Manhattan skyline

Posted on May 01, 2014 by

Readership stats for April, for those interested.

wingslandviews-april

So, yeah, that’s a thing.

We were expecting a big drop-off in both pageviews and readers after February, to be honest, when days of monstering in the Daily Mail sent our traffic through the roof. But as it happened, March only saw a small blip and this month we’ve set another new record, which would have surely crushed the 4 million views milestone if we hadn’t taken four days more or less off over the Easter weekend.

(April actually had 25% fewer posts than March – 101 compared to 134.)

Having amassed 16.1m pageviews in the whole of last year, we’re now at 13.4m in the first four months of 2014, and we’re knocking out roughly as many every three weeks as we got in all of 2012. We’ve reached 628,699 unique readers since January 1.

Tell you what, let’s keep going for at least one more month.

180 to “Manhattan skyline”

1. Arbroath 1320

Help I need a bigger screen, a much much bigger screen. I can’t fit the whole graph thingy onto the screen at once. 😛

Fantastic news Stu, more power to your fingers and keyboard 😉

2. Mary Bruce

Wow! Well done Rev, Wings is an amazing achievement, don’t know where we’d be without you. .

3. David McCann

Brilliant stats, and congrats.
    Suggest you contact Allmediascotland.com with the news. The last mention you got was a while ago and just linked to Kevan McKenna column.

OT.A big plug for a new film being made by Jack Foster and Christopher Silver on Bella. They need funding so get giving!
    http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/04/30/scotland-yet/

4. Callum Macdonald

This website is terrific – full of information and analysis and a refreshing change from other media which is obviously biased.

5. dennis mclaughlin

I’m quite sure all Indy blogs will be experiencing this level of support ,when the ‘alternative’ MSM output is so dire.
    More power to the Blogosphere !.

6. Morag

What’s wrong? I can’t see the graph. Firefox says it “contains errors”.

You know, having spent all the free time I had during the working day checking maps to make Yes newspaper delivery round instructions, and gone to choir practice in the evening, it’s taken me four hours to catch up on Wings, Bella, Derek and the Dug alone. And that’s in spite of an hour in a Costa Coffee reading Wings on my phone while I ate a cheese toastie.

Something has to give here. And it better not be the Yes newspaper deliveries.

7. Morag

And there are several things I’ve been wanting to post (like me actually going through someone’s bin just before bingate broke), but by the time I’ve caught up I’m knackered and anyway the conversation has moved on.

Yawn, another night with only 6 hours sleep coming up….

8. Morag

OK, my phone shows it. Wow.

And I am officially nuts.

Goodnight.

9. Wee Jonny

And well deserved too Stu. After falling from my ladder last Thursday at work and cracking a rib I’ve spent most of the last six days on here. Normally I’d be climbin up the wa by now. Funk I’m on here now and it’s 10 past effin 2 in the moarnin. I’m against knighthoods, lords and ladys but you should defo get an award after we get our Yes as Wings will have played a huge part in that. And all the commenters as well…….

10. Truth

Let’s keep it up folks.

Thanks Stu.

11. Stewart Baillie

Not in the least surprised. Found this site very informative when I first started getting my head round the arguments of independence. When your unsure and reading some of the scare stories BT are throwing at us your hard work is reassuring. Great work guys, well done.

12. sionnach

When I get in from work, I say “I’ll just have a quick look at Wings.” Two (or more) hours later, I’m still here. No such thing as “a quick look”.

What makes Wings special is the incisive dissection of specific news items, something you tend not to get on the other blogs. Add to that the fantastic sense of community among the BTL commenters, and you’ve really got something amazing.

YES is approaching critical mass, the “tipping point”, and that is due in no small part to Wings. Keep up the excellent work, Stu! 🙂

13. Cactus

Excellent and going by the particularly high levels of retained readership in the last three months, this would suggest more people are turning OFF and putting down their MainStreamMedia things/stuff.

Instead, they are now picking up, turning ON and tuning into Wings over Scotland, for their regular read regarding Scotland’s Future X

14. Derick

Good.
    Let’s have a vote of thanks to the crazed stalker and that ever so helpful complaint to the Trainman. Clap. Clap. Heh!

15. bookie from hell

Is Frank Roy in Benidorm?

16. Craig

A great achievement.

Just a word of warning, re W o S on Newsnight: Do not be fooled by the British Establishment.

Carry on in your own formidable style.

17. GRAHAMHANSON5961

Pressure is telling. Both you and Bella Caledonia were mentioned at the end of Newsnight Scotland last night. I almost fell off my bed in shock.

18. MajorBloodnok

Well that stooge who complained to SPT has a lot to answer for (and Blair McDougall will have his angry face on, if you can see it from behind his tuba). Onwards and upwards say I.

19. Appleby

I’ll have to sit my widescreen on its side to view the next graph if you keep this rate up. 😉

20. Grouse Beater

Well deserved success for the cause of truth.

Stand by for the Scottish Chamber of Commerce to do a CBI and state a third of businesses will leave Scotland on a Yes vote. The SCC claims 9000 members, (no evidence provided) so taken at face value the assertion of a mass exodus means 3,000 of their membership is happy to pay considerable costs and staff losses to relocate overnight to satisfy prejudices and hunches.

21. bunter

Well done and excellent site! If its right what Newsnet say, then you can expect lots more coverage via the propaganda arm of Bitter Together.

22. caz-m

The Scotsman continuing to smear Alex Salmond,

http://www.scotsman.com/news/health/salmond-under-fire-for-nation-of-drunks-quip-1-3394779

James Naughtie on GMS also running with it.

23. Grouse Beater

we’re now at 13.4m in the first four months of 2014,

Is there an alternative opinion on the debate anywhere in the UK that we could honestly call truly analytical?

24. caz-m

And Rev

A big pat on the back for you. Great figures.

25. Grouse Beater

Regarding Salmond’s remarks :
    The trouble with stating openly Murdoch is a remarkable media magnate, (true, but then again, so was Citizen Kane) is Murdoch arrived at that status by allegedly “owning” politicians, and by anti-democratic means. Murdoch would deny that, of course, forgetting lobbying his staffers did to get media ownership regulations relaxed.

26. davidhk

Website of choice I go to for analysis. Well done Stu, Head of media in a free Scotland 🙂

27. Ken500

Westminster were in Murdoch’s pocket.

Alistair Campbell is a snake.

Ill researched ‘journalists’ talking themselves out of a job.

28. Caroline Corfield

I concur there is no such thing as a quick look at Wings, as my often starving family can testify

29. Caroline Corfield

that’s what they say anyway, it’s not like there isn’t stuff in the fridge or it takes a degree to operate the cooker

30. The Tree of Liberty

Whoa Rev, that is impressive, weel done, Cutty Sark.

31. JLT

Stuart, as I said in a comment yesterday. No one trusts the media anymore. In fact …you are the media!

Congrats, mate. Pleased as punch for you.

32. Adam Davidson

Caroline,
    eating is over rated. The family can eat when the job is done and the day is won.

There is no doubt that in this day and age people turn to the internet for info. Wings will be at worst opening minds but in most cases directly converting. Reasoned and entertaining points win every time.

33. CameronB

Glad I haven’t broken anything. Awesome. 🙂

34. squarego

Congratulations Stu and well done all of us who contribute and spread the word. Stu the work you do here has been more valuable than we’ll ever be able to measure – and the speed of your response to the garbage in MSM is stunning. I also think that the work you’ve done with all those little hyperlinks, with evidence for every statement, is what makes Wings bulletproof. The might of the British state can’t compete with this. We’re making history here.

35. Marker Post

Incredible stats, Rev. Snowball principle clearly in effect. I reckon you will need to use a logarithmic vertical scale come summer.

36. Steve Bowers

Outstanding, very well done

37. A Greater Stage

Excellent news Rev, this’ll keep the other side on their toes. Keep up the great work.
    Not even the Beeb can ignore you!

38. john king

Ye Gods
    is the whole world reading this site?

39. Silverytay

Well done Stu , keep up the good work but just make sure you don’t overdo it as we need you fit and healthy right up to the 18th september and beyond .

40. Mark J

Had to turn my kindle sideways to fit the graph in, is that more readers than any of the daily ewspapers?

O/t is it time to get a song to number one?

41. Greannach

I used to go to the Herald first thing in the morning but haven’t bothered for months. Now it’s Wings first, then Newsnet, Bella, Derek, Wee Ginger and Peter A Bell scoop.it. Emailed the web addresses to workmates a few weeks ago (mostly Yes already) and the snowball effect is really working, as they have been emailing them to friends and family too.

Congratulations. The papers and BBC/STV might have lost it, but these sites are the new media.

42. Greannach

PS. Could readers go on to republicofscotland website and add names and web addresses of pro-Yes sites to the database, so there is an easy to access site where people can find all the blogs etcetera listed together.

43. Jambon Jovi

We all owe you a great deal. Thanks for all your hard work. You are making a huge difference.

44. john king

Have to laugh at the Scottish Chambers of Commerce complaint that “the debate around Scottish independence has been poor”
    OF COURSE ITS BLOODY POOR , ask the BBC et al why that is, all you have to do is watch newsnicht to see the yes campaigner being interrupted and drowned out (assuming that theyhave a yes campaigner on, while the no campaign get free reign to spout any old pish,

Blame the bloody BBC for that you idiots.

45. bunter

MacWhirter has an article today in The Herald (get it at EU citizens for indy). Its rather good and he repeats again about the anti indy hostile media. Its about time he addressed more forcefully why 45-50% of Scots do not have an indigenous media reflecting opinion in this country.

Seems to me all the so called great and good of civic Scotland are also complicit by there silent acceptance of whats going on in this so called debate.

46. Famous15

Well done Rev Stu.

BTW please do not link to Scotsman etc ,it is money in their pockets.instead either archive link or give a little précis to save us leaving this page since returning without the up/down arrows on an iPad is a pain.Thanks.

47. john king

Caroline Corfield says
    “it’s not like there isn’t stuff in the fridge or it takes a degree to operate the cooker”

REALLY?
    any advice on using an iron?
    my wife hasn’t let me near it (ahem) since 1977 when she asked me to iron the hem of a new pair of Burton’s best when she took them up prior to us going out (short arse) and I took an iron shaped lump (terylene)out of them, so I got a lifetime ban, needless to say I was and still am distraught!

48. Dougie Bee

Only been on Wings, Ginger Dug, Bella etc since January, luv the way you Rip the Pish out of the Naysayers and show them as they really are..a bunch of scaremongering arseholes looking after their own interests..keep up the good work…xxx

49. packhorse pete

Many thanks for the real journalism Stu. Every time I read the record-busting stats, I think how wretched the pretend journalists must feel, churning out their diet of mind-numbing propaganda.

50. Macart

Nice one Rev.

Onwards. 🙂

51. gerry parker

Thanks Stu.

And a big Yee Haa!

52. Hugh Wallace

Well done Rev!

I only found Wings towards the end of March/beginning of April but I have been pretty much a daily (well, several times a day really) visitor since then. And you don’t even have to credit the tabloids for my arrival as I only found out about that after I got here.

My daily reading list is as follows (and generally in this order): wings, weegingerdug; derekbateman; grousebeater; michaelgreenwell; bellacaledonia; businessforscotland; newsnetscotland; and on to wherever these sites may direct me depending on the news of the day (and the list of sites grows daily).

In fairness I also try to read the BT orientated sites but, in all honesty, I can’t find many that actually say something other than poorly written drivel. When it is said that the standard of debate over the referendum is poor they are not wrong; BT & its spin-offs can’t seems articulate their message well, even when that is just doom and gloom. One site, http://www.ukscot.co.uk, is articulate and a huge amount of effort has gone into creating it but the interpretations of the facts it uses is toe-curlingly awful (eg. we should all be grateful we don’t live in Norway as it is a terrible place to live where everyone is poor and wishes they had UK level of services, I kid you not).

On facebook I am currently following 24 pro-independence pages while I could only find 3 pro-union pages that appeared to be updated on any kind of regular basis and had anything to say. If anyone can point me in the direction of BT oriented sites then please let me know; this is only for the purpose of knowing one’s enemy as I have been committed to Scottish independence since, oooh, 1974 (the year I was born!).

53. Bugger (the Panda)

John king says:

Ye Gods
    is the whole world reading this site?

Yes.

54. G. Campbell

Somewhere in Scotland a No voter is confused.

“The genie won’t go back in the bottle. We’ll never be ruled from Westminster again. I would definitely like to see the power taken away from the south east of England.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0WrfH9VEv4

55. G. Campbell

Somewhere else in Scotland another No voter is also confused.

“Whether we like Westminster, whether we (*MAD EVIL FACE*) despise Holyrood, I think we should stick together. We’re too small an island, or islands, including Northern Ireland, to be able to go it alone. We might have been the British Empire once but we’re not now. We’ve got to realise that.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zlfRklzAMug

56. Rod MacKay

Massie has a piece in the speccie: Farage is
    Russell Brand for old people.

Above the line is Massie click-bait, however the comments @ around 18hrs ago and on the Wings report from Bath is described by 3 people as the most balanced they had read.

Your work is getting aired in all the best places.;)

57. CameronB

G. Campbell
    Ironically, I think cod liver oil might help him. Then again, his condition may just be too advanced. 🙂

58. Another Union Dividend

BBC giving big licks to a No Borders musical group based in England and to this campaigning group which surprise surprise is being bankrolled by a Merchant Banker who has previously donated large sums to the Tories,

BBC Radio Scotland about to discuss Zero Hours Contracts.

Time to remind listeners that Labour vetoed plans to ban Zero Contract hours in Wales.
    http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/plaid-cymru-blasts-welsh-government-6863841

I can’t do it as at work!

BBC RADIO SCOTLAND MORNING CALL
    Call 0500 92 95 00. Text 80295.
    Email morningcallscotland@bbc.co.uk

59. G. Campbell

No Borders. £400,000 well spent.

“I’m going to be voting No for lots of different reasons and other stuff that I don’t even know about.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VuWna1UHW8

60. CameronB

“Patriots always talk of dying for their country but never of killing for their country.” ? Bertrand Russell

61. CameronB

No is positive. OMG!

62. Robert Kerr

Well done Stu.

I also spend too much time on this site. No real need to post. So many others do so now.

A very diverse and entertaining group of people with a sense of humour.

I am on the point of giving up even looking at the Herald site. Probably shall buy the Sunday Herald as paper.

Again well done and watch your back.

63. Slackshoe

So exciting to see that the word is getting out. One can only hope that the message is landing.

When Scotland wins independence, I don’t think it’s any exaggeration to say that it will be largely thanks to the proactive efforts of sites like this, Bella, newsnet etc.

Where else are the undecided and uninformed, (as I was) going to find this info so readily?

The passivity and complacency of the No side will be its downfall.

64. gordoz

And WoS now featuring in the closing newspaper headlines / online media front page feature section of Newsnicht … whatever next ?

65. Dave

Great result for Wings and a big thanks to the tube who complained to the Glasgow Tubes.

Btw, my list of indy sites now holds 117 Project Hope sites from all over. Feel free to add any missing at

http://www.republicofscotland.com

(please use the search box at the top of the table to check your submission is not already listed)

66. Ian Brotherhood

So, today’s BBC/BT line of attack is that we’re too wee, poor, stupid etc, but we’ve got loadsamoney so a Yes vote won’t count?

Is that it?

And will WOS have to register with the Electoral Commission? Does that mean that, whenever any of us talk to people in the real world we have to preface every utterance with a declaration of EC registration, same as people with black belts give opponents fair warning before thrashing the seven bells out of them?

67. Helena Brown

Do you realise I should be out the door by now, the dog needs his walk having been short changed due to the weather, yet here I am reading Wings. It is a compulsion, I need to be refreshed after, and I am sure the Wee Dug will forgive the use of his word, pish on the EBC news this morning.
    I know you are doing sterling service for Scotland Stu, and so do all your readers.
    Keep on the way you are going and we could charge a penny a shot and still make more money than all the good old MSM put together.

68. Nana Smith

Just awesome Rev!

I’m so glad I found your site,helps to keep me sane when all around are losing their sanity.

69. Helena Brown

Meant to say a while ago I mentioned to a friend in the States about the referendum, she asked if there were any sites she could follow, I suggested Wings.

70. Mosstrooper

Confused NO voter on CH4 last night.

“I’ve lived in Scotland for 30 years and I think Scotland would be better off independent however England would be poorer and as I am English I’m voting NO”

Discuss using both sides of the paper.( Contributions from Psychoanalysts welcome)

71. Les Wilson

Ian Brotherhood says:

Well if WOS needed to register, would it not be that the whole of the MSM would also?

72. Rod MacKay

Ed Daveys numbers on Scottish energy torn to bits.

s http://www.scottishenergynews.com/platform/energy-and-scottish-independence/

73. Les Wilson

Well Stu, I reckon we pays our money and take our chances,
    and we all seem to be doing quite well out the deal!

74. bookie from hell

NATURE | CORRESPONDENCE

Politics: Scottish separation could harm science

Hugh Pennington, Susan A. Shaw & Andrew Miller
    AffiliationsCorresponding author
    Nature 509, 33 (01 May 2014) doi:10.1038/509033c

On 18 September, there will be a referendum in Scotland to decide whether it should become an independent country. As scientists and members of the campaign group Academics Better Together, we feel that Colin Macilwain gives an incomplete picture of Scottish science (Nature 493, 579; 2013): we strongly believe that…

Subject terms: Politics Research management Medical research
    READ THE FULL ARTICLE
    Subscribe to Nature for full access:
    $199
    Subscribe
    ReadCube Access*

*printing and sharing restrictions apply
    Purchase article full text and PDF:
    $18

bfh—is Darwin voting YES

75. Ian Brotherhood

Someone on one of yesterday’s threads mentioned that CH4 had managed to find someone who was a Yes but has changed to No. Is that true?

If so, they’ve managed to find the only person in Scotland who’s changed their mind in that direction – who was this person? Such unusual cases deserve the same close scrutiny given to hen’s teeth and blue moons.

76. Jack Pranker

I dunno, blaming bank holidays for a lack of productivity? What bawheed would use an excuse like that?

😛

77. Dorothy Devine

Mair power tae yer elbow Rev!

But for Wings , Wee Ginger ,Bella , Derek and a few others I would be weeping in the cupboard under the stairs, distraught, disgusted but planning retribution on those who lie ,spin and smear on behalf of the establishment and big money.

78. No no no...yes

I only became aware of Wings in Feb14 when I clicked on a link on the Hootsman comments pages. Ironic that Wings and other Pro-indy sites are booming and Hootsman et al are bombing.

The people of Scotland now have confidence in themselves and demand change. Nothing,including poison from journalists can change that. The Nation of drunks article by Tom Peterkin in the Hootsman today is a perfect example.The use of the words “appearing to characterise” is Bitter and Twisted. What a disgrace to the profession of journalism.

At this very moment I would imagine there are daily planning meetings being held at various offices at Pacific Quay to discuss what political lies and mistruths are to be peddled today. Journalists being directed to by their managers to follow a particular line should remember to defend the principles of their profession:

http://www.journalism.org/resources/principles-of-journalism/

The people of Scotland are reading, watching, talking and believing in themselves. Substandard journalism and establishment propoganda is folly that is being exposed,almost instantaneously,to the benefit of the YES campaign. Such dubious activity has, is and will be converted into YES votes.
    Have a great day!

79. Nana Smith

@ Ian Brotherhood

It was a silly wee girl on the Jon Snow channel 4 daftie segment last night.
    I said care in the community is not working for this girl.

80. Peter Macbeastie

I would suggest that you should perhaps thank the Daily Mail, since being attacked by them is a sure and certain indication to the public at large that you’re doing something right.

If the Mail are attacking you you’re clearly not their ‘type of person.’

Keep it up. This site is by far the most informative I’ve seen, and I just love pointing out to people that it’s not just you, nor is it just nationalists or even always Yes supporters.

I don’t think you can slot Eric Joyce into either of those categories very comfortably, and neither do most diehard no voters.

81. Mosstrooper

@ Ian Brotherhood 9.26

Indeed there was a woman in, I believe Stornoway who said she had been YES but was now No because” we should be part of the G7, the G8 the Eu and things like that”

No, I don’t understand either. Much like the woman who was going to vote no because she thought bigger was better while her husband was voting YES because Scotland would be better off. Apparently they didn’t discuss the referendum at home.

82. Neil McAdam

Did you see Newsnight Scotland last night?

They did something I had never seen them do before:

Instead of a round-up of the print media headlines from the following day, (usually just the Scotsman and the Telegraph for some reason) they had two screenshots from media sights, Bella, and Wings!!

If this will be a regular thing, I’d expect the figures to sky-rocket from now on!

83. Jim mcallister

terrific , we are lucky to have you in our corner , but how many more people could we help by helping them get on line . I am 70 years old and could not operate a computer until 1 year ago
    now I am on twitter ( 340 followers ) and wings has really opened my eyes , so please help others
    who could contribute but don’t know how

84. G H Graham

Wings Over Scotland IS the media.

Anyone still visiting pages of The Herald, Scotsman & the Scottish branded English titles are backing the wrong horse.

The stats prove it.

Welcome to the new world.

85. Edward

Just reading the WOS twitter feed and notice that Stuart has stated that “The First Minister DID NOT say Scotland was a Nation of drunks. Treat anyone who tells you he did today as the liar that they are”

Ok, so we have got Peterkin (the Labour mouthpiece) on the Scotsman, providing a quote. Any chance of actually getting a copy of GQ article, so we can ram it right up Peterkin’s back passage ?

86. David McCann

@bunter. Ian McWhirter launched his new pamphlet for the Saltire Society, ‘Democracy in the Dark: the decline of the Scottish Press and how to keep the lights on’.
    http://www.allmediascotland.com/press/63999/iain-macwhirter-xxx/
    Didn’t know it was on or I might have bought a ticket!

@famous15.Not sure if this works on iPad, but it does on iMac.
    To scroll up or down,try cmd arrow up or down

87. Andy A

We continue to hand out Aye Right cards to everyone that we canvass who says they need more information, or don’t know who to believe. As WoS is right at the top of the Aye Right list there is only one direction that these stats are going over the next couple of months !

88. Meindevon

Well done Wings and Wingers. This is an addictive site. It might be doing great things for Scotland but it is doing nothing for my marriage…and I don’t even have a vote.

Any chance of the Rev and Derek and Bella and all those with their finger on the pulse getting out there on the ground in Scotland, maybe nearer the time. The MSM obviously won’t give them airtime and the people really need to know the lies being spun. Especially the older generation who aren’t connected to the web. I may be getting the wrong vibe here in England but it seems the yes folk never get over on tv/radio what is being said on these sites. Hoping the Rev has something up his sleeve.

89. Jim T

Stu, looking at the growth rate for your viewership, what’s your time estimate for the next server upgrade? 🙂 btw

90. Derek Morison

Keep up the good work!

91. CameronB

You can look for it yourselves, as I’m not linking to the BBC, but I think this headline is perhaps a month late. I suppose they had to wait for the survey to be published.

Scottish independence: Referendum debate ‘needs to improve’

92. Jim T

O/T (totally)

wish me well – just about to upgrade a laptop from Win 8 to Win 8.1 [fingers trembling over keyboard]

Once successful, the lucky owner will have a Wings shortcut on their desktop.

93. Jimsie

Well done Stuart. All my relatives in the Congo jungle are Wings readers.

94. call me dave

Had keek at votenoborders.co.uk and signed up. Can’t see it being a rival to WoS. I didn’t watch the video either as I am still scoffing my weetabix and banana.

I don’t think they realise what is about to hit them. I hope those that comment for YES and contribute to their education remember there should be no swearing, or other nasties. Just the polite truth should do it. 🙂

95. magnus barelegs

the bitter together campaign in a nutshell is fear and smear, thats all they have got.
    as i say better together? yes but for whom? certainly not the scottish people and scotland itself.

96. call me dave

Jim T

Good luck mate did it about a month ago…go knit a pair of socks to pass the time or twiddle thumbs, paint drying somewhere…might help 🙂

97. G. Campbell

Flowers of Union is a band whose members have been working with the No Borders Campaign to create a song. It will express their desire to continue to live in a Scotland within an evolving UK. One with no borders, either physical or psychological.

We need the funds to make a music video. It is brilliant… and we’re excited to share it with you soon.

http://www.votenoborders.co.uk/music

98. G. Campbell

Which came first – the company or “the band?”

“FLOWERS OF UNION LTD
    Fiona Gilmore* has been employed at FLOWERS OF UNION LTD since 19 December 2013 currently as a Director.”

http://www.companydirectorcheck.com/fiona-gilmore-9#ap42102707

* Fiona Gilmore previously worked for the Israeli government on a rebranding exercise which airbrushed out the fact that the country was in the process of illegally expanding its borders by building a bloody great barrier through large areas of Palestinian land. She’s now a director of the No Borders campaign. Up you could not make it.

99. Grouse Beater

It is not what BBC executives say behind closed doors in Glasgow that is important, it is what they are subject to by their superiors at BBC HQ, London, that has them under instruction.

The odd Scottish staffer might screw his courage to the mast to suggest BBC Scotland is doing too little badly in the independence debate but he will be slapped down and told what is corporation policy.

No BBC Scotland controllers survived attempts at rebellion.

100. Edward

Good luck with that Jim T
    I have Windows 8 on my laptop and upgraded to 8.1

Microsoft have still not resolved recurring problems with windows 8
    Currently get window mail freezing up as well as other apps as the download function doesn’t (function that is)
    Had to install ‘Windows Update Diagnostic tool’ which I have to run when some apps freeze. It works, but is annoying

101. jingly jangly

WOS mentioned on Newsnight! I don’t watch anymore for health reasons as well as not having a device suitable for watching live TV due to boycotting licence.

However, I did notice some headlines in the MSM the other day claiming that pressure should be put on the Electoral Commission about the number of differently funded organisations under the YES umbrella. IE they were trying to link us together in order to restrict spending on the YES campaign.

They have been moaning for months that the NO campaign is disadvantaged as YES has more funding, could it be they are highlighting WOS and Bella in an attempt to get us banned during the purdah period?

102. heedtracker

Keep it coming WoS! They’re just trying to do to Scotland what they did to Scargill and the miners and it wont be forgotten either.

103. Flower of Scotland

Congrats Stu! Well done you deserve the accolades! I dumped all newspapers ages ago. This is my newspaper! I pop in and out of the site all day. It’s not so easy to read all the comments now that there are so many, but I try because everyone is so informative! It’s more like a social media site with lots of chat and when we get frustrated ( most of the time ) we can write it all down here and someone always helps in some way. it’s cathartic!

104. magnus barelegs

this “band” are nothing more than a unionist stalking horse, the bitterers must be desperate if they think that is going to save their moribund and out of date union.

105. Edward

Why is my last comment in moderation?
    Stuart….Stuart 🙂

106. Alex Beveridge

Just to add my congratulations, Stuart. Very well done, and please continue, as we need you more than ever in the run-up to Sept 18th.

107. mogabee

Well Stu. despite all the nasty stuff that’s been thrown at you and this site, the stats tell the story of success.

Backing all your articles with facts and links confounds the hell out of the detractors and explains why once folk start visiting they can’t escape your clutches!

Sorry, got a little carried away there…!

108. Red Squirrel

Compare and contrast – the positive, enthusiastic, hopeful message of Yes with the negative, depressing and fearful No campaign. Every time I drive past that dreadful BT billboard about the pound, I can’t help but notice that the “family” pictured look miserable.

Vote No – be a miserable git is the message I take from that.

Keep up the good work Rev, Wings is a beacon of hope for all of us.

109. Edward

Just to add my congratulations to Stuart on the success of Wings over Scotland
    I’m even tempted to join twitter, but scared my big fat gob will get me into deep doo doo , mind you reading some of the unionist crap that Stuart has to put up with, it doesn’t stop the opposition

110. Flower of Scotland

O/t I am also sick fed up of the News TV channels BBC,STV, SKY , CH4 etc . Now watch RT, Aljazeera, CNN, and Euronews and can get different sides of the argument without the LIES!

111. velofello

Every person I canvass gets an Aye Right leaflet, a brief description of the sites listed, and I always finish by advising that WOS can be a bit cheeky but fun.

I’ve been reading WOS since its startup, an astonishing success, quality wins.

112. Famous15

Flowers of Union…join Poppy Pru and Farquhaaaar like a good Jock!

113. magnus barelegs

well done wings, the unionist liars, crooks and 5th columnists who continually demean scotlands ability to take its place in the real world have no answer to this brilliant site.

keep up the great work.

114. Robert Peffers

@G. Campbell: Re –“I’m going to be voting No for lots of different reasons and other stuff that I don’t even know about.”.

You know these people are utter numpties when they say they want to vote NO to remain, “British”.

Anyone thick enough to equate the bipartite, “United Kingdom”, that is only one member state in a British archipelago that contains 5 independent legislative administrations is a total numptie.

Those 5 independent British legislative administrations are : – The, (non-UK), Republic of Ireland, The, (non-UK), Isle of Man, (non-UK),Bailiwick of Jersey, (non-UK), Bailiwick of Guernsey and the bipartite United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland, (in which title the term, “Great”, simply refers to it being the largest isle in the British Isles.

The citizens in all 5 independent legislations are ALL legally British Citizens. It is very typical of these arch falsely Nationalistic, NO supporting, UK people to imagine only they are British.

Witness how many times The present United Kingdom PM claims he is the Prime Minister of Britain, that the United Kingdom’s Armed Forces are the British Army, Navy & Air Force.

The plain, unvarnished, truth is we are ALL British and will remain so, whether we are independent Scots, and it or out of any other international organisation.

115. Grouse Beater

Edward says: Why is my last comment in moderation? Stuart….Stuart

It can happen if you’ve made a typo slip in checking in – it slows identification… “It ain’t nuttin’ personal.”

116. CameronB

That’s two posts not appeared now. I wanted to draw folks attention to a new unionist site that launched today (votenoborders). They are inviting comments. 🙂

117. CameronB

No being nasty now, play the ball not the person.

118. Rod MacKay

@ Neil McAdam, newsnight Scotland is being pulled soon, bit of rebellion in the ranks of the soon to be un/re-deployed maybe.

@Meindevon, Mr Bateman and some of the Bella contributers are already out speaking at open meetings.

119. Geoff Huijer

Just shows that people want the truth…

120. Robert Peffers

@CameronB “Patriots always talk of dying for their country but never of killing for their country.” ? Bertrand Russell:

Trouble with that is the truth the bipartite, “United Kingdom” is not now, and never has been, a country. It is now, and always has been, exactly what it legally describes itself as –

”The United KINGDOM of Great Britain & Northern Ireland”.

121. goldenayr

CameronB

Saw the new unionit group on telly last night.They’re being funded by [I think] a London hedge fund manager.

What I saw was a primary school music teacher and twa lassies singing[badly],one of which may have been his daughter and him.I don’t think they’re a threat,more of a vehicle for the girls.

122. kendomacaroonbar

Excellent stats Stu. Congratulations !

I am curious, how do our site stats compare to our opponents ?

Just guessing there may well be a bigger story to be told?

123. The Man in the Jar

Great to see all the new commenters expressing their gratitude.

I am just wondering about how many dig into the “wings” archives. For example the “Ian Taylor of Vitol” stooshie. That was quite a drama! Also less than a hundred comments on major articles. Those were the days 😉

http://wingsoverscotland.com/?s=ian+taylor+vitol

124. CameronB

I still think they need our comments, just to help them get up and running. 🙂

125. Greannach

Fun new website asking for comments:

http://www.votenoborders.co.uk/

Let’s let them know how we feel, while keeping it positive and rational.

126. goldenayr

CameronB

Fairdoos,always up for a laugh.

127. ronnie anderson

@Robert Kerr 9am,( a very diverse & entertaining group of

people with a sence of humour ).

Cmon Robert you stuck yer heid above the dyke a long time

ago, get back tae the posting, ah mean yer no being asked

tae join the dance group an being made tae dey summersaults

( the younger Wingers dey that )Diversity is our strong

point,so get the grey matter working, an fingers tappin.

Remember we’re awe in it Thegither.

128. goldenayr

CameronB

Just done quick search and can’t find them,any links?

129. goldenayr

Sorry Greannach,just saw your post.

Need to go now,will wind them up later.

130. Midgehunter

If WOS, with these stats, is turning out to be the place to go for the harsh truth about indy, what’s it gonna be like in July, August and September when the heat really starts to build up and the demand for the truth multiplies? Then watch how the stats go lunar.

There’ll be a lot of pressure on one man to keep track of the daily outpouring from BT and the required response with hard fact articles. He’ll need help with contributors etc.

131. Edward

Thanks Grouse Beater

Thought that it may have been down to me mentioning ‘Microsoft’ or ‘windows 8.1’ 😉

Both currently nasty words in my world…lol

132. dramfineday

Very well done Stuart and well done the readers and contributors (articles , cash, advice, whatever)for making this the lively place that it is.

The site fair fizzes at times and it makes me rage, laugh, smile, ponder, greet, boo and hiss – it’s wonderful.

best regards

dram

133. Triangular Ears

Clearly you are generating these hits yourself by employing a complex network of computers in your dark basement littered with empty baked bean cans, while you sit in your pants and push your glasses up your nose every 5 seconds.

Eoan McColm told me.

134. No no no...Yes

The Labour Party is now playing Blankety Blank(or The Guess List) as it has been re-branded:

http://www.labour.org.uk/ed-has-a-question-for-you

Ed (I’m not David) Miliband is asking Labour members and supporters to fill in the blank in the statement:

“The thought of five more years of a Tory government makes me feel___________”

I’m not a member or supporter, so I won’t submit my answer there. However, my answer would be

LIKE VOTING YES IN THE SCOTTISH INDEPENDENCE REFERENDUM

135. CameronB

goldenayr
    I use http://www.reddit.com/r/Scotland/ as a sort of news sniffer. The link you are looking for is currently eleventh down the list.

136. The Man in the Jar

Stu

A wee question that has puzzled me regarding the stats.

“Average session duration” on the latest chart they are stated as 00:06:03 I assume that to be “six min. three seconds” I find that puzzling. (There again I find most of the modern world puzzling) 🙂

How dose that work? I have “Wings” open on a tab most of the time and I frequently refresh the page to catch up on the comments. How can “they” come up with such a figure?

I am in no way decrying the stats but I expect that it is some form of internet witchcraft that goes way above my head.

137. Jim T

@Robert Peffers 10:31am

In addition to your helpful description, here’s a wee YouTube video by an American that covers the entire thing rather well too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rNu8XDBSn10

138. goldenayr

The Man in the Jar

So do I and not just this site,bella,newsnet,bateman etc.
    Don,t always have time to bring them up over and over so just hit refresh.

CameronB

Cheers for that.

Richt,ah’m definitely awa noo.

139. galamcennalath

Just hanging around waiting for someone (the Rev?) to post something new. Decided I might benefit from a little Zany comedy relief from the links here. I’m well aware of BBC Scotlandshire for some satirical laughs, so clicked Alan Cochrane. Never been there, never really noticed the guy’s existence.

Believe it or not, I was on Alan Cochrane‘s rantings for a good two minutes before I realised it wasn’t actually a spoof in the style of BBC Scotlandshire.

Take from that what you will! I think it’s pretty funny.

140. Jimsie

Triangular Ears 11.03

I suppose you think the £113000 crowdfunding is fictitious as well. Get lost ya numptie.

141. iheartscotland

Congratulations Stu!

142. haud on the noo

Jimsie : I suspect you’ve been whooshed.

143. Jimsie

Jim T 11.08

Watched the video. The American talks at the speed of an auctioneer. My head is buzzing. However,over 5,000,000 hits is impressive.

144. liz

Just adding my congrats and I also read all the indy blogs before sometimes checking the Herald.

It’s ironic to think that if it hadn’t been for BBC Scottish branch banning comments on political articles there probably wouldn’t be as many readers on here and Bella etc.

Even when the beeb has open comments now a short read of them is enough to put you off as it’s usually full of crap and the crappiest comments get the most up votes.

145. liz

@Rough Bounds – get lost, troll.

146. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“How dose that work? I have “Wings” open on a tab most of the time and I frequently refresh the page to catch up on the comments. How can “they” come up with such a figure?”

Not a scooby. I suspect they count from the time you open the page to the time you click away to something else, but that’s just guesswork, and I have no idea how it would check tabs kept open for ages and then shut down.

147. Rev. Stuart Campbell

““The thought of five more years of a Tory government makes me feel___________”
    I’m not a member or supporter, so I won’t submit my answer there. However, my answer would be
    LIKE VOTING YES IN THE SCOTTISH INDEPENDENCE REFERENDUM”

Mine is “like chicken tonight”. Although admittedly that’s because I feel like chicken most nights.

148. handclapping

@Jimsie
    I’ll have you know that the Russian bot network that is doing all the hits is also the same one that is doing the DDOS.

Eoum McColm told me.

On Topic
    Congratulations to all who come, all who read and all who stay. Dont be put off by the BTL who are all mad.

149. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I am curious, how do our site stats compare to our opponents?”

Well, for that we’d have to find some opponents…

150. Triangular Ears

@Jimsie 11.15

Sense of humour bypass? It was a joke!

Maybe people don’t know who Euan McColm is…

151. Edward

Jimsie 11.15
    It was a joke (I got it anyway)
    So now shake hands with Triangular Ears, kiss and make up (but no tongues) 😉

152. Edward

Holyrood is on just now
    http://www.scottishparliament.tv/
    Currently general questions

153. Jimsie

Triangular Ears 11.43

My apologies for not getting the joke. Understandable given that I have no idea who Euan McColm is. I will google him to learn more though. Please try to make the funnies less cryptic as us chimps are feeble minded.

154. donnywho

Jimsie I think triangle was being ironic, say hi to your cousins in africa (who must be foriegn) and I hope they shave more than you lol

155. donnywho

Oops too late

156. ronnie anderson

FMs question starting Holyrood tv

157. Mosstrooper

Jimsie @11.53

Probably because your avatar is an orang-utan and not a chimp

158. Triangular Ears

@Jimsie, no worries!

It was Euan McColm who suggested that Stu was perhaps recycling the donated money and re-donating it, to artificially boost the total.

I applied that mindset to a satirical claim that Stu must be generating his own traffic, while throwing in Daily Mail hysterical character assassinations at the same time.

I won’t be giving up my day job though!

159. jingly jangly

Lamontable has a nervous tick, she’s on the way to the funny farm with her pal flipper.

160. donnywho

3.5 million voters at a 75% turnout (guesstimate) = 2.6 million votes!
    Rev you have nearly 10% of the voting population following you, some wont be able to vote some will be no’s but it is an impressive figure. If you can double it or triple it I think yes will be certain. You cannot fight light with dark, that is why the MSM want to keep us in the dark!

161. Robert Peffers

@Jim T: “In addition to your helpful description, here’s a wee YouTube video by an American that covers the entire thing rather well too.”

Actually Jim T, it doesn’t actually get it right. It begins by describing it as, “A country of countries”. but as the, “United Kingdom”, is a bipartite Union of, “Kingdoms”, that concept is wrong. “Britain”, is an archipelago. Great Britain is the largest island of the archipelago of Britain. There are 8 countries in those British Isles. These are – Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, The Irish Republic, (although the actual country is Ireland which has two different legislatures),England, Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man. Of These 8 countries only 4 of them compose the bipartite United Kingdom which is, (a), a united Royal Realm of two Kingdoms and (b), a political union. In no way can the United Kingdom be legally a country. Correctly it is described as a union of two kingdoms one of which is comprised of three countries.

162. call me dave

CBI allowed to withdraw registration it was all a silly mistake.

BBC reports.

163. call me dave

FMQ all about Putin

FM gave as good as he got throughout the exchanges. But what a waste of time. This ‘get Salmond’ agenda is not going to be successful it’s a bit like three (unionist) golfers sharing the same golf club.

Pity their handicaps are all 20 (for none golfers) that’s duffer status.

164. The Rough Bounds

@Liz.

Actually not. Just fed up with ugly buggers who aren’t Scots telling me why we shouldn’t have independence.

165. Clootie

Holyrood FMQ

The FM summed it up. The BT parties never made a single comment about Putin or any Russian event relating tothe much debated sensitive areas highlighted but now they are in shock/horror mode.

Johan’s defence was classic “I’m a member of amnesty international”
    In other words I’ve done my bit by joining! I would have expected something a bit more proactive from the leader of Labour in Scotland.

166. Debbiethebruce

Great veiwing results Stu!

The Vote no Borders videos are going to be a boon for the YES campaign!

167. wingman 2020

Why don’t we crowd fund a PR Marketing person (assistant) for WOS for the next six months… purely to work on promotion?

168. Jim T

@Robert Peffers 1:11pm

Indeed, you are correct sir. I was simply enthralled at the speed of delivery ( as noted by Jimsie above 😉 ) and didn’t pick up the detail – mesmerised.

It’s a complex situation in any dialect 🙂

169. Rockysboy

Well after 20 years of buying the Record, thats it gone as from today, was reading on my Ipad and the subscription has now been cancelled. They cant give an honest point for the Yes campaign.

170. YESGUY

Well done Rev . Wings is really flying now. Long time lurker and avid follower of bella etc and cant believe the amount of people coming on this site . And mentioned on news last night as well.

If you could print W.O.S. and put it out with the MSM a yes vote would be a cert. People are taking notice. Thanks for restoring my faith in my country and its people. I had given up, as had many but Wings has given us hope.

Keep up the good work and WHEN we get independence Wings will have a place in the new Scotland re-born.

171. YESGUY

just popped over to see the labour page asking how we feel after tory’s in power and had to laugh at the way the question are framed , Its really for labourites out there to have their say . so i filled in the Name , E-mail etc and gave a hearty answer to their Questions so i could tell them i will vote yes and that labour are becoming another of Scotlands shame.. these idiots will be all over us after a yes vote with more excuses desperate to keep their jobs ………… Margo asked us not to fight among ourselves after the vote but if its a no I feel the country will go to the dogs and division will get worse. i am an average guy in Scotland with a grown up family who fears that it will be up to our children to free us from this broken union. Keep up the good work all of you …. I have changed the minds of 8 dont knows with a hugh help from W.O.S. bella etc. and there are many more out there who dont know the facts.If every one can change even one persons mind , slowly we WILL get there. YES SCOTLAND

172. themadmurph

I was at a friend’s mum’s funeral this morning. Took the opportunity to send few more your way Rev.

Over the course of one drink I persuaded one young lady from a don’t know/ probably no, to a yes. She then went with the undertaking to learn more and persuade her friends.

173. Flooplepoop

Excellent news, sending as many people as i can to this site.

174. Bigbricks

Great results – and not without reason. The analytical dissection of stories on this site is what pulls in readers. The fact that external links are given to support statements or assertions is what sets it apart from most other sites. It’s so good that BT probably use it to check up on their previous statements to make sure they don’t contradict themselves.

Oh, hang on, no, could be wrong on that last sentence……..

175. Wee Copey

I LOVE this site! My husband doesn’t even ask me what I’m reading anymore he just says “reading Wings again” I direct everyone I know to read this site as it is the most informative site around. Keep up the good work!

176. Andy smith

I was just about slashing my wrists reading the lies the msm were,and still are churning out. Discovering wings saved my sanity.keep up the fantastic job you’re doing. PS just figured out the msm headlines on morning of sept 18…’Alex Salmond ate my hamster’.

177. Horseboy

Campbell, a classic psychopath!

ps. “Cambeul” means Twisted Mouth, from 2 Gaelic words “Cam & Beul”. So apt!

PPS. I only found Wings/Bella/NewsNet late March’14.
    I post minimium of one per day.
    Keep going Strong.
    Right is Might.

178. Horseboy

clarification:

My above post refers to the infamous Alastair, and not our Hero the Rev Stuart!

179. Morag

I admit I did wonder!

180. ahundredthidiot

…..and people are actually reading website information

…..unlike the quite literally, (see what I did there) hundreds of Daily Records which go straight into the paper compactor at one of our largest airports on a DAILY basis…….no shit, hundreds

So well done

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.