Bams to the slaughter

Posted on November 27, 2014 by

You have to hand it to David Cameron – he doesn’t hang about. Barely two hours had passed after the declaration of the result of the independence referendum when he started tying new devolved powers into legislation on “English votes for English laws”, in a slick knifing of his unsuspecting hitherto-allies in Labour.

bams

And just as hot on the heels of the Smith Commission’s final report, he’s at it again.

The hapless gullibility of Labour seems to be boundless. Having needlessly shackled themselves to the Tories in “Better Together”, resulting in what currently looks like electoral destruction on both sides of the border, they now seem to be set to reap the whirlwind, having never once stopped to question why it might have been that the campaign was chiefly and enthusiastically funded by millionaire Tory donors.

hotherballs

For once, David Cameron actually has a point. It was indefensible for Scottish Labour MPs to intervene crucially in the 2004 vote on tuition fees on England, secure in the knowledge that their constituents wouldn’t be affected by the policy. And everyone but Labour accepts that EVEL is the only practical, democratically-legitimate answer to the decades-old West Lothian Question, requiring any party wishing to pass laws affecting only part of the UK to have a mandate in that part.

In the wake of Smith’s recommendations it’s hard to see how Cameron could now be stopped from enacting legislation before the end of the current Parliament, and with Labour looking – at best – unlikely to win an absolute majority in 2015 it would be very difficult to revoke any law, given that none of the opposition parties would be minded to support any attempted repeal (which would strengthen only Labour).

Even the most cynical of seasoned observers must be agog at how willingly the party seems to have blundered into the elephant trap, and at the desperate black comedy of its proclamations that a last-second face-saving clause tacked onto the end of the Smith Commission report offer it any protection.

(Indeed, even Labour itself doesn’t seem to buy that one.)

It remains to be seen whether the polls suggesting Labour will lose the vast bulk of its Scottish MPs next May turn out to be accurate. But what the PM said this morning, before the ink was even dry on the signatures at the bottom of the Smith report, revealed was that it won’t matter anyway. Because by then, it’ll be too late for them.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 27 11 14 17:00

Bams to the slaughter | FreeScotland

2. 28 11 14 13:33

Bams to the slaughter | Politics Scotland | Sc...

177 to “Bams to the slaughter”

1. muttley79

Could the Tories get EVEL through Westminster before next May? Given the short time scale involved, and the fact that the Liberal Democrats probably would not vote for it. Would the Tories have enough votes to see it through?

2. Yesemite Sam

“…EVEL is the only practical, democratically-legitimate answer to the decades-old West Lothian Question,…”

No it’s not. Independence is.

3. DougtheDug

I thought this was the entire reason Labour rejected the full devolution of income tax to Scotland. The fear that the income tax part of any future Labour budget could get shot down in Westminster if they lose the votes of their Scottish MP’s to get it through.

Now they’ve signed up to it and it’s just as they feared.

I don’t mind Labour coming a cropper but who the hell was directing Gregg McClymont and Iain Gray in the Commission. Don’t tell me they were left to make decisions on their own?

Maybe they’ve already decided it doesn’t matter because there will be no Labour MP’s in Scotland anyway.

4. anton le grandier

Much as it irks me to say it you have to hand it to the Tories.They have demonstrated that,when it comes to the dog-eat-dog of politics,they have no equal.They have been the most successful party in British politics cause they know how to maximise their advantage and do over their opponents and,in this case,they have right royally fucked over the Labour party.Remarkable how Labour have been completely suckered by this and they must be completely agog at the situation they now face.Its not all over yet but Cameron and Co must be mightily pleased with their handiwork.

5. heedtracker

Well they had a good run Labour in Scotland. 70 years right to reign over us and Boyack thinks she can say out loud and in public, “any devo must not make Scotland better off.” Goodbye, good riddance.

6. James Caithness

Labour not good at repealing legislation. Remember Thatchers anti-union laws, what one of thes did Labour ever repeal when they were in power?

Labour seems to blunder into not one but all the traps?

Imagine a clown like Cameron outwitting them, it doesn’t say a lot for the Labour Party.

7. Buster Bloggs

I think people should realise there is a difference between more power and more admin, from what I see there are no new powers just more admin for Holyrood.
    The Tory Party in Westminster are the only winners here, offloading the toxic decisions on fracking to Holyrood and stopping Scots MPs voting on English maters.
    One good thing is watching Labour being destroyed, come GE15 we can strike the final blow.

8. No no no...Yes

Agreed. The Labour Party and the Branch office were too busy trying to stop the Yes campaign and the SNP that they took their eye of the ball. Their involvement with BT and the lies about what Smith has delivered will see them off for good. Murphy and Dugdale cannot spin their way out of this one.

Added to a gutsy display today by Nicola Sturgeon, the future prospects for increased SNP support looks good.

If the polls show a strong lead for the SNP before the Smith Report, I look forward to seeing them in a few weeks when all the disappointed parties that put forward positive proposals give their stakeholders the bad news.

9. muttley79

@James Caithness

You just knew though that the Tories were going to stab Labour in the back.

10. Dan Huil

As the Rev says Labour in Scotland have been conned once again by their Better Together buddies.
    Englisn MPs and the Englsih public will demand political compensation, thus EVEL will probably be implemented before Smith.
    Imagine what the Scottish Labour MPs are thinking today!
    They must be bricking it.
    Talk about a bunch of impotent imbeciles!

11. gillie

Smith Commission report unravels as we speak.

http://press.labour.org.uk/post/103720970204/letter-from-ed-balls-michael-dugher-and-chuka

“English Regional airports cannot be faced with continuing uncertainty and risk through not knowing whether they will be significantly disadvantaged should a future Scottish Government introduce changes to Air Passenger Duty.” – Ed Balls

12. stonefree

@ muttley79 says:
    27 November, 2014 at 4:17 pm
    As I see it Yes, bearing mind Labour will back it then they delay anything remotely pro Scottish and after the GE, it’s be kicked away forever
    Labour and the Liberals should never ever be forgiven
    It would be great if Labour have less MPs in Scotland than the Tories have just now

13. BrianW

I’ve been more than infuriated with Labour during the referendum. But you do reap what you sow eh.

Somehow, this will be spun by the UK Labour Branch in Scotland as someone else’s fault. It’s always someone else’s fault.

They can’t see further than there Red Tory noses, and couldn’t see the cesspit for all the shite..

They’re in it up to their necks now. Brilliant!

14. galamcennalath

We can’t have EVEL without Scottish FFA.

Scotland pays in more than we get back, obviously. With EVEL, English MPs could be voting to spend money, a proportion of which would be from Scotland.

That’s Taxation Without Representation !

15. Barontorc

Methinks the UK establishment machine has now overstepped the mark. It’s now in the process of eating parts of itself – albeit, it’s them useless parts that go first.

Time we got off the menu. Go for it SNP, full throttle.

16. jimnarlene

Yesemite Sam says:
    27 November, 2014 at 4:20 pm
    “…EVEL is the only practical, democratically-legitimate answer to the decades-old West Lothian Question,…”

No it’s not. Independence is.

Agreed

17. Gregory Beekman

The only fair solution is to give England its own parliament with elections for an English First Minister, all set up as a copy of Scotland’s parliament.

Using the UK parliament as an English parliament just isn’t fair.

18. Auld Sandy

@Muttley 79 asked Could the Tories get EVEL through Westminster before next May?
    Anybody know if ‘wash up’ procedure to speed legislation through at parliament end applies in fixed term parliaments?

http://www.parliament.uk/briefing-papers/SN05398.pdf

19. liz

The reason is simple, Labour are as thick as two or more short planks.

That’s what happens when you get rid of all the talent and replace them with a bunch of nodding dogs.

20. Christian Schmidt

No it’s not. There are plenty of workable arrangements for home rule / federalism / devo-plus-max. It’s just that Cameron, while pretending to be a unionists, puts Tory power at Westminster above the union and Labour really seems too stupid to understand anything about Scotland and political strategy.

Oh well, best start a passport design competition now, it will be needed sooner than you think…

21. Kev

Whats truly alarming for Labour is that they have not even got to the “Oh shit, have we just been screwed?” stage yet…

22. Dr Ew

If Cameron manages to secure EVEL prior to the election – not necessarily an easy task – then I really believe it will be curtains for Labour in Scotland. Brown and Darling will be off to their directorships and the Lords, and Murphy will be a lame duck, no seat leader of a rump in single figures.

That doesn’t mean we won’t have a fight on our hands – do not underestimate the viciousness of the British State when its interests are threatened. Dirty tricks will get dirtier, trickier and far more dangerous.

23. Barontorc

Dan Huil says:
    27 November, 2014 at 4:54 pm
    Great picture of Alex:

http://www.spectator.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/NWS_ADN_SPECTATOR_271114_74.jpg

Too bad they didn’t show the other picture of Alex blowing his nose in the rag.

24. Frank M

As time goes by since the referendum, it becomes more and more obvious that Independence is the only way that Scotland can prosper and have fair and democratic decisions made on behalf of the people who live here.

25. Luigi

Oh, how I remember that sweet moment, two years ago, when Labour decided not to back the immensely popular devomax option, or a second question in the referendum. The moment they decided to jump into the Better Together bed with Tories and campaign against their own people. That sweet moment when I realised that, whatever the outcome of the referendum, the Labour party is well and truly fecked.

They are now being royally humped by Cameron. It’s painful enough to watch – how can they endure it? So predictable, so avoidable. RIP Red tories – you have outlived your usefulness to the union.

26. Luigi

Dr Ew says:
    27 November, 2014 at 5:04 pm

If Cameron manages to secure EVEL prior to the election – not necessarily an easy task – then I really believe it will be curtains for Labour in Scotland.

And even if he doesn’t and is thwarted by the LibDems and Labour – how would that play with the English electorate just before the GE? Would Labour and the LibDems dare vote against EVEL in those circumstances?

27. Kevin evans

If ya fly with crows ya get shot with them – in theory – please everyone remember the game isnt over yet.

We on here are well informed but 55% no voters are drones who have no interest in news and politics.

We still have millions to win over.

The information needs to go out there and with publications like the DR still the choice of the drones we have work still to do.

Tortoise and hair folks.

28. gerry parker

What is it with Labour’s reaction to the Smith COmissions proposals that gets me worried?

Ah, I know what it is.

The last time I saw enthusiasm like that, someone was trying to sell me a timeshare!

I didn’t buy that, and I won’t be buying this either.

29. The Radical Laird

There’s nothing positive about any of this. A natural response would be to weep before kissing your loved ones goodbye and taking to the streets…

If the SNP goes along with this evilness in any way they will be making a huge miscalculation. I say that because I understand the narrow self-intersted nature of politicians is to think in terms of the jobs that might be up for grabs, etc.

The simple reality is that these new powers are an insult. Accepting them would be an act of treason and the SNP should walk out of the Scottish parliament rather than play any part in their implementation.

It’s time to grow a pair and stop waiting to see what few crumbs the pigs will allow to fall from our table.

30. manandboy

@ anton le grandier and others

Much as it irks me to say it you have to hand it to the Tories….they have right royally fucked over the Labour party.Remarkable how Labour have been completely suckered by this and they must be completely agog at the situation they now face.”

So is John McTernan working for both sides, while pretending he’s a Labour man, but has actually jumped ship?
    It is just not like him to be “right royally fucked over”.

Though I am pleased to hear it.
    Result: John McTernan – FAIL.

31. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

All the new members in all the branches across scotland of the Yes parties need to get the message out NOW that the unionist media are lying to them about the Smith Commission and THE VOW.

It is imperative that a simple and clear explanatory leaflet of the truth about these mere recommendations from Smith is produced then delivered to the doorsteps up and down scotland or we have learned nothing from the final days of the first Indyref. The huge numbers of new members are there to do it and this is precisely the sort of Big Lie that we cannot afford to let stand or it will be hugely damaging to the Yes parties not only in 2015 but 2016 and in any future Indyref.

32. handclapping

No we are not quite there yet. Its the point just after the 2015 Westminsters when the SNP hold the balance of power and Cameron invites Ed into his “National Government” and Ed accepts as like Clegg he believes that power always overrides principal.

Then we’d have to dig up Kier Hardie, encase him in concrete and dump him at Chapelcross.

33. Brian Powell

If they had been reading blogs and comments they would have seen what was coming. But blogs and comments were just nats.

They thought they’d be ruling the roost after the referendum. Even trying to claim it was a Labour win. Now the Tory machine has moved on into self protection and no longer supporting.

Even Owen Jones warned them that what they did to Scotland would turn on them.

34. Macart

Yep, its like watching a slow motion train wreck. Labour having stabbed their Scottish electorate in the back, now suffering a similar fate at the hands of their erstwhile BT partners.

Karma is a bastard right enough.

Let’s complete the nightmare for them in May and send some bods down to Westminster who’ll actually stand by Scotland’s voters and their interests. I suspect that on the results of today’s release from the Smith Commission we’re going to need all the up front pro Scotland representation we can get.

35. manandboy

These new powers will deliver a stronger parliament,
    a more accountable parliament and a more autonomous parliament.”

(Lord Smith on more powers for Holyrood.)

This is what he meant:-

“These new powers will deliver a stronger parliament – just, and no more,
    a more accountable parliament – just, and no more
    and a more autonomous parliament, – just, and no more.

The changes are so miniscule that they render the work of the Commission a waste of time and taxpayers money though it was a nice little earner for me and my staff and I look forward to more jobs like this in the future as I’d like to buy a little property in Barbados which I really fancy.”

Lord Smith of Kelvin. Gravy Train passenger and grovelling lackey to David Cameron.

36. James Caithness

McTernan is a tory at heart as is Blair. Labour is now tory too.

37. Kenzie

@Dr EW says:

“do not underestimate the viciousness of the British State when its interests are threatened”

Surely the first lesson we learned – or should have – at the recent referendum, as they so forcibly demonstrated?

38. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

The Lib dems would try to stop EV4EL because they still have some MPs in scotland. (for now) Clegg would try and link it to something else that the tory backbenchers won’t vote for like Lords Reform, voting reform or some aspect of English devolution.

Cameron will still go ahead though as both the tories and the lib dems had manifesto commitments to tackle the WLQ so the lib dems would look as untrustworthy as usual should they try to weasel out of it.

39. Macart

Labour stab the Scottish electorate in the back and their erstwhile BT partners in crime stab them in the back.

Living proof that Karma works.

40. onelessday

A.Salmond will be on A.Neils programme tonight at 11;35 could be interesting

Great photo of him with his St George hanky He’s up for it of that I’m sure after all the abuse he has taken it’s payback time

41. Lollysmum

Some good news

Tweet from National-it is continuing 🙂 Bet that p***es off MSM & SLAB 🙂

42. John

If they really want a cross party consensus on EVEL then surely there can be some system that allows a Scots MP to have a vote on english laws in if that MP happens to be in cabinet?

This would neither gimp scots MP’s at Westminster nor allow them a deciding vote.

43. Stoker

Pensions – retained – You betcha!

Well, lets face it, they were never going to part with a key element of project fear, were they, it’ll come in handy again.

To give us control of pensions would be akin to a turkey asking for directions to the oven, its just never going to happen.

Talking of which, as if we need one, but here’s another reason
    to give this filthy lot a bodyswerve:
    https://archive.today/7KAbZ

PS: Anyone got the Financial Times’ take on The Myth Commission proposals?

44. muttley79

@Luigi

I remember SLAB rejecting another question on the independence referendum around 2 years ago as well. They were obsessed with Salmond, to the extent of saying it was his insurance card in case there was a No vote. In fact, the daft, stupid ******* were so concerned about Salmond right up till the vote. Remember their coin cards with Salmond’s face that they carried around their idiotic selves? Yet all that time and the Tories were just waiting to stab them in the back!

45. Macart

Weird.

First post froze on screen and I had to restart the browser. Second post appears almost instantly, quick refresh and original post appears.

Gremlins.

46. James Caithness

The way Baillie, Milliband are talking do they realise that they have been outwitted and outflanked by Cameron?

47. Kid Spotlight

The Radical Laird @ 5:19pm

Although I feel uncomfortable with your choice of the word(?) ‘evilness’, as we are simply dealing with réal politique, I concur with the rest of your post. Problem is the SNP should have walked away from the referendum (or at least attacked with all guns blazing) when dirty tricks were being played in those hectic last couple of weeks. It didn’t, so it’s difficult to see anyone with either the political nous or courage to do as you (rightly, imho) suggest.

PS: Muttley, Bugger et al. There is a wider pro-independence perspective on offer here on WoS than just the SNP’s tepid self-interested agenda. Screaming ‘trollll’ like a deranged Donald Sutherland is an affront to the principles of free speech that this democratic blog is supposedly about. This is not a popularity contest, it is an open political forum. Grow up ffs!

48. muttley79

Kid Spotlight: all your posts have suggested strongly to me that your are a concern troll. You are in the mould of Edinburgh Dave, Norsewarrior and numerous other names used on here by concern trolls. Stop pretending to support independence. You always attack the SNP, never the unionists. Your posts give your agenda away, which is to create divisions.

49. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“an affront to the principles of free speech that this democratic blog is supposedly about. This is not a popularity contest, it is an open political forum”

I have no idea where you’ve got any of that from. This is a mainly-benign dictatorship. The only person who gets a vote on what is and isn’t acceptable is me.

50. Stoker

On Ebay – copies of The National going for:

Mondays issue – £10
    Tuesdays issue – £10
    Wednesdays issue – £10
    Todays issue – £5 (sure to rise)

Oh Rancid Rectum, read it and weep, see what happens when you don’t lie to your readership – thirz gold in dem der hillz.

51. gordon browns beard

Baillie/Sarwar/Murphy/Gray say its great the vow has been delivered. These b@stard red tories really are taking the piss are they not?

52. Ken500

There has never been a time when a majority 50+ Scottish MP decided any policies in Westminster. It’s a lie. Westminster MP’s have been deciding the policies in Scotland from 1928 to 2000.

Scotland raises more in taxes and spend less than the rest of the UK. (pro rata).

£490Billion is raised in taxes in the UK. £53Billion is raised in taxes in Scotland. Scotland has lost £4Billlion+ a year in Oil tax revenues since 2011. Westminster increased Oil taxes 11% – £2Billion in 2011 Budget. Oil revenues have fallen. Billions? in tax revenues from commercial activity in Scotland goes to the UK Treasury through City of London HQ’s.

Scotland needs control over spending to save £1.5Billion from Trident/illegal wars and to tax ‘loss leading’ alcohol to save £1.5Billion.

53. Valerie

@Pollyanna that is great news! I am so pleased the National will continue.

I’ve had to hunt out a little Post Office in the middle of another estate to buy mine, but they said it’s been selling well. 🙂

54. Valerie

That was meant for lollysmum

55. Lollysmum

Macart
    My posts have been disappearing all day.The internet being extremely slow isn’t helping either.

56. saporian

Alex Salmond wins politician of the year award http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-30238389
    So what do the BBC do? They write this shite – Salmond rebuked over data claim http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-30231942

57. Balaaargh

I’ve been reading through the report and I think the most controversial aspect of it is the font!

27. To provide an adequate check on Scottish Parliament legislation changing the franchise, the electoral system or the number of constituency and regional members for the Scottish Parliament, UK legislation will require such legislation to be passed by a two-thirds majority of the Scottish Parliament

This smells of CONLAB trying to stop the SNP from fiddling the electoral system. Like, you know, they already do across the UK!

96 (1). (Scottish and UK Governments should work together to: ) seek, with respect to food labelling, to agree changes to the European country of origin rules so that a ‘made in Scotland’ brand is recognised under EU law.

Wow. “Made in Scotland from girders!” could be used internationally!

96 (6) (Scottish and UK Governments should work together to: ) ensure that fies, forfeitures, fied penalties imposed by courts and tribunals in Scotland as well as sums recovered under Proceeds of Crime legislation are retained by the Scottish Government. The Scottish Government’s block grant would need to be adjusted in line with the funding principles set out in paragraph 95 to accommodate the retention of these sums.

I was really curious about whether this one would appear, it was something the Scottish Police Federation included in their submission. If these sums currently form part of the SG pocket money then are we allocated a fixed percentage of the UK total or the actual sum? Does anyone know?

If it’s the latter then this is a moot point, another ‘meh’ from a document which delivers nothing.

If it is the former, being the natural law abiding citizens that the Scots are (no sniggering at the back) then the SG could lose money. However, if we are all a bunch of neds, hooligans, thugs, murderers and fraudsters that the MSM would have you believe, we could be up on the deal only to subsequently have the pocket money cut back “to level the playing field.”

58. Grouse Beater

The Myth Commission – grousebeater-wordpress.

I just can not take any committee seriously that includes as a member, the all-grey MSP, Iain Gray!

Enjoy!

59. Flower of Scotland

I agree Kid Spotlight! I have voted SNP all my life. They had better wake up and become a lot more aggressive with this lot of shysters. If not, I’m thinking of changing allegiance! I’ve had enough! To say that the Smith Commission is not enough, IS NOT ENOUGH! They should have walked out of the Smith Commission. I’ve had enough of softly, softly! They are treating Scotland as idiots!

60. manandboy

English Votes for English laws
    Scottish Votes for Scottish revenues.

Sorted.

61. Jim Mitchell

James Caithness says:
    27 November, 2014 at 6:20 pm
    The way Baillie, Milliband are talking do they realise that they have been outwitted and outflanked by Cameron?

Yes James they do, there shouting all the louder because they are hoping that will stop members of the public from noticing!

Apart from Mr Sarwar that is, he probably thinks it is a victory for Labour!

62. Stoker

This from Nana Smiths link (right at the very bottom of article):

“Meanwhile Whisky Distillers in Campbeltown are also hoping to
    bank on the pro-independence movement dedicating a new blend of
    scotch to the 45% who voted for independence this week called
    the Spirit of Freedom.”

C’mon folks, what a lovely gift that would make for your Whisky
    drinking loved ones, friends or even your old ‘No’ voting friend
    or neighbour. Or, just treat yourself.

Here’s the link again:
    https://archive.today/Ux54h

63. Jim Mitchell

Flower of Scotland , yes, so what do you suggest exactly?

64. Grouse Beater

Macart: My posts have been disappearing all day.

Cannae be worse than them jobs o’ Laybur politishuns disappearin’!

65. Alex Clark

“Spending Tory money to win Labour votes makes me extremely happy. A win-win.”

How that has worked out for you and your Red Tory chums still clutching at straws makes me extremely happy, deluded, gullible and blind!

66. Luigi

muttley79 says:
    27 November, 2014 at 6:18 pm

@Luigi

I remember SLAB rejecting another question on the independence referendum around 2 years ago as well. They were obsessed with Salmond, to the extent of saying it was his insurance card in case there was a No vote. In fact, the daft, stupid ******* were so concerned about Salmond right up till the vote. Remember their coin cards with Salmond’s face that they carried around their idiotic selves? Yet all that time and the Tories were just waiting to stab them in the back!

Yep, that’s it in a nutshell. The Red Tories thought they had all referendum possibilities covered. The trouble is that they were so obsessed with Alex Salmond, they couldn’t take their eyes off him. And while they fretted and tried to anticipate every Salmond move, they completely forgot the sinister Blue Tory standing behind them. By the time Gordzilla woke up and roared, it was already too late – the sharpened knife was already being driven in deeply. RIP Red Tories, your days are numbered.

67. Lollysmum

Valerie

Ha ha-I’ve changed my name have I? Must be why my posts are disappearing 🙂

68. Les Wilson

In 2015 let us hope labour/ slab, get all their just deserts.
    They deserve to be crushed at the polls in Scotland.
    The Tories are what they are, they and all the Westminster parties cannot be trusted to do anything meaningful for Scotland. They still want to bleed us dry, until we find a way.

The people should be asked whether or not to accept the charade of the Smith commission.This would be good for the people power and the SNP would come out on top either way.
    If people said we accept, then they have given people the power to choose.

If the people said No, then the grounds for another fast referendum may be laid.Either way, the SNP win, by putting the decision into the hands of the people, many who are still motivated and would quickly restart. Yes campaign2.

69. caz-m

It is 7pm on the day the Smith Commission told the world of Scotland’s new powers and the main headline story on Ch4 News, Sky News and BBC News is about a backbench Tory MP who swore at a polis.

They really don’t give a shit about Scotland.

70. jock mc X

If i was a high hied yin in the tory party i would be having a good larf every time someone,polition,journalist,newsman or
    member of the pulic uses the words labour party.

New labour is a creation of the tories,it is currently the
    shadow conservative party.

The real labour party is long dead,this is a giant ruse folks
    how can the actions of these people be explained any other
    way.
    Not a foot in both camps to retain power,but a whole body..
    think about that,now think about the people who stand for
    election to new labour or slab…shocking isn’t it.

Now think about the “back of a fag packet” and “there are still some good people in labour”.
    No, these people plan years ahead,and there is no excuse for
    anyone worthy of a shred of respect to be in that party.

Now think about wings over scotland and the service that Rev
    Stu is providing us with here….if he was reaching the parts
    that internet blogs cannot reach,then i’m convinced the answer would have been a resounding yes.

A weekly roundup in the national perhaps,here’s hoping.

…………end of my rant,thanks for reading!
    ps..On question time why is’nt there a guy like Stu,with a buzzer,he could stop them in thier tracks when they come out
    with thier big porkies…a cross between question time and call my bluff….one for that new tv project mibees, hee hee.

71. Valerie

@lollysmum, my Kindle wot did it!

72. Kevin evans

BBC news report of the smith and the vow had Molly-glego and camsy all accepting responsibility for the vow. Most used the words “we followed through on our vow”

73. john king

So
    we get 40+ SNP MP’s in Westminster and reverse the policy on NOT voting on English only laws and make a right royal pain in the arse of themselves,
    kinda like this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkZdTHmX0TQ

74. manandboy

TSC

27. To provide an adequate check on Scottish Parliament legislation changing the franchise, the electoral system or the number of constituency and regional members for the Scottish Parliament, UK legislation will require such legislation to be passed by a two-thirds majority of the Scottish Parliament

This paragraph gives an insight into the attitude of the people we are dealing with, i.e.Unionist Colonial Superiority.
    This is never going to change, not in Scottish Unionists or in English Unionists.

I am not interested in separation from this lot –
    I am getting a divorce, and the idea that I’ve got to get permission from the bastard who is screwing me over is doing my head in.

75. Kevin evans

Ya ken wit – am f’ing sick of the whole f’ing thing

76. caz-m

That arse Carmichael preaching to the people of Scotland from the safety of the Westminster Parliament today really annoyed me and you had that bigger arse Mundell sittin at the back of him agreeing with everything he said.

Please get these two fraudsters kicked out of office in the May GE.

77. msean

LOL. Just saw Godfrey Bloom on RT,seems to support Scottish Independence,but because we are miserable and subsidised.

78. JayR

Slightly O/T

Our new First Minister really is a touch of class. I think she was very impressive today, didn’t miss a detail or point and doesn’t pull any punches when necessary. Comes across as consensual and principled, but not ready to stand for any bullsh@t. We are lucky to have her fighting Scotland’s corner at this time.

79. Stoker

“Scotland’s National newspaper is here to stay”
    https://archive.today/NVRZz

80. msean

Have we collected some new undermining posters today? Some new names trying to get us to turn against the snp lol. They seem to be under the impression from their imperial masters that this is an all snp site.

Office hours only though and it looks like the propaganda office has closed for today now.

81. caz-m

Rev Stu

I think it would be a great move for all concerned if you were to write a weekly column for “The National”.

Joan McAlpine MSP does one for the Record.

“A former Journalist of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards, she was editor of the Sunday Times Scotland AND deputy editor of The Herald. In 2011, she became a Scottish Nationalist Party MSP for South Scotland. Writes a weekly opinion column for the Daily Record.”

I think it would be another ideal platform to get the Wings opinion read around the world.

82. Jimbo

Hell mend them. Labour’s MPs must now be wishing they’d lifted their noses out of the trough long enough to see what was going on round about them. Labour seem incapable of arranging their mental furniture to leave room for thought.

Now we have Balls voicing concern that a future Scottish government may reduce Air Passenger Duty (APD) to the detriment of English regional airports. I think that we can take as a given that an SNP government will most certainly reduce APD – And not necessarily a future one, but the current one should this legislation be passed within this Scottish government’s lifetime.

83. GrahamB

Don’t know why a lot of folk are getting worked up when all Smith has done was predictable and, don’t forget, they are only recommendations. They don’t amount to much, certainly not MAX, and we still have to see what gets approved at WM – APD and Crown Estates proposals failed to make it through from Calman.
    Underwhelmed and unsurprised.

84. boris

Sir Jeremy Heywood still blocking the Inquiry. Should be removed from Involvement. – Chilcot is a former civil servant – who ended his career as permanent secretary at the Northern Ireland Office. There have been complaints that the inquiry will have an establishment bias.

Margaret Aldred appointed by Chilcot to the post of Inquiry Secretary. But she was a member of the Cabinet Office team and Director General for Iraq. Oh well, it makes sense to have the most senior Director General take on the issue that was the most difficult and politically explosive.

We are told she has had this role since 2004. We can assume that she took the leading role in developing the Cabinet Office strategy for Iraq between 2004 and 2009, and so her attendance at meetings relating to Iraq would be automatic. In fact, one might surmise that with the Iraq involvement having come to an end, she might have been at a bit of a loose end. So the timing of the opportunity to transfer her to be the Inquiry Secretary might have been quite convenient. Now all she has to do is deliver a ‘successful’ final report and she might expect to be rewarded with a promotion. Perhaps a permanent secretary somewhere? And a title would be nice. Not that this would in any way inhibit her in carrying out her duties to the Inquiry of course. Perish the thought

In 2008, former SAS trooper Ben Griffin revealed the answer: “Hundreds of Iraqis and Afghans captured by British and American special forces were rendered to prisons where they faced torture, a former SAS soldier said yesterday. Ben Griffin said individuals detained by SAS troops in a joint UK – US special forces task force had ended up in interrogation centres in Iraq, including the notorious Abu Ghraib prison, and in Afghanistan, as well as Guantánamo Bay.”

Check out the update. Keeps the reader informed about this inquiry which has now cost the taxpayer £10Million. and no outcome on the horizon.

http://caltonjock.com/2014/10/30/sir-jeremy-heywood-the-iraq-inquiry-other-controversies-are-his-hands-clean/

85. Dr Jim

For those who have ideas that the SNP should walk out of this or not take part in that, you’re either complete Numptys or unpleasant people trying to cause trouble, it wont work on this site, unless you’re 12 and think you’re in the dinner hall. We are where we are only because the SNP and people like me who are in the party grafted to get us here. If you are a genuine person and just impatiently misguided then, Endless Apologies. We will get there, a little faith…

86. A.N.Surgent

Stoker

Following another link on the one you give is a classic example of the state medias take on the “National”. Sales of National dip to 50,000 daily. I think the scotsman would like their figures to dip to 50,000.

87. Sinky

My granddad had a laugh when Labourites this afternoon kept referring to a “Powerhouse Parliament” which he said was what they called their modest Scottish Assembly proposals in 1979 that were too much devolution for the likes of Brian Wilson and half the Labour party at the time.

88. SquareHaggis

@Stoker,

I’m not seeing the 45% article, could you possibly place the link?

I could really do with a crate.

89. balaaargh

Why does WM need to wait to implement this report? Under the 2006 legislative and regulatory reform act, all that is required is for Carmichael to stand up in parliament and announce the implementation for all measures to come into force in six weeks time.

The tools are already there to get this done.

90. Nana Smith

Smith Commission: Labour anger grows at Miliband’s U-turn on ceding powers to Holyrood

https://archive.today/tVh2z

91. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just watched the debate in the House of Commons on the Smith Fudge report. Oops sorry of course I mean the Smith Commission Report. 😉

I don’t know if anyone else has watched it but for me a few things stood out.

1) As is usual for the children of the DEAD Revolution they are completely IGNORANT when anyone from the SNP stands up to speak.

2) There are a great many deeply upset and jealous English M.P.’s harping on and on and on about EVEL.

3) A great many English M.P.’s now appear to want devolved powers for the English regions as of yesterday.

4) It was nice to hear good old Alistair Carmichael confirm that now that Income Tax will be devolved to Scotland then that portion of the Barnett Formula will be removed. I think that one simple acknowledgement kind of shoots a rather humongous gaping hole in the side of S.S. Scottish Labour Party. 😛

92. Kid Spotlight

Mutt@6:31pm

‘You always attack the SNP, never the unionists.’
    The unionists are not the obstacle to independence, just as the Tories are not the obstacle to working class progress. And just like the Tories, the unionist view is clear and consistent, and in most cases will not change. It is up to pro-independence politicians to counter unionist platitudes and inertia with clear political strategy and sound economic argument for a future independent Scotland. The SNP (whether deliberately or through its own incompetence) flunked the test. No good blaming the unionists when the problem lies closer to home!!

93. Kevin Meina

Look on the bright side Ed Balls only wants airport duty taken out ,hooray we are getting to keep road signs think of the years if fun we could have ,shower of Westminster pricks

94. Lochside

Reporting Scotland stated that a Scottish fraudster had been detained in Mexico and deported back to the UK to answer charges.

I thought great, they’ve tracked down Gordon Brown! but no wrong colour, same shite, that of the Sevco ‘saviour’ Craig White was the subject of the report.

However, the elusive ‘Vow maker/breaker’ did make an appearance on this joke show….in a cosy wee chat reminiscing about the 20th anniversary of his favourite team winning the cup. Expecting a grainy replay of Gazza scoring big Broon’s favourite goal for England against North Britain..but no, it was Raith Rovers scudding the ‘Tic.

His shit-eating grin filled my screen and holding myself back from smashing my boot through it…I took a deep breath and thought…only in this alternative universe of a Scottish colony could ‘our BBC’ taunt our political impotence by showcasing this cowardly ("Tractor" - Ed) in such a grotesque manner.

95. De Valera

Apart from his panicked reaction at the poll showing Yes ahead, Cameron has been very clever at turning the whole process to his advantage. Of course he needed his useful idiots in the Labour party to do his dirty work for him.

Gordon Brown ruins everything he touches, pensions, banks, UK economy, Scotland and finally he plays a major part in shafting his own party. What a hero.

96. Democracy Reborn

@Nana Smith

Good link to the Independent re. Labour & the Smith Report

“Bitter recriminations”
    Party has signed a “suicide note”
    “SNP has got us on the run”
    Cameron to propose changes “shortly” for EVEL

Magic, isn’t it?!

97. Nana Smith

@Democracy Reborn says Magic, isn’t it?!

It sure is.

98. Jim McIntosh

@SquareHaggis

There’s an advert for the 45 Whisky on page 14 of the National on Wednesday. If you don’t have a copy, you don’t deserve the whisky 🙂

99. muttley79

@Kid Spotlight

The unionists are not the obstacle to independence, just as the Tories are not the obstacle to working class progress.

You started posting right after the referendum result with exactly this kind of pish. What a ridiculous statement to make. Of course unionists are the obstacle to independence. This is the last time I reply to you because you are a concern troll.

100. Lesley-Anne

Can I just say to everyone who thinks the Tories are stabbing the remnants of Labour in the back that I think you are wrong. I think you will find that the Tories are actually stabbing them from the front.

The Tories are just meandering up to the remnants of Labour, nonchalantly, smiling and puffing away on their huge pipe, as all Tories do 😉 . Whilst the Labour remnants are then engaged in small talk about the tobacco being puffed out comes the knife and straight into Labour! The first Labour realise anything is wrong is as the Tories walk away Labour slowly collapses into a bloody heap on the floor! 😛

As far as the Lib Dems are concerned well they are the Tories clean up boys. After the “innocent” stabbing of Labour the Lib Demns are sent in to clear up the resulting mess.

Stabbing?

What stabbing?

Nothing to see here move along now. 😀

101. Jimbo

@Balaaargh

“27. To provide an adequate check on Scottish Parliament legislation changing the franchise, the electoral system or the number of constituency and regional members for the Scottish Parliament, UK legislation will require such legislation to be passed by a two-thirds majority of the Scottish Parliament”

Westminster tried to rig the system to ensure that the SNP could never win a majority at Holyrood.

That didn’t work out for them, so now they find themselves having to re-rig the system from a straight majority to a two thirds majority in order to stop an SNP government being in a position to change the franchise, the electoral system or the number of constituency and regional members for the Scottish Parliament.

102. handclapping

Now if Labour had made a push to have more welfare devolved they could have come out smelling of roses. But for some reason they think that sharing the least generous social security system in Western Europe is one of the defining marks of Britishness.

Had they gone for pensions and all the items covered by Universal (dont make me laugh) Credit they could have caused severe political anguish to the Tories who would have had to block it or face throwing IDS to the wolves as the facts came out about the shambles that both systems are.

If Smith is implemented in full, then it is another step on the long mile to separation / independence / freedom, whichever your point of view

103. Linda McFarlane

National will continue – see tweet on thenational.scot

104. Lollysmum

Nana

Good link re Labour anger-great to see them tearing themselves to pieces over Smith outcomes. It’s really seriously funny 🙂 🙂 🙂

105. Mad Jock McMad

Then there was Lord Cooper’s judgement in McCormack vs the Lord Advocate (1953) where he stated that: ” ….. the principle of unlimited sovereignty of parliament is a distinctly English principle and has no counterpoint in Scottish Constitutional Law”. Equal importance must also be given to the Lord Advocate’s own concession, “admitting the Parliament of Great Britain could not alter or repeal fundamental and essential conditions of the Acts of Union.”

Such as the voting rights of elected members to the UK Parliament, preserved for ‘all time’ under Article 19 of the Treaty of Union where ‘all time’ means exactly that.

106. Nana Smith

Aye Lollysmum better than any comedy show…hahahahahaha

107. john king

Maybe we should just accept our limits,
    and be satisfied with our lot?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LS37SNYjg8w

108. Stoker

@ A.N.Surgent.

Yes, i seen that but chose to ignore them.

@ Square Haggis.

Just for you:
    https://archive.today/c2G7E

109. Valerie

You do wonder what the chat is in various SLab huddles now about the clunking fist, AND his announcement to stand down timed to perfection.

I almost feel sorry for Miliband for having zero foresight, or strategic nous, but then it’s what happens when you have zero principles.

If you stand for nothing, you fall for everything. Becomes clear now why the Eggman is trying to get back up here, cos Ed is going down.

The SNP are playing this professionally, and waiting until the slow of wit finally catch up to all the ramifications.

110. handclapping

@Jimbo, Balaargh
    Much more sinister; as our Parly gets more powers it will need more MSPs to ensure the committee system works and the Parly functions, despite losing members to the ministries set up handle them by Government.

The necessary changes could be blocked by an unholy alliance of list Unionists just to make sure the Parly fails. Even if every one of the 73 constituency MSPs voted for, the 56 list MSPs can make sure that there is “only” 57% support. Stupid, ill thought out recommendation by people who still think in antiquated FPTP terms.

111. Jimbo

@ Dr Jim

“We are where we are only because the SNP and people like me who are in the party grafted to get us here.”

I agree with your post – apart from the comment above. I find that comment rather conceited.

I know for a fact that we are where we are because there are many, many, thousands more people who are not in the Party than are in the Party who grafted every bit as hard, if not harder, to get us here.

112. R-type Grunt

@ Kid Spotlight

Who do you think you’re fooling?

113. fred blogger

R-type Grunt
    himself!

114. Alex Clark

@Kid Spotlight

“And just like the Tories, the unionist view is clear and consistent

The unionist Jim Murphys view on devolution of all Income Tax was very clear and consistent then in just these last 3 weeks? hahaha.

Definitely No, well maybe, ah awright then since you say so Ed. 🙂

115. Lesley-Anne

I can’t remember which particular numptie it was HC, sorry Labour M.P., but one of them, Scottish M.P. by the way, said that she was glad pensions had not been devolved to Holyrood.

Come to think about it I think it might have been Anne Begg who said she was glad pensions had not been devolved. I wonder why? Surely it could NOT be because pensions under a SCOTTISH government would put those under Westminster control to shame, could it? 😉

116. Lollysmum

McTernan is quiet isn’t he? Haven’t seen a mention of him anywhere today. Do you think he might be busy picking up the pieces at Labour HQ?? LOL

117. Kid Spotlight

MuTT@wherever/whenever

‘you are a concern troll’.‘you are a concern troll’.‘you are a concern troll’.‘you are a concern troll’.‘you are a concern troll’.‘you are a concern troll’.‘you are a concern troll’.

Such insight, such wit, such insight, such political acumen. Advance Caledonia, with the Mutt in charge the nation is in safe handzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

118. Jimbo

@ Handclapping

I think they put a lot of thought into that recommendation – How can we shackle the Scottish government and the SNP in particular?

Let’s rig the system so that 43 Unionist list MSPs can scupper any future plans put forward by a pro independence Scottish government.

119. Dave McEwan Hill

Dr Jim

With you on that. I joined the campaign in 1959 when we are achieving the likes of 0.6% of the vote at elections. And I remember only too well the many, many brave souls who canvassed all round Scotland and who are no longer with us.
    Without people like John McAteer,the SNP’s first national organiser who took half his principal teacher’s salary to do the job, we would not be here today. There has to be some official recognition of the fathers of the modern SNP.

120. heedtracker

Kevin McKenna @KevinMcKenna63 · 9 hrs 9 hours ago
    Ruth Davidson thinks Scotland now has more powers than some independent countries. She’s right: Lilliput, Freedonia, Gibrovia

Twitter emailed me this from oor Kevin. The fraud hype gets bigger by the minute although it would take Ruth Davidson to take it too far. Mckenna’s a fine one to grinch. His rancid Guardian stuff’s been crap too, next Sunday, why do jelly babies taste different when you suck them in Largs and munch in the Kelso, Kevin Mackenna Scotland section, rancid Graun.

121. Paula Rose

I’m rather fond of goat curry – does that explain the spotlight?

122. Brian Powell

Martin Kettle in the Guardian has become capable of mass mind reading and after only a few hours knows that DevoMax, which 70% of Scots wanted, has been delivered and Scots will move away from the SNP, who believe this is not the DevoMax 70% of Scots wanted.

123. Clootie

Macart says:
    27 November, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Naw – yer jist gettin’ past it! too auld.

124. Dave McEwan Hill

I meant to post this here and not on the last post. They are really scared of the National and will do anything to stop it. It’s up to us to keep buying.

“I suspect some trolls masquerading as supporters on here are attacking the National. One in particular always has a downside on anything YES does while pretending to be super nat.
    Be aware.The best plants always masquerade as the most committed supporters

125. Nana Smith

Stephen Tierney
    Professor of Constitutional Theory at University of Edinburgh

http://theconversation.com/uk-faces-big-changes-if-it-is-to-survive-new-scottish-shake-up-34782

126. Stoker

Jimbo says:
    27 November, 2014 at 8:53 pm

“I know for a fact that we are where we are because there are many, many, thousands more people who are not in the Party than are in the Party who grafted every bit as hard, if not harder, to get us here.”

Correct, Jimbo, and i’m one of them.
    33 years of fighting for Scottish Independence and voting SNP at every election, whether it be local, national or European, and was only ever a member for the first year.

And are we to exclude the gargantuan efforts of people like the Rev?

We are where we are due to a multitude of different folks from all sorts of backgrounds and organisations and it could not have been achieved without every last one of them.

127. SquareHaggis

@Jim MacIntosh,

Looking at it now

Double-Boost! It’s a blend and the intended recipient is a malt loving No’er

Much obliged 😉

128. Bob Mack

I have looked at many of the posts tonight and feel a little confused. We knew the offerings from the Smith Commission would be poor, AND INDEED I HOPED THEY WOULD BE SO. What they have done is create a lot of anger and resentment in Westminster. I watched the debate today. This will fuel public anger and resentment in England ,as they mistakenly believe they subsidise Scotland .Now imagine the dilemma of English M.P.s of Tory, Labour, and Lib Dem origin trying to justify voting yes to the commission proposals for Scotland whilst leaving their own constituencies disenfranchised. This plays right into our hands whether you are S.N.P. EX LABOUR ,GREEN OR whatever. We have common purpose. The English public will turn against Scotland, as support for U.K.I.P. INDICATES HOW MALEABLE THEY ARE IN TERMS OF PRINCILES. WE CAN USE THIS TO OUR ADVANTAGE. Those who posted the angry comments should pick up all the ammo we have been given by Westminster and fire those bullets. Use every weapon we have, and we have many. Do not get frustrated,but get good and angry and determined.

129. Jane Paterson

After hours of feeling distracted and angry it occured to me that I was succumbing to Tory trickery, just like SLab.
    I expected the Smith Commission to be a slap in the face, an insult, infuriating and it is. Are there any Yes voters who really thought otherwise ?
    We must unite like never before to move forward. If they divide us they will win.
    SNP must work with pro-indy parties and vice versa to gain seats GE15, it is all Westminster understand.

130. R-type Grunt

@ fred blogger

I’m guessing he’s too myopic to get my reference.

131. fred blogger

brian protheroe pinball aaaaahh! what a great song.
    perspective.

132. SquareHaggis

@Stoker,

Much appreciated 😉

133. manandboy

If McTernan is scarce, he’s probably abroad – perhaps seeking advice from the Republicans in the US.

The question is who is John McTernan now working for, the Blue Tories or the Red Tories. North or South of the border.

134. Lesley-Anne

Oops!

I forgot to mention that Alex Salmond is on This Week on BBC 1 at 23:35 tonight. They apparently want to know what he thinks about the Smith Fudge Cake, oops sorry I meant of course the Smith Commission Report. 😛

135. Graham Scott

The thing that I know will drive me crazy over the next few months is hearing from various commentators that income tax will be devolved.

If I was tasked with coming up with a proposal of the absolute bare minimum to devolve in order to give the impression to the general public that income tax was fully devolved, the Smith Commission has come up with the goods.

Someone on BBC Scotland radio today, when pressed as to why the personal allowance will remain reserved, said it didn’t matter as the Scottish Government could just introduce a 0% rate band. Sounds like a perfectly reasonably answer until you think of the intricacies around the personal allowance – apart from age allowance, blind persons allowance etc (small beans) the biggie is the claw back for those earning over £150,000. If ScotGov wanted to increase the personal allowance, then it would disproportionally benefit those earning the most. Where have we heard that before?

And that’s the whole point. The only way anything of absolutely any use can be done is by controlling the whole of income tax (and indeed other taxes), not just a dozen or so of the thousands of sections that comprise the Income Tax Acts.

The fact that savings/dividends wasn’t even included is a punch in the face of anyone wanting change.

136. Morag

I was expecting this to be a horrible stitch-up. In particular I was expecting an increase in expensive bureaucracy which would cost Scotland money, a situation which sets Holyrood up to take the blame for the most unpopular taxes without benefiting from them, and no new powers to enable us to grow our economy or our tax base.

So I can’t say I was disappointed.

The trick is in the presentation. That’s where the battle is now raging. The unionist media are peddling the line that the Vow has been delivered and we have the fabled devo-super-max and isn’t it wonderful. Can the independence parties get the message through that it’s a poisoned chalice? They have to appear to welcome it to some extent, because it’s not politic to reject “more powers” however counter-productive the settlement may be. But the bottom line that anyone who voted No in the expectation of home rule, devo-max or federalism has been the victim of a vile betrayal has to be communicated.

137. James Caithness

@Muttley 79 – This Kid Spotlight writes in the same manner as a poster called Tommy Greenan on FB page scot2.scot.

It is possible it’s the one and the same person.

138. Sinky

Derek Bateman always a good read

The hard truth is this:

Labour are now desperate to convince their own folk it’s a great deal when they could have made this offer their own at the outset and got ‘Devo Max’ on the ballot paper and avoided campaigning with the Tories which is why their votes are disappearing today. They truly are the Stupid Party.

http://www.newsnetscotland.scot/index.php/scottish-opinion/9863-all-hail-the-stupid-party

139. Para Handy

This is one of three very interesting blogs on C4’s website on Scottish Labour’s problems. This guy looks like a sensible blogger…

http://blogs.channel4.com/gary-gibbon-on-politics/breakneck-speed-uk-takes-shape/29731

140. alistair

Check out this web link to summary fact sheet on what’s been offered compared to Scotland 2012 act !!
    t.co/1ALNT5rN4U (copy this into your web address bar)
    If this is supposed to be home rule then stuff it.
    Tax Items NOT devolved include National Insurance; Corporation Tax; Capital Gains Tax, Inheritance Tax; VAT; Fuel, Vehicle and all Excise Duties; oil and gas taxation
    while only 14% of benefits devolved. Hope someone out there can do some good graphic pamphlets we can start distributing that gets stuck into the red/blue/yellow tories …
    Roll on May 2015.

141. Jimbo

@ Stoker

Thanks, Stoker.

BTW, are you the same Stoker who used to drink in Granny Black’s in the Candleriggs?

142. thomaspotter2014

On a lighter note::

Thanks Smith Commission!

You have made Independence a CERTAINTY!!!

143. Mark Coburn

Rev, I’ve written this before and you’re probably sick of me writing it but we really need to get something out there to the general public prior to the election re the lies.

144. Lollysmum

Front page of tomorrows National

SMITH COMMISSION

ITS NOT ENOUGH

Woo hoo 🙂

145. maxikerr

What do you get when you blend Tory blue and Labour red……a bunch of Purple politicians.That’s what we got during the referendum,so let’s not forget what they did to our families future.Lets give them some payback at the ballot box.

146. Lesley-Anne

WOW!

Now THAT is what you call a Kick Earse front page there Lollysmum. 😛

147. Rock

To ever become independent, Scotland must first completely destroy two things:

1. BBC Scotland

2. ‘Scottish’ Labour.

If the 2nd is destroyed in 2015, we will have done half the job.

148. Bob Mack

There will of course be trolls from the “dark side” who will try to infiltrate either covertly or openly. This site is now recognised as an outlet for supporters of independence, and as such will come more and more under attack from the poor souls who have no allegiance but to an empty ideal especially on the run up to G.E 15 They are more to be pitied than anything. Do not waste your time replying to someone who is so disenfranchised that all they can do is try to destroy other peoples positives. Somewhat like the campaign during the referendum, they dwell in the dark of negativity, and we SHOULD have moved beyond them. That is the high moral stance taken care of then.!!!! Alternately we could imitate them and write provocatively to Labour and Conservative sites. Oh the moral dilemma !!

149. Stoker

“How did we get here?”

Well, according to the BBC it was due to “The Vow.”

HOY, NO LAUGHING AT THE BACK – PAY ATTENTION.

“The Smith Commission has its roots in The Vow.”

“This was a promise put forward by the leaders of the main Westminster parties shortly before September’s referendum, in which they pledged to deliver ‘extensive new powers’ for Scotland, in return for a ‘No’ vote.”
    https://archive.today/ebIU1

They are anything but “extensive.”
    And “The Vow” was nothing more than blatant interfering manipulation and inducement.

@ Jimbo.

Naw mate, i’m just a doppelganger.

150. Rock

Morag,

“But the bottom line that anyone who voted No in the expectation of home rule, devo-max or federalism has been the victim of a vile betrayal has to be communicated.”

SUCH No voters will find another EXCUSE to vote No next time, because they are lying.

Our only hope is the 15% who were scared to death into voting No by the likes of Asda.

More powers are not of any concern to them.

More powers are also not of any cconcern to the 70% elderly British nationalists who voted No.

Forget more powers, we will never get anything meaningful.

Forget about ‘Devo Max’ – who in their right mind in Scotland wants defence and foreign affairs to be left in Westminster’s hands?

All we need to do is to relentlessly expose every single lie spouted by the unionists, especially to the 45% + 15%.

Forget about the Herald’s sister paper The National.

Let us make Wings over Scotland a free 7 days a week national newspaper and we will be independent by March 2016 as per original plan.

151. Morag

Just out of curiosity, what are you smoking?

152. Lesley-Anne

Oh dearie me!

Just watched Sky news and their papers review and dear oh dear oh dear. The guy on the sofa does not seem too happy with Nicola and her plans for the shooting fraternity. Awe diddums!

They STILL do NOT get it! The good old boy on the sofa was STILL peddling the idea of “we subsidise the Scots” (YAWN!) with his remarks about devolving Income Tax to Holyrood as it can only go one way. Scotland can not afford to cut income tax!

Phew!

Glad we have got that sorted out then, I can go to bed and sleep easy. 😛

153. Lollysmum

Bob Mack says

“Alternately we could imitate them and write provocatively to Labour and Conservative sites.”

Have fun Bob-you know you’d like to spread a little mischief 🙂

154. Natasha

Kid Spotlight
    Wasn’t it you to whom I had to explain the correct spelling and usage of the words ‘principle’ and ‘principal’? Seems like you’ve forgotten the golden rule – better to stay silent and be thought an idiot than to open your mouth and confirm it beyond all possible doubt.

155. Natasha

@Bob Mack 10.36pm
    It’s alright, Bob, I’m onto it. 🙂

156. Lesley-Anne

It’s OFFICIAL!

The VOW has been fulfilled!

Well at least according to Michael Portillo it has been fulfilled. 😛

157. Lesley-Anne

Omph!

It may be me but methinks Alex is definitely in fighting mood tonight against Michael Portillo and Diane Abbott. 😉

158. Rock

Morag,

“But the bottom line that anyone who voted No in the expectation of home rule, devo-max or federalism has been the victim of a vile betrayal has to be communicated.”

Perhaps you could explain how exactly you are going to do the ‘communicating’.

159. Morag

Wacky baccy, is it?

160. Nicola Wood

Make sure you buy the National tomorrow – just read it. Great paper with a super headline. More than 50,000 copies being sold every day and it’s now a PERMANENT newspaper in Scotland. Yet the BBC didn’t include it in it’s Scottish front pages today … what a surprise from the Unionist Broadcasting Company. Make sure you keep buying it and leave it on buses and trains for others to read!

161. Valerie

@Lesley-Anne, I agree! Even Neil was sitting back in his seat! Not like him at all.

You could see that steely look he was fixing Portillo with, he was a bit more friendly towards Diane Abbot, who to be fair, speaks her mind about Labour.

162. Dr Jim

@Jimbo
    You’re disagreeably agreeing with me. There is no offence meant within my comment, unless you’re being professionally outraged which is another thing entirely by discerning offence where none exists. On another note @Spotkid, you’re attempting to upset the wrong people, told you before, it wont work….

163. Macart

@ Clootie

You’re probably onto something there. 😀

164. desimond

Iain Gray sitting beside Annabel Goldie like her lapdog was a true sign of the times on Scotland Tonight. Well done to John Swinney for helping Sarah Smith highlight Labour being the reason for “the clause’

165. Gavin Alexander

EVEL = OK as long as Scottish MPs get to vote on ANYTHING which ultimately has an effect on the Barnett formula.

166. Robert Peffers

The answer to the West Lothian Question has always been the same thing I’ve campaigned for all my adult life. There are two shades of that answer

One – Get the de facto Parliament of England out of the, (bipartite), United Kingdom Parliament and set up a proper federal state. One with the, (three country),Kingdom of England deciding for itself how it is governed and a Scottish Parliament doing the same. This only requires three existing Ministers of the two Parliaments to meet on a monthly basis. These three are the First Ministers, Finance Ministers and Defence Ministers. They could even do this on a computerised conference link.

The second is that, if the de facto Kingdom of England Parliament insists upon remaining as the United Kingdom Parliament then Scotland’s parliament declares the union treaty void and thus disunites the Union. Then Scotland leaves the Kingdom of England countries to fight out their own solutions.
    My vote has always gone to the second of these solutions.

167. Fred

Looking forward to the day when the only West Lothian Question is “when is the work starting to re-roof the Palace at Linlithgow”.
    Like the National but feel that it’s preaching to the converted somewhat. It has to broaden its appeal to the whole family.

168. Greannach

When Ian Davidson MP made his famous ‘bayonet’ speech, did he slip up? Was he really meaning Labour survivors? Will he be bayoneting his old colleagues in an attempt to hold on to a job, any job?

169. Chitterinlicht

What is so great about the National is that headlines such as tomorrow’s will appear next to all the other unionist crap.

Even at a subliminal level this will start people thinking that maybe all is not as it seems.

170. Heartsupwards

Some commenters on here leave me a little breathless when they discuss sides in this comedy theatre of a Westminster Parliament . There are no serious politics going on . There is only the Westminster Establishment where the ” sides ” are simply players being directed by one source in charge . When does one who watches a movie ever see the director ? Can we not tell that when something as ridiculous as there being devolved parliaments for only three of the four member countries of The United Kingdoms can be acceptable then someone is rigging the game?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.