47 to “High stakes”

1. Juteman

Status is ‘go’ might be more apt?

2. Alabaman

HUD on, I havna read the last post yet!.
    (last post!!)

3. gordoz

I am totally convinced of the accuracy of the cartoon; anyone who cannot see this is a complete idiot,  or an architect of the No Scotland cause.

Macdougall, I. Davidson, Curran, Wilson, Robertson, Lammont, Rennie, R. Davidson, Baillie, Sarwar, Campbell, Do. Aleaxander, Da. Alexander, Dougdale, Harris, Marra

Ohh I can’t be bothered writing any more names (it hurts too much and makes me feel sick).

Hope it gets massive circulation, (you could of course, also replace the parliament with Scotland in terms of dismantling or demolition).

4. handclapping

Like it,
    but its the wrong way round. The building’s the one on the Thames and the wrecking ball is the Yes vote, that’s what Project Fear fears.

5. K Mackay

Where’s oor Hamish? Is he just out of view, pouring sugar in the fuel tank?

6. HandandShrimp

It doesn’t bear thinking about

7. The Man in the Jar

I can visualise it. As the wrecking ball starts to swing Lamont and the usual Better Together suspects standing in a circle surrounding Holyrood and singing. Just like in the final scene from The Wicker Man!

8. Juteman

@TMITJ
    Wrong film mate. Think of Dr Strangelove and the end bomb scene, and think of Johann with her thighs gripped around that wrecking ball. 🙁

9. The Man in the Jar

Talking of final scenes. Im away to put on my DVD of “V for Vendetta” the final scene always cheers me up no end!

10. gillie

Oh how the unionists would love to flatten Holyrood and turn it into a Gulag.

11. The Man in the Jar

@Juteman

Are you trying to put me off my tea?

12. K Mackay

aww, Juteman, why? I’m already ill, didn’t need that image.

13. Iain

@Juteman
    ‘Think of Dr Strangelove and the end bomb scene, and think of Johann with her thighs gripped around that wrecking ball.’

Lol! Johann ‘Miley not smiley’ Lamont.

14. Andy-B

A frightening concept, and one which Westminster will be hoping for if a no vote is returned next year.

At the very least, a stripping away of Holyrood powers, would almost certainly be on the cards.

Lets hope it doesnt come to that, think positive.

15. Murray McCallum

That’s a bloody good drawing Chris.

16. kininvie

O/T  Is the walloping Major of Falkirk turning into a kind of Derek Bateman clone – lifting the lid on a lot of sorry Labour habits?  Anyone might think so from this:

http://ericjoyce.co.uk/2013/10/2081/

17. Barontorc

@kininvie – Eric Joyce may be all that’s said of him but I’d guess he ain’t stupid. There must be plenty of placemen in the Tory and Labour parties, be they placed there by crooks and capitalists or by unions and greedy b*stards always plotting to keep an edge.

That’s the very thing which makes an absolute sham of the so called ‘democratic’ system punted by the rancid ‘establishment’ and their plaything House of Lords.

So come on Eric Joyce – do the noble thing and cross the floor, your gesture will be howled at by the derisory UK media, but at least you’ll make a statement and about time as well, shouting loud and clear – Scotland is where it’s at and where you see proper democracy trying to take over from the fetid cynical usury of Westminster.

Everyone should get a chance to better himself. Go for it.

18. orkers

A good piece by Joyce ………….obviously the drink hasn’t affected him overly much.
    Book marked his blog and hope to read more soon.

19. And in the event of a yes vote the wrecking ball will be sent down to Cardiff.

20. tartanfever

welshnotbritish says:

‘And in the event of a yes vote the wrecking ball will be sent down to Cardiff.’
    Does it go to Brussels before or after you guys ?

21. edulis

Interesting piece from Joyce there. How does it fit with the Michael Connarty bit about Westminster Govt ministers being deeply involved on the the employers side. Intrigue, intrigue, intrigue! My nightmare is that this is a conspiracy to derail the SG, so strength to Alex Salmond if he can influence it in some way.

22. orkers

@edulis
    How much more deeply involved would Salmond be as a future FM of an Independent Scotland?
    Big business aren’t fools and know which way the wind is blowing.

23. Macart

Just got back from Argyll and played back the FMs speech on Sky Plus.

We seek a country…

Anyone else feel the hairs on the back of their neck shiver?

Here we go. 🙂

24. BuckieBraes

I look forward to hearing Better Together telling us what kind of country they are seeking. Otherwise we have to conclude this is as good as the UK gets.

25. kininvie

O/T Seen Cameron’s sweater collection? One of Greg M’s best:

http://nationalcollective.com/2013/10/19/david-camerons-sweater-solutions/

26. Gray

Good piece by Joyce. Smacks of opportunism now he’s out of favour with his old drinking cronies though.

27. muttley79

I thought it was a very good speech by Salmond today.  Was actually pleasantly surprised by BBC Scotland’s coverage today.  Thought it was fair.  Seems to have been a good conference from the SNP.  White Paper out in about a month’s time.  Things seems to be building up nicely, although there is a hell of a lot of work and effort still to do to get a Yes vote next year.   

28. BuckieBraes

Can you imagine how awful it’ll be if we lose this referendum by a whisker – say 49% to 51% – and we think, ‘If only we’d just pushed a bit harder, we’d have won’?

Push as hard as you can. Wear that badge; talk to others; get those stickers on the car. Remember – we’re not going to get the belt for speaking up.

29. john king

juteman says
    £Wrong film mate. Think of Dr Strangelove and the end bomb scene, and think of Johann with her thighs gripped around that wrecking ball.”
    Im sorry but the thought of Joanne’s thighs gripping anything makes me want to boak

30. jim mitchell

O/T maybe, just watched Blair Macdougall bit on the BBC page, talk about out of his depth!
    BTw could someone remind me of his political background?

31. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“O/T maybe, just watched Blair Macdougall bit on the BBC page”

LINKS, people! LINKS!

Took me five minutes hunting around to find the muppet.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-24588724

32. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Push as hard as you can. Wear that badge; talk to others; get those stickers on the car.”

I’m totally convinced this is THE most important thing we need to do in the next six months. Normalise independence. Don’t hide it like a guilty secret. You don’t have to go up and ram it in people’s faces, but wear your badge, signal your beliefs, don’t act as if it’s something weird to be ashamed of. Then we’ll be ready for the last bit.

33. Morag

The place where I work has rules about not wearing or displaying sporting or political symbols. I have Yes stickers on my car and I use some of the Wings merchandise at work, but I’m nervous about being too upfront. Don’t really know how far I can go.

I teach students and I’d really like to wear a wee Yes badge but I don’t really think I can.

34. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I teach students and I’d really like to wear a wee Yes badge but I don’t really think I can.”

I think you’re already doing your bit in that regard 😀

35. Hetty

I sent a link from a WOS Scotland article other day, to a ( somewhat sceptical ) friend who is 93, he said he read every word and has since followed the SNP conference, he’s coming round to the idea, being ‘half Scottish’ he says. It’s a privilege to know someone who has experienced so much, who fought in WWII, and who admits to still be learning and who is open to change!
    YES to Scottish Independence 2014.

36. Morag

If I ever see a BT badge on anyone, I’m in there. But to be honest, anyone who doesn’t realise that agriculture is far better served by Holyrood hasn’t been paying attention.

And some of my lectures do make the occasional political point. It’s not hard when all the good legislation has come from Holyrood and England is turning into a pest hole.

37. Morag

Conference ceilidh is a bit loud and I’m posting on a phone. Goodnight all.

38. Tattie-Boggle

I am in a class of 12 at college and all 12 are now YES . so it went from 9 up to 12 if you give folk information on where to find some facts they sure start thinking wait a minute these bastards have been telling lies all along

39. Daughter of Evil Reindeer

@ Jim Mitchell
    Blair MacDougall From BT Wikipedia page

Better Together’s Campaign Director is Labour activist Blair McDougall,[4] who was a special adviser to Ian McCartney (2004-2007) and James Purnell (2007-2008) during the Labour governments of Tony Blair and Gordon Brown. He was national director of the Labour Party’s Movement for Change organisation from 2011 and also ran David Miliband’s campaign for the Labour Party leadership[5] before joining Better Together.[6]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Better_Together_%28campaign%29

40. Castle Rock

McDougall is indeed a muppet.  

His background is the British Labour Party, same rich breed that has given us Iain Davidson, Margaret Curran, Anas Sawar and Johan Lamont who all prefer the Tories ruling Scotland rather than us having a progressive left of centre independent country.

Other Brit Nat muppets who support Scotland being governed by the Tories include:

Alistair Darling
    The BNP
    Fifi La Dugdale
    UKIP
    Lord George Robertson
    Baron Foulkes of Cumnock
    Duncan Hothersall
    The Hootsman
    Etc
    Etc
    Etc

41. orkers

If no one has already, have a look at this Blog by a contributor to Newsnetscotland, but don’t hold that against him. He writes extraordinarily well and is acid drop witty.
    Enjoy.

http://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/gordon-brewer-monsters-himself/

42. Andy-B

O/T here’s  a joke to take your mind off that nasty picture.

A woman pregnant with twins, and only 2 weeks away from giving birth, is involved in a car accident, she end up in a coma for 4 weeks, anyway when she comes round she asks the doctor about her twins,

She asks if they’re okay, the doctor replies yes their fine,a boy and a girl she then thinks Oh God I havent even named them yet, the doctor then say its okay your brother named them for you,.

The woman then replies oh no he’s an idiot, I wonder what weird and zany names he called them, the woman then asks what did he call the girl, the doctor replies Denise, the woman smiles, pleased with the name, and what did he call the boy, the doctor replies denephew.

43. Morag

Orkers, that blog is fall-down funny. Thanks.

44. kininvie

@orkers
    Thanks, I loved that. Needs to be spread. Working on it.

45. gfaetheblock

This carton and Nicola’s speech seem to signal the embracing of scare mongering by Yes. Probably a sensible tactic, but kinda takes them off the moral high ground.

46. The Man in the Jar

@Orkers

Speaking as a miserable auld git with a wee ginger dug that wants Scottish independence you have made my day!

Best laugh I have had for a while cheers! 😆

http://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2013/10/16/reasons-a-miserable-auld-git-wants-scottish-independence-part-1/

47. Boorach

@gfaetheblock

I don’t consider Nichola’s speech to have been scare mongering!

It’s not scare mongoring to bring the threats which your opponents have made to the wider public’s attention. As far as I know no-one at the conference invented any scare stories, they simply reiterated what has already been said by those ‘worthies’ who are intent on intimidating the electorate into producing a NO vote next year.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.