour are past masters at speaking to themselves hence the incoherent mess they are in now when they try to speak to Scotland ! 🙂

16. Democracy Reborn

If four SNP politicians tweeted the exact same, the MSM hacks would be all over it like flies round shit and you could be assured of front page splashes in their rags.

Yep, the working class of Kirkcaldy will be delighted to hear Baron Moodie pronounce that he’d prefer a partnership with the Tories.

17. Macart

Labour representatives actively supporting Conservatives in Scotland and Conservatives being ever so grateful I’m sure.

Truly the age of miracles is upon us. 😮

18. The Man in the Jar

Good work Stu. It must be a real joy going to work if your job is with the Labour party. Surrounded by all those happy smiling faces full of warmth and contentment. 🙂

19. Ken500

Willy Young is wasting £Millions of taxpayers money destroying Aberdeen City against the majority wishes and the pubic interest, supported by a colluding Green. Never be seen with a naive Green.

Rifkind and Straw are multimillionaires, they went into politics not to help the the public interest but to help themselves, with self seeking contracts. All In It together.

20. Ken500

‘Raise taxes and end Trident’? Nonsense.

End Trident will cut taxes and the money can be better spent.

21. jimnarlene

Tories the lot of them, there is no denying it.

Just had the misfortune to see BBC “Scottish” news, first 3 “news” items all SNP bad, so that’s another PPB for the forces of darkness.

22. The Isolator

Well this is fun isn’t it?

The problem for the Anti Independence Collective is that the dam almost burst completely at the the time of the referendum, and since then they have been unable to effect repairs.

The water just keeps a tricklin through.

23. Shuggy

Notice anything missing, folks?

Where is the equivalent Tory Tactical Wheel of Fortune for their BLP chums?

Haven’t the BLP learned anything from their role in Better Together?

Honestly, it’s like watching Igor trying desperately to please Van Helsing.

24. Shuggy

Mind you, the reality is that there’s no need for tactical voting – or for an official Lab-Tory grand coalition. They already vote together on so many issues.

In fact, it suits both parties to continue the pretence of opposition to fool voters that they have a choice.

25. Ken500

Willy Young/Labour/Unionists spent £26 Million of public money paying off AECC debt. £33Million the Art Galley and the unique marble steps. People are protesting on the streets against the non mandated, unpopular, dodgy Muse project, which will get the City into massive debt.There are calls for Scottish Gov to call it in. They refused a £80Million Gift to pedestrianise the City Centre supported by the majority. Last time in Office they nearly bankrupted the City and had to be censored. Unfit for Public office.

Young & Co sent out council tax letters, illegally, advising people to vote NO in the Referendum.. They were advised by the City legal officers, that it was illegal. An attempt is now being made to have them censored. Unfit for public office.

ACC refused permission for a popular supported Dons (community) Stadium on the south side of the City which would have helped to relieved the (match day/weekend) traffic problems. The Labour/Unionists voted against the by- pass road for thirty years, causing chronic traffic problems, which damage the economy.

26. john king

Sliver19
    Superb
    But look at Suzanne’s profile at the bottom it says

“Im very good at making people believe things which aren’t true, hence why I’ve always been told to pursue acting”

Whoohahahahahaha
    you couldn’t make it up
    yes you could
    no you couldn’t
    yes you could………

PS
    stick with the day job hen. 🙂

27. Tackety Beets

My granny often used the phrase ” Thick as cats S@@T in a bottle ! “. Quite appropriate to these tweeters .

Is Murphy standing back watching his comrades implode , or is it explode .

Nae word on his constituency ? What a div not knowing what he is doing . Mmmm very clear strategy .

Ah FFS Bradford is on GMS now ! Aggghhh where’s ma blood pressure tablets Jenny Marra on shortly ……. When will I ever learn switch it offffff !

28. Wee Jimmy

Ha ha! Seriously? ‘Baron Moodie’? He sounds like a cartoon bad guy. “Look out Super Ted, it’s Baron Moodie and the Sulky Slab Gang”!

29. Richard Holmes

I am disappointed that this has not been covered more widely in the press, after all the “vote SNP get Tory” rubbish that Scottish Labour have been spouting.

And I am particularly disappointed that the Herald appear to be actively suppressing McNeill’s tweet; I have had several posts about it removed from their forum.

30. Thomas Valentine

So all of this is about internal labour party documents being released too early. Inside the party this must be talked of all the time. We really need a few guys in there. You can be sure they have people in the snp.

31. Craig Wilson

I want to say “take nothing for granted, keep campaigning to polling day”, but with a 20-30 point swing to the SNP, it’s almost fantastical to even consider them losing any of the 6 original seats. Aside from the barmy message of “Vote Tory to stop the Tories”, the good Lord is an endless stream of comedy.

Taranaich: I wouldn’t worry too much. A National Government would be horrible as long as it lasted, but as far as indyref2 I think it would be game over. They couldn’t possibly spin the yarn about Westminster protecting Scotland’s interests in that context.

32. G4jeepers

FrankenHotties LABOUR-A-TORY.
    Mix red, blue & orange, get Brown.

33. Effijy

Rev Stuart, For the first time you have got this wrong!

You claim that Labour are breaking their own rules in promoting another party in the election.

That quagmire of deceit and corruption parted company with Rules,
    Morals, and honesty quite some time ago.

As they say themselves, its Labour’s Westminster gravy train first and last.

It is very inconvenient having to be condescending to working class people when they can be earning £5,000 day working for big corporations and attending their Gala Dinners.

You really are trying to spoil things for the nations elite!

34. Mealer

Red Tories indeed.

35. Helpmaboab

@Wee Jimmy,

Baron Lewis Moodie is indeed a pantomime villain, but one in the tradition of Scottish Labour kleptocracy rather than cartoons.

He was formerly the MP for the ultra-safe seat of Kirkcaldy but stood down at the 2005 election to clear the way for one Gordon Brown. (Gord’s previous constituency had been affected recent boundary changes and became significantly less pro-Labour.)

Hey presto! Not long after his resignation Moonie was raised to the peerage.

36. Snode1965

HaHa Jenny Marra stuttering like a clown on GMS. Claims NHS can go 7 days up from 5 for £100 million across Scotland! Credit to Gary Robertson, he didnae have to work hard to prove Slab Health spokesperson is totally out of her depth.

37. Craig P

I got that Labour leaflet through the door last night. We’ve had devolution for 15 years and *still* Labour campaign on the NHS in a Westminster election.

38. Mealer

Foulkes sits in the House of Lords.He is,therefore,a Tory.And he doesn’t want a lot of SNP MPs pushing for the abolition of the House of Lords.

39. jock mc X

All labour mp’s,all those who voted no,all labour apologist’s,
    and everybody else should be forced to watch the ken loach
    film (the spirit of 45)…
    All labour members sitting in the house of lords should be
    strapped to a chair (or comode) and forced to watch it over
    and over again from now until the GE.
    Available to rent on itunes if u’ve not seen it.

40. Dorothy Devine

I see Mr Hothersall has grasped at a Rifkind straw – errors of judgement indeed!

Thieves , liars and fraudsters – utterly disgusting people.

41. H

Mistake my arse, they hoping the 55% will run with it, like in referendum, save the union from the nats LOL, so the more they post it and put out there the more they show the battle plan :-/

42. Clootie

Does anyone need any further evidence that Westminster is a private unionist club that has effectively given up even pretending to be representative of the people.

The establishment Parties do not want any other party to gain seats as the cosy “turns each” politics is best for Whitehall and their personal wealth.

Labour politicians calling on support for Tory candidates should be the final nail in Labours coffin.

43. Kenny

SNP candidates – do please remember to mention this in EVERY SINGLE INTERVIEW YOU EVER DO.

44. Macart

Error of judgement my fuzzy broon erse…. If that’s all it had been, then no biggie. No, what we have here is a mindset. A long held belief system at work and now revealed through desperation and fear.

Establishment politicians, thick as thieves (in some cases literally), acting together to prevent a mad outbreak of democracy in their closed shop. Labour and the Tories run the show, the Lib Dems act as enablers. That’s if you want to give them names of course. In truth there is no Labour, Conservative or Lib Dem, merely career politicians shaking in their collective booties at the thought of having to deal with something that might bring an end to their good times. The thought there might be an ideology, ethic, or original thought amongst any of those parties these days is utterly laughable FFS.

Twitter, FB, the net reeks of their fear and petty hatred. It alive with nasty tunnel visioned, tribal, self interested wee politicos spouting desperation politics in order to preserve their way of life…

… ‘In order to preserve THEIR way of life’ being the point of their bullshit. Not one of those tweets above mention the people or their needs, what the people want, what people like you and me might think of their cunning plans. Not an individual policy for the betterment of society mentioned, not fucking once, just ‘how are we gonnae fix this’, just ‘me masel’ and I’ on display.

If ever people really wanted to see the face of their politics unmasked, then there it is in all its glory, that’s what has been passing for your representation and governance since before you were born.

Greed, Fear, Hatred, Patronage, Career and Self. From Straw and Rifkind to the sheer ignorance and arrogance of those ATL.

The good news is they’re afraid for a reason and its not just the SNP. They’re terrified they went too far in the referendum and that people are going to hold them and their members clubs (parties) to account. They’re terrified they started something that we are going to finish.

They’re right. Just like the referendum, the SNP are merely the messengers and we’re way beyond the point of the protest vote now. We’re out to change our politics.

45. jock mc X

Days of hope, by ken loach…full series is on youtube

46. paul gerard mccormack

Doesn’t that tactical voting diagram look like a pie, or better still the wheel of fortune?

47. desimond

Labours new song “Whats that coming over the hill?..is it a Monster?”

Has anyone asked Jim Murphy how he intends to deal with such rogues?

Also..if Ed Mikiband promising no 2nd MP jobs if elected PM…why not just make it Labour policy straight away or is unilateral a bad word?

48. Author_al

Astrology guiding NHS policy? This Tory loves the idea…. Stargazing will take pressure off the NHS…

https://archive.today/MqEXs

49. Marie clark

@ Macart 8.13. Oh well said sir. Doffs bunnet.

What a great post and how very true, and they have good reason to be afraid as we have now seen through them.

” We are out to change our politics”, yes, and the sooner the better for all of Scotland.

50. Scotspine

BBC Scotland at it yet again. Concentrating on Rifkind and not a mention of Straw. Oh but of course, Straw is Labour so is to be protected.

51. Dorothy Devine

Macart , I do hope you are right. These are despicable people working against democracy and working against Scotland.

It must be hard for those with any conscience to look at themselves in the mirror – and there must be some surely?

52. galamcennalath

The odd mistake does indeed show you are human. Making mistakes habitually shows you are an eijeet!

Vote Labour, Get Eijeets!

53. Training Day

You can’t move for SNP-induced ‘crises’ on the BBC propaganda machine this morning. Health, Transport, even the graffiti at Dumbarton Rock.

Having had a sitting MSP dodge my question about how the party is going to confront this monster and learn from the referendum campaign, I fear there is still little idea about how to handle – or confront – the BBC. It is still all too easy for the BBC Labour shills at Pacific Quay to make SNP representatives sound defensive, reactive, hassled and in a minority of one.

I trust there is a plan for the GE campaign proper.

54. De Valera

I might have known Baron Drinkup would have got involved in this. Hoping for a Tory revival then George?

55. galamcennalath

Craig P says:
    “I got that Labour leaflet through the door last night. We’ve had devolution for 15 years and *still* Labour campaign on the NHS in a Westminster election.”

I got that too. Perhaps Labour have simply given up on the GE and they have started campaigning for Holyrood 14 months early.

Joking aside, it sums up Labour. They know a big chunk of voters don’t really understand which issues have and haven’t been devolved. So in typical devious rotten underhand style, Labour are trying blatantly to make capital of people’s ignorance.

Labour seek out actively gaps in the electorate’s knowledge and understanding, and attempt to make capital of them.

56. arthur thomson

Spot on Macart. Greed and selfishness are at the core of all three tory parties. Those who continue to support them are motivated by same – the ‘I would if I could’ brigade. Their ranks are bolstered by the gullible and the fearful. Bullies with their motley crews of easily led non-descripts.

57. HandandShrimp

Red Tories want to see Blue Tories win. I think the message is pretty clear that the troughers don’t view this as politics or principles but as just one big club that they can use to feather their nests and they don’t want outsiders tipping the trough over. Rifkind and Straw cases in point.

Foulkes is no great surprise. A principle free zone if ever there was one. Duncan on the other hand will just enthusiastically cheerlead anyone who says anything anti-SNP. A boy needs a hobby after all.

58. Nana Smith

Labourites so bereft of rationality cohesion and democracy and as for having some policies, Sheesh

Their sole purpose is to denigrate the snp for having the gall to make life better for Scots after years of labour making sure folks were kept low in order to vote for some far off nirvana that only labour could provide.

Double dealing backstabbers divisive as ever, both within the party and intent on spreading discord among the electorate.

59. G4jeepers

Macartist paints it beautifully.

Light pastel, subtle watercolour, dazzling gouache topped off with a donking great splodge of oil.

A fine masterpiece.!

60. peekay

“Baron Moodie of Bennochy”

Not too sure why but every time I see that name the theme tune for Dangermouse starts playing in my head!

61. Alabaman

“VOTE LABOUR, GET MISTAKES”,
    A great one liner!.

62. mumsyhugs

The multi-coloured rainbow alliance Tories are now all following one of Davie C’s favourite mantras – “We’re all in this together!” – aye, deep doodoos and they know it! 🙂

63. galamcennalath

An interesting historical perspective was that during the American War of Indepenence, those seeking self determination referred to everyone who opposed them and wished continued rule from London as …. Tories.

Well that aspect of history certainly seems to be repeating itself here!

Scotland’s pro democracy activists now has the full rainbow of Tories lines up against us. And, even among themselves they now accept voting for one colour of Tory is as good as voting for another!

64. Macart

@ Dorothy and Marie

These people don’t have a conscience those who do find themselves in political hinterlands in rapid order these days. Remember how few in cabinet stood against the Iraq war publicly and where are they now?

No the people who are chosen to run the show have armour plated skin and the conscience of a shark. They do business daily amongst themselves and there has been no distinguishable difference between the parties for literally decades. The referendum was the first challenge to their hegemony and it revealed to the public just how closely interlinked their ideologies really were. Most of all it revealed how little difference there was between Labour and Conservative politics and policy. There only ever was an establishment. Party politics was there to decide personal agenda, not political ideology.

Labour in Scotland especially lived off the myth of ‘Tartan Tories’ for decades in their drive to create a power base. Yet the first thing, the very first thing they did when the establishment was challenged, was to jump happily into bed with those who have crapped all over the poor for generations. Same deal we see today as evidenced above. At the very thought the Scottish electorate may reject them, they actively move to support establishment representatives including Tories rather than face an outbreak of democracy and public opinion.

They deserve nothing but our contempt. They were created to defend us from the establishment and defend the poor, represent our interests in partnership. They’ve spent the past forty years using the SNP as a scapegoat for betraying their own PM and their own electorate.

Our turn.

65. Malcolm

The opinion polls are holding steady, the panic is building in the Area Manager’s office.
    Creepy Jim gave no boost, even when Super Gordy spewed forth more bollocks on “Devo plus max Super Smith plus ultra GTi” or whatever it was,the polls stayed immobile.

So get ready, they will become more and more desperate but it will all come down to “SNP BAAAAD” and free unicorns for all.
    Because that is all they have. A big bag of heehaw.
    45% of us watched them talk Scotland down and we wont forget.

66. Luigi

Macart:

No the people who are chosen to run the show have armour plated skin and the conscience of a shark.

And the spine of a jellyfish.

67. Stoker

Have we not got any readers from Aberdeen who could contact the branch office HQ and ask the manager (Dim Jim), or deputy manager (Deputy Dug), for explanations as to:

(1) – Why Willie Young and Co have been repeatedly breaking Party rules by doing what they’re doing?, and

(2) – Why is Willie Young and Co urging people to vote against the Party and to vote Tory?, and

(3) – Are the Unions aware and supportive of these “vote Tory” urges being issued by certain Party members?

This isn’t a referendum, it’s a fricken election.

Better still, Rev, why don’t you (or someone on your team) contact them and seek some answers.

These Red Tory ("Tractor" - Ed)s need to be exposed for what they are, SCUM.
    http://www.indyscot.info/

68. lochside

I’ve warned all along that the unionists were fighting this as REf 2. Murphy signalled that was the case…no matter how ludicrous. Look at the wall to wall ‘Crises’ being invented daily by the Bbc and msm.

Why do people on here trust the ‘polls’? Remember how they were manipulated before? Murphy and the whole rotten gang are being allowed to lie obfuscate and set the agenda daily, no matter how insane, because the msm are hand in hand.

The SNP should have seen this coming…but no Yes Alliance means split Indy vote versus mobilised unionist vote. Murphy needs to con a couple of hundred
    thousand

Labour msm audience back into the fold to stymie the SNP steamroller. Stop the Bb or we fail. Watch Snp needless backpeddling on tv.We must stop the BBC or we lose again.

69. TheItalianJob

McCart@8.17

Great post and so very true. All in it for themselves. Look at Moodie for one. How we (including me) were conned most of out political lives. Not any more.

We especially Scotland have been awakened.

70. manandboy

Re Straw and Rifkind – on this most recent occasion
    they were caught.
    What about the other occasions which remain secret.
    Or are we to believe that this is the first time
    these two men have done this
    when they have both been in politics for a lifetime.

Nothing on the video indicated that this was the first time
    that these men had made such deals.
    Quite the contrary.

Had this been the first such meeting – and it was a sting –
    therefore nothing illegal happened,
    why the haste to resign by Rifkind.
    Not the action of an innocent man.
    Rather more the avoidance of further investigation.

But hey, it was only an error of judgement – for them.

For us – it’s a crime.

71. Jim Thomson

@Stoker 9:53am

YOU are part of the Wings team 🙂

Stuart doesn’t have a huge office full of well behaved staff, he has us. We are the team. Feel free to ask and then send Stuart the response.

#JustSaying

72. Nana Smith

@Macart

Wonderful posts. You really should have your own blog???

73. Valerie

I’m just saying, the National ran this story yesterday with the wheel graphic. I know some are not supportive of it, but I still am.

The front pages are eye-catching enough to entice the curious, and I know lots like me try and leave their copy in a public place.

It’s all we have, so please if you can, support it.

74. Grouse Beater

Macart: Greed, Fear, Hatred, Patronage, Career and Self. From Straw and Rifkind to the sheer ignorance and arrogance of those ATL.

White Anglo Saxon supremacy – more here:

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2015/02/24/the-straw-that-broke-rifkinds-back/

75. Bob Mack

Having covered many forums on the internet,spreading the word on behalf of the S.N.P. it becomes very obvious from the attacks of Labour,Tory and indeed Lib Dem supporters that this election is seen as a referendum re run by all the mainstream Unionist Parties supporters. This in a way helps to galvanise them into some form of acceptance of their parties actions.The biggest fear I have encountered is indeed, that the S.N.P. is trying to gain seats in Westminster to finish off the Union. That is the perception.
    Surely this is something we could use to our advantage ,by (temporarily) downplaying our independence stance and acknowledging our intent to play a fully functioning with within the U.K. government. In reality I do not expect the kind of voter turnout we saw in the referendum, but clearly the Unionists are trying to galvanise their support to come out and vote on a National ,rather than party political issue.
    Any thoughts on how to counteract this tactic ?

76. Bob Sinclair

So, it’s pretty much official, we live in a one – party state. The only distinguishing difference between the 3 factions of the ruling party being the random selection of letters to make up a ‘Party’ name.

77. Alan of Neilston

Watched B.B.C 2 Scotland last night on the Crisis in the N.E. Scotland regarding the Oil Industry. Speakers were in the main good, but dear o dear what a complete waste of time listening to SLAB M.P. Anne Begg. She was totally out of her depth in giving answers or rather trying to give answers. Another example of SLAB M.P’S taking the Scottish People for granted that they are in command of the situations we find our selves in. All she was interested in was having a dig at Fergus Ewing re Norway’s Oil Fund and how the S.N.P. would have had to Tax Oil Companies more to have an Oil Fund!! Another SLAB M.P. who badly needs replacing.

78. Chic McGregor

Great posts Macart.

We will see now if the monster can handle the people handling the truth.

79. gillie

Jenny Marra, “Tonight Matthew I am going to be Natalie Bennett”

Car crash performance on radio from Scottish Labour’s supposed health spokesperson.

80. john king

Dunkin Donut says
    “http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/hotherballs2.jpg”

A mistake?
    A MISTAKE?
    Is he serious a fuckin mistake?
    So we have wee bumbling Robert McNeil just idly fooling around on his computer and he suddenly finds he’s created a pie chart showing the seats labour supporters would be better supporting Tories or LibDems (monkeys and typewriters ffs)

So he daunders off to make a cup of tea or something stronger maybe?
    and on his way back trips over his cats/dogs toy and falls towards the “ENTER” button while going NNNNNOOOOOOOOO in slow motion with his index finger aimed straight at the button,

Then for the next (how long was it on twitter?) hour/day/week he walks the floor wringing his hands going
    ochone ochone whit’ll a dae when big Ed sees that am done fur, fur sure he’ll mibbie nail ma heed tae a coffee table, oh no am finished fur sure,

Then he remembers why he is a bigwig in Labour and presses the button that says “DELETE” on it saying that’ll mibbie work lets see,

You cant even go and invent a time machine and go back and make it not happen can ye Rab, because
    The Baron Knights’ll piss all over it,
    wont they Rab?

81. Macart

@Nana

We need journalists like Stu, not grumpy middle aged blokes having a rant. 🙂

But thanks.

82. Chic McGregor

Macart: “No the people who are chosen to run the show have armour plated skin and the conscience of a shark. They do business daily amongst themselves and there has been no distinguishable difference between the parties for literally decades”

I re-post one I stuck in OT the other day:
    “Of the 13 Prime Ministers since WWII, 9 went to Oxford.

Of the remaining 4, Churchill came via a military route, Harrow-Sandhurst, probably helped by actually being at war when he first got in.

Curiously, the other three, Callaghan, Major and Brown, all ‘inherited’ the position, that is they took over during administration when the incumbent stood down for some reason.

Perhaps in those circumstances the usual selection process by the men in suits was circumvented either by perceived performance or time constraints?”

To which I would just add, that, of course, if Ed Miliband got in, that would continue that fine Oxford tradition.

83. Angus

Anyone else sick of hearing the Radio Scotland (shire) BBC Better Together We Are The Labour Party Broadcasting Propaganda Centre For Scotland (or Short version RSBBCBTWATLPBPCFS)endless attack on the NHS Scotland?
    Radges!

84. think again

So one of Scotland`s greatest socialists – he thinks – Baron Foulkes of Cumnock is saying vote Tory.

His former constituents, enjoying as we do, one of the highest rates of unemployment and deprivation in Scotland find this appalling.

“There are only 37 jobs for every 100 working age adults, and 15.2 per cent of adults receive unemployment benefits. For a community steeped in the values of solidarity and hard work, that is truly heart breaking.”

The quote above incidentally comes from Cathy Jamieson M.P.

Do Foulkes and Jamieson, who both blamed the Tories for this state of affairs, now find it acceptable to belong to a party that supports the very same policies and politicians they once despised?

85. Les Wilson

Meanwhile the London spendathon goes on,

http://www.gizmag.com/london-underground-roads/36230/?utm_source=Gizmag+Subscribers&utm_campaign=934f542c5c-UA-2235360-4&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_65b67362bd-934f542c5c-90414981

They are never short of where to spend money on London, and where it is government done, we pay towards it. Huh!

86. One_Scot

Aww bless wee Dunky, even though he’s clearly a resident of Cloud Cuckoo Land, God does love a trier.

87. Macart

@ Chic

Remember it well.

I was just talking about that particular post to a friend this morning and the culture it represents in our government.

88. Luigi

One_Scot says:

25 February, 2015 at 10:26 am

Aww bless wee Dunky, even though he’s clearly a resident of Cloud Cuckoo Land, God does love a trier.

He has taken it upon himself to stem the tide of evil Scotch nationalism that threatens to wash away his beloved party and the socialist, unionist utopia that he thinks will magically appear one day.

89. frogesque

Now Rifkin has been exposed for the shallow truth bender he is will he be stripped of his Knighthood or will there be a comfortable seat in the Privy awaiting?

Regarding the ‘Wheel of Fortune’, this has got way beyond stupid! Don’t these numpties realise that people need policies, not patronising. It will backfire badly, I think SNP voters will be more than ever motivated to turn out – even without the 16/17 year olds (who can still canvas and state their case) whilst the old guard Westminster party rump will be turned off and hopefully just stay at home.

That only leaves the neanderthal Orange Unionist thugs to worry about. No doubt The Omellete will pen a nice song for them to sing.

90. Ken500

A GE is not a Referendum. The vote is split into fractions. The YESSNP supporters can pick them off. FPTP. There will be a lower turnout. Using fear is no way win an election. Unionists have been caught out by their lies and the electorate is out to punish them.

The SNP raison d’être is Independence, for better governance in Scotland.

91. One_Scot

He’s clearly a wind up merchant troll, trying to goad reactions from the crap he spews so he can then use as, “those nasty cyber men called me names mummy, wha, wha”.

Is there such a thing as a professional Fud.

92. jackie g

Angus@10.24am

Yes i agree, people were texting the BBC this morning complaining about the onslaught of our NHS.

They were particularly annoyed at the treatment of our NHS staff and patients by the BBC and their endless bad news stories.

is the worm turning?

93. Alan McHarg

galamcennalath you are spot on regarding the electorates lack of clarity on what are devolved powers and what are reserved powers. I raised this concern during the referendum and believed it crucial to the outcome. If the electorate are unaware of which government is responsible for which policy area it is much easier for the BBC/MSM to manipulate and muddy the waters.

During the referendum Westminster, with the help of the all too willing media, were credited for SNP/Scottish government policy and SNP/Scottish government were blamed/crucified for Westminster policy. Not to mention the economics argument, muddying of the waters and down right lies.

By the end of it those not politically savy or too lazy to investigate had trouble seeing who was benefiting Scotland and who was to its detriment. So the I’m alright jack mentality prevailed and “better the devil you know”!

The Scottish Government need to get it across to the electorate what powers are devolved to them and what powers are retained by Westminster. They also need the electorate to understand Scotland’s budget, where it originates, how much Scotland earns as a small country (in comparison to other small countries), where the tax raised in Scotland goes, how it is then divided up (Barnett), and then returned to Scotland as an annual budget. A breakdown of what Scotland’s budget is spent on i.e. UK loans etc would be beneficial.

People have to understand the system before they can see those best able to fix it!

94. Ken500

@ John King 25 February, 2015 at 10.18 am

( : > } Priceless

Here’s Ed looking to chum up to the SNP, with a bacon nutty. To implement some less destructive policies, and the Labour/Unionist dunderheid’s are saying to vote Tory. The most despised (with good reason), political party in Scotland.

95. Ken500

* nutty – butty

96. AuldReekieJim

Labour say: Vote ‘SNP get Tories’
    Vote ‘Tory to stop SNP’

Ah, now I get it.

Labour say: ‘Vote Tory to stop SNP to get Tories’

97. Stoker

Jim Thomson says:
    @Stoker 9:53am
    “YOU are part of the Wings team”

I don’t carry as much clout as the Rev nor do i have the intellectual ability to word a letter (or email) sufficiently to prompt a detailed response and explanation, or i would.

98. Proud Cybernat

The Tories tell us: “Vote SNP, get Labour.” Okay, so all you Labour voters in Scotland, if you want Labour, vote SNP.

The SLABS tell us: “Vote SNP, get Tory.” Okay, so all you Tory voters in Scotland, if you want Tory, vote SNP.”

The LibDs tell us: “Help!”

The SNP tell us: “Vote SNP, get Scotland.” Okay–that’ll do for me.

99. Ken MacColl

Murphy’s Law states that anything that can go wrong will go wrong.
    The efforts of Socialist (!) peers like Mooney and Foulkes concerned about the advance of the SNP vote is not difficult to explain. Those are the fat cats and there are many of them who qualify for handsome daily backhanders every time they turn up and sign in. Any threat to the House of Lords is a threat to the life long pension that they have bought for the price of their principles -if they ever had any. Will you be truly surprised if Jack Straw and Malky Rifkind end up in “the other place” where they can sell their souls without serious interference?

100. Nan

What Macart said at 8.17am. Sums it up to a tee for me. It could not be expressed any better.

I am going to use this if you have no objection.

101. Les Wilson

Sky News asking the question, should PMQ’s be done away with?
    Think this might be one of the steps they could take during hard times. Ie the Scots are coming!

They do not want unwelcome questions, that are err, difficult! Nor the PM’s bumbling replies.

102. Desimond

I find myself smiling when people rant on here that the SNP are too passive and they must do something about the BBC coverage.

Strangely they never recognise the power the SNP now hold given the widespread fear shown by Unionist parties and the media…thats all by being ever so passive of course..

Would like to know what people expect the SNP to do about the biased Media…and would they expect anything they do to be reported in the Biased media?

How does a Scottish Political Party combat the BBC, a British institution?..come May I can picture one way for sure and the SNP tactics, which are professional rather than passive seem to be working out aok so far to me!

103. Carntyne

Betty Boop

104. Proud Cybernat

It’s bleedin’ obvious why the WM Unionists want to freeze out the SNP from any possible UK Govt coalition. Were the SNP to become part of the UK Govt then it would, quite rightly, have access to the books and would be able to show Scotland just how much we are being fleeced. They have to stop the SNP at all costs. Can’t ever have the Scots knowing how much the books are being cooked against their interests.

105. clochoderic

I just know we are in for a laugh whenever I see the name Duncan Hothersall attached to any story. He genuinely believes he is the boy to take on Stu and this “hate-blog,” despite losing every dispute to date.

He reminds me of a first year philosophy student who has just discovered the art of Rhetoric who thinks he can impress his mates down the pub by winning any argument, no matter how far-fetched his position, by sheer dint of his massive intellect and his mastery of semantic nit-picking.

The humour comes from his dismal lack of self-awareness of his own inadequacies. He is undeterred by the fact that in every argument he has picked with Stu he has been left – rhetorically speaking – like the Black Knight in the Monty Python movie, on the floor, cut to pieces and still claiming victory.

Meanwhile…

As of close of business tomorrow – 26th February – Jim Murphy has only 6 weeks left before the deadline for candidates in the GE. We know that he will tell his constituents about it first, so it would also be useful for them to know whether he intends to remain as a constituency MP in Westminster while he runs his campaign to become First Minister in a different Parliament.

Tick-tock, Mr Murphy…

106. Patrick Roden

The SNP must do this…The SNP must do that!!!

I’m sure all you SNP advisors, have got a crafty plan as to how the SNP can force the MSM, to run with headlines that are not Labour friendly?

Please feel free to send them to Nicola’s team, I’m sure they will be delighted with your suggestions.

Of course, you can always choose to do Labours work for them and come on Wings and complain about how useless the SNP are!

As for me, I would think that since the MSM bias has always been part of Scotland’s sham of a democracy, that the SNP have done a truly unique and remarkable job of building a grass roots movement that spreads mostly by word of mouth and is different from other parties, mainly BECAUSE we don’t have a relationship with the MSM, in which we can be manipulated by them and by extension big business to bring out the kind of Westminster policies, that most of us reject.

The Labour Party get favourable press from the MSM, because they are controlled by the MSM, who in turn are controlled by big business!

Wake up people!

107. Rbert Peffers

Question : How do you know United Kingdom broadcasters are lying?”

Answer: “Your TV and/or Radio is switched on”.

108. Training Day

@Desimond

Who’s ‘ranting’?

Personally, I would like SNP representatives appearing on the BBC to cite examples of previous, verifiable BBC omissions, bias or distortion – they are well documented by such as GA Ponsonby – when new lies are being perpetrated. It quickly undermines the credibility of the presenter or reporter.

And if they choose to appear on the BBC at all, they should do so only live, and not agree to any recorded interviews.

We didn’t win in September with the passive approach, but it’ll work out fine now?

109. G H Graham

I predict that either Labour or the Conservatives will in the event of no party achieving a singular majority, will allow a sufficient number of either parties MP’s to side with the opposition in order to freeze out ANY coalition that includes the SNP.

110. David Halliday

Wouldn’t it be good to have a flier with some choice “Vote Tory” quotations from Labour’s great and good on Twitter or elsewhere? Anyone know if there are any or anyone thinking of producing them?

111. Macart

@ Nan

Fine by me Nan. 🙂

112. Rob James

@Macart 08:17

Excellent piece. I can sense your anger and frustration growing. I sometimes feel like climbing Ben Nevis with a huge magaphone and screaming at the top of my voice, “Does anyone still believe this bullshit?”

OT: I had the ‘privilege’ to encounter Dr.Lewis Moonie before he became my local MP. He is the most self opinionated, arrogant condescending bully I have ever had the misfortune to encounter, and as most of his ilk, not nearly as clever as he likes to think he is.

OT: I see Rifkind has resigned which to me suggests that there is probably more to uncover. Straw on the other hand will probably have to be dragged screaming.

113. ronnie anderson

@ Patrick Roden Hark Hark the the heralds no singing, its the Hinternet of the New Media & of coarse word of Mooth.

114. Muscleguy

@Les Wilson

Or they are preparing for a grand coalition of Labour and the Tories which would likely leave the SNP as the official opposition as the next largest party. They cannot stomach the idea of a clued up, social democratic SNP person standing on the other side during PMQ’s and the propaganda value of that to the SNP. Not to mention the exposure of English voters to an alternative to TINA. They can’t have that. So PMQ’s have to go.

115. Capella

Willie Young is not exactly popular in Aberdeen.
    Lenathehyena has a wee pic.
    https://lenathehyena.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/p1030163.jpg

116. Foonurt

He’s a fuckin Moonie. Erse oot yon windae.

117. Dr Ew

Can’t you let this go, you evil Cybernat!?!?

Lord Foulkes / Robert McNeill / Duncan Hothersall / Lewis Moodie (delete as applicable) is not a politician, just an ordinary, hard-working housewife!!!

118. Robert Peffers

@kev says:25 February, 2015 at 1:08 am:

“i cant believe its not made main story on likes of scotland tonight ect its crazy
    .”

As I stated elsewhere, You can tell that the UK Broadcasters are lying by just noting the TV or Radio is switched on.

119. Snode1965

@ Patrick Roden, 100% agree, fortune favours the righteous. 😉

120. liz

Talking to my brother, he was saying he gets ‘updates’ from Eleanor Bradford on his facebook.

Presumably he must have signed up for them.

I don’t do FB but she seems to be spreading her propaganda around social media.

Does anyone else get this?

121. john king

What Proud Cybernat @ 11.42 says

Get that on billboards and hoardings all over Scotland,

I could not agree more!

122. Cag-does-thinking

Is there a cupboard somewhere that they’re keeping Jim and Johanne? Just it seems that Murphy’s Law has gone off to get reprogrammed or gone on a course or something or maybe he’s training for a new career if the Westminster/Scottish Government MP thing doesn’t work out. Ohh wait, he did the nine year course didn’t he?

123. jock mc X

Saw a short video on youtube recently of Mahri Blacks father
    giving perfectly reasonable views..came across it by accident and it does not have a huge number of views.

But i was struck by the comments,i think one was positive and
    the rest were by haters.

Question:Why were these people looking for video’s of Mahri or her old man…what’s thier game?

124. X_Sticks

“Willie Young is so batshit mental he doesn’t really count”

It’s the way you tell them Rev. PMSL.

Aye Macart. Our turn. Spot on.

125. Robert Kerr

@jock mc X

Their game is to find dirt to denigrate and demonise ALL perceived threats.

Same old same old.

Our day shall come

126. Robert Peffers

@Doug says:25 February, 2015 at 1:51 am:

“BBC involvement all over the place.

But, Doug, You do realise that the BBC have always been, (a licence payer funded), part of the Establishment, don’t you?

What Joe and Josephine Public do not seem to understand is that, “The Establishment”, encompasses far more than the elected party as the government of the day. It is the Royalty, the English Aristocracy, the Armed Forces, Security Services, the Established Church of England, The Higher echelons of the Civil Service, the Private sector of the English Education System and, in truth, any of the services that begin their title with, “Her Majesty’s”.

For example – HM Government, HM Treasury, HM Stationary Office. This also includes such as, “The Royal”, as in The Royal Air Force. Now while, “Her Majesty’s Government”, can change after a general election the outgoing government is replaced with, (TA! DA!), Her Majesty’s Government.

So, you may ask, “what’s all that got to do with the topic in hand”, and the obvious answer is that no matter what party is in power the BBC doesn’t change its entire workforce but will continue to be a loyal part of, “The Establishment”.

So now consider this strange anomaly that is peculiar to Her Majesty’s Kingdom of Scotland. While the BBC London is supporting the party in power in England their branch office in Scotland has, in at least my entire lifetime, supported the London Labour in Scotland branch Office. No one needs the intellect of an Einstein to figure out this is not due to other than protecting The, “Establishments”, firm grasp upon Her Majesty’s Scottish Kingdom.

That being the case you must consider the actual legal standing of Her Majesty under Scottish Law. In Scotland the monarchy is, NOT sovereign and is the legally appointed servant of the sovereign people of Scotland chosen to be, “The Protector of the People’s Sovereignty”, as laid down in the Declaration of Arbroath. Which declaration is oft time quoted with the best known quote beginning,

” … as long as but a hundred of us remain alive, never will we on any conditions be brought under English rule. It is in truth not for glory, nor riches, nor honours that we are fighting, but for freedom — for that alone, which no honest man gives up but with life itself.

Yet by far the most important quote from that declaration is least mentioned yet it immediately precedes the former quote, It reads,

“To him, as to the man by whom salvation has been wrought unto our people, we are bound both by law and by his merits that our freedom may be still maintained, and by him, come what may, we mean to stand. Yet if he should give up what he has begun, and agree to make us or our kingdom subject to the King of England or the English, we should exert ourselves at once to drive him out as our enemy and a subverter of his own rights and ours, and make some other man who was well able to defend us our King;”

The point is that, Her Majesty while monarch of The United Kingdom has still two different rolls to play. The Royal veto over the parliament of the three country Kingdom of England was removed by the Parliament of England in 1688, well before the Treaty of Union 1706/7, when the two kingdoms remained independent. Thus those three countries became, “A Constitutional Monarchy”. I.e. Parliament in only those three countries became legally sovereign.

In the Kingdom of Scotland the Declaration of Arbroath of 1320, (as usual Scots were way ahead of the English), shows conclusively that under Scottish law the people, not the Monarchy, were already sovereign. Which is why the Treaty of Union retained Scottish Law as remaining independent of England. As with Their Majesty’s NOT becoming heads of any Scottish religious body.

Now read that second quote again, Doug, and understand why the English Establishment, including Her Majesty, run scared of we Scots. We had then, and still have now, the legal right to throw out the, “Monarch”, and by definition the Parliament that has been delegated her sovereign powers, and appoint another in their place.

127. Robert Peffers

@Grouse Beater says:25 February, 2015 at 2:58 am:

” … English politics! English politics! I’m sick to death of hearing nothing but English politics.”

Aye! Grouse Beater but we could substitute just about anything in that statement : –

“English politics! English politics! I’m sick to death of hearing nothing but English politics.

I’ll start this off with : –

” … English fitba! English fitba! I’m sick to death of hearing nothing but English fitba!

Any other suggestions folks?

128. Robert Peffers

@Dorothy Devine says:25 February, 2015 at 8:07 am:

“I see Mr Hothersall has grasped at a Rifkind straw – errors of judgement indeed!”

If you or I did that we would be convicted criminals with a long sentence. When politicians do so it is just a wee, insignificant error of judgement

” It wisna me whut dun it, yer honur sur. It wus a wee Error o Judgement whut dun it, sur, yer honur, – an it ran awa ower there ===>

129. Dave McEwan Hill

Training Day at 12.07

“We didn’t win in September with the passive approach, but it’ll work out fine now?”

We didn’t have a passive approach in September. We had the largest constructive and progressive grass roots campaign all across Scotland that Scotland had ever experienced facing all the media which blanked it out.
    Perhaps you weren’t part of the effort.

I still don’t believe the result and I have now seen some very detailed examination of parts of it which further convinces me to be very deeply suspicious of it. More anon on this

130. ScotsCanuck

…”breaking Labour Party rules” … well, who knew ???

131. Training Day

@Dave McEwan Hill

‘Perhaps you weren’t part of the effort.’

I was, in the heart of Glasgow (which, I believe, unlike your area, voted yes).

My point was about how the SNP engage with the media, not how the grass roots attempted to do so. Perhaps you’re too dim to understand that.

132. Richard Holmes

A few days ago I alleged that the Herald were actively suppressing posts about McNeill.

This is not the case and I apologise to the Herald for suggesting so. Please remove my original post.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.