As casual as you like

Posted on July 04, 2014 by

Today’s Scottish Daily Express:

express500m

We’ve added the red lines.

The article quickly explains in its second paragraph that “within hours the Scottish Government agreed to match the Westminster funding” of £500m, yet somehow that Scottish Government money has become part of “Cameron’s £1bn pledge”.

There’s no mention anywhere of the fact that according to Deputy First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, the money “consists of just £15m a year for the first five years, with future years’ funding contingent on a review at the end of the first five year period.”

So of course, as no government can in any event bind the hands of its successors, and with the next UK general election just 10 months away, the actual amount of money to be assigned to Glasgow could be as little as £15m, rather than £1bn. Should the scheme’s intended effect of securing a No vote be achieved, it’s not hard to picture the new Westminster adminstration in 2015 suddenly having a change of heart.

(And all of that is on top of the fact that this largesse to Glasgow is in fact being paid for by slashing £270m a year out of the city’s welfare spending.)

But as we already know, almost half of readers never get beyond the headline of a news story. They’ll see “Cameron’s £1bn pledge” and that’s how the job is done.

1. 04 07 14 15:16

As casual as you like | Scottish Independence News

306 to “As casual as you like”

1. Macart

And the chances of them amending a completely false and misleading headline are?

Never mind.

2. MekQuarrie

What is the ‘axed rail link’ referred to under the picture (which will “creat” new jobs, whatever that means)..?

3. JPFife

This City Deal is worth looking closer at. For a start the Government pages show it to be an *English* policy. July last year I think the 8 biggest cities outside London (which Glasgow should qualify as one of) were part of Wave 1. Then another 20 areas were Wave two, all of them again English. Plus it was Nick Clegg’s baby, and he’s been bitch slapped out of the way for Cameron to give his panic attack – sorry, announcement.

Specific use of England for the policy (a couple of times:

https://www.gov.uk/government/policies/giving-more-power-back-to-cities-through-city-deals

Wave one, biggest English cities:

https://www.gov.uk/government/policies/giving-more-power-back-to-cities-through-city-deals/supporting-pages/city-deals-wave-1

Wave two, 20 cities and their surrounding areas. Again all English.

https://www.gov.uk/government/policies/giving-more-power-back-to-cities-through-city-deals/supporting-pages/city-deals-wave-2

4. JPFife

Correction: Which Glasgow should qualify as one of if it were a British policy and not solely an English policy.

5. Ladybird

The “axed rail link” is the proposed link from Glasgow city center to Glasgow airport. Shelved because of cost & objections.

Does anybody swallow this c**p? If Scotland returns a No vote the best outcome would be a Tory/Ukip coalition next year. Demand another referendum and we will definitely be free of Wasteminster. Feeling very frustrated today.

6. Murray McCallum

The £500 million is also not strictly a “pledge” I think.

Pledge definition:

Noun – a solemn promise or undertaking

Legal – a thing that is given as security for the fulfilment of a contract or the payment of a debt and is liable to forfeiture in the event of failure.

So Cameron has strictly “pledged” only 5 x £15 million which totals £75 million (or £900 million if using Danny Alexander’s Treasury algorithm).

7. DougtheDug

This is the Glasgow and Clyde Valley City Deal (Heads of Terms Agreement). It gives the outline deal done by the councils and the UK Government.

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/326765/Glasgow_Heads_of_Terms_City_Deal_doc.pdf

It actually says in here:

The UK Government will contribute £500 million of new capital funding over 20 years, from 2015/16 – 2034/35, to the Glasgow Infrastructure Fund.

Which I make out as £25 Million a year but it then goes on to say:

The funding from the UK Government will be provided in line with a pre-determined funding profile.

Which is maybe where the £15 Million comes from.

8. jim Dear

Not surprised. Deception seems to modus operandi. The boat they all celebrating today is 3 times over budget, no planes can fly on it for at least 6 years and the Navy is short of personnel to man this boat. They should be hanging their heads in shame at their incompetence, not celebrating.

9. Brian Powell

A shame for the folks of Glasgow, to say the least; the £270 million will be gone every year, but the £15 million, well.

10. Geoff Huijer

And just think…if we had independence they wouldn’t have to ‘give’ us anything.

11. JPFife

I’ve done a few archives to save you duplicating if you want to note them:

https://archive.today/HwHF5 Government Page, Policy

https://archive.today/5EoJF Initial announcement 18 September 2012 (18 September, that’s familiar)

https://archive.today/e2lPU Wave 1, 8 cities

https://archive.today/6okF0 Wave two, 20 cities.

https://archive.today/ZRo0A Nick Clegg launch speech December 2011

https://archive.today/LuZrb Nick Glegg £1 Billion for Cambridge (pop 124,000) (As opposed to the £500 million for Glasgow, population around 600,000)

12. DougtheDug

Para: 18 is also interesting:

18. Moving forward local leaders from Glasgow and the Clyde Valley and the UK Government will seek to work with the Scottish Government to finalise the detail of this City Deal by August 2014.

I wonder how much agreement from the Scottish Government they need and what on?

13. Murray McCallum

Whatever the guaranteed annual instalments are, it’s a bit like “pledging” £500 million to charity by guaranteeing to pay £75 million, with the rest totally conditional on how you feel in a few years time.

There is of course the earlier condition of Scotland voting No in the referendum. So the true financial “pledge” is potentially £0.00.

In my humble opinion definitely closer to a bribe than a pledge.

14. muttley79

As Bugger (the Panda) said yesterday this is the start of the bypassing of Holyrood by Westminster and Scottish councils. If there is a No vote, then this will become the main instrument by which Scotland is governed. So the British state would rather deal with the likes of councillor Terry Kelly than Nicola Sturgeon, Alex Salmond, Humza Yousaf, Patrick Harvie, and all the other MSPs. The writing is on the wall for Holyrood if there is a No vote.

15. MJack

Divide and concur. o/t Daily Record today has the first story of a bomb threat. Special Branch again?

16. Jimbo

@ Geoff

“And just think…if we had independence they wouldn’t have to ‘give’ us anything

That’s their ploy, and that’s gonna be their mantra now – A vote for independence will cost Glasgow £500 million.

17. Ken500

£15million over 5 years or £4.2Billion 2017 – 2019 in an Independent Scotland. What to chose?

Vote YES

Unelected Cameron and the usual suspects hogging the limelight.

18. JPFife

Guffaw. Go to the government page for this policy and click on latest. Quote: Once in a generation investment in Glasgow and Clyde Valley

If there wasn’t a referendum they wouldn’t even have noticed Glasgow.

https://www.gov.uk/government/policies/giving-more-power-back-to-cities-through-city-deals/activity

19. seoc

This ‘union’ is simply deceit personified.

20. Camz

Any chance of WoS doing some digging into the rent / rates for Food Banks vs Naw shops?

21. Onwards

Of course it’s a bribe.
    And no doubt it will come straight out of the Barnett formula.

But when you have a friendly media to spin it, it’s easy to get the headlines you want.

The UK government will no doubt have a never ending supply of ‘set-pieces’ such as this, to campaign against independence for the next few months.

The aircraft carrier naming today, of course with the bottle of whisky, is another example.

I am hoping the YES campaign or SNP government has some tricks of their own in the bag.

22. Andy-B

David Cameron must be feeling the heat, over Scottish independence, by offering this pathetic bribe, he’s shown his hand, and its weak. The unionist acolytes will applaud, him, but, canny Scots know better.

23. bookie from hell

Bribes out earlier than expected

24. Bill Dunblane

The £500m of ‘Government Money’ will include nearly £50 raised in Scotland.

And we’ll still be expected to pay up to £5 Billion towards HS2.

25. Bill Dunblane

£50m raised in Scotland!

26. Nana Smith

The torygraph are reporting Alec was booed during the naming ceremony, is there any truth to this…

27. Ken500

Scottish budget cut £1.3Billion a year since 2011 Budget. Oil tax raises 11% (£2Billion) a year now up to 80%, since 2011. Further taxes on chartered vessels. Helicopters falling from the sky. UK Health and Safety guidelines not being followed by private equity companies. No Public Inquiry.

28. Murray McCallum

I’ve “pledged” £500 million with Paddy Power at 9/2 on a Yes win.

The instalments are conditional on a Yes vote.

They haven’t responded to my e-mails!!

29. seoc

The Unionists are quaking in fear. Is there something else they have been keeping quiet about? ‘Fess up chaps.

30. handclapping

28000 jobs for £1,000,000,000 or 28 jobs per mil, lets see now thats sort of £35,000 per job and if they’re paying £16000 thats more than half going to the Council. About right for Glasgow so its probably true

31. muttley79

@MJack

Who knows?

32. Peter Macbeastie

Standard disingenuous pish. The whole thing smacks of ‘see, vote no and we’ll give you all this money, you only have to vote no first.’ Jam tomorrow, anyone? ‘No, no, it’s not jam, see, we’re giving you a teaspoonful first.’ It’s still jam tomorrow, even with a sample today.

The ‘axed rail link’ doubtless refers to the Glasgow Airport line. Trouble with the statment that it could now go ahead is that the land earmarked for it is no longer in public hands having been sold last year (you must have seen the screams about how it was sold cheaply and the SNP Government had explaining to do?)

Then there’s the wee thing I recall hearing on the radio, probably a couple of years back now, at least, where a Renfrewshire councillor stated flatly that it was a daft idea anyway because part of the route proposed was over a field known by everyone in the locality to be little more than a grassed over bog ‘and they’d spend millions just stabilising that first.’

33. r whittington

Aww. Look. Whatever happens in September, Yes or No, I want you guys to know that I’ll always consider you to be good friends of mine. G-man that includes you too.

34. Marker Post

Cameron looks pretty pissed off in the photo, at having to pledge anything. Alistair should have had this sewn up already, should be the bubble.

35. handclapping

Considering Gideon will just borrow the money, add it to our bill and take it out of our pocket money, I’d be happier if Dave had pledged to create 28,000 jobs in Glasgow

36. DougtheDug

The fact that the Glasgow City Deal is a bribe becomes apparent with a little research on the Government’s City Deal website. Have look under the Policy, Details and Latest tabs.

The City deals were done in two waves:

Wave 1 was:
    Greater Birmingham
    Bristol Region
    Greater Manchester
    Leeds City Region
    Liverpool City Region
    Nottingham City Region
    Newcastle Region
    Sheffield City Region

Wave 2 is:
    the Black Country
    Bournemouth
    Brighton and Hove
    Greater Cambridge
    Coventry and Warwickshire
    Hull and Humber
    Ipswich
    Leicester and Leicestershire
    Milton Keynes
    Greater Norwich
    Oxford and Central Oxfordshire
    Reading
    Plymouth
    Preston and Lancashire
    Southampton and Portsmouth
    Southend
    Stoke and Staffordshire
    Sunderland and the North East
    Swindon and Wiltshire
    Tees Valley

Wave 1 has been completed but they still seem to be working their way through Wave 2.

Notice something about Wave 2? No Glasgow. But if you look at what deals have been signed under Wave 2 then places like Bournemouth and Reading still haven’t done any deals yet.

In other words Glasgow has been promoted by the UK Government into a City Deal even though it never applied under Wave 2 and some Wave 2 cities haven’t yet been given deals.

Bribe? Of course not, and bears use the rest-room facilities in Yellowstone National Park.

37. Graeme menzies

@Nana Smith

Torygraph also reports Mr Cameron Boo’d, but puts all the emphasis on Mr Salmond.

Incidentally, looking at the crowd there in the Torygraph photo, it resembles the mythical “35,000” at Armed Forces Day – relatively speaking.

Certainly far, far, many more individuals than were present at the “Independence Rally” at BBC Scotlandshire Pacific Quay…. Not that MSM / No Campaign are known for ever, ever, ever exaggerating…ever.

38. R whittington

Is there really a sale on at B&Q today?

39. Dr JM Mackintosh

Remember …
    ‘A pound spent in Croydon is far more of value to the country than a pound spent in Strathclyde’

If any money comes to Glasgow post a No vote – I would be astonished.

40. R whittington

@Nana Smith yes, he was booed!

41. Aye thats why

Same done here: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/comedy/comedy-news/10940162/Shrek-says-no-to-Scottish-independence.html

We’ve had Donkeys opinion was only a matter of time before they asked Shreks:

“What a fantastic question that I can’t answer,” he said, laughing. But he did take time to answer in Shrek’s characteristic Scottish accent: “Shrek wants what the will of the Scottish people want.”

42. Graeme menzies

@ R Whittington

And so was Cameron.

43. T222Deracha

News last night, RS BBC said £500m over 20YEARS!

44. pa_broon74

I would say…

The type of person who reads* the Daily Express is likely to believe any old shite printed there. If they reported that Cameron had pledged to ‘improve’ Glasgow with his own hands; Express readers are daft enough to believe it.

The Express is good for three things, updates on the memory of Diana, Franklin Mint plates commemorating Diana and the small crossword.

* My mum still habitually buys it, she never read it though, she only bought it for the Crusader crossword. (I could only ever manage the small crossword because I’m a thick yes voter – innit.)

45. R whittington

Was he? Must of been making a brew when that happened!

46. handclapping

Alert Readers, you must be joking! Stu spends his time pointing out the frequency with which our MSM propagate a lie and telling us how to spot them, and then when he does it nobody says dickie bird or even look a squirrel.

So of course, as no government can in any event bind the hands of its successors, is only true if you buy into the “British” doctrine of the divine right of Westminster. Scottish constitutional theory has sovereignty in the will of the people so if the people want to invade Carlisle then that is binding not only on the Parliament and Government of the day but all subsequent ones until Carlisle is ours or we decide the shopping in Newcastle is better. That’s what Yes is all about, not what pound we’ll use.

47. Nana Smith

@Graeme menzies

Thanks Graeme…of course the emphasis will be on Alec.

MSM known for exaggerating…never!

48. heedtracker

To cap it all we have to sit and watch these same lying fraudsters in BBC/STV studios discussing Scotland as if they were some kind of intelligent and respectable observers. They are just a bunch of ruthless shysters although that nice Mr Cardham of the Herald could pass as a city lawyer I suppose and he’s the worst of the lot. Go figure teamGB.

Parcels of rogues, one and all.

49. yerkitbreeks

By dealing with Glasgow City Council this initiative is a proxy for future emasculation of the Holyrood Parliament.

50. Ken500

@Dugthedog 4 July, 2014 at 1.52pm

Notice not one Scottish town. Manchester (pop 1.5million) gets £2.3Billion. Glasgow (pop 1million) gets £1Billion.

Vote YES

51. Graeme menzies

@ R Whittington

What, Was that a gigantic brew for the magic 35,000 individuals collectively booing him?

Did you fill the vessel with water and light a massive bonfire in the dry dock under it?

You’d have got plent hot water out of that to make a brew, let alone hot air out the funnel to rival that of Cameron etc.

52. wingman 2020

Stake through the Heart of London and Westminster

Dear David,

Get off your backside and go visit some of the impoverished areas of Scotland…
    Then meet with a group of well informed YES campaigners from a variety of organisations and charities…

Then and ONLY then will you actually understand what is happening in Scotland.

Even if you get the ‘NO’ vote that your heart so desperately desires…. It will mean precisely nothing without some sort of proper effort to turn Scotland around.

Promises of 500m projects, spending on renewing trident and an avalanche of further austerity is just not going to ‘cut-it’

In this case, all a ‘NO’ vote will mean is a lot of shame, regret and anger in Scotland after the 18th, to replace your smear, sneer and fear campaign.

Then your heart will be broken when it becomes clear to the world that David Cameron wasn’t smart enough to stop his party and Westminster destroying the UK from within.

Scotland rightly sees Westminster as Nosferatu and you have done nothing to address the resultant anaemia in Scotland’s economy and infrastructure.

Sufficient YES on the 18th will be the garlic and stake through Westminster’s heart to rid ourselves of this monster.

53. R whittington

Nope. Just a normal cup of PG!

54. Graeme menzies

Pity, using it as a giant kettle is probably more use than its going to be as an aircraftless carrier.

55. R whittington

Have you ever had a cup of Earl Grey Rooibos?

56. wingman 2020

Aircraft Carrier – Equip it with hospital theatres, medics, emergency teams, stores, and use it to send to trouble spots and disasters around the world. Water purifiers, shelters, and things that will help people in trouble rather than fire unmanned drones at them.

57. faolie

I’d say that the 52,000 people that take the Express (actually less as that’s the circulation figures) are Noes anyway. And the people that see Express headlines in the passing think that they’re mince.

I agree it’s annoying that the MSM can simply shovel out lies like this (and this one is actually a lie, as the Re points out) but it’s just one more rock we need to avoid on the walk uphill to independence.

Nearly there of course – the crest of the hill stands at 50%. Downhill after that 😉

58. R whittington

Love a hill analogy.

59. Onwards

@muttley79

Exactly. The most important aspect is the bypassing of the Scottish Government, and what it says for the future of devolution.

It’s a disturbing precedent.

60. CameronB Brodie

All this money will do, is bring some of Glasgow’s infrastructure up to the level it should already have been at, if the UKplc didn’t funnel investment into London. All conditional, of course and unlikely to significantly alter the structural balance in the UKplc, IMO. An expensive sticking plaster, IMO.

Perhaps one reason Cameron looks miffed, is this “City Deals” programmer appears to be the EU policy of “subsidiarity” in action. I am assuming there will be EU money included. The trend in Westminster over the last 50 years, has seen power centralised. Westminster doesn’t like sharing the gravy.

61. No no no...Yes

From the Express article:

“It follows repeated complaints from Glasgow City Council’s Labour leader, Gordon Matheson, that the SNP administration has failed to help grow the city. Under the City Deal scheme, Glasgow will receive additional economic power in exchange for a detailed economic plan.
    Mr Cameron said the funding would see the creation of up to 28,000 jobs and help pay for investment in roads, bus services and employment programmes.
    It would also help fund the £210million rail link to Glasgow that was controversially axed by Alex Salmond’s Government in 2009.

In a joint statement, Mr Cameron and Chief Treasury Secretary Danny Alexander said: “This vote of confidence in Glasgow will also help generate private sector money so businesses can flourish.”

Mr Matheson said: “It will help us to move to the next level in terms of economic growth for the city region.”

1. What has the Labour Party ever done for the people of Glasgow? Answer- Nothing, they have looked after the Party and their own interests.The people have finally realised this and no bribe to buy the off.

2. What exactly do they mean by “additional economic power in exchange for a detailed economic plan”

3. Up to 28,000 jobs. Details please, given that you are always on about the Scottish Govt being vague.

4. “Joint statement” from a TORY and LIBDEM supported by LABOUR. They are the people that got Glasgow AND the rest of Scotland into the state it’s in.

The people want back their city, game on!

There will be a YES vote in Glasgow in September and the Labour Party (as is) will be kicked into oblivion next year at the UK General Election and at Holyrood in 2016.

62. John

O/T the FB Like button on the last two articles appears to be malfunctioning…

63. Cactus

You could even extend the red underline to cover the word ‘pledge’, cause it’s an empty word. A pledge for £500 million from the current UK Government is nothing more than words. Regardless of Westminster’s gift-aid time frame, it’s inevitable that something else will come along and take priority for the UK.. you know, the next full-on austerity gig!

A word that the Chancellor of the Exchequer used at the time that I’ve not heard of late (with regards to our previous/current austerity period) is DRACONIAN. That was a word used to describe our better together years ahead, remember?

Get yourselves down to the Newsroom in Edinburgh tonight thereabouts 19:30 fellow Scotians, that’s where everybuddy else is going.

These guys play Glasgow tomorrow:

More Than Words ~ Extreme
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UrIiLvg58SY&feature=kp

X SCOTLAND X

64. Flower of Scotland

I have a growling anger inside of me today ( not growing ), growling ready to explode kind of anger! The Unionists bribes are coming thick and fast and many brainwashed Scots swallow it all hook line and sinker! Just read the comments in the Scotsman about Rosyth!

I’m sure BT set up the booing of Our First Minister at Rosyth. I am sure earlier on James Cook was reporting and behind him looked like a bus load had just arrived.

All we wanted in this Referendum was a fair crack of the whip, as the saying goes. Fairness! I must of been naive maybe. Now I feel a burning resentment against everything Unionist and if on Sept 18th there is a NO vote, I will be consumed with such anger! Hope to see some of you tonight!

65. Robert Peffers

It is not beyond the bounds of Naw! That the bottle of liquid used was really just cold tea and the dignataries had a nice we swally to celebrate the deceptions of the day.

66. Melanie McKellar

The Scotsman running this story saying the GARL. To be revived after the SNP Scottish Gov cancelled it in 2009 (mentioned. Twice in the article)
    In truth or fact the Heads of terms states that “it will include some sort of rail link to the airport; the specific type of rail link is subject to further design and assessment”

Keith Brown Transport Minister said in February 2014 “This report (Glasgow Airport Strategic Transport Network Study) shows us why our decision to cancel GARL, which saved £176million of public money following concerns over increasing capital costs and in the face of cuts to the Scottish Government’s budget, was correct. The study shows that there are better ways to achieve the same objectives.

“While the appraisal does not give us all of the answers, particularly around passenger forecasts and risks, we will now consider the proposal for a tram/train link from Glasgow Airport onto the existing rail network into Glasgow Central and I have asked my officials to carry out further work on how this might be delivered.”
    – See more at: http://www.transportscotland.gov.uk/news/brown-welcomes-airport-study#sthash.T13nTSsz.dpuf

67. Graeme menzies

@ Flower of Scotland

I’m with you on the feelings of growling anger and why you feel that way, but that is what these people are waiting for, someone to react physically and the MSM will love it.

68. Tom Foyle

There’s one small bright light on the horizon – well, more of a dim glow, actually – and that is BAe’s statement in “Defence technology review” concerning the construction of the new type 26 ships for the RN. viz. “Even if Scotland becomes independent, we still intend to build these ships in our Clydebank facility. There is no plan B.” There are concerns that independence may cause delays, but no cancellations. And I believe that the navy requires 14 of these ships, so there is some measure of job security for the beleaguered Glaswegian community. Fingers crossed!

69. Lesley-Anne

In the 1700’s after the Darian expedition was torpedoed by Westminster, and disease in Darian, Westminster did the old Bribery and corruption game changing thing with the “parcel o’ rogues.” In my view what Cameron and his cronies are doing now with their £500 Million is exactly the same thing. Replace Darian with the Bedroom tax, poverty and food banks then along comes that very nice Westminster to *ahem* save the day for the corrupt and under handed politicians!

70. Nana Smith

Oh my goodness…that hunk of junk launched today cost how much?

Meanwhile….

http://www.heraldscotland.com/comment/bloggers/crime-and-punishment.1404462344

71. Andy-B

Patrick McLoughlin Transport Secretary happy to pay 30 executives involved with HS2 more yearly, than the UK PM which currently stands at £140.000 pounds per year. HS2 will cost the taxpayer £42.6 billion quid with a further £7.5 billions for the trains.

These figures make David Cameron’s BRIBE look like sweetie money.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2014/jul/04/hs2-salaries-excess-prime-minister-pay-justified-transport-secretary

72. Alastair Wright

And everyone else gets what?

73. Cactus

Here’s a positive poster thought for our beautiful multi-cultural Scotland..

(Note, these come to you courtesy of Glasgoogle translate, apols for any auto-corrections I’ve missed)

«««««««««
    Vote AYE!

Voter oui.
    Votar sí.
    Vota sì.
    Votar sim.
    Voteze da.
    yn pleidleisio o blaid.
    Sic suffragium
    Botoa baiezkoa.
    Ja stimmen
    Ja te stemmen
    Stemme ja
    hlasovat ano.
    ??????? ????
    ?? ????????
    ????
    äänestää kyllä.
    ????????????.
    szavazzanak igennel.
    Kjósa já.
    Vóta tá.
    Rösta ja
    ????
    P?ti ae
    G?osowa? tak
    ?????????? ??
    Evet oy.
    Tagh yes
    Uvote yebo.

Vote YES!
    «««««««««

Add your own if you’re not on the list, cheers 🙂

74. YESGUY

i’m with you there Cam

Glasgow having a shitful of cash spent on it will only bring it up to the level of shit in Edinburgh and Dundee. I know the west is labour heartland but i have a feeling folk will ignore the promise of money as they don’t trust labour any more. labour councils are nothing but gangsters who have kept the area poor to secure votes. Folk are getting involved with politics everywhere now and see through the bullshit.

We can keep getting the positive messages out and come Sept , see a YES vote secured . Then we can concentrate on inner cities .

I’m amazed that anyone would trust those rogues again. I for one certainly won’t EVER.

The trams in Edinburgh was a bungle and a stupid waste of cash . It only got finished when the SG stepped in . Fine if you want to got to the airport but no good to anyone else. Good old labour council. Wasting your money .

These thieves charge food banks rent for god sake.

“I am astonished” anyone could side with the whole shower, vote yes and get rid of these buggers . Use them for ballast on our new shiney aircraftless carrier.

75. The Tree of Liberty

Hope youse all hiv a hoot tonight………regards,

76. Tom Foyle

Just seen a newspaper sub-line…Cameron…” A yes vote would break my heart…”. Kind of difficult, since he obviously doesn’t possess one.

77. Nana Smith

Severin Carrol tweeted

Hammond has confirmed Rosyth jobs are secure. The deal has already been signed.

78. wingman 2020

@flowerofscotland

See you tonight for sure … how will we recognise you? Angry face? 🙂

79. CameronB Brodie

HS2 does not just entail the development of a high-speed line. It will involve the upgraid of all supporting rail networks, as well as road, drainage, etc. The HS2 project is the UK largest ever civil engineering project and infrastructure investment. It will radically improve the competitveness of the Midlands and we are helping to fund it.

80. Dan Huil

@ Flower of Scotland

James Cook is probably the most blatant unionist “reporting” for the BBC. I completely understand your anger. You are most certainly not alone in your anger, and I don’t just mean fellow Wingers feeling the same.
    Stay cool by knowing there are many other “silent” Yes supporters experiencing exactly the same emotions and are silently determined to do something about it by voting Yes in September.

81. Haggis Hunter

Living off hand outs, the crumbs off the table while they squander Scotland’s revenue on vanity projects, aircraft carriers with no planes and themselves.

82. Andy-B

Lesley-Anne says:
    4 July, 2014 at 2:55 pm
    In the 1700?s after the Darien expedition was torpedoed by Westminster.

And King William issued a decree,to all English colonies from Canada to the Caribbean,there was to be no trade with the errant Scots,no assistance, not so much as a barrel of clean water, was to be offered to them.

The only change now is instead of barrels of water, its barrels of oil.

83. magnus barelegs

people in glasgow should be able to see right through this deception from scameron and his unionist cronies……as the old saying goes beware of tories bearing gifts.

vote yes 2014

84. CameronB Brodie

HS2 will link London to Birmingham, only.

85. heedtracker

I hope I’m your friend too Dick. TeamGB Unionists like your good self are fighting the nastiest propaganda vote no campaign possible but you are such lovely, honest and decent characters,who could stay mad at you.

86. Clootie

Great news – they are promising to give us a little more of our money back each year if we vote NO in order that they can keep taking more of our money forever?

Note I said promising. Westminster are only bound by the first part of this statement until May 2015.
    The second part is guaranteed.

87. heedtracker

Christ look the pay cheques the HS2 liggers are trousering. This is the age of teamGB train, and aircraft carries, with no jets, so hopefully no hot wars break out with lots of peasants in say the Middle East not being slaughtered. Tally ho

youtube.com/watch?feature=kp&v=D4CybduRq2k

88. maureen

The Leader of Glasgow City Council has today (3 July 2014) welcomed the news that the UK Government will tomorrow announce a City Deal worth £1.13billion for the Glasgow City Region.

89. Andy-B

I see David Cameron could only muster 220 people to the Dewar Centre in Perth, to what was billed as a rally, the Dewar Centre holds a 1000 people. It must have been very embarrassing for him when very few souls want to save the union, no doubt Cameron used the phrase “It broke my heart.”

Never mind Dave you’ve got a shiny new boat, to help start wars all around the world.

90. G H Graham

Came across the unsurprisingly Anglocentric “History of Britain” last night while channel surfing. It just happened to recount the 13th century period of Edward I of England.

Leaving aside his evil record of labeling Jews with a yellow cloth badge before having almost all of them murdered (sound familiar?), Simon Schama included some words about the effect of Edward forcing his three neighbours into fealty & demanding that the Scots, Welsh & Irish pledge obedience to the English Crown.

The responses of each of the Celtic nations & the different outcomes are of course well documented but Schama was right to highlight that when a nation of people feel threatened or intimidated by their neighbour, even when it is eminently more powerful, they are still likely to respond in the opposite way desired.

The more that Westminster bluffs the more likely it is I believe, that Scots will simply repeat history made 700 years ago & decide that independence is best.

91. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2014/jul/04/hs2-salaries-excess-prime-minister-pay-justified-transport-secretary

Forgot link to Severin Carrelll vote no Guardian hell, so I have to pay taxes to pay at least 30 train execs over 300 grand a year each for a railway line that comes nowhere near silly little Scotland. NO wonder unionists larf at us, hee hee. TGIF once again and only 10 left in this nonsense union, right Dick?

92. Lesley-Anne

Aye you’re right Andy, just do the old swappwerooney thingy between water and oil and hey presto we’re straight back into the 1700’s!

93. galamcennalath

Let Cameron argue the financial sums face to face with Alec Salmond on prime time TV, unedited!

A case of put your mouth where you say your money is!

94. Andy-B

The National Audits Office who scrutinse Government spending, have published documents showing the governments employment contractors, are finding very few people work but charging huge fees. Its flag ship, the Work Programme has failed miserably says the NAO.

The work programmes are even more unsuccessful than Labour’s Flexible New Deal Programme which comprehensively failed. These work programme providers can expect t be £31 million quid, of taxayers money between 2014/15.

http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/2014/07/welfare-work-firms-are-being-paid-five-times-over-job-half-done

95. gordoz

@G H Graham

Yeah saw that too.

Irony of origin for cultural exclusion & yellow identification patches for Jews prior to first wholesale ethnic cleansing by race in History.

Pots & kettles, from ‘No Thanks’ campaigners chucking the ‘smear’ of Nazism about at ‘peacful civic independence movement’.

96. Will Richie

Leaving aside Cameroon’s attempt at gerrymandering the Referendum outcome with a bribe (Edinburgh Legal Eagles – what’s the legality of this???)very litle – if any – of this £500m will ever appear north of the border. ‘Now’ he’s concerned about Glasgow/Scotland/Everyplace north of the Mersey – Humber line? Yeah, right. Not seen any evidence of that since pre-Thatcher days….The real deal here is that all 3 main (failed) parties are concerned about the Yes vote more than they care to reflect. Because, if Scotland goes in September….boosts its income with higher oil prices to England, cuts business tax, cuts fuel duty, creates Enterprise Zone in southwest of Scotland…Northern English businesses will be moving across the border pronto. Even if they don’t, this is the real fear of the ConDemLAbrats, that the N.English will demand total devolution for themselves and/or relocate further north. A Northern Trade/Business Alliance scares the hell out of them. And why not….both sides of the border want a Wasteminster Free Zone. Vote Yes.

97. Colin

Genuine question: does anyone know of an equivalent to this site put together by BT supporters? Don’t worry, I won’t be ‘converted’, but I am keen to read a few thoughtful pieces on the case for the Union, and maybe even a punchline or two. Would make a change from the MSM scaremongering

98. Big Jock

Nana that’s got to be worth another 2% to Yes.Are they trying to lose?

99. heedtracker

https://twitter.com/severincarrell sayeth RN contracts signed for Rosyth etc no matter what the result which is a bit disorientating with Labour say they’re gone with YES. As is the Severn’s lovely twitter photos of all things vote NO, and Gordon Brown playing Twister with BetterTogther Guardian liggers, all the progressive liberal Guardian journos that have spent the last 3 years joyfully crapping on Scottish democracy. Lovely looking bunch

100. Bugger (the Panda)

OT

Listening to Jazz FM over the tinternet. They had a wee piece on GDP and what is it.

The lady talking said that the UK GDP had jumped by 5% recently, because they include drug and prostitution revenues!

Most of that would probably be the efforts of Gideon?

101. Lesley-Anne

Thanks for the link Nana. What a load of utter garbage they talk. I just love this bit though.

However, The Cumberland News understands that it has been hit by organisational problems and will have to be scaled back. But Mr Stewart insists there will still be an event in some form and expects to release details within days.

He said: “I have had an enthusiastic response and I am still trying to iron out some logistical problems.”

I nearly spilt my tea when I read the bits I’ve bolded there.

For *ahem* organisational problems read it as meaning “very few people want to join me on a broken down wall cause it reminds me too much of the broken down country I live in. In any case I wish that Hadrian’s Wall WAS the border cause then I’d be voting YES as well!”

For *cough* enthusiastic response read there have been more than 10 people saying they want to join me on a broken down wall to wave a silly little lantern at those ignorant and stupid wee Scots.”

102. Elizabeth

I see the Telegraph headline is “Alex Salmond ‘booed’ during naming of HMS Queen Elizabeth”. The thing is that, into the article small print, it reports David Cameron was also heckled. Sighs!

103. Robert Peffers

@magnus barelegs says: 4 July, 2014 at 3:22 pm

“People in Glasgow should be able to see right through this deception from scameron and his unionist cronies”.

Aye! Magnus, so they should and a large proportion of these Glaswegians are indeed among the most perceptive people anywhere in the civilised World. Not to mention as nice and intelligent group anyone could hope to call friends.

Trouble is there are another few groups that live cheek by jowl with them that really are among the most bigoted, sectarian and most dishonest people anywhere. Groups that wouldn’t be able to see anything through the perpetual fug of drug/drink and self centred greed as has ever blighted a great city.

Mind you much of this degeneration is due the circumstances they have been unfortunate enough to have been born into. Born to abject poverty, living in abject poverty and the most likely people in all Europe to die early in abject poverty.

It is the duty of us all to look out for our countrymen and women by fighting for them and ourselves to stop the exploitation of our less advantaged peoples. For if they cannot see a better way forward then those of us who can should not condemn them for not seeing a better life for all Scots and other people of Scotland.

A NO supporter is either someone who benefits from keeping Scotland down or someone who has been kept down by them and sees no betterment from Scotland’s independence. Anyone who can read can find the case made for a Scotland that is better than what we have now or face in the near future while shackled to the other, dominant, partner in this bipartite United Kingdom.

I have yet to see any reasoned case for continued subjugation under what is a misnamed United Kingdom parliament but is really the, unelected as such, Parliament of the country of England.

104. Nana Smith

HAHAHA Lesley-Anne you should think about a career in comedy…. or perhaps the BT mob should cause this hands across the border stuff sure made me chuckle

105. Bugger (the Panda)

OT

genuine question are liggers lying tiggers?

106. Lesley-Anne

Nana Smith says:

HAHAHA Lesley-Anne you should think about a career in comedy…. or perhaps the BT mob should cause this hands across the border stuff sure made me chuckle

Funnily enough Nana my partner keeps saying that to me every day, as well as “at least it would get you out of my hair now and again!” 😛

107. manandboy

David Cameron is many things.

Some say, for example, he is a ‘fearty’.

But if you wish accuracy in any description,

then it should be said that

Mr Cameron is a Liar and a Coward.

If he wishes to demonstrate otherwise

Let him appear with Alex Salmond in a TV Debate.

Failure to do so will leave his reputation intact.

I repeat.

David Cameron is a Liar and a Coward.

108. Mary Bruce

This from the Yes Dumfries facebook page:

Friday 4th July is the big independence debate at The Craigdarroch Hotel in Moniaive, starts 8pm. The panel is looking interesting and varied with Russell Brown MP(No), councillor John Syme (No), Richard Arkless from Business for Scotland(Yes) and the fabulous local author Mark Frankland (Yes). Entrance is free but space is limited so please come in and pick up tickets in advance, children are more than welcome.

Also, tonight in Dumfries, the launch party for Dumfries Women for Indpependence in Glitzaratti Boutique, 7pm.

109. heedtracker

We’re going to need tiggers to hunt these guys but at least Scottish rats are not taking it all lying down, or this is a neat example of ukok liggers in action but Severin Carrell’s tweet pics of the Guardian and the BBC staff are all white middle, upper middle class and deeply conservative English people.

https://archive.today/BxIW0 bet they loved bashing out this one

110. Brian Mchugh

I just heard that the Queen broke a bottle of Bowmore Malt over the hunk of junk.

What a sad waste 🙁

I do hope someone drunk it and re-filled it with cold tea!

111. Mosstrooper

So they are proposing to revisit the GARL fiasco are they?

At present there is a regular 24 hour bus service from Glasgow airport to Buchanan Street bus station. It runs every 10 minutes from terminal 1 and most of the time it is empty or close to.

How is this rail link going to pay for itself?

More BS.

As for Matheson’s cough, has he sucked a Fisherman’s Friend lately?

112. Douglas Macdonald

Given this City Deal for Glasgow, how can £25,000,000 p.a. create “up to” 28,000 jobs? At £893 per post, it would appear that applicants would have to be be employed as casual workers. Even if the Scottish Government supports the exercise with another £25 million (effectively £1,786 per job), only a mug or someone in extreme poverty would apply for such employment. He/she would be better off on benefits.

113. Lesley-Anne

I really do hope thatr Russell Brown wears his lovely RED sweater to the debate in Dumfries tonight Mary. I only suggest this because when he attended the presentation we had in Annan Academy it matched, really well, his red face after Jim Sillars was finished with him. 😛

114. Robert Peffers

@gordoz says: 4 July, 2014 at 4:18 pm

“Irony of origin for cultural exclusion & yellow identification patches for Jews prior to first wholesale ethnic cleansing by race in History”.

There is only one Europen Country that has never in history had an offical pogrom against the Jews. That country is Scotland and it is one of the oldest European countries that still exists. That makes me proud to be a Scot. It it also helps to make me a YES voter.

I was given that little bit of Scottish history by an old Jewish couple that I befriended in Edinburgh around 1955. They had escaped the NAZIs, and the death camps, by fleeing to Scotland during WWII.

115. Andrew

“Is there really a sale on at B&Q today?”

Yes dick, you might be interested in their white power goods 😉

116. Bugger (the Panda)

Robert Peffers

The jews and Muslims are also protected in the Declaration of Arbroath, I think.

117. Bugger (the Panda)

Just looked at the English translation of the Declaration and couldn’t find any reference to Jews or Muslims.

Sorry

118. JGedd

@Lesley-Anne 5.10pm

Wait, there is a debate in Dumfries tonight? And I can’t go.
    If you are going, could you report back on how it went, please. I do like the thought of Russell Brown getting a red face. Who is he up against?

119. Liquid Lenny

Bugger (the Panda)

Re Drugs and Prostitution on GDP, that doesn’t come in until Sept 30th when they adopt the same accounting rules as the rest of the EU. Brown said he was going to do it when he was chancellor/PM but it has never happened.

One major consequence is that PFI and Public Sector Pension Liability will come on balance sheet, at a stroke putting the UK’s Debt at over 4 trillion. Which presumably means that Scotland’s Share of this debt magically triples overnight!!!.

Off course its just an accounting exercise and the actual costs of servicing the debt to the UK will remain exactly the same as it is now but it does mean that
    if we wish to have a Currency Union our share of servicing the debt is going to be higher. Unless we play hardball and tell them we only accept the debt as of Sept 19th.

Or course it would be easier for us to say , you can keep your currency union and your debt 🙂

120. R whittington

Who’s watching the football?

121. gerry parker

@ Andrew.
    and drain cleaner…

122. JGedd

@ Lesley-Anne

Sorry, scrub that. In a bit of a hurry and just spotted Mary Bruce’s post after I saw yours.

123. Jim Thomson

O/T – here’s another reason why we’re definitely better NOT together. That lot in Westminster are just coming to terms with the modern age. The Scottish Marriage Certificate has had the mother’s name since inception in 1855.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-28158341

Shameful

124. Lesley-Anne

Well what do you know Jim. Where Scotland leads Westminster will, eventually, possibly, maybes AYE, maybes NAW follow! 😛

125. goldenayr

R whittington
    “Who’s watching the football?”

England are out,we’ve nobody to cheer on.

126. R whittington

@gerry parker Do they sell Nat repellant?

127. goldenayr

If Westminster keep giving it such largesse,so we vote no,we might not need a ref as they’ll have handed us all the powers of indy as a bribe.

128. Croompenstein

OT – UK Minister in ‘no guarantees’ shock..

“I can never guarantee anything personally. What I can do it put in place the decision-making process and the right people to make sure we make the right decisions and we can properly and adequately manage the budget.”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-28156292

129. Bugger (the Panda)

Liquid Lenny

Thanks for that.

I had heard that Broon’s off books debt was possibly due to come on because of EU harmonisation but could find no reference to it by google search. I even e-mailed Business for Yes but I received to reply. I guess they are a small team and pretty stretched.

I am beginning to think that the best option for Scotland would be to set up a Scottish currency, initially tied to Sterling and then when the rUK goes down the S bend, jump into the Euro or the Norwegian Kroner?

We get no assets from the rUk, they keep all the £4 trillion debt and we get to watch a financial Chernobyl south of Carlisle.

130. Lesley-Anne

goldenayr says:

R whittington
    “Who’s watching the football?”

England are out,we’ve nobody to cheer on.

WHIT?

Well who’s that playing in White?
    Oh wait a minute I’ve found out it’s Germany. 😛

England are out you say! But weren’t they going to win it again. I’m sure they told us that they would. Oh I don’t know promises promises and every one is broken. 😉

131. Jim Thomson

Aye, Lesley-Anne – and by “modern age” I really meant the mid 19th century 😡

132. macart763m

@Lesley-Anne

If you’re going to that wee shindig tonight, be sure to give Mr Broon a big wave. 😉

Tell him Jim Sillars sends his best. 😀

133. Lesley-Anne

Well as we all know that Westminster moves at the speed of a speeding bullet, in their own minds at least, you’re probably correct mid 19th Century sounds just about right! 😛

134. goldenayr

LA

Germany/England…you can tell the difference?

135. Lesley-Anne

Sorry Macart I can’t make it tonight. 🙁

Mind you I wish I could. I would just love to hear what the reasons are for me to vote NO. I’m sure he has them sitting at the end of his finger tips. I just hope he doesn’t bring up the old fourth largest defence spend in the world. I some how think this listing kind of proves that they must be wasting one hell of a lot of money if fourth largest defence spend only gets you to number THIRTY SIX on the list! 😛

http://tinyurl.com/22rbre5

136. R whittington

The World Cup doesn’t end when England get knocked out! It’d be a short tournament if it did. Looking forward to th Columbia game. Between you and me Columbia are worth pound or two.

137. Lesley-Anne

goldenayr says:

LA

Germany/England…you can tell the difference?

Well to be fair goldenayr it wasn’t actually me that spotted it was Germany playing in the white shirts I had to rely on the commentator. 😛

138. R whittington

@goldenayr about 11 world class players. That’s the difference.

139. Grouse Beater

£1 billion to Scottish ‘Nazi and facsist’ sympathisers – really?

140. heedtracker

Dick. If you no campers really have destroyed Scottish democracy from 19th Sept, how come BBC’s still doing “national” Scottish news stuff like this or is this another teamGB war without end?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28167744

and

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-28159016

Sorry to interrupt the match Dick.

141. Mary Bruce

@JGedd/Lesley-Anne: Just hearing third hand through the facebook grapevine that Councillor Syme has been replaced by Elaine Murray MP… For a wee pub debate in wee village Moniaive? Are they that feart? Lolz.

Two Labour MPs now up against the yes supporting Business for Scotland Solicitor and Entrepreneur, Richard Arkless and the very articulate charity worker and novelist, Mark Frankland. And they will still get gubbed.

142. hetty

JPFife at 1.06pm
    I hadn’t heard of their ‘wave’ plans, but the only wave we need is a bye bye to the union.

On a related subject, when I read the McCrone report I recall there being mention of sending sweeteners to the more deprived areas of Scotland, in order to keep the natives from getting too angry, at least that was the gist of it as far as I could see.
    Has D C been reading the McCrone report? Or maybe the manual on how to keep the natives happy when you want their land, oil etc but they won’t give it up easily!

143. goldenayr

Dick

First sensible thing you’ve posted,congratulations.

LA

The commentator?

I thought they only talked about the players in the English leagues.

144. R whittington

@heedtracker do you mind if I read those after the footie?

145. R whittington

@goldenayr English and Scottish football both suffer the same problem. Shouty parents on sidelines killing any creativity that the kids mite have.

146. R whittington

*might .. Before the spelling police correct me

147. macart763m

@Lesley-Anne

Ouch! That’s got tae nip in the old pride dept. At one time the world’s premier naval power now ranked 36. Mind you in terms of overall fire power still in the top ten.

I’ll bet HMG is soooo proud at spending all that cash to keep up with the rest of the weans in the playground. As opposed to y’know sorting a few home based problems out. 😉

148. goldenayr

Dick

You act like a clown if you like.

I prefer rugby.

149. JGedd

@Mary Bruce

Oh, Elaine Murray wouldn’t frighten anyone. They must think wee Russell is really awful if they thought sending in Elaine Murray would be ample back-up. She does get a wee bit overwrought too.

150. R whittington

Good for you. The rugby’s not on though is it?

151. goldenayr

Time for another “DOH” moment.

Been listening to Queens “bicycle” for thirty years?.

Listening to Get It On on RS,just realised it’s a political song.

152. heedtracker

@ Sorry Dick I thought WoS was a politics blog, but its nice reading what telly vote no campers like watching, the kind of tea you like etc

153. Croompenstein

I’m quite glad there is football on otherwise there would be wall to wall Meh Meh look at our big ship Meh on the EBC

154. R whittington

@heedtracker no problem. I’m sure if we all get to know a little more about each other we can eventually overcome our differences. What your faverout colour? Mines blue, but I also like green.

155. goldenayr

Dick

Agreed,but that involves listening to the other side.

A sense you have yet to cultivate.

156. CameronB Brodie

R whittington
    We have a space dedicated to this sort of friendly chat. It’s called Off Topic, strangely enough.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/

157. R whittington

I’m starting to feel unwelcome.

158. heedtracker

@ Dick are you sure your achieving anything no thanks bettertogether or is that the point? You’ve all had great day with the queen and huge, completely useless battle ship launch and all draped in giant union jacks for the last time in Scotland but you may be the saviour of this nonsense union, Dick saves teamGB shock.

159. Lesley-Anne

WOW, Labour councillor is OUT and Labour M.S.P. is IN. Thanks for the update Mary. 😉

Maybe it’s just as well I couldn’t get there tonight I wouldn’t be able to stop laughing at the *ahem* poisoned dwarf! 😛

goldenayr says:

LA

The commentator?

I thought they only talked about the players in the English leagues.

I think they were talking about Germany through the eyes of a wishful watcher. 🙂

Thing is Macart three of our Nordic neighbours are ranked HIGHER than Broken Britain and the fourth is just below. So they can’t even point at our Nordic neighbours and say “look we spend more than them are we’re ranked higher than them” cause HMS Broken Britain can’t even achieve that! 😛

160. CameronB Brodie

R whittington
    Inviting you into the Wings play room is unfriendly? I think stealth de-railing like you have just managed, are pretty likely to make some angry here. That was why I suggested you post where more appropriate.

161. goldenayr

Dick

You’re more than welcome if you add to the debate.

The current unionist thinking is to distract from the debate however.

That is unwelcome.

162. R whittington

Im just lonely I guess.

163. goldenayr

LA

Yeah,they also wish the Roman Empire had never ended.

164. Robert Peffers

@Andy-B says: 4 July, 2014 at 3:39 pm

“I see David Cameron could only muster 220 people to the Dewar Centre in Perth”..

Wow! As many as that?

I’m begining to worried now if the Tory PM can draw as many as that.

165. CameronB Brodie

R whittington
    Get yourself along to the Newsroom tonight, if you can, and I’ll buy you a pint. Otherwise, gonna help and not de-rail threads?

166. macart763m

@Lesley-Anne

Yeah, spotted that and one of them is Finland. 😀 LOL

167. Liquid Lenny

Bugger (the Panda)

There was an article in the business pages of the Sunday Times a couple of weeks ago, I don’t normally buy anything these days apart from the Sunday Herald but the Sunday Times has a good travel section so I bought it to check for celebratory sunshine breaks post September 18th,(When I get over the hangover)

Im with you with the currency, but think no point in joining in with the Norwegians, if they can successfully run their own currency so can we.

As far as I can see the UK is already signalling to the Markets that they will be raising interest rates post YES vote, otherwise they will not get anybody to buy their Bonds.

Off course this will mean our Mortgage rates will increase as well, but there’s not a lot we can do about that in the short term.

I Don’t watch TV or listen to UK radio anymore or buy any papers but I’m sure I heard they were warning Mortgage holders that they would have to ensure that they could take a 3% rise in rates.

Currently with 1.3 trillion debt it costs 50 billion per year to service, If the rates go up a couple of percentage points it will go to at least 100 billion per year to pay interest and that’s only on the current 1.3 trillion debt.

It wont be long before the IMF is in again, remember what happened last time? I remember paying 14% Interest on a Mortgage, I think it went to around 18%.

Thing is that the last time the IMF got called in it was on the fag end of the Callaghan term, not many people had houses, now the masses have been fed the propaganda that they can make a fortune gambling on the housing market the far higher percentage of families in their own, albeit, mortgaged property’s means that its going to be a tsunami of discontent. Possibly why Boris has already got the water cannons in.

This is going to happen whether its a yes or a no, however with a yes vote, Scots will be sheltered from the worst of it due to the stronger Scots economy. That might be the signal to move to either the Euro or our own currency.

168. R whittington

Aww. You’re a nice person. I’m not really lonely. I’ll f**k off now though.

169. Black Douglas

Ah that’s nice R whittington but I suspect like you’re No Thanks friends your telling untruths. Night Night “evil”

170. Ken500

People in Scotland can’t get mortgages because of the restrictions bought in, because of the increase in house prices in London S/E.

171. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Somewhat unfortunate Cameron’s unionist posturing was brought down to earth with a thump when he was asked about his close friend and spindoctor Andy Coulson being Sentenced to 18 months in prison. So the scottish public are supposed to blindly put their trust in Cameron when his own spindoctor has just been jailed? Nae chance.

Nor was one of the other headline stories on the news a triumph for ‘better together’ with an MP claiming a child abuse ring had been operating at Westminster after it was revealed that a dossier on the allegations had mysteriously gone missing.

At least we can celebrate U.S. separation day.

172. Dave McEwan Hill

Flower Of Scotland at 2.44

I have no idea why anybody would want to read the comments you are likely to find in the Scotsman.
    They are completely irrelevant and entirely unrepresentative of any significant body of opinion.

173. Morag

I’ll be seeing you shortly. I’m bringing a couple of songs, in case the occasion arises, so bring your voices.

174. Croompenstein

Brilliant cartoon from Greg…

http://gregmoodie.com/dont-break-my-heart/

175. Lesley-Anne

You right there Croomp. My sides are killing me, and it’s a drawn cartoon not a moving cartoon. Absolutely brilliant! 😛

176. macart763m

That’s a beauty croomp. 😀

Greg’s played a blinder.

177. msean

Tories taking a tenner and returning a pound (in instalments)alert. We can count.NO THANKS.

178. Bugger (the Panda)

Liquid Lenny

The average price of a house rose 26% in the SE of England in the last 12 months!

Let us just say, for argument’s sake that the average mortgage is £400,000.

So if the interest rate goes up 1% that raises the repayments annually go up by about £4,000 or £350 a month. As a lot of these people have maxed themselves out to get on or move up the housing ladder, I can see another housing bubble about to pop.

The demand and supply for housing in the SE is way out of kilter and a lot of heartbreak is a coming.

179. Robert Peffers

@Lesley-Anne says:
    4 July, 2014 at 4:44 pm

“He said: “I have had an enthusiastic response and I am still trying to iron out some logistical problems.”

Well it was likely most south of the Hadrian’s wall knew it is not the border and that Hadrian became Emperor in 117 AD when the Roman Empire had ceased to expand. Being concerned to consolidate his boundaries Hadrian visited Britain, in 122 AD, and ordered the wall to be built, “to separate Romans from Barbarians”.

Now the laughable bit is that the Romans had first claimed Southern Britain as part of the Roman Empire in 55 BC. They thus had occupied South Britain for 177 years by 122 AD and were not to leave Southern Britain until 409 AD. That is another 287 years.

So the country of Caledonia was a recognized country for a total of 464 years before the Romans left and England only came into being AFTER the Romans left and the Angles gave their name to their new country.

Even funnier is the fact that as the Romans operated a customs system the real reason for Hadrian’s wall was to stop smuggling from South Britain. They came for the metals and other minerals of Britain and for the taxes they imposed and for the capture of slaves.

That was how the whole Roman Empire worked. So the popular English idea the wall was to keep out the Scots is mince. It is claimed by many experts the guard posts faced south – not North.

180. Lesley-Anne

Thanks for that Robert great info there. It kind of puts a whole new twist on why the wall was built. Certainly shows up the lies that all the historians love to put on the reason for the wall anyway. 😛

181. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Iain Gray’s Subway Lament

This second scandal is a wee fizzer, and could blow up at any time, or just burn out.

The chat is about Leon Britten “misplacing” a dossier or two.

Britten shuffled off to Bruxelles after his sojourn at the Home Office, Britten’s bestest friend is allegedly, Nic Clegg’s daddy and oor Nic got his first job after Uni, in Bruxelles.

Nic repaid this generosity by getting Leon Britten appointed as a temporary freelance Trade Secretary. Cameron approved this.

All the above is covered by all the necessary allegedies and maybes possible.

I smell a very old jobbie bubbling up from the depths of a deep sewer and it stinks.

182. SheepOnFire

Is it only me but is Queen’s baton relay a heap of cr@p. Its a just a stick. Its a non event.

Yet BBC Scotland’s reporter Cameron Buttle trys to enthuse a non event, daily. What a waste of taxpayer’s money.

I’ve observed the establishment technique, use school children then get reflected glory from a music concert used to attract the young, at the end of each daily event all on TV news. Utter dross.

ps. YES Scotland maybe missed a trick to capture young/youth and get on TV by association by staging daily music concert events. YES has to be smarter than NO.

183. Blair paterson

My email address is margaret.paterson 6@gmail .com for some reason you have chaged it

184. Bugger (the Panda)

Robert Peffers

So what happened to the “lost” Legion?

Any ideas?

185. Lesley-Anne

Looks like Cameron has ordered an inquiry into the Westminster child abuse claims BtP. Yet they continue with the “we’re better together” shite!

http://tinyurl.com/kv822ro

186. gerry parker

Drain cleaner must have worked.

187. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Lesley-Anne

Kicked into the long grass. Three years and then fizzled out.

too long ago
    before the digital era
    memories fading
    the original dossier was not copied and we have no clear idea what was in it and what was lost.
    the trail is cold
    people have died.

There, you can construct a synopsis of the final report from the above.

188. Bugger (the Panda)

gerry parker

We must just ignore him or her.

189. Lesley-Anne

Thanks for your very concise report BtP, don’t think I’ll bother waiting for Cameron and his cronies to bring out their *ahem* “nothing to see here move along now” final report in 10 years time then. 😛

190. Robert Peffers

@goldenayr says: 4 July, 2014 at 5:42 pm

“England are out,we’ve nobody to cheer on”.

Shame on you – have you forgotten the Auld Alliance.
    Oops! That’s France just gone out too.

191. Defo

Murray McCallum says:

“So Cameron has strictly “pledged” only 5 x £15 million which totals £75 million (or £900 million if using Danny Alexander’s Treasury algorithm).”

Quality Murray, it’s worth a visit to WoS for that sort of put down alone.

Anyhoo Millions squillions. Trying to buy off Glesga with a more than shaky looking offer looks rather pathetic, when there is evidence of Trillions worth of taxable resources waiting to be exploited around our shores.

That measly £15m quoted would only be re-directed back into the trough by the council anyway.

192. JGedd

@ Bugger(the Panda) 8.01pm

The Ninth Legion? You might be interested in this:
    http://www.romanscotland.org.uk/pages/narratives/IXth.asp

193. Robert Peffers

@heedtracker says: 4 July, 2014 at 5:56 pm

“Dick. If you no campers really have destroyed Scottish democracy from 19th Sept, how come BBC’s still doing “national” Scottish news stuff like this or is this another teamGB war without end?

Last time I saw a mini-twister in a Glasgow Car Park it wis Wee Krankie gettin intae a motor.

194. Steviecosmic

Of course, the upshot of Cameron calling an official inqury into child abuse is that it will put any police inquiry to bed until his reports back…..which would be in about 10 of your Earth years.

195. scottish_skier

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-27908558

How are Americans celebrating the Fourth of July in Scotland?

Damn anti-English xenophobic separatist fascists obsessed with The Patriot which isn’t historically accurate…

196. Robert Peffers

@R whittington says: 4 July, 2014 at 6:33 pm

“I’m starting to feel unwelcome.”

Oh! Yer welcome enough. It’s the stupid things ye post wi canna thole.

197. eddiefaeglesga

anyone read jim sillars article in daily record – brill

198. Jamie Arriere

Oh oh! Could this be the start of the real dirty campaign?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28167744

Need to find this ‘chap’

199. D Duncan

Smoke and mirrors not convincing at all. Beeb did confirm Scottish government would have to put up half !

200. Croompenstein

@Jamie – That made the front page of the Daily Ranker today, it’s enough to make your blood boil but it’s not entirely unexpected they are preparing the ground for all eventualities.

201. HandandShrimp

Jamie

Assuming he exists and it isn’t just an attempt to take the heat off the Better Together self destruct contagion on Twitter

202. Croompenstein

And I hope and pray for the sake of the victims and the lives lost that the dirty little secrets of the British Establishment are uncovered but like BtP and Lesley-Anne I won’t hold my breath. Rule Brittania

203. Lesley-Anne

I have to admit Jamie that is not good news for either side. I hope the numbskull involved is caught, and caught real soon. What worries me though is that no matter who it is this can only be spun one way by Better Together… “YES are losing the argument and turn to violence to win the referendum.”

However, being the cynical bitch that I am I have a wee niggling voice talking away in the background suggesting this may be a NO Thanks *ahem* prank to make the YES campaign look bad in the eyes of the public.

Obviously everything is up in the air and open to speculation but I’m betting the NO Thanks brigade are already spinning this story out of control. I just can not fail to be cynical about this because it appears to have happened right in the middle of the on going Moray fiasco of abuse from the Labour party in Moray. This surely couldn’t be a Labour ploy to try and deflect attention from their abject incompetence in Moray, could it?

204. Nana Smith

@Lesley-Anne

A prank by BT…I would say so. These people are capable of anything, dirty tricks with added menace.

205. heedtracker

@ HandandShrimp, you dead right there. Unionists Labour twit implies children of Yes voters are hitler youth, bettertogetherBBC go big with BT bomb threat farce. And the daily projectfear Guardian freak show rolls along to Scotstown.
    http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/jul/04/scotstoun-scottish-independence-threat-glasgow

Its not like any of the remaining BAE staff even live in Govan or Scotstoun anyway. I know some commute from Gourock and very lovely Gourock is too but even so the sneaky shit Guardian dude just keeps squeezing that Bliar MacDohball

206. westie7

Remember in 30 yrs of Mainland UK ops the IRA never touched Scotland.
    It took UK foreign policy to bring a Suicide Bomber to Glasgow Airport

207. muttley79

Does anyone need cheering up? If you do, read this article from an alleged Labour insider in Scotland on the Better Nation website:

http://www.betternation.org/2014/07/taxi-for-lamont/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=taxi-for-lamont

Here is a wee taster:

Anas is extremely likeable. He has a warmth and charm which is more sincere – or more convincing – than most politicians. D: D:

Finally, timing may be a problem for Jim. As a front-bencher in a party that’s in the lead in the polls, Jim may well be a cabinet minister with a foreign affairs brief within a matter of months.

Douglas is smarter and more conciliatory than most contenders, but I doubt he has either the desire nor the malevolence to knife his buddy Jim. WTF! 😀

208. Grouse Beater

The Express editor must know he is misleading his readers by stating the UK is giving Glashow £1 billion.

There has to be laws in place that tell a newspaper to retract a distorion and print the truth with an apology.

No wonder Chavez took the sons-of-bitches to court when faced with such unfettered lying and belligerence.

209. Black Douglas

The man walks into the shop in the middle of a shopping centre! CCTV and let the Police do their job unless he wore a V mask.

BTW did the police charge anyone for the heinous cybernat attacks on JK Rowling?

Are BT trying to hide some other news atm or create some of their own either way I wouldn’t trust them as far as I could throw an empty aircraft carrier.

210. muttley79

Contiuned:

Margaret Curran is always worth mentioning, having been a senior figure in the party since Jack McConnell’s leadership. No she’s not! 😀 😀

Kez has incredibly sharp political antennae……Once upon a time, Kez’s naked ambition caused her to be looked upon sceptically by many. Like so many of Labour’s youthful staffers, she appeared only to discover her lifelong love of the Labour party when she was looking for a job. 😀 😀

Magnificently bonkers article.

211. bookie from hell

you gov

prob don’t ask anyone under 40

212. Robert Peffers

@Lesley-Anne says: 4 July, 2014 at 7:55 pm

“Thanks for that Robert great info there. It kind of puts a whole new twist on why the wall was built. Certainly shows up the lies that all the historians love to put on the reason for the wall anyway”.

There’s one thing I’ve come to believe in my long interest in real history. Academics do not always exhibit any common sense. There is absolutely no doubt that the main motives behind every World Empire that ever was is for the Empire builders to profit from the people they defeat.

Why would the Romans in Britain be different? We know that lowland Scotland is a rich area of minerals and there is Lead Hills that had the minerals the Romans came for and natives for slaves.

Strange thing about the Gask Road and wall was that they have never found a Roman Graveyard not a place where the troops entertained females. Why only missing there? A normal garrason would have a natural death rate on a par with every other Roman site in Britain – why none in what is now central Scotland?

213. Croompenstein

Bateman’s latest broadcast, Mark Hirst who works for the Russian news agency gives some interesting insights, don’t agree with him on Trident though..

http://batemanbroadcasting.com/episode-5-others-see-us/

214. mr thms

The Glasgow Airport Railway Line stage is only possible because of the Paisley Corridor Improvements..

http://www.networkrailconsulting.co.uk/our-projects/paisley-corridor-improvements/

“The purpose of the Paisley Corridor Improvements (PCI) was to provide additional capacity on existing Ayrshire and Inverclyde services.

The project was a significant £169m investment in the infrastructure and included:
    *construction of a new third line between Gower Street Junction and Hillington
    *construction of a new four track railway into Paisley Gilmour Street
    *renewing all associated signalling equipment with additional functionality, such as bi-directional capability
    *installing new signal interlockings for the Shields and Paisley areas
    *transferring all signalling control from Paisley to the WSSC
    *lengthening the freight loop at Elderslie and remodelling the access to the freight yard
    *constructing two new platforms within the train shed at Glasgow Central.

The project is recognised as one of the most complex ever undertaken in Scotland, with the complexity spread across all disciplines. Access to construct the works was very limited on the heavily trafficked corridor with 24 hour operational capability being maintained for the vast majority of the challenging construction period.””

215. bookie from hell

torys hav no prob EX-UKIP

Craig Mackinlay has been selected as the Tory candidate for the Thanet South constituency at the 2015 General Election – a seat being eyed as likely to be fought by Nigel Farage.

Mackinlay was briefly UKIP’s leader in 1997 before serving as deputy leader of the party between 1997 and 2000. He joined the Conservative Party in 2005.

216. Jamie Arriere

Yeah I know, we just need to wait and see. We all have suspicions of what this could be, but let the police do their job, find the bastard & throw the book at him.

Say no more.

217. bookie from hell

George Galloway @georgegalloway · 58m

Do the cyber-Nat warriors imagine that heaping personal abuse on everyone who disagrees with them actually wins votes ?

218. Krackerman

Bookie… nope but for one I’ll make an exception for George … He’s a disgusting cunt of a human being who I am surprised is not right now kissing arse of some 3rd world Arab dictator/mass murderer…

In case the message is not clear…. There are people… then there is the sh1t you wipe from your boots… below that is George…

219. caz-m

Anyone got any idea how the big night out went in Embra?

Concerned Winger.

220. Grouse Beater

George Galloway @georgegalloway · 58m Do the cyber-Nat warriors imagine that heaping personal abuse on everyone who disagrees with them actually wins votes?

Oh, I really hope he’s read mine, I really do:

George Galloway – Scourge of Scotland

221. goldenayr

caz-m

Judging by the dearth of posters on here,I’d say it’s still going great guns.

222. goldenayr

Grouse Beater

Probably why he said it.

223. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

@ Bugger (the Panda)

Most of what you said is pretty much public record not speculation. It’s certainly no secret that Clegg owes much of his career to Leon Brittan. As Wiki details.

“Vice-President and Trade Commissioner Leon Brittan then offered Clegg a job in his private office, as a European Union policy adviser and speech writer. As part of this role, Clegg was in charge of the EC negotiating team on Chinese and Russian accession talks to the World Trade Organisation.”

Brittan’s appointment as a trade advisor by Cameron with Celgg’s blessing is also not in dispute whatsoever and was widely reported at the time.

Also on public record is Clegg’s absolute refusal to hold an inquiry into the actions of Cyril Smith.

Now there IS far deeper speculation beyond that but those facts alone are going to ensure this story isn’t going to just vanish mysteriously like that dossier, even though there will be incredible pressure for it to do so. At the very least this will focus a spotlight on those in westminster applying that pressure and fervently praying nobody notices.

224. gillie

I see MI5 (or is it MFI) have tried to pull the old SNLA trick.

Hilarious!

225. Calgacus MacAndrews

@caz-m says:
    Concerned Winger.

Brilliant.

Everyone says “Yeshhhh …”

226. goldenayr

gillie

I thought the alleged bomber lived in an OO hotspot?

227. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

@ gillie

MFI in action. Or should that be inaction? 😉

“Broadsword calling Danny Boy. Pizza delivered and the chicken is in the pot.”

The ‘chicken’ in the case being Andy Coulson and the ‘pot’ being prison.

😀

LOL

I doubt Cameron and his pals are laughing too much today.

228. heedtracker

Prof Aliesbaba Tomkins now CiF quoting Westminster Scottish must vote no committee that he also “gives evidence” too. Cant think why a thug like Ian Davidson loves Jezereena so much:D

https://id.theguardian.com/profile/abiesalba/public
    Scottish Affairs Committee – 7thReport: The Referendum on Separation for Scotland: Separation shuts shipyards
    http://www.votenoborders.co.uk/house_of_commons_scottish_affairs_committee_professor_adam_tomkins

How many in Scotland actually read the Guardian anyway nutty Professor?

229. Robert Peffers

@Jamie Arriere says: 4 July, 2014 at 10:45 pm

“Yeah I know, we just need to wait and see. We all have suspicions of what this could be, but let the police do their job, find the bastard & throw the book at him.”

Now this latest incident is no surprise to old hands in the independence movement. There has been underhand fictional attempts by hecht heid ains for many years.

Have a wee read at this : –
    http://www.scottishrepublicansocialistmovement.org/Pages/SRSMArticlesFictionoftheTartanTerrorists.aspx

There is, “Scotch on the Rocks”, co-written by Conservative Foreign Secretary, Douglas Hurd and check out who the co-author, Sinclair was. No less a nom-de-plume for Michael Shea – the press secretary to the Queen. We got,“Scotching the Snake”, by Charles Henry Dand, and, “The Stone”, by Nigel Tranter, in 1958.

Next up was, “The Douglas Affair”, by Alastair Mair, that appeared in 1966. Then we got, “The Dollar Covenant”, by Michael Sinclair, in 1980.

Another was, “The Lion Is Rampant”, by Ross Laidlaw, in 1979. Frederick Lindsay’s, “Brond”, came in 1984. Most of these works of fiction were blatant propaganda.

230. Calgacus MacAndrews

Make Alba Shine #1 (Independence Day)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NC3RoScH1M

Warning: Watching this will let it get stuck in your head, and you will vote YES.

231. Lesley-Anne

caz-m says:

Concerned Winger.

Must be going great guns caz. There is no live feed tonight. Apparently the *ahem* gang are all downstairs and Kevin can’t get a live feed from there so he’s going to video from the wee soiree and no doubt put the video up later.

232. tartanarse

ITV news keen to point out that whilst there was indeed booing for both Dave and Alex, it was more “enthusiastic” for Alex.

If my toes curled any more my feet would be wheels.

233. Flower of Scotland

It was a great night! I was so excited to meet all the friends from Wings! It has helped me no end and my stress levels are way down now!

Just home so off out with my collie for a wee walk in the NO village! Just one house with YES, YES and YOU YES YET and that’s mine and when I get my printer working again a big ALERT READER too!

234. Robert Peffers

Well before the 4th is finished I must wish all our USAsian friends, and our USAsian enenies, in the USA in the Americas a happy Separation Day.

I wonder why your president is not in favour of your country becoming a junior partner in the bigger country of Canada next door to you?

235. Debbiethebruce

@caz-m

Edinburgh night out still going on at blackbull now,I had to wimp out due to early morning saturday,but newsroom was packed out! (About 35,000 people?)

Great to meet everyone and looking forward to next event!

236. Lesley-Anne

You been to a BBC “How to count heads” Training day Debbie? 😛

237. tartanarse

Krackerman, I don’t get a chance to post very often although I rarely miss any piece on Wings logging on as I do daily and whan I do post don’t often swear but I do have to concede that it is easy to see how Gorgeous George can be seen by some as a fuckin horrible cunty arsehole.

Not that I would ever encourage folks to actually call him this. He just deserved to be ignored.

And why does he talk like a twat? I am Dundonian and I have never heard a fellow Dundonian talk like such a dick as he.

Its a minter.

Please let it be known that this moustachiod muppet in no way represents decent Dundonians.

238. caz-m

Calgacus MacAndrews

We have to keep one eye on the rest of the flock.

You never know what ruffians might try to take advantage of one of them.

I won’t settle until they are all tucked up in bed.

239. heedtracker

If youre bored its interesting watching Prof Jezereena Tomkins in the nob orders.com Commons Committee link. He is setting out the probable start of Westminster’s legal action to dissolve the Yes win as he has spotted that it will be “legally flawed” in international law. Jezereena also cant bring herself to say the referendum question itself and rewords it to suit his evidence. Hope Scottish history records all these shysters.

240. Grouse Beater

Peffers: Frederick Lindsay’s, “Brond”, came in 1984.

Lindsay was a fervent nationalist who, sadly, was cheated by Death the Unreasoner only recently, stopping him voting in the Referendum he fought so hard to attain.

Lindsay once dressed up in Tory attire to gain entrance to an important Tory meeting chaired by Rifkind and thereby ask him some searching questions the MP, it transpired, could not answer, and refused to answer. The incident is recorded as a classic of its kind by admiring writers.

BROND is a savage study of the way Scotland is controlled by MI5 and MI6 on behlaf of the British establishment. It was made into a major £4 million film and also shown in the USA where it won Best Screenplay.

Shot almost entirely in Glasgow, adopting hard west coast accents – and making the names of its key actors – it was not sub-titled for the North American market whereas almost all Scottish films are sub-titled.

London critics gave it rave reviews, and that Glaswegian street fighter, Jeremy Isaacs, stated it was a work ‘of the highest professional standard.’

Because of its anti-establishment stance, and Lindsay’s SNP membership, BBC Scotland refused to commission him in spite of his novels selling worldwide.

241. Chic McGregor

TBH the £17k – £18k per job estimate, or even the approx. £35k per job estimate would be wildly optimistic under any investment scenario.

i.e. £1 billion investment would NOT provide 28,000 jobs even if there were no other associated negatives for employment.

242. Calgacus MacAndrews

Is this the Wings people at the Newsroom, or maybe it is some people hanging out on the Blake’s 7 spaceship? … http://i.imgur.com/ankd4oO.jpg

243. Grouse Beater

PS:
    Out of 100 Best Novels of Scotland last century, “Brond” ranks as No 16, in the combined vote of Scotland’s novelists, essayists, and journalists.

It was Lindsay’s first book.

244. Defo

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00qvl9g/skippy-australias-first-superstar

Is Rolf being put in the memory hole already ?

Flipper must be spewing too.

BTW
    Do you still need to say ‘allegedly’ when talking about Cleggy punting Cyril into the long grass ?

245. Calgacus MacAndrews

Signing the Wings banner at the Newsroom:-

http://i.imgur.com/fW1jqS0.jpg

246. Grouse Beater

Goldenayr: Probably why he said it.

Listening to him deliver a stumbling speech I was struck by how familiar passages of it were to the efluent of Labour trolls that infect websites.

Some of his utterances appear to be lifted straight from their vitriol, and then I thought, no, the echo comes from current standard unionist attacks. They’re one and the same.

247. Ian Brotherhood

re Galloway:

Oor ain Taranaich has written a great piece on his blog, complete with link to GG’s calamitous Coatbridge performance –

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/07/04/gies-peace/

248. caz-m

About the Queen and that present of a helicopter to Prince William, well seemingly that was just the wee present.

The big present was that aircraft carrier she launched today. They can now play all day at landing and taking off and rollin their Easter eggs down the slope.

249. gillie

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/10947561/More-than-10-politicians-on-list-held-by-police-investigating-Westminster-paedophile-ring.html

Up to 40 MPs and Lords involved in Westminster paedophile ring and MI5 and Special Branch knew about it for years.

250. Calgacus MacAndrews

Either it’s draw-the-raffle time at the Newsroom, or people are getting ready to get beamed-up (or down).

http://i.imgur.com/UZLStkQ.jpg

251. Chic McGregor

If £1 billion creates 28,000 jobs, then why not scrap the renewal of Trident at £100 billion and hence create 2.8 million jobs and put Ian Duncan Smith out of a job?

Duh!

252. Defo

Poor Rory. And I thought he was q bright too. Basic fail here, no exit strategy.

http://www.cumberlandnews.co.uk/news/cumbrian-mp-s-mass-independence-protest-scaled-back-1.1146602

“He said: “I have had an enthusiastic response and I am still trying to iron out some logistical problems.”

The bus companies in Cumbria don’t do 15 seaters ?

H & S say the no lone working regs apply ?

It clashes with a dogging convention in Carlisle ?

253. goldenayr

Grouse Beater

Despite his rhetoric,he’s always spoken from the same sheet as the establishment.He changes it when the establishment changes.

254. Grouse Beater

Goldenayr: Despite his rhetoric…

Perceptive.

Wonder what plays will appear at the Festival and Fringe on the Referendum debate. Last I heard the subject was a no-go area; the Aussie director of the official Festival nixing anything connected to Scotland’s future.

Nice, eh?

Invited to the top arts job in the world and he vetoes the host country’s interests … anyhow, I digress.

255. goldenayr

gillie

Yes they knew about it for years.

Remember the Jeremy Thorpe scandal?

His only crime was being homosexual and wanting to out the public schoolboys.

256. goldenayr

Grouse Beater

That only applies to the main festival.

The Fringe is it’s own animal.

257. Grouse Beater

Ah, true.

Saw the idiot rushing for a plane. He ran in such a way as to attract attention. There goes an A1 poseur, I thought.

258. goldenayr

Grouse Beater

Y’up for a bit of conceptual art on the esplanade?

A few hundred in blue and white Tshirts spelling out YES,couple of,high profile,guest speakers walking amongst the crowd discussing the pros and cons.Broadcast live on the web with TV adverts giving the address to go to.

259. Grouse Beater

Which esplanade? Potobello?

260. Ian Brotherhood

@Grouse Beater –

Did he fall into one of these five categories, or create another all of his own?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGojEyYBmwc

261. goldenayr

Yeah,awricht..ahm a west coaster.

The Castle..whitever it’s caud.

262. Chic McGregor

goldenayer + Grouse Beater

One of the delicious ironies, a Union dividend if you like, of living here, is that only those who have been processed through the ruling elite factory, i.e. public school, Oxbridge, are allowed to comment and satirise the establishment.

263. handclapping

A grand night out, eh Grommit
    Thats my gas at a peep, you’re all so bloody young! and fit, and can drink more than me but great to meet you anyway. Off to my pit to greet myself to sleep, I’m past it.

264. Grouse Beater

Oops! I should have known! Sorry.
    Getting tired after a long, demanding day – spelling typos creeping in, hence esplanade dumb question.

Konsheptual art ‘n that might be a nice diversion – post time and day and I’ll do my best to get there.

One of my earliest PPBs for the SNP was exactly that – a widescreen helicopter shot across Campbell Castle to the slope of the hill above and a large group of SNP devotees spelling ‘independence now.’

(Was a ton of cops and yellow tape everywhere below Castle at the Floral Clock at 6pm tonight.

“Has there been a murder?”

Been searching newspapers…)

265. goldenayr

Chic McGregor

As much as I loved The Secret Policemans Ball in it’s original form…Ox/Cam I’m not.

And they have no hands on art,no matter how they try.Truth will always lie in the hands of those who perceive it.

266. goldenayr

Grouse Beater

What’s the term these days…crowd..something?

No need for permission,it’s art not politics.If they believe we’re being political it’s up to them.

267. Chic McGregor

@goldenayr
    “As much as I loved The Secret Policemans Ball in it’s original form…Ox/Cam I’m not.

And they have no hands on art,no matter how they try.Truth will always lie in the hands of those who perceive it.”

But its efficacy, or not, lies in the hands of those who receive it, or not.

268. Grouse Beater

Was a ton of cops and yellow tape everywhere below Castle at the Floral Clock at 6pm tonight.

Found it. Not quite a murder – knife wielding loonatic attacked and injured police officer. Don’t recall that much attention when I got attacked in the street by my caring, sharing local sociopath who thinks the SNP fanatics to be gassed. “To slight an incident, sir, to trouble the courts. But we’ll record the incident. The Incident Number is, 874b. Have a nice day.”

I felt a lot safer clasping that Incident Number to my chest.

269. goldenayr

Chic McGregor

Perception is relative,think Socrates.

And I don’t disagree with you.

270. goldenayr

Grouse Beater

Many are hurt or mortally wounded fighting for their birthrights.We stand together facing an adversary that has conquered nations and defeated empires.

Yet those same nations and empires have risen from their knees and demanded parity.

Why should we be any different?

271. Chic McGregor

The main message of Socrates was that the rules of individual perception can be extrapolated to society as a whole, and vice versa and thus deduced from either. But that did require an age when communication of those ideas was not subject to institutionalised modification.

272. Grouse Beater

I think, therefore I am … a supporter of self-determination.

273. goldenayr

Chic McGregor

I was thinking more shadows in the cave Socrates.

All it took then was one person to turn round and see where the light was coming from.

Now we look to the internet and clap at the shadows as we did when moving pictures and TV came along.

What’s needed is…a philosopher who knows he’ll always be wrong.

Otherwise he’ll be dealing in absolutes,of which there are none.

274. goldenayr

Grouse Beater

Descartes would applaud us.

275. Chic McGregor

Same message. Different perspective. Think Spinoza.

276. goldenayr

Then after Descartes had applauded us,he’d have us guillotined for not joining in.

277. goldenayr

Chic McGregor

Sorry,had to check my supposition of your postulation.

I thought the “Nature v Nurture” argument had been resolved and both were adequate accounts of someones ability?

This,of course,is highly condensed and therefore inadequate to what you hypothecate.

278. Chic McGregor

test (last post didn’t get through and repost said ‘duplicate message’)

279. Chic McGregor

Tried again, but post not getting through???

280. Chic McGregor

goldenayer
    To put my post another way (so hopefully it gets through)
    the real question is whether we are the shadows on the wall.

281. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

@ Defo

There is no allegedly or controversy in pointing out the fact Clegg refuses point blank to have an inquiry into Cyril Smith. It is public record that he continues to refuse to do so.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/nick-clegg/10765504/Nick-Clegg-refuses-to-hold-inquiry-into-Cyril-Smith-child-abuse-allegations.html

Also very much a fact and on the public record is the continuing Rennard controversy. A scandal which took over a decade to uncover as it was mired in allegations of coverups and inaction from those in the lib dem hierarchy. Only a couple of days ago one of Rennard’s victims Susan Gaszczak resigned from the lib dems stating angrily to Clegg..

“Even though I have complained, and raised this for over seven years, the party still do not see the complaint as an issue.”

Not that there are very many left, but the next time some yellow tory Clegg loyalist tries to come across as holier than thou, or pretend Clegg is just a misunderstood ‘nice guy’, feel free to laugh in their face.

282. goldenayr

Chic McGregor

Apologies,left it for a few mins and then went checking MPVs(need a car).

There is a train of thought which suggests we are just memories of the person we want to be.

So,if we follow that to its logical conclusion,then yes,we are but shadows.

Doesn’t explain pain and loss though.

283. goldenayr

Iain Gray’s Subway Lament

I do that whenever I meet “Sir” Malcolm Bruce.

284. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

goldenayr

Quite right too. The incompetent eejit “Lord” David Steel is another.

To those getting concerned by Galloway I say this. The most effective and devastating response to his pound shop demagoguery is laughter. All it takes is a couple of folk in catsuits or wearing Saddam regalia for the scottish public to remember why he’s far more of a joke than a serious politician. The scottish electorate rejected Galloway for a reason and you need only look at the murky goings on in he instigated in Bradford West to realise the wisdom of their choice.

285. goldenayr

“Sir” David Steel was a beneficiary of the Thorpe debacle.

Any wonder his wife is a YES voter?

286. YESGUY

Hi everyone.

I have just returned from tonites meet at the Newsroom. This is the first time i have ever been to a meeting like this

And yes i am a little drunk , but will not regret what i am about to write.

REV STU . You have brought together some of the most positive , forward thinking people i have ever had the privilege to meet. I will take the chance to thank you one day and if possible shake your hand

Tonights meeting was a night of wonder for me. To meet some of the fantastic wingers face to face was exciting and now i am home reflecting, an incredibly humbling experience.I now have faces to put to those who comment, and met some who don’t but are always there.

I could be all night naming and quoting all who where there but will try to be brief.

To anyone, anywhere in Scotland who has any doubt about the talent, strength of conviction and drive of the people of this wonderful country . Go to any of these get-togethers. Speak to the Wingers who drive this campaign, Share a few moments with strangers who have millions of idea’s and beliefs , who find common ground in the unity of starting anew , a Country , fair and one we can be so proud of.

I had the most uplifting night , speaking to so many of the Wingers faithful and was welcomed with open arms. The night carried with it such a positive vibe.

There was talk from some who had made it to the Counting House where you numbered in the hundreds.We had a modest 40 or 50 , but believe me was a fantastic night.

Stu , many of these wonderful folk i would never have met and that would have been a great loss. You have given us a voice and a platform to express ourselves. You also gave us an opportunity to find ourselves and unite us. That’s such a tough thing to do in a country with so many hangups and divisions.

We are meeting in cities and towns everywhere, no one in charge just a message online and a date and we talk and see we are part of something truly extraordinary. Scotland is so aware now. The buzz is so tangible , it’s impossible to ignore.

To all my new friends and all who i may yet meet, Thanks for an unforgettable night. Thank you for sharing your stories and hopes. This is the strength of our movement. Hope for our future and friendship through a common cause

WE cannot lose with people like you supporting and bringing together so many in the most noble of causes.

287. goldenayr

Chic

This is where philosophy falls,raw human emotion,that unquantifiable element we try to rationalise.

Fech it “YESGUY” even capitalised his name as an affirmation of the positive.

288. goldenayr

Whaurs “Prof” Stephenson when you want to make her feel small?

289. David

@ Bugger (the Panda)

Try this link to the National Archive of Scotland’s text of the 1320 Declaration of Arbroath, in both English and Latin:

http://www.nas.gov.uk/downloads/declarationArbroath.pdf

Page 3, paragraph 2 contains this section:

“Therefore it is, Reverend Father and Lord, that we beseech your Holiness with our most earnest
    prayers and suppliant hearts, inasmuch as you will in your sincerity and goodness consider all this,
    that, since with Him Whose vice-gerent on earth you are there is neither weighing nor distinction of
    JEW and GREEK, Scotsman or Englishman, you will look with the eyes of a father on the troubles and
    privations brought by the English upon us and upon the Church of God.”

(I capitalised Jew and Greek, just for emphasis. In the doc’t they are written in exactly the same way as Scotsman and Englishman.)

This section of the text appears to be saying that Jesus, and so also the Pope, does not discriminate against anyone based on race or religion. And surely, as good Christians, the Scots would also be committed to Jesus’ policy of non-discrimination. Very radical for those times!

290. goldenayr

David

Radical..yes

Game changer..?

You might as well whistle in the wind for a white knight David.

No matter who blows the horn,it’s those who respond to the call.

And it’s the call that matters here,not the religion.

Why are you trying to divide when your God calls on everyone to support a just cause?

291. bookie from hell

Ian Brotherhood says:
    5 July, 2014 at 12:20 am
    re Galloway:

Oor ain Taranaich has written a great piece on his blog, complete with link to GG’s calamitous Coatbridge performance –

wow —first time I’ve seen that—-he was in a deep hole,until someone shouted go back to England(shouter meant we don’t want this kind of talk up here)but he used it to save himself to turn it into anti-English catholic diatribe.

It’s such dangerous talk,Balkan wars,he said blood,but let’s put that aside(not really he wanted it in the publics consciousness)

disturbing at best,hatred and division at worse

#SAD

292. goldenayr

bookie from hell

GG has always relied on division.

He has no base,so therefore anything is game.

293. JWil

That picture above should have ‘Wanted’. ‘Reward for information as to his whereabouts’, printed across it in big letters.

294. SquareHaggis

Well, you know what they say – “Shite Floats”

295. Croompenstein

Galloway has sold his soul to the British Establishment he has been nobbled somewhere along the line. Probably the Iraq and Washington episode made him realise they could destroy him so he seems to have agreed to play ball.

296. Chic McGregor

goldenayr
    The post that didn’t delved deeper into what I meant. Just as well it refused to post though as we have enough to be thinking about right now.

297. Bugger (the Panda)

RE GG

I’ve always believed that GG and Jim Murphy were planted.

Jim Murphy slid up the greasy pole without trace from nowhere.

GG seems to have a charmed existence courting controversy and winning money off the Establishment for defamation.

It was almost as if GG has had a very special identity manufactured from him to create his credentials. His specialty seems to be controversy in religion and race; a good AP’s cover?

Then, what the fuck do I know, I am only a paranoid panda.

298. john king

Caz-m says
    “Anyone got any idea how the big night out went in Embra?

Concerned Winger.”

Why were you no there? I was looking forward to meeting you and others who WEREN’T there!

Btw Yesguy
    Irene did a head count when she did the raffle and she counted between 70 and 80,
    remember there was only seating for 40,
    on the subject of our conversation in the Black Bull, I’ll never forget what you told me, it just makes me all the more determined to agitate for a yes vote,more power to you man.

Lesley-Anne
    your visitors turned up yet?
    Alex did you find you merchandise?

So sorry I didn’t see your badge until you were leaving FoS all the while I was talking to you I didn’t realise I was speaking to the one and only Flower of Scotland, 🙂

JO you know who you are ,
    get posting
    NO REALLY. 😉

Wingman2020 absolute pleasure to have met you

You look after yourself Conan but I have to say you were looking well last night,

Ronnie, don’t be a big girl ,I wont bite you
    well not hard anyway,
    Really glad to see you came along Handclapping, but we all really need to get smart with these things if anyone from our neck of the woods needs a lift to these things I’m always happy to oblige, that includes you Geoff. 😉

I think Thepnr has been compiling a list of emails to pass to others if you need mine or if I can have yours let Thepnr know.

Jock Scot and Ninja Penguin a joy as always to meet you again,
    the invitation stands Jock I could be along at yours in a few minutes and take you back to mine for a drink and a meal if your up for it, just let me know.

I think I need a lie down now.

299. YESGUY

Wee bit of a sore head this morning but still reveling in last nights meet. What a fantastic bunch .

John King.

I was delighted to get a chat with you . I lurked for over a year on this site am grateful i can contribute. I took a couple of friends to let them see whats happening around them and they are now confirmed Wingers. They had no idea we were so many. We are now ready for the big BBC protest too.

Flower of Scotland Your son , like so many of our young ,are the future and i was delighted to chat with him. Gives me all the more confidence for all our futures.

Ian , i will get that drink next time . Any excuse to meet again. Thank you for a great night.

best news was TJenny finding her gold Wings after searching for hours. I could go on but will call it a day as i have some painting to do.

what a party we will have on the 19th Sept when Scotland will finally stand on it’s own two feet.

300. westie7

So that rail link will mark the start of transport being Un-devolved. Westminster taking control of transport cos that Scottish Govt took away unionist Glasgow’s rail link

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.