Long to reign over us, part 2

Posted on December 10, 2015 by

What a day it’s been to be a proud Scot.

proudscot

Knights and Lords and Ladies, all ours to cherish. Truly, we’re better together.

1. 10 12 15 16:43

Long to reign over us, part 2 | Speymouth

310 to “Long to reign over us, part 2”

1. Chas

Scotland’s history is littered with the stench of their fawning to the establishment for lands and titles. Sad and shallow individuals.

2. Auld Rock

Just as well I picked-up a handful of ‘spew-bags’ last time I was on the ferry to wrap a few things and then never used.

Auld Rock

3. bobajock

Yes, the arse licking unionist sycophants get their undemocratic rewards even after the electorate kicked them out.

4. Kenny

Wow. Does Danny not know how to do “humble” at all? Surely the response is “this is not for me…it’s for my wife and my constituency team who worked so hard to stay on top of such a huge constituency…”

No. “It’s for me being awesome and creating a long-term economic plan with my bestie Gideon…”

5. MolliBlum

boak…

6. Neil Cook

Fanny Alexander, next they will have Kermit The Frog in for having a hand stuck up his arse!! Oh wait a minute Darling and Alexander have just been in!!

7. Lesley-Anne

Yep!

I was right in what I said on the previous thread about Beaker.

Arise Sir Dunderheid of Bawbags! ๐Ÿ˜€

8. yesindyref2

Unfortunately the “right track” he seems to have put the country on eill only go from London to Leeds and Manchester via Birmingham. Not only does it not go anywhere near his ex-constituency, it won’t even come to Scotland.

9. X_Sticks

Danny Dipstick and Droopy Darling all in one day. I can’t take much more of this.

The only saving grace is I’m not invited to the northern british region HoL Christmas party.

Can you imagine what a hoot that will be with the drunk and disorderly, firestarting adulterists. And then there’s Minnie the Mone!

If they’re lucky the Duke of Rothesay and his horse might turn up to provide some entertainment.

Count your blessings folks.

10. Luigi

The great Carbuncle will be looking on, licking his lips in eager anticipation of that big day, when it is his turn. Four years from now when he finally escapes from Orkney and he gets his hard-earned reward, for services rendered. Every morning he looks in the mirror and imagines himself, thinking what’s it gonna be? A kilt and sword or an ermine robe?

I bet he is practicing his nods and bows already. ๐Ÿ™‚

11. Pam McMahon

Looking forward to part 3. Sovereign people of Scotland refuse to pay for unelected wastrels in a foreign country on Independence Day.

12. The Rough Bounds.

Not so much ‘long to reign over us’ as ‘LUNGE to reign over us’.

13. Macart

We know why Alexander, Darling and Mone got their rewards and I suppose in their eyes it was the ‘right track’.

Disgusted with the lot of them.

14. Iain

One of my happiest memories is Danny Alexander’s face, when he saw how well the fibdems did on European election night.

15. Itchybiscuit

What’s Danny Alexander’s official title?

‘Great Chieftain of the Pudding Race’?

16. Fred

“There’s no business like show business!”

17. Dandy Dons 1903

What Country is he referring to? Must be England/ukok because its certainly not Scotland!!! Sellout scumbag……

18. Robert Peffers

@bobajock says: 10 December, 2015 at 3:16 pm:

“Yes, the arse licking unionist sycophants get their undemocratic rewards even after the electorate kicked them out“.

We must always look on the bright side of life. First of all the grasping of ยฃ300 per day, subsidised nosh & booze plus other incentives is a great magnet to the greedy. These will assure the greedy gravitate to the fleshpots of London.

Then, on independence day, the Establishment will be landed with keeping them while Scots and Scotland will be free of the burden of their keep forever.

19. frogesque

It is said that honest men women get their rewards in Heaven, others get rewarded sooner but Hell mend them.

Not being of religious persuation myself I just say, “fuck the bastards!”

20. les Wilson

And, all they need to do is kiss Westminster’s ass!
    The are, and will remain, a stain on our country.
    There are very many reasons to believe Westminster is an enphatic corrupt institution, this is simply one of them.

This is how they reward when people do their bidding, whatever that is. In these case, well I do not need to state them, they are well known.

21. KenC

Was the queen too busy to do the honours?

Pardon the pun.

Although, to be fair, Charles does have a history of talking to plants.

22. Lesley-Anne

We must always look on the bright side of life. First of all the grasping of ยฃ300 per day, subsidised nosh & booze plus other incentives is a great magnet to the greedy. These will assure the greedy gravitate to the fleshpots of London.

Thing is Robert we will not be able to get rid of Sir Dunderheid o Nawbags so easy. He is just a *ahem* knight o the realm for now. He took his *cough* knighthood, for services rendered ( I always thought that was folks did to the outside o their hoose! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) rather than take a seat in the Old folks home a.k.a. House of Lord’s.

I’m guessing he is saving his red leather seat moment and ยฃ300 a day plus expenses for another day, when we have all forgotten how drastically incompetent he was! ๐Ÿ˜€

23. Lesley-Anne

KenC says:
    10 December, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Was the queen too busy to do the honours?

Pardon the pun.

Although, to be fair, Charles does have a history of talking to plants.

The thing is though Ken he has the bejesus scared oot o him when the plants talk back! ๐Ÿ˜€

24. muttley79

I think many of us foresaw these developments in the event of a No vote last year. We knew that unionist politicians in Scotland, and their hangers on, would be aptly rewarded for their sterling and non selfish efforts to prevent Scottish independence.

So now we have it: wee Douglas Alexander is an adviser to Bono, Michelle Mone is in the House of Lords, along with Darling and he is now employed by Morgan Stanley, a major bank with an horrendous record in social, political, and economic affairs; Gordon Brown has got a job with a major bank, with financiers who played a key role in the worst economic crash since the 1930s, Danny Alexander has been knighted, and there are rumours that Margaret Curran has made it onto SLAB’s constituency list for next year….

We all live in a No voting wonderland…

25. Bill Fraser

A clown(and I use the word {unreservedly}receive a knighthood,just strengthens our need to get out of this corrupt union we find ourselves in and get independence where honors are only given for deserved service to the community and not willynilly to has beens or never was.

26. Ben

Proud Scot but. Just fabulous that he feels the ‘right track’ is the systemic victimisation of disabled people. Rabbie Burns would have a few choice words for him

27. blackhack

Another (.) with thirty pieces of silver in his pocket.

28. David

No respect for anyone that bends the knee.

29. Iain

Incredible, isn’t it?

It’s all due to the traditional Highland loyalty to the old Scottish Liberal Party, founded on its original anti-Tory, anti-landlord, pro-Home Rule and federal Britain policies. That loyalty was retained for too long and is now, quite suddenly, a busted flush. The successors, the Lib Dems, are seen quite plainly for what they are: useless – but self-seeking.

But Danny was in on the last hurrah. The Press Officer for the Cairngorms National Park got the Lib Dem candidature – there aren’t many active Lib Dems, so there wasn’t much competition – and the traditional loyalty made him an MP, and with the Tory/Lib Dem coalition they had to give some cabinet posts to the tiny minority of Lib Dems, so the erstwhile Press Officer was rocketed to the position of Chief Secretary to the Treasury – and allowed to talk, from notes prepared for him, about budgets and public expenditure and deficits etc.

And for that he gets a knighthood, and doubtless some sinecure paying far more than his salary as a Press Officer. No matter that he has little to contribute: the knighthood looks good on the payroll. How easy was that?
    But we’ll make damn sure another Lib Dem plodder won’t profit from traditional voter loyalties again.

30. KOF

@Dandy Dons 1903 – 15:51

Well, if you look at the entry for “Knight Bachelor” in the Encyclopedia Britannica you’ll find the answer. ๐Ÿ˜‰

http://www.britannica.com/topic/knight-bachelor

31. Alison Rollo

Between Darling and now this weasel — just sickening!! All done in the name of betraying Scotland. I await Karma.

32. MolliBlum

For “keeping the country on the right track”, eh? Chortle! Can’t wait to hear the excuse for Carmichael’s forthcoming reward…

33. Sunniva

This makes me sick. Why didn’t he have the decency to wear a suit?

34. Hugh Barclay

Rodent.

35. Clapper57

I don’t think that’s a sword in Charles’s hand , it looks like a measuring tape.

Think he was measuring the distance from him to Alexander .

Alexander looks like he’s aboot to dae a wee wee , wae his back leg cocked up slightly, nae tree handy but there is a wee wooden thingy tae his right.

Bet the wee so and so left the wee wooden thingy soaked through when he walked backwards .

Nae bloody class these manufactured new Lairds und Ladies …Nae class.

36. gerry parker

I hope Danny is aware that if the man wie the swords valet isnae available he might need to perform other duties (aledegly). I Good job he’s wearing a kilt.
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

37. Jamie Arriere

Wonder if the Chookie Rothesay said to him “Shame, you didn’t bring your accordion” ?

38. Free Scotland

So that’s who has been posting on this site lately using the pseudonym “dunderhead.”

39. Fran

@ Sunniva

Cos all good proudscotbuts love to wear the kilt, they are proud scots don’t you know? Their masters just adore how quaint their subjected colonial servants look in the anglicised native drab.

Even though this PSB has accepted an English knighthood wearing one, I think the irony would be lost on wee Dan.

40. Free Scotland

Damned autocorrect. That was “dunderheid.”

41. Alastair

Danny boy, being Osborne’s wee poodle, is being lined up as a Director in the Chinese funding bank for the new nuclear plant. How the servants of the establishment are looked after. Being a Privy councillor is definitely better than being a toon councillor.

42. Alastair

Stu,
    You had me in a panic, When I first saw the picture I thought it was ISIS doing another beheading.

43. gordoz

Separated at birth ?

Cant help thinking the more talented twin (Muppet’s character Beaker) had more of a backbone.

44. Stoker

What sort of man kneels before the paedo’s friend?
    https://archive.is/DHUlf

Soots you, Sir, soots you!

45. Kenny

So why was he soundly rejected at the ballot box?

46. Free Scotland

Could Charlie no hae din the decent thing and used that sword tae chop his heid aff?

47. Giving Goose

Danny Boy, a Proud Scot But to the very end; taking it up the arse like the fawning piece of shit that he is and always will be!

48. caz-m

Arise, Sir Danny Of SpareBedroomTax,

BASTARDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD!!!

49. Embradon

Ah well – folk less deserving of the fate have been beheaded recently.
    Or did I misunderstand what Charles does next in the ceremony?
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

50. Pentland Firth

Has Danny got himself a job yet, or is he still signing on? Who would employ “Sir” Danny Alexander? Anyone in their right mind?

No, thought not.

51. John Clark

And THIS is exactly why I’ve been too embarrassed to wear a kilt since 6am on 19th September last year. ๐Ÿ™

52. mealer

So,folks,which episode did you like best?

53. Clootie

…I wonder why we tolerate these insults generation after generation. We have an elite who mock us by rewarding “fellow Scots” for betrayal as their agents.

It is Monty Pythonesque that the royals and nobility are treated to such power/influence and wealth in a country with foodbanks and in work poverty.

They only hold such power because we accept their rules. Once again we cannot fix the UK but we can address such nonsense in an Independent Scotland.

We do not need Royalty / Lords / Barons / Knights etc etc
    …and if WE wish to recognise someone for award it should be the social worker / charity worker NOT singers and footballers…..and definately not dickhead politicians who backstab their fellow countrymen.

54. Dan Huil

Alexander gives us his glaikit smile as he is rewarded for betraying Scotland. A truly disgusting sight.

55. Douglas gourlay

Alexander!! Really! What a …..

This is the third attempt at writing my response! I don’t like to use swear words! So I edit myself. Utter disgust. Stop!

56. One_Scot

Arise Sir Danny ‘I’ll do anything for a canny bag of Tudor’ Alexander.

Many people including myself thought you we an untalented waste of space, but you have proved your worth to your Imperial masters.

Never let anyone say that you are a useless grovelling ass kissing sell-out. Well you can if you want to, I really don’t mind.

57. Douglas gourlay

It was more than three in the end. But it would go on forever.

58. Free Scotland

Ian Duncan Smith is often referred to as IDS. I wonder if Sir Danny Alexander will be referred to as SDA. Could be a bit confusing with about 380 uses already existing for the same acronym. Examples are Seigneur des Anneaux (French for Lord of the Rings), Soap and Detergent Association, Shaft Drive Axis, Student Dance Association, Some Dumb Ass, and so on. No doubt others will emerge.

59. dramfineday

Sorry rev you missed a word out of your introductory sentence. Following the word Scot, insert the word “butt”.

There, that has a better ring to it.

60. Bob Mack

And they sell their soul and their country for this ?

61. Valerie

Ok, slight delay in posting. I’ve been catching up, so had to read this and Lord o the flippers post, so a bit of vomit to clear up.

It’s been a shit couple of weeks, for stuff like this, this fancy dress parade of shills, is revolting. I always look at this crap and think countries like Iceland, would just rip the place down, for wasting money, and ripping the pish.

I know some on here are more qualified to speak on psychology, but as I have aged, I have tried to be a better person, meaning less selfish.

These alleged socialists must pee their pants at the thought of grabbing more, and pushing to the front.

Seriously, they make me sick.

62. Nana

20 mins left to vote. Stewart was in the lead until a short while ago. Obviously the labour postal votes are coming in now

https://kmflett.wordpress.com/2015/12/06/corbyn-faces-snp-challenge-to-retain-parliamentary-beard-of-the-year-title/

63. Robert Peffers

@Itchybiscuit says: 10 December, 2015 at 3:34 pm:

“Whatโ€™s Danny Alexanderโ€™s official title?

โ€˜Great Chieftain of the Pudding Raceโ€™?”

No, Itchybiscuit, It’s Greatest puddin o the human race.

64. mogabee

Seriously, it’s like living in times of “yore”…

‘When knights were bold’ does NOT include DA. eeuw

65. Robert Peffers

@KenC says: 10 December, 2015 at 3:56 pm:

“Was the queen too busy to do the honours? “

Naw! Auld Lizzie canna thole thaim aither.

66. ScottieDog

Not sure how much of a dent if any this will make in the NO vote. There is still a widespread belief out there that the likes of darling and Alexander saved Scotland from oblivion.

Even the next financial crash (which is coming) will be painted by the neo-liberal press as some exogenous event (not caused by Blighty) which our economists and politicians will have dealt with bravely.

I’m not sure what it will take. The brainwashed middle classes still blame our woes on a few individuals claiming benefits

67. Robert Peffers

@Ben says: 10 December, 2015 at 4:05 pm:

“Proud Scot but. Just fabulous that he feels the โ€˜right trackโ€™ is the systemic victimisation of disabled people. Rabbie Burns would have a few choice words for him”

Rabbie Burns is deid, lang syne.
    Wull a few choice words frae Rabbie Peffers dae insteed?

Hoo’s aboot – “It’s enuch tae mak yer bile blid”?

68. Croompenstein

@Free Scotland –

I wonder if Sir Danny Alexander will be referred to as SDA

Im going to refer to him as STD cause he reminds me of the pox

69. caz-m

No doubt at the after Party, they will all join in, heartily singing,

Oh Flower Of Scotland,
    When will we see
    your likes again

And I bet you that that wee arse Torcuil Crichton will be creeping about in the background, “mingling” with his superiors.

70. r baxter

arse perseveration. proud scot butt’s.

71. manandboy

One_Scot says: 1:48 pm
    ‘It never fails to amaze me for how little some peoples principles can be bought.’

In more religious times, those who betrayed their friends for personal gain, would be called a ‘Judas’. In the case of Darling and Alexander however, Carmichael too, the title ‘Judas’ would be not only inadequate, but perhaps even insulting, as Judas quickly realised the enormity of what he had done, which he then could not live with.
    But when money is everything, and you lust to join the Lords and Ladies at Westminster, as in the case of Darling, Alexander and Carmichael, it is unlikely that any of these three will be having a change of heart any time soon.

There’s something about ‘Judas’…

72. JamesCaithness

Alexander has the cheek to wear a kilt.

73. arthur thomson

Ye see yon birky ca’d a lord ……

What a t……..s dog. There should be a word before dog but I will leave you to fill it in for yourself.

How can anyone continue to support the yellow/red tories. The evidence of the self-seeking behaviour of their ‘leaders’ is right there in front of them. I have to assume that reality is going to kick in soon and their support is going to evaporate.

I truly believe it will.

74. Karmanaut

Oor Danny’s flame is burning bright,
    Noo that he’s been made a knight,
    For causing fear and talking shite.

But even the most cynical nat,
    Is consoled by the knowledge that,
    Danny is still a ginger twat.

75. Brian Powell

As someone tweeted: “Metaphor for the Union.
    “Proud Scot”, in a kilt, on his knees before a British Prince, in London “.

76. Luigi

He’s a Kilt Dog Millionaire.

Or at least he wants to be.

77. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Nana.

The beard vote is still open. Vote for Stewart McDonald here:-

https://kmflett.wordpress.com/2015/12/06/corbyn-faces-snp-challenge-to-retain-parliamentary-beard-of-the-year-title/

He’s currently on 43%; Corbyn on 39%.

78. North Chiel

O/T, however we are ” informed” by ” reporting Scotlab” correspondent
    Andrew Black this evening that Nicola Sturgeon will be “going head to head”
    with Jeremy Corbyn ” next year in the Holyrood election” .Perhaps an “early insight” into
    the BBC “propaganda plans” for the campaign? Obviously the full London based BBC political
    resources will be targeting the SNP with the equivalent media attention from “South of the border”
    as per the 2014 referendum.
    PS . What happened to the the ” Branch office” leader Dugdale ?Is she now going to be “deputy” to Corbyn instead of Murphy .Apparently as far as “reporting Scotlab is concerned its
    Corbyn v Sturgeon for Holyrood

79. Proud Cybernat

This represents everything that is utterly wrong in a modern democracy. The sooner we are rid of this lot the better.

80. Lollysmum

Just starting on livestream-Say No to Trades Union Bill with Nicola Sturgeon, Jeremy Corbyn & other speakers
    http://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/NoToTradeUnionBillAusterity?

81. The Isolator

Between this clown shoe and Tory boy Darling.

Seriously WTF?

82. Sinky

Disappointed to learn that Stu is not in the audience for Question Time to-night. Heaven forfend that he is on a BBC blacklist when idiot dog food retailers given free reign to attack the SNP.

83. caz-m

North Chiel 6.56pm

Re: BBC Scotland. Next year’s Holyrood election and Nicola Sturgeon

โ€œgoing head to headโ€ with Jeremy Corbyn โ€

Is this guy Corbyn a Constituency MSP or a List MSP?

84. Gary45%

Itchybiscuit@3.34
    I think you mean,
    Great Chieftain of the Pudding face.
    Cakey snacks, num num.

Karmanaut@6.49
    And there he is the ginger rodent in a kilt,
    50 extra yards for it to be built.
    He has no shame, he gives no succour,
    This rodent is an unpleasant Fuc*er.
    Like the vermin in the ermin all around them
    one thing is a fact,
    In London you are never more than 6 feet from a ginger rat.

85. Onwards

The kilt thing.
    Maybe its an attempt to convince himself he isn’t getting knighted for helping to sell out Scotland. We all know that’s the real reason Alexander and Darling are there today.

The T word is banned here, and Danny probably thinks we are actually ‘better together’.
    But I honestly don’t see how it is patriotic in a Scottish sense to accept mere regional status instead of normal nationhood.
    Especially when the union is effectively just a greater England due to sheer weight of numbers, and Scots can be easily outvoted.

Surely the patriotic thing is to aim for a genuine union of equals. A confederation of self-governing nation states.

So perhaps the kilt is just a bit of decoration, and he doesn’t actually see Scotland as a real country.

86. Brian Doonthetoon

The beard vote…

Stewart McDonald is now at 48%; Corbyn at 36%.

Keep votinghttps://kmflett.wordpress.com/2015/12/06/corbyn-faces-snp-challenge-to-retain-parliamentary-beard-of-the-year-title/, peeps!

87. Ruby

What does he mean by getting the country on right track?

Surely he’s not saying he’s proud to receive a knighthood for being part of a process which saw his own party practically wiped out in the General election.

When he talks about the ‘right’ does he mean the political right?
    I presume he is referring to England.

What is doing now to earn a living?

88. Nana

@Brian Doonthetoon

Thanks for that Brian. I was rushing making dinner when I put the beardy vote up. For some reason [brain freeze probably] I thought it was ending around 6pm.

Hope he wins, I do like a nice beard!

89. alex cochrane

wtaf…. is it april 1st already.

90. JLT

Shameful.

We are now seeing one year on, the rewards for those that led Better Together. A shambolic cabal that had no idea of itself, what it actually represented, or what it was trying to present to the people. In fact, the more they tried to convince themselves, let alone us, the more folk they drove towards the idea of independence.

And now they’re rewarding failure with knighthoods, peerships, lordships, and god knows what else!

These folk will be looked after for the rest of their days, while no voters should be asking ‘what did we get out of it?’ Well …another futile war, more taxes, no home rule, even more servitude to London, a Tory government and the debt still climbing.

I just hope many Scots who voted ‘No’ can make the connection on what they saw on telly today.

91. Ruby

Brian Doonthetoon says:
    10 December, 2015 at 7:36 pm
    The beard voteโ€ฆ

Stewart McDonald is now at 48%; Corbyn at 36%.

Ruby replies

I wont be voting for Stewart McDonald I thought what he said about the ‘spinning in his grave’
    comment was pretty stupid.

PS Is your new imac from Ebay any good?

92. Brian Doonthetoon

JEEZ! That last post screwed up the link!

To vote for Stewart McDonald for Parliamentary Beard Of The Year, go here:-

93. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ruby.

The ‘new’ iMac is bra’!

I’m using it at work, in office hours – but it’s MINE, not the Uni’s! I can do what I like with it! Install whatever I want, and so on…

The machine I’m on at the moment (at home) is a 2008 MacPro – 3GHZ quad Xeon processor, 32GB RAM. Rather nice…

94. Maxi

Dannyboy, you and yer buddies picked the wrong f*****g team and be rest assured what you helped do to us and ours, we are gonna do to you and yours with a happy heart when the time comes.????

95. Almannysbunnet

Last December would have been too early, slightly unseemly, to be handing out rewards like bank directorships and knighthoods for these leaders of the better together gang. They have waited for what they think is a “respectable” period to collect their ill gotten gains. Voted out by the people, rewarded by the state.

Proud Scotsmen my arse! Obsequious selfish little men the lot of them.

96. peter

In Englands green and pleasant land
    Danny Boy is lookin grand
    Resplendant in his tartan plaid
    He feels the touch o charlies blade

Arise Sir Danny! says oor Chuck
    now Bugger off and get tae fuck!

97. Breeks

If I was him, I think I’d be hoping for a bit less recognition, especially walking around the streets of Scotland. Stick a bag on yer heed son.

Put Scotland on the right track? What an arrogant tosser.

98. JLT

In fact …you know what this feels like?

It’s history repeating itself when Scotsmen sold out their country for land and money from Westminster.

Today in one sense, felt like 1707 all over again. It’s James Douglas, 2nd Duke of Queensberry all over again.

I literally choked on my tea when I saw Darling being rewarded …and then I just about launched my plate at the telly when I saw Alexander being knighted.

I knew nothing about this today until I saw it on the news.

Aye …it’s 1707 all over again …reward; reward; reward …all for keeping the Union intact.

Shameful.

99. Bill Hume

I was about to say something erudite and relevant on this, then managed to spill (skale?…anyone else use that term for spill?) a glass of Coke on my keyboard. Other than wondering if my keyboard might start talking pish (there was an alcoholic component in there also)…..it got me thinking about soft drinks. Kia Ora in particular which ran a very good ad. a few years ago. Tag line was “I’ll be your Dog”

These Lord and Knights are like the dog in the advertisement…..do as you are told, come to heel and bark at the nasty Nats.

Reward?…..a pat on the head and as many bonios you can eat….forever.

p.s. I like dogs, but only if they are covered in fur (not ermine).

100. JLT

Well, there you go…

Today in one sense, felt like 1707 all over again. Itโ€™s James Douglas, 2nd Duke of Queensberry all over again.

And when was Douglas rewarded?

He was created Duke of Dover, Marquess of Beverley and Earl of Ripon in 1708, and appointed to the British Privy Council in the same year…blah, blah, blah, drone…

Yep …Douglas was rewarded with titles one year after the Act of Union in 1707.

Flipper and Beaker get rewarded one year after lying and putting the fear into people to remain in the Union.

Who says History doesn’t repeat itself?

101. Ruby

Darling got a seat in the HOL and the Scottish branch of his party got a seat in the HOC at a cost of ยฃmillion. Million pound Murray of Morningside.

Danny Alexander got a Lordship and the Scottish branch of his party got a seat in the HOC along with a pretty shabby reputation.

Talking of Million pound Murray of Morningside it’s too bad someone didn’t think about taking him to court over the Paco McSheepie smear campaign.

Brian Doonthetoon Have you got ‘1Password’ on your fancy computer?

‘1Password’ is super bra!

Any women candidates in the ‘Beard of the Year’ contest?

102. louis.b.argyll

A spreading, red rash, on the arse of these once great islands.

103. Legerwood

You may have read about the deaths in the NHS Southern Foundation Trust that were not reported.

If past experience is anything to go bywhen something like this breaks down south then look out for an attempt by the usual suspects to find a similar story relating to NHS Scotland. However much of a stretch it may be or however spurious the media and Labour will push it for all its worth.

Just a heads up. I hope I am wrong but…

104. Tam Jardine

All this must end.

Danny will be one of the last lib dems ever to represent a Scottish constituency in Westminster. I feel so angry when I see images of this tractor that I struggle to post anything meaningful. And simple abuse is meaningless and purposeless.

We need to push on, avoid the traps and start to renew our strategy. Fuck Danny. He is not worth our posts. We get derailed in our purpose by the distractions of our enemy’s trolling tactics.

Let’s look at positive steps we can take towards removing ourselves from this corrupt, repugnant disgrace of a union.

I can’t plot the way in one post but we need to rise above this shite.

105. Karmanaut

@Gary45%, @Peter

Lol.

106. heedtracker

Bet there’s a big fat slob in Kirkwall tonight going, “I’m fackin next”

107. Iain

When we are independent (which will happen sooner than you think). Why don’t we tax all the Lord’s,lady’s,sir’s and other stupid titles at 99% of their income, giving all the tax raised to food banks and other good causes.

108. paul gerard mccormack

Words genuinely fail me at how low human beings can go, so i’ll just resort to name-calling and abuse if that’s alright. It makes me feel better, even if only for 5 minutes.

Danny boy, you are the very definition of the word, tosser. I looked it up – the dictionary said, Tosser – Danny Alexander, also used in reference to same amoeba-like slime and ex-lawyer by the name of Darling and also that cowpat Carmichael.

Clearly, well and truly scunnered at recent events.

109. Davy

If ever their was a time for a fucking sword to slip, still it must the official week for all the bettertogether tractor’s to be either rewarded or let off their past discretions.

Scotland will one day be rid of such disgraces.

110. Kirsty

Probably already been said but I think there should be a chapter in any future Wee Blue Book listing all the *favours* that have been done for the politicians and business people who fought so aggressively for the union. The knighthoods, the contracts, the places in the HoLs, etc. Then contrast it with a list of all the promises they made that have been broken and all the things that we were told only the *Union* could protect us from that have happened. Just so we can show who was really “Better Together” and why.

111. Petra

I for one just can’t, can’t, can’t wait to say ta-ta to the whole kit and kaboodle of them. I mean to say you’ve got one failed numpty kneeling in front of, and being knighted by, the Prince of Fales: A 67 year old daft, wee man that’s mammy can’t trust to take over from her. It’s high time too that DNA tests were carried out on every last one of the benefit claiming, charlatans to prove that they are no different from, should have no more rights or privileges than, you or I.

Wee Ginger Dug absolutely summed it up for me recently when he said ”In the Land of the Mad the Sane are Crazy”.

112. Marie Clark

Garry 45% and Peter 8.03, I admire your work gentlemen. Though I fear it’s mibbies mair McGonnigle than Burns.

Funny nane the less. LOL

113. Robert Louis

For the champagne ‘socialists’ of the Labour party like Darling, or complete nobody’s like Danny Alexander, in way of ‘thanks’ for their part in ensuring Scotland is under English Tory rule today. Let’s hope you enjoy your baubles and robes so much, you don’t bother coming back to Scotland. Just keep doffing your cap to London.

As Sir Walter Scott said regarding the unwanted and undemocratic treaty of union with England in 1707, ‘I ken, when we had a king, and a chancellor, and parliament – men o’ our ain, we could aye peeble them wi’ stones when they werena gude bairns – But naebody’s nails can reach the length o’ Lunnon.’

114. heedtracker

http://www.standard.co.uk/business/gordon-brown-picked-for-pimcos-global-advisory-board-a3132106.html

Sir Daniel’s farce knighthood doesn’t come anywhere close to this living horror.

If youre wondering why there’s no social housing built in Scotland or that Norway has a giant oil pension fund and Scotland’s got fcuk all, there’s your red tory answer.

No wonder they get top jobs with hedge funds.

115. Cadogan Enright

Da feicer is curtsying. How embarrassing. It would look better if he jest got on his knees and licked yer mans boots.

Meanwhile McDonalds beard is 54% and the Orkney 4 is ยฃ189,191 https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-people-versus-carmichael/x/10763804#/

116. ahundredthidiot

Many years from now

Scottish history will not be kind

117. Phronesis

Thucydides still speaks to us from Ancient Greece-What makes nations go to war? How can politics elevate or poison a society? What is the measure of a great leader or a great democracy?

We know the answers to these already and the remedy is very simple but it will neither be found in the politically and economically stagnant palace of WM nor the unelected HoL.

118. Les Wilson

It would be interesting to know if Darling and Alexander were promised a knighthood by Cameron, for persuading Scotland to say no.Not a nod and a wink but a written promise.

Scots really would not like that.

119. K1

Where else on this planet do people get rewarded in such a manner for losing their jobs?

I mean seriously that prat Libdem Alexander gets a fucking knighthood, after being tossed out by the electorate, and if Darling (the Tory formally known as a socialist) hadn’t been the total utter coward that he is by ‘stepping down’ before the GE he would have been handed his P45 as well and he gets a life peerage?

A ‘liberal democrat’ and a ‘labour’ member take refuge within the most dishonourable system that any country has ever invented for the super rich and elite: Honours that they bestow upon themselves, made up titles and lands, taken from the people, and a never ending supply of filthy lucre that will see them and their offspring never wanting for anything in their lifetimes.

Why is this called ‘ennoblement’? What is noble about any of this?

To sell yourself for money, for a ‘title’, to put a price on your humanity. It’s not for any work that they have done, they have produced nothing of any value: they are corrupt and are involved in the most corrupt practices known to humanity: They are merely puppets performing at the behest of their masters. That is why they have been rewarded: for doing the establishment’s bidding.

They are infants sucking on the teat of the millions whose life’s have been spent toiling to feed themselves and their families. They think they are ‘above’ that toil, and have placed themselves above others to sustain an illusion of ‘greatness’.

These are not honourable people. Honourable people have no need of such airs and graces.

120. Grouse Beater

And here’s the thing, the ceremony costs you a small fortune, and there’s no way you can do it on the cheap:

1. Hire of your investiture suit or Highland attire
    2. New dress, shoes, coat,and flamboyant hat for wife.
    3. Transport costs for family to attend from Scotland.
    4. Taxi costs to and from palace to London hotel
    4. Overnight in posh hotel near Pall Mall
    5. Five course meal for ten at glitzy restaurant
    6. ยฃ100 to buy video of investiture from Palace office
    7. The ‘favour’ the Cabinet Office expects returned some time soon…

All true
    Yours
    Grouse Beater CBE

121. heedtracker

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/scotland/highlands_and_islands

BBC propaganda buries Sir Daniel way underneath their usual garbage news. Funny that. At least it shows the UKOK right all know exactly how hard their democracy stinks.

But Sir Daniel did help a great deal in ending the LibDem party across the YewKay. Although they do have hundreds of them in the Lords, despite only a handful of MP’s left.

So he euthanised several thousand of the poorest people among us, people who had nothing, gone.

He came into the Treasury with the UKOK national debt at its highest ever and then left with it even higher.

http://www.nationaldebtclock.co.uk/

UK national debt out of all control, the deficit even worse than under the Crash Gordon insanity. And there’s always their endless UKOK red and blue toryboy wars in the east, unwinnable, keeps the blighters on their toes.

122. louis.b.argyll

A great nation has controlled patience,
    can breathe with confidence,
    even when progress is slow,
    knowing,

The same nation can also become impatient, but can dig deep, only expecting betterment through shared values.

123. Morgatron

Arise Sir Fanny.For services against a nation.

124. Cadogan Enright

SCOTTISH NHS grudgingly admitted to be best in UK on Radio 4 tonight based on stats. Referred to disbelievingly as ‘accordingly to THESE stats’

I am sure it will be all over the State and Corporate Media in Scotland in the morning.

125. Sinky

Attention all London commuters and residents… Craig Murray needs a volunteer who can give a few minutes of their time to help with a new exciting project.

https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2015/12/bbc-bias/

Also good article on Henry Jackson Society which is approved by the UK Establishment so doesn’t get the Donald Trump treatment.

https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2015/12/henry-jackson-society-as-bad-as-donald-trump/

126. Brian Powell

‘We’ keep electing people who do this.

If those who claim to want federalism and a modern form of government should put forward a multi question Referendum: do we want honours systems, do we want a HofLs, it never happens.

127. KenC

@ Lesley-Anne, 4.02 pm.

I have the feeling Lesley, that in Charles’ head the plants always talk back. ;D

128. Sinky

Cadogan
    Do you have a source ir link to the nhs stats

129. Legerwood

Maybe it has mentioned in one of the earlier posts and I have missed it but has Sir Danny got a job these days? If so what is it?

130. HandandShrimp

Well Better Together clearly had an element of truth for Alistair and Danny

Pity about the rest of us.

131. KenC

@ Robert Peffers, 6.07.

Not a fan of the royals but hugely amused that the ginger rodent wasn’t deemed worthy enough to be honoured by the No.1 Windsor.

132. KenC

A number two being honoured by another number two. ๐Ÿ˜€

133. galamcennalath

There’s a scene in Rob Roy where an abnoxiuos Scotsman is fawning up to the snooty establishment baddy, offering to carry out his piss pot from the night before. It came to mind when considering these fawning ba5tards!

134. Capella

Just watched the livestream from the STUC event against the Trade Union Bill. Very strong speech from Nicola in support of Trade Union rights and against the Bill.

“Workers rights are human rights” says Nicola.

Looks like another wide division opening up between Holyrood and Westminster. This time NEW Old Labour under Jeremy Corbyn and the SNP are on the same side. Although there was a brief heckle from someone – possibly an Old New Labour person, when Nicola was speaking. Dealt with very expertly.

It would be good if Livestream could do edited highlights though someone on the livestream commented that RT were covering the event. Probably no point in checking the BBC. If they have covered it there will probably be a total edit out of anything good.

135. Lesley-Anne

I think you could be right Ken, it is the only reasonable explanation that explains his constant dour face. Well it’s either that or realisation that marrying the back end of a bus doe not do one much good in the way of impressing one’s subjects! ๐Ÿ˜€

Thanks for outlining the list there GB. It makes me feel a lot better now for when I write back to her nib’s cooncil hoose to tell her underlings I will not be attending to be enobled but they can, if they so desire, mail it up to me. I believe we still have something called Royal Mail. I have even heard they could send it recorded delivery if they were concerned about it arriving. ๐Ÿ˜€

136. Hector

OT…..just watched Independence Live coverage if Jeremy Corbyns speech in Glasgow tonight. As a socialist, I welcome his message about solidarity and opposing Tories Proposed trade union legislation. As a Scottish socialist and SNP member, I despair at his lack of acknowledgement that Scotland sacked Labour at the GE and failed to acknowledge that Labour took the wrong path in opposing Scotland’s Independence!

He did nothing to address Scottish political issues, and no mention of the SNP! Sorry Jeremy, that stance will not win former Labour voters! Time to recognise that Labour failed Scotland for generations. By the way, Kezia not on the platform……?

137. Sinky

Thanks Nana

138. heedtracker

Assuming Sir Daniel isnt just one more lunatic on the loose, did he help get the country on right track

OECD countries and the Yew Kay toryboy world that gets in with a minority worth comparing but hard core red blue toryboy world elitists love austerity for the poor, socialism for the rich etc

http://www.newyorker.com/news/john-cassidy/by-george-britains-austerity-experiment-didnt-work

That’s two years ago, what’s UK growth rate now?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-34646496

0.5%

139. msean

Kirsty@9.04

That is a great idea,they know people forget who did what after a few months. It would be handy to remind folk who took a knee or a stoat coat for selling their country out.

Do they pay those beknighting expenses themselves or are they ‘funded by the uk’?

140. Gary45%

Sinky@10.19,
    Yes heard this on the lunch time EBC news,
    just watched it on the I player.
    Should be a laugh watching Wiggy Burd and listening to KwianE tomorrow.
    You can actually feel and hear the resentment.

I am sure the Scotchshire branch of the EBC will probably go with, The 56 SNP politicians to blame for the failings in the NHS in England.
    Its all Alic Samins fault, says Catty Rentjob.
    I would say something about Gordon Brewery, but he is a useless TWAT.
    Maybe his viewing figures would go up if he called his programme “Twat on Sunday”

141. call me dave

STV main news also chimed in earlier with Scottish NHS doing much better.

However auntie saying we (UKOK) are all struggling! But print this which if I archive loses the graphs. ๐Ÿ™

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-35053845

PS:
    I see the Gordon Matheson abandons bid to become Labour MSP not on BBC website now.

https://archive.is/uq2Rd#selection-541.51-541.84

PPS:
    Aberdeen the granite city new building project has the stone facing imported from China…in the National.

Whot..shurley schome mischtake!

SNP x 2

142. heedtracker

“Cringing Twat on Sundayโ€

143. Cadogan Enright

@stinky 10.19

Listen to R4 10pm news on the live-liar up near start

144. dakk

Cadogan Enright 10.49

‘@ stinky’

Less of the name calling ๐Ÿ™‚

145. vambomarbeley

Come independence can you see the rest of the U.K. Paying to keep these has been wasters in the HOL. Another reason to make sure that independence happens next time.

146. Jim McIntosh

Weel if abody else is makin up poetry:

On Calton Hill there stood a Darling
    He’s nae there noo
    He must be in the House o’ Lords

147. Kirsty

msean

I think it’d be a good way of showing people that these people were saying what they did for personal gain and NOT because it was fact – there was something in it for them that meant the rest of us could all go to hell for all they cared. It’d be good to show quotes from these people about all the horrible things that a Yes vote would bring and how only the union could protect us, etc. versus what actually happened. For instance, only a No vote will save your jobs next to an article about said jobs being lost and a photo of the person who told us that being knighted, etc. I think that’s very powerful – not least because it’s true – and as you said, it would remind people of who said what and what their reward was for saying it. More importantly, it’d make it damn hard for them to do it again!

148. cearc

I think that Danny’s title and forthcoming well paid job are the carrot for keeping his mouth shut. He will know a lot of stuff about the tories he worked with.

I wonder what the stick is? They are bound to have found or arranged something.

149. Vambomarbeleye

Come independence can you see the rest of the UK paying to keep these wasters and has beens in the HOL. Another good reason to make it happen next time.

150. Robert Kerr

Not sorry, been out imbibing.

Taxi to station driven by a Polis lad.

Practiced my basic chat up for Polish ladies to make hime aware that Polish matters.

“Polskie dziewczyny s? pi?kne”

“Polish girls are beautiful”

Then told him he was welcome here in Scotland.

A bit personal but there we are

151. ArtyHetty

Why is he wearing a kilt outfit!

You know, when I am at my allotment I can hear the posh boys and girls playing the bagpipes, at the mega expensive ermine in waiting posh school just over the road.

I know someone who was vaguely aquainted with a youngster from said posh school,who told her that students there, over 16, were instructed by the headmaster, in no uncertain terms, to vote no to Scottish Independence. So when I hear them playing the pipes I always wonder, why? As they are told they are unionists, and of the most priveleged position from day one, whilst being trained to be English.

What is the wearing a kilt, play the pipes stuff all about when you don’t really believe in your own country? I mean, no one wears a kilt in Newcastle, so it is generally an outward expression of somehow having a connection and a regard for Scottishness, if I can use that word!

What does the kilt and what do the bagpipes represent? What is it saying when the ukokers embrace the fact that they are happy for their country to be used, ridiculed, scorned at and told to shut up, get back in your box jock, but then they wear the fancy expensive kilt and all that, for fancy occasions!

I am off at a tangent but it does really perplex me, just why do unionists revere the kilt and bagpipes, but then talk down and work to take down Scotland in the same breath? A mostly rhetorical question really, but if anyone has a view be interesting to hear, I am probs just very naive.

152. Wuffing Dug

So Jeremy Corbyn spoke in Glasgow.

Minus the dug as well….

Who gives a shit.

I keep thinking ‘I have in my hand a piece of paper, signed by Herr Cameron’.

Fucking TUBE.

153. John Moss

An award truly deserver by an arese-licking ponce.

๐Ÿ™‚

Try killing me with hammers, I dare ye.

154. Capella

Ode to Danny and assorted nonentities, ermine clad or not

As I was going up the stair
    I met a man who wasn’t there
    He wasn’t there again today
    How I wish he’d go away.

155. heedtracker

ArtyHetty, British establishment from the queen to the military, more the army, love union jocks, bagpipes, tartan, highlands, it’s all theirs.

156. Betty Craney

According to the Shetland Times , Carmichael is to ask the court to make the Orkney 4 pay his legal fees ( around ยฃ150,000 ) .

157. Betty Craney

Sorry …that should read Shetland News – not Times .

158. Dr Jim

Humza Yusef’s not Scottish because he’s only been here since he was born, I read today

Only a Yoon could write something like that and it’s led me to think that in order to claim “Scottishness” it should just simply be a matter of not being a Yoon

In that way no matter the colour, creed, religion, or other preferences in life, if you support Self Determination for Scotland and you live and work here then you’re Scottish, simples

If you don’t support this ideal then you must be a tourist

Hope I haven’t missed any group out there

159. Betty Craney

My correction disappeared…Shetland News – not Times .

160. call me dave

Very sad news. One of the reasons I subscribe to the Herald site.

Ian Bell, award-winning Herald columnist, dies at age of 59

https://archive.is/kGucz

161. Tackety Beets

Tasmina been giving Brillo a good scrubbing !

Aye !

162. Sandy Henderson

Should have used a real sword, Isis style, and done us all a favour

163. Still Positive.

So sorry to hear of Ian Bell’s death – a sad loss to Scotland.
    Probably stop my Herald subscription now as he was one of the few reasons I bought the Herald in recent years.

164. Grouse Beater

Ian Bellโ€™s death โ€“ a sad loss to Scotland.

Aye, a fine democrat.

He had a way of getting to the essence of an issue and developing it to the full with the result there were few of his columns that I took exception. His honesty shone through; no wonder he won so many journalism awards.

I wondered why he rarely gave interviews, until, that is, I met him and discovered his pronounced speech hesitation. Yet, somehow, it wasn’t an impediment to his means of expression, indeed it made his writer’s voice all the stronger.

He must have been pleased to see the people he wrote for rise in rejection of political inertia and corruption, but saddened to see the enemies of democracy elevated.

165. schrodingers cat

ian bell

166. manandboy

I always read Ian Bell’s column and was always glad I did for I was the better for it. He will be a loss to me and to many others. Condolences to his Family. May he rest in peace.

167. Sharny Dubs

Sold!! Your people, your country, your heritage, into suffering and abuse, for a name… The landed gentry still walk among us.

168. Petra

ArtyHetty, in response to your post at 12:04am, I would like to say that I have a number of young relatives (many) who attend both public and private schools (in the North East and the Central Belt). ALL of their parents, without exception, most fervently voted for Independence and their children are being VERY well educated at home in relation to Scottish history, our resources and UK propaganda …. to name but a few relevant areas. Some of them, as young as 10, are now ‘teaching’ me! Damnation! Only kidding. I can’t begin to tell you how much I love to see their smiling faces look up at me, usually holding my hands to pin me down, and hear their wee chirpy voices spout the facts. Really, really makes my day. Teenagers in the family arguing and debating economics / Barnett Formula. How cool is that? Said to be the most politically aware people on the planet right now? Looks like that to me.

Private schools: I also know that a large number of teachers in said private schools voted for Independence and I’m not aware of any Head Teacher instructing any student to vote either way in the Referendum. This is not to say that this hasn’t happened at all (I don’t know everyone, lol), however knowing many of the parents and / or their mindset in general I would say that they would not tolerate interference for one minute and would be up in arms at the very thought of it.

On the other hand some consternation and real annoyance has been expressed (privately) amongst these teachers about the RAPIDLY increasing number of English people who are now holding key posts in private schools (Scottish teachers with relevant experience / excellent qualifications being totally overlooked … fighting the bit out here and there), Colleges and Universities in Scotland. Something to consider in the here and now and for the future, I would think along with the numbers (Heads) in the Police Force, Arts, Councils and so on. I (we in the family / friends) call it the Silent (non-aggressive) but very insidious War. An area that we should all be scrutinising / investigating: keeping our eye on the veritable ball so to speak.

But back to the private schools. It’s a fallacy, IMO, that the so-called upper classes or better off (born) Scots are no voters. In my experience as a pupil of a mainstream and then private school, parent of children attending a mainstream and then private school and as a relative of numerous children attending mainstream and / or private schools voting yes for Independence was an absolute imperative for us all. And by God we put our hearts and souls into fighting for it.

MANY of our ilk were fighting the bit out day and daily (being banned from sites / posts removed) for months on end online (in my case between working and online 18 hours a day … sometimes having no more than 2 hours sleep .. I’m on holiday now and still involved), chapping on doors and standing frozen or drenched at SNP tables in streets right across Scotland. And as a bye check out the death announcement section in the National. Not a poll as such, not substantive evidence at all, but a REAL eye-opener.

The no voters, in the main, are rUK relocators to Scotland and individuals (Scottish born or otherwise) who have fairly well paid jobs and are concerned about losing them / worried about how to pay their mortgages and so on. Many of whom, in the latter case, weren’t educated at private schools at all (drawn from my knowledge only … no evidence to support my hypothesis). Area to research?

We also have to keep in mind that a number of SNP supporters (relocators?) don’t actually want Independence at all. They vote for the party because they want all of the benefits that the SNP have to offer such as free prescriptions, home care and tuition fees. Better off Together living in Scotland the land of the freebies, a most beautiful country (especially in comparison to Englamd) where cheap properties abound. What more can one say? It’s a very convoluted affair to say the least.

Anyway ArtyHetty I just wanted to point out, reassure you more than anything, that as you hear the posh boys and girls playing their bagpipes from your allotment that many of them will go onto fighting first and foremost for an Independent Scotland and more than anything will play a most constructive role when we do get our Independence.

PS I have my own views regarding private and mainstream education… the pros and the cons … however far too complex to go into here.

169. ronald russell

Here we are again seeing who can print the funniest quip while these people like Alexander are just sneering at us. Why are we not lifting the baton for independence and running with it again. Is it not time we ignored the “oh it,s too soon” pleadings and get back to working our socks off for another referendum. How long do we wait 5, 10 15 years while these sycophants live off our taxes. Yet there are people going to food banks. Come on people there is still work to be done, let us rid ourselves of these parasites and give Scotland freedom and justice for all.

170. Macart

Sad news about Ian Bell. A rare breed in today’s media world, a fine principled columnist, who wrote with empathy, understanding and passion.

Condolences to his family.

171. Ken500

D. Alexander has been party to destroying the Scottish Oil sector. Costing thousand of jobs and losing Scotland ยฃBillions. Vulnerable people are being sanctioned and starved to death. Illegal wars are killing and maiming vulnerable people. It is an utter disgrace.

Oil sector is taxed illegally at 75%. Westminster take 50% of Production and 25% tax. . With the fall in price they have destroyed the Oil sector and lost thousands of jobs. More Oil & Gas has to be imported putting up then balance of payments deficit and the debt.

The right Charlie is one of the biggest consumers on the planet. While vulnerable people are sanctioned and starved to death, Royals take part in illegal wars to protect their tax evaded fortune. Killing and maining millions of vulnerable people and destroying the Planet. The Royals
    are not impartial. The Royals caused 1WW. Queen Victoria’s grandsons. Inbred cousins. ‘The divine right of Kings,’

Where is the Chilcot Report?

172. Ken500

Teachers have to have Scottish degrees to teach in Scottish schools. Join the Teachers Union. Scottish teachers are more highly qualified. They have to have Scottish degrees/ teacher training qualifications, to teach in Scottish schools. (like lawyers – Scottish degrees) They are paid 10% more than teachers in the rest of the UK.

Are Private schools exempt? They must be covered by the same regulation.

173. Ken500

Herald/Evening Times Group. The Times – Murdoch.

Ian Bell died. Sad.

174. Paul

Shouldn’t that have said “What a day itโ€™s been to be a proud Scot – but”? ๐Ÿ˜€

It was always the preface to any statements made as reasons to vote no last year after all.

175. Ghillie

YES Danny, ‘getting the country onto the right track’…

STRAIGHT INTO THE ARMS OF THE SNP!!

176. jdman

What really disgusts me is not these creatures getting rewards from the Crown for betraying their country, but the fact the Climate Change Conference taking place right now is happening against the backdrop of the frankly incredible attitude of David Cameron in his perverse removal of the Carbon Capture Subsidy from both Kincardine and Peterhead,never mind the removal of the wind turbine subsidy, then bizarrely paying European power suppliers for low carbon power to meet the EU carbon emission targets, so basically anything that benefits the Scots is off the table.
    http://www.banksgroup.co.uk/onshore-wind-developer-announces-vision-for-renewables-in-scotland/

Has even crossed his tiny mind JUST HOW MUCH kudos going to that conference he would have gained and being able to tell the world that “we have conquered the carbon capture problem and we’re open for business”?

Nope, he’d see it as a Scottish success and we cannie hae that noo can we?

better together…but only on our terms!

177. jdman

Didn’t post first time so waffle waffle waffle

What really disgusts me is not these creatures getting rewards from the Crown for betraying their country, but the fact the Climate Change Conference taking place right now is happening against the backdrop of the frankly incredible attitude of David Cameron in his perverse removal of the Carbon Capture Subsidy from both Kincardine and Peterhead,never mind the removal of the wind turbine subsidy, then bizarrely paying European power suppliers for low carbon power to meet the EU carbon emission targets, so basically anything that benefits the Scots is off the table.
    http://www.banksgroup.co.uk/onshore-wind-developer-announces-vision-for-renewables-in-scotland/

Has even crossed his tiny mind JUST HOW MUCH kudos going to that conference he would have gained and being able to tell the world that “we have conquered the carbon capture problem and we’re open for business”?

Nope, he’d see it as a Scottish success and we cannie hae that noo can we?

better together…but only on our terms!

178. jdman

What Ronald Russell says!

179. jdman

I thought about that post I made @6.45 and pondered, can it be said there is a certain animosity towards the population of Scotland by the Westminster elite?
    and in spite of the obvious answer of yes, of course, they hate us,

I actually don’t think they do,
    that would require effort to actively hate and they don’t think about Scotland enough to actually hate us, no it’s much worse than hatred they feel,
    the emotion shown by Westminster is indifference and the only consideration they give us are to consider just how long it will take to breed us out of existence,

We are as irrelevant to Westminster as the Rohingya are to Myanmar for all the shit they give!
    The elevation of creatures like Mone, Alexander et al is a measure of an elite toying with the humans like the greek gods played with their creations, enjoying nothing more than mild pleasure, merely a distraction from the real job of making money.

180. jdman

me @ 6.31
    DAMMIT!

181. Capella

@jdman
    Like the Hunger Games ?
    I imagine the elite are amused by the sight of the underlings fighting each other for some extra scraps from the top table.
    Well done kiltie. Have a medal.
    Next?

182. stewart fae stoney

Arise sir Fanny

183. dorothy devine

So sorry to hear of Ian Bells death.The only journalist for whom I had any respect.

184. Marie Clark

My utter disgust and contempt for Danny Alexander an Alistair Darling knows no bounds. To see that fanny bending the knee whilst wearing a kilt is truly boak inducing. The reward for betraying your country eh! Except, when you think about it, Scotland is not their country, is it? To them and they’re ilk, we are but a region of Greater Engerland.

O/T So sorry to hear of the death of Ian Bell. I always enjoyed his well reasoned, and well argued column. I did not always agree with him, but Ian Bell was always worth reading. He was one reason that I used to buy the Herald ( stopped more than a year ago).I’ll have to think about the Sunday Herald now, just won’t be the same without him.

Condolences to Ian’s family and friends.

185. Macart

@John King

Take my word for it John, they feel animosity alright and spite. They do both very well, especially if you seriously threaten their status quo, their lifestyle, their order of things. In that instance you move from an amusing annoyance to a danger and THAT they will not suffer.

186. Breeks

I agree Ronald Russell, kinda, but the next round requires us to spike the guns of the State funded propaganda machine so the issues Scotland dwells upon are relevant to our sovereign independence, not the Unionist agenda underpinned by Orwell’s Ministry of Truth, the BBC.

I appeal to our SNP government; please hold a plebiscite to enquire of Scotland’s people which governmental portfolios should be held in Holyrood and which delegated to Westminster. I see no better, and in truth no other, mechanism to secure a democratic mandate to wrestle broadcasting from the clutches of the Westminster and the odious BBC. They won’t surrender their best institution for our subjugation. Not now, not ever. Our Scottish Government needs our mandate to take it. For the love of God give us the opportunity to grant you such a mandate. Do it now. Today.

With fair and honest, and yes merely neutral news broadcasting, Scotland’s Independence will most surely be ours by overwhelming and popular majority.

Give me one reason why this should not be done.

187. Ken

Scotland could have got EU grand for CCS and Renewables blocked by Westminster indecision. Deliberately stopping them, at Longannet in Fife (Coal) and Peterhead. The Tories are stopping coal production in the UK. They are building two new coal station in the North of England ยฃ2Billlion (each?) near Clegg’s constituency. Coal will have to be imported (Coal is cheaper than other fuels) Putting up the balance of payments deficit and the debt.

The Tories have stopped Oil & Gas Production. (50% take + tax 25%) = 75% despite the Oil price falling. More Oil & Gas will have to be imported. Putting up the balance of payments deficit and the debt. Not supporting the NHS and increasing the debt. Losing ยฃBillions.

Tories have stopped investment in Renewables. The safest and cheapest over time. Banned wind turbines. More energy will have to be imported. Putting up the balance of payment deficit and the debt.

The Tories are Building a ยฃ25Billion Nuclear Station at Hinkley Point, beside the sea for 7% of energy. It will be years late and over budget, on borrowed Chinese money. A disaster waiting to happen. The most expensive, dangerous and deadly. Where will the waste go? They are exporting toxic dangerous waste to Africa.

Tory policies are costing thousands of jobs, putting up the balance of payments deficit and the debt. They are lining their pockets in contracts, fees and consultancy for their associates, friends and family. Defrauding, embezzling and wasting ยฃBillions of taxpayers money. Increasing the debt. Sanction and starving the vulnerable at home and abroad, Illegal wars and food banks. e,g Cutting public spending but spending ยฃ170Billion on Trident.

Cameron’s Fire, Flood and Famine.

188. jdman

C/H @ 8.18
    A copy of Gideons by any chance?
    Jist a wee reminder maybe?

189. Sinky

Sad news about Ian Bell when will we see his likes again?

Heard it all this morning on GMS during interview with Transport Minister Derek Mackay at 8.15 he was asked if he had mislead the BBC?

Not that the BBC would ever do that and I don’t recall BBC ever asking any unionist politician the same question.

190. heedtracker

BBC morning business live news say UK economic forecasts downgraded again, its China and the EU’s fault. All very jolly though, nothing whatsoever to do with Sir Daniel, Osborne, any toryboys, getting it back on track.

Another runway at Heathrow’s the BBC solution today but they bottled that too.

191. Bob Mack

Have to pay my respects to Ian Bell.
    Great writer who left his mark. Scotland loses one of its great talents. R.I.P.

192. jdman

Macart @ 08.18
    I still think the wasteful emotion of hatred is not something the Elite feel, they leave that to their underlings like Camoron, IBS (I call him that because he’s an irritating little shit)Gideon, et al, but the real holders of power, people we have never heard of (and some we have eg: The Queen) don’t waste their time by concerning themselves with normal human emotions it is as pointless as knitting willie warmers for Danny Alexander and willie Rennie,

We are just not worth their consideration, just look at how easily the Commons took the decision to bomb innocent people in Syria but didn’t once worry about the possibility of them being wrong,
    their lords and masters told them not to deviate not to question just follow orders,
    ordinary people are of no relevance to these people.
    we never have been!

193. Sunniva

Very sad news about Ian Bell’s passing away. He took ill over the summer and stopped writing about August, but there was a piece by him that appeared in the autumn which made me hope he was recovering. Now this news he has not made it. What a loss to Scotland.

194. Luigi

RIP Ian Bell. A very sad loss. One of the few decent, professional journalists in Scotland. He wrote so many great, well thought out articles (I didn’t agree with all of them!). Commiserations to his family and friends.

195. Clydebuilt

Folks
    Ian Bell the journalist has died, aged 59. Had an article in Sunday herald . BBC reported the death, no comment on his health.

196. Luigi

jdman says:

11 December, 2015 at 9:03 am

ordinary people are of no relevance to these people.
    we never have been!

We were, for a few hours on the 18th September last year. We came close, and boy did they sweat!

197. Macart

@John

“ordinary people are of no relevance to these people. We never have been!”

No, they sure ain’t on our level of empathy, that’s a certainty.

198. dakk

Condolences to Ian Bell’s family on his untimely passing.

His was usually the only article I would read in entirety when I used to buy the Herald.

A very sad loss indeed.

199. jdman

Luigi @ 9.21

And do you think just HOW relevant we were was completely understood on that day, I think not, #bullet dodged

200. Almannysbunnet

Well done ginge, there’s a good laddie.

201. Bob Mack

@luigi,

We are bloody well relevant now. Having refused to go away we have fought every inch of the way since last year.
    We are in their face ,their press ,their television. They cannot dismiss us as easily as they did in the past.

We have usurped their democracy to the extent they have been exposed in Parliament for all the world to see when ignoring those who speak for us in that place.

The mask slips daily and the gap between what they want the Scottish people to believe and the reality of the situation
    ever widens.

Let us prise open that gap even further.

202. Helena Brown

Sad day indeed at the loss of Ian Bell, a good man gone far too soon.
    A bad week for the Lib Dems I would say, Carmichael outed as a liar and Danny Alexander paid off by the Establishment. Well we knew that the latter was coming and we were certain about the former as the Establishment look after their own, after all you have to stick together or you may hang separately.

203. Nana

Don’t as a rule visit this rag but I’m making an exception as I think you should all see this.

BRASS-necked Alistair Carmichael yesterday begged the public to help him pay his legal bill.

https://archive.is/jaw2L

204. jdman

Nana @9.51

I pray by all that is holy that the Judges award all the costs against him and ruin him.

205. Greannach

What a dainty curtsey from Lord Whatever. On ยฃ300 a day, he won’t need to seek a safe Tory seat in England.

206. Ken500

Greedy troughing gangsters. Breaking the Law.

Vote SNP/SNP Vote for Independence.

207. Bob Mack

@Nana,

Hope he gets hammered.

Quite how a civil service memo can state that a meeting ,which according to the French ambassador was held exclusively in English, can possibly have been documented as having something lost in translation is beyond me.

208. gordoz

Tragic loss of Ian Bell (Journalist)

Thoughts go to his family – Ian was a true hero; well loved and respected.

We’ll keep at it Ian; despite the rouges and scoundrels left at The Herald.

Bell v Gardham – No Contest ! (Ever)

209. Chic McGregor

Its no the HS2 track fur Scotland onywie.

210. louis.b.argyll

The ยฃ300 per day, per lord, should be means tested.

WE (taxpayers) are ACTUALLY PAYING millionaires to keep an eye on tax loopholes, which half of them BENEFIT FROM themselves.

211. Almannysbunnet

Bit OT.
    Latest SNP bad on QT from Bath last night, anybody see it? Mary Beard (English classical scholar and staunch Corbinyte. Her take on letting Trump into the UK, “rather than banning him I was actually rather more worried by the idea that he was until I think yesterday fulfilling his role as business ambassador for Scotland. Haha happily Nicola Sturgeon has got rid of him saying something like he was no longer fit for the job and I thought when was he fit for the job.” Cut to Caroline Flint nodding and laughing.
    Well the girls should ask their erstwhile labour Scottish first minister as he was the one who appointed him. Surely they knew this?

212. John H.

Heedtracker. 8.57am.

I heard on Radio 4/5 this morning about the arguments taking place down there over another runway for Heathrow. I’m no expert on such matters, but it seems to me that they could solve the problem if businesses dispersed around the country more, and used some of the other airports to take the strain off of Heathrow.

I think that they would rather concrete over London and the south east, and choke to death on traffic fumes than share their prosperity with anyone.

Selfish, greedy, stupid.

213. Stoker

Don’t know if this has been mentioned yet but…

What a severe slap on the face to the people of Scotland.
    These 2 self-serving mega muppets, Darling & Alexander, getting their rewards long before Scotland gets anything she was promised.
    Aye, better together right enough! Thanks again ‘No’ voters!

214. Grouse Beater

Almannysbunnet: “fulfilling his role as business ambassador for Scotland”

We have to stop sucking up to belligerent businessmen and crooked bankers, promoting them as the supposed saviours of a nation.

Trump’s reputation was well known as a multi-bankrupt long before McConnell gave him a chunk of Scotland to piss on.

As for Mary Beard doing her harpy role making gratuitous asides at Scotland, perhaps AA Gill got it right, only he shouldn’t have concentrated on her slovenly appearance, but on her shallow intellectual ability instead.

215. Luigi

Come on folks, if you haven’t yet done so, please consider supporting the Orkney heroes. They bravely stood against Carmichael and they urgently need our help at this time. Only 9000 backers, many of whom have donated several times. How many people visit this site each day?

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-people-versus-carmichael#/funders

Even a few quid is worth donating. Let’s get this fund-raiser to over 10,000 backers and over the ยฃ208,000 currently required. If ever there was a good cause to support, it was this one.

216. Dr Jim

I just wondered of the supposed thousands of people who have lost their jobs in the north east have returned to their countries of origin and how many voted NO in our Referendum

They’re not on the unemployment register so where are they

The nightmare before Christmas they’re calling the oil price at the moment
    So why is Sir Ian Wood running around like a blue Arsed fly trying to buy everything he can lay his hands on

Today on the Clyde our great new shipbuilders (saved by the SNP and Jim McColl), FERGUSONS, are launching a new hybrid ferry which will be named “Catriona” into service for our Islands but I haven’t seen it on the news

Yoons are Bastirts and ScotBut Yoons are the worst of them

217. Valerie

RIP Ian Bell, a fine writer

On QT,couldn’t watch it last night, thought the Panel was rubbish.

I think Flint and Beard were both just parroting soundbites, no original thought, passing through their tinyminds.

218. Wuffing Dug

OT

Anybody else getting their twitter feed spammed by friends of the earth Scotland?

There was one tweet with a picture of a ‘dirty’ oil platform coupled with a nice picture of a clean generation solar panel.

The sun was shining brightly on that panel, don’t think it was in Scotland!

Being an O & G industry professional I look upon all this with a great degree of scepticism.

I am however opposed to fracking and UCG. These recovery methods are very dubious, especially in the constrained geography of the proposed frack sites in the central belt.

I remember reading on one frack companies site how good their well casing and cement programs were and how this guaranteed integrity of the well and provided barriers sufficient to prevent well fluid / gas communication to the water table.

Bollocks.

The whole FOE Scotland thing has a whiff of unionism about it, not a saltire in sight.

They are also campaigning to have Scotland ‘fossil free’.

Reported them to age concern, told my da who”s 81 too, he wis ragin.

219. Alastair

With Carmichael showing no attrition but in fact inflaming things with further claims that the Court case was an SNP campaign against him. With and all the facts, his lies and skulduggery now in the public domain.

I think it is time for The First Minister to write to Carmichael and publicly refuse his apology,

220. Peter McCulloch

Alistair Carmichael displays the typical arrogance that we have come to expect from a Libdem, lie and then claim you have done nothing wrong, because its only politics.

OT its been reported there is civil war in Labour in fife ahead of next year’s elections as MSPS and candidates brief against one another.

221. Grouse Beater

The liar Carmichael

I recall a Lib-Dem friend whispering conspiratorially, and with evident certainty, I should ‘watch out for Tavish Scott’ who in my friend’s informed opinion, was going to propel the Lib-Dems into stardom. The remark seems lifted out of medieval history now.

“It’s been a stressing time for my family and myself” – well, don’t plot against elected leaders and then lie about it, you fool!

222. Chic McGregor

@John H
    “Heedtracker. 8.57am.

I heard on Radio 4/5 this morning about the arguments taking place down there over another runway for Heathrow. Iโ€™m no expert on such matters, but it seems to me that they could solve the problem if businesses dispersed around the country more, and used some of the other airports to take the strain off of Heathrow.

I think that they would rather concrete over London and the south east, and choke to death on traffic fumes than share their prosperity with anyone.

Selfish, greedy, stupid.”

Indeed, the endemic democratic problem of ‘tyranny by the majority’ has evolved in the UK from a dispersed class based battle to a regional one, with ease of relocation facilitating a class/regional alignment.

On the plus side, the Black Hole that is London does tend to attract the shallow, self-obsessed, greedy types to it making the rest of the country a more socially compassionate and humane place to live – if poorer.

223. Socrates MacSporran

Anent the sad death of Ian Bell.

I recall, some years ago, a long-serving but sadly no longer with us Herald sub-editor telling me, as I mentioned what I thought was a lessening of standards at the Herald: “You’re right, but, there are still more of us there who still care, than those who don’t care”.

Ian’s death means, there is one fewer caring journalist on that paper.

224. schrodingers cat

Almannysbunnet
    Latest SNP bad on QT from Bath last night, anybody see it? Mary Beard (English classical scholar and staunch Corbinyte. Her take on letting Trump in…..

yup, it was labour heid bummer jack McConnell who did this, but then again, no snp rep on the panel to give mary a…..history lesson

225. Grouse Beater

it was Labour heid bummer Jack McConnell who did this

We will forever suffer those sort of humiliations while our colonial neighbour dominates our lives and culture and sees fit to look down on us.

226. Fred

Ian Bell, very sad, Herald finito!

“O Danny Boy the ————–are calling!”

227. Robert Peffers

@ArtyHetty says: 11 December, 2015 at 12:04 am:

“I am off at a tangent but it does really perplex me, just why do unionists revere the kilt and bagpipes, but then talk down and work to take down Scotland in the same breath? A mostly rhetorical question really, but if anyone has a view be interesting to hear, I am probs just very naive.”

Now I am perhaps old fashioned but I am a Lowland Scot with a very old Scottish surname. I can trace my male line back to the Tayside Fife village graveyard in Balmarino in the 1600s.

There are Scottish place names throughout Edinburgh, East of Scotland and Borders that bear my family’s name. For Example the Peffers Burn runs through the Gullane Golf Course and Peffermill in Edinburgh.

I have not ever worn a kilt in my life and I never will. The Kilt is the traditional Highland Dress and I am not a Highlander. The tartan, kilt and highland dress as the dress of all Scotland can be traced directly back to such as Walter Scott who popularised it for the glory of the Monarchy, Establishment and the Union.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visit_of_King_George_IV_to_Scotland

It was indeed a large part of the ongoing Establishment propaganda. Why would I wish to go along with unionist propaganda? Highland dress is a mark of the Scottish Highlands and rightly so. The Highlanders can be justly proud of it but as I’m not a Highlander I have no right to be part of Highland traditions.

Remember the words of a famous Scottish Borderer, Bill McLaren, who famously said, “There is no more Scottish place than the Scottish Borders”, yet Bill himself had a Highlander’s surname.

228. michael diamond

Agree with john clark yesterday at 5.03 pm. I would be so ashamed to wear a kilt now. No way. (Which i would have done at my niece’s wedding)

229. msean

SNP MP getting harassed now about runways in London on news there. It does affect Scotland because the southeast sucks everything in including stuff and passengers. Lets see if Mr Cameron or the Tories get that kind of treatment about it,after all,its their government that takes the decisions about it.

230. Nana

Just had a chat with a lady who’d been to a busy hair salon yesterday. Apparently Carmichael is the talk of the town and customers saying lib dems “get to hell” Real anger with folks admitting to having voted No saying next time will vote Yes as all BT lies are now coming out.

She said the gongs yesterday seem to have been a turning point for some especially as we are seeing known liars getting rewarded while Scotland has been well and truly shafted.

Trump gets dumped..

http://www.golfpunkhq.com/news/article/trump-dumped

231. yerkitbreeks

The rank is but the guinea’s stamp

232. call me dave

Broad sword to Danny boy! The Scottish voters threw you out at the election. That’s the real verdict on your “getting the country on the right track”.

A right Charlie, holding his nose I bet, probably because Betty couldn’t be arsed with tractors on the farm looks bad in the papers.

Here’s a wee bright spot to cheer up a miserable week.

https://archive.is/xEnMe

233. Jim McIntosh

@John H. 10:32 am
    @Heedtracker. 8.57 am.

Re Heathrow 3rd Runway

Saw a tweet from Zac Goldsmith last night – Apparently his stance on this was nothing to do with his Mayoral challenge, but what was best for Londoners.

Says it all really. Not what’s best for the UK population but what’s best for Londoners.

234. Petra

Devastating news today regarding the death of Ian Bell. He’ll be sadly missed by many.

Condolences to his family and friends. RIP Ian.

235. schrodingers cat

@mr peffers

The history of the kilt stretches back to at least the end of the 16th century. The kilt first appeared as the belted plaid or great kilt, a full length garment whose upper half could be worn as a cloak draped over the shoulder, or brought up over the head as a hood. The small kilt or walking kilt (similar to the ‘modern’ kilt) did not develop until the late 17th or early 18th century, and is essentially the bottom half of the great kilt.

see
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strathpeffer

๐Ÿ™‚

236. michael diamond

Spot on macart 8.18am. These people will remove any threat to their way of life. By accident or subterfuge.

237. K1

Good stuff Nana, perhaps Carmichael/Darling/Alexander are our movement’s useful idiots after all. Maybe this is what will begin to visibly turn the tide, as it is mainstream and reaches ordinary folks, even a fool disnae like being made a fool of…openly.

238. caz-m

I see Corbyn will still be attending the Stop The War fundraiser in London tonight. He is sticking two fingers up to the Blairites within the Labour Party, it could get messy.

http://stopwar.org.uk/index.php/events/stop-the-war-events-national/stop-the-war-christmas-fundraiser-dinner-with-special-guest-jeremy-corbyn

Tom Harris, Ex-Scottish Labour MP, has threatened to quit the Labour Party if Corbyn continues to support the Stop The War Coalition.

I wonder which Party Mr Harris would turn to if he did quit the Labour Party?

Ruthie Tank Commander, would you welcome Red Tory, Mr Harris into your Party?

239. michael diamond

I think you r right nana. A lot of decent no voters now realise they have been shafted,( except the unionist bigots).

240. schrodingers cat

A letter written by Ivan Baillie in 1768 and published in the Edinburgh Magazine in March 1785 states that the garment people would recognize as a kilt today was invented in the 1720s by Thomas Rawlinson, a Quaker from Lancashire. After the Jacobite campaign of 1715 the government opened the Highlands to outside exploitation, and Rawlinson went into partnership with Ian MacDonnell, chief of the MacDonnells of Glengarry to manufacture charcoal from the forests near Inverness and smelt iron ore there. The belted plaid worn by the Highlanders he employed was too “cumbrous and unwieldy” for this work, so, together with the tailor of the regiment stationed at Inverness, Rawlinson produced a kilt which consisted of the lower half of the belted plaid worn as a “distinct garment with pleats already sewn”. He wore it himself, as did his business partner, whose clansmen then followed suit.

It has been suggested that there is evidence of Highlanders wearing only the bottom part of the belted plaid before this, possibly as early as the 1690s, but Rawlinson’s is the earliest documented example with sewn-in pleats, a distinctive feature of the kilt worn today.

241. schrodingers cat

ot bun fight for list seats has started in fife
    Fife Labour has descended into civil war as the competition to be elected to Holyrood exposes a series of internal feuds.

The Mid Scotland and Fife regional list selection is one of the most fiercely contested, with Alex Rowley topping it due to his position as deputy leader.

Also in contention are MSPs Claire Baker and Jayne Baxter, as well as ex-MP Thomas Docherty and former party chairman Jamie Glackin.

But in a sensational series of briefings against each other, which can be revealed by The Courier, warring factions have alleged:
    โ€ข Mr Rowley tried to undermine his leader Kezia Dugdale with a major policy speech in Dunfermline.
    โ€ข A shadow cabinet minister threatened to quit the front bench because his office worker was not initially shortlisted.
    โ€ข Manoeuvres are underway to push candidates into contention.

With the party likely to struggle in next yearโ€™s election, particularly in constituencies, a high place on the list is seen as the best way to get elected.

At an event in Dunfermline last week, Cowdenbeath MSP Mr Rowley outlined his desire to set up partnerships between the Scottish Government and councils to drive a national house building plan.

Sources, including one close to shadow housing minister Ken Macintosh, claimed it was not cleared by the shadow cabinet.

One Holyrood insider: โ€œIt was baffling. He and Ken exchanged emails after and had a brief chat but thatโ€™s it. If you ask me itโ€™s bang out of order. The whole party is a power play just now.โ€

Another, from Fife, added: โ€œHe hadnโ€™t agreed it with Kez. He just went and did it. This makes the Tony (Blair) and Gordon (Brown) look like the West Wing.โ€

Mr Rowley insisted the speech was party policy as it focussed on house building, which Mr Macintosh focused on heavily during his conference speech.

He added: โ€œThe issues I was raising are very big, important issues.โ€

Meanwhile, tempers flared when Craig Miller, who works for the retiring Dr Richard Simpson, was not shortlisted for election. Multiple sources say he threatened to walk away from his job as public health spokesman over the issue during a stormy exchange on Tuesday.

Councillor Tom Adams subsequently withdrew from the list yesterday morning, telling The Courier he had taken the decision after speaking to his family and wanted to concentrate on his ward of Leven, Kennoway and Largo. Mr Miller will now take his place.

Neither Dr Simpson nor the Scottish Labour Party replied to requests for comment.

from the courier

242. John H.

No doubt Carmichael will be looking for a bung from Tesco.

243. bugsbunny

I was going to put my tuppence worth in but I don’t want to be accused of being a Unionist plant by Ian and Dorothy. I put down my reasons why I don’t like George Foulkes last night at 10.55pm and 11.22pm on the “A bad case of the DT’s”. But the thread seems to be closed, so we will leave it at that. Perhaps Dorothy thinks making a fool of disabled people a jolly wheeze like my ex MP? Hope not.

Stephen.

244. jdman

Whoo hahahaha
    BBC Politics today
    Katy Hopkins supporting the Arse Trumpets “defence of his country”
    Gaun yersel hen.

245. jdman

John H
    “No doubt Carmichael will be looking for a bung from Tesco.”

What?

Aa dinnie think he’ll get wan o them fae Tesco’s
    http://tinyurl.com/nmm77sc
    mibbie try Ann Summers

246. jdman

Jings crivvens help ma boab!
    That wis pure coincidence soin it wis !

247. bugsbunny

According to the news, yet again all eyes are on Cumbria, and their devastating floods. Meanwhile here in Sunny Ayrshire and Galloway, people are dropping from Sunstroke and we’re rationed to 1 litre of water a day.

Dear God you think life started and ended at Gretna with these gurning swine.

Stephen.

248. heedtracker

Chic McGregor says:
    11 December, 2015 at 11:29 am
    @John H
    โ€œHeedtracker. 8.57am.

Once its Mayor Zac, its Heathrow runway 3 all the way.

Zac Goldsmith ?@ZacGoldsmith 17 hrs17 hours ago
    Delighted that after much campaigning Govt has seen sense and is judging Heathrow decision on environmental test:

is just more toryboy bullshit. They destroyed Scottish democracy last year with ferocious red and blue tory bullshit, and they don’t give a flying fudge about the environment, destroyed Scottish renewables, binned carbon capture etc.

BBC freak show will sell it for them. Zac’s so handsome, he cant be a really ghastly tory. He does look nice though. Osborne’s a right creepy looking dude but it matches his work.

249. Grant

Surely he means proud to be British.

p.s. his kilt he hired is too long.

250. schrodingers cat

@KOF
    I think there is truth in this, the kilt, fรจileadh beag (the small kilt), or filibeg, or philabeg
    or indeed feileadh mรณr are nothing more than lengths of fabric, some plain or checked or striped, wrapped around the wearer, pleated sometimes for extra warmth.

the idea that it can be traced back, or invented, is a ridiculous notion, like saying someone invented the drum, ie hitting one object against the other.

perhaps this very ancient form of clothing, as a fashion etc, continued in Scotland and highlands an islands long after it had died out or become outdated in other parts of Europe. certainly, the adoption of the highland regiments of the short kilt as a part of their uniform, helped to preserve this custom into the present day, long after it ceased to be an item of everyday clothing for almost everyone in Scotland. this idea that it was invented by walter scott is nothing more than another example of the Scottish cringe.

251. The Man in the Jar

@Grant
    at 1:28pm

Definitely a hire job. Ecru hose and ghillie brogues a dead giveaway. No class whatsoever.

252. Tam Jardine

Robert Peffers

Hi Robert. I am also from a part of the country where the kilt has no real connection and I proudly refused to wear it for many years for the very reasons you give.

I was persuaded by a mate of my brothers, an expat living in France who accepted all my arguments against wearing a kilt but who argued at length that (from the point of view of a Scot living abroad) there is no more recognisable symbol of being Scottish. That in terms of national dress we have been blessed with a garment that is cool, practical, fascinating and one that instantly identifies one as being Scottish.

Our country is often lumped into a kind of greater England in the eyes of foreigners and the kilt is an imperfect but powerful counterbalance. It says to the wider world: we are Scottish. We are different.

I was persuaded, and I think it does no harm for the cause internationally- quite the opposite.

253. The Man in the Jar

@Shrodingers cat
    at 12:16pm

Regarding your above post regarding the small kilt. I have heard it said about the kilt and the iron foundry workers adopting the small kilt. A problem with that theory is that I can’t imagine anyone working in an iron foundry wearing a kilt of any description. It not as if trousers hadn’t been invented.

254. Luigi

Danny Alexander is the perfect example of a proud scot:

A tartan clown wearing a kilt, on his knees.:)

255. Luigi

Surely, there ought to be a special, very short version of the kilt for proud scots. Standard lengths tend to touch the ground and get quite dirty when one kneels. Not too short, mind, one must make sure the union jack underpants remain out of sight.

256. call me dave

@Schrodingers Cat

Bun fight is describing it mildly ๐Ÿ™‚

Scramble for the lifeboats is more like it but they’re all holed below the waterline.

Anyhoo! Rowley is Kezia’s bestest pal ever… Aye right!

https://archive.is/Zi9IV

257. The Man in the Jar

@Luigi
    at 1:48

There is a standard length for the kilt. “When kneeling (both legs) the kilt should be one inch above the floor”

Alexander must have an utterly useless tailor or as I suspect he is wearing a hired outfit. After all are these “proud Scots” not just part timers anyway.

258. crisiscult

regarding the Kilt discussion, I haven’t worn a kilt since September last year (been at 1 wedding and a couple of ceilidh’s since). I’ve got a wedding next March in Channel Islands and there will be quite a large group of lads who grew up together, all wearing kilts and all of whom were no voters, or would have voted no had they been here.

I’m not sure what to do. In some ways, yes, it’s a symbol of some kind of cultural attachment to an area of the world, but as an attachment to a group, it clearly makes no sense in the context I’ve just mentioned i.e. me with a group of no voters (proud Scots and Brits). I’m very ambivalent right now on this. Who wants to give me advice ๐Ÿ™‚ ?

259. heedtracker

this idea that it was invented by walter scott is nothing more than another example of the Scottish cringe.

http://medhum.med.nyu.edu/view/256

The Expedition of Humphry Clinker
    Smollett, Tobias

If you’ve not read it, there’s a great description of Highland troops in kilts, waiting on the hills around Inveraray, in this first great satire, of 18th C English life, by a Scot.

Also interesting, like Byron, Smollet’s been purloined by English lit, their Scottish lives completely airbrushed out of England/UK litcrit er, universe.

His above book was not just one of the first and greatest satires, its one of the first ever published books. And it only survived because it was found in a packing case on a dock, in New York.

He wrote about Culloden and Smollet was the first generation of Scot Brits like us, but he was watching his new countrymen and women, and then satirised, Bath gets it too, awful nouveaux riche Bath. The more things change…

260. Paula Rose

I’ve seen very nice kilts that use paisley, Harris tweed and other patterns – most fetching.

261. KOF

@Schrodingers Cat

Indeed! Would someone say trousers were only invented when Zippers came in to use? The kilt is still a powerful image of Scotland, specifically the Highlands. The “the kilt was invented by an Englishman” myth is just another method of ownership and control of Scottish culture by the establishment. We must continue to rest it back from them.

Mind you, I don’t wear my kilt much at the moment. It seems to have mysteriously shrunk in the cupboard and has become a bit too snug round the middle. ๐Ÿ™‚

@Tam Jardine

I quite agree and ladies the world over do seem to like a man in a kilt. … especially if he is a real Highlander. ๐Ÿ˜‰

262. schrodingers cat

The Man in the Jar

that is probably true as well, thing is, this ancient manner of dress continued to evolve through out the ages but was becoming unfashionable even in Scotland, proscription after the 45 was pretty short lived and there was no mad rush to return to wearing it after the proscription was dropped. the ancient society which supported this custom had collapsed. a type of society which was once spread over most of Europe. like the kilt, the scots didn’t invent this type of (tribal/clannish) society, it just endured in Scotland longer than else where

263. schrodingers cat

@Paula Rose

the leather kilts would match your shiny heels ๐Ÿ™‚

264. Ian Brotherhood

@crisiscult –

You could still wear the kilt, but add something to distinguish yourself from the nawbaggers.

Few months ago, family wedding in Leeds Castle (aye, the actual castle), very few kilts on show, but I made sure our branch of the family all wore wee white roses as buttonholes. Felt mildly subversive, but no-one would even have noticed, let alone click what it represents. ๐Ÿ™‚

265. schrodingers cat

call me dave says:
    @Schrodingers Cat

Bun fight is describing it mildly ๐Ÿ™‚

we could do with some light relief, with the passing of bell and mcilvenny, carmicheal getting away with murder, trump leading the polls in the usa and being an ass, topped off with a war in Syria….not exactly a lot to laugh about

266. smithie

crisiscult @ 2.08pm
    Get a saltire kilt and jacobite waiscoat and still yes badge.
    Stand tall and proud and look them in the eye my man.

They don’t like it up’em.

267. schrodingers cat

Mind you, I donโ€™t wear my kilt much at the moment. It seems to have mysteriously shrunk in the cupboard and has become a bit too snug round the middle. ๐Ÿ™‚

ive got a kilt like that, I wonder if it was a design flaw and we bought them in the same shop ๐Ÿ™‚

268. Andrew McLean

Ian Brotherhood 2:19

I shortly will receive my wings, and will wear it on my doublet. Its very distinguished don’t you know! ๐Ÿ˜‰

269. crisiscult

Ian

Thanks for giving me thoughts on this. The supposed ‘division’ that caused some strife and hand wringing late last year with the use of ‘the 45’ didn’t bother me, for example. I like the idea of some kind of distinguishing symbol in my attire that links to my being a yes voter. You kind of lost me with the white rose unless you’re meaning something connected to the war of the roses, which I don’t know too much about other than the rose colours ๐Ÿ™‚

So, just need to come up with the symbol. I’m not sure just wearing a yes badge is really the answer.

270. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi crisiscult.

Instead of going for the usual dress kilt and jacket, why not go for the real deal – the kilt that wraps round and the remainder is thrown over the shoulder? With a Lidl ‘Jacobite’ shirt underneath…

Kinda like this:-

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f306/dad1150/GrtKilt_group.jpg

271. Andrew McLean

The Rev could always design a kilt pin or a broach for the plaid?
    Also its absolutely amazing but my kilt has shrunk! Do you think there is a design flaw? Its 10 years old, and has been shrinking every year!

272. Socrates MacSporran

Like Robert Peffers, I am a Lowlander, indeed, my family name is distinctly Norman. For this reason, I have long avoided the desire to don the kilt.

However, I wish, particularly when outwith Scotland, to be able to mark my Scottishness, at black-tie events. To this end, I have taken to wearing trews etc.

As a Nationalist and Yes supporter, I appreciate the trews were the uniform trousers of the Lowland Division, and therefore, there is a connection to the British Army.

It is a difficult one, but, we have to stress our differences to the English, and this fits.

273. crisiscult

thanks Smithie. Having a look at options online as we speak. Really there should be a yes kilt pin but doesn’t appear to be such a thing, nor a flower linked to indy

274. crisiscult

Iain – just found this! Guess this is what you meant?

“People would wear a white rose to celebrate the Old Pretender’s birthday or a white cockade on their hat to show their support of Jacobitism”

275. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi crisiscult.

I believe the small white rose is a Jacobite symbol…

It is.

“The emblem of the Jacobites is the White Cockade. White Rose Day is celebrated on 10 June, the anniversary of the birth of the Old Pretender in 1688.”

That’s from,
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacobitism

276. muttley79

RIP to Ian Bell. Fantastic writer and journalist. Gone far too soon.

277. muttley79

Today I had an interesting debate with someone opposed to independence on the Guardian’s Cif. Normally it is not worth dwelling on too much, because a lot of debate on the internet gets to such a low level that it becomes pointless and meaningless. Plus they tend to be ten a penny debates.

But there was a poster who said that an independent Scotland would be refused entry to the EU for some unspecified reason. The poster in question also claimed not to be a unionist, but then came out with this belter:

In 50 years, I never once heard any Scottish politician requesting a Norwegian-style oil fund be set up on behalf of Scotland, so spare me the deluded comparisons.

I responded with links of the SNP calling for an oil fund for Scotland, as well as comments from Stiglitz supporting it. But the comment got me thinking: is this deliberate ignorance, or is it complete denial, or trolling, or disinformation (admittedly some of those are interchangeable)? Surely you cannot be that much in denial to try and claim that no Scottish politician has called for the establishment of an oil fund? Anybody got any thoughts?

278. gerry parker

Socrates MacSporran at 2 39.

I just wear my lapel badge (same as my avatar)

279. Luigi

I imagine that last year’s referendum result could lead to a few awkward party questions for those finely kilted “proud scot buts” at international events.

“Oh, Wow! Braveheart or what! You must have voted YES in the referendum?”

“Well, erm………” (if I say NO, what’s the next bloody question going to be?). ๐Ÿ™

280. smithie

Right, crisiscult it’s sorted, you’re our token rebel.
    Enjoy the “Do”.

P.S please post pictures of ensuing “Melee” lolz

281. Andrew McLean

Its because of a poem, as most great thing’s are!

Hugh MacDiarmid

(To John Gawsworth)

The rose of all the world is not for me.

I want for my part

Only the little white rose of Scotland

That smells sharp and sweetโ€”and breaks the heart.

282. crisiscult

@muttley79

can’t help you with the info on oil fund but I did see you on Guardian posting the other day. I rarely bother with newspaper comments anymore but the one in question I looked at, if it’s any indicator, was full of Britnatnutters and others who would probably have picked an argument with you even if you commented on the weather.

283. Helena Brown

To all who may not know the Little White Rose of Scotland, Hugh McDiarmid, hence the white rose is our rose. Worn by our Members of Parliament.

284. crisiscult

I’m getting my costume together. I’m now thinking tartan waistcoat (“in the 1740’s another way of displaying Jacobite sympathies was to wear a tartan waistcoat”) and white rose, no kilt (don’t panic, I’ll wear trousers instead).

285. Ian Brotherhood

@crisiscult –

Yeah, the ‘wee white rose’. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sorry if I was being a bit cryptic. Hope you find something you’re comfy with.

In the meantime, it’ll be a relief when a new thread opens so we don’t have to keep suffering glimpses of that tartanised fool up top…

286. Andrew McLean

crisiscult says trousers

Trousers, no man get tartan trews
    Google it dead chic!

287. starlaw

Re kilts, on a weeks visit to Melbourne my friend wore the Kilt a Celtic jersey and went about in his bare feet, we were well received everywhere. Not sure if it were out of respect for Scotland or were we being humoured as nutters
    What happened to the White Cockade Society, members wore traditional Highland Dress when in the Highlands, not heard of them for years now

288. schrodingers cat

Andrew McLean says:
    crisiscult says trousers
    Trousers, no man get tartan trews

you can borrow my black watch, stoned washed 501’s

289. Andrew McLean

the white Cockade society,
    met them once outside the Clachan Glen Coe, one of the guys I was climbing with asked them if they were extras in the Mahabharata, I remember they had a complete lack of humour, told us to f off!

290. Fred

“The Jacobite Rose” can be got from David Austin, superb scent, dead hardy, about ยฃ15.

http://www.davidaustinroses.co.uk/alba-maxima

291. call me dave

Torrance unloading his book…..Love it!

https://archive.is/kxIkJ

New thread appears. Good!

292. Andrew McLean

schrodingers cat says: 3:18 pm

you can borrow my black watch, stoned washed 501โ€™s

what one are you?

http://www.highlanddrummajor.co.uk/kilt-cat1/tartan-trews.html

๐Ÿ™‚

293. Clapper57

Danny Danny Danny Danny

It’s a shame yir name rhymes wae fanny

Yir political career is now doon the panny

And a’ because ‘o’ an SNP’s Tsunami

Darling Darling Darling Darling

It’s a shame yir name disnae rhyme wae fanny……cause it should.

“Alistair” Darling “Alistair” Carmichael

Whit the hell is the connection ?

Just putting it out there…..gae me time …..whit is it ?…I’ll work it oot….nearly had it …nah its gone…I’ll think aboot it…leave it wae me…come tae me ……..bound tae see it soon…….wait….wait………nah it’s gone…..

294. Paula Rose

The kilt is identified with Scotland – I am actually being serious and suggesting that tartan does not have to be the only cloth. The form of clothing could become more widely worn if the material it is made from was widened – and allow for more creative interpretations.

295. Andrew McLean

Paula Rose,

I would agree in so much if my kilt was widened I would were it more often!

296. Paula Rose

Andrew McLean

Most kilts can be widened – find your nearest decent tailor, not difficult to do.

297. Andrew McLean

problem, you see, I got it taken in when I used to be slimmer now I am not as slim I tried but they said they couldn’t, so I gust have to hold my breath for longer, and look quite red in the face in all the wedding photos!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

298. Paula Rose

That is a problem Andrew – time to invest in a new one and maintain your present weight.

299. jcd

What with all this stuff about kilts (kilts ffs!) surprised no one’s posted a link to a pic showing that wonderful photo of McConnell wearing one at some meeting or other, from about 7 or 8 years ago maybe, think it must have been Dickhead of the year award or something.

Sorry if someone has done, must have overlooked it then.

300. Gary45%

And finally,

The Ginger rodent for all to see,
    Standing like a rat with bended knees,
    Alas the photographer shouts the word cheese,
    the rodent explodes with greedy glee,
    I thought it was feeding time the rat shouts to the mannie
    who quickly replies “Fu*k OFF Ya Fanny
    it all becomes too much for Danny the rat,
    cause at the end of the day he’s a useless greedy TWAT.

Sir!? Aye that will be shinning

301. Croompenstein

@jcd – Here’s wan..

The guy behind him is saying “Wid ye luk at that fanny!”

https://bigrab.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/jack-mcconnell-in-kilt-715380-743378.jpg

302. maxi kerr

Enjoy it while you can you stinking ratbag,we wont forget what you and your ("Tractor" - Ed)ous allies have done to us and ours here in Scotland.
    You and yours will be paid back in full with interest when the political climate changes, and don’t forget we have long memories.

303. louis.b.argyll

Croompenstein, nice pic of former FM.

But zoom in on the guy in disguise behind,

Is it Eck? Lol..

304. Mark Russell

Sic a parcel o’ rogues in a nation….

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.