1. 27 04 16 10:56

It’s Scottish Labour Manifesto Day! | speymouth

119 to “It’s Scottish Labour Manifesto Day!”

1. bobajock

I like the last bit “Here’s another section” – it tells me everything I need to know days after I made up my mind. One wonders how a political party functions by giving virtually no notice.

Bet the writer of the manifesto was helping a London Mayoral candidate with canvassing, and the branch office is no longer a priority.

2. Peter Mirtitsch

What’s a “social care package”? Does that mean better access to foodbanks?

Has Labour owned up to developing the Bedroom Tax yet?

Err…is it okay if I wait LONGER before I have to contract cancer. I don’t want it SOONER.

3. Stoops

Ah British Labour in Scotland. Taking us all for mugs. Empty rhetoric to con the gullible.

4. Marcia

I will be interest to find the money tree that Labour need to shake to make good their empty promises that we will hear about today.

5. Donald Anderson

Labour policy. For and against everything

Also mass amnesia required to cover Labour terms in Office.

6. Proud Cybernat

No such thing as “Scottish Labour”. It’s the British Labour Party in Scotland. London, as ever, calls the shots for the Scottish Branch Manager.

Nice try, Mamma Kez – have to try harder. Sorry.

SNP BOTH VOTES

7. ClanDonald

Is that the actual manifesto? Oh no, poor hapless Kez, it’s the blind leading the blind right enough.

8. Sharny Dubs

Well that’s a relief, I though they were going to come out with some really meaningless dribble…. no wait!!!
    To late!!!

9. Macart

Eight days out from a ballot and the postal votes already winging their way?

If they don’t give enough of a shit to set their stall out from the beginning of a campaign, why should we give a shit about anything they have to say now? (shrugs)

10. Andrew Davidson

The reason for the removal of what was there and delay is they forgot to put the “and 1000 more than the SNP” against every line. Easy mistake to make.

11. alasdair galloway

According to Jackie Baillie in our local paper – she has been our MSP since 1999 (ggggggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrrrr)- the social care aspects of that (care package within a week) will cost in the order of £300 million. According to SPICE their 1p on SRIT will raise something like £475 million, so all the rest can be done for £175 million? Aye right!
    One or two are pretty jaw dropping. For instance the guarantee re GP appointments depends on there being more GPs, but we know right now there is a shortage. Of course they dont guarantee an appointment with a doctor – only at a GP surgery. Might be the Practice Nurse I suppose, or maybe the cleaner?
    Likewise cutting cancer waiting times is not just a matter of money (even if we knew where they were going to get it) but of more doctors, of which we do not have enough.
    Then again, I suppose the have to say something. But they seem to be moving into territory where its not so much a matter of being able to convince us they know where to find the money, but – as with GPs and cancer treatment – they would need the magic powers of someone like Jamie Raven.

12. Tinto Chiel

I suppose British Labour in S______d/Northern Accounting Unit Manifesto just doesn’t have the same ZING.

Rev, just pick out the laughs’n’gaffes. My sensitive, poetic soul can only take so much.

13. carjamtic

Labour still ‘trimming their wicks’ while we wait.

It’s Over,has nobody told them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5dYxX-PNno

14. Bill

Kez would need to re-write GP contracts in order to fulfil that 48hr appt guarantee.

It can’t be done.

In fact I’m sick hearing it.

15. David

As we are being asked to replace the existing government with something unknown I will expect the media to demand full details of costs, how and when the promises made will be implemented and a forecast of Scotland’s finances for the next few decades, only seems fair really.

Have no fear I’ll not be holding my breath.

16. Martin

Interested to see how they will guarantee GP appointments within 48h given demand outstrips supply by about 6:1 in the non affluent areas. I look forward to them explaining this furth…oh yeah, the election is in a week. Well, suppose it saves them any awkward questions…

17. Onwards

Labour’s proposed 50p tax rate for the richest would backfire and bring LESS money to Holyrood, due to the wealthiest switching to other taxes they opposed devolving.

Hoist on their own petard ?
    Perhaps they prefer to see Westminster benefiting at the expense of Scotland.

18. Legerwood

According to the Herald today Labour are going to have a breakfast club in every primary school.

19. Free Scotland

Hello here Hello there

What??????

Did they think the site was still in preview mode?

This is up there with “not genetically programmed,” “fundilymundily” and “G E N E R T A I O N.”

20. One_Scot

Honestly, the thought of these baboon Yoons ever getting back into power in Scotland scares the shit out of me.

21. Simon Chadwick

Worth going to the live website – still there at 10am.

“Hello there” is more cheery and humane than the rest of it. If only all politics was that friendly.

22. orri

You can get an emergency GP appointment on the same night where I live. Given the 48 hours implies urgency can we assume that what’s actually being talked about is a reduction in current levels?

23. aldo_macb

SNP manifesto launch was 5th on BBC Scotland news website. Labour launch story currently 2nd top story.

24. HaggisHunter

Increase NHS spending in real terms… so is that an increase of £2.59 or what?
    Social package?
    Is that the Bedroom tax that labour were the architects of?

25. Greannach

What?
    No stringent controls on immigration?
    No voting in favour of Osborne’s budget balancing?
    No cap on benefits?
    No renewal of Trident?
    No mention of Curran’s Comedy Cavalcade?
    Surely some mistake.

26. Bill

Once again.

To force GP Surgery to do anything, you’d need to change their contract.

They’re not gonna sign up for that.

It’s a promise NO Party can make.

Christ, they celebrated when they signed the last new contracts, remember the one that allowed them to stop call outs!

27. call me dave

ACH! Santa never came then… 🙁

SNP x 2

28. Karmanaut

I also note the weasel words used here:

“which means we can afford to promise to protect the NHS budget”

They can afford to “promise”, rather than simply “we can afford to protect the NHS”.

The problem is we know what Labour promises are worth. Maybe they should have said “we can afford to vow to protect the NHS”?

29. Gertie Gusset

That’s fundilymundily it, folks. No poverty of ambition there.

30. Jack Collatin

The wee snippet reproduced here is enough.
    Kezia Dugdale seems to forget that she is a member of the UK Labour Party.
    You know, that bunch of Neo Conservative Red Tories who will ‘introduce competition’ to the NHS, renew Trident (while Jeremy’s nipped round to the Keystore to fetch the Penguin biscuits) and, when returned triumphantly to Westminster Government in 2021, will cut public spending by £25 billion, and ‘save’ £30 billion in the English NHS and reduce Scotland’s budget accordingly.
    Kezia, you have no powers to abolish the Bedroom Tax, nor a magic wand to cure the HS.
    Of course you, and Jackie, and Co know all this. Hence this list of warm fuzzies, disguised as a Manifesto, three weeks after 100,000’s postal votes have been issued.

I have rarely encountered such a shallow amateurish Wish List.

SNP x 2.

Why would I waste my vote on Ruth’s, Wullie’s, and now Kezia’s Chamber Pot of Doo Doohs?

31. Marcia

Perhaps Glenn Campbell will tear up the Labour manifesto live on Reporting Scotland tonight.

32. Auld Rock

I like the Rev’s last word – high – ish. Well I guess that’s why you are a man of the cloth – when it comes to Scottish Labour you really must have ‘faith’.

Auld Rock

33. Valerie

Yoohoo, Hello there Slab!

Now just fck off, and have a bit of dignity.

To borrow from Frankie Boyle, you are the rodeo clown.

34. Free Scotland

Conversation between a surgeon, a nurse who struggles with English, and a pregnant woman being wheeled into theatre for a Caesarean section.

Surgeon: Here’s another section.

Nurse: Hello here.

Patient: Hello there.

35. Tony Little

@One Scot

“Honestly, the thought of these baboon Yoons ever getting back into power in Scotland scares the shit out of me.”

I think this was one of the reasons for the unsuccessful Referendum result. I wonder what percentage thought – “Jeezo, maybe this Labour crowd will be a future government in an iScotland. Oh NO!”

36. Marcia

It is interesting to see which of the Gary Tank Party Leader video interviews proved more popular than others:

https://twitter.com/vmg456/status/725250943541993472

37. call me dave

Hark the Herald.

New Act of Union draft Bill to arrive in July. Last chance to save the Union.

Ex MP Burnside N Ireland with reference to now Baron J. Reid
    All in it together to save us from ourselves.

I’ll post archive link later when I get home.

38. Dorothy Devine

Folk having loadsa fun on the Guardian / Severin version !
    Fair made my morning!

39. Phronesis

‘It is simply wrong that someone born in a deprived area of Scotland will die years earlier than someone in an affluent area’

Indeed. The bullet point that’s been omitted is that when you are a representative of a political party that’s tied to a WM parliamentary system that has a vested interest in maintaining economic polarisation and its citizens living with wage inequality that is comparable to 1854 when Dickens was writing ‘Hard Times’, Scotland’s health inequality gap will widen.

40. Liz Rannoch

Love the ‘high-ish’.
    First reaction was ‘is that it?’ Then, surely this is a spoof and the Rev’s been up to his tricks!

Somebody posted the other day about dice in kezia’s head which was hilarious. Maybe the last ‘hello here, hello there was what the typist said as they knocked on her head while trying to get some more ideas?

41. Capella

Give them time for heavens sake. The electiion’s not till next Thursday!
    Rome wasn’t built in a day you know.

42. Roddy Macdonald

Perhaps the bottom bit is their defence policy with a nod to their EU credentialS:

À l’eau C’est l’heure!

43. TD

I genuinely thought it was a spoof created by the Rev (for the purposes of extracting the p**s). But it’s real and it’s still there!

Unbelievable ineptitude on the day their manifesto is being launched. Even if you agreed with their policies, would you trust this lot to govern the country?

44. Clootie

…I have a mental picture of Kezia as a “Blue Peter” presenter cutting and pasting together a document from old labour promises. I’m sure it will look good from a distance and last the day!

45. Scott

Phone Surgery 8.30am get phone consultation if Doctor thinks he needs to see you he will arrange an appointment the same day that is what happens at our surgery.
    I know NHS is not perfect but I hate it when we have the likes of the BBC and Bradford running it down all the time having spent a fair amount of time in hospital I have nothing but praise for the NHS.
    Thank you NHS

46. NeoconNat

Good morning, comrades.

The “Here’s another section” part gives you a glimpse into how they operate, crowbarring policy and statements into to pre-defined WordPress templates.

It’s actually an insult to Scotland that they operate like that and aren’t even prepared to make sure it’s done properly.

The “any old piss will do because it’s only Scotland” approach hasn’t gone anywhere.

47. Proud Cybernat

NCN – I wonder who’ll be first this morning to tell you to take your concern trolling and ram it?

But remember – SNP BOTH VOTES

48. DerekM

Are the sponsers Andrex ?

Thats unfair on Andrex sorry Andrex its more like that old school toilet tracing paper you used to get that was no use to man or beast.

49. Inverclyder

None of you are getting it here.

It’s a minimalist approach and you have to look at what they’re not saying to actually understand what they are saying.

It’s the Labour Jazz Manifesto for the ages. Listen to the words not being said.

What a shower.

Only 8 days until Kez is replaced. Hope she takes a few with her on her way down!

50. Dan Huil

Sarah Smith and the bbc will love it – just the right amount of detail.

51. Inverclyder

You can follow the gang meeting manifesto launch here…

As expected it looks like there’s more press than Party members.

https://twitter.com/BBCPhilipSim/with_replies?lang=en-gb

52. Thepnr

Morning Prof 🙂

“Comrades” LOL

53. LynneC

At a hustings last night, the Labour representative claimed they had held off on publishing their manifesto, because (and I quote) “Last time the SNP just copied all our ideas in their manifesto”.

And we’re meant to believe that these people with their playground insults are capable of forming a successful government? Oh how I laughed.

54. Lenny Hartley

Sorry to go o/t so soon
    New Panelbase poll going by wording and questions looks like commisioned by SNP
    Currently in Northern Ireland found a quiet spot for motorhome with no butchers aprons in sight
    They even have them splattered over the election posters!!

Pity they are nice people, they can’t help it if they have been infected by the Ukok virus.
    So from now on in when I feel depressed being part of the bankrupt Union, I will think back
    To NI and thank the great Spagetti monster in the sky that we have been spared that particular condition.

55. Nana

Stand by while the BBC get ready to launch their tiny slabby pals manifesto in a tiny room. Oooh feel the excitement.

https://twitter.com/BBCPhilipSim/status/725259516368052225

56. Conan the Librarian™

Just had a look at the manifesto launch. The banner above them should read “Booth votes Labour”.

57. Iona

I was sure they had already stated somewhere that the GP surgery appointment could be with a nurse; it was not a guaranteed doctor’s appointment. The wording is intended to mislead and create a false impression. Spin, spin, spin.
    It’s all we get these days.

58. Derick fae Yell

OMG. I thought it was a spoof. But it’s real. Really there on their website.

Morons

59. Free Scotland

Quoted from the BBC:

Miss Dugdale insisted she had set her sights on winning the election, saying she “wants to be first minister”, although her chief goal was “renewing the fortunes” of the party.

Says it all really: Party first, governing Scotland of much less importance.

60. Peter McCulloch

I see its been reported in the courier that labour have included in its manifesto a commitment to reinstating the Levenmouth rail link.

This is nothing more that political opportunism and window dressing to con the people of Levenmouth.

I did challenged the Labour list MSP Clare Baker who represented the area at the time, in the letters page of my local newspaper why she considered the funding of Edinburgh trams to be more important than the rail link.

Surprise, Surprise no response from her.

61. Free Scotland

BREAKING NEWS:

They’ve been reading wings. Daft page now removed – replaced with much more interesting blank page.

http://www.scottishlabour.org.uk/manifesto/health

62. Ian Brotherhood

They’d be as well doing something useful with it:

George Wylie, ‘Paper Boat’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3T-md22ZETQ

63. Luigi

With minutes to go before the red tory manifesto launch, there was a mad rush and a bit of a panic at Pacific Quay this morning:

Someone had moved the turd polishing kit. 🙁

64. galamcennalath

At least Labour are willing to call themselves Labour. Well, often it is the factually inaccurate Scottish Labour. However Labour it is.

When did you last see much mention from the Conservatives of their actual title, Conservative? It’s been the Ruth Davidson Party for this election. They are hiding their own toxic brand. Somehow pretending they aren’t the party who just refused entry to refugee children. How dispicable is that? I mean both denying children entry, and pretending to be something else.

Labour are lost and incompetent. As sad shadow of something which existed before living memory for most people.

Tories know exactly what they are trying to do, and none of it is nice!

The Tories had their worst general election last year since 1865. Let’s hope Scotland rejects them next week with equal determination!

65. scotsbob

@aldo_macb I noticed that. I also noticed that the BBC trailed the news in advance by telling us what was going to be in the manifesto. Thus they have kept the Labour story at the top of their news list all morning.

66. Marco McGinty

Hello there!

I’ve received very little in leaflets for the forthcoming election, but this morning one was delivered by Scottish Labour.

It’s heartwarming to discover that “Scottish Labour”, fighting in a Scottish election, has once again ignored the entire Scottish print industry, and chosen to have their leaflets printed in Cardiff.

67. brewsed

Just had a look at the SLAB web site and found this…
    http://edelsten.org.uk/stuff/SLAB_Manifesto.jpg

Must be writtten on white text on a white background.

I really do not fancy the reduction in waiting time until I succumb to cancer.

68. Paul D

Interestingly, I get what is essentially a blank page when I go to the live page. I also can’t see any obvious links to the manifesto on their main page. Could it be that the manifesto hasn’t even managed to make it past lunchtime?

69. Macart

According to Wings twitter current livefeed viewers for manifesto launch fluctuating between 40-42 bods.

A Labour manifesto launch mind you.

That’s got to hurt.

70. Inverclyder

Looks like the big challenge for Scottish Labour North Britain is to try and keep to the “Manifesto” for 8 days without changing their minds.

For and against everything and SNP Bad.

71. Andrew McLean

One thing that has remained constant is the strength of unity amongst the 45, whereas the labour party and liberals have both made allowances to their membership when the eventual second referendum takes place, that a vote for, or even actively campaigning for yes is not at odds with their membership.

Only the conservatives have been consistent in opposing both the idea of independence and a second referendum. this may account for the slight uplift in the pools, as die hard unionists would see them as true defenders of the union. Also, apart from the recent tendency to mount anything, she has been at least more professional in her behaviour.

In attempting to slow the progression of the independence movement, as the old arguments against separation have been shown more and more as just so much hot air, is to sow division amongst the different factions of the independence movement. To an extent this is easy when different power bases are involved, all wanting to remain relevant in the debate, however unless the divisions’ prove to be insurmountable this tactic will eventually prove fruitless come the referendum, as all come together to defeat the common enemy, Westminster.

Again, as was seen in Kezias simplistic separation of the independence movement into “English Hating Nutters” as she describes her own father (what is it with left wing unionists that they indulge so easily in parricide?) is that they still don’t understand the independence movement, we are a very broad church from the far left to some soft conservatism(in the broad sense).

But it’s difficult for some who see a progression from say the left wing student ideas, to the settled conservatism of old age as being a natural force, it isn’t its self protectionism. To quote the great Mr. Paine “If there must be trouble, let it be in my day, that my child may have peace.”.

The assertion that independence is inevitable again Mr. Paine gives us the truth to the seismic movement in Scottish society, and labours collapse, “A long habit of not thinking a thing wrong, gives it a superficial appearance of being right, and raises at first a formidable outcry in defence of custom. But the tumult soon subsides. Time makes more converts than reason.”

tick tock.

72. frankieboy

London says NO. The end.

73. call me dave

Well that was short and not so sweet, it’s all over now in about 15+ minutes, and it’s up to the BBC with the paper media to expand, and megaphone it all round Scotland now.

No one will care or hear it darn Sarf… Kezia who?

“Not waiting for the promised distant land” she says.

Follow her into the wilderness then…Aye right!

Anyhoo!: SNP x 2.

PS:
    That link:

https://archive.is/ONh1k

Mr Burnside said that his “tribe” was as an Ulster Unionist and Orangeman but insisted support for the Union was wide and even existed among some SNP supporters.

He said: “I was very happy to see John Reid, the former chairman of Celtic, campaigning for the Union. So this is one campaign where you can be a Rangers supporter or a Celtic supporter, or a Hibernian or a Hearts supporter and be for the Union. And you can have all your Scottish traditional loyalties, whatever flag or scarf you want to wear or not wear and still be for the Union.”
    ————————————————————

Don’t forget Ming Campbell and Peter Hain to make up the four.
    FGS!

74. Thepnr

@galamcennalath

Exactly, now that Labour in Scotland have been laid to waste. We must never forget who the real enemies of democracy are.

The Tory party, Next!

75. Jack Murphy

From the Labour Manifesto pictured and clicked at top of aticle:-
    “Labour created the NHS. It’s our proudest achievement———”

Well well blow me down with a feather,and here wis me thinking it was saving us and the inncent people of Iraq from that nasty dictator and his WMDs threatening us all with a Third World War.

THAT will go down in Labour’s History Jotter of achievements.

76. ArtyHetty

And pigs will fly.

They have not one iota about what is involved in drawing up a social care package. A social worker is the one who coordinates it, but it usually involves healthcare and that can mean any aspect of healthcare, social work, community care services, and many other organisations ie, identifying care providers appropriate to the persons needs.

First of all they would need an army of new social workers, where they are going to get the cash for that I do not know. This would just be impossible and impractical on so many levels, unless liebour really do have a magic wand of course.

77. brewsed

The blank look to the web site may because it has been subjected to ‘container fluid’, whatever that is…
    .fest-issue .container-fluid {
    background: #eeeeee;
    padding: 0;
    (from the CSS code – #eeeeee would be a light grey background)

You can tell how Scottish SLAB is not when you look at the code (or lack of it) behind the web site, there being many references to images from darn sarth…
    http://www.labour.org.uk/page/-/site/img/manifesto/manifesto-home.jpg
    http://www.labour.org.uk/page/-/site/img/prettycheckable-sprites.png
    http://action.labour.org.uk/page/-/site/img/manifesto/check.png

78. Kennedy

Is there a wee plastic toy with it? Something to attract and distract from the empty promises?

79. heedtracker

As per Slab usual, virtually nothing on boosters for commerce and industry, actual job and wealth creation, life blood of all successful democracies, what their Scotland region can never be again.

Hike tax on lowest earners, that’ll teach em. If they whine, tell them they’re selfish lying and hypocrites for not voting good ol Slabour social justice.

Or, please England, can we have some more?

Nice fairy cakes though.

Ian Murray Retweeted
    Scott Arthur ?@DrScottThinks 34m34 minutes ago Edinburgh, Scotland
    We’ve changed – a trainee teacher, 1st time voter and former SNP member helps launch the @scottishlabour manifesto.

80. galamcennalath

Trident, they say ….

“… we will make a submission to the UK Party’s National Defence Review opposing the renewal of Trident … ”

Are they actually trying to tell us that will achieve anything!?

As useful as a blown electrical fuse.

81. Nana

@Macart

Facebook had 39 viewers, dear oh dear how the once mighty have nosedived.

https://twitter.com/DerecThompson/status/725272459155542016

82. Andrew McLean

Can we have a shot from the stage looking out, where is everybody, were labour party members not invited?

When planing this “event” did they amuse it was to a larger audience and room? I ask because the zip ups are not meant to be wallpaper at the back, a large hoarding should provide the backdrop and the zip ups should be strategic placed at the sides to provide information and create depth.

This is not a major party launch but a small SME discussing the benefits of water coolers and rebranding of workwear in the 21st century.

Is this a deliberate attempt to destroy Kezia by labour apparatchiks, I get not wanting to look to shiny, but at least look electable, unless your are standing for local dog warden!

83. Andrew

Perfect timing.
    Now we can get wall to wall BBC Distorting Scotland coverage of the Labour Party in Scotland without any need to evaluate the policies until after the election.

84. Macart

@Nana

You’re not wrong.

Unpleasant job, but necessary, is probably the best way to look at next weeks ballot.

85. DerekM

Aye it must hurt Macart especially when you consider that probably at least half (and i am being generous with that)was us watching.

But now we will have to put up with all their tame hacks talking piss and deflecting from what was a total embarrasment of a manifesto launch as they big it up.

Yep bring on the blue tories the red ones are dead good job Scotland 🙂

86. Grouse Beater

There’s a lot of understandable ridicule here. I sense it issues from a profound discomfort on seeing the goons marshalling their troops to convince the electorate a majority government is not good for Scotland.

The slop in the Manifesto is a pick pocket’s diversion.

There have been a number of instances recently where the British establishment is making clear it will undermine the current voting system to ensure any political party advocating self-determination cannot attain a majority.

In making noises of authoritarian rule they acknowledge Scotland has altered, and time is running out to stop the march of people empowerment.

BBC will ensure they are there to report the British side of the argument.

87. Free Scotland

This from Kezia’s twitter feed about 50 minutes ago:

KD: As many as 1in4 voters are undecided. I want to speak today directly to them as you make up their minds on how to use both their votes.

Yeah, that’s what I call speaking directly to voters – getting people to make up other people’s minds.

Donkey Dugdale.

88. Nana

@Macart

I’m not in the least bit sorry for any of them, brought about their own demise standing shoulder to shoulder with the tories, and some of the most unpleasant people including lying two faced hypocrites in the media

https://twitter.com/PoliticsScot/status/725282143358881793

89. Andrew McLean

Kezia, we will stop welfare cuts completely? is that the welfare cuts that only 48 Labour MP,s voted against out of 232? with many stating they supported aspects of the cuts?

Labour when you need us were not there!

90. AdamH

12.30 NO sign of a manifesto on the website. Perhaps they’ll release another version tomorrow.

91. Luigi

Sigh. Just received my weekly letter from that strange new party (The League of Extraordinary Buffalo Riders). Number of mentions:

SNP = 21
    Labour = 9
    Conservative = 2 (in very small print)

No mention at all for the LibDems. Poor Willie will be feeling rather left out. 🙁

92. heedtracker

Hard core tory yoons like 2016 SLabour socialism very MUCH.

Scottish democracy has turned UKOK toryboy’s upside down, in England Corbyn Labour boo hiss, in Scotland Labour hip hip hurrah.

Magnus Gardham ?@GardhamHT 1h1 hour ago
    Kezia Dugdale – manifesto offers ‘more possibility for change than ever before’. Labour ‘at boldest and best’

93. galamcennalath

AdamH says:

“NO sign of a manifesto on the website.”

A 20thC party struggling as the world around them moves further away from them.

94. Ken500

SNP has done it already.

95. Macart

@Nana

Yes, I believe that is the case with that publisher.

Neither the politicos nor their ideological followers quite grasp as yet just why people are rejecting them, do they?

People are done with being manipulated and lied to. They don’t want it to be , ‘just politics’ anymore. Its not, its naked manipulation of society which creates far more naked grievance than independence as an issue ever could. Turning one demographic against another in pursuit of party power, misrepresenting opposition, the law, policy, ANYTHING. We’re simply sick of it all and those who feel it is acceptable practice.

I’m tired of manufactured hatred seeded in our society by politicians and their hangers on. The only way it is stemmed, is by a root and branch removal of the system which breeds the behaviour.

96. heedtracker

Magnus Gardham ?@GardhamHT 2h2 hours ago
    From Lab manifesto. I foresee a big row about this in a fortnight’s time…

Labour sucking on one party Scotland region must be stopped stuff, is very creepy

“We need to return to the democratic, pluralist principles of the the early parliament.”

Trolling Scotland with their manifesto’s probably not new though. How come SLab domination of Scotland for 70+ years didnt bother them, is stating SLab obvious again time.

97. Richard Taylor

How is a Scottish Labour Government in Holyrood going to ‘scrap the Bedroom Tax’? They could do that if they were the UK Government, but they aren’t, and won’t be for most of the duration of this Scottish Parliament.

98. galamcennalath

heedtracker says:

“… creepy … SLab domination of Scotland for 70+ years didnt bother them”

Or, the way in which any party with an overall majority at WM is given almost unbridled power, having achieved that with 35-45% of votes.

Overall (undemocratic) majority at WM good.
    Overall majority at Holyrood bad.

Their hypocrisy knows no bounds.

99. Nana

@Macart

Exactly. Twisting and turning people to their own ends has always been the way of the haters. Sadly some folks are unable to see how they are being manipulated or perhaps they do and are happy to comply.

100. heedtracker

Overall (undemocratic) majority at WM good.
    Overall majority at Holyrood bad.

Their hypocrisy knows no bounds.

We’re meant to call it “reform” now. Like when that nice ERS crew entered their Scotland region election with all kinds of why not to vote SNP twice advice.

So one the one tory UKOK hand

Tom Gordon ?@HTScotPol 13h13 hours ago
    PM believes SNP will not call second independence poll and Scotland will “settle down,” says Unionist campaign

And on other

Kenny Farquharson ?@KennyFarq 5h5 hours ago
    / My thanks goes to Reform Scotland’s @ali_payne for her analysis of each party’s tax plans, exclusive to @thetimes.

Hard core tory BBC led media savage any “reform” as they pile in behind Dugdale SLabour socialism, as English “reformers” get stuck in to reforming everything, in their Scotland region, what they’re rapidly losing control to of, to Scottish voters.

That other Reform crew boosted by Murdoch henchman up there is

“Reform Scotland, established in 2008, is an Edinburgh-based think tank, a sister organisation to the London-based right-wing, free market think tank Reform.”

Wiki.

101. heedtracker

Hard core tory BBC led media savage any “reform” as they pile in behind Dugdale SLabour socialism. Meanwhile same English toryboy “reformers” get stuck in to reforming everything in their Scotland region, that they’re rapidly losing control of, to Scottish voters.

oops

102. Mick DIAMOND

Id love to come back to scotland, but only in an indy scenario. The very thought of those liebor shysters being in power in holyrood gives me the heeby jeebies.

103. Billy McLaren

And to think this woman pitches herself as First Minister, heaven help us if that ever could happen.

104. Mick DIAMOND

Great post macart 12.49pm.

105. Mick DIAMOND

Lenny hartley 11.01am. Re ni, a very nice people. But talk about brainwashed. They offered their husbands and sons up as cannon fodder to be butchered on the somme and ypres, for their yoonyin. But over a 100 yrs later their brain cells have regressed. Sadly i believe they would still do the same.

106. Iain More

I think the fact that the Yoon Burd is going to be interviewing Ruthless on the Yoon Show this evening says it all about the BBC manifesto launch. I think I will avoid that.

Here’s another section:

Priceless!

107. Fred

“God willin & the crick don’t rise! Amen.

108. shiregirl

Social care packages within a week, eh?

The issue here is there isn’t enough carers to form a care package. Why not? Because we pay our social carers a shockingly low rate of pay, don’t pay them for time taken to travel between visits and we don’t pay them mileage. Not a great career choice for the most.

Till this is addressed, those requiring more complex social care packages will remain in beds inappropriate to their needs and ‘blocking’ it so someone else can’t use it and costing the NHS more in the long run.

The guaranteed appointment with a GP will not be with a GP – guaranteed. You will be triaged by the Practice Nurse and then seen if urgent, by the Advanced Nurse Practitioner. If you can wait till next week, you can see a GP.

Do Labour just not realise this? Who the hell is advising them on Social, Health and Care?

109. John

Let’s see if Good Morning Scotland cover it tomorrow morning .They managed to completely ignore the SNP manifesto when it came , out as did the rest of the BBC .

110. Hugh Kirk

Well I’m one who is not disappointed. I was expecting drivel and that’s what they delivered pure, fully up their own arse drivel.

111. Peter Clive

SLab are caught in a trap of their own making:
    http://moflomojo.blogspot.com/2016/04/its-trap.html

112. Ian Murray

How will Labour scrap the bedroom tax?
    Isn’t the bedroom tax imposed by Westminster?

113. Robert Peffers

@Legerwood says: 27 April, 2016 at 10:01 am:

“According to the Herald today Labour are going to have a breakfast club in every primary school.”

Assuming there are any primary schools left occupied after they sort out who gets to go to school in the only ones not jerry built under PPI/PPP finance schemes when London Labour were last in power in their Scottish region.

114. otherdemons

I’m away next week, applied for a postal vote and got my ballot papers yesterday.
    Most parties have opted to add a second line for the regional vote (List of registered parties and independent candidates – separate from the ballots).
    The SNP’s is ‘Nicola Sturgeon for First Minister’. The “Scottish Labour Party”‘s is “Choose kids, not cuts”. It gave me a chuckle. Especially when the first name underneath is that of Anas Hereditary Sarwar.

You’d think that would be a gift for the likes of the Green party, RISE, and Solidarity (yes, Tommy Sheridan is seeking to be elected!), and more effective than targeting the SNP 2nd votes…
    (says she who voted Green on list anyway)

115. Ian Mackay

“Hello here. Hello there.”

So that’s “Hello Hello” then?

Are they surreptitiously going after the unreconstructed Rangers fans’ Unionist votes?

I think we should be told.

116. ronnie anderson

From the wilds of Glencoe ,to ah person you,s all know,AM no yer comrade.

NOO SHOVE IT

am ah the 1st PCybernat , intermittant wifi dont have time to read all the posts.

Clachaig Glencoe.

117. Fred

@ Ronnie, The Clachaig must be like the Arctic the day kid!

118. Grendel

Got a mailshot in from Labour candidate Richard Leonard. In it he reiterates the manifesto pledge to oppose another referendum.

If you are so opposed to independence you are NEVER going to appeal any Yes voter, no matter how many SNP policies you steal.

119. Grendel

Surely there must be a change in electoral rules somewhere down the line to prevent Labours actions in waiting until all other parties have published their manifesto before they published theirs. I would suggest that all parties are given a deadline which is well in advance of the date on which postal voting opens, and their manifesto’s must be published no later than that date. No manifesto, no place on the ballot.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.