79 to “Another leaked poster”

1. fairiefromtheearth

oh so true i hate being a burden on Londons rich. šŸ˜‰

2. AnneDon

Should be on every health centre wall in Scotland.

3. Chic McGregor

Soylent Tartan?

4. Gillie

Best of both worlds?

Scots send their taxes to London and we get to die early as consequence.

Is this the Union Dividend?

5. Gillie

VOTE NO, DIE EARLY.

Catchy?

6. Helena Brown

Must have taken in the healthier and wealthier suburbs to get the figure up to 70-74 in Glasgow.

7. Mat

Maybe moving Glasgow to Asia will have an effect on those numbers?

If I were being really tin-hatted I’d think someone shunted off a marginally-less-than-positive story away from Scotlind.

8. Grouse Beater

Did we not see a plethora of news reports of late telling us thousands of English move to Scotland because of “the quality of life”?

They can’t all be living around Loch Lomond and driving Chelsea tractors – Range Rovers.

9. Ally

The earlier we all die the less “subsidies” our Southern friends will have to give us. That’s why they want us to stay!!! (Brings the UK average down!)

10. bjsalba

O/T I didn’t think Brian Taylor “moderating skills” could fall any further in my estimation. I was wrong.

11. Grouse Beater

I didnā€™t think Brian Taylor ā€œmoderating skillsā€ could fall any further in my estimation. I was wrong.

That bad, was it? In some ways, I’m glad I missed it.

12. Illy

What happens if you change the colour scale for women to 70-70, 75-80 instead of 70-78, 78-80?

13. Jeannie

Yes, was listening to Brian’s programme – all I can say is, “For Feck Sake, it’s TASmina” For some reason, the males on the panel found it impossible to pronounce her name(Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh). The UKIP guy was a disgrace. The poor woman from the Greens got interrupted at every turn. It wasn’t pleasant listening.

14. David

Compare the men’s life expectancy map above with this map showing the 2010 general election results, there is a frightening similarity.

upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f7/2010UKElectionMap.svg

Vote Labour = Die Younger
    Vote Non-Tory = Die Younger

15. David

This is the same link with added aitch-tee-tee-pee tag:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f7/2010UKElectionMap.svg

16. desimond

“Cemeteries to decrease in value if Scots vote for Seperation” claims Government Spokesperson.

17. Kenny

http://twicsy.com/i/eb8voe – a wee graphic showing the inequalities within Glasgow itself. You could probably overlay the same graphic with a similarly declining support for the Union as you move in the same direction…

18. Grouse Beater

As I keep reiterating, Farage is a weak person; he will never control the membership refugees from the BNP, EDL, and other extreme parties without scruples.

They’ll make their presence felt first opportunity, as the Ukip candidiate felt unconstrained on the radio programme. Being weak, Farage will maintain it’s all in his master plan. “They speak the truth other don’t want to hear.”

19. Jeannie

It’s not just life expectancy that’s important, though, it’s healthy life expectancy. It seems that Maltese women are the most likely to live long, healthy lives – not the longest life expectancy, but the longest in terms of good health although their actual life expectancy also compares well – better than the UK’s.

I’m just back from Malta and was astonished at how well-informed the Maltese are about the indy referendum over here. The people I spoke to are strongly in favour of Scottish independence. They got independence from Britain 50 years ago and have never looked back. They ditched the Queen 40 years ago and joined the EU in 2004. They said they were subjected to the same dirty tricks, scaremongering and smearing that we’re getting, even though the Queen had awarded the island the George Cross for bravery during the war. I understand their population is smaller than Glasgow’s. And yet, they’re not too wee to run their own country. Nor do they have oil or massive amounts of natural resources. What they have is resourcefulness, resilience and the will to make it work.

http://www.maltatoday.com.mt/news/national/17675/maltese-women-with-the-highest-healthy-life-expectancy-in-the-eu-report-20120423#.U3YB7SjySTA

20. Bugger (the Panda)

Another hidden subsidy for the South of England.

21. Bugger (the Panda)

Here’s a thought

Splitting with EWNI will increase the average live expectancy in Scotland and the rest.

A win-win situation?

22. Bugger (the Panda)

The life expectancy for a male is higher in the Gaza Strip and than some Labour wards in Glasgow.

23. bunter

Oh well, according to ITV news, the oil, gas and coal all runs out in five years.

Better tell the global energy giants to start pulling out and start decommissioning now.

24. mr thms

# Jeannie,

The male dominated panel was sexist and patronising. The UKIP rep referred to Tasmina as dear, madam, love and to her party as fascists. Brian Taylor lost the plot controlling the discussion. He was as bad as the Unionists in their determination to interrupt her. Having said that, I was really pleased with her determination to be heard and to finish her points. The same goes for the Green Party rep on the panel.

25. Dcanmore

Labour’s mantra in Scotland over the past 40 years is to keep the Scots blootered and poor, no investment in jobs and foster unemployment to make sure that the anger manifested can be channeled in votes for the ‘working class party’. From cradle to an early grave, Scots divided in their own communities are Scots conquered.

Craig Murray has provided a devastating deconstruction of Acanchi/VNB …

http://www.craigmurray.org.uk

26. Jamie Arriere

Labour in Scotland and Westminster do like us being in the red.

27. Andy smith

Maybe the broad shoulders Cameron keeps talking about, will come in handy for all the coffins to be carried .

28. desimond

If he is in the country, please ask Anas Sarwar to once again explain how this doesnt need a change in Labour policy!

ā€œthere is no point funding free care for the elderly when half the people in the poorest parts of Scotland do not live long enough to take advantage.ā€

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-logic-gap/
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/lying-liars-tell-more-lies/

29. handclapping

We only have to look in the mirror. Our first Wings get together was the March (good, healthy) and since then two pub jollies (bad, alcohol).

Talk about self destructive; even though we’ve something to aspire to and need to work at we can’t do it without having a bevy. What is the life expectancy of a Wings activist?

30. scottish_skier

Survation certain to vote trends.

No lead over Yes (ex DK) +7(-2.5)%
    47 Y / 53 N

Which is closer to Panelbase and ICM results for general intention when asking about September.

Certain to vote No 30(-6)%.

Since February.

Suggests No vote weakening, just less obvious, likely because survation ask what people would vote ‘today’ rather than in September.

31. a2

I’m pretty sure that’s because being Patriotic gives you high blood pressure.

32. handclapping

@a2
    If being Patriotic means viewing/listening to the BBC then I’m sure you’re right.

33. Oneironaut

Someone really needs to make these into real posters and buy the advertising boards currently holding BT posters so we can replace them with these!

Should make things much clearer for the DKs who claim they don’t have enough information.

34. Grahame

I know quite a few Wossers contributed to the last “YES Trailer” fundraiser on Indiegogo. I’m making it happen again – this time for YES Scottish Borders and Yes West Lothian –

both of which will get a 12ft by 8ft Ad Trailer if we reach our funding target

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/yes-advert-trailers/x/2793704

35. Chic McGregor

In the 60s, Scots had a lower suicide rate than the rUK, now it is much higher although it improved a bit with devolution and SNP government.

I think it is all about self esteem and began with the political cleansing of anything which might engender or reinforce national pride. This began with a media cull in the 70s as a reaction to SNP success.

It is not confined to media IMO, Academia has been similarly purged and pressurised as have those institutions responsible for historical sites, museums, cultural output.

Suspect you need to be my sort of age to have sufficient perspective to judge that contention. Younger folk will simply see the drip drip negativity as being normal.

36. Ravelin

Just belatedly listened to Brian’s Big Stooshie online. Oh my, what a mess, almost in the league of the ‘car crash’ STV debate between Lamont & Sturgeon. David Coburn (UKIP EU Candidate) is an absolute ar$e! Constantly interrupting everyone (they were all at it be he was by far the worse), patronising, couldn’t get Tasmina’s name right even after an hour of being frequently corrected, and just had to have the last word.

37. heedtracker

What a difference less than a year makes. No doubt we can vote no and trust same Tory boys that wept at St Thatcher’s send orf.

http://archive.today/CDdKm

38. heedtracker

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/9192-bbc-u-turns-on-cbi-membership-suspension Golly. The most corrupt state broadcaster outside of North Korea, just got that bit more corrupt. Just aswell they write the news too.

39. Bill McLean

o/t just received a pamphlet from “Scottish” Liberal Democrats entitled “Would you gamble hundreds of thousands of Scottish jobs away?” – the leaflet was printed in PORTSMOUTH!!! Will return to them, in an unstamped envelope,to:-
    Liberal Democrats,
    4 Clifton Terrace,
    Edinburgh,
    EH22 5DR.

May I suggest that others do the same?

40. bunter

Call me Dave headlining on we will all be foreigners scare. The unionists really have a problem with the idea of foreign though its rather silly as I have family in the four corners of the globe and they are certainly not foreigners.

Quite worrying these BritNat attitudes, very insular and parochial.

41. Eric D

Surely the poster should read :

‘…. than PARTS (my caps) of England …’ ? Life expectancy in parts of the English West Midlands and North east are even worse than Glasgow’s – which is why Professor Morag Gillespie complained about commentators using the ‘tyranny of averages…’ when she gave evidence relating to poverty at a recent Holyrood Committee hearing.
    Take SE England out of any set of figures, and we see that the rest of rUK is in a mess – and it’s getting worse.
    The London media always uses those averages to hide the scandal of the richest part of the UK – London – also getting the biggest per capita share of almost every Westminster budget.
    When the Scottish scapegoat is no longer a part of the UK, hopefully decent folk in rUK will be told the truth – and other ‘Home (Counties) truths’ .

42. Justin Ross

Brian’s Big “Debate” was truly awful, with Mr Taylor totally inept at trying to control the circus. Why broadcast that guff at all? The Conservative and UKIP candidates were both rude and patronising, and came across as rather misogynistic towards the SNP and Green candidates. But it was only the UKIP candidate who said the SNP were “fascists” and kept calling Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh “madam”. Got to hand it to UKIP for their ability to always find creepy, odious crackpots to stand as their candidates.

43. bookie from hell

two for one deal on spades if you vote YES

44. heedtracker

Coffee time read of non BBC etc vote no pressure and it looks nob.orders.com grass roots campaign pumped a lot of money into Acachi Cambridge marketing outfit behind it all and brought them into profit, which is nice of the grass roots out there in Paisley or eastend of Glasgow

http://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2014/05/the-acanchi-effect/

This work for the No campaign coincided with an amazing turnaround in Acanchiā€™s financial fortunes. In 2011 they made a loss of Ā£197,003. In 2012 they made a profit of Ā£103,292. The income from sales went from Ā£25,631 in 2011 to Ā£348,835 in 2012.

45. heedtracker

http://ukipscotland.wordpress.com/ Lord VeryWeird has got to be doing this for a laugh but the Scottish UKIP bloke is even worse. He could just be CGI though. Looks he went to art school in Glasgow too.

https://twitter.com/DavidCoburnUKip

46. Andy-B

At the rate the Tories and Labour are cutting Scottish life spans on the west coast will plummet even lower, another good reason to vote YES.

O/T, I do apologise.

David Cameron, saying do Scots really want to live and work in a foreign country,speaking in Lockerbie Mr Cameron said,being part of the union means people on both sides benefit,from the “precious asset” of London.

Mr Cameron went on to say that there’s a majority of people in Scotland, who want to see a reformed EU through a referendum.

http://news.stv.tv/scotland/275553-david-cameron-scots-do-not-want-england-to-be-a-foreign-country/

47. Andy-B

Labours new big hitter David Axelrod, a renowned negative campaign adviser,can’t even spell Ed Miliband’s name properly, Mr Axelrod used two LL’s instead of one, he also signed up to a spoof, Ed Miliband site on Twitter, which proclaimed Mr Miliband was in the process of resigning.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/may/16/labour-election-guru-red-faced-misspelling-ed-miliband-name

48. scottish_skier

David Cameron, saying do Scots really want to live and work in a foreign country

British = good
    Foreign = bad

Standard British nationalism.

49. Calgacus MacAndrews

Good YES ladies day today in the sunshine.

I thought the feisty ladies did great on Brian’s Debate on the Radio, and I saw Nicola getting money out of the cashline at Harthill Services.

Then I noticed some U-KOK bar-steward had put a wee Union Jack sticker onto the YES sticker in the back window of my car.

Help! Help! I’ve been abused !!!

50. Andy-B

Mr Miliband,regarding immigration, and setting net migration targets for the UK, with regards to keeping it low, I’m going to set false targets and make false promises to people, surely this must be a typo,as Mr Miliband wouldn’t lie to us would he?.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/10836453/Ed-Miliband-Labour-wont-turn-our-backs-on-people-worried-about-immigration.html

51. Kenny

Eric D – you’re right. Newcastle and the Liverpool-Manchester corridor get it almost as bad as us. However, Glasgow is uniquely messed up. The McCartney/Collins report argues that the more militant Labour local authorities there (most notably the Derek Hatton crowd in Liverpool) fought more aggressively to protect citizens from Thatcher’s worst excesses. The Labour mafia in Glasgow did their best to accommodate her. It is noticeable, though, that the worst places to live for life expectancy in the UK are Scotland, Wales, the north of Ireland and the vulgar Labour-voting cities of “the North.” On average, the midlands and the south do rather well. Of course there is great poverty in London, Birmingham and no doubt even in Bath, but this report was about epidemiology and there is an epidemic of drugs, drink, violence, poor diet, poor mental health and more affecting people in the poorest parts of Glasgow right now and for the last 30+ years. It’s one of those extremely rare occasions when I ask why we’re sending so much aid to Malawi when a man born in Parkhead has a lower life expectancy than a man born in that country.

52. manandboy

So Alex phones Dave and offers him all the North Sea oil

in exchange for Independence without any interference.

“Now you’re talking, Alex” said Dave, ” done.”

53. Marcia

Interesting, another Independence debate cancelled.

https://twitter.com/IBlackfordSkye/status/467274611345088513/photo/1

54. galamcennalath

Marcia

“Project Feart” ……very good.

55. Jim Marshall

Oh dear, according to this death map I”ve only got 5 years to live. Maybe if I move south I”ll get a few more years. On second thoughts I wouldn”t be seen dead down there.

56. Marcia

An updated photo list of the Referendum campaign posters.

http://www.pinterest.com/billboyd374/scottish-independence-referendum/

57. norrie

Calgacus MacAndrews

I believe if you were a Labour politician that would be classed as vandalism.

58. Andy-B

The latest Electoral commission figures show the Conservatives still hiding its donors from public view. A loophole in the law allows donations from private members clubs, without the private members identities being disclosed.

The intriguingly named “United and Cecil club” has now been shown to be the Conservative Parties seventh biggest donor. Yet all we read about is the donations given to the SNP by the Weirs.

http://forargyll.com/2014/05/political-funding-the-story-of-the-day/

59. galamcennalath

OT Wise words on Bella …

“….. many in the media, should stop and consider their actions, and ask themselves how they will feel looking back at having been caught up in anger and deception, or complicit in misleading the electorate. They must ask themselves if they will be able to look back and reconcile themselves with what they have done.”

http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/05/16/peace-of-mind/

60. Ian Brotherhood

@Calgagus MacAndrews –

Mmmm…a ‘bar-steward’, eh?

It’s well known that the BTUKOKERS are going undercover as waiters, ice-cream vendors, casual gardeners, chimney-sweeps etc. Did you happen to see the culprit? Was he heavily set, with thick eyebrows, vaguely Sicilian-looking and carrying a tuba?

61. Calgacus MacAndrews

@norrie says:
    Calgacus MacAndrews
    I believe if you were a Labour politician that would be classed as vandalism.

Too right.

I know how Jim Murphy and Ian Murray feel now.

Sob … sniff … choke.

(dials 999 …)

62. Andy-B

Sorry if this has already been posted.

Senior British Diplomat Colin Munro, said,”Tough but sensible discussions will be held on forming a currency union if Scots vote yes to independence”.”

Mr Munro said that, threats, that Scotland, wouldn’t be able to join the EU as an independent state, just weren’t plausible.

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2014/may/blow-cameron-project-fear-claims-quashed

63. Calgacus MacAndrews

Ian Brotherhood says:
    @Calgagus MacAndrews –
    Did you happen to see the culprit? Was he heavily set, with thick eyebrows, vaguely Sicilian-looking and carrying a tuba?

I immediately started looking around for any sign of ‘unpolished’ people.

However, the only unpolished thing I could see in the vicinity was my car.

64. Andy-B

Danny Alexander blasts the SNP and UKIP, Mr Alexander claims the SNP rely on myths of exceptionalism Mr Alexander went on to call the SNP narrow minded nationalist.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/danny-alexander-dismisses-snp–3551070

65. Elizabeth Stanley

Out of the whole of Scotland Cameron talks to children in Lockerbie.

Why there do you think? A place many have heard of but with negative connections.

Cameron.So bad at PR he became an MP .Now uses a place that resonates in peoples mind with a terrorist atrocity.

Taking project fear to a new level.

How I despise these people.

66. Ian Brotherhood

@Calgacus MacAndrews –

We really need to see an image of this horrible vandalism.

Please remember to take a ruler and something commonly recognisable which comes in a standard size e.g. a mini-Babybel or a clothes peg.

67. Sinky

Jeannie at 1.30

Malta is an interesting example for the North British Labour Party.

The Malta Labour Party campaigned for integration with the UK and lost the subsequent two elections in 1962 and 1966 and boycotted the Independence celebrations in 1964.

The Malta Labour Party led by Don Mintoff was returned to power in 1971 and re-elected in 1976 with a clear majority.

In Malta Mintoff is known as the saviour of Malta because he was the man that, from a country that had no money in its box, created a WELFARE state, Pensions, free school meals, minimum wage, help for disable persons by the government and done an incredible task by eradication of all poverty in Malta which no nation in the world was capable .

68. Andy-B

The UK Government’s “respect agenda” towards Scotland, faced another blow,after it was revealed that representatives of the Home Office,have refused to appear before the Scottish Parliament’s European and External Relations Committee.

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2014/may/home-office-snubs-scottish-parliament-committee

69. Edward

I see the BBC are reporting that Oil will run out in 2019
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-27435624

Obviously proof reading is not a criteria at the BBC
    Mind you they are quoting the source as Global Sustainability Institute at the Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge (popular town apparently)

Now keen readers will also recognise Anglia Ruskin as the university behind most of the climate change stories

http://www.anglia.ac.uk/ruskin/en/home/microsites/global_sustainability_institute/our_research/resource_management.Maincontent.0017.file.tmp/Global%20Resource%20Observatory_Country%20Resource%20Maps%20Report.pdf

70. Andy-B

UK urged not to hold fast to Scottish Independence Day, in March 2016, the House of Lords says it may not be able to help conclude negotiations on the said date, in case it infringes, the rest of the UK’s prospects.

http://www.leftfootforward.org/2014/05/uk-urged-not-to-be-bullied-by-snp-on-timetable-for-independence/

71. call me dave

Hi everyone, you may have noticed that I have not been able to post the last two days, what with being extremely busy on my lightning visit to Scotland and my overnight in the Travel Lodge.

It was a pleasure yesterday to meet a few Scotties in the Army barracks and patronising the kids in the local school before nipping along to the BBC for a chin wag with Sally although I dreaded those really difficult questions on which football team I was going to support. But luckily I had been rehearsed before hand with the chap ..him…with the braces… who told me how to pronounce Dundee United.

Oh how we laughed, when he told me that Alex will be asked the England question today, I hope he makes a Murray of it.

Had a nice chat with John..er!… Jim Naughtie this morning to wave the union jack and leave a good impression before carefully avoiding Salmond and getting back to No 10 for a good shower and a celebratory bottle of champers.

I say!… surely that map can’t be right, dreadful, but never mind vote NO and together we’ll work it out, better together UK.

Kindest Regards
    David.

72. Calgacus MacAndrews

Elizabeth Stanley says:
    Out of the whole of Scotland Cameron talks to children in Lockerbie.
    Taking project fear to a new level.

And he talks of ‘foreigners’ in a place where people from other countries fell from the sky in 1988.

Words fail me.

73. Liquid Lenny

Just dome a hard weeks pro YES work in Hospital, its difficult converting all the don’t knows to yes and getting the no’s to think what their voting for in between various trips to get xrayed, ct scanned and camera’s pushed where the sun doesn’t shine, but I think I managed quite well. Managed to get rid of quite a few Aye Right cards didn’t annoy any of my fellow patients, but found the NHS staff to be receptive to the message but only one pro yes, everybody else apart from a black guy was undecided, the black guy wanted to stay with the UK as all his pals wanted to, I gave him an Aye Right Card and asked him to check out the alternative view and make his own mind up, whether he will do this I don’t know.
    To me it beggars belief that somebody of his ethnicity would vote to stay in a country lurching to the right, but hey its his decision he has a vote the same as the rest of us, I just hope he goes online and makes his decision as an informed voter.

Got say that the NHS can be proud of there staff.

74. X_Sticks

‘Lenny

Haha, Rab was telling me about your Emergency Ward Yes escapades.

Bedside canvassing, that’s dedication. He tells me you even pressed an Aye Right card upon the consultant when he came round to discharge you. šŸ˜€

75. X_Sticks

Hmmm, thinking about it, maybe we should get Yes campaigners doing the rounds in hospitals – captive audience and all that!

Or maybe not…;)

76. Liquid Lenny

X Sticks , naw not a good idea going for the patients for some reason there attention is elsewhere!!!
    Got a few more on the journey home and also a visitor to me in the hospital who was a definite No last year, had moved to undecided and by the time visiting was over he was a probable yes. Waiting for the ferry I got asked for a few, and on the journey a definite no last year who I had a heated discussion about the referendum in the pub was now undecided, so he got a card as well. His reasoning was that if they (BT) are putting up such a fight they must be feart of losing something..
    There is a lot of undecided out there and a lot of them are coming from no we just have to get them to read sites like this and make an informed choice and victory is there for the taking.
    Cant remember who was dishing out the Aye Right cards at CC1 but they have gone to good use, will get more at CC2

77. X_Sticks

Liquid Lenny says:

“There is a lot of undecided out there”

Aye, The YesMobile http://tinyurl.com/o95vefw will be at the BA VINTAGE COUNTRY FAIR Saturday/Sunday 17/18 May 2014 0930 ā€“ 4.30pm

http://tinyurl.com/l23gstv

Out hunting the undecided tomorrow šŸ˜€

Might go get another Yes sign up too.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.