Getting in a pickle

Posted on September 12, 2014 by

Yeah, okay, we know the joke doesn’t quite work because the spelling’s not right. But there’s already plenty of comedy in the fact that Richard Branson is the latest celebrity to sign up to the No camp. Why?

branson

That’s why. Still, bless ’em for trying.

1. 12 09 14 21:08

Getting in a pickle | FreeScotland

373 to “Getting in a pickle”

1. JimnArlene

Money grabbing exhippy, what is it about that generation. Oh wait I belong to that generation, not a money grabbing exhippy though.

2. The Man from Delmonte

‘Never trust a hippy’-Malcolm Maclaren

3. WeeMike

I dunno. Running a country and running a service/launching a product seem like two very different things to me. I’m not sure that quote works in this context. But then I do wear a crash helmet and lick windows

4. bookie from hell

on his blog mentions Ukraine/Quebec

I think these words were written by British embassy and he signed it off

5. Les Wilson

I will take his quote, but who gives a fig what he says.

6. piggy

HAHAHA!

7. Caroline Corfield

shades of Brass Eye here, phone up a load of celebs, simplify the story, only present your side, see who bites – viola!

If I hear an in-depth analysis from a business leader, celebrity, ‘expert’ , even if it’s for the No side, then I give it some attention. If it’s obviously a government copy and past, no thought involved, regurgitation of the stories in the meeja, then I don’t.

8. JimnArlene

Stop press, I’m not as old as the wizzen hippy, hurrah. 😉

9. Greannach

Don’t forget, Yessers, that anyone can sign the love letter of under any fun name you like, at heartstrings.letsstaytogether.org.UK

This is your chance to patronise people in Scotland (lovely but simple folks), and ‘they’ LOVE being patronised.

10. A.N.Surgent

Is he stopping the trains and planes at the border

11. Graham

Bla bla bla bla bla. Bla bla bla bla bla bla. That’s why you have to vote no. Don’t see these big companies helping the food banks so let us the working class help the food banks and vote yes to a fairer scotland. Scotlands sons and daughters be free and spread your wings don’t settle for staying in the nest

12. Stoops

It’s a sound message though; say Yes!

13. Scot Finlayson

Branson gets billions in subsidies for his rail network , thats why he is backing the establishment.
    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/jun/10/truth-richard-branson-virgin-rail-profits

14. piggy

A quote from Derek Bateman’s site;

“Let’s say out loud we’re going to win. Let’s tell the bosses and the bankers and the Westminster politicians. Let’s tell the Scots – even those voting No (and some I may have offended!) – WE ARE GOING TO WIN”.

15. James Caithness

A.N.Surgent says:
    12 September, 2014 at 8:30 pm
    Is he stopping the trains and planes at the border

======================

When independent we should stop his trains at the border.

16. Thepnr

Mr Branson your establishment’s balloon has burst, back in the box for you.

17. WeeMike

I mean, if someone came up to me and was like:
    “Wee Mike! We have twenty million pounds! Do you support research into a perpetual motion machine!”
    I’d be like, yeah, go for it. But if you came to me and said the same thing, but this time with 5 million people’s lives being adversely affected in the short to long term (not to mention the other 55 million people affected) I’d be perhaps a bit more risk adverse.
    But then, as I stated above, I am a spectacularly thick gentleman

18. James Caithness

The establishment probably know what the real pols are, from their private polling people, thats why they are at it so hard.

19. A.N.Surgent

James Caithness

I think a lot of things will be getting stopped when Independent

20. Wilma Watts/ memaw

Scot, and his company is the biggest private healthcare provider in England.

21. WeeMike

Deutsche Bank said this:
    “Everyone has the right to self determination and to exercise his or her democratic rights. But there are times when fundamental political decisions have negative consequences far beyond what voters and politicians could have imagined. We feel that we are the threshold of one such moment. A “Yes” vote for Scottish independence on Thursday would go down in history as a political and economic mistake as large as Winston Churchill’s decision in 1925 to return the pound to the Gold Standard or the failure of the Federal Reserve to provide sufficient liquidity to the US banking system, which we now know brought on the Great Depression in the US. These decisions – well-intentioned as they were – contributed to years of depression and suffering and could have been avoided had alternative decisions been taken …

Most importantly, the world as it is evolving in the 21st century is a highly uncertain place with unstable geopolitics and a stressed economic and financial outlook. Why anyone would want to exit a successful economic and political union with a G-5 country – a union which another part of Europe so desperately seeks to emulate – to go it alone for the benefit of … what exactly, is incomprehensible to this author.”

THE GERMAN BASTARDS!

22. Fairliered

I remember going to London to buy cheap prog rock LPs from the first Virgin shop around 1969.
    Is it too late to take them back?
    Seriously, how profitable would his train operating companies be without Scots using them?
    Looking forward to a renationalised railway in an independent Scotand…….. is that Dick Branson’s worry? Do fearbombs fly in reverse?

23. Kevin Evans

I promise you if it’s a no vote and westminster stomps all over us (as they will) none of these celebs will be standing up for our rights and freedom of choice then – we have that for only 15 hours on sept the 18th don’t vote no and throw it away again.

24. chossy

This is a belter of a link 😀 to support your article 😀

http://www.virgin.com/richard-branson/say-yes-then-learn-how-to-do-it-later

25. Donald

Its obvious he is backing the establishment because he wants Virgin Healthcare to run the Scottish NHS like they are in England.

26. Natasha

Caroline Corfield says:

12 September, 2014 at 8:29 pm

shades of Brass Eye here, phone up a load of celebs, simplify the story, only present your side, see who bites – viola!

I didn’t know violas could bite.

27. Tam Jardine

Strange – I always liked Richard Branson (except from when I had a seat on one of his trains within a few seats of the khazi)… voting No is the diametric opposite to his whole attitude. If he had followed the dreary pessimistic can’t-do doctrine of tge No camp he would never have set up a business in the first case.

Willie Walsh should have a wee word about APD. Funny thing is, his intervention will have zero effect except to make him less popular in Scotland.

But then mibbe he is getting something out of it from Westminster. I hardly expect your average DK, having had the entire Uk state machine, press, state TV and all the arseholes around the world who’ve stuck their oar in telling them to vote No – I hardly think a late intervention from Richard is going to be the straw that broke the camel’s back.

I saw a motor the night whilst out leafleting – had a ‘No thanks’ sticker in the back window next to a ‘Free Tibet’ sticker. Same thing. Some people are just completely and blindly contradictory.

28. Black Douglas

Just the privileged son of a privileged son of a privileged magistrate of Calcutta.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G._A._H._Branson

Empire through and through, enough said!!

29. James Caithness

WeeMike says:
    12 September, 2014 at 8:43 pm
    Deutsche Bank
    =================

Wonder what their warning was before German Unification?

30. bookie from hell

Fairliered says:

12 September, 2014 at 8:44 pm

I remember going to London to buy cheap prog rock LPs from the first Virgin shop around 1969.
    Is it too late to take them back?

bfh–walofs

31. WeeMike

“I saw a motor the night whilst out leafleting – had a ‘No thanks’ sticker in the back window next to a ‘Free Tibet’ sticker. Same thing. Some people are just completely and blindly contradictory.”
    Yes, absolutely the same thing! Couldn’t have said it better myself though personally I’d have compared us to Palestine.

32. Lesley-Anne

Why is Branson backing NO?

Well for starters he has his fingers in gawd knows how many Health Trusts in England and he only sees Scotland as yet another opportunity to further expand his health *ahem* empire.

Virgin mobile is another fine example of Branson’s business expansion. No doubt he sees a future in Scotland where he can increase his charges as he no doubt already has plans for Dan Suff.

He obviously sees an independent Scotland as a nightmare scenario for his beloved Virgin Atlantic airways. Let’s face it folks. After we win next Friday, who, in their right mind would want to fly to overcrowded London, a mahor Virgin Atlantic hub, when after independence we WILL be having MORE direct international flights from Glasgow and Edinburgh. THIS is what petrifies Branson. He is terrified of his competitors being able to pick up a huge chunk of what has been,until now, his cut on passenger numbers out of Britain.

At the end of the day all Branson is interested in is himself!

33. Fairliered

WeeMike. I am looking forward to being part of the collapse of the neo-con capitalist system, so Deutsche Bank’s comments – and the rest of the fearbombs from the global parasites like RBS and Lloyds Bank aren’t a threat – they’re an opportunity!

34. Caroline Corfield

Wee blushing smiley face Natasha… Didn’t even realise the typo till you said

35. chas

Im sure that virgin healthcare is the biggest private healthcare orginisation in the uk.

36. Paula Rose

Lesley-Anne doll – why is he supporting No, is he rich?

37. bookie from hell

farage tonight

‘Bank of England is not bluffing. Vote Yes Scots, if you want to start using the Euro.’

38. WeeMike

“Fairliered says:
    12 September, 2014 at 8:51 pm
    WeeMike. I am looking forward to being part of the collapse of the neo-con capitalist system, so Deutsche Bank’s comments – and the rest of the fearbombs from the global parasites like RBS and Lloyds Bank aren’t a threat – they’re an opportunity!”

Inspirational! I can’t wait until after the inevitable Yes vote when we say to the global banking institutions.
    “As of today, I will be keeping my money in the flower bed, next to the Gnome who shall watch over it gladly!”

39. bookie from hell

farage tonight

:Scotland will be small and irrelevant”

40. Lesley-Anne

To be honest Tam, I too had a soft spot for Branson. It started way back in the ’70’s when he launched Mike Oldfield and his Tubular Bells. 😉

I still felt like that when he launched his Virgin Atlantic airline. To be honest I think a large part of that was down to wanting to see someone run a competing British airline against British Airways. I think in no small part this was actually down to my anti large airline feelings after the disgraceful treatment of Freddie Laker’s airline when it was uncovered that British Airways had been in cahoots with a multi international airline cartel to put Laker out of business.

41. Alan of Neilston

Just watching Rath Rovers v Rangers on B.T.Sports Channel,and I am sickened by the singing from the “Rangers Support” songs include Rule Britania, I was Born under a Union Jack, God Save The Queen and If You Hate Independence Clap Your Hands!! Really who are these Morons and obviously feeling happy at the prospect of tomorrows O.O. March to save the Union. Very sad ,but after the Yes Triumph I envisaged a new repetoir of SONGS from the Ibrox Boys

42. Jim Murray

He has some great hypocritical quotes. My favourite is ‘Have faith in yourself, think Yes not No, Live life to the full and never give up’. Go to Pinterest get your favourite and put them all over the net…

43. Findlay Farquaharson

Wait a bloody minute, isnt richard a sir richard? If so, i suggest he is given the respect he deserves as he is of a higher class than the snivelling jocks. Now, stay on your knees and vote no, so says a dick.

44. JimnArlene

bookie from hell says:
    12 September, 2014 at 8:58 pm
    farage tonight

Farage is a fool and irrelevant

45. WeeMike

bookie from hell says:
    12 September, 2014 at 8:58 pm
    farage tonight

Then we shall take a note from Dubai’s playbook and construct ourselves a new island! It will be in the shape of the Saltire so it will.

46. Lesley-Anne

Paula Rose says:

Lesley-Anne doll – why is he supporting No, is he rich?

He’s not, is he? 😛

bookie from hell says:

farage tonight

‘Bank of England is not bluffing. Vote Yes Scots, if you want to start using the Euro.’

Awe bless his little cotton socks Bookie. He tries SO hard to look and sound Prime Ministerial and yet he still ends up with his foot in his mouth every time! 😀

47. tonymac

o/t Debate on stv glasgow now signed up upload of “bairns not bombs” poster.. been “initiaizing” more than 10 mins – why do i bother ?

48. Fairliered

Alan of Neilston.
    My dream is for Sevco to finally go tits up on the 19th September – the day that Scotland votes Yes.
    I would have hoped that Thatcher died on the same day, but she is already rotting in hell.

49. Andy Nimmo

Tell you this… If Virgin Healthcare provides anything like the customer service of Virgin Media (never, ever try and change a Direct Debit date – I did and it took them six months to sort)
    The poor patients will be dropping like flies.

50. Tam Jardine

Lesley-Anne

I think given this intervention all of us in the Yes camp should boycott Virgin Atlantic for our many trips to the states. That’s nigh on 2 million people refusing to use his airline for those long weekends in New York. Hit him in the pocket team! Use Delta or Continental instead.

Might have to keep using his train down to Lockerbie…. I don’t fancy the 3.5 hour ‘sleeper’ bus service down to Dumfries.

51. WeeMike

“Fairliered says:
    12 September, 2014 at 9:05 pm
    I would have hoped that Thatcher died on the same day, but she is already rotting in hell.”

Whew. That’s a little extreme isn’t it? You might not have liked her, but wishing her eternal damnation is a bit much isn’t it?

52. Another Union Dividend

Everyone should read this and broadcast it as it gets to the nub of the self determination argument.

A yes vote in Scotland would unleash the most dangerous thing of all – hope

Independence would carry the potential to galvanise progressive movements across the rest of the UK

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/09/yes-vote-in-scotland-most-dangerous-thing-of-all-hope

53. bookie from hell

british airways areour best friend out there

u couldn’t make it up

54. Lesley-Anne

Well that’s easy enough for me Tam. It takes me all my time to save up for the weekly shop. 😛

55. Harry McAye

Right, that’s me giving up hamburgers and never listening to Kraftwerk ever again.

56. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

This is about a big a ‘coup’ for the No camapign as winning the support of BUPA was.

http://www.nhsforsale.info/private-providers/private-provider-profiles-2/virgin.html

Stirling Greens ?@stirlinggreens Sep 11

RT @geordiemoore58: Last week: Cameron gave BUPA £235m chunk of NHS. Today: Chairman of BUPA backs NO vote in #indyref Vote yes & save NHS!

Be sure to tell people on the streets, in the meetings and on the doorsteps about both endorsements and why they have done so.

57. Stephen

haven’t you heard Thatcher’s already privatized hell!!

58. Harry McAye

Alan – few of us will shed a tear when Rangers mark2 finally croak. One down, one to go, as far as I’m concerned.

59. Simon Chadwick

From the link:

If somebody offers you an amazing opportunity but you are not sure you can do it, say No Thanks – then you’ll not regret it later!

When Together United got into the Cup Final in 1979, with Branson Pickle as their sponsor, it was so unexpected that we were completely unprepared for things like getting merchandise together. The picklers were running around to see if anybody could make stickers and promotional material to take to the stadium for fans.

We bumped into a guy called Tuba Tooter and asked him if he made stickers. He said no. Then he paused, then said definitely not.

Because he had no previous experience, Tuba knew he was too wee, too poor and too stupid to start a business making stickers – clever him. He kept on as he was, and there were no stickers for the fans at Wembley.

Since then he hasn’t really gone anywhere, and hasn’t done any work for for Branson Pickle, or any other businesses. He has stayed an obscure nobody on the dole with no money.

A lot of ordinary downtrodden suffering starts with somebody deciding it’s better not to do something a bit scary. Next time opportunity knocks, just say no!

60. Lesley-Anne

Stephen says:

haven’t you heard Thatcher’s already privatized hell!!

Well that explains why half of their fires have been put out then! 😛

61. Paul

I would have thought that these The Rangers bams would be to sad to sing as their lunatic 2IC died the day.All the more reason to ensure a yes vote just think all the nut jobs pissing of to Ulster sheer bliss ans I am a protestant but these nut jobs don’t speak, sing or march in my name vote yes!

62. davidb

Scotland will be small and irrelevant

And her children will no longer die fighting someone else’s pointless wars.

63. bookie from hell

another pickle

a RBS shareholder said info was leaked to treasury

former tory councilor

64. Ian Kirkwood

Branson is established as part of the establishment. All his nice words have always been designed for the benefit of…… Himself. Simples!

65. call me dave

Live event at the YES bar. Just tuned in 4 minutes ago.

Just saw a NAW getting the full lecture and a WBB.

What are all the polis there for?

66. Graeme

@WeeMike
    “Whew. That’s a little extreme isn’t it? You might not have liked her, but wishing her eternal damnation is a bit much isn’t it?”

No, WeeMike, Margaret Thatcher was the anti-Christ sent by the devil to destroy Scotland. A yes vote will undo her evil curse, her body will be dug up and paraded down the Royal Mile.

But then I’m pretty thick too. Probably best you and I don’t vote, we’ll only do it wrong

67. Andy smith

On train to bathgate today ticket examiner( used to be guards, but that’s another story) spots my copy of “wings”.. That’s a great read,he says,if every home in Scotland had a copy through their door it’d be a walkover!.turns out some bright winger had left 2 copies on train for others to read,well done to whoever it was. I was stopped later in day by driver of a passing car who spotted my badges and wanted to know if I’d any spare,he drove away with my copy of wings as a bonus!

68. bookie from hell

Complaint to Police Scotland made by former Conservative councillor, Peter de Vink, who is an RBS shareholder and supports a yes.

69. galamcennalath

I read somewhere earlier that people from within the London bubble take for granted that “Scottish Independence is a self evident absurdity“. Those of us who have thought long and hard about it don’t come to that same conclusion! However, there are many many people down south who have given it little thought, and what little they have hasn’t lead anywhere!

So where is Branson coming from? Firstly, I doubt of he has thought much about it. Secondly, as has been pointed outm he gets subsidies from Westminster. Ignorance and vested interests, perhaps.

70. Thepnr

WeeMike says:

I would have hoped that Thatcher died on the same day, but she is already rotting in hell.”

Whew. That’s a little extreme isn’t it? You might not have liked her, but wishing her eternal damnation is a bit much isn’t it?

Sorry, Wee Mike but I agree with Fairliered. She was the one that started all this. We will finish it.

71. Lesley-Anne

We;ll what do you know. We really are in it all together!

https://twitter.com/plyons45/status/510485268131217408/photo/1

72. Tam Jardine

Lesley-Anne

Sounds like you’re rock solid for the Virgin Atlantic boycott – there’s plenty more like you in this country. Let’s bring his airline to its knees!

73. IcySpark

Wowzers!

“The Treasury briefed journalists about RBS’s intention to relocate to London if Scotland were to go for independence, before RBS’s board had formally made the decision to announce the move”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-29185319

74. Grouse Beater

The story of Branson and John Lennon is worth a retelling here.

Branson had commissioned him for a new LP when Lennon was domiciled in New York, quietly watched by the CIA.

Branson paid many thousands of dollars down payment on the rights. Nothing happened for many months, and after many ignored phone calls and letters, Branson, worried, summoned Lennon to a meeting.

Lennon arrived with his lawyer.

Branson, furious at Lennon’s stonewalling, threatened to sue unless Lennon came up with at least a rough recording within six months. He waited. Again nothing. Branson sent in his lawyers with a demand for his money returned.

Within a week a tape arrived delivered by Lennon’s lawyer.

Relieved, Branson played it. It was a wall of noise. Branson screamed blue murder. It wasn’t music of any kind.

“You commissioned John,” said his lawyer, “And that’s his latest composition duly delivered within the agreed time”

Branson never got his money back.

75. Fairliered

WeeMike. Thatcher’s policies condemned thousands of Scots to eternal damnation.
    Farage. We are voting for the right to be a small and irrelevant nation – as opposed to part of the rotting corpse of an imperial power hated throughout the civilised world.

76. FairiefromEarth

Well if you buy a Bank off the Goverment for one Billion less than it is worth you would say anything for them.

77. piggy

bookie from hell says:

farage tonight

Ok, time for the silent movie dramatic piano music……..Ok, time to be frightened! Ok, Scream now. Aaaaagggghhhhh!

Fact 1; Scotland is a small nation, just like England.
    Fact 2; Irrelevance is only a thought and doesn’t exist.
    Fact 3; The self humiliation continues with no shortage of casualties. Who would ever take these people seriously?

78. joe kane

Sounds like how the Better Together campaign run things but without actually caring to learn how anything works as they go along.

79. Lesley-Anne

Tam Jardine says:

Lesley-Anne

Sounds like you’re rock solid for the Virgin Atlantic boycott – there’s plenty more like you in this country. Let’s bring his airline to its knees!

I guess you could say that Tam, I’m an economic boycotter of Virgin Atlantic. 😛

80. CalumCarr

Peston got more on RBS leak:

The Treasury briefed journalists about RBS’s intention to relocate to London if Scotland were to go for independence, before RBS’s board had formally made the decision to announce the move

at http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-29185319

Courtesy @ian_fraser

81. Rock

Regarding Nick Robinson of the BBC, can we all send evidence of his utter lie to OXFORD UNIVERSITY.

82. Robert Peffers

@Paula Rose says: 12 September, 2014 at 8:55 pm:

“Lesley-Anne doll – why is he supporting No, is he rich?

Aye! He’s filthy and stinking … and I believe he’s got lots of money too.

83. Lesley-Anne

O.K. folks. Everyone who is a member of the S.N.P. or supporter of the S.N.P. stand up and be proud, be VERY proud! 😛

https://twitter.com/LADFLEG/status/510515518114369536/photo/1

84. HandandShrimp

More Nigel, he appears to have “member size” issues.

However, enough him, he is irrelevant to this vote.

85. Lesley-Anne

WOW!

I never, ever knew that that Robert. Thanks for updating us all! 😛

86. Andy Nimmo

I was returning from a Day Trip to Oban yesterday when the ‘on board PA system’ went on the blink. For example as we were sitting in Helensburgh it would announce “”This is Garelochhead..the next stop is Helensburgh”..
    Couldn’t resist it – as the guard walked past I said in a loud(ish)voice “Take it your PA system’s sponsored by Better Together..keeps giving out wrong and misleading info to folk and treating them like dummies”
    Guard laughed, couple of American tourists nearby tried hard to stop themselves from laughing but couldn’t quite manage it.
    Turned out they’d been into both Yes and No shops in Oban and said it was like night and day regarding responses given to questions asked.
    Rest of the journey passed very quickly as all four of us got chatting and guard joined in when he could.

87. boris

Exposure of the Labour Party Margaret Curran and Johaan Lamont who let their constituents suffer extreme hardship for 40 years well knowing throughout the period that Scotland, with it,s oil had the means to correct the situation. Disgraceful behavior. Glasgow people should reject the labour Party and both officers on a charge of gross neglect of the electorate

http://caltonjock.com/2014/09/12/mccrone-report-lest-we-forget/

88. tonymac

o/t Newswatch dealing with nick lies now

89. Tom Foyle

Bookie from Hell.

Great. That means I can spend all these Euro coins, amounting to around 60-odd Euros.
    No bugger takes coins, here OR in Englandshire. At last I’ll get shot of ’em!
    As far as spending Scottish money in England goes, though…no change there, the bastards don’t even think it’s legal tender. After the 18th, perhaps it WON’T be…we can but hope.

90. tonymac

blinked missed it

91. heraldnomore

I just keep picturing him with that kilt on back to front. Looked more ridiculous than in the wedding dress.

92. Lesley-Anne

Well at least they mentioned it Tony, just a pity they didn’t have any whatsits to actually *ahem* grill his editor or even the BBC News editor. Still I guess that’s why we are just upity Scots we expect equal treatment and respect from BBC and get treated like mushrooms instead! 😛

93. grahamlive

Hasn’t Branson been after the contract to run the Lottery for years now? When’s Camelot’s contact up? No doubt he’ll be in with a shout now.

94. Juan P

Why is the Peston report on the treasury briefing journalists not being reported under the politics section and the Scotland section of the BBC website in addition to the business section?

95. Robert Peffers

@JimnArlene says: 12 September, 2014 at 9:03 pm:

“Farage is a fool and irrelevant”

Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! And Bransons a real dick.

96. Ian Brotherhood

Small and irrelevant we may be, but we’re just about to blunderbuss the balls right off what’s left of the British Empire, and for that we will be welcomed in hundreds of countries for centuries to come.

Tally-ho!

97. Nana Smith

No surprise the guardian came out for NO…

http://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2014/09/rusbridgers-scottish-lands/

98. highseastim

Branson, up to his neck in privatisation of healthcare south of the border!!

99. Lesley-Anne

Just seen this tweet from our very good friend the ATD. 😉

@PoliceScotland are now dealing with complaint alleging that @Number10gov leaked market sensitive information about RBS. #VoteYes #IndyRef”

100. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/12/scotland-votes-britain-europe-referendum

What powers of everything does our little non entity scrounger region of Scotland have and bank of Germans say we’re going to cause the 30’s Great Depression again too.

What next, Jesus H Christ appears on the Mount tomorrow in front of the OO boys and works his bettertogether magic.

101. IcySpark

Clyde Marine Training email
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BxXGHCdCEAATcRH.jpg

102. Lesley-Anne

Well I think we all know where we stand now Nana after reading that pile of s***e from the BBC.

Note to every newscaster and reporter. It is perfectly acceptable for you to LIE, DECEIVE and MISINFORM the viewing public, particularly the viewing public North of the border in North Britain!

103. lochside

Bring up the Branston….eeurgh!

104. Tom Foyle

A bit OT but relevant. I have nothing against the campaign being run by the YES camp. I will be quite happy to see the back of the bbc. All the politicians can take a hike, as far as I’m concerned. But Scotland will face an extraordinarily dangerous threat on the 18th, one that cannot apparently be reversed, and one that may well be “forever.” I urge ALL Scots, not just the minorities, or the scared, the too wee, too stupid, too-fond-of-cereal brigade, but ALL Scots, to REMEMBER – in an independent Scotland, there is something you may lose that is a REAL benefit to you ALL! And you may not get it back, whatever you vote.
    I’m speaking, of course, about that organ of pure delight, humour and honesty that is “Dateline Scotland.” (Sorry, I meant “travesty!) So, if you want to retain this delightful masterpiece, remember to vote….uh….vote….erm…well, just vote, anyhow.

105. heraldnomore

Having just read Branson’s statement it is quite interesting; but he’s missed a couple of words out. He talks of our economy, prosperity and security and then says that because of that it is imperative we remain in the union.

He is of course looking at it from England’s perspective, realising the importance of our remaining for the good of England. Look at it from Scotland’s perspective Sir Dick, and think again.

106. stonefree

@Lesley-Anne
    “Mike Oldfield and his Tubular Bells.”
    Personally I’ve never forgiven him for that……….lol
    Branson while being reasonable successful on a grandish scale , he’s had a shed load of failure and sell offs , most of which was aired in Private Eye and later when he was bidding for the Lottery

107. Quentin Quale

That would be Branson whose Virgin health care went 50/50 with several GP practices in England then forced them to sell out. Also questions as these practices are often run by locums not regular doctors.
    So is it any surprise at all that he is on the No side? Saying No opens up Scotland to privatising Scottish NHS and he will be right up at the front of the queue.
    Yet another reason to Vote YES.

108. bugsbunny

Graham,

It’s difficult to dig Thatcher’s corpse up, as they burned the old cunt 18 months ago. I wonder if the Orange Lodge will have a two minute silence for Ian Paisley tomorrow? Utter twats of the highest order.

Stephen.

109. Derek M

hmm i wonder if old beardy twat is a bit worried his virgin hospitals will loose out on Scotland and all the top research that goes along with it,or could it be his space port or maybe scared we take back the rail network into public hands ,i dread to think what private hospitals will be like if his company is running them,still it is a bit strange after what he said on RT Sophie and Co that he was impartial but i guess as an eccentric billionaire he is entitled to be a fud.

110. Robert Peffers

@Lesley-Anne says: 12 September, 2014 at 9:04 pm:

“Awe bless his little cotton socks Bookie. He tries SO hard to look and sound Prime Ministerial and yet he still ends up with his foot in his mouth every time!”

As you say, Lesley-Anne he ends up with his foot in his mouth … that really, really does sound Prime Ministerish, Richt enuch.

111. Clootie

“May your choices reflect your hopes, not your fears.”
    ? Nelson Mandela

112. IcySpark

@Tom Foyle

lol. Hopefully they get a 5 minute slot at the end of the SBC 6 o’clock news every night 🙂

113. Lesley-Anne

Apologies for bringing up bad memories there stonefree. 😛

114. heedtracker

Lose “Dateline Scotland.” NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER:D

115. DavieS

Shames me to say that I pay his lot for Phone, web and TV. Except that I found this site to keep up my spirit through the barrage of shite spewing forth since the weekend! I know there has been Decades worth of the same, but the last few days have taken the breath away.
    Signed 2 petitions today against the BBBC. Not a lot But me and the Welsh better half will be putting our X beside Yes on Thursday.

116. Lesley-Anne

NEVER Tom. We will NEVER surrender our Dateline Scotland! 😛

After I put that post up Robert I couldn’t get the image out of my head of Farage the Mirage as Deputy Prime Minister! 😛

117. Sinky

Please read and help reach a wider audience

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/09/12/were-going-to-win/

And Labour people have watched as their own side joined hands with the Tories, took the money of the landowners and the millionaires, and argued against the very advantages they like the SNP administration for. There may be questions of long-term affordability, but why shouldn’t Scots desire universal benefits from their taxes?

Before next Thursday I expect half a million Labour voters to be committed to Yes.

118. Tom Foyle

BugsBunny:

Paisley will get two from me, all right…two bloody fingers!

119. Fairliered

One of the best Batemans yet. Heartfelt and accurate.

120. Sinky

And finally from Derek Bateman

So, there it is. I wear my heart on my sleeve. I believe Yes is going to win. I’m not even sure it will only be a close shave because an avalanche carries all before it.

Let’s say out loud we’re going to win. Let’s tell the bosses and the bankers and the Westminster politicians. Let’s tell the Scots – even those voting No (and some I may have offended!) – WE ARE GOING TO WIN.

121. Tom Foyle

IcySpark:

Hopefully they’ll BE SBC 6 o’clock news!

122. IcySpark

@Tom

Only if they sit a bit further apart

123. Natasha

Branson has too many teeth anyway. Can’t trust a man with more teeth than a crocodile.

124. west_lothian_questioner

Richard Branson built his business from a mail order advert in Melody Maker into the huge thing that Virgin has become.It is quite hard not to admire that. His politics I’m not bothered about or bothered by. He isn’t putting a cross on a ballot paper, his shops won’t shut, his planes won’t stop flying and he’s as entitled to be publicly wrong about anything he likes… same as the rest of us. Knobber…

125. Robert Peffers

Lesley-Anne says: 12 September, 2014 at 9:21 pm:

“Well that explains why half of their fires have been put out then!”

Not to mention that she has slowed down the clappers of the bells of hell to a crawl and made the Earl o Hell’s waistcoat a whiter shade of pale.

126. chipmonkey

http://www.nhsforsale.info/private-providers/private-provider-profiles-2/virgin.html

Virgin is huge and contentious in the private healthcare business. Have a read – hundreds of GP practices. Have a look.

127. M4rkyboy

Gird your loins for further worry.
    5 more days of attack left for the establishment.
    Keep the heid and we can do it.

128. Lesley-Anne

I hear the devil is not best pleased these days Robert. He is more than a little pissed that she *ahem* decided to move in with him! 😛

129. Grouse Beater

Heedtracker: What next, Jesus H Christ appears on the Mount tomorrow in front of the OO boys and works his bettertogether magic

I was pondering that very person the other day. (No one picked up the cue.) I wondered if He would vote Yes. I came to the conclusion he would.

Mind you, he’d need help overturning the money lenders tables, while his disciple, Gordon, takes the silver and betrays Him.

130. Lesley-Anne

Well there you go folks dear, dear Boris has been selected as Tory prospective candidate for somewhere dan suff. 😛

131. Harry McAye

Maggie Vaughan (aka Mrs Alistair Darling) said in a twitter reply to me earlier that the only sourcres in the WBB are from Wikipedia!

132. Lesley-Anne

Well let’s face it Harry she is very intelligent and knows everything that needs to be known about the referendum so she must be right. 😛

133. heedtracker

So if we lose, in the blink of an eye we’ll going to GP surgeries and hospitals with the Virgin logo over the door and Virgin check desks making sure we have to ability to pay for our treatment.

Well at the very least Branson is doing exact same as every super rich vote NO stupid saps business dude out there, blowing smoke up Scotland’s arse.

You have to wonder what exactly drives bettertogether billionaires to be such a bunch of sneaky bastards but that’s probably what its all about. Ian Taylor and Ian Wood are very creepy characters but there are lots more.

134. Lesley-Anne

Well waht do you know, the Tories are telling the TRUTH after all. There IS no privatisation of the health services Dan Suff. 😛

https://twitter.com/matt_1956/status/510531328190971904/photo/1

135. Tamson

Guardian officially come out for No. The logic in their editorial is getting an absolute kicking BtL, even from English No sympathisers.

136. Cag-does-thinking

Bear in mind that the Prime minister is currently working his way through the “Businesses that owe us something” book and has now got past the Banks and the Supermarket section and is now in the transport area. So Sir (there’s a clue in that isn’t there ) Virgin has in common with Deutche (ohh German) bank that it has heavily subsidised rail franchises (DB owns Arriva)unfortunately it does kinda look like he is going through an A – Z as each “spontaneous” business leader comes out to do their bit for the empire on cue. It doesn’t look orchestrated at all. No sirree….

137. thedogphilosopher

@ Alan of Neilston 9.00

If the Rangers fans ‘hate independence’, does that mean they love dependence? Big Sugar Daddies like Sir David Murray? How did that work out then?

138. hetty

No news of Farage? He wants Betty to back a no vote as per bbc tabloid news.
    No mention if OO taking over most of central Edinburgh tomorrow either for a few hours, what the heck.
    Great to hear hell was privatised by Thatcher, is heaven privatised too? :-))

139. liz

I remember when Richard Branson took over ntl which I was signed up to as we couldn’t get sky in our area and I used to get letters from virgin’ To Liz, signed from Richard, the gaffer.

It was like some old uncle getting down with the kids.

140. Lesley-Anne

Well what do you know the *ahem* newspapers are up to their usual gutter standard of reporting. Most seem to have some form of anti independence slant, well there’s a surprise … NOT!

141. bookie from hell

RAGING

Kirsty wark—newsnight opens up with a smear on SNP

142. Natasha

I don’t think it’s extreme to assume that Margaret Thatcher is in hell; anyone who could do the kinds of things that she did chooses to put themselves there. I could see what she was like even when I was 11,and I cried myself to sleep every general election night for the next 18 years.

And Graeme, I keep telling you; best not to remove all possible doubt by opening your mouth.

Thanks for the good-natured response, Caroline; I was only teasing! 🙂

143. Lesley-Anne

Well there’s a surprise Bookie. I’m betting she hasn’t done that since last night! 😛

144. Joe

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/e01fafd0-3a64-11e4-bd08-00144feabdc0.html#axzz3D1R383uw

interesting link for my home town , the wee county and how it should be first to declare a result on Friday ,hopefully a resounding yes, as a precursor to rest of night , could be a portent of national results .

145. Robert Peffers

@Rock says: 12 September, 2014 at 9:36 pm:

“Regarding Nick Robinson of the BBC, can we all send evidence of his utter lie to OXFORD UNIVERSITY.”

Don’t know about that but if you want a laugh then look at this YouTube link : –

youtube.com/watch?v=sD4dw2eB9Ck

146. A.N.Surgent

I would love to be interviewed by the media as a confirmed no

In my head it would go something like this

Name Angus Og my family came from the Shetlands just outside Stonehaven

Reasons: I want the NHS privatised and theres no chance off that
    with a yes vote. I want to keep trident so I could be proud of my nation killing millions of those pesky Russians. No chance of that with a yes vote. I want food banks on every street corner
    maybe even privatised(money to be made there). Theres no chance
    of that with a yes vote.

By that time I think the interview would be over.

147. Castle Rock

If Scotland votes No we’ll have Boris Johnson as the next Prime Minister (he’s just been selected as the PPC for Uxbridge and South Ruislip) and no doubt propped up by Nigel Farage and his bigoted pals.

If you think the Unionists are putting the boot in now just wait until those two get their hands on the reigns of power.

148. Joe

having read the bbc reply to critics of Nasty nick , I think the important phrase is editorial guidelines, what are they , is the truth not what they should be telling not editorial guidelines , who is the writer of said guidelines, downing street maybe.

149. bookie from hell

AWESOME surgent

150. tartanfever

Branson the tax dodger:

‘Sir Richard Branson ‘to relocate part of Virgin empire to Switzerland’ in blow for British economy’

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2019193/Sir-Richard-Branson-Virgin-Switzerland-blow-British-economy.html

‘Richard Branson – claims to be a UK patriot but moved abroad 7 years ago to avoid UK tax. Morality?’

http://www.airportwatch.org.uk/?p=17901

‘Richard Branson reveals he moved main residence to private Caribbean island seven years ago to avoid paying UK taxes’

http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2013/10/13/richard-branson-reveals-moving-main-residence-to-private-caribbean-island-seven-years-ago-to-avoid-paying-uk-taxes/

151. thedogphilosopher

@west_lothian_questioner

Yeah, Branson began with mail order business, helped along by his parents giving him £12,000 or so to get it up and running, if I remember rightly. Peace & Love & Silver Spoons mannnn!

152. Clootie

I suppose not too off topic – self over others

Two paintings one titled Heaven and the other Hell
    I’m sorry but I can’t remember where the two paintings are but it is in Italy

The two painting have an identical layout. A large group of people facing each other across a table laden with food.
    Each person is holding a very,very long spoon.

In the painting titled Hell the people are thin and miserable. They are trying to feed themselves but the spoon is to long and they cannot get the food from the table to their mouths.

In the painting marked Heaven the group are well fed and cheerful. Each person is using the spoon to feed the person opposite.

Two paintings which say so much.

153. Auld Rock

Maybe Willie Walsh and BA who hold the trading name ‘Caledonian Airways’ will make a present of this on the 19th to its rightful home???

Auld Rock

154. Natasha

Kirsty Wark used to go on joint family holidays with Jack McConnell. Remember when the BBC had to apologise for the way in which she spoke to the First Minister? Seems like another planet now. I cancelled my TV licence today.

By the way, down here in Jedburgh (population 5000, about 10 miles from the Border) we’ve had a Yes stall out in the town every day for the past two weeks and it will be there until the 18th. Today we were amused to see one sad lonely No supporter sitting on a wee stool clutching a guitar and a home-made sign pleading with people not to vote for policies which hadn’t been thought through (I ‘m fairly sure the irony was lost on her). Kind of sums it up really.

155. Mark J

Thank you greannach, what a laugh I just had signing on the no website heartstrings.letsstaytogether.org.UK any made up name will do!

156. Ayetalks

We obviously missed the epilogue to that quote…

THAT’S EXCEPT FOR VIEWERS IN SCOTLAND!

157. WeeMike

Natasha says:
    12 September, 2014 at 10:34 pm
    I don’t think it’s extreme to assume that Margaret Thatcher is in hell; anyone who could do the kinds of things that she did chooses to put themselves there. I could see what she was like even when I was 11,and I cried myself to sleep every general election night for the next 18 years.

Well aren’t we a loving christian? I’m sorry, but wishing a politician burns in hell because she did some divisive things is ludicrous. Is this the sort of tone the Yes Campaign is advocating? Is this the language people are using when trying to bring others over to our side? It makes you sound totally unhinged and would make most sane people run a mile a minute from whatever political cause you represent. Honestly.

158. Kev

Absolutely gutted never knew Max Keiser was up in Glasgow yesterday and today, here’s a vid of him talking about indy at Yesbar:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O51kXjXzvq8

159. Black Douglas

@Joe says

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/e01fafd0-3a64-11e4-bd08-00144feabdc0.html#axzz3D1R383uw

Very interesting and very welcome news, we in Kinross-shire despaired when they changed the boundaries for General elections to include Ochil as this returned a Labour candidate rather than SNP, but all is forgiven if the
    article proves to be true. 😀

160. A.N.Surgent

Bookie from hell

161. James123

Bonnie Greer really going for it on Sky News papers against two fucking pro-Union idiots including the presenter. She’s asking why we don’t see both sides of the argument in the papers. The other journalist and the presenter ganging up on her saying “what do you mean?”!!!!

The presenter actually asked when she was pointing at the riduculous Daily Mail headline “are you saying the papers are skewed?”. Really, please, please, please, I hope someone recorded this.

162. mogabee

Well, Here is one Branson who is absolutely for YES…

And at least I have a vote!

Morag Branson xxxxx

163. Fairliered

Kirsty Wark and her BBC cronies are acting like the checkout operators in a shop that is closing next Thursday. They don’t care about their customers as they will soon be out of a job.

164. A.N.Surgent

Kev

Saved that for later watch his RT show regulary

165. msean

Seems as if they have had the same staff for ever and ever some stations/programmes.

166. cearc

Hm Gov,

‘Hey, Dickie boy, how does Lord Branson of Tax Haven sound?’

Very nice, you write the speech, I’ll sign/deliver it.

167. Robert Peffers

@Tom Foyle says: 12 September, 2014 at 9:41 pm:

“As far as spending Scottish money in England goes, though…no change there, the bastards don’t even think it’s legal tender.”

You’ve got to be kidding, Tom. After independence the pound Scottish, (which is what we will have if they refuse a Currency Union), will harden against the Pound English. This as the English economy will suffer due to the increased rate of borrowing after they lose 90 odd percent of oil & gas revenues and lose the total values of all Scottish exports from the Sterling economy.

Plus, of course, that the Pound Scots will be oil & gas backed and Scotland has a better balance of payments and a higher per capita GDP. So with the Pound Scots to Pound English exchange rates drifting apart they will grab the chance of getting hold of a better currency.

168. heedtracker

@ Grouse Beater, we are all God’s children. Anyway Jesus is probably a Guardian reader or was until the Tory lite shills of the Graun turned out to be no different from the rest of teamGB’s thug press pack.

See its still all about evil AlicSamin and they still want to pool and share Scotland’s resources, for the good of all High Speed 2 Rail travelers London to Leeds eventually, paid for by Scotland because they do need somewhere safe to hide Trident 2

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/12/guardian-view-scottish-independence

169. Joe

Black Douglas says:

12 September, 2014 at 10:50 pm

@Joe says

Very interesting and very welcome news, we in Kinross-shire despaired when they changed the boundaries for General elections to include Ochil as this returned a Labour candidate rather than SNP, but all is forgiven if the
    article proves to be true. 😀

I remember voting George Reid in then , happy days , was brilliant mp for us, couldn’t recognise the current labour guy if he was at the door, total nonentity

170. msean

In that case,she may not be back on lol.

171. Indy_Scot

I’ve noticed that we have not had many derogatory whinging Jocks comments recently from the likes of Hislop and Winstone. It’s funny how when you have power, people respect you, but I am sure if we give it away, that respect won’t last long.

172. Lesley-Anne

I have to admit it James, I have lost the heid at Bonnie in the past but fair dues to her standing her ground against that pair. That James whatshisface was a real twat! He seems to think that it’s a case of “ach it’s only those upity Scots who cares what is in the papers they cannae read anyway!”

173. SquareHaggis

Nearly blinked and missed this one, sorry if posted previously.

http://www.strategic-culture.org/news/2014/09/10/london-devious-plans-for-scotland-independence-referendum.html

Don’t know if it’s true or credible, certainly seems plausible.

174. chipmonkey

Yes Lesley-Anne – Circle and Virgin are just 2 of the 11 companies detailed on the nhsfor sale.info I linked to.

The Boots/Alliance one is interesting to me for other reasons. The American pharmacy group Walgreens own 45% of Boots/Alliance and are to take up their option to buy the remaining 55% in 2015. In the USA they are moving toward providing services traditionally provided by doctors, hospitals and community health clinics. Boots are introducing these here.

Private online consultations have already started, albeit in a limited number of areas for now, but this is ALREADY competing with GP services IN SCOTLAND. Patient’s go online for a consultation and get prescription only medicines. They are not known to the doctor who has no access to their record, but the very bare details of the consultation are sent to their NHS GP to record (unpaid) so the record is complete (even if they disagree with the prescription.)

For reasons noted in the WBB, with internet access isn’t easy to split identity at the border – but wait- they have to have the patient’s address… Small fry so far, but where will it stop

175. Natasha

WeeMike “It makes you sound totally unhinged”.

I didn’t actually say I wished she was burning in hell, I said I thought it was safe to assume she was there because of the choices she made, which if you understood anything about Christian theology you would realise is what we believe as the only way anyone ends up in hell. I am as it happens a practising Catholic and I believe that Christ died for Margaret Thatcher as much as for anyone; but as a Christian I also believe that the one thing God does not do is force us to make the right choices. We have the right and the responsibility to choose between good and evil and she chose evil. And if you think that the comment “some divisive things” even comes close to describing the sheer despair that she caused, then you didn’t experience 18 years of Tory rule from the point of view of the poor and dispossessed, who are the people Christ always stood up for. And by the way, although I am proud to acknowledge my Christianity, I would never criticise someone else’s point of view by accusing them of being unChristian, because that would imply that I assume that everyone else should agree with my religious beliefs, and that is unacceptable. We live in a pluralistic tolerant society; I would NEVER seek to convert another person to my religion or condemn them for not believing in God.

176. Johnny

@James123 @ 10:51pm

I think these reviews are repeated at half 11 and half 12 if anyone can record them.

177. Black Douglas

@Joe says

“I remember voting George Reid in then , happy days , was brilliant mp for us, couldn’t recognise the current labour guy if he was at the door, total nonentity”

Famous name Gordon Banks

Infamous face http://www.gordonbanks.info/

like some sort of real life penfold

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_new0RiFnok

178. James123

@Lesley-Anne

I am still shocked that a presenter on Sky News could be so ignorant that he thinks the newspapers have no agenda. He was absolutely flabbergasted when Greer suggested their was no balance “these are the facts” he pronounced. The bias gets more shocking by the day.

BTW anytime I’ve heard Greer speak about independence she’s always been incredibly supportive.

179. bookie from hell

ken loach going off message,loving it

tells Scotland to go for it

180. James123

@Johnny

I don’t think they are repeated, they just do it all over again.

181. Ian Brotherhood

Hmmm…Radio Scotland News at 11.00 – lead story is all about the Chancellor and the Governor of the BOE cancelling attendance at the G-What-Evs because of the Indyref…

No contingencies after all then, eh?

So much nawbaggery…so little time…

Oh well, tick-tock. It’s quite amusing, eh? Here we are, preparing for the final grassroots push while these sad, desperate characters devise new lies and make a big drama out of having to alter their globetrotting schedule.

Wee lambs…to the proverbial.

182. Indy_Scot

For fifteen hours on the 18th of September, we will be the equals of other countries in the world. Who would give that away.

183. Grouse Beater

I have never ever felt ‘British,’ because I have never known what it means.

Nor have I travelled the world introducing myself as British. What comes naturally is ‘Scottish,’ in the same way as any Englishman should say, ‘English,’ not British.

The oft heard notion, I am a proud Scot and a proud Brit, is meaningless. One cancels out the other. I have a country. I do not need a second country. That my country is ensnared in a trade treaty with England does not cause me to reflect on my ‘Britishness.’

SKY News had an airhead and an Internet tablet showing superstores that allegedly say food prices ‘could’ rise on an independent Scotland – the logos included Tesco, whose boss has publically denied ever having made such a claim.

Film director, Ken Loach, hopes “Scotland says Yes, and builds a society better than that England now endures.

184. Lesley-Anne

James they do the papers at 11:30, by then any papers that were not in at 10:30 are also covered.

To be honest I don’t remember *ahem* losing it when she was talking about indy it was some other now forgotten topic. 😉

185. TIM, I AM TIM

“Natasha says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:03 pm
    WeeMike “It makes you sound totally unhinged”.

I didn’t actually say I wished she was burning in hell, I said I thought it was safe to assume she was there because of the choices she made, which if you understood anything about Christian theology you would realise is what we believe as the only way anyone ends up in hell. I am as it happens a practising Catholic and I believe that Christ died for Margaret Thatcher as much as for anyone; but as a Christian I also believe that the one thing God does not do is force us to make the right choices. We have the right and the responsibility to choose between good and evil and she chose evil. And if you think that the comment “some divisive things” even comes close to describing the sheer despair that she caused, then you didn’t experience 18 years of Tory rule from the point of view of the poor and dispossessed, who are the people Christ always stood up for. And by the way, although I am proud to acknowledge my Christianity, I would never criticise someone else’s point of view by accusing them of being unChristian, because that would imply that I assume that everyone else should agree with my religious beliefs, and that is unacceptable. We live in a pluralistic tolerant society; I would NEVER seek to convert another person to my religion or condemn them for not believing in God.”

So basically, you think Margaret Thatcher is burning in hell, in perfect agony for all eternity, because she broke up the trade unions, privatised some stuff and was just generally a little right wing. Gotcha. Not unhinged at all.

186. A.N.Surgent

Square Haggis

Definitely plausible.

187. Graeme

@heraldnomore.
    “He is of course looking at it from England’s perspective, realising the importance of our remaining for the good of England.”

Absolutely. England can’t survive without Scotland. They’re subsidy scrounges off the Scottish teat. I’ve seen Benefits Street, they’re all single mum alcoholics without jobs.

The massive financial services industry is too volatile. Yes it was big in the 80’s but it’s shrinking all the time. It will never recover and the UK govt’s economic growth figures are massively over exaggerated. Growth is actually much smaller than that, despite all the figures to the contrary. They’ll inevitably have to cut welfare. And the NHS. And pensions. And Trident.

Soon they’ll vote to leave the EU and then how will they cope. The others won’t let them back in, certainly not without joining the Euro. And Scotland, of course, will have to put up a border because England won’t be part of the Schengen area. They’ll be foreign which is a pity because I f*****g hate foreigners.

Then they’ll bleed to death because Scotland won’t share its blood transfusion service. And I’m damned if they’re going watch the SBC while they lie there, bleeding all over the place.

Scotland, on the other hand, is a great nation and will be immune from the turmoil next door. Her politicians are more noble and less corruptible. They have no desire to enrich themselves and never will. Oil is not volatile like financial services.

I’m getting a bit confused now, is that all bollocks?

188. Tackety Beets

FYI , If its a NO , I too will be moving my “Brass Plate” doun souff …..right down DC f****g throat . So a will.

189. Dal Riata

Ken Loach bigging up a better Scotland, independent and with a fairer society on Newsnight, probably much to Kirsty Wark’s chagrin as she said that 10% of Scots support UKIP… Really, Kirsty? Ten percent of Scots support UKIP… Really? It seems you can say anything you want on the BBC these days without fear of retribution…

190. James Westland

Joe

Interesting FT article

I was brought up in Alloa I remember George Reid as well – I went to one of the pre-election rallies at Alloa Town Hall in 1974 Atmosphere was absolutely electric. GR spoke brilliantly – one of the best MPs the area ever had.

SNP was riding a wave then. Heady days.

Time to finish the job.

One thing I remember well from that year – the place was absolutely festooned with SNP posters, billboards, badges, the lot.

191. tartanfever

Have people seen this ? Excellent article today on Business for Scotland on the ‘new,new powers offered by Brown’:

‘Gordon Brown’s Devo Timetable unconstitutional according to House Of Lords.’

http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/uk-to-get-veto-on-gordon-browns-devo-proposals/

Key point:

‘…the House of Lords’ report states categorically that any further powers for Scotland should be subject to a UK -wide constitutional process, including the possibility of a UK-wide referendum. This means that the massive pool of MPs representing London and the South East, who benefit most from the union, effectively get a veto on whether or not to reform it.’

192. WeeMike

“Graeme says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:14 pm
    @heraldnomore.
    “He is of course looking at it from England’s perspective, realising the importance of our remaining for the good of England.”

Absolutely. England can’t survive without Scotland. They’re subsidy scrounges off the Scottish teat. I’ve seen Benefits Street, they’re all single mum alcoholics without jobs.

The massive financial services industry is too volatile. Yes it was big in the 80’s but it’s shrinking all the time. It will never recover and the UK govt’s economic growth figures are massively over exaggerated. Growth is actually much smaller than that, despite all the figures to the contrary. They’ll inevitably have to cut welfare. And the NHS. And pensions. And Trident.

Soon they’ll vote to leave the EU and then how will they cope. The others won’t let them back in, certainly not without joining the Euro. And Scotland, of course, will have to put up a border because England won’t be part of the Schengen area. They’ll be foreign which is a pity because I f*****g hate foreigners.

Then they’ll bleed to death because Scotland won’t share its blood transfusion service. And I’m damned if they’re going watch the SBC while they lie there, bleeding all over the place.

Scotland, on the other hand, is a great nation and will be immune from the turmoil next door. Her politicians are more noble and less corruptible. They have no desire to enrich themselves and never will. Oil is not volatile like financial services.

I’m getting a bit confused now, is that all bollocks?”

No, it’s not bollocks Graeme. I can see how you might think it is as it’s a little radical and thinking about it makes me a little dizzy (I have been huffing glue most of the evening) but it’s as if it came from the quill of Nostradamus himself!

193. Castle Rock

@Graeme

Good stuff, might have to borrow that and use it in a Daily Hate comment.

194. Findlay Farquaharson

That post by graeme really brings home the insults to our intelligence by the vile individuals who parade as proud scots.

195. Ken500

Branson has a bank in Edinburgh. A space place in Moray. He is a tax exile and lives an independent life on Necker. A small independent island. Independent life is all right for some. ‘Dinae do what I do, do what I say’.

196. Grouse Beater

Has anybody noticed? – there are few deliberately set portraits of Branson looking to his left. (He arranges them all to show him looking left. I am not referring to verity pics of him on the move or sitting.)

197. bookie from hell

a post from a lawyer

Ian Smart ?@ianssmart · 2h
    Just seen a Yes Scotland leaflet saying the UK Government would guarantee the old age pension after Indy. Utterly disgraceful lying scum.

198. WeeMike

Natasha says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:03 pm

OK then Natasha. Please explain to me why Margaret Thatcher deserves to burn in agony for all eternity. Please provide sources for each bullet point.

199. WeeMike

“Findlay Farquaharson says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:27 pm
    That post by graeme really brings home the insults to our intelligence by the vile individuals who parade as proud scots.”

What are you on about? I think he perfectly sums up the situation we find ourselves in.

200. Grouse Beater

there are few deliberately set portraits of Branson looking to his left. Typo slip – to his right.

201. Lesley-Anne

Don’t you love it Bookie. Who would have thunk it that that loathesome individual would call the SNP utterly disgraceful lying scum. I’m thinking that he was unconscious when the Treasury minister admitted exactly the same FACT to the Treasury Select Committee. 😛

202. Training Day

How many direct debits will need to be cancelled? First the BBC, then Virgin. So be it.

We’re at war with this shower of utter bastards and they seem to have received compensation promises from Westminster for alienating half their Scottish customer base.

203. Snode1965

Britishness? School history lesson; another empire 2000 years ago named our islands. England they named Britannica and Scotland they named Caledonia. They even built a wall to mark the border! That lasted till they got bored n fecked off around 4th century, and the Germans invaded and their new county Angleland. They then pushed the local Britons into Wales, Cornwall and Britany in France. Oh! And Welsh is the name Anglo Saxons called Britons. Ps. Are the current royal family not from Saxony in Germany?

204. Lesley-Anne

O.K. folks here is a link to a table that gives possible referendum results expected timings. 😉

https://twitter.com/Greetinfaced1/status/510557183046860800/photo/1

205. WeeMike

“Training Day says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:35 pm
    How many direct debits will need to be cancelled? First the BBC, then Virgin. So be it.

We’re at war with this shower of utter bastards and they seem to have received compensation promises from Westminster for alienating half their Scottish customer base.”

My wife recently said that she’s leaning toward no. Divorce may be on the cards!

206. James123

Tweet from Bonnie Greer

Gov’t/Establishment has made UK look bonkers to rest of world. Just because THEY wanted to infantilize Scotland.

207. Snode1965

Pps; therefore the only true British left on these islands are the Welsh 🙂

208. Harry McAye

Bookie, take it he has never heard of Steve Webb? http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-27309215

209. thegooseking

Snode1965

You forgot the Cornish.

210. themadmurph

Virgin on the ridiculous! G’night! 🙂

211. Graeme

Snode1965 says:

“Britishness? School history lesson; another empire 2000 years ago named our islands. England they named Britannica and Scotland they named Caledonia. They even built a wall to mark the border! That lasted till they got bored n fecked off around 4th century, and the Germans invaded and their new county Angleland. They then pushed the local Britons into Wales, Cornwall and Britany in France. Oh! And Welsh is the name Anglo Saxons called Britons. Ps. Are the current royal family not from Saxony in Germany?”

Another excellent reason to vote yes! I hate ancestral Germans. But I cannot stress enough that yes is fully inclusive… Except for Germans. Germans living in castles that is. And English people who own castles in Scotland. Unless they sell them to feed the poor. Then leave. Back to Germany. Or England.

212. Ken500

120K voted for UKIP. Coburn? Fradge The crook who disnae publish UIKP accounts.

A M & S Manager says, ‘M & S is totally neutral and would not be putting out any statements, even to counter act the journalist lies. Either way they support the decision. He did not realise the reports in the MSM and is reporting back to HQ. The Press are making it up, again.

Remember when Cameron said he would support the decision and stay out of it. Changed times. Lying and chapping.

213. andy howie

Sky news paper review ripping bitter together and worstminster for being inept

Headline in tomorrows record has to be seen to be believed

214. Derek Duggie Loy

Just seen tomorrows Daily Record if the idiots running our banks have yet to cause the next “Great Depression” then how can one wee insignificant country on the edge of the North Sea cause it????

215. Joe

Lesley-Anne says:

12 September, 2014 at 11:36 pm

O.K. folks here is a link to a table that gives possible referendum results expected timings. 😉

https://twitter.com/Greetinfaced1/status/510557183046860800/photo
    nice to see my home county gets a 10 , is that a good thing , does it mean we’re a guaranteed 100% yesser area, explains why no BT around here 🙂

216. bookie from hell

papers tomorrow

started laughing

so OTT

217. Graeme

“How many direct debits will need to be cancelled? First the BBC, then Virgin. So be it.

We’re at war with this shower of utter bastards and they seem to have received compensation promises from Westminster for alienating half their Scottish customer base.”

My wife recently said that she’s leaning toward no. Divorce may be on the cards!”

@WeeMike your wife is clearly a stupid bitch who lives in the Palace of Westminster. Perhaps I could save your marriage: have you considered sending her a Wee Blue Book in the post? Women love that

218. Joe

Please use his correct title: SIR Richard Branson…. 😉

219. Dal Riata

Saw tonight a clip of some dude in a red suit singing his heart out at the Ed Miliband/Gordon Brown Vote No Show. Who was that, what did he sing and, just… why? Anyone know?

220. Snode1965

Oops! Apologies to our Cornish cousins! 🙂

221. Midgehunter

“Great to hear hell was privatised by Thatcher, is heaven privatised too? :-))”

Heaven!! Of course not, they won’t let her near the place – that’s why she got Satan’s place.

222. Training Day

I have paid this bastard Branson an average of 100 quid a month for 12 years and he now wants to discriminate against Scottish customers who want democracy. How fucking dare he?

I have just cancelled all my services with Virgin and told them that if they want to retrieve their equipment they’ll find it in my bin.

223. WeeMike

“Graeme says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:43 pm
    Snode1965 says:

“Britishness? School history lesson; another empire 2000 years ago named our islands. England they named Britannica and Scotland they named Caledonia. They even built a wall to mark the border! That lasted till they got bored n fecked off around 4th century, and the Germans invaded and their new county Angleland. They then pushed the local Britons into Wales, Cornwall and Britany in France. Oh! And Welsh is the name Anglo Saxons called Britons. Ps. Are the current royal family not from Saxony in Germany?”

Another excellent reason to vote yes! I hate ancestral Germans. But I cannot stress enough that yes is fully inclusive… Except for Germans. Germans living in castles that is. And English people who own castles in Scotland. Unless they sell them to feed the poor. Then leave. Back to Germany. Or England.”

Again, I could not agree more. I don’t know about you, but I make all my important decisions in this 21st Century, always online world, by digging up old grudges. That’s why I always run people driving Volkswagen cars off the road!

224. James123

Remember when some people were claiming that the Daily Record might come out for independence, by fuck they were wrong.

225. Thepnr

@WeeMike

Are you sure you are posting on the right site? I only ask because is there anyone here you don’t want to fall out with?

This is no place to be discussing theology, the majority here are focused on the referendum.

Advice, give it a rest.

226. WrinkleyReborn

Is it only me or does it feel that project fear is missing target Scotland and is impacting on Westminster. do you think that there is a scandal coming.

227. Castle Rock

The tide has turned.

The financial markets are absolutely bloody furious with the UK Government for the uncertainty they have caused in handling the use of the pound and they are taking a kicking from Governments around the world.

Salmond offered Westminster the opportunity of a fair and reasonable currency deal at the beginning of the campaign but the Unionists bluffed, bullied and lied not only to Scotland but to the rest of the World and they have now been found out.

Osborne and Carney are not going to the G20 meeting because Westminster knows they have lost the vote and they need to come up with a response to calm the markets nerves.

There will be a currency deal and Salmond called it right.

228. WeeMike

Thepnr says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:56 pm
    @WeeMike

Are you sure you are posting on the right site? I only ask because is there anyone here you don’t want to fall out with?

This is no place to be discussing theology, the majority here are focused on the referendum.

Advice, give it a rest.”

That is good advice Thepnr. We shall have all the time in the world to discuss theology in the beautiful, independent state we shall soon construct!

Graeme says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:49 pm
    @WeeMike your wife is clearly a stupid bitch who lives in the Palace of Westminster. Perhaps I could save your marriage: have you considered sending her a Wee Blue Book in the post? Women love that”
    I fear she may be beyond help. I caught her watching the Great British Bakeoff the other day. I didn’t know what to say.
    “Ooh. That’s a good cake!” she said.
    It took all my willpower not to slap her 🙁

229. Natasha

Wee Mike “thinking about it makes me a little dizzy”.

I’m not surprised – thinking obviously isn’t your strong point, but I wish you and Graeme a long and happy life together under your joint bridge.

I really must take Lesley Anne’s advice and stop feeding the trolls.

230. Snode1965

Hmm…. Cornish, Welsh, Irish, Scottish. An Independant Celtic Confederation, perhaps not such a crazy dream. Front page of the daily mail tomorrow! Ha Ha

231. Footsoldier

B&Q are going to increase their prices in an independent Scotland. Why wait, give them a body swerve now.

232. Lesley-Anne

WeeMike says:

My wife recently said that she’s leaning toward no. Divorce may be on the cards!

I hear the sirens of the Wee Blue Book arriving WM. 🙂

I think the higher the number Joe then the better the chance of a YES win. Unfortunately my county is a big fat ZERO! 😛

233. Black Douglas

tag team 👿 ing

don’t feed them 😀

234. Rock

Richard Branson is a worse imposter than Tony Blair.

He never was a ‘left wing’ radical. He got onto the bandwagon for his own personal gain.

235. WeeMike

“Castle Rock says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:58 pm
    The tide has turned.

The financial markets are absolutely bloody furious with the UK Government for the uncertainty they have caused in handling the use of the pound and they are taking a kicking from Governments around the world.

Salmond offered Westminster the opportunity of a fair and reasonable currency deal at the beginning of the campaign but the Unionists bluffed, bullied and lied not only to Scotland but to the rest of the World and they have now been found out.

Osborne and Carney are not going to the G20 meeting because Westminster knows they have lost the vote and they need to come up with a response to calm the markets nerves.

There will be a currency deal and Salmond called it right.”

Wow, this sounds honestly too good to be true! What are you basing this comment on? Please tell, I’m engaged in a similar debate on Facebook and this would shut them up if you have a link!

236. Nana Smith

O/T but its late so have a laugh at David Cameron in his bunker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsRzO18nM8A

237. James Caithness

Lesley-Anne says:
    12 September, 2014 at 11:36 pm
    O.K. folks here is a link to a table that gives possible referendum results expected timings.

https://twitter.com/Greetinfaced1/status/510557183046860800/photo/1

============================

I need the third column ”Yes thingy” explained to me please? Is the numbers out of 10?

Lastly on this link does it look good for yes?

238. Graeme

Oh God, @WeeMike is making me angry! He’s not taking this seriously, he’s a troll, everybody, a TROLL!
    What if an undecided reads it!? Ban him, BAN HIM OR OUR CAUSE IS LOST!

239. caz-m

I would say that the majority of Scots feel the same way as your average Wings punter does.

The more bullshit that comes out of Westminster aimed at us, the more determined it makes us want to win this Referendum.

We are in the middle of a crazy rollercoaster ride, hang on tight and we will come out the other side stronger AND victorious.

240. Castle Rock

@WeeMike

Aw bless.

241. Natasha

Thepnr, are you having a go at me too or just at Wee Mike? I’m not being sarky, it’s a genuine question. I agree this isn’t the right place to be discussing theology and we should be focusing on the referendum, but he touched a nerve (in case you hadn’t noticed!) I’ll try and stay on topic from now on!

242. Ken500

Did Fradge come up on a Virgin train to say, ‘Scotland would be small and irrelevant?’ He should have just called and saved the the train fare.

243. Joe

so if clacks gets in early with a big turnout and massive yes , big smiles maybe not all round but certainly on yes faces .:)

244. WeeMike

Why are you calling me a troll? I don’t understand! In less than a week, aircraft from here will join others from around the world. And you will be launching the largest aerial battle in the history of Scotland. “Mankind.” That word should have new meaning for all of us today. We can’t be consumed by our petty differences anymore. We will be united in our common interests. Perhaps it’s fate that today is the 13th of Steptember, and you will once again be fighting for our freedom… Not from tyranny, oppression, or persecution… but from annihilation. We are fighting for our right to live. To exist. And should we win the day, the 13th of September will no longer be known as an Scottish holiday, but as the day the world declared in one voice: “We will not go quietly into the night!” We will not vanish without a fight! We’re going to live on! We’re going to survive! Today we celebrate our Independence Day!

245. Fireproofjim

This site is about the struggle for independence, and not about Margaret Thatcher’s demise and the ludicrous correspondence about whether or not she is in Hell.
    I tend not to swear in these posts but for *******sake get real. There are only six days to the most important day in the History of Scotland, and some people are raving on like Medieval priests debating how many angels can dance on a pinhead

246. Graeme

Natasha says:

“Thepnr, are you having a go at me too or just at Wee Mike? I’m not being sarky, it’s a genuine question. I agree this isn’t the right place to be discussing theology and we should be focusing on the referendum, but he touched a nerve (in case you hadn’t noticed!) I’ll try and stay on topic from now on!”

Me too. There is no room for bullshit here.

247. Ken500

Go to off Topic, Quarantine?

248. Thepnr

@Natasha

No.

249. Snode1965

Pretty sure I did not exclude anyone. Just the history of Britian. If want to moan at someone about try John Prescott.

250. Nana Smith

For all Yessers please read and enjoy!

http://gulftoday.ae/portal/f0452ab7-2a69-47fe-813b-7aa205b64b54.aspx

251. Thepnr

You see, the thing about trolls is that they never shut up.

Bye Bye 🙂

252. Derek M

Kev says:
    12 September, 2014 at 10:49 pm
    Absolutely gutted never knew Max Keiser was up in Glasgow yesterday and today, here’s a vid of him talking about indy at Yesbar,

Thanks for the link to Max`s show Kev ,he can be a bit of a headcase at times and i guess some people might not go for his over the top satire but when you cut through it and actually listen to what he is saying about financial terrorism and the massive frauds being done on a daily basis in the city of London it sends a chill down your spine and he knows what he is talking about,we must so get away from all this.

253. Robert Peffers

@WeeMike says: 12 September, 2014 at 11:30 pm:
    “OK then Natasha. Please explain to me why Margaret Thatcher deserves to burn in agony for all eternity. Please provide sources for each bullet point.

Wrong Forum, WeeMike. This is a political forum.
    Away and troll elsewhere.

254. WeeMike

Castle Rock says:
    13 September, 2014 at 12:07 am
    @WeeMike

Aw bless.”

Well… Thanks I guess? Could I have that link please? Would be really helpful if so. Really need to know what you’re basing that diatribe on

255. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Worth remembering that the Record are owned by Trinity Mirror and are facing their own ‘judgement day’ and trial soon enough.

http://www.pressgazette.co.uk/trinity-mirror-now-facing-least-16-compensation-claims-over-phone-hacking

256. bookie from hell

bought my bed mattress john lewis—last payment ever oct when we could be independent

( : > )

257. Thepnr

Only 5 days campaigning left. Establishment panic goes into overdrive, Wings catches a virus and is infested with trolls.

Hahahaha. YOUR TOO FUCKING LATE!

258. WeeMike

Robert Peffers says:
    13 September, 2014 at 12:20 am
    @WeeMike says: 12 September, 2014 at 11:30 pm:
    “OK then Natasha. Please explain to me why Margaret Thatcher deserves to burn in agony for all eternity. Please provide sources for each bullet point.

Wrong Forum, WeeMike. This is a political forum.
    Away and troll elsewhere.

I’m not being funny but saying someone you don’t agree with is burning in agony for all eternity in a post of a political forum deserves a challenge no? Or is that the level of debate we’ve descended to?

259. WeeMike

Thepnr says:
    13 September, 2014 at 12:24 am
    Only 5 days campaigning left. Establishment panic goes into overdrive, Wings catches a virus and is infested with trolls.

Hahahaha. YOUR TOO FUCKING LATE!

I don’t understand

260. WeeMike

And what about my TOO FUCKING LATE! ?

261. DaveDee

Tomorrows Daily Record Front Page.

A new’Great Depression’ if we vote Yes.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BxXJTE6IIAAQHul.jpg

262. fred blogger

weemike
    it is a turn of phrase to express rage.

263. WeeMike

fred blogger says:
    13 September, 2014 at 12:28 am
    weemike
    it is a turn of phrase to express rage

What is?

264. Lesley-Anne

James I believe the third column is an indicator of how the person who collated the table anticipates how people will vote on the day.

If you have been out canvassing then you’ll recognise the manner that the figures 1 – 10 are used. I believe the canvassing cards used by YES run like this:

0 – 3 person will vote NO

4,5 person is undecided

6 – 10 person will vote YES

No doubt anyone who has been canvassing will be able to correct me if I’m wrong here.

Using the same system for each of the 32 counties gives us the following results:

14 counties voting YES

10 counties NO

8 counties which are Undecided and we will have to wait till the night to get actual result.

If the counties vote as indicated then we currently have a lead but it will depend on the undecided counties to complete the case for YES.

I hope I’ve unravelled the table for you James without adding to your confusion. 😉

265. Thepnr

Talk too much 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

266. Natasha

My sense of humour has suddenly returned, not before time, and I’d like to apologise to everyone for taking the trolls seriously. I’m new to this posting business, but I will get the hang of it eventually. We are going to win, you know; if a town like Jedburgh is full of Yes posters, then that says something extraordinary.

267. Joe

http://gulftoday.ae/portal/f0452ab7-2a69-47fe-813b-7aa205b64b54.aspx

If you work for the record it probably will be fairly depressing, and asda , sales about to plummet after indy result and we vote with our feet

268. Graeme

fred blogger says:
    “weemike

What is?”

FFS shut this down! This is WAY too important to be disrupted! We’re trying to develop serious strategy here at half past midnight on a Friday night on the internet.

So fuck off @WeeMike! Go destroy some other country

269. kininvie

Think, guys:

Result of indyref Yes announced Friday morning.

Markets short sterling massively (inevitable)

Carney gets on phone to Osborne: “You have the w/e to make a deal, else interest rates have to go up.”

Phone call to Salmond….

‘Currency stability pact’ announced Monday

Market turmoil is to OUR advantage. The UK simply cannot afford to put a small interest rate rise in place – c.f John Major & ERM – so they’d have to whap a massive rise in. Much easier to strike a deal with Salmond.

Hold your nerve. It’s not your fault.

270. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

@DaveDee

One of the more talented Wings contributers should photoshop the Record front page to read..

No1 Labour Newspaper warns Yes vote will trigger Zombie Apocalypse!

😀

271. Nixon

There’s a poster of him someone’s printed out and taped to the wall in one of the charity bookshops in town – I see it whenever I go in there.

It’s full of vaguely motivational guff, but it does have “THINK YES – NOT NO” printed on it in huge bright blue letters, which is perhaps not exactly on-message. I found it on Google in three seconds.

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/481744491360862069/

272. Nixon

Aaaand I’ve just seen that clicking the picture in Stu’s actual post (as suggested in the alt-tag) takes you pretty much straight there anyway. Oh well.

273. Joe

Iain Gray’s Subway Lament says:

13 September, 2014 at 12:37 am

@DaveDee

One of the more talented Wings contributers should photoshop the Record front page to read..

No1 Labour Newspaper warns Yes vote will trigger Zombie Apocalypse!

😀

I was thinking that earlier today , they have used everything else including aliens so zombies are the logical next step.

274. Robert Peffers

@Training Day says: 12 September, 2014 at 11:35 pm:

“they seem to have received compensation promises from Westminster for alienating half their Scottish customer base.”

What is strange is ASDA being in that group for ASDA are a USA group – Wal-Mart. Considering the number of Asda stores in Scotland and the competing companies in the same trade. The truth is that it is the customers who drive the prices so what sane company is going to have a policy of increasing their prices above their rivals?

All it will take to have companies clamouring to come to Scotland is better trading conditions and better tax setups. Ask yourself why ASDA, for example, are in Scotland in the first place?

275. WeeMike

“Graeme says:
    13 September, 2014 at 12:36 am
    fred blogger says:
    “weemike

What is?”

FFS shut this down! This is WAY too important to be disrupted! We’re trying to develop serious strategy here at half past midnight on a Friday night on the internet.

So fuck off @WeeMike! Go destroy some other country”

Why is everyone turning against me? I only want to help Scotland stand on it’s own two feet, shake off the chains of oppression and follow Alex Salmond as he parts the red sea and leads us to the promised land.
    Fuck the Egyptian elite!

276. Natasha

Caledonia, love the banana, absolutely brilliant.

277. Marcia

Lesley-Anne

Some local areas have undecideds from 4 to 7 and 8 to 10 as Yes for input for further canvassing and ‘knock-up’.

278. CameronB Brodie

WeeMike and minion
    You’ll have had your Cheerios than?

279. Joe

questions will be asked by shareholders soon if sales start to plummet

280. gillie

“Great Depression” LOL

The Daily Record have made right tits of themselves.

281. ChrisB

Something worth knowing about the person behind the Deutsche Bank scare story:

David Folkerts-Landau has form for serving up porkies to the Bundestag – why should anyone believe a word he says?

Lying to a government committee is a pretty serious offence.

In 2012 he told a Bundestag committee that speculation in agricultural commodities was not putting up prices and therefore not contributing to the spread of hunger and malnutrition.

But a confidential internal document produced by Deutsche Bank Research – the department of which he was in charge – stated:

“Speculation has also contributed to price increases.”
    DB Research gave an express and unmistakeable warning of the
    consequences, “Such speculation can have grave consequences for farmers and consumers and is, in principle, unacceptable.”

Let’s be clear about what he was up to: he was using dishonest arguments to justify the use of financial products which bet on the prices of agricultural commodities – food in other words. In the developing world, people die of malnutrition because of this sort of thing.

And Cameron and his cronies have the nerve to frighten people with scare stories about food prices increasing in the event of independence?

http://www.foodwatch.org/en/what-we-do/topics/speculation-with-foodstuffs/news/deutsche-bank-and-allianz-warned-by-own-research-departments-of-grave-consequences/?sword_list%5B0%5D=folkertslandau

282. WeeMike

“Robert Peffers says:
    All it will take to have companies clamouring to come to Scotland is better trading conditions and better tax setups. Ask yourself why ASDA, for example, are in Scotland in the first place?”

Because Scotland is part of the UK and they have pre-existing arrangements that make it easy and profitable for them to trade there? You don’t see them in the Republic Of Ireland for example. Not that I’m saying that other supermarkets won’t take their place if they left, only that if they have a territory open to them they have a duty to their shareholders to exploit it.

283. IcySpark

Willie from the Simpsons Aye or Die

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6vDzf-wSbk&sns=tw

284. WeeMike

“CameronB Brodie says:
    13 September, 2014 at 12:42 am
    WeeMike and minion
    You’ll have had your Cheerios than?”

Er. Not yet. It’s 12:48AM atm.

285. Derek M

@ Joe wrong Joe they have used aliens already that was what wee eck was hinting at in the first debate with flipper lol
    but dont give them ideas about zombies 😉

286. Lesley-Anne

What I forgot to mention James is that it is not just about whether the individual counties vote YES or NO it will be down to the actual number of votes cast for YES and NO.

I posted this yesterday but it might help explain the actual vote numbers required James.

I did a wee *ahem* fun calculation the other day to see what the figure would be for us to achieve the 50% +1 number of votes to win as a bare minimum. I think it’s time to do a wee recalculation. What do you say folks.

Total number of eligible voters 4385323

80% of eligible voters 3508258

50% of the 80% eligible voters 1754129

50% +1 of the 80% eligible voters 1754130

Now as we all know the YES campaign have surpassed their aim of 1 million voters signed up to the YES independence pledge. I believe that a further 300,000 further signatures were also gained after the announcement of reaching the 1 Million.

Therefore we psychologically already have 1.3 million votes for YES which leaves us just 454130 more votes to gain from all over Scotland to get a YES win! 😛

By the way James the 80% figure is the figure that everyone seems to think is the actual number of voters who will actually vote. Obviously if the actual voter numbers is higher on the day then obviously you’d need to recalculate the new 50% + 1 figure. 😉

287. bookie from hell

orange march Edinburgh

route is hotspot for tourists

fun day out

288. Natasha

Quote from my daughter: What, trolls have opposable thumbs?

289. Derek M

oops sry joe i need to put my specs on i humbly apologize lol

290. Black Douglas

@Ian Brotherhood

http://wearedando.com/google-trends-predicting-yes-vote-scottish-referendum/

“But missing from the graph is Darling, who has been heavily criticised for his performance in Better Together’s negative and lacklustre campaign. According to Google: “Alistair Darling wasn’t searched for often enough to appear on the chart.”

Priceless. 😀

291. bookie from hell

The Grand Orange Lodge expect around 15,000 of their members to descend on Edinburgh for their “proud to be British” rally in support of a No vote in the independence referendum.

292. CameronB Brodie

Natasha
    You don’t need thumbs to type, opposable or not. 😉

293. Lesley-Anne

Marcia says:

Lesley-Anne

Some local areas have undecideds from 4 to 7 and 8 to 10 as Yes for input for further canvassing and ‘knock-up’.

Thanks for that Marcia. Just goes to show that no one wants to make this referendum thingy easy for all of us armchair *ahem* experts eh? 😛

294. TYRAN

Lots of interesting info Ian Brotherhood.

– According to Google: “Alistair Darling wasn’t searched for often enough to appear on the chart.”

He doesn’t even appear on TV here now either. 😉

295. Robert Peffers

@Snode1965 says: 12 September, 2014 at 11:40 pm:

“therefore the only true British left on these islands are the Welsh.”

Balderdash! The Romans were a ruling elite who did not interbreed with the natives and were not Britain wide. The Romans left and were replaced with the Anglo Saxons – another ruling elite who also didn’t interbreed – then the Normans, (with others such as Norsemen & Vikings). Genetic testing has shown there is less than 5% Anglo Saxon genes in the UK gene pool.

In fact we are all mostly descended from the old Hunter/Gatherers and our differences are mainly cultural rather than genetic.

296. Natasha

Of course, Cameron, you’re right; I’d forgotten the old one about giving typewriters to monkeys in order to produce Shakespeare. Silly me. 🙂

297. The Man in the Jar

I remember the days when real trolls stalked this land. He of many names none of which decent people dare mention even until this day!

(I wish wordpress did sound effects then I could have added thunder and lightning) 🙁

298. Natasha

Oops – should that have been chimpanzees? Probably not – to compare trolls to chimpanzees would be insulting to chimpanzees.

299. Peter G

I’m descended from people who lived in central Scotland 5,000 years ago. Still only get the same number of votes as Goebbels Darling the English MP.

300. Derek M

o/t wow i just checked out the imperial march youtube video incredible 250000 views thought i would post it again this thread needs cheering up lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMXuEmqAHA&feature=youtu.be

301. CameronB Brodie

Natasha
    Just so you appreciate where I coming from, I think your daughter might have unreasonably high expectations of your common-or-garden troll. 🙂

302. James123

@Joe

Zombie Apocolypse

http://imgur.com/6VaDtVt

303. HandandShrimp

Who on earth wrote the utter nonsense on the front page of the Daily Record?

304. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just had a brief look at the table again and I have to say I think the figures are well out at least for some counties. For example they have Eilean Siar down as a “2” which means they expect this county to return a NO vote, yet it is well known that Eilean Siar is a definite YES!

The same goes for Glasgow. According to the table Glasgow is a “5”, undecided, yet again from all the information coming back from all the RIC polling and other polling results Glasgow must be at least a “7” or “8”, meaning that Glasgow will return a YES vote.

Just working on these two counties it will, in my view, give this revised estimate. 😛

16 counties voting YES

9 counties NO

7 counties which are Undecided and we will have to wait till the night to get actual result.

305. The Man in the Jar

@Robert Peffers
    I am not overfond of Saxons. It turns out that even the Germans don’t like the Saxons eg the modern ones from Saxony. Apparently they regard them as rather rude and arrogant. Also that they over run quiet restaurants with their unruly children. Wonder where they get that from?

306. h_johnny

So the police are now going to investigate the Treasury leak?

Ahaha everyone should spread the word! UK Gov/Banks being investigated by the police.

307. Natasha

James 123 – did you do that? Loved it! 🙂 🙂

308. James123

@Natasha

Thanks 🙂

309. scunner

Not looking forward to tomorrow. If they are to follow their normal marching schedule/route, the OO will hang around in Marchmont, having a wee swallie in the street while racially abusing our local shopkeepers. We are not fond of them.

My kids sports in the meadows has been cancelled and my better half is dreading having to pass through these relics of empire to get anywhere.

I shall ignore them. I pray my friends, neighbours and city do likewise. Starve them of the attention they seek.

310. Robert Peffers

@Graeme says: 12 September, 2014 at 11:43 pm:

““Britishness? School history lesson; another empire 2000 years ago named our islands. England they named Britannica and Scotland they named Caledonia.”

What bloody school taught that? How the hell could they name England , “Britannica”, when England didn’t happen until around 500 years after the Romans first arrived? The Angles replaced the Romans.

The original, stone age, Britons came from what is now the North Sea. We now call that sunken land, “Doggerland”. They made for the higher ground that was to become Britain when the North Sea formed.

BTW: the Hunter/Gatherers existed alongside the stone age farmers. Not only that but the Romans called the whole archipelago Britannica. The southern bit was Albion and the northern bit Caledonia. (Albion forever known as being perfidious).

311. Fat boab

Former and current British Prime Ministers’ views on Independence:

John Major (1990–1997) Against
    Gordon Brown (2007–2010) Against
    David Cameron (2010 – ) Against

The views of this trio of incompetents alone would be enough to make anybody want to rush to vote for independence but, I have a nagging feeling I may have missed somebody out…

But what has happened to this man of mystery during the campaign? And how could anybody commit until they have heard the judgment of that proud son of Scotland (if he does, in fact, still exist)?

Speak up – Tone the Bliar (for we know you’re out there somewhere). With baited breath we await your words of wisdom.

Just be brave and say NO (we know you want to) – that is really all the people of Scotland will need to guarantee a landslide YES. Ya wee ***********!

312. thedogphilosopher

@Derek M re Imperial March

Helmets off to the guy who welcomed the Labourites, great piece of street theatre. Perhaps now that the media are going into full scale disaster mode, taking the piss might be a good tactic, if done well. One idea I had was to hand in ‘Sorry Your Leaving’ cards to all those stores and banks that are threatening to go (Michelle Moan incl.). As a weapon, humour can be devastating, remember wee David Steel in David Owen’s pocket? When people laugh at you, your credibility goes out the window.

As for John Lewis Esq.: they would hate people to protest outside their shops, such is their priority on goodwill.

These are just random thoughts late at night.

313. Thepnr

@Robert Peffers

Yes, brains over brawn every time.

314. CameronB Brodie

thedogphilosopher
    I caught a couple of BBC ‘reports’ of the Imperial March, and they’d managed to edit out the accompanying theme tune. 🙁

315. Valerie

thedogphilosopher – I agree with the thing about humour. I tend to flit around a lot of the Yes FB pages nicking all their funny memes, which are quick and clever ways to inform and poke fun. I spread the memes around mixed groups, and make sure the smaller Yes groups have them so they can take them further.

316. Michael McCabe

Ok Richard on your Knees. Arise Sir Richard. Oh in the future we the Establishment might call on you to return the Favour. Forget you Forget them I Am Voting Yes.

317. thedogphilosopher

@CameronB Brodie

Sneaky! yeah it was the music which really elevated that stunt, it just seemed SO RIGHT!

318. Derek M

@ thedogphilosopher i totally agree mate taking the piss is one of our most deadly weapons in this referendum ,they dont like it up em and it is so easy they set themselves up to be knocked down,yep i remember what spitting image done every time i see John Major i think about peas lol

319. Lesley-Anne

Just a wee bolster to keep the smiles a smiling. 😛

https://twitter.com/PrincessZoey73/status/510583571330138112/photo/1

320. Lesley-Anne

If my last wee bolster was not good enough then how about this one folks. I don’t have any names but I have just seen a rumour on Twitter that a Labour MSP is about to come out for YES, and they will NOT be the only one either. 😛

At fucking last….my cat is out the bag….@Alexx_McArthur SLab MSP to declare Yes…but watch the news,there’s more than 1 for Yes!

321. Colin

@ Mark J

“Thank you greannach, what a laugh I just had signing on the no website heartstrings.letsstaytogether.org.UK any made up name will do!”

Well that passed a pleasant 20 minutes.

322. Lesley-Anne

Newsnet know the names of the TWO Labour MSP’s but as yet can NOT revela their names. 😛

We hear … TWO Labour MSPs set to vote Yes in #indyref. We know names but cannot reveal. Reliable source!!

Oh the tension, the tension. Why do people tease us all so? 😀

323. Colin

@Lesley-Anne

“Newsnet know the names of the TWO Labour MSP’s but as yet can NOT revela their names.”

Joanne “gies a job on Friday Alec” Lamont

and Big Mags the current bun face.

Do I get a prize? Do ah?

324. geeo

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/index.html

Just wow !!!
    Such bitterness, such pure unadulterated hate,
    So much for being the family of nations and better together.

Middle east crisis..nothing.
    ISIS threat………nothing.
    Ukraine crisis……nothing.

AS and NS have no kids so cannot understand Scotland, front page ‘news’ attributed to tory men who like to play with odd shaped balls…HEADLINER !!!!

325. Robert Peffers

@The Man in the Jar says: 13 September, 2014 at 1:09 am:

“I am not overfond of Saxons”.

Well, Man in the Jar, if you really want some really disconcerting information try this for size : –

The so called British Anglo-Saxons are not really Anglo-Saxons as I already indicated. The Real Anglo-Saxons were a ruling elite but the south Britons adopted Anglo-Saxon culture and language. However, the Celts are not really Celts either. It happened like this – The original Celts were celebate holy men, (St Columba et al) and lived as hermits without interbreeding with the ancient Britons and the native Britons adopted Christianity and Celtic Culture & language.

That is confirmed by genetic testing. Here’s a wee true incident. They discovered a large stone-age settlement at Howick that was dated to the same time as the hunter/Gatherers. This showed the farmers and hunter/gatherers existed in the same time frame. When they genetically tested local people they discovered a local woman living a few miles from the Howick site was a direct decsendant of remains found on the dig site. We really are almost all descended from ancient Stone age Britons and we are only culturally different but geneticall all much the same. (excepting, obviously, more recent immigrants.

326. bookie from hell

‘I’ve spilt blood for my country,’ said former prop and Grand Slam captain David Sole. ‘The Yes campaign people seem to think they have exclusive rights to Scottish patriotism.

327. CameronB Brodie

bookie from hell
    At least he didn’t use the ‘N’ word. 😉

328. scunner

Just watched the Simpsons Groundskeeper Willie video: “that’s not a tattoo – it’s a birthmark!” – hilarious.

Currently raging in the comments area of this caricature of Scottishness are passionate arguments over independence. It is wide-ranging and happening NOW. I assume all of you have sensed the level of discussion across all social media has mushroomed over the last few days. It is exhilarating.
    If the naysayers “win” it will be devastating but I just don’t get any feeling they have the support. There is a buzz around those of us that wish to make a almighty change to the way we govern our people. No thanks has an absence of this.

Am I mildly delusional? Must go Sleep.

329. KaMate

The Google Trends data makes for a very interesting read. Keep working away, Yes we can !

330. chris s

A lot of interest in the american money markets they see us as a poss good investment if the conditions are right in an independant scotland just watched it on CNN, been flicking the channels and bloomberg money channel also watching closely if you can stand the ill informed reporters/anchors not that were not used to that…the people who do know what they are talking about are having a new look at scotland… and since we are well settled there already I predict a bit of back up worth a flick.

331. bookie from hell

If oil runs out Scotland,it runs out England,how are we worse off?

332. mr thms

gràcies

https://twitter.com/RadicalScotland/status/510513764563943425/photo/1

“Last night in Barcelona 1.8M people marched for independence. They carried the Saltire.”

333. Ken500

Daily Mail that font of information. Doesn’t even know the difference between Sillars and tbe SNP.
    Get the facts right ill informed and researched ‘journalists’ employed by the tax evading, foreigner with an Ullapool estate.

If tax exiles like Branson paid their tax, there would be no need to privatise health care in England. Brandon on benefits and the sick would have to pay.

Just vote YES.

Labour representatives will only declare for YES when Scotland votes YES. Then the scrum will start.

334. Oregon Scot

chris s:
    Yes could be big if they really want us out of the EU for 5 years.
    The US/Canada aspect could come good for Scotland.
    If it goes good Scotland might never want to go into the EU!

335. Ken500

EU is good for Scotland. Nearest biggest market. Larger than the US. Twice the size. Relatively small contribution which comes back. Scotland could be a net beneficent from the EU. EU renewable grants, Cap redistribution, shared Defence costs and common policies. Fishing conservation. US has protectionist markets. Tariffs etc. Not free trade. US multinationals lie about commercial activities to evade tax. Wall Street call it, ‘taking the tax home’. Rip off Britain.

Catalonia, Quebec and Scottish Independence is different. Different history, different demands. Franco bombed the Basques. He Germany airforce to bomb the Basques in the Spanish Civil War 1933 to 1937? The world Depression. Spain only return to Democracy from (Franco) dictatorship in 1975. A Constitutional monarchy.

Catalonia and Quebec are part of a federal system of gov. Provinces. They have certain autonomous powers and can decide how taxes are spent. Scotland can’t. Tax raising and spending powers resides with Westminster, No taxation without representation.

Vote YES.

336. heedtracker

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2754216/Childless-SNP-chiefs-no-feel-UK-family-Leaders-Scottish-National-Party-want-break-Union-not-understand-families-claimed.html

Its a new new low even for this lot. Is there anything liggers won’t say to keep control of Scotland. This was emailed from Oz so its being watched with wonder around the world.

337. heedtracker

It takes FOUR liggers to come up with Scottish democracy is a “bandwagon” now. All to retain the power and glory of England’s right to reign over Scotland bandwagon. This time next week, normal service resumes, they wont give Scotland a second thought, no matter what the result.

Never buying their shite again though:D

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/12/scottish-referendum-icm-poll-too-close-to-call-union

Scottish independence: unionists’ big guns fail to halt yes bandwagon

Tom Clark, Severin Carrell, Nicholas Watt and Jill Treanor

338. bunter

Westminster will be in huge panic now with world media on our door step that they and their media puppets will now need to be careful. Have seen many articles from foreign media last few days, having a go at BBC and UK Gov threats to Scotland.

339. Ken500

The Banks red herring

The Banks in Britain have always been regulated from Westminster/London. That’s what caused the problems. The deregulation of world banking rules by successive UK/US governments. World banking rules confirmed to 25% leverage. World banks had to keep 25% of capital as reserves to lending.

Successive UK/US governments on the advice of the Banking sector from the 1980’s allowed leverage to be lowered from 25% (broke World banking agreed rules) to 13%. No enough reserves to lending. The Banjs were lending too much capital and the money ran out.

Gordon Brown kept interest rates at 5%, believing that countered ‘boom and bust’, steady interest rates, but the Banks were lending too much. Too much debt in the system. Interest should have gone up to stop people borrowing so much. Brown ignored Treasury/BoE advice.

Thatcher left over 3 million unemployed and interest rates at 15% for mortgages and business. Banks were raking it in, but destroying the economy. Too much borrowing too much debt. Not enough reserves. Eventually banks had to be bailed out. The BoE ran out of capital. Taxpayers have been paying ever since. Quantitive easing, reducing living standard, recapitalising the BoE, but increasing the debt. Royal Mail pension fund (£30Billion?) now a government liability.
    Reducing taxes did not help.

340. heedtracker

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2754158/Don-t-make-parents-foreigners-children-In-emotional-plea-MICHAEL-GOVE-says-Scottish-moral-values-learned-boy-Aberdeen-make-Britain-great.html

Mike Gove, bettertogether Tory gimp of the day. Whatever Gove’s up to here, he somehow doesnt mention his own private education at Robert Gordons College in Aberdeen that he got for free at the taxpayers expense. Gordons must be so proud of this counter jumping buffoon.

341. Ken500

Salmond and care more for ordinary people than British political Parties. The SNP is funded by it’s members. Ordinary people. The SNP are mandated by ordinary people. The SNP/the people combine. The SNO Gov have a mandate and carry out the public’s wishes. That is why the Scottish Gov wins popular support.

Westminster Parties are funded by Bankers and Trade Unions, Interest Groups. Westminster governs on petition from Interest groups and lobbyists. Westminster runs the country on petition from (secret) powerful interest groups, banks, cartels etc, not the mandate from the people. Westminster abuses power and is above the Law. Disregards the Mandate from the people to protect health care/education and cut the debt. Westminster and their associates break the Law with impunity. Misuse of public money makes Westminster and their associates Millionaires.

342. WantonWampum.

My taxi driver told me he is a staunch “NO”.
    Because Scotland doesn`t have any Embassies.?

Naturally, I asked him how many times did he experience Passport problems or other problems where he needed to use embassy facilities.?

He admitted that he had never had problems.

Asked about his Passport, he did not know that all Scots have their British Passports Processed in Belfast.

In 2007 Krash Gordon shifted Passport Processing from Glasgow – to Belfast – on the 300th Anniversary of the Act of Union of 1707.

Turns out the taxi driver is a Rangers fan and will be in Embra today – Marching with the Muppets to keep Scottish jobs and Scottish Ancient Rights – in Belfast and Ulster.

We have to win on THURSDAY to negate the numpties.
    “YES” is the ONLY WAY FORWARD.

343. Ken500

Michael Gove is an ignoramous. Michael Gove has no understanding of child development. Won a scholarship (was adopted) and believes he is ‘alright Jack’. Wants to put education back fifty years to selection of the 10%, elite and privileged.

Got a scholarship to RGC, went to Oxbridge all funded by Public money but introduces £9000 fees for students, pulling up the ladders for other students. £9000 fees will stop many straight ‘A’ students from going to University. Creating more debt.

The ConDems had to borrow £6Billion a year more to finance the increased student loan funding in the rest of the UK. £3Billion, of which, will never be recovered. Tory student loan companies will benefit from increase interest rates from loan Companies. Westminster sells off the debt to their associates.

344. john king

Last night @ around 7.00clock our door was chapped. and standing there was a lady I dont know with a cardboard box in her arm, clearly heavy, she said the local YES campaign organiser who I had been deliving paper for (in the style of a cross between Harold Lloyd and Mr Bean, alert readers may recall)
    had asked me to deliver a few hundred posters with the lovely young girl on it(I know most of you have seen it) I inwardly groaned,
    the wife said he’s diasbled you know (in that protective way only a wife can do)he’s been building a shed and he’s exhausted, (true)
    That ladys response was to say basically “cry me a river”
    I took the box with a shamefaced look on my face and promised her I will deliver those posters,
    and I will if it kills me.

345. Scotspine

The “Imperial March” theme tune would be ideal for the Orange Order stormtroopers today, but probably un advisable. I don’t think they would see the funny side somehow.

346. Ken500

People in the UK have EU passport rights. In theory can approach any EU embassies for help. There are reports other countries embassies help British people, when there own Embassies refused. ‘ Come back after the week end on Monday’ to distressed people. Refusing to help people wiithout cash up front. Other embassies often help, there are reciprocal agreements.

Foreign Office/embassy spending is totally over the top. Exorbitant luxury.

347. bjsalba

None of the stories tell us but I would bet a fortune that it is the London Subsidiary of Deutsche Bank that has come out with this crap. And they wouldn’t commission a report from Germany, that is for sure. My guess would be one of the big four accounting firms but none of the papers say who wrote it.

Look round their website and you will see precious few German sounding names. So how German is it?

It is just the same old London City moneygrubbers fighting to preserve their gargantuan salaries and bonuses.

348. Ken500

A magnificent effort is being put in by so many people. Only four more days to go for the best result. YES. goose pimples.

The Unionists in Edinburgh who allowed this Orange march are a disgrace and offend the majority of People. The support of bigotry and sectarianism is an insult to the majority in Scotland and destroys the economy. All taxpayers are being made to finance the farce. People are being sanctioned and walking to food banks because of British Gov policies. They are killing innocent vulnerable people at home and abroad. This March is an affront to democracy.

The Unionists in Edinburgh did everything they could to try and stop the Independence Rally but give permission to this minority farce.

Vote YES

349. Paula Rose

@ John King – no killing yourself before the vote now.

350. Ken500

Osbourne is suing thev EU to try and stop a (realistic) CAP on Bankers bonuses, using UK tax payers money. An abuse of Public money. Totyn bankers fund the Tory Party. Without bankers’ funding the Tory Party would not exist. Corruption intertwined.

351. Free Scotland

Following the latest intervention from Richard Branson, I will be closing my Virgin Money account. Obviously, the loss of my personal account will not damage Virgin Money significantly, but the fact that I am advertising my decision to massive numbers of people in Scotland should surely count for something.

Have these clowns never learned the business principle that “the customer is king?”

352. Ken500

Some rugby players are a bit confused. Play the ball not the man.

SNP child family policies. Support education/NHS. Vital for children/families.
    Free personal for the elderly. Vital for families. Free bus passes for the pensioners, Vital for families. Good quality child care. Support for children leaving care. Building social houses. Improving transport links and infrastructure. Vital for jobs. Reducing unemployment.

Don’t Drop the ball, loser.

353. john king

Clootie @10.46
    beutiful Clootie just beutiful.

Wee Mike @ 12.10
    Is there not a rule against quoting from films?
    If there isnt there should be!

Paula Rose says
    “@ John King – no killing yourself before the vote now.”

I am going to drum up help from my granddaughters,
    I’ll need it. 🙁

we’re off on the freedom rally tomorrow and we’ll be at PQ, see everyone (who can make it ,there)
    Im off to deliver those leaflets. 🙂

354. Joe

James123 says:

13 September, 2014 at 1:03 am

@Joe

Zombie Apocolypse

http://imgur.com/6VaDtVt
    brilliant thanks 🙂

355. Socrates MacSporran

I had a look at the Daily Heil’s website this morning. It really is a disgraceful piece of work, even by the lowly standards of that rag.

I was a wee bit concerned about the anti-Alex Salmond piece, until I saw it was written by Quentin Letts.

File it under Zany Comedy Relief – Letts is such a tosser he makes old Cochrane at the torygraph seem intelligent and in-touch with current affairs.

That lot are shitting themselves. I would say we are going to win this, but, I still have that awful feeling, based on many long years of watching Scottish sport, that, at the last minute, enough of us will draw back from voting Yes and we will blow it.

I’ve seen this too-many times. Please, let’s stand firm and get it right this time, by voting Yes.

356. T222Deracha

All the members of the Companies Under Negative Tory Supervision spreading warnings of doom and woe are the same ones who gleefully greeted the ConDem austerity measures. The fact none of the MSM has mentioned this, proves they really are as bad as them.
    Copy this and let NO voters see it, especially Labour supporters, it shows their party have lost all their sou.

From the Torygraph:

7:01AM BST 18 Oct 2010Comments37 Comments
    SIR – It has been suggested that the deficit reduction programme set out by George Osborne in his emergency Budget should be watered down and spread over more than one parliament. We believe that this would be a mistake.
    Addressing the debt problem in a decisive way will improve business and consumer confidence. Reducing the deficit more slowly would mean additional borrowing every year, higher national debt, and therefore higher spending on interest payments.
    The cost of delay would result in almost £100 billion of additional national debt by the end of this parliament alone. In the end, the result would be deeper cuts, or further tax rises, in order to pay for the extra debt interest.
    The cost of delay could be even greater than this. As recent events in some European countries have demonstrated, if the markets lose faith in Britain, interest rates will rise for all of us.
    There is no reason to think that the pace of consolidation envisaged in the Budget will undermine the recovery.
    Related Articles
    Cut now or pay later, say business leaders 17 Oct 2010
    The private sector should be more than capable of generating additional jobs to replace those lost in the public sector, and the redeployment of people to more productive activities will improve economic performance, so generating more employment opportunities.
    So, each writing in our personal capacity, we would encourage George Osborne and the Government to press ahead with his plans to reduce the deficit.
    In the long run it will deliver a healthier and more stable economy.
    Will Adderley
    CEO, Dunelm Group
    Robert Bensoussan
    Chairman, L.K. Bennett
    Andy Bond
    Chairman, ASDA
    Ian Cheshire
    Chief Executive, Kingfisher
    Gerald Corbett
    Chairman, SSL International, moneysupermarket.com, Britvic
    Peter Cullum
    Executive Chairman, Towergate
    Tej Dhillon
    Chairman and CEO, Dhillon Group
    Philip Dilley
    Chairman, Arup
    Charles Dunstone
    Chairman, Carphone Warehouse Group
    Chairman, TalkTalk Telecom Group
    Warren East
    CEO, ARM Holdings
    Gordon Frazer
    Managing Director, Microsoft UK
    Sir Christopher Gent
    Non-Executive Chairman, GlaxoSmithKline
    Ben Gordon
    Chief Executive, Mothercare
    Anthony Habgood
    Chairman, Whitbread
    Chairman, Reed Elsevier
    Aidan Heavey
    Chief Executive, Tullow Oil
    Neil Johnson
    Chairman, UMECO
    Nick Leslau
    Chairman, Prestbury Group
    Ian Livingston
    CEO, BT Group
    Ruby McGregor-Smith
    CEO, MITIE Group
    Rick Medlock
    CFO, Inmarsat; Non-Executive Director lovefilms.com, The Betting Group
    John Nelson
    Chairman, Hammerson
    Stefano Pessina
    Executive Chairman, Alliance Boots
    Nick Prest
    Chairman, AVEVA
    Nick Robertson
    CEO, ASOS
    Sir Stuart Rose
    Chairman, Marks & Spencer
    Tim Steiner
    CEO, Ocado
    Andrew Sukawaty
    Chairman and CEO, Inmarsat
    Michael Turner
    Executive Chairman, Fuller, Smith and Turner
    Moni Varma
    Chairman, Veetee
    Paul Walker
    Chief Executive, Sage
    Paul Walsh
    Chief Executive, Diageo
    Robert Walters
    CEO, Robert Walters
    Joseph Wan
    Chief Executive, Harvey Nichols
    Bob Wigley
    Chairman, Expansys, Stonehaven Associates, Yell Group
    Simon Wolfson
    Chief Executive, Next

357. Muscleguy

@Ian Brotherhood

That cancellation tells you all you need to know about how they see the result. After a Yes vote they both need to be in London to make the necessary shame-faced/brazen statements to calm the markets and then go on the media to explain how their previous ‘categorical’ statements were just campaigning rhetoric and this is reality.

I Cannot Wait.

The shock and disgust from all the little Englanders will be enormous. Sadly I can see Farage benefiting, despite him saying the same things.

358. James Caithness

Lesley-Anne says: – Thank you Lesley-Anne

I have been canvassing but didn’t link it to column, silly me. Thanks again

359. liz

@heedtracker – re daily mail – even the comments below are saying what a despicable article

360. David Cameron

If these are Branson’s words, then I think he is pretty much hitting the nail on the head. As to whether it’s anything to do with him is another matter.

I started my own company (very tiny by comparison to Branson’s) and for 35 years it fed me and my staff reasonably well. I had not been in business ever before, but landed up exporting to 40 countries. That’s why I see NO CURRENCY ISSUE WHAT-SO-EVER!

I met great people and learned several languages (unlike English businessmen … we do business with anyone — provided they speak English). I did business at midnight and late onto the wee sma’ hours … so unlike most English businessmen (we shut at 5:00), I had a wonderful experience in The Netherlands, Denmark, Sweden, Etc, where they do business like the Scots.

In school they are always tea ..errr. PREaching, ‘stick in, work hard, get good results and get a good job’. They SHOULD be teaching ‘ … and START YOUR OWN BUSINESS!!’

I was certainly the best boss I ever had! 🙂

As a last thought, I have some doubts about Branson’s virginity, I think Westminster already shafted him, but we can let that rest.:)

361. Its aww lies

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-29208194

Funny you post this image when this is what he really has to say about it. More biased opinion will be surprised if you even post this

362. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Funny you post this image when this is what he really has to say about it. More biased opinion will be surprised if you even post this”

We know he’s come out for No, you halfwit. That’s why there’s a post about him in the first place. We’re pointing out the comedy hypocrisy between his previous statements and what he’s saying now.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.