1. 04 07 15 08:19

EVEL Knievel | Speymouth

74 to “EVEL Knievel”

1. Wills

brilliant πŸ™‚
    However it is only funny if it’s not true…….
    My only personal saving grace is I am part of the 45% who seen this one coming.
    Still feeling better together ???

2. BornOptimist

Is the Big C going to perform cartwheels and fall off his bike for his next party trick?

The sooner the better is all I can say as his antics make Westminster less and less relevant to Scottish residents as each day passes.

3. Gillian_Ruglonian

Another quality piece of work Chris πŸ™‚

4. Ken500

English Laws for English votes by the time they are finished they will wish they had never started it.

5. ronnie anderson

They can enjoy their Triumph the noo but it will be short lived , even EVEL hud his crashes.

Great Toon Chris,

6. cearc

but will he clear the Yes car at the end of the line?

Brilliant, Chris.

7. Croompenstein

Superb Chris, arrogance captured brilliantly in your toon. They are doing all our work for us by ploughing on with this mess, as already pointed out it’s English laws for everyone and is showing us our second class status in this ‘family of nations’..

8. galamcennalach

Events captured perfectly, as always.

No one, and I’m going to stick my neck out here, absolutely no one is currently working as hard to bring about the end of the Union as Cameron and his government.

9. Richard Smith

That engine looks more like a Laverda 500 than a Triumph. So basically, Cameron on the Lav…

10. Macart

Nice one Chris, you’ve nailed the mood perfectly. πŸ™‚

Cameron’s ‘lock-out’ has already effectively signalled the end of the political union.

All that remains is to make it formal. The display of the past week’s votes on the Scotland bill amendments by all of the unionist MPs should be a heads up to any and all. There is no parliamentary democracy worth saving. It doesn’t exist, never did and never will. 508-56 was fairly conclusive as was the behaviour of the victorious MPs. (remember our 56 being wrist slapped for a bit of applause?) Yet the cheers and hurrah rang out from those 508 MPs that the entirety of Scotland’s representation (the settled will of the Scottish electorate) was completely and utterly ignored.

Every amendment, every suggestion, remember all that stuff that was meant to be on the table according to DC? Every single one voted down and defeated. Westminster and its establishment parties couldn’t have made the message any clearer and with the looming institution of EVEL what you have effectively is a ‘LOCK-OUT’. The establishment parties can affect your life, your future, but you as a Scottish voter and UK citizen can have no input whatsoever. How do you feel about that? Do you think that’s right? That its morally or democratically defensible that all the representation of your country, that your wishes go unresolved and ignored. We are one partner in a bilateral treaty remember. Don’t you think its right that a partner should have a say in their own future?

I’d say all that is left for our 56 now in the meantime is to mess up their day as badly as humanly possible. Get on with the job of work of protecting the Scottish electorate as best they can and use the enormous experience within their ranks and Westminsters own archaic procedure to delay harmful legislation as best possible. Use their numbers and profile to highlight this appalling democratic deficit and basically give those cheering benches a serious fecking headache for as long as they are there.

11. Mik Johnstone

Surely you mean EVEL Konniver ? πŸ™‚

12. Helena Brown

Great Cartoon as always Chris. I sometimes wonder how many who voted No wish they hadn’t listened, they certainly had enough to understand one thing that any Westminster Government did not have their best interests, they were the expendable. Given the many many SNP and YES badges still in evidence on houses and cars, the 45 have not gone away and are probably growing. So lets see, as cearc says, Cameron getting over the YES car, I bet he nose dives.

13. Nana Smith

Arrogant, lying, deceitful arse on a bike.

14. Molly

Serious question? If the rest of us, Scotland, Wales and N Ireland get by making our laws , health service (devolution) etc with a block grant , does that mean England too will by implementing EVEL by block grant ?

If not , why not ?

15. Nana Smith

@Macart

Excellent commentary again. You should be writing for the national.

16. Murray McCallum

It is remarkable how the voting rights of an elected MP in Westminster can be modified without any change in legislation.

It makes you wonder why we need all the complex legislation to reconvene and run the Scottish parliament. Surely a few speeches, a good chat and a change in the rules would have been sufficient? If that is good enough for a “sovereign” parliament then it is obviously good enough for a delegated one.

17. JPJ2

Perhaps our Welsh friends will soon be joining battle on our side in greater numbers. A near miss for them in a local by election in Cardiff, hopefully influenced by ther SNP triumph:

Local By-Election Result : June 30th 2015

Result: Conservative 561 (40% -14%), Plaid 543 (39% +27%), Labour 234 (17% -12%), Independent 24 (2%, no candidate in 2012), Green Party 22 (2% -1%), Liberal Democrats 10 (1% -1%)
    Conservative HOLD with a majority of 18 (1%) on a swing of 21% from Conservative to Plaid

18. Illy

The Labour Party shouldn’t be on there.

Since Scottish MPs have only made a difference to Westminster arithmatic for what, 2.5 years in the last 50?

19. G4jeepers

He’s no wearin a helmet!
    Oh, I forgot, he IS one…

Cheerz Chris

20. Luigi

Spot on Chris πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

It would be great to make giant posters of this image and splash it all over Scotland!

The Tories have given up on Scotland. Now that a NO vote was secured last year (thanks to their Labour sidekicks), stage 2 is to humiliate Scotland and bleed us dry before they finally have to let us go.

21. Grouse Beater

Nan Smith: Arrogant, lying, deceitful arse on a bike

Well, the real one broke every bone in his body falling off his bike more often than landing on his wheels. And he was a well known exaggerator of his showbiz achievements.

(Chris – I enjoyed your interview with Moodie.)

22. Macart

@Nana

“Arrogant, lying, deceitful arse on a bike”

The top half isn’t that great either. πŸ™‚

23. John H.

I have been reading the autobiography of a native American indian recently. He says that even today, indians in the USA have no rights. The reservation he comes from is still officially designated as a prisoner of war camp.

We Scots aren’t in that position yet, but I’m beginning to understand how he feels. If our MP’s are going to be continually ignored, then in effect we have no political rights. This is a situation that cannot be sustained. Something will have to give.

24. Nana Smith

Macart oh very good indeed.

It seems he is now going to repeal the race relations act.

Oh and the other clown in the eton mess club has another plan

http://www.taxresearch.org.uk/Blog/2015/07/04/machiavelli-could-hardly-have-made-it-up/?

25. John H.

Where’s my manners? πŸ™‚ I should have added that your cartoon is brilliant Chris. It says it all really. Cameron has nothing but contempt for democracy.

26. Cyril Matvech

How apt!
    A cartoon PM leading a cartoon government of a cartoon Union which makes cartoon Vows to win cartoon victories. It’s a real shame the British made weapons sold and used daily on innocents are not also cartoon.
    Cameron must be β€œthe most dangerous man in the UK”?

27. galamcennalath

Luigi says:
    “The Tories have given up on Scotland …. they finally have to let us go.”

More and more people talk about independence being inevitable, and when not if.

I think your right, Cameron et al have now accepted that it’s going to happen. Next time, they know they will lose a referendum.

The short term Scottish humiliation is to look and sound tough to an English nationalist / Daily Mail reading / UKIP voting audience. They are already manoeuvring to ensure rUK becomes their permanent fiefdom.

28. Robert Whyte

OT this petition is short by about 1000 to reach 15000. I urge people to sign it. https://www.change.org/p/gordon-brown-mp-go-fuck-yourself

29. Robert Peffers

Nice one Chris, But it’s the bit you couldn’t fit into the cartoon on the right hand edge that I liked best. with The bit showing that the vehicles being jumped are parked on the edge of a Grand Canyon like chasm of Scottish Independence.

30. Wee Alex

I support EVEL but not this EVEL.

Could they have come up with a bigger dogs breakfast? It could be a deliberate attempt to break up the UK on there terms.

Nah, more likely an arrogance that the 55% will roll over and accept it. Let’s hope the No’s take stock, the future of Scotland is in their hands I’m afraid.

31. Snode1965

As anyone who has rode motocross bikes will tell you, the danger ( and possible pain) lies in the landing! Cameron is a long way from Tera firma here, let’s hope the.SNP can park a bus on the off-ramp. πŸ˜‰

32. Fred

Posh Dave’s doing us a big favour, our aim is to get the hell out of that Victorian monstrousity not preserve or reform it!

33. heedtracker

Ha Ha. Its the end of the union. Anyway wouldn’t Cammers have his butler do this sort of jape? Jocks make excellent butlers, fine soldiery too.

34. Calgacus

Cameron thinks he is Thatcher 2 and that we can be pushed around in the same way.

BIG mistake.

Great cartoon Chris,I hope the Tory fop has a hard landing in next week’s sketch.

35. Dan Huil

It could be an old BSA. In this case the Biggest Shit Available.

36. Bob Mack

Brilliant Chris. For over 1600 years our country has had run ins with the English establishment ( not the English people),and now we know why.The Union allowed them to cosy up and give us a false sense of cameraderie.Ultimately what we see now is what life was like before the Union nonsense.Contempt,hatred,disdain.
    The curtain of love and respect with which they veiled our relationship has surely been opened and the truth revealed.
    We are now an irrelevance,destined to serve the will of our “betters”.Not me.This is now a struggle to the death of this loveless marriage.

37. Jimbo

Macart wrote: There is no parliamentary democracy worth saving. It doesn’t exist, never did and never will. 508-56 was fairly conclusive as was the behaviour of the victorious MPs. (remember our 56 being wrist slapped for a bit of applause?) Yet the cheers and hurrah rang out from those 508 MPs that the entirety of Scotland’s representation (the settled will of the Scottish electorate) was completely and utterly ignored.

Does anyone know if there is a recording of the Unionists cheering and jeering at the demise of Scotland’s democratic representation at Westminster?

If one does exist we should saturate social media with it.

38. Capella

As Call Me Dave pointed out on the previous thread:
    “More sabre rattling getting ready for next weeks trouncing of Scottish matters at WM.”

https://archive.is/i7arL

I watched Fallon’s glowering face as he was forced to sit through Alex Salmond’s speech against proposed air strikes on Syria on Thursday. It was not a pretty sight.

Monday’s debate on MoD use of Crown Estate land will provide more evidence of Westminster hostility to our representatives and our interests. I hope someone will point out that “the Crown” in Scotland means the people and not Westminster.

So great cartoon Chris, another car named The Scotland Bill can be added to the line-up!

39. Marcia

He will run out of petrol soon.

40. Snowy Bottles

Could you insert an “F” into the Title of the article such that it reads β€œEVEL, F’Knievel” ?

41. Croompenstein

It’s independence day for USA so happy 4th July to..

Hilary ‘We’d hate to see you lose Scotland’ Clinton

and

Barack ‘It seems to work pretty well’ Obama

One day we will celebrate our independence day and we won’t have to thank anyone for any help

42. A MacRitchie

Luigi 09:35

“bleed us dry”

They have already done that as well as leaving us with no security oil fund for the future.

Now they are trying to run down the oil industry because the have their own onshore oil field now at Gatwick, they were hoping for an easy ride with fracking and their determined to go nuclear so they really don’t care about our resources. And stopping the growth of Scotland’s green energy ……wind farms. And their still exploring Falkland Islands waters.

43. Socrates MacSporran

Whatever make of motor bike DV is astride in Chris’s brilliant cartoon, it aint a Norton or a Triumph.

Which would be typically Tory. We’ve run-down British industry, but, we will use a foreign bike, slabbered in St George’s Cross – just to underline: We Are The People.

44. Keith Hynd

Old joke but,,, “what’s the difference between that bike ^ and a vacuum cleaner?”,,, “the dirtbag is underneath on a vacuum cleaner” πŸ™‚

45. handclapping

And is the bike powered by Scottish oil? He’ll needs worry as its running out soon (A Darling, ad nauseam, 2014).

46. ronnie anderson

Whits that song in the IrnBru advert. He,s Flying Through the Air,an like that ither clown on his IrnBru crates. He,ll come doon wie ah hellava Mighty Crash.

47. heedtracker

It’s USA’s Independence day when our American cousins decided they were not bettertogether.

Edinburgh Castle’s facebook thingee

“As many of you are celebrating the 4th of July today we thought we’d share a few facts. During the War of American Independence (1775–83) American soldiers were held captive in the castle. Also one of the earliest representations of the American Stars & Stripes are on display in the Prisons of War Exhibition. If you are visiting today why not delve into the depths of the Prison of War and find out more!”

It’s even more bizarre considering our chums in the south were exporting captured Scottish soldiers to their colonies since the age of Cromwell and 1745.

48. willie fae kilwinning

Quick, nick his feckin wheels.

49. Robert Kerr

@Croompenstein

My thoughts exactly.

I was cheered up by the news that the NASA flyby of Pluto is scheduled for Bastille Day.

Vive La France!

http://www.theguardian.com/science/2015/jul/04/nasa-probe-new-horizons-pluto-charon

50. ArtyHetty

Excellent cartoon.

On the subject on no’s, many are still deluded, not met any yet who regret voting no, or at least, who admit to it. Sleekits indeed because they also kept quiet about voting no until after the Indy Ref. Just hope they are watching PM’s question time and observing how their own country is being shafted big style.

51. A MacRitchie

A Good little quote from Big Eck to all the SCUNNERS of this world into days TN.

“It’s a real shame that Labour (supports)cared more when folk called them names online……”

Same principle applies today apparently.

Good to see that the great and the good have this week came out to support Greece this week.

Common Greece give us a OXI!

52. Onwards

OT
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-33384988

Disappointed to see the new Southern General hospital is to be named after the purring Queen. One of the biggest Scottish Government projects ever, and now giving the impression that UK funding paid for it.

53. Clootie

Macart 8:53am

Excellent comment/assessment

54. Jet Jockey

Don’t forget the Fetercairn Show , the rain will be over soon ,come and see the SNP stall and win a bottle of whisky and have a blether, everyone welcome.

55. A MacRitchie

Onwards 11.30

Right on man totally with you on that one.

Probably done so that they could use royal in the Children’s Hospital name.

56. west wales

Is that a Ruth Harley-Davidson?

Great cartoon.

57. Iain More

Spot on!

I think all of us that voted Yes saw this coming to pass. Well except for maybe those performing ostrich acts and insisting on being positive. The rest of us unfortunately have found our powers of divination on this occasion to be chillingly accurate.

The Naw voting Brits are of course quite happy that Scotland is getting shafted again. They don’t even give a damn for the families and friends who are getting it in the neck from the British Nationalist Tories and their friends in the Fib Dooms and Labour Party or those who will also get it in the neck. Rule Britannia eh!

58. bugsbunny

If you could equate the life of the Union with the health of a person, then this Union has been diagnosed with a terminal illness with no chance of recovery.

This Union will now deliver tax cuts for the rich, more loopholes to avoid such tax, and cuts in benefits and raising living costs/prices for the poor.

By voting No, the 55% have gave this Government carte blanche to do what the hell it wants with Scotland. I know we need to reach out to the soft no’s, and we will, but it’s the unreachable hard no’s my anger is directed at. Selfish swines the lot of them. Tories, and the Orange Order are the enemies of Scotland, the die hard Labour supporters/NO voters are the same.

They will never see the light, they do not want to see the light. And like the bloodsucking creatures of the night that they all are, they dare not see the light. For the light will destroy them. They need the dark, they need to keep the population in the dark. For their own nefarious reasons, they need the Scottish people on their knees, submissive and weak.

WELL NO F@@KING MORE.

From here on. this this a fight for our democracy, or decency, or very lives, in fact or right to even exist as a free and independent people. We are taking the kid gloves off. Whoever is not on our side is our enemy.

Let’s do this.

Stephen.

59. tartanarse

Nice to see Cameron hasn’t got a helmet on. Hope he lands safely of course.

60. DerekM

lol nice one Chris right on the money as usual πŸ™‚

Though i doubt posh boy has ever driven a motorbike in his life and would need his chauffeur.

61. Scott Borthwick

A MacRitchie says:
    4 July, 2015 at 11:28 am

A Good little quote from Big Eck to all the SCUNNERS of this world into days TN.

β€œIt’s a real shame that Labour (supports)cared more when folk called them names online……”

You do know that Angry Salmond, who you are quoting, is not actually Alex Salmond, don’t you?

62. galamcennalath

Iain More says:
    “The Naw voting Brits are of course quite happy that Scotland is getting shafted again.”

They are not exactly jumping up and down in a rage over the betrayal!

Hardcore BritNats never will. They are beyond conversion / redemption.

Many more will still get their world view from the MSM and BBC and the coverage of WM antics from there is pathetic.

Fear made many vote No. Perhaps now fear of the Tories will swing some to Yes.

We just need to keeping chipping away with the positive message that things could be better away from WM. And, Cameron et al are doing their best to discredit anything to do with WM and the Union!

63. Gallowglass

The first car should have Scottish Independence written on it, in all truthfulness.

64. thedogphilosopher

Despite what they think, they don’t ‘own us’.

This democratic fact will come to pass!

65. A macRitchie

SB

A think the pink beret etc. nearly convinced me but as there is nae name as to credit the quote couldn’t think of any other way. Seems to have the job u knew what I was taking about. Thought it good quote anyway.

66. Les Wilson

During the voting against our democratic rights, there was one voice that stuck in my mind at every one of the votes.

There is one very loud guy in their ranks who shouts as loud as he can, and can be heard clear over all the others.
    he shouts NOOOO! Either he has a very big mouth, or the put him very close to a mike, deliberately.

They do not show his face though, so never found out who it was. But he is another turd.

67. HandandShrimp

Next week we will have Gideon set loose upon the poor of the land. It will be a time for the Nay Sayers to reflect upon their vote. Better Together?

Really?

68. Bob Mack

Will those who voted NO,be issued with an exemption card from the Tory onslaught.
    I think not.They will be treated as collateral damage in destroying Scotland.
    No better off than anyone in spite of voting NO.

69. Luigi

Fear made many vote No. Perhaps now fear of the Tories will swing some to Yes.

Well, with constituency boundary changes coming and the Labour party in complete disarray, it’s looking like at least another 10-15 years of majority Tory rule (and all that implies). Without another indy ref, the future looks bleak. Bleak indeed.

Surely, surely, surely, some of the soft NO voters are beginning to see the writing on the wall?

70. cirsium

@Jimbo, 10.34am

here is the recording of the cheering Unionist MPs

http://parliamentlive.tv/event/index/104f505f-5376-4c63-9d19-6cd541592f1b?in=22:45:55&out=22:46:30

71. Rock

Illy,

“The Labour Party shouldn’t be on there.”

Exactly.

Haven’t they been voting with the Tories, or following their flagship policy of abstaining, on the Scotland Bill votes?

As far as Scotland is concerned, there is no difference between the blue and red Tories.

72. Ghillie

What Cameron and his pals need to understand is that the contempt that they try to show Scotland in hollow acts of defiance against the inevitable and very soon to be realised Independence of Scotland, are exactly what we foretold and expected.

And that most stunt artistes end up with alot of smashed bones.

They could win brownie points in the World’s eyes by behaving well, in statesmen’s like ways, but, no no, David Cameron and Her Magesty’s Government would rather go down in history as the utter incompetent self-serving fools that they are.

73. Ken500

Evel will not come to pass. Evil Cameron does not have a sufficient majority for EVEL to go though. It could take Conman Cameron down and he knows it.

74. Cymro

Mr Cameron quoted today in the Telegraph : “What we are putting in place is a fair and balanced UK.
    What this is going to introduce is a system to make sure the wishes of English MPs cannot be overruled.”

Three words stand out – fair, balanced & overruled.

The facts Mr Cameron.
    533 MP’s in the Commons are from England. The numbers from the other three nations add up to 117.

If only 118 English MPs – that is 22% of them, bother turn up every day, the English MPs can still outvote the Scots, the Welsh and the Northern Irish.

This means that 415 English MPs could be doing other things such as working on their 2nd or 3rd jobs, going racing at Royal Ascot, boating at Henley, or simply staying home in bed – and they would still win every single vote in Parliament!

What part of that very simple mathematical analysis does Cameron find difficult to comprehend ?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.