Emergency kitten

Posted on August 23, 2013 by

Yesterday was (variously by turns) such an exhausting, depressing and infuriating day that some drastic action was required this afternoon in order to restore our spirits.

lucybud

Lucy, meet the readers of Wings Over Scotland. Readers, Lucy.

(She’s not ours, sadly – she belongs to a friend a few miles down the road who we went to visit. She has two settings – psychotic turbo apocalypse, and coma.)

lucybite

lucytiny

lucytea

lucydex

lucynap

We are refreshed and re-energised. Back to battle. Thanks, Lucy.

161 to “Emergency kitten”

1. pmcrek

I for one welcome our new Kitten Overlord!

2. Craig P

It was only a matter of time before teh kittehs gained Wings!

3. HeatherMcLean

Awww! She is just sooo cute! Glad to hear you are refreshed and er- energised though – you are doing a fantastic job!  Keep up the great work!

4. Jiggsbro

And the internet is back on course.

5. Arbroath 1320

Glad you’re refreshed Stu.

Lucy certainly looks like she could give certain folks a run for their money, clothes, food, blood, lives……..:lo:

No doubt Lucy will be making the odd appearance in future when things get rather “pressurised”

6. Atypical_Scot

This is a good opportunity to remind people of the excellent work the Cats Protection does for our battle weary stimulants. If you want to get a cat go there first!

7. scottish_skier

Polling data show majority support for independence amongst the feline population.

8. Juteman

I hate cats.
    Dogs rool! 🙂

9. Juteman

Did that cat’s dad beat his/her mother?
    I need to know before I vote Yes.

10. Archie [not Erchie]

Forget the chocolate raisins – Emergency Kit Kats for renewed energy.

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Awww! She is just sooo cute!”

You should see her in motion 😀

12. handclapping

Well, we know he got his key cut … unless he walked!

13. Morag

Awww.  (Did I mention that my cat is English?  Still, he has lived in Scotland for nearly half his life, now.  I’m not sure about his voting intentions.  He will be 16 on 2nd June 2014, so I need to get him on the electoral register….)

14. scottish_skier

I dunno about this article Rev. From the photos above, it seems to me it’s not a straightforward black and white issue.

15. Mike Hutchison

Cute cute. Pics of a cat always reminds me of the below which floats around the Internet. (I’ve deleted much of the cat diary. I think its funnier with just the first couple of sentences to set the tone and leave the rest to imagination):
    From a Dog’s Diary

8:00 am – Dog food! My favourite thing!
    9:30 am – A car ride! My favourite thing!
    9:40 am – A walk in the park! My favourite thing!
    10:30 am – Got rubbed and petted! My favourite thing!
    12:00 pm – Lunch! My favourite thing!
    1:00 pm – Played in the yard! My favourite thing!
    3:00 pm – Wagged my tail! My favourite thing!
    5:00 pm – Milk bones! My favourite thing!
    7:00 pm – Got to play ball! My favourite thing!
    8:00 pm – Wow! Watched TV with the people! My favourite thing!
    11:00 pm – Sleeping on the bed! My favourite thing  

From a Cat’s Diary

Day 983 of my captivity.  My captors continue to taunt me with bizarre little dangling objects…

16. Murray McCallum

Rule no.1 about The Cats Protection – don’t underestimate cat folk!
    £37 million annual income.

17. Morag

Um.  I’m always wary of making a diagnosis over the internet, but are your friends absolutely sure that “Lucy” is a girl, Stu?

18. scottish_skier

Um.  I’m always wary of making a diagnosis over the internet, but are your friends absolutely sure that “Lucy” is a girl, Stu?

LGBT cats for independence. Nothing wrong with that.

19. Neil Mackenzie

Uh? I’m not quite clear on whether it’s your friend or the kitten that has two settings.

20. Si A

I go on the internet, and all I find is cats. How long until BetterTogether claim you are a dog-hater?

21. Macart

@Archie

How very dare you! Bite yer tongue. 😀

As for the kitten…. aaawwwwwwwwwwww etc.

22. kendomacaroonbar

Yep, think you have a point Morag….   We were blessed to be given an abondoned kitten many moons ago and were flabberasted some weeks in to find out that during a cleaning session Zoe had a hidden lipstick receptacle 🙂

23. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Zoe had a hidden lipstick receptacle”

Surely “dispenser”?

😀

24. orkers

As my better half would say …………. ‘perr wee bugger’.
    I’m a cat person and we provide the staff for two of them.

25. DMyers

WILL WE BE RULED BY CATS IN AN INDEPENDENT SCOTLAND?

26. megsmaw06

Kittens make everything better! 🙂

27. Sneddon

For gods Rev don’t feed it human flesh! Once they have the taste…….
    Out of interest did the cat get paid? 🙂

28. Rev. Stuart Campbell

are your friends absolutely sure that “Lucy” is a girl, Stu?”

What makes you ask? Is it this shot?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/lucybite1.jpg

29. kendomacaroonbar

Stu,
    Yeah, he was prone to sharing his luuuurv with the local ladies… spose we should have renamed him pussy Galore 🙂

30. Betsy

What a splendid pair of cats. Can we get a wings rabbit as well?

31. Juteman

If it’s a female cat, i’ll give it 5 minutes before ‘open leg and oral porn’ appears on twitter.
    Cheers for the previous edit, rev.

32. Boorach

Showed the pics to my Jack Russel……. never seen him drool before! 🙂

33. kendomacaroonbar

@Betsy

Howsabout a Unicorn ? or a pony ? eh ? eh ? eh ?

34. Juteman

And if it’s a male cat, i’ll give it 5 minutes before ‘male cat exploits female cats for porn’ appears on twitter.

35. Juteman

And if it’s a LGBT cat, i’ll give it 5 minutes before ‘minority cats sexually exploited for porn’, appears on twitter.

36. Macart

OMG I’ve just made Guardian Gpick. 😮

And by pointing them to the police twitter feed where the Rev has first quote. 😀

37. scottish_skier

I’m a cat person and we provide the staff for two of them.

Until recently a joint dog-cat household 🙁

Hmm, ok, that’s the case if you include a wee nearly 1 yr old 3.6 kilo female King Charles as a real dog. Mrs SS and I are in dispute over this. People giggle when I have her on the lead (I’m 6′ 3″ and that’s the dug before anyone asks).

Would melt the heart though. Dogs were historically bred for hunting, all with specific roles (finding, catching, retrieving). This one’s bred solely for cuddling. Only have to briefly put my arm around Mrs SS and the wee dug’s suddenly there saying ‘me too, me too! Don’t forget me!.

38. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I’m not quite clear on whether it’s your friend or the kitten that has two settings.”

In this case, the kitten.

39. fordie

Cute as pie. Just like my Lucy Loo 🙂

40. Scotus

Squirrels! We want squirrels!!

41. Juteman

OT, but the rev started it.
    I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many musicians wearing Palestine shemaghs(sp) on the proms BBC 4.

42. pmcrek

Mike Hutchison,

lol

Day 984 of my captivity,
    My plan to distract the monkey guards by knocking over a vase worked. I’ve managed to steal a credit card and have begun digging a second escape tunnel in the Hall cupboard.

43. Sneddon

I forgot to say, Dexter looks like a cool cat, but where’s his shades?
    Always had cats until recently, absolutely  kept me sane during some bad times.

44. HandandShrimp

Kittens FTW!

I feel refreshed 🙂

45. Jon D

Glad you’re feline back to square one, Stu

46. Lanarkist

Whilst nearly all baby animals are extremely cute there is something intrinsically cute about kittens. Lethal weapons wrapped in cuddly cuteness, Trades Description Act anyone? We are now tolerated by a 16 week old tortoise shell female. There was an article recently, (I know, I know), by academics about the sex of kittens and their colours/ markings being related. So far Pika has refused to cooperate on any level especially on confirming her sex. Only time will tell. At least you can visit Lucy for stress relief without the daily capitulations involved in co-habitation. Toxic farts during coma cycle or  clawed /slashed during turbo. No furniture prisoners taken..
    Lanarkist.

47. Macart

A ditty furrrr kitty.

48. Morag

What makes you ask? Is it this shot?
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/lucybite1.jpg

Mmmm, yes.  There’s a certain age when it’s very very hard to tell with kittens.  If you have the whole litter with mixed sexes, it’s not so hard to tell when they’re newly born.  At the time when they go to their new homes, it can be very difficult indeed, especially if you only have a sample of one.

There’s just something about that photo that makes me wonder, but of course if s/he was sexed as a neonate with the rest of the litter, that assessment will probably be right.

I’ll never forget one of our technicians taking on two abandoned kittens when they were very young.  One boy and one girl, dubbed Bubble and Squeak on account of the noises their lungs made.  Bubble was a girl and Squeak was a boy, you could tell at that stage.  However Bubble died (not altogether unexpectedly), and Squeak grew a bit.  At that point the Senior Lecturer in Veterinary Reproduction saw him for the first time and announced this was a girl.

We had a huge argument about it, with the kitten’s owner and the medicine department staff who had seen the kitten when he was much younger insisting vehemently that this was a little tom-cat.  Finally the expert flounced off, with the backward sally, “fine, have it your own way, but I’ll still spay her for you when she’s old enough.”  Of course, Squeak (suitably renamed) was a boy, as became entirely obvious in due course.  We never let our colleague live that one down.

There’s just something about that picture of “Lucy” that reminds me of Squeak at the debatable age.  So I just wondered how sure everybody actually was.

49. cynicalHighlander

Just remember you can own a dog but a cat owns you.

50. scottish_skier

“Pro-independence blogger lies over sex of cat”

Commenting on the scandal, a senior Better Together spokesman said “How can we trust anything he says now”. 

51. Morag

Lanarkist, if Pika (what a weird name – look up “pica”) really is a tortoiseshell, then it’s a dollar to a dud dime she’s a girl.  That doesn’t apply to tortie-tabbies though.

52. Archie [not Erchie]

My daughters cat got a passport! Easy if you know how,  A payment to the backstreet felons, ah mean felines and job done. Her cat was flown to Cayman Islands in the BA cryogenic chamber and defrosted 1hour before landing. Amazing eh?

53. Iain

No cats, but better than the usual view from the metropolis.

http://tinyurl.com/kb2njo5

I think he’s wrong about Devo Max after a No vote, but refreshingly positive nevertheless.

54. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I forgot to say, Dexter looks like a cool cat,”

Here he is. When Uncle Stuey is looking after him because Mummy and Daddy are on holiday, it’s Bonus Tuna Time, which makes him happy, as you can see:

http://wosland.podgamer.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/dexcrop1.jpg

55. Jeannie

A cat haz me as well.  He’s a gorgeous wee part-Bengal and is very good-natured.  He’s got one of those faces that would get a peece at any door. Just love him.  Wee Lucy looks gorgeous as well. 

56. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Morag – Got me running off to the dictionary for ‘neonate’ Pass me the chocolate raisins Macart I may be some time.

57. patronsaintofcats

Ah, we come to my area of expertise! That is an adorable kitten! Re sex of kittens it is difficult to tell. We were sold a male tortie by a pet shop very much like Lucy.  Took it to the vet for shots, spay etc. and we’re informed he was actually a she.  So Bubba became Bubba Jean from then onwards.  Beautiful cat, really miss her (she died many years ago).  We are staff to 3 at present 🙂

58. Weedeochandorris

Owners of dogs will have noticed that, if you provide them with food and water and shelter and affection, they will think you are god. Whereas owners of cats are compelled to realize that, if you provide them with food and water and shelter and affection, they draw the conclusion thatthey are gods.

59. Juteman

Owners of dogs have a pal, owners of cats have a house that smells of cat pish.

60. Morag

We were sold a male tortie by a pet shop very much like Lucy.  Took it to the vet for shots, spay etc. and we’re informed he was actually a she.

Now, that was just silly, on the part of a pet shop.  Almost all torties are female.  The rest have weird chromosomal abnormalities similar to Klinefelter’s syndrome in man.

61. Jeannie

@weedochandorris

Owners of dogs will have noticed that, if you provide them with food and water and shelter and affection, they will think you are god. Whereas owners of cats are compelled to realize that, if you provide them with food and water and shelter and affection, they draw the conclusion thatthey are gods

Yup – that’s about the size of it 🙂

62. Marcia

A purrfect thread.

Meanwhile from twitter:
    WFI Voices/Ann      
    It seems that Blair McDougall was paid to write an article for the Guardian attacking independence.

63. Atypical_Scot

Cynical comment there McCallum. But I suppose if it’s a rescue cat, it’s undeserving and not really a proper cat to boot. Should I take my rescue dogs back to the spca as well for not being deserving and un-proper? Yeesch.

64. MajorBloodnok

I had a pet goldfish once, called Frankly.  That’s because, well, frankly he wasn’t a goldfish but a tin of sardines in an empty fish tank.  Bloody students.

65. Doug Daniel

Will we still have cats in a separate Scotland? Alex Salmond refuses to say.

66. Lanarkist

Morag, Thanks have done. We are assuming she is a female, most Torties I am told are, in fact her mother was too. Pika-Asian girls name meaning sweet, Hawian- ambitious, independent leader, (like that one), but to be honest our youngster named after Pikachu, (Pokemon) mixed in with peekaboo. She often gets called peeka-poo at the mo. Did I mention Toxic.?.?
    Lanarkist.

67. Sneddon

Dexter and tuna, hey  don’t we all go a little crazy and throw away our dignity  for tuna

68. Paula Rose

And there was me on the previous post asking if we could have something else to get out teeth into ………….awwwww………..independence catified.

69. Morag

Lanarkist, so few torties aren’t female that it’s hardly worth even considering, if you really have a tortie and not a tortie-tabby.

Sorry about the snark about the name, it’s just that medical types get childishly giggly when a name crops up that’s a medical term for something a bit unpleasant.  A friend who is a GP practically needed reviving with smelling salts after a patient told her that she’d named her new baby girl “Melina”.

70. Caledonalistic

Rev. Stu, I’ll let this go as a one-off but, just to be clear, if there are going to be regular lolcat threads from now on then I’ll have to find somewhere else to hang out.  Pics like these are like gateway drugs.  You start with cute pictures of kittens and, before you know it, the boards are full of furries fans.  It’s the first step towards complete destruction of the community.

71. Atypical_Scot

Sorry Murray, got annoyed there. People breed the poor blighters for profit. Gets my goat. Apologies.

72. Triangular Ears

I’ve thought for ages that indy people are generally cat/kitten people.  The arguments for independence are so obvious.  The arguments for kittens are so obvious too.

What do you think my username is all about?!

73. Firestarter

Brilliant thread:) Question for the next poll? Dog-person/cat-person/both/none?

@Sneddon
    “hey  don’t we all go a little crazy and throw away our dignity  for tuna?”
    Kate Higgins did 🙂

74. Murray McCallum

Atypical_Scot
    No problem. I meant no offence to cats and/or owners – quite the opposite (trying to show how strongly people feel about it by the funds they raise).
    I had a cat long time ago. Found her at the local rubbish dump. Terrific little creature.

75. Angus MacC

Is this an attempt to usurp Duggy Dug?
    Project fear says no cats, or dogs, will be available in Sep. Scotland

76. Morag

I need to sort out my avatar on this blog.  It’s a tabby cat.

77. Murray McCallum

I’ve got a dog and I had the horrible realisation tonight that he is a negative image of Alistair Darling. My dog is mostly black but has white eye brows. Total shocker.

78. Alabaman

Rev,
    If it is she ,
    call it Kate!!.

79. ianbrotherhood

@Murray McCallum-

Does your dog talk a lot of shite and have a variety of nervous tics?

If not, nae danger…

80. The Flamster

My cat can smell Tuna as soon as I take the tin opener out of the drawer.  You always get a welcome from a dog but cats are cool actually my cat is hilarious he just doesn’t know how funny he is bacause he is just being a cat if that make sense 🙂

81. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Morag – I posted a walkthrough on how to change your Avatar in the OffTopic [Quarantine] folder up at the top of this page. Hope it helps

82. Lanarkist

Morag, No worries, your spelling of the name seems apt too. She has a fondness for soft sponge dish scrubbers, elastic bands and all manner of plastic nic-nacs.
    Fabrics and furniture tested for edibility then slashed for not being edible.
    Great site, great people trying great things.
    Lanarkist.

83. Murray McCallum

ianbrotherhood
    Does your dog talk a lot of shite and have a variety of nervous tics?
    Ha No, but he is incredibly awkward and self minded. He is however a positive chap so has 0% Darling genes.

84. Weedeochandorris
  85. Calgacus

All this hacking stuff got my hackles up, and got me thinking about ways to bite back cyber-wise.
    After a bit of fiddling I have changed the default SSID on my little Huawei mobile broadband WiFi transmitter to “Yes-Scotland-2014-Calgacus”.
    So between now and September next year, for at least 5 hours a day (its battery life), with it tucked in my pocket, I’ll be a walking cyberspace Yes-man.
    Friday, after a glass or two, is not the best night to tackle the home broadband router/wifi, but over the weekend I’ll change it’s name to “Yes-Scotland-2014-SaysOorHoose” or the like …

86. Boorach

o/t but this was taken behind Holyrood…. SNP forward planning?

http://s833.photobucket.com/user/bill_urquhart/media/image_zpsc83b4dac.jpg.html

87. Weedeochandorris

Oooops don’t know what happened there!  Here it is………
    * My husband said it was him or the cat… I miss him sometimes.” 

88. patronsaintofcats

Now, that was just silly, on the part of a pet shop.  Almost all torties are female.  The rest have weird chromosomal abnormalities similar to Klinefelter’s syndrome in man.
    ——————————————–
    Agreed.  I didn’t know about the genetics at the time, but in fairness she was a tortie-tabby hybrid, just looked all tortie.  Also more dog than cat; she would play fetch with you for hours using a wadded up ball of tinfoil.  if I was using foil for cooking she would come running into the kitchen wanting me to make her a ball to play with.  She was a treasure.

89. Morag

Yikes!  Tinfoil is one of the expensive things that sometimes have to be expensively removed from unwary pet intestines….

90. cynicalHighlander

Frodo (no more) and Zoe 13+.

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i28/Timber999/frodozeus.jpg

91. alexicon

Okay Rev, we can get rid of the cuddly kitten story now, there’s been a bad Labour story in North Lanarkshire. 🙂
    I’m sure the bbc will run with a similar theme on cats tomorrow now.

http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-politics/7908-demands-for-resignation-and-apology-after-labour-councillor-harangues-bedroom-tax-victim

92. patronsaintofcats

Lol she never ate it, just carried it in her mouth.  We never let her ingest it. It was always supervised.  I’m a good fur mom, I promise!

93. Archie [not Erchie]

What with kitty cat pics and Mrs Browns Boys on the TV I can feel the tension draining away.

94. Red squirrel

Glad the kitten therapy helped & thanks for sharing. 

95. old mikey

I believe nearly all tortoiseshells are queens, and ginger cats toms, hence ‘ginger tom’. My ginger tom was run over by a car years ago. Vet had to cut it’s tail off and even with internal injuries it was still breathing. We gave it a chance and it slowly recovered. Two months later it was back to normal. It’s used 8 of it’s 9 lives up but hey it’s still around.
    The topic has been maybe a wee distraction from the cut and thrust of the battle for Indy, and a bit of light heartedness won’t go amiss.

96. ianbrotherhood

Aye, the tension’s draining away right enough…
    http://sd.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk/i/keep-calm-and-drink-lambrini-1.png

97. cath

Cute kittens is propaganda! First it’s “look at my kittens”, next it’ll be giving sweets away on street corners. Is there no end to the depths yes campaigners will sink to??

98. Morag

No, there are lots and lots of ginger females.  More are male than female, but there are plenty ginger females.

99. Jamie Arriere

OT another bad news story I’m afraid – another helicopter ditched in North Sea just off Shetland tonight……oh, kitty’s got bad vibes, jumped off lap and out through the catflap…

100. Murray McCallum

Archie [not Erchie]
    I posted a walkthrough on how to change your Avatar in the OffTopic [Quarantine] folder up at the top of this page.

Good work Archie. Even I managed to follow instructions.

101. scaredy cat.

A cat! A must have for every evil genius. Wonderful 🙂

102. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Murray – well done and thanks. C’mon Morag your turn, we all want to see your……tabby. Oh I had to be so so careful there. Just as well its FunFriday eh?

103. Mosstrooper

Kittens…frying pan….toast.. Mmmmm!..Tasty

104. Morag

I dunno.  Everybody wants you to sign up and register for things.  I’m allergic to registering.

105. Murray McCallum

On an animal theme, The Associated Press on twitter:
    Man who survived polar bear attack while camping unarmed in Canada says, “It’s a gamble I nearly lost.”

Idiot! Don’t play poker with polar bears. They do not have opposable thumbs, can’t hold the cards and get really pissed off.

106. Sneddon

Firestarter- miaow indeed 🙂

107. ianbrotherhood

While we’re in ‘chat’ mode – what’s happened to Vronsky?
    Y’alright there mister?

108. Firestarter

Too much fun on here! I’m fairly sure our superiors at Bitter Together wouldn’t approve of all this frivolity! And this is why they will lose.

109. ianbrotherhood

@Firestarter-

Excellent point.

Where do all the No Scotland punters hang out? Do they have any ‘in’ jokes? Do they correct one another’s grammar and spelling etc? Do they enjoy a bevvy? Do they arrange wee ‘unofficial’ get-togethers?

Where are they?

Who are they?

Do they exist?

110. Doug R

Aaaaw, this is just the tonic – all the crap, lies, smears & general negativity of the No campaign has been getting me down recently. Reminds me of my cats when they were wee. My folks were always great animal lovers. We had 7 cats & 3 dogs at one point!

111. ianbrotherhood

Can some Twitterer tell us why Kate Higgins hasn’t appeared via the WoS Twitter for 14 hours? Can any Twitterer just STOP Tweeting? Is it like leaving your phone off the hook?

112. BuckieBraes

Ah, but what will Hamish make of Lucy? Cats can be fiercely territorial.

113. Morag

Talking of kitty porn….

http://www.vetpath.co.uk/netpics/caramel.jpg

114. Sneddon

Morag- Utterly shameful, wait till the cat wakes up, they’ll be trouble

115. fordie

Independent Scotland to blame cats
    http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/politics/independent-scotland-to-blame-cats-2013020658754

And for us Indy lovers of the feline, me-aye http://www.zazzle.co.uk/cats_say_aye_scottish_independence_t_shirt-235228353287652098

I’m sure there’s a Facebook page ‘Indy for Cats’ but can’t find it!

116. The Man in the Jar

I`m not bothered one way or another about cats. My Cairn / Patterdale terrier on the other hand has a definite opinion.

117. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Morag – Now if that had been a 3 seater sofa I would be really concerned for my safety. Even so, what are the words to say to a moggy that is clearly relaxed but can change into a ‘psychotic turbo apocalypse’ in a nano-second?

118. Dee

On the helicopter going down, I work offshore and would hope you all could spare a thought for the guys involved in the incident and their families. Here is hoping for a good news ending.

119. John

Ah, kittens.
    Since moving down under (with our Scottish cat) we’ve now adopted from the rescue services one large daft as a brush male, and last month we rescued a kitten from under our house (she now lives inside with us, and one kitten from certain death while visiting the other wee one in the pound. Both of whom are now living life to the full, if the thundering up and down the hall is anything to go by.
    Rescuing strays down here is an unnecessarily complicated and expensive process. The RSPCA run the pound here an has a poor reputation for putting over 60% of strays to sleep.

120. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Dee – Did 15years with Sedco Forex and subsequently Transocean and would like to echo your post. Many families will be at their wits end right now. It was never easy at the Heliport saying goodbye to loved ones when you knew and could see their worry.

121. The Man in the Jar

This one for all the bored with cats, dog folk,
    http://terriermandotcom.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/why-is-this-dog-smiling.html
    PS Excellent blog as well. Check it out.

122. cynicalHighlander

@ Dee 

3 still missing I believe and the chopper is still afloat., fingers crossed.

123. Dramfineday

Dee
    absolutely – for those in peril on the sea. May all missing be found and returned hale and well to their families. For my part –  a shore member of the RLNI  for many years – best hopes to all.

124. BobW

http://bobwar.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/B&WCATS2.JPG

Taken about 12yrs ago, they don’t always get on that well though.

125. Bill C

@Dee – My sons work in the industry and I have friends who also go offshore.  My  family’s thoughts are with the guys who are missing and their families.

126. ianbrotherhood

Here’s one which helps ‘see wirsels as ithers see us’ an aw that.
    Bit of a curio, and 25 mins long, but interesting all the same, if for no other reason than to see how a professional MSM outfit can approach ‘our’ concerns, and allow some fairly radical ideas to be espoused without generating much tension between the participants:

127. ianbrotherhood

..and another, much shorter one, from people who live outside our wee box, trying to make sense of it all:

128. Alba4Eva

It looks Cat-atonic in that last photo… must be dreaming about Cat-alonian independence.   

129. Votadini Jeannie

fordie said:
    I’m sure there’s a Facebook page ‘Indy for Cats’ but can’t find it!
    Are you thinking of Bunnies for Independence? Equally cute and furry, and pro-indy.
    My children got two kittens, brother and sister, and we decided to let the female have one litter when she was older. But when we took the boy for the snip, he turned out to be a she. But as she already knew her name (chosen by my son) we decided not to change it. As if it isn’t embarassing enough calling out “Ludwig” without her being female too…

Thanks for the distraction Rev.

130. Edward Barbour

Here is a thought regarding the recent hacking of YES Scotland
    I actually suspect that YES Scotland isn’t the only body that’s had their system hacked. I found it strange that Blair McDougall tweeted some idiotic remark regards ‘space monsters’ in relation to the Wings over Scotland poll. At the time it didn’t make any sense as this was on the eve of the poll being published. In fact there was a delay by Panelbase due to a mixup in dates I think. It turned out that there had been a poll question which featured ‘Space monsters’, but that was only published by Wings over Scotland a few days after the tweet. I’ve not been able to locate the tweet and it may have been removed.
    Perhaps I’m being paranoiac and suffering the ‘Reds under the bed’ syndrome, but maybe someone who is a bit more familiar with twitter and the internet may want to have a root around

131. pmcrek

Any truth to the rumour wings is changing to catsoverscotland?

132. Edward Barbour

Further to my above comment. I did manage to find the tweet
    but see it was on the morning of August 8th Quote :
    Odd. Panelbase site earlier said that Spacemonsters #indyref poll tables would be up at 6pm and now just says ‘not live’.
    10:24 AM – 8 Aug 13
    https://twitter.com/blairmcdougall/status/365523886445576193
    Perhaps I do have ‘Reds under the Bed’ syndrome after all!

133. pmcrek

Edward Barbour,
    Dont want to alarm but if the security services read Yes Scotland or Wings email it wouldnt be in the papers.

Given British Telecoms statement about access its most likely some slimey journalist mob, they said the IPs that accessed the account were outside the UK. If you are in the UK and wanted to access Yes Scotland’s email and get away with it, the easiest way is to have someone in Yes Scotland or close enough pass on the login/server details knowingly or otherwise, then access it using an anonimity network.
    The gutter press arent exactly known for their subtlety but I’m starting to suspect whoever it was will get away with it, the non UK IP addresses suggest an onion network was used and unless authorities have a tip off and traffic engineer the network while the account is actually being accessed there is no way to find out the original address.
    They could be more stupid than I suspect though, perhaps some hack accessed it from a hotel room in Spain while on holiday… ^_^

134. john king

“what about a unicorn or a pony eh? eh?”
    Or an open air fish world place thingy
    we were in a car park couple of weeks ago in Torquay next to an open air fish thingy place which had a huge bird net over it and the wife says 
    “I suppose that’s to stop the flying fish escaping? 
    I said,
    yes dear,
    another cheese sandwich?

135. Bubbles

As some of you probably know, I have form in this department….

http://youtu.be/WOsoSXjN8LM

136. john king

“I’m sure there’s a Facebook page ‘Indy for Cats’ but can’t find it!”
    I’ll be buggered if I can understand as to why I cant copy a url and when I check its working I get a message saying “your search did not match any documents”,
     anyway if you google (images) cats for independence there are a few good images there

137. john king

“As some of you probably know, I have form in this department….”
    who are you? your a yank, I thought you were Harry Enfield?
    still, effin nice kitty though:)

138. john king

“I`m not bothered one way or another about cats. My Cairn / Patterdale terrier on the other hand has a definite opinion.”
    well?
    were waiting?
    what IS  his opinion?
    we need to know or will he just dodge the answer?
    what is he?
    a front bencher for Labour in Holyrood?

139. Jeannie

Still my favourite kitty – with thanks to Stewart Bremner
    https://twitter.com/stewartbremner/status/333264958747996162

140. MajorBloodnok

@Bubbles

Never heard of Trailer Park Boys but watched a whole episode after that.  Canukistan humour, eh?  Quite enjoyed it (the one about model train convention).

@John King – note.

141. john king

“Ah, but what will Hamish make of Lucy? Cats can be fiercely territorial.”
    maybe Hamish should be introduced to a local cat in my manor call Mr Miyagi (hands up anyone who said he was a Siamese) go to the top of the class, 
    now this cat has no concept of territory, personal space or any of the accepted cat protocols, he WILL open the back door and eat hollies (my cat) breakfast (in spite of being well fed at home) he ABSOLUTELY  will come in unannounced  and sit down next to her and watch telly, she initially ( if you’ll pardon the expression) had kittens and went mad at his breathtaking cheek, she hissed she spat but because he is bigger than her, didn’t break into full scale warfare, he on the other hand has given her a swipe or two but more just to get her to wind her neck rather than in than viciousness 
    now if you want an understanding of this cats ethos he’s sort of Peter Fonda and Dennis Hopper rolled into one, 
    one morning I thought I was going to pass out laughing when the wife was going down stairs to make her first cup of coffee in the morning when she looked down in the middle landing and Miyagi’s looking back up at her and stretching and almost saying mornin, whats for breakfast? 
    she went into the spare bedroom (shock horror) and saw a dimple in the duvet and felt the heat of a recently vacated cat bed,
    the swine had spent the night in our house and didn’t even leave a tip,
     the couple he originally (employed ) just didn’t get his free spirit and got fed up putting down food for him just to have him turn his nose up, so stopped feeding him and due to the spotty nature of his adventitious sojourns didn’t always produce a nice bowl of food for him to nick so we started feeding him on a daily basis because he was getting thin, 
    in turn his lordship decided to employ my good lady wife and myself as acceptable servants (until something better comes along) and try as we might and much to Hollies disgust couldn’t keep him out of the house, 
    but a couple a few doors along came to the rescue, they also had a long and friendly association with Miyagi and he deemed them to meet his requirements and stayed there at least for 90% of the time,
    however they did ( to my mind ) something unforgivable , they got his mandangles removed, the looks of sheer  disdain at us (as if it was our fault) 
    left us feeling a little sheepish, poor old boy’s never been the same,
     his breaches of (cat) security zones aren’t done with such relish as he used to display, and he doesn’t seem to take so much pleasure out of pissing off every cat in the neighborhood as he did before 

he’s getting on a bit now and I for one (and there are plenty of others with similar stories nearby) will miss him when he shuffles off this mortal coil,

142. Gordon Bain

@ the King

“Yank”? Are you being racialist? Nope, proudly Canadian here my friend.

@ the Major

Glad you liked it. Every episode is genius and made on a budget of pretty much, well nothing. I suggest starting from the very beginning though as it runs consecutively. The original b&w pilot sets the scene. These guys still tour a live show around Canada and never appear in public out of character.

143. john king

major bloodknock says 
    “@John King – note”
    I thought you were directing me to an American trailer trash comedy, and all I got was a standard Sunday in Larkhall with accents, gee thanks 
    and as for you Bubbles, what the hell were you thinking? calling that nice Mr Collins mustard tiger?
    no wonder he flipped, might I suggest a more sympathetic approach in the future and consider something like Halitosis Phil ?

144. john king

” proudly Canadian here my friend.”
    yea now you mention it the accents were Canadian , sorry a about the racialismismism
    but hey lets not stand on ceremony here, you don’t need to call me THE King, 
    your free to call me
    “Dear Leader, who is a perfect incarnation of the appearance that a leader should have”
    or 
    Glorious General, Who Descended From Heaven
    or 
    Great Man, Who Descended From Heaven
    or
    Great Sun of The Nation
    or
    Shining Star of Paektu Mountain
    or kim jong il for short
    ps trailer boys IS (are) hilarious

145. Sonas

Cheers Rev. Kitten pics always help. Glad you are feeling recharged. I had a twitter break last night because all the crap was getting me down. 

Auto correct wanted Kitten Picts 😀

146. The Man in the Jar

Any more of this cat nonsense and I am voting no!
    Must go “The Man” is coming and will want his laptop back.
    Bye the now.
    Eilean the Dug

147. MajorBloodnok

@Bubbles

I think I will take you up on that advice.  Cheers.

148. Seasick Dave

I thought that kitty had been snaffled by an angler fish in that first photo.

Happily, I was mistaken.

149. Jeannie

@Bubbles

Just watched the train convention episode – Bubbles, what have you started!

150. Craig P

Archie – were you ever on Transocean Explorer? Now that was a heap of shit. 

Ianbrotherhood – the No campaign have long-standing meeting places. I was in one a few years ago. It had a picture of the queen on the wall and the pool tables had blue blaize. 

151. gordoz

V/G article over on NNS about Bulmergate.
    Same points I made yesterday; but put much better.
    http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/7909-bulmergate-and-growing-suspicions-of-a-conspiracy

GMS > Rmbling on about YES payment
    Angus Macleod (Foreign Newsman) – hopelessly biassed -stirrer = no real point made
    Ian MacWhirter (Local Newsman ) – came across fair and made good points

Still sounds like a non story

152. The Man in the Jar

@john king
    at7.32am.
    You are in trouble now. My dog read your comment and SHE is not best pleased to say the least.
    When she was a pup my friend who has four cats (Wee Girlie, Lucile, Elara and Io) was staying with me so she grew up with them. When we go and visit my friend when we arrive my dog is surrounded by the cats rubbing themselves up against her she loves “her” cats. Any other cat is well “fair game” as far as she is concerned.
    I cant find anything on Youtube but the Catalonian film crew cameraman at Bannockburn this year was prostrating himself on the pavement to get footage of her during the march. (She is a “ginger” and looks very Scottish so that probably explains it)

153. cynicalHighlander

The Man in the Jar says:
    24 August, 2013 at 8:58 am

Any more of this cat nonsense and I am voting no!

Something to get your teeth into.

http://funnycatvideos.net/playful-cat-picks-a-bone.html

154. john king

just composed this for reporters without frontiers a few minutes ago
    I’m sure there are people among us who can do  infinitely better 
    so here’s their email address europe@rsf.org

I wrote an email some months ago to your organization but unfortunately have received no reply,
    since then the subject of my original email has become more and more obvious in that the main stream media in Scotland is uniformly and completely biased towards the political status quo in that they clearly do not wish Scotland to become an independent country,
    this flies in the face of the popularity of the incumbent administration in the form of the Scottish National Party who enjoy a huge amount of public support for their policies but are at a disadvantage when it comes to putting out what is an extremely positive message for the outlook for an independent Scotland, 
    in fact the the S.N.P currently is more popular the Labour ,Conservative, and liberal Democratic parties in Scotland put together,
    this is a fact you will not readily divine from the msm’s approach as they would have  you believe that the SNP is despised and reviled in Scotland and the prospects for an independent Scotland will be for the seven plagues of Egypt to descend on the hapless population should we have the audacity to reject the warm embrace of the UK  government,

this relentless negativity (especially from the BBC) whom, lets not forget the population of Scotland are required (under law) to pay a licence fee to have an unending diet of lies and deception pumped into their homes on a daily basis,
     in spite of this the current standing of the yes/no referendum in September of next year stands at 34% yes 36%no and 30% undecided, (the less balanced polls conducted exclusively by the No campaign would have people believe that the yes campaign cannot win.

Now rocket science is not required here to assume that if the media were to create a more level playing field the decision would be cut and dried already, and this is where we the people of Scotland desperately need your help if reporters without borders can help then I can see (very quickly) a tipping point where Scotland will wake up to the deception being foisted on them and will vote  for an independent country with an inclusive government by the people for the people and of the people, and not (as it is at the moment) by business for business and of vested interests. 

any thoughts people?

155. The Man in the Jar

@john king
    Hey! You can talk sense now and again.
    Seriously that is very good. 🙂

156. Bubbles

@ John King 

it reads very well to my mind. I certainly could do no better.

157. john king

the man in the jar says
    @john king
    I have some moments of lucidity 🙂
    , the only concern is I sent an equally long and rambling email to them sometime in the past and got zero response, I’m not even going to try sending any more emails to the OSCE  I just hope the petition can give the SNP  some moral support to make the OSCE sit up and take notice, 
    because, lets be honest, this situation just cant go on, the point, albeit a little tongue in cheek made by a poster (no names no pack drill) yesterday that the next step is insurrection (or words to that effect) may very well start to gain traction  and that I think we can all agree would be a tragedy of monstrous proportions 

158. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Have checked with Lucy’s staff, and they’re quite certain she’s a girl kitty.

159. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Craig P – My history was the jackup Trident 14 when it was in Dutch waters, then Sedco706 when alongside the Dunbar platform and lastly the Sedco712. One or two platforms for various clients but only briefly. Stopped offshore work when my wife was seriously ill.

160. Morag

Have checked with Lucy’s staff, and they’re quite certain she’s a girl kitty.

OK.  I’ve met “certain” in that department before, and on two deeply embarrassing occasions actually tried to spay the unfortunate kitten in question, but looking at a single oddly-angled photo isn’t a good basis to get into an argument.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.