Asymmetric warfare

Posted on December 24, 2014 by

From last night’s actually rather good “2014 – The Rory Review”:

BBC Scotland has 1,250 staff and an annual budget of just over £100 million. Yikes. We’re going to need a bigger fundraiser.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 24 12 14 12:05

Asymmetric warfare | FreeScotland

2. 24 12 14 13:41

Asymmetric warfare - Speymouth

66 to “Asymmetric warfare”

1. Steven Anderson

Merry Christmas Stuart and all fellow readers.

2. Doug Daniel

Many a true word is spoken in jest. Speaking of which, the programme seemed to do a lot of laughing at the No campaign, not so much at Yes. Remind us why you voted No, Rory?

3. Snode1965

I have the bile ridden, venom spewing image of this clown seared into my brain! Him and that Hastings c@nt made some double act the night before the referendum…Grrr! Anyway it’s Xmas best wishes Stu from myself my family, you have brought light when all around was in darkness… Bit like Vin Diesel in Pitch Black 🙂

4. HandandShrimp

LOL

He isn’t wrong.

5. ClanDonald

Who’s that re-defining our full-time professional exposer of lies as a “propaganda arm?” Oh, it’s the BBC…

6. Capella

Well democracy is such a laugh isn’t it. Move on.
    Meanwhile, over on rival channel RT, Max Kaiser has a laugh too at the expense of the discredited Guardian and BBC. As Stoker said on previous thread:
    http://rt.com/shows/keiser-report/216931-episode-max-keiser-696/
    Wih added bonus of comment on North Sea oil price.

7. Josef O Luain

All the very best in the New Year, from the O Luain Fraktion.

8. Stoker

Spot on.

9. Catherine

What was he shouting in that stupid C4 programme again? That we would have no money or something of that effect? Patronising idiot.

10. Grouse Beater

Yes, I posted his remark at 11.24 yesterday evening.

Listening to him again doesn’t make him any less of a jerk.

There was another interesting moment, Stuart; Bremner is seen listening enraptured to Hapless Gordon making his infamous ‘waterfall of lies’ speech, Bremner applauding as if Brown had just declared himself the real Jesus Christ.

So, lest anybody doesn’t understand:

Brown saved the world, and then the UK.

PS: Brown is NOT the Messiah! He’s just a very naughty boy.

11. Jim Thomson

Is it just my imagination or, does he look uncomfortable delivering those lines?

Duplicitous to the end.

12. Jim Thomson

@Grouse Beater 12:07

Hope Santa is taking note in his naughty book.

13. BrianW

So, Rory managed to sum up a two and half year referendum campaign in 20 Seconds.

I do love the bit about the BBC being the No campaigns propaganda machine. Many a true word said in jest.

14. merida

Thought Rory’s programme was pretty good. Methinks he may have changed his mind, too late for that referendum but who knows what could happen next time.

15. Lollysmum

Now then Stu-no empire building here- no need to get carried away!

Although it does demonstrate how poor BBC was when one man & hordes of cybernats could demolish so many of BBC/MSM/WM lies so quickly.

Great for WoS to be known as the propaganda wing of YES but should have been called the Debunking wing of YES-closer to the truth 🙂

Bremner still making snidey comments months after the event

16. Macca73

First of all just want to wish Rev. Stu and everyone on here a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year (hopefully with the correct results).

I think now we’ve got the National out there doing a great job of reaching people. Does anyone know what the plans are to get the Scotland Evening News which we’ve all seen on here and other news websites. My concern is that Spring next year gives it not enough traction before the GE in May 2015 so might just not get enough of the storylines that hit the BBC in the chops each time it blatently lies to the public on behalf of it’s Scot Labour stance. We’ve seen too much establishment TV of late and I think it’s time to turn the tables and make people start to look through the news from a Scottish Perspective.

17. terry

“The love that dare not speak its name.” Great to see Wings get a mention for once. We all know the WBB had such an impact but MSM and No voters seem to deny its existence! Thanks again for such a tremendous site. Can’t wait to see what’s going to happen in the run up to May.

18. Hobbit

Well, the BBC/Guardian might be the arm of Bitter together, but that isn’t stopping people in the SNP/Yes Scotland campaign from talking to them:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-30497136

E.g.

It is journalists from The Guardian who have gone into most detail – so far – in seeking out revelations as to what really happened behind the scenes on both sides of the debate.

They’ve got some very interesting insights, though they’re still getting quite a sanitised version, as I’m told that being inside both Yes Scotland and Better Together was either brutal or dispiriting.

19. Nobby Power

Merry Christmas everyone, from Power Towers.

To be honest, I’d have been happier with a bit of Rory Gallagher than this duplicitous mouthpiece.

He was as good an example as any, of someone or something that would normally have pulled the state to pieces, but lost their nerve, or remembered who their masters were.

20. Alex Smith

The word “gobshite” springs to mind….

21. YESGUY

For the attention of all Wingers.

MERRY XMAS AND A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR.

For over two years now i have read Wings articles and comments. In these two years, i have gone from a No voting unionist to Loud and proud YESSER.

Rev Stu.

Thank you so much for tearing the scales from my eyes. I will never be so blind again.

Wingers

Way too many to name , A special thank you for giving me a voice for my thoughts and for your answers and comments and your wonderful humour .

To each and every one of you , i send my best wishes and support and am proud to be a Winger .

You are the best.

xx and hugs 🙂

22. Giesabrek

Bremner is what I like to call “a grateful Jock”. You know the type – leaves Scotland to find work in England (usually London) and is quite successful.

As a result, they cannot bring themselves to support a cause they see as a slap in the face of those in England that helped make them a success.

Of course, the facts that independence was never about slapping the faces of those in England (well, maybe Westminster, as a bonus) and their support of a corrupt and damaging “union” (I see it more of a colonisation of a smaller country by their much larger neighbour than a union of equals) condemns many in their homeland to increasing poverty and damaging Westminster policies.

Perhaps they also can’t bring themselves to support a cause that will make their homeland a better place than the one they’ve adopted as home – don’t want to make the grass greener in the other side, so to speak.

23. Simon Chadwick

Happy Christmas everyone! And here’s to an eventful 2015 for all Wingers!

24. Fergus Green

Happy Holidays Alert Readers

Always remember that 24 December is the ideal day for governments to bury bad news. Stay alert.

25. Training Day

Gosh, the British state-coerced denial of Scottish self-determination is pure hilarious so it is, Rory.

Stick to Richie Benaud.

26. tombee

Merry Christmas to one and all. Hope you and yours have the best time possible.

27. joe kane

Since when did repeating wetnat and unionist propaganda about Wings Over Scotland become satire?

28. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

Don’t have a licence, didn’t watch it, won’t see it. He comes across from this clip as the perfect clown for the BBC.

29. Clootie

The BBC bias is not restricted to Scottish affairs. What has becme obvious is that the BBC promotes a “government line”

The bias is – North American coverage and ignore South America. UKIP promotion. Few (if any) positive stories on the EU. Our Wars are good and just. The Royal Family are wonderful and create wealth. No cover ups have taken place at Westminster/Whitehall.As for the middle East – look a squirrel!

The raising of Jim Murphy to Deity status is just a local effect.

If BBC bias is to be addressed then it goes much further than Scotland.

30. Robert Peffers

@Catherine says: 24 December, 2014 at 11:59 am:

” … Patronising idiot.”

Now, Catherine, why don’t you tell us what you Really think of Rory?

31. Grouse Beater

Bremner has spent all his adult life pretending to be other people, to mock them, his own personality unseen. (Like many another impressionist there ain’t much there.)

In the Referendum he had an opportunity to show a real voice, to speak up on behalf of the disadvantanged and the disenfranchised, a 50/50 choice, only one choice relating to people … and he made the wrong one. He chose the establishment.

Back to pretendy voices and limp satirical jokes.

Anybody recall a Bremner political joke?

32. Croompenstein

I prefer Billy Bremner masel but would love to have been a fly on the wall in Willie Rennies hoose if he was watching. He’ll be complaining to the EBC for the mere mention of WoS.

Merry Xmas Stu and all who love Wings Over Scotland

33. K1

I put this on the last thread but meant it for this 🙂
    (Merry Xmas one and all…and here’s to onwards…in 2015)

Shettleston train station have introduced a ‘book trolly’ where people are being encouraged to bring along books in exchange for another, and it’s proving popular.

I’m thinking this could be ‘rolled out’ if people can cite this at their local train stations to encourage them to take up this idea? It could be a useful ‘tool’ in the dissemination of information leading up to GE.

The WBB could also be deposited at train stations for this purpose but also books like Mcwhirter’s ‘Disunited Kingdom’ that Stu’s article mentioned the other day and other related books that we all have.

Some cafe’s have this facility too, wherein you can take a book, bring it back after reading or replace with one of your own.

If we rolled this out across train stations, then people could drop off material as they journey about the country.

‘“The initiative has been welcomed by customers. And it is set to be followed up, with members of the local community in talks to ‘Adopt the Station’ and undertake gardening and even introduce artistic displays exploring Shettleston’s heritage.”’

There’s a contact number on the page, where enquiries can be made.

This is an article from 2010 but as far as I am aware it’s still up and running, actually I just phoned the number and in fact it’s very much up and running in its 4th year. John was very helpfull and has just informed me that Dumbartion Central also have this as well as a couple of others. He also said it’s been difficult to get media attention for this and therefore it’s not well known.

He said that it can’t be ‘rolled out’ as not all stations are ‘manned’ and not all are ideal and it’s better if it’s brought about from ‘grassroots’ up.

He went on to mention a scheme that is up and running in Weymss Bay and Pitlochry where a book can be bought for a £1 and then left at another station and is been run by volunteers.

He’s very open to discussing this with anyone, and very helpful.

But for the purposes that I am suggesting we just have to drop off our materials and utilise this in some way?

http://www.scotrail.co.uk/content/shettleston-station-offers-good-read-short-%E2%80%93-and-long-%E2%80%93-journeys

34. Clootie

Giesabrek says:
    24 December, 2014 at 12:53 pm

This may explain it! 😀

Ever wondered why you’ve stayed in a relationship you know is bad for you?

Trauma bonding

Where one person exerts power or control over another, with the result that the other person feels intimidated or confused, harmed or diminished in some way, we can say that abuse has taken place. The abuse can be physical, verbal, psychological, financial or spiritual, and can be intentional or unintentional.

35. gus1940

Before we start congratulating Bremner for possibly having finally seen the light (although I doubt if that is the case) let us just contemplate for a minute just how many people he scared into voting NO with his disgraceful support for BT in general and Brown in particular.

36. Yesitis

I thought the 2014 Review was surprisingly fair. The only time I remember actually feeling a cringe was the segment in the London Eye with the Irish comedian.
    When it`s left to an Irishman from the Republic who lives and works in London, to mock pro-independence supporters…yes, indeed.
    Where have we heard that before?

Comparing Wings to the BBC? Well, I thought that quite a revealing thing to say, especially on a BBC programme. I imagine a fair few eyebrows were raised.

Anyways, at this point, I`m going to go all sentimental and wish the mighty Rev Stu, Chris Cairns, all who contribute and have contributed, and of course, all of us, my fellow Wings readers, a merry Christmas and a happy, peaceful new year.

37. sionnach

I don’t comment very often, but it’s that time of year. Thanks Stu (and all the other contributors) for keeping us all reliably informed and entertained during what was an interesting (albeit frustrating) year. I wish all contributors, commenters, and readers the best festive season you would wish for yourselves.

Keep up the great work, Stu – you’ve opened a lot of eyes, and the fact that many people out there are talking about Wings means you’re making an impact.

38. Macandroid

@ fergus

Government bad news – Tories still in power!

39. drawdeaddave

Merry Christmas One & All

My message to all pro indy campaigners i used to be one of those union jack waving, rule Britannia, British first Scottish second type Scots, it took the indy-ref grassroots campaign, and blog sites like WoS to politically open my eyes, now i have seen the light, there’s no going back. Thanks to everyone who campaigned and got the truth out there to people like me, your methods do work so keep up the good fight, and remember it’s only the start of the show…

40. heedtracker

Court jester and smiley face red tory union jock. He acts neutral but he’s got a really nasty UKOK side too, if his furious display alongside Gavin Hastings on an eye opener of tv debate just before 18th Sept is anything to go by. They all do to be fair. He keeps saying Scotland’s doing really well out of the union so vote NO and forever. Hard to argue with those kind of smarts, then you look at Norway, how they suffer so much carrying the hellish burden of North Sea oil and without red and blue tory boy teamGB to protect them. He’s just one red tory shyster.

41. One_Scot

I suppose it’s very easy to pretend ” I’m one of you”” and take the piss out of your team when you’re on the “winning” side.

As Skys top Scottish news reporter, James Matthews stated live on air, its all about winning, even if it means winning ugly.

42. No no no...Yes

Fergus Green 12:56pm
    Bad news day

You mean this type of news:

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2014/dec/plan-subsidise-bars-ex-peers-condemned

“The SNP is today highlighting reform proposals that will give retired Lords continued access to subsidised restaurants and bars in the House of Lords.

Proposed reforms designed as an incentive to encourage peers to ‘retire’ is that they can continue to use the facilities and have access to the numerous restaurants and bars to entertain clients and business contacts. The House of Lords currently consists of over 830 members – largely comprised of cronies and Westminster party donors.”

43. Nation Libre

Yes, that would be right, you can be fair now, the votes over. Self serving bastards, every last one of them

44. CRAIGthePICT

I didn’t watch the programme as I can’t stand him. He was one of the low-lifes that were party to the orchestrated campaign using the ‘sinister’ tag and hinting towards racism, xenophobia, ethnic nationalism etc. It is unforgivable.

His arguments against independence were some of the weakest nonsense I’ve ever heard, the type of crap that makes you know they are hiding their true reasons why they want to protect their beloved union and think Scottish democracy is somehow wrong.

Please, no one EVER buy a ticket this morons gigs or buy any of his merchandise. Part of the of the fight now is not forgetting what these anti-Scots done. Boycott Bremner.

45. David Stevenson

With reference to J1: Westerton station has a basket in the waiting room where books and magazines can be left and uplifted. Quality varies but mostly fiction titles. Unfortunately Cambuslang doesn’t have a waiting room, so not an option there.

46. yesindyref2

Better make that 12 years or older. I hate this obsession with coming up with accurate figures, one of the downsides of being a YES voter. It would be so easy being a NO supporter, you can just pluck a figure out of the air and get Danny Alexander or Alistair Carmichael to publicise it as fact.

Anyway, Happy Christmas to all.

47. Kevin Evans

Am glad wings got a wee plug. But refreshing to actually hear a bbc big hitter come right out and say it

48. Faltdubh

I haven’t watched it and don’t particularly like Bremner, so I won’t be watching it. Another apparently undecided, but anyone who saw that Channel 4 debate pre-Indyref will know where his loyalities really lie. Came across nasty, petty and some of the worst reasons ever spouted for not wanting Independence – most of us could come up with better reasoning for maintaining the Union.

I’ve never found impressionists funny. Another dumbing down of ‘comedy’ – they can be mildy amusing for 10 seconds or so, but never undestood how folk could sit through a whole show, or laugh at someone just because they can pull of another more famous person’s tone, speech and delivery.

Hey, but each to their own. I doubt many are interested in some of the music I listen to 😉

Merry Christmas to all on here! It’s been a hell of a year. Went through a huge number of emotions – the summer months’ frantically checking Twitter for polls and seeing them Retweeted by Kevin Pringle (meaning good news) followed by utter devastation of the referendum results through the 19th – a day and weekend I will never ever forget. After a good greet, swallae and a well needed night out with some pals – I dusted myself down, joined the SNP and got on with making sure we’ll win the next ein, and we certainly will do that, folks!

We’re ending the year in top form. All 3 Indy parties growing – SSP’s membership up to near 5,000 (last checked), Greens under 10k and the SNP must be 100k or if not past that now. Polls showing success for all 3 of us – noticed the last Holyrood Survation had SSP gaining 1 seat, small chips and that, but I’d like to see them back in the fold at Holyrood – Greens up to just under 10 and the SNP dominating Westminister and Holyrood.

There’s tons of work to do and we need to keep plugging away to win next year’s election, but to be ending the year as losers in the referendum, yet we all 3 of us pro-Indy party supporters are the winners!

Record membership.
    Record high polling.
    Trust levels high.

And even Unionists, I’ve met a few who are voting SNP next year – and another I know previous Unionist (up to August) voted yes, but has now joined the SSP.

We may have lost the referendum, but are in a great position for the next one. Support for independence in polling since the post ref – 3 have shown a yes lead, 1 had a small no lead, but the same firm , Survation showed that their latest poll had level-pegging, so yes picking up support.

We work hard. We do our best and keep showing up the double standards and failing of the opposition. Independence will continue to pick up in the polls. We’ll win the next one!

49. Geoff Huijer

Not fair to mock the afflicted (his rantings during indyref certainly proved some sort of maniacal affliction/desperation).

Go away Rory.

50. Bugger (the Panda)

Merry Xmas to all non Pandas here.

For 2015, another battle looms in this War of Independence, fought without bombs, bullets or physical injuries.

Gerrintaeremm.

BtP

51. Bugger (the Panda)

Where is Gerry Parker when you need him?

His brother Billy was at Uni with me and he probably went to the same school as the fragrant Helen Lidl (deliberate mistake).

There was a rotundish, skelly-eyed lassie who used to spend every wakened hour in the wee ref room at the end of the Beer Bar corridor at Strathclyde Yooni.

I could swear is was a hormonal Helen.

Is she still skelly eyed?

52. cearc

BtP,

Oi, stop casting unsuitable aspersions on a good value-for-money shop! The management will be after giving you a couple of black eyes…oh, well, y’know what I mean.

Happy festival.

53. Marty

I’m not reading all the above. But I will say I went to bed ragin’ last night during Bremner at the wee Irish guy. ‘I had a go at the NO side too’ no you fu***n’ didn’t if last nights anything to go by.. A vicious attack on yes/oil and & then balanced it up by slagging No for not being very convincing??? its not having an even ‘go’. Yeah??? Scotland ‘doesn’t own the oil’??? … ‘City of london invested’??? the only thing they’re invested in is the destruction of the welfare state and their own pockets. Say goodbye to mum and dad’s pension wee man… the City of London are ‘investing’ our rehypothicated debt in hollow financial ‘products’. So hollow they’re creating a negative gravity that’s going to suck our whole world in to it’s vortex. F*** ORF.
    keep up the good work WOS.

54. Dave McEwan Hill

I thought the programme was not bad. Rory Bremner is a COMEDIAN and a SATIRIST. Everybody gets it from him. Some of the comments on here are way over the top

55. handclapping

What with Lidl and Aldi Jim on the telly, its no wonder the drink aisles were hotchin.

Peace at Yule to the Rev, the bashful Chris Cairns 😀 and all spoken and unspoken Wingers

56. Ken500

The Wings WBB and the best YES literature, giving all the facts and figures came out too late. In the last weeks. Then it had to be distributed. A rush against time. Then it had to circulate. Postal voters would have voted before the electorate had access to the best literature. Voters now have the information for the GE.

Get all the best information out in good time, including more WBB’s?

57. Hoss Mackintosh

Dave,

Just finished watching it and agreed it was OK.

Shame the BBC and Rory were not so unbiased before the referendum.

58. Ken500

Does Bremner live in Scotland or London? He is just making money from the Referendum, when he doesn’t even seem much bothered. He doesn’t seem to like UKIP. His impersonations have always been boring and patronising. A London luvie.

The programme was good because of the YES shots and the great reminders of the Campaign. It would have been the first Hogmanay in an Independent Scotland. How ace would that have been, a dream. 7/5/15 Instead.

59. One_Scot

Rory Bremner was part of the unionist propaganda machine before the referendum. Having a political opinion is one thing, having two faces is quite another.

Any comments against him are more than justified.

60. Grouse Beater

Dave McEwan Hill: Rory Bremner is a COMEDIAN and a SATIRIST.

In Bremner’s case ‘satirist’ is pushing the definition.

He makes jokes about politicians but is NOT driven by any particular political or moral imperative.

For satire to be genuine, and to work, you must begin with a strongly held opposing point of view.

Merely mocking politicians with forgettable one-liners isn’t necessarly satire.

61. Clydebuilt

Dave McEwan Hill says:
    24 December, 2014 at 7:55 pm

“Rory Bremner is a COMEDIAN and a SATIRIST. Everybody gets it from him. Some of the comments on here are way over the top”

Dont agree. Scotland got it from oor Rory. He was a usefull, willing tool used against a YES vote.

Surprised at you taking this tact Dave.

62. osakisushi

I watched the guy on telly and realised he was not comfortable with his prior stance. In my defence, I’ve both seen him on stage and had a private dinner with the bloke a few years ago (when I thought I was the only token Scot at the table).
    I rather suspect when we have a re-run, a brick has just fallen out of their wall.

63. bugsbunny

If Scotland was poor Tiny Tim, then Westminster would be an unrepentant Scrooge, laughing at Tiny Tim as he gets weaker and weaker, as Scrooge lives off the hard work of many. Gordon Brown would attack the Ghost of Christmas Past, Jeer at Christmas Present and scare the willies out of Christmas Future. Brown is the spectre at the feast and while he lives, will always be a hindrance to Scottish Independence. To misquote Margaret Curran, “IF he (Brown) was run over by a bus tomorrow, I wouldn’t go out looking for the driver”.

Merry Christmas and a Scrooge Free New Year.

Stephen.

64. Albaman

He ain’t fooling me, oh yes now that he’s this side of the referendum , he will make comments, jokes that could appeal to either side, oh yea, now that it’s over, but just suppose another referendum were to be called next year, where do you think his allegiance would lie?, aye you’ve guessed it, back where he started.

65. tombee

Bremner has a reputation for his ability to impersonate the voices of others. This gift is only exceeded by his ability to offer his two faced impression on the referendum. You wouldn’t have thought he was such an ardent NO voter from that ‘impression’.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.