That. Is. Cruel.

2. Susan

?

3. mealer

There are very few of Irish extraction in my community.There were very few Irish immigrants.There are,however,many from England.I welcome them.Should I call them immigrants? I don’t know.I tend to think of them as folk who’ve come to live here.There isn’t a “them and us” sort of culture.I think we all rub along quite nicely.We have folk of various other backgrounds too,though not in the same numbers,and they get along fine.I tend to think of them as folk who’ve come to live here.

4. BuckieBraes

Does the person in the drawing represent a crestfallen Irishman who realises he is being shunned; or the proprietor of the premises, glowering in the direction of a distant Irishman he has just sighted?

5. Franariod

My great grandad was Irish, fought for the British army in  the middle East for 12yrs during the 1800s. Im part Irish, part Scots with a sprinkle of Spanish. Looking forward to tomorrow. Do historians not call the Scots nation ” The union of the peoples”? Picts,Scots,Norse,Angles,Britons&Norman.

6. Jimbo

No Irish, No blacks, No dogs – and – No Irish need apply (NINA).

Has some-one claimed that if we opt for independence we will see these signs being resurrected in England stating ‘No Scots’ and ‘No Scots need apply’?

7. joe kane

Experimental comment.
    Is this a reference to the Galloway-Farage axis of incomprehensible unionist logic and doublethink?

Reference –
    http://cairdeliverpool.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/ukip-statement-in-support-of-liverpool-flag-demonstration-condemned-by-irish-community-group/

8. handclapping

It wasn’t just the Irish peasant pictured who was forced to starve or flee; most of the Anglo-Irish £70p.a. “gentry”, in the days when a London butler commanded £50p.a., were bankrupted by the famine and they too were not wanted in Britain. Plenty of relatives now in the US, Australia and NZ though.

9. Jim Watson

I was going to write a stunning article for the site but as an Irishman I get the message…

10. call me dave

Intriguing title I’ll set the alarm:

Meanwhile: 
    A Conservative / Labour alliance has sent out letters to council tenants serving Notice of Proceedings for Recovery of Possession due to rent arrears.

The letters sent out to local people in South Ayrshire warn tenants that the council can take legal action to repossess a home any time during the six month period starting from the date on the notice. Serving the notice is a legal requirement before the council can take action at the Sheriff Court.

—————————————
    This is surely labour shooting itself in the head.  Lamont must surely speak up here.  Many will see that independence is the only salvation from these coalition / labour unionists.

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-politics/8273-torylabour-run-council-sends-out-bedroom-tax-eviction-letters#comment-205192

11. Vronsky

Oops, I am Irish. Does this mean that I can’t visit the website tomorrow? 

12. Bill C

In 1972 and on starting a new job at 5 am, I was called a “Fenian Bastard”, when the gaffer found out what school I went to. I was neither a Fenian or a Bastard!

13. Fairliered

I like the Irish. I like the English. I like the Polish. I like the Romanians. I like the Bulgarians. I like the Pakistanis. i like the Norwegians. I like the French. Its only the Westminster establishment I have a problem with (and SLAB politicians).

14. Ian Brotherhood

@Vronsky-

‘Does this mean that I can’t visit the website tomorrow?’ 

Yes. It does.

All the more reason why you should take this opportunity to explain your absence to those who’ve been worrying about you.

(Not that I was at all bothered…)

15. Ally

Dont tell Maigrit Curran. She disnae like furriners!

16. Morag

Sorry, my one and only chance for a lie in for weeks and weeks.  See you lunch-time.

17. ronnie anderson

Call me Dave , its jist as well that the Sg made it harder tae evict people

18. ronnie anderson

It costs about 30 k to evict someone 

19. Adrian B

It costs about 30 k to evict someone 

I was wondering about an FOI to the council to find out the costs. No doubt this has all been an administrative error, just like the last eviction letters that were sent out from North Lanarkshire earlier this year.
    http://blacktrianglecampaign.org/2013/05/21/bedroom-tax-eviction-nightmare-as-scots-labour-run-councils-threaten-to-boot-struggling-families-out-of-their-homes/

Labour like to scare

20. Marker Post

I reckon it’s for the Hibs manager vacancy?

21. Thepnr

What do YOU do when you get involved in an online rant with an idiot?

Give in or carry on? Who is the fool?

http://archive.is/tFNIw

22. Smudger

Like most of the others, I’ve no problem with “foreigners”, they are just people who have chosen to live in Scotland and who can fault them for that 🙂
    I always thought of myself as right wing but am ashamed of people being labelled as scroungers and wasters purely for being unemployed, having their benefits cuts and unfair taxes imposed with the threat of homelessness hanging over their heads.whilst the biggest benefit thieves still have their noses in the trough at Westminster.

23. Keef

Has McCoist got his jotters?

24. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    @vronsky
    “All the more reason why you should take this opportunity to explain your absence to those who’ve been worrying about you.”
    what was vronsky gone for a while?

Where hell have you been what sort of time to do call this? 

25. john king

buckie braes says
    “Does the person in the drawing represent a crestfallen Irishman who realises he is being shunned; or the proprietor of the premises, glowering in the direction of a distant Irishman he has just sighted?”

Look at whats holding his trousers up 
    he has the look of hunger and deprivation in his eyes
    he is without a doubt the Irishman 

26. john king

Jim Watson says
    “I was going to write a stunning article for the site but as an Irishman I get the message…”

Well?
     where is it?
    you don’t think your going to get of that easily do you?
    We want you to tell us how lucky this country is to be more enlightened now and wont stand idly by while we watch our fellow man starve,
    but sadly Jim you cant say that,
    tragically we have learned nothing!

27. john king

Thepnr says
    “Give in or carry on? Who is the fool?”
    You are,
    but I don’t think I would have had the courage to back off either so I cant criticize.

28. Seasick Dave

I remember the line from Alan Partridge when he is trying to impress the Irish TV executives with his knowledge of the Potato Famine and the mass emigration to America.

“If they could afford to emigrate then you would think that they could have afforded to eat in a decent restaurant.”

29. heraldnomore

I see there is to be a march, that may or may not have Irish connections, heading through Magrit’s backyard constituency, on Remembrance Day.

My forefathers hailed from Leix, fought for the British Army with the Royal Irish Lancers, then with 97th Highlanders (IIRC)

My clock says it’s well past 8.00; did they change recently or is Stu running late?

30. Tattie-Boggle

just another union success story
    The Great Famine in Ireland began as a natural catastrophe of extraordinary magnitude, but its effects were severely worsened by the actions and inactions of the Whig government, headed by Lord John Russell in the crucial years from 1846 to 1852

31. Doug Daniel

This will make having to get up so ridiculously early today feel not so bad.

32. Alba4Eva

Good morning all 8:00am 🙂

33. Seasick Dave

Its all on the latest thread…

The Dirty Game.

34. Jingly Jangly

Since it is mentioned a few times, I would like to state
    THERE WAS NO FAMINE IN IRELAND,

Yes the potato crop failed , however  I quote from Wikipedia

Although the potato crop failed, the country was still producing and exporting more than enough grain crops to feed the population. Records show during the period Ireland was exporting approximately thirty to fifty shiploads per day of food produce. As a consequence of these exports and a number other factors such as land acquisition, absentee landlords and the effect of the 1690 penal laws, the Great Famine today is viewed by a number of historical academics as a form of either direct or indirect genocide.
    Unquote

If I remember correctly over 500 tons of oats were shipped from Ireland to India at the hight of the so called famine to feed British Army Horses.

So no Famine, Better Together?

35. Juteman

Of course, the ‘famine’ affected Scotland too.
    Highlanders had always kept a few cattle. They bled the cattle, and mixed it with oatmeal during hard times. After Culloden, the cattle were stolen, and sold at markets down south. They were given potatoes to grow instead, and so were in dire straights when the blight struck.
    Unlike Ireland, limited food was given to the starving Highlanders, so the effect of the blight wasn’t so severe.

36. Robert Kerr

Indeed, let’s not forget the “destitution roads” constructed during the potato famine in the Highlands.

http://www.ambaile.org.uk/en/item/item_photograph.jsp?item_id=37351 

37. Barontorc

I am sure Michael’Smiles Better’Kelly will ponder long and deeply over this item and quickly toss it into his ever-growing prejudice bucket as being malicious claptrap. 

38. a supporter

I don’t think articles like this are helpful to the cause of Independence. They only help to breed an us v them attitude based on religion amongst Scots.

39. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I don’t think articles like this are helpful to the cause of Independence. They only help to breed an us v them attitude based on religion amongst Scots.”

That’s a quite astonishing misinterpretation of what the piece says.

40. a supporter

I was referring to the cartoon.

41. Taranaich

I don’t think articles like this are helpful to the cause of Independence. They only help to breed an us v them attitude based on religion amongst Scots.

I think the point of the cartoon is an illustration on how the us v them attitude is unhelpful (to say the least), by hearkening back to a time where No Irish signs were all over the place not too long ago.

42. Kevin Lynch

@Jimbo, there was a report on the BBC recently, I think it was on Panorama, that this NINA nonsense still goes on in England even though it’s illegal. They showed some estate/letting agents will filter clients by ethnicity and refuse to rent property to them.

43. proudscot

Hasn’t the wheel come full circle so to speak, when the original “Catholic dominated” Glasgow Labour Council have now leapt into bed with the Orange Order? Strange how neither Lamont nor Curran have condemned this unholy alliance – NOT!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.