Broad shoulders, short arms

Posted on January 30, 2016 by

img162

Order “Welcome To Cairnstoon”, Chris’ compilation of Wings cartoons and more, here.

1. 30 01 16 08:44

Broad shoulders, short arms | Speymouth

58 to “Broad shoulders, short arms”

1. jdman

I really really can’t understand Scots who voted no, the dismissive treatment by Cameron et al towards the north-east of Scotland was always on the cards,
    Scotland is just (and always has been) an irritating addition to their grand plans that they would rather not have to worry about,

We are not important to them never have been never will be!

2. Takeourblueback

@jdman – not until the resource is plundered, then they’ll happily waving us away. Typical Brit attitude that’s been seen the world over!

3. Steve

Loving the irony of ‘Union Street’

4. andy smith

Bang on that his belly is broader than his shoulders, and wouldn’t it be good to re-name all the union streets in this country after independence.

5. cearc

I reckon the Wingers meeting up in Aberdeen tonight will do more for the local economy than Cameron’s visit did!

Hoping to see lots of new faces.

6. Robert Louis

So, No voters can now see quite clearly, what a NO vote meant. The so-called ‘broad shoulders’ of the ‘uk’ which would help our oil industry, sneering while they offer pccket money change.

Excellent cartoon. Sums up The attitude of London and the Britnats exactly. All of us in Scotland (except amazon) pay our taxes to London, yet for over 300 years have been treated with utter contempt in London as the ‘poor relative’, the ‘grasping jock’, and so on, scrounging for what they like to notionally call ‘ENGLISH’ taxpayers money.

Aberdeen, the oil capital of Europe, after producing hundreds of billions in revenue which went direct to London, now treated with sneering contempt by Westminster. Made all the worse by Scotland based unionists and Labour, who squeal with delight at falling oil prices, and the resulting job losses.

I’m kind of sick of it. Let’s ensure the SNP are returned in May, with an even larger majority, as it seems the only message which London understands.

7. Lollysmum

Good depiction of Cameron Chris & a few coins is just about the size of WM contribution to Aberdeen compared to that which was mooted if Scotland voted No. Hopefully, all these u turns will make people who were No think again. Lets face it Scotland can’t do a worse of job of running Scotland than WM has done so far.

O/T Thanks for the reminder cearc. To all those going to Wings night in Aberdeen tonight have a good one 🙂

8. No no no...Yes

Union Street, right enough!

@jdman 8.13am That is the puzzle, but I know some No voters thought, “lets give them one more chance.” Unfortunately for the Union, the Tories intent unravelled when Cameron announced EVEL the morning after the referendum result and it’s been downhill ever since.

It’s no coincidence that support for independence has gone up since then and helps explain why Ruth and others are desperate to prevent another referendum.

Our job is simple and that it to persuade others to change their mind and realise Independence is the best way forward for Scotland.

SNP 1 and 2 in May is the next logical step.

With regard to insults and bullying let’s leave that to the Unionists, they seem to be doing a grand job of helping our cause!

9. Tackety Beets

Thanks again Chris.

JDman@8.13

Aye John.

The thing that flumox me is , had the NO voters not noticed the attitude Tory/Labour / WM have always had towards Scotland?
    Probably for ever but I can confirm by experience since the 60’s , Scotland has very very seldom been treated fairly!

Thanks to their NO vote the Yoons do not even try to conceal their contempt etc , in fact I feel they now revel in!

Who is it that keeps harping on about the referendum ? ….. Ah YES the effin Yoons

Any lurkers who don’t believe me, take a listen to Cameron on GMS yesterday aboot 20 t 9

10. Robert Louis

It is interesting to note, that now their is a decline in the oil industry, the BBC and London media, are really keen to tallk at length about how big it was. Yet when it was doing well, they kept quiet. Shhh! don’t mention the oil, make sure those ‘uppity jocks’ think it is worthless.

This is what happens when the media in Scotland is owned or controlled from another country.

11. heedtracker

Sorry but I must take issue with this. Toryboy Voice of the North Press and Journal banner headline this week roared, ” PM Cameron swoops in to rescue the oil industry” with Cameron in big boy hard hat and high viz jacket, looking very serious. So it must be true.

12. Grouse Beater

John: “really really can’t understand Scots who voted no”

Some felt British, Anglicised, and saw no reason to alter things, they didn’t and don’t see anything missing in Scotland’s democratic structures. They’re the people who tell us they thought it through and came to a rational decision.

Some were scared of tomorrow. They’re one’s who believe it’s all based on non-existent oil.

Too many were inculcated to believe it’s all a dastardly SNP plot. That’s always the way of black propaganda. Centre it on people to hate, the entire core campaign of the anti-democracy brigade.

13. Ken500

Vote NO you get nothing.

May 2016

14. gillie

£200 billion turns out to be only £20 million UK government investment in the North Sea.

15. schrodingers cat

andy smith says:

wouldn’t it be good to re-name all the union streets in this country after independence.

why wait, if we take control of all of the councils in 2017 local elections, we could do this the next day. sorted

16. galamcennalath

Firstly, great cartoon, again. It highlights one of the many many pre referendum promises and assertions.

Grouse Beater says:

“Some felt British, Anglicised, and saw no reason to alter things, they didn’t and don’t see anything missing in Scotland’s democratic structures.”

Yes, and these are the ones who are never likely to come round to backing Indy. They have a world view that is different.

It’s the rest of the No voters which need to be targeted with information, education and debate. The image above doing just that! They voted No for all sorts of reasons. Those in the NE no doubt had the fragility of oil in mind. As you say some “were scared of tomorrow”, well, the tomorrow painted by Project Fear.

Almost all the reasons which swayed this second group are now on very shoogly pegs!

Those pegs are being made more shoogly every day by WM and media antics.

Scotland probably sits 50:50. We only need to change the minds of 1 in 5 No voters to achieve a good solid 60% which no one could challenge.

17. schrodingers cat

we could also replace the union jack on all public buildings with the saltire

the yoons in stirling council would choke on their own bile

I think ill save this petition until after mays election.
    watch the colour drain from the yoons faces when the petition hits social media

snigger

18. schrodingers cat

we could also delay all of the coaches coming from NI every Saturday morning, carrying all the auld firm supporters, long enough that they all miss the game, every week

19. Flower of Scotland

Spot on Chris. Nicola pointed out a few times at FMQs that the money from Cameron was a paultry sum.

Have a good night out Wingers!

20. schrodingers cat

galamcennalath says:

Scotland probably sits 50:50. We only need to change the minds of 1 in 5 No voters to achieve a good solid 60% which no one could challenge.

actually 62% is the desired result. 2.25million, >50% of the entire electorate

that way whether or not the yoons vote would make no difference to the result

21. carjamtic

Are beggars still allowed on Union St.,thought they were banned (like London city),these rich types don’t want to be reminded of people’s despair.

Warning Old Joke

The shipyard owner stood at the entrance/exit of the yard at 5pm,shift over the workers started piling out.
    A young lad walked past,boot flapping the sole had come away from the upper,’ hold on sonny’ he said and took a large wedge of notes from his pocket removed the elastic band from the roll ‘try this’ he said handing over the elastic band.

Oil capital of Europe,streets paved with gold…..not Aberdeen…..The City of London !

Big Issue sir ?

SNP x 2

22. heedtracker

Maybe NO votes just went with the great liars of the BBC, who have been well rewarded.

Nick Robinson raged NO, he’s got BBC r4 morning news show and he’s charisma bypass hopeless. What’s her face Keunsberg, sneered posh gel NO and she’s BBC politics boss supremo or something. Jim Naughty wet farted NO and he’s currently mincing round the US having a lovely time following the Democrat leader campaign, UKOK tasty. Various BBC vote NO liggers from Pacific Quay like whats his face Cook, he’s at the Oscars or Emmies or something. Ruth Davidson impersonator Susan Calman’s never off BBC r4 dreadful satire shows, she’s so not funny and leans so hard on how silly and funny she thinks her sweaty socks accent makes her hilarious to her English chums, you wish for early death and so on.

You could do this all day but defeating Scottish democracy 2014 and now the BBC deeply creepy erasing of their Scotland region from teamGB really is a UKOK bullshit artist’s paradise, for now.

23. bugger (the Panda)

What James Cagney would call Chump Change

24. Macart

Pretty much nailed the reality of the union 2016 Chris.

The reality of the devolution ‘settlement’ (does anyone like the idea that something has been settled?), the reality of Scotland’s place within the union.

Outside of the referendum this ‘settlement’, agreed by everyone in commons who doesn’t give a shit about Scotland, is the first time both governments have truly locked horns over a constitutional issue. Where the other parties stand and how they react on behalf of the Scottish electorate will NOT go unnoticed.

The UK parliament made its intent clear during the Scotland Bill debates and amendment stage. EVERY single amendment proposed by 56 out of 59 MPs from the Scottish benches was voted down and discarded out of hand by the vast electoral majority in the rUK benches. In short Scotland’s representation, the Scottish electorate’s representation and wishes were binned without so much as a second thought.

The establishment parties were teaching Scotland a lesson, or so they thought. THIS is the point of sending 56 MPs to Westminster. 55% of our electorate saw fit to put their trust in Westminster government and so long as we remain in the UK it is Scotland’s right and obligation to send representation to that house. How and ever, what our representation does when it is there? Well that’s another thing entirely. Until this point in time that house could count on Scotland’s representation to doff its cap and vote along UK party lines, grateful for being noticed and/or included, the righteous loyal types repaid with ermine and position for services rendered.

THOSE DAYS ARE OVER.

The representation we saw fit to send have one mission and one mission only and that is to represent the best interests of the people of Scotland. ALL the people of Scotland without fear or favor.

How effective have they been in this endeavour? Well they’ve caused enough of a problem that the media hounds of hell have been unleashed upon them. They can’t shit out of the sight of a 1000mm lens. They’ve had their collective histories gone through forensically and their names by turn dragged through the sewer that is the UK press. THAT is how effective and unsettling they’ve been to the establishment and they are going through this hell for us, because we asked them to.

Their greatest achievement to date has been their conduct throughout the Scotland bill debates where no one and I mean no one outside of the most blinkered ‘union right or wrong voter’ could fail to have noted both the treatment our representation received and the outcome and consequences of the votes in chamber. DEVOLUTION IS DEAD. HOME RULE IS DEAD. The myth, the sham, the lie of equal partnership and political union exposed for all to see.

Woe betide any political party that sides with Westminster over Holyrood and the Scottish electorate. At least half of our nation is fully switched on to politics and are fully aware of the omnishambles that is the Scotland Bill. That half of the electorate WILL be watching and they’ll make bloody sure the other half get informed of the outcomes.

25. Almannysbunnet

How many times have we heard it “oil is a burden, it’s a curse”. If you gave some people 5 kilo bar of 24k gold they would complain because it was too heavy!
    I doubt if the majority of those that voted no were that engaged or interested leading up to the referendum. The campaign of lies and prophets of doom, particularly in the last weeks, stampeded them like scared cattle towards the polls. Hopefully they have seen the light but there are those that will never vote yes and it’s easy enough to scare skittery beasties again. We must never let up.

26. Ronnie

re- Union Street, Aberdeen.

To avoid any confusion, this was named after the Acts of Union with Ireland 1800, not the Union which we all now want out of.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Street,_Aberdeen

Still, would be a good idea to rename them anyway.

Wings over Aberdeen

Message for ALL attendees to tonight’s bash over in Quarantine.

27. K.A.Mylchreest

karjamtic @

I can confirm that your joke, or at least a version of it, is over 50 years old. So much for social progress …

Plus çe change …

28. mealer

Ronnie 10.09,
    What do you mean by quarantine and how can I get the message?

29. galamcennalath

Macart says:

“DEVOLUTION IS DEAD. HOME RULE IS DEAD. The myth, the sham, the lie of equal partnership and political union exposed for all to see.”

… and that is definitely a big step forward!

IndyRef1 was always going to be a three option contest. It began Status Quo versus Indy. By voting day the Naysayers had changed it comprehensively into DevoSuperDupper versus Indy.

Now, further Devo is probably dead. Perversely, rolling the clock back almost three years to Status Quo versus Indy is actually PROGRESS.

30. Les Wilson

Excellent Chris, always hit the button.
    Pocket change for Aberdeen/ Scotland, well that is what they no camp expects and is somehow happy with, go figure.

O/T Article today that Cosla and what appears to be Labour run Councils attacking Swinney’s deal for Councils.
    So now we have a politically motivated move against the SG.
    Co-ordinated via Cosla who is dominated by them.

Swinney appears to be digging in his heels, go John.

31. Ronnie

@ Mealer

Go to ‘Off-Topic’ (link under ‘Zany Comedy Relief’ on front page)

Scroll down to end of thread.

In the bottom left-hand corner is the link to Quarantine.

I don’t have you on my list of likely attendees….?

Be pleased to meet you if you can make it.

32. cearc

mealer,

Go to off-topic, down to the very bottom of the page and you’ll see the link.

33. Albaman

Teflon shoulders, set at 120deg.
    (Little wonder nothing sits)

34. cearc

Archie (not Erchie),

Where are you? Are you not coming down to join us tonight?

35. Dan Huil

Aberdeen is a mess, due in no small part to its britnat council and obsequious britnat rags like the digusting press and journal. Project Fear is still “full-on” in Aberdeen.

36. cearc

mealer,

Answers are like buses, they come in threes!

37. Robert Peffers

@Takeourblueback says: 30 January, 2016 at 8:19 am:

” … not until the resource is plundered, then they’ll happily waving us away.”

The problem is the resource only changes – in never just goes away. The entire recorded history of Britain began with the Romans who came to Britain for minerals and slaves.

Scotland escaped much of the Roman resource grab. Then came the Germanic tribes. Actually invited into south Britain with the promise of, then scarce, free land in south Britain if the Anglo Saxons would protect South Britons from being united with their fellow North Britons. The resource then was still minerals, land and slaves.

It was that sell out by the south Britons that established the historic divisions of Britain into the separate countries in Britain we still have today.

Let’s look at one small area to see how the resource changes but is always there to plunder. Strathclyde was originally a rich agricultural area, then a rich minerals area, then a rich manufacturing and mineral area.

At the height of the British Empire the South West Establishment in London was suppressing the area as it was a threat to the power of London. The most productive square mile in the British Empire was in Glasgow. It produced steam locomotives for the World. It was to become the most deprived area of Britain and Glasgow was to have its wings trimmed for the greater benefit of London.

New towns were built with Corby in England populated by a mainly Glasgow workforce and towns like Glenrothes, in Fife, Irvine and many other Glasgow overspill towns, built after ww2, and pretty much exclusively inhabited by displaced weegies.

That once most productive British Empire square mile became the Gorbals – the most deprived square mile in Britain.

Glasgow was transformed from the second city of the Empire into one of the most deprived areas of Britain.

38. Andrew Mclean

Last topic a kind winger posted a link to the herald 1979, just read the business section on page 7 to be brief, Britain is bankrupt but saved by borrowing billions on the strength of future reserves of oil from the IMF. Billions!

And that Scotland, was your future that was!

Fools. We were and are fools, and don’t Westminster know it!

http://www.news.google.com/newspapers?nid=GGgVawPscysC&dat=19790503&printsec=frontpage&hl=en

39. Dave McEwan Hill

Devo whatever was always the status quo. It’s just that that is now recognised.

40. Luigi

What really hacks me off about these “generous” politicians (particularly unionist ones) is that they are forever swanning around, handing out loose change here and there, acting as if it is their money. Ever noticed how good politicians are at spending other people’s money?

Well, Eton Boy it ain’t your money, it is ours.

And by the way, where’s the rest of it?

41. mogabee

Well Chris, you’ve caught podgy Davie perfectly. I’ve noticed that he is not looking so “dapper” these days, strain getting to him?

Those broad shoulders are sloping more and more and Osborne could still yet need to visit his pals at the IMF. 😀

42. galamcennalath

Andrew Mclean says:

“Last topic a kind winger posted a link to the herald 1979”

‘Twas I. 1979 was such a key time in Scottish history. We had decades of being ripped off to come and many didn’t seem to see it coming.

Labour had gone into meltdown, as happens to chocolate fire guards periodically.

The referendum we won, but were cheated.

The arrival of Thatcher. The SNP dropping from 11 to 2 MPs.

It all has echoes in the present situation with one massive exception! The SNP on a flier.

43. One_Scot

There is not a day goes by that I do not wake up and thank the Lord that enough of us had the sense to vote ‘NO’.

I can also confirm that my lobotomy was a complete success.

44. Scot Finlayson

Population of Norway 5,000,000

each child ,woman and man in Norway would get 1,000,000 krone/$200,000 if they were to split up their Oil fund or Sovereign wealth fund,

it is now nearing $1,000,000,000,000,that is a trillion dollars.

The UK is the only major nation not to have a Strategic Petroleum Reserve (SPR), their to help maintain national security during an energy crisis.

http://tinyurl.com/o5vuyuo

45. mike cassidy

Andrew McLean 11.31

And there were stories about Labour councillor expense claims and increased security in Paris due to bombs and shootings

deja vu all over again

46. Fairferfochen

Can’t help thinking Cameron’s “sudden” visit ti Aiberdeen was brought on by Nicola Sturgeon announcing that her Oil task Force would be meeting there on that day.

Davie loves to steal the limelight you know.

Don’t think the Aberdonians were very inpressed and most saw it for what it was.

47. mike cassidy

re Norway’s wealth fund —

Is this a laugh or cry article?

http://www.wsj.com/articles/norways-oil-fund-is-finding-it-hard-to-spend-6-billion-1452178545

48. Andrew Mclean

Scot,
    Now that is a powerful political statement for a wings poster or campaign

Scotland discovers oil

Norway discovers oil

Norway’s oil fund in bank $1,000,000,000,000,trillion dollars.

Scotland,s oil fund in bank $0 dollars.

Aberdeen Scotland,s oil capital begging for state aid

Better together!, not bloody likely

49. ArtyHetty

Yep. Westmonster have been taking the utter pish out of Scotland for a very long time. The english of course are told the opposite and believe it. No doubt they will be livid at the aid (being sarcy there) going to Aberdeen instead of their jobless areas, namely, as usual the NE of england.

50. msean

I’m sure the government that sucked up all the revenue for decades will help the industry to the same scale while oil is low in price.Any time now…

51. boris

An independent assessment of oil production declarations worldwide provides evidence that the total amount of oil held in storage exceeds capacity by around 35% !!!!

So someone is telling porkies!!!!

The non existent oil (it’s still in the ground) is driving the price of oil down in the various markets.

The intent, perhaps is to force closure of the fracking industries in the USA and Canada where profit over cost is marginal and there is some evidence the ploy is working.

52. Robert Peffers

@Dave McEwan Hill says: 30 January, 2016 at 11:31 am:

“Devo whatever was always the status quo. It’s just that that is now recognised.”

And those Wingers with good memories will remember that when the UK Unionists first insisted that the option of Devolution be removed from the referendum paper I immediately posted that they would then begin to campaign by promising all kinds of devolved powers if we Scots would only vote no to Scottish Independence – And low it came to pass.

They are nothing other than transparent – so much so that we independence supporters can often predict exactly what they will do before they even decide what they intend to do themselves.

53. Kennedy

Enjoy your night out Wingers.

I am stuck in the north sea producing oil for David Cameron’s corporate tax breaks. (Tugs forelock)

54. handclapping

By the way they’re hanging right the rest of the money’s been trousered in the other pocket.

You’re a star Chris.

55. alba

hmm. Billboard advert for Cairnstoon/ WOS in aberdeen(shire) perhaps?

56. Croompenstein

Nice one Chris, I reckon they never set an oil fund up because it would be too transparent and would let us see how much was being made in the North Sea.

57. Bill Fraser

Up to date and topical as usual.Thanks.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.