Economising with the truth

Posted on April 13, 2015 by

You’d have to say this seems pretty clear.

(From today’s Daily Politics, around 28m in.)

1. 13 04 15 14:42

Economising with the truth | Speymouth

200 to “Economising with the truth”

1. think again

Just love that clip so much.

2. No no no...Yes

Every day is gift for the SNP. Jim Murphy was last seen heading for the nuclear bunker.

3. BenInsular

Jim’s under the bus!

4. R-type Grunt

That’s a wrap!

5. heedtracker

“Oh Andrew, creepy Jim’s leader of the Scottish Labour party, and that’s an entirely different vote SLab campaign, as you know full well.”

Bwahahaha

6. Mosstrooper

Haw Jim! yir tea’s oot. ya smarmy shouty wee get.

There, is that clear enough ya bliddy chancer.

7. Donald Urquhart

Where’s James Frances?

Snakes crawl into sheltered spaces to shed their skin, it takes about a day. I’m wondering if Jim has to do something similar to change from ‘shouty, shouty’ voice to ‘sincere, creepy’ voice.

C’mon Jim, slither out and explain yourself.

8. David McCann

Im setting up a folder.
    Its called Murphy’s Myths..It’s getting fuller by the minute

9. weemousie

Jim’s having a shocker of a week *smirk*

10. Bugger (the Panda)

Not long now until Ed disowns Smurfy, if he hasn’t already outwith the public view.

Smurfy may or may not retain hos own seat and if he does, he will be the veritable General without and army.

I refuse to believe that the back channels are not exploring and talking about the possibilities of an association of some sort.

Just wondering out loud if Jim’s ranting behaviour was because he knew about the latest TNS poll? The polling stopped on the 8th and had preceded that date by about 3 weeks so some flavour of Labour’s position could have been tipped to MacD or even MilliB’s office.

11. steveasaneilean

So there we have it – cuts for the next 5 years – guaranteed by none other that Mr Milliband.

12. Mealer

The “leader of the Scottish Labour party” won’t even be consulted.

13. Bittie Glakit

Jim’s feet must be full of bullet holes.

14. Nation Libre

So even his own party are calling him out as a liar. These people make me sick, roll on 7th of May when Scotland can get rid of these self serving (add your own expletive of choice)

15. chris kilby

Jim Murphy’s in charge of two things. Jack and shit.

(And Jack left town.)

16. Marie clark

James Francis Murphy BA Politics (failed) is a liar. Well stap me very vitals, who knew. EH! Gad what a bounder.

Well, should put and end to the myth of Scottish Labour then. They are most definitely the branch office and will have tae dae whit they”re telt.

Don’t know whether I should laugh or cry at this lot. Sheesh.

17. Capella

Johann Lamont must be feeling a bit of schadenfreude at this. The old branch office gets telt!

18. YESGUY

Hahaha. Brilliant Stu.

What a joke outfit Slab are.

How can anyone honestly vote for these Fuds to run a country. Andrew Neil can be a pain in the arse but fair play to him for persisting with the question . BREWER take note.##

19. Thepnr

Labour say one thing in public and another thing in public. Proof!

20. Dr Jim

I doubt he’ll be in charge of his own garden shed after the Election
    Now i’m not the great and wise YODA…But…

Under a bus he will be thrown i think…Mmm

21. Geoff Huijer

Don’t you just love the weary, dreary, disengenuous response of ‘I haven’t seen that’ or ‘I haven’t read that’, or ‘I haven’t heard that’ when Unionist politicians are asked a direct question.

A bit like Magrit Curran (I think) when she said she wasn’t around in 1979 so couldn’t possibly know what was going on with Callaghan’s Government and the 40% Rule stitch-up.

22. mike

For Jim Murphy and Scottish Labour,

Yesterday is History (1)
    Tomorrow is a Mystery (2)
    Today is a gift, that is why it is called the present (3)

1.They have moved so far from their founding principles it is unbelievable.
    2. Who knows what Murphy will say or do tomorrow.
    3. Jim Murphy is the gift that keeps on giving, soon his honeymoon period will be over and we will see what the people really think of him.

23. bob sinclair

David McCann says
    Im setting up a folder.
    Its called Murphy’s Myths..It’s getting fuller by the minute.

I’m on to my 3rd 1tb hard drive & it’s nearly full.

24. george

murphy can’t shrug or shout his way out of that one.

stick a fork in them, slab are done.

25. frankieboy

Let me repeat : There is no Scottish Labour Party, it does not exist, and I am at a loss as to why people keep referring to it as such. It is more accurate to call it British Labour & Unionist Party because that’s their function, if not an entirely correct name.

26. Macart

As crystal. 🙂

Dear Jim

Yir tea’s oot.

27. Fiona

@ Geoff Huijer

I don’t think that is fair, really.

Any politician would do well to be aware that media types are apt to take quotes out of context and so distort what was said. I would be wary in that position too.

Doesn’t change the fact that the labour party are neoliberals and intend to continue the cuts agenda which harms the majority of citizens, and to do so for no rational reason at all. Doesn’t change the fact that Jim Murphy either agrees with that policy and lies when he says he doesn’t: or disagrees with it and lies when he says it will not be implemented in Scotland.

28. Donald Urquhart

Just found this photo of the truth catching up with Jim Murphy

pic.twitter.com/OGANNtmOrI

29. Tam Jardine

This deserves the full glare of the media spotlight – what we will get is the flickering glow from the odd candle.

Anyway for the 7.6 billion pounds worth of cuts line to be true, we would be faced, without FFA by, what, 90 billion of spending cuts across the UK this financial year.

30. Calgacus

Dictionaries will need updated Murphy = Liar

31. heedtracker

BBC r4 lunch news rather sniffy reportage of Milliband economic smoke and mirrors (Milliband sounds as weirdly flaky as John Major now) but BBC dude signs off with “but voters in Scotland haven’t made up their minds yet”

Haven’t made up your minds yet Scottish voters? ha bloody ha!

That’s from Peter Hunt, usually wheeled out for BBC royals grovelling, chatting with Cammers in his kitchen about when to jack it in, has as many plums in his mouth as possible to make him considerably posher than you, for that grand old BBC gravitaserising of teamGB.

32. Bill Fraser

At 2pm the Labour Manifesto will be launched ‘focusing on economic competency’

Two words ‘Serendipity’ and ‘Schadenfreude’

http://www.theweek.co.uk/general-election-2015/63305/labour-manifesto-to-focus-on-economic-competency?_mout=1&utm_campaign=theweekdaily_newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_source=newsletter

33. The Man in the Jar

I was arsing about on Twitter this morning and spotted a post that said.”Jim Murphy is writing cheques that Ed Balls can’t cash”

Not fond of sound bites but I liked that one.

34. Valerie

I like Chuka, he is on TV a lot, and is very practiced at not getting rattled, or raising his voice. He tries to defuse with a bit of humour.

That said, I still think his party are garbage, and they would do better south of the Border, if they just dumped/amputated the dead wood north of the Border.

35. inky Pic

Seriously, what does Mr Murphy say to that one? He seems to be exposed as a very toothless tiger

36. Tillda

Is it official now…is Big Dim Jim now Wee Dim Jim?

37. Luigi

Another front page promise:

Last September, we had the Amigos’ Daily Record Vow.

This morning we have Miliband’s Daily Mirror Pledge.

LMAO

38. Alastair

When black holes turn into cuts.

Milliband stated quite clearly twice that the SNP will have £7.6B in cuts. Lie lie lie across all the major media channels. Lie lie , misrepresentation, fear mongering. Did I say lie.

He can make up the Labour policy but please leave the SNP’s to the SNP.

39. desimond

Scottish Labour HQ:

Blair: Quick Mr Murphy theres a need for further consolidation!

McTernan: Consolidate your left running shoe with your right running shoe and jog on (hired Scotland jersey optional).

40. Andrew Morton

It strikes me that the Labour party may shortly be outsourcing its Scottish operation to the SNP. Let’s face it, most of its members and activists are already there.

Can it be long before Johann joins them?

41. Nodrog

Having read Alex Salmond’s article in the Nat today and now seen this clip I think it is time for Jim Murphy to resign. Oh no, hold on, please do not resign Jim the more you keep talking the more votes the SNP will gain. Alex’s article makes you wonder at the arrogant aggressive attacks on Nicola yesterday by all three, so called leaders plus the presenter when these facts about Principles 5 & 6 were known to them and were agreed by their parties.

42. Julie Webster

@ all wimgers BianDTT @ PeteTC gratefully
    received the badges and donation of £100, it is such much appreciated.
    Sincere thanks to you for all your support.

Julie Webster (Coordinator)

Some of you may have noticed on Face book @ Twitter about financial irregularities concerning Maryhill foodbank.

Julie has put out a Financial statement on social media, with a break down of costings on Thursday,any LATENESS of Accounts regarding O.S.C.R. are solely the responsibility of the Church Board ( none of the Volunteers,or Julie Webster are on the Board. Ronnie Anderson today Maryhill Foodbank.

43. Democracy Reborn

The Scottish Branch Manager has materially transgressed. Uttering such public falsehoods is a serious breach of UK company policy.

Is it gross misconduct justifying instant dismissal, or should it be a formal final written warning?

44. Cag-does-thinking

Time for a 21 day Irn Bru crate tour. That worked well for him.

I think if we put together a leaflet about Jim’s failings and quotations then distributed it round ER it might just be enough to get him evicted from his seat. Seeing his wee trembly eyebrows on election night would be just the icing on the cake.

45. mac

Mayday mayday…ship going down Mayday!!!

46. Jim Thomson

Just watched a bit of lunchtime news and there was #CreepyJim looking down some manufactured tube thing for the benefit of the cameras.

He just doesn’t get that he’ll be compared to that tube when tomorrow’s papers are printed.

What a dismal excuse for a serious politician.

47. gordoz

@chris kilby

Pppfffttt – cracker !!

48. Lesley-Anne

Oh dearie me.

Our glorious *ahem* Leader in waiting, Saviour of the Union, (no not HIM he saved the world, I’m talking about saving the UNION here! 😉 ) has been found wanting … of the TRUTH … AGAIN! 😀

49. scottieDog

Big jim saviour of the union will get looked after. Lord murphy of barrs

50. Jamie Arriere

Come on, East Renfrewshire, do you really want James Francis as Secretary of State for Scotland? He’ll never be off the bloody TV!

Radio 2 Jeremy Vine referred to the amount of ‘political cross-dressing’ going on with Labour & Tory – I’m sure Smurphy is getting fitted out for his bespoke austerity stilettos and a well-cut but very loud frock..

51. HandandShrimp

The one thing we don’t want is Jim replaced

Terrible way to treat the Saviour of the Union

52. think again

One version of Murphy`s Law goes like this.

If that guy has any way of making a mistake, he will. Let us not interrupt Jim.

53. casper1066

The Branch Office is closed for refurbishments. The Branch Officer has failed his competence test.

54. Lesley-Anne

mac says:

Mayday mayday…ship going down Mayday!!!

*AHEM*

Check your calender Mac it is still only APRIL! 😉 It can not possibly be Mayday time yet … 😀

55. Sandra

Was there ever any doubt that Murphy is the Branch Manager with, it would now seem, little to no influence on Head Office? They don’t even appear to know who he is. Another reason to take no notice of anything he says.

56. Lesley-Anne

Oh forgot to add this wee nugget of BAD news for someone, can’t quite remember who their name has slipped my vbrain cell for now. 😉

This is a tweet from Mike Smithson.

SNP extend lead in TNS Scotland poll
    SNP 52% (+6), Lab 24% (-6), Con 13% (-1), LD 6% (+3), Green 3% (-1).

57. No no no...Yes

Jim Thomson 1:53pm I also watched the Rep Scotland news and Brian Taylor trying DESPERATELY to say the put down by Balls and Umunna is merely one of presentation and he tried to re-affirm Jim’s failing message.

I also think Mr Taylor is looking very unwell, stress of the job perhaps?

58. Kevin Evans

Did wings post that tactical voting spoof thing on the snpout Twitter page?

59. galamcennalath

Of course Murphy won’t be in charge, nor make any decisions. He is currently the tea boy (or something) at the Northern British sub branch. Presumably after May he will be looking for a tea boy job elsewhere.

In London they must be looking north to their Northern British sub branch and thinking … What a bunch of useless cretins!

Murphy et al could well be the reason why Labour lose this GE.

I said months ago. If Labour had any sense they would have left their wee branch office up here to deal with Holyrood only, and run this GE UK wide from London … Which would have been an honest situation. There is no Scottish specific deviation from Labour plans at a UK level.

60. Kenny

Who cares? Westminster shill interviews Westminster shill about Westminster shill on BBC WM Pravda.

O/T There’s an awfy rammie going on doon at Faslane. Just seen Patrick Harvie there on Independence Live.

61. Jim Thomson

@No no no… Yes 1:53pm

Aye, he does look a bit peaky. I commented to my better half that he looked as though he was putting on even more weight.

Too many SLab pies methinks.

62. Aceldo Atthis

@Mike

“They have moved so far from their founding principles it is unbelievable.”

Actually, Mike, I wish it was true but the sad truth is that the Labour Party were never ever true to their principles. If you look back at their history, starting with the blatant sell-out role of Ramsay McDonnald and his national government, right through the post-war era up to now, you see that the working class hero crap has always just been a sort of marketing strategy.

One of the reasons I hate myself for voting Labour in the past is that I fell for that marketing line. The truth is the history of Labour, especially here in Glasgow, is a history of thwarting, disregarding, and even undermining the aspirations and lives of ordinary working class people.

If you have any doubts look at the slums in Glasgow that, despite being Labour strongholds for around 100 years, remain slums — slums that are given recognition across the world in sociology classes owing to the depths of poverty found therein.

One of the things the Labour cadres always say when you challenge their credentials on this score is that they built the welfare state and NHS. Utter lies. If I was to show you the Tory plans and manifesto from 1945 alongside Labour’s, you’d struggle to tell the difference between them — the point being, demand for welfare and the NHS came from the people and it was with the people’s money and labour they were built, not that of mouthpiece politicians.

To try and take credit for that, as Labour does, is actually an atrocity.

63. geeo

“I don’t take orders from Ed Milliband”

Political statement of the year award !

64. Connor McEwen

Surely he can be laid to rest .Slippy Cameron must be dragged of the farm and made Statesman of the pig sty and Satchel and Satchelbagger[P.R.] made accountable for their back stabbing and fearmongering

65. No no no...Yes

The only thing Jim decides its what fairy story to tell next. I am desperate to read the Scottish version of the Labour Manifesto, it will be a hoot!

66. Dr Ew

Chukka Umunna naturally doesn’t want to to diss the branch office manager at this stage in an election but when push came to shove he wasn’t about to back up the unbackuppable. (New word – d’ya like it?). Basically, that was another sign that:
    a) Murphy is so off piste they wouldn’t risk so much as a nip of brandy to try and retrieve him, and
    b) They know the Scottish seats are essentially out of their hands now.

Labour’s last hope here is that tactical voting by Tories & LibDems (helped along by relentless media horror at the SNP) manages to salvage them a couple of extra seats here and there. There’s nothing to be gained by supporting Murphy whose faux Left posturing jars with both Labour UK’s tactics AND may scare off those potential ConDem unionist switchers they’re now banking on to save such luminaries as, er… Tom Greatex? Frank Doran? Mick McCann? Hmmm.

Not a fan of Murdoch lackey Andrew Neil or Blairite Umunna but both were simply doing their jobs in this clip and Neil’s badgering ensured the facts emerged clearly. I’m sure Nicola et al will be more than ready to call Murphy on his latest lie (but not his last, I’ll bet).

67. David McKeen

Oooft! Jim takes a right straight to the bread basket; and it was delivered by his own party!

This just gets funnier and funnier.

68. Ross

I honestly thought this was going to slip past because Neal didn’t immediately jump up and down on it. What a gift, absolutely beautiful. Cue Jim shouting vague slogans about hard working folk keeping their hard earned thousands of pound…

69. desimond

scottiedog
    101 uses for a Jim Murphy…

Do we need a new Ambassador to South Africa per chance?

70. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just done a wee inputing of figures thingy to see what the result Westminster seat count is with thgis TNS poll.

From the Scotland Votes site the figures come out as:

SNP 56 seats

Lab 2 seats

LD 1 seat

From the Electoral Calculus site we get:

SNP 55 seats

Lab 4 seats

Here’s the link to the TNS page.

http://www.tnsglobal.com/uk/press-release/snp-increases-its-lead-in-latest-tns-poll

I know this is only one of many polls and the ONLY poll that really matters takes place on May 7th. However. In my view the opinion polls have been rock solid in showing support for the SNP ever since September 19th last year. If there has been any movement at all it has been in the UPWARD direction for SNP support with a corresponding DOWNWARD direction for Labour. If anything this trend seems to have become even more regular and significant since a certain *ahem* Saviour of the Union became branch manager. 😀

There are 21 days still to go, apparently, and as always anything can happen but surely even the most pessimistic of SNP supporters must now be beginning to get the first little urges of belief in the fact that a train load of SNP MP’s are now about to head South to Westminster. 😛

71. John Hopkins

If this level of dispute occurred in any other political party, one of these clowns would have to resign.

72. JLT

Thank you Andrew Neil. Redeemed yourself there a little by not only doing your job, but what many in your profession won’t and that is getting an answer to a straight question. Mr Murphy …you’ve been had!

73. Cuilean

Chuka Ummuna states:

“The leader of the Scottish Labour Party will not be in charge of the UK budget. The leader of our country, the next prime minister, Ed Miliband, will be in charge of the UK budget”.

That starkly crystallizes the absolute irrelevance of Jim Murphy & ‘Scottish’ Labour.

Voting Labour, in Scotland, in a UK election, renders that vote completely irrelevant also. The sweaty socks must vote Labour, then shut up, and get to the back of Chuka’s big, red bus.

Meanwhile Chuka and Ed, who ARE ‘genetically programmed’ to ‘think big thoughts’ are in charge.

Who’s desperate now, James Francis Murphy?

74. bjsalba

O/T Lallands Peat Warrier on Labour manifesto. Do I get the impression that it is less than impressive?

75. Mike

Here we have BBC Radio 5 Live Chief political correspondent John Pienaar explaining to noted academic and typical tory voter Joey Essex how a hung parliament will work.30 seconds in Pienaar tells the hapless genius that the Scottish National Party will not work with anyone and that anyone who says differently is a liar.

So official BBC policy is that the SNP are liars.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02p0j00

76. JLT

Capella says

johann Lamont must be feeling a bit of schadenfreude at this.

mate …she’s the only one I have a bit of respect for these days. At least, at the very end, she told the truth about the Labour Party and its setup in Scotland.

77. Lesley-Anne

desimond says:

scottiedog
    101 uses for a Jim Murphy…

Do we need a new Ambassador to South Africa per chance?

I am not up to date on the current Ambassadorial position to South Africa Desimond but I’m sure we can all think of someone aptly *cough* qualified to take up the post if it is currently vacant. 😉

We’ll be able to kill two birds with one stone, so to speak.

1) get rid of Mr Shouty

2) help South Africa resolve a long standing *ahem* warrant for a particular induvidual who skipped the country rather than do his National Service.

78. Tackety Beets

The people of Scotland have caught Murphy telling lies for the last few years .

For his own party to show up his lies is …… well I’m astonished .

Ronnie a wid advise yea t check oot yer shed !

79. Mike

@Aceldo Atthis
    Aceldo your response really summarises how many Scots feel about the labour party, many of us were duped for so long, now we have seen the light there will be no going back. Thanks for your reply.

80. allan thomson

I’m left wondering how Gordon Brewer must feel watching his colleague doing what he should have done at the time. It was after all a rather obvious and massive whopper from a man attempting to throw grenades at the budgets of others! Should have been easily picked up by a semi competent interviewer. I await Jims attempts to justify this one with no little anticipation. Will he take his own advice and “stop digging”? I suspect that’s not part of his pre programming! Bet the Daily Retard missed it too.

81. Tackety Beets

Sorry meant to add , from Labour manifesto

£2.5Billion extra for the NHS to reverse the privitisation .

In other words SAVE THE NHS , another Murphy lie debunked by his own party .

82. Luigi

SLAB leaders since 1999:

Dewar, McLeish, McConnell, Grey, Lamont, Murphy.

Notice anything about this list? Yep, you got it – a steady decline of intelligence, political ability and authenticity. Talk about an obvious downward trend. Heck, it’s a perfect straight line – couldn’t have planned it better if you tried!

Dewar was, well alright, but hardly set the heather on fire. Just about believable as a FM (still way below the level of Salmond and Sturgeon). With Murphy, however, I can safely say, that the red tories have finally hit rock bottom.

83. Patrick Roden

@ cuilean,

Are you saying that a vote for Labour is a wasted vote?

Because of you are, I think you might be right. 🙂

84. manandboy

If he had not done so already, and mindful of the consistent polling against Labour in Scotland, Ed Milliband and his advisors will have written Scotland off long before now – and Jim Murphy with it.

More and more, it looks like Ed dumped Jim over the border and far away – out of sight and out of his road. The Murphy campaign has just been an exercise in keeping up appearances – and some practice for the BBC.

When it’s all over, Jim’ll get a job lickin’ stamps in the Bath St office of the British Unionist Labour Party – if anyone there can put up with him.

85. Luigi

Cuilean says:

13 April, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Chuka Ummuna states:

“The leader of the Scottish Labour Party will not be in charge of the UK budget. The leader of our country, the next prime minister, Ed Miliband, will be in charge of the UK budget”.

A good question for Murphy at the next debate:

“Jim Murphy – is Chuka Ummuna telling the truth?”

I would like to see shouty Jim slither out of that one.

86. Valerie

OT
    15 arrested at Faslane. Good turnout, all gates covered, and delays to workers due to protesters having to be cut out of chains. Patrick Harvies in attendance.

Well done those guys cos it’s on all the news sites, and that’s not happened for a while.

87. Papadox

Labour Party head office (London) and boss man steady Eddie playing a different tune to SLAB branch manager Dim Jim in North BRITAIN. Ed pulls rank.

Brian Taylor EBC propagandist tries to paper over cracks with a roll of wall paper a lot of sweat and a bucket of pish. MSM looking the other way “I see no differences”.

If this is good enough for the good people of East Renfrewshire who am I to question their descitions.

I like a SLAB plan when it comes together OR AT LEAST IM SURE I WOULD, A YET IM AFRAID.

TICK TOCK!

88. Frazerio

Opening line from Neil:

“When it comes to cuts, Jim Murphy…”

So near and yet so far.

89. Joemcg

Some zoomer top of the pops comments over on the proud scotchman Faslane thread. One charmer wants the polis to “shoot them”

90. Aos

Heh! And yet another Murph lie is blown apart. By his own party! Couldn’t make this up!

91. muttley79

I get the distinct impression that there are a number of prominent people in the British Labour Party who do not care if Murphy takes the blame for SLAB’s predicament and prospects.

Given that James Francis Murphy is a well known smear merchant, and one who has also be known to brief against his opponents in Labour, it is apt and fitting that he is seemingly being stitched up by Balls and others, possibly even Miliband himself.

92. BrianW

guys… guys.. surly this story has got it the wrong way round..

It’s Chuka Umunna wot iz telling lies.

Jim said there would be no spending cuts, and we all know that Jim disna tell lies..

(now where’s the audio clip of the Policeman laughing uncontrollably in that song when you need it.. I know it’s here somewhere..)

93. Les Wilson

I get amused when Labour installs a new “top man/ person” to sort Scotland out, as they have not done very well have they!

They have all fallen to the SNP, one way or the other, let’s keep it up.

94. Famous15

O/T Out leafletting for the SNP and an unhappy lady in nurses uniform opened the door before I could post my leaflet. She demanded to know who the leaflet was from and defensively I said it was from the SNP. She immediately said that is alright then!

Thank goodness for that I thought but she immediately said that she feared i was from the hypocrite Labour Party and she was fuming about zero hours contracts .She just had a leaflet from Labour saying that they would end zero hours contracts and what angered her was that Labour had introduced them.

I regret now not asking her to explain but i smiled and retreated. My guess is she meant Labour had introduced them to the NHS. also i am not good on recognising uniforms and she could have been an auxilliary and not a nurse.

Anyone who can explain?

95. heedtracker

HandandShrimp says:
    13 April, 2015 at 2:04 pm
    The one thing we don’t want is Jim replaced

So we need a Save Creepy Jim Murphy campaign. If that raging con artist loses his seat I’ll have a heart attack laughing. He’ll probably end up getting tasered and sectioned.

96. Craig

So not only has Jim Murphy been proven to be a liar by his own party regards ongoing cuts but importantly it also now shows he lied when he said he does not take orders from UK Labour. This could not have shown it any clearer that Jm is nothing more than a Branch Manager who has to take orders from his boss Ed Miliband.

97. Proud Cybernat

So, does that mean Jim Murphy is a liar?

Just asking, like.

98. Itchybiscuit

Spud Murphy is the SNP’s secret electoral weapon. Whatever he does, I hope he appears even more often on television in the run-up to the GE.

Every time the Murphy opens his gob, an SNP MP is elected. (that’s my ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’ tribute) ;o)

99. Will McEwan

The song for Jim Murphy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hI1nPd7hezM

100. fred blogger

ot £bns spent on welfare reform, much misery caused.
    WR has achieved nothing but misery.
    https://johnnyvoid.wordpress.com/2015/04/13/welfare-reform-has-failed-and-these-latest-statistics-prove-it/

101. Cadogan Enright

Chortle chortle ……. Will BBC Scotland or STV or the Rancid learn anything from this example?

Onwards with the canvassing comrades . . . .

102. desimond

Knock Knock!
    Who’s there?
    Jim Murphy!
    Jim Murphy who?
    Thats the Labour Party for you!

103. onelessday

Famous15 @3;32

I can tell you the NHS has operated a Nurses Bank system as far back as the 70’s where if there was a shortage of staff, trained or untrained, they had a list of people willing to go in to cover the shift It suited some people to work on that basis sometimes for many years

104. FairFerfochen

Dont know about anyone else but since watching James Frances Murphy Saviour of the Union evety time I hear or see an article about him I keep hearing the words “A cry of pish rang out above the crowd”

It has to be one of the best pieces of satirical counter-propaganda EVER made.

Would love to know if it’s available to download and rip to DVD, would like my non tech savvy parents to see it in the comfort of their own livingroom, fun for all the family!

105. Jim

This could have been written for Scotland:

“The more you refuse to hear my voice the louder I will sing
    You hide behind walls of Jericho, your lies will come tumbling
    Deny my place in time, you squander wealth that’s mine
    My light, will shine, so brightly, it will blind you.”

Labi Siffre

106. Clootie

I watched the interview at lunchtime. I thought he is going to waffle his way around it. Credit to Andrew Neil he kept the heat on and Chukka was faced with losing votes in England or dumping Murphy.

However when he did dump him I didn’t expect it to be so brutal – “The branch office have no say and will do what they are told”.

If you still think Labour MP’s will raise issues important to the people of Scotland then you must be very,very loyal OR thick!

107. Louis B Argyll

Luigi.. Your list of fmr and descending labour leaders.. Did you miss Wendy??

108. john king

Desimond says
    “101 uses for a Jim Murphy…”

What about somewhere to park your bike? 🙂

109. katsoft

Can’t believe I’m saying this but I’m starting to feel a wee bit {just a tiny bit} sorry for Lord Jim now the bosses have rounded on him. Maybe he could grow a pair and disown the British Labour party and start his own one.
    BTW if I remember correctly it isn’t Scottish branch of Labour Party. Unless it’s changed it is the Scottish region! They can’t even get that right.
    So what chance of Murphy and MillerBand and Balls agreeing on anything Scottish.

110. Legerwood

Desmond @ 2.40

Ambassador to France surely.

111. Oxford John

Going out on a limb here, but has Ed Miliband just cut the branch office loose? Looks like he has abandoned Scotland to the SNP and will focus on winning enough seats in England to form a government.

112. Robert Peffers

@Donald Urquhart says: 13 April, 2015 at 1:02 pm:

“… C’mon Jim, slither out and explain yourself.

So I’m not alone in being reminded of, “Hissing Sid”, every time I see or hear Murphy? When he goes all sotto voce I keep looking for the his forked tongue. They’d make a great double act Hissing Sid and Slithering Jim

113. Grizzle McPuss

Just for you Jim, take it away Frank…

“And now the end is near
    And so [you] face the final curtain…”

114. DerekM

um er um who Andrew (damn whats that idiot murphy been saying now)says and thinks poor Chuka.

poor Labour got their own WMD leading north branch(walking Murphy disaster)and wee Nicola knows where the launch button is lol

If they had any sense they should fire him straight to the moon since he is always howling at it.

And no we cant send him back to Africa what did the poor African`s do to deserve us dumping toxic waste on them ,nope this is a mess we will have to clean up ourselves.

115. Rennie

“A Better Plan for a Better Future”…Labour’s new slogan…they can’t seem to let go of that word can they?

116. Almannysbunnet

This is no problem for Smug, I can hear his reply now “you have to understand these misunderstandings happen during the cut and thrust of an election campaign. Understanding misunderstandings and misunderstanding understandings are something labour are prepared to face head on. Chuka and I are good friends, he was by my side when we fought in the boer war. I have never said I would be in charge of the UK budget, this is just another smear from the SNP who want to break up the UK budget. This country can only be saved by the labour party, by not increasing the budget sometimes and increasing it at other times. That Nicola is the real problem, if she had her way she would…..blah blah.”

117. Calgacus

Creepy Jim is hingin like the washin, he’s been hung oot tae dry:-D

118. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi FairFerfochen.

Download and install the Firefox add-on “DownloadHelper”. It lets you download and save videos from various sites, like YouTube and Vimeo and you can, usually, choose the quality.

You can see a video of how it works here:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhqUx-b5-bE

119. macnakamura

East Renfrewshire Labourites may employ a novel form of tactical voting to save the Labour Party in Scotland …… by voting against Murphy.

120. brewsed

If BA hons(failed) fails to hang on to his seat (yes, I know, conjures up images I would prefer to avoid) in Ben the hoose by the river, will he want to have a shotty next year? Maybe not, the expenses are less easy to fiddle.

121. desimond

Louis B Argyll

miss Wendy….does her brother?

122. Jim

This proves that voting labour, conservative or Liberal Democrat in Scotland will not get you heard at Westminster as there is only one party in Scotland that is truly Scotland’s party and that is the SNP.

So those 41 labour MPs were not at Westminster in Scotland’s interests rather they were there to make up the numbers and do the bidding of their political masters in England.
    Who’d have thunk it!

123. Mealer

Maybe if the Labour Party stopped being so horrible to folk they would slow down their decline a bit.

124. paul gerard mccormack

Every dog will have had its day.

125. Patrick Roden

So we now have a ‘Big Black Hole’ in Jim Murphy’s claims, that:

1. No cuts will be necessary in Scotland.

2, It’s him and not Ed Milliband, who decide Labours policies in Scotland.

Jims line, that the first time Ed will know what policies have been introduced in Scotland, will be when he reads it in the papers like everybody else, seems so long ago now!

oh dear…:-)

126. Lesley-Anne

Robert Peffers says:

@Donald Urquhart says: 13 April, 2015 at 1:02 pm:

“… C’mon Jim, slither out and explain yourself.

So I’m not alone in being reminded of, “Hissing Sid”, every time I see or hear Murphy? When he goes all sotto voce I keep looking for the his forked tongue. They’d make a great double act Hissing Sid and Slithering Jim

Ah good old Hissing Sid. Where would we be without Hissing Sid? 😉

Just for you Robert. 😀

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8r2mPdsPqrw

127. McBoxheid

I wonder when Steady Eddy sent Dim Jim into exile after Indyref to run the Scottish Accounting Unit(into the ground), he and the other highheidyins at Labour HQ (London Branch)realised then that Labour in Scotland (no such thing as SLab it turns out) was doomed for jumping into bed with the Tories?
    I doubt it, but what a way to clean the decks. Dim Jim and the Spinners being drowned in the same ship in May. That’s one Mayday they’ll choose not to hear.

128. Ken500

The poison chalice. Murphy is expendable

129. frogesque

Revenge is dish best served cold.

And that icy blast couldn’t have been colder if it came from Pluto.

Sweet, so sweet! After the hammering Murph tried to dish out to our FM yesterday that’s better than a year’s supply of tablet.

130. BrianW

What will be interesting, is how the Scottish Media cover or make reference to Chuka’s comments the next time Jim SHOUTS about there being no cuts.

Will they choose to counter his claims with what Chuka said, or will they just let his lie to slide on into truth-dom – knowing it to be a lie themselves, so would be complicit in perpetuating it.

Thing is Jim won’t make reference to ‘No Cuts’ (nearly done a typo there..lol) again.

To do so will open him to challenge by what his Imperial Master in the Mother Ship have said.

And no matter how much he SHOUTS, he can’t get out of this one.. Chuckle.

131. StevieP

I do agree that Jim Murphy is deserving of all the pelters he gets but I can’t help thinking that he is a person and does probably have feelings like the rest of us.

One of the rules on here is to play the ball not the man. The ball has been booted oot the park and the man is getting a kicking.

Don’t get me wrong. I have enjoyed the kicking but maybe we should get the ball back in play and score a few goals before someone gets sent off.

132. Jimmy

So far I haven’t seen any comments on the disgraceful graffiti daubed on the Labour and Conservative offices in Aberdeen, although there may be comments and I simply haven’t seen them.

The word SCUM and the use of the Swastika have been hurled at the two parties for so long that sadly they are accepted as normal comments.

The use of the letter Q is obviously a reference to the Nowegian ("Tractor" - Ed) Quisling, he really was a nasty piece of work and him and his followers bear no resemblance whatsoever to our Labour and Conservative fellow citizens.

133. Lesley-Anne

desimond says:

Louis B Argyll

miss Wendy….does her brother?

Well he didn’t when he allegedly stabbed her in the back Desimond. At least we all know where Margrit Curran got the idea from when she allegedly stabbed Johann Lamont in the back! 😉

paul gerard mccormack says:

Every dog will have had its day.

WOOF! WOOF! 😀

134. Robert Peffers

@The Man in the Jar says: 13 April, 2015 at 1:33 pm:

“I was arsing about on Twitter this morning and spotted a post that said.”Jim Murphy is writing cheques that Ed Balls can’t cash” Not fond of sound bites but I liked that one.

I just came in and scanned the news and saw this one, (about Miliband’s claims), But PM David Cameron accused Mr Miliband of trying to,”Con”, the public. My immediate thought was, “Well Cam, of all people, should know a, “Con”, when he sees it.

135. ronald alexander mcdonald

Translation of Chuka’s statement. Jim is a liability. We’re finished in Scotland, so we’re playing a right wing card to get the English vote.

136. bowanarrow

Labour and tories fist, scottish labour to be left
    behind to go down with the ship. Get the orchestra
    to play, abide with me, as you sink beneath the
    waves. I for one will not feel sorry.

137. fionn

come on labour, sort out your own party across the country. better together and all that.

138. BrianW

It would appear that BBC Scotland is already lining up the reasons behind the differences in Jim’s opinion and the High Heid Yin’s in London

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-32288703

“Jim Murphy is adamant that there is no practical distinction between the comments offered by himself and those tendered by Ed Balls. However, there is perhaps a difference in emphasis.

Oh well that’s ok then. It was all just a difference in Emphasis. It was nothing to do with Jim saying ‘No Cuts’ then Labour HQ countering that with there will be cuts.

How silly of me to be mistaken by a bare faced lie and ’emphasis’

Luckily BBC Scotland were there to bail me out and help me the light glowing from Jim’s Halo..

Phew. Emergency averted.

139. Gary

Not long after this Tory MP Said Javid was on. Speaking about manifesto promises he mentioned how they (Tories) voted for £30bn of cuts and, whilst Labour voted with them on this, they have failed to identify where the cuts will all come from.

This is despite stating they’ll adopt the Tory budget as is.

This means that the Tories who put the bill forward, the LibDems, SNP, Plaid and Greens all believe that this was a vote for huge cuts. So, either they are deliberately trying to hide this from the voters for some reason or there has been some TERRIBLE mistake. But Conservative whips shouting “this way for the Tory cuts” as Labour members filed through the lobby with gritted teeth, rather puts paid to that, don’t you think?

140. Midgehunter

Murphy will probably be sitting now in a secret Irn-Bru outlet, eyes bulging, sticking needles into a black voodoo doll and screaming f**k you, f**k you, f**k you ya daft bugger..! 🙂

141. bookie from hell

Jims next plan

Egg II

will get a women FM lookalike dressed in light purple dress,same height as nicola,shouting in a west coast accent “it ain’t 7.6 billion pal”

142. Louis B Argyll

Re backstabbing by labour brothers and sisters.
    Easy gags abound, fair enough, but Shakespeare himself couldnt make it up.

I could say its a comedy of errors..
    If it wasn’t a real tragedy for real socialist leaning people in England & Wales.

Miss Wendy does her brother… Did you say that… Or my punctuation..

143. Les Wilson

This all sounds to me that Labour HQ are giving up in Scotland, as perhaps Slab WILL be a drag on their finances with much less than nothing to show for their efforts. They have accepted their fate.

Goodbye Curran, Davidson, Alexander,etc etc you have been dumped!Those you have followed are not worth following.
    Done just to keep your wages and of course expenses intact you will be on the dole, and I for one, cannot wait to see it.

144. The Man in the Jar

Heedtracker said – “So we need a Save Creepy Jim Murphy campaign.”

Keep the Creep! 🙂

145. Les Wilson

Brian Tayor on BBC just now trying to justify Dim Jim’s “policy” How can he do that? just playing words with the listeners.He is not dumb, he fully knows what has been said, just does not want listeners to know.

Roll on our own Media!

146. John Moss

I’m so confused…Jim Murphy is not in charge???

But he’s the leader of the Scottish Labour Party for God’s sake.

This surely must be some mistake?

Doesn’t UK Labour consult with it’s Scottish Branch office? Is Jimbo not in charge of anything, if so, why hasn’t someone from the UK Labour party told him?

Could it be that they find it as much fun to watch him being a d**k as we do?

147. annie

Bet Jim longs for the days when he only had his own constituency to worry about.

148. Ravelin

Can I be radical and suggest tactical voting in East Renfrewshire for Murphy. Now I know it would mean the electorate there ‘taking one for the team’, but to see Murphy left as the last Labour man standing in Scotland would be even funnier than him losing his seat. The electorate would only have to put up with him for a year at most, because of course, he’ll them be making his successful bid to be elected as FM in 2016.

149. Louis B Argyll

Ha.. Keep the creep….
    Reminds me of.. The one about…

The creep that crept
    Into the crypt..
    Crapped..
    And creeped out again..

150. Now's the Hour

James Francis, come out come out wherever you are so we can get your smug fizzog on TV and see how you respond to THAT one.

tick tock

151. Capella

Just got round to watching the Jonathan Portes interview on BBC news where he backs up Nicola’s plan to grow the economy. Some very good comments below the video explain why austerity is a scam. So if you missed it have a look now. Apologies I don’t recall who originally posted it. Well worth circulating on social media. Ed Balls should know about this!

http://tinyurl.com/qgsnour

152. Malcolm

Rev, we need a “Save Creepy Jim” campaign from now until 8th May.
    2 benefits:
    1) He is a significant asset for the SNP
    2) He would get even more beelin and shouty!!

After the vote he can go and join the vermin in ermine- Lord Jim o’ The Bru perhaps?

153. FairFerfochen

Thank you Brian Doonthetoon 😀

154. Cadogan Enright

@BrianW 4.43

Thank God for for that explanation from BBC Scotlands Brian Taylor then, we all thought that Jim Murphy had been caught out !

Silly us – the BBC saves the day . . . . .

155. Auld Rock

Malcolm, would that be the ‘Bru’ that some posh people refer to as the Dept of Work and Pensions, LOL?

Auld Rock

156. Iain

Well guys,ma bit late to be thinking of changing your “leader” at this stage!

157. Alastair

Murphy has been getting emergency tactics from his mentor Tony Blair and he can now announce he has found another£7.6 Billion black hole that can be launched to destroy Scotland’s economy in 45 minutes.

158. Gary45%

Aye,
    FUD twa Heeds.
    Gary

159. Luigi

Actually, Jim Murphy and Chuka Ummuna are both wrong:

The Scottish first minister, Nicola Sturgeon will be in charge of the UK budget.

160. Robert Peffers

@The Man in the Jar says: 13 April, 2015 at 5:12 pm

“Heedtracker said – “So we need a Save Creepy Jim Murphy campaign.”

Keep the Creep! 🙂

You mean like this : –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycoIbHFIrS4

161. Luigi

Aye, it’s been an absolutely awful 48 hours for Jim Murphy.

My heart bleeds.

162. Aceldo Atthis

Les Wilson says:
    13 April, 2015 at 5:11 pm
    This all sounds to me that Labour HQ are giving up in Scotland…

Actually it shows the Labour Party are lying, two-faced, duplicitous pigs who will say and do anything to get their snouts in the trough.

They want to say one thing to Tories in England (more austerity and cuts for the poor) whilst saying another thing to the Scottish working class (pretending austerity will end in a couple of years).

It reveals an utter contempt for the electorate but more so the Scottish electorate because we all know the truth (years of cuts and making the poor pay).

163. Thepnr

@john king

“101 uses for a Jim Murphy…”
    What about somewhere to park your bike? 🙂

You disgusting cyberthingy!

I’ve heard of tyres leaving skid marks not collecting them 🙂

164. galamcennalath

TNS full Scottish poll

SNP 52%
    Lab 24%

Ohhhh, let it be true! Let it be a prediction!

165. Donald Urquhart

Just read that James Francis Murphy BA Politics (failed), refused STV request to appear on evening news to explain cuts confusion.

Jim, you cannot hide under that rock forever.

166. Robert Peffers

@Malcolm says: 13 April, 2015 at 5:29 pm:

“Rev, we need a “Save Creepy Jim” campaign from now until 8th May.
    2 benefits:
    1) He is a significant asset for the SNP
    2) He would get even more beelin and shouty!!

After the vote he can go and join the vermin in ermine- Lord Jim o’ The Bru perhaps?

No! No! That’s Lord Jim oan the Broo.

167. muttley79

@Ravelin

Can I be radical and suggest tactical voting in East Renfrewshire for Murphy.

You can suggest it, but you would be utterly foolish to actually vote for James Francis Murphy, if you are a supporter of independence, and live in his constituency. It would be basically rewarding Murphy for all his smears, his lies, all his shouting at grannies and the First Minister.

168. desimond

Jim Murphy SLAPPED down – the words of STV news

Lovely

169. Fiona

Donald Urquhart says:
    13 April, 2015 at 5:59 pm
    Just read that James Francis Murphy BA Politics (failed), refused STV request to appear on evening news to explain cuts confusion.

Jim, you cannot hide under that rock forever.

Is that true? Jim Murphy turned down an opportunity to be on the telly?

Is this the end times?

170. Cadogan Enright

@desimond – please post the clip

171. Scot Finlayson

Jim Murphy has become a toxic figure to the Scottish electorate.

Jim Murphy thought that the lies and scare stories, abetted by the BBC and Daily Record, that were spewed out at the Referendum would work again.

Jim Murphy has to resign or face the humiliation of being forcibly removed by London Labour.

172. Onwards

@Mealer says:
    13 April, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Maybe if the Labour Party stopped being so horrible to folk they would slow down their decline a bit.
    ——————-

Maybe if they stopped lying to voters it would help.

First the ‘only the largest party’ guff, when that doesn’t apply in a hung parliament.

Then the whole ‘Project Fear 2’ against home rule within the UK – which they pretended to support before the referendum.

And now Branch Manager Murphy’s lies about no Scottish cuts are exposed.

They deserve to lose every one of their seats.

173. handclapping

Oh dear Andy Coulson trial set back to May 11 after the GE15. Quel surprise!

174. ailsa craig

Hi Capella
    I sent in the Portes youtube video after Nicola’s speech at UCL. It vanished off the BBC records just after it was shown – one look at the manners of the interviewer tells you exactly why. I sent an article about it to Stu but perhaps his PC was not speaking to my Mac. I didn’t see any trace pf a ‘sent’ message and then I guessed my comments perhaps were not acceptable, or I did something wrong. I was surprised because I thought it was a superb interview and the response by the BBC was dreadful.
    I am not on F/B so I left it like that. I would love it – even if it was a few months ago now, for it to be made public. It says it all.

175. Training Day

I felt there were promising signs there from Umunna that, with the right training and attentive mentoring in place, Murphy’s imperial masters in London might entrust Jim with the tea making duties.

For a trial period of course.

176. Les Wilson

Donald Urquhart says:
    “Jim, you cannot hide under that rock forever.”

Do you think it will be the same rock, as the ” Secretary of State for Portsmouth”?

Ok, maybe it would be a queeze!

177. robert graham

well he either knew what was in the manifesto and he continued to lie about it and hope the media would cover his arse or the two eds never told him not sure which one is the more worrying either way jimbos toast

178. onelessday

From Scotnight

retweeted
    Claire Stewart @stvclaire · 51m 51 minutes ago

@JimForScotland has turned down @ScotlandTonight request for interview to explain cuts confusion #GE2015

179. Robert Peffers

On Stv just now –
    Oh! Look! The Wirrel!

180. Juan P

Nicola can take Miliband apart on Thursday with this.

It will be so easy to expose the fact that they are spinning completely different policy in England and Scotland.

If push comes to shove, as Chuka found to his cost, Miliband will maintain the policy line that appeals most to middle England.

Just as Andrew Neil did she just needs to ask him if Jim Murphy is wrong? is he lying? is he misleading the people of Scotland?

Miliband will buckle under the pressure of the truth and blurt out some howlers.

181. Gary45%

Robert Peffers @5.54,
    I can see smurph doing the FUD shuffle to that,…Nice

182. msean

Basically telling the Scottish public that any Scottish Labour MPs will dae as their telt,and will have NO influence in a UK Labour Government.

183. Gary45%

FUD isn’t hiding under a rock,
    he is back inside his tortoise shell.
    Tick Tock.
    Gary

184. DaveDee

ailsa craig,

The Portes interview is excellent and backs up Nicola on her plans re austerity.

This the Youtube link for it, well worth a watch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIWNjldV–8

185. Wuffing Dug

Heedtracker

Tasered and sectioned. Hee hee.

I can actually see that happening.
    He’s going to completely fkn lose it eventually, it was always just a matter of time.

sociopathy / narcissism, now comes the rejection and classic angry reaction. He will do one overseas next after the mess he’s made. Mark my words.

Look at mcternan. Maybe they could swap, murphy to australia?

186. Michael Diamond

Aceldo, dont feel bad about when you used to vote liebour.they fooled me for a few years as well, till i saw through their blatant lies.

187. abystander

Even if he holds his seat, post 7 May, they will sack him.

He is a liability.

188. Patrick Roden

So nothing in Labours manifesto about an extra £1,600 for every School leaver?

Nothing about an extra £1,000 per year on college bursaries?

So what’s going on?

Has it all been Labour Lies?

Did Kesia know Jim was lying to us? Did Maggs Know?
    How about you, Douglas Alexander, did you know Jims promises were lies?

Were the Daily Record in on the lie…YET AGAIN?

Roll on May 7th!

Let’s get rid of the lot of them!

189. Thepnr

November 1st 2014 Jim Murphy launches his leadership campaign.

Jim Murphy formally launched his own leadership campaign in Edinburgh, where he admitted that a “lack of vision” and not listening to voters had led to the party being rejected in previous elections.

DOES IT SOUND LIKE HE IS LISTENING NOW? HE LACKS VISION.

“I want to apologise because twice Scots have said they didn’t think we were good enough to govern in Scotland – in 2007 and 2011. We didn’t listen to them. That has to change.”

HAS HE LISTENED OR APOLOGISED YET? HE IS HARD OF HEARING.

“Let’s be honest, it’s our vision for Scotland. Or more truthfully our lack of vision. We have been rejected and now we need to change.”

HAS HE CHANGED YET? HE IS BLIND.

https://archive.today/YVgJX

Apologies for shouting, hard to make your voice heard when you are being talked over.

190. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“So far I haven’t seen any comments on the disgraceful graffiti daubed on the Labour and Conservative offices in Aberdeen, although there may be comments and I simply haven’t seen them.”

What’s to say? Zoomers gonna zoom. Several Yes campaign offices and shops were daubed with swastikas and “Nazis” last year, and Yes/SNP supporters get called Nazis every day on social media. There are wankers on all sides of everything.

191. Aceldo Atthis

Michael Diamond says:
    13 April, 2015 at 7:31 pm
    Aceldo, dont feel bad about when you used to vote liebour.they fooled me for a few years as well, till i saw through their blatant lies.

Michael, yes, rather than get angry, we need to get even. Easier said that done though eh….

I have prediction for everyone to consider. Actually, to be clear, it’s based on a discussion I had with a stalwart Labour inner-party member fruitcake. It’s the next big lie — on the same scale as the vow — and it’s coming our way. It goes something like this;

Some time soon, and I can’t predict or guess how soon, a big hullabaloo will be made of a split between Scottish Labour and the British Labour Party. The media will play ball and dress it up as a dramatic development.

The newly defined Scottish Labour Party will insist that their policies and people are independent of the UK Labour Party — where similarities exist they will reflect shared interests and ideology.

Of course, it will all be a ruse to win support up here and allow them to argue that they are now a truly Scottish working man’s party, servicing the interests of working families (the usual crap). They will of course be vehemently apposed to Scottish independence and pretty much do everything they done before in terms of propping up the UK Labour Party in Westminster.

The role of the media will obviously be to sell it to the people, just like the vow. It’ll be sold along the lines of “here we finally have a party that truly stands up for the interests of the people of Scotland within the Union and without the excesses of Scottish Nationalism….”

That’s the next big lie and I hope the SNP are ready for it.

192. caledonia

24% of scots must be off their heads to vote for these muppets

nicola needs to ask millobrand if jim is misleading the people of scotland that is better than asking if he is wrong

let scots see they are being lied to and not just a difference of opinion

193. Thepnr

@Aceldo Atthis

That sounds like a realistic scenario, hogwash though it is. Ex-labour voters like myself will have none of it though.

We no longer give a stuff about the “Scottish” Labour party. they can rot in hell with Maggie as far as I’m concerned.

194. Betty Boop

@Aceldo Atthis, 2:23pm

Actually, Mike, I wish it was true but the sad truth is that the Labour Party were never ever true to their principles. …

I have to agree with everything you say in your post. For as long as I can remember, the Labour Party have been self-serving and duplicitous.

You are absolutely right about the welfare state, etc. The Establishment knew that they could no longer call upon ordinary people, suffering little improvement in their lives after two world wars, to fight their wars to keep their privileges and interests safe, so they had to throw a few bones to the general public. Bribes, if you will, to keep them grateful and keep them tugging the forelock.

The general public, unfortunately, fell for the government’s narrative over and over again, be that government Labour or Tory.

I really, really hope that folk all over these islands are waking up and realising that they need to rout the rotten Establishment and make this election count for something.

195. Paula Rose

Thepnr, Aceldo Atthis et al

Is this noo Scottie Laboured thingie going to be up and running in time for the 2016 tick box event?

196. Aceldo Atthis

Thepnr &Paula,

This scenario was based on a reasonably civilised discussion I had with one of their jobs-worth busy-body tools. You have to understand that I am deciphering what he said — he thought the plan was as beautiful as a big beautiful thing with rainbows and sugar on top. In other words, he was unquestioningly shovelling the shit that head-office had concocted.

It’s my reading of it that if such a plan exists then it’s another ploy designed to con the electorate into voting for them again, just like the vow. As for timescales, it honestly wouldn’t surprise me if they wheeled this out before the General Election and I watched with horror today as the apparent gaff made by Jim Murphy in regards to spending plans unfolded.

Seemed like a bit of a fabricated gift, no?

197. ailsa craig

DaveDee

I know. I caught it on the night it was broadcast – and then dumped by the BBC. I sent word into this site but nothing happened and I emailed about it as well as I thought it should be spread amongst the wingers. But I didn’t get a reply. Everything vanished.

I am not on FB but I did tell everyone I knew and let the Herald Forum know. It is a bit out of date now but still think it is worth being well and truly shared It shows that Portes thinks a lot of Nicola, not a lot of Gideon and also the ignorant manners of the Interviewer who turned his back on Jonathan Portes, who certainly will never be invited back on to the Beeb.

198. BrianW

@ DaveDee 07:07pm.

Liked the you tube link to Portes BBC News 24 Interview; concise & non alarmist answers. Just goes to show what deffering opinions are out there. Shame the ones we are usually fed on the media are the HYSTERICAL Space Monsters Are Coming from the OBR.

Be interesting to see if they invite Jonathan Portes back on, or if he’s now black carded.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.