Yup Vince is an idiot.

2. Patrick Roden

Didn’t you mean ‘Lying Cables’ ?

3. Davy

He must be wearing his fingernails to the bone trying to find a decent scare story, ah well just have to use a good secondhand one.

Vote YES – Vote Scotland.

4. Craig

Children’s clothes might get 5% more expensive.

That one got a good laugh round my workplace and was pretty much the straw that pushed at least one guy from “No-cause I’d prefer Devo-Max” to “Is that the best they can come up with? Screw it. Yes.” 😀

5. Bugger (the Panda)

Anybody like Ian Dury?

He has which St Vincent de Cable is doing in his song

“This is what we find”
    He has a line in it about laying cables in the sandpit in the Park.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L9Js_nrrtHo

Incidentally, Ian Dury’s band was called The Blockheads

This is all to surreal and after last night posts might set a new trend in week-end recreational blogging.

6. john king

can I go o/t rev? you wont brutally murder me will you?
    I was brutally murdered before and it wasn’t funny
    anyhoo, anyone noticed how little (if any) grass roots campaigners there are for the better no brigade,
    I personally have not heard one person at work attempting to put their argument over, but I am aware of several (including me) people at work who are openly advocating the positive case for the yes campaign, just saying like, 
    I’ll get my coat.

7. The Man in the Jar

I bet that it isn’t a barrel of laughs!

8. Murray McCallum

Vince and his mates are unearthing thousands of problems, that may only be potential problems, that aren’t actually problems at all.

9. The Man in the Jar

@john king
    at 8:23am
    I know what you mean. However there are still some that eagerly soak up the scare stories and when you counter them it is “(sucking air between teeth) Oh I don’t know, were all doomed!” Shows what a lifetime of being told that you are too poor, to wee and too stupid dose for you.

10. Murray McCallum

Vince publicly pledged not to increase University tuition fees in England.  They went up by 300%. Vince pledged that this 300% increase would only apply to a small minority of Unis.  The vast majority of Unis in England have applied the 300% increase.

Look at what Vince does. By all means listen to what he says but bear in mind that is not what will happen.

11. HandandShrimp

I heard Vince on the radio the other day and to be fair to him his attempts at Project Fear were pretty half hearted with him readily conceding that such things were only one possible outcome. Personally I think he found Project Fear a bit shabby but that he had to take one for the team.

Any discussion on tax and VAT is moot as the UK is spectacularly bad at collecting tax and VAT carousel fraud is rife. Scotland could, with a clean sheet of paper, easily do a better job. 

12. Marcia

As I have posted before, ‘a Unionist is a person who has a problem for every solution’.

13. The Man in the Jar

Sorry for going off topic. It is a beautiful warm sunny Saturday here in West Central. Unfortunately I will have to keep the windows closed and as for sitting in the garden “forget it”. Already the sound of the Orange walk wafts across the Clyde and this will go on all fecking day. Please someone make them go away. 🙁

14. Patrick Roden

Ok Since John King is still alive (I hope) I will risk going OT as well.
    Just been wondering about Unite & Labour, now Unites say they are for the workers and want a more socialist Labour party,
    This same Union voted for Johann Lamont to become leader of Labour in Scotland.
    This same leader, has just sacked Ken McIntosh, the person most labour party members in Scotland wanted as leader….agreed?
    Because he wasn’t happy about the path the party was on, saying he wanted them to  be more……..SOCIALIST !

So who is Ken McClusky and Labour trying to kid? This fight is about the dirty workings of the Labour Party in Scotland and how Unite tried to use this to it’s own advantage to gain more POWER.

Nothing whatsoever to do with socialism and looking after the workers.

Something isn’t adding up

15. ianbrotherhood

@TMITJ-

Right there, as I’m reading your post, the guy on Radio Scotland is talking about the situation in Egypt and the ‘polarising tribal nature’ of what’s happened.

No doubt Nanjiani will later have an in-depth feature on today’s ‘walk’ in Glasgow and what it represents.

Aye, right.

Depressing.

16. Murray McCallum

The struggle for democracy in Egypt has led to oil rising to over USD 107 per barrel (brent crude). The OBR (falling oil price contribution to Scotland Indy debate) clearly have intel that problems in the Middle East are all going to go away.
    I wish the OBR would share their risk analysis.

17. The Man in the Jar

Sorry for busting the thread again.
    The BBC Scotland has an article “Police appeal over Glasgow and Coatbridge Orange Order parade” If you live outside the central belt you could be excused for assuming that this must mean that Coatbridge is one of those “Loyalist” towns like Larkhall etc.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-23203376

Nothing could be further from the truth. Coatbridge is not known as “little Ireland” for nothing. Plenty of Tricolours on display try walking along the Whiflet in a Rangers top and see how far you get. Estimates put the Catholic population of Coatbridge to be about 60%
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coatbridge_Irish
    A quote from the Grand Master in the BBC article “Our parades are a celebration of our heritage, not an excuse for anyone to criticise anyone else’s faith or beliefs”
    The police bill for this £500,000

18. Atypical_Scot

@ Patrick Roden

Scottish Labour are New Labour – champagne socialists at best, Tories at worst. It was only going to be so long before Scotland seen through the only in name smokescreen.

19. Roddy Macdonald

Did he find Johann in there? #WheresJohann – certainly not in Falkirk.

20. Bugger (the Panda)

Ever been to Plains.

Whit a bliddy mosaic of bastions of oragne and green that old Edinburgh Road was, and still is.

21. The Man in the Jar

@Bugger (the Panda)
    Indeed several times. Ever used the services at Harthill? Just through the trees there is a street where union flags fly all year round and the driveways have the RFC crest embedded in the monoblock.
    Mason Boyne is alive and well!

22. Bugger (the Panda)

I used to work at Inver House

We had to be very careful about mixing people together but to be fair the workers never ever mentioned religion at all. The care was to ensure that the mix was distributed throughout and neither group could be seen to be bigger than the other.

23. seoc

Heard that, come Independence, many barbers will not cut hair any longer.
    Whit ur we gonnae dae?
    Jist go tae those who cut it shorter, perhaps?

24. The Man in the Jar

@Bugger (the Panda)

After early retirement from The Peoples Republic of Strathclyde Region I took a job reading gas and electric meters to top up the pension. Surprising what a large area was covered. Most of the time was spent around North and South Lanarkshire and surrounding areas and included Coatbridge, Airdrie, Bellshill, Motherwell and Wishaw. A real eye-opener I can tell you. Up close and personal with Scotland’s deprivation and social problems. Just the sort of job that prospective politicians should have to do before becoming a candidate.

25. Bugger (the Panda)

Up close and personal with Scotland’s deprivation and social problems.
    Just the sort of job that prospective politicians should have to do before becoming a candidate.

I wish we had a like button on this blog

26. Dorothy Devine

Well that’s solved a puzzle for me .Couldn’t understand happy gatherings in Partick at 9.30 on a Saturday morning.
    The Orange walk – I will be staying in and watching tennis .Having once tried to cross Bath Street on a similar Saturday 50 years ago and being rescued by a bystander I no longer venture out during the time of Orange.

27. Davy

Groundcontrol to bunker, groundcontrol to bunker, — is leader available for comment on Falkirk situation ???

Bunker to groundcontrol, bunker to groundcontrol, — fit situation ??? – leader on school-holidays, call back in six weeks, oot.

Groundcontrol to london, etc. 

28. scottish_skier

We’ll no get weather like this under independence.

29. Name Witheld

The Man in the Jar says:

@Bugger (the Panda)

Indeed several times. Ever used the services at Harthill? Just through the trees there is a street where union flags fly all year round and the driveways have the RFC crest embedded in the monoblock.Mason Boyne is alive and well!

Just like Clarkston in Airdrie. Union flags fly all year round their too.

I do know a person who partakes in said walks who’ll be voting Yes (I’ve not to tell anyone though!)

Said person reckons there’s lots more like “him / her” but put on a unionist front around peers.

Interesting!

30. Murray McCallum

As each day towards the 2014 referendum (a vanity project imposed on us by dictator Alex Salmond) passes, the collision of the Milky Way and Andromeda Galaxies draws one day nearer.  Rather than lead us towards the end of our universe I would like to know what our FM is doing about this.
    Will the laws of physics apply in an independent Scotland?

31. Andy-B

Project Fear passed “Scraping the bottom of the barrel”……a long time ago, the Cable Guy, (Vince)..is even more hilarious, than the Cable Guy (Jim Carey).

32. Dramfineday

“Up close and personal with Scotland’s deprivation and social problems.
    Just the sort of job that prospective politicians should have to do before becoming a candidate.

I wish we had a like button on this blog”
    Indeed BTP and MITJ and a much better grounding into our people’s needs than appearing out of Uni and pretending to be the next great red star. Oops, showing my age again, red stars…. as if.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.