Cat released from bag

Posted on April 05, 2014 by

Sorry to keep you hanging on, readers, but we figured it was worth giving the Sunday Times the exclusive in return for getting the story on the front page.

stimespbscot

Please note that this is only the headline Yes/No finding, not the whole poll. Tune in here at 1am for our full analysis of the very interesting Yes/No data.

(We don’t have the tables for the rest of the questions yet).

181 to “Cat released from bag”

1. Croompenstein

This is it..the turning point..steady as she goes let’s keep on doing what we’re doing..no complacency keep going..Yes

2. Alan Mackintosh

Even the horse wants a look- “Neck and Neck” ?

3. MajorBloodnok

Very gratifying indeed to see how effectively the money we raised is being spent. Game on!

4. Ali

My donations to Wings best money I ever spent. Feeling so positive about this poll result. We can do it. But, we need to keep working, build the momentum that will get us over 50%. After that the bigger the margin of victory the better.

Stu hope you are coming home to Scotland if we win.

5. mogabee

Neck and neck fantastic. There’ll be some cross folk on reading that!

Good to be able to comment but page not totally loading for me, anyone else have issues the same?

6. Croompenstein

I see old Curtice gets his neb in, and the obligatory personalising of the FM but the times they are a changing

7. Mary Bruce

Oooh, exciting stuff, but oh dear, another late night. Roll on 1am! This weekend keeps getting better and better.

8. Morag

Holy shit.

9. Capella

Congratulations Rev for making the front page with some good news for YES. It may just be the headline but it’s a good headline!

10. The Man in the Jar

Excellent poll result.I was thinking to myself that we might be even in the polls by June/July.

And a mention on the front page of The Sunday Times. There are going to be a few grumpy faces in Blythswood Square on Monday morning.

By the way I have emailed my Labour MP, MSP and (list) MSP further questions regarding their devolution tax proposals. Just to annoy them! 🙂

11. Taranaich

And of COURSE it’s a wee tiny side column…

12. Ian Brotherhood

Rev,

Seriously, did you ever imagine that you would see your site quoted on the front page of The Sunday Times?

Cochers, McColm, Hothersall et al (especially ‘al’) will not be enjoying this…not one teensy-toty bit.

13. Quinie frae Angus

Great news, Rev Stu. Thanks. Glad to see our crowd-sourced funds have proved useful.

Maybe even worth popping out tomorrow to buy a paper copy of the Sunday Times, to show our approval of their acknowledgment of Wings over Scotland.

And we’d be doing it deliberately!

Just as some of us have been buying Sunday Heralds of late too to show our approval for their far more balanced coverage.

14. call me dave

Welcome back. I’ll be hanging out to the early hours to see the next post.

15. Nation Libre

Excellent, it is going to happen. Can’t wait for the analysis

16. the Penman

And so it continues – piece by piece, person by person, vote by vote. We can win, we should win, we must win and we will win this vote – and in doing so, win back our country.

17. Clootie

Stop teasing!

I want details.

18. Camz

Better Together meeting room requires floor repairs after chins damage laminate finish.

19. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“And of COURSE it’s a wee tiny side column…”

Oh for goodness’ sake. It’s not that big a shift from other recent polls, and it’s on the front page. I think that’s the UK edition too, Scottish one might be bigger.

(They didn’t explicitly promise page 1, just strong coverage. Very happy with that.)

20. heedtracker

David Cameron: “Politicians have done things that are unethical and wrong. I don’t care if they were within the rules – they were wrong” When: May 12, from the Torygraph. But its interesting that Alistair the Flipper Darling is big boss of BetterTogether mess too. That YES headline aint news out here in Scotland:-)

21. Robert Whyte

One small step for the uk one gaint leap for scotland.

22. Andrew Morton

Gutted! Thought we’d be ahead by now . . .

23. frankieboy

Good news for YES campaign and for WoS. Excellent call Stu.

24. Flooplepoop

talk about being on tenter hooks… but i gues i can stay up till 1am.

25. X-Sticks

Tooned!

26. jingly jangly

1 AM, Im on my last legs, canna keep my eyes open, and was just about to turn in. If I go to bed now I wont get to sleep so guess I will need to watch the excellent Scottish Ladies Fitba again that is just starting on Alba just now.

27. Tearlach MacDaid

Ah – thats what we pay you for Stu – fighting the hordes of Spammers, whilst running polls like this.

All moving in an interesting direction.

28. Andrew Abel

Well done Rev, amazing news to come back to!

29. Paula Rose

(um our wee O/T playroom seems to be locked – can you sort it out dear Rev)

30. Ian Brotherhood

‘Rev Stu Misses Taranaich Tongue-in-Cheek Shocker!’

31. CameronB

Front page, eh? Excellent work.

Perhaps the London press are preparing the Home Counties for the unthinkable?

32. K1

I suspect we had already reached neck and neck…there’s just too much evidence on the ground! Good stuff Rev getting that kind of coverage…BT are toast. I like many on here predict a landslide…but no complacency!

33. Edward

Nice Sunday Herald front page as well, mes amais 🙂
    https://twitter.com/newsundayherald/status/452565980183408640/photo/1

‘The Currency cover Up’

34. Edward

Nice Sunday Herald front page as well, mes amais 🙂
    https://twitter.com/newsundayherald/status/452565980183408640/photo/1

‘The Currency cover Up’

35. McHaggis

and I see the Sunday Herald doing a front page splash on how the ‘no currency union’ announcements have no official paper or policy trail, confirming it was yet another cooked up scare story…

This is going to send the unionists into meltdown. Once we reach 50% and people realise they could actually be on the winning side, watch the Yes vote climb even higher.

36. Linda's back

I will watch the BBC /Sky newspaper reviews at 11.30 with interest or will it be brushed under the carpet.

37. twenty14

This finally will make Westminister, London and the rest of the Uk finally wake up.
    Neck and neck with 6 months to go. Think shortly we’ll see the floor crossing at Holyrood. This poll alone will shift even more don’t knows to YES.

The dirtiest tricks in the books are about to be thrown at our Country ….Grip the bar tightly coz we’re in for one hellova ride

38. Aidan

Front page. Imagine Alistair Darling reading that: blinkety-blink-blink-blink…

It’s all change from here on in.

39. StevieMcB

Sunday herald
    The currency cover up! Frontpage

40. Indigo

It’s live on the Sunday times website now for anyone who has a subscription http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/uk_news/ScottishReferendum/article1396930.ece?CMP=OTH-gnws-standard-2014_04_05

41. seasick Dave

Cat released from bag and BT trying to round it up with a water pistol.

Arf!

42. StevieMcB

Ooops
    Edward wi a link

43. heedtracker

Prof Curtice says its yet more evidence that the No attacks have failed to reverse the “narrowing of the No lead.”

In reality they’ve helped it along as Darling, Lamont etc desperately try to make a fool of Scotland. eg Daily Record sez “SCOTTISH Labour leader Johann Lamont vowed yesterday to deliver the “maximum devolution Scotland would want” after the indy poll.” Or none, if BetterTogether get their way.

44. Taranaich

Oh for goodness’ sake. It’s not that big a shift from other recent polls, and it’s on the front page. I think that’s the UK edition too, Scottish one might be bigger.

Knew I should’ve put a smiley face denoting tongue-in-cheek. Here it is.

😛

In all seriousness, of course it’s incredible news! That it’s showing a continuing climb is what I expected, but still brilliant. The fact it’s gotten any coverage at all, let alone Wings being name-checked, is HUGE.

But of course what do we know? According to some, Wings does more harm than good for the Yes campaign…

45. Croompenstein

Well done Stuart absolutely brilliant and crucial..you are right up there now..we’re nearly there 🙂

46. Donald

Do not, do not, do not think we have won already. They will throw everything at us. Some people might think we can slacken off as the momentum is with us. Double, triple, quadruple your effort folks. We will win but we got to keep the hammer down.

47. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Knew I should’ve put a smiley face denoting tongue-in-cheek. Here it is.”

Oh, okay then. I’ve been mildly trigger-happy today. Fucking spammers and WetNats would test anyone’s patience.

😀

48. caz-m

Brilliant news Rev.

Its been a long struggle up to this point, and when we start to get the results going in our favour, then you know it has been worth every minute of campaigning.

This gives you that extra spring in your step, that extra bit of confidence that is needed to carry on the fight.

Even if we were on 60% I would still be out there fighting, converting No to YES.

I will keep going with the same passion right up to 18th Sept.
    Fantastic Rev, what a team!

49. cynicalHighlander

Looks like COBRA will be working overtime.

50. Chris Cairns

Missed Yes Scotland’s Embra’s ‘Super Saturday’ canvassing for the second month in a row (this time thanks to an inconsiderate friend who decided to get married) 24hrs after missing the Wingers do in Glasgow. So I faced a downbeat, slightly guilty evening … until I opened this laptop.
    Now I may just have a dram or two before bed. Ya, as they say where I grew up in Carntyne, f**king dancer.

51. K1

Laughing out loud, the game is up for them! We should do a poll on Monday, after the Times and Herald headlines…it’ll be 70% by then…

52. William Duguid

Game definitely on now.

53. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Do not, do not, do not think we have won already.”

Of course. We’re not even IN FRONT already. I don’t know about you, but I’m not planning slacking off any time soon 🙂

54. HandandShrimp

I fear Ian Murray may be forced to go out and stick two Yes stickers to his window, photograph them and blame those evil WoS types.

Alistair’s head is going to explode over the Herald story though. The leak from the Cabinet Minister was bad enough but that looks like BT’s honesty credibility stakes have just fallen through the floor.

55. Jock Scot

Whilst you are waiting for 1 o’clock..if you have a spare 3 mins or so, Yew Choob offers it’s latest effort which was made as a result of the astonishingly shocking behaviour of SPT..remember them..

youtu.be/ttH8BND1BzY

56. Bunter

What a day, a chat and photo with Nicola in George Sq, a wee bevvy with my pals, and home with a pakora to see these headlines.

A wee hauf is in order noo!

57. Bigdrone

Not sure if sobriety will be focusable at 1 am! Look forward to tomorrow morning’s news and how it will be a disaster for the YES campaign! Steady as she goes guys, no tricks,no stupidity – we’ll get there – Soar Alba…………..Slaint, agus Hic!

58. Bigdrone

Not sure if sobriety will be focusable at 1 am! Look forward to tomorrow morning’s news and how it will be a disaster for the YES campaign! Steady as she goes guys, no tricks,no stupidity – we’ll get there – Soar Alba…………..Slaint, agus Hic!

59. martincoull

“The Papers” on BBC News 24 in 2 minutes maybe?

60. caz-m

Sky News paper review starting at 11.30pm.

61. Taranaich

Oh, okay then. I’ve been mildly trigger-happy today. Fucking spammers and WetNats would test anyone’s patience.

No worries, Rev. WetNats are probably the worst of all precisely because you’d think they, of all people, would have a bit of perspective. I have zero reservations promoting and suggesting Wings Over Scotland – in fact the lone leaflet I managed to hand out yesterday was the “Aye Right!” leaflet to a Yes voter who wanted to give her No-voting daughter some material to consider, and I specifically pointed Wings out. It’s a wee thing, but Wings is going to come under attack even more as the months come on.

Us regulars cannot afford to give even an inch. Every attack on Wings is not only an attack on the Rev, but on the dozens of other authors, on us, on every Yes voter, on the very idea of holding the media to account, based on a big fat ad hominem. There is zero justification for ignoring facts, news and evidence because of something that has nothing to do with the debate at hand. Because every concession will be used against us.

WetNats might think they’re being “reasonable” in comparison, or that they’re trying to achieve an equitable consensus – but they don’t have the luxury of dealing with people with the same motivations. If you post attacks on Wings, you’re not going to appeal to more reasonable No voters, you’re just going to be retweeted by Unionist trolls and worse. You’re not contributing to the debate, you’re letting the other side dictate the terms – and the other side have proven how they want the debate to go.

OT: I’m really sorry I missed the meetup yesterday. Hope I can make the next one! You guys all sound like fantastic fun.

62. Edward

A warning, though its good news, its not there yet and there is a hell of a lot to play for. It WILL get tougher and everyone must up there game and not get complacent

As they say ‘it ain’t over till the fat lady sings’ and she isn’t due to warm her vocals until the 18th September!

63. Doug Daniel

Aye, rathet than folk easing up, this should give us the impetus to campaign harder than ever. It’s within our grasp, folks. We are actually going to do it. We’re going to do what people scoffed at for years and decades. But why settle for a 1-0 win thanks to a cheeky injury-time own goal? Let’s fucking pummel them.

64. Bigdrone

I’m not sure if complete sobriety will be focusable at 1am so I look forward to tomorrows news and headlines and how much of a disaster that news will be to the YES campaign. Steady as she goes, no tricks and we’ll get there………..Slainte, agus Soar Alba, oiche mhaith, agus, hic!

65. geeo

Fantastic stuff, massive well done to everyone, BT knew this day was coming a long time ago.

BBC news doing the front pages just highlighted women on the frontline story…choking mad !!!
    Big lol

66. Patrician

47% very interesting, I read some psychology research a few years ago that showed an idea gets critical mass when it reaches 46% of the population. The next move after this is a big shift to the new way of thinking as it gains legitimacy with the population.

This is somewhat similar to the “Tipping Point” theory but argued the tipping point was at a slightly lower figure. I hope they got it correct.

67. The Man in the Jar

@Bunter
    Paroka!

68. Findlay Farquaharson

long day stu, you will sleep tonight, awesome.

69. Thepnr

Well well well, our first poll went totally unreported. Our second poll raised some interest. This, the third poll makes front page of the Sunday Times no less.

Wings has gone mainstream!

Now Rev don’t let that go to your head, now your part of the MSM you realise that you are still the only part of the MSM that is on the side of right.

Right is Might. Wings is proof of that. I’m a happy chappy.

Hello LobbyDosser and Dave xx

70. Andrew Morton

Watching BBC Papers discussing Sunday Times now. will they mention itL

71. Taranaich

@Doug Daniel: Aye, rathet than folk easing up, this should give us the impetus to campaign harder than ever. It’s within our grasp, folks. We are actually going to do it. We’re going to do what people scoffed at for years and decades. But why settle for a 1-0 win thanks to a cheeky injury-time own goal? Let’s fucking pummel them.

My mam’s always felt this way: she’s not campaigning for 50% +1, she’s campaigning for 100%! She wants every man, woman and child in Scotland to be pro-Yes simply as a matter of course, for the psychological wellbeing of the country. Given the positivity and optimism we see all the time, why wouldn’t we want everyone to feel that sense of excitement and joy at the sovereignty within us all?

That’s why we’ll win. We don’t just want to scrape a victory so we can win a referendum: we want to shape a nation, and everyone should have a hand in its future. That’s what a Yes vote means.

72. Andrew Morton

Nope, they studiously avoided all mention of it, instead they lingered over a wee story in the opposite bottom corner about fuel.

73. Debbiethebruce

Looking goog Stu!

Had a great super saturday on the YES Musselburgh stall today,all smiley faces and most voting YES.

All the dont knows wanting more info from us,and no abuse from NOs either just a shake of heads.
    The tide is turning…..

74. K1

@Bunter
    Snap…got a photo with Nicola today too 🙂

75. Aidan

For the first time in my life, I’ll go and get a copy of the Sunday Times along with the Sunday Herald – that’s if the hordes of cybernats don’t get in ahead of me and buy them all up.

If positive or even just truthful coverage of the YES campaign gets linked to a notable rise in sales, the newspapers might just start behaving like commercial organisations and print more Indy-friendly stories.

Pigs might fly, you say, but flying squirrels already exist, remember. Wings is on the front page of the Times in a story that has YES and NO officially neck-and-neck.

If the Union is starting to look like a lost cause and the BT brand is becoming increasingly toxic, a section of the MSM could start to present Scottish stories in a fair and even-handed way (every other day, if there’s money in it). Anything could happen.

76. Debbiethebruce

I meant Good not goog!

77. caz-m

No mention of it on Sky News.

78. Thepnr

@Doug Daniel
    “Let’s fucking pummel them.”

Totally agree, build on our momentum, keep going until the vote.

Me? I’m just warming up. My friends, family, neighbours and colleagues have no idea of the tsunami heading their way.

79. geeo

Again, apologies rev for posting twice, thanks for tidying that mess up.

No surprise BBC paper review went with the women on front line story and the wee tiny bit about diesel being worse than petrol.

Shameful until the bitter end I guess.

Just spent a few hours on the Scotsman comments pages trying to educate them, helped by a fair amount of Yes guys.
    No abuse, just giving them some of your quality information, even directing some of them to come over and have a look at the other side of the argument rather than just relying on MSM biased opinions.
    Then I come on here and read this piece, brilliant !

80. geeo

Sky news paper review talking about the headline now.
    Fairly positive.

81. jingly jangly

Sky news press review, discussing the poll now, their dumfounded, we are too stupid to realise that we are better together about sums up their spin on it!!!

82. Jamie Arriere

Almost close to the sampling error margin of +-3%, and on the front page of a London Sunday paper,with 5 months left…

It’s coming yet! Don’t let up.

83. Linda's back

The UK establishment’s complacency is astonishing as no one on BBC or SKY paper reviews commented on the Sunday Times front page neck and neck referendum opinion poll which has massive negative implications for Ruk’s horrendous national debt and annual balance of trade deficit.

84. jingly jangly

Don’t know whats happening with comments, a few folk tonight have double or treble posted, see I have managed to do a treble and that’s without a drink in me 🙂

85. caz-m

@Doug Daniel

“Let’s fucking pummel them”.

Right with you Doug.

And I think you should be Scotland’s first Foreign Diplomat.

86. Indigo

Sky news discussion re the papers was fascinating – when is the London media going to wake up and take seriously what is happening here? The international media have started to understand but there’s ‘none so blind as those who will not see’ – well they’ll see very clearly on 19th Sep, but they’re likely to be incredibly confused by the result

87. Ravelin

Onwards and upwards I say. Well worth giving the story to the Sunday Times to get it, and a mention for the website, on the front page. If we all continue to work hard at it there’s gonna be one hell of a countrywide hangover on Sept 19th, 20th, 21st….

88. heedtracker

Its such a great lol read. Lynton Cosby(son of Bill) and future PM Bojo say BettertogetherUKOK and the Flipper are “lacklustre and too negative.” They left out lying through their teeth but its still fun.

89. Meindevon

Gggrrrr! Press review on sky news on the Times article. Scotland is ONLY changing to yes because Salmond says it is being bullied….and the argument from BT is too ‘cerebral’ for Scots, it needs to be more ’emotional’. Sooooo patronising!!!

90. Ronnie

According to the Sky News paper review, it’s all to do with our ’emotional response’.

You want emotional?

Well, politeness forbids…

91. Aidan

@Meindevon
    What does ‘cerebral’ mean?

92. Training Day

Who’s up for a sweepstake? Which BBC stooge will be the first to say tomorrow that ‘polls still show NO substantially ahead’? Gary Robertson? Glen Campbell? The first sap who”s on duty at 6am?

93. Morag

Do not, do not, do not think we have won already. They will throw everything at us. Some people might think we can slacken off as the momentum is with us. Double, triple, quadruple your effort folks. We will win but we got to keep the hammer down.

I have not yet begun to fight. My fight is starting with the clocks change and the chance to get papers and other literature to the farms and isolated homes. Not so much compared to some, but every vote counts and if BT ever get a live breathing body to some of the places I go, I won’t believe it.

Every voter counts. And the better the polls get, the harder I will work. Like everyone else I imagine.

94. Quinie frae Angus

Aidan at 11.42pm

I think you’re dead right. That’s exactly what’s going to happen. Maybe not now or even next week, but it will happen. They won’t want to appear to be on the losing side.

Silly clots, though. They could have been right onto it from the start.

Better late than never. But most of us won’t be forgiving or forgetting any time soon, the cynical lies and manipulation they’ve pumped out that have made this such a hard-fought and all-consuming struggle.

So yes, I am prepared to buy paper copies, for now, to show my approval when they act like a decent and balanced Scottish press.

But I will never again trust what I read in ANY paper, nor what I watch on ANY broadcaster. I will always be looking for the vested interest. I think most of us will.

95. martincoull

Sky news reviewer’s comments: I find that quite encouraging because it shows that they just don’t get it. The Unionist’s argument will never win because they just don’t understand why people would vote yes and therefore don’t know how to counter the Yes campaign.

96. HandandShrimp

I would imagine Ken and Angus will discuss this tomorrow on Headlines, the Times being Angus’ paper and all.

97. Dave McEwan Hill

I have always felt that once we reached the mid forties in the polls we are in a winning position. This is because on all polling evidence the YES vote is much likelier to come out on the day than the NO vote and the voting differential gives us about a 10% lift. So I would suggest that today’s Panelbase figures would be reversed on an actual poll.

On top of that we will have an army of over 30,000 on the streets in the approach to the election and on election day and Better Together team have nobody (unless you count the wee nippy faced old ladies who look as though they have just discovered that the burglar had a shit in their kettle before he left).

So the question is – what will they hit us with now? They have so overdone the scaremongering that most off it is now shrugged off by sensible people. The continued demonisation of Alex Salmond will stagger on but I think this is now becoming offensive to many decent people. (My very effective response now to anybody who expresses dislike of Alex Salmond is “have you ever heard Alex Salmond say a bad word about anybody?”).

I suspect a sheep will have to be smuggled into our leaders bed or something similar. Watch this space

98. Thepnr

Patronise me or many other Scots I know and your likely to land on yer arse.

No English psychologist has yet managed to solve that puzzle.

PS They think we’re English also, 0/10. Dunderheeds.

99. Dcanmore

First Alistair Darling was criticised by the Tories and their media for being feeble, then recently it was leaked that the ‘no to a Sterling Zone’ was cooked up by Darling and not the Treasury or No.10, then he becomes increasingly detached and isolated and now the beans are spilled in The Sunday Herald. ‘Patsy’ comes to mind 🙂

100. Erchie

This morning Graham Norton had Rory Bremner on as a guest on his morning Radio 2 show. Graham Norton was following a line of questioning about would Rory Bremner get back into political satire (he’s doing acting just now) especially with the 2015 General Election coming up.

Rory Bremner mentioned that, of course, the Referendum comes first and Mr Norton almost started with the notion impinging on his consciousness. To be fair he tried to correct his omission, but if he is any indication of a certain circle then there is a definite “it won’t happen” complacency down there

101. bunter

Cant wait for Andrew Marr tomoz, if only to see the first Sunday review of the London Times back page.

102. Paula Rose

I expect we’ll be back to border posts, no sterling and a few squirrels for a while yet.

103. geeo

The fact sky news mentioned it at all is good imo, BBC simply ignored and disrespected it completely.

I believe as it becomes clear we are heading for victory, the media will change its tune and start attacking BT for not being positive enough to keep the union.

Then it is only a short hop for them to get behind an independent Scotland “the most” to try gain favour amongst Scots so they can sell their copy.
    I am surprised advertisers have not had something to say about alienating Scots from buying their copy, and therefore diminishing their advert views to their detriment.

Maybe that is for a later day ?

104. kendomacaroonbar

I am guessing that this currency and poll news must be AT LEAST a 7 on the *Murray Sticker Scale* (TM) to Naws ?

105. caz-m

And to think we haven’t waved a Saltire in anger yet.

We have still not hit true election mode yet. With all the summer events still to come, better weather, longer brighter nights, that feel good factor.

We even have the England flag flyin over Downing St to look forward to.

Loads more, better stop getting carried away.

106. The Man in the Jar

I got this email from my local Yes group. Apparently Yes North and South Lanarkshire have organised a Yes in the park event in July at Strathclyde park.

I haven’t seen it mentioned elsewhere so I thought I would post it.

An opportunity for a Wings stand (anyone got a gazebo?)

We are very excited to announce that, in association with M&D’s, Scotland’s Theme Park, Yes groups throughout North and South Lanarkshire will be holding a rally in Strathclyde Park on the 7th of June.
    Yes in the Park will be a fun family day with music and speeches, face painting and balloons, burgers and beer (other food and drinks will be available!) and much much more!
    The event is fully organised and funded and you can get more details at http://www.yesinthepark.net where you will also find a link to register for your free ticket, allowing us to monitor numbers.
    Please like the Facebook page and follow the Twitter page – @yesinthepark
    Share this with your friends, let’s get the message out there and get as many people there on the day as possible.
    #YesITP

http://www.yesinthepark.net

107. HandandShrimp

Erchie

To be fair, Graham isn’t even from the UK so I guess he may be forgiven for mixing his dates up.

i continue to be surprised at how low key the EU elections are. We will all be off to the polls in 6 weeks.

108. The Man in the Jar

Oops thats June not July.

Hey its late!

109. Patrician

@ Dcanmore, 12:14am

I wonder what odds the bookies are giving for Mr Darling to be reassigned before the middle of May. Alistair, “beware the ides of May”. I have always wanted to work that saying into a relevant post on any site :-), well it is more classy than “infamy, infamy, they’ve all got it in for me”:-)

@ Dave McEwan Hill, 12:12am

“burglar had a shit in their kettle before he left”, I think this is copyright Kevin Bridges. 😉

110. Papadox

Excellent pointers, steady as we go.

The no numpties have nothing positive to offer, only fear, lies, deceit and MP expenses tricks.

They will have to try bribery or resort to the black arts departments of state. Nothing will surprise me as their whole little world is under threat. Do not under estimate them or how low they could go to protect their wealth and power.

Keep your guard up and don’t let up till the battle is won.

111. bunter

Went to Ladbrokes today, 5 to 1 on a YES vote over 55%. Think its narrowed quite a bit, but Im sure the folks on here could confirm.

112. caz-m

England will wake up on Friday 19th September 2014 and Scotland will be gone. Free of Westminster Rule, as Margo wanted.

That is the first that the majority of English will know of any referendum.

They are so far behind what is actually happening in Scotland, it is embarrassing.

113. Stevie

A 3%+1 vote swing and it’s ours if I read the poll of polls correctly

114. John

We must keep the moral high ground, we must get into a slagging match.
    I am part of yes provan and English. We must win the argument because better together are wrong and not because we hate anyone.

115. Fiona

The mindset was clearly demonstrated in the BBC news report today about Cameron’s speech to his troops. The presenter said his speech was all about elections and how to win them: and listed them like this

First there is the European elections; then the Scottish referendum; and then the big one, the General Election.

They cannot help themselves

116. caz-m

Sky News press preview repeats again at 12.30am, am watchin it again.

117. Andy Xn

The odds on a yes vote are shortening , 32red has suspended betting on yes at the moment

118. caz-m

Bunter

I got 6/1 on Tuesday. put £100 on over 55%.

Last Sunday it was 7/1.

Now 5/1.

119. Grouse Beater

Watching British television this week you’d never know Scotland’s First Minister was visiting successful Scots companies in New York.

Newspapers are more interested in the heavenly sweet and so obviously traduced Nigella banned from entering the USA.

The reason an encouraging Yes poll is on the front page of a Right-wing newspaper is because our friends in the south are flashing a warning not celbrating democracy at work.

Good to see how its balanced by yet more sleaze in the House of Commons.

120. JillP

Sky newspaper review on again now.

121. bunter

Mon the Sunday Herald. The only paper I will buy.

122. M4rkyboy

Mmmmm,Pakora.
    The best Pakora in Falkirk is from Kings-crispy,fluffy and a healthy portion with a creamy,spicy sauce for dipping…amazing.
    Good news in the polls as well,i see.But that Pakora…:p

123. Dave McEwan Hill

Bunter at 12.29

Yes it was at 7/1 a month ago and then went 6/1, 11/2 and now 5/1. Still worth a bet but I suspect it will soon be at 4/1.
    I’ll beintersted inwhenthey introducea n over 60% price.
    I note the 5/6 on 41% or more is gone too and is now 4/6.
    A Yes win on Ladbrokes is now in to 0/30. I got it a while ago at 6/1.
    Get on now. The odds are contracting.

124. Paula Rose

With all the bets you boys are laying – you do realise that the rest of us are expecting one hell of a party with the winnings?

125. Aidan

@Dave McEwan Hill
    “I have always felt that once we reached the mid forties in the polls we are in a winning position.”

It’s like when you’re climbing a mountain in the mist and you reach a ridge just as it all clears. The sun shines and you get a good view all around.

Then you look up at the real peak rising above you and the path ahead is extra-steep and boulder-strewn, as you knew it would be. It’s going to be a hard slog but now exhilaration takes over.

YES is steadily ascending. We will all keep going, all the way to the summit. The view from the top is going to be worth it!

126. bunter

caz-m

Aye 5 to 1 in Ladbrokes Gordon St today!!

127. M4rkyboy

The bookies odds don’t reflect the probability.You are getting a massive overlay at anything more than 4/6.
    The actual abstracts ‘independence’ and ‘union’ are equally compelling notions.
    It’s more like a coin-flip that someone will pay you 5/1 on.
    Just look at the Quebec result for an idea of how something like this should pan out in theory.
    But in actuality the abstracts come with the caveat ‘Scotland independence’ or ‘Scotland union’ and it is this that is being contested.
    Better together have to rubbish not independence but Scotland independence and we all see how this is working out for them.

128. Andrew Morton

@Debbie_the_Bruce

Will you be there tomorrow (Sunday)? If you are I’ll come along and lend a hand!

129. Ian Brotherhood

I’ve got £76 here from Ronnie’s Raffle last night.

I asked this over on Off-topic, but should perhaps ask it here, right now – what do I do with this dosh?

If I can still get 5/1 at Ladbrokes, does anyone object if I stick it on 55+% Yes?

As to what to do with the winnings? we can sort that on Sep 19th…please, let’s not go all ‘committee’ on this, eh? If I get three straight ‘Yesses’ from folk who actually bought the raffle tickets then I’ll place the bet tomorrow, before the odds tighten further.

Is that fair enough? If anyone has any obs (i.e. ‘objections’) please state them now, or forever elsewise hold your proverbial…Ronnie, whatcha think mucker?

130. Morag

Hey, it’s 6th April. Scotland Day. The anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Arbroath.

Happy Scotland Day everyone.

131. Thepnr

Get it on Mister B

132. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers mister.

That’s one…

133. Erchie

@Handandshrimp

Mr Norton lives in the UK a fair amount of time and often talks about his socialising, suggesting that he stays in the UK rather than commutes from the Republic.

he didn’t get the date wrong, it just never occurred to him. Not in his consciousness until he was reminded.

Otherwise he might have asked Rory Bremner, who originates up here, if he was doing anything about that.

It’s a small thing I know, but I think it indicative.

134. jingly jangly

Ian Brotherhood

Great Idea, get it on. That should buy at least one round on Sept 19th!!!

135. Grouse Beater

Ian

Is Ladbrokes your only recommendation, or the only “shop” offering any reasonable odds? (will place bet next week)

136. JillP

I found the discussion on the Sunday Times article quite reassuring. They admit they thought we would all vote a resounding NO.

They are blaming the swing on Alex Salmond telling us that WM are bullying us. But if the FM has this amazing power to make everyone change their minds by telling us we are being bullied, what other powers does he have? Soon the penny will drop. Surely they can’t really continue to believe that AS has this amazing power over us? They are supposed to be journalists. They should investigate this wonderful power!

137. Morag

Rory Bremner was more like Tony Blair than Tony Blair was, latterly. He should have played him in these TV dramas, really.

138. TJenny

Ian – a big OK for the bet from me if OK with Ronnie. 🙂
    (Hope this posts)

139. patrician

Go for it Ian, I am sure no one will complain after such a good night last night. however, after 19th September, first celebratory drink is on you 😀

140. Ian Brotherhood

@jingly jangly –

Cheers – that’s two…

@Grouse Beater –

I’m not much of a gambler/punter, and not up to scratch with odds across the board, but Ladbrokes is the one I happen to have been watching…better odds may be available, in which case I’d be happy to hear about them soonish. If you’re seriously considering a wager, I’d do it soon. Seriously.

(Scottish_Skier, where ur ye? If you had this £76, what would you do with it?)

141. Aidan

Do it, Ian. I won’t be placing any bets on the outcome myself so it will be fun to have a vicarious stake in one.

142. Paula Rose

Love it – Ian buys a drink for every child, woman and man in Scotland xxx

143. Lobeydosser

@Ian.
    Go for it with the raffle money. Splendid idea 🙂

144. Ian Brotherhood

@T Jenny & Patrician –

Okay, that’s it – three, and four, and it’s happening as soon as I can do it. Will report on the odds as and when, and remain open as to suggestions on what to do with the dosh.

Right now, if the odds don’t shift before I drag meself in there? £76 @ 5/1 would net us…hmm, let me see, tap, tap, tap, erm, about £456?

I don’t know how much Dick Gaughan charges for a gig, but maybe he’d do a heavily discounted one-off ‘Wings Special’ if we asked him very very nicely?

Just a thought…

145. Paula Rose

Ian – now you are talking xxx

146. Paula Rose

City Hall in Brechin – pretty please.

147. CameronB

Ian Brotherhood
    Hate to be contrary 🙂 but what about establishing a contingency fund with the dosh? Just a thought.

148. Dave McEwan Hill

As last minute loss of overnight billet prevented me getting to Friday night’s do I wonder of Wings will be going to YES in the Park on 7th June

149. Thepnr

Ok Ian

I’ve just been on the phone.

The Proclaimers want their bus fare fae Auchtermuchty.

Annie Lennox wants you to pay for the babysitter.

Sean Connery wants a gold wings badge, I explained there wasn’t enough in the kitty for a gold badge so he accepted a wee enamel one would be alright.

The rest of the money is to be spent on a cairy oot.

150. Patrician

@ Dave McEwan Hill, 1:32am

I am up for it in June at Strathy, anyone else wants to chip in?

151. Patrician

Damn, no edit function:-( I meant I am up for manning a Wings stall at Strathy.

152. Dave McEwan Hill

I think I’ll have no problem bringing bus load from Dunoon to Strathclyde Park

153. Craig

Ian Brotherhood, in my view any spare funds are better spent now or before 18th September on the Yes campaign.

154. Andy Xn

Ian

check here for the odds

http://www.oddschecker.com/politics/british-politics/scottish-independence/yes-vote-percentage

you might be better with spreading it over a yes , yes over 55% and yes 55% – 60% , with three singles three doubles and a treble

155. Andy Xn

sorry 50%-55%
    should have read

156. Ian Brotherhood

See what I mean?

It’s always money, money, fucking money…

Look. I’ve got this dosh. It came from people who bought raffle tickets last night. I now have to dispose of that dosh, and it’s up to the people who bought the tickets to decide what to do with it.

I can’t monitor the site every day to see what everyone says, and double-check real names against whatever people use here and/or what they wrote on tickets last night.

If I don’t get an explicit objection from someone who bought one of those tickets – or from Ronnie – by the end of play tomorrow (midnight) then that £76 is getting placed on a Yes win (whichever odds seem best, at whatever bookie I can physically access) first thing Monday.

And if anyone really wants to dispute this further then I’ll donate it to the South Stevenston Scrumpy Samplers Society (SSSSS).

157. scaredy cat.

Ian

I was there and I bought some tickets. Happy to go with a crowd-funded bet as I’d like to place one myself but don’t know how.

158. john king

Anyone else see that idiot on SKY news studiously avoiding any mention of the poll while he held up the times front page this morning highlighting that 80% of tories want Mria Miller sacked,

159. Dorothy Devine

Put the bet on Ian – ask a seasoned gambler about the bookies and the odds.

And well done to Ronnie for putting up the raffle prize !

160. Quinie frae Angus

I’m with Scaredy Cat.

I bought raffle tickets too and am happy to let Ian decide what he bets and how he bets with the money!

I too would like to place a bet but have never been inside a bookie’s and don’t know how to do it!

161. Robert Peffers

Ach!
    For the first time in years I went to bed before midnight as I was under the weather with a virus and this poll result news breaks.
    Sheesh!

On the other hand I ran off a few copies of the historic UK rip off of Scottish revenues and the result of handing them to a few BT supporters was instant and enlightening.

162. Dave McEwan Hill

Andy Xn at 2.02
    Can’t do that Andy. He could do three single bets but you can’t do doubles and trebles on “contingencies” or bets which contradict each other.
    You can’t for instance do a double – Raith Rovers to win the Ramsdens Cup and Raith Rovers to win by 2/1. That is a contingency. And you can’t have a winning double on them to win 2/1 and 3/1 as they can’t do both

Stick the money on, Ian. There’ll be no shortage of good ideas what to do with the winnings on 19th September.

Ladbrokes are the only bookies offering odds on specific percentages at the moment. As long as you don’t go in brandishing a concealed pointy object with a pair of tights over your face you’ll get decent welcome (and probably a cup of tea, ladies). They’ll be only too happy to show you how to hand over your money on a a bet (the bookies are going to the wall at the moment)

163. Jim Bo

What a pleasant way to start my Sunday morning. Great job with the front page Rev!
    I also bought raffles and would be more than happy for Ian to place that bet.

I decided to change my user name to Jim Bo as I realised there was another Jimbo. Sorry for confusion Jimbo!

164. Appleby

“Morag says:

Holy shit”

What she said. 😮

165. Nick

Wow! nice double whammy on the front page of Yes getting neck and neck with the no vote next to MP’S CAN’T BE TRUSTED!!!!

166. africraig

Great news! This is my first comment on Wings, but I have been following them for a few months now, I have been a Newsnet follower for a number of years now, but I am enjoying the pro-independence slant from Wings, Bella Caledonia and Newsnet. Thanks very much for the balance you bring as I follow the debate from Uganda.

167. Muscleguy

@Jamie Arriere

That is not how margins of error work. The gap is 5%, if the margin of error is +/- 3% then the two errors overlap now (+3 on Yes, -3 on No, overlap by 1). So we are within the margin of error so could well have parity as far as any individual poll can tell.

Unless the pollsters start massively increasing their sample sizes, and making them much more representative (difficult and impractical) then the margins of error will remain the same as the gap (measured by the median points) closes.

We are not there yet, but BT are getting seriously twitchy because of the above. Professional politicians take poll accuracy with grain of salt from long experience. BT know we are neck and neck.

168. Dick Gaughan

@Ian Brotherhood at 1:18 am:

I don’t know how much Dick Gaughan charges for a gig, but maybe he’d do a heavily discounted one-off ‘Wings Special’ if we asked him very very nicely?

A special “Wings” gig? As a committed cybernat, I wouldn’t take much persuading 🙂

(If you’re serious, email me at dg at dickgaughan.co.uk. Sometime in July would be good, I’m pretty stretched until then. No fee involved for a gig like that. You could use the dosh to hire a PA and cover my petrol.)

169. Dave McEwan Hill

Dick Gaughan at 12.17

A “Band Aid” type job on The Freedom Coma A Ye in George Square or Glasgow Green,with anybody who’s anybody contributing, sounds like the gig to me.
    Am I starting to repeat myself?

With PM John McLellan of Dunoon having written the tune I’m sure we could get ahuge Dunoon contingent to it.

170. Jeannie

Tickets booked for Strathclyde Park in June.

171. kininvie

@ian brotherhood
    @ Dick Gaughan

Well Ian, that’s obviously you up for another organisational extravaganza! If you need any help, financial or otherwise, just shout.

Thanks Dick, mighty generous offer!

172. MJS Dundee

If we account for the ‘official’ polls ignoring all the newly registered electors being disproportionally of our ilk, we could well be ahead and by a decent margin by now. (Well done RIC etc).

Well done Stu on organising this one however. We’re after a landslide rather than +1 and to get that we need to see the official polls giving comfort to the wavering that they’re on the winning side with a ‘Yes’.

On the music thing, I wonder if there’s any chance of getting George Michael to do a 2nd revision of … , ‘Freedom 2014/16’ sounds about right to me.

173. James Dow

Encouraging news for all of us Scots in The Great Scottish Diaspora. We are holding on to the hope that our fellow Scots have the resolve to deliver a Sovereign Scotland. From James Melbourne Australia.
    Arisen from a Scottish gene pool
    Indebted beyond mortal repayment

174. debbiethebruce

@Andrew morton

We only do the YES stall on saturdays,next one on the 19th April next to costa coffee shop,mussy high street.

You are welcome to join us then!

10 am till about 12ish,we are always looking for new help, especially to spy on the Better together stall further up.

175. gerry parker

Strathclyde park, Wouldn’t miss it, happy to help on a Wings stall too if needed.

176. Ian Brotherhood

@Dick Gaughan –

Blimey. What an offer.

Apologies for tardy response, but have been out most of the day.

Please give me some time to chew on this, and I will certainly be in touch.

Thanks.

177. Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie –

Sorry not getting back to you sooner about the idea you mentioned t’other night. I apologise if I seemed disparaging in any way. I think it’s a brilliant idea – and, crucially, a marketable one – but it’s a one-man gig. (If we attempted to do it jointly we’d end up falling-out.)

I hope you’ll consider doing it. If I had the means and free time I’d so something similar, but would prefer to do it on foot.

It was a genuine pleasure to meet you.

178. Capella

How odd. Looking at your embedded Times image, the YES poll news item is now the lead item on the right hand side of Times. But on clicking, the enlarged image has it back on the left hand side smaller single column. Are there two versions?

179. kininvie

@Ian,

Well it probably wasn’t the best context to badger you in… and it’s still just an idea. I’ll get in touch later.

180. Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie –

I didn’t consider it ‘badgering’ – well, not as black and white as that at any rate.

Please get in touch anytime – I would like to pick your brains regarding Dick Gaughan’s very generous offer.

ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.