If you can’t say something nice

Posted on September 04, 2014 by

…you probably write for the Express.

Yesterday we posted a couple of tweets observing the fact that the Scottish media had conspicuously ignored the phenomenon that is The Wee Blue Book. (We’d have made more of the total blanking had we been even a little bit surprised.)

benborland

Despite having extensively reported almost every other document published about the referendum debate (such as Sir Tom Hunter’s almost-impenetrable digital-only effort), the press saw nothing at all newsworthy about a 72-page book that’s been downloaded over 400,000 times online and which a small team of complete amateurs had managed to fund, print and distribute more than 250,000 physical copies of in a matter of days, with demand still far outstripping supply.

But it turned out we were being a little unfair.

Because an alert reader pointed out today that we’d actually missed a feature in last weekend’s Scottish Sunday Express – one penned by its actual honest-to-goodness editor, no less. And said reader was kind enough to send it to us.

————————————————————————————————————-

A book of errors is a new gospel
Ben Borland

IT USED to be only Jehovah’s Witnesses who would turn up at your door and attempt to “convert” you.

Now, sadly, it seems that thousands of people are at it. All over Scotland, a new breed of zealot is rushing around, clutching leaflets and other literature based on half­baked theories, trying to persuade others to share their faith.

Yes. It’s sad that people engage actively and enthusiastically with politics.

Yet these modern-­day evangelists are not religious -­ in fact, most are probably atheist/humanist/Jedi knight. Rather they are independence supporters, many of whom view it as their mission in life to win over new believers.

They leap out of bed in the morning with a messianic zeal, eager to persuade undecided or even -­ the Holy Grail ­- No voters to put their tick in the Yes box come September 18.

After each successful “conversion”, these political preachers rush to Twitter and Facebook to boast about their achievement ­- although I wonder how many folk have agreed with them merely to get some peace.

Most also turn to the Internet to back up their assertions about independence, despite the fact that online research can “prove” anything from the existence of aliens to the staging of 9/11 with giant mirrors.

However, the main weapon in their armoury is not the Scottish Government’s white paper on independence, or serious contributions from free-­thinking nationalists such as Jim Sillars or Dennis Canavan. It is a wee blue book.

Hurray! (waves)

The Wee Blue Book has been produced by the website Wings Over Scotland, a controversial and outspoken politics blog that was even disowned by Yes Scotland a few months ago.

It is run by a former video game journalist called Stuart Campbell, a Scot who has lived in Bath for many years.

Wings Over Scotland is very good at mobilising its followers and highlighting online blunders by Unionists – such as last week pointing out a celebratory “champagne breakfast” planned by Scottish Conservatives in Dumfries on the morning of September 19.

Shucks.

HOWEVER, Wings Over Scotland is not a news­gathering operation. Mr Campbell­ – who styles himself “Reverend” – does not interview politicians, economists or business people and does not attend press conferences or debates at Westminster or Holyrood.

Well, they’re a long way from Bath. But we weren’t aware that there was a shortage of outlets interviewing politicians, economists or businesspeople. That angle seems to be covered more than adequately already. (Also, didn’t you say we weren’t religious?)

The website admits as much, describing its output as largely “commentary and analysis” -­ and yet a significant number of people appear to be using this one man’s personal opinion to decide how to vote in the referendum.

No, what they’re using are the facts. We’re just the messenger. It’s a quite appalling and condescending slur on half the population of Scotland to suggest that they’d vote Yes just because some idiot with a website told them to. People change their minds on the basis of evidence, and we provide sources for all of ours so that people can check it for themselves. It’s a crazy idea, newspapers might want to try it out sometime.

I downloaded a free copy of The Wee Blue Book last week and, while its breezy, knockabout style is easy to follow, it contains several glaring mistakes and contradictions.

For example, there is an admission that Scotland receives more UK public spending (£64.5billion in 2011/12) than we generate in tax (£57billion in 2011/12). But in the very same chapter, the book claims that “Scotland subsidises the UK by billions of pounds every year”.

That’s not a contradiction at all. We explain it very clearly in the book – Scotland contributes more than its proportionate share to the UK’s coffers, and the “extra spending” is in fact debt taken out by Westminster in Scotland’s name, which Scotland has to pay back. Indeed, Scotland has to pay back a disproportionately high share of UK debt, so it gets hit twice – and then the UK uses the resulting financial damage to suggest that Scotland is too poor to look after itself. Cunning.

It’s perfectly possible (indeed, almost universal) for one partner to contribute more to the household finances than the other, yet for the family as a whole still to be in debt.

It also states: “The No campaign’s most repeated scare story is that an independent Scotland wouldn’t be able to keep the UK pound. This is a categorical lie.”

Well, yes, it would be if anybody at Westminster had ever said Scotland couldn’t keep the pound ­- the issue at stake is whether there would be a currency union, an option that has been ruled out by all three main UK parties.

Um, no. Nice try, but the No campaign most certainly HAS said that Scotland couldn’t keep the pound AT ALL, absolutely explicitly, a great many times. We conveniently documented some of them less than a fortnight ago. (That “evidence” thing again.)

The book also borrows the SNP’s current scare story du jour and warns that “if” the NHS in England were to be fully privatised, it would wipe out the devolved health budget in Scotland – “if” being the key word. The health budget in England is, in fact, ring­fenced and has been rising year on year.

Except that it hasn’t. As it happened we’d disproved that claim the very same day, with the assistance of the Telegraph – a publication which we think even the Express would struggle to describe as a hotbed of separatist zealotry and Jedi knights.

ANOTHER ludicrous assertion is the claim that “modern­-day Scotland is a country entirely without military enemies”. Eh? Does Rev Campbell really think that al Qaeda or Isis distinguishes between Scotland and the rest of the UK? And if we are to be a member of Nato, then surely we will have the same common enemies as the rest of our allies?

“Military” enemies, you dimwit. The word’s there for a reason. Al-Qaeda and Isis are, at best, paramilitary. They have no air force, no navy, no divisions, no battalions, no tanks, no helicopters and no warships. They’re well-equipped terrorists, and you can’t beat terrorists with armies. (Not that the UK ever learns the lesson and stops trying.)

And lots of countries are NATO members without attracting the anger of terrorists in the way the UK does. It was, after all, the former head of MI5, not us, who said that UK foreign policy – not NATO’s, specifically the UK’s – “substantially” increased the risk of terrorist attack. If Scotland doesn’t share UK foreign policy, it doesn’t have to share the same enemies, even if it’s in NATO.

I could go on, but I think I hear somebody at the door. Ah yes, it’s Uncle Archie with his copy of The Wee Blue Book, here to attempt another “conversion”.

What was it Billy Connolly said was the best way to get rid of Jehovah’s Witnesses? “I am stark naked, and I am opening the door in five, four, three…”

Blah blah. So there isn’t in fact a single “glaring mistake” that’s been identified by the article, nor a “contradiction” either. But still, it’s flattering that they sent their top man for the job. Even if that’s not, in the Express’s case, a very high bar to clear.

502 to “If you can’t say something nice”

1. TheeForsakenOne

I’m amazed they didn’t question what Diana would think of the Wee Blue Book.

2. Andy Nimmo

And here’s yet another of these Nasty Nats deliverying horrible stinking lies

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/09/04/the-coughing-canaries/

3. Jim Thomson

So, NOT the Edinburgh Advertiser after all. Disappointed. Just some rag from the belly of the beast.

4. heraldnomore

And how do their readership figures compare with Wings?

5. Stu

Imagine how they would react if they saw a muslim reading it – can someone please send them a pic.

6. Andy Nimmo

Sorry should have been delivering.
    C’mon Stu stop quoting the Express. It makes sane people so angry they can’t even type correctly.

7. James Sneddon

It was the ‘fuggin’ Duke of Edinburgh that done it’ not bad for a paper owned by a bully and a pornographer whose dealings are documented their fuckwittery in Private Eye…every issue

8. James Sneddon

Jim Thomson the Express nothing on the Edinburgh Advertiser 😀

9. IcySpark

I have just uploaded the video of the wonderful Jeane Freeman interview with Andrew Neil.
    Absolutely fantastic responses from her regarding the privatisation of the NHS and TTIP. Please watch and share.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/294477047400255/308179412696685/?comment_id=308183536029606&notif_t=like

10. Patrick Roden

Oh Bloody Hell!!

My campaign on twitter to make sure no one re-tweets a link to the Wee Blue Book is already struggling with a lot of cyberpests re-tweeting my heart felt plea, and now this!

11. S McCallum

Will the manufactures of statins stop supplying to an independent Scotland?

12. gillie

Scottish Sunday Express headline, “From beyond the grave Princess Di urges Scots to vote NO”

I wonder if Ben Borland uses a Ouija board for all his news scoops.

Next up Queen Victoria, “We are not amused with Alex Salmond”

13. Haggis Hunter

If Scotland votes Yes, then I am affraid I will leave the Wings Sect, sorry Stu, do not pursue me with threats to the evil sinner, and have me stoned to death

14. gillie

Wow, Jeane Freeman from Woman for Independence certainly out the boot into Andrew Neil on threat to the NHS in Scotland.

This a must see.

15. MeldyMan

Have you considered challenging the #wbbcorrections list in a like fashion?

16. BigRik

Don’t worry… its only the Express 🙂

17. YESGUY

My old mum was a Jehova witness ,

She’d have clipped yer ear and told you to get dressed , shell be back in 5 mins. .

Really enjoying today. The NT campaign is in full panic. It’s great watching it fall apart bit by bit. They will be in shock come the19th.

Tomorrow is Alex Salmond day in the record and hints of a poll with a YES lead. I might (I said might) buy a copy just to see .

As for the express, i know someone who buys it for the crossword and football, he never looks at it afterwards, and even he says “it’s shite”

He’s a YESSER too. strange bedfellows i know.

18. JPFife

Go’ne yirsel Stu, Mr Borland now has a well spanked arse.

19. Cindie

@IcySpark, Marcia (thanks Marcia) shared that link on a previous thread so have shared it on Twitter too. It’s brilliant.

Re the Express article, it looks likes the reporter’s capacity for understanding the book was perhaps affected by the sheer weight of sour grapes that he’s struggling with?

20. HandandShrimp

I never really think of the Express as a newspaper

I suppose they must qualify on some sort of technicality. I can’t recall the last time I saw one though and it isn’t a website I ever see linked. That said, if the above piece is typical I can see why.

21. call me dave

Herald reporting on RMT
    Catch the last sentence.

Members of the National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers (RMT) voted for the union to come out in support of Yes, a move unlikely to calm the nerves of the Better Together campaign after its lead shrank to just six percentage points.

Members voted by a margin of 1051 to 968, with 365 undecided.

It is only the second union in Scotland to come out in favour of Yes after the Prison Officers’ Association.

An RMT spokesman said: “RMT has conducted a referendum ballot of our members in Scotland and they have narrowly recorded a majority in support of the “yes” position.

It is also heavly involved in the North Sea oil and gas industry, representing many offshore workers, and with a significant base and presence in Aberdeen.

Mr Miliband had been due to visit Aberdeen today but switched his plans to Blantyre, in Lanarkshire.

22. G H Graham

If only it contained an Almanac, we could foretell the future.

23. Nana Smith

O/T well rather appropriate for this thread.

Pity those who shout the loudest [Murph,Robertson,Curran to name a few] are the only ones given free rein to do so by the media.

http://www.fileymercury.co.uk/news/national/poll-police-bid-over-intimidation-1-6822998

24. Alan Weir

Stu: I particularly like the first bit of illogicality from the Express- that no one who is paying back a loan can subsidise anyone else. As someone who professionally teaches (and researches in) logic at a university, I have been struck by the deep irrationality of large parts of the unionist case, and tried to analyse it in ‘Ten Absolutely Crap Arguments in Favour of the Union, of which the one above was number two @:

https://sites.google.com/site/weirysite/scottish-independence-referendum-1

Not that there are only those ten blatant fallacies but they were the ones which have annoyed me most! Alan

25. Ken MacColl

Its the Express for heavens sake. That has about as much political clout as the Beano.
    Pass the sick bag!

26. heedtracker

He’s got the BBC, STV, every last 37 newspapers in Scotland all monstering Scottish democracy, hour after hour, day after day for years and they’re losing. Its two countries, right wing media land and Scotland, and who runs the country is what we’re going to find out.

27. Andy-B

If that clown is their top man, boy are they in trouble, of course it was to be expected, that they’d try and rubbish the wee blue book, but the wee blue book is gospel.

28. biggpolmont

lets face it If that xenophobic peice of used toilet paper said anything nice about you . You would know that you had made a pretty crass mistake
    A day in the life of its editor
    get up,
    have breakfast
    read the drivel the night shift has dredged up trying to discredit the yes campaign.
    Have lunch
    try to find some dirt on yes campaigners while ignoring corruption and expenses scandals at westminster
    have dinner
    find something to praise the tories for
    go to bed

29. Robert Louis

Hard to describe the mind blowing hypocrisy of this editor of a newspaper which every single freaking day prints made up stories, completely devoid of ANY factual basis, who deems himself a good judge of facts.

The point is, unlike the Daily express (or its Sunday version), every single article on this site is referenced, and every single statement in the wee blue book is referenced.

I think what this tells us, is just how much the corrupt media within the UK really, really do not want the people to find out just how much they have been lying to them.

The wee blue book has clearly got the British establishment worried. The very last thing they want for anybody in Scotland, is that they should actually read the truth.

30. BigRik

Nana… that’s some article… getting egged must be almost like terrorism. Still , at least no-one has been physically attacked , right? oh… wait…

31. Harry McAye

The Wee Blue Book will not cure arthritis. So why are they even bothering?

32. faolie

You’re kidding, right? The editor of the Express spluttering like a colonel of the shires because these damn Scots have the temerity to say that they’re subsidising us. Stuff and bloody nonsense.

OMG, so funny.

33. Eric D

The SSE’s editor is correct in one thing – the WBB is easy to read (and understand).

But someone must have told him that – because HE certainly doesn’t understand it.

I thought Simon Heffer, Richard Madeley, and the odious Katie Whatsername were bad, but the SSE editor beats them all.

34. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Have you considered challenging the #wbbcorrections list in a like fashion?”

I haven’t considered wiping my arse on it.

35. manandboy

EggGate
    “His solicitor David Cranston said “by his own admission he is a supporter of Scottish independence”.

I don’t believe it.

Of all the things, his solicitor could have said about his client, eg. he regrets his actions.
    and he says this!!

Utterly scheming and corrupt.

36. Robert Louis

YESGUY,

I too might buy a copy of the record tomorrow, simply because I think it is an actual piece of history. Perhaps, if enough people but it, the owners will realise the commercial potential of actually producing a newspaper that reflects the views of ALL Scots, and not just old fashioned “ahm votin naw”, labourites – a dying breed if the polls are any guide.

37. BigRik

So the eggman says he is a YES supporter… so what , it was a fucking EGG… not a kick in the stomach. Oh , i forgot… NO side good , YES side bad…

38. Jim McIntosh

@nana smith

Re free speech – surely free speech cuts both ways if the smurf has the right to stand up with a megaphone and spit out untruths I have the same right to stand there with my shouty voice and ask him to prove his point of view.

People like Robertson, Hague and their ilk don’t care about free speech they are only interested in us listening to their propaganda. As Elaine C. Smith said the other night , you’ve voted, now get to the back of the bus and shut up.

39. Eric D

Nana Smith – he deserves everything he gets.

Only a complete idiot wouldn’t realise how the media and BT would react to such an act.

Please, just ignore them all. Let Murphy rant away. We’re all better spending our time knocking on doors and talking to undecided voters or ‘soft no’s”, handing out information and chatting to passer-by on our High Streets, delivering the WBB or trying to get the ‘”don’t knows” to miss Eastenders and go to a Yes Scotland, RiC, Tommy Sheridan, Labour for Indy, Women for Indy or any of the other pro-Independence meetings that are taking place all over the country.
    That way we gain votes, not lose them.

40. HandandShrimp

You know if we win this, and we very well might do just that, despite the full weight of the Westminster establishment, international friends, TV and Press being against us at every turn we will know that Yes has truly won fair and square.

41. heraldnomore

Courier – I smell rotten egg

42. Mike

While the No campaign has done everything possible to lose the vote only the media has propped up the chances of it happening.
    If a No vote travesty were to happen it would be 1000% down to the media and nobody else.
    The Yes campaign has hardly put a foot wrong while the No campaign has never put a single foot right and yet the talk is its too close to call.
    The media should never been forgotten nor forgiven for their part in the Indy ref debate and all involved should be held to account irrespective of the result.

43. pa_broon74

If you had the WBB printed on Franklin Mint plates, the Express would have flogged it without batting an eyelid.

Witnessing a so-called real journalist from the UK press get filleted is always entertaining.

44. JLT

‘I am stark naked, and I am opening the door in five, four, three…”

Aye! …and this is a nation where men wear skirts with hew-haw underneath. You think I’m going to be terrified with someone standing at his door with his meat and 2 veg out?

I have a sharp pen in my hand. One false move while I ask the gentleman whether he believes Scotland should be an independent country, could lead to an unfortunate accident.

45. Jim McLean

I, too, watched the Jeane Freeman interview with Andrew Neil. My wife, English but fairly non committal regarding the referendum (I think she just puts up with my obsession with TV debates out of loyalty !) was extremely impressed by Ms Freeman. We live in London, presently, among the chattering classes.

46. Big Red Machine

Nice to see they made the attempt to contact you and interview you…you know like a proper fucking newspaper would.

47. gillie

An unemployed Scottish independence supporter who threw eggs at Labour MP Jim Murphy in Kirkcaldy High Street last Thursday has been sentenced to 80 hours of community service.

Stuart MacKenzie, 45, who lives in the High Street, admitted assaulting the shadow minister as he spoke in the town centre as part of his 100 towns campaign for Better Together.

Sheriff Kenneth McGowan said the accused, who appeared from custody at Kirkcaldy Sheriff Court, had been guilty of “childish antics”.

His solicitor David Cranston said “by his own admission he is a supporter of Scottish independence”.

Reacting to the sentence, a spokesman for Mr Murphy said: “This sort of behaviour has no place in the referendum debate. Everybody in Scotland should be free to make their voice heard without fear of intimidation or abuse.”

So no connection with the Yes campaign and no conspiracy as Jim Murphy claimed. A lone egger.

48. Viking Girl

Half baked theories means anything different from the Unionist view.
    And
    You’d have to be half baked to decide what to vote based on ‘one man’s opinion.’
    I’m relieved I didn’t see him stark naked. His photograph is enough, thanks.
    I agree, Jean Freeman is a God send.

49. Lesley-Anne

What ever happened to the obvious allegation that, thanks to the publication of this dastardly, underhanded,, unreferenced, lie filled publication called the Wee Blue Book, Scotland will from hence forth NEVER be able to enjoy such weathertistic phenomenons as Sunshine, rain, snow, wind etc because as a direct result of the WBB publication ALL weather has been cancelled in Scotland!

Shock … Horror … Scotland will become the first country on planet Earth to be weatherless!

We’re doomed I tell ye, all doomed! 😛

50. Craig P

I used to know somebody who refused to look at Wings because of the impression he had of it from the mainstream media as a site of intolerance and incitement.

But that was several months ago… now he reads it every day, has been converted to Yes, and posts links to most Wings articles on Facebook.

That’s what reading Wings (as opposed to reading *about* Wings in an anti-indy newspaper), does to you folks.

51. fletch49er

Ben Borland heads the nasty threat coming via the WBB off at the pass! NOT! God forbid someone might actually read the truth and form an opion of their own.

52. alistair

Is the eggman the same Stuart on the yes article
    http://www.yesscotland.net/news/why-were-saying-yes ?

53. Hewitt83

Daily Express headline today was ‘SALMOND TO TAX SCOTS AN EXTRA £480 A YEAR”

£40 a month? Sign me up 😀

54. alistair

Does anyone know any Wings contacts in Moffat that needs some WBB’s ? Let me know and I can pass some on – ta.

55. November13

I am away in Crete for 10 days only to discover Bob Geldoff says no!Meanwhile Michael MY Greek Barman says YES.I know who I would rather listen to.Boomtown one hit wonder pish.Go and stick your opinion up your proverbial Bob.Not a clue pal not a clue have you.

56. Caroline Corfield

alistair – unlikely as the name does not appear on the Kirkcaldy court rolls for the next few days or indeed for today where said eggman was supposed to be appearing.

57. faolie

Reminder: any spare copies of the wee blue book in your area, please post on Facebook, http://facebook.com/weebluebook

58. Caroline Corfield

well well i retract my last statement having read up the thread

59. heedtracker

Tory Boy Ben’s boosted WoS on telly too, with future Lady Sarah Smith, wish they’d change that studio background, its like they sitting in a giant vagina.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScSarHy2nLQ

60. faolie

@alistair:see comment re Facebook page!

61. Caroline Corfield

it sounds very like the Sheriff wanted to say they were both as bad as each other when he talked about how there was a lot of people there and it could have got out of order

62. Angry Weegie

@gillie
    I may be overly cynical, but does anyone know this guy? Is he known to have been involved in any previous independence events?

63. alistair

I just thought it was a coincidence that it was a Stuart Mackenzie fromm High Street Kikcaldy and someone of that name and town appears in the Yes piece. I don’t use twitter or facebook but would be interesting to check to check out the No set up claims or whether it was just some frustrated Yes supporter.
    P.s. Any Moffat contacts out there ?

64. Andy-B

Stewart Mackenzie (Mr Egg thrower) given 80 hours community service today at Kirkcaldy sheriff court.

65. heedtracker

Ben;s clearly a deep thinking bigger hitter too. Whatever you say about Baillie, she is certainly not too posh for Labour in Scotland. If they can vote Ed Milliband, who went to same Primrose Hill primary as future PM BoJo

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/267729/Jackie-Baillie-too-posh-to-be-Labour-leader

66. Lesley-Anne

Why was it Mr Eggman’s solicitor who said he was a supporter of independence, why did Mr Eggman not say that himself. Something stinks about this. I admit I’m probably reading too much into this totally cracked affair but there’s definitely something wrong here in my view.

His solicitor David Cranston said “by his own admission he is a supporter of Scottish independence”.

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/news/local/fife/kirkcaldy-yes-supporter-sentenced-for-egging-jim-murphy-1.558970

Thanks to Nana who posted the link over on the new thread.

67. manandboy

EggGate

Like a size 7 shoe won’t fit a size 10 foot

the No version of this story doesn’t fit what we know.

But it’s not about Murphy anymore.

It’s about the lengths the UK Gov will go in this campaign

to achieve it’s ends

68. physicists4yes

Very o/t but. …
    I’ve been successful in applying to observe the referendum as an individual electoral observer. Does anyone have experience of this. …what is expected of me on the 18th, will I need to take Thursday and Friday off work ?
    There is a briefing I hope to attend but it is limited spaces anyway and I can’t seem to see any info on the Web ?
    cheers wingers and yessers

69. Mary Bruce

That full-time, anti-indy twit on twitter from London, called Toby Fenwick – @Tobbes73 (he of the Wee Blue Book “corrections”) says he is coming up to Scotland to debate and campaign next week.

https://twitter.com/Tobbes73/status/507500399801434112

No doubt the plan is to use his “corrections” to try and trash the Wee Blue Book.

Wouldn’t be surprised if Blair McDougall and/or the Daily Express weren’t behind this.

I had a wee look at his “corrections,” a brief glance shows there is plenty drivel (eg, he claims the OBR figures are more reliable than the oil industry ones, LOL)

Here they are:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0e29wjlh2dgyrmf/WBB%20Corrections.pdf?dl=0

Anyway, I thought someone with a bit of spare time might want to do a wee fisking job on his “corrections” to point out his mistakes (another one is claiming Scotland will have a bigger spending gap than rUK, even tho the Chartered Institute of Public Financing and Accounting says it will be much smaller: https://archive.today/KSAk0

Toby has definitely used selective figures to reach his conclusions, it is a total spin job. It would be useful to get a Toby hashtag on the go and get started on exposing his drivel before he gets here next week when he will no doubt do all he can to discredit the Wee Blue Book. Anyone up for helping out with this?

70. ronnie anderson

NICE BUT DIM is that Ben Borland that charicter in the sitcom..

71. Lesley-Anne

I wonder how far near the TOP of the news headlines Mr Eggman’s court appearance will appear.

No doubt wherever Mr Eggman’s story appears on the news programmes tonight it will be AFTER the two fascinating stories about the NO supporters who have all been rounded up and are awaiting their time in front of the judge tomorrow in Edinburgh and the story about the NO supporter who kicked a pregnant YES supporter in the stomach awaiting a similar fate in Glasgow’s courts tomorrow!

Oh wait a minute what am I talking about they are all NO supporters so obviously they will NEVER be found, arrested, charged or penalised. Silly me! 😉

72. joe kane

The Express has a busy schedule of hate to get through in any one week. As it was a Sunday then how appropriate to use the Jehovah Witness community of faith in order to ridicule Scottish independence. By combining the two the Sunday Express was able to dedicate more space to its ongoing journalistic investigations into the death of Lady Diana and the disappearance of Madeleine McCann.

73. heraldnomore

Took one for the team, possibly

74. Fiona

People, it was an egg !.

It is a big fat non-event and you have been talking about it for days.

Sure MSM made the most of it, by their lights. But have you no trust in the good sense of the electorate? Do you honestly think Scottish voters will be turned off the argument by this?

Truth is it is an embarrassment for Mr Murphy and his demand for a monopoly on free speech. Just like all our “natural leaders” who command a platform for no very obvious reason

Did you look at the backgrounds to his tour? High streets in the industrial wastelands where the only shops are Poundland pay day lenders and amusement arcades? In labour heartlands where the people are no longer persuaded that party does them any good at all and so he gets a hostile reception where he expected support?

Why are we even talking about this tube?

The MSM is powerful but it is not nearly as powerful as it claims or as this kind of politician believes. This is democracy: and they hate it. Forget their agenda. We have our own

75. Murray McCallum

I think Ben Borland is simply trying to remind Scots to know their place.

All this discussion, private research, creativity, personal life experience, etc. is nothing compared to the professionalism of Ben and his team.

Is it?

76. heedtracker

http://www.express.co.uk/search/Ben+Borland?s=Ben+Borland&b=1

He’s got some cracking no stuff Ben, Sturgeon plotting a coup, vote Yes and they’ll never find a cure for cancer, what happened to Scottish Jimmy Saville etc. There’s a team of them like this in all newspapers but have they been told they’ll be sacked if they lose. I’m a huge fan of vote NO Guardian’s Libby Carrell, they’re a pair of sneaky creeps too but at least they don’t try to hide it.

77. Clootie

A full study of the WBB and that article was the best the editor could come up with!!!

I do think they are getting rattled 😀

When Jeanne Freeman can outperform the hero of the London bubble it demonstrates the level of competence on the YES side. Andrew Neil simply couldn’t function outwith the tribal politics sphere.

I (like most of you) have met some incredible individual champions of an independent Scotland. I suspect the real shock to the political class is that we are not sheep and are very capable of mounting a logical case for change.

Everyone in the YES team has a clear determination in achieving the change required and that it can only be achieved by Independence.

We are working for EACH OTHER and they cannot figure that out.

78. CameronB Brodie

We’re not mad, we’re not bad but we’re certainly dangerous.

@ The British Estaplishment
    I hear LOPERAMIDE is good for bouts of sudden diarrhea.

79. JWil

The only conclusion to come to is that the MSM are feart to mention the WBB.

80. Lesley-Anne

Oh come on Fiona, it’s been fun. At least I’ve enjoyed it particularly all the egg puns flying around. A little light hearted fun does no body any harm which, from what I’ve seen, most of it has been.

We all know Murph the Smurph is a nobody. The only reason he has had so much air time on the TV and in the media is because he has been screaming and yelling at them since day 1 of his *ahem* tour. The problem is that no one IS listening to him, he knows that but he had to do something to get his name into the media again.

We all do trust the electorate Fiona, and we do believe that we are winning and WILL win on 19th. This is the reason that Murph the Smurph is so shouty, more than usual, these days. Trouble for him is that doing what he does in run down areas of Scotland does nothing for him other than make him look a bigger fool than we all suspect him to be.

Let’s face it the first time he was not in a run down area, as far as I can tell, was the other day at his *ahem* relaunch in Edinburgh. Who exactly turned up?

Around eight police officers

a bus load of NO supporters

a train load of press

a chicken

a few YES supporters

a couple of tourists wondering what all the fuss was about.

Yes his relaunch probably saw MORE people at it than he has had a whole week’s worth elsewhere. The man is a first class MUPPET! 😛

81. Fiona

Och you are right, Lesley-Anne

I just get annoyed when we dance to the media tune. My bad 🙁

82. JWil

That Labour shadow minister on the telly last night and again on BBC Scotland today said it would be a danger to Scotland not being in NATO for even one day.

I have never heard so much rubbish being spouted. John Beattie was having none of it from her. I am sure John must be a YES supporter after hearing that. He even gave a little caveat at the end of the interview which I took to mean, aye right hen!

The Western Powers are agreeing that all small countries should have access to NATO membership since the Ukraine situation happened, but no mention of Scotland in the passing. I have has heard it said twice now.

The EEC (as was) forced the Labour Party to give Scotland devolution now NATO are telling the world that everyone is welcome to join NATO.

83. heedtracker

Ben’s not just a far right ligger, he’s a novelist too. Ben’s sold so many novels, he’s now giving them away.

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/chorleycake
    Reviews are glowing,

“A comedy crime caper about the intertwining lives of a British pop star in Hollywood and an ordinary young man in Scotland who looks just like him. The pop star’s attempt to atone for his wife’s death leads him into deadly territory; his hapless double, meanwhile, becomes embroiled in a money-making scheme which puts him on a collision course with ruthless gangsters and a mysterious assassin.”

There’s also another one about gangster sharks, move over Ernest Hemingway.

84. Lesley-Anne

Don’t worry about it Fiona I completely understand your frustration I think we’ve all been there at least once. 😛

85. JWil

I reckon the most dangerous spokesperson that the unionists have is Douglas Alexander. He tells lies without batting an eyelid, has no reservations about butting into conversations and he suffers from verbal diarrhoea. Also, he has a lot to lose from Scottish independence). All things that put people off someone.

86. Murray McCallum

I just watched Jeane Freeeman educate Andrew Neil on how NHS funding works (+ how it is quite separate from health policy).

I’d vote for Jeane if she was standing for election. Why don’t they have intelligent people like Jeane in the OneNation #NoLabour ranks?

87. heedtracker

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/181356

Sharko!

“Gangsters and sharks and the hunt for a serial killer in Depression-era Sydney. This fast-moving thriller combines love, lust and murder in the heat of an Australian summer. Take some ruthless gangsters, a fiendish murderer and an onslaught of man-eating sharks and you have a breathless page-turner that will make you think twice before booking that holiday Down Under.”

A synopsis so bad, it could only be written by Ben Borland, aged 38 and three quarters and say a lot about the state of political hackdom in teamGB. No wonder Andrew Neil’s got such a huge opinion of himself.

88. CameronB Brodie

Nice to see they made the attempt to contact you and interview you…you know like a proper fucking newspaper would.

Good point Big Red Machine. If we are to believe Ben Borland’s narrative, the editor of a national newspaper is taking pot-shots at the leader of a fringe internet sect. And he is using considerable space to do so and failing miserably in the process.

@ Ben Borland
    Squeaky bum?

89. Albaman

Rev,
    Please do me a favour and put that interview between Jeane Freeman and Andrew (I’ll interrupt you) Neil , on to “face book” so that I can forward to all my contacts, I do not know how to do it otherwise.

90. Colin

Unionists take heed: This is what a grassroots campaign actually looks like.

91. CameronB Brodie

gillie
    I did suggest at least one of the eggs came from the direction of the grassy knoll. 🙂

92. Greg Hendry

Never mind Rev, artists are al most never appreciated in their lifetimes and prophets tend to be stoned to death for telling the truth.

93. fred blogger

JWil
    spot on!
    they suffer head-heart disconnect.
    they spout sound bytes without being emotionally connected to them.
    good will hunting.

94. CameronB Brodie

Caroline Corfield
    That was the name I passed to the Rev., the other night. I think. 🙂

95. Jim Duthie

Mary Bruce,

Who the hell is Toby Fenwick?? Should we be afraid (or even very afraid)?

96. michael morris

I think the express editor feels inferior to you Stuart ,because you are at least, twice the journalist he is

97. CameronB Brodie

They must have used thumb screws. 🙂

If you are a supporter of independence, do you go out of your way to bring the charge of intolerance down on Yes? Perhaps, but only if you have the IQ of an Alsatian. Apologies to all Alsatians.

98. ronnie anderson

@Albaman its on yes scotland Fbook page

99. Ann

So he’s admitted to supporting independence. So What?

I like thousands of others support independance, but I and they will probably not be part of any YES Group.

Usual guff. In the papers today and tomorrow, then gone like a puff of smoke in the wind.

It doesn’t seem to have affected the YES vote in anyway since the YouGov Poll showed a swing of 4% and the Daily Record supposedly having YES in front from their Poll… and I don’t think these results are solely to do with Alex’s good showing last week, but also good debating by all the people representing the YES side at debate after debate after debate.

What offends me most is being called a separatist and getting tarred with the likes of the breakaway groups in the Ukraine, IS, Boko-harum etc.

It’s down right insulting.

100. tonymac

Stuart mackenzie egger stv news

101. Indy_Scot

Just watched STV news, it looked and sounded to me like the piece was edited to give the impression that a Labour voter was voting No, even if it meant she might get a Tory government in Westminster.

When she said I’m voting no, the camera did not show her saying it in response to the question. Looked very suspect.

102. tonymac

scratch that didn’t read above comments
    woje up jow lol

103. The Man in the Jar

@November13

Geldof has form. “Just give us the fucking money”!

104. Nana Smith

North star tonight has an advert for the wbb

Undecided voter?
    find the information you need in
    THE WEE BLUE BOOK

http://www.theweebluebook.com

Also my hubby was in a local builder’s merchant’s today and the chap at the desk said he reckons everyone who chats to him is a Yesser.

105. Derek M

Ben Borland is a fud and a pretty pathetic journalist any time i see a piece written by him i now ignore it as i know how it will go ,man wants to take a reality check his writing is pure garbage bordering on fiction ,of course we all know why he writes like this as he is just another unionist that has been exposed in what i like to call “journalist gate” as being a cog in the wheel of the westminster propaganda machine,shame on him and all other journalists who have allowed themselves to be controlled by politicians.
    Now im off to do some jedi mind tricks on the locals the force is strong in my family vote yes,
    Just a thought if we are the Jedi does that make the no campaign the Sith and Flipper Darth Blinker?

106. Nana Smith

Add on to my comment above. Lots more folks asking my husband for a yes badge today and he passed on a couple of wbb’s.

Lots of YES signs around now. looks fantastic.

107. Indy_Scot

The fact that he has came out and said he supports Independence can only mean one of two things, one he is very stupid, or two, he is at it.

We all know that all Independence supporters are very clever, you do the maths.

108. Lesley-Anne

Was his name Stuart ROY MACKENZIE Cameron. He appears at number 17 over on the court rolls.

http://www.scotcourts.gov.uk/current-business/court-rolls/court-roll?id=7ddfa5a6-8980-69d2-b500-ff0000d74aa7#SUCA

109. Grouse Beater

Stuart

There’s been a attempts to descredit the site but it’s still here functioning as before, dynamic, topical, relevant and robust, the Wee Blue Book is in circulation, and we are still here to ensure truth prevails.

110. Andy

Like all the rest of msm news papers if you wiped your arse with it there be more shite came off it than went on

111. heedtracker

On balance, Grauns just as awful as the Express which is quite an achievement. Surprised Mike White’s suck so low

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/04/-sp-scottish-independence-momentum-yes-country-divided

“Walking his dogs nearby, retired factory worker Robert Henderson, 67, has reached the opposite conclusion. “We get no information from the yes campaign. It’s a case of: ‘We’ll tell you the rules after the game.’ Salmond’s a clever man on an ego trip, dangling a carrot and saying ‘jam, jam and more jam’. But he’s a piper leading us over the cliff.”

Give that man WBB! if he exists that is and not a thingee of a desperate teamGB liggers imagination in Canary Warf, figment!

112. Balaaargh

I have to admit that I used to read the Daily Express when I was younger.

Not for the articles, mind you. They had Dilbert in their comic section and the puzzle page was quite good.

113. CameronB Brodie

Lesley-Anne
    Not sure of the spelling and I was unaware of a middle name, but I think that’s Stu.

114. Lesley-Anne

Ach well it’s done and dusted now Cameron. We can all move on now, still I’ll miss all those eggciting egg puns though. 😛

115. Murray McCallum

Yes. The eggs are over. Be easy.

116. dadsarmy

@Rev

Great publicity – and free too!

117. Albaman

ronnie anderson ,
    Thanks for that ron.

118. Mary Bruce

Icy Spark: that clip of Jeanne Freeman with Andrew Neil was superb, what a great job she did, what a clever, articulate lady, really showed up Neil for the opportunistic chancer that he is.

119. BuckieBraes

Mr Borland’s description of us is really quite sweet.

‘They leap out of bed in the morning with a messianic zeal, eager to persuade undecided or even -­ the Holy Grail ­- No voters to put their tick in the Yes box come September 18.’

However, I really have to say, ‘If only!’ Messianic zeal is not uppermost on my mind as I ‘come to’ for an early shift.

120. CameronB Brodie

Lesley-Anne
    Yes, I’d much rather talk about the WBB, and did so umpteen times in the Post Office today. I’ve sussed out one teller who is pro-Yes and told her about the WBB last week. Today, she told me she has read it and thought it was great. I asked her to pass it on, especially to her mum. They can have a chat about it afterwards, before she gets her mum to pass it on in turn.

I’m not sure how many queues will have overheard, as we have started to blether quite a bit. I am after her college, who is a finger in the ears Naw. Today he got info about the pension promise and the ex-Chief Medical Officer saying Yes is the only way to save the Scottish NHS. Not sure what he will get tomorrow. 🙂

Another Nawbag today. Tried to tell him about the WBB.
    Naw, not interested.
    Why not?
    Because it is all propaganda.
    Have you read it?
    Naw.

Willful ignorance is surely one of the saddest human failings. 🙁

121. turnbul drier

@alistair

I cam help on the wbb to Moffat front. Email me turnbulldrier AT gmail DOT com

ta.

122. Giving Goose

John Gordon, LibDem councillor on Skye has declared for Yes.

123. HenBroon

Re the egg man in court. Like some one said this stinks to high heaven. Why have we not seen a picture of the person who appeared in court. I would like to compare it with the one showing him chucking the eggs on the day??

124. CameronB Brodie

HenBroon
    Lets say for sake of argument, that Stu was duped either by MI5 or a political party, or a mixture of both. Do you really think we will find out? In under two weeks? I think unlikely, so its probably best left in the gutter.

Personally, I just don’t think Stu thought things through.

125. Croompenstein

The First Minister was in confident mood at the Park Hotel last night, he went for it big time on the oil and the big discovery off Shetland. He also mentioned that there is a Scottish Lord apparently ready to come out for yes, and there are Labour Mps who will be voting yes. A bit cloak and dagger but I put my trust fully in the FM he is head and shoulders above any of the Westminster troughers.

He stayed behind to chat and have his photo taken with nearly everyone there. Different class

126. Grouse Beater

Salmond is a piper leading us over the cliff.

Erroneous mixed metaphor!

The Pied Piper – most definitely arrested as a suspected paedophile today – led the children into a cave in the mountain that swallowed them up. He was teaching the mean mayor and burgers of the town a lesson about paying fees as promised when work is done satisfactorily – Barnett Formula watch out.

Lemmings are supposed to swarm in hundreds on migration and rush willingly off a cliff edge to drown in the sea – a total fiction begun by Walt Disney in one of his faked ‘natural’ animal features.

127. alistair

@turnbul
    please check e-mail message for wbb drop off

128. Lesley-Anne

If anyone was wondering what happened to all those YES Saltires I think I’ve found out where they are. 😉

http://tinyurl.com/nhcadt2

129. scunnered

it is my opinion that the wbb is what is going to tip this referendum to a yes vote and people in scotland will see right through this eedjit
    o/t im a postman and do different areas every day..the amount of yes signs in windows is increasing by the day..i would say for every no sticker i see 7 yes..bring it on

130. fred blogger

are we winning coz, “we’re better than they are”, or because we fight with truth, passion, and conviction?
    we await lights being turned on.
    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/04/scottish-independence-5-reasons-yes-winning-polls?CMP=twt_gu

131. bjsalba

O/T Egg-gate
    According to the internet David Cranston is a criminal defense lawyer. Nuff said.

132. CameronB Brodie

Where’s tonight’s running commentary of the debate? Nobody watching? We’re coming up to 130 comments, so I think it would be ok. 🙂

133. john king

Criag P says
    “That’s what reading Wings (as opposed to reading *about* Wings in an anti-indy newspaper), does to you folks.”

What?
    like this you mean?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yB9B4pMw8zc

134. heedtracker

Ed Miliband on C4 news is not exactly convincing but next up, money markets watching as the “bit thats got the oil leaves.”
    Scots oil worthless, UKOK oil keeps pound value up, no currency union from Osborne and Alexander, run on their pound and then, all they have left is the IMF.

135. north chiel

OFF TOPIC, however, i am not convinced as regards this IS Scottish individual kidnapping story .Where is the HARD EVIDENCE on this.How convenient ,at this particular time that this should “come to prominence” re the BBC and London media.
    Does this unfortunate individual know for certain who is “holding him”?Could it be that “unknown agents” claiming to be IS could be behind this. How convenient for a daring “rescue mission” to take place on 16th or 17th Sept. , with Cameron meeting him at Brize Norton, along with British special forces.I would put absolutely nothing past the Westminster establishment as regards ensuring a NO VOTE on 18/9.As and until ,there is ABSOLUTELY UNEQUIVOCAL EVIDENCE on this story, i would believe NOTHING from the Westminster controlled media.

136. CameronB Brodie

heedtracker
    A system of government that is so embroiled with business and banking, can never serve the people as it already has a master.

137. Croompenstein

@north chiel – I agree the guy is probably as Scottish as David Camerons cock but if anyone knows differently or has evidence to the contrary I will stand corrected.

138. Fireproofjim

North chiel

It was actually Isis who said they were holding the Scottish aid worker, at the same tIme as they murdered the Americans. Don’ t think that even Cameron’s cleverest spin doctor could get Isis to co-operate on that one.

139. CameronB Brodie

Remember, Thatcher armed the Kemear Rouge then sent the SAS over to train them in terrorist techniques.
    http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/politics/2014/04/how-thatcher-gave-pol-pot-hand

140. CameronB Brodie

Khmer Rouge, even.

141. Blair paterson

I was amazed last night when I heard Nichola say and I think I am right that Murphy would or could do well in an independent Scottish parliament I think think the S.N.P. Will form the government of the first independent parliament and one of the first things they should do is pass a law that would prohibit any one who has lied and deceived the people of Scotland during the referendum debate would not be able to hold any public office or any position that affects the Scottish people I mean a government is there to protect the people and in passing such a law that is exactly what they would be doing Vote Yes

142. north chiel

Hard evidence “fireproofjim” if it was actually IS .i stand corrected if Clear unequivocal evidence is in the public domain?

143. Greannach

Serios blow for Salmond as Queen Mum refuses to confirm her support for people who eat chicken niblets!

144. Lesley-Anne

As well as the Teachers for YES debate going on via livestream there is another debate going on at Glasgow’s Oran Mor. The panellists are Fiona Hyslop and Patrick Harvie up against Alistair Carmichael and someone else can’t remember her name but she’s some high heid shot in the Labour party. 😛

http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/events/3354899

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/the-herald-debate-live-updates.1409760844

145. Weedeochandorris

@CameronB Brodie. Hi Cameron is there a link to watch the Herald debate?

146. Greannach

Blair Paterson,

I think Nicola and Alec are showing people they are above tribal party loyalties and are actually thinking about the future of our fellow citizens rather than their expenses. I wouldn’t leave Sincerity Jim in charge of a lavvy brush, never mind the fate of 5 million people, and I wonder if Alec and Nicola’s views are hugely different.

147. Grouse Beater

Fireproof Jim: It was actually Isis who said they were holding the Scottish aid worker

The only mention of “Scottish” I’ve seen said “Scottish educated.” Where and how did Isis say their next victim is Scottish, as opposed to British? Mind you, an Englishman will know the distinction- oh wait. The executioner is …

War always attracts the psychopath.

They cannot murder with impunity in their own country in case they are caught and locked away, but in war you can do as you please. Our chaps do the same, shoot the unarmed, urinate on bodies, take photographs, torture.

Some, like Rumsfeld, wear suits and are respectable family men on the side of justice, shock and awe. But in the end it always boils down to the same justification, the other side are brutal killers and ours are promoting democracy.

148. AndyC

O/T Ch4 news discussing european currency and interest rates and jittery financial markets, especially UK.
    “How does this (independence) affect the UK rates?”
    “Oh…..the bit that’s got the oil might leave and they adjust accordingly!”
    Think they’ll get the new London sewers finished in time for all the crap thats coming it’s way very shortly?
    Only 2 weeks before the shit hits the fan…and boy do they deserve it!

149. RogueCoder

Re: wbbcorrections – don’t waste your time.

I had a 3 hour tweet session with Toby Fenwick a couple of weeks ago, and for all his London legal training, he couldn’t get me (a relatively uneducated computer technician) on any of the Yes arguments. I destroyed his EU scaremongering case using the knowledge that the Rev posted regarding there being nothing in any of the EU treaties requiring member states to have central banks.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not claiming to be smarter than him – I was lucky to get away with my skin, he is a London lawyer after all – but it’s simply that the entire No case is based on obscure legal opinions. And they are just opinions, not facts. We won’t have the pound, we won’t be allowed in the EU, we won’t be allowed in NATO, etc etc ad nasueum.

Dealing with #wbbcorrections just gives those obscure arguments oxygen. Right now only @historywoman’s mad pack of hyena crazies pays any attention, so let’s keep it that way. The Rev’s WBB arguments are perfectly sound because they are based on precedence, not dubious and technical legal arguments.

150. Fireproofjim

North Chiel
    Actually the hard evidence should come from the person who makes the allegation.
    Otherwise it is just conspiracy theory.
    Anyway if there is the slightest likelihood that there is an innocent man being held by these murderous lunatics we should be careful of what we say about him. Think about his family.

151. Lesley-Anne

Weedeochandorris says:

Livestream did contact the Herald with a view to livestreaming it Weedeochandorris but the Herald never got back to them so the best you do is follow the tweets on the link above.

152. Paula Rose

Something nice.

Now darlings – time for some democracy

I’m taking a week off from filling beds and using my ride-on, should I:

(a) Sit here pressing keys in order to explain trolls and preach to the converted.

(b) Do a tour of Angus signing personal copies of the wee blue book.

(c) Get out and about in my local community and share the joy of independence.

You decide.

153. heedtracker

CameronB Brodie, it’s difficult to comprehend the economics behind a decade of Flipper and Crash that made the City and finance services the only industry to speak of in the UK. They know full well it’s the road to ruin, we’ll all do look 2008, yet what have they done? Pumped even more borrowed money into the City and that’s it. We are the exact same cheap credit consumer exonmy that collapsed in 2008 and It could well be that the future of the UK economy for the next 5 to 10 decades based purely on fiancial services, the City and not Scots oil.. but Scotland can do it differently.

154. Lesley-Anne

Why not do a combination of b and c Paula. 😉

155. heedtracker

b) Paula Rose

156. Greannach

Blow for Salmond as Darling’s medium chats to Ho Chi Minh’s ghost! HCM voted for Shane Ward on X Factor! No Better Together Thanks UKOK.

157. Weedeochandorris

Lesley-Anne Thanks following the tweets now. Ofcourse I should’ve known better that the Herald would make anything easy for us.

158. BigRik

Definitely B paula… if Angus lets you walk all over him 🙂

159. north chiel

Re” fireproofjim” I take the point ref the family , however the facts and truth can be very difficult to establish in these situations.”propaganda and spin” are factors which are difficult to analyse.

160. Lesley-Anne

Dammit!

I seem to have upset the moderation monster again! 😉

161. Onwards

@north chiel

The UK doesn’t officially negotiate with terrorists, but I expect a large payment is being proposed in exchange for this particular captive, given the timing..

The whole Islamic State situation is a joke – More repercussions from the illegal war in Iraq which left the country totally destabilised.

162. SquareHaggis

Sorry for my late post, tin foil hat’s ben jammin bore land.

It’s not that long ago since a messenger from this very publication was evengelising outside Tesco trying to “sell” me his version of Scottish Independence, sadly just not up to the mark and nowhere near the value for the Scottish pound in my pocket.

At least the WBB is free.

163. CameronB Brodie

Lesley-Anne says:
    4 September, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Weedeochandorris says:

Lesley-Anne says:
    ……..no.

Thanks. 😉

164. Lesley-Anne

You’re welcome. 😉

165. Grouse Beater

This afternoon I heard a military spkesperson commenting on the Ukraine and Russia’s involvement, and Isis in Iraq – both countries fearful of the USA at their border – bend his remarks to include Scotland – “this is a warning of how small countries are in peril without NATO’s protection.” (My italics.)

That’s the the same NATO puppet of American foreign policy.

166. gerry parker

@ Stu.

I thought the Rev was short for Revolutionary.

As in “The unsinkable Molly Brown”.

The Revolutionary Stuart Campbell.

And here this MSN journo has unmasked you.

What a fool I’ve been!

I’m going to tramp back round those 5000 odd doors I’ve oushed Yes material through and ask for it all back. I’m going to man the wings stall and ask everyone I see for the badges back.

I’m gonna rub my name off the wings banner that I signed.

Hell – I’m gonna vote NO.

Wait a minute, I’m an alert reader, what newspaper was that in?

Oh – The Sunday express.

I take it all back Rev, consider me reborn.

167. CameronB Brodie

heedtracker
    Scarey indeed, but we’ve got a ‘Get Out Of Jail Free’ card, luckily.

168. Doug Mcgregor

Seems to me that plenty of local politicians are sitting on the fence , wondering which way to jump . For them it’s not the result but which way their voters went after the event . You can wring your hands and say I’m sorry but I told you so after a NO vote but what do you say after what now seems inevitable?

169. Grouse Beater

Doug: Seems to me that plenty of local politicians are sitting on the fence

The jeopardy for them is, independence won, hitching their wagon to Westminster they’re likely to discover that place doesn’t give a damn about their career or future.

170. John Boyes

For anyone not on facebook, here’s a link to Jean Freeman’s interview with Andrew Neil earlier today. Starts 42.41 in. She was/is superb in fighting her corner.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b04gvjj8/daily-politics-04092014

171. Midgehunter

Paula – do (C)

After a couple of weeks everybody will know you and then with victory you can do a triumphful tour with folk begging for your autogramm. 😉

172. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

The BBC and the rest of the westminster media are pounding the war drums ever louder for Iraq.

Cameron has, as predicted, huddled with his backbenchers and is currently trying to win their support to attack Iraq again without UN backing.

Don’t let the simplistic BBC propaganda spinning this as “strikes against Islamic State” fool you. This is military action against Iraq in the middle of an out of control civil war. There can only be one outcome to such military action and we all remember what it is.

An ever escalating bloody quagmire that could last another decade with civilians in Iraq paying the highest price.

The media are somehow making all the same mistakes they did in the last run up to the Iraq War. That dishonest media, and westminster politicians like Cameron and Miilband, have learned precisely NOTHING from the Iraq catastrophe. Be sure to point out the truth when this subject comes up as it is being positioned to dominate the news. The jingoistic rhetoric from the warmongers and chickenhawks is already coming thick and fast and it’s only going to increase in these vital last couple of weeks.

173. Doug Mcgregor

Respect , Grouse beater (great blog) , I really meant local ie councillors etc not MPs . I feel they are not engaging with the debate and putting themselves on the line. They are the reps who have to live with us afterwards.

174. fred blogger

please help, i’m looking for a link to murphys apology.

175. boris

A full expose on Olli Rehns and Danny Alexander re EU membership etc,

http://caltonjock.com/2014/09/04/austerity-in-the-eu-sometimes-known-as-ollis-rehn-of-terror/

176. CameronB Brodie

I might join twitter just to join in the re-education program, currently underway. 🙂 Some prat has just taken the huff at being told to eff off. He then says ‘did you see what he said about me?’, inventing some spurious cybernat attack.

Honestly, if this is the standard of online BritNattery, we should walk this. 🙂

177. Fiona

Blair paterson says:
    4 September, 2014 at 7:58 pm
    I was amazed last night when I heard Nichola say and I think I am right that Murphy would or could do well in an independent Scottish parliament I think think the S.N.P. Will form the government of the first independent parliament and one of the first things they should do is pass a law that would prohibit any one who has lied and deceived the people of Scotland during the referendum debate would not be able to hold any public office or any position that affects the Scottish people I mean a government is there to protect the people and in passing such a law that is exactly what they would be doing Vote Yes

A government is there to serve and represent the people

Leave it to the electorate to decide if people should get a seat. Your suggestion is not one I can support in any way.

178. Grouse Beater

Doug: Councillors

There might be an element of celebrity dearth in that the press and media don’t see them as front page quotable, only page 5 short essay.

Respect, Grouse beater (great blog)

Ah, thanks always welcome, a spur to greater effort. If you see anything of worth feel free to pass it on to others.

179. Lesley-Anne

They love nothing more than trying to bully us Cameron but when we stand tall and tell them to take their bullying and stick it where the sun don’t shine they try to turn it into a nasty cybernat attack! 😛

These imbiciles are nothing more than utterly purile and pathetic in my view! 😀

180. Midgehunter

This is Camerons favourite pic. The big man is explaining to the world leaders how its done.

http://www.spiegel.de/fotostrecke/gipfel-in-wales-nato-beraet-ueber-ukraine-fotostrecke-118664-6.html

181. gerry parker

I hope Nicola had her fingers crossed behind her back when she said that about Jim.

182. James Caithness

Blair paterson says:
    4 September, 2014 at 7:58 pm
    I think think the S.N.P. Will form the government of the first independent parliament and one of the first things they should do is pass a law that would prohibit any one who has lied and deceived the people of Scotland during the referendum debate

============================

Blair a small piece from your post. I think something should be written into the Scottish Constitution, which dictates how elected officials are to behave both morally and honestly.

183. CM

From CWU, Scotland –

In the post today you will probably have received a document from CWU Nationally on the Scottish Referendum recommending a NO vote on the 18th. This is to remind you all that your Branch Scotland No2 recomends you vote YES. This Branch spoke against the National Excutive motion at Annual Conference stating that it should be left to the Scottish membership to decide what way to vote there followed a heated debate but sorry to say their motion was carried that then became CWU policy hence the document that has been sent to you today. This does not stop Branches putting their own recommendations and ours is to Vote YES.

184. CM

This morning the Branch phone has hardly stopped from members wanting to resign from the Union over the National Recomedation I have managed to calm the majority not to resign but instead by all means vent your feelings to Billy Hayes,(bhayes@cwu.org) but most importantly to VOTE YES on the 18TH.

Yours Sincerely

Willie Marshall/Branch Secretary

185. CM

This morning the Branch phone has hardly stopped from members wanting to resign from the Union over the National Recomedation. I have managed to calm the majority not to resign but instead by all means vent your feelings to Billy Hayes, CWU General Secretary (bhayes@cwu.org) but most importantly to VOTE YES on the 18TH.

Yours Sincerely

Willie Marshall/Branch Secretary

186. muttley79

Just read Michael White’s new article on the Guardian. Oh dear, what a load of rubbish.

187. BigRik

@ Ian Gray… that will be us punching above our weight etc. security , blah, blah 🙂

188. Quentin Quale

Johann Lamont tells a Glasgow audience “her devotion to devolution stretched to supporting independence if Westminster moved against the Parliament at Holyrood” Herald reports. Oh ho, she has said the ‘I’ word, folks. Is this the start of a repositioning?

189. BigRik

Well done @Edwyn Collins… seen the light , welcome to the future 🙂

190. Capella

Who on earth is Ben Borland?
    Why would we be distracted by some non-entity?
    The Wee Blue Book is a classic of its time and will be a collectors’ item after 18th September.
    Pay no attention to these naw sayers. They’re a dying breed

191. Lesley-Anne

Oh dearie me, sounds like Bill Hayes will not looking forward to checking his e-mail over the next few weeks CM. 😛

That will teach him for trying to interfere in something that does NOT concern him. It concerns the SCOTTISH members of the CMU but does not concern him. He more than anyone should realise that it is NOT his right to stand in the way of progress for some or all of his members!

192. Grouse Beater

Muttley: Just read Michael White’s new article on the Guardian

He always is careful to praise Salmond, (I’ve not read his essay but can guarantee it) and Sturgeon, for their wisdom and insightfulness, before saying somehow he just cannot bring himself to see the political benefits of independence.

Replace ‘India’ for ‘Scotland’ in his essay and you’ll see an old-world colonial thinking aloud.

193. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

@onwards

“The UK doesn’t officially negotiate with terrorists”

The “officially” being the clue.
    It is in fact bullshit.

Margaret Thatcher ‘negotiated with IRA’

“That was all to do with the government’s insistence, Mrs Thatcher’s insistence, that she did not negotiate with terrorists, she did not and would not negotiate with the IRA.

“The documents clearly indicate that that was nonsense, that was going on all the time behind the scene.”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-16366413

Need more information on the current Iraq civil war?
    Here’s a good summation.

Iraq crisis: West’s ‘mandate’ limited by national borders – and don’t dare mention oil

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/middle-east/iraq-crisis-wests-mandate-limited-by-national-borders–and-dont-dare-mention-oil-9660393.html

194. BigRik

I agree Lesley-anne… politicians and unions should remember they are there to represent their constituents/ members, and not to force their points of views on anyone.

195. Calgacus MacAndrews

On the subject of the truth finally getting out there, I don’t know if anybody has posted this earlier, but here finally is the open admission that the financial position of the UK is underpinned by Scotland’s oil:-

http://www.neweconomics.org/blog/entry/scottish-independence-uk-dependency

196. James Caithness

On being asked a question today about when the UN was formed and of something in their Charter about Scotland’s Mint. I did some searching. Not yet come across an answer to his question but I did find this.

UN

http://www.un.org/en/documents/charter/

http://www.un.org/en/documents/charter/chapter11.shtml

CHAPTER XI: DECLARATION REGARDING NON-SELF-GOVERNING TERRITORIES
    Article 73
    Members of the United Nations which have or assume responsibilities for the administration of territories whose peoples have not yet attained a full measure of self-government recognize the principle that the interests of the inhabitants of these territories are paramount, and accept as a sacred trust the obligation to promote to the utmost, within the system of international peace and security established by the present Charter, the well-being of the inhabitants of these territories, and, to this end:
    ? to ensure, with due respect for the culture of the peoples concerned, their political, economic, social, and educational advancement, their just treatment, and their protection against abuses;
    ? to develop self-government, to take due account of the political aspirations of the peoples, and to assist them in the progressive development of their free political institutions, according to the particular circumstances of each territory and its peoples and their varying stages of advancement;
    ? to further international peace and security;
    ? to promote constructive measures of development, to encourage research, and to co-operate with one another and, when and where appropriate, with specialized international bodies with a view to the practical achievement of the social, economic, and scientific purposes set forth in this Article; and
    ? to transmit regularly to the Secretary-General for information purposes, subject to such limitation as security and constitutional considerations may require, statistical and other information of a technical nature relating to economic, social, and educational conditions in the territories for which they are respectively responsible other than those territories to which Chapters XII and XIII apply.
    Article 74
    Members of the United Nations also agree that their policy in respect of the territories to which this Chapter applies, no less than in respect of their metropolitan areas, must be based on the general principle of good-neighbourliness, due account being taken of the interests and well-being of the rest of the world, in social, economic, and commercial matters.

197. Calgacus MacAndrews

O/T Just in time for our upcoming independence day, the skull of William Wallace is found:-

http://worldnewsdailyreport.com/england-construction-workers-discover-skull-of-william-wallace/

198. Cindie

And in other news…Guess who’s coming home this September:

England: Construction Workers Discover Skull of William Wallace

http://worldnewsdailyreport.com/england-construction-workers-discover-skull-of-william-wallace/

199. Calgacus MacAndrews

Snap

200. crisiscult

@RogueCoder

re wbb corrections, I would agree it is pretty irrelevant. I’m not a complete idiot with the internet but I couldn’t work out how to read the corrections other than through various twitter posts. I think it’s gonna have a very limited audience, compared to the wbb which is talk of the country. Besides, the couple of corrections I looked at were equivocating or pedantry that did little damage to the wbb.

I do know a bit more about law. The problem with lots of the ‘legal experts’ is that they approach the topics in the usual way when something hasn’t been ruled upon in court. They put together a case, which suits their client (or in this case, their preferred position or national identity or whatever). On the EU, we all know that if there’s a political will, Scotland will have no problems. The Tomkins of this world (I’ve got a couple of his books and not suprisingly in published academic works he’s quite normal) are working to their own emotional agenda, assisted by a lack of question in the media and by politicians.

201. Cindie

It bears repeating Calgacus 😀 😀 😀

202. Tamson

@Croompenstein,7:22pm:

The First Minister was in confident mood at the Park Hotel last night, he went for it big time on the oil and the big discovery off Shetland. He also mentioned that there is a Scottish Lord apparently ready to come out for yes, and there are Labour Mps who will be voting yes.

Any truth to this? I could believe a Lord might, but an MP? Are those Labour MPs going to be coming out for Yes as well as voting, though? Why would they vote Yes, but not tell anyone?

Even if they came out, they’ll have to do it very soon. If they leave it too late, they could well find themselves coming out for Yes after a poll giving a Yes lead, and that will leave them looking like complete chancers. Which they probably are anyway, but you’d think they’d have enough sense to avoid looking like one…

203. Lesley-Anne

WOW!

That is amazing Calgacus, and as you say just in time for the referendum. Coincidence … I think not folks. THIS my deal fellow independenistas is a sign, a sign that Scotland is about to become what she once was … INDEPENDENT! 😛

To think when we lived in London we would regularly drive past the Tower of London and shout B******S every time we passed. 😉 In fact just West of the Tower is a pub called the Hung, Drawn and Quartered. 😉

204. Thepnr

@Tamson

Any REAL labour person will vote Yes, that incleds MP’s and MSP’s.

Only a ("Tractor" - Ed) to labour values will vote No.

205. Quentin Quale

Thepnr – well said, sir.

206. Marcia

The small crowd at the Marryat Hall here in Dundee this evening. About 100 locked out as it was full. Tommy Sheridan spoke to them on the steps of the Caird Hall for 15 minutes before coming back into the hall for the meeting.

https://twitter.com/kevinmoody82/status/507611990286958592/photo/1

207. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    That’s a bit harsh, no? No everyone is politically savvy.

208. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just been discussing this fantastic news about the discovery of what could possibly be Wallace’s skull with my partner and we are both in agreement. This skull MUST be returned to Scotland.

As a wee aside. I have watched programmes in the past about a Forensic scientist from Dundee University, sorry I can’t remember her name, who did investigations into bones from by gone eras. Part of her programmes involved facial reconstructions by one of her team. As no one seems to have any idea as to what Wallace actually looked like perhaps they should become involved and as part of their investigations get a facial reconstruction carried out so that we can finally see what one of our greatest heroes looked like. Just a wee thought. 😉

209. mato21

We haven’t won yet but the accolades have started for the FM

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/news/politics/salmond-politician-of-the-year-1.559328

210. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

Agreed, only those labour supporters who fail to look for information and are therefore totally ignorant will vote No.

211. kendomacaroonbar

Lesley Anne

I was just thinking the exact same thing…how cool would it be if he looked like oor Alex ? Lol

212. Quentin Quale

Cameron B Brodie – I’m with thepnr, unless someone can tell me of another independence struggle anywhere else in the world Labour didn’t support.

213. Jon D

O/T Please help;

I had a long conversation today with a colleague who is undecided. The one key question that he wanted answered is :

“Who would pay for the movement and set up of a new base for Trident ? Would it be Scotland, the rUK, or shared ?

I really need an answer asap (if there is one !) as he’s about to lodge his postal vote.

214. Lesley-Anne

I may be tempting fate here Kendo but … COOL! 😉

215. kendomacaroonbar

@John D

Common sense dictates the rump UK would have to fund it.

216. Conan_the_Librarian

No less than eight current referendum articles on the Guardian…I’m spread as thin as margarine in a Morningside muffin…

217. Tamson

@Thepnr:

Yeah, we know all that.

However, if some Labour MP – even one – came out for Yes it would be political dynamite. I’m trying to think through the possible suspects even now. It would have to be either an MP who’s kept their head well down, or a total chancer whose bottle has crashed. Or both, obviously…

218. Thepnr

1906 Labour Party General Election Manifesto

This election is to decide whether or not Labour is to be fairly represented in Parliament.

The House of Commons is supposed to be the people’s House, and yet the people are not there.

Landlords, employers, lawyers, brewers, and financiers are there in force. Why not Labour?

The Trade Unions ask the same liberty as capital enjoys. They are refused.

The aged poor are neglected.

The slums remain; overcrowding continues, whilst the land goes to waste.

Shopkeepers and traders are overburdened with rates and taxation, whilst the increasing land values, which should relieve the ratepayers, go to people who have not earned them.

Wars are fought to make the rich richer, and underfed schoolchildren are still neglected.

Chinese Labour is defended because it enriches the mine owners.

The unemployed ask for work, the Government gave them a worthless Act, and now, when you are beginning to understand the causes of your poverty, the red herring of Protection is drawn across your path.

Protection, as experience shows, is no remedy for poverty and unemployment. It serves to keep you from dealing with the land, housing, old age, and other social problems!

You have it in your power to see that Parliament carries out your wishes. The Labour Representation-Executive appeals to you in the name of a million Trade Unionists to forget all the political differences which have kept you apart in the past, and vote for…

219. kendomacaroonbar

@Tamson

Eric J ?

220. cynicalHighlander

@Lesley-Anne

She was in Kosovo identifying the mass graves and deals with donated bodies for medical research at Dundee.

221. Quinie frae Angus

@ Lesley-Anne
    @kendomacaroonbar

Think the forensic scientist we seek is called Dr Susan Black….

222. Dorothy Devine

I was kinda hoping he’d be 6 foot 7 and drop dead gorgeous – with all due respect to oor Alex!

223. James Caithness

I give in Paula Rose seems to blocked me.

224. Lesley-Anne

I have nothing concrete JD, sorry about the pun by the way 😉 , but when the satellite states of the former U.S.S.R. left all the nukes held by them were returned to the new state of Russia at Russia’s expense. I would expect the same to happen with Westminster’s nukes. When Trident leaves Faslane and Coulport for good it will be Westminster who foots the WHOLE bill.

Why should Scotland pay for any removal, we have had no control over these WMD’s.

225. cynicalHighlander

@Jon

If rUK wants to keep Trident they pay Scotland will only be liable for a share of dismantling costs. IMO

226. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Quinie frae Angus

Aye, it was ‘History’s Cold Cases’ I think.

227. Lesley-Anne

My last two posts are currently in moderation because I’ve upset the moderation boogie monster, I have no idea why I’m being moderated so much since my return. 🙁

Thanks CH. I know the programmes I saw her on TV she was dealing with bones archaeologists had uncovered during excavations. The bones dated well back in British history but it was amazing what she and her team were able to uncover. 😉

That’s the very woman Quinie. 😛

228. Ian Brotherhood

@Tamson –

I’ve fingers and toes crossed that Katy Clark may do so. I wrote to her a few months ago, asking her to join LFI – it’s the only time she’s never replied to me.

Katy is well respected here in Ayrshire, by constituents and political opponents alike. She’s ‘real’ Labour, and has proved it repeatedly over the years, frequently defying party whips on matters of principle. Oftentimes, when she rises in the HoC to make a statement on this, that or whatever else, she’s virtually alone. She was untouched by the expenses scandal.

I hope, one way or another, she ends up in the Scottish Parliament – she puts the likes of Murphy, Alexander and Baillie to shame.

229. kendomacaroonbar

Lesley Anne

My 2nd last post has gone into moderation also.

230. Thepnr

Nothing has changed since 1906. We can change that.

Get in there and make a difference!

231. Lesley-Anne

That’s the series I was thinking of Conan. I’m someone out there is able to decipher our brainless witterings. 😛

232. Ian Brotherhood

@Jon D –

‘Who would pay for the movement and set up of a new base for Trident ? Would it be Scotland, the rUK, or shared?’

This may sound glib, but why shouldn’t the cost be covered by whosoever actually wants the thing? If no-one wants to collect it, I’m sure the Scottish Government would be happy to dispose of it safely.

233. Cindie

Sorry guys, someone just tweeted me to say that the Wallace story was on a spoof site, like the Onion. :'( we’ll just have to keep looking!

234. CameronB Brodie

I’m being moderated as well Lesley-Anne. I think someone might be keeping an eye on us, to make sure we’re not rude to new guests. As if we would. 🙂

235. crazycat

I’ve just checked some articles about the facial reconstruction of the skeleton thought to be that of Richard III, and there is mention of Caroline Wilkinson, professor of craniofacial identification at the University of Dundee. She had a team working with her, who are also mentioned.

Susan Black did work in Kosovo, I think, but that was slightly different, more aimed at identification.

236. Ken500

Borland’s article shot to pieces and more readers for Wings,

Good scoop.

237. Robert Peffers

Fiona says: 4 September, 2014 at 5:24 pm:

“The MSM is powerful but it is not nearly as powerful as it claims.”

Ah! Yes! Fiona, but have you considered that as we speak, (Err! Type), the MSM have lost another few of their former readership. I’ve mentioned this incident before. – I often speak with an old Scots lady, (very well spoken with but a very English accent). She was very, very Tory and a NO supporter. I was making no progress as she believed every word of her newspaper and the BBC.

I had almost given up hope of a conversion when I mentioned the BBC used many tricks to get their propaganda across and quoted a couple of examples. A week or so later she was asking me questions on all sorts of subjects and said, “I didn’t believe what you said about the BBC but I couldn’t help noticing you were correct. I’m really disgusted”. I said, “At the BBC”? “No”, she said, “at myself for being taken in by the propaganda for all those years. When you have your notice drawn to it it is like the proverbial sore thumb”.

238. Indy_Scot

The moderation thing, it sometimes happens it’s no biggie.

239. Lesley-Anne

Am I being overly suspicious here Kendo or are some of us here being subjected to DDOS attacks by GCHQ, MI5 and MI6? 😉

Ian, if WM don’t pick up their WMD’s from an independent Scotland then I’m sure we will be able to put them up for sale on E Bay … starting price 99 pence! 😛

240. Calgacus MacAndrews

Lesley-Anne says:
    As no one seems to have any idea as to what Wallace actually looked like perhaps they should become involved and as part of their investigations get a facial reconstruction carried out so that we can finally see what one of our greatest heroes looked like. Just a wee thought. 😉

As long as he doesn’t look like Jim Wallace.

See William Wallace singing near the end of this excellent music video “Suffering from Scottishness”:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSS34o9WjpU

241. kendomacaroonbar

Lesley Anne

Don’t think so, it’s a software thingee. Of that I’m certain.

242. Edward

Lesley-Anne
    According to the article the skull of William Wallace and the two others are to be sent to Scotland in the next couple of weeks. It also mentioned that the skull would be placed in the crypt of the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption in Edinburgh

243. Calgacus MacAndrews

@JimF says:
    Hoax skull alert http://badsatiretoday.com/william-wallace-skull-hoax/

It was too late to get William registered for a postal vote anyway …

244. Lesley-Anne

I hope not Cindie but if it is then well do as you say keep on looking.

I’m thinking it is definitely GCHQ Cameron.

To everyone at GCHQ this warm and lovely evening form everyone here on Wings a very warm welcome indeed and please don’t stay cowering in the shadows come out into the light and at least say hello! 😛

I think Caroline was the facial reconstruction team leader on the TV series “History’s Cold Cases” that we’ve been talking about CrazyCat. 😉

I know that the moderation thingy isn’t anything big so to speak Indy_Scot but it sure as hell is infuriating! 😀

245. msean

What are those powers exactly? Two weeks out,and its still all ‘more powers’. Bit deluded here,you won’t beat Tories next year.

246. Lesley-Anne

Spoilsport Kendo 😛

247. James Caithness

WTF Paula????

248. GrahamB

Jon D:
    The owner of the offending material pays for the removal, not the owner of the land it has been dumped on!
    If someone dumps an old car or caravan, say, in your driveway or garden they have to remove it and pay for it not you. The same principle applies in international law. However, if the removal timescales are to long then a wee encouragement payment might be in order but could be claimed back at a later date.

249. GrahamB

to = too
    Sorry

250. CameronB Brodie

Calgacus MacAndrews
    We’ve already be told Wallace would have been for Naw, haven’t we? I certainly don’t think he was a fan of separation.

Night folks…..

251. Black Douglas

O/T for anyone who is interested the Yes Scotland FB page has just passed the 1/4 Million likes mark 😀

https://www.facebook.com/YesScotland?fref=ts

252. BigRik

Robertson… minor entity in the north of Britain???? What a bawbag , get back to your trough.

253. liz

O/T just watched a BBC2 prog re the invention of radar just before WW2.

It was the idea of a Scot called Robert Watson Watt, played by our BT friend Eddie Izzard.

Well apparently the guy was a genius but ‘you can’t do this on your own, we need to work together, together we will succeed’.

The team consisted of a Welshman, 2 northern English guys and a Scot.

And they were all against the Oxbridge types who ‘ran the show’.

Not bad for propaganda, quite effective and subtle.

A few years ago I wouldn’t have recognised it as such.

254. Iain

Off topic, the WBB reaches places that other wee books cannae reach (a Scottish Ducati motorbike site):

‘900triple
    900triple is offline L Plate Join Date 21.07.2007
    Location Near Dundee
    Ducati models 1980 MHR, S4R
    Posts 122
    Well…I believe that this particular topic should be left out of this forum – there’s plenty other forums having issues with differing opinions about YES/no kicking around.

However now its here, for anyone lacking in answers – no excuses. Have a read of this…
    http://theweebluebook.com/

http://tinyurl.com/q24d8nu

255. Erchie

MY one problem with Labour forming a 2016 Government is that the ones in lace are the same folk who are fighting for a NO. I don’t trust them to do what is best for Scotland

256. Cindie

Well to cheer everyone up, this is definitely genuine. Front page of the Record for tomorrow, edited by Alex Salmond: https://twitter.com/nickeardley/status/507645369350914048/photo/1

257. Tam Jardine

“Take those Yes signs down, Mrs Jardine… Ed Miliband’s father served in Inverkeithing during the war, and he says we could have the BEST OF BOTH WORLDS (and he sounds like he means it).

We’re voting No”

Hash-tag ‘gamechanger’ as someone might tweet

258. Brotyboy

@ Alan Weir

I know you. We were in the same tutorial class for Aesthetics & General Philosophy in 1973.

I remember you had it sussed before anyone else; you argued your point from within the discipline. I still remember when you talked about colour and something which is red not being intrinsically red, it just absorbed the red part of the spectrum of light.

Last I saw of you was in the Sunday Mail about 30 years ago, I think you’d got your PhD and you were working in a bar perhaps?

Good to see your name. And to know that you’re on the right side.

259. Lesley-Anne

Just seen the front page of the Daily Record for Friday which is guest edited by Alex Salmond.

YES we can

I love that front page, who knows for the first time in over a decade the Daily Record might just be coming home tomorrow. 😉

260. Tamson

@kendomacaroonbar, 10:13:

Joyce is no longer a Labour MP, so he wouldn’t count.

@Ian Brotherhood, 10:22

Katy Clark would be a suspect, other possibles might be David Hamilton, Graeme Morrice? I’m only going on what I can find online and neither seems to have nialed their colours firmly to the No mast.

It’s a complex issue and we’d have to look at things like their current majority and whether saying they were a Yes might make it easier for them to retain their seat at the 2015 Westminster election. Also, would declaring for Yes result in automatic deselection and/or expulsion? It doesn’t seem to work like that for LfI members, but maybe an MP isn’t judged the same way.

261. GrahamB

Croompenstein at 7:22
    My best bet for a Lord coming across would be David Steel but I’m stumped for any MPs who might.
    Searched the list of current ones, non SNP obviously, and crossed off all the numpties I had heard of but there were a ridiculous number that I’d never heard of and I’ve been following Scottish politics for nearly 50 years, certainly very closely for the past 15 – 20 years.
    Anyone got any ideas apart from Ian Bs Katy Clarke?

262. Gmad

Long time reader – first time poster. Is the interview with Robertson on S2014 the most embarrassing and annoying thing you have ever witnessed. Annoyed most nights but fucking fuming now!!!

263. Brotyboy

Aaaargh!! Wrong!!! I’m thinking of Alan Muir, not Weir. Sorry, my bad.

264. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone familiar with the Ardrossan-Seamill road will know the big rock which is never fully submerged.

For many years it bore ‘Jesus Loves You’, in big white letters, regularly refreshed.

A few years ago a local wit amended it to read ‘Jesus Loves Your Maw’.

Now it has just one big white word – ‘Yes’.

Nice one, whoever did it…anyone happen to have taken a snap of it?

265. Restlessnative

“Share share share!”

Just..fantastic.Thank you.I think that’s just usurped “Going Up The Country” as the worlds happiest song.

Hope over fear indeed.

266. Grouse Beater

Just caught BBC Radio’s The World Tonight on my way home.

They sent some bored reporter to Slovakia all expenses paid one supposes to Bratislava to see how well that young country, (but eons old rich culture) was doing after independence from the Czech Republic – that country’s capital, Prague.

The five minute item began with some joyful comments from Slovakians happy to be their own masters. “Small countries can get closer to their seat of democracy; we can see policies implemented, things happening.”

Then, in the middle of the piece, came the reporter’s snide remarks that one nation blaming the other must be familiar to listeners. He finished by asking a woman,, “What advice do you have for Scotland?”

“Be very cautious. There’s no going back.”

I could have been listening to any codger in the House of Lords, or Forysth, or Lamont – that dreaded air of doom.

Now, it would have been pleasant to have heard the opposing statement edited as coda, ‘life is good, democracy prospers,’ but to be honest neither is better.

A statement of fact, an intelligent summation from the reporter is what’s expected, but as the BBC has ‘let go’ all their best journalists we have to accept third-raters reporting on everything under the sun, and by their gross inexperience getting into trouble, or held captive if in the wrong place.

What I heard was yet another BBC lecture on behalf of Westminster pretending to allow ordinary Slovaks their say, and in so doing point up spurious parallels with our Referendum.

267. Luigi

I’m wondering if the lack of opinion polls (or reluctance to publish them) may be related to a need to protect the pound. After all, a crashing pound before the referendum would do neither side any favours. If YES is already in the lead, then both sides may want to keep it under wraps (for different reasons, of course), at least until sterling stabilizes.

268. cearc

re moderation,

Stu has been getting vast numbers of spam comments over the last few days, hence the problems.

269. Famous15

I am gob smacked listening to George Robertson (ex leader of NATO ) who thinks that the referendum will endanger UK security for the creation of some minor entity at the North of Britain.
    Can he really mean Scotland?

Sarah Smith to her credit was gob smacked too! Scotland 2014 is strange.

Robertson is strange. He is guilty of unpardonable folly.

Trident is gone,gone forever.Robertson is a disgrace.We do not need NATO ,they need us so they better up their game or we will have to renegotiate what is to OUR advantage.Grow up Robertson!

270. Calgacus MacAndrews

@CameronB Brodie says:
    Calgacus MacAndrews
    We’ve already be told Wallace would have been for Naw, haven’t we? I certainly don’t think he was a fan of separation.

His various body parts would definitely be better together.

271. crazycat

@ Lesley-Anne

Thanks for the information; I have never owned a TV (though a member of my household did have one for a few years, which was evicted with him), so all my life I have failed to notice when people are discussing television series!

272. BigRik

Robertson said NATO would not want us for disarming another nation… er.. we are not disarming them , they can keep it 30 miles from their biggest city if they want.

273. Lesley-Anne

Glad to be of service Crazycat. 😉

274. cynicalHighlander

@Calgacus MacAndrews

You Ok.

275. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

@Ian Brotherhood

“Nice one, whoever did it…”

Who indeed? 😉

As a certain Peter Capaldi says in one of my favourite scenes from the Armando Ianucci Film “In The Loop”

“I’m here, I’m there, I’m fuckin’ everywhere. I’m the Eggman!”

😀

Nah, nowt tae do wi me but we have some ideas who it could have been it has to be said.

As for a snap…

Jane Donachie ?@Janester10 Aug 31

@YesScotland great publicity on Ardrossan beach #indyref #yes pic.twitter.com/IhRsJWXeKa

I think that’s the one, though there might even be several by now. Who knows? 😉

276. JWil

George Robertson has gone over he edge. He referred to Scotland as, “that minor entity at the north of Britain”.

That wasn’t the only ridiculous thing he said. If he had been interviewed by a marginally competent interrogator he would easily have been reduced to ridicule. At the very least he could have been challenged to say who all the retired NATO officials were that he said he spoke to today.

He really has lost it. He has given Alex Salmond plenty of ammunition to play with. It could go nuclear!

277. Tamson

@luigi, 11:01

that would be a bit like the French situation, where there’s a ban on opinion polls for a period before an election. However, sometimes companies/individuals do private polling and their unpublished results trigger stock market moves.

If there was an unwritten purdah going on, expect there to be private leaks from the polling companies to the markets, and watch the pound especially. If it starts to tank we’re home and dry (and Osborne will be getting his “backtracking on CU” speech handed to him by the Remembrancer).

278. Grouse Beater

Conan: Farage on Yank tv.

What a despicable little runt.

Thinks himself free to lie as much as he likes because he’s thousands of miles away, we won’t hear him and dumb Americans won’t know the difference.

279. Ian Brotherhood

One of the priceless moments lying ahead (on a par with Portillo, 1997) will be the expression on George Robertson’s face when asked about the Yes victory.

Robertson may never be awarded a GQ Philanthropy Award, but he’ll be shoulder to shoulder with Blair when they appear in the dock (along with Reid, Ingram et al), charged with Crimes against Humanity.

A Yes win brings that day much closer, and he knows it.

280. Famous15

A minor entity to the north of Britain.Scotland?

NATO and Robertson better up their game because we do not need them but by God they need us. just look at a map!

281. ronnie anderson

@ kendomacaroonbar
    Lesley Anne

May I interject on William Wallace might look like Alex Salmond, Alexander ANDERSON Salmond so there..

282. ronnie anderson

Goat that the wrang wie roon lol

283. CameronB Brodie

Luigi
    Simple solution to that one, IMO. Wastemoster just has to announce that a CU will be available, if that is the wish of iScotland, with agreement to be completed following negotiation. Panic over. Simples.

284. JWil

Robertson is the best example I have come across that exemplifies what happens to a person when power goes to their head.

285. Ian Brotherhood

@Iain Gray’s Subway Lament –

!!!

Curiouser and curiouser…

Perhaps the mysterious local will get busy again, and amend it to read ‘Yes Loves Yer Maw’.

(It certainly wouldn’t be ‘Yes Loves Yer Naw’.)

286. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Found another snap Ian.

This time a hilarious one from a soor faced biddy who seems to have preferred it when it was‘Jesus Loves Your Maw’. 😀

Moira MacDiarmid ?@MoiraMacDiarmid Sep 2

Yes people now taking to defacing the beautiful view from Ardrossan beach. #bettertogether pic.twitter.com/kj3rnpRNUd

287. wee e

Sounds like an acute case of cyanophobia! You resally have them rattled, stu.

288. CameronB Brodie

Calgacus MacAndrews
    Here’s your coat. I’ve already got mine. 🙂

289. Tam Jardine

Did George Robertson just refer to an Independent Scotland as “some minor entity at the north of Britain”?

Sarah Smith, as a Scottish woman should be conducting a citizen’s arrest on him right now, complete with full Nelson.

Have you ever witnessed anyone who hates his country of birth to such an extent?

First order of business should be expelling George Robertson from our land.

Funny thing about Nato… huge deal for your George ‘minor entity’ Robertson but they need us in their wee club more than we need them. Let them ask us nicely to join, then consider our response.

290. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just seen a headline on the Times. I think it said North Sea fracking could earn £200 Billion for Scotland. I’m not into fracking but I always thought there was no oil left in the North Sea. 😛

291. Edward

Guess which paper was not included in Sky’s paper review tonight?
    Last night Sky featured the Daily Record that was guest ‘edited’ by Alistair Darling pushing Better Together and the unionist agenda.

Tonight – zip , nada. Must of not got a copy of the front page in time showing the Friday issue guest ‘edited’ by Alex Salmond

Then again you just knew that they wouldn’t bother

292. CameronB Brodie

George ‘minor entity’Robertson has a certain wring to it. 🙂

293. JWil

Ed Milliband’s interview on STV was a valiant attempt to put him on the spot. However, when he lost one argument he just changed the subject. It was pointed out to him that know one knows if his trip to Scotland was an attempt to derail the SNP or an attempt to damage the Tories.

First rule for politicians. Be clear what message you are trying to get across.

When is someone in the YES camp going to debunk the message from the Unionists that a reduction in corporation tax is not merely a gift to rich companies? It is intended to increase the number of jobs for Scots. The UK government has already made corporations rich by letting them off the hook on taxes.

294. Lesley-Anne

To be fair Edward, they did actually show tomorrow’s Daily Record front page and very briefly comment on it a 22:30.

295. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Oh dear god! The BBC Newspaper review is at it AGAIN! 😮

Easily matching the patronising efforts the other night on Independence and surpassing them in some respects.

I hope someone has captured it for ‘prosperity’.

296. caz-m

Lord Robertson really hates the sight of Scotland, he just doesn’t recognise it as a future Independent country.

He calls it “an entity in North Britain” and it could take up to 100 years for us to have a fighting force worthy of joining NATO, or NAY-ROW as he calls it, in his mid-Atlantic accent.

And either his head is shrinking or his teeth have got bigger.

297. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

oops! ‘posterity’? 😉

298. Lesley-Anne

Every time I hear one of those ridiculous RED Tories try and attack the SNP over their Corporation tax plans JWil I just yell back at the TV “so tell me what RED Ed Balls is going to do about Corporation Tax?” closely followed by “Who cut Corporation tax TWICE when he was in number 11 and wanted to cut it a THIRD time?” I admit it doesn’t get anywhere but my gawd I feel better, much better afterwards though. 😛

299. Ian Brotherhood

@caz-m –

He got new choppers a while back, and gave them a trial run in the House of Lords, where he knew very would be alert enough to notice any difference.

Just goes to show – you can stick a set of falsers in a fanny, but it’s still a fanny.

300. Ian Brotherhood

sorry…

‘…where he knew very few…’

301. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

“or NAY-ROW as he calls it, in his mid-Atlantic accent. “

Ye sure he’s no jist pished oot his heid? He certainly sounds drunk as a skunk. Robertson and Foulkes always look like they are just a few bottles away from a stomach pump and an emergency AA intervention.

302. Papadox

Did Ed the talking shit horse just say there would be big beasty politicians coming To North Britain to bring us to our senses and show us the error of our ways. He loves us and doesn’t want us to go, because his father was stationed at Inverkiething during the war. Does Ed have memories of the war. FFS.

Then we have Lordy Robertson talking totally incoherent pish and quotes the many experts that he talks to constantly, whether their there or not. This guy was never the brightest button in the box but he has certainly lost the plot now and doesn’t mind advertising it. Has he had a lobotomy or is it natural stupidity.

303. Lesley-Anne

He is only a poor lowly paid Lord Papadox he couldn’t afford a lobotomy so I guess it must be your second option … natural stupidity! 😛

304. caz-m

Out canvassing in the Paisley area and I am going to better Scottish _skier’s 63% YES victory, I am going for a 70% YES victory.

The number of voters who have come over to YES and will still be coming over to YES every hour, every day, right up until Polling Day is staggering.

Four main reasons for swing were,

Salmond-Darling debate-part 2,
    Sturgeon STV debate,
    Sturgeon BBC debate,
    Wee Blue Book.

Summary-
    The more information the voters get, the more likely they are to vote YES.

Keep spreadin the word ladies and gentlemen.

305. Tam Jardine

CameronB Brodie

Aye – I was going to use the c-word then I remembered how offensive that word is. But now that I think of it, it is not offensive enough.

A ("Tractor" - Ed) to the land of his birth and his countrymen, through and through. 2 weeks time and his union, his life’s work is dead. I, for one, will be breaking open a bottle.

306. Rock

Erchie,

“MY one problem with Labour forming a 2016 Government is that the ones in lace are the same folk who are fighting for a NO. I don’t trust them to do what is best for Scotland”

There is no chance of Labour forming the 2016 government.

After Yes, there will be a currency union, Scotland will continue being a member of the EU and Nato and it will be confirmed that there are massive oil reserves left.

Everything Labour were saying before the referendum will have been proved wrong.

I am sure the people of Scotland will not vote for these liars in 2016.

307. Lesley-Anne

Thanks Fred but I think that link is concerned about normal drilling the headline I saw in the Times seemed to suggest that there was some form of North Sea Fracking that could deliver £200 Billion.

Hopefully someone will be able to access the story later in the Times and get the actual story. I’ll see what the repeat of the papers review in 30 minutes shows. 😉

308. fred blogger

Rock
    labour are done for, gone the way of the libdems, the tories are not far behind.
    still they’ve got there portfolios and pensions sorted!

309. stewart bc

Meanwwhile over on noscotland dot net their online poll has had over 155000 votes ….. yes has 92%

310. fred blogger

Lesley-Anne
    no, north sea, oil, gas, and shale fracking.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCy5wGf0Ep0

311. Lesley-Anne

My apologies Fred.

312. Onwards

I know the Daily Record special editions are publicity stunts…
    But it might make them think if the YES edition on Friday, sells a boatload more than the NO edition did.

313. caz-m

Ian Brotherhood

What has Scotland ever done to Robertson that he has grown to detest her so much.

It is OUR country that this warmongering maniac is talking about.

He better not show his face in it again after Independence.

314. Lesley-Anne

I’ve been thinking the same thing Onward. I think Friday will see the first RISE in Daily Record sales figures for decades. 😛

315. fred blogger

Lesley-Anne
    no worries. 🙂

316. Liquid Lenny

Re Labour MP’s voting YES, I was told several months ago by somebody in the know that that a few Labour MP’s would be voting yes but they would not publically say they were voting yes.

Strange position, to me it just goes to show they are troughers.

317. Lesley-Anne

Doffs hat to you Fred. 😀

318. The Rough Bounds

The Daily Record? I had to use a page of the Daily Record once to wipe my bottom as I had run out of proper toilet paper…I shouldn’t have bothered. I just ended up with even more keech on my bum.

319. Ian Brotherhood

What we could do with right now is a public space (RUBS CHIN) perhaps via social media of some kind?? (RUBS CHIN AGAIN) where those who are ready to jump from Naw to Yes can do so in a civilised manner. It avoids all that palaver of having to inform party Press Officers, getting angry calls from whips etc…

Kind of what the Tory, Carswell, did last week?

Come on Katy Clark, ye must be tempted, surely!…have you had a wee drive around Stevenston’s ‘bottom-end’ and/or Hayocks lately? The Margo-mobile was cheered all the way around the Three Towns last week – unprecedented scenes!

320. Lesley-Anne

Friday’s issue may be a wee bit different TRB, it is supposed to have had Alex Salmond as its guest editor. 😉

321. Rookiescot

Guys it may have been mentioned on this or another thread but can you please head over to the Wee Ginger Dug site and read some of the comments please?

Paul is hurting and a show of support would be supperb.

322. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

‘Lord’ Robertson is a fool. An ignorant pompous puffed up third rater who just handed the Yes campaign a complete gift of a quote we will use again and again to illustrate just how out of touch and vile these idiots are.

He will slink off into obscurity along with Foulkes after a Yes and nobody will ever miss them or even remember them. Except as a cautionary tale of what happens when you overpromote a pair of twats who have couldn’t find their own arse with a flashlight and a map.

323. Onwards

@JWil

“When is the YES camp going to debunk the message from the Unionists that a reduction in corporation tax is not merely a gift to rich companies?”

Brian Souter made that point well on the STV debate.

Although it might have looked a bit better coming from someone else.

But the whole point is that a business friendly country gets more money and taxes overall to redistribute and spend on schools and hospitals etc.

The last thing that southern MP’s want is for Scotland to compete with London.

That’s why even the airport passenger tax isn’t devolved.

They want London to be the hub, instead of Scotland having more direct flights.

324. Dr JM Mackintosh

@Blair paterson
    not a good idea to prohibit the Unionist liars from public office – let them stand for free elections.

We will be a new free democratic country but we now have the means to publicise the misdemeanours of these liars outside the MSM so they can be held to account.

What I like about our system is the big hitters can be voted out but then minions can get in on the list.

Will the Labour and Lib-dem big hitters stand on the main seats where we boot them out. Or will they stand on the list.

Did I hear a story about Murphy and a Chicken?

Will Murphy do a Ruthie and go on the list – now there is a thought?

325. Lesley-Anne

Aye you did Doc.

It was in Edinburgh a couple of days ago when he *ahem* restarted his *cough* tour of Scotland. I believe it was a SUN journalist who attended his shouting stance in Edinburgh outside the Gallery of Scotland, I think it was, dressed as a chicken! 😛

326. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    I’ll not shed a tear. Their like have sooked this country dry of long enough.

Re. mental impairment. Stunned by the grain?

327. Tam Jardine

Caz-m

You mentioned George’s north Atlantic affectation ‘nado’-I think we could find a little spot for him in the North Atlantic to retire to… little outcrop called Rockall.

It’s nicely situated in the middle of the North Atlantic so he can keep his oar in as it were, gie him a wee radio and a pair of binoculars so he can remain vigilant. Then the rest of us in the ‘minor entity at the north of Britan’ can struggle on as best we can without him.

Thanks for the report from Paisley – good work.

Edging towards 100% Yes at my work – found out today the last diehard No has changed to Yes.

My reaction: youtu.be/xIVy5XdQhOM

328. Colin

The Yes vote is done for now, Gordon Brown and John Prescott are joining forces to save the no (whoever they are this week) campaign by persuading labour voters to vote no.

329. CameronB Brodie

Colin
    I thought struggling in quicksand just got you in deeper trouble. 🙂

330. Lesley-Anne

Oh nooo!

It’s the clunking fist and the funking clist. Together again like they’ve never been away! 😛

331. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    You’ll need another link, that one’s not found.

332. Lesley-Anne

Here you Cameron. 😉

http://tinyurl.com/o66vadg

333. Tam Jardine

CameronB

If this doesn’t do it I don’t know what will:

m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=xIVy5XdQhOM

G’night

334. Tam Jardine

Cheers LA!

335. Jim McIntosh

O/T – just tried to go to oddschecker to check current prices on the referendum and got the message “Safari cannot open the page because too many redirects occur”. What does that mean, all the other oddschecker pages open, football, horse racing, tennis, golf etc.

336. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just seen this story in the Scotsman being discussed briefly, on SKY News.

http://tinyurl.com/nnw27jx

Now folks are putting clauses into their house buying contracts that they will only buy a house if there is a NO vote. If I were in the position of being offered such a contract I’d tell the buyer where to stick their *ahem* contract!

337. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Is “Lord” Prescott going to organise a ‘croquet for No’ tournament?

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/11/06/article-1083762-025A5C4B000005DC-593_468x286.jpg

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01675/Lord_John_Prescott_1675221c.jpg

Yer no foolin us pal.

Another unprincipled hypocrite who took the money and ran.
    He’s no more a socialist than his boss Tony Blair ever was.

338. Lesley-Anne

Glad to help Tam. 😉

Here’s another wee stotter of a story also from the Scotsman for those still up and about.

Good old wee Gordon Brown is apparently joining forces with RED Ed Milliband.

Scottish independence: Gordon Brown and Ed Miliband are to lead a rally for the United Kingdom – the first time the two men have shared a platform since Mr Miliband became Labour leader.

The rally will take place in Glasgow next Friday – the same day that Nigel Farage and Ukip hold an event in Scotland.

I can hardly contain myself. It’s like all our Christmases coming at once. The Clunking Fist links up with RED Ed to tell us that we MUST vote NO. Mr “The Scots are racists” Farage in Glasgow on the same day to tell us Scots to vote NO. There’s only one man missing. Come on Dave where are you going to be next Friday? I hear Glasgow is going to be quite a popular place, you know the *ahem* IN place to be so to speak! 😛

http://tinyurl.com/p3ysw7a

339. JWil

@Onwards

The explanation for reducing corporation tax would have looked better coming from Nicola. But the likes of Murphy should have been confronted directly to answer why he thought it was bad. These sorts of points are really important, but they do not get they airing they deserve.

Manipulation of the debate by the chair has a lot to do with why debating points are curtailed. There is little wonder that people are able to complain that they need more information.

“The last thing that southern MP’s want is for Scotland to compete with London.”

I agree, but even more than that as I have always maintained, one of the big problems for the unionists, both N and S of the border, is that they worry that Scotland would do really well as an independent country and demonstrate that the UK has had a really poor government for eons, pre-independence (feet of clay). It would undermine their standing in the remainder of the UK and in the rest of the world. It would also give the lie to the fact that they have treated Scotland fairly.

340. R-type Grunt

Tommy Sheridan filled the Marryat Hall in Dundee tonight. 1500 & standing room only with a further 100 still outside! Yes.

341. Dr JM Mackintosh

@liquidlenny
    I think it is just too difficult for Labour MSPs to break ranks at the moment. It is a very difficult thing to do as it is a betrayal of their friends.

However, with a Yes vote it gets very interesting – there will be lots of pro Indy Labour and Lib-Dem politicians coming out of the woodwork. Some out of self-interest and some from an interest in the country.

There will be others – the old Westminster Dinosaur who will never accept an independent Scotlamd.

I am wondering – this is a brilliant thought – could all these old Unionist not all be promoted to in the House of Lords in the 18 months between Indy.

I think if we contributed a small part to the champagne bill it would well be worth it to get rid of them forever.

342. manandboy

13 days to go.

let’s make each one count

may every Yes voter do one thing each day

to advance the cause of Scotland’s Independence.

And then vote Yes.

343. Stevie boy

Manandboy

Yep totally agree mate. Let’s push on for as big a win as we can possibly achieve.

What a message to send to Westminster and the world that an overwhelming amount of us Scots have faith and confidence in ourselves!!

344. Devereux

Good nite – a great Yes mtg held by a neighbour and two guys never would have pegged as a Yes turn up, then taxi driver sounded me out to persuade me to vote yes lol so gave him 2 WBB. – he waved the fare – finished iin a posh glasgow restaurant with 2 Swedes. – and in walks Margrit Curran – clocks my huge Yes badge Soor Plooms and two verra grim lookin young men in tow – can announce she is NOt the MP fur turning ..

345. geeo

Amusing wee story for you insomniacs for yessers.

My best friend, who shall remain nameless because he knows too much about me..lol, went to visit his mother today, she was reading the DR and my mate asked her which way she was voting, she said she was voting NO, because, wait for it, she didn’t like alex salmond, my friend stated the obvious, not voting for him etc, but to no avail, his mum then pointed to the DR edited by Darling and without a hint of humour stated, “if we vote yes look what will happen, it must be true the Record said so”

Such was his shock he told his mother he was going home, and would not be back until after the 18th as he was so annoyed.

I told him to calm down and not worry, once she saw the DR tomorrow she would be back supporting Yes again…lol !

I have known his mum for over 30 years and you know what,i am not joking, she will be!
    All my friend has to do is make sure she cannot get near a paper or near a telly for the next couple of weeks and we have her YES vote…

For the record, she is a brilliant woman, but my god if it is in the MSM she reads and watches, it must be true.

That’s what we are up against mind you!

346. CameronB Brodie

insomniacs for yessers

Imagine what a peely wally bunch they, cough, must be. 🙂

347. Colin

@CameronB Brodie
    insomniacs for yessers
    Imagine what a peely wally bunch they, cough, must be. 🙂

Insomniacs don’t sleep so they could go out during the daylight hours, what we need is nocturnals for Yes, but then I sleep for four hours a night, so I am neither 😉

348. CameronB Brodie

Colin
    I’m much the same. 😉

349. Daibach

If you can’t sleep try going onto
    http://www.noscotland.net
    and voting in their referendum,
    so far 92% of 150k have voted Yes, LOL

350. CameronB Brodie

Daibach
    I just posted this on their IFS evidence post. Lets see how long it lasts. 🙂

(I thought there were two side to a balance sheet.)

I already have my next one if you want a go yourself. 🙂

The Best of Both Worlds is what psychologists call a thought terminating cliche!

351. CameronB Brodie

Doh. Just spotted the previous post was made August 11 and their Twitter Updates are a year old. Oh dear, how sad, never mind. 🙂

352. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi, guys can I join the nocturnals club!

353. CameronB Brodie

Gillian_Ruglonian
    What have you brought to the party then?

354. macart763m

@Gillian

Only if you’ve brought a corkscrew. I hate pushing the corks in with a butter knife.

O/T this from the Guardian.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/04/scottish-referendum-borwn-prescott-rally-labour-voters

The very first sentence mind – Gordon Brown and John Prescott are to help lead a last-ditch effort by Labour to avoid humiliating defeat in the Scottish independence referendum as more Labour voters move to the yes camp.

Pick the bones out of that statement if you will.

355. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya, I don’t sleep well as the best of times, but the daily canvessing and general activity in my local area has put me in a different league of late! I barely know what day it is, so I can’t exactly promise much in the way of a party!!

356. macart763m

@Gillian

Heh, most of us burning the candle at both ends just now and it won’t get any better with a couple of weeks to go. 🙂

357. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hey macart763m is that an entry challenge to the party!

Incidentally, I think they showed up in blantyre cos of the numbers we’ve been getting, hats off to my yes rutherglen comrades!!

358. Gillian_Ruglonian

Oh well, I can take a hint, night night!!
    (Same time tommorrow?)

359. macart763m

Aye they’ll be feeling a wee bit threatened in what was considered a heartland, that party political pull isn’t having the effect they thought it would. Mind you they’re still strategising this whole campaign as if its an election, so no shocks really. They can’t seem to get their heads around the fact that we’re holding a referendum based on a constitutional principle. They have no answer so they’ve fallen back on what they consider tried and tested tactics.

A Labour vote is still a Labour vote and I wouldn’t dream of asking someone to change their choice of party political ideology. But as we keep on telling people, this isn’t about party politics, this is about how we want to be governed, how we want our politicians to act and where we want them to practice that governance.

Basically within reach of our boot as and when necessary. 🙂

Big red buses with a Westminster party leader who gets a nose bleed if he travels north of Watford, telling the locals how and when to vote isn’t going to cut it this time round. 😉

360. macart763m

(Same time tomorrow?)

Probably. 😀 LOL

361. CameronB Brodie

Gillian_Ruglonian
    Night night. Nex tim. 😉

362. CameronB Brodie

Oops, next time. Bong!

363. CameronB Brodie

Boing. Night night this time.

364. Marco McGinty

@liz
    “And they were all against the Oxbridge types who ‘ran the show’.”

That reminds me of the great Scottish naturalist William Speirs Bruce, who, in his day, excelled in polar exploration. His hugely successful Scottish National Antarctic Expedition went almost unnoticed by the UK establishment, and it was indeed the only expedition of the era not to have received the Polar Medal – all other expeditions, British and Commonwealth, received acknowledgement, with every single member of these expeditions receiving the award.

Bruce died in 1921, virtually unknown, and much of this is attributed to his passion for Scottish nationalism.

I get the feeling that things haven’t changed much in those 100 or so years.

Perhaps in an independent Scotland, we could have a Bruce Day, where this man’s achievements can be honoured, with the day dedicated to natural history.

365. Gillian_Ruglonian

Haha, you’re talking nosebleeds thats what I was half expecting!
    My experience on the doors is that people are beyond anger at the labour party in this area, and they are treating them with the same silent contempt that has been doled out from “new labour” for years. A nosebleed worthy of Ed’s big hooter would have to have been orchestrated, as the folks round here have got better things to do (queing up for registration for one thing, I couldn’t believe the sights!)

The whole jist of this campaign for the average non engaged person appears to be the massive gap between what WM thinks is going on (and therefore how they have to play it, like you said) and what the reality is.
    I am hearing, and now using, the old analogy of brooms, dead wood and sweeping away, on a daily basis!

366. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hey macart763m that last one was for you. Sorry I’m not the fasted typist.

Good night proper this time!!

367. Robert Peffers

@Famous15 says: 4 September, 2014 at 11:22 pm:

“NATO and Robertson better up their game because we do not need them but by God they need us. just look at a map!”

I can see some obvious moves post independence. How about the likes of Blair, Robertson, Brown, Reid, Ingram et al all being issued an independent Scottish arrest warrant on charges of war crimes?

How about several Wee bit Scottish Lords and hecht heid anes in Westminster along with such as Lamont, Baillie and Dugdale on charges of defamation of character for the claims made of NAZI-ism, and other crass lies. They’d all have to flee south away from Scottish jurisdiction but then would be at risk from European arrest warrants when both the Scottish and English Kingdoms are confirmed as both being continuity states and thus not thrown out of Europe.

368. mj

alistair, contact us on fb yesmoffat. we do need more wbb as we didnt get all we asked for thks

369. John H.

Ian Brotherhood 11.22pm.
    The ones I’m looking forward to hearing after a Yes vote Ian are those two halfwits who do the paper review on Sky News.

370. Tam Jardine

Further to my previous comments on George ‘minor entity’ Robertson, if belittling his homeland gets me so worked up, it must get others worked up.

He’s a one-man Yes-machine. How can we get him on the air more often? Maybe Yes Scotland could give him a platform to ramble on in a pre ref broadcast: subject: Scotland’s future as a minor entity north of Britain

371. scottish_skier

From Yougov:

While David Cameron is significantly less popular in Scotland than in England and Wales, with his leadership rating at -29% and -10% respectively in the latest survey, as an average of the eight polls used in the chart above he is still 15 percentage points ahead of the Labour leader among the Scottish public.

http://yougov.co.uk/news/2014/09/04/ed-miliband-no-more-admired-scotland/

You know things are looking interesting when an opposition UK Labour leader is less liked than a very unpopular Tory PM in Scotland.

372. Ronnie

In today’s P&J there is a full-page ad which is the sheet music and words to ‘Better Together Alone!’ described as “A ‘Yes’ Song”.

http://tinyurl.com/better2014

Any chance of some Winger recording and posting?

373. Ronnie

Meant to credit ‘William Imray’ with the words and music.

374. Sinky

The next time someone refers to Scotland’s deficit please refer them to this article.

Tucked away in the Financial Times’ report earlier in the week was the giveaway. “Currency investors” would apparently be “particularly concerned by the UK’s persistent current account deficit if this were no longer offset by North Sea oil revenues.”

This is something of an understatement. The UK has run a deficit on its trade in goods every single year since 1983. We have imported more goods than we have exported every year for three decades. Including services and overseas earnings (the “current account”), the UK has run a deficit since the mid-1990s. Today, that deficit is close to record levels, at 4.4% of GDP.

UK has an economy that has been extremely effective at covering for its deficit by borrowing from the rest of the world. Today, the UK holds the world’s second-largest external debt, behind only the US. The UK, collectively, owes 406% of its GDP to its overseas creditors.

This deficit has been sustained, so far, because we have an extraordinarily large financial sector, a key part of the global financial system. The City depends on a high value pound for its own operations. Financial assets (and property) denominated in pound sterling are much more appealing when the value of the pound is high, and stable. (Never mind, of course, the consequences for those seeking to export.) One result of this is that the UK has the largest financial sector liabilities of any developed economy, relative to its size, at an extraordinary 1,634% of GDP.

http://www.neweconomics.org/blog/entry/scottish-independence-uk-dependency

375. Ronnie

Further to my earlier post, it seems that ‘William Imray’ is the pen-name of William Brown, an 85-year old former teacher and lecturer from Aboyne. He is also an organist and has been a supporter of Scottish independence since Mrs Thatcher became prime minister in 1979. Quote ‘I believe that Scotland is a country that is unique. The sooner we get independence the better’.

376. bookie from hell

lord george robertson said last night he negotiated 7 countries into NATO

anyone hav that list of 7

thx

377. davidb

@ sinky

And of course the internally traded oil and gas would now be imported into a rUK as well – swelling that deficit further.

Currency? Its our choice really. Not theirs.

378. Robert Peffers

bookie from hell says: 5 September, 2014 at 7:57 am:

“lord george robertson said last night he negotiated 7 countries into NATO.”

Robert Burns may well have written this little ditty with such as, “Baron Lord George Islay MacNeill Robertson, of Port Ellen, KT, GCMG, FRSA, FRSE, PC”.

For a’ that.

Is there for honest Poverty
    That hings his head, an’ a’ that;
    The coward slave-we pass him by,
    We dare be poor for a’ that!
    For a’ that, an’ a’ that.
    Our toils obscure an’ a’ that,
    The rank is but the guinea’s stamp,
    The Man’s the gowd for a’ that. (gowd=gold).

What though on hamely fare we dine,
    Wear hoddin grey, an’ a that; (hoden=homespun).
    Gie fools their silks, and knaves their wine;
    A Man’s a Man for a’ that:
    For a’ that, and a’ that,
    Their tinsel show, an’ a’ that;
    The honest man, tho’ e’er sae poor,
    Is king o’ men for a’ that.

Ye see yon birkie, ca’d a lord, (birkie=conceited fellow)
    Wha struts, an’ stares, an’ a’ that;
    Tho’ hundreds worship at his word,
    He’s but a coof for a’ that: (coof=simpleton).
    For a’ that, an’ a’ that,
    His ribband, star, an’ a’ that:
    The man o’ independent mind
    He looks an’ laughs at a’ that.

A prince can mak a belted knight,
    A marquis, duke, an’ a’ that;
    But an honest man’s abon his might,
    Gude faith, he maunna fa’ that!
    Their dignities an’ a’ that;
    The pith o’ sense, an’ pride o’ worth,
    Are higher rank than a’ that.

Then let us pray that come it may,
    (As come it will for a’ that,)
    That Sense and Worth, o’er a’ the earth,
    Shall bear the gree, an’ a’ that.
    It’s coming yet for a’ that,
    That Man to Man, the world o’er,
    Shall brothers be for a’ that.

By Robert Burns

379. westie7

Apologies if this has been posted already
    From BBC RMT story

“it is understood RMT members in Scotland voted in favour of independence by a margin of 1,051 to 968. A further 365 voters were undecided.”

Then at the end

“Even this ballot did not show a majority in favour of independence – 59% of people who voted didn’t support a ‘Yes’ vote.”

Am I thick or something or they counting anything other than definite messes as no’s

380. Ken500

Scotland would not have ever had a deficit. The Scottish deficit was created by Westminster, along with the secrecy and lies. Scotland would have been Independent years ago, but for Westminster lies and corruption.

Pay the ransom Cameron, the dummy. You have already paid them £Milllions and supplied the weapons. Get your thieving nose out of other people’s business.

Geldof is another nosy liar. Showing up their ignorance.

Scotland could support it’s renewable industry with investment into electric cars. 5 times cheaper to run. Get the Westminster liars off Scotland’s back and Scotland will thrive.

381. Dave McEwan Hill

My feeling is that at the bookies the odds on YES will collapse over the next few days so if you want a little punt to finance the celebrations get on now.

Odds on YES are generally at 5/2 (Two and a half to one – ie you get £3.50 return on a £1 bet) But even this is a ridiculous price sustained by a few huge suspicious bets from London on NO as 85% of the bets in Scotand are on YES. Were the odds to reflect only betting from Scotland you would be lucky to get 1/4 on a YES bet (ie £1.25 return on a £1 bet)

You can still get 5/1 on Ladbrokes for YES achieving over 55% of the vote – but not for much longer if the polls over the weekend turn out to be as rumoured

382. Bugger (the Panda)

no new poll today?

383. westie7

RE: George Robertson comment.
    Is that on iPlayer anywhere, that needs to go on my Facebook?

384. Robert Peffers

The Kingdom of Scotland occupies a vital strategic position in the North Atlantic. We are situated strategically near the North Atlantic gap. This North Atlantic Gap is becoming increasingly ice-free due to global warming and it contains the important shipping lanes of the Arctic Ocean. NATO, and The USA, certainly do not want the chances of Russian naval ships sailing through that North Atlantic Gap area.

Look at a map of Scotland’s North Sea area that has the Scottish Territorial Waters and Continental Shelf area and you will be in no doubt that The USA, NATO, and indeed the three country Kingdom of England, are not about to refuse Scotland’s membership of NATO nor of military alliances to safeguard their territory. Not only will they NOT be banning Scottish membership to their several military clubs, they will be coming cap-in-hand to beg her to join. In this, as with many other matters, Scotland has the whip hand and all the bargaining chips.

It is ironic that the historic reasons for England engineering the Treaty of Union was supposed to be to secure England’s northern borders from continental attacks.

385. Ken Mac

”For example, there is an admission that Scotland receives more UK public spending (£64.5billion in 2011/12) than we generate in tax (£57billion in 2011/12)”- I tackled Jim Murphy on the street yesterday when he peddled this crap. He wasn’t too happy when I told him and his gathered acolytes that he was lying and the money didn’t come from the UK it was borrowed. He started garbling into his loudspeaker to drown me out and turned away to take another ‘question’. Soapbox democracy, you cannae beat it.

386. Dave McEwan Hill

I very often think we waste lots of time arguing about economic figures provided by UK mismanagement of Scotland’s economy.

This is almost as if we want to get independent so we can continue to run things the same way.

I feel like screaming at the telly sometimes “But we don’t want to run things that way. That’s the whole bloody point, you clowns”

387. heraldnomore

Ooh Dan Snow. Yawn.

388. geeo

Prof Curtice ill so all polls cancelled until someone finds an expert ?

That must be the reason…

389. Bugger (the Panda)

lkln test

390. Bugger (the Panda)

Ah, Curtice has the ‘flu?

Is it a 4 week one?

391. bookie from hell

westie7

lord robertson quote

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2qYwqBifmw&feature=youtu.be

392. Macart

@BTP

Yeah, spooky. The silence is deafening on the poll front.

393. caz-m

Tam Jardine

Catchin up with your earlier post Tam, showing an unshaven Alex Salmond giving it to David Cameron in the wrestling ring. Good find.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIVy5XdQhOM&feature=youtu.be

394. Leo Foyle

@westie7, 08:43,

You’re on the right lines, but I think they’ve got the percentages wrong. I’ve calculated that 44% voted yes, so 56% voted not-yes. I could cheer you up by rewriting the story as “59% of Scottish RMT workers reject the Treaty Of Union.”

395. Macart

Anyone seen today’s Record yet? I understand the FM will be editing this one so it should become a collectors item.

A pro YES Record. 😮

396. John H.

westie7:8.43.
    I can’t be bothered checking the figures, but no doubt they’ll have lumped the don’t knows in with the no’s.

Expect the same tactics after a Yes victory.

397. John H.

Sorry Leo Foyle.I hadn’t seen your post.

398. Bugger (the Panda)

Macart

It is open to read on the web

399. Nana Smith

Why are the no hopers bothering us up here. The Highlands are awash with saltires and Yes signs.

Could it be they are trying to add more and more to their expenses….

http://www.ross-shirejournal.co.uk/Independence-Debate/hits-Inverness.htm

400. turnbull drier

@mj

I’ve contacted Alistair and he is meeting with one of your group tonight to pass over the wbbs.

She will drop them off to you at the Street Stall in Moffat on Saturday.

email me on turnbulldrier AT gmail DOT com if you want more details.

ta.

401. Macart

@BTP

OMG it is! 😮

The whole home site is like YES central.

This will probably be the first and last time I ever post this link.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk

402. Mealer

My elderly mother was getting her hair done yesterday.Whilst in the chair she used the time to read to the hairdresser from the Wee Blue Book.Her response….”why has nobody ever told us before?”

403. Stevie boy

We might not see any new polls at all until the vote.

Let’s face it, if they show the truth then it’s game over for No!

404. john king

W

405. ronnie anderson

Has anybody got the link to that George Robertson statement ( entity of North Britain )

406. Black Douglas

@ronnie anderson

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2qYwqBifmw&feature=youtu.be

He actually calls it a minor entity 🙂

407. caz-m

Nana Smith

Do you know anything about that meeting that was held in Stornaway last week that had 99 votes for each side.

BBC Scotland seem to want to tell us about it, as if it was a true reflection of what is happening on Lewis.

I think the Highland Free Press sponsored it.

408. Colin Church

GMS Radio 5 on in background. YESSERs are flying at the moment. Hope it lasts without editorial kyboshing.

409. call me dave

Our ordinary punters are doing well on UK referendum call while our English and Irish contributors are making little impact as they are so bereft of proper information.

The Welsh guy did well on our behalf. Jon Snow v Billy Bragg.

410. Nana Smith

@caz-m

Yes I read the debate result in the Sty Gazette. I can tell you a lot of folks couldn’t get tickets but seemingly an awful lot of churchy people were present. No surprise if that is true. As my husband said yesterday it is mostly church people at his work who are NO. Can you guess which church?

If Brian Wilson had anything to do with this debate then you can be sure the result is fixed.

411. Ken500

Cameron pays terrorists to kill people. Pay the ransom, dummy. Cameron and Obama the most unpopular politicians in the world.

412. Ken500

Alcoholic Dave makes poor decisions.

413. JWil

Quote from Caz-m: “I think the Highland Free Press sponsored it.”

…and Brian Wilson, spoiler, anti-devolutionist, anti-independence activist, from the Labour Party, has a big stake in it.

414. Quentin Quale

Nana, even putting to one side the disgraceful tactics employed by the No Answers team, that is the most disgusting comment I have heard so far.

415. Macart

@Nana

Minor entity?

No one is insignificant who works for peace, fairness and social justice. No country, no community, no group, no single person.

What an appalling thing to say about your own country. They call this man a lord? This bought and paid for member of the establishment?

Lets see how well he’s greeted by his peers in the Lords after we kick his system into touch.

416. caz-m

Anyone buying as Daily Record today?

417. john king

Well thats it for tonights show folks I hope you enjoyed the comedy?
    Lets remind ourseleves just how funny these guys really are

Cameronb :William Wallace wouldnt have been up for separation!

Ronnie Anderson: William Wallace may end up looking like Alex Salmond,
    although Ronnie he could end up looking like another Wallace
    http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/09/30/article-2043873-0CE8D26800000578-819_468x286.jpg

caz-m’s classic gag
    George Robertsons heads either shrunk or his teeth have gotten bigger, woohahahahahaha

And who could forget Ian Brotherhoods “you can put teeth in a fanny, its still a fanny,
    classic Ian 😉

Papadox:
    question about Robertsons lobotomy,
    Just remember folks lobotomy’s for life not just for Christmas,

And finally special thanks to CameronB for stepping in at the last moment and taking over from the hat and coat check girl, who had to rush away as she had a run in her tights, or was it her pound?

thanks for watching folks and be sure to tune in next week when our all star cast will be be taking the piss out of another lot of no hopers like Murphy, Lamont,Curran,Carmichael, and many more,

Audience applause,clap clap clap clap clap clap clap clap fade, adverts.

418. ronnie anderson

Prof Poltice to ill to paricipate due to the Flu,can we suspend the Referendum till he,s better Ah would hate for him tae miss the result, & his comments afterwards.

419. Nana Smith

@Macart

Labour on the whole sickens me, but this clown Robertson takes sickening to a whole new level.
    What could it possibly be that worries labour so much if Scotland becomes Independent…100yr d notice perhaps.

420. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

I hope someone points out to the eccentric lone Robertson defender on the youtube comments that he supported the Iraq Invasion in the first place and that there were NO weapons of mass destruction.

Also, perhaps the odious ‘Lord’ Robertson and his pathetic cheerleaders would care to explain this?

Lord George Robertson votes for war in Iraq then alleged to take bribes http://www.theguardian.com/news/2006/feb/09/freedomofinformation … #indyref #scotland pic.twitter.com/98fVruf24r

421. Stevie boy

@ Dave McEwan 8:45am

Yeah I noticed on William Hill that their online site had a Yes win at 11/4. However I was happy to discover that when I went into their shop it was actually 10/3.

.. like taking sweeties from a Westminster wean!!!!

422. caz-m

a

423. Stevie boy

I think we should all buy the Daily Record today (for one day only, as they say).

Let’s show them what their sales could have been if they had just been honest and unbiased.

424. ronnie anderson

@John King I was expecting Gromit but thats even funnier.I alway look forward to your analisis of the previous days posts.

Ian Brotherhood The Hills Have AYES but your fannies wie teeth takes the bisquit.

Big Tammy doff tae all contributers.

425. caz-m

Dave McEwan Hill

I have bet a NO voter £1 that the YES vote will be 70%.

Do you think I am being to ambitious?

426. Lesley-Anne

Just in case some folks have still not seen the Daily Record’s front page … Ta Dah! 😉

https://twitter.com/Daily_Record/status/507645038629625856

427. heedtracker

Coffee time with Duncan! Tuned into watch Geldoff, got Duncan
    70+years is a long time by any standards to reign over a minor North British region, let alone my country pal.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/celebrity/scottish-independence-sir-bob-geldof-backing-no-1-3531123

Also weird is the ad for Jags, NO union jacks but you get that being British is sitting in a jaguar looking at people on a London bus and with an upper class English accent.

428. kendomacaroonbar

Bought two Daily Records this morning but was disappointed to note that our Torcuil had taken a dump over two inside pages with Mill B quoted headline ” Don’t buy SNP false promises”

I feel grubby now.

429. BigSteveChisholm

Record View: We’ve given both sides of the platform- now YOU decide

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/opinion/news/record-view-weve-given-both-4167855

Yes currently polling at 84%

430. Lesley-Anne

caz-m says:

Anyone buying as Daily Record today?

Surely you shouldn’t be asking if anyone is buying the Daily Record but instead be asking if anyone is NOT buying the Daily Record caz? 😉

431. caz-m

And if you are a member of the British Armed Forces and you missed the last Iraq war, then don’t worry, David Cameron is sorting that out as we speak. He has big plans to re-visit Iraq in the very near future.

432. Macart

I’ll tell you what worries Labour parliamentarians…

… Labour voters.

Labour voters looking right at them and asking hard questions. No parliamentary privilege to hide behind, no crown sovereignty just them and the people they’ve used and abused up close and personal.

Considering how those parliamentarians have used their voters over the years, especially folk like that little …..Lord, I’d be fairly terrified too.

433. john king

me @ 9.28 that was me telling you my favourite letter. 🙂

The editor just reminded me that comedy gold moment was in fact
    GROUSE BEATER
    with his haliarious mispellings such as
    “He’s a despicable little runt”

Seems to me Ian we’ve all got rellies who have issue with people messing around with the veiw
    sitting in her woindow looking out over the forth my old mum used to doze off and wake up several hours later and yell
    “who put that f***ing rock there, it was all water earlier”

434. horacesaysyes

Good point Lesley-Anne.

I’ve not decided if I’ll actually bother reading anything beyond the first few pages, though!

435. caz-m

Lesley Anne

I was just about to ask you if you had bought the Record today, no need now.

The Sun will be looking on with envy.

436. john king

z
    ha!

437. heraldnomore

Not sure about that poll on the DR. Will you be voting it asks, Yes or No, not HOW will you be voting.

What an awful phone in with KwithanE and Dan and Nicky and breaks for the news from Dann Saff. Haven’t heard so much tosh since Lord Robertson last opened his ermined gob.

438. call me dave

Never heard a case for the union in all of that, just the usual mixture of uninformed rhetoric and some well meaning platitudes.

Of to buy the papers and I’ll have a peek at the one I get for my neighbour.

439. Ken500

Robertson is just another greedy, troughing, murderous liar. The lowest of the low. A glutton. Enriches himself on other people’s misery. Contemptible. Aong with most of the rest of Westminster.

440. Stevie boy

Can-m

The way it’s going I don’t think you will be far away. Droves of Yesser’s coming everyday thanks to the WBB and all the hard work everyone is doing.

For me that’s one of the most heart warming parts.. the fact they we are ALL working for the same cause.. freeing our wee nation!!!

441. Stevie boy

Caz-m sorry (pred text)

442. JWil

Did BBC Scotland’s decision to bring English people into the discussion this morning really make any significant contribution to the debate? Most of the views we heard were straight out of the Daily Mail and the Daily Telegraph, just demonstrating how badly these papers are serving their English customers.

443. westie7

Cheers for the George (Friends of Hamilton) Robertson links, If that doesn’t sort the No’s on my Facebook then nothing will.

444. Indy_Scot

The fact that The Riot Club, (a fictionalised version of the Bullingdon Club) is being released on the 19th of September tells you everything you need to know about how the unionists and the No camp operate.

Their modus operandi is absolutely disgusting.

445. caz-m

I’m away out to post window posters and stickers through loads of strangers doors, very rewarding.

446. Stevie boy

JWil

I suppose they are having to bring English folk into the debate.. must be getting harder to find No voters these days in Scotland 🙂

447. Ronnie

I also find the DR poll very odd. They’re only asking if you are going to vote in the Indyref, NOT whether you’re voting Yes or No.

448. heedtracker

Ian Wood knows this too or, yet another in a parcel of rogues. Sorry Ken500 but he is.

http://78.110.165.228/index.php/scottish-economy/9692-new-report-suggests-recoverable-oil-and-gas-could-be-double-current-estimates

449. bookie from hell

A new word from Labour

Sarah Boyack

Double Devolution

walofs

450. R-type Grunt

@ BigSteveChisolm

That poll in your link is only asking if you’ll be voting, not which way your vote will go.

451. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just been looking, ever so briefly at the photo at the top of the article in the Guardian and two thoughts sprung to mind.

1) Would you buy a used car from this man?

2) Shouldn’t that picture have a prison number along the bottom?

http://tinyurl.com/kk9bjsv

My partner has just recently been talking with the chairman of our local YES group and apparently if you thought 2011 was an eye opener then you aint seen nothing yet! Whatever you do though do not, under any circumstances, tell any one. It may be looking like 50% +1 is a wee bit shy of where we will end up. 😛

I am just wondering how long into the STV referendum programme on 18th/19th we will get before the penny drops that YES have won. With a seven and a half hour long programme to play with I’m thinking that by 3 o’clock the game will be over. 😀

So come on folks do what you do best for a wee bit longer and we might even get to our beds even earlier. 😉

452. CameronB Brodie

OT. Posh Twonk Talks Tough To Scots

In a speech at Blantyre Miners Community Resource Centre on the subject of social justice, Mr Miliband told supporters that Scotland would only be made fairer if the country voted No and then elected a Labour government. “We can build a more just Scotland within a more just United Kingdom. True to the traditions of our pioneers, true to the traditions of the heroes of Scotland,” he said…..

He added that “90 per cent” of people in Blantyre were still Labour supporters, but claimed that the “vast majority” would be voting Yes on 18 September. “Very few will come out and say it, because it’s not what Labour want them to do, but when it comes down to private and personal voting, they’ll be Yes,” he said.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/scottish-independence/scottish-independence-ed-miliband-fails-to-impress-the-people-of-labourfounder-keir-hardies-home-town-9712564.html

453. Hewitt83

I don’t blame the English for their ignorance.

Their press are relentless.

454. liz

@caz-m – I mentioned in another thread that I had watched the 1st 25 mins of the Stornoway and there was lots of arms crossed when panning the audience – I think Lesley-Ann posted a link.

As for John Prescot and Broon – I remember watching a film of JP touring his old constituency and he came across as patronising and also he was so impressed by his flat in central London – showing off his view of Big Ben.

He is another sell out.

455. a2

o/t Radio 4 Documentary on Zimbabwe independence and how it went terribly wrong this morning. Funny it should be broadcast this week.

456. CameronB Brodie

Sarah Boyack claims HS2 will be good for Scotland, even though KPMG admit their scheme appraisal was limited in terms of scope and data. She is also unaware of the concept referred to as creative destruction.

I used to think she was a person of good intent. No longer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creative_destruction

457. heedtracker

Also, everyone across the UK pays very different prices in all supermarkets. As soon as you get a Tesco, Asda, Morrisons monopoly, their prices shoot up. Try A96 driving from Aberdeen til you get to TescoTown, I mean Inverness.

458. heedtracker

HS2, 3, 4, 5 are simply the progress of England modernising its transport infrastructure. They have fully developed their motorway network and are now moving on to super fast railway lines connecting English cities. And ofcourse once again, Scotland has to help pay them to do it.

459. starlaw

G Robertson also spoke of it being the wrong time to remove Scottish troops from the British Army as they will be needed to fight in Iraq and the Ukraine… Mothers! George has plans for your sons careers.

460. fred blogger

heedtracker
    hs2 saves 20mins travel, built in the wrong place.
    if it was built in scotland it would make more sense.
    and as you say we have to pay for what barely benefits anyone , except investors in it!

461. CameronB Brodie

heedtracker
    We are the periphery heedtracker, the bodily extremities. A cold spell of austerity faces us. It is normal in such extreme conditions, for the body to protect the vital organs, at the expense of finger and toes lost to frostbite.

Lets vote Yes to keep the Scottish NHS in public control.

462. Iain

Alasdair Morrison (former Labour MSP) lying on GMS this morning. Stated that the reason that the Western Isles does not have an interconnector to the grid is due to the Scottish Government (i.e. the SNP’s fault). In fact energy policy is NOT devolved and the only reason there is no interconnector is because the National Grid (controlled via London Civil Servants and Westminister) does not consider renewable energy projects in Scotland to be a high priority. Any normal person would then make the logical conclusion, we need local control over energy policy as it obvious that we have different needs but not Morrison, apparently the only way to secure a green revolution is via the Union, and I would presume that this would be via his party. What is it with Labour Party Officials? They reek of hypocrisy and it seems to be Party first in every case.

463. Liquid Lenny

Dr JM Mackintosh

Sorry previous post has disappeared into the ether.

Save on the champagne, a one way economy ticked to port Stanley, is the best for the unionist troughers.

They can live in a unionist nirvana and we get rid of them for ever.

464. IheartScotland

Hmmm, a minor entity.
    In the meantime a tory MP equates ‘losing’ Scotland to losing colonial America. We were never equals, merely a possession.

465. Col The Viking

All positive and the momentum is definitely with us – keep working hard, knocking the doors, leafleting, distributing WBB, speaking to neighbors / family / colleagues / people out with the dogs – it all helps, we are going to win this if we keep working right to the (football analogy alert!) final whistle!

Onwards!

466. David Stevenson

The quote from Labour about the RMT vote is another of those “through the looking glass moments” that the desperation of the No campaign is throwing up. The attitude that non-voters should be counted as No votes on strike action is a line I have heard only from ultra-right Tories of a UKIP bent. I doubt any trade unionist anywhere will be happy to hear it come from “the mass party of the working class”. Strange times we live in…..

467. JWil

I looked up BBC Radio Scotland presenters and found that Derek Bateman’s picture is still in their gallery. However when you click to get his background info you get ‘page not found’.

468. Lesley-Anne

Whilst dozing off last night I could not stop thinking about our wee neighbour’s Dan Suff and what they should call themselves after the 19th September. Well I think I’ve come up with the answer … Ewani. (England Wales and Northern Ireland. 😉 )

I have also designed their new flag for them as well, it consists of the Cross of St. George with the flag of Wales top Left and Bottom Right quadrants and the flag of Northern Ireland Top right and bottom left quadrants. Simples! 😛

469. CameronB Brodie

I think we are beginning to see British Labour’s dream of One Nation Britain, is not that far from Disraeli’s concept of a pro-fascist One Nation Britain.

470. CameronB Brodie

Sorry, proto-fascist One Nation Britain.

471. Lesley-Anne

To be fair Cameron I think Milliband might have an extreme outside chance of still getting his one nation, it just won’t include Scotland. 😛

472. David Stevenson

Can anybody help please?

I had a letter published in the Morning Star on Monday in which I recommended Wings and Newsnet Scotland as sources which pick through the disinformation of the No campaign. Maria Fyfe responded and is clearly not a Wings fan, though she did advise people to follow my advice and check out the site (presumably she thinks it will be unpopular). She cited (not quoted) a comment from the site regarding Margaret Curran which refered to her stopping lying when her tongue had been cut from her cold dead body. Can anyone direct me to this as I have not come across it and prefer to know what I am talking about when I respond in print. Thanks.

473. JWil

It was nice to see that BBC Radio Scotland had parachuted in anchorman Nicky (he’s so aloof) Campbell to help out Kaye Adams in their programme this morning to quiz English phone-ins about their position on Scottish independence. They need people who can cut to the chase and stop the waffling instantaneously by having their finger on the OFF button at all times (and be polite with it). It was equally wise of them to side-line Louise White for the morning for this most important and enlightening programme.

It’s good to see the BBC pulling out all the stops to give Scots the best of news and political debate by removing the regular presenters and bringing in their indispensable, top quality, reinforcements from the south. Especially Sarah Smith and James Naughtie. BBC Scotland would have been reneging in their duty not to do so. It’s so good to have a thoughtful public service broadcaster, concerned for their listeners and viewers.

It’s just a pity that they didn’t replace Mr McQuarry and his political side kick for the duration too.

474. Lesley-Anne

I’m not sure anyone will be able to remember where that was said DS, after all there have been probably thousands of posts in the last week alone. I think looking for a needle in a humongous haystack springs to mind here. The best you can hope for, I think, is that if it was posted then whoever posted it will confirm it later on. 😉

475. Edward

Regards Sarah Boyaks inane and stupid comment on HS2 being good for Scotland

She is talking absolute bollox

HS2 is purely a development to better London and the south east of England’s transport infrastructure, nothing more!

That is why it starts in London and head north to Birmingham

Ask yourself this, why is Westminster, the ‘oh so Better Together’ Westminster not building High Speed links FROM Scotland South (and North from Glasgow and Edinburgh)?

Simple that would only improve Scotland’s transport infrastructure and London does not want to encourage that, yet will expect Scotland to pay for HS2

As someone has already mentioned, KPMG did a study and found that Aberdeen would be a lot worse off as well as the rest of Scotland

476. JWil

The Labour Party view on things has become so distorted by its desperation to retain the union.

477. john king

David Stevenson says
    “She cited (not quoted) a comment from the site regarding Margaret Curran which refered to her stopping lying when her tongue had been cut from her cold dead body.”

that comment must have been David (if it was made) when I wasnt looking, and my wife complains bitterly at me for being onm Wings from morning to night,

I can guarantee you that no poster that I know on here (and I know just about them all) would have written something as crass as that.

478. Tony Little

@David Stephenson

The quote comes from this article http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-little-advance-warning/ and was made by someone quoting from the Daily mail. The relevant paragraph was

In today’s Daily Mail we find this:

Vile ‘cybernat’ attack on MP

A NOTORIOUS [sic] ‘cybernat’ has caused more offence with a vile attack on Labour MP Margaret Curren. The blogger ‘Rev’ Stuart Campbell, who posts as Wings Over Scotland, wrote on Twitter: ‘Margaret will stop lying when you pry the tongue out of her cold dead mouth, to coin a phrase.’

You can make of that what you will but the relevant statement for me is “to coin a phrase”

479. CameronB Brodie

Edward
    HS2 is the extension of a trans-European high-speed rail network, so it would be a bit daft starting in Scotland. There would be no/negligible benefits until the connection was made with London. Money needs to be turned around faster than that, so you start where the line presently ends.

As you say though, HS2 will largely benefit London and the south Midlands, stimulating economic and environmental renewal. IMO, KPMG’s scheme appraisal most probably underestimated the local economic benefits that could be expected. Although KPMG used best practice and incorporated some of the most up to date theory, the practice of scheme appraisal is a young discipline and KPMG’s assessment was, by their own admission, incomplete at best. Subsequent studies of High Speed Rail in China suggest local benefits may be greater than allowed for in the KPMG study. Also, it now appears that local factors are significant in determine how HSR lines interact with regional economies. So KPMG’s figures are a shot in the dark, IMO.

Then they will need a link to Leeds, then there’s Liverpool and Newcastle to consider. Perhaps Scotland, sometime in the not too distant future. Maybe.

480. Tam Jardine

Caz-m

Catchin up with your earlier post Tam, showing an unshaven Alex Salmond giving it to David Cameron in the wrestling ring. Good find.

I am no wrestling fan but my mate told me about Daniel Bryan switching between shouting No! No! No and his signature Yes! Yes! Yes! during his illustrious career. If I can find him switching from No to Yes during a bout we have something that can go viral!

481. Edward

CameronB Brodie
    I’ll go and stand in the corner – again 😉

482. CameronB Brodie

KPMG’s assessment
    Sorry. 🙂

483. CameronB Brodie

Edward
    That was for you, obvs. 😉

484. CameronB Brodie

Edward
    Just to clarify, I am suggesting KPMG’s estimated cost of HS2 to Scotland, has probably been underestimated, perhaps significantly.

485. The Man from Delmonte

Regards the Daily Express ‘The Bard of Salford’ gets it spot on.

htts:/www.youtube.com/watch?v=spvvAdAN5bA

Rock-on Johnny Clarke.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.