Run
    The ghosts of the cleared clans are chasing us
    I can hear ther terrified screams

4. TJenny

Not sure where I saw it, but there was a version of this poster with a big nuclear mushroom cloud, erupting right where the hills meet on the horizon, That seemed fairly apt.

5. Pat

First one there gets the food stamps!

6. Sinky

They are coming for our NHS funding and Labour for our Education system.

Good video on why Scotland is a wealthy country and independence gives Scotland the powers to become better off.

http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/video-why-an-independent-scotland-would-be-financially-better-off/

Worth supporting Business for Scotland fundraiser as for many its the economy stupid.

7. joe kane

Staying in the UK means getting an unexpected knock on your door at 3am in the morning by the DWP police state gestapo to make sure your papers are in order.

Home visit to check your benefits payments
    GOV.UK
    02 June 2014

You may get a visit from a Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) officer to check that your benefits payments are correct.
    Your name is selected at random to be checked. You won’t always get a letter in advance telling you about the visit.
    The officer will interview you in your home and will want to see 2 forms of identification.
    They’ll also ask to see documents about money, savings and rent…

8. Pat

Run they’re stealing our future.

9. TJenny

Paula Rose – but it’s maybe a Lord’s Grouse Beater that the is chasing the children.

10. Paul Winter

It’s far worse than that..and you know it! 🙁 We need tae be oorsels, stand oor ain ground..get rid ae the parasite ca’ed Westminster! We’re no aw Tories soon here in the Lallans..x

11. Twenty14

Maria von Trapp – ya liar

12. Findlay Farquaharson

good picture for a caption competition.

13. TJenny

The ‘the’ shouldn’t be there. 🙁

(Didn’t there used to be a band called The The?)

14. Grouse Beater

Paula Rose said: No Grouse Beater – get serious.

How about, ‘Orphans of war dead run wild’

15. Thomas William Dunlop

and Labour are coming for our soles

16. Lesley-Anne

RED and YELLOW and PURPLE and BLUE…

I can sing a rainbow…:P

17. Marcia

Change the kids for pensioners;

‘The Tories at Westminster want to take away your winter fuel allowance and bus passes.

18. TJenny

With all apologies to oor Grouse Beater. 🙂

19. Pat

@ Findlay Farquaharson

that’s the idea.

20. Doug Daniel

Rory Stewart’s “Hands Across the Border” campaign didn’t quite live up to the hype.

21. David Whannel

Run, there’s 20% less UKIP in the hills!

22. Suzanne

Rev! Full html permissible for putting images in? Or simply a link? (floundering)

23. Derek M

Nukes, first strike target, more lying politicians we cant do anything about,back door privatization of public services ,public money being handed to private companies who`s owners all went to the same school as the politicians,tax evasion ,inequality,child poverty,food banks,unemployment ,higher taxes less returns from westminster in the block grant ,MP`s pay rises ,banker bonuses ,low pay,a financial collapse that will make 2008 look like a blip,higher fuel costs ,oh and off course all our oil pinched.
    And lots more horrible things but i dont want to scare the weans to much.

24. Suzanne

No matter.

“Run, kids! Run! Faslane’s gonna blow!”

25. Flower of Scotland

I’m really sorry but this is a good o/t

There would have been no Brazilian football if it hadn’t been for a Charles Miller, whose father was a Scot! He arrived in Brazil in the 1890s with 2 leather footballs and a copy of the rules. According to ITV news, the English team should think on that because there might not have been a World Cup in Brazil if it hadn’t been for Scotland ! I’m speechless!

26. rab_the_doubter

‘The hills are alive….
    With the sound of UKIP’

27. eezy

Run, the Tories are making promises again!
    I’ve a short story to tell, told to me from a woman who I trusted more than anyone in the world.
    It was about a Tory. A man held in the highest esteem by the establishment.
    A story from the best part of 100 years ago that is imprinted in my mind.
    They will never change.
    So we must!
    I’ll blog this tomorrow. It’s short but to the point….
    Simple.

28. Peter

Maybe it’s “RUN, here come some cybernats”

29. Dan Watt

“In late 2114, Scotland’s impoverished, near feral, orphaned children couldn’t tell you who Alex Salmond was.”

“They all knew where the foodbank, privatised borstal style youth internment camps and graveyard were, however.”

30. Capella

The Clearances

31. Grouse Beater

‘Fracking sold to Scots as Fun Bouncy Castle’

32. Don

Run towards the light!

33. willie

Its just the wanes running back to reclaim the stolen property of their ancestors after the yes vote wins

34. heedtracker

Run, the village food bank shuts at 5.

35. Rusty Shackleford

“The Hunger Games: coming to the UK in 2015”

36. Grouse Beater

‘Harry Potter and the Lord of the Flies’

37. Gray

Hurry up or we’ll be back of the queue at the foodbank.

38. CameronB Brodie

….and the buttons on your shirt. 🙁

39. Ian Brotherhood

Does anyone have a link to the original image? I’m struggling to imagine what the point of it could’ve been.

40. rab_the_doubter

‘Doh – a fear, a Britnat fear’
    ‘Ray – Lord Geordies death from space
    ‘Mi – What U KOK’s all aboot
    ‘Fa – a long way to the jam
    ‘So – you think your getting free
    ‘La – montable labour leader
    ‘Te – the trillion plus in debt
    That will bring us back to ‘doh’

41. Flooplepoop

O/T have you seen the BT poll from the Borders?
    https://archive.today/EVno3

42. Oui Things

‘Mon we’ll spend oor £ o’er the border!’ 😉

43. Jimbo

@ Marcia:

“‘The Tories at Westminster want to take away your winter fuel allowance and bus passes.”

So does Johann Lamont.

44. EphemeralDeception

Bedroom TAX refugees suddenly spot empty Bothy for the night.

45. Grouse Beater

‘First immigrants to an independent Scotland find the country “almost uninhabited.”‘

46. heedtracker

Run! Bliar MacBloated says building the teamGB 21st century road and rail network in England with Scots oil means we’ll grow up fit and strong running everywhere.

47. SquareHaggis

Famous 5 – Escape from Saville cottage!

48. Famous15

Just heard Baroness Trumpington (HOL) on Alex Salmond. I wonder if JKRowley will phone him to comfort him getting abuse above and beyond what she got?

49. gerry parker

The Panda’s escaped, The Panda’s escaped!

50. Paula Rose

“What staying in the Uk means for Scotland” -It means these children will have a weird distorted idea of what a democracy is.

51. msean

Although it is in humour,nothing would surprise me from Labour or Tories or Lib Dems these days. If we vote no,in all seriousness,you look at this lot and just know that you won’t have shoes at some point in the future lol, you will however,be skint.

52. Paula Rose

It means these children will be unlikely to fulfill their potential.

53. Alison MacLeod

Woo hoo and there is still the best fish n chips in Ullapool, run faster gang 🙂

54. Paula Rose

And the most food banks.

55. Paula Rose

Maybe grandma has a spare room.

56. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

Gangs of the betrayed will chase pigheaded No voters into the sea.

57. Alison MacLeod

Och no they lied damn……:(

58. Alison MacLeod

Hit submit a tad too quickly….

59. Democracy Reborn

“Next lesson is English wi Ms Lamont…. let’s get outta here!”

60. Ian Brotherhood

@SquareHaggis (11.05) –

Now That’s What I Call Satire. 🙂

61. kendomacaroonbar

ready ? sure ? wait for it…wait for it…

THE HILLS HAVE AYES !

I thank you !

62. heedtracker

Its a nice photo but it makes you think that all HM gov wants to do is keep stripping away Scotland’s wealth and stash their nukes in Argyll. If we vote no, just like their parents, these kids will grow to adulthood being told over over Scotland is a just a UK region of fat, unhealthy drunks and benefit scroungers. Its pretty scary really.

63. Thepnr

I remember basically having no shoes. Well I had a pair of sannies with holes in the bottom and burst elastic.

So I stole a pair, from a jumble sale. Had no money either but did leave the old pair behind on the table in case somebody was poorer than me. That’s one of these things, but true.

64. Paula Rose

Oi I thought we’d had the humour page earlier – are we supposed to carry on with the laughs? Rev?

65. Chitterinlicht

Run the “Nomentors” are coming to suck oot our wee poor Scottish souls !

66. John O

The red cross parcels have arrived from Westminster, they are so good to our children vote No.

67. Ian Brotherhood

If you want a real laugh, go over to the WOS Twitter and check out the magnificently bonkers ravings of ‘Carl Le Fong’ – surely Cochers? If not, they’re made for each other.

68. Clootie

Rab_the_doubter is the winner!
    You get to eat tonight.

69. galamcennalath

“What staying in the United Kingdom means for Scotland” … not smiling happy faces, that’s for sure!

70. Ian Brotherhood

‘Let us hurry friends! JKR has a new book out. It’s all about Devo-Nano, whoever he is!’

71. Jon D

O/T, and posted here because it may reach a bigger audience;

May I reiterate my sadness that Auld Aquaintance is hanging up his pen;

http://auldacquaintance.wordpress.com/2014/06/15/putting-down-my-pen/

Thanks Rod, post when you can, and thanks for being there through all the tough times. You will be missed but your contribution will not be forgotten.

Best wishes.

JD

72. galamcennalath

OT WGD 94 people have now donated a total of £4,516 !

73. GraemeR

After all, a small country being dominated by its larger neighbour looked so much fun in The Sound of Music..

74. Robert Peffers

“Hurry Gang, there’s a real live Tory MP in the next glen. I’ve never seen one o thay afore”.

75. Luigi

Run! There’s been a leak at Faslane.

The loch is boiling!

76. Glass Girl

In an independant Scotland the banks of Loch Lomond would no longer be bonnie a spokesman from Better Together warned.

77. ronnie anderson

Run like the clappers some clown gave Johann Lamont a

teachers job in oor school.

She wiz the High heidbanger in the labour party once up a

time.

78. kendomacaroonbar

@Glass Girl

Aye, Scotland couldn’t have saved the Banks of Loch Lomond.

79. Democracy Reborn

“You may take our oil…..but you’ll never take our SWEE-TIES!”

80. Jon D

@Glass Girl,

God aye.

And how much darker the Dark Island would be!

81. Clootie

@Democracy Reborn

Good second!

82. heedtracker

Run! Alistair von Trapp Darling says blood and soil Yes voter nazi’s are coming to get us!

Couldn’t resist. “The hills are alive with the sound of project fear bullshit, its all over the BBC and STV too”

83. Ian Brotherhood

Has Derek Bateman written anything more powerful and passionate than this? If so, I haven’t seen it.

Here’s hoping Cochers attempts to reply.

Superb:

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/9339-meanwhile-in-lilliput

84. Thepnr

If you ignore the children and look instead at the background.

Your choice is to take care of your own beautiful country or leave it to the establishment to “manage”. Think I prefer the former.

85. David McCann

OT. I posted on an earlier thread (Another Paranoid Cybernat) and got the message “your comment is awaiting moderation”.

Never having seen moderation before on this site, I waited about an hour, but still awaiting moderation.
    Now it has disappeared altogether.

Rev. Is there now moderation?
    Or did `I inadvertently trigger something?

86. Truth

“Scotland can be a child forever”

87. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – agreed.

88. CameronB Brodie

I think Alistair Darling has already introduced Nazis into the indyref debate, so I thought it was fair game to post this guide on spotting propaganda. Might come in handy, in the run-up. 😉

Analysis of Nazi Propaganda
    A Behavioral Study
    Karthik Narayanaswami
    HIST E 1572: Holocaust in History, Literature, and Film
    Harvard University

Analyzing the Results
    While we have successfully analyzed the key tenets of Nazi propaganda to look for behavioral themes, we will still need to understand what they really mean in a behavioral context.

To do so, we will need to categorize our list of observed biases against the major categories of cognitive biases:

(table)

As we look at the above set of biases, a few things of interest are worth noting. For one, there are no memory biases that were leveraged by the Nazis in their propaganda. For another, the Nazis relied heavily on triggering social biases that affected decision making capabilities, to carry out their manifesto. Finally, one cannot help but notice that Herd Instinct and Bandwagon Effect were leveraged across the board by the Nazis in coercing the German people. All these elements can therefore be considered key to creating the ideal Nazi propaganda poster.

89. TJenny

David McCann – I’ve had 2 posts go into moderation on another thread (OT) but they actually did post. I hadn’t made any change to my details, so I suspect it’s all part of the ongoing DOS attacks or the huge amount of incoming spam, gumming up the works. I’m sure it’s not personal or the Rev would have warned us first. 🙂

90. Truth

“That’s no ordinary mother! Run!!”

91. Truth

“Death Eaters! Run!”

92. Thepnr

Hello all.

While you are on just want to say that I am considering running a bus again from Dundee and Angus. I’d like to get the same bus again as we have some friends that a toilet is good. Including me!

Ok to make this viable, I need 30 names at £15/each, got Paula Rose, Briandoonthetoon, Pete the Camera, myself. So 26 needed, tall order. Come on you wingers from our our area give me a shout and I’ll get it done.

If the bus doesn’t take off I’ll be going by train so I’m sure we could meet up for that.

Chic what about you and the missus and ny friends? I would guess I need need to know by a week on Friday as that only leaves a week to book the bus.

93. Thepnr

Hello all.

While you are on just want to say that I am considering running a bus again from Dundee and Angus. I’d like to get the same bus again as we have some friends that a toilet is good. Including me!

Ok to make this viable, I need 30 names at £15/each, got Paula Rose, Briandoonthetoon, Pete the Camera, myself. So 26 needed, tall order. Come on you wingers from our our area give me a shout and I’ll get it done.

If the bus doesn’t take off I’ll be going by train so I’m sure we could meet up for that.

Chic what about you and the missus and ny friends? I would guess I need need to know by a week on Friday as that only leaves a week to book the bus.

94. kalmar

Guaranteed jobs as Labour MPs in Westminster for every one of us!

95. charlie

If You Tolerate That Your Children Will Be Next

96. RogueCoder

“The Famous Five wished Timmy was still with them that day in the glen, but all agreed he had tasted better than the food bank rations.”

97. Adrian B

@Ian Brotherhood,

Is this the image that you were looking for?

https://twitter.com/craigilynn/status/477098461033410560/photo/1

98. Greannach

I like the picture’s caption, but surely the term nowadays is ‘Torylabs’ rather than just ‘Tories’. I mean, these days they’re the same. Can’t be bothered giving examples – too many, too easy.

99. Greannach

PS. I forgot the other lot, the Liberals. I’m sure they’re very pivotal in something. They’ve been around a while, promising things.

100. manandboy

The day after the No Campaign wins
    David Cameron announces a new discovery of Oil & Gas fields off Scotland’s West Coast worth £10 trillion.

Speaking to reporters afterwards, the PM said,
    ” If only they’d known before the 18th.
    How unlucky for the Scots. ”

“Tell you what”, he went on, ” we’ll increase the Barnet Formula by £50. That will ease their pain a little.”

He then left the room laughing his head off.

101. Grouse Beater

Read another Bella topic only to find its founder striding onto the pitch again waving yellow cards. Hmmmm

102. StevieMcB

Aw shit! were in a Goebbels movie.

103. geeo

Is the picture people taking the Iron Maiden classic “Run To The Hills”, just a tad seriously ?

Or maybe it is “The Famous Five” ..”The hunt for a positive reason to stay in the Union” 2014 Edition ?

104. Defo

” If we get as much as last years sponsored run, we’ll be well on target for paying our uni fee’s come the A levels “

105. bookie from hell

day after a NO libdems will drop home rule bill for coalition mark 2 ,2015

106. archie mcneill

what just their shoes what about the milk, sorry they ve already done that health service ..no that as well, local schooling oh no that’s gone I could go on but sensible folk know what they re aiming for.

complete control of you

107. StevieMcB

Ah smell shite.

108. Thepnr

Ah smell bluebells. They fresh smell of bluebells that are just blossoming. Most here smell bluebells. You’ll find the smell of shite where it’s guaranteed, in the newsagents tomorrow.

109. Shoogle

“Uneducated, homeless children left to entertain themselves and forage in the wilds for food, whilst their parents work 48hr weeks in employment camps for their £72 subsistence allowance.”

Or:

“A long, long wait until future generations are given a chance of democratically ruling their own affairs”

Or:

“No nuclear weapons, free education, democratic representation, a chance for all in an unstratified, socially mobile, and equal society that isn’t obsessed with neoconservative political consensus and borderline racism…

No, wait…

The opposite of that.

Sorry kids.”

110. donald anderson

The grouse beaters are coming to shoot the peasants

111. Schrodinger's Cat

Grouse Beater says:
    18 June, 2014 at 1:09 amRead another Bella topic only to find its founder striding onto the pitch again waving yellow cards. Hmmmm

mmm, i just picked up a clone troll on guardian cif

are sure it was the founder?

112. David Whannel

Model your child today to feed your family tomorrow!

113. Seasick Dave

Quick, hide the foreigner!

114. HenBroon

Big Gordys oot Big Gordys oot run run run.

115. john king

Megaphone announcement:
    You are on MOD property if you do not vacate the area of Gare Loch immediately you WILL be shot!
    THIS IS NOT A DRILL!

116. Fairliered

There’s a man with white hair and scary black eyebrows chasing us.

117. john king

“Rev. Is there now moderation?
    Or did `I inadvertently trigger something?”

IF YOU TYPED YOUR NAME IN INCORRECTLY SYSTEM WOULD SEE YOU AS A NEW POSTER.

Sorry about the shouting Im a bit deaf. 🙂

118. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

o/t Just seen this in the Guardian.

http://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/jun/18/nurses-debate-10-fee-to-visit-gp

Currently £8 for a prescription and the prospect of £10 to see GP. Yet the NHS was going to be safe in David Cameron’s hands? Safe for whom?

119. Seasick Dave

Scotland is now closed for business.

Please leave as quickly as possible.

120. Capella

O/T Latest visiting dignitary at press conference:
    ‘Chinese premier Li Keqiang said he wanted to see a “united United Kingdom” when questioned on Scotland’s independence referendum.’
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-27894257
    Has anyone asked the Dalai Lama what he thinks yet?

121. R whittington

Are there any plans for another Sensible Soccer after the referendum Stu?

122. Ken500

So it starts

£10 charge to see a Doctor being noted in England.

£20 tax back. Health insurance is over £20 per week, more for families and the elderly. ConDems elected to protect NHS/Education are cutting funding and privatising both, against the public’s wishes. The debt is rising. Ghost trains to no where HS2 – no business case – decreasing Market. £70Billion+ Royal Mail Pension defraud £20Billion + £10Billion underfunding – £30Billion on the National Debt. CobDems elected to cut the deficit have increased thedebt.

‘Help to buy’ is costing tax payers £10Billion a year. A subsidy, mainly to London S/E, an increasing burden on all taxpayers. £10Billion a year goes to the UK Exchequer from Scotland. The cost of Housing Benefit, highest in London S/E, is £40Billion a year.

Vote YES to protect essential services and decrease the debt. Cut your cloth to suit your purse. No Trident, redundant weaponry or illegal wars. No surcharge from Westminster, no tax evasion through the City of London. A Tax on ‘loss leading’ cheap alcohol. = Save £10Billion a year for essential services.

123. Training Day

While reassuring to see present day autocrats, tyrants and anti-democrats favour the retention of the Union, I think the BBC could surely hold a seance to ascertain the views of Herr Hitler. He might be dead, but given his history with the UK there’s a chance he might side with the separatists. It could be a mortal blow to their cause.

124. Iaon

We are the brains behind the better together.

125. Ken500

Chinese Premier says ‘ The Referendum result should be respected’. The Pope neutral. ‘The causes of Independent movements should be examined’. Obama – 10%+ of American electorate is of Scottish descent. The diasporia. Could swing the vote.

Scotland has friends in high places. The Chinese, ‘Scotland the land discovery and Invention’. Mr McAllister – Merkel’s right hand man. The French Auld Alliance. Celtic fringe. Japan – Glover, Tartan and all things Scottish and Burns. The Russian convoys – historical military links. Scottish Commanders in Russian Army. Australia, New Zealand diasporia. Middle/Far East Oil and trade links.

UK Treasury need the Oil revenues to pay off their debt to the Chinese, Saudi’s etc. Scotland never sees it but helicopters fall from the sky, with no Inquiry or compensation. Robert Goodwill uK Transport Minister has flown on a helicopter – ‘once’. Helicopter Co owned by Private Equity companies breaching uK Gov Health & Safety rules, with immunity.

126. Jim Marshall

John Major on R4 this morning encouraged by Naughtie to demonise Alex Salmond. The thrust of his argument was that Britain is defenceless without Trident, never mind what the Scots think.

127. scottish_skier

“With HE2 only going as far as Leeds, it was another 5 gruelling days before Harry and friends reached Hogwarts.”

128. Ken500

Resurrecting Thatcher. NO Thanks.

Implies NO Thanks to the Union. NO tanks.

BT need a BT PR company.

129. David Wardrope

O/T I see john major wading into the fray. I honestly believe that if thatcher was still here BT No Thanks would have her involved with the other day-tripping Tories (and pseudo labourites). Given their track record, they would probably have her warn us that a Yes vote would harm the steel/coal industry.

130. Ian Brotherhood

Major poo-pooing the very notion that any unionist party leaders would dare ‘resile’ on devo-blethers. ‘It’s absurd’, he said.

Okay John, what-evs.

131. Ken500

John Major? Scrapping the bottom of the barrel.

John Major said, ‘There was no where else to put Trident, so that would be the end of it’.

They don’t want it, but they plant it at Faslane. How about on the Thames? Will that keep Johnny safer? They are such hypocrites. They move everything South but not Trident. What about the contaminated rusting hulks at Rosyth? Is Major taking them.

132. Grouse Beater

Macwhirter of the Herald seems convinced ‘the SNP’ – surely he means democracy – is unlikely to win on September 18th, so he’s concentrating on seeing more powers gifted from the ‘united’ others.

133. caz-m

John major being interviewed by Naughtie this morning on GMS at 8.15am, seems very concerned about the thought of Scottish Independence. He is more worried about the UK’s standing in the world, than Scotland’s.

And why is the SNP reply to John Major not being aired until after 8.30am. Why don’t we hear the reply right after John Major has finished.

134. Training Day

@ Grouse Beater

MacWhirter informed us a No vote was in the bag on the day of George Osbourne’s currency intervention.

He’s no prognosticator.

135. caz-m

Grouse Beater

Macwhirter was always a keen supporter of Devo Max.

I think someone should remind him that the Better Together coalition didn’t want it on the ballot paper.

So, if he wants really more powers for Scotland, then the only option left open to him is to vote YES on 18th September.

136. manandboy

OK I give up.

The David Cameron PR Co. Ltd
    showa us a day time picture of 5 smiling kids
    holding hands and
    running in V-formation
    on sloping land going down to a road
    with mountains and lochs in the background.

The clue is that this image has got something to do with Scotland remaining in the UK.

The UK Gov spent £750,000 of taxpayers money on this ?

It’s so DIY. So amateurish. So lacking in any wit.

Can anyone in or not in the PR industry please tell me

what on earth this image is meant to say?

137. Grouse Beater

A federal system reduces Scotland to a region of EngLand.

138. Neil Craig

Well at least you aren’t accusing UKIP of shoe stealing.

The children do look remarkably happy at the thought of staying British.

I note that they are all white – perhaps some explanation is in order particularly with the, slightly unofficial, SNP programme of mass immigration and resettling the Highlands with 3rd world farmers.

139. Thepnr

Don’t feed the troll!

140. Grouse Beater

Craid said: I note that they are all white

Look closer. There’s the obligatory ‘ethnic.’

SNP programme of mass immigration and resettling the Highlands with 3rd world farmers

I think that statement constitutes racial abuse. Ms Rowling will be dismayed.

141. Grouse Beater

Don’t feed the troll!

Stuart can zap him in the badoolas.

142. scottish_skier

@Neil Craig

Maybe you can explain this too me…

How come up to 1/4 of Skippers already plan to vote for independence in September and a majority trust Holyrood more than Westminster to look after Scotland’s interests?

Shouldn’t these people start a SIP party?

143. cynicalHighlander

Scotland on pause looking for lost tock tic….tic….tic….

144. Patrician

The Famous Five after defeating the nefarious No Scotland gang are on their way to a party where there will be lashing of ginger beer.

145. Simon Chadwick

Here’s my submission!

http://tinypic.com/r/v68abp/8

146. jackie

Pointless and silly. Let’s get real.

147. Elizabeth

‘Scotland reveals some of it’s budding Olympians for Tokyo 2020’

148. HandandShrimp

Having liberated Darling’s eyebrows the kids happily raced to the hillside to set them free.

149. Free Scotland

Hooray, all the adults have emigrated to Australia. We’ve got the place tae oorsels.

150. CameronB Brodie

scottish_skier
    There must be something wrong with your space-time continuum laddie, as the link to Leeds is only envisaged. I’m not sure what stage they are at in public consultation over a “preferred route”.

Anyway. I think it would take longer given the reported state of the TransPennine services. I reckon Liverpool and Newcastle will be connected to HS2, long before Scotland is considered. 🙁

Here’s a thought. Perhaps we could barter with the Chinese with our oil, whiskey, salmon, tartan, technology, education, etc……and get them to link us to HS2 with a maglev. 🙂

P.S. Hope I’ve not annoyed any ‘blood and grammar’ Naz..nast..nationalists. 🙂

151. Graeme Doig

Caz m 8.23

Have often noticed the naysayers get their say at peak of morning commute and when everyone is safely at work and out of earshot they tag on the counter from Yes.
    Paranoid, me, maybe 🙂

152. HandandShrimp

Still baffled as to why the BBC thought pressing the Chinese president on Scottish independence was likely to favour the No side (I can’t think of any reason for asking the question if they were not looking to produce headlines for the No side). It is obvious that these pronouncements are simply annoying people. Who the hell is going to go “Oh the Chinese PM, whom I have never heard of before, made lukewarm noise about the Union, I better vote No”.

153. Bill McLean

o/t will someone explain please why I can get to Wings via Google ok but when I use IE I get to the page but it is locked up and “Wings over Scotland is not responding” appears on the screen?

154. Thepnr

@Graeme Doig

Have noticed exactly that happen more often. So no, I don’t think your paranoid. Have just a wee bit to go yet.

155. manandboy

http://tinypic.com/r/rkv3g4/8

What staying in the UK means for Scotland.

Warning: This is Scotland’s worst nightmare.

156. CameronB Brodie

The tempest prognosticator, also known as the leech barometer, is a 19th-century invention by George Merryweather in which leeches are used in a barometer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tempest_prognosticator 🙂

157. Clootie

I liked Alex’s response to the latest set up question to a global leader.

” I hope we retain the same global interest as an independent nation”
    😀

158. CameronB Brodie

Neil Craig
    Perhaps not only ‘mass immigration to resettle the Highlands’. 😉

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Katorga

159. galamcennalath

Graeme Doig says:
    Caz m 8.23
    Have often noticed the naysayers get their say at peak of morning commute and when everyone is safely at work and out of earshot they tag on the counter from Yes.

I’ve often thought the same. Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean etc.

I also feel more often the NaeSayer gets the statement and the Yes the counter. It should of course be random, but equal, first shouts.

160. Bugger (the Panda)

Cammy B Brodie

Naw

Get the Chinese to build the HS Scotland network, linking all major cities in Scotland up to Inverness and Aberdeen (interlink too) and down to Newcastle and Carlisle.

HS2 will only be built as far as Birmingham. IMHO

161. John Walsh

“Run it’s the BBC !!! Jimmy Saville’s pimp”

They say MI5 vetted everyone at the BBC which means either they knew about Jimmy Saville or they turned a blind eye which makes them implicit in his actions.

162. NODROG

Well we can really see the heavy weights being deployed now, Dave Cameron flourishing the Magna Carta – John Major warning of dire consequences for wee Scotland – and the ultimate, Alistair says the cavalry in the shape of Tony Blair is about to ride in and save the Union.
    The dinosaurs were heavyweights too. Can’t stop shaking with fear or is it laughter?

163. Dave McEwan Hill

I see a the schools debate in a very full Hamilton Town Hall resulted in 85% Yes, 10% No.
    Somebody like to tell David Cameron.

164. handclapping

What does it mean?

Fabulous countryside, lots of resources, and I happen to know the chap that owns it. Unfortunately it is inhabited by people with the mental age portrayed but dont worry the rubbish in the rest of this advert will persuade them to give up.

No,no! I’ll tell the Government.
    Aha, I am the Government!

165. DocFin

Is BBC Scotland reporting China’s Global Times calling Britain an ‘old declining empire’ which resorts to ‘eccentric acts’ to hide its embarrassment over declining power? Thought not. Mind you baroness Trumpington’s outburst aimed at the First Minister is an eccentric act of the highest order. Next stop on the decline – September 18.

166. Bugger (the Panda)

second test

167. CameronB Brodie

Unison official to publicly state support for referendum Yes vote 🙂

http://news.stv.tv/scotland/279459-stephen-smellie-of-unison-in-scotland-to-back-referendum-yes-vote/

168. Chic McGregor

Escape from the Country.

Hunger Games, Tory style.

169. Dave McEwan Hill

I see a the schools debate in a very full Hamilton Town Hall resulted in 85% Yes, 10% No.
    Somebody like to tell David Cameron

(Previously posted with email address that didn’t correspond to name)

170. Proud Cybernat

This is Proud Cybernat’s take on things:

http://www.scottcreighton.co.uk/indyref/images/cant-afford-it.jpg

171. caz-m

Graeme Doig
    “Have often noticed the naysayers get their say at peak of morning commute”.

Greame, I know exactly what they are doing. They have been doing it since the campaign started.

Another trick of their’s is to end a debate on what someone from the NO side would have said, eg.

“and I’m afraid we will have to leave it there, thanks very much”

You’re not paranoid Greame, you have just caught on to BBC Scotland propaganda.

172. Jim Thomson

O/T – WGD update

just sitting £24 of half way as I type.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/wee-ginger-care-needs/#pledges

173. pa_broon74

I think there is a more subtle message here. If we vote yes, kids won’t be able to play British Bulldogs any more.

I knew there was a positive case for the union somewhere…

174. CameronB Brodie

I do like ‘good news’ days. Cheers Elliot Bulmer. 🙂

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jun/17/scottish-constitution-popular-sovereignty-democratic

175. Robert Kerr

Surely British Bulldogs was banned due to Elfin Safety concerns!

176. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

Run! Let’s get more powers from Carmo!

177. Derek M

they damn Elfs and there safety.

dont be scared kids its just Tony Blair “aye right mister did you no hear wit he did to yon Iraqis bairns were off”

178. starlaw

The ABSD union are to advise their members to vote NO in the referendum.
    Jack Russell winner of this years Royal Badminton sheep dog trials has given his support to the unions honorary president Prince Cor Gay. so said a BBC Scotland report spokesman

179. heraldnomore

Schools debates – brilliant. Hopefully they’ll all go home and continue the discussions, telling the parents why etc.

Mind you if my experience is anything to go by the only things muttered at home might be along the lines of ‘nothing much’, ‘stuff’, or ‘whatever’ etc.

But it’s great to see everyone engaging in the debate, and finding answers themselves.

180. Papadox

If enough people fall for the lies and deceit of Cameron & co and vote no we will just have handed them a big stick to beat us with, and they will.

Try getting your money back from a con artist once you’ve handed it over, or come back to repair their mistakes.

That’s HMGs objective at the moment, they want you to give them the ok for them to run over you and if you complain they’ll bring out the referendum results and give you a beating with it.

Aye better the GITHER. Don’t be fooled by the con artists.

181. heedtracker

Elliot Bullmer is pretty good on the draft constitution in the Guardian roday but Professor Aleisalbas Tomkins is in there too, which is interesting. A Bulmer, Tomkins head to head could work but Prof TomkinsAlbeisdas needs anonymity to really let fly with his Scottish dictatorship of one man schtick, that oor Anas clearly picked up from him.

On the one hand Aleisbadas says Scottish constitution merely creates a new Westminster then he loses his temper and says Scotland will be SNP dictatorship like Hungary and stop gang bullying me, by challenging me. It never happens in Glasgow uni law dept lecture theatres:D

182. HandandShrimp

I vaguely remember British Bulldog…but I can’t actually recall the rules. Was it just running holding hands?

I think that might be a game that has long since passed from popular culture….bit like the Union 😉

183. heedtracker

Run! There’s only one copy left of Gordon Brown’s new book, My Britain, Stick Yer Independence Up Yer Airse, left in the village Waterstones!

184. CameronB Brodie

Is selection of the above image ironic or sardonic? We’ll all get to vote in September. No bombs and no bullets. Now that’s a refreshing change. 😉

Half a million children have died in Iraq since UN sanctions were imposed – most enthusiastically by Britain and the US. Three UN officials have resigned in despair. Meanwhile, bombing of Iraq continues almost daily. John Pilger investigates for the Guardian.

I suppose this goes to show it is not only guns that are dangerous. Down with this sort of thing. 🙁

http://johnpilger.com/articles/squeezed-to-death

185. Derek M

nah you hopped on one leg with your arms crossed and tried to knock each other to the ground ,the one left standing was the winner ,so if you were up against big Blair pie eating machine you were doomed to a sore backside lol

186. desimond

‘Last one up the chimney has to scrub Baroness Lamonts bunions!’

187. desimond

Young Unionist heroes race for the border as Salmond reveals himself to be the baddie from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!

188. Helena Brown

Heed Tracker says: Run! There’s only one copy left of Gordon Brown’s new book, My Britain, Stick Yer Independence Up Yer Airse, left in the village Waterstones!
    Perhaps they are using it as an aid to sleep.

189. CameronB Brodie

Which one has the feechie touch? I only ask out of a public health concern. 🙂

190. Mary Bruce

Personally I think they have made a big mistake publishing this leaflet. Now we can make the referendum about a choice between this and the white paper, instead of a choice between the status quo and the unknown. lots of opportunities here. Some comparison graphics would be good. The rev has made an excellent start, get this image spread far and wide so that when it drops through the letter boxes people associate it with the Tories.

191. gerry parker

@HandandShrimp.
    Remember the game, posted the rules in off topic.

192. desimond

Michael MacIntyre takes his new role as ‘Smile Youre in the UK’ Director to the Scottish Highlands

193. Andy-B

What will a no vote, in September say about Scots as a whole, to other nations across the world. This is why we must win the referendum.

194. donald anderson

Rip off Britain.

195. Neil Craig

“scottish_skier says:

@Neil Craig

Maybe you can explain this too me…

How come up to 1/4 of Skippers already plan to vote for independence in September”

Perhaps you could provide evidence for that unusual assertion. I grant that it would be effectively impossible for Yes to win if our 10.4% all vote for Britain.

Cameron Brodie I share your doubts about the SNP, short of massive use of force, being able to keep the immigrants they want in the Highlands in place. It is a lunatic plan but is claimed to be the only way they can think of to produce growth.

196. heedtracker

Hi Helena, Run! Crash Gordon’s got every teamGB ligger puffing his My Britain We Hate AlicSamin Don’t We, like this charming character/huckster

https://archive.today/lN4IF

“If Scotland votes no, there will be even more of that. As Brown himself wrote, verblessly, in the Guardian this week: “Westminster’s claim to undivided authority over the country? Dead and buried.” It’s a striking admission.”

Is there any angle they haven’t attacked Scotland running Scotland from?

197. bookie from hell

Britain is an “old, declining empire” which resorts to “eccentric acts” to hide its embarrassment over its declining power, an official Chinese newspaper has claimed on the second day of a visit by the country’s premier, Li Keqiang, to London.

198. Proud Cybernat

A question–hope someone more knowledgable than myself can perhaps answer.

Should YES succeed in September (looking more and more likely), would it be possible for the UK Govt to hold another referendum? I have heard some mummblings about that possibility. And what if they then put Devo-Max (Full Fiscal Autonomy) on the ballot paper? I can foresee all manner of shennanigans by Westminster should Scotland vote YES. But, at the end of the day, we will only have Westminster over a barrel with a YES victory. Referndums inform a Govt but do not bind them. What would be the legal position if Westmnster simply ignores the result and holds their own referendum?

199. CameronB Brodie

Neil Craig
    I think you missed my point, but that is your purpose, is it not?

200. desimond

Start your stopwatches for the standard “your all in the SNP” rants from todays guest troll

201. Brotyboy

Which one has the feechie touch?

Thank you Cameron, for this gem of a reminder of childhood.

202. CameronB Brodie

Brotyboy
    An early introduction into the concept of social exclusion, or perhaps I’m reading too much into things. 🙂

203. creag an tuirc

“Get off my land you pesky Scottish vermin or I’ll release the hounds” an ermine, tweed and wellington clad Lord Britnat shouts with shotgun in hand.

204. Brotyboy

Thepnr @ 8.50am

+1

205. Brotyboy

@Cameron

No, I think you’re bang on the money. When I think back to those early days and the way we thought and acted towards certain others in my primary school class I am ashamed.

Then again, even as an adult I can be a right shit.

206. bookie from hell

TOP golfer Colin Montgomerie has revealed he’s voting No to Scottish independence – because he doesn’t want to pay for it.

The former Ryder Cup captain said quitting the UK would “cost everyone a lot of money in Scotland” and that taxpayers like him would have to pick up the tab.

207. Jim Thomson

@ Proud Cybernat
    That is the whole purpose of the Edinburgh Agreement. Removes dubiety.

208. CameronB Brodie

Brotyboy
    Same here, so I ‘annoy’ British Labour activists and challenge their MSPs. 🙂

@Colin Montgomerie
    Have you not considered you would also benefit from the inevitable accumulation of social capital in iScotland?

209. scottish_skier

Perhaps you could provide evidence for that unusual assertion.

Here you go Craig:

http://survation.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/betternation-table-June.pdf

Which of these bodies do you trust the most to make decisions in the best interests of Scotland?

Those planning to Vote UKIP for Westminster if Scotland remains in the UK:
    36.0% Holyrood
    34.6% Westminster

ex DK:

51% Holyrood
    49% Westminster

Also:

http://survation.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Daily-Record-tables-1-33-June.pdf

Those planning to Vote UKIP for Westminster if Scotland remains in the UK:
    21% Yes to independence
    70% No to independence

Which is:

23% Yes
    77% No
    Excluding DK

and:

MORI
    http://www.ipsos-mori.com/Assets/Docs/Scotland/scottish-independence-referendum-tables-june-2014.pdf
    UKIP supporters (Holyrood):
    20% Yes
    80% No
    exDK

ICM
    http://www.icmresearch.com/data/media/pdf/Scotsman_april_2014.pdf
    UKIP supporters (EU election):
    25% Yes
    75% No

Hope this will suffice. Of course just examples of what’s standard. Skippers seem to like Holyrood and a good proportion for Scottish independence.

Do you think UKIP have a problem with that? Are they like Labour and would potential penalise their own members for e pro-Scottish independence?

210. Proud Cybernat

@Jim Thomosn

“That is the whole purpose of the Edinburgh Agreement. Removes dubiety.”

I understand that’s the intention of The Edinburgh Agreement, Jim, but I know also that Westminster can be as slippery as nailing jelly to a wall.

Westminster could simply say that it will abide by the result by holding another referendum with Devo-Max on the ballot paper. As I said–referendums are only “advisory” and not binding. I think the point I am trying to make is that Westminster can decide how it will ‘abide’ by the result of a YES victory which, as I have said, could have them holding their own referendum (or some other ruse to get around a YES victory).

211. Chic McGregor

Thepnr
    “Chic what about you and the missus and ny friends? I would guess I need need to know by a week on Friday as that only leaves a week to book the bus.”

A bus to where/what, when? Another Wings night?

This weekend we have a big family birthday party. Next weekend we have Bannockburn and the Pathetic Quay protest.

I think we may be booked on a trip the week after that with our daughter and son in law, will need to check with da management, and the week after that our son and partner are visiting from Finland (16th to 30th) but they might be up for a pro indy thing.

212. CameronB Brodie

Proud Cybernat
    I think it boils down to what is considered in the ‘best interests of the state’. I think there is Parliamentary privilege dating back to the 17th century, though wouldn’t know if that would be applicable. This allows Parliament to decide what is best for us all, regardless.

Obviously ignoring a landslide for Yes, would not be in the best interests of the state (i.e. the Crown).

213. scottish_skier

@Craig

That should have been ‘for being pro-‘

What I figured is that some UKIP in Scotland don’t like the idea of Scotland leaving one less controlling union (the EU) only to be stuck in a much more controlling one (UK). After all, UKIP are always on about ‘taking back control of our country’ (Scotland in this case).

I recall Coburn saying on the tellybox something like ‘Even if you support Scottish independence you should still vote for UKIP [for the EU]’ which backs up the fact that UKIP are not fully pro-UK.

Unless the party is deeply divided on the matter?

Anyway, looks like UKIP in Scotland are quite pro-Scottish independence. Almost the same level as Labour and certainly much more up for it than the Tories.

214. Robert Peffers

@Hood says: “I think this may interest you.”,

Don’t feed the Troll.

215. Chic McGregor

“A question–hope someone more knowledgable than myself can perhaps answer.

Should YES succeed in September (looking more and more likely), would it be possible for the UK Govt to hold another referendum? I have heard some mummblings about that possibility. And what if they then put Devo-Max (Full Fiscal Autonomy) on the ballot paper? I can foresee all manner of shennanigans by Westminster should Scotland vote YES. But, at the end of the day, we will only have Westminster over a barrel with a YES victory. Referndums inform a Govt but do not bind them. What would be the legal position if Westmnster simply ignores the result and holds their own referendum?”

In the case of Kosovo, the ICJ ruled that their subsequent UDI after Serbia rejected their referendum, was NOT illegal.

Having said that, Kosovo, although recognised by a majority of States, including the UK, still has insufficient support for the qualified majority required for UN membership.

But in all other regards, including membership of various European cooperative bodies, it is a de facto independent nation.

There are still many totalitarian regimes out there who still cling to the anti-democratic and antediluvian obsession with territory even in this, so called, post imperialist era.

216. Dorothy Bruce

That picture somehow conveys a very 1950s Enid Blyton take on the world, pre nuclear weapons on the Clyde.

One of the kids is the ringleader George (a girl – not Osborne) and they are obviously looking for Timmy the dog who has run on ahead and, thinking they are juicy bones, is unearthing some strong smelling facts Westminster wants to remain buried.

217. donald anderson

nnual Bannockburn Rally
    Saturday June 21
    1.15pm Mayfield Centre (row of wee shops) Bannockburn village, facing Borestone Bar,
    where Bruce is reputed to have camped. March from roundabout to Glasgow Road to the Rotunda, Bannockburn Heritage Centre for speakers.
    Scoriach. 1314 Inn. Fiery Jack and others. Tickets £5, Children Free.
    Bus 10.45 am from North Frederick St, George Square, Glasgow. £10 Children Free.
    Separate bus pick up at Alexandria Station Car Park. 11.20 am
    Leave 1314 Inn at 7-ish.

There is a ceilidh in the Tartan Arms in the village of Bannockburn Those wishing to attend will have to make their own transport arrangements as it would be too costly hiring the coach to come back.

218. Camz

“Who needs HS2…we run from Edinburgh to London”

219. R whittington

Rev, I’m only voting yes if you make another Sensible Soccer.

220. Doug Mcgregor

http://fazzledown.blogspot.co.uk/

See above for definitive pisstake of the poster.

221. Craig Evans

As it is a BT photo; perhaps we need to check the location in case they have just lifted it from a tourist brochure from Cumbria?

Now, that would be funny!

222. Neil Craig

OK Skier, I accept you have made your case.
    I suspect these are mainly fairly new “protest” voters since I can say few members feel this way. Like the SNP we attract protest voters, though we have yet to emulate the SNP’s ability to both get anti-government protesters and being the government.

Perhaps the SNP’s policy of stridently denouncing anybody who votes UKIP may be counterproductive if (A) you need some of them for the referendum & (B) you would like some of them back.

However it is good to see somebody debating on the facts rather than on the desirability of censorship (like Rab the “doubter” & Hoodie.

223. manandboy

bookie from hell says:
    18 June, 2014 at 11:57 am
    TOP golfer Colin Montgomerie has revealed he’s voting No to Scottish independence – because he doesn’t want to pay for it.

On and off the course Monty has the knack of knowing just how and when to say or do the wrong thing.

The good news and a certain bet is
    that when Colin speaks
    the opposite is going to happen.

To sum up:
    In Montyspeak, a No is a Yes.

224. Proud Cybernat

Neil Craig

“Like the SNP we attract protest voters, though we have yet to emulate the SNP’s ability to both get anti-government protesters and being the government.”

Do you not see the inherent contradiction in your statement (above)?

225. Jack Murphy

Jack Kelly,former President of the STUC is saying Yes.
    “My values are Labour Party values”.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpigde29u9c

226. Dcanmore

‘Today’s children, tomorrow’s soldiers – from cradle to grave, we’ll have you in uniform!’

‘Children – time to keep your appointment with the Wickerman.’

‘This photo was taken with permission from a wealthy landowner.’

‘Kids pooling and sharing there way to a food bank.’

227. manandboy

Remember – DEVOLUTION REFERENDUM 1979
    As the committee stage was nearing its end, it scrutinised an amendment from Labour backbencher George Cunningham.

It required the Secretary of State to lay before Parliament an order repealing the Act unless
    at least 40% of the eligible electorate voted “yes”.

The amendment was strongly opposed by the Government, but they lost the vote by 166 votes to 151.

In the referendum, on 1 March 1979, Scotland voted in favour of devolution by 52% to 48% – but only 32.9% of the electorate had joined the majority.

The Tories are traditionally the object of Scottish ‘disaffection’.
    But when you look at the key decisions, as above, it is LABOUR who stabs Scotland in the back.

And so in 2014, who have the longest knives? – Miliband, Darling,Alexander,Carmichael,D.Alexander,G.Brown,Lord Reid of Cardowan,Murphy,Anas Sarwar; and from Holyrood,Lamont & Baillie.

So, while not discounting any of the BT membership,
    it is Labour who will put the knives in deepest into Scotlands’ hopes for a prosperous and fair future under Independence.

But this time, we’re wearing the armour of experience gleaned from previous Labour treachery.

Scotland – so wealthy
    Scots – why so poor?
    Answer – Westminster Governments

Vote Yes.

228. Caroline Corfield

The slope is not consistent with a lot of Highland lochs, I’m still looking but broadened my search to Ireland too. Shurely someone here goes hill walking?

229. James Westland

Caroline

Thats Loch Doine and Loch Voil in the background there. Braes of Balquhidder territory. As I said on the other thread, MacGregor country, Rob Roy would have said “YEs”!

230. Morag Graham Kerr

Spot on James.

http://goo.gl/maps/oyG16

231. Tom Platt

rab_the_doubter :
    ‘Ray – Lord Geordies death from space
    ‘La – montable labour leader

Rab
    Great! (IMO) Would you consider a couple of changes to the flow?

‘Ray – Lord Georgies death from space
    ‘La – mentable Lamont

All the best
    Tom

232. Neil Craig

Proud cybernat that is the point.

233. Paula Rose

How come their shoes are spotless?

234. donald anderson

Maybe their shoes are spotless cos somebody hoovered the glen ready for a dam to build plutonium for the next bomb? as in the Coulee dam.

235. CameronB Brodie

I don’t think there is much to be gained from examining the authentication of the image, but hair is normally a dead giveaway of sloppy re-touching.

236. Paula

Oh God, that’s what the shitty propaganda leafets will look like? Smiling children frolicking in the hills, safe and happy because the UK government is protecting them. So cheesy. Its like something out of the Soviet Union.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.