Fairway and balanced

Posted on July 18, 2013 by

Credit where it’s due to the Scotsman today, which has been impeccably even-handed in its coverage of the furore around the issue of men-only membership at the Muirfield golf club, current host to the sport’s flagship event, the Open.

salmondgolf

Here’s this morning’s edition discussing Alex Salmond’s stance, for example:

“The way he has performed this summer, I can’t be the only person relieved that Alex Salmond has decided against going to the Open at Muirfield.

Or is his bungled boycott of arguably the most treasured sporting event in Scotland’s calendar actually his clumsiest attempt yet to muscle his way into the spotlight?”

And showing scrupulous fairness, they’ve also reported on David Cameron’s view.

“David Cameron led senior politicians in condemning Muirfield’s male-only membership policy as the prestigious Open Championship began at the historic course. The Prime Minister’s spokesman said Mr Cameron had a ‘great deal of sympathy’ with the view that such policies ‘look more to the past than they do to the future’.

Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg said the club’s membership policy was “anachronistic” and Commons leader Andrew Lansley said it was ‘reprehensible’.”

(The second piece omits any mention of the First Minister whatsoever, even though his decision to avoid the tournament over the policy brought the issue to prominence and pre-dated the Prime Minister’s “leadership” of criticism by three weeks.)

We’re sure the paper will be ringing Gary Player (possibly twice) for his comments on Messrs Cameron, Clegg and Lansley any minute now. We’ll keep you posted.

88 to “Fairway and balanced”

1. HoraceSaysYes

I was going to say that they really must think we are all stupid not to notice these things, but then again, they don’t really care, do they? The whole point is to attack the First Minister, and other Independence supporters, for any reason at all, thus allowing the BBC and other broadcasters to take the same story, framing it as ‘Salmond/SNP attacked over…’.

Its so transparent, but still depressing. 🙁

2. John Lyons

The most treasured event in Scotland sporting calander? hmmm… says who? I’m not a golf fan. (That may already be obvious) but I’ll wager the Scottish cup final or the six nations rugby, especially the calcutta cup match is a bigger event.

Anyway, we should be thankful the scotsman haven’t somehow tried to suggest the exclusion of women from sporting clubs was somewho Salmonds idea…

3. Shinty

“Seriously though, the way he has performed this summer, I can’t be the only person relieved that Alex Salmond has decided against going to the Open at Muirfield.

Seriously though, the way The Scotsman has performed this summer (and last)  I can’t be the only person relieved that this rag’s circulation is in free fall.

4. Feil Gype

Radio Scotlands news has just reported this story and said everybody and then Alex Salmond as nae goin te the Open like it wis their idea first ….typical.

5. Andy-B

Well said Rev.

Oh! The hypocrisy of it all, Wee Eck is twice the politically correct politician, that Cameron is, no wonder the Bullingdon Boy is running scared of oor wee Eck.

6. John Lyons

Hang on a minute! This is a scottish paper reporting on a club that excludes women from being members. Why are they not asking the opinion of prominent political women like johann lamont, Ruth Davidson and Nicola Sturgeon?

7. Doug

I suspect that no matter what the first minister does, it will be spun negatively.  Couple of freebies for the Scotsman to consider:

“Salmond contributes to global CO2 rise” (breathing)

“Salmond accused of misleading party” (Moira’s surprise birthday bash)

8. Gordon Bain

Because they can’t find them?

9. Juteman

Hypocritical bastards.
    I don’t think i’ll last to September next year before the old ticker blows a fuse!

10. Stuart Black

The hypocrisy is stunning. They can’t really be this stupid, and hope no-one will notice, can they? Well can they?

Sickening ‘newspaper’, it will not be missed, and its demise is long overdue.

11. pa_broon74

I can’t even make out what Christine Jardine’s point is.

He went to Wimbledon and the Scottish Open = bad, he’s not going to the Open at Muirfield (which by the way is a colourfully clothed middle-class circle jerk) = good?

One assumes she has an opinion on the football next month? I wonder how tortuous it’ll be.

I also see one of the commentors suggests Jardine is a failed unionist candidate. That will by why the scotsman (small s) is in its last legs

12. Murray McCallum

Diabolical.  Who buys this?

13. Robin Ross

Golf – a good walk ruined.  Football – 22 millionaires wrecking a lawn. Mind you, I’m sitting inside on a sunny day watching the Tour de France -my drug of choice. How does the MSM square their consistently rather offensive reportage of AS with his continuing popularity ratings in Scotland?

14. Cath

Possibly – or possibly not – off topic, I haven’t seen an independence poll for a while. June and July (so far at least) appear to have gone AWOL. I imagine if they were showing what  Better Together and their media wanted, they’d have been splashed all over front pages for days in both months.

15. Desimond

Arent we used to Tories and Crew shamelessly copying the thoughts of the SNP these days? Drink anyone?

16. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Diabolical. Who buys this?”

Rapidly decreasing numbers of people.

17. Andy-B

@Robin Ross
    A good walk ruined.

A quote by Mark Twain I think, prefer the Six Nations Rugby myself.

18. Yesitis

Murray McCallum
    Diabolical.  Who buys this?

Forty three Tories in Edinburgh 🙂

19. James Westland

Probably been posted before, but here goes:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/greenslade/2013/mar/13/abcs-the-scotsman

And according to Andrew Neil, in another article, he reckons that both the hootsmon and the herald are in terminal decline….

20. Juteman

@Robin.
    This second climb should be interesting.

21. Vronsky

We don’t see aliens because the first visitors landed on a golf course and decided not to return until our species had developed a more effective way of getting a ball into a hole in the ground.

22. beachthistle

@Cath
    I agree it is very strange that we haven’t seen any opinion polls recently, particularly IPSOS-MORI’s Scottish Public Opinion Monitor, which is stated as being ‘quarterly’, and they did one last June.
    In fact I am thinking of putting some of the polling organisations in the same basket as most of the media organisations, in that they seem to think nothing of trashing their valuable reputations when it comes to the Scottish Referendum. They seem to reckon that it is accepted, if not expected, by the London and international capital elites, that when it comes to preventing Scottish independence, it is open season re acceptable behaviour. I’m imagining informal chats in London clubs where it is intimated that there will be no post-2014 repercussions regarding the credibility, profits, etc. of polling (and media) organisations who ‘lend a hand’…

23. Seasick Dave

Golf; the perfect excuse to walk around the countryside shouting, “F*ck!”

24. HandandShrimp

I wonder if the Scotsman is thinking of contracting for newsaper work in North Korea because their hold on simple integrity and honesty is about as good as any official organ there.

Stupid pillocks that they are 

25. Luigi

“We know Alex Salmond polls badly with women and if this is an alarmingly naked grab for female approval I’m sure it will be spurned. At least we will all be spared more photographs of him sprawled like a beached whale beside the Muirfield greens.”
    Jackson Carlaw, deputy Scottish Tory Leader

26. Macart

I don’t like wishing people out of jobs in print media, (too close to home), but that particular title makes it a hard fight with the old conscience.

Time for a glass in the garden.

27. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Tattie-boggle: deleted those for you. Let me know if you want them back.

28. Luigi

Tattie-boggle,
    Sensational – 51% inevitable, but much earlier than I thought.
    BT be even more furstrated. The only thing that could possibly cheer them up now will be if the royal baby finally pops out.

29. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“if this is an alarmingly naked grab”

If it’s “alarmingly naked” (ie obvious), the word “if” is plainly invalid, you illiterate Tory twat.

30. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“In fact I am thinking of putting some of the polling organisations in the same basket as most of the media organisations, in that they seem to think nothing of trashing their valuable reputations when it comes to the Scottish Referendum.”

I never did get a reply from YouGov to my request for their charges to conduct a poll.

31. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Luigi: very old poll.

32. Luigi

Yep, I thought 51% sounded a bit premature – it will happen again soon, but not yet!

33. Jamie Arriere

The ‘Scotsman’ goon squad are just seethingly jealous that there will be more people at Muirfield today watching the golf, than reading their shitty laughable newspaper.

Simple as that!

34. scottish_skier

Tattie-boggle poll alert.
    That poll is important (51% Yes Jan 2012); one of a good few which showed the Yes was ahead of the No late 2011.
    SNP were polling 40% consistently in 2009. May 2011 was not a surprise once you added in the 5% net defecting Libs.
    The big Labour poll lead going into 2011 was weak as hell. So’s the No vote. After all, people were saying Yes before. Do they really love the union now or did they just get a little nervous last year as project fear went into full overdrive…
    They’ll come around again.

35. HoraceSaysYes

I have to say I now need to scrub out my brain after considering the phrases ‘Alex Salmond’ and ‘alarmingly naked grab’ in close proximity.

Sorry!

36. Yesitis

I wrestled with this tweet from Better Together.

https://twitter.com/UK_Together/status/357879308888457217

37. Tattie-boggle

Cheers Rev 😉

38. Atypical_Scot

What’s the difference between a lady golfer and an offshore windfarm?
    or
    What do lady golfers and offshore windfarms have in common?
    There’s gotta be a joke in there somewhere?

39. Simon

“David Cameron led senior politicians”, simple, this is true if you think A.S is a minor regional troublemaker, not even bothering to work on the “national” stage”.

John Lyons: Because Lamont and Davidson don’t fall into the category you suggest?

40. NorthBrit

Jackson Carlaw, who in no way himself resembles a beached whale.

However, for some reason I can’t fathom his name brings to mind a rusty Austin Allegro.  

Would you buy a used car from this man?

41. Doug Daniel

To be honest, I welcome Muirfield’s stance on female members, and would encourage them to extend the policy to cover male members too.

Golf is shit.

42. Atypical_Scot

@Doug;
    Make great mushroom patches though:-)

43. Luigi

O/T Happy Birthday Madiba

So glad you made it to 95

44. James Westland

@Yesitis
    I like that graphic. Sums up the No campaign perfectly! Just needs the word “bawbag” added to it to make it complete.

45. Cath

“I welcome Muirfield’s stance on female members, and would encourage them to extend the policy to cover male members too.”

As a woman I’m not sure I’d want to play on a course where male members weren’t covered. I’ve seen a few golfers and they’re not generally good eye candy.

46. Tony Little

Totally OT (Sorry Rev) but I have been ‘challenging’ Jezza over on the Herald to clarify if her/his name = Pink Lakes.  (This is relevant, but I don’t expect people here to understand yet 😉 

47. Chic McGregor

Ach! They’re just pissed off because they had to bin their “SEXIST SALMOND SUPPORTS SCOTTISH OPEN AT MUIRFIELD” leaders.

48. orkers

There seems to be a ramping up of attacks on the FM.
    You can’t help thinking that they are desperate after having a look at their latest polling results.
    Keep it going ………… they are shitting their Union Jack breeks.

49. Ian Mor

Lundin Ladies Golf Club. An anachronism and reprehensible in the 21st  century?  

50. BeamMeUpScotty

Lessons to be learned post independence about “our” press being controlled by foreigners whose agenda 
    is hostile to our country.

51. Yesitis

James Westland
    I like that graphic. Sums up the No campaign perfectly! Just needs the word “bawbag” added to it to make it complete.

Seems a whole lot of tweets have been removed.

52. James Westland

Yesitis
    Just checked – I see what you mean. Censorship eh? Well there’s a surprise.

Better add “FUD” to the list of insults as well. Fear Uncertainty and Doubt is what they are good at. 

53. The Rough Bounds

I haven’t seen the latest sales figures for the Hootsmon. Does anyone have the most recent figures?

54. James Westland

Rough Bounds:

This BBC article gives some info, but since the Hootsmon has removed itself from the ABC national figures, its hard to say. They are nearly all in freefall though. Which makes me think, in some respects, that the independence battle will be fought and won/lost in cyberspace rather than the print media. These damned cybernats…..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-23288931

55. Bill McLean

Tony Little. -Read your posts in Herald today! Don’t waste your time asking Jezerna Rosa about her motivation. This is not a person – it’s a committee probably formed of Better Together no-necks with the usual unionist no principles! Read your great letter too Stuart and posted in support!

56. Tony Little

@Bill

Jezza could be a “they” but I’m not sure.  More likely a unionist with time and connections.  Some of the stuff posted is simply too detailed and specific for a ‘casual’ watcher from Slovenia.  as I have said previously, I do not think s/he is a Slovene.  All the Slovenes that I know (I have been in the Balkans now for over ten years) have nothing but good wishes for our Independence. 

I would love to find out though! 😉

57. westie7

James Westland says:
    18 July, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Rough Bounds: “This BBC article gives some info,”

The only thing that bugs me about those figures are the Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday Figures. Too many folk buying that dross for my happiness

58. beachthistle

This evening’s  BBC website reporting of today’s golf: 
    “England’s US Open champion Justin Rose said he struggled to focus during his first-round 75 at Muirfield.”
    In NONE of  the reports in the BBC Sport tennis section could I find the words “Scotland’s Wimbledon champion Andy Murray..”

59. Bill McLean

Tony – thanks for response. In my view there’s just too much material from her every day to be from one person. She clearly has info sectioned into any topic that comes up. The Dr usually puts her in her place but he appears to take more time. Clearly he is one against many. Anyway good to read your views – we can all learn all the time!

60. Derick Tulloch

Cath says:
    18 July, 2013 at 3:20 pm

“haven’t seen an independence poll for a while.”
    aye – noticed that too. Good: we’re winning!
    There is real Jezthingy in Slovenia.  Which does not preclude it being a paid agent. Or a very very very sad obsessive.  Nah, paid agent!

61. James Westland

Tony, Bill

There is also this Google+ account:

https://plus.google.com/102739402084814868861/about

Claims to be female. But zilch content, so who knows?

62. old mikey

@ Robin Ross,
    ” A good walk wasted”, it was Sammy Davis Junior. He also said “I wouldn’t join a club that would have me as a member”.

63. Elizabeth

Sorry to be o/t but I saw this on twitter a few minutes age – it’s a chart from the Office of National Statistics showing Regional Distribution of Wealthiest Households….
    Better Together – dinnae think so!
    https://twitter.com/jil_murphy/status/340381659474042880/photo/1/large

64. Steven Mair

@Beachthistle

In golf, I think to do with the fact they have a world cup type tournament which is played by teams from Scotland, England, Ireland and Wales plus obviously the rest of the world, they tend to say Scotland’s Paul Lawrie, England’s Justin Rose etc.

65. Ted

All this negative media coverage of Alex Salmond reminds me of the Venezuelan press and their treatment of Hugo Chavez.  He was democratically elected and constantly demonised by the press in his own country and it continued till his tragic death.

66. Baheid

@Old Mikey
     “I wouldn’t join a club that would have me as a member”.

I think Groucho Marx who said that originally. 🙂

67. Dramfineday

Bill and Tony
    Jezerna Rosa – the modern day equivalent of Tokyo Rose perchance?

68. AlexMcI

The most treasured event in Scotland sporting calander. You must be having a laugh. Seriously that’s no the golf. That would have to be the square go between two drunken arseholes oot side Victorias in sauchiehall street , which one would you get a better laugh at. I rest my case.

69. Buster Bloggs

I think the idiots that run the Scotsman are pissed off Mr Salmond didn’t go, oh how they would have loved printing “Salmond Hates All Woman” he was going to get it either way no matter what he did, I think he made the correct decision.
    When the Scotsman goes titts up, let’s jump in there and buy it for pennies and turn it into the paper it should be, oh the fun that could be had.

70. Yesitis

Twitter Tory Britnat sociopath baits for Britain:

https://twitter.com/KhaleejiKat/status/355678887704932354

71. Tattie-boggle

Yesitis
    Oh that went downhill very fast for her LOL

72. Lochside

The Scotsman: the Unreadable in pursuit of the Unreasonable.

73. David McCann

To paraphrase- “Our final victory will be assured when the last Unionist MP is strangled with the latest edition of the Scotsman”!.

74. Appleby

The sad thing is I suspect this sort of deception works better than expected, especially as a sort of constant flood or background noise of negativity. Only a small amount of the mud needs to stick with the barrage they are sending every day.

75. John Hannah

@yesitis @james westland

I couldn’t find this on my twitter feed for some reason!

Using the link from @Yesitis I just re tweeted it and asked for references.

Think I’ll get them?

https://twitter.com/RealScotMedia

76. murren59

IMHO, Alex Salmond and the entire Scottish Gov’t should be screaming for The Open to be played permanently in Scotland, the ‘Home of Golf’.   Golf is a 1.5 BN pound industry for Scotland, so who in their right mind ever decided to ‘share’ The Open with England? The R&A ‘establishment’ that’s who.  The exact same sorts who sold out in 1707.  Just think what playing this cash cow every year in Scotland, the Home of Golf, would do to help the Scottish economy. Not to mention the huge global exposure that TV provides to promote tourism. Scotland in the sun – you just can’t buy this type of publicity.

77. john king

old mikey said
    “@ Robin Ross,
    ” A good walk wasted”, it was Sammy Davis Junior. He also said “I wouldn’t join a club that would have me as a member”. 
    check again Mikey, it was Tony Little’s avatar
    groucho marx

78. Tony Little

@John

He also said this, which seems to be the guide for most Westminster MPs

“These are my principles.  If you don’t like them … I have others”

79. Tony Little

@Dramfineday

Re “Oor Jezza”, someone on the Herald (mary?) called her a Lord Haw Haw, but Tokyo Rose is closer to the mark, I think.  After all Haw Haw was British (English?) and Jezza may be a Slovene.  (I have my doubts, but you never know).

Interesting that s/he has NO details about herself any where at all.  This does lead us into ‘conspiracy theories’ which we should perhaps avoid – unless Morag is reading 😉

80. MajorBloodnok

He also asked (as Otis B Driftwood):

“Do you rumba?”
    “Why yes!”
    “Well, take a rumba from one to ten.”

81. Tony Little

@Major

But only ONE character ever said, “Arggh!! Ooogh!! Urgh! No more curried eggs for me!”

82. MajorBloodnok

It’s hell in there you know.

83. Tony Little

Major

do you listen to the show on BBC Radio 4 extra?  Every Tuesday morning t 8.00 or available for 7 days.  Some of the early stuff was the year I was born 1954! Amazingly current imagery even now.  Classic ‘alternative’ comedy which you can see reflected in “the Goodies”, “Q”, Monty Python, and “Green Wing”.  Spike was a comic genius. 

84. Dorothy Devine

Mark Twain – Golf is a good walk wasted – he was a quick witted ,clever chappie who wrote Tom Sawyer my favourite school reader .We have now come so far that they have an expurgated version removing any offensive words.
    I loved Huck Finn too and would dearly like to have my grandchildren enjoy them but I suspect by the time they reach the age the books will have been banned.

Noted that the Herald is telling us the PM is commenting on the Men only saga – nobody throwing insults at him yet!

85. Juteman

I liked the one from Groucho when his family was asked to leave a hotel swimming pool because they were Jewish. He asked the attendant if his daughter could go in up to her waist, as she was only half Jewish. 🙂

86. Tony Little

@Juteman

I got to thinking about Grouch’s quotes, there was another political one that was something like “Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it everywhere, analysing it incorrectly and applying the wrong possible remedies.

Oh! No, sorry … that was the Labour manifesto!

87. john king

tony little says 
    @john

his best one was 
    “go and never darken my towels again”
    said I believe to Mrs Claypool in a night at the opera

88. Chic McGregor

The Ghost of Thatcher:  “UKIP if you want to.  I’m not for waking”.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.