In sickness and in health

Posted on September 12, 2014 by

We couldn’t help but notice Labour peer, Stalin-moustache enthusiast and celebrity Bobby Ball lookalike Lord/Baron Robert Winston standing at the front of the party’s boorish stag-party gathering of MPs and MSPs in Glasgow yesterday, as Ed Miliband railed against the dastardly SNP and insisted that the NHS wasn’t under threat.

(We didn’t see Andy Burnham among the MPs in the footage, so we assume he was still down in London telling anyone who’ll listen that the NHS is under threat.)

winston

And we couldn’t help wondering whether the peer’s presence was a tacit endorsement by Miliband of his proposal to charge people £120 a year to visit their GP.

There have been claims in parts of the Yes camp that Lord Winston actually wants to charge people £200 for a single GP visit, on the basis of this story in the Daily Mail. However, in the interests of fairness (and as people with experience of being lied about by the Mail) we must note that he sort-of denied the claim on his Twitter account:

winstonnhs

Now, the comment above isn’t exactly a full-on rebuttal, and Lord Winston wouldn’t be drawn to clarify his position despite several users of the social-media service asking him to. But we dug a little further, and found that while he indeed has never called for a £200-per-visit charge, the truth is barely any less disturbing.

In a 2011 interview with the more sympathetic left-leaning New Statesman, the source of the £200 figure cited by the Mail became clear:

How should the NHS be funded?

Perhaps we should be getting some people to pay for parts of it. When I ran an NHS clinic, I would have at least 20 per cent no-shows. Each of those cost the NHS £200.”

Saying something costs £200 is, of course, NOT the same as saying people should be made to pay £200 for it. Quite apart from anything else, such a scheme would inescapably shatter the core founding principle of the NHS – which is that the service should be free at the point of use – and be politically toxic.

It would also act as a huge disincentive to the poor (and indeed the not-so-poor) to seek treatment, and we’re sure that Lord Winston wouldn’t wish to create a situation where the vulnerable found themselves unable to seek treatment. The average person visits their GP somewhere in the region of six times a year, which would mean an alarming bill of £1200, or more than twice that for the elderly.

(It would of course also result in INCREASED costs to the NHS, as easily curable minor ailments escalated through neglect until the person needed much more serious and expensive treatment.)

But the NS didn’t press him for clarity on the statement that “some people” should pay for “parts of” the NHS, so we had to look elsewhere. And we found the answer in an article in The Sun from just last month (5th August 2014, to be precise).

It repeated the Mail’s error of claiming that he wanted a £200 charge for a GP visit, but then – seemingly by accident – revealed what Lord Winston actually DID want:

“Lord Winston follows renowned former Labour health minister Lord Warner, who this year called for everyone to pay a £10 a month “membership fee” to use the NHS in a bid to stop it going bankrupt.

The peer said: ‘It’s not such a stupid idea. Firstly, people don’t value what they don’t have to pay for. Secondly, to make it realistic the fee would have to be much more than is normally suggested.

The actual value of a hospital appointment is about £200. This is for the time of the consultant and the investigations or tests that might be done. So paying £10 or £20 is really not an effective way of dealing with that deficit.’

The IVF pioneer added: “I suggested that to Tony Blair. He said, ‘do you know what? That’s a great idea, but you could never do it as the party would never agree to it’.”

Speaking to The Sun, Lord Winston added: ‘I would like to see proposals for this, but we must also be assured that poorer people are not left out of pocket.'”

If you actually read that properly, what Winston is calling for is not a £200 charge but a £10 NHS “membership fee” as proposed by Lord Warner. That would protect the principle of the NHS being free at the point of use, while still actually charging people for it. And sure enough, Labour is reported to be actively considering a similar plan, with many voices in the party and the Labour-friendly media backing it.

Of course, if the 1p-on-National-Insurance model were to be adopted, that would apply to people in Scotland too. The same would presumably apply to a specific healthcare tax, unless that tax were to be devolved to Holyrood, which seems unlikely. We can’t be sure, because Labour characteristically refuses to discuss the matter in public, but none of the reporting to date suggests that the party has thought to consider the implications for Scotland and its completely independent NHS.

Under such a plan, the NHS would no longer be a universal public service – it would have to become means-tested if Winston’s desire that “poorer people are not left out of pocket” was to be honoured, and that would inevitably mean that some would suffer and ultimately die due to the stigma associated with claiming means-tested benefits.

(A stigma which has, horrifically, seen over 200,000 people physically assaulted in the past year for being welfare recipients as the government and right-wing media continue a decades-long programme of demonisation.)

All of this fits neatly into current Labour ideology, in which welfare is openly scorned as “something for nothing”, a begrudging charity to the feckless. Perhaps the ill poor would, as with unemployment benefits, be made to work in return for their treatment.

So as Lord Winston stood alongside Ed Miliband yesterday telling Scots that they had nothing to worry about and the NHS was safe in the United Kingdom, it appears very much as though he was leaving out rather a lot of quite important small print. Readers must decide for themselves whether they wish to gamble on waiting until after the referendum before they find out what sort of future NHS they’re voting for.

1. 02 12 14 01:28

Where Are Your Heroes Now? | A Wilderness of Peace

350 to “In sickness and in health”

1. heraldnomore

And there is already an additional 2p on NIC ring-fenced for NHS, and without upper limit

2. Brian Powell

It did occur to me that one of the reasons the Together politicians have become so furious about the Scottish NHS becoming an issue in the referendum, is not because they really believe it is safe but because it could be worth sacrificing.

The danger to SNHS is likely to sway many people in the vote.

A Yes vote would cut off Westminster from further centuries of access to the sea; fishing, mineral rights, shipping rights, the land; agriculture, sport, tourism, minerals, and the people, workers, education, ideas, army and forces recruits.

All of that could be worth the lose of part or most of the SNHS to private companies.

3. gillie

A new low for the Better Together campaign. Workers for McAlpine Plumbing, based in Hillington face sack if they vote No.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/glasgow-firm-tells-workers-vote-no-to-protect-your-jobs.1410522980

4. Sinky

Don’t expect BBC or supine Scottish press headlines for Labour’s endorsement for NHS charging.

Just as they didn’t report the UK Treasury took the EU to court, at taxpayers expense, to prevent a cap on Bankers bonuses of only twice their annual salary or that it was confirmed that Westminster MPs are getting 10% pay rise at a time when other public sector employees such as nurses are limited to one per cent.

BBC and some of the press claim to be fair but its what they don’t report such as Galloway’s outrageous remarks as the Better Together spokesperson on TV yet try to distance themselves from Nigel Farage and the Orange Order.

5. Doug Daniel

It’s bizarre the lengths folk will go to in order to avoid suggesting the obvious: raise taxes. After all, that’s effectively what this would be, a stealth tax.

Of course, what would happen here is rich folk and those with private health plans would say “well I’m not paying an NHS membership fee, I have my own health care arrangements.” Then the NHS becomes poorly funded and goes downhill.

No, this idea could only stand a chance of working if you banned private health care – and I think we all know THAT won’t happen.

6. heraldnomore

So how do McAlpine Plumbing expect to find out just exactly how their workforce voted? Or is that more of the dark arts of this great country of ours?

7. Chic McGregor

Common Rev. He’s a Mario lookalike surely?

8. gerry parker

Is that the Baroness Liddell just to his lower left hand side?

I wonder if she’ll try and visit Coatdyke while she’s up.
    Definitely saw Tom Clarke almost directly behind his head to his right on the Video version.

Aye, they’re coming out of the woodwork right enough.

9. muttley79

@gillie

Do you mean they face the sack for voting Yes?

10. Greannach

Yes, it looks like a mini-version of Baroness Lidl between Miliband’s and Flipper’s shoulders. Either that, or someone has photoshopped her into that weird position. They must have raked in a bucket-load of expenses on their awayday trip.

11. Chic McGregor

Actually that photie looks like a fake tan competition, or is that a trick of the settings.

12. MajorBloodnok

Rev – I watched a bit of Newsnight last night (with Wark adopting a sort of wry smirk as a way of inject a bit of balance, at least at the start) and Andy Burnham was being interviewed on the train with the other Labour MPs, so I assume he was there, unless he sneaked off at Birmingham or somewhere.

13. Illy

“A Yes vote would cut off Westminster from further centuries of access to the sea; fishing, mineral rights, shipping rights, the land; agriculture, sport, tourism, minerals, and the people, workers, education, ideas, army and forces recruits.

All of that could be worth the lose of part or most of the SNHS to private companies.”

You’re missing something critical:

If they sell off the NHS to private companies, they *aren’t* losing it, because the MPs and Lords who organise the sell-off are the same people who own the private companies that it’s being sold to.

So if there is a No vote, then not only do they get to keep spending Scotland’s money on London, but they also get to make massive *personal* profits at the cost of the public health.

14. T222Deracha

Sorry O/T but in light of the hate feast from some business leaders, Labour should seriously consider who their partners in Better Together really are. Alex Salmond should be reminding the Scottish Electorate who it is that is spreading all the “leaving Scotland propaganda”!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/letters/8069609/Osbornes-cuts-will-strengthen-Britains-economy-by-allowing-the-private-sector-to-generate-more-jobs.html

Lots of familiar names signed this letter back in 2010.

15. Roberto Esquierdo

Why does nobody ask the leading no campaign how much they would personally lose financially if Scotland votes yes.

16. Sinky

O / Fresh warning of plague and locusts coming along this weekend with B&Q saying prices will go up in Scotland after independence.

Fact is that prices will go up if we remain in UK. Not least energy prices due to the UK’s deal with China to build new nuclear power station with a guaranteed price of double the current market price.

This is something of an understatement. The UK has run a deficit on its trade in goods every single year since 1983.

Ruk have imported many more goods than RuK has exported every year for three decades. Including services and overseas earnings (the “current account”), the UK has run a deficit since the mid-1990s. Today, that deficit is close to record levels, at 4.4% of GDP.

UK has an economy that has been extremely effective at covering for its deficit by borrowing from the rest of the world. Today, the UK holds the world’s second-largest external debt, behind only the US. The UK, collectively, owes 406% of its GDP to its overseas creditors.

17. Sandy

I see the wee numpty who runs the WOS twitter feed is having a go at Scottish rugby players who support no and claiming they therefore don’t believe Scotland is a nation.

David Sole and the rest of the players from 1990 have done far more in one day for Scotland’s status as a nation, national pride and the promotion of Scotland across the world, than the wee numpty has done in his entire life.

And far more than Salmond too for that matter, or anyone from the yes campaign.

Sole and the other players unified the whole of Scotland behind their team and created an outpouring of national pride and celebration – Salmond and the SNP followers have ripped Scotland apart, divided families and communities, and created an outpouring of hatred, bile and abuse.

18. scunnered

look at them..like a scene from the muppet show..waldorf n statler with the muppet master in the middle pulling the strings..makes me sick…there lies will come back to haunt them no matter what the result

19. tartanfever

Rev, when you mention means testing so that ‘the poor aren’t left out of pocket’, that in itself will cost money to set up.

It’s most probable that a large chunk of the funds collected through NHS membership would then be spent on administrating means testing and not on patient care.

20. gillie

You can buy one of those dodgy mustaches from Amazon.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pams-Mexican-Bandits-Moustache-Black/dp/B000WNKT5Q

Cheaper than a visit to your GP at £1.50

21. tartanfever

Sandy, time for your afternoon nap lad, close the door on your way out.

22. Joe

ot , interesting article in Canberra times ,re the referendum and media bias , world media starting to catch on, this could almost be written by WOS , good to see that some journos can do the job. A few more internationals putting pieces like this out would be good , might make them think before lying to much , but I dount it , lies are so fundamental to the no campaign they cant change now.

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/comment/scotland-must-brave-independence-20140911-10fbir.html

23. The Rough Bounds

Just had an email from Holly Hynd, Executive Assistant of the Scottish Building Society, confirming that they have no plans to move their HQ out of Scotland.

So guess who is going to be moving his money out of what used to be the Dunfermline Building Society (and is now the ‘Nationwide’ Building Society) and transferring it into the Scottish Building Society. Me!

And their rates are excellent.

24. Fairliered

If Scotland votes not to be an independent nation, why should it have a separate rugby team?

25. muttley79

@Sandy

The rugby team of 1990 were great. However, they do not want Scotland to run its own affairs, like any other nation. That is the long and short of it.

26. Dal Riata

Hi Sandy! Wrong department. Anger Control Management can be found at the Telegraph. Good luck, and toodle pip!

27. Jack Murphy

gerry parker at 1:48pm—-Yes,that is the Labour Peer,Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke in the photo.
    Haven’t seen or heard anything from her for ages.

28. muttley79

@Sandy

We get it, unionists and Brit nats think playing for Scotland at rugby and football is more important than the nation running its own affairs.

29. fred blogger

if @ least 20% of people don’t turn up, well that would be a norm then!
    which means people are taking money under false pretenses!
    to add this insult to injury they want to charge an attendance fee of what ever they deem this should be, for a service that we already pay for.
    where are the howls of “we must end the draining burden of PFI’s,” tied round the neck of the NHS to weigh it down in exorbitant interest charges.
    http://diaryofabenefitscrounger.blogspot.co.uk/

30. dcomerf

£200p.a. * 55m people in England = £11bn p.a. of revenue from a charge which allows government funding to NHS England to be cut by £11bn p.a. Health spending has Barnett Consequentials. Assume ~ 10% to Scotland i.e. this £11bn cut in spending means a £1.1bn cut in block grant.

31. Lesley-Anne

That’s a great photo Stu but I have to say Newsnet have a slightly better one. You’ll see what I mean when you look at it cause not only is Milliband standing next to Lord Winston but on the right hand side of this Lord is non other than the greatest leader of our time, the one, the only Herald debater of the year, Johann Lamont! 😛

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/9729-miliband-slammed-for-standing-shoulder-to-shoulder-with-peer-who-wants-to-charge-sick-p200-to-see-gp

If you actually read that properly, what Winston is calling for is not a £200 charge but a £10 NHS “membership fee” as proposed by Lord Warner. That would protect the principle of the NHS being free at the point of use, while still actually charging people for it.

I think I get the jist of what you’re saying here Stu but sitting here with my “village idiot crown” on the fact that they are talking about us paying £10 a month kind of negates this free at the point of use idea doesn’t it? I mean we are paying £10 a month so therefore it is not free it is costing me £10 a month to cover whatever visit(s) I may make to the docs.

This wasn’t meant to get your blood pressure up Stu it’s just my warped way of looking at stuff. 😉

32. scunnered

1 of the Scotland rugby greats john Jeffrey was asked once that if he hates England so much why does he live so close to the border…his reply was…it takes a strong man to defend the border…its in the book called the grudge

33. MickyD

New poll in guardian 51 no 49 yes given margin off error yes could still be leading , BT only crapping themselves i reckon cos the gap is wider more like yes 55 plus and no around 45

34. The Rough Bounds

@Sandy

In what Universe did the Scottish Rugby players give us free University education, free eye tests, a huge increase in the money going into catatact operations, and the opportunity to vote for our country’s freedom etc, etc?

‘Pon my Sole…they never did and they never will.

35. Vince

Sandy – Alex Salmond and the SNP and many others have now brought Scotland in to the eyes of the watching world showing that many Scots people still have a get up and go and pride about them which could make Scotland a beacon of light amongst first world economies. Only through the myopic eye of a rugby fan ( no offence to rugby and sports lovers as I am one myself ) could it be seen that a rugby teams success on one day never mind over many years could be seen to have done so much good for this country.

36. gordoz

People of Scotland – Bow down !!

Remember your Imperial Masters are returning on Monday for a 2nd visit. What a laugh !!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMXuEmqAHA

37. Roland Smith

Have a listen to this if you have not received it before.
    BBC interview which will not be given much coverage I believe.

m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=YkZmxWX-JtE

38. Lesley-Anne

Oh dearie me our wee pet grumpy Troll seems to have got out of his bed on the wrong side of the bed AND forgotten to take his meds to boot! 😛

Meanwhile back in the REAL world folks it appears our favourite taxi driver is off on one again! 😀

http://tinyurl.com/nwu3jal

39. fittie

Dover Sole and his rugger hearties are the tory party in shorts —-perhaps Ruth—

40. Chris Silver

this was a livestream at the CCA about economics http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/events/3380389

Worth watching to get all or most myths busted

41. fittie

Strange “patriot”as Sole describes himself ,who doesn`t want his nation to be politically independent .

42. Simon Chadwick

So if I refuse on principle to pay the £10 a month NHS fee, like I refuse to pay the TV license, what happens then? Will I get harassed by the NHS’s corporate enforcers asking me why I haven’t paid?

I don’t use a TV, so not paying the TV license doesn’t have any consequentials really. I don’t as a rule visit the doctor, but sometimes it’s not “optional” like TV watching is. What happesn when I suffer a serious injury, or catch a dangerous disease? Will I be turned away from the local surgery? Will I be on a “do not offer treatment” blacklist? If I am in a train crash and the ambulances arrive to take away the injured will they leave me lying beside the tracks to die? Will they slap a sticker on me, like the bin men do when your wheelie bin has the wrong rubbish in it?

I’m sure our Imperial masters have worked all these details out and that there is no need to worry because their personal wealth will not be harmed by any of these proposals.

43. Ken MacColl

It is deplorable that Baroness Liddell should be criticised for trotting around behind Milliband.Fair does! If she was in Glasgow she was depriving herself of her HOL daily attendance allowance and the grateful nation of the expertise she gained from governing Australia.
    Could the 100 Labour MPs claim expenses for visiting us?

44. liz

@The Rough Bounds – I don’t know if you are aware of the despicable selling off of the then Dunferlmine BS to Nationwide which GB did over a holiday weekend despite protest from AS, and even wee Wullie.

http://www.theguardian.com/business/2009/mar/30/dunfermline-building-society-buyer

”Jim Faulds- the chairman – said that if the £26m write-down in its commercial property investments was put to one side, the society was due to make a modest profit this year and it was still a healthy, viable business. Instead, the society’s 550 staff were now “worried sick” because of this “needless” decision to break the business up”.

That’s before the guardian went all establishment on us.

45. P.R.D.

Better Together politics of fear memo –

People on workfare will be sacked if they vote YES.

46. bookie from hell

PM phoned British Telecom to come out against independence

must be desperate

47. steveasaneilean

O/T some credit due to Robert Peston?

“Analysis: Robert Peston, BBC business editor

Some of the fuss and furore about whether prices in an independent Scotland would be higher than in the rest of the UK is bonkers.

When retailers – food and non food – say they might have to push up their prices if Scotland were to introduce higher taxes or rates or if it were to change employment and planning laws, this is simply to remind Scots why they are voting for or against independence.

The whole point of Scotland becoming a separate nation, for its proponents, is to give Scots the ability to make different choices about the nature of the society they inhabit from what prevails in the rest of the UK.

Inevitably those choices would have an impact on businesses. And frequently they would have an impact on the level of prices.

So talking about the emergence of inevitable price differentials between Scotland and an independent UK is to say something stunningly obvious and uninteresting.

For example we don’t expect prices to be the same in UK and France, because the UK and France make different choices about the structure of their respective economies, and these choices have an impact on the productivity and pricing policies of their respective businesses”.

48. Greannach

I wish I could trot around various countries on expenses and get my picture taken with Johann Lamont, Jackie Baillie, Baroness Lidl and other world-class political thinkers.

49. Murray McCallum

I find the NHS “not being under any threat” story possibly the most ridiculous position from better together no thanks.

Anyone in Scotland who thinks that must not watch/read the British/English news or have access to the internet. Alternatively, they may have their head stuck somewhere and be in a state of denial.

I may have answered that question.

50. P.R.D.

Would small to medium sized businesses in Scotland really want the extra financial burden of factoring in the cost of their employees private health insurance.

51. JET JOCKEY

Three Private Helicopters just landed at Aberdeen is that DC EM and NC up to make sure the oil is running out perhaps they don’t believe the scaremongers.

52. Christian Schmidt

Sighh, I already pay a membership fee, it’s called National Insurance (or part of it).

And there is already a model that makes sure that ‘poorer people are not left out of pocket’, it’s called the minimum NI threshold.

So all Prof Winston is proposing that the NHS membership should be more like a poll tax – Prince Charles paying the same as his servants.

53. Dal Riata

That bastion of all that is good about UK journalism, the (Scottish) Daily Mail, is so full of anger, lies, scare- and fear-mongering the nearer we get to the 18th that it should come with a health-warning – ‘Beware! This newspaper may self-combust at any moment!’

Today’s edition has nine full pages of vote No right-wing, British Establishment madness. It truly is a sight to behold.

Headlines include: “Families face cost of living crisis if UK splits”, “Vote Yes and get economic crisis”, “How Salmond ‘lost the plot’ in front of the world’s media” (LOL!), “Seperate Scotland may miss out on Olympics”, “Savings stampede”, “Bruiser Brown promises to take fight to Holyrood as he goes to war for NHS” (LOL!), “”Republicans will howl, but if the Queen doesn’t speak out, she may have no United Kingdom to reign over” by Stephen Glover” (ROFL!)…

This has to get its own line, though: “North Korea boost for SNP as Kim Jong-Un backs split”… You heard it here first, folks!

The dirtiest one, though, is: “A vote that could fan the flames of global division”, which goes on to say Scottish independence would be a fillip for “seperatists” in other countries. Example: “[Ukraine] Alex Salmond praised Mr. Putin for restoring Russian pride in an interview with GQ magazine earlier this year. Seperatists in Ukraine, agitating for closer ties with the Kremlin, have attempted to repay the favour by backing Alex Salmond”…

Nice, eh. Can’t you just feeeeel the luuuurve…!

That’s the kind of organisations and their representatives they say we in Scotland are better together with…..

Vote Yes for the return of democracy and civility and the end of hatred.

54. geeo

Bit O/T and apologies to all, but i have only had a 5 min look around the media online and it seems there has indeed been a cataclysm, no banks, no businesses, anything left in the barren north will be too expensive for plebs, no medical treatment, nada nil zilch !

The question is NOT do i want to live in a Scotland like that, the question is, if we vote No, do i want to live in a country that ALLOWED and actively ENCOURAGED these things to happen ?

I know MY answer to that.
    YES VOTE FOR Scotland to be free of these hypocritical liars.
    If they want to leave the profits of the Scottish markets, to hell with them.

On a side note i see Ian Paisley has died, now that is some timing just before a OO “peaceful” No march !!!!!

55. norrie

Sandy

Played against all of them and with some of them. Great rugby players. Most went to public school or Merchant schools were born into the empire mind set. Had they been born a hundred years ago they would have been out there managing the empire.They are entitled to thier opinion as is everyone but playing rugby for your country only means you are good at rugby.

56. Kevin Evans

bookie from hell says:
    12 September, 2014 at 2:37 pm
    PM phoned British Telecom to come out against independence

must be desperate

How long was he on hold for?

57. heedtracker

Imagine losing your job then getting sick with no money to pay for the Doctor. It’s as if England’s phoney left are determined to go back to the Victorian era.

An old fool in a hat ranted at Scots teens last night how Labour had built the NHS after WW2, what the BetterTogether UK won too he shouted. The money must be there, they just have other priorities.

http://www.navytimes.com/article/20140905/NEWS08/309050041/British-prime-minister-U-K-will-operate-2-aircraft-carriers

58. G H Graham

FYI

Financial Times has removed its pay/firewall for copy related to independence …

http://www.ft.com/world/uk/scottish-independence

59. Gary

Isn’t ‘National Insurance’ the ‘membership scheme’ we all pay into?

60. faolie

O/T, new telephone poll from ICM shows dramatic surge in Yes vote to 49%.

See Mr Kelly’s Scot goes pop.

61. Cassandra Lee

I think the fact that BUPA have endorsed No Better Thanks tells you all you need to know about just exactly how safe the NHS is if we vote no.

62. CalumCarr

Interesting article highlighted by Ian Fraser re banks.

Headline is ‘Ignore the scaremongers – banks will not be leaving Scotland if the Yes vote wins

Read here – http://www.theconversation.com/ignore-the-scaremongers-banks-will-not-be-leaving-scotland-if-the-yes-vote-wins-3164

63. G H Graham

A short, excellent expose of BBC bias when reporting about supermarket prices and jobs in an independent Scotland

http://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152680983290396

64. heedtracker

Crash Gordon bought the 2 new aircraft carriers but only wanted to commission the one. Cameron’s decided England actually needs 2 now and announced

“On the eve of the summit, Cameron announced a £3.5 billion deal with General Dynamics UK to build a new generation of specialist armored vehicles for the British Army.”

Specialist armoured cars sound great and what’s a couple of hundred quid to get treatment for your bunions granny? Crash also wanted to spend over £12 bn on ID cards for everyone in teamGB which was stark staring insanity and they have no money left either. Crash probably is insane but look at how Labour wants to squander billions.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2006/aug/06/idcards.immigrationpolicy

65. desimond

I thought he was wanting to charge £200 for any no-show to encourage people to make their appointments. Same principle may already be in place at the Dentist ( why do we have plethora of private dentists btw? – didnt they want to be in NHS?)

Labour…it must be sad standing on that deck waiting for the boat to finally sink. Theres a Downfall bunker video waiting to happen this weekend thats for sure!

66. desimond

Off Topic but drunbken tweet of the week must go to Murdo Fraser last night.
    Took great delight in regaling a chat with a No voter who was calling Alex Salmond a “F****** C**T”

Deary me. That Waitrose wine must be going right cheap these days.

67. Lesley-Anne

Sorry for going O/T but it appears that the BBC BIG lie machine continues on unabated. 😛

https://twitter.com/cr4igduncan/status/510407262347988992/photo/1

68. joe kane

Fantasy Bob, along with many of the Whitehall medical-welfare mandarin British elite, have been using claims of abuse for quite some time now to silence patients and disabled people who are complaining about their abusive treatment and neglect at the hands of his beloved mandarin establishment.

Atos medical ethics are just a harbinger of what is still to come for anyone who dares suffer periods of ill health and disability or whom, unfortunately, fall into such a state of affairs on a permanent basis.

69. bookie from hell

desimond says:

12 September, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Off Topic but drunbken tweet of the week must go to Murdo Fraser last night.
    Took great delight in regaling a chat with a No voter who was calling Alex Salmond a “F****** C**T”

bfh—federalist small talk

70. JWil

It seems like an awful long time since Brian’s Blog was regularly closed off for comments when it suited BBC Scotland.

At the same time, every other BBC blog on the BBC was open for comments.

BBC Scotland’s excuse was that editorial matters were decided locally.

We have come a long road in this independence debate and I have the impression these days that Brian seems somewhat subdued in his presentations. I often wonder if he is struggling with his conscience about the spreading of lies and misinformation. He was always ready to tell us again and again that his Alma Mater was St Andrews University, as if that imbued and guaranteed moral certainty in it’s luminaries.

If that is what he thinks then he has let the University down badly by his collusion with the BBC.

71. MajorBloodnok

@muttley79

O/T Correction to campaigning activities previously stated – the Major will be at Cameron Toll (one or other of the entrances) from 1030-1230 Saturday (tomorrow) with some of the AyeMarchmont crew.

72. Juteman

The campaign had me worried when the lovebombing started. Now the No side are back to shock and awe, i’m quietly confident.

73. liz

O/T but there is a despicable article by Fraser Nelson in The Spectator.

http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/coffeehouse/2014/09/how-scotlands-yes-side-mastered-the-art-of-mob-politics-2/

Trying to portray Yes supporters as a mob.

This is being seen in a number of MSM articles which is why I would urge everyone to be very careful re OO and BBC protest.

They are looking for something to happen to discredit all of us.

74. JWil

I note from an earlier comment that the FT has removed its paywall. I was hoping that The Herald would have done the same by now.

75. Andy-B

Surprisingly today, Andrew Neil on the Politics show, gave Alistair Darling a torrid time of it, and at one point Mr Darling, almost succumbed to Andrew Neil’s inquisition style questioning technique.

The line of questioning was aimed specifically on new powers if Scotland said no. Andrew Neil asked several times if Ed Balls had signed off on Scotland’s new powers, and the reply each time from Mr Darling was an incoherent mumble of independence is bad.

Spectating the debacle were two journalists,one from the Telegraph and,one from the Scotsman, who could only look away in dismay, at Alistair Darling’s indecisive replies.

76. desimond

@bookie from hell

I was taken aback. I had actually admired his suggestion ** of a new Scottish Tory party before Ruthie took the leadership but now i just see him as a horrible sad wee bitter man.

** My views on his political suggestion in no way endorse having a Scottish Tory party

77. joe kane

It was Fantasy Bob’s mates in the then Labour Government who invented the unethical and unscientific DWP ESA regime in order to specifically disappear 100,000 sick and disabled people a year from the welfare rolls for 10 years. All the Tories are doing at the present time is speeding that process up.

So it should come as no surprise that, as Labour support trying to put the welfare state beyond the reach of patients with long term medical conditions, so they are trying to put it beyond the reach of patients with short-term medical conditions too.

Reference –
    Welfare reforms at-a-glance
    BBC
    24 Jan 2006

78. heedtracker

That Graun report on Labour ID card plan says

“Brown has set up a taskforce, under former HBOS bank chief executive Sir James Crosby, on identity management, and a broader review of public services, led by Sir David Varney, on optimising use of existing identity information. He is considering a fundamental redesign of the ID project to fight a wider range of crime. He believes that, as private companies acquire biometric security systems, their spread in daily life is inevitable.”

But James Crosby Task force leader also had another job, running HBOS into oblivion

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/10114076/Ex-HBOS-chief-Sir-James-Crosby-formally-stripped-of-knighthood.html

Yet same labour catastrophic incompetents or worse, are currently pumping UKOK Project Fear into every Scottish household

“Mr Crosby was dubbed Gordon Brown’s favourite banker. He was appointed by Mr Brown to the board of the Financial Services Authority in 2003. He is calculated to have received bonuses worth £3.1million between 2001 and 2005, calculated at 2009/10 prices”

“James Crosby’s close relationship with Ed Balls and Ed Miliband’s Labour Party illustrates their failure to regulate the banking system – a failure which led to the taxpayer forking out £20.5 billion to bail out HBOS.”

“Ed Balls has yet to answer the serious questions that I put to him about his role in James Crosby’s government appointments under Labour.”

There still no banking regulation and why would they, there’s always the sucker tax payer.

79. bookie from hell

I remember dateline London about a year ago

frazer nelson was the Scotland expert

he said the union was safe,and Cameron played a blinder keeping devo + off ballot

80. JWil

Scots are installed in every nook and cranny of English business which proves that Scotland has something they want. This alone would be a reason for banks and financial services organizations not moving businesses out of Scotland or for investors moving their money where they would not get as good a deal, merely for revenge motives.

81. heedtracker

BBC say NHS is safe in UKOK hands but now they have a letter to tell you to vote NO

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29169114

82. Misteralz

I’ve just got off the ‘phone to Bupa and I really wish they didn’t exist. Half an hour being passed about various departments checking if I was covered or not for some follow-up physio, then them trying to sell me stuff, then finding out I have to go back to my physio for him to contact them… I’d rather my work paid the value of my health insurance into the NHS and I didn’t have to go through that palaver – I’d be treated no matter what.

83. kendomacaroonbar

O/T 4 days to go for Friends of Wings Over Scotland fundraiser. As always, please support if you can. Thank you 🙂

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/friends-of-wings-over-scotland-2

84. liz

Again O/T sorry but there is a very scary tweet on the Rev’s twitter from a guy saying that he is in Japan and BT came to his mother’s door and asked for his polling card.

I can’t verify if this is true or not but the response to him is report it to the police.

85. Robert Louis

slightly O/T

It’s sunny this weekend so…Take yer granny, take yer dug, take yersel, along to help out the YES campaign. Make history, and be part of that team. Every volunteer helps, no matter how little. Don’t assume ‘others’ will make it happen.

The big push is on. 5 days to go. This is our time. 🙂

Find local events here;

http://events.yesscotland.net/join_an_event

Or via Radical independence campaign

http://radicalindependence.org/events/event/winning-scotland-final-weekend-of-action/

Lots on this weekend. Every single vote counts.

86. Roll_On_2014

Scot Goes Pop:

Yes vote surges to 49% in earth-shaking new TELEPHONE poll from “gold standard” ICM

ICM poll also in The Hootsmon.

I added the Hootsmon because it adds this bit of information: that those voting YES include 42 per cent of people who voted Labour in 2010 voting Yes

1% swing required. Prepare for the soft landing on the other side of the referendum, and as victors get ready to start writing Scotland’s history.

87. FairiefromEarth

If anybody starts anything on Sunday use your phone to tape them, then give the evedence to the police, but dont expect anything to happen about it as it would be a false flag event.

88. Muscleguy

Well I suppose if Stalin’s Granny was there then it would only be fitting if his moustache turned up on a carrier.

89. Lesley-Anne

Oops!

Looks like the idea of BIASED reporting has not reached Eire yet, thankfully. 😉

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10202639837977316

I do wish all those folks with all the power in the world would please STOP making promises to us here in Scotland we all know they will NOT be able to keep. 😛

http://www.pressgazette.co.uk/culture-secretary-warns-scots-vote-leave-uk-and-you-will-lose-bbc

90. James Kay

O/T, an interesting “poll” in the local paper:

http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/news/local-headlines/future-of-the-empire-is-a-matter-of-taste-1-3536044

Initially, in Methil, the best selling biscuits had carried a no, while in Buckhaven it was a yes and in Leven also yes, said Stuart’s.

However, by the start of this week, the Buckhaven and Methil areas were showing a clear yes, while that opinion was also reflected in Kirkcaldy and Glenrothes.

Lundin Links, too, was delivering a yes verdict, along with parts of Leven – but not the High Street, where the most popular response was don’t know.

The only place where no seemed the prevalent response was Kennoway.

91. fred blogger

“Imagine a world in which Australia wasn’t an independent country. Your daily news comes from England, but the London news desk graciously gives you 20 minutes at the end of the bulletin to update you on Australian news. All Australian place names are explained by the presenters in order to disguise British ignorance. Tax revenue from Australian companies is sent to London and then your government is given some money back to spend on local initiatives. While Britain doesn’t have any natural resources, its media – which dominates Australia – tells you that you are “subsidy junkies” for receiving higher spending levels. Any attempt on your part to argue that your country should be independent leads to Crocodile Dundee references, suggestions that you hate British people and a reply that despite Australia’s resources, educated workforce and strong exports, your country could never survive on its own.”
    http://www.canberratimes.com.au/comment/scotland-must-brave-independence-20140911-10fbir.html

92. fred blogger

“Imagine a world in which Australia wasn’t an independent country. Your daily news comes from England, but the London news desk graciously gives you 20 minutes at the end of the bulletin to update you on Australian news. All Australian place names are explained by the presenters in order to disguise British ignorance. Tax revenue from Australian companies is sent to London and then your government is given some money back to spend on local initiatives. While Britain doesn’t have any natural resources, its media – which dominates Australia – tells you that you are “subsidy junkies” for receiving higher spending levels. Any attempt on your part to argue that your country should be independent leads to Crocodile Dundee references, suggestions that you hate British people and a reply that despite Australia’s resources, educated workforce and strong exports, your country could never survive on its own.”

93. alex livingstone

Fraser Nelson was interviewed by the Guardian a few months ago said he would put money on Scotland voting yes and Labour winning the next general election

94. Muscleguy

An enquiring mind wonders how many shares in private healthcare companies and/or directorships/advisory roles are represented in that photograph. Surely that is a form of insider trading? Sorry, for a moment there I thought a consistent rule of law existed in the UK, silly me.

95. Lesley-Anne

Look out Stu, it appears you may be next to be the recipient of the grand order of the begging e-mail. 😛

https://www.facebook.com/SixDegreesToIndependence/photos/a.745337818810474.1073741828.745163012161288/941528845858036/?type=1&theater

96. JWil

There is a letter in the Herald today preaching doom and gloom about Scotland undermining the UKs world status.

Henry Kissinger was interviewed on Newsnight last night, mainly about Middle East matters, but he was also asked about Scottish independence. He said it would be hardly be noticed if England handled it the right way. He was not at all animated about Scotland having its independence.

97. Cyborg-nat

‘The working class can kiss my arse,
    I’ve got the foreman’s job at last so stick yer Red Flag up yer……….”

Never was that more appropriate than for the leeches of the present day calling themselves Labour.

98. heraldnomore

Drove through Clarkston earlier this afternoon. Magnificent display from the local Yes team. Well done guys. Has Mr Murphy been down to chat with his constituents?

99. Harry McAye

O/T This week’s Hamilton Vote No Advertiser has a story, briefly mentioned on the front page and in depth on page 3, of an incident that took place in Larkhall on Tuesday of this week. A group of Yes canvassers were unlucky to encounter a very belligerent pensioner who apparently said he would “shoot the fucking lot of you”. Alarm was caused and the police were called. I don’t buy that rag so unfortunately couldn’t help Rev with a pic but if anyone reading this buys that paper could they forward a pic of the article? A story like this would normally appear the following day in the record, being from the same stable as the Hammy Ad.

Woman in the background on Sky right now in George Square holding a placard “BBC Scotland, impartial my ass” with a donkey cartoon. Brilliant. And Adam Boulton slagging of the Yes supporters, trying to say they are the worst when it comes to intimidation. Don’t know how the Yes guy kept his cool.

100. A.N.Surgent

Slightly O/T
    Just watched the local lifeboat being launched, apparently theres
    a group of wasteminsters mps who are way out of their depth

101. Papadox

BUPA says vote NO, suppose that means the NHS will be privatised in the event of a NO vote. +Andy Burnhams gibbering warnings of the dismantling of the NHS IN Engerland. And Lordy Robert Winston looking after the charging for NHS services. And Darling and Broon up to their armpits in out and out deceit and lies.

THIS IS THE LABOUR PARTY THAT LOOKS AFTER THE POOR AND NHS. GOD HELP US.

YES TO SAVE US FROM OUR “friends” total lies and deceit with malice. Scum. Broadcast by the EBC and friends? Totally corrupt and poisonous system.

102. Calgacus MacAndrews

O/T- Here is yesterday’s hilarious ‘Empire Strikes Back’ in Glasgow as featured on Russian TV:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMcngLWjOrs

Yesterday’s full-length extravaganza (again) here:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMXuEmqAHA

103. Kevin Evans

Interesting lawyer on BBC explaining multiple ways Westminster could prevent a yes vote from getting independence if it’s a close yes.

104. Les Wilson

Guy on BBC news saying, the Edinburgh agreement says the outcome of a YES may not allow Independence. Due to the wording of the agreement which says both countries would work for the best arrangements for Scotland and rUK.

So Westminster could weasel out( my words) and say they will appply the actual wording to a YES vote. Let me remind you they have 60Million or so, to our 5+.
    Said there would be a political firestorm, but they could do it.
    Went on to say, the Union would have to be dissolved and Westminster would not have the power to dissolve it.
    WOW, just WOW, there is no end to their deceit.Go figure!

105. heraldnomore

Harry, I should find the HamAd at granny’s tomorrow; will see what I can do.

Could try the website but that’s just a Daily Retard front these days

106. heedtracker

Press and Journal focusing on the big issues, because they’re so UKOK neutral n shit

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/politics/referendum/342270/dictator-allegedly-backs-independence/

107. Onwards

BBC has Scotsman reports of Jim Sillars stating BP would be nationalised in the event of a Yes vote – in a “Day of Reckoning”

To be honest, if anyone did intend to part-nationalise the oil industry, I reckon it would be a HUGE vote-winner.

Plenty of countries have clauses where the state company has the right to farm in to, say, 10% of new discoveries.

Just look how wealthy Norway became with public control of its resources.

Setting up a national energy company seems like a no-brainer.

108. muttley79

A quote from Andy Nicol, former Scottish rugby international in the Scotsman:

Nicol also suggested a Yes vote could mean a change to the British and Irish Lions as he claimed the future of the test side was one of the “many unknowns” of the SNP’s plans for independence.

The former Scotland Scrum-half said that the Lions teams, which is made up of players from the UK and Ireland and tours the Southern Hemisphere every four years, was the “epitome” of Better Together”.

Go down a street in Dublin and Cork and tell the people that Nicol! Tell the people that the Republic of Ireland is part of the British state!

109. alex livingstone

I would imagine Westminster would accept a Yes vote,could you imagine the turmoil it would cause if they refused

110. heedtracker

Just don’t mention their fackin NHS

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-29176661

111. Lesley-Anne

I would LOVE to see Westminster even TRY and stop us going independent after Thursday’s YES win. If they think they have had problems in the past with riots and what not they have seen NOTHING compared to what will erupt if they renege on us gaining our independence!

112. faolie

@onwards Nationalise BP? Oh yes please. Oh how wonderful it would be to hear Bob whatsisface spluttering on the BBC about that one.

Should be worth a few hundred thousand Yes votes from the proletariat I reckon.

113. The Earthshaker

With all the goings on of late, i wondered if Stuart and Wings contributors had seen this on Craig Murray’s blog

‘If independence is achieved it will be down to a popular movement and not to any politician. Indeed, if one person has to be singled out, I would say the Rev Stuart Campbell has made the most decisive individual contribution in the campaign. If Social media has beaten the mainstream media, the central rock around which millions of flowers have bloomed has been the Wings over Scotland website. This has a significantly larger daily readership than any newspaper in Scotland. The Wee Blue Book I found everywhere, including copies already available in pretty well every pub I entered, as I toured the East Coast. Over 400,000 downloads of the PDF have been made and 250,000 copies centrally printed, as well as a number of private initiatives which had already obtained professional printings from the PDF. Conservatively, there are over half a million hard copies out there, as well as all the reads online. In a population of 5.2 million, that is a major impact.’

The full article is here
    http://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2014/09/speaking-date-availability/

On a few more days to go,keep up the good work, you’re nearly there!

114. muttley79

@Les Wilson

That is not going to happen. If Yes get over 50 per cent and the result is accepted as fair and correct, then they will not have any choice but to accept it. We need to be concerned about getting as large a Yes vote as possible. The BBC are talking bollocks again. Scotland’s independence would only need to be accepted by one nation, and then others would follow.

115. Iain (orri) McCord

One thing abut BP is that there’s at least two parts to its operations. They could split of the petrol station side and set up a local branch in the rUK claiming that’s BP in order to scare us. On the other hand the part that explores and extracts oil in EEZ is reliant in the first instance on having a license to do so and it’s not exactly clear that any of the current licenses will necessarily be valid post independence. In fact at a minimum Scotland would be due a proportion of any fee paid for them still running after independence.The part that extracts the oil can’t simply shift to the rUK and avoid paying anything for operatinf in Scottish waters.

116. Nana Smith

Chancellor cancels his trip due to Yes vote ‘risks’

Aw dear does that mean Georgie boy won’t get to pad out his expenses.

117. joe kane

With regards to grassroots social media versus corporate mass media, the “Empire strikes back” video was just at 301+ views when I watched it yesterday. It’s now up to nearly 200,000.

Empire strikes back
    Empire biscuits

118. Lesley-Anne

Is it true that after we gain our independence in 2016 there are plans to erect a statue of Stu outside Hollyrood in recognition of what he helped achieve? 😛

119. Giving Goose

In the interests of balance and good old fashioned fair play, I have come up with an olive branch for the Unionists post referendum.

http://whitefeatherclub.wordpress.com/2014/09/12/anticipating-the-excuses/

120. heedtracker

YES is a broad church! Sorry:D

https://www.facebook.com/ChristiansForIndependence?hc_location=timeline

SHOCK & AWE: Apparently the British Government are labelling their present strategy in Scotland “shock and awe”; a wave of co-ordinated attacks procured from their friends in high places and aimed at destabilising our economy in the short term and damaging our collective confidence in the long term.

We should all take a deep breath, keep calm, stand tall and remain brave. Nothing worthwhile in this world was ever born without a degree of suffering. Only six days to go. What is more, let us never forget the last time a British Government deployed the term “shock and awe”.

It too was a wave of attacks fuelled by dodgy dossiers, politicising spinning and downright deceit. Fool us once, shame on you. Fool us twice….

121. Lesley-Anne

Oops!

It would appear that the dear old BBC and SKY etc have been found out to be LYING again folks. 😉

https://twitter.com/dtaylor5633/status/510425130674425856/photo/1

122. yerkitbreeks

I knew Mr Winston ( gynaecologists like me got the Mr in England, but were Dr in Scotland ) when he was persisting with futile tubal surgery at Hammersmith while others were making waves in IVF. He didn’t bother to reply to colleagues’ requests for information if a patient transferred.

Speak about opportunist, he latched on, did virtually no original IVF work, and hey ho was suddenly a professor. Keen to be in Institutional England, what better than to toady up to the Labour party and suddenly you’re also a BBC star !

123. Les Wilson

muttley79 says

The “expert” ( they always find on eh!) did not say the would, he said they could. As far as the dissolving of the Act of Union, he said that it was an International agreement and they do not have the power to dissolve such an agreement.

He also said, that Westminster could not have the power to dissolve an agreement with brought it into existence.
    Needs a greater legal mind than mine.

However, I fear any consequences of attempting such a thing.

124. Dr Jim

Slightly O/T but i’ve just heard yet another legal expert on BBC news saying that even if we win the vote David Cameron may not allow Independence to happen if he considers it not to be in the interests of UK or Scotland due to some strange clause in the law to do with the act of union
    Any legal guys out there know something?
    Not my area..

125. Viking Girl

I noticed Prof Winston and thought he looked embarassed.
    Andy Burnham was there somewhere, but I’m sure he was mortified as well.
    I’m inclined to agree with Winston that people don’t value what they don’t pay for.
    I can’t fathom the ‘1p on National Insurance’ idea. National Insurance is not lifted to fund the NHS. It never has and was not put in place to fund the NHS. NI is to provide you with an income if you hit hard times, and to provide your ever dwindling State Pension.

126. HandandShrimp

heedtracker

Shock and Awe?

Their lies are shocking and the shine on their brass necks is awesome but other than that my respect for the establishment has never been lower

Revolt and Disgust would be a more accurate description.

127. Les Wilson

muttley79 says

Last line of my last post was meaning if they go ahead with such deceit against a democratic descision made by Scotland.
    Also the world is watching, where would their credability be if they tried such a thing. They would be seen Internationally for what they are, totally corrupt.

128. MajorBloodnok

One Treaty of Union and two Acts of Union. Governments signs treaties and can break them. Parliaments make Acts and can repeal them. Seems odd for someone to state that previous treaties or acts are somehow irreversible…

129. Robert Peffers

O/T:
    I’ve loaded up a video on YouTube. It shows the later BBC edited Newscast claiming Nick Robinson did not get an answer to his question to the First Minister. That short news item is then followed by a full unedited version of Wee Nickie getting filleted and served up to the collected international media representatives as a real numptie.

Now I’m not on Facebook or Twitter so I hope those who are will get this out on the twitterspere and show Robinson and the BBC for exactly what they are. Come on folks tell the World how we are being treated as mugs by the Establishment’s propaganda machine. If nothing else it may come in handy if there are cases of cheating to be made afterwards.

The YouTube link is : –
    youtu.be/Ug5q0jfRz68

130. Les Wilson

MajorBloodnok says:

I agree, but that is what their legal guy suggested.(they always find one don’t they!)

So much bad feeling would ensue, it does not bear thinking about. All due to a corrupt Westminster who can’t let go of Imperialism.

131. Greannach

O/T but interesting to note the picture of the Orange Lodger among the followers of the Nob Orders website. Surprised not to see Catwoman Galloway in there too.

132. muttley79

Les, lets just concentrate on getting as large a Yes vote as possible. These kinds of hypothetical situations are irrelevant with less than a week to go. The larger the Yes vote the harder it gets to deny us statehood.

133. MajorBloodnok

@Les Wilson

The Edinburgh Agreement is worth a read. It is pretty clear that if there is a YES vote Scottish independence follows. The joint statement issued a few months ago confirmed that. However, Perfidious Albion didn’t get that name by accident…

134. Lesley-Anne

Oops!

I’m betting ASDA is leaping for joy at all this free advertising they are getting about their prices going UP!

https://twitter.com/CutbackMark/status/510401748423671808/photo/1

Perhaps ASDA had better come out with a statement similar to this one on the national news.

https://twitter.com/dtaylor5633/status/510425130674425856/photo/1

Either their prices are going up in which case they will be overjoyed at Lamont and co advertising that ASDA have higher costs or their prices are NOT going up in which case they will be rather unhappy with Lamont and co. making that suggestion their prices are higher.

135. Wilma

Lets just go to UDI now saves all the bother of fighting them if they try to contest the vote me thinks.

136. heedtracker

“And we are unable to speculate what future prices may be” says ASDA to customers but right the now, BBC news is writing massive headlines like, “price rise shock say ASDA if you vote Yes” over and over again on everywhere.

Its quite easy being a BBC teamGB propagandist.

137. Erchie

@Sandy

I remember how the 1990 game was handled. England were coming up here to complete their Grand Slam.

Grandstand interviewed the player’s wives. They played speeches from Henry V

Wogan had Will Carling booked

But those dastardly Scots spoiled it and, oddly enough, they were also potential winners of a grand slam

So the BBC news did not tell us who had one, and a sick looking Will Carling was on Wogan with David Sole

That’s how you are viewed. An afterthought at best

138. MajorBloodnok

@heedtracker

Misleading headlines are typical BBC BritNat tactics. Robert Peston seems a bit exasperated though with:

“The whole point of Scotland becoming a separate nation, for its proponents, is to give Scots the ability to make different choices about the nature of the society they inhabit from what prevails in the rest of the UK.

Inevitably those choices would have an impact on businesses. And frequently they would have an impact on the level of prices.

So talking about the emergence of inevitable price differentials between Scotland and an independent UK is to say something stunningly obvious and uninteresting.”

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29169114

139. Conan_the_Librarian

Here’s me thinking paying my National Insurance was my membership fee…

140. Les Wilson

muttley79 says:

You are right Muttley, we need to raise above all this and put the nose to the grinstone.

I posted just because I could not believe the deceit it entails. Just shows what this Union really means to them, and the lenghts they could go to by involking them.
    All the more reason for us to say cherio!

141. MajorBloodnok

@Erchie

I remember 1990 very well. The look on Des Lynham’s face at FT…

142. heedtracker

So BBC in Scotland have this fraud of their vote NO or else day. Do ASDA just say anything they like to anyone asking?

What have other retailers been saying?
    John Lewis, Asda, Marks and Spencer, the Kingfisher Group and the former boss of Sainsbury’s have all said they believe their prices will rise if Scotland votes for independence, but Tesco last week played down suggestions in a Better Together leaflet that its prices would go up.

“And we are unable to speculate what future prices may be”

Thats ASDA!

143. Joe

Anyone else feeling like we are getting hit with nothing less than media terrorism, if anyone done these headlines in America there would public and financial chaos, but it seems okay to do it to the yessers, and still all the polls keep us at 48-49 % , when thye going to start dropping yes down in the polls , maybe a point or 2 at a time , then they could claim they are winning, the more they lie and deceive the more yes votes we can get , hopefully we get a result over 60% to make a clear statement , independence is ours.

144. Robert Peffers

I’ve been a big customer of ASDA and B&Q for many years but I will not darken their automatic doors again. The market will dictate prices and there are plenty of alternatives in just about every area of Scotland,

Anyway I’ve put up a video on YouTube of Nick Robinson’s edited BBC lies. It gives the Newscast lie and is then followed by Wee Nick getting filleted and hung out to dry.

The link is : –
    youtu.be/Ug5q0jfRz68

I’m not on Facebook or Twitter so please get this out to the twitersphere folks. Mind you I don’t think the numptie has any shame abd the BBC certainly doesn’t.

145. heedtracker

To be fair to the ASDA tweeter, if he was asked on BBC camera and said ASDA can’t speculate on future prices, they would dub over the actual words spoken, BBC is that corrupt.

146. Lesley-Anne

I’ve gladly tweeted your link to BBC News, BBC Scotland News, STV News, Channel 4 News, Channel 5 News, SKY News, Scotland 2014, Scotland Tonight, RT and Aljazeera Robert. 😉 😛

147. Black Douglas

Found this on Yes – NHS site scary stuff.

“So much for hoping Labour will win in 2015, thelatest ipsos-mori poll.

CON 34 (+1); LAB 33 (nc); LIB DEM 7 (nc); UKIP 15 (+2)

Ipsos MORI’s last Political Monitor before party conference season and the Clacton by-election shows that UKIP’s popularity has risen by two percentage points, as other parties’ remain stable.

The survey also finds that, since May of this year, the proportion of people who think that a vote for UKIP is a wasted vote has declined from 57% to 50%, and over half (53%) believe that the party is raising important issues that other parties are not taking seriously. Yet only 14% say they would like their local MP to leave his or her party and join UKIP”

148. joe kane

yerkitbreeks,
    Fantasy Bob turned up at a Lords’ debate on the ongoing medical fraud known as the PACE trial study. Much of the unethical unscientific bullshit behind this Labour Government £5 million iatrogenic psuedo-scientific medical study is the same unethical pseudo-science behind the DWP-Atos ESA regime. Needless to say, like the rest of the pro-DWP stooges in the rigged Lords debate, he hadn’t actually read the published study and talked a load of utter crap.

The PACE study is unique as being the only piece of medical scientific research to win DWP funding which ought to tell most people what it is about ie Atos-style neoliberal disability denial ideology attacking the human rights of patients and disabled people, so right up Bob’s New Labour street.

Any anti-DWP, anti-Atos bores like me who are interested in following this up just google House of Lords and “PACE Trial: Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Myalgic Encephalomyelitis”.

149. Juteman

A couple of new posters have asked what will we do if Westminster doesn’t accept a Yes vote.
    I’m not accusing them of being trolls, but the last thing we need is some hothead giving a ‘stupid’ answer. Remember that everything said by Indy supporters could and would be twisted.

150. Edward

Onwards
    Did Jim Sillars actually state that or is the msm being ‘colourful’
    I’m seeing the same story on the Scotsman and that story is being repeated in the Huffington Post, by someone called Asa Bennett, who uses the catch all ‘reportedly said’

This might sound good in some quarters but the nay-sayers are getting all lathered

151. heedtracker

http://www.scotsman.com/news/uk/english-resentment-increases-over-scots-freebies-1-3517631

Hard to know what the hootsmans on here but if some Scottish voters do actually “bottle it” the BBC etc shock and awe will have merely done its job.

“Eddie Bone, from the Campaign for an English Parliament, said “English resentment” was being openly expressed across the country on issues such as higher public spending in Scotland.

“If and when the Scots ‘bottle it’ on 18 September and vote no, they will see a stronger English voice because the people of England have had enough of Scottish self-indulgence,” he said.

152. Lesley-Anne

I think this falls under the category of “When a BBC interview goes horribly WRONG!” 😛

http://tinyurl.com/nkt7f75

153. heedtracker

@ Lesley-Anne. CUT!

154. Cyborg-nat

Heedtracker.

Vorsrung durch technik as they say in the best two of my local supermarkets.

155. Betty Craney

@Robert Peffers

The Nick Robinson fiasco is already up and running on FB..first thing I saw this morning when I logged on..

156. Calgacus MacAndrews

The Scottish Government have obtained lower prices for desktop and laptop computers for public bodies in Scotland, in comparison with those available to rUK public bodies, since 2007.

This lower pricing has been obtained by running regular all-Scotland collaborative procurements led by Scottish Procurement.

A number of attempts have been made by Crown Commercial Services (and its predecessor bodies) over the last seven years to emulate in rUK these lower-prices achieved by Scottish Procurement, without success.

The current desktop and laptop contracts are held by HP and Misco.

http://www.scotland.gov.uk/Topics/Government/Procurement/directory/IThardware

Just sayin’

157. Les Wilson

O/T the latest on renewable energy in Scotland

http://www.energy-pedia.com/news/united-kingdom/new-160756?editionid=101470

158. Clootie

@Lesley-Anne says:
    12 September, 2014 at 4:23 pm

I think the statue should be in Helix park with the Kelpies and Falkirk wheel.(plenty of visitors – which is appropriate). A WBB in on hand and a part of Darling’s anatomy in the other.

159. Leither

“Strange “patriot”as Sole describes himself ,who doesn`t want his nation to be politically independent”

Sole and these others can get tae fuck.

If they don’t want Scotland to be an independent nation they don’t have any right to represent Scotland. After the yes vote we should pass a law banning anyone who voted no from representing Scotland in any capacity.

160. YESGUY

Well more bull and scares.

Think we all need the weekend with the telly off or on sports.
    Scares , smears and a disgraceful MSM can be avoided . Just switch off folks.

The amount of propaganda is just overwhelming .

They must be shitting themselves.

Got fed up with it all so put a couple of large flags up. Getting waves from everyone as they pass. Funny thing , No voters are a dour lot, they see it and look away, sadly older generation. YESSERS have a smile and wave. And there so many too. 90% .

keep safe over the weekend and hit the ground running on Monday. Watch yourselves in Edinburgh with the marches going on.

I am tingling . It’s finally here and all the media can do is tell us “we can’t”. Oh the joy to see their faces when it’s over and YES trounces a Bitter, negative No .

Keep the faith folks we are winning.

161. Caroline Corfield

One wonders how they managed to disentangle Ireland then? wasn’t that all Acts ad Treaties and stuff?

162. Davy

Would you believe it, good old Michelle Moan has said she will once again leave Scotland if their is a YES vote, she’s the one person we would really like to piss-off and she never bloody go’s.

Could somebody give her a hint that she can go regardless of what the vote is. She’s a serial go’er who never bloody actualy leaves.

163. call me dave

The politics show. Darling being interviewed for the interested he’s under pressure.

From 16mins in.

The whole first half of the programme is worth a look.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b04hg4ft/daily-politics-12092014

164. Lesley-Anne

heedtracker says:

@ Lesley-Anne. CUT!

I remember watching the clip yesterday heedtracker. What was just as funny was when they went back to the lassie in Edinburgh she was lost for words cause she said the BBC guy in Glasgow had interviewed voters plural. Funny I only recall seeing him interview ONE voter. 😛

Don’t you just love it when the all conquering BBC get stuck in a position with their own petard hoisted so high they are seen as a bunch of incompetent ignorant nobodies. 😀

165. bookie from hell

chancellor canels trip to his Aussie mate in Austrailia

walofs

166. R-type Grunt

Cassandra Lee says:
    12 September, 2014 at 3:03 pm
    I think the fact that BUPA have endorsed No Better Thanks tells you all you need to know about just exactly how safe the NHS is if we vote no.

That’s interesting to know, if not exactly surprising. Would you happen to know if BUPA have given any money to Better Together?

I’ve said this before & I’ll say it again; it’s the media I detest. Without their complicity in the outright lies spewing forth on a daily basis we’d be looking at 90% Yes. I’m serious. They’re should be criminal charges brought to bare on them. I mean, we all know politicians lie, it’s become part of the job description, sadly. But journalism is a trade & as such it brings go the baggage of being g exacting, precise. Nowadays watching a TV journalist – and particularly a Scottish one, sorry to say – has become just like that moment when you walk into Currys & instantly remember that you already know far more than any of the low paid fuckwits who are employed there. Not that it matters as they can’t see because they’re on their phones. Clueless.

Oh, and if Currys happen to be reading this, good, fuck off!

YMMV. Yes!

167. Lesley-Anne

Oops!

Looks like wee Smackdown Nicky had better stay clear of reading RT website for a wee while. 😛

http://rt.com/uk/187344-bbc-scottish-independence-bias/#.VBMRaaQRunZ.twitter

168. JWil

Robert Winston was a luminary in the world of IVF treatment now he is a second rater in his allegiance to Labour. Why would he want to degrade himself like that?

169. fred blogger

Lesley-Anne
    i’m watching neil/darling now, he’ll make JCB’s redundant. 🙂

170. muttley79

@Major

Hopefully I will see you in the Meadows next week (sounds a bit camp to be honest).

171. Kevin Evans

I’d like to congratulate the brave people of the community who ran into to rescue the dogs at the dog home in England that went on fire – well done.

172. gordoz

Daughter is just back from work trip in Birmingham, says folks were most unfriendly and questioning why Scots are so ungreatful to England.

Says TV news reports in England are even worse than ours – totally Britannia orientated. Media seem to be stirring it into afrenzy of anti Scottish feelings and touting that Scots should get zip if there is a NO vote. not the love bombing we are seeing up here.

No voters beware – NO new powers for Scotland. Media is stirring it up for Westminster to block this.

Its a complete con folks !!! BEWARE.

173. heedtracker

Michelle Mone OBE @MichelleMone · 43m
    My new exclusive collection for Dunnes Stores,launched today.Billboards all over Ireland @RTELateLateShow tonight

So Ireland is fine, Scotland cant f off. I’ll never understand the world of fashion.

174. Andy

Is everyone getting ready for the six oclock lie fest wonder how much bullshit will be on offer today

175. Stevie boy

Had another ‘staunch No’ come to the good side today.

Had given up with him but he actually thought himself that he loves his country and couldn’t face voting No as he said he couldn’t live with himself. Once he opened his eyes to it he said he can’t believe how stupid he was to be on the dark ‘Imperial Masters’ side.

Also he has persuaded his sister and mother to switch as well.

Happy days!!

176. Nana Smith

Sorry if already posted.

NUS has declared for YES.

http://www.yesscotland.net/news/head-nus-scotland-latest-backer-yes

177. Golfnut

Re price rises.

There is as always an element of truth in these comments. If the SG tell WM to take a hike re the pound and go for our own currency, the pound will fall quickly making it much more expensive to buy Scottish produce, well any produce really. Prices will go up, but that will be England.

RBS has to move south, how else could they do a Royalmail.

178. Lesley-Anne

fred blogger says:

Lesley-Anne
    i’m watching neil/darling now, he’ll make JCB’s redundant. 🙂

I just hope for the sake of everyone he is fully qualified to get behind the wheel and controls of a JCB Fred. 😛

179. Leither

‘Had another ‘staunch No’ come to the good side today’

What convinced him to switch?

180. Stevie boy

Andy

Yeah but I think to be honest it isn’t upsetting us as much.. because it ain’t working!!

I spoke with a soft No today also who even said himself it was all scaremongering and bullshit and no-one will take notice.

Isn’t it great how the people are reclaiming the power in Scotland and making the difference through social media and emailing and threatening to boycott companies.. ‘mon the people!!!

181. heedtracker

Dismissing Robertson’s paper, a BBC spokeswoman told RIA Novosti news agency: “Our coverage of the referendum story is fair and impartial in line with the editorial guidelines.”

Is what the biggest, most corrupt public broadcaster in the world today told Russia. How bad is it going to get.

182. Leither

‘NUS has declared for YES’

Ach I was excited there hoping it would convince more students to switch, but it turns out its just the head of the NUS, not the whole organisation:

“Speaking in a personal capacity, Gordon Maloney said…”

183. I'veNeverSeenBraveheart

OT but some good news – my 2 elderly parents, who were definite Nos a few months (weeks even!) ago, are now Yes! Then this morning, my 2 retired, English neighbours, who I had down as definite Nos, said they were voting Yes!

However, I’m now off to my parents & my No voting siblings will be there. I need help convincing them (and stopping them putting the fear back into my parents!). Their reasons: banks leaving, no jobs, no R&D, companies won’t invest etc etc

I’m sure they’ll also bring up this week’s scare stories re banks leaving and prices increasing – any quick points on how to counter this?

184. Heather McLean

gillie says:
    A new low for the Better Together campaign. Workers for McAlpine Plumbing, based in Hillington face sack if they vote No.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/glasgow-firm-tells-workers-vote-no-to-protect-your-jobs.1410522980

What I can’t understand is how any of the bosses at McAlpine Plumbing could possibly know whether any of its employees voted Yes or No given that the ballot is secret? The only way they could know whether someone had voted Yes or No is if the person concerned actually divulged the information!
    These firms can threaten as much as they like but there is actually no way they can carry out their threat! Unless of course they plan to sack their entire workforce in the event of a Yes result the threat is best just ignored!

185. Andy

Couldnt agree more stevie

186. Stevie boy

Leither

It was my daughter’s uncle (my ex’s brother).

He was in Germany with the tartan army and just suddenly thought ‘what am I doing?’

I think surrounded with thousands of passionate Scots (which he said he is as well) with all these Yes badges and flags he realised he can’t vote No!

I never had him down as a Yes.

187. Blair paterson

Last night I watched a London born Englishman claiming he was Scottish not only that but he said. It 3 times over the course of the night and the b.b.c. Interviewer never corrected him once, he was of course A. darling telling more lies as usual but hey what do we always get from him lies and more lies O.T. But if the private companies who want to take over the health service in England also take over the P.F,I.payments? I mean it would only be right for them to do so ,my wife who is not political has just said to me you know David Cameron has done every thing bar declare war on Scotland Vote Yes

188. Kevin Evans

Not much Scottish reporting today on BBC – think it has something to do with UKIP in scotland?

189. Leither

‘What I can’t understand is how any of the bosses at McAlpine Plumbing could possibly know whether any of its employees voted Yes or No given that the ballot is secret?’

They can’t. You’ve misunderstood the story. They’re not saying they’ll sack anyone who votes yes, they’re saying they hope their workers vote no because they’re worried that if there’s a yes vote they’ll have to cut jobs.

Scare stories getting people worried don’t help our campaign.

190. call me dave

Mr Bateman predicts in public, and he’s sorry!

191. Andy

My sister changed her mind after reading the blue book and wings

192. Stevie boy

Iveneverseenbraveheart

Yeah.. they are all talking shite 🙂

193. bookie from hell

brown hinted moving Westminster to Scottish parliament

darling has done it today

Darling, chairman of the pro-UK Better Together campaign, also hinted for the first time he could consider switching his political career from Westminster – where he spent 13 years in the Labour cabinet – to the Scottish parliament after the referendum is over.

yeah–panic stations

194. manandboy

McAlpines bosses should also explain why they think that the reason why their customers buy from them will suddenly disappear upon Independence.

Actually, McAlpines bosses don’t sound like very nice people.

195. Leither

‘He was in Germany with the tartan army and just suddenly thought ‘what am I doing?’’

Hopefully after independence we’ll have a football (and rugby) team whose players are just as proud to represent an independent nation as the fans are of that nation and team.

I think anyone who votes no is basically showing they don’t believe in Scotland as a nation and therefore shouldn’t be allowed to represent Scotland in any capacity, sporting or otherwise.

196. Harry McAye

JBS – Thanks. That’s the Record website but the body of the article makes it clear it’s taken from the Advertiser, does anyone know if the story appeared in the Record? Quite often a story important enough will appear one day after it’s been in the Hammy Ad, which comes out on a Thursday.

O/T Bet365 bizarrely now back up to an incredibly generous 9/1 for over 55%. It had fallen to 4/1 earlier in the week. Strange after a very good poll result for us today from ICM.

O/T again. My Dad sent his postal vote this week and it was a Yes. A couple of years ago he said our votes would cancel each others out! I think I’ve opened his eyes to the disgraceful media bias. He doesn’t even mind missing his regular Record.

197. westie7

On the subject of employers.
    Just passed Balmoral group site in Altens Aberdeen and they have up one if those bizarre proud to be Scottish delighted to be British banners. Thank feck I work for myself, must be a nightmare working in a place like that

198. Stevie boy

Leither

Yeah plus when we tell the BBC to do one.. we might even get to watch our national team on our own tv screens as well!

199. call me dave

@Kevin Evans

Aye nothing happening in Scotland today almost all foreign news and a dish-washing robot called Boris. (Boris)

Supermarkets of course but that was yesterday..Oh! as I word process Lamont quote appears and Sillars is a ‘communist’ “a day of reckoning for BP & the banks”. Er the BBC says but no actual quote on tape.

Job done then.

Good old auntie, now adjust your kilt, Rangers v Raith Rovers is due on soon. Opium for us masses.

200. Stevie boy

Harry McAye

I know 9/1 for 55%+ to Yes.. unbelievable price. Best price out there.

I think even the bookies are trying to make it look like a one horse race.. we know differently 😉

201. Wp

INSB, re scare stories, price rises, there is a price war between all supermarkets just now, that is good news for consumers. If Asda put up prices we just go elsewhere, there is a massive choice now. John Lewis, there is nothing you can buy there that you can’t buy cheaper elsewhere. All these companies are being badly advised. A small percent of Scotland’s customers lost to them means millions of £s going to their rivals. The biggest gaff by far was from Darling. Scottish companies shares fell due to poll, Darling insisted pensions will be affected by that one days price change. Next day they went up again as speculators and traders seen an opportunity as they knew the price was false. So by Darlings reckoning pensions on the second day are fine, showing how little he knows or rather chooses to lie about market forces. The price drop was all over the FTSE not just the couple of Scottish companies. The amount of money involved adds up to less than Warren Buffet trades before he’s had his breakfast.

202. Seasick Dave

Where is Scottish Skier these days?

His insight is invaluable.

203. Leither

Why are the bookies all so odds-on towards a no vote when the polls are so close?

Do they know something we don’t regarding the postal votes?

204. Kevin Evans

Just to make it clear I was trying to point out UKIP is a negative story for the union so BBC are going to avoid reporting this stuff today. They don’t wanna risk exposing the fact the union is a pro exclusive union – there’s nothing inclusive about them.

205. Marcia

Seasick Dave

You will find him at Scot Goes Pop.

206. scotspine

Leither,

Aside from all the economic and social arguments for Yes, can you imagine attending a Scottish Rugby “International” against England and the shame of the crowd singing “Flower of Scotland”, “we can still rise now and be a nation again”?

I have felt the surge of pride when that has been sung en-masse at such an event, but Gavin Hastings and David Sole should hang their heads in shame.

They are fraudulent representatives of this country.

207. scotspine

I should have added an “International” post No vote in the first paragraph.

208. Seasick Dave

Marcia

Thanks.

Does he not hang out with us any more?

209. Stevie boy

After 18th September I shall be frequenting..

Tesco
    Homebase
    Weatherspoons
    Airdrie Savings Bank
    Any furniture store (bar John Lewis)

.. oh and a big f*ck off to the BBC!!

210. Ekindy

@heraldomore 3:46

I was also down through Clarkston earlier. Great to see all the Yes folk out.Plenty of tooting horns as cars went by and lots of the local school kids waving saltires.

All looked to be having great fun.

211. bookie from hell

Johann Lamont

“narrow nationalism replacing patriotism”

212. Stevie boy

Leather

Regarding the bookies.. I think they think Yes has just about peaked and they are waiting on it sliding further. Most bookies seem to be favouring a Yes percentage between 40% to 49%

They either think the Scots are going to bottle it at the end or they just don’t believe it’s gonna happen.. a bit like Westminster (more like hoping for them tho haha)

213. Stevie boy

Sorry, Leither

214. James123

@leither
    Why are the bookies all so odds-on towards a no vote when the polls are so close?

Because there have been some huge bets placed on a No vote from ‘someone’ or ‘some organisation’ which have shortened the odds considerably. For example there was a bet just a couple of weeks ago of £800,000 on a No vote. It’s more skullduggery I’m afraid to make it look like No will win but in actual fact many more bets have been placed on Yes, but of smaller amounts.

215. Harry McAye

heraldnomore – if you can get a look at the Hammy Ad, check out the four street interviews about voting intentions next week. An elderly lady and a young guy both say they’ll be voting No and give a reason. The woman at the top of the column and the woman at the bottom, give almost exactly the same answer, almost word for word. And guess what, neither one says which way she’ll be voting!

They also find room for another letter from a chap from Blantyre who once again states that the NHS as we know it will end if we vote Yes, as he did several months ago. I’ve written in, making good points, don’t get published but they print nonsense from the spectacularly ill-informed every week. That’s why I go to the library to read it, will not give them a sale.

216. BuckieBraes

Reporting Scotland has just shown the No campaign represented by Ed Miliband sitting travelling backwards on a bus.

No more need be said.

217. Marcia

Seasick Dave

He does but he finds that his comments here would be lost in the multiple threads we have per day. As he is a polling geek he is in his element at James Kelly’s site.

218. Jim

scunnered says:
    1 of the Scotland rugby greats john Jeffrey was asked once that if he hates England so much why does he live so close to the border…his reply was…it takes a strong man to defend the border…its in the book called the grudge.
    ______
    Jeffrey’s “day job” was his Borders farm, of which he had only one regret: “If I stand on a hill I can see England.”

219. James Caithness

Why haven’t we heard anything from Nigel Farage today? Is this the state s TV and media not reporting him?

These Rugby players are scum, rich scum.

Andy Nicol what a tube, says British and Irish Lions, does independence magically make Scotland invisible.

220. YESGUY

Just back from Derek Bateman.

Have a wee peek folks.

I’ve felt like this for over a month now.

I am not jumping the gun. But my gut feeling was job done. The momentum will do the rest.

If you haven’t been on his site before then your missing something brilliant. Lots of Wings commenters.

Still tingling.

We are going to win this -YES YES YES

221. Andy

Now they sayin the post office will cost 200mil in scotland even tho the post office made a profit of over 600 mil last year,and they also refused to release the figures for scotland the lie fest contiues

222. Anne

OT, and for what it is worth, here in St Andrews, having interacted over the past few days with both yes and no campaigners, the yes are positive and enthusiastic, and the nos defensive and negative, on first encounter, when they don’t know where you stand. The response I got from a no campaigner, when I said that getting rid of Trident was important to me, was resignation rather that a thoughtful rebuttal

223. Cactus

A welcome to newcomers & undecided voters, in 7 days time..

Scotland could forever be “in sickness and in sickness” if voters choose to continue with this present Westminster political set-up.

This really is a sliding-doors moment in time.. so gerr on that Scotland Central train baby! The Independence Express is good to go, let’s bring Scotland home.. and here’s to all your healths!

I believe that when our YES majority result is delivered next Friday, the poignant part will be when ‘Auld Tam the Gun’ is fired at 1pm in Scotlands capital city of Edinburgh 🙂

By this time next week, Scotland will..

(ps, the war is over, give peace a fricking chance)
    X V X

224. Black Douglas

@Andy

The bigger the basket case they make us out to be the question every No voter should be asking is

Why oh why are you trying so hard to persuade us to stay?

Would you try every trick in the book to get an unwanted parasitic relative to stay at your house forever?

I think not 😀

225. Juteman

@James.
    Oor Nige might make a fool of British Nationalism, so he will be ignored by the media.

226. James Caithness

I agree with Jim Sillars and I think he was right to say that there will be a day of reckoning. I have just called John Lewis and informed tham I will not set foot in their store again and that 1.3 million people in Scotland has sign a declaration to vote yes a few weeks ago. I went on we are all talking on social media. I asked him to pass that message up to his CEO.

The guy (from somewhere in NE England from his accent) was quite flippant.

I think something should boycott these companies. We have seen how the YES campaign has been so successful. So why not carry on with our movement and make poor companies pay.

227. James Caithness

@juteman – agree with that but surely we have some of our people in attendance to get it on you tube, twitter or facebook.

228. Castle Rock

@Lesley-Anne

Thanks for the Twitter link regarding the statement by the ASDA Service Team. I’ve just phoned them up and informed them politely that I’ll never shop in any of their stores ever again and will be encouraging all my family and friends to do likewise.

If other people use ASDA and have decided not to shop in their stores in future because of their threats and scaremongering then they can be called on:

ASDA Service Team
    0800 952 0101

Two can play at this game.

229. Les Wilson

If there is a NO vote, although I think we will do it.
    They will denegrate Scotland over time, and as the oil runs out they will create the need for another referendum.

They will then let us go, our assets decimated and we will not have a pot to piss in.
    That is the choice that faces us now, we MUST win.

230. Findlay Struthers

Aye I phoned ASDA and told them they had lost a loyal customer.
    I won’t be back

231. fred blogger

Les Wilson
    i agree.

232. Another Union Dividend

Good old BBC double standards.

Just watched “businessman” Daniel Johnson defending Tory big business threats on BBC Scotland TV who failed to point out that he is in fact a prospective Labour candidate and merely works for his rich daddies firm but BBC always quick to point out that economics expert George Kerevan once stood for the SNP.

233. Robin

Great positive atmosphere building in Edinburgh today.

Three lassies in yellow t-shirts at Green YES stall on Leith Walk waving Y E S letters getting great reception form passing motorists. Then a big Jag passes with a big YES Saltire sticking out its sunroof.

234. manandboy

Les Wilson says:
    …… and as the oil runs out they will create the need for another referendum.
    Not in our lifetime, Les.
    Unless you’ve found a way to live for another 150 years?

235. heedtracker

The owner of Iceland says Sillars is talking “bollox” on Channel 4 news now. Worth watching for comedy value. Head of Iceland says Scotland votes YES will devastating but not asked why by C4 shyster in studio.

Quite a lot of C4 hot air tonight waiting for Farage in Glasgow but Mike Crick says Bettertogether dont want him in Scotland, despite how hard BBC etc worked to get UKIP MEP elected too.

Next up, Crash Gordon is giving economic armageddon for Scotland speech tonight. C4 bit creepier than usual really as C4 reporting nothing much at all about YES and its neck and neck too, they say.

236. Edward

heedtracker
    That’s an interesting picture on the Telegraph
    As the guy in the red windcheater, I’m sure was one of Murphy’s interns that helped put up the ‘displays’
    The other of Murphy’s interns , I think is the guy holding the card to the right of balloon lady, bless 🙂

237. Edward

heedtracker
    Oh god, just realised the Telegraph article is written by that arch neocon with the indeterminate accent, Fraser Nelson

238. crisiscult

where can I find a list of businesses that are trying to persuade people to vote no?

239. James Caithness

@Castle Rock and Lesley-Anne

I have just phoned ASDA on the number on your post. I told the young man that I and my family would not be using ASDA anymore, I told him also that 1.3 million people had signed a declaration to vote YES and we are all talking on social media.

The guy said there is another statement been put out and I can give you a copy. I said don’t bother giving me any statement, I want to see your CEO on the TV backpeddling and being honest to tell everyone that he was encouraged by Cameron.

240. Andy-B

SKY news now saying several big phone providers, are on the verge of telling customers, prices will rise in an independent Scotland.

Ex-international Scottish rugby player standing outside Murrayfield, saying their voting no whilst claiming they’re proud to be Scottish, pass the sick bucket, the usual suspects including the Hastings brothers.

241. Kevin Evans

hey folks – can someone please tell me if am barking up the wrong tree here!!!!!

Ya know our wee visit yesterday from westminster MP’s – well didn’t westminster agree and say this referendum has nothing to do with westminster were only here to support better together – i.e this was a voluntary thing – well if thats the case if they claim any Westminster expense from there protest in glasgow that will be fraud!!!!

Am I 100% correct or am i totally missing a fact somewhere?

242. call me dave

From the Herald.

Mr Sillars accused large companies and banks of “subverting Scotland’s democratic process” by making high-profile interventions in the independence referendum debate.

Oil giant BP would face nationalisation in an independent Scotland while bankers’ “casino days” would be over, Mr Sillars said.

The Yes campaigner revealed he had planned to retire following the vote next Thursday but would instead be “staying in”.

Mr Sillars was speaking on the campaign trail in Edinburgh’s Wester Hailes area from his Margo Mobile, set up in memory of his late wife Margo MacDonald MSP.

He said: “This referendum is about power, and when we get a Yes majority we will use that power for a day of reckoning with BP and the banks.

“The heads of these companies are rich men, in cahoots with a rich English Tory Prime Minister, to keep Scotland’s poor poorer through lies and distortions. The power they have now to subvert our democracy will come to an end with a Yes.

“BP, in an independent Scotland, will need to learn the meaning of nationalisation, in part or in whole, as it has in other countries who have not been as soft as we have been forced to be.

“As for the bankers: your casino days, rescued by socialisation of your liabilities while you waltz off with the profits, will be over.”

Mr Sillars added: “What kind of people do these companies think we are? They will find out.”
    . . . . . . .

I have not included the NO response. No need

243. George England

Believe it folks, the MPS in the UK parliament will never allow more powers as this would upset their English constituencies so they would NEVER do it. Im not fooled i live in England and have never believed the Scots paid less into the pot than they got back but sadly most i have spoken to believe this in England its a message the government have been spreading through the biased BBC DONT FALL FOR IT! The Best solution is an independent England and Scotland as equal and proud Countries, Salmond is the best thing to ever happen to Scotland I really admire him. Scotland is an amazing country so beautiful the only answer on thursday is a YES!!!! Go for it!

244. galamcennalath

Derek Bateman …

“There are 300,000 new voters compared to the last election, nearly 120,000 registered in a month. I don’t belief they are rushing to register to vote No to save the Union.”

I hope he’s right! And, let’s hope the polls are underestimating this ‘effect’ with their predictions of neck and neck.

245. Dan Huil

@ heedtracker. Iceland? Is thon the ane which haes yon Peter Andre cheel gangin on aboot micro-chips?
    Ah’m awa tae FermFoods.

246. CameronB Brodie

If there is a No vote, you can kiss goodbye to a Scottish NHS resembling a public service for much longer. Only a Yes vote can prevent the Scottish NHS being turned into an income generator for private insurance firms. Yet another means of sooking Scotland dry of her vast wealth. 🙁

247. Saltire

This is my first post. I was very active in the SNP until 9 years ago and I’m still a passionate supporter of independence. I can’t get too involved in the campaign due to my job and fact that my employer has taken a strictly neutral position. I have still tried to convince a few folks to vote yes.

It’s really interesting being able to observe from the sidelines rather than being consumed in election campaigns and I enjoy reading WoS and the comments from fellow readers. I urge my fellow Yes supporters to remain calm and to maintain some perspective on things. I don’t agree with the No position but I do respect the right of my fellow Scots to hold that view. After the vote we’ll still live together irrespective of the result. I don’t think we’ll convince many people to vote yes by attacking people who’ve represented our nation in sport.

We’ll all need to pull together to make a success of our newly independent Scotland and we’ll need the input of those voted No to make Scotland the best place we can. We’re all feeling very passionate but let’s be careful that a few unfortunate comments aren’t used as weapons against us.

Whilst much of the media is clearly against us, I do think we’re reading too much into some things. The legal discussion on the BBC wasn’t a serious opinion, rather, it was a technical discussion on the formation of the union and the ‘unexpected’ situation we’re now in.

Victory is in sight, let’s stay resolute but control our emotions. I never managed to convert anyone with a rant in my younger days, but a calm and reasoned discussion has always had far greater effect. Look at AS in the second debate, he was calm assured and assertive. Darling on the other hand was jumpy, wild eyed and struggled to articulate his (weak) case. We know who won and the surge to Yes from then on.

248. HandandShrimp

Seems there are a lot of big companies lining up to take pot shots according to the media but as yet little of substance from the actual companies, who all back off the moment their customer services are prodded.

249. Robert Peffers

@MajorBloodnok says:12 September, 2014 at 5:02 pm:

“Inevitably those choices would have an impact on businesses. And frequently they would have an impact on the level of prices.”

So inevitable that as Scotland is a net exporter of food, fuel and power, while the UK, (England), is a net importer of food, fuel and power. So how come, if Scotland is a net exporter of food and England is a net importer of food, that it’s Scottish prices going to increase?

Could it be that as English imports have to come up to Scotland and Scottish exports have to go down to England it is the transporting uphill that costs more? Oh! Wait-up! is not the North Sea and Atlantic Ocean at the same level where they join at the French Channel and where they meet beyond Shetland?

Oh! I give up – I’ll just have to take Cameron’s word for it as these English people are so much cleverer than we dumb Scots.

Aye!
    Richt!

250. Minty

Coincidentally I’m just due my mobile phone upgrade, was going to order today. Might wait until tomorrow to see if any mobile networks want to try and threaten the Scottish people. Will help clarify my choice in a very crowded market.

251. heedtracker

@ Edward, it is Fraser proud Scot but, from Inverness and most right wing in man in teamGB runner up, behind all the rest of his neocon neocon UKOK media freak show.

See how Fraser also chunters on and on about nothing at all really, evil and cruel Scots nats, wonderful non nationalistic British nationalism, and no actual issues that affect not neocon’s lives whatsoever. If they win, we’re all fcuked.

252. Roboscot

I’m just waiting for the whisky distilleries saying they’ll leave Scotland if there’s a Yes vote.

253. CameronB Brodie

Roboscot
    Do you think they would be happier relocating to China?

254. heedtracker

@ Dan Huil, Iceland man says he’s never really thought Scotland would vote YES, so he’s contacted by C4 liggers to give his Sillars is talking “bollox” opinion which makes sense in a C4 news room because, I have no idea.

The real reason that UKOK is piling in with companies in England threatening Scotland, has got nothing to do with new country regs etc, its the slave wages these guys make so much of their tax evaded profit from.

BBC had a teatime tv news debate and ofcourse never mentioned teamGB mass slave wage/zero contract exploitation and neither does the Labour in Scotland party. funny that

But lets chat to some big tough Tory NO vote rugger buggers.

255. Robert Peffers

When all is said and done and the dust settles, the really sickening thing is that devolution is NOT on the referendum paper.

So there is no way anyone in Scotland can actually have voted for more powers. So, when the votes have all been counted, Westminster can say with absolute certainty that NO ONE in Scotland has actually voted for devolution.

256. Joe

these scare stories almost amount to financial terrorism , something the usa has worried about for years , trying to ruin a country by destroying its economy. Still the polls are neck and neck its not working , they should study their history , scots tend not to bottle it when the going gets rough

257. Roboscot

CameronB

Why not?

258. A.N.Surgent

Live in wee west fife village and although I dont go around the
    whole village everday, I havent seen a no poster anywhere.

Rangers in Kirkcaldy tonight wouldnt be surprised if they had a few extras in their crowd so watch yourself if your taking a late
    train to Edinburgh.

Why the hell have Hibs got a home game tomorrow.

259. mr thms

The main objection to a Currency Union no longer exists!

http://yesscotland.net/news/banks-move-are-credit-yes

“the moves by RBS and other banks to set up English-registered holding companies remove a potentially very significant risk from an independent Scotland” writes Ian McConnell in today’s Herald.

Ian writes that by moving their headquarters to England, the banks secure themselves by having the Bank of England as the lender of last resort, thus taking that responsibility of having to bail them out again if we ever see a banking crisis like we did in in 2008 where Gordon Brown and Alistair Darling spent tens of billions of taxpayers’ money bailing out Northern Rock, Halifax Bank of Scotland (HBOS) RBS, Lloyds TSB and Barclays.

“It certain appears to knock on the head the oft-heard argument that Scotland could be bankrupted by bail-out costs” claims by the ‘No’ camp

As RBS Chief executive Ross McEwan explains the moving of the registered office to England will not mean changes to service or jobs in Scotland. But the responsibility of being the lender of last resort falls to the rest of the UK, namely the Bank of England, not Scotland

260. muttley79

@heedtracker

Agreed. The UK is a plutocracy. The City of London/Big business, and the intelligence services have the most power. After that you have Westminster, and the MSM etc. A No vote would be catastrophic for the people of Scotland. The British state are going to kick our arses for years and years if we reject independence. If over 50 per cent of voters here cannot see that then I am afraid we will deserve all we get. Everyone would suffer from No. Lets hope that we get a Yes and it will be averted. Time will tell.

261. bookie from hell

How do Independent countries survive?

hopefuly I can wipe my @rse tonight before a major uk supplier of toilet paper says NO

262. YES Airdrie and Shotts

On Sept 10th our Facebook page received the following private message……
    Hi – I work for the BBC and we are coming to airdrie this afternoon and would love to speak to someone from Yes Airdrie
    To which we replied…………. NO THANKS as the BBC likes to say.

Zero co-operation with the biased corporation. This mob have been anti YES since day one and now have the nerve to want to talk to us – NO Chance, We don’t need you, don’t want you and will celebrate when you move your PQ operation to London just like your best buddies at the bankrupt RBS.

263. ben madigan

re Dissolving the Union

as other posters have remarked – if the UK parliament could do it nearly 100 years ago with the Government of Ireland Act
    why they can’t do it with a Government of Scotland Act in 2014-6?

NB due to the Land League, Parnell and Fenian agitation various Land Reforms had already gone through in Ireland – these have still to happen in Scotland

To re-cycle an old Irish slogan
    The Land of Scotland for the People of Scotland

get out there Scots – raise the level of campaigning – bring home the YES

264. Croompenstein

Heard a song on the radio today A Thin Line Between Love and Hate, that’s where we’re at I think. I love my country with all my heart but if my fellow countrymen return a no vote my heart will be broken will I then hate being Scottish and Scotland.

265. CameronB Brodie

Roboscot
    I suppose the size of market might make it profitable to loose the global brand appeal. Would it be profitable enough to merit going down in history as the individuals who ended a strand of Scotland’s culture? They will be seen as having diminished Scotland for their own self-interest, IMO.

266. Dan Huil

@ heedtracker. Well said. The divide between Scotland and England in terms of outlook and belief gets wider by the day.
    Whether it’s the media, business “leaders” or the bookies’ odds, they just don’t get it.

267. galamcennalath

bookie from hell says:
    “How do Independent countries survive?”

I know. According to almost everyone in the UK it’s completely impossible 😉

268. JWil

The supermarket chain Morrison’s is in a quandary. Their profits are poor compared to others and they have a major restructuring going on the reverse the trend. This is all based on lowering prices. I now wonder if they are going to be selective about it and discriminate against Scotland. I know that their store is one of the most popular in the town so they would be tempting fate on that one.

Perhaps they could steal a march on their competitors by coming out in favour of Scottish independence, or perhaps they will just keep schtum and hope for the best. Lidl and Aldi are beckoning.

269. Sinky

The London broadcasters are expecting the Yes campaigners to jump through last minute hoops to satisfy their perverted coverage when we have more important things to do.

@ Another Union Dividend says: 12 September, 2014 at 7:10 pm
    Just watched “businessman” Daniel Johnson defending Tory big business threats..

I trust that all working class voters in Edinburgh Southern are reminded of this episode when this public school boy tries to create his Labour Party political career safe in the knowledge that his inheritance is secure thanks to the SNP’s small business bonus scheme!

270. call me dave

@mr thms

Very true! Job done..serendipity!

271. muttley79

Interesting quote from Paul Mason, ex Newsnight journo, lovely barb at the end of the quote:

Former Newsnight correspondent Paul Mason seems rather happy to be free of Auntie, especially since the Scottish independence referendum campaign sent the establishment to panic stations: ‘Not since Iraq have I seen BBC News working at propaganda strength like this. So glad I’m out of there,’ he writes on his Facebook page, to the consternation of former colleagues. ‘It’s on my friends-only Facebook page so not meant as any great statement other than weariness,’ Mason tells Mr S, ‘it says what it says.’ Lucky, then that he is now at Channel Four News – that famed bastion of slant free news.

272. Minty

I’ve had a tweet from the BBC today, wanting me to speak on Monday. That’ll be a No from me, then.

Itching to cancel my licence fee now.

273. Kevin Evans

All this scare stuff and folk telling half truths about business opening new offices in London are all relying on the lie we’ve been told all our life’s that were too small and too stupid – PEOPLE YOU ARE NOT STUPID – show them that and vote YES

274. Robert Peffers

@Betty Craney says: 12 September, 2014 at 5:21 pm:

The Nick Robinson fiasco is already up and running on FB..first thing I saw this morning when I logged on..

I thought it would be running on FB and Twitter, Betty, but the point is I’ve put up a good video on YouTube that could make a few converts to YES.

That’s why I want the link on FB and Twitter.

The link is : –
    //youtu.be/Ug5q0jfRz68

275. Leither

‘As RBS Chief executive Ross McEwan explains the moving of the registered office to England will not mean changes to service or jobs in Scotland. But the responsibility of being the lender of last resort falls to the rest of the UK’

The problem is that their taxes go to the rest of the UK too.

276. Another Union Dividend

Very O/T but why is BT Sports not showing Gordon Brown joining in with Rangers fans rendition of Rule Britannia?

277. A.N.Surgent

There wont be a no vote, going by the lies, scaremongering, criminality and now in my eyes outright racism that are now
    becoming so much the norm that it just doesnt register anymore.

These are not the tactics of a winning side, in no way am I overconfident, dont waver, stand firm independence is so near.

Got a wee tingle writing that 🙂

278. geeo

Heard from my son the asda managers have complained about the statement attributed to Asda CEO.

Rebuttal statement supposedly being issued.
    If it is not here by tomorrow then we can safely call bullcrap on it.

Him and his fellow managers agree with this.
    We shall see.

279. Leither

It’s good to see Salmond over the past few days lose any worries he may have had about being polite and really go for the jugular – attacking the BBC, as well as making clear that no voters don’t deserve to be called the ‘people of Scotland’, aren’t part of Team Scotland and are therefore effectively ("Tractor" - Ed)s to our nation.

280. David Stevenson

Just been along Parnie Sf and Cbisholm St near the Tron in Glasgow. Saltires and Yes posters in lots of windows. Looks lovely….

281. Free Scotland

(Sorry to go OT) Have decided never to shop in ASDA again, and, after the latest intervention from Richard Branson, will be closing my Virgin Money account.

Have these clowns never learned the business principle that “the customer is king?”

282. CameronB Brodie

Having debated the indyref with Edinburgh “businessman” and Labour Party candidate Daniel Johnson, I got the feeling he doesn’t give a shit for Scotland’s future well-being. I got the impression, after a number of discussions, that he is a snake oil salesman. All he had was thought terminating cliches and very little vision. Fraud!

Pooling and Sharing = Colonial theft.

283. JWil

You just knew it was going to be more lies when the politicians, backed by the media, claimed that Lloyds would shift their headquarter to London in the event of independence when it was in London all along.

It’s a bit like David Livingstone ‘discovering’ the Victoria Falls when the Africans knew it was there all along.

284. Croompenstein

as well as making clear that no voters don’t deserve to be called the ‘people of Scotland’, aren’t part of Team Scotland and are therefore effectively ("Tractor" - Ed)s to our nation

Indeed he did not say that or even imply it, when he mentioned Team Scotland it was a direct reference to the 3 goons coming up to greet at us Team Westminster he called them, I would have called them Team Bullshit

285. bookie from hell

sky reviewer

saying Gordon brown turned the polls around

286. Proud Cybernat

If EE mobile phone company are reading this–if you try and bully the people of Scotland by suggesting mobile phone prices could rise in indy Scotland then I will be going to the mobile phone company that suggests they might go down in an indy Scotland. You have been warned.

287. James Caithness

@geeo

I refer you to my earlier post when I phoned asda to complain. The guy told me that there was a new statement and he would send it to me. I told him to shove it and that unless the statement appeared on TV its the only way I’d accept it.

288. Lesley-Anne

Well that’s me jusat fired off a few tweets to ASDA. 😉

Let’s hust say I was NOT complimenting them on their recent T.V. advert. 😛

289. James Caithness

@Proud Cybernat – that is my position with orange.

290. john king

When I was diagnosed with athsma, I spent three days in hospital and the locum doctor who attended when I collapsed in my home told my wife I would have died had she not called her,

I spent three days on a respirator and left hospital grateful to be alive and went to my GP to be prescribed four different drugs which were prescribed to prevent my death,
    I was unfortunate to take ill when the Labour party were still in power in Holyrood and my wife was faced with a choice, keep money to allow me to get to work or pay for the drugs that kept me there,

We had a horrendous choice to make because we fell into the trap of not qualifying for free prescriptions and although it is universially understood the athsma kills people it was not covered by the rule that a drug required to keep somewone alive was exempt from prescription charges , so some weeks I would have rescue inhailers, other weeks I might have the long term inhailers , and other weeks I might have the singulair tablets, but at no time could we afford all of the drugs prescribed by my doctor because it was a straight choice of getting to work or the drugs, we couldnt afford both,

So I spent the early part of my athsma illness having attack after attack, each attack presenting the increasingly likely outcome of my death,
    Then one day the SNP took office and suddenly the unbearable burden of paying for drugs we simply could not afford was lifted from our shoulders,

I felt better because I could get the full range of drugs I needed and was more able to do my job,

People say “but why didnt you pay for a quarterly fee”,
    thats great if you are well enough to stay at work so you can afford to pay an upfront fee, but pretty desparate when you are ill and your earnings have been affected,

I owe my life to the SNP policy of free prescription fees.
    the “something for nothing” policy of Joanne Lamonts SLAB would have seen me in an early grave, from where Im pretty sure I would not have been contributing tax,
    A dead loss if you will!

291. davidb

Shop prices are set to maximise profit, but are subject to competition pressure. Asda competes with all the others. The idea that the political status of Scotland makes a blind bit off difference to shop prices is frankly ludicrous.

Market forces set prices. Illegal collusion may have an impact, but of course the competition authorities would look into that. Many of the goods I regularly buy in supermarkets are Scots produced anyway. Fish, cheese, meat, milk, bread, etc would surely be cheaper on the argument put forward in certain quarters, as the competing supermarkets could price differently in Scotland now that they don’t have the huge cost of trucking the goods south and keeping prices the same across the UK.

What about imported wine, beer, fruit? If your tomatoes have been trucked from southern Spain to Carlisle, is the extra few pence to truck them to Grangemouth going to have such a massive impact? What if – as I think Mr Sillars proposed ( and like everywhere else in Europe ) diesel prices were slashed by 20 pence a litre in Scotland? Would that not massively reduce transportation costs?

After independence everything is up for grabs. Tax regimes. Duty regimes. Defence spending. Everything. The thing is, we will get to elect a parliament to deal with these matters. And who we vote for is who we get.

If we realise that some things work and some things don’t, we can elect a different lot to finesse it – and again, we will get who we vote for. We will be taking responsibility for our own problems. We will find our own solutions. And just like everywhere else we will muddle through. On our terms.

But how much will a pint of milk be in Asda in April 2016? Not much different than it will be in any other retailer.

Now what really gets to me is that I have to pay £1-09 for prezzels in Lidl. I know they cost 59 cents in Berlin. Should I demand that Germany runs my country?

292. Lesley-Anne

I’m just thinking about all this shite thatr SKY reported earlier tonight about the mobile phone companies allegedly getting together to put out a *ahem* communique about Scottish independence. Once this garbage is released then would be the time for a mobile company, if there is one NOT involved in this fraudulent attempt to corrupt the free will of the people of Scotland, to come out and say they had no intentions to make any changes. THAT company would, I have no doubt, see its sales go through the roof! 😀

293. WrinkleyReborn

Surely the banks are in hock to the BOE and would have to remain in their jurisdiction when pressure is applied. political Chaos Theory is being applied to undermine the Yes campaign. The Westminster Elite are acting true to form and that is the problem as it is also the reason we need to get shot of then to have something decent in their place.

294. Molly

Leither I don’t think anyone mentioned ("Tractor" - Ed)s -anywhere!

295. JWil

Addressed to Labour supporters who are persuaded to vote YES:

“They may even be aware that on September 19, Labour will launch a blistering publicity campaign against the Coalition citing the food banks as evidence of their treatment of the poor and yet have stayed silent throughout this referendum because of whom they chose as their friends.”

From Derek Bateman’s article today.

296. Cactus

Like the majority of Scots, I’ve always thought of myself as a PASSIONATE Scot, although being proud in the right context has its place. Only now this ‘proud but’ scenario has changed the interpretation by negative association..

So undecided voter, with regards to Scotland’s natural aspiration to independence.. do you consider yourself to be a proud OR passionate Scot?

One answer only please, which should tell you a lot (and in this scenario) also indicate how you will vote.

I’ll leave you to have a conversation with your internal dialogue.

297. Croompenstein

@john king – My brother had a similar experience with asthma he was a lucky man but glad to say he and you are still with us

298. David Anderson

Feelings into words, words into pictures, add music and hey presto! The referendum in a Dylanesque nutshell.

youtube.com/watch?v=CZDRNJ6kg5k&feature=youtu.be

299. john king

Thanks croompy

300. David Stevenson

In response to the comment from Leithsr, RBS won’t be paying corporation tax for a very long while. They have a £6.5Bn credit chit of losses to set against paying it and it is allegedly time unlimited.

According to C4 NEWS, so that could be bullshit of course….. Then again, they must get it right sometime.

301. Andy smith

Sandy,earlier
    I think I’m not alone in saying that I would’ve taken the wooden spoon ’90 in exchange for independence the same year.

302. muttley79

@Leither

I think it is a massive error, and wrong to call No voters ("Tractor" - Ed)s to Scotland. We are trying to persuade the undecided and soft Nos to vote Yes. Calling them ("Tractor" - Ed)s is no way to go about this. Frankly it is stupid. There is a variety of reasons why people might vote No. They may feel very British, they might have been conditioned to believe that Scotland cannot run its own affairs, they may have been affected by the propaganda blitz of the No campaign/MSM.

303. john king

YES Airdrie and Shotts @7.58

Good on you, stuff em,
    we dont need them!

304. cynicalHighlander

Livestream Nigel Farage on now.

305. Joe

the marketplace drives the prices , if there is one smarket selling cheaper , then that will get more custom , forcing others to beat or rival their prices , can see aldi and lidl having a bloody laugh just now and wondering how good a xmas they are gonna have , can see their shares doing well soon , smart money should buy them now . cant be good for shareholders to see the company they have invested in , telling a whole country that prices are gonna have to go up ,

306. A.N.Surgent

The ones you could with some justification call ("Tractor" - Ed)s to our
    country would be the leaders of Slab no-one else

307. HandandShrimp

I agree Muttley

The No side are desperate to stir it up and a lot of this negativity is to make people angry and do or say something that they can run with in the news. Be angry but stay focused. Use your anger wisely, slap down the lies, correct the errors and take note of the businesses that are answering the dog whistle of No 10. There will be all the time in the necessary to boycott B&Q, Asda and the rest after the vote. Those that have stayed fair and neutral will benefit.

308. Wull

It would be helpful if WoS compiled a list of all the retailers who have intervened in the political process attempting to scare people into voting No, putting out stories about price rises. Maybe a brief quote relating what exactly they said would be helpful.
    Then those who feel strongly about it can choose to shop elsewhere for a while. Even if they did so only from now until next weekend, when the result will be known, it could make a difference to these retailers if the response was big enough.
    Not an organized boycott – just plain information so that those who feel offended by such interventions can make their feelings felt.
    Then, the following week, they might just continue with it, and the next week again …
    By then they will probably have found that other similar shops and supermarkets etc. are just as good anyway.

309. Croompenstein

The First Minister has far too much class to call anyone or imply anyone is a ("Tractor" - Ed) not even you Leither but I will call you a trolling f*cker now away and play kerby on the M6 twat

310. IcySpark

This is HUGE

Treasury briefed RBS move before board decision
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-29185319

311. Silverytay

John King
    Snap , I used to be a very severe Asthmatic and the only reason I am alive today is due to the skills and dedication of the people who work in the Scottish Health Service .
    I think I spent more time in the P.R.I and Bridge of Earn Hospitals than I did at school .

Hell will freeze over before I allow the spivs and con men to get their hands on the Scottish N.H.S , it is one of the reasons that I am voting YES .

312. Betty Craney

@ Lesley-Anne
    Robert Peffers at 8.12 is looking for a tweeter to promote a wee video and ,as you’re famous for your tweets , I wonder if you could do your stuff….all for the cause !

313. Lesley-Anne

Oops looks like dear old Farage the mirage skipped out the back door when he left his *ahem* speaking engagement in Glasgow tonight! FEARTIE! 😛

314. Lesley-Anne

I tweeted it earlier today Betty but I’ll gladly tweet it again. As they say … anything for the cause. 😉

315. NODROG

Stalin – moustache? Sorry cannot agree – more like Groucho Marx and he made me laugh this guy Winston does not. OK so you youngsters cannot remember who I am talking about – but he was a lot sharper than all of the comedians shown in the picture with Lord Winston.

316. Snode1965

Regarding Derek Bateman’s article about the 300,000 newly enrolled voters. I want to also remind everyone of the massive voting group to which myself and my family belong. I left school in 1980 and started an apprenticeship at one of the many large engineering firms in Lanarkshire. Back then everyone could leave school and get a job. What happened to that industry and others in next decade will live with me for the rest of my life. I had to watch grown men in tears as they wre made redundant,because they knew it was happening everywhere and they had no future. I watched as the workforce dropped from 1600 to 600 before I was made redundant. Then the Labour Party re-invented itself gain power but alienate the blue collar worker. As a result I have to admit I never used my vote, I just was not interested. My point is that attitude has been turned totally on its head, and myself, partner and two adult daughters , who have always been registered but never voted, are all voting yes! Sorry about the length, had to get that off me chest 🙂

317. john king

Muttley79 says
    “Hopefully I will see you in the Meadows next week (sounds a bit camp to be honest).”

What?
    like this you mean?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_PLWqnfFgU

318. Colin

@Snode1965

I’m from Edinburgh but had a similar experience in a different industry, I was living and working in west Lothian, in 1985 I was made redundant with absolutely no hope of finding work with 65% unemployment in west Lothian.
    Never voted again until the last Scottish election and gave the SNP a try, the rest as they say is history.
    I would add that my father was a SNP supporter and I have wanted to see an independent Scotland since I was a young lad.
    Now is our time.

319. NODROG

Snode1965 with you all the way similar background Apprentice Toolmaker 1957 Cambuslang got out to Oil Industry 1970’s so missed the fears and tears but have not forgotten and never will. Yes all the way.

320. john king

Conan the Librarian say
    “Here’s me thinking paying my National Insurance was my membership fee…”

message for lord Winston,
    message for Lord Winston!

321. heraldnomore

We’ll always be able to enjoy a Springbank dram, for they’re on the side of the light. Can live without the big multinationals and drink small independents quite happily.

Brown turned the polls did he. Go on then send him out again, please. Let’s have him as a candidate at Holyrood in 2016. The hatted one tried that as well as I recall.

Great vibes tonight guys. Big weekend ahead.

322. Lesley-Anne

I have a question.

If Gordon Brown is this all saving hero of the universe, sorry union, why is it then that he only ever speaks to audiences who have been pre vetted and NEVER hangs around for a Q & A session after he’s regurgitated today’s *ahem* special! 😛

323. Tom Foyle

L-A

It’s because the truth sticks in his throat, and he can’t get a word out. Until he’s vomited the truth into a handy bucket. Then he can dribble out the BT lies. Is there a heart under all that lard?
    Of course not! But it’s nice to dream. And that’s all I have to say about that!

324. Lesley-Anne

Surely Tom for the TRUTH to actually stick in his throat he must surely have the where for all to actually recognise the TRUTH in the first place! 😛

Personally I do NOT believe for one second that he understands the meaning of the word TRUTH! 😉

325. JWil

The interviewing policy of BBC Scotland is very clear and it is always the same when they have two candidates in the studio from the YES and NO sides of the fence. Take an example from the BBC programme, Scotland 2014.

Sarah Smith asks the YES person the first question and then asks the NO person the second question, which is a request to respond to what the YES person said.

Sarah then changes back to the YES candidate on a different subject and asks another question and so the trait goes on throughout the interview with the NO person getting to make the final remarks of the interview.

Straight away this arrangement puts the No candidate at an advantage because has heard what the answer to the first question was and puts the YES candidate at a disadvantage because he is not allowed to respond to the NO persons reply. This continues throughout the interview.

The only conclusion that can be made is the BBC are not giving a fair hearing to the YES side.

326. Big Jock

Let’s face it we would all rather go in with no vote collapsing.However a statistical tie and 300,000 new voters.If I was neutral I would bet yes on the day.Another thing we still have this weekend and next.A lot can change in a few days!

327. Edward

Anyone know about the Daily Mail story about a Yes Supporters presence at every polling station
    “Yes campaigners to march on polling stations playing bagpipes to intimidate voters”

Article is complete with what is supposed to be a ‘poster’ from ‘Yes Craigmiller/Niddrie’ and a helpful comment from your friendly Kezia Dugdale

328. Lesley-Anne

Well if there is a comment from Kezia Dugdale then obviously it must be true Edward. 😛

329. manandboy

I would appreciate sound advice
    about aiding the security
    of the polling process at the station I attend.

Labour have a very bad reputation
    in the matter of rigging election results,
    particularly in the area of postal voting.

I make no apologies whatsoever for
    expressing my deepest distrust
    of the administration of the referendum ballot.

If you have any tips or advice
    I would be most grateful.

330. JWil

I have just been watching the Sky Paper Review and there is no doubt that the unionists are turning up the heat with their obnoxious and scurrilous remarks.

When the Battle of Bannockburn was fought it was Scottish underdogs fighting against the domination of the English hoards and the Scots won. At the time there were treacherous Scots campaigning with the English. The similarities are stark in the present campaign.

I see very little difference between the ancient battle and the one we are fighting now, except for the one sure advantage Scotland has for victory, of voting YES.

It’s the Unionist politicians, the Better together campaign and the UK media including the BBC who have brought it to this.

331. Stevie boy

JWil 10:12pm

Totally agree mate about the way the BBC interview. They ALWAYS ask the Yes person person as to ALWAYS give the No side the last word. It’s just too obvious to be anymore than a pre-planned ploy.

I wrote a complaint email to the BBC last night and this was one of my points in it.

They must think we are all too stupid to see their games.

332. Lesley-Anne

We won in 1297 as under dogs against a superior number of English army at Stirling Bridge JWil and as you say nothing has really changed. Here we are 717 years later and yet we are back to the same Stirling Bridge situation. The independence suporting Scots are the under dogs against the might of Cameron’s army (BBC/SKY/MSM/WM politicians etc.

We won in 1297 and we WILL win in 2014! What the members of Cameron’s army are incapable of figuring out is the literally masses of people who registered to vote in the referendum. No one who has not been registered to vote for decades is now going to register to vote in order to vote NO. No they are all registering to vote in order to vote YES!

It is the new registrations and the believe amongst the independence supporters that is going to win this. We have the momentum, despite what the media claim. We are winning and we will win on 19th!

333. Big Jock

Stevie don’t write to BBC.Its like asking a bully to stop bullying.Most of my life I just made sure the Bully got a kicking from my big brother end of bully.To defeat BBC we have to vote them out.They are only doing what they want because they can!

334. Big Jock

Lesley I agree.If anyone is in any doubt about how little Scotland has changed please go and read Kidnapped by RLS.It is my favourite book of all time.Because it runs parallel with the corrupt Scottish elite of today,the Jacobite rebels us,and Balfour the lad who has sympathy for the Jacobite’s but can’t escape his lowland upbringing.

335. JWil

@Lesley-Anne

I agree that this referendum is an unknown quantity as far as predictions are concerned, with the numbers who have never cast a vote before and, as you say, these new voters are not going out of their way to vote no.

All the techniques used by the pollsters are out the window on this one. If their sample populations are the same people as they had for previous elections (the hard core voters)and they are taking account of their voting bias, then a neck and neck situation bodes well for a YES vote as you then have to add the people who haven’t voted before.

336. Big Jock

17% don’t knows.My wife is allegedly a don’t know but I suspect she will go to yes.I simply said to her the bottom line is do you think Scotland should run Scotland or Westminster.That’s what you are voting for.Simple but effective she couldn’t disagree.

337. Lesley-Anne

I’ve said many times before JWil, probably so many times to drive poor Stu up the wall, that I believe that all these polls are incorrect. I say this precisely for the reason you state, the polling techniques are out the window. How can any polling company produce accurate polling results when they use the voting intentions of the 2010 and 2011 elections to gauge how folks will vote in 2014. This is a totally illogical way to calculate the result next week. They have no way of including the Tory, Lib Dem and especially the Labour voters who will be voting YES next week. THIS is why I believe our cause, the YES cause is well ahead.

I am confident that because of the major flaw in the polling companies calculations we WILL win and we will win BIG! 😛

338. Big Jock

300,000 new voters.80% go to yes.Its worth 6% on our total!Of course we will win.Worth noting we still have 6 days left yes can still rise in those days.The media are even making yes people think we are behind.Its designed to knock our confidence nothing more.They have already lost.

339. Macbeda

Milliband and Winston photo.
    Where have the young girls gone? Gone to vote YES every one. Sorry Bob.

When will they ever learn that half the voters are women.

“Nil satis nisi optimum”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.