Do not adjust your sets

Posted on November 19, 2013 by

There is no technical fault. This is really happening.

sarwartweets

Anas Sarwar, there, raging about people not voting to abolish the bedroom tax.

Yes, THAT Anas Sarwar.

Don’t pinch yourself. You’re not dreaming. He’s actually doing it.  Go and see.

121 to “Do not adjust your sets”

1. Hazel Lewry

Jeezo … I think I’ve slipped through a rip in the space/time continuum …. Whit reality is this? 

2. muttley79

What is Sarwar on?  What does he think he is doing?  The SNP have no power over the Bedroom Tax as it is reserved to Westminster.  He is talking absolute nonsense.  Anas Sarwar # shameless.

I see Neil Findlay, the supposed Socialist tweeted:

So the SNP and Tories join forces to block the Govan law centre’s bedroom tax petition – hypocrisy of the highest order.  

SLAB have gone mental…

3. Jon

Wow. That’s breath-taking, even for someone used to the daily, bloviating hypocrisy of Republican teabaggers.

4. Smudge

The man is nothing but a lying thieving parasite.

5. muttley79

Can we crowd fund to send him on a one way ticket to Clydebank again?

6. Smudge

I was going to add to my post but I was so angry at this clown that I hit enter.

The contempt rhat this man holds the electorate in is evident by the way he thinks our heads zip up the back

7. msean

Is this a joke?I can’t believe it.

8. Chani

It just proves that Labour have no motive but their own personal gain, to try by any desperate measure to get into ‘power’ at the next election. 
    Red/Blue/Red/Blue/Red/Blue: looking more and more the same these days.

9. muttley79

Will the MSM in Scotland report it?  Sarwar obviously thinks he can act in this manner and get away with it. 

10. Chani

I sent a complaint to the BBC about their article regarding the Labour no-show at the bedroom tax vote last week. Just got their reply.
    They obviously also think it was not a serious issue judging by their reply.

ewsOnline Complaints <newsonline.complaints@bbc.co.uk>

17:39 (2 minutes ago)

to me

Dear Mr Tough

Thanks for your email. The number of Labour MPs who missed the vote was not judged as significant because, according to the party, they had done ‘pairing’ agreements with coalition MPs to not be present (ie: if they had turned up to vote 47 more Tory/Lib Dem MPs would have turned up)

We added a line to the story to make this clear.

Regards,

BBC News website

11. Alex Grant

WE know what he is doing but do the Labour voters in his constituency and elsewhere have a Scooby??? Can someone tell me?

12. Murray McCallum

People know that Westminster introduced the bedroom tax and that the Scottish government can not abolish it. He is surely only drawing attention to his own lies.

Sarwar’s antics are a good example of why so many people do not trust politicians.

13. Weedeochandorris

This circus is getting more and more ridiculous. I can’t believe what these clowns are doing! Surely, somehow, people will put two and two together? I dread to think what this will be like another 6 months down the line. They’re p***ing on the Scottish people with impunity, thanks to the stinking MSM.

14. Les Wilson

He is a weasel !

15. Richard Lucas

The poor man is utterly delusional.

16. naebd

I don’t understand.

Anas wants the Scottish Government to “abolish the bedroom tax”. But the SG doesn’t have control of welfare. Apparently, however, that shouldn’t stop them.

So… given you don’t need welfare powers to abolish the bedroom tax, why don’t Labour councils just abolish the bedroom tax? Seems obvious. Anas, over to you.

17. david

He is a weasel !
    How dare you, weasels are lovely wee things

18. peevedoff

i do not do twitter, like sarwar does,  but could someone go onto his account and ask him where he was during the vote,  the pairing thing is a poor excuse which does not make it acceptable for him to miss a vote that he stood up on tv and said that he would fight to get rid of the bedroom tax…. given the chance he completely failed to even try to tickle it with a feather…

19. Gordon

Lower than a snakes belly that man Sarwar

20. Richard Lucas

ANAS told such Dreadful Lies,It made one Gasp and Stretch one’s Eyes;

21. Tris

You got to give him his due, he’s a hard necked bastard.

22. Peter

He’s a loathsome maggot of a man. A lying criminal turd just like his disgusting dad. 

23. Mary Bruce

He must be really confident of a yes vote next year, giving the SNP the powers to abolish the bedroom tax. It’s the only explanation.

24. muttley79

O/T  Just caught the start of STV at 6pm.  Interviewer asked Swinney why there was not more detail in the report released today?  Nothing wrong with the question on its own.  Swinney looked surprised and said that it was a 200 page report.  However, when she was finishing her piece she again mentioned the lack of detail, and said the White Paper would have to be more detailed!  The journalist paid no attention to Swinney’s comments, and instead repeated that there was a lack of detail.  This line of course is a stock in trade of the No campaign.  Bottom line is the MSM are no longer even attempting to hide their lack of balance.  The No campaign/MSM are essentially one and the same thing. 

25. Jimmuckmc

The Scottish Labour Party had such high hopes for this clown
    now he is a liability in fact an asset to the yes vote

26. The Man in the Jar

@Muttly79

Better Together + MSM + BBC = No Scotland!

27. Stuart Black

I read somewhere, possibly, the Herald, that only 24 of the MPs had pairs, anyone come across this?

Might be fertile ground for digging if true.

28. Edward

Muttley79 – Really did the reporter come out with the ‘not much detail’, feel like sending her a Specsavers voucher as obviously she is having problems reading. Its 211 pages long for god sake

I had a quick skim through, as I’m definitely not a bean counter, I found it hard going without pictures 😉 It IS stacked with details
    Here is the link to the pdf file, perhaps someone can e-mail the idiot reporter a copy and tell her to read it thoroughly before coming out with idiotic remarks like ‘not much detail’

http://www.scotland.gov.uk/Resource/0043/00438277.pdf

29. Macart

I wonder if the poor lad is suffering from selective amnesia brought on from some nervous disorder? He seems to have forgotten completely his part in extending the life of this tax. Mind you its an affliction he suffers from on a regular basis so perhaps a visit to his GP is in order?

30. john king

Two words
    cognitive dissonance

31. kate

If Labour and  Tories/libs politicians can ‘pair’ to  have a day off where’s the point in having a vote on anything when they can manipulate the result?

32. Juteman

Don’t worry folks. This will make a good story for a decent reporter. The papers will be all over him tomorrow.

33. Robbie

Is Anus Sarwar a political psychopath or just plain mad?

34. Sandy Milne

Great campaigning for a YES vote next year. Well done Anas Sarwar keep it up your doing a great job for the YES campaign.

35. george bowling coming up for air

The bbc response to the pairing of mps doesn’t dig very deep – why shouldn’t the opposition mps have turned out to vote and so have forced the coalition mps to do the same?
    The inconvenience of having to turn up and vote makes a westminster measure just slightly less smooth and automatic.

36. The Penman

What I loved was how he knows the bedroom tax is:
    a) a Westminster law
    b) enforced by local councils

and yet Anas calls on the only level of government with no influence on it to repeal it! Ridiculous!

37. Andy-B

Sarwar, trying to take the heat off himself, by blaming the SNP, when infact he should, just crawl back down into the hole he came from,(Der Lamont bunker) because everyone knows what a joke of a politician he really is.

If I where unlucky enough to be one of Sarwars constituents, I’d be severely pissed off at him, though which one of his two faces, I’d say it too would be another matter.

38. Triangular Ears

@Chani “We added a line to this story to make this clear.”

Translation: “We asked our colleagues in Labour for an excuse and covered their backs.”

39. Triskelion

…is this actually happening? It’s so surreal.

40. caz-m

I would like to hear a lot more from the 6 SNP MP’s at Westminster regarding this “pairing”.

They are in a position to expose this practice to a wider public. I mean, if this is a rule, then you could have hundreds of MP’s agreeing not to vote, so they don’t need to turn up, ever.

The UK Parliament has got to be the most corrupt working establishment on these islands.

Surely time for a MAJOR investigation.

41. Horacesaysyes

There is clearly not enough Brasso in the world for this man’s neck! 😮

42. Training Day

@Muttley

The tactic of asking for more detail by Better Together/MSM is a precursor to how the MSM/Better Together will approach the White Paper. Unionist journos – are there any other? – have already trailed the notion that if the WP does not answer every single question – and of course it can’t and won’t – then the entire WP is invalid.

IFS reports making speculative assumptions 50 years into the future are fine with MSM/BT, but watch the hypocrisy of our pathetic journos gather pace as of next Tuesday..

43. HandandShrimp

The chap has proved he is a complete lightweight numerous times. This bullshit simply shows that the kicking he got over not turning up to vote hit home. It is just rather sad bluster to cover his own inadequacies. Findlay is just playing the part of the fan boy in a ra ra skirt. His choice the laughs are entirely his.

44. Brian Powell

Chani
    The brilliant and original journalist, Glen Greenwald, who reported the NSA spying scandal in the Guardian, said, ‘It is not the job of journalists to simply repeat Government and politicians pronouncements as fact. The journalists job is to check information, and if necessary challenge it’.

Advice clearly lost on the trained monkeys at the BBC!

He showed a least two BBC ‘journalists’ how reporting should be done.

45. Desimond

How much is wi-fi in Lahore?

46. heraldnomore

Maybe it’s just that his IQ is even lower than we think it is; perhaps somewhere down at the level of his moral scruples.  Or he’s just thick.

47. EdinScot

Looks like we’re entering the twilight zone.  Sarwar took a spit roasting last week so he puts out his brass neck even further, WTF!  It tells me that the msm has his back and he knows it.  They (the naysayers) know they are getting cuffed even with the massed ranks of the whole British msm on their side cue to Sarwars smoke, mirrors and sheer lies.  It will make public speaking for him nigh on impossible due to his no vote hypocrisy over the bedroom tax.  He is looking for  all the world like the first real casualty of the referendum campaign as he has fatally wounded his self big time. What a sad delusional little man. 

48. Thepnr

I went along with the wife last night to the Five Million Questions debate on “Welfare in an Independent Scotland”

I was warned by my wife not to embarrass her in front of all these people, so dutifuly I kept my mouth shut right until the end.

Michael McMahon Labour MSP was defending the indefensible about the no-shows in the House of Commons in the Bedroom Tax debate.

I heckled him shouting “what about the principle” he kept his eyes on me and amazingly replied that had he been an MP at Westminster then he would have showed up.

They are embarrassed, don’t let them forget their treachery.

49. john king

Juteman says
    “Don’t worry folks. This will make a good story for a decent reporter. The papers will be all over him tomorrow.”

What are you like 🙂

50. david

watching wee wullie rennie commiting political suicide by backing his masters was initially uncomfortable but watching this lowlife do the same is a sweet feeling.

51. JLT

He’s a two faced ******* …he really is!

Guys …if you ever get the chance …EVER …do not let this lowlife off the hook. Demand answers whether he likes it or not, as to why he was visiting a University in Pakistan, when he should have been here, voting to repeal the bedroom tax.

He’s a ******* lowlife…

52. Roddy Macdonald

The petition was voted down because it deals with the same matter as a proposed Member’s Bill. Presumably the very same Member’s Bill that Sarwar promoted Nicola Sturgeon to HM Queen Nicola I for and invited her to give Royal Assent to while waving it around on live TV, even before Jackie Baillie had lodged it as a draft proposal for a Bill in Parliament.
    The man is a complete loon!

53. liz

I made the mistake of clicking on sarwar’s twitter and they are all agreeing with him and slagging the SNP – it’s enough to make you sick

We will get no help from the MSM or the dreaded BBC- it’s been said before but they are beyond disgraceful. They seem to be quite happy to alienate 40% of the population.

It becomes more imperative by the day that we have to escape from this madhouse.
    Did anyone think it would be as bad?

54. colin

Ffs even Fife council call center employees are instructed to inform callers that the bedroom tax is a Westminster imposed tax and that the Scottish government have no influence in its implementation ! 

55. Indy_Scot

With all the goings on with the IFS over the last couple of days and now this, I am beginning to think I might be living in some Matrix like parallel universe where every being f****d up is actually normal.

I hope to God this nightmare ends next year.

56. caz-m

@Andy-B

If Sarwar’s constituents have a problem with him then they should immediately make a complaint to their local MSP.

Oh Jesus, a just remembered.

How unlucky can some people get.

57. Molly

Sorry I’m not thick but don’t understand if one (con ) in Govt wants the bill to pass and the other not in Govt (maybe depending who you are talking to ) doesn’t why would you not refuse to be paired and use your own vote , letting the Con find someone else to pair with?

58. JLT

Liz,
    Did anyone think it would be as bad?

It’s going to get worse. A lot worse! Expect Labour, Darling, Lamont, et al, all to begin foaming at the mouth if the ‘No’ vote begins to drop. I expect them to do an Ian Davidson, and start asking for clauses to be put in place for things such as oil, defence, sterling, etc.

If they feel they are about to descend into hell, then I think this lot, are that twisted …that they would rather see Scotland turn to ash, than see her thrive and become successful. This lot, if they believe that they doomed, will try to take us with them…

59. muttley79

@The Man in the Jar

Better Together + MSM + BBC = No Scotland!

Correct.

@Edward

Really did the reporter come out with the ‘not much detail’, feel like sending her a Specsavers voucher as obviously she is having problems reading. Its 211 pages long for god sake

Yes, she did.  Even in her summing up, which I always thought was supposed to be balanced, or where you state facts, she just gave this opinion.  Nothing to back it up with either.  Watch it again tonight and you will probably get the same report.  Can’t remember her name, looked fairly young.  A disgraceful piece of reporting.

@Training Day

Yes, it is a favorite tactic of MSM/No campaign to keep going on about lack of detail.  Of course it is all lies and deceit.  This is a shameful period in Scottish journalism.  It is reached the stage of being very thinly disguised propaganda.

60. Tattie-Boggle

Anasium a new element which scientist have discovered. It’s properties are it is totally impervious to shame and the truth

61. Cathy mcRorie

Bald faced hypocrite aided & abetted by MSM, you can fool some of the people some of the time but not all. He deserves a slap, after Indy & we get a voice on MSM all who blatantly lied & misrepresented the truth need to be outed & banned.They all need to be outed.

62. david

i agree 100% with cathy mcrorie

63. Douglas

Send in the clowns.  Oops, sorry Anus is there already.

64. James Morton

The man is a shameless liar. And like all liars caught out in the lie, he piles more on thick and fast. Scottish labour are to me, as toxic as the Tories. They are dangerously dysfunctional and unfit for government. I’d rather see the greens take up the mantle of old labour before I’d accept a labour party in power right now.

65. Big Al

I just did a wee rehash of an anas pic I kn ocked up and have now sent it out on twitter. I’m not for letting that shameless, deceitful wee rodent off the hook. Oh, and I sourced back to wingsland.

66. X_Sticks

Someone once told Anas that attack was the best form of defence.

A lesson he has obviously taken to heart.

67. muttley79

Here is a link to that report on STV (from about 1:10 onwards): http://news.stv.tv/politics/249324-scottish-government-predicts-economic-opportunities-in-independence/

Listened to it again.  She says “detail is needed to answer their critics” (SG’s critics) in the summing up.  Which is odd, because the opponents or critics of independence would not be happy with however much detail you might think was necessary.  The White Paper could have a million pages, and they would still find something in it to oppose it.  They are against it because it goes against their interests, whether personal or political.  The reporter clearly frames the summing up with the views of the No campaign. 

68. Craig M

What this demonstrates beyond doubt is that the Labour Party corrupts absolutely. There should be a health warning on the Labour brand. What I think has happened over the last three decades is that Labour has been totally taken over by self serving gangsters. The Labour Party is nothing more than a vehicle for careerists and business people. A fat salary at Westminster, together with business contacts and directorships to those most ruthless. The sad thing is that the many on the lower echelons of the Labour support, from voter up to and including many MSPs are actually quite lacking in insight. They can’t see what has happened. 

So if any Labour supporters are reading Wings, for goodness sake, start waking up. Whether you support Independence or not, your party has been completely hijacked and taken over by extremely unpleasant people. The outcome of this is that vulnerable people in our society are suffering. What are you going to do about this? Ignore it? It won’t go away because these people, Sarwar, Murphy, Lamont, Davidson, and co are going to lie, use you, make fools of you and continue to milk the vulnerable in society.

If you have an ounce of human compassion, if you can recognise what is good and right in public life, then do not be silent. Say something, do something because Sarwar and his colleagues are abusing your trust and support.   

69. Bubbles

The last two days have been ridiculous. How many times and from how many people did I hear on the BBC just how doomed we were given the “evidence” in the IFS version of the next 50 years? And today I heard hardly anything about the Scottish governments ideas of the future which wasn’t book-ended by yesterday’s IFS report.

Luckily the fools in my work insist on listening to Radio Tay all day so no news at all there really, apart from circles obviously. All sandwiched between the ten songs they have on random throughout the working day. Sometimes ignorance is bliss.

70. Edward

Muttley79
    Actually there is a clip with John Swinney being interviewed in which he reminds the female reporter its 200 pages. In a voice over she stupidly says that there should be more information, over a video insert of someone flicking through the 211 pages of the report before cutting to Alistair Carmichael, someone at STV editing has a sense of humour, by including the clip of someone leafing through the report while having a voice over about not enough information
    http://news.stv.tv/politics/249324-scottish-government-predicts-economic-opportunities-in-independence/

71. Dcanmore

Sarwar’s back from the Twilight Zone… or is he still there?

72. Dcanmore

Sorry, I don’t get this. Is Sarwar saying that this bill was mean’t to stop Bedroom Tax evictions in Labour controlled councils? As the SNP councils already don’t do Bedroom Tax evictions, I’m confused.com.  

73. Marcia

Dcanmore
    Even he is confused. Anyone doing a picket this week?

74. muttley79

@Edward

Yeah, that is the clip I linked to in my last post. 

75. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Yes, she did. Even in her summing up, which I always thought was supposed to be balanced, or where you state facts, she just gave this opinion. Nothing to back it up with either. Watch it again tonight and you will probably get the same report.”

Why didn’t the SNP person, whoever it was, just fire back “Have you read all of it?”? Because I’ll bet any amount of money the answer would have been no.

76. theycan'tbeserious

Usually when these arses describe themselves as “proud Scots” they neglect to mention that they are also “WEALTHY” under the present wastemonster system and will say anything to keep their snouts in the trough!

77. Sneddon

Looks like Sawar’s twitter account operates as a echo chamber for him and all his class ("Tractor" - Ed) pals.  Former labour supprters have long memories. we’ll remember where you were instaed of voting 

78. cynicalHighlander

‘Why didn’t the SNP person, whoever it was, just fire back “Have you read all of it?”? Because I’ll bet any amount of money the answer would have been no.’

Quite and this is where the SNP need to up their game rather than being on the defensive all the time.

79. muttley79

@Rev Stu

The odd thing is that she asked the question about detail (which is fair enough) then said it again when she was summing up.  She said more detail was needed to satisfy critics of the SG.  My problem is that this is one of the main tactics of the No campaign, and she appears to endorse it in her summing up.  As a journalist is this not wrong?

80. Wp

Sarwar is a nothing,he’s actually a help to the yes vote. 

81. pro-loco

Judging from twitter feeds on Labour Hame this has been a co-ordinated attempt by SLAB and AS to recoup the ground they lost over the Westminster bedroom tax vote. That they attempt to  equate a committee vote in an arena that has no control over the bedroom tax with the mother of parliaments (with some dog whistle stuff about voting with the Tories thrown in) shows they are playing games – ensuring they have a slogan as fig leaf against the cowardice of their own no-show. 

82. Jon D

All of this is but an innocent and happy children’s tea party in a field of golden buttercups on a cosy summers day. 
    Six months from now it will be darker. 

Let us show them WE are not afraid.

83. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Craig M – I live in a block of flats which is a mixture of elderly folk who need care and others who are able to look after themselves but everyone is above 55years old.

One of the residents is probably the most loud mouthed, sweary shouty complaining man I have ever met. I have ding donged with him earlier this year when I put up my SNP poster in the kitchen window which overlooks the main road into Aberdeen [Mark McDonald election] His response was scream and bellow about how Labour Party is so good and the hatred of the SNP made his walking stick tremble. Bottom line was, unapproachable, argumentative and old Labour to the core.

Last week I got some A3 paper and cut out 3 large letters Y E S which fill my kitchen window visible to every driver headed into Aberdeen.

Today the obnoxious tosspot resident approached me and with a simple quiet word he said. ‘Erchie, I have had enough of these lyin Westminster b**tards, I want them out and am going to vote YES next year’ 🙂

Take heart, even Goliath got beaten.

84. Anne (@annewitha_e)

I think I’ve just lost 50 odd years and found myself back in the playground. This man is utterly shameless if he thinks folk will fall for this ‘it wisnae me’ attitude. 

85. Jon D

“Six months from now it will be darker.”

WHY?  Because the last colony to leave the stagnant remnants of the “British Empire” will go on to be universally recognised as one of the most democratic, fair, just, welcoming and wealthy countries in the world.

Imagine how the thought of that rankles with Better Together.

86. Robert Louis

The man is clearly silly, as the Scottish Parliament has no power to abolish the bedroom tax.  He is also deluded in thinking that by making stupid statements, in some way people will stop attacking him for his truly disgraceful behaviour, but he is wrong on that too.

In many ways, you can state that Anas Sarwar of the Labour party, seemingly epitomises some of the rank stinking nepotism and corrupt behaviour of Labour.  The Labour party that people in Scotland used to vote for no longer exists.  In its place, is a pathetic cloying menagerie of political wannabees, greasy pole climbers and talentless corrupt individuals, prepared to lie day in, day out for personal gain.

The media in Scotland is clearly protecting Labour, and the blatantly biased BBC is just a disgrace.  Such protection, is actually encouraging this corrupt behaviour by Labour, as they now know that nobody in the Main stream media will ever hold them to account 

Our strength is people, and word of mouth – something the anti independence campaign cannot achieve.  Word is geting out, and as soon as people know how much the likes of the BBC, Westminster and Labour are lying to them, they never change their mind back to a ‘NO’ vote.  It is up to us to get the message out, via leaflets and the YES campaign.   I think it is just a waste of time trying to argue with Sarwar, as he is clearly either stupid or deluded.

o/t Aside from Sneakyboys masterly dissection of the IFS report on this site, over on the Business on Scotland site, their is also a thorough trashing of the mind blowingly silly IFS report.

http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/ifs-is-out-of-touch-with-the-reality-of-an-independent-scotland/

87. Fairliered

What about a crowdfunded billboard campaign in Sarwar’s constituency telling everybody – in B I G letters – that he didn’t vote against the Bedroom Tax.
    And another in Davidson’s consituency – preferably outside Govan shipyard – that he has agitated for it to close.

88. Vincent McDee

In the meantime and in the real World….. not the WOS kind, mind!

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/indyref-white-paper-to-be-launched-in-glasgow-not-holyrood.1384886183

“The Scottish Government has been accused of treating Parliament with contempt after it emerged its flagship white paper on independence is to be launched in Glasgow.”

Guess who’s acussing?

89. caz-m

@Craig-m

Cracking definition of Scottish Labour.

“Self serving gangsters”

Brilliant !!!!

90. Vincent McDee

More of the same

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/factfile/idossier-official-reports-polls-and-global-perspective.1384867564

iDossier: indyref official reports, polls and the global perspective

iDossier

Tuesday 19 November 2013

In the first of a new series, here’s a list of useful links to material about the indyref which has been put together by our colleagues at the media resources department in Glasgow’s Mitchell Library. We’ll provide an updated collection every fortnight

Reports
    Uk Government’s security analysis

Risible is something that makes you laugh due to being ludicrous.

91. Paula Rose

@ Archie[not Erchie]
    lovely!

92. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Looks like Sawar’s twitter account operates as a echo chamber for him and all his class ("Tractor" - Ed) pals.”

Hang on – class ("Tractor" - Ed)? Which class do you think he’s in?

93. Vincent McDee

Forgot to mention Mitchell, aka Glesga Central Library.

94. Hetty

Looking forward to the next few days, Slab and the ‘no’ camp are getting desperate now that the white paper is imminent. Sad indeed that slab and the msm along with that lot down in Westminster can actually work against what is meant to be a democratic process so deliberately. They clearly are lacking in having any sort of conscience or sense of responsibility within their role as representatives of what absolutely should be, in 2013, a modern, forward looking and more equal society. Disgraceful behaviour by these people, they need to be ashamed, let’s hope people in Scotland see them for what they really are, greedy, self seeking liars. 

95. Hetty

Not sure if I mentioned before but on bbciplayer is a programme actually worth watching, The Call of the Isles, with Fyfe Robertson, from the 1960s. About 13 mins in he makes a great comment about whisky revenues going to Westminster and that it’s a huge amount. It’s good to watch anyway, only available for five more days. I know I feel a ("Tractor" - Ed) recommending a bbc programme! 

96. Desimond

Why exactly is he heralding “Referendum Co-ordinator” on his Twitter byline…wouldnt have thought it was something he would be thinking of worthy of celebrating.

97. Boorach

It would be interesting if someone who knows their way around the political system could find out just how much he was paid for his lecture and who met the flight/accommodation expenses etc.

can’t imagine it was an act of altruism by one of Westminster’s most practised troughers.

98. Robert Kerr

More subliminal badness. “iDosier” to hark back to the “dodgy dossier” on Iraq.
    Well done Herald.

99. Desimond

Dear Anas…People in Dads houses shouldnt throw stones.

100. david

I think this shows the low level of intellect and common decency of Anus Sarwar. He does not realise he is now a hate figure, probably the most hated man in our country at the moment. Compare him to someone like Richard Simpson, Slab msp saying no to independence but saying it in a respectful decent way, i havent heard a falsehood from him, although to be fair he has not had a lot to say. he wont be seen as a Sarwar though. Anus Sarwar is a careerist and is going to be hated by a huge number of people throughout his life for the lies and expenses fraud he is guilty of. 

101. muttley79

@Hetty

They clearly are lacking in having any sort of conscience or sense of responsibility within their role as representatives of what absolutely should be, in 2013, a modern, forward looking and more equal society. Disgraceful behaviour by these people, they need to be ashamed, let’s hope people in Scotland see them for what they really are, greedy, self seeking liars.

This is a key point and problem for SLAB.  In 2011 they had arguably their worst ever result, getting hammered by the SNP.  Their west central Scotland strongholds collapsed.  Any clued up, sensible political party would have said to themselves, what has gone so wrong here?  What have we done wrong?  We have completely lost the people’s trust.  When the 1979 referendum did not get the required majority, and the SNP got hammered in the general election, the young activists formed the ’79 Group.  This was basically a time for them to reevaluate the situation, and to map out a way ahead.  From the ’79 Group came activists, such as Salmond, MacAskill, Cunningham, Sillars, who would be important figures in the next three decades and more.  By contrast, what have SLAB done?  They appear to have learned nothing from 2011.  In fact they hate the SNP even more now.  Their behavior has deteriorated as the referendum campaign has gone on. 

102. Papadocx

This level of questionable politics and politicians requires investigation. It is  reminiscent of Chicago politics under Mayor Daly. 

Where is the newspapers and broadcasters who are supposed to hold the political parties and politician to account. 

Our press and broadcasters are in bed with some of our political parties? Their lack of truth, turning a blind eye to questionable practices, characters and black arts only allow the putrification and corruption of the political system. Instead of holding the political system to account their behaviour encourages it. The press, radio and bbc are part of the problem.

103. dtr1001

Can we crowd fund some newspaper and TV publicity so we can reflect this duplicity into the MSM?

104. Training Day

It couldn’t be clearer. Vote No and allow chancers and hypocrites like Sarwar to flourish. Vote No for a corrupt media, emboldened by its triumph in securing a No vote and prepared to lie and distort further to remove Scotland completely. Vote No to say to the world that we are congenitally incapable of possessing the self-respect and dignity that other peoples take for granted. Vote No and regret it for the rest of your miserable existence.

105. Andrew Morton

Can we just put to bed the issue of pairing? This is standard practice at Westminster and has been for all my adult life (I’m 62). It is intended to cover MPs who are away on urgent business, government ministers on official duties or MPs who are ill. It does not operate when there are important votes (three line whips).

It’s beside the point in this case. This was a vital matter of principle and the vote was called by the Labour Party itself. This was their chance to show the country how important they considered it to be, particularly after the song and dance which people like Anas Sarwar made about it. They should have cancelled pairing and made sure that every Labour MP turned up for the vote. The result shows that they really don’t care that much as it’s a delightful stick with which to beat both the Coalition annd SNP governments.

106. cirsium

“Crime, once exposed, has no refuge but audacity.”   Mr Sarwar is neither stupid nor delusional. He is demonstrating a profound contempt for the electorate.

107. Papadocx

The scottish Labour Party is in its death throes, make no mistake about that. Their msm broadcaster pals have told so many lies and corrupted the truth they don’t know the facts from fiction anymore. The judgment day is nye, and retribution will follow!

108. Alba4Eva

Don’t knock Sarwar… only Salmond, Sturgeon and Swinney are doing more for Scottish independence than this guy.

109. Patrick Roden

I don’t think we should differentiate between the financial motivation on Labour MPs/MSPs to lie to and deceive the Scottish public, with the MSM lackeys huge financial rewards for lying to us.
    How much do these BBC liars get paid to deceive us? how much does Boothman get paid to sit in Sinclairs pocket all day?
    Follow the money and at the end of the path you will find the modern day ‘Parcel of Rogue’s’
    Like some have mentioned, when we get our independence, we must never ever forget that these despicable cretins have been prepared to see our nation crash and burn, just so that they can continue to stick their greedy snouts in the trough.

110. Papadocx

We are not to wee!
    We most certainly are not to poor!
    Are we to Stupid?  well we were in the 1960’s
                                 well we were in the 1970’s
                                  Well we were in the 1980’s
                                   well we were in the 1990’s
                                    Well we were in the 2000’s
    Are we stupid in 2014? We will have to wait and see?
    When there are enough people who elect politicians of the caliber of Anas  Sarwa ,Johan  Lamont, Jacky  bailey, Magret Curran, Ian Davidson, Ian Gray, Alistair Carmichael, Michael  Devine, etc 
    THEN I HAVE MY DOUDTS. 
    SHEEP LED BY GOATS!

111. clochoderic

Anecdote alert.

A couple of weeks ago i went in my local scheme wee shop for ciggies and beer. The owner was there – a likeable young chap – and when he saw my yes badge he was on it in a flash. His attitude was obvious – head back, eyebrows raised, smirk and folded arms – he asked me why I was a nationalist.

I replied that I had many reasons and then asked him why he was not – he immediately trotted out the shite that had been on the telly that week about Grangemouth so I reminded him that energy was a London gig and it was not our  fault. Eyebrows down.

I then asked him why he thought we should not be independent – the smirk disappeared and he had no real answer, so I asked him what particularly concerned him. He seemed concerned that we were TWTPTS so I took him through a few basics.

The shop assistant Leeanne was loving it seeing her gaffer getting a riddy.

By the end of it I wrote down the name of Wings, Newsnet and Business for Scotland on a dod of paper. We ended the conversation by having a laugh about cunts from Edinburgh..

Two weeks later he is now a reader here and willing to listen …

112. joe kane

It’s all far cry (ie last March just) from when Labour weren’t going to abolish the bedroom tax which they were the first party in government to introduce –
    The bedroom tax is Labour policy – Gordon Brown introduced it for private-sector tenants back in 2008, and the only reason the coalition’s extension of it to social tenants is attracting so much more opprobrium is that the government is pursuing it with such a naked ideological hatred of the poor. Labour has even admitted that were it to be elected in 2015 it would NOT repeal the tax, merely tinker at its edges. 
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/hostages-of-the-bedroom-tax/ 

Also see 35 sec BBC video clip hosted on WOS of Labour Shadow Minister Helen Goodman MP promising last March that a Labour Government wouldn’t repeal the bedroom tax –
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/right-sentence-wrong-crime/

ps
    I noticed some southern Labour activists/supporters attacking the demonstrators who responded to the Scottish Socialist Party call for a protest outside Sarwar’s MP constituency office, over his House of Commons bedroom tax debate no-show, by criticising the SNP who had nothing to do with it. It reminded me of Nigel Farage criticising protesters who confronted him on the High St, Edinburgh, by attacking the SNP who played no part in that either.

113. Jim Arnott

Has this guy Arswar got a screw loose or does his name sat it all?

114. Macart

Could anyone explain to me just why Bedroom tax can only be abolished/stopped with Labour in power (guffaw) in two years time and not with last weeks vote? We know why the SG can’t abolish it or offset its effects by paying the bill year in, year out (which would have consequences just as criminally damaging). But for the life of me I am really fucking struggling with the idea that people gather to vote on something in Commons knowing full well there is no serious attempt to alter any fucking thing whatsoever. To follow this up, as this crawley wee nyaff has with his blatant attempt to offload responsibility is beyond criminal and approaching sociopathic.

Just wondering why anyone bothered to turn up for a vote at all?

P.S. ‘scuse the language. Followed a bit more of this keech on a few sites now and the urge to either punch or retch is near unbearable.

115. clochoderic

FFs – BBC Sotland now furiously downplaying our victory in Norway – they really hate us.

116. Kevin Gibney

OT
    “The Economic Case for Scottish Independence” by Business for Scotland

Join us for BfS presentation and Q & A session from The Glad Cafe & LIVE STREAM and ask your own questions online or ask them in person!

BfS are branching out from promoting the case for YES to business and putting it to the public, so please give your time and help promote this event.

On Tuesday 26th November 2013 join us online or at The Glad Cafe, Glasgow for a presentation and Q & A session with representatives from ‘Business For Scotland’ (Michelle Thomson, Ivan McKee, Eric McLean)
    Find out the real figures and have your say on independence…

Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/1476681122556200/

Brought to you by Scottish Independence Live Events
    https://www.facebook.com/ScottishIndependenceLiveEvents

117. John McKay

Hey Muttley79, leave Clydebank in peace. We’ve suffered enough. 

118. Robert McDonald

Re: Pairing and lists. I can find no actual list but don’t suspect that it’s an ad hoc arrangement done ‘on the fly’ as there are ,apparently pairs who exist for years.
    If it’s any help Mark Tami (Alyn and Deeside) is the opposition Pairing Whip.
    Must be a form of entanglement -quantum physics funnily enough says that entanglement (often of spin!) is where two particles are joined in such a way that when you observe the state of one you affect the state of the other with instantaneous effect.
    First, obviously, you’d have to actually observe Anas Sarwar to affect his alter ego. I didn’t observe him last week that’s for sure. Maybe they are like matter/anti matter and would explode violently if they met?

119. Robert McDonald

Macart: I think I saw a tweet (?) from a Labour chap which explained that the vote really had no power to do anything other than to (they hoped) “embarrass” the coalition. maybe some kind soul could confirm (or not) this?

120. Morag

That is the case, indeed.  If Labour had won, the charge would not have been abolished.

I think even they realise that to claim the whole debate was just a sham so there was no point in hanging around to vote would be a bit more than some of their supporters could take.  It’s the truth, though.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.